(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Western Massachusetts; a history, 1636-1925"

¥.i 



LIBRARY 



^^*«sEm r,^^ 




^O^ %^rt Fow\«* <^ 
• 7895 • 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 

A HISTORY 

1636-1925 



Board of Editors 

Rev. John H. Lockwood, D. D. 

Ernest Newton Bagg 

Walter S. Carson 

Herbert E. Riley 

Edward Boltwood 

Will L. Clark, Staff Historian 



VOLUME III 



LEWIS HISTORICAL PUBLISHING COMPANY, Inc. 

NEW YORK and CHICAGO 

1926 



COPYRIGHT 

LEWIS HISTORICAL PUBLISHING COMPANY, INC. 

1926 



31862 



SP. COL. 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



JOHN CALVIN COOLIDGE— Western Massa- 
chusetts proudly claims as an adopted son Calvin Cool- 
idge, thirtieth president of the United States. 

John Calvin Coolidge was born in Plymouth, Vermont, 
July 4, 1872 ("John" was dropped from his signature 
at an early age). He was the son of John C. and Victoria 
Josephine (Moor) Coolidge. The Coolidge family 
originally settled in Watertown, Massachusetts, in 1630. 
John C. Coolidge, Sr., has had seats in the State Legis- 
lature, both House and Senate. He has also been 
constable, collector, superintendent of schools, selectman, 
and State assessor. When young Calvin was born his 
father kept the village store, shod horses and collected 
insurance premiums. Calvin Coolidge was born in a 
room in the rear of the store. His mother died March 
14, 1885, when he was twelve years old. Later, his 
father married Carrie G. Brown, who died in 1920. 
President Coolidge has always spoken of her with the 
greatest of affection and respect. Colonel John C. 
Coolidge died March 18, 1926. 

Young Coolidge proved to be a very industrious 
youth, as the farmer boys of Vermont of that day had to 
be, and his boyhood days were more work than play. 
He has always been noted for being a worker, and his 
aggressiveness is fully up to the usual standard of those 
possessing red hair. (He has the distinction of being 
the first red-haired President of the United States.) His 
hair was of a very brilliant hue in his youth and he 
was, as might be expected, known as "Red" by his boy- 
hood friends. His other distinguishing characteristic 
at this time, which has continued throughout his life, 
was his extreme fondness for books. He prepared for 
college at Black River Academy, Ludlow, Vermont, 
graduating from that institution in 1890. He also studied 
for a year at the Academy of St. Johnsbury. On Sep- 
tember 20, 1891, he entered Amherst and became a mem- 
ber of the class of '95. In his senior year he won a prize 
of $100 for an essay, "The Principles of the Revolu- 
tionary War." He was also awarded the distinction of 
being selected to deliver the Grove Oration (a much 
coveted honor) at the graduation of his class. At col- 
lege he was reported not to have been a good mixer, al- 
though he was well liked by those who came to know 
him well. At the outset of his course he did not join 
any college fraternity, but when he was an upper class 
man he became a charter member of the Amherst Chap- 
ter of the Phi Gamma Delta Fraternity. The college 
records show that he did excellent work in mathematics, 
English and French. He graduated from Amherst 
with the degree of A. B. in 1895. (Later he was to 
receive LL. D. from Amherst, Tufts, Williams, Bates, 
and Wesleyan University, of Vermont.) 

On September 23, 1895, he entered the law office of 
Hammond & Field, Northampton, Massachusetts, to 
study law. He had no funds available to attend a law 



school, but he entered so heartily into his studies in this 
office that he was admitted to the bar on July 2, 1897. 
Later he established the law firm of Coolidge & Hemen- 
way. He was elected a councilman of Northampton in 
1899; was city solicitor, 1900-1; clerk of courts, 1903; 
chairman of the Republican City Committee, 1904; and 
a member of the General Court of Massachusetts, 
1907-8. During the years 1 910- 11 he was mayor of 
Northampton, and was a member of the State Senate, 
1912-15. He was made president of the Senate in 1914- 
15. During the first year that he was a member of the 
Senate he was made a chairman of the Special Legis- 
lative Committee on Reconciliation to take jurisdiction 
of the Lawrence strike, and the situation was met with 
tact and efificiency, industry and peace being reestablished. 
In 1913 he was made chairman of the Committee on 
Railroads. He was chairman of the Committee on 
Resolutions at the Republican Convention, October 3, 
1914, which nominated Samuel W. McCall for governor. 

Mr. Coolidge was lieutenant-governor of Massachu- 
setts in the years 1916-17-18, and was elected governor 
of Massachusetts by a large majority, serving two terms, 
1919-20. During his first term occurred the incident 
which did much to bring him into the notice of the 
nation and was a striking evidence of the calibre of the 
man this former Vermont farmer boy had become. On 
September 9, 1919, Edwin Upton Curtis, who was police 
commissioner of Boston, Massachusetts, under appoint- 
ment of Samuel W. McCall, the former governor, was 
faced with a serious situation in his department. Efforts 
were being made to unionize the police force of that city 
and, fearing the results of such organization in the 
ranks of those sworn to preserve law and order, Mr. 
Curtis dismissed several of the most active leaders of 
the movement from the force. This precipitated a 
general strike among the members of the police force of 
the entire city of Boston. Governor Coolidge supported 
Mr. Curtis in the stand that he had taken, called the 
military forces of the State into action to preserve law 
and order, issuing one order and two proclamations. He 
wired the labor leader, Samuel Gompers, two messages, 
to one of which was appended these historic words: 
"There is no right to strike against the public safety by 
anybody, anywhere, anytime." 

The strike was completely broken and, although there 
was some slight rioting on the night of the police walk- 
out, law and order were soon reestablished. The 
members who left posts were not reinstated on the force, 
and a practically new organization was formed. The 
firm stand taken by Governor Coolidge killed similar 
movements to organize the police in other parts of the 
country, and his action, generally, had the approval of 
public sentiment everywhere. 

In 1920 there was strong sentiment to make Governor 
Coolidge President but, from the start, he discouraged 



W.M. — 3-1 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



the movement. Headquarters, which friends had opened 
for him in Washington, he closed. He was nominated 
for Vice-President at the Chicago RepubHcan Conven- 
tion on June 12, 1920. On March 4, 1921, he became 
the presiding officer of the Senate of the United States. 
Upon the death of President Harding, while in office, 
he became the thirtieth president of the United States. 
He took the oath of office at the modest home of his 
father in Plymouth, Massachusetts, at 2:47 A. M., 
August 3, 1923. His father is a local notary public and 
had the distinction of administering the oath of office 
to his son. 

The President continues to vote at Northampton, 
Massachusetts, where he has one-half of a double house 
(for which he pays a very modest rental) at No. 21 
Massasoit street. He is a member of the Vermont 
Association of Boston, and his club affiliations are: 
University, Union, Algonquin, Corinthian, Yacht, Bel- 
mont Country, and Union League, of New York; Metro- 
politan, Army and Navy, University, Tennis and Rac- 
quet, Chevy Chase, Columbiana, and Washington 
Country of Washington, District of Columbia. He and 
his family are members of the Edwards Congregational 
Church, of Northampton. Early in his public career he 
became known as "Silent Cal," and this quality, which 
am.ounts almost to taciturnity, has often been commented 
upon. This side of his nature is perhaps best explained 
by his statement, "I have never been hurt by what I 
have not said." He is not fond of social life and takes 
no interest in sports. For years he has spent his vaca- 
tions working on his father's farm in Vermont. His 
father was a "dirt farmer," not a possessor of a gentle- 
man's estate, and the President, while in office, has 
shown a keen appreciation of the farmer's needs. His 
State papers have shown much clearness and simplicity 
of style, and some of them, such as his Lincoln Day 
proclamation, issued in 1919, while he was governor of 
Massachusetts, seem destined to become classics of their 
kind. 

President Coolidge's wife, Grace Anne Goodhue, was 
a teacher in the Clark School for the Deaf in North- 
ampton. They were married on October 4, 1905. She 
was the daughter of Andrew J. Goodhue, of Burlington, 
Vermont, who died April 25, 1923, leaving a widow, 
Elmira Goodhue. The President and Mrs. Coolidge 
have two sons: John, born September 7, 1906; and 
Calvin, Jr., born April 13, 1908, died July 7, 1924. 



RALPH WILBUR HEMENWAY— Prominent in 
the field of legal practice as a member of the firm ot 
Coolidge & Hemenway until Mr. Coolidge was called to 
the White House, Mr. Hemenway now continues his 
practice alone, having attained his position in the legal 
world after years spent in various occupations, where 
he had gained a broad business experience, and a deep 
insight into human nature. These assets, together with 
his legal training, his deep sympathy, and his wisdom, 
have led him to an important position in the legal pro- 
fession, and he has done splendid service in that field 
for his fellowmen, not alone in a legal capacity, but 
in the civic and fraternal circles in which he has shown 
deep interest. Mr. Hemenway comes of a long line of 



American forebears, the immigrant ancestor, Ralph 
Hemingway, having been born in England, and settled 
early at Roxbury, Massachusetts. 

(I) Ralph Hemingway was a member of the Rox- 
bury Church as early as 1633, and was admitted a free- 
man September 3, 1634. He was a proprietor of the 
town, and he died June i, 1678. He married, July 5, 
1634, Elizabeth Holbrook, who died February 4, 1684, 
aged eighty-two years. Children, born at Roxbury : i. 
Marah, born and died in 1635. 2. Samuel, born in 
June, 1636. 3. Ruth, born September 21, 1638. 4. 
John, born April 27, 1641. 5. Joshua, of whom further. 
6. Mary, born April 7, 1644. 7. Mary, born April 7, 
1647. 

(H) Joshua Hemenway (note change in spelling), 
son of Ralph and Elizabeth (Holbrook) Hemingway, 
was born April 9, 1643, and died October 29, 1716. He 
lived in Roxbury, Massachusetts, and married (first) 
Joanna Evans (second) Mary ; (third) Eliza- 
beth Weeks. He was the father of eight children, 
among them Ebenezer, of whom further. 

(HI) Ebenezer Hemenway, son of Joshua Hemen- 
way, was born April 29, 1688, and died October 11, 1753. 
He married (first) May 17, 171 1, Hannah Winch, 
daughter of Samuel Winch; she died April 27, 1737. 
He married (second) in 1738, Thamazen Nurse, daugh- 
ter of Benjamin Nurse, and she died in 1767. He was 
the father of seven children, among them, Ebenezer, of 
whom further. 

(IV) Ebenezer Hemenway, son of Ebenezer and Han- 
nah (Winch) Hemenway, was born October 24, 1712, 
and died in 1781. "He was much in the Wars." He 
built a hotel at Lynden Rocks. He married Mary 

, and the family tradition is that she was taken 

a captive by the Indians in her infancy and was re- 
deemed in girlhood and was called Mary Eve. She died 
November 28, 1805, at the age of ninety-three, accord- 
ing to the town records, but tradition says that she 
reached the great age of one hundred and one years. 
Among their seven children was Lieutenant Ebenezer, 
of whom further. 

(V) Lieutenant Ebenezer Hemenway was born May 
6, 1740, and died December 11, 1831. He married Bath- 
shebah (Stone) Hemenway, widow of John Hemen- 
way. She died July 19, 1828, aged eighty-nine years. 
Among the nine children was Josiah, of whom further. 

(VI) Josiah Hemenway, son of Lieutenant Ebenezer 
Hemenway, was born June 26, 1771, and died January 28, 
1848. He married, in February, 1793, Mary Parkhurst, 
daughter of Josiah Parkhurst ; she died December 3, 
1858. Their children were: i. Dexter, born in 1794. 2. 
Windsor, born in 1796. 3. Adam, born in 1800. 4. Wil- 
lard, born in 1802. 5. Josiah, born in 1804. 6. Eliza, born 
in 1806. 7. Josiah, bom in 1808. 8. Fisher, of whom fur- 
ther. 9. John, born in 1813. 10. Ebenezer Thomas 
Gower, born in 1817. 

(VII) Fisher Hemenway, the grandfather of Ralph 
Wilbur Hemenway, was bom February 22, 181 1, in 
Framingham, Massachusetts, son of Josiah and Mary 
(Parkhurst) Hemenway, and died in Hopkinton, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1 888- 1 890. He was a painter by trade, and 
was in business for himself. He married, May 14, 1835, 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Elizabeth Jones Fitch, born September 7, 181 3, died No- 
vember I, 1904, daughter of Elijah and Elizabeth (Val- 
entine) Fitch. They were the parents of thirteen chil- 
dren, among those who grew to maturity being: Alfred, 
an attorney in Boston ; Alice, now deceased ; George 
Louis, deceased; Horace; James Wilbur, of whom fur- 
ther ; Edward ; Mary Fitch, married Charles H. Pierce ; 
the others being Charles Fisher, died young; Frances 
Ann Irving ; Rebecca, Everett and Harry. 

(Vni) James Wilbur Hemenway, father of Ralph 
Wilbur Hemenway, was born in Hopkinton, Massachu- 
setts, in 1856, and died in Boston in 1921, son of Fisher 
and Elizabeth Jones (Fitch) Hemenway. He received 
his education in the public schools and in the high school, 
and became a newspaper man, which profession he fol- 
lowed the greater part of his lifetime. He was for a 
time connected with Bradstreet's Mercantile Agency, 
and was later with the Associated Press, as a reporter, 
for a number of years. Subsequently he became associ- 
ated with his brother, Alfred Hemenway, looking after 
his brother's interests. He was a member of the Boston 
Press Club for many years. He married Irene Poole, 
of Nova Scotia, who died in 1889. They were the par- 
ents of two children : i. Ralph W., of whom further. 
2. Edith, married Robert Wilson, of Hudson, Massa- 
chusetts. 

(IX) Ralph Wilbur Hemenway, son of Jamei Wil- 
bur and Irene (Poole) Hemenway, was born August 6, 
1881, at Hyde Park, Massachusetts. He received his 
education in the schools of Sharon, Massachusetts, Hop- 
kinton and the Allen School, of West Newton, and then 
attended Amherst College. On the completion of his 
studies he became connected with the Pope Manufac- 
turing Company of Northport, Massachusetts, in the 
manufacture of bicycles, having charge of the stock 
room and of the inspection of bicycles. He remained 
with this company for five years, and then went with 
the Fisk Rubber Company, of Rochester, New York, 
serving in their store at that place. In 1912 he took up 
the study of law in the office of Judge Mason, and was 
admitted to the bar in 191 5. As soon as admitted to the 
bar, he began his practice in association with Calvin 
Coolidge. under the firm name of Coolidge & Hemen- 
way, and this partnership continued until Mr. Coolidge 
was elected Vice-President of the United States, since 
which time Mr. Hemenway has continued his practice 
alone. During the great World War Mr. Hemenway 
served on the Exemption Board. 

Mr. Hemenway is a member of Jerusalem Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons, of Northampton; the Royal 
Arch Masons ; Royal and Select Masters ; Knights 
Templar, and has some degrees in the Ancient Accepted 
Scottish Rite. He is also a member of Phi Kappa 
Sigma, college fraternity ; and his clubs are the Kiwanis 
and Northampton. Mr. Hemenway is one of the active 
citizens of his section, and takes a great interest in all 
matters that affect the civic welfare of his community. 
He is highly respected, and holds the esteemed regard 
of his legal confreres, as well as of the citizens of his 
locality, and he is untiring in his service to the people. 

Ralph Wilbur Hemenway married, July 28, 1902, 
Annie Harlow, of Northampton, Massachusetts, daugh- 



ter of George and Mary (Kneeland) Harlow, and they 
are the parents of one child: Kenneth Harlow, born 
April 19, 1904, at Northampton, Massachusetts; he is 
now (1925) a student in the Massachusetts Institute of 
Technology, where he is studying to become an elec- 
trical engineer. 



BISHOP FREDERIC DAN HUNTINGTON was 

born in Hadley, Massachusetts, May 28, 1819, and died 
in Hadley in 1909. His father was the Rev. Dan 
Huntington and his mother Elizabeth W. Phelps, 
daughter of Charles Porter Phelps. The Huntingtons 
of Connecticut have produced many famous Americans, 
noteworthy among them being Collis P. Huntington, 
the railroad builder of a bygone day. 

(I) Simon Huntington, the immigrant ancestor, died 
on the voyage from England with his wife and chil- 
dren, and little is known about him. He was born in 
England, and his wife Margaret (Barrett) Hunting- 
ton, was born probably in Norwich, England. She 
settled with her children first at Roxbury, Massachu- 
setts, where she married in 1635-36, Thomas Stoughton, 
of Dorchester. They removed to Windsor, Connecti- 
cut. The children of Simon and Margaret (Barrett) 
Huntington, are: i. William, settled in Salisbury, Con- 
necticut, about 1640. 2. Thomas, settled in Connec- 
ticut. 3. Christopher. 4. Simon, Jr., of whom further. 
5. Ann, mentioned in a letter written by Peter Bret to 
his sister, Margaret (Barrett) Huntington. 

(II) Simon (2) Huntington, son of the immigrant, 
was born in England about 1630, and came to America 
on the ill-fated voyage in 1633. He settled in Norwich, 
and was a member of Mr. Fitch's church there. He 
was a deacon in the church until 1696, when his son 
succeeded him. He was a member of the General As- 
sembly in 1674; had a grant of land in 1686; was 
townsman in 1690-94. In 1694 he was a member of a 
committee to search out and report the deficiencies in 
the public records. He served on a committee to seat 
the meeting house in 1697, and in 1700 was on a com- 
mittee to give deeds and fix titles of lands in dispute or 
with defective title. He married in October, 1653, 
Sarah, daughter of Joseph Clark, of Windsor, Connec- 
ticut. She died in 1721 at eighty-eight. He died at 
Norwich, June 28, 1706, at seventy-seven. They were 
the parents of: i. Sarah, born at Saybrook, August, 
1654; married Dr. Solomon Tracy. 2. Mary, born at 
Saybrook, August, 1657; married a Forbes of Preston. 
3. Simon (3), of whom further. 4. Joseph, born in 
September, 1661. 5. Elizabeth, born at Norwich, Febru- 
ary, 1664, died young. 6. Samuel, of whom further, 
born at Norwich. 7. Elizabeth, born at Norwich, 
October 6, 1666; married Joseph Backus. 8. Nathaniel, 
born at Norwich, July 10, 1672, died young. 9. Daniel, 
born at Norwich, March 13, 1675-76. 

(III) Deacon Simon (3) Huntington, third child of 
Simon (2) and Sarah (Clark) Huntington, born in 
Saybrook February 6, 1659, died November 2, 1736. He 
was taken by his parents to Norwich in the spring of 
1660, and lived on the homestead described in the records 
as "the home lot lying on both sides of the highway," in 
the second book, and as "four acres abutting east on land 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



of Thomas Tracy, south on land of Mr. James Fitch and 
north on the highway," also "four acres over the high- 
way against his home lot," in the first book of records. 
The houses of the first and second Simon Huntington 
were situated on the land so fully described. Like his 
cousin, Christopher, Simon was destined to a most im- 
portant service in the history of the home his parents 
had chosen for him. Inheriting his father's piety and 
gifts he was called in 1696 to succeed him in the deacon- 
ate, and in the office he served with the same fidelity 
and acceptance to the end of his days. He was engaged 
largely in civil affairs, discharging the duties of many 
of the most important offices with marked ability. His 
house centrally placed was honored as the magazine for 
the defensive weapons of the town, and a report made 
in 1720 says it contained a half barrel of powder, thirty- 
one pounds of bullets and four hundred flints. In 1682 
it was voted in town meeting to grant "to Simon Hunt- 
ington, Junior, to take up one hundred akers of land 
on the Shawtucket, not prejudicing the highways nor 
former grants." He married, October 8, 1683, Lydia 
Gager, born in Norwich, August 8, 1663, died August 
8, 1737, a daughter of John and Elizabeth (Gore) 
Gager, and granddaughter of that "right goodly man 
and skilful chyrurgeon," who came to America in 1660 
with Governor Winthrop. 

(III) Lieutenant Samuel Huntingdon, son of Simon 
(2) and Sarah (Clark) Huntington, born in Norwich, 
March i, 1665, married October 29, 1686, Mary, daugh- 
ter of William Clark, of Wethersfield. In 1700 he 
removed to Lebanon, after selling his house and lot in 
the former town for use as a parsonage. He was a 
public man in Norwich, and held important offices. He 
was appointed constable in 1692 and before that had 
been one of the townsmen. Ten years after his removal 
the citizens of Norwich appointed him on a committee 
to locate the meeting-house, about which a serious dis- 
pute had arisen. He was a large landowner in both 
Norwich and Lebanon. His name appears on the list 
of the Lebanon Church in 1707, and his wife's in 1701. 
He died there May 10, 1717, and she died October 5, 
1743. Their children, born in Norwich, were Eliza- 
beth, born April 24, 1688-89; Samuel (2), of whom 
further; Caleb, born February 8, 1693-94; Mary, born 
October i, 1696; Rebecca, born in February, 1698-99, 
in Lebanon; Sarah, born October 22, 1701; John, born 
May 17, 1706; Simon, born August 15, 1708. 

(IV) Deacon Samuel (2) Huntington, born August 
28, 1691, son of Lieutenant Samuel and Mary (Clark) 
Huntington, married, in Lebanon, December 4, 1722, 
Hannah, daughter of Jonathan and Hannah (Avery) 
Metcalf, born January 17, 1702. Her father, Jonathan 
Metcalf, was the son of Jonathan and Hannah (Kenric) 
Metcalf, of Dedham, Massachusetts; grandson of 
Michael and Mary (Fairbanks) Metcalf; and great- 
grandson of Michael and Sarah Metcalf, who were 
driven by the persecutions of Bishop Wren, of Nor- 
wich, England, to flee to New England in the spring 
of 1637. They settled at Dedham. Samuel Hunting- 
ton was elected deacon of the Lebanon Church. His 
wife was admitted to the church, April 25, 1725, and 
died in Lebanon, October 14, 1791. He died in 1784. 
Their children bom in Lebanon were: Samuel, born 



October 16, 1723; Mary, born June i, 1725; Zerviah, 
born July 23, 1727; Oliver, born April 15, 1729; Wil- 
liam, of whom further; Sibyl, born in February, 1735; 
Eliphalet, born April 14, 1737; Jonathan, born March 
19, 1741; Eleazer, born May 9, 1744; Josiah, born 
November 5, 1746. 

(V) Captain William Huntington, son of Deacon 
Samuel (2) and Hannah (Metcalf) Huntington, was 
born August 20, 1732, and married, October 27, 1757, 
Bethia Throop, a lineal descendant of William Scrope, 
one of the judges who condemned King Charles I to 
death, and on fleeing to America changed his name to 
Throop. She was born in 1738 and died in 1799. Her 
funeral sermon preached by the Rev. Zebulon Ely bears 
testimony to her great piety. Captain William Hunt- 
ington was a farmer, and a useful and upright man. 
He lived in Lebanon and died there May 31, 1816. His 
children, born in Lebanon: Dan, born August 9, 1758, 
died September 6, 1758; Rhoda, born December 14, 
1759, died December 11, 1764; Mary, born August 18, 
1761; Wealthy, born April 18, 1763; Rhoda; William, 
born March 6, 1765; Eunice, born January 14, 1769; 
Dan, of whom further. 

(VI) Rev. Dan Huntington, son of Captain William 
and Bethia (Throop) Huntington, was born October 
II, 1774. He graduated from Yale College in 1794, 
was a tutor in Williams College the following two 
years, and for the next two years a tutor in Yale. 
From 1797 to 1809 he was pastor of the Congregational 
Church in Litchfield, Connecticut; and of the Congre- 
gational Church in Middletown, from 1809 to 18 16. 
He removed from Middletown, to Hadley, Massachu- 
setts, and passed the remainder of his life there. He 
did not settle in Hadley as pastor, but continued to 
preach. For a time he supplied a Unitarian pulpit and 
finally he became a Unitarian. He married, January i, 
1801, Elizabeth Whiting Phelps, born February 7, 1779, 
died April 6, 1847, only daughter of Charles and Eliz- 
abeth (Porter) Phelps, of Hadley. Rev. Dan Hunting- 
ton and his wife were the parents of: i. Charles Phelps, 
born in Litchfield, May 24, 1802; he was a lawyer, who 
became judge of the Superior Court for Suffolk County, 
Massachusetts; he lived for several years on Elm 
Street, in Northampton, and in Boston. 2. Elizabeth 
Porter, born May 8, 1803. 3. William Pitkin, born July 
16, 1804. 4. Bethia Throop, born October 7, 1805. 5. Ed- 
ward Phelps, born April 25, 1807. 6. John Whiting, 
born May 28, 1809. 7. Theophilus Parsons, born July 
II, 1811. 8. Theodore Gregson, born March 18, 1813. 
9. Mary Dwight, bom April 18, 1815, died young. 10. 
Catherine Carey, bom May 8, 1817, died August 15, 
1830. II. Frederick Dan, of whom further. 

(VII) Bishop Frederic Dan Huntington, son of Rev. 
Dan and Elizabeth Whiting (Phelps) Huntington, was 
born May 28, 1819, and was graduated from Amherst 
College in the class of 1839. After his graduation he 
took charge of the South Unitarian Church in Boston, 
where he remained until 1855. From there he went to 
Harvard College, where he served five years as professor 
and preacher. In i860 he joined the Protestant Epis- 
copal Church, and forthwith took charge of the newly 
organized Emmanuel Church of Boston, where he re- 
mained as rector for nine years. At the end of that 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



time he was chosen and consecrated Bishop of the Dio- 
cese of Central New York, which office he filled for 
many years. Bishop Huntington was a noted writer. 
Besides writing many books, pamphlets and poems, he 
was a contributor to the "Old Democratic Review," 
the "Christian Examiner," the "North American Re- 
view," the "Forum," the "American Church Review," 
the "Homiletic Review," the "Independent," the "Bos- 
ton Courier," the "Churchman," and the "Congrega- 
tionalist." He was editor before i860 of the "Christian 
Register," the "Monthly Religious Magazine," and 
later of the "Church Monthly." He was also con- 
nected with educational institutions in the following 
capacity: Trustee and visitor of Hobart College; pro- 
fessor and preacher at Harvard College from 1855 to 
i860; trustee of St. Paul's School, Concord, New 
Hampshire, for several years; trustee of St. Mark's 
School; of the Keble School for Girls, at Syracuse, 
New York; of Vassar College; president of the Board 
of Trustees of St. John's School for Boys, at Manlius, 
New York; and lecturer at the Episcopal Theological 
School, Cambridge, and at the General Theological 
Seminary, New York. He brought into being the 
Parochial Mission Society, and the Saint Andrew's 
Brotherhood. He was married, in 1843, to Hannah Sar- 
gent, daughter of Epes Sargent, of Boston. They were 
the parents of: i. The Rev. George Putnam Hunting- 
ton, born in 1844, died in 1904; his children are now 
owners of the Huntington farm at Hadley: Prof. H. 
B. Huntington, of Brown University; Constant Hunt- 
ington, writer and publisher, of London, England; Dr. 
James L. Huntington, of Boston; Rev. Paul S. Hunt- 
ington, of Norton, Virginia; Catharine Huntington, 
of Boston; Frederic D. Huntington, of New York 
City. Dr. James Huntington is an officer of the Hunt- 
ington Family Association, and is in possession of val- 
uable family records. 2. Arria Sargent, who died in 
1921, at the age of seventy-two years. 3. Mary Lin- 
coln Huntington, of Syracuse, New York, now living. 
4- Rev. James Otis Sargent, a priest of the Episcopal 
Church, in West Park, New York. 5. Ruth Gregson, 
of whom further. 

(VIII) Ruth Gregson Huntington, daughter of 
Bishop Frederic Dan and Hannah (Sargent) Hunt- 
ington, vras born in Cambridge, Massachusetts, Novem- 
t>er 3, 1859. She married Archibald Lowery Sessions, 
of New York City, on November 16, 1887. Mr. Ses- 
sions was born in New York City, January 13, i860, the 
son of John and Elizabeth (Fisher) Sessions, the lat- 
ter a daughter of George and Elizabeth (Huntington) 
Fisher. John Sessions was a lawyer in New York. 
Archibald Lowery Sessions is a graduate of Harvard 
College. He studied law and for a time practiced in 
New York; but has devoted most of his life to literary 
work. He is with Street & Smith, publishers, of New 
York, engaged in editorial writing. Mrs. Sessions 
lived for twenty years in the old Henshaw house at 
Northampton, Massachusetts, where she entertained 
fifty or more Smith College students each year. She 
is now living on an ancestral farm at Hadley, formerly 
the property of her great-uncle, Charles Porter Phelps, 
and always known as the Phelps farm. Here she con- 
ducts an extensive dairy business, maintaining a herd 



of Holstein and Guernsey cattle. The Phelps and 
Huntington farms are among the oldest in the State. 
Bishop Huntington, father of Mrs. Sessions, main- 
tained an Episcopal residence in Syracuse, New York; 
but the old home in Hadley was where he passed his 
leisure seasons, and found his greatest pleasure. He 
died there in July, 1904. 

Mr. and Mrs. Sessions are the parents of Hannah 
Sargent Sessions, who married Paul Shipman An- 
drews, special assistant to the Attorney General of the 
United States in Washington. They have one child, 
Nigel L. Andrews. Roger Huntington Sessions. Their 
oldest son married Barbara Foster, of Claremont, New 
Hampshire, in 1920, and John Archibald Sessions, the 
younger son, is unmarried. 



CHARLES OTIS PARSONS— The name Parsons 
dates back to Roman times, and comes from persona, 
Latin for mask. Actors in those days wore wooden 
masks so as to make their voices more distinctly heard 
by the audiences. In later times the word persona also 
came to be used to designate men of ecclesiastical call- 
ing, and now men of the cloth are often referred to as 
parsons. The name Parsons as a family appellation 
dates back to remote times, a record being had of it 
in 1284, when it was used by one, John of Cuddington, 
England. Charles Otis Parsons, whose family were 
Americans for several generations, always took great 
pride in the fact that his antecedents, even hundreds of 
years before their arrival on this side of the Atlantic, 
had been men of honor, and had been highly respected 
in their communities and in their times. 

(I) Philip Parsons, the first American ancestor of 
Charles Otis Parsons, came from England in 1690 and 
was among the first settlers of Enfield, Connecticut. 
He was a farmer, a tanner and a cordwainer. Besides 
he made a good deal of money in the purchase of real 
estate, and was considered a wealthy man in those times. 

He married Anna (maiden name unknown), and 

their children were: Philip; Nathaniel, of whom fur- 
ther; Shubael; Thomas; Sarah; and Ebenezer. 

(II) Nathaniel Parsons, son of Philip and Anna 
Parsons, was born at Enfield, Connecticut, March 11, 
1709-10. He or his son of the same name was a soldier 
in the French and Indian War in 1758 in Lieutenant 
David Parson's company under General Phinehas Ly- 
man, Third Company, First Regiment. He bought 
land on the Scantic River, February 26, 1728-29, and 
various other property at Enfield. Nathaniel Parsons 
married, January 29, 1735-36, Alice Collins, born March 
14, 1716, daughter of Rev. Nathaniel Collins, minister 
of the Enfield Church, graduated at Harvard College 
in 1697, married, in 1701, Alice Adams, who died Feb- 
ruary 19, 1755, daughter of Rev. William Adams, of 
Dedham, Massachusetts. Rev. Nathaniel Collins was 
born June 13, 1681, died February 6, 1758, son of Rev. 
Nathaniel Collins, who was born at Cambridge, Massa- 
chusetts, March 7, 1642, died at Middletown, Connec- 
ticut, December 28, 1684; graduated at Harvard in 
1660, and was ordained minister at Middletown, No- 
vember 4, 1666; married, August 3, 1664, Mary Whit- 
ing, daughter of William Whiting. Deacon Edward 
Collins, father of Rev. Nathaniel Collins, Sr., appeared 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



in Cambridge as early as 1638, and was deacon of the 
first church there; was admitted freeman, May 13, 
1640; lived many years on Governor Cradock's planta- 
tion and finally purchased it; deputy to the General 
Court many years; died in Charlestown, April 9, 1689, 
aged eighty-six years. Alice (Adams) Collins was a 
descendant of Henry Adams, the immigrant of Brain- 
tree, Massachusetts, from whom the two presidents 
were descended. Alice Bradford, wife of Rev. Wil- 
liam Adams, was the daughter of Major William Brad- 
ford and his wife, Alice (Richards) Bradford, grand- 
daughter of Governor William Bradford and wife, 
Alice (Carpenter) Bradford. Governor Bradford was 
the most distinguished of the "Mayflower" company, 
son of William Bradford, of Yorkshire, England. Chil- 
dren of Nathaniel and Alice (Collins) Parsons, born in 
Enfield: Nathaniel, of whom further; Asa, born Feb- 
ruary 4, 1742; Edward, born 1745, died in Springfield; 
Ebenezer, born 1748; William, born 1750; Shubael, 
born 1752, died at Enfield; Alice. 

(III) Nathaniel Parsons, eldest child of Nathaniel 
and Alice (Collins) Parsons, was born in Enfield in 
1736, and resided there. He married (wife's name un- 
known), and to them was born a son, Josiah, of whom 
further. 

(IV) Josiah Parsons, son of Nathaniel Parsons, was 
born in 1776 in Enfield, Connecticut. He married De- 
mias Kellogg, who bore him a son, Josiah, Jr., of whom 
further. 

(V) Josiah Parsons, Jr., son of Josiah and Demias 
(Kellogg) Parsons, was born in 1804 in Enfield, Connec- 
ticut, and died there in 1845. He married Lucy Mark- 
ham. Their children were: Russell D., Horace K., of 
whom further; and Fidibia. 

(VI) Horace K. Parsons, son of Josiah and Lucy 
(Markham) Parsons, was born in Enfield, Connecticut, 
in 1835, died in Florence, Massachusetts, June 8, 1891. 
He was educated in the schools of his native town and 
Wilbraham Academy. For four terms after his grad- 
uation he taught school, and then went into the mercan- 
tile business in Thompsonville, Connecticut. When the 
Civil War broke out he enlisted in October, 1861, in 
Company C, Tenth Regiment of Infantry, and was with 
General Burnside's expedition, taking part in the battle 
of Roanoke Island; Newburn, North Carolina; St. 
Augustine, Florida; Drury's Bluff; Bermuda Hun- 
dred; Deep Bottom; Deep Run; the siege of Peters- 
burg; Fort Gregg, and Appomattox Court House. He 
was present there when General Lee surrendered with 
the remnant of the Southern Army which had fought 
so gallantly against overwhelming odds. He was dis- 
charged in August, 1865, but not before recognition had 
been recorded his splendid record. He was commis- 
sioned first lieutenant and regimental quartermaster of 
the Twenty-fourth Army Corps detailed for special 
service on the staff of General J. R. Hawley in the 
trip to New York at the reelection of President Lin- 
coln, and served on the staffs of Generals H. M. Plais- 
ted and S. B. Danby and with Major-General John Gib- 
bons. In January, 1867, he came to Florence, Massa- 
chusetts, as agent of the Florence Mercantile Company, 
which was one of the most successful cooperative stores 
in the State. He remained there ten years, becoming 



manager, and was largely instrumental in building up 
the prosperity of the establishment. However, he saw 
bigger profits in conducting his ovvm business, and on 
leaving the Florence Mercantile Company, he opened a 
coal and grain establishment for himself. He con- 
ducted this until the time of his death, having earned 
the confidence and respect of all with whom he had 
business or social contact during his eventful life. 

He married, March 4, i860, Sarah A. Loevett, born 
in England, daughter of William and Agnes (Hurd) 
Loevett. They had one daughter who died in infancy; 
a son Fred, who lived only twenty-one months, and 
sons: Lincoln Horace; Charles Otis, of whom fur- 
ther; Royal A., George K., Harry M., and Robert F. 

(VII) Charles Otis Parsons, son of Horace K. and 
Sarah A. (Loevett) Parsons, was born in Thompson- 
ville, Connecticut, in January, 1866, and died in Flor- 
ence, Massachusetts, September 19, 1914. He came to 
Florence with his parents when one year old, and as a 
young boy attended the public schools there. He fin- 
ished at the high school, and then went to Poughkeep- 
sie, New York, to attend the Eastman Business College, 
from which he was graduated at the head of his class. 
He succeeded to his father's hay, grain and coal busi- 
ness, but his indefatigable energy urged him to use his 
time also in other business affairs, and he opened a 
men's clothing and furnishing establishment which he 
conducted successfully for many years. His farsight- 
edness prompted him to erect elaborate buildings on 
the Parsons' Block in Florence, and these buildings, 
which paid him a fine income, would do credit to the 
business section of any city. It often fell to him to 
settle estates, draft wills, and do other work such as is 
done by a notary public, and the persons of the sur- 
rounding country had abiding faith in his wisdom and 
integrity. One of his chief activities had to do with 
the improving of his community, especially in the mat- 
ter of buildings for public use, and he was active in 
the construction of the street fountain established by 
Julius Maine. For many years he was chief engineer 
of the Florence Fire Department, and he was active as 
a director of the Cooperative Bank of Florence. He 
was treasurer of the New England Order of Protec- 
tion, and was an active church member. 

Mr. Parsons married Mary C. Dilworth, of Whitney- 
ville, Maine, June 14, 1892. She is the daughter of 
Martin Charles and Margaret Louise (Higgins) Dil- 
worth. Her father came from Cork, Ireland, where 
he was born in 1822. He died in Northampton, Mas- 
sachusetts, in 1918, aged ninety-six years. He served 
with distinction in the Civil War, and on coming back 
from the battle fields, resumed his trade of printer. 
For a long time he was associated with the "Republican 
Journal," of Belfast, Maine, but in his later years sev- 
ered that connection to come to Northampton to live 
with his daughter, Mrs. Parsons. Mrs. Parsons* 
brothers and sisters are: William, of Madison, Maine; 
Charles, of Norwalk, Connecticut; Oscar, of Madison, 
Maine; Helen, now Mrs. Edward Dragon, living in 
Northampton; and Martin, deceased. The children of 
Charles Otis and Mary C. Dilworth Parsons are: 
Dorothy Dilworth; Charlotte Otis, and Priscilla. 
Dorothy Dilworth married Dr. John Boland, of North- 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



ampton, Massachusetts, and Charlotte Otis married 
Robert Standish Huxley, of Northampton. Mr. and 
Mrs. Huxley have a son, Charles Parsons, born Febru- 
ary II, 1925. 



RUFUS HALSTEAD COOK— In general prac- 
tice and on the judge's bench at Northampton, Mr. 
Cook is a highly valued leader in his profession in this 
part of the State, and one who prizes the best interests 
of the law in its procedure. Throughout his career he 
has proven his abilities as a practitioner of scholarly 
and practical training in his profession, and he fulfills 
to the full approval of his constituency the functions of 
his probate judgeship. Mr. Cook is a member of one 
of the longest established families of the name in New 
England, a family that has been prominently repre- 
sented in the settlement of the first towTiships, both on 
the coast and in this part of the State, as well as in 
all movements for the defence and the maintenance of 
New England and its States. The lineage from the 
first-comer is as follows: 

(I) Major Aaron Cook came from England and set- 
tled in Dorchester, Massachusetts, in 1630; he removed 
to Windsor, Connecticut, in 1635-36, and to Northamp- 
ton in 1661. About 1668, he is also recorded as having 
been one of the early settlers of Westfield, and resid- 
ing there ten years, he returned to Northampton, where 
he died September 5, 1690, aged eighty years. He was 
successively a lieutenant, captain and major in the mil- 
itia. His first wife was a daughter of Thomas Ford; 
his second wife was Joanna Denslow, who died in 
April, 1676, a daughter of Nicholas Denslow; his 
third wife was Elizabeth Nash, daughter of John Nash; 
his fourth wife was Rebecca Smith, widow of Lieuten- 
ant Philip Smith, of Hadley. Children of Major Aaron 
Cook: Samuel, who died in 1649; Joanna, born Au- 
gust 5, 1638; Captain Aaron, of whom further; Miriam, 
born March 12, 1642, married Joseph Leeds; Moses, 
bom November 16, 1645; Samuel, born November 21, 
1650; Elizabeth, born August 7, 1653; and Noah, born 
June 14, 1657. 

(II) Captain Aaron Cook, son of Aaron Cook, of 
Northampton, major in the militia, was baptized Feb- 
ruary 21, 1640, and died September 16, 1716. He was 
a representative to the General Court in 1689-91-93-97. 
He married, May 30, 1661, Sarah, daughter of William 
Westwood; she died March 24, 1730. They were the 
parents of eight children, among them Moses, of whom 
further. 

(III) Moses Cook was born May 5, 1675, and died 
in March, 1758. He married, July 4, 1698, Mary Bar- 
nard, who died in 1753; they had seven children, one 
of whom was Ensign Elisha. 

(IV) Ensign Elisha Cook was born February 22, 
17x5, and died March 7, 1754. He married, September 
8, 1743, Sarah Cook, daughter of Noah Cook, and they 
were the parents of nine children, among them Cole- 
man, of whom further. 

(V) Coleman Cook was born August 3, 1747; he 
married, January 31, 1771, Hannah Smith, who died 
February 22, 1824. Among their seven children was 
James, of whom further. 

(VI) James Cook was born in September, 1777, and 



died in 1861. He married (first) November 26, 1797, 
Polly Rood, daughter of Simeon Rood. She died April 
5, 1800; he married (second) June i, 1801, Ruhamah 
Deane, who was born in 1776, and died in 1861. They 
had eleven children, among them Rufus, of whom 
further. 

(VII) Rufus Cook, born January i, 1815, died in 
August, 1880. A Hadley farmer, he was also an ex- 
tensive cattle dealer, buying and selling, and he ac- 
quired a competency. He married. May 10, 1848, 
Laura Sophia Lyman, daughter of Rufus Lyman, of 
Norwich, Massachusetts, and she died in March, 1893. 
Their children: Austin Eliot, of whom further; and 
Rufus Lyman. 

(VIII) Austin Eliot Cook was born October 8, 1849, 
in Hadley, where he has always resided, and where he 
is a farmer and an extensive tobacco grower. He 
served on the Hadley Board of Selectmen ten yean 
He is a member of Jerusalem Lodge, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, of Northampton; and his religious fel- 
lowship is with the Congregational Church. He mar- 
ried. May 22, 1873, Cecelia Maria Halstead, of Auburn, 
New York, born May 12, 1852, daughter of James M. 
and Mary Halstead; she died January 23, 1924. She 
was the first vice-regent of the Daughters of the Amer- 
ican Revolution, and later was Regent. Her ancestry 
was thus traced to first-comers: i. Thomas and Sarah 
(Koolman) Halsted. ii. Stephen and Hannah (Caller) 
Halstead. iii. John Caller and Cecelia (Parsons) Hal- 
stead. iv. Harrison and Mary (Lankton) Halstead. 
v. Cecelia Maria Halstead, who married Austin Eliot 
Cook. Their children are: i. Jay Erastus, born in 
Hadley, where he attended the public schools, after- 
ward graduating from the Massachusetts Agricultural 
College, Amherst, Massachusetts. He was employed at 
the State Hospital a number of years, and is now as- 
sociated with his brother, Harry L., in tobacco raising. 
He is a member of Nonatuck Lodge, Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows, of Northampton, and a member of 
the Congregational Church. He married, October 15, 
1901, Mary Clark, and has one child, Arthur Ware. 2. 
Rufus Halstead, of whom further. 3. Harry Lyman, 
a biography of whom follows. 4. Laura M., born in 
May, 1885, who died in July, 1917; she married Dr. 
Clifton H. Kellogg, of Northampton. Their son is 
Henry Halstead Kellogg, of Northampton. 

(IX) Rufus Halstead Cook was bom August 25, 
1876, in Northampton, and he attended the public 
schools and Hopkins Academy, at Hadley, where he 
graduated with the class of 1894; and Williston Semi- 
nary, graduating in 1896. He matriculated at Brown 
University, in the class of 1900. 

Associated with the law offices of Hammond & Field 
of Northampton, in 1898, he studied law, and was ad- 
mitted to the bar in 1902, and has practiced in North- 
ampton since that time. He is a member of the law 
firm of Shaw, Hickey & Cook, the "senior member of 
which is Judge E. L. Shaw, now president of the 
First National Bank, of Northampton. Mr. Cook was 
city solicitor for two terms under Mayors Coolidge 
(now President Coolidge) and Feiker: and he is now 
associate judge of the Probate Court. Judge Cook 
was a member of the State Constitutional Convention 



8 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



in 1917-18-19, when the State Constitution was 
amended. During the years 1905-06, he was a member 
of the board of trustees of the Smith Charities of 
Northampton. His fraternal afhliations are with Jeru- 
salem Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons; Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks; Knights of Pythias; 
Northampton Club; and Northampton Country Club; 
and his religious faith is that of the Unitarian Church. 
Judge Rufus Halstead Cook married, May 12, 1908, 
Lillian May Ware, of Northampton, daughter of Arthur 
W. and Lydia (Sweet) Ware, and they are the parents 
of Arthur Ware Cook, who was born July 30, 1909. 



HARRY LYMAN COOK— A dominant and long 
standing agricultural interest of the Connecticut Valley, 
that of to1)acco-growing, has for many years been suc- 
cessfully shared in his own and his father's acres, at 
Hadley, by Harry Lyman Cook, and the record of 
prosperity in the industry in Western Massachusetts has 
been maintained by the thorough methods employed at 
this well-known plantation. Mr. Cook was born and 
bred in a most active centre of the tobacco-producing 
area, and from boyhood he has made the usages and the 
annual system of the cultivation his own; an expert 
tobacco farmer, and the executive head of a local tobacco 
warehouse company, his place in that field of business 
is not a secondary one in that part of the State. He 
is of a line of ancestry that dates from the beginning 
of many of the more prominent Massachusetts settle- 
ments, each generation of which has produced men who 
were active in the military and the industrial life of their 
times. His lineage is traced in the preceding sketch of 
his brother, Rufus Halstead Cook. 

Harry Lyman Cook was born September 6, 1882, 
at Hadley, where he attended the public schools, 
after which he was employed for some time as a clerk in 
stores in Springfield, Hadley and Amherst. Since 1904 
he has been engaged very successfully in the raising of 
tobacco, and in company with his brother. Jay Erastus, 
he produces some twenty acres, annually. Since 1922, 
Mr. Cook has been manager of the Hadley Warehouse 
Company; and he handles the product of some three 
hundred and fifty acres of tobacco, having official charge 
of its grading and preparation for sale to the manu- 
facturers. During the winter he has in his employ some 
one hundred and twenty-five hands. 

Mr. Cook was elected a member of the Hadley board 
of assessors for three years, and after serving one year, 
he resigned. He is a member of Nonatuck Lodge, Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows. His religious fellow- 
ship is with the First Congregational Church at Hadley. 



FRANK SCOTT— One of the old inhabitants of 
North Hadley, who like his father was born here, and 
who has given able service to his community, and has 
earned in return the honored esteem and confidence of 
his townsmen, Frank Scott stands to-day as an example 
of good citizenship, and of those qualities, exemplified 
in his life, of industry, foresight, and uprightness of 
dealing, that have led him to a splendid and substantial 
success. 

(I) He comes of a long line of American ancestry 
who emigrated to this country from England, the first 



forebear in this land being Benjamin Scott, who was 
born in England, and settled in Braintree, where, as 
early as 1643, he was living with his wife Hannah. After 
his demise, his widow married (second) September 21, 
1647, John Harbor. There were five children by the 
first marriage: i. John, born December 25, 1640. 2. 
Peter, born March 6, 1643. 3. Benjamin, born perhaps 
in England. 4. Hannah, married Christopher Webb. 
5. William, of whom further. Others were probably 
born in England. 

(II) William Scott, son of Benjamin Scott, was born 
in England, probably before 1640, and came to this 
country with his parents who settled in Braintree. In 1668, 
he moved to Hadley, then Hatfield, and he probably 
was a brother of John Scott, of Springfield. William 
Scott's home lot at Hatfield was twenty rods wide on 
the east side of the street near the north end, opposite 
the homestead of Sergeant Benjamin Wait. It was 
lately owned by John Brown. William Scott had 
another grant January 16, 1671, and shared in the divi- 
sion of the common lands, having lot No. 65 in the first 
division; lot No. 40 in the second; lot No. 6 in the third; 
and lot No. 69 in the fourth. The two latter are now 
within the limits of the town of Whately. When he 
settled there were already thirty families in the town. 
He fought in King Philip's War at Turner's Falls, May 
19, 1676, when William Allis, Jr., was one of the slain. 
The general court allowed him afterwards, for military 
expenses, two pounds, sixteen shillings. His will was 
not proved, but a copy has been preserved at Memorial 
Hall, Deerfield, dated February 15, 1716. He died in 
1 7 18, aged about eighty-three years, and bequeathed in 
this instrument to his wife, Hannah, and to some of his 
children. He married, January 28, 1640, Hannah Allis, 
of Braintree, daughter of William Allis or Ellis, who 
settled in Braintree in 1639, and was admitted a free- 
man May 18, 1640. He was deacon of the church, re- 
moved to Hadley and thence to Hatfield; was lieutenant 
assistant in 1676, and died in September, 1678. Among 
their ten children was the fifth child, Joseph, of whom 
further. 

(III) Joseph Scott, son of William and Hannah 
(Allis) Scott, was born at Hatfield, March 21, 1682. 
He succeeded to his father's estate, and resided upon the 
homestead. His will was dated December 12, 1744, be- 
queathing fifty pounds each to seven daughters, and the 
residue to sons, David and Joseph. He died in 1762. 
He married, February 13, 1707, at Hatfield, Lydia 
Leonard, of that town. Among their ten children was 
the sixth child Joseph, of whom further. 

(IV) Joseph Scott, son of Joseph and Lydia 
(Leonard) Scott, was born in Hatfield, in 1722, and died 
June 4, 1776. He settled about twenty-five rods south 
of the Whately line, just below the mouth of the Mother 
George Road, where it united with the Deerfield road, 
and where at a later period Elijah Beldon lived, on the 
west side of the Deerfield road. Later he removed to 
the Straits, where he died. It is told that while living 
at Whately Mr. Scott saw a fine large deer one morn- 
ing, feeding where he had foddered his cows in the snow. 
His wife urged him to shoot the deer, as their supply 
of meat was very small, but he refused, saying that it 
was Sunday, and he would not profane the Lord's Day. 




"^Cf^' a^uc^ ^2U^- .^/)^tc^^.^t^ 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



and if the Lord intended him to have the deer, he would 
send it another day. A few days later the deer again 
appeared, and the supply of meat was secured. His will 
was dated May 28, 1776, and he bequeathed to his wife 
Margaret, and thirteen children. He was doubtless the 
Joseph Scott who was in the French and Indian War 
at the capture of Fort Massachusetts, in 1746. Among 
his thirteen children was Israel, the youngest, of whom 
further. 

(V) Israel Scott, son of Joseph and Margaret Scott, 
was bom in Whately in 1771. He was a blacksmith by 
trade, and lived on his father's estate, at what was 
known as the Straits, on the Captain William Fay place. 
He married (first) January 27, 1795, Alice Sampson. 
He married (second) January 5, 1797, Hannah Cowles, 
born November 10, 1772, daughter of Eleazer and Han- 
nah (Dickinson) Cowles, of Amherst. He probably 
removed about 1815 to North Hadley. Among their 
seven children was the third child, Rufus, of whom 
further. 

(VI) Rufus Scott, son of Israel and Hannah (Cowles) 
Scott, was born at Whately, February 9, 1800, and died 
August 16, 1855. He was a mill owner and lumber 
dealer, and "rafted" timber for ship building down the 
river to Hartford. He was a collector of curios, and 
among his collection was a coach and harness, which 
had been used by President Jackson. He was a Demo- 
crat in politics, and in his religious belief, a Unitarian. 
Rufus Scott married (first) May 10, 1825, Martha 
Dickinson, daughter of Ebenezer Dickinson; (second) 
September 18, 1846, Dorcas Hapgood, daughter of Ben- 
jamin Hapgood. She was a teacher at Mt Holyoke 
Academy, and as late as 1891 was living at Amherst. 
Among the nine children was Rufus Porter, the third 
child, of whom further. 

(VII) Rufus Porter Scott, son of Rufus and Martha 
(Dickinson) Scott, was born at Hadley, May i, 1829, 
and died October 29, 1898. He received his education in 
the public schools and learned the trade of machinist in 
Lowell. He worked at his trade there, in Cuba, Wash- 
ington, D. C, and in Hartford. He settled finally in 
North Hadley, where he followed farming and car- 
pentry. During the Civil War he served for three 
years in the Second Massachusetts Battery, under 
Colonel Nimms. He was a Republican in politics, and 
prominent in the public life, having been a member of 
the School Committee for many years, and for a time 
postmaster. In his religious connection he was a Uni- 
tarian. 

Rufus Porter Scott married (first) June 8, 1850, 
Elvira Meecham, who died March 13, 1873; (second) 
May 29, 1878, Nancy M. Fay, who died October 28, 
1894. The children by the first marriage were: i. Frank, 
of whom further. 2. Fannie, born June 25, 1854, died 
May 23, 1862. 3. Lizzie, born July 9, 1858, married 
John Nash, of Hadley, and their children were: George 
S., Alice N., Ethel S., Luella M., Ruth E., Herman B., 
and Helen E. 4. Martha, born October 13, 1859, mar- 
ried June 21, 1888, Frederick H. Fowler, and settled 
in Wayland; child, Scott Fowler, born May 28, 1890. 
5. Nellie, born November i, 1862, was matron of the 
Yankton Training School for Indian Boys at Yankton, 
South Dakota. 6. Abigail D., born October 6, 1864, 



died February 20, 1894. 7. Aaron, born December 24, 
1866, resides at North Hadley, married Caroline T. 
Clapp, and their children are: Roger W., and Lorena 
C. 8. Harry, born October 8, 1869, married Florence 
Hibbard; their children are: Clarence M. H., Thomas 
M. and Perlie F. 9. Charles C, born May 24, 1871. 
10. Rufus, born February 28, 1873, married Teresa 
Deane, and their children are: Edith E., William P., 
Charles E., Emily D., Ruth E., and Lewis H. 

(VIII) Frank Scott, son of Rufus Porter and Elvira 
(Meecham) Scott, was born February 28, 1852, at 
North Amherst. He attended the public schools and 
Hopkins Academy, and worked for his father and the 
neighboring farmers from his early youth until he was 
twenty-three years old, when he bought his farm, and 
has been a very successful and prominent tobacco 
planter in North Hadley. He has also made a success 
of raising onions. He has been industrious and enter- 
prising, and his sagacity and foresight in connection with 
a thorough knowledge of his business learned through 
years of apprenticeship, his sound judgment and the up- 
rightness of all his dealings, have earned him not only 
well deserved and substantial success, but also the good- 
will and the confidence of his townsmen, and brought 
him the honored position that he has achieved. Mr. 
Scott is a Republican in politics, and in his religious 
connection, a Unitarian. He has devoted his life and 
energies to his business, and while doing all in his 
power to help in the betterment of conditions of the 
community, he has never sought political office. He is 
devoted to his home and family. 

Frank Scott married, December 17, 1879, Mary A. 
Morton, born in Whately, daughter of Miles B. Morton, 
of Whately. She is the ninth in descent from John 
Alden, the "Mayflower" Pilgrim. Mr. and Mrs. Scott 
are the parents of nine children, born at North Hadley: 
I. Fannie E., born March 11, 1882; married Mahlon C. 
Weeks, April 21, 1917, and they have one daughter, 
Muriel Isabelle, born October 27, 1918. 2. Frank 
Porter, born October 29, 1883; married Clara W. 
Newton, of Amherst, October 20, 1920. 3. Fred Arthur, 
born February 12, 1885. 4. Walter H., born May 17, 
1889, died February 10, 1890. 5. Edith M., born March 
31, 1891. 6. Robert M., born April 3, 1893; married 
October 30, 1916, Jessie Blakesley, and they are parents 
of four children: Jessie Charlotte, born December 7, 
1917; Edward Robert, bom March 28, 1919; and Robert 
Morton, Jr., born April 11, 1921; Frank, born August 
I, 1922. 7. Mary Helen, born June 15, 1895; married 
September 19, 1916, John E. Sadd, and they have four 
children: Alice Mary, born September 12, 1917; John 
Edward, Jr., born August 21, 1919; Paul Luther, bom 
August 27, 1921; and Elizabeth Marion, born December 
r, 1923. 8. Howard S., born June 26, 1898, died Sep- 
tember 26, 1898. 9. Alice Irene, born May 27, 1900; 
married, June 9, 1922, A. Edward Headberg, and they 
are the parents of a son, Edward Chester, bom April 6, 
1923. 



JOHN BERNARD O'DONNELL— A renowned 
Irish family, the O'Donnell's are represented in North- 
ampton by Judge John Bernard O'Donnell. The branch 
from which the Northampton O'Donnell's are descended 



10 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



had a coat-of-arms bearing the motto: In hoc signo vinces. 
John O'Hart says the ancestry of the American family 
has been traced back to Shane O'Donnell, son of Tir- 
lock, who quarrelled with his father and was banished 
from the North of Ireland, the home of the family, 
to the province of Munster in the South. 

The O'Donnells are descended from Cunaill Gulbhan, 
son of Niall Mor, the one hundred and twenty-sixth 
monarch of all Ireland. They were inaugurated and 
proclaimed Princes of Tirconnell, the ceremony taking 
place on the rock of Kilmacrenan. Their chief castle 
was in County Donegal where its ruins remain. The 
chief of Tirconnell died in 1422 leaving eighteen sons. 
The Irish spelling is O'Dombnaill which means "All 
mighty in the World." One of the family was Hugh 
Roe (Red) O'Donnell. Clan O'Donnell was loyal to 
Ireland in all ages. Hugh Roe O'Donnell was a dashing 
and gallant officer, brawny and strong and a great 
favorite with the people. He was second in command of 
the Irish army in the great uprising in 1594 against 
Queen Elizabeth's army, which had landed to sub- 
jugate Ireland. Hugh O'Neil was commander in chief 
of the Irish Army which was crushed after ten years of 
relentless warfare. Many renowned families left Ireland 
forever rather than submit. O'Donnells went to Spain 
and became leaders there, Leopold O'Donnell was a 
Lieutenant General in the Spanish Armies. He was 
Captain General of Cuba and later still Prime Minister 
of Spain. The Spanish fort in Havana Harbor, built 
when he was Captain General bears his name in large 
letters. Hugh Roe O'Dormell died and was buried in 
Spain. 

Terence O'Donnell, grandfather of Judge O'Donnell, 
was a gentleman farmer living in Inch, County Kerry, 
Ireland. His children were: James, John, Thomas, 
Bridget, and Joanna. James was the father of John B. 
O'Donnell, and his mother was Bridget Herlihy, 
daughter of John Herlihy, a native of Keelduff, County 
Kerry. John B. O'Donnell the son was born in Inch, 
September 8, 1846. Before the boy was two years old, 
the worst famine Ireland ever knew broke out. For 
four years the crops rotted and spoiled before they 
ripened, but foreign landlords demanded the rent without 
pity. In 1848 James O'Donnell alone left his family 
behind and set sail for America hoping to better his 
condition. He was able to send money for his wife the 
next year, and in 1850 he brought over his three children, 
Catherine, John and Terence. James, the father, died 
in Northampton, Massachusetts, November 25, 1882, at 
sixty-five, while his wife, Bridget Herlihy, died De- 
cember 25, 1882. Their children were: Kate, since 
dead; John B.; Terence B., a lawyer practicing in 
Holyoke; Thomas, who died in childhood; Daniel, since 
dead; Mary, who married Peter J. Purcell; Michael, 
who died. 

James O'Donnell worked at railroad building much 
of the time under the hardest conditions in the wilder- 
ness, in Vermont, New Hampshire and Massachusetts 
until 1854. He came to Northampton at that time and 
helped in building the "Canal" railroad — between North- 
ampton and Easthampton. He assisted later in building 
the foundation of the Northampton Insane Hospital, 



and remained a resident of Northampton. John B. 
O'Donnell was not yet five years old when he arrived 
in the country. He had no opportunity to attend school 
until he reached Northampton at eight years of age. 
He attended one of the twin school houses where the 
Copeland House stands in South Street. He soon 
entered the big school adjoining where he became a 
classmate of Frederick N. Kneeland, cashier of the 
First National Bank, in Northampton. He entered the 
third class, but before the year had ended he jumped 
two classes and finished in the first. His teacher was 
Martha B. Kingsley whom he kindly and gratefully re- 
membered. 

In the hard times of 1857, some of the schools were 
closed except to pupils able to pay $1.75 each. This 
barred the O'Donnell children. Henry S. Gere told 
their father that if he would saw wood at his home he 
would pay for the schooling of the children. The father 
accepted and the three children were placed in a private 
school. At eleven, John was sent to Hadley to do chores 
for Benjamin Lombard for his board and schooling. 
He attended Hopkins Academy and improved his oppor- 
tunity. At twelve years and six months he began work 
in the Florence Cotton Mill, from half past six to half 
past seven, all for twenty-five cents a day. At seventeen 
John became a member and a leader of the noted Eagle 
Baseball Club of Florence where his family had moved. 
Leaving the cotton mill at fifteen, O'Donnell worked 
making guns and bayonets for the soldiers fighting on 
southern battlefields. He was employed by the Florence 
Sewing Machine Company after the war and became a 
sub-contractor in this business. He continued to study 
under private tutors in all his spare time with aspira- 
tions for the law. He established and conducted a 
boot and shoe store for two years. The next year he 
read law in the office of his brother, Terence B. O'Don- 
nell in Holyoke, and a year later he entered the Boston 
University Law School, being graduated in the class of 
1877 with the degree of Bachelor of Laws. In order to 
master his profession as fully as possible he took a 
post-graduate course and remained at the University 
another year. He was admitted to the Hampshire 
County bar in 1878. He opened an office in North- 
ampton on July I of the same year, and soon had a 
lucrative practice. He became a leader of the bar, 
equipped as he was with legal lore, sound common sense 
and a remarkable training in life, all of which he used 
to the advantage of his clients. 

He became a Republican early in life, but changed his 
allegiance to the Democratic party. He regarded the 
Republicans as sham prohibitionists, and admired the 
Democrats, "because they voted as they drank." He 
also found the sewing machine companies were selling 
machines in England for thirty-five dollars while under 
protection they were able to charge forty-five dollars 
for the same machines in the United States. He bolted 
the nomination of Grover Cleveland in 1884 and voted 
for James G. Blaine. When Northampton was a village 
Mr. O'Donnell was made a member of a committee to 
draft and report on a sewer system for the town. He 
believed that a double system, one for sewage, and one 
for storm water, by far the less expensive was much the 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



IX 



better for the town to adopt. He wrote the minority 
report clearly and comprehensively, and after almost 
forty years had the satisfaction of seeing the city adopt 
the separate system as far as conditions would allow. 
Mr. O'Donnell was also placed upon a committee to 
draft a charter for the town about to become a city. 
When about 1907 the City Council appointed a com- 
mittee to draft a new charter, a work which took three 
years, the new charter was rejected on the strength of an 
analysis which Mr. O'Donnell wrote for the "Daily 
Gazette." Offices were thrust upon him, not sought by 
him. He was secretary and treasurer of the Demo- 
cratic Town Committee; chairman of the City Com- 
mittee; chairman of the Hampshire County Committee 
of his party ; a member of the first City Council ; chair- 
man of the Board of Assessors for two years. He re- 
signed in 1889 to take a trip to Europe and he there 
toured Ireland, England, Scotland, Wales, Germany, 
France, Switzerland and Holland. He was defeated 
for Mayor on his return; but determined to become 
Mayor of Northampton he ran again and won by three 
votes. As Mayor he appointed a Republican "for the 
good of the service," and created a split in his own 
party. He further refused to sign liquor licenses 
favored by Aldermen. When the Board retaliated and 
refused to grant any licenses making the city "dry" for 
a period of days, the Mayor, who never used intoxi- 
cating liquor or tobacco in any form, said to the alder- 
men privately: "Gentlemen I can get along without my 
whiskey as long as you can"! Finally the Board yielded 
to the Mayor. 

In a controversy over sewers he appeared before the 
Legislative Committee at Boston, and Northampton was 
authorized to borrow $100,000 to construct sewers. 
His great achievement as Mayor, however, was the 
separation of grades of the highways and railroads. The 
City Government asked that the railroads be elevated 
above the highways, but the railroads wanted the high- 
ways elevated instead, and were favored in the report 
which found against the city in every detail. Mayor 
O'Donnell in his inaugural address denounced his find- 
ings. He called a mass meeting and was authorized by 
resolution to defend the city. The Legislature passed 
an act forbidding the approval of the commission report 
by the court of review. This was attacked as unconsti- 
tutional by the railroads, but the Legislature was sus- 
tained by the highest court in the State on appeal. The 
railroad tracks were elevated above the highways as a 
result. He ran for reelection at the insistence of the 
party, and won by a large majority. After his term 
ended he retired, having refused to run again. 

Mr. O'Donnell is the first Roman Catholic who ever 
ran for Mayor of Northampton, but nothing was said 
of his race or creed after his first campaign which ended 
in defeat. He invited a Catholic priest to officiate at 
his first inauguration which he won by three votes. 
After his triumphant second election he invited a Prot- 
estant clergyman to do the same thing. It is the 
only time a Catholic priest ever has officiated at any 
inauguration of a mayor in Northampton. Mr. O'Don- 
nell was defeated for Attorney General in 1896 and de- 
feated for Lieutenant Governor in 1900. He has been 
a member of the Order of United Workmen, and the 



Ancient Order of Hibernians. He was largely instru- 
mental in organizing the Father Mathew Total Absti- 
nence and Benevolent Society of Northampton more 
than fifty years ago. When the society needed funds to 
remodel its hall, Mr. O'Donnell contributed $1,000. In 
youth he was a splendid baseball player, but in 1903 he 
broke down physically and passed the winter of 1903-04 
in the West Indies, returning in better health and able 
to attend to his law business again. In 1894, to be nearer 
his business, he moved from Florence to the Center, 
where his home called "The Lookout," stands on the 
northerly brow of Round Hill overlooking the Con- 
necticut Valley. Its Piazzas are near those of the 
famous Round Hill hotel of the "fifties" where Jenny 
Lind sat viewing the grandeur of the scene, and declared 
Northampton to be "The Paradise of America." In 
the summer of 19 15, Judge William P. Strickland of the 
District Court died, and Governor David I. Walsh 
appointed Judge O'Donnell his successor. The nomina- 
tion was unanimously confirmed by the Governor's 
council composed of Republicans except one. He soon 
after was appointed Chief Justice of the District Court 
of Hampshire and won universal approval. 

Judge O'Donnell married, on November 25, 1869, 
Bridget T. Coughlin, daughter of Daniel and Honora 
Coughlin, of Haydenville, who died in December, 1887, 
leaving five children: i. James C, born August 26, 1870; 
died March 30, 191 5, a graduate of Holy Cross College 
and Harvard Medical School and was a practicing 
physician for a number of years at Haverhill, Massachu- 
setts. 2. George P., born July 10, 1872; died March 11, 
1918. He was a lawyer educated at Holy Cross Col- 
lege, and Boston University Law School; was City 
Solicitor for five years, and District Attorney for one 
year in Northampton. He married Ella R. Larkin 
and had as children: Ella, Mary, Annette, Leonora, John 
B., who died, Kathleen, George, Sophie, since dead, and 
William. 3. John B., Jr., born September 16, 1877; in 
the insurance business in New York. 4. Charles H., 
born June 15, 1883; on the theatrical stage in New York. 
5. Edward J., who married Grace Henchy, and had as 
children: John B., Dorothy, and James. Mrs. O'Don- 
nell died in December, 1887, and nine years later Judge 
O'Donnell married Mary E. Fitzgerald, of Worcester, 
Massachusetts. "The Northampton Herald" of July 18, 
1916, said of him: 

The versatile temperament of Judge O'Donnell is 
becoming more and more apparent following each ses- 
sion of the District Court. It was only a short time 
ago that a young man was arraigned in court and the 
Judge after hearing his case decided to let him go. 
The young man stated that he wanted to go to his 
home in New Jersey, but did not have the money to 
pay his fare. The Judge was impressed by the boy's 
sincerity and ordered Chief W. G. Gilbert to buy a 
ticket for the boy and said that he would pay for it. 
The Judge has proved a friend in need to many of the 
wayward in the city and his lenient policy has brought 
excellent results. His action in contributing to the 
Police Relief Association adds one more meritorious 
action to his already long record. 



GEORGE P. B. ALDERMAN— The surname of 
the Alderman family derives from the title held by zm 
ancestor, as do the surnames Constable, Sheriff, Warden, 
Beadle and others. The Alderman family originally 
came from England, although it is not a numerous family 



12 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



in that country. The first mention in the New England 
records of the name of Alderman is about 1672, when 
William Alderman, the first American ancestor, settled 
in Windsor, Connecticut. From Windsor he removed 
to Simsbury, in that State, where he engaged in agricul- 
ture. He died about 1697. There are descendants of 
this ancestor living in Simsbury to this day. In 1679 he 
married Mary Case, daughter of John and Sarah (Spen- 
cer) Case, who was born in Simsbury June 22, 1660. 
Sarah (Spencer) Case was the daughter of William and 
Agnes Spencer. She was born in 1636. William Spen- 
cer died in 1640. His widow, Agnes, married William 
Edwards, in 1647; so that Agnes was not only the mater- 
nal ancestor of the Aldermans, but gave to the world the 
illustrious descendants of Rev. Timothy Edwards, D. D., 
and his more illustrious son, and grandson, Rev. Jonathan 
Edwards, D. D., LL. D. So that the Alderman and the 
Edwards lines were of the same blood. William and 
Mary (Case) Alderman had six children. 

(H) William (2) Alderman, son of William and 
Mary (Case) Alderman, followed agriculture in Sims- 
bury, and took an active interest in the town's affairs. 
He married Rebecca Osban (Osborne), of Windsor, 
and they had four children, one of whom was Elijah, 
of whom further. 

(III) Elijah Alderman, son of William (2) and Re- 
becca Osban (Osborne) Alderman, settled in that part of 
Simsbury now known as East Granby. and like his fore- 
bears was a farmer. His wife, Deborah, bore him two 
sons. 

(IV) Elijah (2) Alderman, son of Elijah and Deb- 
orah Alderman, was born about 1750, lived in East 
Granby, and was also a farmer. He married, and among 
his children was Oliver, of whom further, born in 
East Granby, died in 1858, aged seventy-six. 

(V) Oliver Alderman, son of Elijah (2) Alderman, 
became one of the prominent business men of the town, 
and aside from agriculture was a general contractor, 
owned a distillery and several farms ; held a commis- 
sion as justice of the peace for many years, and stood 
high in the community. He was the only one in the town 
that could make the drawings and carve out to make 
a perfect fit, the large wooden cider press screws used 
in those early days, and this was a source of consider- 
able income; he married, and among his children were: 
I. Charles, whom he taught to do this work; he married 
Patty (Martha) Alderman, a cousin, and they had five 
children. The parents were Episcopalians. 2. Clydon, 
of whom further. 

(VI) Gydon Alderman, son of Oliver Alderman, was 
born and died in East Granby. He was a wheelwright 
and carriage builder of fine mechanical skill, industrious 
and a useful citizen whose life ended in its prime, at the 
age of thirty-seven. His wife, Mary Ann (Hatch) 
Alderman, was descended from Captain Joseph Hatch, a 
soldier of King Philip's War, who was a son of Thomas 
Hatch, of Plymouth Colony, one of the nine men who 
in 1638 proposed to "Take up their freedom at Yar- 
mouth." They were the parents of three children, one 
of whom was Eugene Clydon, of whom further. 

(VII) Eugene Clydon Alderman, son of Qydon and 
Mary Ann (Hatch) Alderman, was born March 18, 

1840, died at his home in Holyoke, Massachusetts, in 



1915, his death resulting from a fall from an apple tree 
he was trimming. He was a carpenter by trade, and 
when the Civil War broke out he was employed at his 
trade in California. He returned home to enlist in his 
native State, entered the Union Army in September, 1862, 
was in several battles as a private in the 25th Regiment, 
Connecticut Volunteer Infantry, was wounded in the head 
and was discharged as sergeant. His regiment was 
under fire at one period for forty-four consecutive days. 
He was employed thereafter by the Holyoke Water 
Company as carpenter for thirty-one years. He mar- 
ried, January 22, i860, Ellen Eliza Holmes, daughter of 
Robert and Eliza (Barrett) Holmes. Robert Holmes, 
father of Ellen Eliza (Holmes) Alderman, was born in 
County Donegal, Ireland, in 1820, died in East Granby, 
Connecticut, F'ebruary 13, 1858, at the age of thirty- 
eight years. He came to the United States with his 
parents in 1838, settled in Tarrifville, Connecticut, where 
they found employment in the carpet mills as weavers. 
Later he engaged in the hotel business, and at one time 
ran the United States Hotel in Springfield. He mar- 
ried Eliza Barrett, daughter of Henry and Sophia (Fen- 
ton) Barrett, born in Connecticut, November, 1815, 
and died at Andover, Connecticut, April 15, 1891. The 
married life of Eugene Clydon and Ellen Eliza (Holmes) 
Alderman extended over a period of fifty-five years. They 
were the parents of eight children, George P. B. of whom 
further, was the eldest. He retired in 1910, and the 
following five years were passed in happy content with 
his five sons, three daughters and his grandchildren, of 
whom he had nineteen, and proud of the fact that he 
had two great-grandchildren. Like others of his name 
he was an Episcopalian, and in politics a Republican. 
Fraternally, he was associated with the Masons and took 
great pride in the Grand Army of the Republic. All 
his sons are Masons; his wife, daughters, and daughters- 
in-law, are members of the Eastern Star. 

(VIII) George P. B. Alderman, son of Eugene Qydon 
and Ellen Eliza (Holmes) Alderman, was born Sep- 
tember 20, 1862. He worked on the farm and at the 
carpenter's trade, and attended school in East Granby, 
Connecticut. The family removing to Plainville, Con- 
necticut, where he attended school for a year, and then 
entered the employ of H. D. Frost, who ran a country 
store. In 1879 he removed with his parents to Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, and here he worked with his father and 
learned the trade of carpenter. With this, however, he 
was not content. He entered the office of James A. 
Clough, architect, of Holyoke, and was with him about 
five years, and later was employed in the architectural 
office of Cass Chapman, a prominent architect of Chi- 
cago, Illinois. In 1885 Mr. Alderman returned to Hol- 
yoke and opened his own office as an architect. Later, 
Henry Holcomb Alderman, a brother, having been ad- 
mitted to the firm, the firm name was changed to George 
P. B. Alderman & Company. George P. B. Alderman 
is a director of the Hadley Falls Trust Company, one 
of the trustees of the People's Savings Bank, and a 
member of the finance committee. He is a member of 
the Second Baptist Church of Holyoke, and also a mem- 
ber of the Holyoke Lodge of Odd Fellows ; Mt. Tom 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons ; and the Engineers' 
Society of Western Massachusetts. 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



13 



George P. B. Alderman married (first) C. Belle 
Drake, of Springfield, Massachusetts, daughter of Eb- 
enezer and Amelia Drake, of Newark, New Jersey. 
Their children, all born in Holyoke, are: i. Eliza (Lida) 
Helen, of whom further, born February 4, 1887. 2. 
Marjorie, born June 11, 1889, died June 12, 1889. 3. 
Albert Drake, of whom further, born August 24, 1890. 
4. Helen Holmes, born December 10, 1891, died Janu- 
ary 12, 1907, called "one of the sweetest souls that 
ever lived." 5. George, bom March 20, 1895, died Au- 
gust 14, 1896. 6. Paul, of whom further, born Novem- 
ber 5, 1896. 7. Lesley, of whom further, born March 
II, 1901. Mr. Alderman married (second) Mrs. Hor- 
tense (Goslee) Bacon, of East Granby, Connecticut, 
daughter of Owen E. and Emma (Cowles) Goslee. 
Their children, all born in Holyoke, are : 8. Hortense, 
born August 14, 191 1. 9. Bissell, born September 19, 
1912. 10. Wayne, bom July 2, 1914. 

(IX) Eliza (Lida) H. Alderman, daughter of George 
P. B. and C. Belle (Drake) Alderman, married Robert 
Glenn Ashman, of Salisbury, Connecticut, who is now 
(1925) manager of the J. D. Crosby Pressed Steel Com- 
pany, of Pawtucket. Rhode Island. Their children: 
Barbara Helen, born in Milford, Connecticut, May 10, 
1914; Robert Glenn, Jr., born in Milford, July 8, 1915. 

(IX) Albert D. Alderman, son of George P. B. and 
C. Belle (Drake) Alderman attended the public schools 
of Holyoke, Gushing Academy, and the University of 
Vermont. He married Madelene L. Harrigan, of New 
York City, daughter of Michael and Katherine (Mc- 
Grath) Harrigan. He entered the employ of the 
People's Savings Bank of Holyoke, and is now (1925) 
assistant treasurer of that institution. Their children 
are: George, born in Springfield, August 22, 1914; 
Madelyn, bom in West Springfield, January 19, 1916; 
Albert D., Jr., bom in West Springfield, June i, 191 8; 
Richard, born in Holyoke September 29, 1920; Lincoln 
Wayne, bom in Holyoke, July 2, 1922. 

(IX) Paul Alderman, son of George P. B. and C. 
Belle (Drake) Alderman, graduated at the Holyoke 
High School. He volunteered to join the World War, 
and joined the Medical Tank Corps, enlisting at Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, was designated as private No. 
365,860. He entered Fort Slocum, April 29, 191 8; Fort 
Jay, May 20, 1918; Camp Colt, Gettysburg, June i, 1918; 
overseas embarkation, August 28, 1918; safe arrival, 
September 16, 1918. At Bourg, near Longres, France, 
Tank Center No. 302, A. P. O., 714, Company A, 330th 
Battalion, Light Tank Corps. Arrived at Camp Mer- 
ritt. New York, April 19, 1919, sent to Camp Meade, 
Maryland, and to Camp Devens, April 10, 1919. Dis- 
charged at Camp Devens, April 24, 1919. He was em- 
ployed a year in his father's office, but did not like 
architectural work, and went to Worcester. He is now 
(1925), in the employ as teller of the Mechanics' Sav- 
ings Bank of Worcester, Massachusetts. He is a mem- 
ber of the Second Baptist Church of Holyoke, and of 
a Masonic Lodge in Worcester. 

(IX) Lesley Alderman, daughter of George P. B. 
and C. Belle (Drake) Alderman, attended the Holyoke 
High School, Connecticut College for Women, at New 
London, Connecticut, and is now (1925), a teacher in 
the public schools of Milford, Connecticut. 



A few of the buildings designed and constructed under 
the supervision of George P. B. and Henry H. Alder- 
man are: 

Holyoke Churches— 1887, Chapel for the First Con- 
gregational Church, corner Hampden and Pleasant 
streets; 1893, church was built in connection with chapel; 
1889, First M. E. Church, corner Appleton and Elm 
streets; 1898, French Roman Catholic Church, Willi- 
mansett, Massachusetts ; 1899, German Lutheran Church, 
Park, Jackson and Bridge streets; 1900, Endeavor Bap- 
tist Chapel, Ely and West streets; 1901, Polish Roman 
Catholic Holy Mother Dolorosa Church, comer Maple 
and Lyman streets; 1901, German Lutheran C:hurch, 
of St. John, Port Richmond, Staten Island, New 
York; 1901, German Lutheran Church, Hartford, 
Connecticut; 1901, German Lutheran Church, Terry- 
ville, Connecticut; 1903, Polish Roman Catholic, New- 
Britain, Connecticut; 1903, Rodphey Sholem Synagouge, 
Park Street, Holyoke, Massachusetts; 1905, French Ro- 
man Catholic, St. Jean de Baptist Church, Ludlow, 
Massachusetts; 1921, Second Baptist Church alterations, 
at a cost of about $100,000; Polish R. C. Church, 
Bridgeport, Connecticut. 

Holyoke Schools— 1894, twelve-room parochial school, 
for Rev. Father Crevier ; 1896, the Holyoke High School, 
185x225; sixty rooms and assembly hall, 62x90; 1900, 
eight-room addition to the Elmwood School; 1910, 
twelve-room William Whiting School, Chestnut Street; 
1921, Smith's Ferry School; 1922, additions and altera- 
tions to the Nonotuck Street School; 1923, West Hol- 
yoke School. 

1894, the Central ten-room school for town of Or- 
ange, Massachusetts; 1895, the eight-room Elisabeth 
Street School, Pittsfield, Massachusetts; 1889, high 
school and town hall, for town of Granby, Massachu- 
setts; 1899, remodeled the high school for town of Or- 
ange, Massachusetts; 1901, the four-room Mrytle and 
Cheney Street School, Orange, Massachusetts; 1913,. 
high school and town hall, for town of South Hadley,. 
Massachusetts; 1915, Hampdon County Truant School, 
Agawam, Massachusetts. 

School houses for the town and city of (Thicopee, 
Massachusetts: 1886, addition to the old Willimansett 
School, four rooms ; 1890, addition to old Grape Street 
building; 1890, addition to old Spruce Street building; 
1896, addition to Willimansett building; 1897, addition 
to Grape Street building; 1897, new Chapin six-room 
building, Willimansett; 1898, new four-room Grape 
Street building; 1899, new six-room East and Southwick 
streets, Chicopee Falls, and a four-room addition to this 
in 1909; 1905, four-room addition to Chapin School, 
Willimansett; 1907, four-room addition to Fairview 
School building; 1908, new building for a training 
school; 191 1, new twelve-room George S. Taylor School, 
Chicopee Falls ; 1912, eight-room addition to Valentine 
School building. 

1914, Nonotuck Hotel, associate architects; 1914, Ma- 
sonic Temple, South Hadley Falls, Massachusetts ; 1920,. 
James H. Baker's Strand Theater, Maple Street; 1920, 
Masonic Temple, Chestnut Street, $250,000; 1925, Mt. 
Tom Golf Qub (plans were made) ; the Y. M. C. A., 
Northampton, Massachusetts. 

The business blocks of John Tilley & Sons; Thomas. 



M 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



S. Childs ; A. T. Gallup ; H. M. S. Senior, now the City 
National Bank Building; the Mills-Alderman, now the 
People's Savings Bank Building; the C. W. Rackliff 
Building; Sheean & Dowd stores and offices; Chas. 
Breuck block, and many others; the Steiger Syndicate 
Mercantile buildings, in Holyoke, Springfield, New Bed- 
ford, Fall River, Massachusetts, and Port Chester, New 
York; the Herman Adaskin Mercantile Buildings of Fall 
River and New Bedford, Massachusetts. 

1892, the parochial residences of : Rev. Charles Cre- 
vier, Cabot Street, Holyoke; Rev. H. Hamelin, Willi- 
mansett, Massachusetts; Rev. M. A. Desrocher, Ludlow, 
Massachusetts; Rev. Lucien Bojnowski, New Britain, 
Connecticut. 

Buildings for Rev. Lucien Bojnowski. at New Britain, 
Connecticut: 1903, church building; 1904, residence; 
1907, community building, with sixteen school rooms ; 
1924, eighteen-room school building; 1924, asylum build- 
ing for Society Children of Mary of Immaculate Con- 
ception, Inc. 

Among the many Holyoke residences may be men- 
tioned : The residences of James H. Newton, Timothy 
H. Fowler, T. B. O'Donnell, O. D. Allyn, George N. 
Tyner, W. H. Wilson, F. D. Smith, James M. Ramage, 
Frank Hegy, C. B. Sampson, Edward S. Judd, Philip 
C. Whiting, E. H. Friedrich, Hugo E. Friedrich, Thomas 
J. Lynch, Ray F. Heidner, G. A. Waters, C. H. Taber, 
James M. Cleary, Thomas M. Cleary, A. D. Desrocher, 
John Tilley, C. F. Tilley, John G. Clark, Gordon Blanch- 
ard, Dr. J. E. Brindamore, A. C. Bagg, Dr. P. H. 
Qark, Dr. L. H. Clark, James Ranger, D. M. Foley, 
Dr. G. C. Roberts, John J. D. McCormack, H. W. 
Cooley, Albert Steiger Bungalow, E. S. Towne, and 
many others. 

R. C. Kerr, Fall River, Massachusetts ; Warren M. 
King, Orange and Northampton, Massachusetts ; Edward 
J. Lobdell, Jr., Onaway, Michigan. The summer residence 
of E. J. Lobdell at Stamford Highridge, Stamford, 
Connecticut; Fred M. Smith, 1891 and 1916, South 
Hadley Falls, Massachusetts ; W. K. Staab, N. G. Hayes, 
E. G. Southwick, C. W. Spear, Northampton, Massa- 
chusetts; the factories of the Buchanan Bolt Wire 
Works; American Pad & Paper Co.; the Coburn Trol- 
ley Track Co.; the Gum Products Co., of Holyoke, 
Massachusetts; the Potter Knitting Co., Springfield, 
Massachusetts; the Lee Shoe Factory, Athol, Massa- 
chusetts; and several mill buildings. 

They have also designed apartment blocks in Holyoke 
and vicinity, literally by the hundreds, and are still going 
strong, doing more and better class of work every year. 



CHARLES BLISS KINGSLEY— A long time ago 
the Kingsley family began to attract attention in England 
by its service to the country, and since that time it has 
been prominent both in the British Isles and in America. 
It was such a long time ago that the first record of a 
Kingsley is available that the name has had an oppor- 
tunity to gradually change in the form of its spelling, 
and whereas in those medieval times it was written 
"Kyngsleigh," the changing times have brought it down 
to us as "Kingsley." One of the prominent members 
of that well known family is Charles Bliss Kingsley. 

Ralph de Kyngsleigh is the original of the line and he 



flourished in England about the year 1128. He had 
come into vast estates through his service to the king 
and was grantee of the Forest of Mara and Mandren. 
But when Cromwell came into power, and the aristo- 
crats were shorn of their holdings, the Kingsleys, along 
with many others, were deprived of their estates. Canon 
Kingsley was one of the most famous of the English 
branch of the family, and he took great pride in the 
reputation which it had always borne for uprightness. 
He wrote: "Irrepressible energy has always been char- 
acteristic of the family. No one of the family was ever 
prosecuted for crime or misdemeanor. The family have 
the same characteristics — dark hair and complexion, 
dark eyes, angular, muscular frames." The Kingsley 
coat-of-arms is described: Vert a cross engrailed ermine. 
Crest: In a ducal coronet a goat's head argent. 

(I) The first ancestor of Charles Bliss Kingsley to 
come to America was John Kingsley. He came from 
England and settled at Dorchester, Massachusetts. That 
was in 1632, and he was one of the seven signers of the 
first church covenant, August 23, 1636. He was proba- 
bly a brother of Stephen Kingsley, who settled in Brain- 
tree in 1637, removed to Dorchester and bought half of 
the Hutchinson farm, and then, returning to Braintree 
engaged in the buying and selling of land, became an 
elder of the church and deputy of the general church. 
John Kingsley removed to Rehoboth after 1648 and be- 
came one of the town officers. During the Indian wars 
he and his family suffered severely, and one of his let- 
ters to the authorities, asking relief, has been carefully 
preserved as an important historical document of the 
times. He married (first) Elizabeth, (second) Mary. 
His children were Freedom Eldad, born 1638, one of the 
members of the First Baptist Church in Massachusetts 
in 1663; Edward Renewal or Renewed, born March 19, 
1644; Enos, of whom further; one daughter, who mar- 
ried John French, of Northampton, and another who 
married Jones. 

(II) Enos Kingsley, son of John Kingsley, was born, 
probably at Rehoboth about 1650, and died December 
9, 1708. He was admitted a freeman in 1680. He 
located at Northampton, Massachusetts, and married 
Sarah, daughter of Edmund Haynes, of Springfield. 
Their children were: John, born 1664, and who died 
in infancy; Sarah, 1665; John, 1667; Haynes, who died 
in his twentieth year; Ann, Samuel, of whom further; 
Remember, who died young; Hannah, 1681. 

(III) Samuel Kingsley, son of Enos Kingsley, was 
born April 29, 1674. He lived at Northampton and 
there married Mary Hutchinson, December 20, 1704. 
their children were Moses, of whom further; Sarah and 
Samuel. 

(IV) Moses Kingsley, son of Samuel and Mary 
(Hutchinson) Kingsley, was born in Northampton, 1705, 
and died April 28, 1773. He married Mercy Parsons, 
November 30, 1732. She died October i, 1772, after 
bearing eight children. 

(V) Moses Kingsley, son of Moses and Mercy 
(Parsons) Kingsley, was born in Northampton July 29, 
1744, and died April 28, 1829. He served in the war of 
the Revolution as a private in Captain Oliver Lymans 
Company, and later was a second lieutenant in Captain 
Ebenezer Strong's Company in the Second Hampshire 



/ 




WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



15 



Regiment. He helped quell the insurgency that broke 
out at Northampton May 6, and June 15, 16 and 17, and 
was active in support of the government at Springfield, 
Northampton and Hadley. He married Abigail Lyman, 
January 19, 1769. She was born June 21, 1744, and died 
January 27, 1833, after bearing eleven children. He re- 
moved to Chesterfield, Massachusetts, in 1794 

(VI) Ebenezer Kingsley, son of Moses and Abigail 
(Lyman) Kingsley, was born in Northampton, Novem- 
ber 6, 1769, and died October 20, 1855. He married 
Sarah Phelps July 22, 1790. She was the daughter of 
Ebenezer and Phoebe (Wright) Phelph. Ebenezer 
Phelps served in the War of the Revolution. The 
children of Ebenezer Kingsley were: Charles, of further 
mention, Nancy, Edwin, Judith, Charles Phelps, Lyman, 
Quartus, Ebenezer W., and Elijah. 

(VII) Charles Phelps Kingsley, son of Ebenezer and 
Sarah (Phelps) Kingsley, was born in Northampton, 
November 12, 1798, and died June 2, 1844. He was a 
member of the Masonic fraternity and a deacon of the 
church. He kept a general store in Northampton at 
the comer of State and Main streets. A canal, at that 
time, ran almost past the door, but the property is now 
much improved and belongs to the Catholic Church. He 
married Caroline Bliss, daughter of William Bliss. She 
died December 7, 1867, aged fifty-eight years. Their 
children were: Charles Bliss, of further mention, John 
Chester, Mary L., Martha B., Nancy, Caroline, Theo- 
dore and Catherine. Nancy married William H. Todd; 
Caroline married Henry R. Roberts, and Catherine mar- 
ried Alexander McCallum. 

(VIII) Charles Bliss Kingsley, the son of Charles 
Phelps and Caroline (Bliss) Kingsley, was bom in 
Northampton, Massachusetts, in 1833, and died Novem- 
ber 15, 1887. He was educated in the schools of his 
native town, studied pharmacy and became a clerk in 
the drug store of Winthrop Hillyer. Being a far- 
sighted young man, he worked hard and saved his 
money, and in 1855 he was able to buy an interest in the 
firm which became Wood & Kingsley. In 1859 he suc- 
ceeded to the entire business, which he carried on until 
the time of his death several years later. He married 
Elizabeth Holman, daughter of John Holman, of Wil- 
braham, Massachusetts. She died in 1884 aged forty- 
eight years. Their children were: Nellie, Charles B., Jr., 
Mattie, Harry, Mabel Durant, Walter Childs, and 
Frank W. Mabel Durant married Oscar W. Edwards. 
Frank W. married Mary Z. Miller, and they have a 
daughter, Betty. 

(IX) Charles Bliss Kingsley, Jr., son of Charles Bliss 
and Elizabeth (Holman) Kingsley, and the grandson of 
Charles Phelps Kingsley, was born in Northampton, 
February 10, 1863. He was educated in Northampton's 
public schools, but early showed a desire to go into 
business, so at eighteen years of age he became associ- 
ated in the drug store with his father. Together they 
conducted the business until the death of the elder King- 
sley in 1887, and from that time until 1918 it was con- 
ducted solely by the son under the name of Charles B. 
Kingsley. The store was one of the landmarks of 
Northampton, having been conducted on the same site 
since 1769, and was considered a monument to the 
Kingsley business ability and integrity. In 1918 Mr. 



Kingsley sold out his drug business to Kingsley, Inc., 
and then established the Kingsley laboratories. 

Mr. Kingsley is one of the incorporators of the ^ 
Northampton Institution for Saving. He is a member 
of the Free and Accepted Masons; Northampton Com- 
mandery, Knights Templar; and Melha Temple Ancient 
Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, of Spring- 
field, Massachusetts. 

On September 10, 1889, Mr. Kingsley married Hellen 
Chapin, of Springfield, Massachusetts, daughter of 
Frederick and Sarah (Clapp) Chapin. She is a des- 
cendant of Deacon Samuel Chapin, of Springfield. Their 
children are: Hellene, born June 27, 1890, who is a 
graduate of Vassar College, and Elizabeth Holman, born 
October 15, 1897, and who was graduated from Smith 
College. 



CHARLES HOLT GOULD— The name of Gould 
goes back many centuries. In 1225 Thomas Gould 
signed a document as trustee of the church, and this 
is the first record found of the name in England. Of 
the Gould family the first to whom its ancestry may be 
ascribed is Thomas Gould, who lived at Bovingdon, a 
village in Hertfordshire, England, not far from London. 
He died in 1520. From him the family record is traced 
for several generations in England, and Richard Gould, 
of the fifth generation, born about 1553, had four chil- 
dren, two of whom, Jeremy and Zaccheus, emigrated to 
America. 

(I) Zaccheus Gould, according to his deposition made 
in Topsfield, Massachusetts, was born in 1589, and lived 
at Hemel Hempstead, and later at Great Missenden, 
Bucks County, England, where he was assessed in 1629. 
Several of his kindred came to America at about the 
time of his coming, 1636, and on January 29, 1639-40, 
his name as a witness is found signed to a will. In 
1644 he petitioned the General Court to set aside a part 
of Ipswich in a village by itself, and this later became 
Topsfield, Massachusetts. Between the years 1639 and 
1644 Zaccheus Gould lived at Lynn, Massachusetts, and 
in 1640 he owned a mill on the Saugus River. About 
this time he signed a petition that husbandmen should 
be exempt from training in seed, hay and harvest time, 
and the General Court so regulated the dates of training 
as not to interfere with the proper care of crops. He 
took the oath of fidelity in 1651, but never became a 
freeman, a requirement of which State was that a man 
should be a member of the church. He had many friends 
among the Baptists and the Quakers, both of which sects 
were proscribed, and in 1659 he was fined £2 for enter- 
taining Quakers, one of his guests being his nephew. 
Zaccheus Gould died between April 30 and November 
13, 1668. He was probably the largest landholder in that 
region, being possessed of about 3,000 acres, in what 
was then known as Rowley Village, incorporated later 
as a separate town under the name of Boxford, upon land 
purchased from Captain Daniel Patrick, one of the two 
salaried captains sent by England to instruct the colonists 
in martial matters. He built his block house north of 
the Ipswich River and east of Fishing Brook, and later 
built his second and more comfortable house where his 
son and grandchildren later lived. His wife, Phoebe, 
died at Topsfield in 1663. Their children were: Phoebe, 



i6 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



baptized in England in 1620; Mary, Martha, Priscilla, 
and John, of whom further. 

(II) John Gould, the only son of Zaccheus and 
Phoebe Gould, was born June 21, 1630, probably at 
Great Missenden, England, and died January 26, 1710. 
In 1663 he was selectman at Topsfield, Massachusetts, 
and served in the same office for fourteen subsequent 
years, and again in 1702. In 1682 the Rev. Joseph Capen 
records him as fifth in seniority of the males of the 
church, and his wife second in seniority of the females. 
He was prominent in Topsfield, and his name occurs 
frequently in the town, county and court records. When 
a stock company was formed to carry on the smelting 
of iron ore, he became one of the members, but the 
venture was not successful. In 1675-76 he took part in 
the Narragansett campaign, enlisting under Captain 
Hutchinson in the Three County Troop, and again under 
Captain Wheeler. In the years following King Philip's 
War the colonists were much excited over affairs in the 
mother country, and about 1686, when Dudley took a 
leading part in ruling them, and John Gould held a 
lieutenant's commission, he became very out-spoken 
in his views, for which he was imprisoned in Boston, 
charged with treason. He finally signed a petition for 
his release, in which he expressed sorrow for the idle 
words he had uttered. Soon after this Governor General 
Andros came to Massachusetts and took charge of 
affairs. In 1689 John Gould was reelected selectman, 
and in 1690 and afterwards he was chosen deputy from 
Topsfield to the General Court. He took great interest 
in the welfare of the community, was a man of literary 
habit, and wrote a very good hand for that time. In 
1660 he married Sarah Baker, daughter of John Baker, 
born March 9, 1641. died January 20, 1708-09, and they 
had eight children: John, married Phebe French; 
Sarah, married Joseph Bixby; Thomas, of whom fur- 
ther; Samuel, married Margaret Stone; Zaccheus; 
Priscilla, married John Curtice; Joseph, married Pris- 
cilla Perkins; and Mary. 

(III) Thomas Gould, son of John and Sarah (Baker) 
Gould, was born February 19, 1666, and died June 
29, 1752. He married (first), in 1700, Mary Yates, of 
Harwich. He married (second), in 1728, Mary Dorman 
Stanley, widow of Joseph Stanley. They had nine 
children, among them Jacob, of whom further. 

(IV) Jacob Gould, son of Thomas and Mary (Yates) 
Gould, was born January 16, 1703, and died July 16, 
1787. He moved to Sudbury, Massachusetts, in 1730. 
He was constable, selectman, and captain of the militia. 
He was one of the original proprietors of Rindge, New 
Hampshire. He was a master carpenter at the building 
of the first meeting house there, but never lived there. 
In 1731 he married Dorothy Goodridge, of Newbury. 
She died in 1801. They had eight children, among them 
Oliver, of whom further. 

(V) Oliver Gould, son of Jacob and Dorothy (Good- 
ridge) Gould, was born October 2, 1733, at Lunenburg, 
Massachusetts, and died in Jaffrey, New Hampshire, in 
1795- He went to Jaffrey and Rindge, New Hamp- 
shire, in 1771, and was a signer of the Declaration of 
Independence in 1776. He was a soldier in the Con- 
tinental Army. Locally, he served on the School Com- 
mittee. In 1759 he married Mary Stockwell of Peter- 



sham, born in 1735, died in 1820. They had nine chil- 
dren, among them Sewell, of whom further. 

(VI) Sewell (k)uld, son of Oliver and Mary (Stock- 
well) Gould, was born December 28, 1776, and died 
December 29, 1826. He married Ketura Mayo, of Jaf- 
frey, New Hampshire, born in 1782, died in 1865. They 
were the parents of six children, among them Lucius 
Augustus, of whom further. 

(VII) Lucius Augustus Gould, son of Sewell and 
Ketura (Mayo) Gould, was born August 10, 1821. In 
early life he was a farmer in Vermont and New Hamp- 
shire, living in Weston in the former State and in East 
Jaffrey in the latter. In later years he went to Pitts- 
burgh, Pennsylvania, where he was associated with the 
Keystone Bridge Works. He died in Pittsburgh, in 
April, 1890, and was buried in East Jaffrey. On January 
6, 1848, he married Sarah Ward Piper, of Weston, 
Vermont. Their children were: Charles; George L., 
born 1852, died 1876; and Lewis, bom 1852, died that 
year, they being twins; John Sewell, of whom further. 

(VIII) John Sewell Gould, son of Lucius Augustus 
and Sarah Ward (Piper) Gould, was born in Weston, 
Vermont, December 2, 1856, died in Worcester, Massa- 
chusetts, December 13, 1913, and was buried in East 
Jaffrey, New Hampshire. He was educated in the 
public schools of his native town, and attended the 
Boston University Law School, from which he was 
duly graduated with highest honors. He was admitted 
to the bar in Boston, and practiced law in Webster and 
Worcester, Massachusetts. He was active in the work 
of the Plymouth Congregational Church of Worcester, 
and was chairman of the School Board of that city. 
He married (first), November 6, 1889, Ida M. Holt, 
born July 20, 1862, died October 8, 1893 daughter 
of Reuben and Sarah D. (Farnum) Holt. He married 
(second) Mary A. Warren, now living (1925) in Hub- 
bardston, Massachusetts. There was one child, Charles 
Holt, of whom further, by the first marriage; and one, 
Sarah Ward, by the second. 

(IX) Charles Holt Gould, son of John Sewell and 
Ida M. (Holt) Gould, was bom in Webster, Massa- 
chusetts, October 8, 1893. He moved to Worcester 
with his parents in 1897, was educated in the schools of 
that city, where he graduated in 1912 from Worcester 
Classical High School, and in the Massachusetts Agri- 
cultural College at Amherst, graduating from the latter 
in class of 1916, of which he is permanent president. 
After graduation Mr. Gould acted as field agent for the 
College, his work taking him all over the State of 
Massachusetts. He followed this work for about a 
year. From May, 191 7, to September, 191 9, he was en- 
gaged by the Hampshire County Farm Bureau in the 
organization of boys and girls in agricultural club work, 
and during 1917 and 1918 served as a member of the 
Massachusetts Food Commission. From the latter date 
to May, 1923, he was instructor and assistant professor 
in the department of Pomology at the Massachusetts 
Agricultural College, and later was manager of the 
Hampden County Apple Growers' Association. In 
the spring of 1924 he bought the Hillside Orchards 
in Haydenville and now has one hundred acres 
set out in apple trees, "Baldwins," "Mclntoshes," and 
"Wealthies," owning one of the largest and finest 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



17 



orchards in this section of the country. He also has a 
small orchard and vineyard in South Hadley, Massa- 
chusetts. Mr. Gould is a member of Pacific Lodge, Free 
and Accepted Masons, of Amherst. He is a member of 
Theta Chapter, Theta Chi Fraternity, Unity Chapter, 
No. 66, Order of the Eastern Star, of Amherst, and 
Hadley Grange, and also holds the seventh degree in 
Grange work. He is a member of the First Congre- 
gational Church of Amherst. 

On November 24, 1917, Mr. Gould married Louise 
Gordon Davidson, born in Frazerburgh, Scotland, 
daughter of James and Margaret (Clark) Davidson. She 
and her sister Emily came to the United States in 
April, 1910, her parents in 1912. Mrs. Gould's first home 
in Massachusetts was at Topsfield, where she resided 
until 1912, then moved to Amherst. She is a member 
of Unity Chapter, No. 66, Order of the Eastern Star, 
of Amherst, Hadley Grange, and the First Congrega- 
tional Church of Amherst. Mr. and Mrs. Gould are 
the parents of three children: John Davidson, born 
October i, 1918; Donald Garfield, born August 28, 1921; 
and Charles Sewell, born January 21, 1923. 



JESSE ALBERT GRAVES ANDRE— Since re- 
ceiving his discharge from his service in the World War, 
Mr. Andre, having established himself in his profession 
as a general law practitioner in Northampton, has be- 
come active and popular therein, and as assistant district 
attorney and city solicitor he bears the responsibilities 
of public office in a creditable and thorough way. 
Prominent in the civic progress of this city, an able and 
conscientious official, and a leader in both social and 
religious interests, Mr. Andre has the high regard and 
the good-will of his hosts of friends in this community. 
He is of Pennsylvania ancestry, where the name origin- 
ally was spelled Andree, and where his great-grand- 
father, Leonard Andre, was an early settler of Strouds- 
burg, and owned large farming areas. Leonard Andre's 
son, James R. Andre, was a successful farmer born in 
Stroudsburg, where he lived and died; he married Sarah 
Croasdale, and their children were: William E.; John 
Kemerer, now deceased, who was a noted attorney in 
Philadelphia; Ella, who married Joseph K. Broadhead; 
and Martha J., who married George H. Jones, now de- 
ceased. 

William E. Andre, father of Jesse Albert Graves 
Andre, was born July 11, 1859, at Stroudsburg, where 
he operates the same farm that his father and grand- 
father had occupied before him. He has held a number 
of the township offices, and has been town auditor 
eighteen years, and he is also election officer. His fra- 
ternal affiliations are with the Patriotic Order, Sons of 
America; and the Order of Buffaloes; and his religious 
faith is that of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. 
Andre married Lida Bookhout Graves, daughter of 
Jesse Albert and Eleanor C. (Crampton) Graves; and 
they are the parents of: William Ross, teacher of mathe- 
matics in Basking Ridge High School, New York; Jesse 
A. G., of whom further; John Kemerer, public account- 
ant; Joseph Harris, who has a son, Joseph Harris, Jr.; 
Howard Davis; and Nellie, Sarah and James, all of 
whom died in childhood, two in one day. 



Jesse Albert Graves Andre was born March 2, 1894, 
in Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, where he attended the 
public and high schools, graduating in 1912, and then 
taught school in Cherry Valley for a year. He attended 
the Dickinson Law School at Carlisle, Pennsylvania, 
where he graduated in 1917 with the Bachelor of Laws 
degree. He enlisted for service in the World War 
November 21, 1917, and at the close of the war, after a 
short stay at Stroudsburg, he came to Northampton, 
where he was employed in the Brush Shop until Janu- 
ary, 1920, when he continued the study of law in the 
office of Walter L. Stevens, at Northampton. He was 
admitted to the bar March 21, 1921, and in April of that 
year he entered into partnership with Mr. Stevens, and 
has since practiced his profession under the firm name 
of Stevens and Andre. 

Mr. Andre enlisted in the United States Army, 
November 21, 1917, and joining the 23d Engineers 
Corps, went to Fort Slocum, Camp Meade, and other 
camps, where he continued to March 31, 1918, when he 
went overseas, landing at Brest, in France, April 13 of 
that year. After a short time spent in rest camp, he was 
given direction of German prisoners at St. Sulpice, in 
the building of warehouses and general construction 
work. He was then transferred to Foret de Corjubin, 
outside of Chaumont, where he shared in the building of 
some seven miles of macadam highway. 

Mr. Andre was stationed in the Meuse-Argonne sec- 
tor, also, and during the eleven days prior to the signing 
of the Armistice, he had direction of the building of 
roads while under shell fire. He then was given direc- 
tion of German prisoners until the middle of February, 
1919, when he went to Paris, where he studied French 
four months; and returning to the United States in 
July, he was at Camp Mills July 6, where he received 
his discharge July 21, as a first-class private. 

Mr. Andre holds (1925) the office of city solicitor for 
Northampton, assistant district attorney during 1924- 
25. and clerk pro tempore of the District Court of 
Hampshire County 1923-24. He is also president of the 
Exchange Club, 1924-25; finance officer of the local post 
of the American Legion, 1924-25; and a member of the 
Patriotic Order Sons of America. His religious faith 
is that of the Methodist Episcopal Church, of which he 
is a member of the board of stewards, secretary of the 
Sunday School, and was president of the Epworth 
League for three years, 1922-23-25, 

Jesse Albert Graves Andre married. May 12, 1923, 
Maybell Alice Miller, of Northampton, daughter of 
Hiram W. and Nellie Miller; and they are the parents 
of Muriel June, who was bom April 9, 1924. 



HON. JOHN WILLIAM HAIGIS— All who have 
in any way joined their interests with those of the civic 
advancement of Greenfield and its district are aware of 
the fact that there is no more loyal and active devotee 
to such interests than Mr. Haigis, who, in a distin- 
guished manner, has represented his township and his 
State in legislative office, and as publicist and as official 
of organizations for public well-being, has stood at the 
forefront of progress in his section of the State for 
years. Fully meriting the rewards of his service in 



W.M.— 3-2 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



those positions to which he has been chosen by the 
franchise of his fellow-citizens, he has given full proof 
of reliability and capability in places of trust and re- 
sponsibility. In journalistic enterprise he possesses the 
high esteem of his colleagues, and he has made of the 
"Greenfield Daily Recorder," a newspaper of estab- 
lished excellence in its field. Both executive and in- 
dustrial qualities may be readily traced in the immedi- 
ate ancenstry of Mr. Haigis : 

(I) Baltis Haigis, grandfather of Mr. Haigis, spent 
his entire life in Germany, where he served for more 
than thirty years as a member of the police force of 
his native town, W'aldstetten, in Wiirttemberg. He was 
born in 1820, and died in 1889, at the age of sixty-nine 
years. He married Katherine Stroble, who died in 1877. 
Their children : George, Ludwick, John, of whom fur- 
ther ; Katrina, Annie, Martha, Casper. 

(II) Jolm Haigis was born in Waldstetten, Wiirt- 
temberg, Germany, in 1846, and he died in Turner's 
Falls, Massachusetts, July 6, 1890. He received his edu- 
cation in the schools of his birthplace, and for a while 
was employed on a farm. He came to the United 
States before he was of military age, and settled first 
at Greenfield and later at Turner's Falls, in the town 
of Montague, where he was employed in the cutlery 
works to the time of his death. He married Elizabeth 
Hildebrand, who was born in Germany, and who came 
to America early in life. Their children: i. Lucetta, 
who married Charles M. Sweeley, of West Somerville. 
2. Frederick C, postmaster at Turner's Falls. 3. John 
W., of whom further. 

(HI) John William Haigis was born at Montague, 
July 31, 1 88 1. At the age of nine years he was selling 
newspapers on the streets of Turner's Falls, while he 
was attending the schools of that town. He left school 
when he was thirteen years of age, and at eighteen he 
purchased an interest in a stationery and news business, 
and became junior member of the firm of Bardwell & 
Haigis. His newspaper instinct was dominant at the 
outset of his career, and in 1912 he became business 
manager of the "Greenfield Recorder," and he was its 
managing editor in 1913. Mr. Haigis founded the 
"Greenfield Daily Recorder" January i, 1920, a journal 
that is regarded as one of the best small-city dailies in 
New England. The record of his political activities 
and services is highly valued. At the age of twenty-one 
years, his first voting year, he was elected to the im- 
portant offices of town treasurer and tax collector, and 
he afterwards held various town and fire district offices. 
As a candidate for higher office also he received the ap- 
proval of his constituency in the Republican party, and 
in November, 1908, he was elected to the House of 
Representatives and again he was reelected in 1909, 1910 
and 191 1, serving with much efficiency with the Rules, 
Railroads, Federal Relations and special Congressional 
Re-districting committees. In 1913-1914 he was a 
member of the Republican State Committee. Mr. 
Haigis was elected to the Massachusetts State Senate in 
November, 1914, and received reelection the following 
year, serving upon the following named committees : 
Chairman Roads and Bridges, two years ; Street Rail- 
ways, Mercantile Affairs, Counties. As chairman of the 



Committee on Roads and Bridges, he led in securing the 
passage of the Western Massachusetts Highway bill, 
carrying $2,500,000 for road construction in the western 
part of the State. In 191 6, although strongly urged 
by citizens throughout both counties of the district to 
run for a third term in the Senate, he then declined on 
account of the long-established two-year precedent. 
But he was elected to the Senate again in 1922, making 
his third term in that body, and he has served upon 
the committees on Rules, Election Laws, Highways 
and Motor Vehicle and Cities. 

Mr. Haigis is a member of the board of directors of 
the Franklin Trust Company, and he was county roll call 
chairman of the Red Cross in 1921-22 and 1923. His 
fraternal affiliations are those of Mechanics' Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons, at Turner's Falls, of which 
he is a Past Master, 1911-12, and he is a member of the 
Royal Arch Chapter, and of the Commandery, Knights 
Templar. He is also affiliated with Valley Lodge, In- 
dependent Order of Odd Fellows, with Samoset Lodge, 
Improved Order of Red Men. He is president of the 
Franklin County Agricultural Society, a member of 
the Greenfield Club, the Greenfield Chamber of Com- 
merce, and other business and civic organizations. His 
religious fellowship is with the Lutheran Church of 
Turner's Falls. 

Mr. Haigis married, December 3, 1913, Rose Grace 
Luippold, of Turner's Falls, a daughter of John Martin 
and Elizabeth (Jacobus) Luippold. Mrs. Haigis died 
October 25, 1920. Their children : i. Elizabeth Lucetta, 
born September 2, 1914. 2. John W., Jr., born Febru- 
ary 19, 1917. 3. Rose Margaret, born May 25, 1920. 



HERBERT ELIHU RILEY, associated with his 
brother in the firm of W. H. Riley & Company, of 
Northampton, Massachusetts, was born in Florence, 
Hampshire County, July 26, 1873. His father was Wil- 
liam Herbert Riley, a native of Dartford, England, and 
his mother Eliza (Smead) Riley. The father was known 
widely for many years as the Hampshire and Franklin 
County Correspondent of the Springfield "Republican." 
He was also assistant chief of the Northampton Fire 
Department for several years; secretary of the Three 
Counties Agricultural Society for three years; and a 
member of the Northampton School Committee for nine 
years. He was clerk of the Congregational parish of 
Florence for thirty years, superintendent of the church 
school and deacon of the church for several years; also 
president of the Lilly Library Association of Florence 
for a long term of years. 

Herbert Elihu Riley was graduated from the North- 
ampton High School in the class of 1892, being president 
of the class. He was graduated from Amherst College 
in the class of 1896, with honors. In college he was a 
meml)er of the Amherst Glee Club, and after leaving col- 
lege became a charter member of the Northampton 
Vocal Club, composed of more than fifty male voices, 
which was the leading musical organization of the city 
from 1897 to 1905. Mr. Riley's chief avocation since 
boyhood has been music, and he has been a member of 
church quartets or choirs in Amherst, Northampton 
and Florence. He organized the George Foster Prentiss 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



19 



Memorial Choir in the Florence Congregational Church 
in 1916, and has since been its director. Upon his 
graduation from Amherst in 1896, Mr. Riley became 
news editor of the Northampton "Daily Herald." His 
preparation for newspaper work began at fourteen years 
of age, when he was Florence correspondent of the Hamp- 
shire County "Journal." He was at a later period corre- 
spondent from Florence of the Hampshire "Weekly 
Gazette." During his college days at Amherst he was col- 
lege correspondent of the Springfield "Republican," and 
the Boston "Journal." An incident of his connection with 
the "Daily Herald" occurred in the summer of 1896, 
which made him the first resident of Northampton to 
have the distinction of riding in a gasoline-driven auto- 
mobile within the city limits. It was when Charles 
Duryea, the famous inventor, made the first trip in his 
one-cylinder car from his home in Springfield to North- 
ampton. He stopped at the office of the "Daily Herald," 
and Mr. Riley accepted his invitation to ride in the car 
about the city. The noisy vehicle attracted attention at 
every point, and created a great deal of excitement 
among the residents. As a sequence of this trip, Mr. 
Riley's firm was the first retail concern in Northampton 
to substitute motor trucks for the horse and wagon 
delivery system, which occurred in 1910. 

In 1904 Mr. Riley abandoned newspaper work and 
became store manager for the firm of W. H. Riley & 
Company, dealers in heating, plumbing, stoves and house- 
hold goods. This concern was established in 1899 by 
William H. Riley, his father. A brother, Charles S. 
Riley, was superintendent of the construction depart- 
ment. Since the death of William H. Riley, in 1918, 
the business has been conducted by the brothers under 
the same firm name. The Pleasant Street block, occupied 
by the firm and the Northampton Commercial College, 
was erected by W. H. Riley in 1908. The concern is 
regarded widely as conducting the foremost heating, 
plumbing and stove business in Hampshire County. In 
1913, Mr. Riley was elected director, treasurer, and 
temporary manager of the Florence Furniture Company, 
which he assisted in reorganizing. He was president 
of the company from 191 5 to 1919, when the business 
was sold to its present owners. He has been a corpora- 
tor and trustee of the Florence Savings Bank since 1915, 
and a member of the Northampton School Committee 
since 1917. In 1916 he promoted the organization of the 
Northampton Credit Bureau, was secretary of the pre- 
liminary organization, first president of the permanent 
bureau, and a director of the bureau from 1917 to 1922. 
He also took an active part in the reorganization of the 
old Northampton Board of Trade into the Chamber of 
Commerce, which occurred in 1919, and was a director 
and a vice-president of the Chamber until 1923. He 
has been a director of the Young Men's Christian Asso- 
ciation of Northampton since 1917. He succeeded his 
father as a trustee of the Lilly Library Association, and 
is vice-president of the Association. 

During his senior year at Amherst, Mr. Riley pub- 
lished a book of historical sketches, stories, poems and 
songs, contributed by Amherst men. and entitled "An 
Amherst Book." In 1899 he published the volume en- 
titled: "Northampton in the Spanish- American War." 
He is a member of Massachusetts Beta Chapter of the 



Phi Delta Theta fraternity at Amherst College; of 
Northampton Lodge, Benevolent and Protective Order 
of Elks; of Jerusalem Lodge, Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons; of the Northampton Chapter, Royal Arch Masons; 
of William Parsons Council, Royal and Select Masters; 
of Bethlehem Chapter, order of the Eastern Star; of 
Seth Pomeroy Chapter, Sons of the American Revolu- 
tion, and its president in 1924-1925; and a member of the 
Northampton Historical Society. He was president of 
the Northampton Club from 1918 to 1923. He is a 
member of the board of directors of the Florence Con- 
gregational Church, and served as chairman of the board 
for three years after the reorganization and incorpora- 
tion of the church society in 1918. He was first presi- 
dent of the Men's Club of the Church, in 1907-1908, and 
continues among its active members. 

Mr. Riley married, October 6, 1897, in Florence, 
Gertrude Louisa Stone, daughter of James and Nellie 
(Munson) Stone. They have one son, Clare Stone Riley, 
born May i, 1905, and now a student at Worcester 
Polytechnic Institute. Mr. Riley's business address is 
No. 72 Pleasant Street, Northampton, Massachusetts. 
His home address is No. 321 Locust Street, Florence, 
Massachusetts. 



GEORGE COLBY LUNT— The Lunts are one of 
the oldest of the New England families, their immigrant 
ancestor, Henry Lunt, a native of England, having come 
to America in the ship "Mary and John," which sailed 
March 26, 1634. He settled at Newbury in 1635, was 
admitted a freeman May 2, 1638, and became a pro- 
prietor of the town. He died at Newbury, July 10, 
1662. He had six children, one of them, Daniel Lunt, 
who was born at Newbury. He was a farmer, was ad- 
mitted a freeman in 1685, and was killed by the Indians 
on June 27, 1689, in the garrison house of Major Wald- 
ron, of Dover, New Hampshire, while in the service. 
He was twice married and had nine children, one of 
them Joseph, of whom further. Joseph Lunt was born 
in Newbury March 24, 1680, was twice married, and 
died on October 14, 1751. He had a son, Cutting, who 
was born in Newbury January 22, 1713, who married 
Deborah Jacques, and died December 29, 1790, leaving 
a son. Cutting (2), who was born in Newbury, January 
I, 1749. Cutting (2) Lunt was a soldier in the Revolu- 
tion and was captured by the British and confined in 
Plymouth Prison. After his release he entered the ser- 
vice again on the brig "Dalton," was again captured and 
cast into Mill Prison, where he was confined two 
years. He was sent on a cartel to Nantes, France, 
where he enlisted again was commissioned third lieu- 
tenant under Captain John Paul Jones, on the famous 
"Bon Homme Richard." He had the misfortune to 
venture too close to the English shore when in search 
of some deserters, and was taken with all his men and 
again thrown into prison. He had hardly regained 
his liberty when he returned to the service. This re- 
markable man was drowned at sea in the privateer 
"America." He was one of seventeen who under Cap- 
tain Offin Boardman surprised and captured the British 
supply ship "Friends," of London, bound for Boston, 
off Newburyport bar, under the pretence of wanting a 



20 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



pilot. He was married to Mary Gerrish, a daughter of 
WilHam Gerrish, bom at Newbury, November 26, 1751, 
and by her had two sons, one of them Silas, of whom 
further. Silas Lunt was born in Newbury August 26, 
1775, was a ship carpenter by trade, but in early life 
followed the sea, making many voyages to foreign coun- 
tries, including several to the Baltic. He married, Sep- 
tember 23, 1802, Sarah Hogue, daughter of Hussa 
Hogue, a Revolutionary soldier from Hampton, New 
Hampshire, and died at Newbury June 2, 1867, having 
ten children, among them a twin son, Enoch P., of whom 
further. 

Enoch P. Lunt was born at Newbury (now New- 
buryport) on August 25, 1820, and died there Septem- 
ber 9, 1908. He learned the trade of shipbuilding, which 
so many of his ancestors had followed. He was a 
skillful craftsman, drafted his own designs and built 
some of the fastest vessels in his day. During the Civil 
War he was m the government service as a foreman in 
the yard and draftsman in the Portsmouth Navy Yard, 
and alway.5 tock pride in his part of the building of 
the famous "Kearsarge" at that yard. Afterwards he 
became a partner in the firm of Colby & Lunt, boat 
buildes at Newbury port, building principally many ves- 
sels for fishing and the fruit trade with the West Indies. 
He continued active to an advanced age, and when 
over eighty designed a large four-masted schooner, 
drafted the plans, made the model and laid the lines 
in ihe shiploft. He was an old time Democrat in pol- 
itics, and an Episcopalian in religion. On June 6, 1847, 
he married Mary E. Colby, daughter of Captain John 
Colby, and by her had two sons- i. John E., born May 
II, 1854, married, April 22, 1896, Bertha Bingham, and 
by her had a daughter, Madelyn Louise, born June 19, 
1897. 2. George Colby, of further mention. 

George Colby Lunt was born in Newburyport (for- 
merly Newbury) where his paternal ancestors had lived 
from the time of the first settlement. He was educated 
there in the public schools and learned the trade of 
engraver. After working at this trade in his native city 
for nine years, he came to Greenfield, to take charge of 
the engraving department of A. F. Towle & Son. He 
studied designing and modeling under Max Bachman, 
the sculptor, and was appointed assistant to the man- 
ager of the firm. In 1900, when the firm went out of 
business, Mr. Lunt bought the tools, machinery and 
trademarks of the concern and formed the present firm 
of Rogers, Lunt & Bowlen, in 1902. The business is 
now incorporated, and he holds the office of treasurer 
and manager. The company manufactures sterling sil- 
ver tableware at Greenfield and has been very success- 
ful. Their products are known and sold all over the 
American Continent. Mr. Lunt also holds the position 
of director of the Franklin County Trust Company, of 
Greenfield, is a trustee in the Greenfield Savings Bank, 
director of the Cooperative Bank and director of the 
Lamson & Goodnow Manufacturing Company of Shel- 
burne Falls. He is a member of the Republican Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons ; of Franklin Chapter, Royal 
Arch Masons; the Council, Royal and Select Masters; 
the Commandery, Knights Templar; the Lodge of Per- 
fection and Rose Croix, Ancient Accepted Scottish 



Rite, and Melha Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles 
of the Mystic Shrine; also is a member of the Masonic 
Qub. For ten years he has been a director and for 
four years a president of the Country Qub of Green- 
field ; holds membership in the 24 Carat Qub of New 
York, and the Boston Jewelers' Club. He is also a 
trustee of the State Hospital at Northampton. In re- 
ligion he is an Episcopalian and a vestryman in the 
Episcopal Church; and in politics a Republican. 

On December 16, 1896, Mr. Ltmt married, at Green- 
field, Anna M. Denham, born at Bernardston June 5, 
1868, a daughter of Henry C. and Mary C. (Moore) 
Denham (see Denham XII). 

(The Denham Line). 

Mrs. Anna M. (Denham) Lunt is a descendant of an 
ancient and illustrious English family whose immigrant 
ancestor came to America from Lancashire, England, 
in the ship "Hope" in 1630, and settled in Plymouth, 
Massachusetts, as early as 1633, and was admitted a 
freeman that year. The surname of the family is iden- 
tical with Dunham, Donham, Dtinhame, and is spelled 
in various other ways in the ancient records, the spell- 
ing Dunham being more common than Denham until 
later generations. 

(I) Sir John Dunham, or Denham, was born at Dun- 
ham-on-the-Trent, England, in 1525. 

(II) Sir Thomas Denham, son of Sir John Denham, 
was born in England in 1560. He lived in Kirklington, 
England, and had a son, John, of whom further. 

(III) Deacon John Denham, son of Sir Thomas Den- 
ham, was born in England in 1589, and came from Lan- 
cashire in the ship "Hope" to America, in 1630, and was 
admitted a freeman in Plymouth, Massachusetts, where 
he was settled in 1633. He was one of the first four 
deputies to the General Court, and continued in that 
office for twenty years. He was deacon of the church, 
a member of Governor Bradford's Council, an upright 
and faithful man, "an appointed servant of God and 
a useful man in his place," and died aged about eighty 
years. Deacon John left ten children, one of them a son 
Joseph, of whom further. 

(IV) Joseph Denham, son of Deacon John Denham, 
was born in 1637, and in record, married Esther Wor- 
well, on August 20, 1669. Joseph Denham left seven 
children, one of them Eleazer, of whom further. 

(V) Eleazer Denham, son of Joseph Denham, mar- 
ried Bathsheba Pratt, and was admitted a freeman in 
1689. He was on the committee appointed to arrange 
for worship in the west precinct and secure preaching. 
He left nine children, among them a son, Israel, of 
whom further. 

(VI) Israel Denham, son of Eleazer Denham, was 
born in October, 1689, at Plymouth, and died August 
18, 1726. He married Joanna Richards, daughter of 
John Richards, of Plymouth, and by her had five chil- 
dren, among them Sylvanus, of whom further. 

(VII) Sylvanus Denham, son of Israel Denham, was 
born in Plympton, May 26, 1714, and died in 1796. He 
was prominent in town and church. He married Re- 
becca Crocker, a daughter of Abel Crocker, and by her 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



21 



had twelve children, among them Israel (2), of whom 
further. 

(VIII) Israel (2) Denham, son of Sylvanus and Re- 
becca (Crocker) Denham, was born at Plympton in 
1741. He was a soldier in the Revolution, a private in 
Captain John Bridgham's company, Colonel Theophilus 
Cotton's regiment during 1775, also in Captain Ebenezer 
Washburn's company. Colonel Eleazer Brook's regi- 
ment, in 1777-78, at Cambridge ; corporal in Captain 
Jene Harlow's company in defence of Plymouth in 1776; 
also in Captain Benjamin Rider's Company, Colonel 
John Jacob's regiment in 1780. He married, about 1770, 
Hannah Whitney, and among their children was Israel 
(3), of whom further. 

(IX) Israel (3) Denham, son of Israel (2) and Han- 
nah (Whitney) Denham, was born at Plympton in 1778, 
and married Elizabeth Crocker. They were the par- 
ents of children, among them Henry, of whom further. 

(X) Henry Denham, son of Israel (3) and Eliza- 
beth (Crocker) Denham, was born at Carver, in 1811. 
He married Louisa J. Pratt, and they were the parents 
of children, one of them Henry Crocker, of whom 
further. 

(XI) Henry Crocker Denham, son of Henry and 
Louisa J. (Pratt) Denham, was born in Middleborough 
January 30, 1836. He married Mary C. Moore, born 
April I, 1832, a daughter of Enoch Moore, and by her 
had children, one of them Anna M., of whom further. 

(XII) Anna M. Denham, daughter of Henry C. and 
Mary C. (Moore) Denham, became the wife of George 
Colby Lunt (see Lunt). They are the parents of Den- 
ham Colby, of whom further. 

(XIII) Denham Colby Lunt, son of George Colby 
and Anna M. (Denham) Lunt, was born November 19, 
1900, and married, June 26, 1924, Helen Cameron, of 
Greenfield. He is associated with his father in business. 



HARRY EDWARD WARD— The family of Ward 
dates back to the time of the invasion of William the 
Conqueror in 1066, one of his captains bearing that 
name. In 1175 William de la Ward was residing in 
Chester, and at the time of the settlement of the Amer- 
ican colonies the family was numerous and well scat- 
tered over England. The ancient coat of arms of the 
family is : 

Arms — Azure, a cross baton proper. 
Crest— A w^olf's head erased. 

The name undoubtedly meant "the ward," a guard or 
watchman, and it has grown to great dimensions in our 
modern directories, and is variously spelled from the 
old Ward or Warde. 

(I) William Ward, the immigrant ancestor of this 
family in America, settled in Sudbury, Massachusetts, 
as early as 1639. He was admitted a freeman. May 10, 
1643, and for many years was one of the chief men 
of the town. He was deputy to the General Court from 
Sudbury in 1644, selectman for many years, and most 
of the time chairman of the board. He was commis- 
sioner to end small causes. He deposed October 4, 
1664, that he was about sixty-one years old, fixing the 
year of his birth at 1603. He was one of the nine men 
of Sudbury petitioning for the grant afterward known 



as Marlborough, and including originally, not only the 
present city of Marlborough, but the towns of West- 
borough, Northborough and Southborough. In 1660, 
the year of the incorporation. Ward settled in the new 
town, in which his descendants have since been nu- 
merous and distinguished. He drew fifty acres, the 
largest house lot granted to the proprietors, his house 
being situated on the south side of the road, nearly 
opposite the meeting house, and his land extending to 
what was then called Belcher's Pond, near which the 
tavern of his son-in-law, Abraham Williams, was situ- 
ated. He was the first deacon of the church. The 
usual hardships and losses of the pioneer were suf- 
fered by Ward ; especially did he lose heavily during 
King Philip's War, when his buildings were burned, his 
cattle destroyed and one of his sons was slain. He died 
at Marlborough August 10, 1687, aged eighty-five years, 
his widow (of a second marriage) dying December 9, 
1700, in her eighty-seventh year. Among their fifteen 
children was Richard, of whom further. 

(II) Richard Ward, son of William Ward, was born 
in 1635, and married Mary Moore, of Sudbury. Their 
son was Obadiah, of whom further. 

(HI) Obadiah Ward, son of Richard and Mary 
(Moore) Ward, was born in 1663 and died at Wor- 
cester December 17, 1717. He married Joanna Har- 
rington, of Watertown, December 20, 1683. Their son 
was Major Daniel, of whom further. 

(IV) Major Daniel Ward, son of Obadiah and 
Joanna (Harrington) Ward, was born at Worcester in 
1700, and died May 21, 1777. He married (first) Sarah 
; (second) Mary Coggin, widow of Henry Cog- 
gin, of Sudbury, Massachusetts. His son was Henry, 
of whom further. 

(V) Henry Ward, son of Major Daniel Ward, was 
born January 2, 1726-27, and resided at Worcester, where 
he died in 17-9. He married Lydia Mower. They had 
a son Henry, of whom further. 

(VI) Henry Ward, son of Henry and Lydia 
(Mower) Ward, was born August 16, 1764, and later 
went to Guilford, Vermont. He died September i, 
1821. He married, November 29, 1789, Priscilla, daugh- 
ter of Samuel Bixby, of Guilford. She died June 5, 
1847. They had a son, Henry, of whom further. 

(VII) Henry Ward, son of Henry and Priscilla 
(Bixby) Ward, was born in Guilford, Vermont, May 
12, 1798. He married, September 23, 1826, Eliza E. 
Houghton. Their children were: i. Martha, born in 
1828, married Henry M. Chase. 2. Henry H., of 
whom further. 3. Eliza M., born in 1832. 4. Samuel 
B., born in 1835. 5. Francis E., born in 1839. 6. Vic- 
toria, died in 1840. 7. M. E. Priscilla, born in 1844, 
died in 1847. 

(VIII) Henry Houghton Ward, son of Henry and 
Eliza E. (Houghton) Ward, was born in Guilford, 
Vermont, February 2, 1830, and died in 1896. He 
spent his whole life in Guilford, where he followed 
farming. He married Lovina Rice, of Deerfield, Massa- 
chusetts, daughter of Hiram Rice. She died in 1888, 
aged forty-one years. Children : i. Frank H., 2. Mary 
E., died in 1896, married Dorrance Allen. 3. Lizzie C, 
married Frank H. Hammond, of Millers Falls. 4. 
Harry E., of whom further. 5. Cora A., deceased ; mar- 



22 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



ried Elmer C Gilson. 6. Lulla E., a nurse in Brattle- 
boro, Vermont. 7. Edna M., married Arthur Carpen- 
ter. 8. Samuel H., married Evangaline Morrison, lives 
in Springfield. 

(IX) Harry Edward Ward, of the ninth generation in 
lineal descent from the pioneer ancestor of this family 
in America, son of Henry Houghton and Lovina (Rice) 
Ward, was born January 7, 1874, in Guilford, Vermont. 
He received his early education in the schools of Guil- 
ford and at Glenwood Seminary of West Brattleboro, 
Vermont, being graduated from the latter in 1893. He 
studied law in the offices of S. T. Davenport, of Brattle- 
boro, then went to Boston to continue these studies in 
the law offices of Montague & Keyes, and was admitted 
to the Vermont bar in 1898, and to the Massachusetts bar 
in 1901. In 1901 he began the practice of law in Or- 
ange, Massachusetts, and came to Greenfield in 1907, 
where for three years he was associated with W. A. 
Davenport. In 191 1 he began to practice independently, 
and has worked alone in his profession ever since that 
time. He has been active in all aflfairs of the com- 
munity that tended towards its progress and develop- 
ment, and in 1924 he was elected selectman of the town 
of Greenfield. Mr. Ward is a member of Pocomstuck 
Lodge, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, of Green- 
field; member of Green River Encampment; Elliot 
Stone Lodge, Knights of Pythias ; Improved Order of 
Red Men; Loyal Order of Moose; and the Odd Fel- 
low's Qub. 

Harry Edward Ward married, January 7, 1902, Hat- 
tie M. Marsh, of Deerfield, daughter of William F. and 
Julia (Sanpair) Marsh. Hattie M. Ward died March 
8, 1924, aged forty-seven years. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Ward was born one daughter, Esther M., May 23, 1909, 
who represents the tenth generation of this family in 
America. 



CHENEY DAVIDSON WASHBURN— Of long 
and notable ancestry, Cheney Davidson Washburn is 
twentieth in direct line of descent from the first authentic 
English ancestor of the family, and ninth from the first 
American. The name is a place name, compounded from 
wash; i. e., the current, and burn, or stream. The 
name is a proud one, having been borne by truly great 
men of both countries, statesmen and soldiers, writers 
and professional men. Maine, Vermont, Massachusetts, 
and Wisconsin have all had governors from the Wash- 
burn family, and three brothers served as congressmen 
from three states simultaneously and with equal ability. 
Sir Roger, of Little Washbourne, County Worcester, 
England, is the first member of the family on record. 
He lived in the latter half of the thirteenth century 
and married Joan (surname unknown). The line was 
carried by his son. Sir John, who died in 1319. His 
son. Sir Roger, was Lord of Washbourne. Sir Roger's 
younger son, John, was next head of the estate, and his 
son Peter married Isolde Hanley in the twenty-ninth 
year of Edward III. Their son John (3) was knight of 
the shire, escheator, and vice-comes, was the last of the 
name to own Stanford and the first in Wichenford, and 
lived during the early reign of Henry VI. His son, 
Norman Washburn, owned the manor of Washbourne. 
His son, John (4), was born as early as 1454 and be- 



came a commissioner. His son, John (5), founded the 
so-called Bengeworth branch. John (6), his son, carried 
on the line and was the father of John (7), whose will 
was dated August 3, 1624, and who was buried in 1624. 
The son of John (7), was John (8), who migrated to 
America and became the founder of the American branch 
of the family. The American line is given in detail 
below. 

(I) John Washburn, son of John and Martha 
(Stevens) Washburn, was baptized in Bengeworth, 
England, July 2, 1597. He migrated to America and 
settled in Duxbury, Massachusetts in 1632. Two of 
his sons, John and Philip, accompanied him, as did his 
wife. He is recorded as having an action against one 
Edward Doten in court that year, and was on the list of 
taxpayers in 1633. He bought "Eagle's Nest" from 
Edward Bompasse in 1634. In 1643 the three Wash- 
burns were listed among those able to bear arms; and 
he and his son John were among the original fifty-four 
proprietors of Bridgewater in 1645. They bought the 
lands of the old Sachem, Massasoit, for seven coats of 
one and one-half yards each, nine hatchets, twenty knives, 
four moose skins, ten and a half yards of cotton cloth. 
The transfer was witnessed by Captain Miles Standish, 
Samuel Nash, and Constant Southworth. John Wash- 
burn died at Bridgewater in 1670. He married Margery 
Moore, who was baptized in 1588. Their children were: 
I. Mary, baptized 1619. 2. John, of further mention. 
3. Philip, baptized and buried, June, 1622, at Benge- 
worth. 4. Philip, who accompanied his father to America. 

(II) John Washburn, son of John and Margery 
(Moore) Washburn, was baptized in Bengeworth, 
England, in 1620, and accompanied his father to New 
England. In 1670 he sold his house and lands at 
Green's Harbor, Duxbury, given him by his father. 
His will, of which his sons John and Samuel were ex- 
ecutors, with Edward Mitchell and John Tomson as 
trustees and overseers, was made in 1686. John mar- 
ried, in 1645, Elizabeth Mitchell, daughter of Experi- 
ence Mitchell, as shown by a letter, still preserved, writ- 
ten by her nephew, Thomas Mitchell, to his uncle. Ex- 
perience, dated at Amsterdam, July 24, 1662. The 
children were: i. John, married Rebecca Lapham; 2. 
Thomas, married (first) Abigail Leonard; (second) 
Deliverance Packard. 3. Joseph, married Hannah 
Latham and lived in Bridgewater. 4. Samuel, of further 
mention. 5. Jonathan, married Mary Vaughan. 6. 
Benjamin, died on the Phipps expedition to Canada. 7. 
Mary, born 1661, married, 1694, Samuel Kinsley. 8. 
Elizabeth, married (first) James Howard; (second) 
Edward Sealy. 9. Jane, married William Orcutt, Jr. 
10. James, born 1672, married Mary Bowden. 11. Sarah, 
married John Ames in 1697. 

(III) Sergeant Samuel Washburn, son of John and 
Elizabeth (Mitchell) Washburn, was born in Duxbury, 
in 1651, and died in 1720. He married Deborah Pack- 
ard, daughter of Samuel Packard. Children: i. Samuel, 
born 1678. 2. Noah, of further mention. 3. Israel, born 
1684. 4. Nehemiah, born 1686. 5. Benjamin. 6. Han- 
nah, married John Kieth. 

(IV) Noah Washburn, son of Sergeant Samuel and 
Deborah (Packard) Washburn, was born in 1682 and 
died in 1717. He married, in 1710, Elizabeth Shaw, 





'^(U4^Hl_ 




i^on. JLpman ;a> Crafts 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



23 



daughter of Joseph Shaw and sister of Rev. John Shaw, 
and Elizabeth married as her second husband, in 1719, 
Isaac Harris. Their children were: i. Eleazer. 2. 
Noah, of further mention. 

(V) Noah Washburn, son of Noah and Elizabeth 
(Shaw) Washburn, settled in Williamsburgh and owned 
the house later occupied by Lauriston Washburn. In 
1739 he married Mary Staples. Their children were: 

1. Elizabeth, born in 1739. 2. Noah, born in 1741. 3. 
Nehemiah, 1743; who married, in 1770, Ruth Edgerton. 
4. Stephen, of further mention. 5. Huldah, born in 1750. 
6. Mary, born 1756. 

(VI) Stephen Washburn, son of Noah and Mary 
(Staples) Washburn, was born in East Bridgewater in 
1748. He was a farmer and after his marriage settled 
in Williamsburgh. He married, in 1770, Sarah Faxon, 
and their children were: i. Amos, of further mention. 

2. Polly, married Gross Williams. 3. Sally, married 
(first) Eleazer Hillman, (second) Seth Johnson of Dana, 
Massachusetts. 4. Ruth, married Rev. Hosea Ballou, 
distinguished Universalist minister. 

(VII) Amos Washburn, son of Stephen and Sarah 
(Faxon) Washburn, was born at Williamsburgh. He 
married Amanda Root. Their children, all bom at 
Williamsburgh, were: Lauriston, Nehemiah, William 
L., Charles, Sarah, Edward G., of whom further; the 
three last named being triplets. 

(VIII) Edward Gardner Washburn, son of Amos 
and Amanda (Root) Washburn, was born in Williams- 
burgh, June, 1819, and died in Springfield, May 22, 
1889. He was reared by Laban Fenton of Belcher-i 
town, a violin teacher who taught the boy in his charge, 
and Mr. Washburn became an accomplished violinist in 
demand by orchestras all his life. Edward Gardner 
Washburn first learned the trade of ornamental wood 
carver, which he worked at in the armory in Spring- 
field until 1865. In October of that year he bought out 
the undertaking business of Wells P. Hodgett and con- 
ducted it until his death. For a time also, he manufac- 
tured planes. He was a member of the Blue Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons, and in politics voted an in- 
dependent ticket. He attended St. Paul's Universalist 
Church. Mr. Washburn married, in 1839, Sylvia Briggs 
Cheney, born in 1823, who died in Springfield in 1894. 
She was the daughter of Levi and Plotina (Metcalf) 
Cheney, of North Orange. Three children were born 
of this marriage: Homer M., born 1846, who died De- 
cember II, 1898; Edward Carroll, born 1850, who died 
July I, 1897; Cheney Davidson, of further mention. 

(IX) Cheney Davidson Washburn, son of Edward 
Gardner and Sylvia Briggs (Cheney) Washburn, was 
born in Springfield September 24, 1856. He was edu- 
cated in the public schools and in Burnett's English 
Classical Institute on Court Street. As his father's only 
living son, he entered business with his father and worked 
with him until the latter's death. Mr. Washburn then 
took over the business, which has been thriving ever 
since under his able management. He is an independent 
Republican in politics, and a member of the South Con- 
gregational Church. He belongs to Hampden Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons, of Springfield; and Agawam 
Encampment, Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He 
is a member of the Nayasset and Winthrop clubs. 



Mr. Washburn married, December 3, 1877, Mary W. 
Titus, born December 3, 1856, daughter of Arthur F. 
and Waity W. (Aldrich) Titus, the former born in 
South Scituate, the latter. North Scituate, Rhode Island. 
One child resulted from the union: Stanley Titus, 
born February 14, 1885. 



HON. LYMAN ALEXANDER CRAFTS— A civ- 
ics leader and a director in industry, who has received 
and well merited his many honors in his own township 
and his own state district, Hon. Lyman Alexander 
Crafts, prominent figure in all farming interests, and 
representative of the successful tobacco growers in the 
western part of the State, has been a strong force in 
State Legislature and Constitutional conventions, with 
an enduring record for progress upon all economical 
and legislative matters with which he has been associ- 
ated. Mr. Crafts has never at any time withdrawn his 
devoted attention from his home, his farm, and his 
State; here his ancestors for generations have builded 
and delved, and at the old town of Whately Mr. Crafts 
was born and bred. Expert in the raising of tobacco, 
and highly esteemed member of associations of tobacco 
growers, he has been unwearied in forwarding the in- 
terests of that industry. His activity in public affairs for 
the welfare of town and State is a vital subject in his 
career, and one in which he has produced results of more 
than local importance, rather, indeed, of country-wide 
value. The Crafts family, of Colonial ancestry, of 
Revolutionary record, and of Western Massachusetts 
town-building settlers, has been interestingly traced as to 
Mr. Craft's paternal line, as follows: 

(I) Griffin Crafts, who was born in Yorkshire, Eng- 
land, in 1600, came to America in the ship "Arbella," 
the flagship of Governor Winthrop's first four vessels 
to arrive in New England. He took the freeman's oath 
May 18, 1631. Settling in Roxbury, he was elected 
deputy to the General Court in 1638, and again in 1665, 
1666, and 1667; and he is often referred to as holding 
offices of honor and trust. He was a lieutenant in the 
Ancient and Honorable Artillery Company, and held 
that office until 1676, when he resigned. He was chosen 
as selectman many times. He married (first) Alice 

, born in England, died in 1673; (second) Ursula, 

widow of William Robinson, daughter of Henry Adams 

of Braintree; (third) Dorcas . He died October 

4, 1689. There were five children. 

(II) John Crafts was born on shipboard, July 10, 
1630, and died in Roxbury, September 3, 1685. He mar- 
ried (first) Rebecca Wheelock; (second) Mary Hud- 
son. There were ten children. 

(III) Thomas Crafts was born in Roxbury, in 1656, 
and died at Hadley, February 27, 1692. He married 
Abigail, daughter of John and Frances (Foot) Dickin- 
son, of Hadley, and they were the parents of six 
children. 

(IV) John Crafts, born at Hadley, in 1684, died in 
May, 1730, at Hatfield. He married Martha Graves, 
and they had six children. 

(V) Benoni Crafts was born at Hatfield, in 1725, and 
died at Whately in 1812. He was a soldier of the 
Revolution, an expert hunter, by trade a cooper, and he 



24 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



conducted an extensive farm. He married Abigail 
Graves, and they were the parents of five children. 

(VI) Reuben Crafts was born at Whately, in 1759, 
and died in 1814. He was for a long time a soldier of 
the Revolutionary War, enlisting first in the place of 
his father, who had been drafted in the service at the 
age of fifty years. He married Henrietta Graves, and 
they were the parents of eight children. 

(VII) Erastus Crafts was bom in Whately, in 1791, 
and died April 27, 1881, at the age of ninety-one years. 
He married (first) Charlotte Scott, who was born in 
1786, and died in 1815; (second) Marion Samson, who 
was born in 1791 and died in 1872. They were the 
parents of eight children. 

(VIII) Walter Crafts was born at Whately, August 
16, 1823, and died March 23, 1902. He was a farmer. 
In his younger days he had been employed in a tool fac- 
tory at Conway, and at Greenfield, eventually returning 
to the home farm at Whately. He always took an active 
interest in the affairs of the township. During the 
Civil War, he was in Boston where he assisted in rais- 
ing the quota for war service. He was a member of 
the Orthodox Congregational Church, and of the Parish 
Committee of that Church. He married, January i, 
1851, Lucy Lyman Alexander, who was born in North- 
field, February 28, 1823, and died at Whately, Novem- 
ber 28, 1888, daughter of George and Mary (Lyman) 
Alexander. To them was born Lyman Alexander, of 
whom further. 

(IX) Hon. Lyman Alexander Crafts was born in 
Whately, October 28, 1854, and in the house in which 
he continues to reside. He received his preliminary 
education in the public schools of his birthplace, and 
then took the higher courses at Deerfield Academy, at 
Deerfield, and at Powers Institute, at Bernardston. He 
has followed the vocation of farmer, and upon the farm 
of his fathers, whereon he was born. Specializing in 
tobacco-culture, he is still actively engaged in that line, 
as well as in onion-growing; and in 1924 he had more 
than twenty-six acres of tobacco under cultivation. 

There has never been a time when Mr. Crafts has 
not proven his interest in public affairs. He was a mem- 
ber of the Board of Selectmen of the town of Whately 
three years. He resigned that position to become a 
member of the county commission, which ofifice he held 
for twelve years. He has also been a member of the 
board of trustees for the Smith Charities, and received 
appointment as justice of the peace. Mr. Crafts was 
Representative to the State Legislature in 1905-1906; 
and he served on the Committee of Public Institutions, 
and was chairman of that committee in his second year 
in the House. Mr. Crafts was elected delegate to the 
Constitutional convention in 1917 and 1918. He is a 
member of the board of directors of the Connecticut 
Valley Tobacco Growers' Association, comprising some 
3500 members, whose activities cover 23,000 acres of 
tobacco land, which produces a crop that is worth $19,- 
000,000. Mr. Crafts maintains the interests of the Con- 
gregational Church at Whately. 

Mr. Crafts married, December 20, 1877, Maria A. 
Forbes, of Shutesbury, a daughter of John H. and 
Sophia K. (Russell) Forbes. Their children: i. Homer 
Lyman, of whom further. 2. Mabel Louise, born July 



2, 1883, married Scott Putnam, of Northampton, and 
they are the parents of Ruth Ann, born June 14, 1915. 

(X) Homer Lyman Crafts was born August 11, 1878 
at Whately, and he received his education in the public 
schools of his birthplace, and at Deerfield and North- 
ampton, and since then has been associated with his 
father fn the work of the farm. Mr. Crafts takes much 
interest in the advancement of the affairs of the town- 
ship, and he is a member of its Board of Selectmen. His 
fraternal affiliations are those of Nonatuck Lodge, in- 
dependent Order of Odd Fellows, and of Mount Holy- 
oke Encampment of that Order in Northampton; and of 
Sugar Loaf Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, of South 
Deerfield. 

He married Mary Jones, and they are the parents of: 
Olive Maria, born January 17, 1918; Elizabeth Mary, 
born December 21, 1919. 



ALEXANDER SEDGWICK, of Sedgwick Man- 
sion, Stockbridge, represents a family that through suc- 
cessive generations from the early colonization of New 
England, down to the present time, has borne an im- 
portant part in shaping the history of State and Nation, 
along judicial and Legislative lines. The family is of 
English origin, and the name itself is an ancient one 
as a surname, having been known as early as 1379, in 
and around Sedgwick, a township of the parish of 
Heversham, four miles from Kendal, County West- 
minister. 

The surname is of local origin, having undoubtedly 
been taken from that section, and it has ramified strong- 
ly. The prefix is evidently the personal name of the 
first settler in the wick, or wike, which according to 
the authority Halliwell, meant a home, or dwelling, the 
name being a compound of Sig, from which came also 
Sigismund, Sigmund, Sigward, Sigwald and in this 
case Sigwick, developed to Sidgwick and Sedgwick. 
Robert Sedgwick, the progenitor of the family in Ameri- 
ca, came from England to the new world in 1636, and 
was for nearly two decades one of the leading and influ- 
ential citizens of Charlestown colony, his strong intelli- 
gence and patriotic spirit well qualifying him for the 
high official honors to which he was called. He served 
as deputy to the general court, as selectman, and as 
commander of the Ancient and Honorable Artillery 
Company, the oldest military organization in continuous 
existence in the country. Later he was major general 
of the Massachusetts militia, and subsequently was com- 
missioned by Oliver Cromwell, military governor of the 
island of Jamaica, in the West Indies. He was dis- 
charging the duties of that position when his death 
occurred, 1656. 

(I) Judge Theodore Sedgwick belonging to the fifth 
generation in direct descent from Robert Sedgwick, and 
no less distinguished than his first ancestor, was born 
at Hartford, Connecticut, in 1727, died at Boston, Janu- 
ary 24, 1813. An American Federalist politician and 
jurist. He served in the Revolution; was a delegate to 
the Continental Congress from Massachusetts 1785-86; 
was a member of Congress from Massachusetts 1789- 
96; was United States Senator 1796-99 (and president 
pro tempore) ; was member of Congress and speaker 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



25 



1799-1801; and was judge of the Massachusetts Supreme 
Court where he served until he died. 

(II) Henry Dwight Sedgwick, third son of Judge 
Theodore Sedgwick, was born in Stockbridge, and com- 
pleted his education by graduating from Williams Col- 
lege with the class of 1804. Having prepared for the 
bar, he practiced in New York City for many years, the 
firm of R. & H. D. Sedgwick occupying a position of 
distinctive precedence there. He married a daughter 
of that eminent jurist, the Hon. George Richards Minot, 
at one time judge of the municipal court of Boston, in 
which city Mrs. Sedgwick was born. They were the 
parents of a son, Henry D., born in Stockbridge, 
August 16, 1824, and prepared for college in a private 
school conducted by Samuel D. Parker, in his native 
town. When but a youth of fourteen he matriculated 
in Harvard, and, pursuing a classical course, was gradu- 
ated with the degree of Bachelor of Arts, in 1844. He 
prepared for the bar as a student in the law ofSce of his 
cousin in New York City, Theodore Sedgwick, Jr., and 
his preliminary reading was supplemented by a course in 
the Harvard Law School. Following his admission to 
the bar of New York State in 1846, he took charge of his 
cousin's law practice, and a few years later entered into 
partnership with James H. Storrs, practicing for many 
years under the firm name of Storrs & Sedgwick, with 
an extensive and important clientele. On the dissola- 
tion of the partnership he practiced alone until his retire- 
ment from active connection with the profession in 1893. 

Mr. Sedgwick was equally well known as an author of 
legal works. He was the editor of two editions of 
"Sedgwick on Damages," of which his cousin Theodore, 
was the author, and which he greatly enlarged, and 
which has long been regarded as an authority. He also 
was the author of "Sedgwick's Leading Cases in the 
Law of Damages," and for many years he was the secre- 
tary of the New York Law Institute. He belonged to 
the New York City Bar Association, and to the New 
York State Bar Association, and the position that he held 
among his colleagues, is indicated by the fact that he 
was for many years honored with the secretaryship. 
His interest in community affairs was deep and sincere, 
and was manifest by tangible support of many progress- 
ive measures. After his retirement from professional 
life, he made his home in Stockbridge, where he lived in 
the Sedgwick Mansion, which had been built by his 
grandfather Judge Theodore Sedgwick in 1785. Here 
he dwelt among his books, dispensing the same hospi- 
tality for which the house had always been renowned, 
and which continues to this day. Although a Unitarian 
of an old fashioned variety, he became a vestryman of St. 
Paul's Church, and a dominating figure both in church 
and town aft^airs. He was president of the Stockbridge 
Library, as well as the Laurel Hill Association, which 
was founded in 1853, and has won distinction through- 
out the country, not only because it was the first village 
improvement association in the world, but because of its 
yearly custom to gather distinguished men at its anni- 
versary meeting, who talk either on their own subjects 
or upon vital current topics of the day. 

His high scholarly attainments, his courtly manner, 
and kindly heart, so endeared him to this community at 
large, that after his death they erected to his memory. 



out of their love for him, a rostrum in the grove on 
Laurel Hill, which was designed in natural stone by 
America's great sculptor, Daniel Chester French, from 
which each year at the anniversary meeting, the speakers 
address a large audience. 

Henry Dwight Sedgwick married, in 1857, his cousin, 
Henrietta Ellery Sedg-wick, of New York and Stock- 
bridge, daughter of his uncle, Robert Sedgwick, and 
granddaughter on her maternal side, of William Ellery, 
of Rhode Island, one of the signers of the Declaration 
of Independence. Mr. and Mrs. Sedgwick were the 
parents of five children: i. Jane Minot, a well known 
classical scholar and poet, having translated poems from 
the original Greek, was the author of the "Sicilian 
Idylls," winning great praise from the English scholar, 
Richard Garnet. She married Signer Michaeli Ricci- 
ardi, professor of international law of the University of 
Naples. 2. Henry Dwight, Jr., entered as his father did, 
the New York bar, which in a few years he abandoned 
for a literary life. Among the many books he wrote, 
are the following: "Ignatius Loyola"; "Pro Vita 
Monastica"; "Marcus Aurelius"; "Dante"; "Italy in 
the Thirteenth Century"; "Life of Samuel de Cham- 
plain." 3. Rev. Dr. Theodore, is an Episcopal clergy- 
man, being the rector of Calvary Church in New York 
for many years. 4. Alexander, of whom further. 5. 
Ellery, the distinguished editor of "The Atlantic Month- 
ly" and "The Living Age." 

(Ill) Alexander Sedgwick, son of Henry D. and 
Henrietta E. (Sedgwick) Sedgwick, was born January 
24, 1867, on the anniversary of the death of Theodore 
Sedgwick, his illustrious progenitor. Mr. Sedgwick was 
hampered in his early youth by extremely delicate health, 
so that his parents and the doctor attending him des- 
paired of saving his life. This was owing in part to a 
severe burn he sustained in his youth, which entirely 
destroyed the cuticle of nearly one-third of his body. 
Skin grafting, which is now so familiar in surgery, was 
first tried with success upon him. 

During this early period when other boys and girls 
were going to school, for lack of playmates and the 
ordinary curriculum of school, he was read to by his 
mother and her friends in order to make him forget 
his pain. Mr. Sedgwick attributes to this reading much 
of the best part of his education, as long before other 
boys of his age knew at all the world of literature, he 
had already devoured the Waverley Novels, Dickens, 
Thackeray, and English history as well as American. 
Mr. Sedgwick never knew the inside of a real school 
house until he was nearly twelve years old. He first 
went to a private school in New York and afterwards 
he was sent to Bishop's College School at Lenoxville in 
the Province of Quebec, where he remained until he was 
eighteen years old. 

Owing to another complete breakdown, he went out 
West. He is proud rather than otherwise of the fact 
that the only university from which he graduated was 
that of adversity in the West, where he remained for 
the larger part of seven years, first finding occupation 
on a ranch in the Santa Inez Valley at a place called 
Ballard. After two years of ranch life, he went to San 
Francisco where he worked upon the different papers. 

In 1S94, in the West, he met Lydia Cameron Rogers, 



26 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



daughter of the distinguished lawyer, Sherman S. 
Rogers, of Buffalo, New York, and sister of Robert 
Cameron Rogers, the poet, author of "The Rosary" 
and other poems. He married Miss Rogers, October 2, 

1895. 

Three children were born to Alexander and Lydia 
C. (Rogers) Sedgwick: i. Christina Davenport, mar- 
ried, in 1922, John Philips Marquand, a promising 
writer on the "Saturday Evening Post." 2. William 
Ellery, Harvard '22, now serving as third editor on 
"Foreign Affairs." 3. Alexander Cameron, Harvard 
'24, who is upon the staff of the "New York World." 

From then on beside a diversified business career, Mr. 
Sedgwick has contributed many articles to various 
papers largely on the questions of the day. His public 
spirit is indomitable, and he has devoted much time to 
philanthropy and to the fostering of American liberties 
as handed down to him by his fore-bears. 

In 191 1, he was elected to the Massachusetts Legis- 
lature on the Democratic ticket in a strong Republican 
district, where his skill in debate was soon recognized 
by the leaders of the House and Senate, among whom 
in the latter body, was Calvin Coolidge. In 1912, ow- 
ing to the fact that United States Senators were elected 
by the house and as John W. Weeks, on the Republican 
side, and John F. Fitzgerald, on the Democratic side, 
were contending for election, great pressure was ex- 
erted to defeat Mr. Sedgwick although it was his in- 
tention of following the wish of the majority of his con- 
stituents and to vote for Mr. Weeks. He, nevertheless, 
was defeated by a slender majority. 

Governor Eugene Noble Foss, whose friend he was, 
in 1912 appointed him as Commissioner to represent 
Massachusetts at the Panama-Pacific International Ex- 
position. There is recorded, in the history of the Pana- 
ma-Pacific International Exposition, a long account up- 
on Mr. Sedgwick's work and the impression he made 
upon the manager of the Exposition. We quote in part: 

Mr. Sedgwick had been at the Exposition but a short 
time when his enthusiasm and strong personality 
were recognized by the officials. He was untiring in 
his efforts to make not only his State's participation 
a noteworthy feature, but he assisted very materially 
in making the Exposition the success it was. When 
matters pertaining to the good of the states were dis- 
cussed by the State Commissioners Association, Mr. 
Sedgwick's council was sought and his recommenda- 
tions were accepted. Upon the several occasions when 
he presided over the ceremonies at Massachusetts' 
stately edifice, he acquitted himself with honor and 
distinction, and while his addresses were not those of 
a spellbinder, they accomplished more because of the 
truths he uttered, the sincerity of his purpose and his 
intense patriotism being apparent to his auditors. 
********* 

It is doubtful if any commissioner to the Panama- 
Pacific International Exposition made any greater 
impression upon the Commissioners General from for- 
eign lands than did Mr. Sedgwick. His brilliant mind, 
together with his strong personality, won for him the 
sincere friendship of these gentlemen who have for 
years associated with statesmen, savants, thinkers, 
and men of erudition. 
********* 

Massachusetts indeed made a wise selection in 
placing Alexander Sedgwick on its commission, for, in 
so doing it secured an official who at once commanded 
a prominent position in Exposition affairs and who 
was the means of securing recognition, the benefits of 
w^hich can not be measured. Mr. Sedgwick served his 
State faithfully and well, and it was the earnest hope 
of those with whom he came in contact that Massa- 



chusetts at any succeeding exposition would be rep- 
resented by the commissioner who so ably served his 
State. 

After the World War broke out, Mr Sedgwick soon 
saw that it was inevitable that the United States 
of America should play her part. In the American 
Rights League, an organization founded to crystallize 
existing public opinion for war by mass meetings and 
otherwise, Mr. Sedgwick soon took a significant part 
and was elected as a chairman of arrangements for the 
Massachusetts branch. Among his colleagues were Dr. 
Richard Cabot, the late William Roscoe Thayer, Ralph 
Adams Cram, the Rev. Dr. Van Allen, and other dis- 
tinguished men. Mr. Lodge once stated to him that 
he doubted whether the organization would go down in 
history, but certain it was that it had its effect during 
that desolate period when America was pilloried before 
the world as a nation that could neither keep the peace 
nor go to war. 

On Mr. Wilson's declaration of war, Mr. Sedgwick 
immediately enlisted in the Norton and Harjes Ambu- 
lance Corps. There he served at the front until the 
United States took over the corps. As Mr. Sedgwick 
was not eligible for service, on account of his age, he 
was sent, by the American Red Cross, to Italy, where 
he and Charles Williams of Worcester took charge of 
the great work done by the American Red Cross in 
Naples and its vicinity. Hotels were hired for the refu- 
gees; schools were started for their children; the manu- 
facture of lace was encouraged for the women from 
Venice and its vicinity. The personnel under Captain 
Sedgwick and Captain Williams was some eighty-two 
people, composed largely of Americans. There were 
nurses provided for the poor and Mr. Sedgwick, during 
the epidemic of influenza distributed from dispensing 
centers, milk and flour. He served with distinction until 
after the Armistice and the closing down of the Ameri- 
can Red Cross. 

Mr. Sedgwick in his stand for American liberties, is 
anti-prohibition, believing that the freedom of choice 
between right and wrong is essential to the development 
of the soul. His fight in the world has always been and 
will always be the fight for individual liberty. 

Mr. Sedgwick has inherited the Sedgwick Mansion 
where he, as his forebears, lives for the better part of 
each year. His grandchild, John Philips Marquand, Jr., 
is sixth in descent from the founder. 



ROBERT WEBSTER PEASE— The name Pease 
was well known in England long before Columbus set 
sail on his memorable voyage which landed him in 
America. As far back as 1472 the name appears in an 
English book of the period. The family is said to be 
of German origin, and their crossing to England is put 
some time after the Saxon Conquest. The name is still 
frequently found in Germany, but there it is spelled 
Pies or Pees. In this country also the family has a long 
and honorable record, and Robert Webster Pease is one 
of its foremost representatives here. The ancient coat- 
of-arms said to have been borne by a German family, 
granted under the reign of Otho II, Emperor of Ger- 
many, appears upon an old seal in the possession of one 




/f-^^W^^ ^ . f^e 




mvf^ 




WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



27 



of the members of the Pease family in this country. 
It is described as follows: 

Arms — Per fesse argent and gules, an eagle dis- 
played counterchanged. 

Crest — An eagle's head erased, the beak holding a 
stalk of pea-haulm, all proper. 

The first mention of the name of Pease in this country 
is that of Robert Pease who emigrated to the Colonies 
in 1634. He came over on the ship "Francis" sailing 
from Ipswich, England, along with so many others who 
formed the backbone of the New England population of 
those days, and whose descendants are still among the 
foremost persons of the Nation. Robert Pease landed 
at Boston, Massachusetts, accompanied by his brother 
John, and his eldest son, Robert. His wife, Marie, and 
other children came on a later ship. He settled in Salem, 
where both he and his brother John had grants of land. 

John Pease, one of the sons of Robert Pease, is the 
ancestor from whom the branch of the family to which 
Robert Webster Pease belongs descended. He received 
by the will of his grandmother, Margaret Pease, most 
of her property. He settled in that part of Salem called 
Northfields, where he took up life as a farmer. He was 
admitted a freeman April 26, 1668, and joined the First 
Church of Salem, July 4, 1667. In 1681 he removed 
with his family to that part of Springfield which was 
afterwards set off as Enfield, Connecticut. He was an 
active church worker. He left many descendants, among 
whom were: John, Robert, Mary, Abraham, Jonathan, 
James, Isaac and Abigail. Job Pease, one of his grand- 
sons, was born at Martha's Vineyard in 1728, removed 
to Stafford, Connecticut, 1745, and from there went to 
Norwich, Connecticut. Later he removed to Ludlow, 
Massachusetts, and there is a record of his having been 
in Springfield, Massachusetts, in 1783. He died October 
II, 1793. His second wife was Abigail Coaley, a widow, 
and their children were: Job, Noah, Abiah, Eunice and 
Keziah. Job, the son, married Deborah Hoskill, of 
Yarmouth, Nova Scotia. He died in Ludlow, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1814. He was an extensive traveler for those 
days, having lived in Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Norwich, 
Connecticut, Ludlow, Massachusetts, and Springfield, 
Massachusetts. His children were: William, of whom 
further; Asa, Joseph, Benjamin, Levi, Simeon, Mercy, 
Sally, and Mary. 

William Pease was born in Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, 
March 21, 1768, and died in Ludlow, Massachusetts, 
August 7, 1844. He married Martha Woody, in 1792. 
They removed to Granby, Massachusetts, where they 
remained until 1807, and then went to Ludlow, Massa- 
chusetts, where he lived until the time of his death. 
Their children were: Joshua, Walter, William, Warren, 
Robert, Pliny, of whom further; and Simeon. 

Pliny Pease was born in Granby, Massachusetts, May 
31, 1805, and died in Belchertown, Massachusetts, Feb- 
ruary 9, 1876, he was a farmer. He married Angeline 
Baggs, who was born in Belchertown in 1812, and who 
died October 8, 1892. Their children were: Martha, 
William, Levi, Angelia, John, Coridon W., Albert Les- 
lie, Fred and Webster Albert, of whom further. 

Webster Albert Pease was born in Ludlow, July 10, 
1853, and died in Northampton, Massachusetts, Febru- 
^^ 13. 191 1. He was well known as an operator of 



creameries, which he operated on the cooperative plan. 
For eighteen years he was manager of the cooperative 
creamery at Conway, Massachusetts, which burned in 
1905. He then left Conway for Amherst, Massachusetts, 
where he undertook the managership of a creamery, 
which he finally bought out and operated under the name 
of the Amherst Creamery Company. Mr. Pease took 
great pride in his work and was always desirous of im- 
proving the grade of his product. He was always will- 
ing to back his products against those of any other 
creamery, and won the gold medal in 1889 for making 
the best butter in New England. Besides attending to 
his own business affairs he was for several years associ- 
ated with Tait Brothers, of Springfield, having charge 
of their various creamery interests in different parts of 
the country. Mr. Pease was a charter member of the 
Free and Accepted Masons of Conway, and treasurer 
of the Congregational Church. 

Mr. Pease married, June i, 1881, Aima M. Hastings. 
She was born in Amherst, and was the daughter of 
Elisha Henry and Margaret (Ainsworth) Hastings. 
They had one child, Robert Webster Pease, of whom 
further. 

Robert Webster Pease was born in Amherst, January 
15, 1883. He was educated in the schools of Conway, 
at Gushing Academy, from which he was graduated in 
1901, and Amherst College in 1905. He began his busi- 
ness career as a traveling salesman for educational 
books, which he sold through Pennsylvania and the 
South. For five years he engaged in that business, and 
then came to New York to become affiliated with a mail 
order house. In 1911 he went to reside in Northampton, 
and succeeded to the management of the Amherst 
Creamery, in Amherst, which had been founded by his 
father. He takes great pride in the high-class butter 
his creamery turns out, and is at special pains to pro- 
cure the best grade of cream for the manufacture of 
his product. To do this he sends out teams and trucks 
to the farms for miles around, and makes it a rule to 
buy only from those which have the best sorts of cows. 
There is no middle-man between himself and the stores. 
His plant is up-to-date in every respect, new machinery 
being constantly installed to keep abreast of the times. 
In 1912 the "homoginizer," with which he equipped his 
plant, was the only machine of the kind in Western 
Massachusetts. There is also an hydraulic cutter on the 
premises, which is used for cutting butter, and is the only 
one in the State of Massachusetts. No ice is used, but 
instead the butter is kept fresh by mechanical refrigera- 
tion. 

Mr. Pease married, September 14, 1908, Myrtle Hunt, 
of Morehead, Minnesota. She is the adopted daughter of 
Eugene I. and Mary A. (Cobb) Hunt. Her own parents 
were William Jackson and Lucy Ann (Lyman) Felch. 
Mr. and Mrs. Pease are the parents of the following 
children: Margaret Eugenia, born June 18, 1909, and 
Eleanor Webster, born November 2, 1912. The family 
residence is at No. 60 Crescent Street, Northampton. 



DR. ABIJAH DAVENPORT PIERCE— Dr. 

Pierce is a descendant of John Pierce of Pers, who came 
to New England in 1637, was admitted a freeman in 
March, 1637-38, and died August 19, 1661, the line 



28 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



descending through son Anthony; his son Joseph, who 

married (first) Martha , (second) Mrs. Elizabeth 

(Kendall) Winship; son Francis, born July 27, 1671, 
died in Weston, Massachusetts, April 22, 1728, married 
Hannah Johnston, of Lexington; their son Jonas, born 
in 1717, died January 6, 1805, in Lincoln, Massachusetts, 
married Mary Adams, of Lexington; their son Jonas (2), 
born in Lexington, Massachusetts, September 19, 1750, 
died December 24, 1840, married (first) Anna Garfield, 
(second), in 1811, Lorina Poole; and had children: 
Jonas, Thomas, Susannah, Elisha, Abijah, of whom 
further; Enoch, Anna, Lucy, Benjamin and Jacob. 

Abijah Pierce, son of Jonas (2) and Anna (Garfield) 
Pierce, was born in Lexington, Massachusetts, May 25, 
1792, died March 19, 1885. He married, March 21, 
1 82 1, Lydia Gray, who was born November 27, 1795, 
and died September 30, 1867. Their children were: 
Lucia C., Metcalf R., Newton Garfield, of whom fur- 
ther; and Merrit L 

Newton Garfield Pierce, son of Abijah and Lydia 
(Gray) Pierce, was born in Jamaica, Vermont, May 
15, 1827, and died March 13, 1903. He married Novem- 
ber 18, 1854, Sarah Brooks, daughter of Rufus and 
Mary (Sawyer) Brooks, and they were the parents of 
two children: Susan Fidelia and Abijah Newton, of 
whom further. 

Abijah Newton Pierce, son of Newton Garfield and 
Sarah (Brooks) Pierce, was born at Ayer Junction, 
Massachusetts, formerly a part of the town of Groton, 
June 20, 1862, and removed to Greenfield, Massachusetts, 
with his parents when he was seven years of age. He 
received his education in the public schools of Greenfield 
and then learned the plumber's trade, at which he 
worked for many years. In later life he established a 
machine shop of his own in Springfield, where he repairs 
bicycles, guns and machines of various kinds. He mar- 
ried Gertrude Ella Davenport, of Middletown, Con- 
necticut, daughter of George Henry and Emma M. 
(Cleveland) Davenport, and they became the parents of 
three children: i. George Newton, who is engaged in 
business as a merchant at Russell, Massachusetts. He 
is married and has three children: Gertrude Susan, 
Buce Abijah, and Alice. 2. Dr. Abijah Davenport, of 
further mention. 3. Raymond Garfield, who enlisted for 
service in the World War, and died during the "flu" 
epidemic at Camp Devens. 

Dr. Abijah Davenport Pierce, son of Abijah Newton 
and Gertrude Ella (Davenport) Pierce, was born in 
Bernardston, Massachusetts, April 19, 1892, and re- 
ceived his early education in the public schools of Green- 
field. He early decided to enter the dental profession, 
and when his public school course was completed be- 
came a student in the dental department of Tufts Dental 
College, from which he was graduated in 1916. He 
taught in Tufts College for a period of two years, be- 
ginning his teaching experience after graduation, but 
the entrance of the United States into the World War 
interrupted his professional career. He enlisted for 
service, reported for duty September 29, 1917, and was 
first sent to Mitchcl Field, Garden City, Long Island, 
where he became a member of the air service, his duties 
being in the line of his profession. After receiving his 
honorable discharge, October i, 1919, he began the 



practice of his profession in Greenfield, Massachusetts, 
where he has been actively and successfully engaged to 
the present time (1925). He is a member of the Massa- 
chusetts Dental Society, and of the Greenfield Dental 
Club. He is well known in fraternal circles, being a 
member of Republican Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons, of Greenfield; of Franklin Chapter, Royal 
Arch Masons; Titus Strong Council, Royal and Select 
Masters. He is a member of Delta Sigma Delta Fra- 
ternity; commander of the American Legion; and a 
member of the Greenfield Club, the Republican Town 
Committee, the Catamount Sportsman's Club and the 
Izaak Walton League of Colerain, Massachusetts. His 
religious interest is with St. James' Episcopal Church, of 
which he is a communicant. 

Dr. Pierce married, December 24 1918, Florence Vic- 
toria Stewart, and they are the parents of two children: 
Betty Louise, born February 16, 1920; and Stewart 
Wayne, June 12, 1922. 



HERBERT PALMER WARE— The professions 
of Western Massachusetts have an excellent representa- 
tion of young men who were born and bred and received 
a large part of their training in that part of the State. 
Herbert Palmer Ware, whose family for generations 
have shared in the history of the making of various of 
the Massachusetts townships, established his law ofBces 
at Greenfield ten years ago, and is accounted as one of 
the most enterprising and popular men in his line, with 
gifts that have been developed in a very practical busi- 
ness and professional training. He has held with 
praiseworthy results some of the most responsible ofifices 
of township and district, his assessorship activities, both 
in liehalf of the State and for Shelburne, having been 
notable for their thorough service. Mr. Ware is a 
descendant of Robert Ware, a native of England, who 
probably was a descendant of the ancient family of 
Weare or Were, which is of great antiquity in Devon 
and Somerset. Robert Ware was one of the original set- 
tlers of Eastern Massachusetts. Lands were granted to 
him in Dedham, February 6, 1643; he was made a 
freeman. May 26, 1647; and a member of the Artillery 
Company in 1644. He lived and died in Dedham 
(though three of his sons, John, Nathaniel and Robert, 
removed to Wollomonopoag, incorporated as Wrentham 
in 1673). His name stands second in point of wealth on 
the tax list. He married (first) in Dedham, March 24, 
1645, Margaret Hunting, daughter of John Hunting and 
mother of all Robert Ware's ten children. He married 
(second) Hannah Jones. The line descends through 
Robert (2) Ware, born in Dedham, August i, 1653; set- 
tled in Wrentham, where he died September 16, 1724; 
served in King Philip's War; married (first) Sarah 
Metcalf, (second) Elizabeth Holbrook. Their son 
Michael, born in Wrentham, June 11, 1683, died Sep- 
tember 21, 1725, married, December 4, 1707, Jane Wight, 
daughter of Jonathan and Elizabeth (Hawes) Wight. 
Their son, Michael (2), born December 5, 1725, married 
February 5, 1754, in Wrenthan, Abiel Metcalf, daughter 
of Michael and Abiel (Colburn) Metcalf. Among their 
children was Michael (3), of whom further. 

Michael (3) Ware, son of Michael (2) and Abiel (Met- 
calf) Ware, was born at Wrentham in 1765, and died at 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



29» 



Buckland, Massachusetts, May 7, 1849. He resided in 
Buckland, where he was successfully engaged in farm- 
ing. He married (first) Mary (known as Polly) Cross; 
(second) Hannah Camp (Kamp), and by the two mar- 
riages became the father of twenty children. Children 
of the first marriage: i. Rewel, born in 1792, died in 
1839; married Betsy Clark. 2. Michael, born in 1794, 
died January 27, 1864; married Sarah Shepherd. 3. 
Zachariah, died February 24, 1843, married Mary Frinks. 
4. Wiilard, bom in 1800, died in 1843; married Anne 
Ware. 5. Jabez, born in 1804, died in 1878; married Fanny 
Munson. 6. Polly, married Sanford Foster. 7. Nancy, 
born in 1806, died October 25, 1878, married Alfred 
Woodward, and four who died young. Children of the 
second marriage: 11. Louisa, married Daniel Ellis. 12. 
Enos, born November 4, 1810; married Lydia M. 
Blanchard. 13. Betsy, born in 1814, died January 20, 
1867 ; married Orville Sherwin. 14. Palmer, of whom 
further. 15. Rosannah, born May 10, 1817, married 
Cephas Woodward. 16. Daniel, died February 22, 1857; 
married Mrs. Electa (Thayer) Daniels. 17. Lucy, born 
in 1819, died November 18, 1829. 18. Lucretia, born in 
1820, died November 11, 1838, and two who died young. 

Palmer Ware, a son of Michael and Hannah (Camp) 
Ware, was born at Buckland, Massachusetts, September 
25, 1815, and died at Shelburne, Massachusetts, Febru- 
ary 27, 1893. He was employed at the Shelburne Falls 
Railroad Station, and while coupling cars had the mis- 
fortune to lose his right arm. Resourceful and ambitious 
as he was, however, he did not let this handicap prevent 
his doing a man's work in the world, and for many years 
he was successfully engaged in the coal and ice business 
in Shelburne. His fraternal affiliations were with 
Alethian Lodge, Independent Order of Odd Fellows; 
and his religious fellowship was with the Baptist Church. 
He married Maria F. Wilcox, who was born in Shel- 
burne, Massachusetts, February 19, 1838, and died No- 
vember 13, 1918, daughter of Abraham Wilcox, born in 
Whitingham, Vermont, in 1799, and Laurinda (Hardy) 
Wilcox, born in 1801, in Upton, Massachusetts. Chil- 
dren of Palmer and Maria F. (Wilcox) Ware: i. Henry 
W., who is engaged in the coal and insurance business 
at Shelburne Falls. 2. Lucie M., who married Charles 
H. Wilcox, of Springfield, Massachusetts. 3. Herbert 
Palmer, of whom further. 

Herbert Palmer Ware was born July 29, 1882, in 
Shelburne Falls, where he attended the public schools, 
and the Arms Academy, in Shelburne. After the com- 
pletion of his freshman year at Brown University, 
Providence, Rhode Island, he became associated with the 
Fred T. Ley Company in Springfield, in field work. 
He then matriculated at Boston University School of 
Law, where he graduated with the class of 1912. Ad- 
mitted to the bar that year, he practiced with the firm of 
Adams & Blinn, in Boston, for two years, and then in 
1915 went to Greenfield, where he established offices in 
his own name. For six years he was State Income Tax 
Assessor, one of the first so appointed. His residence 
is at Shelburne Falls, where he has capably served as 
town assessor and as selectman. He is a trustee of 
the Shelburne Falls Savings Bank, is town counsel and 
counsel for the savings bank. His fraternal affiliations 
are with Mountain Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, 



of Shelburne Falls, of which he is a Past Master; and 
with the Lodge of Perfection, the Princes of Jerusalem 
and Rose Croix, Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite, of 
Greenfield. He is a member of the Greenfield Club, 
and his religious affiliation is with the Baptist Church 
in Shelburne Falls, which he has served as one of the 
assessors and as a member of the board of trustees. 

Herbert Palmer Ware married, September 15, 1915, 
Alice F. Merrill, daughter of George G. and Emma 
(Field) Merrill, and granddaughter of Ira Merrill. Mr. 
and Mrs. Ware are the parents of one daughter, Olive 
Merrill Ware, who was born April 8, 1922. 



COOK FAMILY OF WARWICK— The Cook 

family is an ancient one of high standing and renown, 
tracing back to Essex County, in England. As early 
as the time of King Edward IV, Sir Thomas Cook, of 
Geddy Hall (son of Robert Cooke, of Lavenham in Suf- 
folk), was one of the sheriffs of London in 1453, and 
Lord Mayor of London in 1462. He was knighted by 
King Edward IV at the coronation of his Queen in 
1465, at which time forty-two were made Knights of 
the Bath. Sir Thomas Cook died in 1478, holding the 
manors of Bedford, Geddy Hall, Esthouse, and Reden- 
court of the Queen, also other lands in Havering, where 
he built a fine castle. He married the daughter and 
heir of Philip Malpas, of London, and among his chil- 
dren were: Philip, William and Thomas. The arms 
belonging to John Cook, of Horksley and Pebmarsh, 
County Essex, England, and his descendants were: 

Arms — Sable, three bendlets argent. (His grandson 
changed the field from sable to azure.) 

Crest — Silver cockatrice, with gold wings, red beak 
and comb. (Another crest is a horse's head in gold.) 

It is practically certain that the above Sir Thomas 
Cook was the ancestor of the later Sir Thomas Cook, of 
Great Yeldham and Pebmarsh, County Essex, mentioned 
below, whose brother, Joseph Cook, was the American 
ancestor of the Cook family of Warwick, Massachusetts. 

(I) Thomas Cook, of Great Yeldham, son of Sir 
Thomas Cook, was born about 1580, and died in 1634, 
not living to inherit the "Sir." He was a prominent 
non-conformist, and in full sympathy with his martial 
sons. He married Grace Upcher, and to them were 
born four children: i. Thomas, born about 1606, died 
about 1684. He remained in England and became "Sir" 
after the death of his grandfather, Sir Thomas, who 
may have died at the age of perhaps eighty years. He 
was an ardent supporter of Oliver Cromwell, "a great 
Oliverian who made all far and near tremble in the days 
of his greatness," and who served as colonel of the Essex 
County Militia during the Civil wars of the Cromwell 
period. On September 9, 1651, he, with Sir Thomas 
Honywood, William Harlakenden, and others, was cre- 
ated Doctor of the Civil Law at Oxford University, 
and in 1654 he was made one of the Knights of the 
Shire for Essex in Cromwell's Parliament. He married 
(first) Elizabeth Duke, daughter and co-heir of John 
Duke, M. D., of Colchester, by whom he had seven 
sons and four daughters; he married (second) Judith 
St. John, daughter of Oliver St. John, of Keyshoe, in 
Bedfordshire. 2. Joseph, of whom further. 3. (George, 
born in 1610. 4. Grace. 



30 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



(II) Joseph Cook, second son of Thomas Cook, of 
Great Yeldham, County Essex, was born in 1608. He 
came to America with his younger brother, Colonel 
George Cook, on the ship "Defense" and reached Boston 
October 3, 1635. Both brothers were registered as 
servants of Roger Harlakenden, presumably for purpo- 
ses of disguise, being under a ban, as both purchased 
property on their arrival and at once occupied prominent 
positions in the town and Colony. Joseph Cook settled 
in Newtown, now Cambridge, was made a freeman, 
March 3, 1636; served as selectman seven years, 1638- 
1645; town clerk, 1636-1641; local magistrate or commis- 
sioner, 1648-1657; and representative 1636 to 1641; and 
after the return of his brother George to England, he 
"had charge of the military." His brother. Colonel 
George Cook, was a colonel in Cromwell's Army and 
was reported slain in the wars of Ireland in 1652. In 
1658 Joseph Cook returned to England and was residing 
at Stannaway, County Essex, in 1665, at which date he 
conveyed his homestead and several lots of land to his 
son. This homestead was on the east side of Holyoke 
Street, near Holyoke Place, and was the home of a line 
of his family for several generations. The brothers 
owned the ferry to Boston and built the first "Arlington" 
mill. He had previously, November S, 1639, made his 
brother, Thomas Cooke, his attorney. He married 
Elizabeth (some records say Mary) Haynes, daughter 
of the John Haynes, of Old Holt, England, who came to 
Massachusetts Bay Colony in 1633 and was Governor 
of the Colony in 1635, and, many times later, Governor 
of the Connecticut Colony. Their children were: I. 
Joseph, of whom further. 2. Elizabeth, born in 1645. 3. 
Mary, born in 1646. 4. Grace, born in 1648, probably 
died in infancy. 5. Grace, born in 1650. 6. Ruth, bap- 
tized at Cambridge. 

(III) Joseph Cook, son of Joseph and Elizabeth 
(Haynes) Cook, was born December 27, 1643, and died 
about February, 169 1. He graduated from Harvard 
College in 1661, and became a very prominent citizen, 
serving as representative, 1 671 -1680; and as lieutenant 
(commanding) of Major Gookin's company in King 
Philip's War. He married, December 4, 1665, Martha 
Stedman, daughter of John Stedman, and they were the 
parents of the following children: i. John, born Janu- 
ary 25, 1668, died June 3, 1684. 2. Elizabeth, born Feb- 
ruary II, 1670, died February 2, 1688. 3. Joseph, born 
September 16, 1671. 4. Haynes, of whom further. 5. 
Alice, married (first) Rev. John Whiting, of Lancaster; 
(second) Rev. Timothy Stevens, of Glastonbury, Con- 
necticut. 

(IV) Haynes Cook, son of Joseph and Martha 
(Stedman) Cook, was born February i, 1678. He was 
at various times a resident of Cambridge, Woburn, and 
Concord, all in Massachusetts. He married Elizabeth 
surname unknown, and they were the parents of four 
children: i. Josiah, of whom further. 2. Samuel, born 
September i, 171 1. 3. Timothy, born October 13, 1714. 
4. Thomas, born January 27, 1730. 

(V) Josiah Cook, son of Haynes and Elizabeth Cook, 
was born in Concord, Massachusetts, April 13, 1709, 
and later lived in Lancaster and Warwick. He married 
Beriah, surname unknown, and they were the parents 



of the following children: i. Daniel, of whom further. 
2. Charity, born March 16, 1742. 3. Israel, born July 
29, 1745- 4- Lizzie, born January 8, 1748. 5. Beulah, 
born March 28, 1749. Josiah Cook assisted his son 
Daniel in clearing and subduing a farm, original lot No. 
28, on the southeastern slope of Mt. Grace in Warwick, 
which homestead was occupied by his descendants from 
1762 until 1867, when his great-grandson, Asahel Cook, 
sold it and moved his family to Barre. This farm is 
now included in the Mt. Grace "State Reservation" in 
Warwick. 

(VI) Daniel Cooke (as he spelled the name), son of 
Josiah and Beriah Cook, was born in Concord, Massa- 
chusetts, May 29, 1740, and removed while still a lad 
to Lancaster, in the then western part of Massachusetts. 
Later he migrated from Sterling, then a part of the 
town of Lancaster, to Warwick, where he arrived June 
4, 1762. He built the original Cook homestead in War- 
wick, and when the structure was completed returned 
to Sterling for his young wife. He served in the Revo- 
lutionary War, and it is interesting to note that "Mas- 
sachusetts Soldiers and Sailors in the Revolution" con- 
tains sixteen records under the name of Daniel Cook, 
indicating that more than one of the name served in the 
struggle for independence. Daniel Cooke enlisted at 
Northampton, August 10, 1781, in Captain Ebenezer 
Strong's company. Colonel Sear's regiment, and marched 
through the wilderness to Albany, Ticonderoga, and 
Saratoga. When peace was declared he was mustered 
out at Saratoga, November 20, 1781, and with his com- 
rades started for home through the woods. They reached 
home, suffering much from hunger and cold. He died in 
Warwick, February 4, 181 1. Daniel Cooke married 
Sarah Morse, daughter of Obadiah Morse, of South- 
bridge, Massachusetts, and they were the parents of 
the following children: i. Sally, born June 5, 1766. 
2. Rhoda, born June 27, 1769. 3. Daniel, born March 
18, 1772. 4. Eunice, born February 21, 1774- 5- Bena- 
iah, born May 31, 1777. 6. Ezekiel, of whom further. 

7. Charity, born October 21, 1781. 8. Seth, born De- 
cember 24, 1785. 

(VII) Ezekiel Cook, son of Daniel and Sarah (Morse) 
Cooke, was born April 5, 1779. He married, October 
2"], 1803, Mary (Polly) Woodbury, who was born in 
October, 1777, daughter of Benajah Woodbury (who 
served in the Revolution as a soldier from Royalston) 
and of Abigail (Stockwell) Woodbury, member of a 
prominent New England family. He died in 1818, 
leaving eight children. His widow married (second), 
May 2, 1824, Elias Knowlton. She died in 1863, aged 
eighty-six years. Children of the first marriage: i. 
Fannie, born October 20, 1804, died October 15, 1827. 
2. Sumner, born March 7, 1806, died in 1893. 3. Daniel, 
born October 3, 1807, died about 1835. 4. Asahel, of 
whom further. 5. Charity, born May 9, 1812, died 
January 8, 1868. 6. Rhoda, born in 1814, and died in 
1839. 7- Mary, born May 8, 1816, died March 29, 1849. 

8. Abigail, born September 28, 1818, died October 30, 
1838. 

(VIII) Asahel Cook, son of Ezekiel and Mary 
(Woodbury) Cook, was born October 11, 1809, and 
died in Barre, Massachusetts, December 28. 1885. In 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



31 



1867 he, with his son, Henry Cook, purchased a large 
farm in Barre. He married Emeline M. Field, and 
they became the parents of ten children: i. Mary Lucy, 
born January 3, 1833, died July 31, 1903. 2. George 
Ezekiel, born June 19, 1834. 3. Charles Daniel, born 
February 10, 1836. 4. Edward Asahel, born December 
8, 1837. 5. Henry Harrison, born July 24, 1840, who 
owned and published the "Barre Gazette" for twenty 
years. 6. James Oliver, born August 22, 1842, who 
served as representative for one year. 7. Rhoda Ann, 
born October 15, 1844, a member of the Daughters of 
the American Revolution, who taught in the schools of 
Springfield, Pine, Elm, and Worthington, and ten years 
in Holyoke; resides now in Warwick. 8. William 
Frederick, of whom further. 9. Frank Field, born 
March 22, 1849. 10. Sumner Stetson, born April 9, 1851. 

(IX) William Frederick Cook, son of Asahel and 
Emeline M. (Field) Cook, was born February 4, 1847, 
and served as representative for two years. He married 
(first), in 1874, Florence B. Steele, of Springfield, and 
to them were born the following children: Mary, Fred- 
erick Rodney and George Steele, of whom further. He 
married (second) Carrie Norton, by whom he had one 
child, Marion Norton. 

(X) George Steele Cook, son of William Frederick 
and Florence B. (Steele) Cook, was born in West 
Springfield, Massachusetts, March 22, 1880; he is now 
(1925) county commissioner of Hampden County, 
chairman of the board, and resides in Springfield, 
Massachusetts. 



EDGAR LAWRENCE BARTLETT— The Bart- 
letts, according to the old chronicles of Massachusetts, 
are one of the oldest New England families on record, 
the immigrant ancestor, John Bartlett, being at Wey- 
mouth before 1666. In 1671 he was living at Mendon, 
and removed in 1682 to Rehoboth where he bought land 
on June 6, of that year. He died there August 17, 1684, 
and his wife Sarah died in January, 1684-85. Children: 
I. John, born February 11, 1666, at Weymouth, who 
married Alice . 2. Samuel, who married, Decem- 
ber 19, 1695, Sarah T . 3. Jacob, of whom further. 

4. Moses, who married Deborah, widow of Abraham 
Harding. 5. Sarah, who married, December 19, 1694, 
Captain Valentine Whitman, Jr. 6. Mary, born Janu- 
ary I, 1679, in Mendon. 7. Noah, born January 29, 
1680, in Mendon. 8. Daniel, born in Rehoboth, on Janu- 
ary 24, 1684. 

(II) Jacob Bartlett, son of John Bartlett, was born in 
New England, and married Sarah, surname unknown. 
He and his sons were Quakers. He was a farmer and 
also a manufacturer of hardware and edged tools. He 
bought in 1696, land from James Albee, of Mendon. 
Before this time Jacob Bartlett had been living in 
Providence, but probably removed to his new property 
which was afterward (1713) the first land laid out in the 
new town of Bellingham. He had other grants of land, 
one of them near Iron Rock Brook and bought land in 
various places. In 1737-38 he conveyed by deed of gift 
his homestead in Bellingham and two other tracts of 
land to his sons Jacob, Jr., and Joseph. The house 
which he probably built in 1696 was at last accounts still 
standing, and was in 1879 owned by George Waterman. 



The American Antiquarian Society, of Worcester, has 
the old hinges and wooden latch from one of the doors. 
The old burying ground of the Bartlett family is situ- 
ated on his homestead where he was probably buried. 
His children were: i. Demaris, who married on Janu- 
ary 5, 1717-18, Obadiah Ballon. 2. Moses, who lived in 
Gloucester. 3. Abner, married April 30, 1734, Abigail 
Arnold. 4. Jacob, of whom further. 5. Joseph. 

(III) Jacob Bartlett, son of Jacob Bartlett, resided 
first in Providence, Rhode Island, where he had land of 
his uncle and removed to Bellingham, where he bought 
in 1737 a part of his father's homestead and carried on 
the business of making scythes and blacksmith's supplies. 
He was associated with Peter Darling at the Muddy 
Brook water privilege, a "short distance south from 
the highway that leads to Winsocket." At the incor- 
poration of the town of Cumberland in 1776 he was 
chosen a member of the town council and filled other 
positions of trust. He was fence viewer in 1747. He 
married (first) Sarah ; married (second), Octo- 
ber 20, 1742, Lydia Muzzy, who died November 10, 1776, 
a daughter of James Muzzy, of Mendon. They were 
married according to the Quaker rites and he took active 
part in church affairs. A complaint was made against 
him in 1762 for sitting with his hat on during prayers, 
and a committee was appointed "to labor with him." 
He died April 17, 1768, and was probably buried in the 
family burying ground. His children were: Amy, 
David, of whom further; Sarah, married in 1790, Antho- 
ny Razee. 

(IV) David Bartlett, son of Jacob Bartlett, was the 
settler at Belchertown. Philip Bartlett was a soldier 
from Belchertown in the Revolution in 1775 in Captain 
Jonathan Bartlett's company, and again in 1779. Ben- 
jamin Bartlett was in the Revolution from Belchertown. 
In 1790 Benjamin Bartlett is reported by the Federal 
census as having two sons under sixteen and one female 
in his family. David Bartlett's sons were: Benjamin, 
Philip, Solomon, Gideon, of whom further. 

(V) Gideon Bartlett, son of David Bartlett, was born 
at Belchertown, and settled in the section set off as 
Enfield, Massachusetts. He was a farmer and mar- 
ried Lydia Brown. His children were: Lucas; Avery; 
Marshall Jones, of whom further; Erastus; Amy; Al- 
mira; Gideon Prentiss, of whom further, 

(VI) Marshall Jones Bartlett, son of Gideon Bartlett, 
was born at Enfield in 1809, and died in October, 1876. 
He was educated in the public schools and was a car- 
riage trimmer by trade. He lived in Ware and was a 
highly respected citizen. He married Abigail J. Warren, 
born at Fort Warren, Boston Harbor, 1813, and died 
1876, a daughter of Isaiah Warren. Children, bom at 
Ware: i. Etus, killed at the mine explosion at Peters- 
burg, Virginia, in the Civil War, 1864. 2. Celista. 3. 
Livingston, served in the Civil War. 4. Myron E., 
served in the Civil War. 5. Caroline. 6. Eugene T. 
7. Melora. 8. Leander. 9. Henrietta. 10. Joseph 
Freeland. 

(VI) Gideon Prentiss Bartlett, son of Gideon Bart- 
lett, was born in Enfield, 1815, died in Montague, 1876, 
aged sixty-one years. He went to Montague in 1833. 
He was engaged in the wheelwright trade and followed 
his trade for many years. He returned to Enfield to 



32 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



take care of his father during his declining years. After 
his father's death he returned to Montague, where he 
lived until his death in 1876. In politics he was a Re- 
publican, and during his later residence in Enfield 
held the offices of selectman and assessor for several 
years. He married, Julia Lawrence, born in Montague, 
died in 1880, a daughter of Captain Cephas Lawrence 
who was prominently identified with the business inter- 
ests of Montague, where he operated a large saw mill 
and flour mill. He was a member of the State militia. 
The children of Gideon Prentiss and Julia (Lawrence) 
Bartlett were: i. Juliette, who married George W. 
Holden. 2. Alphonso, deceased. 3. William. 4. Lucia, 
who married F. A. Arnsden. 5. Eugene C, deceased. 
6. Flora, who married A. E. Whitney. 7. Edgar L., of 
whom further. 8. Nettie M., who married John Good- 
win. 9. Nellie M., deceased, a twin sister of Nettie M., 
who married H. T. Shaw. 10. Eva L., deceased, who 
married A. B. Dudley. 

(VII) Edgar L. Bartlett, son of Gideon Prentiss and 
Julia (Lawrence) Bartlett, was born in Montague, Mas- 
sachusetts, July 6, 1856. He passed the first fourteen years 
of his life in Enfield, when his parents moved to Mon- 
tague. Here he continued his studies and while attend- 
ing school worked in the shop of a cabinet maker. He 
then entered the employ of Benjamin Fay, the village 
butcher, where he remained five years and joined him in 
business as a partner, and at Mr. Fay's death purchased 
his interest. In April, 1879, he bought the Ward farm, 
one of the finest pieces of agricultural property in town. 
He made a specialty of breeding Jersey cattle and raised 
many excellent draft horses. He was the first president 
of the Cooperative Creamery, and a charter member 
and first secretary of the Grange of Montague. Original- 
ly his farm was only twenty acres in size, but in the 
course of the years he added to it, until to-day he owns 
more than two hundred acres. He has named his place 
"Village Farm." He raises hay and corn and is a 
specialist in the breeding and raising for the market 
of cows and blooded stock, particularly Holstein cattle. 
Prior to the year 191 1, Montague had no water system, 
but in that year Mr. Bartlett at his own expense, in- 
stalled a water system that supplies the village of Mon- 
tague. He also put in hydrants for protection against 
fire of which the town has the use. He was instru- 
mental in bringing electric lights to Montague, and was 
president of the Montague Electric Light Company 
which was sold to Franklin Electric Company of 
Turner's Falls. 

On his property by the side of the saw mill there is a 
river that runs through his farm and beside it he has 
developed a beautiful grove that is free for public use, 
and he has been a public benefactor of Montague in 
many other ways. He has served as selectman of the 
town and has been chairman of the Village committee for 
twenty years or more, and for several years a member 
of the school board. He is also a director of the Sav- 
ings Bank Institution at Turner's Falls. His fraternal 
and other associations include membership of the Bay 
State Lodge of Montague of the Free and Accepted 
Masons; of the Franklin Royal Arch Chapter, the Titus 
Strong Council, the Connecticut Valley Commandery of 



the Knights Templar, and he has taken sixteen degrees 
in the Scottish Rite. In religion he is a member of the 
Congregational Church of which he has been a trustee 
for a number of years. 

Edgar Lawrence Bartlett married Addie A. Fay, 
October 3, 1883, a daughter of Benjamin and Jane H. 
(Presho) Fay. Mr. and Mrs. Edgar Lawrence Bart- 
lett are the parents of the following children: i. Ben- 
jamin Prentice, born July 19, 1884, educated in the local 
schools and in Ashburnham Academy, now connected 
with the Telephone Company at Weymouth. He is a 
member of the Esoteric Lodge of the Free and Accepted 
Masons of Springfield, and is a thirty-second degree 
Mason, a member of the Mecca Temple, and of the 
Mystic Shrine of Springfield. He married Mabel Kel- 
logg, and they are the parents of one child, Eleanor 
Kellogg Bartlett, born December 16, 1908. 2. Richard 
H. Bartlett, born April 9, 1886, educated in the schools 
of Montague, who has been always associated with his 
father in business, a member of the Blue Lodge — Chapter 
and Commandery. He married Ethel M. Partridge, and 
they are the parents of a son, Robert Edward, born 
October 27, 191 1. 3-4. Two children Robert Fay and 
Walter Lawrence, died at the age of one year. The 
family home is at Montague. 



HON. CHARLES GIDDINGS— In the span of 
more than thirty years since Judge Giddings was admit- 
ted to practice at the Massachusetts bar, there has been 
no cessation of activity and of accomplishment, whether 
in the practice of his profession or in his representation 
of his district in the State Legislature or of his township 
in educational matters. The distinguishing quality both 
of his leadership and his constituency and his prominent 
service in legal positions, has invariably been that of a 
well-informed mind, a full understanding of the signifi- 
cance of municipal and State utility problems, and an 
ability to cope with and aid in the direction of large 
issues of the hour. Western Massachusetts has always 
known Judge Giddings to be one of its reliable sons; he 
has won distiction in the law by his abilities, and a rever- 
ence for the principles of his profession in all his associa- 
tions therewith ; and as a legislator he has been active 
solely on behalf of the great public interests. Great 
Barrington, too, that has known and honored him for 
years as townsman and judge, and financial executive, 
owes not a little of its prosperity and civic standing to 
his presence and association with the affairs of the com- 
munity. 

A son of Rev. Edward J. Giddings, a Congregational 
clergyman for many years, and long engaged in literary 
work, and of Rebecca J. (Fuller) Giddings, Charles 
Giddings was bom May 10, 1867, at Housatonic, Massa- 
chusetts, and he attended the public schools and the 
Great Barrington High School. He matriculated at 
Williams College, at Williamstown, as a special student, 
and in his professional preparatory work he graduated in 
the Law Department of the University of the City of 
New York, with the class of 1891. Admitted to the 
Massachusetts bar in 1893, he commenced the general 
practice of law in Great Barrington, January i, 1895, and 
he has been thus engaged most of the time since that 
date. On May i, 1906, he formed a partnership with 




rp. ^2lyyU^ 0^ 



^^^-t-i>t-£-l_ 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



33 



Attorney A. C. Collins, also of Great Harrington, under 
the firm name of Collins & Giddings, which continued 
until Mr. Collins' death, in June, 1924. In April, 1913, 
he was appointed one of the special justices of the Dis- 
trict Court of Southern Berkshire. Judge Giddings is a 
member of the board of directors and is vice-president of 
the National Mahaiwe Bank of Great Barrington, and 
he is a trustee of the Great Barrington Savings Bank. In 
political faith he is a Democrat, and was elected a mem- 
ber of the Massachusetts House of Representatives in 
1894, 1903 and 1904, serving on the Committee on the 
Judiciarj' and on the Committee on Rules; and he was a 
member of the Massachusetts Constitutional Convention 
in 1919. Judge Giddings was appointed by Hon. Calvin 
Coolidge, then Governor of Massachusetts, a member of 
the Special Committee on Street Railways. In 1901 he 
became a member of the School Committee of Great 
Barrington, and he has served in that capacity since, 
while for the last twenty years he has been chairman of 
the committee. During the World War he was Deputy 
Government Appeal Agent for Western Massachusetts. 
His fraternal affiliations are those of Mystic Lodge, Free 
and Accepted Masons, of Pittsfield, and of Delta Upsilon, 
the legal fraternity of Phi Delta Phi. 

Hon. Charles Giddings married, September 20, 1899, 
Edith M. Ramsdell, a daughter of Theodore G. Rams- 
dell and Mary (Spencer) Ramsdell, of Housatonic; and 
they are the parents of : Mary Ramsdell, born February 
24, 1901 ; Janet Fuller, born May 6, 1903; Louise, born 
December 15, 1904; Theodore, born May 31, 1906; 
Thomas Hunger ford, born July 15, 1912. 



CHARLES EDWARD WARNER— A large 
grower of tobacco and onions on the old homestead where 
he was born, in Hatfield, Massachusetts^ Charles Edward 
Warner is one of the most highly regarded citizens of 
the community. He comes of a very old New England 
family, and is the ninth in descent from the progenitor 
of the family in America, Andrew Warner. The War- 
ners have been residents of Massachusetts since 1632, and 
of Hatfield for many generations. 

(I) Andrew Warner, the immigrant ancestor of the 
family, was born in England about 1600, came to America 
in 1632, and in 1633 was a proprietor of Cambridge, 
where he was admitted a freeman. May 14, 1634. For a 
short time in 1635 to 1636, he lived in Cambridge almost 
on the very spot where Harvard University now stands, 
but on December 20 of the latter year, sold his property 
and moved to Hartford, Connecticut. Here, in 1639, and 
1647, he served as a surveyor of highways; and in 1640 
was a member of a "Committee of Six for the preventing 
of differences that may arise betwixt the Plantations." 
His name appears on a monument erected at Hartford 
to the founders of that place. About 1659 he moved to 
Hadley, Massachusets, and here also he was one of the 
first settlers and prominent in local affairs. He was three 
times chosen selectman and served in many important 
posts. He married (first) Mary, of unknown surname; 
and (second) Esther (Wakeman) Selden, born 1617, 
died 1693, daughter of Francis Wakeman of Bewdley, 
Worcestershire, England; and was the father of nine 
children : i. Mary. 2. Andrew. 3. Robert. 4. John. 
5. Hannah. 6. Daniel, of further mention. 7. Isaac. 8. 

W.M. — 3-3 



Ruth. 9. Jacob, all of them the offspring of his first 
marriage. He died December 18, 1684. 

(II) Daniel Warner, son of Andrew and Mary War- 
ner, was born about 1640 and died in Hatfield, Massa- 
chusetts, April 30, 1692. He is referred to in colonial 
records as "Lieutenant" and on October 7, 1674, during 
the French and Indian Wars, was appointed ensign to the 
foot company in Hadley, Massachusetts. He married 
(first) Mary, of unknown surname, died September 19, 
1672, and (second) Martha Boltwood, died September 
22, 171 0, daughter of Robert Boltwood. By his first 
marriage, Daniel Warner was the father of six children: 
I. Mary. 2. Sarah. 3. Daniel. 4. Andrew. 5. Anna. 6. 
Mary. And by his second marriage of ten : 7. Hannah. 

8. John. 9. Abraham. 10 Samuel. 11. Ebenezer, of 
whom further. 12. Mehitable. 13. Elizabeth. 14. Esther. 
15. Martha. 16. Nathaniel. 

(III) Ebenezer Warner, son of Daniel and Martha 
(Boltwood) Warner, was bom November 5, 1681, in 
Hatfield, but later moved to Belchertown. He married, 
December 15, 1709, Ruth Ely, and has seven children: 
I. Ruth. 2. Martha. 3. Moses, of whom further. 4. 
Lydia. 5. Eli. 6. John. 7. Ebenezer. 

(IV) Moses Warner, son of Ebenezer and Ruth (Ely) 
Warner, was born in Hatfield, May 13, 171 7, died in 
Belchertown in 1759, where he had moved about 1747. 
He married, January 24, 1739, Sarah Porter, born in 
Hadley in 1722, died in 1757; and they were the parents 
of four children: Seth; Jonathan; Moses, of whom 
further ; and Eli. 

(V) Deacon Moses Warner, son of Moses and Sarah 
(Porter) Warner, was born in Hatfield or Belchertown, 
married Mary King, and had, among other children, a 
son, John, of whom further. 

(VI) John Warner, son of Deacon Moses and Mary 
(King) Warner, was born November 6, 1778, at Belcher- 
town or Hatfield. For many years he was a farmer at 
Hatfield, and during the latter part of his life he drove 
the stage to Boston. John Warner was a Whig in poli- 
tics, and attended the Congregational Church. His death 
was attributed to the shock caused by a stroke of light- 
ning which killed both horses of his stage and threw him 
to the ground, although he recovered at the time and 
lived for several months. He married Caroline Whiting, 
of a Stockbridge family; and they had seven children: 
I. Mary. 2. James Whiting, of whom further. 3. John S. 
4. Jonathan. 5. Caroline R. 6. Eliza A. 7. Lydia A. 

(VII) James Whiting Warner, son of John and Caro- 
line (Whiting) Warner, was born at Hatfield, May 11, 
1809, died in November, 1895. He was a farmer all his 
life, and also was a successful auctioneer. He held the 
offices of selectman, constable, member of the school 
committee, and was otherwise prominent in local affairs. 
In politics he was a staunch Democrat. He married, 
Louisa Longley, born in Hatfield, daughter of Alpheus 
and Louisa Sarah (Bard well) Longley, and the descend- 
ant of an old Massachusetts family. They were the par- 
ents of eleven children: i. Charles Longley, of whom 
further. 2. Mary L. 3. Sarah A. 4. Moses E. S. 
Egbert Seward. 6. John A. 7. James D. 8. Benjamin M. 

9. George W. 10. Carrie L. 11. Louis W. 

(VIII) Charles Longley Warner, son of James Whit- 
ing and Louisa (Longley) Warner, was born at Hatfield, 



34 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



April II, 1837, died in Hatfield June 6, 1925, at the age 
of eighty-eight. As a boy he attended the district school 
and worked on his father's farm. When he was twenty- 
two he entered the employ of David Billings, and the 
following year was employed to cultivate tobacco on the 
farm of John T. Fitch, whose daughter later became his 
wife. In time he assumed full charge of the farm and 
later became owner of this tract of fifty-five acres, oh 
which he grew tobacco, corn, and other products. He 
employed a force of about twenty men in the sorting and 
packing rooms on the farm, and was extremely success- 
ful in its management. Mr. Warner was held in high 
esteem in the community; he served on the Board of 
Water Commissioners when the water system now in 
use was installed in Hatfield and had otherwise been 
active in local affairs. He was a Republican and a mem- 
ber of the Congregational Church. He married, on 
November 23, 1864, Maria L. Fitch, born August 29, 
1844, daughter of John T. and Julia (White) Fitch; and 
they were the parents of the following children : Harry 
F., bom August 13, 1867, died October 31, 1873; Charles 
E., of further mention; and Luda F., bom January 2^, 
1877, died October 28, 1900. 

(IX) Charles Edward Warner, son of Charles Long- 
ley and Maria L. (Fitch) Warner, was born in Hatfield, 
Massachusetts, August 16, 1872, and was educated in the 
public schools of Hatfield. He has always lived on the 
home place where he was bom, and where he is a very 
successful grower of tobacco and onions, with occasion- 
ally other products as well. On the farm is a large 
warehouse where Mr. Warner takes care of his own 
products, and he has always been a large employer of 
labor in connection with the work of fanning and pack- 
ing. Mr. Warner takes a prominent part in the life of 
the community and is well liked. He served for three 
years on the Board of Selectmen ; is a member of Jeru- 
salem Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, of Northamp- 
ton ; Royal Arch Masons ; Northampton Commandery, 
Knights Templar; and Melha Temple, Ancient Arabic 
Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, of Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts; and is affiliated with Lodge No. 997, Benevo- 
lent and Protective Order of Elks, of Northampton. 

Mr. Warner married, on October 30, 1894, Myra J, 
Field, daughter of Henry H. and Marietta (Wade) 
Field ; and they had three children : Harold Field, born 
July 9, 1895, died May 19, 1896; Donald Fitch, born 
September 2^, 1899, died June 17, 1907; and Dorothy 
Field (twins), bom September 27, 1899, educated in the 
public schools of Hatfield and at Lasalle Seminary. 

(The Lrongley Line). 

Richard Longley, the immigrant ancestor of the Long- 
leys in America, came from England and settled in Lynn, 
Massachusetts, as early as 1635. His son, William Long- 
ley, moved from Lynn to Groton about 1659, was select- 
man and a large land owner there, and died November 
29. 1680. William Longley, Jr., son of William Longley, 
was probably bom in Lynn, and was the town clerk of 
Groton from 1666 to 1694. In that year he and all his 
family with the exception of three children were killed 
in the Indian massacre, and the children carried into 
captivity. One of them, Betty, died of starvation, accord- 
ing to report; another, Lydia, became a Catholic nun in 



a Montreal convent. John Longley, the third of the chil- 
dren, was only twelve years old at the time of the mas- 
sacre, and he identified himself so thoroughly with the 
life of his Indian captors that when he was finally res- 
cued by the government, it was necessary to use force to 
bring him back to civilization. He became prominent in 
local affairs in Groton, however, was deacon in the 
church there, town clerk for six years, and three times 
a deputy to the General Court. He married (first) Sarah 
Prescott, of Groton, daughter of Jonas Prescott and sis- 
ter of Hon. Benjamin Prescott, whose son, Col. Wil- 
liam Prescott, attained renown at Bunker Hill, and of 
Col. James and Dr. Oliver Prescott. He married (sec- 
ond) Deborah Houghton, died November 7, 1763. His 
son. Captain John Longley, was bom in Groton, January 
6, 1710, and later moved to Shirley, where he was town 
clerk for eight years, selectman for eleven years, and 
otherwise identified with local affairs. He was captain 
of the town militia, and responded to the Lexington call, 
though he was then sixty-five years of age. He died on 
March 17, 1792, at the age of eighty-two. In the com- 
pany of Captain Longley, of Boston, during the Revolu- 
tion, was John Longley, son of Captain John, only seven- 
teen year old when he first saw service on April 19, 
1775, having been born May 26, 1758. He married Sally 
Tarbell, daughter of John and Hannah Tarbell, and they 
were the parents of Alpheus Longley, who married Sarah 
Bardwell and became the father of Louisa Longley, the 
wife of James Whiting Warner, as related above. 



RUSSELL BARBER STREET, M. D.— The 

achievement of Dr. Russell Barber Street, of Conway, 
in the founding and successful maintenance of an excel- 
lent private sanatorium in the Berkshire Hills, has justly 
won the commendation and praise of the profession and 
the people generally. Doctor Street is considered one of 
the largely successful young men of the medical profes- 
sion and he has attained his present measure of success 
through the natural ability with which he is gifted and in 
addition to that vital factor the tireless energy of the 
enthusiast in his work. Dr. Street is a veteran of the 
World War in which he served with honor and distinc- 
tion and in every phase of present-day advance he is 
counted among the leaders. 

Dr. Street is a stepson of Dr. Philo W. Street The 
death of his father occurred when he was only two years 
of age, and his mother, Sarah (Payne) Barber, subse- 
quently became the wife of Dr. Philo W. Street, a dis- 
tinguished physician of Connecticut and Massachusetts, 
who was the only father he knows and whose name he 
has always borne. Dr. Philo W. Street was born in 
South Hadley Falls in 1868, and died in Suffield, Con- 
necticut, in 1913. He was a physician of wide note 
and brilliant attainment and practiced medicine in Hol- 
yoke, Lebanon, Connecticut, and Suffield, Connecticut, 
having been active in the latter community until the 
time of his death. Dr. Russell Barber Street has two 
sisters: Amy, wife of William F. Fuller; and Kathryn, 
wife of Spencer Montgomery. 

Russell Barber Street was born in Lebanon, Connecti- 
cut, July 10, 1891. The family removing to Suffield in 
his childhood, he received his early education in the pub- 
lic schools of that community. After the necessary pre- 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



35 



paratory work he entered the University of Maryland at 
Baltimore, and was graduated from that institution in the 
class of 1915. He devoted two years thereafter to hospi- 
tal work, then came to Massachusetts, where he became 
identified with the Fisk Rubber Company at Chicopee 
Falls, as industrial physician for the concern. It was in 
this position that the World War found him on Septem- 
ber 20, 191 7, he enlisted for service in the United States 
Army. Detailed to Camp Oglethorpe, Georgia, he was 
located there for about one year, then in 1918 he was sent 
overseas. He was stationed at Verdun, but was later 
at Sedan at the time of the signing of the Armistice. He 
received his honorable discharge with the rank of lieu- 
tenant of the Medical Corps in December of 1918. Spend- 
ing a short while at home in rest and recuperation. Dr. 
Street in 1919 located in Conway, where he began the 
practice of his profession. He was definitely successful 
from the first and his usefulness has widened and reached 
out into special realms. In 1922 he founded what is now 
widely known as Doctor Street's Private Sanatorium, 
which was at first conducted under the title of Maple 
Lodge Sanatorium. Beginning in a somewhat limited 
scale. Doctor Street found it absolutely imperative within 
a short time to secure more spacious quarters and he 
now controls one of the noteworthy institutions of its 
kind in New England. He maintains an atmosphere in 
the institution not at all like a hospital, but rather a quiet, 
peaceful home, although every advantage for the treat- 
ment of the ill and convalescent is at hand. Every room 
is private and furnished in such a manner as to meet the 
most exacting tastes. Situated in the heart of the Berk- 
shire Hills, the surroundings are ideal, while wide porches 
and spacious grounds make the out-of-door features of 
the institutions its greatest attraction. As a member of 
the first Neurological Unit to see service in France dur- 
ing the World War in addition to exhaustive training in 
nervous and mental diseases, he is particularly fitted for 
work of this nature while his experience as interne and 
graduate of the New York Lying-in Hospital makes the 
home most attractive for cases of this nature. Doctor 
Street gives personal supervision to every patient, while 
his associates are high skilled in medicine, successful 
graduates and experienced nurses. He is a member of 
the American Medical Association, and fraternally is 
affiliated with Rising Sun Lodge, Ancient Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, also the local post of the American 
Legion. 

Russell Barber Street married, December 17, 191 7, 
Charlotte Tomlinson, of Newtown, Connecticut, daughter 
of Robert S. and Christine (Klein) Tomlinson. They 
are the parents of two children: Russell Barber, Jr., 
born in Springfield, October 8, 1918; and Carolyn, born 
in Conway, February 5, 1920. 



WILLIAM FREDERICK DE DOPFF MOREY 

— The Morey family of Massachusetts are of ancient 
Anglo-American origin, the American ancestor, George 
Morey, having come to this country in the ship "Free- 
love" in 1635. George Morey settled in Duxbury, Mas- 
sachusetts, where he died in 1640, and left one son, 
Jonathan. 

(II) Jonathan Morey, son of George Morey, married 
Mary Foster, widow of Richard Foster, and daughter of 



Robert Bartlett, July 18, 1659, and with her had two sons 
and one daughter, among them being Jonathan, 

(III) Jonathan Morey, son of Jonathan Morey, mar- 
ried Hannah Bourne, of Sandwich. They were the par- 
ents of five sons and four daughters, among them 
Cornelius. 

(IV) Cornelius Morey, son of Jonathan Morey, born 
1706, married (first) 1751, Sarah Johnson, (second) 
Ruth (Bryant) Holmes, widow of Zacheus Holmes. One 
of the children of the first wife was Cornelius. 

(V) Cornelius Morey, son of Cornelius Morey, born 
1761, died April 6, 1803. He married Jerusha Harlow. 
She died November 21, 1848, aged eighty-nine years, and 
was the mother of four sons and two daughters, one of 
them William. 

(VI) William Morey, son of Cornelius Morey, bom 
1791, died in 1883. He was a manufacturer of boots 
and shoes in Plymouth. He married, in 181 2, Polly 
Edwards, and they are the parents of a son, Thomas. 

(VII) Thomas Morey, son of William Morey, born 
1817, in Plymouth, and died in West Brookfield, in 
April, 1899. He was educated in the schools of Plym- 
outh, and after completing his education entered the 
employ of J. and C. Merriam, of Brookfield, printers and 
the makers of the Webster Dictionary. From there he 
went into the newspaper business and worked in news- 
paper offices in New York and Boston. He was the 
foimder of the "Yankee Blade," a paper of considerable 
note in the early days, but later sold out, and in 1835 
located in West Brookfield and began the manufacture 
of books for the trade. He remained there for thirty 
years doing business under the name of Thomas Morey. 
In 1886 he came to Greenfield and founded the business 
of T. Morey & Son, which he carried on successfully 
until the time of his death. Thomas Morey married 
Lucy Ann Ward, bom in West Brookfield, in 1821, and 
died in November, 1899. Mrs. Morey was a daughter of 
Ephraim Ward, an Orthodox clerygman, and was the 
mother of five children: i. Arthur, who died in infancy. 
2. Fanny Ward, who married Walter C. Rose, of Ash- 
land. 3. Isabel Pemberton, deceased. 4. William Fred- 
erick de Dopff. 5. Gertrude, who died in 1899; married 
(first) Frederick Cowden, (second) William Swain, 
(third) Duane Evans. 

(VIII) William Frederick de Dopflf Morey, son of 
Thomas and Lucy Ann (Ward) Morey, is a native of 
West Brookfield, born October 10, 1858. He was edu- 
cated in the schools of his native town and, after com- 
pleting his education, entered the printing business of his 
father, and in 1886 became a member of the firm of T. 
Morey & Son. In 1902 the business was incorporated 
under its original name, Mr. Morey assuming the posi- 
tion of president. The firm owns one of the best equipped 
and most modern plants for the manufacture of books. 
They manufacture every type of book, but for a good 
many years have specialized in law books. They brought 
out the "Catholic Encyclopaedia," a leading reference 
book of its kind in many volumes, known and used all 
over the English-speaking world, and have done a great 
deal of work for such prominent concerns as the Banks 
Law Publishing Company, the Baker Vorhees Company, 
Carles Merrill, Little, Brown and Company of Boston, 
and the Macmillans. In politics Mr. Morey is an Inde- 



36 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



pendent, and he is a member of the Unitarian Church. 
He is a charter member of the Greenfield Club. 

On November 17, 1898, he married Maud A. Macmil- 
lan, of Sharpsville, Pennsylvania, a daughter of William 
and Amanda (Myers) Macmillan. 



ELIZABETH TOWNE— One of the distinguished 
women of present-day America is Elizabeth Towne, of 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, a pioneer of New Thought, 
who commands a nation-wide admiration and following. 
She is a well known author, editor and lecturer, and an 
active worker for higher ideals of life in many fields. 
Mrs. Towne is the eldest daughter of John Halsey and 
Jane Catherine (Osborn) Jones, and granddaughter of 
Justus and Lois (Hastings) Jones. Her grandparents, 
themselves descendants of early settlers in New York, 
crossed the plains to Oregon in an ox team in 1852, with 
their son, to make their home in that uncleared country. 
Her father became one of the earliest lumber manu- 
facturers of prominence in Oregon and it seems probable 
that much of Mrs. Towne's pioneering spirit in the field 
of ideas comes directly from her pioneer forebears. 

Elizabeth Lois Jones, later Elizabeth Towne, was 
born in Portland, Oregon, May 11, 1865, and attended 
the public schools of that city. She left high school 
when a month less than fifteen years of age to be mar- 
ried to Joseph Holt Struble at Portland, in April, 1880. 
Of this marriage there were two children: Catherine 
Elizabeth, born May 23, 1881, now Mrs. Edward Lin- 
coln Twing; and Chester Holt Struble, born May 14, 
1883. It was in 1883 that Mrs. Struble, then a girl-wife 
of eighteen and the mother of two children, first felt 
any intimation of the spiritual forces that were to 
determine her future career. She found herself on the 
verge of a nervous breakdown, diagnosed her condition 
and cured herself by mental healing. Fascinated by the 
possibilities which opened themselves up to her, she 
began to study psychic phenomena, evolved her own 
system, at first secretly, and gradually undertook the 
healing of persons called incurable. For four years she 
gave her energies to this task which she had set herself, 
with no thought at that time of personal gain or re- 
muneration; and then came a crisis in her life when 
she found it necessary to support herself and her chil- 
dren. She then conceived the idea of starting a maga- 
zine which might spread her beliefs and broaden her 
work and at the same time gain for her a livelihood. 
Within three weeks the first number of Nautilus Maga- 
zine, an edition of 2800 copies, was in the post office at 
Portland, Oregon. It was an exponent of New Thought 
and is now well known throughout the World. It was 
at first a sheet of four small pages, and the first edition, 
without a single subscriber, was mailed in October, 
1898, financed by a family loan. Two years later Mrs. 
Towne moved Nautilus Magazine to Holyoke, Massa- 
chusetts, where it grew to regular magazine size and 
now has a monthly edition of more than 80,000. In the 
same year, on May 26, 1900, she married (second) Wil- 
liam E. Towne at Holyoke, Massachusetts. 

In Holyoke Mrs. Towne's management of Nautilus 
Magazine attracted to it such writers as Ella Wheeler 
Wilcox, Edwin Markham, Dr. Frank Crane, Sinclair 
Lewis, Grace MacGowan Cooke, Orison Swett Marden, 



Paul Ellsworth and others of wide note. When, in 
October, 1923, Nautilus Magazine celebrated its silver 
jubilee in honor of its twenty-five years of prosperity 
under its founder and editor, the event attracted unusual 
attention. A publishing business issuing New Thought 
literature had in the meantime been established, and 
this shared in success with the monthly publication. The 
two enterprises were incorporated in 191 1 as the Eliza- 
beth Towne Company, Incorporated, a close corporation, 
including Mrs. Towne, her husband, who is associate 
editor of Nautilus Magazine, and her son, Chester Holt 
Struble, who is managing editor. 

Mrs. Towne's ability to organize has been shown as a 
member of the executive board of the International New 
Thought Alliance. In her own words, "New Thought 
is the science and the art of recognition, realization and 
manifestation of God in us, who is our infinite supply of 
health, happiness and prosperity, mental and material." 
New Thought is based on the teachings of Jesus Christ, 
and it points to the coming of heaven on earth through 
cooperation according to the Golden Rule. Again, 
speaking of the Alliance, Mrs. Towne says: "The 
International New Thought Alliance is a democratic 
federation of individual leaders and schools, churches, 
centers, and other groups who are teaching under the 
various New Thought names — Divine Science, Unity, 
Practical Christianity, Christian Science (having with- 
drawn from the Christian Science Church) Homes of 
Truth, Churches of Truth, Churches of the New Civili- 
zation, Applied Psychology, and many other variations 
of these names." 

Beginning with the 1915 Annual Congress of the Alli- 
ance, held at San Francisco, Mrs. Towne has worked 
tirelessly in connection with its activities. She has served 
as chairman of the Plans Committee and of the State- 
ment of Principles Committee, and in the latter office 
supervised the propogation and aided the adoption of 
the "Statement of Principles" officially ratified at the 
St. Louis Congress of the Alliance in 1917 and still 
unchanged. In March, 1924, Mrs. Towne received the 
signal honor of election as president of the Alliance by 
the vote of its executive board, upon the resignation 
from the presidency of James A. Edgerton. She assumed 
the duties of the office at the Alliance headquarters in 
Washington, District of Columbia, March 26, 1924. Re- 
adjusting her private activities, Mrs. Towne gave the 
last ten days of each month to her official duties at 
Washington in preparation for the annual congress in 
Buffalo in July, 1924, and was there unanimously elected 
to serve one full term, which ended with the 1925 Con- 
gress in Los Angeles, over which she presided. In 
J'uly, 1923, Mrs. Towne went to London as special field 
lecturer of the Alliance, attending the annual congress 
of the British section. 

In politics, in which she is intensely interested, Mrs. 
Towne is active in the Progressive movement. With 
her husband she was a delegate to the Progressive 
National Convention that nominated Theodore Roosevelt 
for president in 1912 and in 1916. She served as one 
of the three State Committee women in Massachusetts 
in 1912-13 and was at the same time one of the board 
of directors of the Massachusetts Federation of Progres- 
sive Women. She was a charter member of the Hamp- 




^. v^ 







^ s 



\> 



\ 



\ 





c:^ozi/-u.^__^ 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



37 



den County Progressive Women's organization upon its 
formation in 1912, and later moved in its reorganization 
into the Hampden County Women's Club, a non-partisan 
federated club for the study of human welfare ideas. 
Mrs. Towne was first vice-president and manager of the 
program of this club for the eight years from 1913 until 
her election as its president in 1921-22. At the end of 
her two year term, the club had thirty affiliated groups, 
including the largest women's clubs in Western Massa- 
chusetts, and a total of five hundred and ten members. 
Mrs. Towne is now honorary president of this club 
and a permanent member of the board of directors. She 
is active in many other organizations. In 1917-19 she 
served as one of the directors of the Massachusetts State 
Federation of Women's Clubs; and during the World 
War was secretary of the Women's Committee of the 
Council of National Defense for Hampden County. 
She founded the All Holyoke Open Forum in 1919, and 
has since served as its chairman and president, pre- 
siding over its meetings at the City Hall Auditorium, 
where problems of the day are given free discussion. 
In 1918 she was one of the founders of the Hampden 
County New Thought Committee, which she was instru- 
. mental in reorganizing into the District Association for 
Western Massachusetts of the International New 
Thought Alliance, in June, 1921, of which she has since 
been vice-president. She is also chairman of forums 
of the Woman's Club of Holyoke and one of the original 
signers of the club's incorporation papers. In 1924 
she was president of the Holyoke League of Woman 
Voters; and she is a member of the International Council 
of Open Forums, as well as of numerous other organi- 
zations. She is an ardent advocate of the use of the 
Navy in peace time as a floating university, and con- 
stantly urges this and other plans for world peace 
through the columns of Nautilus Magazine. 

As an author Elizabeth Towne has been eminently 
successful. Her books are sold and eagerly read in all 
parts of the world. Some of them have reached the 
200,000 mark, and have been translated into German, 
French, Swedish, Italian, Spanish, Chinese, Japanese 
and even Hindustani. They include: "Joy Philosophy" 
(1903); "Meals without Meat" (1903); "Practical 
Methods of Self Development" (1904); "How to Con- 
centrate" (1904); "How to Grow Success" (1904); 
"How to Wake the Solar Plexus" (1904) ; "How to Train 
Children and Parents" (1904); "Happiness and Mar- 
riage" (1904); "You and Your Forces" (1905); "Ex- 
periences in Self Healing" (1905); "The Life Power" 
(191 1); "How to Use New Thought in Home Life" 
(1915); "How to Demonstrate $10,000' (1921); "The 
Gist of Coue" (1925). 



CHAUNCEY ELIJAH PARSONS— Seventh in 

line from Cornet Joseph Parsons, the first of that fam- 
ily in the United States, is Chancey Elijah Parsons (bap- 
tized Elijah Chauncey), son of Lyman and Letitia 
(Ellsworth) Parsons, who was born in the old family 
homestead, November 22, 1847. He has passed his 
entire life of almost eighty years on the ancestral home 
place on the west side of Bridge Street, facing the Com- 
mon. The house in which he was born was built by 
Isaac Parsons in 1744, and on this site is the present 



home, built by Mr. Parsons in 1875. In succession have 
been Isaac Parsons, the builder of the old home ; Lyman, 
his son; and Chauncey E. Parsons. The children of 
the owner, moreover, were born and reared within the 
spacious walls. Moreover, the homestead stands on land 
which was originally a part of the tract purchased by the 
immigrant ancestor, Cornet Joseph Parsons, in 1674, the 
planter of William Pynchon's company, who, under the 
especial grant of the Great and General Court, pushed 
through the wilderness and founded the first settlement 
in the Connecticut Valley in the Colony of Massachu- 
setts Bay. 

Mr. Parsons has all the attributes of a happy, con- 
tented and prosperous farmer, enjoying his occupation 
and inculcating its simple virtues, as the years have passed, 
more and more. He has known the secret of true farm- 
ing, and his land, after continuous cultivation of more 
than a century, is in finer condition than it was in the 
beginning. This is one of the reasons why Mr. Parsons 
ever has been regarded as one of the most successful 
farmers in the Connecticut Valley. He is a member of 
the Massachusetts organization of Patrons of Husbandry, 
and while not an active politician, he has taken a keen 
interest in the welfare of the town and city of North- 
ampton and the prosperity of its people. He was for 
years a member of the City Sewer Commission, a mem- 
ber of the City Council for several terms, and in 1874 
represented Northampton in the General Court. 

Mr. Parsons married, October 28, 1874, Annie Augusta 
Spaulding, daughter of William A. and Sarah Augusta 
(Wait) Spaulding. They were the parents of five chil- 
dren: I. Henry Spaulding, born August 31, 1877; "lar- 
ried, September 24, 1904 Gladys McCarthy, daughter of 
John Bernard and Nellie (Crosby) McCarthy, and had 
Ruth Eleanor, born August 17, 1905; John Bernard, 
born September 15, 1906; Ann Augusta, bom December 
13, 1908; Robert Emett, bom October 19, 1916; and 
Chauncey Leland, bom Febmary 23, 1919. Henry 
Spaulding Parsons is in the copyright department of the 
government at Washington, D. C. 2. Josiah Wait, born 
July 26, 1880; married, September 14, 1904, Lilla Emma, 
daughter of Kirk H. and Emma (Rood) Stone, and a 
son, Josiah Wait, Jr., born November 6, 1905. 3. Chaun- 
cey Lyman, born December 25, 1882, a teacher. 4-5. 
Louise and Lillian, twins, born May 11, 1891, died May 
26, 1891. Ann Augusta (Spaulding) Parsons, wife of 
Chauncey E. Parsons, died April 3, 1910. Mr. Parsons 
is now retired, and his son, Josiah Wait Parsons, man- 
ages the farm. He has served as a member of the 
Board of Aldermen, and is a member of the Grange. 



EDWARD SAMUEL SLATE— Descended from 
Daniel Slate, his immigrant ancestor, bom in Eng- 
land and came to America when he was a young man, 
and lived in Norwich and Middletown, Connecticut, and 
afterward in Bernardston, Massachusetts, Edward Sam- 
uel Slate is in the sixth generation from this founder 
of the family in the United States, and is a descendant 
in three lines from the good ship "Mayflower," of his- 
toric fame. Mr. Slate bears his proud family connec- 
tions with becoming pride, the while he follows with 
intelligent application and technical skill the complex 
trade of papermaker at Turners Falls, Massachusetts, 



38 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



and makes his home in the adjoining town of Montague 
City. He is considered one of the most proficient men 
in his craft in a region where to be a skilled paper- 
maker is to be a partaker of an honorable calling. 

(I) Daniel Slate, the progenitor, was born in England 
in 1708, and after his residence in Connecticut, it was 
in 1745 that he went to live in Bernardston. He died 
in Gill, Massachusetts, February 10, 1789, at the age of 
eighty-one years, and his wife, Mary, died in Gill, 
March 10, 1795, at the age of eighty-three years. They 
were the parents of twelve children. From Daniel Slate 
the line descends through Captain Joseph, of whom 
further. 

(H) Captain Joseph Slate, son of Daniel and Mary 
Slate, was born in Norwich, Connecticut, February 22, 
1734, and died November 26, 1818. He went to live 
in Bernardston on May 19, 1763, and built a log house in 
that community, which he occupied as his home until he 
died. Captain Slate attained wide prominence in civic 
affairs. He served in a local office in 1767, and was a 
selectman from 1769 to 1782. He served five years in 
the French and Indian War, and he was active also in 
the War of the Revolution, although he was forty-two 
years old when he entered the army. He married. May 
S, 1758, Mary White, of Colchester, Connecticut, born 
in 1738, died in 1827, at the age of eighty-nine years. 
They were the parents of eleven children, among them 
Samuel, of whom further. 

(HI) Samuel Slate, son of Captain Joseph and Mary 
(White) Slate, was bom March 28, 1775. The early 
records do not contain an ample account of the life and 
deeds of this worthy member of the Slate family. He 
married, October 7, 1795, Bathsheba Risley, of Gill, 
Massachusetts, and they were the parents of Samuel W., 
of whom further. 

(IV) Samuel W. Slate, son of Samuel and Bath- 
sheba (Risley) Slate, was born in Bernardston, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1808, and died in Montague City, Massa- 
chusetts, March 12, 1891. He married Anna C. Rich, 
and to them were born two children: Samuel N., of 
whom further, and Sidney R. 

(V) Samuel N. Slate was born in Fort Covington, 
New York, in 1835, and died at Turners Falls, Massa- 
chusetts, October 25, 1901. He served in the Civil War, 
having enlisted August 24, 1862, in Company F, S2d 
Regiment, Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry. He par- 
ticipated in the Banks Expedition, and arrived at Baton 
Rouge, Louisiana, December 17, 1862. He was there 
assigned to the 2d Brigade, 4th Division, 19th Army 
Corps, and took part in the action against Port Hudson, 
May 30 to July 9, 1863, and particularly distinguished 
himself under fire at Jackson's Crossroads on July 30, 
1863. The 52d Regiment was the first to set sail up the 
Mississippi River after the surrender of the Confed- 
erate forces at Vicksburg and Port Hudson. Mr. Slate 
was mustered out of the service with his regiment at 
Greenfield, Massachusetts, August 14, 186 — . Returned 
to peaceful pursuits, Mr. Slate took up the trade of 
millwright and followed the work of setting up Mar- 
shall engines at paper mills. He afterwards followed 
carpentry in Northfield, Massachusetts, and Keene, New 
Hampshire, and in 1888 returned to Turners Falls, 
where he resided for twelve years until his death. He 



was a member of the Grand Army of the Republic, in 
which organization he was actively interested. He was 
twice married, and by his first wife had a son, Sidney, 
who was killed in a railroad accident in 1890, at the age of 
twenty-eight, and left a son, Clarence, who has a son, 
Sidney, and a daughter, Florence. Mr. Slate married 
(2) Emma A. Whitney, of Warwick, Masachusetts, who 
was born in Warwick, October 15, 1843, and is living 
(1924) at the age of eighty-one years, daughter of 
Franklin Whitney, of Warwick. Children of the second 
marriage: i. William G., a farmer, of Northfield, who 
has a daughter, Gladys. 2. Edward Samuel, of this re- 
view. 3. Nellie M., married Charles Carter, of Haver- 
hill, Massachusetts. 4. Charles F., postmaster of North- 
field, Massachusetts. 

(VI) Edward Samuel Slate, son of Samuel N. and 
Emma A. (Whitney) Slate, was born August i, 1872, 
in Northfield Massachusetts, and attended the schools 
of his native town, Orange, Massachusetts, and Keene, 
New Hampshire. His school days at an end, he fol- 
lowed farming for three years. He afterward was 
employed in the fish rod shop at Montague City for 
two years. In 1892 he took up the trade of paper- 
making, a craft which then as now is considered some- 
thing of an art in most of its departments, and he fol- 
lowed that employment with increasing skill in Turners 
Falls mills until 1908. From the latter year until 1917, 
having a desire for an outdoor occupation, he was em- 
ployed on the electric railway between Turners Falls 
and Greenfield. But the lure of his old trade of paper- 
making was still strong within him, and he returned to 
his craft, engaging his services to the International 
Paper Company at Turners Falls, where he is a skilled 
machine tender, a position of no little responsibility and 
demanding ability and proficiency, born of long and 
faithful application to that particular department of the 
manufacture of paper. As showing the advance he has 
made in the trade, he first was engaged in making news- 
print paper, and afterward in the making of a special 
grade of paper for use in magazines. He has made his 
home in Turners Falls and Montague City since 1889. 
He is a member of the Sons of Veterans, by right of his 
father having served with distinction in the Civil War. 
His ancestral lineage back to the "Mayflower" is 
through the lines founded by William Brewster, Stephen 
Hopkins and Giles Hopkins. He is a member of Valley 
Lodge, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and of Me- 
chanics' Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, of Turners 
Falls. 

Mr. Slate married, November 3, 1902, Ethel G. Emery, 
daughter of John W. and Ella L. (Bowman) Emery, 
of Turners Falls. Her father served in the Civil War. 
To Mr. and Mrs. Slate has been born a son, Edward 
Samuel John Slate, born July 25, 1904, who graduated 
from the Turners Falls High School in the class of 1922. 



DR. WILLARD HENRY PIERCE— As founder 
of the Franklin County Hospital, Dr. Willard Henry 
Pierce, of Greenfield, has rendered lasting service to his 
fellow-citizens. He has been engaged in general prac- 
tice and in surgical practice in Greenfield, Bernardston 
and vicinity for nearly four decades, and is well known 
in Western Massachusetts. 



h!^^<^T^^ /^ 0^, 




ovJ, 




fe 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



39 



The Pierce or Pers family to which Mr. Pierce be- 
longs traces descent from John Pierce (or Pers), who 
was born in Norwich, County Norfolk, England, and 
was one of the earliest settlers of Watertown, Massa- 
chusetts. He and his wife, Elizabeth, were the parents 
of eight children, and it is through Anthony, the oldest 
of these, that Dr. Pierce traces descent. Anthony mar- 
ried (first) Sarah ; (second) Anne; son of first 

marriage, Joseph, married (first) Martha, (second) 
Mrs. EHzabeth (Kendall) Winship; son of first mar- 
riage, Joseph (2), married (first) Ruth Halberd, 
(second), Hannah Moore, (third) Mrs. Beriah (Bemis) 

Childs ; their son, John, married Rachel ; their 

son Anthony ; his son Nathan, resided in Stoddard, New 
Hampshire, and in Rockingham, Vermont; his son, 
Moses, died in July, 1815, married January 2, 1810, Ar- 
villa Pierce, who died June 16, 1814. Two of their 
children died young, the surviving son being Nathan 
Gilson, of whom further, father of D. Pierce. 

Nathan Gilson Pierce, son of Moses and Arvilla 
(Pierce) Pierce was bom in Westminster, Vermont, Au- 
gust 19, 1810, and died in December, 1888. He was left an 
orphan at the age of five years, and went to reside with 
his maternal grandfather, Reuben Pierce. From an 
early age until he was twenty-five years old, he worked 
in various places, including St. Augustine, Florida, but 
after his marriage in 1834 he purchased a saw, shingle 
and grist mill, which he conducted for seven years. He 
held various offices of trust and honor, was delegate to 
the constitutional convention, representative for several 
terms; selectman for six years; assessor; and justice 
of the peace for thirty years. He married (first) De- 
cember II, 1834, Melissa Keach, who was born in 1817, 
and died in 1843; (second) September 28, 1848, Rox- 
anna Keach, who vras bom February 16, 1823, sister of 
his first wife. Both were daughters of John Keach. 
Children of the first marriage were: i. Hart Benton. 2. 
Milton, who died in the Civil War. Children of the 
second marriage : 3. Helen M. 4. Edwin R. 5. George 
W. 6. Dr. Willard Henry, of whom further. 7. Ella. 
8. Lila J. 

Dr. Willard Henry Pierce, son of Nathan Gilson 
and Roxanna (Keach) Pierce, was born in Westmin- 
ster, Vermont, November 21, 1863, and as a boy attended 
the district schools of his native town. He prepared 
for college at the Vermont Academy, at Saxons River, 
Vermont, and then entered the University of Vermont, 
at Burlington. He graduated from the medical depart- 
ment of that institution in June, 1885, with the degree 
of M. D., and in 1886 settled in Bernardston, Massachu- 
setts, where he built up an extensive practice in that 
and surrounding towns. In 1892 he opened an office in 
Greenfield, and the following year he definitely located 
there. In September, 1894, he opened, at No. 2 West 
Main Street, Greenfield, a private hospital, which he 
equipped with the most modern appliances. Though 
established as a private institution, the achievement of 
Dr. Pierce's became the foundation of the Franklin 
County Hospital, into which it was finally merged. In 
1898 Dr. Pierce was appointed medical examiner by 
Governor Murray Crane, a State appointment. The 
Franklin Coimty Hospital was organized in the spring 
of 1895 and was opened in September of the same year. 



Dr. Pierce closed his private hospital in July, 1895, and 
it was merged with the Franklin County Hospital at 
that time, he becoming actively engaged on the staff of 
the County Hospital. Dr. Pierce went abroad in 1897 
and made an especial study of surgery in London and 
Paris, and he has specialized along this line for the 
past six years. He was the first physician to use the 
X-ray in the practice of his profession in Western 
Massachusetts, and is widely known as a skillful sur- 
geon, in which practice he is still actively engaged. He 
has served as surgeon-in-chief for the Farran Hospital 
at Montague City for the past five years. He is a 
member of the Massachusetts Medical Society, and of 
the Franklin County Medical Society. Fraternally, he 
is a thirty-second degree Mason, and his religious in- 
terest is with the Unitarian Church, of which he is an 
attendant. 

Dr. Willard Henry Pierce married, September 5, 1888, 
Nellie May Gray, of Bernardston, Massachusetts, daugh- 
ter of Ormando and Roxana L. (Arnold) Gray, grand- 
daughter of Wyllis and Emily (Newell) Gray; and 
great-granddaughter of Amos Gray. Dr. and Mrs. 
Pierce are the parents of three children : i. Roxy, born 
November 7, 1891, deceased. 2. Frank Gray, who died in 
infancy. 3. Esther May, born May 27, 1897, died March 
24, 1900. 



HENRY MARTYN SMITH— The surname Smith 
is found in various forms, and like many of the Anglo 
Saxon names indicates the occupation of the family in 
former days. It is in frequent use in England, and 
among the first of the name to arrive in this country we 
find the famous Captain John Smith, of the Virginia 
settlement. It was well represented among those who 
settled first in America, especially in Plymouth and 
Providence Bay colonies; Rehoboth, Massachusetts; and 
Smithfield, Rhode Island; having many of the name. 

Lieutenant Samuel Smith, immigrant ancestor of this 
branch of the family in New England, was born in Eng- 
land about 1602. He sailed for New England on the 
good ship "Elizabeth," of Ipswich, April 3, 1634, accom- 
panied by his wife, Elizabeth, and their four children, 
Samuel, aged nine; Elizabeth, aged seven; Mary, four 
years of age; and Philip, aged one year. He and his 
wife were registered at that time as being thirty years 
of age. He settled first in Salem, Massachusetts, and 
was admitted a freeman September 3, 1634. He was 
a proprietor there in 1638, and removed to Wethersfield, 
Connecticut, where he became a leading citizen. He 
removed thence to Hadley, Massachusetts, where he 
held important office in both church and State, and he 
died in about 1680, the inventory of his estate being 
taken January 17, 1681. His widow died March 16, 
1686, at the age of eighty-four years. Among their 
five children was Ensign Chileab, who married Hannah 
Hitchcock; and the line continues through their son 
Lieutenant Chileab Smith; through his son, Captain 
Phineas Smith; the two former won their military 
titles from services in the Colonial militia; the latter was 
a man of prominence in the community, was a delegate 
to the provincial congress in 1774 and 1775, and deputy 
to the general court in 1777, 1779, and 1781. He served 
in the Revolution, commanding a company on the Lex- 



40 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



ington alarm, April 19, 1775- He marched on the Ben- 
nington alarm under Colonel Woodbridge. His com- 
mission as Captain of Eighth Company, Fourth Hamp- 
shire regiment, is dated April i, 1776. He married 
(first) Mary, daughter of Benjamin Church, of South 
Hadley; (second) in 1751, Elizabeth Smith. Among the 
children by the (second) marriage was David, born 
January i, 1758. 

Major David Smith was born in Granby and became 
one of the foremost citizens of the town. He married 
Clarissa Day, daughter of Colonel Benjamin Day, of 
West Springfield, Massachusetts, and among their eight 
children was Edward, born in Granby, March 13, 1805, 
and died in Enfield, May 3, 1891. He went from Granby 
to Enfield, in 1852, to what was then known as the Upper 
Village, now Smith's, Massachusetts, and controlled by 
the Swift River Company, which was formed at that 
time, the members being Alfred, David and Alvin Smith, 
the brothers of Edward, the latter becoming manager 
and principal owner for many years. Later his brothers 
left, and with his two sons, Edward P. and Henry M., 
he continued the business. He was one of the leading 
men of the town, actively interested in all civic and re- 
ligious movements, and a prominent member of the 
Congregational Church. In 1867-68 he represented the 
town in the legislature. He was much interested in 
educational institutions, and was a generous contributor 
to all benevolent and religious objects. He was the 
prime mover and contributor towards building the Athol 
and Springfield branch of the Boston & Albany railroad. 

He married, September 29, 1830, Eliza Smith, born at 
Ashfield, Massachusetts, August 26, 1806, died at En- 
field, May 12, 1866, daughter of Enos and Hannah 
(Ware) Smith. They were the parents of two children: 
Edward P., born September 3, 1832, who married Char- 
lotte J. Woods; he died April 18, 1902; and Henry Mar- 
tyn, of whom further. 

Henry Martyn Smith, son of Major David and Eliza 
(Smith) Smith, was born at Granby, Massachusetts, 
August 20, 1834, and died at Enfield, April 27, 1906, 
He attended the public schools of his native town and 
Williston Seminary at Easthampton, and began his 
business career as a clerk in a general store at South 
Hadley, Massachusetts. When eighteen years of age, he 
left his native town, and entered the employ of the 
Swift River Company at Enfield and was in partner- 
ship with his father and his brother, Edward Payson 
Smith, for several years. When his father died he be- 
came the head of the firm, his brother Edward P., be- 
ing the other member. On May i, 1902, he admitted his 
two sons, and they continued the business until 1912, 
when the business was sold and the Swift River Com- 
pany dissolved. The company had been founded by his 
uncle, Alvin Smith, and his father had become chief 
proprietor. The mill was prosperous from the outset, 
and its capacity was largely increased from time to time 
as the business grew. The manufacture was restricted to 
fancy cassimeres, and the factory enjoyed a splendid 
reputation in all markets, both at home and abroad. It 
was the only industry in which the Smiths were inter- 
ested, and the family is recognized as among the most 
substantial and enterprising of this section of the 
country, for several generations. Mr. Smith was a 



public spirited man, keenly interested in the future of 
the town, and alive to its needs and welfare. He served 
as selectman for a number of years, and held other 
offices of honor and trust. He built many new houses, 
and greatly improved the aspect of the village. He 
was a Republican in his politics, and in his religious 
affiliation an active supporter of the Congregationalist 
Church. The passing of Mr. Smith was a great loss 
to the town for which he had striven always, that it 
might be benefitted because of his service, and he left 
a name deeply esteemed, and loved by all with whom 
he came into personal contact. 

Henry Martyn Smith married, November 8, i860, 
Phoebe Loraine Andrews, born March 14, 1838, at New 
Salem, Massachusetts, daughter of Colonel Wilson and 
Samantha (Hastings) Andrews. Her father was born 
in New Salem, April 3, 1804, and died in Athol, June 5, 
1886, son of Daniel and Mary (Turner) Andrews, of 
New Salem. Daniel Andrews was a native of New 
Salem and passed the remainder of his life there. 
Samantha (Hastings) Andrews, the mother, was born 
at New Salem, October 12, 1806, and died in Athol, 
December 15, 1884. Wilson Andrews was prominent in 
public affairs, and was for forty years sheriff of Frank- 
lin County, and held other positions of honor and trust. 
He was appointed Colonel of the Third Regiment of 
Infantry, Second Brigade, Fourth Division, Massa- 
chusetts Militia, May 31, 1833, his commission being 
signed July 3, 1833, by Levi Lincoln, governor at that 
time. Henry Martyn and Phoebe Loraine (Andrews) 
Smith, were the parents of three children: Marion 
Andrews, born January 17, 1862, was educated at Brad- 
ford, Massachusetts, Female Seminary, and is to-day 
(1924) connected with the Enfield Library Association. 
She is unmarried. Her brother Alfred W., was born 
at Enfield, May 17, 1864, educated at Sedgwick Institute, 
Great Barrington, Massachusetts, and was a member of 
the Swift River Company; he was appointed postmaster 
at Smiths, June 30, 1892. and held the office for twenty- 
one years. He is retired and is unmarried. Her other 
brother Edward, was born in Enfield, August 19, 1873, 
and educated at Riverview Academy, Poughkeepsie, 
New York. 



FREDERIC L. BURNHAM is descended from a 
long line of American ancestry, the first progenitor in 
this land having been the son of Robert Burnham, the 
English progenitor. The family first came to England in 
the person of Walter Le Ventre, who came at the time 
of the Conquest in 1066, in the train of his cousin-German 
Earl Warren, son-in-law of William the Conqueror. 
He was lord of the Saxon village of Burnham and 
others, and from Burnham, where he lived, he was 
known as De Burnham, taking his surname from the 
town. The name is often spelled Burnam, Bernam, 
and Barnham, as well as Burnham, and in the old 
Anglo-Saxon Boernham, Byrnhom, and so forth. In 
the old Norse the name Bjorn, meaning a bear, and 
according to Ferguson, meaning "chief, hero, man." 
There were towns of this name in both Somersetshire 
and County Sussex before 900 A. D., and the family 
has been a distinguished one ever since. They bore 
arms as follows: 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



41 



Arms — Sable, a cross between four crescents arg-ent. 

Robert Burnham, the English progenitor, lived at 
Norwich, County Norfolk, England, and married Mary, 
sister of Captain Andrews. Their three sons, Robert, 
John and Thomas Burnham, sailed in the ill-fated ship 
"Angel Gabriel," of which Captain Andrews was owner 
and master, and which early in 1630 was wrecked on the 
coast of Maine. Their lives were saved, but they lost 
all their valuables and possessions in a chest, which never 
was regained. The captain and his three nephews set- 
tled first at Ipswich, John and Thomas later being 
soldiers in the Pequot War, and the brothers settling 
later at Chebaco, the second parish of Ipswich, for a 
time, Thomas remaining there and Robert removing to 
Boston where he became one of a company who pur- 
chased the town of Dover, New Hampshire, whither 
he removed. 

Deacon John Burnham, son of Robert Burnham, was 
the first American forebear of the line of Mr. Burnham. 
He married and had a son, John, of the second American 
generation. He married and had a son, John, who 
married and had a son, John, who married and had a 
son, John, who married and had a son, Moses, who 
married and had a son, Samuel S., who married Pricilla 
Blunt, and was engaged for many years in the lumber 
and saw-mill and boat building business. Among his 
children was Frederic L., of whom further. 

Frederic L. Burnham was born in Buxton, Maine, 
August 29, 1843. He early worked on a farm, and then 
learned the trade of piano making, but not liking that 
trade, he returned to school for a time, and later worked 
as a clerk. He served during the Civil War, enlisted at 
its outbreak, but on account of his youth was refused at 
the beginning, and went in 1861 to Forestdale, Rhode 
Island, where he was engaged in making cavalry sabres 
for the government. In May, 1862, he went from there 
to Maine, and enlisted September 2, 1862, in Company 
D, Twenty-sixth Maine Volunteer Infantry. He served 
through the Red River and Port Hudson campaigns, 
and when mustered out August 17, 1863, he had the 
rank of third sergeant in same company and regiment. 
He returned to Massachusetts, later removing to Provi- 
dence, Rhode Island, and again later to Greenfield, in 
1867, where for twenty-five years he was engaged as a 
carpenter and builder and contractor, and since 1896 had 
been operating in the real estate business with great suc- 
cess. He was admitted by card from Eagle Lodge, 
No. 2, of Providence, Rhode Island, to Pocomptuck 
Lodge, No. 67, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, of 
Greenfield, February 7, 1871. He was Noble Grand 
from July, 1872, to January i, 1873; at that time the 
officers were elected for six months. He served as trus- 
tee in 1877-78 and again from January, 1880, to 1886. 
When Edwin E. Day Post, No. 174, Grand Army of 
the Republic was reorganized at Greenfield, August 13, 
1884, Mr. Burnham became one of the charter members 
and was elected its first commander. His name appears 
first on the list of eighty-eight charter members. Albert 
S. Newton was elected secretary. 

Frederic L. Burnham married, January 7, 1864, Catha- 
rine Almira Tracy, daughter of Martin Tracy, from 
M alone, New York. They were the parents of six 



children: George G., of Minneapolis, Minnesota; Lizzie 
M., married M. J. Farr; Minnie Alice, married Cullen 
E. Hamilton, of Springfield; Jennie Hope, married 
Allen Warner, of Greenfield; Frederick William, of 
whom follows; and Walter Edwin, of the town of 
Shelburne, married Antoinette Ford, of Milo, Maine. 

Frederic L. Burnham died in Greenfield, January 
14, 1919, having been active in the political and fraternal 
life of the community, and leaving behind a memory 
esteemed and honored in the town. Mrs. Burnham 
had died a few years previously, on May 20, 1916. 

Frederick William Burnham, son of Frederic L. and 
Catharine Almira (Tracy) Burnham, was born in Green- 
field, June 14, 1873, He received his education in the 
public schools of his native place. He began his busi- 
ness career in the employ of a milk dealer, but it was not 
long before he bought out his employer, and continued 
this business for three years. In 1892 he began to learn 
the carpenter trade, and since 1897 has been in business 
in Greenfield as a builder and contractor, and has built 
upwards of a hundred residences, besides numerous 
business blocks in Greenfield. He is an extensive real 
estate owner, paying taxes on some of the most valuable 
property in the town. He has extensive farming in- 
terests, and owns 1000 acres of timber lands in Ver- 
mont; he has some 500 acres of land in Buckland, on 
which he has set out some 118,000 pine trees; he also 
has a 180 acre farm in town. He was active in the 
lumber business and owned and operated many steam 
mills in the clearing off of lumber and in its manu- 
facture. He also had large interests in the construction 
of roads in this and adjoining states. He takes an active 
part in the public life and affairs of the community, and 
was on the building committee of the new Public 
Library. He was appointed, in 1919, by the Federal 
Government at Washington, District of Columbia, federal 
appraiser for the Federal Land Bank. He has been 
president and manager of the Greenfield Homes Corpo- 
ration, of which he is still a director. He was president 
of the Franklin County Agricultural Society for five 
years; was chairman of the Farm Bureau for ten years; 
is a director of the Eastern States Expositions, of 
Springfield; was a member for eleven years of the Town 
Finance Committee; is a member of the Greenfield Club; 
and in his religious affiliation is a member of the Second 
Congregational Church. He is a Republican in his 
politics. 

Frederick William Burnham married, May 16, 1894, 
K. Leona Foskett, of Orange, daughter of Albert and 
Harriet Eliza (Howard) Foskett. Mr. and Mrs. Burn- 
ham are the parents of the following children: i. Paul- 
ine, born May 27, 1898, a graduate of the public schools, 
Greenfield and Wellesley Colleges, 1920; married Roy 
James Foster, of Greenfield, and they have a son, James 
Roy, born December 17, 1923. 2. Chester Foskett, bom 
October 16, 1906; now attending Cornell University, 
taking up forestry. 3. and 4. Howard Foskett and Tracy 
Albert (twins), bom January 29, 191 1. 



GEORGE HENRY COOPER— In a country like 
the United States, which is comparatively young, of 
huge extent with room enough for thousands of new 



42 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



thriving communities and hundreds of millions of men, 
the movements for civic cooperation and city-planning 
have found very able representatives, one of the most 
prominent being George H. Cooper, of Pittsfield, the head 
of one of the best known real estate and coal firms in 
this part of the country. 

Mr. Cooper is the descendant of an English family, 
his father, William H. Cooper, a native of England, born 
about 1809, had followed many occupations, having come 
to this country and settled in Lee, Berkshire County, 
where he remained until his death in 1893. He married 
(second) Emily A. Roberts, a daughter of Freeborn 
Roberts, who survived him and resides in Pittsfield. Of 
the seven children of this marriage six are now living: 
I. Carolyn E., living in Pittsfield, unmarried. 2. George 
Henry. 3. William H., a resident of Makato, Minne- 
sota. 4. Charles H., a citizen of Minneapolis, Minne- 
sota. 6. Bessie, wife of Percy Cooks, residing in Brain- 
ard, Minnesota. 

George Henry Cooper is a native of Lee, where he 
spent his boyhood and attended school until sixteen 
years of age. Being a youth of ambition he determined 
to seek employment where he might find opportunity for 
advancement. He went to Pittsfield and there secured 
employment with F. C. Guilds & Company, truckmen, 
where he continued some six years. His next employ- 
ment was with W. G. Morton, a wholesale coal dealer of 
Albany, New York, whom he represented as salesman 
on the road for a period of three years. Returning to 
Pittsfield, he entered the office of the Pomeroy Woolen 
Company, where he continued as a bookkeeper until 1895. 
At this time he decided to embark in business on his own 
account, and opened a retail coal establishment, which he 
has operated ever since with marked success. His fair 
dealing and courteous treatment of the public have 
brought him many frends and a large patronage. He is 
a member of the Retail Coal Dealers' Association of the 
New England States, of which he was president for sev- 
eral years. He has been very efficient in writing adver- 
tisements so worded as to attract attention and draw 
trade. His special gift in that line attracted attention 
outside his own community and his services have been 
sought by many dealers throughout the country to which 
he has responded. His keen wit has enabled him to put 
much of what is known as "ginger" into his advertise- 
ments. He first began writing what were termed "Co- 
operosities," which created such a sensation that he 
became known throughout the United States and, indeed, 
in many foreign countries, and has written many letters 
of an advertising nature for clients in many parts of the 
world. He has also for fifteen years been interested 
in real estate and is regarded as an expert in that kind 
of investment. Consequently he has often been engaged 
by proprietors of large properties to aid in their disposal. 
In this he has been very successful and has handled many 
large properties, including industrial plants and sub- 
divisions, throughout New England, to his own and his 
employers' advantage. To-day he occupies a leading 
position among real estate dealers of New England. Mr. 
Cooper was active in the organization of the Pittsfield 
Board of Trade, of which he was the first president, and 
is interested in banking and other enterprises of his 
home city. He is vice-president of the Union Coopera- 



tive Bank of Pittsfield, a member of the corporation of 
the City Savings Bank of Pittsfield, and has been for 
many years a director of the Young Men's Christian 
Association. He is an active worker in the Christian 
Science Church and naturally espouses the broad prin- 
ciples of that organization. He is also a member of the 
Brotherhoods of the Free and Accepted Masons, of the 
Park Club at Pittsfield, and chairman of the Finance 
Committee of the Boys' Club Corporation. Mr. Cooper 
was a charter member of the Pilgrim Publicity Associa- 
tion of Boston and has spoken for them on the subjects 
of cooperation and "city planning" in many States of 
the Union and also in Canada, and is now a member of 
the New York City organization. At present (1924) Mr. 
Cooper has greatly extended his coal and real estate busi- 
ness, which he has organized up-to-date in modern and 
well-appointed offices. He is an active member of the 
local Chamber of Commerce, is an active and charter 
member and past president of the Pittsfield Rotary Club, 
and past district governor of the Rotary International 
Club. There exists no institution or movement calcu- 
lated to advance the welfare of mankind but finds in 
George Henry Cooper an active friend and supporter. 

On September 16, 1891, Mr. Cooper married Marietta 
C. Ayers, a daughter of Perry A. Ayers, a well-known 
retail dealer in meats and vegetables, who for many years 
conducted business on Penn Street, Pittsfield. Mr. and 
Mrs. Cooper are the parents of two children: i. Harold 
A., in business with his father. 2. Myra Emily. 

Mrs. Cooper is a descendant of one of the first white 
families in Pittsfield. Her mother, Marietta C. Ayres, 
was a great social and community worker in Pittsfield, 
where she was very well known. 



JAMES ROBERT SAVERY— The life achieve- 
ment of James Robert Savery, of Pittsfield, is a note- 
worthy record, for along every day lines of industrial 
and commercial endeavor Mr. Savery has risen to promi- 
nence in a leading industry, while in civic and fraternal 
affairs he has given his name permanent and commendable 
significance to the people. From early youth he has 
held to the straightforward advance by which a man 
reaches the only true and worthy success, and has 
devoted his attention to useful activities. The rising 
generation is recognizing in his frank, unassuming bear- 
ing and well-known sincerity the dignity and value of 
such a career, and cannot fail to profit by it. 

The Savery family is one of ancient and honored his- 
tory in Ireland and Mr. Savery has in his possession 
many antiques of great intrinsic value, as well as treas- 
ured for family associations. The family is related to 
the Milliken family, of which a representative in the 
present generation has recently been awarded the Nobel 
prize. 

Harvey Savery, Mr. Savery's grandfather, was an 
honored figure in New England in an early day, and 
married Nancy Messenger. 

Robert M. Savery, their son, and Mr. Savery's father, 
became one of the foremost citizens of Berkshire County, 
which for forty-nine years he served as deputy sheriff 
and for ten years as court crier. He was a man of dis- 
tinguished presence and lofty integrity, who commanded 
the esteem and confidence of alL Robert M. Savery mar- 




"\5NlStDTlCo7 f^T^^C 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



43 



ried Lucinda Mirian Squires, daughter of Solomon and 
Betsey (Whitney) Squires, the Squires names also repre- 
senting an old and honored New England family. 

James Robert Savery was born in Washington, Berk- 
shire County, Massachusetts, May 13, 1866. He had the 
advantages only of a country school education and as a 
young lad became apprenticed to the machinist trade. 
Interested in his work and always appreciative of con- 
structive endeavor, Mr. Savery nevertheless felt that 
mercantile interests appealed to him more definitely, still 
in his later life he found his industrial experience of the 
greatest value. For eleven years Mr. Savery was active 
in the dry goods business, then entered his present field, 
the manufacture of woolen and worsted fabrics. His 
familiarity with machinery stood him in good stead in 
this new branch of activity and his connection with the 
present enterprise dates back to the year 1900. In the 
progress of this organization he has borne a constructive 
and noteworthy part and its present importance is in no 
slight degree due to his untiring efforts. The Berkshire 
Woolen Company, of which Mr. Savery has now long 
been treasurer, is the outgrowth of the enterprise for- 
merly known as "Peck's Upper Mill," which plant Mr. 
Savery first entered upon identifying himself with this 
industry. At that time the business was of more or 
less inconsiderable importance, but Mr. Savery's per- 
sonal confidence in the possibilities of its development 
was the moving force which brought about certain 
changes. Mr. Savery was active as general manager 
of the Peck's Mills, but not being able to develop the 
interest under the existing organization, he brought about 
the present concern, acting as promotor of a new com- 
pany, of which he was chosen general manager. Ralph 
D. Gillett became president of the concern, A. W. Eaton 
vice-president, James Chapman secretary, and Mr. Sav- 
ery himself treasurer and general manager. Denis T. 
Noonan (q. v.) later succeeded to the presidency, and 
W. G. W. Josselyn became secretary. Mr. Savery has 
served as general manager from the inception of this 
new concern and its steady progress is ample proof of 
the ability and devoted spirit of the man. Mr. Savery is 
also now treasurer of the W. E. Tillotson Manufacturing 
Company and is affiliated with local financial advance as 
a trustee or director of the Agricultural National Bank, 
the Union Cooperative Bank, a trustee of the City Sav- 
ings Bank, the Berkshire Morris Plan Company, of Pitts- 
field. 

Civic affairs have always reached Mr. Savery with a 
strong appeal and being gifted as a speaker, he has 
always been in popular demand for public occasions of 
many kinds, particularly charitable drives and memorial 
celebrations. He has long served as a member of the 
Common Council and Board of Aldermen, and his cor- 
dial endorsement is given to every worthy object and 
purpose. Mr. Savery is a leading member of the Pitts- 
field Chamber of Commerce, is an ex-president, and it 
was during his incumbency that the land for Pittsfield 
Development Company was secured. Fraternally he is 
affiliated with Mt. Morial Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons ; Evening Star Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, 
of Westfield; Springfield Council, Royal and Select 
Masters ; Berkshire Commandery, Knights Templar, of 
Pittsfield; Melha Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles 



of the Mystic Shrine, of Springfield; Golden Chapter, 
No. 5, Order of the Eastern Star, of which is he Past 
Patron; and Pittsfield Lodge, No. 272, Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks, of Pittsfield. He is a member 
of the Park, the Shire City, the Country, the Rotary, the 
Berkshire, the Middlesex, and the National Republican 
clubs. His religious affiliation is with the First Church 
of Christ, Congregational, of Pittsfield. 

James Robert Savery married, June 7, 1893, at Mill 
River, Berkshire County, Mary Grace Freeman, daugh- 
ter of Andrew Jackson and Lydia (Faze) Freeman. Mr. 
and Mrs. Savery are the parents of one daughter : Eliza- 
beth Freeman, born September 21, 1904, a graduate of 
the Emma Willard School, at Troy, New York, class 
of 1924. 



DENIS THOMAS NOONAN— Success in some 
careers is so obviously the fitting reward of the homely 
virtue of "sticking to it," of steadily and patiently work- 
ing your way to the top, that it could be easily repre- 
sented as an ascending path with milestones in the shape 
of promotions to higher rank, greater responsibilities, 
wider spheres of actions, until the summit is reached and 
the traveller who has stuck to his journey patiently and 
untiringly comes into his own and is able to feel that he 
has attained his purpose and reached the goal he has 
set before himself when starting the journey, Denis 
Thomas Noonan, who now occupies the position of pres- 
ident of the W. E. Tillotson Manufacturing Company 
of Pittsfield, began at the very bottom rung of the ladder. 
He is a native of Ireland, born August 15, 1875, a son of 
P. T. and C. C. Noonan, his father being a wholesale 
grocer who came to America and served as a private in 
the Civil War from 1861 to 1865, in a New Jersey 
company. 

Mr. Noonan received his education in the common 
schools of Lawrence, and later became a pupil of the 
Textile School of Lowell. Having concluded his educa- 
tion he entered business life as yarn carrier in the design 
department of the George E. Kunhardt Mills of Law- 
rence, remaining in that position for ten years, when he 
entered the services of the Sutton Mills at Andover, as 
an overseer. After continuing in that position for one 
year he accepted a similar one with the Brighton Mills, 
Passaic, New Jersey, staying with them one year, and 
was then offered the post of superintendent of the Knox- 
ville Woolen Mills of Knoxville, Tennessee. In this posi- 
tion Mr. Noonan remained four years, at the conclusion 
of which he accepted a similar post with the Amos Abbott 
Woolen Company, Dexter, Maine, where he remained 
three years. His next position was that of superin- 
tendent of the Berkshire Woolen Company, of Pittsfield, 
from which he soon rose to the post of president of the 
company. Later he also attained the presidency of the 
W. E. Tillotson Manufacturing Company. Mr. Noonan 
is a man of long experience in the production of the spe- 
cial grade of goods manufactured by the company. The 
mill property covers over one hundred acres and the 
buildings are equipped with the latest and best machin- 
ery. Over four hundred hands are employed and the 
weekly payroll makes a large contribution to the earnings 
of the workingmen and women of Pittsfield to whom the 
merchants and storekeepers look for continued pros- 



44 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



perity. Mr. Noonan's fraternal and other connections 
include membership in the Masonic bodies and the thirty- 
second degree of the Scottish Rite, the Crescent Lodge of 
the Free and Accepted Masons; the York Rite; the 
Knights Templar and Melha Shrine; the Knights of 
Pythias (of which he is Past Chancellor Commander of 
Queen City Lodge) ; the Park Club; the Kiwanis Club, 
and the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. Mr. 
Noonan is an attendant of the Christian Science Church. 
On July 24, 1906, he married, at Maryville, Tennessee, 
Ada B. Wisecarver, a daughter of John and Sarah J. 
Wisecarver, and is the father of five daughters, and one 
son : I. Kathleen F., born January 23, 1909. 2. Cora L., 
bom August 14, 1910. 3. Ellen L., bom February 8, 
1912. 4. Ada B., born September 28, 1914. 5. Sarah L., 
born January 12, 1917. 6. Denis T., Jr., born September 
23, 1918. 



JUDGE CARLTON THOMAS PHELPS— A dis- 
tinguished figure in present-day legal progress in New 
England is Judge Carlton Thomas Phelps, of North 
Adams, whose long service on the bench of his native 
State and county has now covered a period of nearly 
thirty years. Judge Phelps is a man of the highest 
attainments in his chosen profession, his prominence in 
his legal practice, prior to his elevation to the judiciary 
having been a matter of large importance in this region. 
In his natural ability, his familiarity with legal affairs 
and his ever-widening usefulness. Judge Phelps stands 
among the noteworthy men of his day and his lofty 
ideals and deep interest in every individual who comes 
before him, under the displeasure of the law, form con- 
structive influences in society. Judge Phelps is a son of 
George W. and Celistia R. Phelps, his father a farmer 
by occupation. 

Carlton Thomas Phelps was bom at New Ashford, 
Berkshire County, October 13, 1867. Receiving his early 
education in the public schools of North Adams, he later 
attended Boston University Law School, from which he 
graduated in June of 1891. Taking up the practice of his 
profession in North Adams, he early won a distinguished 
position at the bar, his careful attention to every phase 
of the interests placed in his hands giving him a definite 
mastery of the problems involved. Going forward with 
ever-progressive spirit and winning the esteem and con- 
fidence, not only of his associates and colleague in the 
profession, but of the people generally, he has risen to 
place of prominence. As early as 1894, Judge Phelps 
became a leading figure in local political affairs, becom- 
ing in that year the candidate of his party, the Republi- 
can, for representative to the Lower House of the Mas- 
sachusetts State Legislature. He represented the first 
Berkshire District in that body during the years 1894 
and 1895, and meanwhile, on June 27, 1895, he was 
appointed special justice of the District Court of North- 
ern Berkshire. On April 29, 1897, he was appointed 
justice of this court, which office he still ably fills, his 
entire record now covering a period of nearly thirty 
years. On September 29, 1923, Judge Phelps was also 
appointed to the Appellate Division of District Courts 
for the Western District of Massachusetts. Giving to 
all his work the sincere spirit of the man of lofty ideals, 
who recognizes responsibility in every call of duty. Judge 



Phelps is casting a strong influence for right and justice 
on the progress of his time and in every branch of activ- 
ity with which he comes in contact, his influence for good 
is felt. He is affiliated with the world of finance as vice- 
president of the North Adams National Bank, also 
serving as a director, and fraternally is affiliated with 
Greylock Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, and Oneco 
Lodge, Independent Order of Odd Fellows. His reli- 
gious affiliation is with the Methodist Episcopal Church. 
Carlton Thomas Phelps married, August 17, 1885, at 
North Adams, Virginia Turner, daughter of Thomas and 
Mary Turner. Judge and Mrs. Phelps are the parents 
of two children: Christine Mildred, born October 5, 
1886; and Gordon Winfield, born August 11, 1898. 



ISAAC SPENCER FINNEY DODD— Born in 

Hang-chau, China, of missionary parents, February 28, 
1868, Dr. Isaac Spencer Finney Dodd is now a physi- 
cian and surgeon at Pittsfield. He is also a veteran sur- 
geon of the World War, having been one of the first 
of his profession to volunteer his services when this 
country entered the conflict. Dr. Dodd was given a pre- 
liminary education in China, and learned the Chinese 
language along with the English. He took his high 
school course at Huntington, Long Island. He then 
entered New York University Medical Department, 
whence he was graduated in the class of 1890, with the 
degree of M. D. He completed his hospital and post- 
graduate work and began the general practice of his 
profession at Pittsfield in 1896. He later began to 
specialize in surgery, and now devotes his entire at- 
tention to surgical cases. 

When the United States entered the World War and 
Dr. Dodd had volunteered his services to the govern- 
ment, he was commissioned a captain in the medical 
corps, April 17, 191 7. He served at Fort Terry, New 
York, Camp Devens, Massachusetts, and at Fort Ogle- 
thorpe, Georgia, and continued in the service until a 
serious illness compelled him to retire. 

Dr. Dodd is a member of the surgical staffs of the 
House of Mercy, Pittsfield, and the Fairview Hospital, 
Great Barrington. He is a Fellow of the American Col- 
lege of Surgeons, member of the American Medical 
Association, Massachusetts Medical Society, Berkshire 
County Medical Society, Mystic Lodge of Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, the First Church of Christ (Congrega- 
tional), and the Park Qub, Pittsfield. 

Dr. Dodd married Mary Carpenter. They are the 
parents of two children: Elizabeth, who married J. S. 
Taylor, and is the mother of three children, Elizabeth, 
Frank and Virginia ; and Spencer S. Dodd, who married 
Gladys Pearson and is the father of two children, Sam- 
uel S. and Janice. 



REV, PHILIP J. LEE— To give the history of 
the building of a Catholic place of worship and the 
formation of a congregation out of isolated members 
of that faith, often separated by distance in space or 
by diversity of race and language as so frequently oc- 
curred on the Northern, Southern and Western border 
of our republic is to demonstrate the power of mind 
over matter, or to add to the innumerable instances of 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



45 



the truth of the maxim "mens agitat molem," and to 
show up in glowing colors as they deserve to be shown 
the characteristic marks of the American priesthood, 
the fine spirit of devotion, the rock-like foundation of 
trust in God in the fact of adversities, difficulties and 
obstacles of every kind coupled with the American opti- 
mistic buoyancy and enterprise which has eliminated 
the word "impossible" from the vocabulary, and which 
will never shrink but bravely tackle any task for the love 
of God and the love of man. 

Tracing the history of the parish of Turner's Falls 
from the year 1870, we find that in that year and for two 
years afterwards. Turner's Falls was under the spiritual 
care of the Rev. Hanry L. Robinson, then pastor of 
Greenfield, who gave the people a parish formation and 
having collected his flock, built for them a frame church 
which answered their needs until the midsummer of 
1888. In the year 1872 Tuner's Falls was made a parish 
with Miller's Falls, Orange, Wendall, Warwick and Er- 
ring as outlying missions. Father Quaile, who had been 
Father Robinson's curate, was made first resident pas- 
tor. He arrived on November 5, 1872, and said his 
first mass for the people on November 10, 1872. Father 
Robinson's church measured 30x60 feet in size, and as 
regards furnishing and decorations was severely plain. 
The first two years of Father Quaile's pastorate were filled 
with many hardships, not the least of which was life in the 
hotel, there being at the time no other possibility of accom- 
modation. In the year 1873 and 1874 he built the pres- 
bytery and also purchased fifteen acres of land for a 
cemetery as a last resting place for the members of his 
congregation. With the coming of new industries to Tur- 
ner's Falls the number of resident Catholics increased 
rapidly, and Father Quaile saw the necessity for a new 
church. The people encouraged him to build, so that 
in the early spring of 1887 the first contract for the 
building of St. Mary's was given out and in the Decem- 
ber following, the outer walls were ready and the build- 
ing provided with a roof. On July 4, of the next year 
the cornerstone was laid, and in 1892 the basement was 
furnished and ready for service. The church is the cre- 
ation of Architect John Murphy, of Providence. It is 
of brick work with granite trimming, is 130 feet long 
and 64^ feet wide, and from the sidewalk to the top 
of the cross the spire extends to the height of 200 feet. 
The architectural style of the church is Romanesque, 
and it has a capacity for holding 1,000. It is most 
beautifully situated in a spacious lot of ground, at the 
converging point of four streets and large enough to 
suit any parish needs likely to arise within the next 
half century. With the cutting off of Millers' Falls and 
Northfield, Turner's Falls is left without missions. Er- 
ring and Wendell are attended from Millers' Falls. 
The first mass celebrated in Erring was on Sunday, No- 
vember 17, 1872 by the Rev. Father Quaile, in the house 
of Patrick H. Moran. The first mass in Orange was 
said on Sunday, January 12, 1873, by the same priest 
in the house of Michael MacCarthy, forty worshippers 
being present, of whom fifteen received holy com- 
munion. The first mass in Wendell was said by Father 
Quaile on August 20, 1882, in a shanty belonging to the 
Fitchburg Railroad Company, which at that time was 



the home of railroad workers, one hundred and ten of 
whom were present and sixty-five participated in holy 
communion. The total number of souls collected in the 
parish of Turner's Falls in 1872 was about 2,500. The 
parishioners were of Irish, French Canadian, Bohemian, 
German, Polish or Italian blood with a sprinkling of 
native Americans. Since the founding of the parish for 
Canadians and the creation of the new parish at Mil- 
lers' Falls there are still 1,250 souls left in the parish. 
In the period of time from 1872 to December, 1898, 
2,111 baptisms were performed, three hundred and 
seventy-five marriages celebrated and twenty-eight con- 
verts from Protestantism were received into the Cath- 
olic Church, the baptisms, marriages and receptions into 
the church being duly recorded in its registers. 

Father Quaile was succeeded by the Rev. Thomas Pur- 
cell, whose successor was the Rev. Luke Purcell, brother 
of Rev. Thomas Purcell. Rev. Philip J. Lee succeeded 
Rev. Luke Purcell. 

Father Lee is a native of Lowell, born March 23, 
1867, a son of Michael E. and Mary (Garriger) Lee. 
He received his education in the Lowell schools, in the 
Holy Cross College, and in Boston College, from where 
he graduated in 1889. He then attended the Roman 
Catholic Seminary of St. Mary's at Baltimore, where he 
was ordained on December 23, 1893, by the late Car- 
dinal Archbishop Gibbons. For fourteen years he acted 
as assistant to the Rev. Daniel H. O'Neil, at St. 
Peter's Roman Catholic Church at Worcester, being 
then transferred to the Church of the Holy Name, at 
Chicopee, where he remained two years, and from there 
to St. Leo's Church at Leominster. On August 30, 
1913, he was appointed pastor of the church at Sheffield, 
thence on December 23, 1917, as pastor of St. Mary's, 
succeeding Father Luke Purcell. Since taking the 
church and parish over, Father Lee has renovated it and 
installed a new organ. Father Lee occupies the posts 
of chaplain of the Turner's Falls Knights of Colum- 
bus and also of the Bishop Garrigan Fourth Degree 
Assembly, Knights of Columbus. 



ORIVILLE WARREN PROUTY— The origin of 
the surname Prouty is not certain. It is not numbered 
among any of the ships' lists of the Puritans leaving 
England early in the seventeenth century, and is quite 
probably of Scotch origin. There are several variations 
in the spelling of the name: Proutey, Prontee, Prout, 
etc. There is no doubt, however, that the name came 
from England to the colonies. 

The first of this name found in New England was 
Richard Prouty, who was in Scituate, Massachusetts, 
as early as 1667, and who died there September i, 1708. 
No record of his wife appears, but the births of some 
of his children are recorded: James, October 30, 1677; 
Edward, September 30, 1679; Jonathan, September i, 
1682; Margaret, March 2, 1692; William, January 30, 

1695. 

Isaac Prouty, undoubtedly a son of Richard Prouty, 
born as early as 1690, resided in Scituate. No record 
of his birth appears. He married there, October 11, 
1710, Elizabeth Merritt, born in February, 1691, daugh- 
ter of John, grandson of Henry (a) Merritt, of that 



46 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



town. The births of the following children are re- 
corded in Scituate: Isaac, March 30, 1712; Elizabeth, 
October 5, 1713; Jacob; David August 15, 1716; John, 
died young ; Job, June 9, 1723 ; Elizabeth, February 27, 
1725; Ruth, September 7, 1728; James, baptized Sep- 
tember 6, 1730; Isaac, of whom further. Four were 
baptized April 21, 1723, namely, John, Jacob, Isaac and 
David. Several of these sons and the daughter, Eliza- 
beth, settled in Spencer, Massachusetts. The history of 
Spencer mentions also a son, Adam. 

Isaac Prouty was born in Scituate, December 17, 1732, 
removed to Springfield, Massachusetts, and died May 5, 
1805. He married, December 25, 1755, Priscilla Rams- 
dell, bom in 1734, and died in 1804, daughter of Joseph 
and Mary (Howes), Ramsdell. 

Elijah Prouty was born in Spencer, Massachusetts, 
January 27, 1759, and died February 8, 1792. He was a 
soldier in the War of the Revolution. He married, Jan- 
uary 19, 1788, Anna Munroe, daughter of Amos and 
Anna (Prouty) Munroe. Children: Artemas, of whom 
further ; and Pliny. 

Artemas Prouty was bom in Spencer, Massachusetts, 
November 8, 1788, and died in Spencer, January 13, 1855. 
He was a farmer and served as a soldier in the War of 
1812. He married, July 10, 1816, Clarissa Snow, born 
October 14, 1792, died March 21, 1869, daughter of 
James and Lydia Snow. Children : Artemas Warren, 
of v/hom further; Elijah; Ansel; Walton; Lawson and 
Salem. 

Artemas Warren Prouty was born in Spencer, Massa- 
chusetts, and died at Miller's Falls, Massachusetts, No- 
vember IS, 1878. He was a shoemaker and farmer. 
He came to New Salem, Massachusetts, in i860, where 
he followed farming. After his wife's death he lived 
with his children. He married, April 19, 1842, Hannah 
Heywood Livermore, of Paxton, Massachusetts, born 
January 22, 1822, died July 7, 1868, daughter of Bradby 
and Gratia (Heywood) Livermore. Children: Cleora 
D.; Oriville Warren, of whom further; Ariel H.; Viola 
M. ; Oriana T. ; Marion, and Eva. 

Oriville Warren Prouty was born in Spencer, Massa- 
chusetts, October 5, 1844. He was educated in the 
schools of Spencer and New Salem, Massachusetts. He 
worked at farming and shoemaking until 1862, when he 
enlisted in the War of the Rebellion, July 19, 1862, in 
Company E, 34th Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry. 
He was in the Army of the James and in the Shenan- 
doah Valley with Sheridan's expedition. He took part 
in fifteen important engagements, some of them the 
most vital of the war. In some of the engagements he 
had charge of a brigade. He was mustered out June 
16, 1865, and honorably discharged from the service 
July 6, 1865. His health was badly shattered from his 
long war experience. In 1867 he went to Hadley and 
for two years was employed in a carriage shop. He 
later went to Bennington, Vermont, where he engaged 
in the manufacture of chairs. In 1873 he removed to 
North Hadley, where he opened a wagon repair shop. 
He was three times burned out in his various business 
ventures. He later followed carpentry and millwright 
work. He was selectman for Hadley for ten years, 
for five years of which he was chairman of the board, 



and he was justice of the peace for many years. For 
two years he was constable, and for the same period he 
was a trustee of the Smith Charities of Northamptoa 
For three terms he was county commissioner of Hamp- 
ton County, each term being for three years. He was 
one of the organizers of the Nonotuck Savings Bank 
of Northampton, served on its investment committee, 
was its first vice-president, and has been its auditor. He 
was made president of the institution in 1920. Presi- 
dent Calvin Coolidge was president of this bank from 
1917 to 1921. Mr. Prouty is a member of the E^win 
M. Stanton Post, Grand Army of the Republic of Am- 
herst, of which he has been commander, and which 
office he still holds. He is a trustee of the Hadley 
Library. He was chairman of the executive commit- 
tee which perfected the arrangements for the Hadley 
Reunion in Hadley on May 7, 1895, and delivered the 
address of welcome on that occasion. He went to Bos- 
ton with a company at the time of» the dedication of the 
General Hooker Monument. 

Mr. Prouty married, June 14, 1871, Martha A. Hard, 
of Hadley, Massachusetts, daughter of Thomas D. and 
Zilpha (Crosier) Hurd. She died October 23, 1900. 



CHARLES EDWIN ELY— Many generations of 
the Elys have contributed to the business and social life 
of New England, and members of this noted family are 
still potent in various walks in this early settled territory. 
The soil seems to hold the affection of this line to a 
remarkable degree, and this is natural. 

(I) Nathaniel Ely, the immigrant ancestor, was bom 
in England, at Tenterden, County York, in 1606. He 
received a good education, as is shown by the record he 
left in his native Ismd. He married in that country, but 
the family name of his wife is lost. He had a son and 
daughter before coming to this country, his passage being 
made in the bark "Elizabeth" in April, 1634. He was 
made a freeman at Cambridge May 6, 1635. He went to 
Hartford, Connecticut, in June, 1636, probably with Rev. 
Thomas Hooker, and was one of the founders of that 
town, his name appearing on the monument erected in 
Hartford to the memory of its first settlers. In 1649, on 
the petition of Nathaniel Ely, and Richard Olmstead, of 
Hartford, the General Court gave permission for the 
settlement of Norwalk, Connecticut. Nathaniel Ely was 
constable in Norwalk in 1654, an office he also filled in 
Hartford. He was selectman in 1656, representative to 
the General Court in 1657, and in all respects a prominent 
man in the new settlement. In 1659 he sold his property 
in Norwalk and moved to Springfield, Massachusetts. 
He was selectman there several times, and once as late as 
1673. In 1665 he was licensed to keep an inn, the old 
Ely tavern being on Main Street, Springfield. He died 
on December 25, 1675. His wife, Martha, died in Spring- 
field, October 2^, 1688. They had two children: Sam- 
uel, of whom further; and Ruth. 

(II) Samuel Ely, son of Nathaniel and Martha Ely, 
bom in England, died in Springfield, Massachusetts, 
March 19, 1692. He accompanied his father to Norwalk 
and Springfield, and was notably successful in acquiring 
property, leaving a considerable estate at his death. He 
married, in Springfield, October 28, 1659, Mary, youngest 
child of Robert Day and his second wife, Editha (Stet>- 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



47 



bin") Day. She was h>orn in Hartford, Connecticut, in 
1641, and twice married after the death of Samuel Ely. 
She died October 17, 1725, aged eighty-four. Samuel 
and Mary (Day) Ely, were the parents of sixteen chil- 
dren, of whom the third was Joseph, through whom 
descent is traced to Franklin Watson Ely. The first 
child was born in 1660, the last in 1688. 

(III) Joseph (Deacon) Ely, son of Samuel and Mary 
(Day) Ely, was born August 20, 1663, in Springfield, 
Massachusetts, died in West Springfield, April 29, 1755. 
He was a leading member of the church, and was always 
known as Deacon Joseph. By will dated April 14, 1738, 
he devised considerable land and money. He married 
Mary, daughter of John Riley, who located in that part 
of West Springfield called "Ireland Parish," in the south- 
ern part of the present city of Holyoke, near "Riley 
Brook." She was born June 2, 1665, and died May 19, 
1736, the mother of eight children. 

(IV) Joseph Ely, son of "Deacon" Joseph and Mary 
(Riley) Ely, was born in West Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, April 9, 1686, and there died January 6, 1770. His 
tombstone, in addition to dates and age, bears this 
inscription : 

If there's a Power above, 
He must delight in virtue, 
And that which he delights in 
Must be happy. 

He married Margaret Leonard, born in 1692, died in 
West Springfield, October 3, 1760, the mother of eleven 
children, of whom Benjamin was the seventh. 

(V) Captain Joseph Ely, son of Joseph and Margaret 
(Leonard) Ely, was born in West Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, March 30, 1718, died May 31, 1803, was one of 
a company of Rangers under Captain Phineas Stevens, 
who during the French and Indian War, in April, 1747, 
successfully resisted an attack on the fort at Charles- 
town, New Hampshire. He received a wound in his 
forehead. He married, February 3, 1749, Mary, daughter 
of John and Abigail (Bagg) Day, born in West Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, August 7, 1726, died April 22, 1771. 
They had twelve children. 

(VI) Edmund Ely, son of Captain Joseph and Mary 
(Day) Ely, was born in West Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, March 7, 1763, died January 7, 1834. He married, 
April 9, 1794, Huldah, daughter of Joseph and Experi- 
ence (Smith) Morgan, born April 18, 1770, died January 
5, 1854. They had eight children. 

(VII) Edwin Ely, son of Edmund and Huldah (Mor- 
gan) Ely, was born in West Springfield, Massachusetts, 
June 19, 1806, died in North Blanford, Massachusetts, 
March 8, 1870. He was a farmer in North Blanford. 
He married, June 2, 1841, Mary Ann, daughter of Oliver 
and Mary (Loring) Watson, born in North Blanford, 
Massachusetts, July 6, 1815. Their children: Edmund 
Watson, born July 28, 1846 ; Oscar Franklin, born August 
3, 1848, died February 6, 1850; Oscar Franklin, of whom 
further. 

(VIII) Oscar Franklin Ely, son of Edwin and Mary 
Ann (Watson) Ely, was born in North Blanford, Mas- 
sachusetts, February i, 1852, died in Northampton, Mas- 
sachusetts, February 5, 1918. He was educated in the 
schools of Chester and Suffield, and Wilbraham Academy. 
In early life he lived in Chester, Massachusets, and here 



he was connected with the Boston and Albany Railroad. 
He came to Florence, Massachusetts, where he was asso- 
ciated with the Culter-Plympton Grocery Store. Later he 
was employed by Mr. Fitts, in the undertaking business. 
He finally went into the undertaking business for him^ 
self, in Northampton, Massachusetts, where he was 
activly engaged in that line up to the time of his death. 
He was a member of Jerusalem Lodge, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, of Northampton; a member of the Royal 
Arch Chapter and Council, as well as a member of the 
Scottish Rite Masons: a member of Melha Temple, 
Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, of 
Springfield, Massachusetts; and a member of the Con- 
gregational Church. He married, June 7, 1874, Addie 
Judson, daughter of Adoniram and Hepsibeth (Hinckley- 
Marks) Judson, born in Bluehill, Maine, November 17, 
1852, died October 9, 1919. Children: Charles Edwin, 
of whom further; Elsie Mary, born 1883, married Ros- 
coe Noble. 

(IX) Charles Edwin Ely, son of Oscar Franklin and 
Addie (Judson) Ely, was born in Chester, Massachusetts, 
June 21, 1875. He received his education in the public 
schools of Florence, in the town of Northampton, and at- 
tended Williston Academy. After finishing school he went 
to Livermore Falls, Maine, with the International Paper 
Company, of which he was assistant superintendent for 
ten years. He next went with the Cushnoc Paper Com- 
pany at Augusta, Maine, where he remained three years. 
In 1912 he joined his father in the undertaking business 
in Northampton, Massachusetts, becoming a partner in 
the enterprise under the firm name of Oscar F. Ely & 
Son, and since the death of his father he has carried on 
the business alone. 

Mr. Ely is a member of Jerusalem Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons, of Northampton ; a member of the 
Royal Arch Council, Royal and Select Masters; the 
Knights Templar; and the Melha Temple, Ancient 
Arabic Orner Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, of Spring- 
field; a member of Nonotuck Lodge, Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows; and Lodge No. 997, Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks, of Northampton. Mr. Ely's 
clubs are the Kiwanis and the Northampton. He is a 
member and director of the Edwards Church. 

Mr. Ely married, August 23, 1899, Ada C. Riley, born 
in Lawrence, Massachusetts, daughter of Edwin and 
Rose (Weston) Riley, and granddaughter of James 
Riley, of Kent County, England, who came to America 
in i860. He was a paper maker, as was also his son 
Edwin, the father of Mrs. Ely. Both played an impor- 
tant part in the paper-making industry of this country. 
The children of Mr. and Mrs. Ely are: Edwina, born 
January 12, 1903; Genevieve M., born August 24, 1905. 



CHARLES HENRY CHASE— North American 
annals are frequently embellished by the name of Chase, 
which has been borne by statesmen, soldiers, jurists, 
clergymen and others honored in the various walks of 
life. New Hampshire has been highly honored by many 
prominent in the councils of the Nation, and its annals 
may well give prominence to the name. 

For many years the earliest known ancestor of the 
American family of this name was Aquila Chase, who 
was among the founders of Hampton, New Hampshire; 



48 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



and he was said to be from Cornwall, England, by sev- 
eral antiquarians whose authority was tradition. A long 
search has established beyond a reasonable doubt that he 
was from Chesham, Buckinghamshire, some thirty miles 
northwest of London. The family is said to have been 
of Norman origin, and it has been suggested that the 
name was formerly LaChaase. In the old English rec- 
ords it is spelled Chaace and Chaase, and in the fifteenth 
and sixteenth centuries it was modified to its present 
form most in use — Chase. 

(I) Matthew Chase, of the parish of Hundrich, in 
Chesham, gives his father's name as John, and the father 
of the latter as Thomas. As the name of Matthew's wife 
is the first female found in the line, this article will num- 
ber Matthews as the first. His wife was Elizabeth, daugh- 
ter of Richard Bould. 

(II) Richard Chase, son of Matthew and Elizabeth 
(Bould) Chase, married Mary Roberts, of Welsden, in 
Middlesex. He had brothers, Francis, John, Matthew, 
Thomas, Ralph, and William, and a sister, Bridget. 

(III) Richard (2) Chase, son of Richard (i) and 
Mary (Roberts) Chase, was baptized August 3, 1542, and 
was married April 16, 1564, to Joan Bishop. Their chil- 
dren were: Robert, Henry, Lydia, Ezekiel, Dorcas, 
Aquila, of further mention; Jason, Thomas, of further 
mention ; Abigail, and Mordecai. 

(IV) Aquila Chase, fourth son of Richard and Joan 
(Bishop) Chase, was baptized August 14, 1580. The 
unique name of Aquila is found nowhere in England, 
before or since, coupled with the name of Chase, which 
makes is reasonably certain that this Aquila was the 
ancestor of the American family. Tradition gives the name 
of his wife as Sarah. Record is found of two sons, Thomas 
and Aquila, the latter born in 1618. It is generally 
believed that William Chase, the first of the name in 
America, was an elder son, and that the others came with 
him, or followed later. The fact that they were minors 
would lead to their absence from the records of the 
earliest days of William in this country. Some authori- 
ties intimate that Thomas and Aquila were employed by 
their uncle, Thomas Chase, who was part owner of the 
ship "John and Francis," and thus became navigators and 
so found their way to America. This theory is strength- 
ened by the fact that Aquila was granted a house and lot 
and six acres of marsh by the inhabitants of Newbury, 
Massachusetts, on condition "that he do go to sea and do 
service in the Towne with a boat for foure yeares." 
(Aquila and William and descendants receive mention in 
this article.) Thomas, assumed by some authorities to 
be the elder son of Aquila Chase, of Chelsam, Eng- 
land, was born probably about 1615 in England. He was 
in Hampton, New Hampshire, as early as 1640, and died 
there in 1652. He married Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas 
Philbrick, of Newbury, and probably lived in that town 
for a short time. His widow, Elizabeth, administered 
his estate. She was married (second) October 26, 1654, 
to John Garland; and (third) January 19, 1674, to 
Henry Roby. She died February 11, 1677. Thomas 
Chase's children were : Thomas, Joseph, James, Isaac, 
and Abraham. 

(V) William Chase, said to be one of the three sons 
of Aquila Chase, born in England, came to America 
with his wife Mary and son William, in company with 



Governor Winthrop, in 1630. He thought of going to 
Scituate, but finally changed his mind and went with a 
party to Cape Cod and settled in what is now Yarmouth. 
He died there in May, 1639. The widow of William 
Chase was found dead the same year her husband died, 
and an inquest decided that she died a natural deatli. 
The children of William and Mary were: William, of 
further mention; Mary, and Benjamin. 

(VI) William (2) Chase, eldest child of William (i) 
and Mary Chase, was born in England about 1622. He 
came to America with his parents and lived in Yar- 
mouth. His children were : William, Jacob, John, of 
further mention; Elizabeth, Abraham, Benjamin, and 
Samuel. 

(VII) John Chase, son of William (2) Chase, was 
born at Yarmouth, Massachusetts, April 6, 1649, died 
before April 8, 1735. He married in 1669, Elizabeth 
Baker, daughter of Francis Baker. 

(VIII) John (2) Chase, son of John and Elizabeth 
(Baker) Chase, was born in Yarmouth, Massachusetts, 
April 6, 1675; married, July 17, 1700, Sarah Hills, ninth. 

(IX) Elisha Chase, son of John and Sarah (Hills) 
Chase, was born December 15, 1712; married, in Taun- 
ton, Massachusetts, January 30, 1733, Sarah Dean, born 
May I, 1 71 6, died April 7, 1806. 

(X) Seth Chase, son of Elisha and Sarah (Dean) 
Chase, was born at Swanzea, Rhode Island, December 
26, 1742, died in Abington, Massachusetts, February 6, 
1814. He served in the War of the Revolution, and mar- 
ried Mary Slade, December 20, 1767. She died in 1803. 

(XI) Jonathan Chase, son of Seth and Mary (Blade) 
Chase, was born in Swanzea, Rhode Island, November 
2, 1776, died at Guilford, Vermont, January 3, 1856; mar- 
ried, 1810, Sophia Stuart, born in 1781, died 1836. They 
had two sons and five daughters. 

(XII) Henry Stuart Chase, son of Jonathan and 
Sophia (Stuart) Chase, was born in Guilford, Vermont, 
December 2, 181 1, died February 27, 1892. He was a 
well-educated man and taught eighty terms of school, 
and was superintendent of schools for many years. He 
served in various town offices. He was strongly inter- 
ested in military tactics, and organized a company of 
militia, of which he was chosen captain. He was mar- 
ried in 1836 to Lucy M. Weatherhead, daughter of Ira 
Weatherhead. She died in 1842. He married (second) 
Martha P. Houghton. By the first marriage he had three 
children, and by the second six. 

(XIII) Henry Rufus Chase, son of Henry Stuart 
Chase, was born in Guilford, Vermont, January 26, 1837, 
and died at Northampton, Massachusetts, in 1907. He 
was educated in the town schools, afterward attended the 
Powers Institute and Middlebury College. He taught 
in a district school when but sixteen years of age, and 
taught high school in Newport, New Hampshire, and 
Guilford, Vermont. He left college in 1862 to enlist in 
the War of the Rebellion, in Company E of the nth 
Vermont Volunteer Infantry, as a private, but was later 
made a sergeant, and then a lieutenant. January 30, 1865, 
he was made captain of Battery E, and in July, 1865, 
was made major of the First Vermont Artillery. He 
took an active part in the most important battles of the 
war. For eleven months he was a prisoner, in Libby 
Prison, Lynchville, Danville, and Macon, Georgia. March 




<^ A: J}.{xdA4A(Ji 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



49 



3, 1865, he was paroled, and discharged from the service 
August 25, 1865. After the war he opened a hotel in 
Guilford, Vermont, for a time. He was with the Estey 
Organ Company of Brattleboro, Vermont, for a time. 
For many years he travelled on the road in the dry goods 
business, covering southern New England. He came to 
Northampton, Massachusets, to reside in 1885, and made 
his home there up to the time of his death. He was a 
Republican in politics, and held various town offices in 
Guilford, Vermont. He was a thirty-third degree Mason, 
a member of William L. Baker Post, No. 86, Grand 
Army of the Republic. Mr. Chase was a member of the 
Baptist Church. He was married (first) April 11, 1865, 
to Mary L. Wheeler, of Guilford, daughter of Stephen 
and Maria (Emerson) Wheeler. She died in 1874, and 
August 19, 187s, he married (second) Elvira H. Wheeler, 
sister of his first wife. Children by his first wife : Lucy 
M. and Charles Henry, of whom further ; by his second : 
Mary Louise. 

(XIV) Charles Henry Chase, son of Henry Rufus 
and Mary L. (Wheeler) Chase, was born in Guilford, 
Vermont, October 8, 1868, received his education in Brat- 
tleboro, Vermont. There he graduated and came to 
Northampton with his parents in 1885. He went into the 
factory of the Kingsbury Box Company of Northampton, 
of which he became superintendent. He remained in 
that position until 1912, when he became Registrar of 
Deeds for Hampshire County, which office he has since 
held. He served in the city government for two years. 
For twenty years he has been secretary of the Forbes 
Library Trustees. He is active in Masonry. 

On October 24, 1892, he married Josephine S. Thomp- 
son, of Berea, Ohio, daughter of John and Deette 
(Spencer) Thompson. Children: Leland Henry, bom 
in Northampton, Massachusetts, January 31, 1894. He 
is an electrical engineer, a graduate of Northampton 
High School, Purdue University, of Lafayette, Indiana ; 
and Yale Sheffield Scientific School of New Haven, 
Connecticut. He served in the World War, joining the 
navy May 18, 1917, and sailing from New York, July 
25, 1917. He arrived in France in August, 1917, and 
was there until May 8, 1918. Returning to America, he 
went to the Naval Academy at Annapolis, and Septem- 
ber 19 was assigned to the crusier "Frederick" of the 
Atlantic Fleet. He was discharged as ensign December 
9, 1918. He is with the Holmes Electric Protective 
Company of New York. He married, October 16, 1924, 
Margaret Boyd Young, of Fonda, New York. 



FRANK ARTHUR CADWELL, head of an exten- 
sive lumber business at Amherst, Massachusetts, was 
born in Amherst, April 17, i860. The name he bears 
is one of the most distinguished in the annals of New 
England, alike for valiant deeds achieved on the battle- 
field and in civil life. 

(I) Thomas Cadwell, founder of the family in 
America, was in Hartford, Connecticut, in 1632. For a 
consideration of forty-five pounds he bought in that 
year on March 9, land from the Scott heirs situated on 
the present Front Street. He was a chimney viewer, a 
constable and also a ferryman. After he died on Octo- 
ber 9, 1694, his widow had charge of the ferry. He 



married Elizabeth (Stebbins) Wilson, widow of Robert 
Wilson, of Farmington, and daughter of Edward Steb- 
bins. Children: Mary, Edward, Thomas, William, 
Matthew, of further mention; Abigail, Elizabeth, Sam- 
uel, Hannah and Mehitable. 

(II) Matthew Cadwell, fourth son of Thomas and 
Elizabeth (Stebbins-Wilson) Cadwell, was born in Hart- 
ford, October 5, 1668, died there April 22, 1719. He 
owned land in Hartford near the Farmington line, but 
exchanged it with his brother for the old homestead. 
He married Abigail Beckley, daughter of John Beckley, 
of Wethersfield, Connecticut. Children: Matthew, 
Abigail, died young; Ann, John, Abel, Daniel, of further 
mention; Abigail and Elias. 

(III) Daniel Cadwell, fifth son of Matthew and Abi- 
gail (Beckley) Cadwell, was born in Hartford, May 18, 
1710, and died prior to 1791. He settled in Springfield 
Massachusetts, early in life, and as was the custom of 
the period followed the river in seeking a new home. 
He afterwards removed to Wilbraham, (Palmer) Mas- 
sachusetts, was elected selectman. He was commit- 
tee of the precinct in 1750, and at the outbreak of 
the War for Independence was appointed member of 
a committee to draft resolutions expressing the senti- 
ments of the town in regard to the Mother Country. 
He was a member of the First Church of Springfield, 
and took an active part in the Brock controversy. His 
will was proved in 1791. He married Mary Warriner, 
daughter of Ebenezer Warriner. Children: Daniel, 
Mary, Ann, Ebenezer, Matthew, of further mention; 
Eunice, Simeon, Levi, Stephen, Joanna, Aaron and 
Moses. 

(IV) Matthew Cadwell, fifth child and third son of 
Daniel and Mary (Warriner) Cadwell, lived in East- 
hampton, Massachusetts. He had a son, Aretas, of 
further mention. 

(V) Aretas Cadwell, son of Matthew Cadwell, was 
born in Easthampton, Massachusetts, died in South Am- 
herst, Massachusetts, August 21, 1849, aged fifty-three 
years. He was a farmer, and at one time lived in Had- 
ley. He travelled on the road, selling brooms at whole- 
sale. He married Jerusha Warner, of Sunderland, 
Massachusetts, born September 4, 1792, died December 
14, 1866, in Enfield, Massachusetts. She was the daugh- 
ter of Eleazer and Elizabeth (Belden) Warner. Eleazer 
Warner was a soldier in the War of the Revolution. 
Children: Julia Ann Persis De Shon, born July 16, 
1825, married Marcus L. Goodale, and she died Sep- 
tember 14, 1898. Aretas Janes, of further mention. 

(VI) Aretas Janes Cadwell, son of Aretas and Jeru- 
sha (Warner) Cadwell, was born in North Hadley, 
Massachusetts, May 24, 1828. He was a farmer early 
in life. He also sold brooms for a time. While he lived 
in Pelham, Massachusetts, for a time, he was tax col- 
lector. In Enfield, where he also passed several years, 
he was made school commissioner; he was made select- 
man and liquor agent at Pelham. He afterwards bought 
a large lumber tract in Canaan, New Hampshire, and 
engaged in the lumbering business. While operating on 
this tract, he was killed by a falling tree, July i, 1876. 
He married, September 4, 1851, Esther Needham, of 
Wendell, Massachusetts, born August 22, 1829, living 



W.M. — 3-4 



50 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



in 1925 with her son at the age of ninety-six years. 
She was the daughter of Joseph and EHza (Howe) 
Needham. Children: i. Juliet Emily, died in 1872; 
married Norman Chaffee. 2. Edward Janes, of Orange, 
Massachusetts. 3. Flora Eliza, married George L. 
Morse, since dead. 4. Frank Arthur, of further mention. 
S. George Howard, a sketch of whom follows. 6. Fred 
Elwyn. 

(VII) Frank Arthur Cadwell, son of Aretas Janes 
and Esther (Needham) Cadwell, was educated in the 
schools of Enfield, Massachusetts, and Canaan, New 
Hampshire. After his father's death he returned to 
Amherst, Massachusetts, and was bound out under the 
Oliver Smith Will. He worked for Flavel Gaylord for 
three years. At twenty-one he bought a half interest in 
the Gaylord Ice Company. Afterwards he bought Mr. 
Gaylord's interest in the company, and for eighteen years 
he carried on the ice business in Amherst. He engaged 
in the lumber business subsequently, and operated steam 
mills. He has been an extensive operator along that line. 
His lumber interests have extended through twenty or 
more towns. He has gotten out telephone poles and rail- 
road ties, and quantities of cord wood. He has been 
associated with Walter D. Cowls in the lumber business, 
and at the present time he owns more than three thou- 
sand acres of timber land. For more than twenty years 
he has been engaged actively in the lumber business. 
He is a trustee of the Amherst Savings Bank, and a 
member of the investment board. He is a director of the 
Water Company; and a director of the Amherst Busi- 
ness Men's Club. 

Mr. Cadwell married (first), November 3, 1885, Ade- 
line Turner Vaill, daughter of the Rev. William K. and 
Julia (Turner) Vaill. She died August 19, 1922. He 
married (second), July 31, 1923, Esther (Hyde) Smith, 
daughter of Charles Hyde and Harriett (Dickinson) 
Hyde, and widow of Frank E. Smith. She is the mother 
of Etnily Dickinson Smith, born April 12, 1896, and 
William Spooner Smith, born May 15, 1898. 



GEORGE HOWARD CADWELL— As superin- 
tendent of highways of the town of Amherst, George 
Howard Cadwell has rendered invaluable service in the 
maintenance of the scenic and improvement features of 
that beautiful and cultured community. Before accept- 
ing this position some five years ago, Mr. Cadwell had 
been an important figure in the upbuilding of the town of 
Pelham, having been the chairman of its Board of 
Selectmen many years. He also was a large farmer and 
carried at one time as many as three thousand head of 
poultry, besides a large number of head of livestock. 
For thirty-five years he was engaged in the poultry 
business, and he is rated as one of the accomplished ex- 
perts in that line in the country, having acted as judge at 
poultry shows for the past twenty-five years. 

(VII) George Howard Cadwell, son of Aretas 
Janes and Esther (Needham) Cadwell, (see preceding 
sketch) was born in Enfield, Massachusetts, August 28, 
1866, and received his education in the schools of that 
town and Amherst, having removed to the latter town 
when he was nine years of age. For many years he 
resided in Pelham, Massachusetts, where he partici- 
pated actively in town affairs. He operated a large farm 



there, specializing in poultry and livestock. He made a 
specialty of Barred Plymouth Rocks, which he bred 
exclusively. During the period of his residence in Pel- 
ham he purchased a farm property on the main high- 
way, and divided the tract into house lots, on which he 
built houses, selling them and thus adding to the growth 
of the population and the real value of the town. He 
also built the Pelham school house. He was elected 
a member of the Board of Selectmen and occupied the 
office of chairman of the board for a long term of years. 
In fulfilling the duties of the office of road supervisor 
in that town he did much for the development and im- 
provement of the community. 

Upon taking up his residence in Amherst, he was 
appointed superintendent of all the highways of that 
town, and he since has devoted his entire time to the 
work of that department, having his office in the Town 
Hall and a large force of men under his direction. He 
has made large and successful investment in Florida 
real estate, principally at Tampa, and he spends his 
winters in that city. He is treasurer of the Hampshire 
County Poultry Association, and served as its president 
many years. He was one of the founders of that organi- 
zation. He is a member of the Amherst Business Men's 
Club. 

George Howard Cadwell married, April 15, 1889, 
Estelle Smith, of Conway, Massachusetts, daughter of 
Austin Smith, a native of Ashfield, Massachusetts, and 
Isadore (Miner) Smith, and a granddaughter of Reuben 
Smith. 



THOMAS RICHARD HICKEY— Continuing in 

Northampton his law practice begun in Amherst, and 
temporarily interrupted by his service for the armies in 
France during the World War, Mr. Hickey maintains 
the best standards of his profession, and his able and 
practical gifts are given their due appreciation. A 
possessor of constructive qualities are those of good 
management, he has the regard both of his associates in 
civil and professional affairs, and those with and for 
whom he served in the war. Of a lineage of prosperous 
farming folk who in their day won success by like quali- 
ties of efficiency and application, Mr. Hickey continues 
in his generation his sturdy heritage of valor and worth- 
while accomplishment. Four generations of the family are 
thus traced, including the first-comer to the United States : 

(I) David Hickey lived in County Waterford, Ire- 
land, where he died early in life. His children were: 
Thomas, of whom further; James; Edward; Patrick; 
Michael ; Bridget and Kate. 

(II) Thomas Hickey was born in 1826, in County 
Waterford, Ireland, and died in 1870, at North Hadley, 
at forty-four years of age. With his brother James, he 
came to the United States in the late forties, his mother 
and the other children coming later. Thomas located in 
North Hadley, where he was a farmer to the time of 
his death. He married Ellen Collins, who was born in 
1830, in Limerick, Ireland, and died in 1866, in North 
Hadley. Their children were : David S., of whom 
further; and Ellen, who died at eighteen years of age. 

(III) David S. Hickey was born March 24. i860, in 
North Hadley, and died June 7, 1923. He was bound 
out under the Smith will to George E. Smith, a 





C-'^'zCf^ 







WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



51 



prominent farmer, for whom he worked three years, 
and he also attended the schools at North Hadley. 
A farmer, he made a specialty of the growing of 
tobacco and onions, and he owned one of the most highly 
productive farms in the Connecticut Valley. He was 
a successful man, and was well regarded by all who 
knew him. He married, May 27, 1883, Mary Hayes, 
who was born in Sunderland, daughter of Richard and 
Margaret (Lyons) Hayes. Richard Hayes was born 
in County Waterford, Ireland, in 1825, and came to the 
United States in 1842, as one of the first Irish-born 
settlers at Sunderland. He died in 1905, at the age of 
eighty years. He came to America in a sailing vessel, 
and was seven weeks making the trip. Margaret 
(Lyons) Hayes, who was born in County Waterford 
in 1836, died in 1899, aged sixty-three years. Their 
children were: Thomas Richard, of whom further; and 
Nellie, who married Jeremiah Shanahan, and who has 
one child, David. 

(IV) Thomas Richard Hickey was born August 3, 
1888, in Hadley, where he attended the public schools 
and Hopkins Academy. Matriculating at Amherst Col- 
lege, Amherst, Massachusetts, he graduated in 1909, with 
his degree of Bachelor of Arts. In preparation for his 
profession, he graduated at the Law School of Boston 
University, with the class of 1914, and with his lawyer's 
degree. Admitted to the bar, he began the practice of 
law in Amherst, where he remained until the outbreak 
of the World War. In October, 1919, at the conclusion 
of the war, he located in Northampton, and in 1921, he 
formed a partnership with Judge Shaw, under the firm 
name of Shaw, Hickey & Company, which still con- 
tinues. Mr. Hickey, who was moderator of the Hadley 
town meetings for eight years, retained his residence 
there until 1923, when he removed to Northampton. 

Mr. Hickey enlisted in the World War at Fort 
Slocum, New York, in November, 191 7, and went to 
Camp Johnson, at Jacksonville, Florida, where he re- 
mained until April, 1918. He then went overseas, 
where he was given charge of the trains that took pro- 
visions and all supplies except ordnance to all parts 
of the battlefields. After the signing of the armistice, 
he had charge of the transportation over forty-seven 
miles of railroad, transferring six hundred cars a day; 
and for a time he was in Germany, on convoy duty. 
Going to the front as sergeant, on his discharge in 
August, 1919, he was a quartermaster sergeant; and he 
was in line for a lieutenancy when the armistice was 
signed. 

Mr. Rickey's fraternal affiliations are the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks; the Knights of Colum- 
bus; the legal fraternities and college associations; the 
Northampton Club, and the Northampton Country 
Club; and he is president of the Hopkins Academy 
Alumni Association. 

Thomas Richard Hickey married, September 25, 1923, 
Alice M. Shea, of Northampton, daughter of Peter and 
Margaret (Lynch) Shea. 



Thomas and Ann (Munroe) Dower. He was educated 
in the public schools of Worcester, and at Holy Cross 
College, Worcester, where he was graduated in the 
class of 1878 with the degree of A. B. His theological 
training was received in the Grand Seminary, Montreal, 
Canada. He was ordained at Christmas, 1882, at 
Springfield, by Right Rev. Patrick T. O'Reilly, bishop 
of Springfield diocese. He was assistant priest in a 
Worcester parish for three months, was assistant priest 
at Sacred Heart Church, Holyoke, for three years, and 
assistant priest at the Church of Our Lady of the 
Rosary, Holyoke, for six years. He was appointed the 
first pastor of St. Ann's Church, Lenox, and was located 
there twelve years. He was assigned to St. Charles 
Church in 1903, and now has two assistants. Rev. Pat- 
rick Dowd, D. D., and Rev. Timothy F. O'Connor. 
A parochial school building, in process of construction, 
is expected to be ready for occupancy in the fall of 1924. 



REV. WILLIAM JOSEPH DOWER, pastor of 
St. Charles Roman Catholic Church, Pittsfield, was born 
in Cambridge, Massachusetts, January 3, 1858, son of 



WILBUR MUNYAN PURRINGTON— The Pur- 
rington family traces its line of descent back to three 
brothers who were residents of Plymouth Colony, the 
family represented in the present generation by Wilbur 
Munyan Purrington, being descended from Joshua, the 
other two brothers being Isaac and Deacon Thomas 
Purrington. Joshua Purrington was born February i, 
1768, and died April 28, 1835. He was a farmer and 
millwright, and a useful citizen in the community where 
he resided. He married, November 25, 1795, Anna 
Cobb, and the eldest of their ten children was Thomas; 
he married, April 5, 1822, Huldah Sturtevant, and the 
fifth of their ten children was Morris Parker; he mar- 
ried Mary Munyan, November 17, 1859, and the second 
of their nine children was Wilbur Munyan, of whom 
further. 

Wilbur Munyan Purrington, eldest son of Morris 
Parker and Mary (Munyan) Purrington, was bom at 
Haydenville, Massachusetts, February 17, 1864. His 
father, who was born at Colerain, Massachusetts, De- 
cember IS, 1833, was in the cotton mills business in the 
early part of his career; his mother was bom November 
8, 1840, at Leeds, Massachusetts, daughter of Orrin and 
Susan (Bardwell) Munyan, the former a preacher and 
exhorter, who served in the General Court in 1840. The 
son received his education in the schools of his native 
town, in Northampton, and in Turners Falls Academy, 
the family removing to Turners Falls where they resided 
for two years, then returned to Northampton, and in 
1880 again took up their residence in Haydenville. 
Here, at the age of sixteen, he entered the employ of the 
Haydenville Brass Works as a clerk, and learned the 
trade of brass worker and finisher, following this until 
his marriage, when he became bookkeeper in the Hay- 
denville Savings Bank, of which Benjamin Johnson was 
then treasurer. Two years later, Mr. Purrington was 
elected treasurer, in which capacity he has served ever 
since, and under his able administration the capital of 
the bank has increased from $280,000 to over a million. 
He is also interested in fire insurance; has filled the 
office of justice of the peace and notary public; was for 
a decade and a half a member of the School Committee 
of Haydenville, for over ten years of which period he 



52 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



was a chairman; he was town auditor and treasurer of 
the Sinking Fund Commissioners, and conveyor of 
deeds; he is at the present time trustee for the library, 
and trustee of Meeker's Library in Williamsburg; 
director of Haydenville Cemetery; and during the World 
War he was chairman of the Public Safety Committee 
of Williamsburg, as well as Food Administrator of 
Hampshire County. During his activities on the School 
Board, Mr. Purrington was instrumental in having two 
new school houses built, for which he made the draw- 
ings, one located in Haydenville, the other in the 
northern part of the township. He had very extensive 
experience in probate work and settlement of estates, 
and to-day conducts a real estate and general insurance 
business in connection with his other activities; he is a 
member and organizer of the local fire department; 
was former chairman of the Republican Town Com- 
mittee; is a director of the Hampshire County Trust 
Company; he is very well informed in regard to the 
history of his country, and has written on historical 
subjects; he is also a well known orator, and is often 
called upon as a patriotic and public-spirited citizen, 
whose strong personality and high character are fine 
assets in making his influence in any cause for the better- 
ment of his fellowmen felt. He takes great interest in 
any enterprise that will benefit his native town, State 
or country, and has been one of the prime movers in 
temperance work of his town. He has also three times 
successfully promoted Old Home Week celebrations. 
He is an expert in the care of honey bees, his hobby 
being flowers, and on his beautiful estate, which he has 
named "The Garden of Delight," he has myriad flowers 
and bees, his dahlias being a particular feature of his 
gardens. 

In his fraternal affiliation Mr. Purrington is a member 
of the Masonic Order, belonging to Perfection Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons, of Greenfield, and holding 
membership in the various bodies of the Scottish Rite, of 
Greenfield. In his religious connection he has been a 
member for several decades of the Congregational 
Church, being deacon of the church and also greatly in- 
terested in the Sunday School; he is an enthusiastic 
worker for the cause of the Young People's Society 
of Christian Endeavor, and is an earnest student of the 
Bible. Mr. Purrington's residence is one of the sub- 
stantial ones of the town, and his gardens and fine 
apiary are his pleasures and recreations. For his sons 
he has had laid out fine tennis courts. 

Wilbur Munyan Purrington married, June 9, 1887, 
Eleanor Luce, born December 2, 1861, at Haydenville, 
Massachusetts, daughter of Augustus and Elvira (Clapp) 
Luce. Mr. and Mrs. Purrington are the parents of 
eight children: i. Franklin Luce, born May 30, 1888, 
now with the Federal Reserve Bank in Chicago. 2. 
Donald, born April 9, 1890; was lieutenant of Engineers 
and stationed at Camp Humphreys during the World 
War 3. Alden Clifford, born March 4, 1892, was over 
seas serving as first lieutenant in the 30th Infantry 
and awarded the Distinguished Service Cross, also 
Legion of Honor by General Retain; is now in the 
Continental Commercial Bank, of Chicago. 4. Helen, 
born January 17, 1894, died June 19, 1896. 5. Rollo, 
born November 15, 1895; he served as Corporal in the 



26th Division, 104th Massachusetts Infantry and is now 
of Hartford, Connecticut. 6. Esther, born September 
5, 1897. 7. Philip Morris, born October 8, 1899, now 
in City Bank and Trust Company of Hartford. 8. 
Wilbur, born May 2, 1907. 



JOHN CORNELIUS ROE— Numbered among the 
best equipped physicians of Pittsfield, both as to insti- 
tutional preparation and wartime practice. Dr. Roe is 
a practitioner of skill and ability. Extensive application 
to medical school courses, in regular and post-graduate 
work and a remarkable concentration of experience dur- 
ing his service in the Navy in the World War, provided 
the introduction for Dr. Roe's service to his profession 
and his medical practice in this city. His father, James 
H. Roe, for many years employed by the General Elec- 
tric Company of Pittsfield, died in 1923. His mother, 
Elizabeth Shea, survives her husband. 

John Cornelius Roe was born in Lee, Massachusetts, 
November 26, 1889. The greater part of his early life 
was spent in North Adams, Massachusetts, and it was 
there that he attended the Parochial and public schools 
and was graduated from Drury High School. He then 
matriculated at Carnegie Institute of Technology at 
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, where he graduated with the 
class of 1910. Making special preparation for the voca- 
tion that was to become his life work, he entered the 
medical department of Georgetown University, Wash- 
ington, in 191 1, graduating valedictorian of the class 
of 1915, with the degree of Doctor of Medicine. He 
became resident surgeon at Georgetown University Hos- 
pital where he remained sixteen months, and began the 
practice of his profession at Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, 
so continuing until June, 1917, when he volunteered as 
medical officer in the United States Navy for service in 
the World War. 

Dr. Roe's Pittsfield practice was begun early in 1920, 
and continued until August, 1922, when he took the post- 
graduate course in surgery, at the Graduate School of 
Medicine, University of Pennsylvania, at Philadelphia, 
under the preceptorship of Dr. John B. Deaver, re- 
maining there fourteen months, after which, in October, 
1923, he resumed practice at Pittsfield, specializing in 
surgery. 

Upon entering the regular Navy in June, 1917, Dr. 
Roe was commissioned lieutenant, junior grade, and 
received appointment as surgeon. United States Navy, 
at U. S. Naval Hospital, Boston. His service afloat 
followed seven months later, with his appointment as 
surgeon on the United States Ship "San Diego," and 
he was the medical officer aboard that vessel when she 
was torpedoed, July 19, 1918. He was promoted to 
lieutenant, senior grade (captain), and served with the 
9th Regular United States Marines until his resignation 
January, 1920. Dr. Roe is a member of the surgical 
staff of Hillcrest Hospital, of Boylard Memorial Hos- 
pital, and of Saint Luke's Hospital; he is also a member 
of the American Medical Association; the Massachusetts 
and the Berkshire County Medical Societies; Allegheny 
County and Pennsylvania States Medical Societies; and 
of the Phi Chi Fraternity, and he is a life member of 
the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. He is a 
communicant of Saint Mark's Roman Catholic Church. 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



53 



Dr. Roe married, in December, 1917, Mary C. Esher, 
of Washington, District of Columbia, and they are the 
parents of John C. Jr., James H., Eleanor, and Dorothy 
Roe. 



IRVING LUCIUS BARTLETT— As owner of the 
Artificial Stone Company, Irving Lucius Bartlett has 
shown that a man with ambition, combined with real 
energy and honest efforts, can make a success in the 
business world. That is what he has done, and in re- 
turn for his hard work financial prosperity has been his 
reward. He is a descendant of a long line of worthy 
forebears of whom the emigrant ancestor was Robert 
Bartlett, of further mention. 

(I) Robert Bartlett was born in England and came 
to this country in 1623 on the ship "Anne." He settled 
in Plymouth, where he followed the trade of a cooper. 
In 1633 he was admitted a freeman, and served his 
community as a town officer and also on a jury. His 
will, which was proved October 29, 1676, left his whole 
estate to his wife, Mary, whom he married in 1628. She 
w-as the daughter of Richard Warren, the Pilgrim, who 
came to this country in the "Mayflower" and was one 
of the signers of the famous compact. He settled in 
Plymouth and had a large share of the trials and 
troubles of those early days. To the marriage of Rob- 
ert and Mary (Warren) Bartlett were born seven 
children as follows: i. Rebecca, who married, December 
30, 1649, William Barlow. 2. Benjamin, bom in 1638. 
3. Joseph, mentioned below. 4. Mary, married, Sep- 
tember 10, 1661, Richard Foster; married (second) Jon- 
athan Morey. 5. Sarah, married, December 23, 1666, 
Samuel Rider, of Plymouth. 6. Elizabeth, married, De- 
cember 26, 1661, Anthony Sprague. 7. Lydia, born June 
8, 1647, married, December 25, 1668, John Ivey. 

(II) Joseph Bartlett, son of Robert and Mary (War- 
ren) Bartlett, was born in Plymouth in 1639, and died 
February 13, 171 1. He married Hannah Pope, bom in 
1639 and died in 1710. Of their children was a Ben- 
jamin, of whom further. 

(III) Benjamin Bartlett, son of Joseph and Hannah 
(Pope) Bartlett, was bom in Plymouth in 1668, and 
died March 10, 1717. He married in 1702, Sarah Barnes, 
who was born in 1680. 

(IV) Benjamin Bartlett, son of Benjamin and Sarah 
(Barnes) Bartlett, was born in Plymouth, January 23, 
1707, and died in Stoughton, April 23, 1786. He married 
Hannah Stephens, who was born in 1712 and died in 
1799. Their son Edward is of further mention. 

(V) Edward Bartlett, son of Benjamin and Hannah 
(Stephens) Bartlett, was bom at Duxbury, February 
18, 1744, and died at Cummington, August 4, 1815. He 
was twice married, the name of his first wife is not 
known, but he married (second), in 1772, Zilpha (3ole, 
who was born in Bridgewater, December 17, 1754, and 
died in Cummington, February 7, 1813. 

(VI) Edward Bartlett, son of Edward and Zilpha 
(Cole) Bartlett, was bom in Stoughton, August 20, 1774, 
and died in Worthington, June 2, 1861. He married 
Mary Farr, born in Cummington, 1779, died in Worth- 
ington, May 20, 1849. 

(VII) Tilson Bartlett, son of Edward and Mary 



(Farr) Bartlett, was born February 24. 1801, and died 
January 14, 1878. He married, July 8, 1830, Pamelia 
Tower, born November 24, 181 1, died September 25, 
1867. They were the parents of the following children: 
Millie, died in infancy; Millie; Noyes ; Jacob; Calvin; 
Zilpha; Jacob (2); Horace Franklin, of further men- 
tion, and Howard, twins ; Ellen and John. 

(VIII) Horace Franklin Bartlett, son of Tilson and 
Pamelia (Tower) Bartlett, and father of the subject of 
this biography, was born in Worthington August 20, 
1845. He is still (1925) living in this town, where he 
follows the occupation of a farmer, a respected citizen 
of the community and a deacon in the church for many 
years. On May 3, 1876, he was married to Caroline E. 
Graves, who was born in Whately on November 17, 
1852. She was the daughter of Lucius and Lydia 
(Dickinson) Graves. Mrs. Graves' ancestry on the pa- 
ternal side is traced as follows: (I) Thomas Graves, 
born in England in 1585, came to America prior to 1645 
and died in Hatfield in 1662. (II) John Graves, bom 
in England in 1621, died in 1677, having been killed by 
the Indians. He was twice married (first) to Mary 
Smith and (second) to Widow Mary Wyatt. (Ill) 
Samuel Graves, born in 1657, died in 1731. (IV) 
David Graves, born 1693, died in 1781 ; married Abigail 
Bardwell. (V) David Graves, born in 1733, died in 
1815; married Mary Smith. (VI) Moses Graves, born 
in 1763, died in 1827; married Abigail Crafts. (VII) 
Lucius Graves, born in 1806, died in 1895; married 
Lydia Dickinson, and among their children was Caro- 
line E., who became the wife of Horace Franklin Bart- 
lett, previously mentioned. To the marriage of Horace 
Franklin and Caroline E. (Graves) Bartlett were bom 
the following children : Irving Lucius, of further men- 
tion ; Guy Franklin, who married Alice Mosher, and be- 
came the father of eight children: Marjorie Graves, 
Dorothy Fuller, Robert Tilson, George Harris, Alice 
Lillian (deceased) ; Helen Marion, Horace Franklin and 
Mildred Eloise; Marion Louise and Alice (jenevieve. 

(IX) Irving Lucius Bartlett, son of Horace Frank- 
lin and Caroline E. (Graves) Bartlett, was born in 
Worthington, January 30, 1878. He was educated in 
the schools of his native town, and at the Williston 
Seminary, of Easthampton, after which he began his 
business career by entering a box factory in Whately. 
In 1905, when the Weldon Hotel was built by F. O. 
Wells, in Greenfield, Mr. Bartlett was engaged by Mr. 
Wells to look after his interests, his executive ability 
having long been recognized. In 1906 he became con- 
nected with the Artificial Stone Company, of Greenfield, 
which in later years had its large manufacturing plant 
in Miller's Falls. Mr. Bartlett by hard work and close 
attention to the business rose in position from one of 
a lowly grade to that of treasurer and manager of the 
company. In January, 1924, he had the still higher 
honor of becoming sole owner, and in this capacity he 
is working for its interest to-day. Beginning in a small 
way the business has grown tremendously, now employ- 
ing as many as seventy-five men. The manufactured 
stone from this plant has been used in hundreds of 
buildings throughout New England, New York and 
Pennsylvania, even as far south as Maryland. Fine 



54 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



engraving is done on many of the stones by expert 
artists, and consequently much of it has been used for 
churches where stone with the finest of workmanship 
in the making of Gothic designs and figures is required. 
At present the government is considering the use of the 
product of Mr. Bartlett's plant for the construction of 
its government buildings. Mr. Bartlett is a very busy 
man, devoting much of his time to travel, in the interest 
of his business, usually traveling by means of the auto- 
mobile. He therefore has very little time to devote to 
social or public activities. 

Irving Lucius Bartlett was married on October i, 
1899, to Bessie Louise Gurney, of Plainfield, daughter 
of Oren White and Alice Phebe (La Carte) Gurney. 
Three sons have been born to this marriage as follows : 
I. Irving Lucius, Jr., who was born in Whately January 
I5> 1903- He was educated in the public schools of 
Greenfield, and at Deerfield Academy, and is now asso- 
ciated with his father in business. 2. Richard, born in 
Whately, July 3, 1905. 3. David, born in Greenfield 
January 15, 1913. 



WILLIAM GRANT — A name of very prominent 
activity and influence throughout a considerable period 
in Western Massachusetts was that of William Grant, 
a name quite as well known in the civic life of North- 
ampton, and as that of its representative to the General 
Court, although for years Mr. Grant has assumed re- 
tired relationship in business as well as in active town 
government matters. Mr. Grant began to be interested 
in the ice industry in his early years, and he soon per- 
ceived the advantages of ownership of profitable and 
centrally located ice plants, and from time to time he 
became owner of leading companies operating in vari- 
ous sections of the State and under his direction such 
business increased and prospered. Mr. Grant has served 
as a Northampton city official in a far-sighted and busi- 
nesslike manner, and to the satisfaction of his city and 
district. He is of a sturdy Scottish and Nova Scotia 
family, foremost in the professions, in public life and 
in general industry, and the family is of the same line 
as General Ulysses S. Grant, who was of Scottish 
descent. William Grant's immediate ancestry from the 
first immigrant to America is as follows : 

(I) John Grant was born in Glen Urquhart, Scot- 
land, and coming to Pictou County, Nova Scotia, in 
1801, he settled on the East River, the town being 
known to-day as Sunny Brae. His descendants were 
prominent in the church, fifteen having entered upon the 
ministry, and fourteen having been elders in the Pres- 
byterian Church. John Grant married, in Scotland, 
Margaret Mcintosh, and they had children : Peter ; Wil- 
liam, of whom further ; Robert ; John ; Finlay and Cath- 
erine, who married Duncan MacPhie. 

(II) William Grant was born in 1797, in Scotland, 
and died in 1876, in Pictou County, Nova Scotia. He 
married Catherine McRae, who was born in Scotland in 
1797, and died in Nova Scotia, in 1877, William Grant 
came to Nova Scotia with his parents from Inver- 
nesshire, Scotland, when he was four years old, and 
after residing awhile in Pictou County, the family re- 
moved to Stewiacke, in Colchester County. He was an 



exceptionally well read man, being conversant with the 
Gaelic; and he was a successful farmer. The children 
of William and Catherine (McRae) Grant: John; Peter, 
of whom further; Daniel; Robert; Catherine; Mary; 
Janet ; Margaret, and Jane. 

(III) Peter Grant was born in 1826, in Pictou 
County, Nova Scotia, and died in 1913, in Stewiacke, 
Colchester County. A farmer, he owned and operated 
the largest and best farming property in the region, 
raising exceptionally fine horses ; and he served as tax 
collector for his township. He attended the Presby- 
terian Church. Peter Grant married (first) Christine 
McKenzie, who died in 1861 ; he married (second) Re- 
becca Graham, daughter of Charles and Letitia (Dear- 
mond) Graham. The children of the first marriage: 
Caroline, who married Neil Sutherland ; Susan, who 
married Alfred A. Turner; William, of whom further; 
John ; Emeline, deceased, who married James Rogers. 
The children of the second marriage : Charles ; Christie, 
who married Clifford Sill; Alfred Alanson, a biography 
of whom follows; Janet, who married Caleb Dwyer; 
Robert ; Lottie, who married Norman Taylor, and Nellie. 

(IV) William Grant, son of Peter and his first wife, 
Christine (McKenzie) Grant, was bom January 4, 1854, 
in Upper Stewiacke, Colchester County, Nova Scotia, 
where he attended the public schools. He removed to 
Lawrence, Massachusetts, when he was nineteen years 
of age, and he was there employed in farming for two 
years. It was here at Lawrence where he had the first 
of his experience in the ice business, in employment 
with an ice company in that city; later, he bought a 
share in that business, and for fifteen years he was one 
of the officials of the Lawrence Ice Company, which 
absorbed the business of the Hatch & Company ice in- 
terests. Mr. Grant later bought out the Newton Ice 
Company; and in 1894 he removed to Northampton, 
where he bought the Norwood Ice Company, of which 
he was treasurer until 1921, when het disposed of his in- 
terests in that organization. He now owns and op- 
erates a wholesale ice plant in Belchertown, aside from 
which he is practically retired. 

Mr. Grant has served as a member of the North- 
ampton City Council and the Board of Aldermen; and 
he has officiated on the Board of Health. He was a 
representative to the State Legislature in 1900-01-02, 
and served on the Committees on Public Health and 
Agriculture. He is a member of the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks; the Loyal Order of Moose; 
Improved Order of Red Men ; and the Knights of 
Pythias; and of the Northampton Qub; and the Ed- 
wards Church. 

William Grant married, in May, 1884, Martha Ann 
Hay, born in England, daughter of John Hay. 



ALFRED ALANSON GRANT— The industrial 
and general civic broadening and advancement of North- 
ampton have received an impetus through Mr. Grant's 
association with those practical affairs of the community 
that have to do with the building up of business and the 
maintaining of the best interests of city government and 
of district representation in State Legislature. In 1921 
Mr. Grant took over the business of the Norwood Ice 




»y S G. WU!iar^s i ?T0 MY 





't^c/^^ / , yj^i<2^^<(€^. 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



55 



Company, Inc., formerly owned by his brother William. 
Mr. Grant exhibits a business spirit of great energy in 
the further development of that company's interests ; 
and he has applied to the duties of city office the same 
progressive characteristics. Mr. Grant comes of the 
Scottish race and of a family in which he takes just 
pride because of its firm and continuous share in the 
professions and in industry. Alfred Alanson Grant's 
immediate ancestry is given in the preceding biography 
of William Grant. 

Alfred Alanson Grant, son of Peter and his second 
wife, Rebecca (Graham) Grant, was born Decem- 
ber 31, 1869, in Upper Stewiackc, Colchester County, 
Nova Scotia. Afterwards graduating at Pictou Acad- 
emy, he then taught school for four years in Pictou 
County. In 1893 he removed to Northampton, to enter 
the employ of his brother William, in the ice business, 
so continuing to 1921, when he took over the business of 
the Norwood Ice Company, Inc., and became president 
of that concern, which does an extensive wholesale and 
retail business. 

Mr. Grant served as a member of the Northampton 
City Council one year, and of the Board of Aldermen 
two years. In 1919 he served on the City Committee, 
and was a Representative to the State Legislature in 
1919. His fraternal affiliations are with Jerusalem 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, of Northampton; 
and the Royal Arch Chapter of Masons ; also Nona- 
tuck Lodge, Independent Order of Odd Fellows; Wil- 
liamsburg Lodge, Knights of Pythias; and the Ancient 
Order of United Workmen. He is a member of the 
board of trustees of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

Alfred Alanson Grant married, February 3, 1904, 
Mary MacKenzie, of Greenfield, Nova Scotia, daugh- 
ter of Daniel and Christy (Ross) MacKenzie, and they 
are the parents of : Donald Alfred, born January 31, 
1905, a student at De Pauw University of Greencastle, 
Indiana; Marion Christine, born June 10, 1906, now at 
college; and Jeanetta Martha, born February 22, 1910. 



THOMAS F. CASSIDY— Among the leaders of 
the Berkshire County bar, who with his brother, Francis 
L. Cassidy, conducts law offices in Pittsfield and Adams, 
is former State Senator Thomas F. Cassidy, who is well 
known throughout the Commonwealth of Massachu- 
setts not alone for his legal ability, legislative experi- 
ence and prominence in Democratic party councils, but 
also for his brilliant oratorical powers, which have made 
his services much in demand on numerous and varied 
occasions. 

Mr. Cassidy is a native of Adams, born June i, 1875. 
He was educated in Adams grammar and high schools 
and Cornell University Law School, whence he was 
graduated in the class of 1896, with the degree of Bach- 
elor of Laws. In the year of his graduation he was ad- 
mitted to the Berkshire County bar and at once entered 
upon the practice of his profession. Business at his 
office had increased to such a volume that after fifteen 
years, in 1910, he formed a partnership by taking into 
association with him his brother, Francis W. Cassidy, 
and the firm became knovm as Cassidy & Cassidy. From 
the start the brothers began to attract a larger number of 



clients, and they enjoy a large general practice through- 
out Berkshire County. Thomas Cassidy, the senioT 
member of the firm, now has his residence, known as 
"The Cedars," at Cheshire. Besides occupying a law 
office in that town and another in Adams, the main office 
is at No. 7 North Street, Pittsfield. The fame of 
Thomas Cassidy as a pleader at the bar soon spread be- 
yond the confines of Berkshire, and his voice was heard 
on many a platform and in the councils of his party in 
different parts of the State. He had become an influ- 
ential Democrat and leader. In 1906 he was elected 
Senator from the Berkshire District to the General 
Court at Boston, and reelected for second term, but 
declined to run for a third term. Mr. Cassidy is a 
member of the Berkshire Bar Association, of which he 
is a past president; the Adams Lodge, Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks, and St. Luke''s Roman Cath- 
olic Church of Cheshire. 

Thomas F. Cassidy married Ada R. Lawrence, and 
to them were born two children: Francis L., educated 
in the grammar and high schools, studied a year at Col- 
gate University, and two years a student at New York 
University School of Finance, now a student in Boston 
University Law School. Elizabeth, educated in the 
grammar and high schools, took a special musical course 
at the Ithaca Conservatory of Music, Ithaca, New York. 
She also studied music under special tutors and now is 
a finished musician. 



WILLIAM STERLING MORTON— The progres- 
sive attitude of Judge William Sterling Morton, of 
Adams, places him in the front rank of his profession, 
and his fulfillment of large responsibilities in profes- 
sional and business fields, over a period of thirty years, 
forms a record of eminent and permanent usefulness. 
Judge Morton is an able lawyer, a discerning jurist and, 
as a financier, has revealed profound judgment on affairs 
of large import. He is now, perhaps best known for 
his activity in the world of finance while in parallel 
lines of progress his contemporaries render him the 
highest esteem and confidence. Judge Morton is the 
son of Alexander and Ellen (Logan) Morton, his father 
for many years active in the textile industry, also in 
farming activities. 

William Sterling Morton was born in Paisley, Scot- 
land, November 5, 1865. The family coming to America 
in his boyhood, his education was principally received in 
this country. He is a graduate of the Law Department 
of Drake University at Des Moines, Iowa, class of 1889. 
He was admitted to the bar of Massachusetts in Febru- 
ary of 1894, and has been active in practice since in this 
State with the exception of the years 1901 and 1902 
when he practiced law in Guthrie, Oklahoma. Upon 
his return to Massachusetts, or shortly after. Judge 
Morton was appointed special justice of the 4th District 
of Berkshire (1902) and served in that capacity for 
twenty-three years. His position as a leading attorney 
and jurist of this section naturally led to his being 
sought for cooperation in various branches of progress. 
His connection in official capacities with the South 
Adams Savings Bank, of which he is now president, 
began 1909 when he was elected a member of the board 



56 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



of trustees. He has served on the board of investment 
since 1914. Judge Morton succeeded F. E. Mole, as 
president of this institution in January of 1024 and under 
his able leadership the bank unquestionably is going 
forward to ever larger success. In the present year 
(1924) Judge Morton was elected a director of the 
First National Bank of Adams and he is further a 
director of the Adams Cooperative Bank. His influence 
in the field of finance is ever for progress and for wider 
usefulness of the institutions to the people, to assure 
their economic security. A Republican in his political 
convictions and a fearless leader in the party, Judge 
Morton was elected town clerk of Adams in April of 
1909 and still serves in that capacity. He has been a 
member of the State Republican Committee since 1920 
and his endeavors are always progressive. Fraternally 
he is a member of Berkshire Lodge. Free and Accepted 
Masons, of Adams; Corinthian Chapter, Royal Arch 
Masons, of which he is Past High Priest; St. Paul's 
Commandery, Knights Templar; and Boston Consistory, 
Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite in which he holds the 
thirty-second degree. He is further a member of the 
Colonial Club of Adams, the Park Club, of Pittsfield, 
and attends the Congregational Church of Adams. 

William Sterling Morton married, in Adams, October 
I, 1902, Edith Williams Marsh, daughter of Oscar and 
Delia (Williams) Marsh, and they are the parents of 
one daughter: Edith Marsh, born April 18, 1905. 



ARTHUR PERCY WOOD— The name of Wood 
is traceable back to the Middle Ages, and there have 
been many men and women of note in the many branches 
of the family. Arthur Percy Wood traces his genealogy 
through men prominent both in Europe and America. 
As far back as the Doomsday Book in England the name 
is found in its latin form, de Silva, in Suffolk County. 
During the eleventh and twelfth centuries the names of 
many families were adopted as "Wood" because they 
lived in or nearby some woodland. This was the same 
way in which other families came to be known as Hill, 
Bridges, Lakes, Rivers, Ponds, etc. In many instances 
the original spelling of the name was Atwood, Bywood, 
or with some similar prefix, but those prefixes have since 
often been dropped, leaving the name in its simpler form. 

(I) The Wood family of New England, of which 
Arthur Percy Wood is a prominent member, have 
played a large part in the affairs of the country. Eben- 
ezer Wood, the great-grandfather of Arthur Percy 
Wood, was born March 19, 1791, and died in East- 
hampton, Massachusetts, March 26, 1845. He married 
on November 24, 1813, Mary W. Jordan, who was born 
in February, 1793, and died January 9, 1870. Their 
children were: Ebenezer Trumbull, of whom further; 
Rachael, Samuel and Elizabeth. 

(II) Ebenezer Trumbull Wood was born in Easthamp- 
ton, Massachusetts, December 16, 1814, and died Septem- 
ber 17, 1891. He was a veterinary surgeon. He married 
Betsy Hooker, daughter of Nathan Hooker. She died 
September 23, 1897. Their children were: Delia; Ebe- 
nezer Trumbull (2) of whom further; James; Luther; 
Mary; Lizzie and Emma. 

(III) Ebenezer Trumbull (2) Wood v^ras born in 
Northampton, Massachusetts, in 1847, and died March 8, 



1916. He was educated in the public schools of North- 
ampton, became associated with his father in the livery 
business, and later succeeded to the business alone. He 
married Emma Eliza Crowinshield, of Ludlow, Massa- 
chusetts, who was born April 15, 1850, and who died 
April 2, 1921. She was the daughter of Caleb Crowin- 
shield, of Chesterfield, New Hampshire, and Lucy 
(Lyon) Crowinshield, of Ludlow, Massachusetts. Caleb 
Crowinshield was born in Chesterfield, August 10, 1828. 
He enlisted in the Northern armies in the Civil War, 
September 5, 1861, and served for three years as a mem- 
ber of the 27th Regiment, Massachusetts Volunteers. 
He was discharged December 22, 1863, but reenlisted, 
was taken prisoner, and died in Andersonville Prison, 
September 15, 1864. His grandfather was John Crow- 
inshield, of Guilford, Vermont. He settled in Chester- 
field, New Hampshire, where he married Sally Stevens. 
Their son Caleb married Sally Thomas. They in turn 
had a son, Caleb, who married Lucy Lyon, February 
12, 1849. She was born in 1827, and died in 1887, and 
was the daughter of John and Hannah (White) Lyon. 
Their children were: Emma Eliza, born April 15, 1850, 
and who married Ebenezer T. Wood above mentioned; 
Charles C. Viola J., George H., Hannah C, Harriet 
A., and Harriet E. The children of Ebenezer T. and 
Emma E. (Crowinshield) Wood are: Arthur Percy, of 
whom further; Walter, deceased; Stella, Raymond 
Lester, who married Alice Messier, and they have a 
son, Raymond Lester. 

(IV) Arthur Percy Wood was born in Northampton, 
Massachusetts, March 9. 1877. He was educated in the 
public schools of that city. However, he was eager to 
enter business, and at fourteen years of age became an 
employee of the firm of B. E. Cook & Son, with whom 
he remained for twenty years. Finally, in 1912, he 
went into the jewelry business on his own account, and 
his venture has proved exceptionally profitable. His 
place of business still occupies the same site as it did at 
the beginning of his commercial career, and is one of the 
land marks of Northampton. 

Mr. Wood is a member of the Nonotuck Lodge, In- 
dependent Order of Odd Fellows and is Past Chief 
Patriarch of the Mt. Holyoke Encampment, No. 15, and 
a member of Rebekah Lodge; he was vice-president of 
the Kiwanis Club for several years; president of the 
Credit Bureau, and a member of the Baptist Church. 

Mr. Wood married, September 9, 1897, Alice Chap- 
man. She is the daughter of Joseph and Nellie (Dens- 
more) Chapman. Their children are: i. Percy Chap- 
man, born August 13, 1898. Percy Chapman Wood 
was educated in the public schools and Smith's Agri- 
cultural School. He is associated with his father in the 
jewelry business. During the World War he enlisted 
in the navy and was stationed at Newport, Rhode Island, 
and Boston. He is a member of the Nonotuck Lodge, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and Mt. Holyoke 
Encampment. Percy Chapman Wood married Frances 
Anna Novotny of Northampton, October 30, 1923. She 
is the daughter of Joseph and Nervana Novotny. Their 
children are: Coolidge Wood, born August 11, 1924, 
and Arthur Ralph, born June 3, 1925. 2. Mabel, who 
died in infancy. 3. Lucille, born in June, 1906. 4. 
Alice Thelma, born in December, 1907. 




^^(j/<lyU-'^^^^ "^/d^c/cO^i^ 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



57 



CHARLES WALKER KINNEY— The Kinney 
family is traced back to Sir Thomas Kinney, a nobleman 
of England. Benjamin Kinney came from England, and 
located first in Connecticut. He was a carpenter and 
joiner, and married Martha Harris, by whom he had a 
son and a daughter. The son, Joel Kinney, was born 
August 24, 1792, and died in Sunderland, Vermont, 
November 3, 1864. For thirty years he was a justice 
of the peace, and was a member of the Vermont Legis- 
lature. He also held many town ofifices. On January 
15, 1814, he married Clarissa Ford, of Bozrah, Con- 
necticut, born September 8, 1790, died January 14, 1828, 
daughter of Charles and Annie (Harris) Ford. Their 
children were: Joel Harris, Laura Dysa, Charles Milton, 
of whom further; Benjamin Harris, Lora Ann, Betsy, 
Clarissa, Lorenzo Dwight, Joel Franklin. 

Charles Milton Kinney was born in Sunderland, Ver- 
mont, in July, 1818, and died in Northampton, Massa- 
chusetts, November 5, 191 1. He was educated in the 
schools of his native town, and learned the marble- 
cutting trade in Pittsfield, Massachusetts. In 1845 
he came to Northampton, where he carried on marble 
works for thirty years. In 1865 he purchased a farm of 
thirteen acres on Prospect Street, near the Dickinscm 
Hospital, where he lived for thirty-two years. He was 
a member of the Northampton Grange, and of the Uni- 
tarian Society. On June i, 1842, he married Submit 
Walker, born in Leyden, Massachusetts. August 8, 1817, 
died February 17, 1908, daughter of Benjamin and 
Nancy (Lee) Walker. Their children were: i. Albert 
Clinton, born December 15, 1843, died in 191 9. 2. 
Charles Walker, of whom further. 3. Ella Lee, born 
November 28, 1848; married William H. Abbott, of 
Holyoke, Massachusetts. 4. Martha Anna, born in 
1855, married Thomas L. Irwin. 5. Fred, born in 1856, 
died in 191 5. 6. Edward, born in 1850. 

Charles Walker Kinney, born at Northampton, Massa- 
chusetts, August 15, 1845, was educated in the public 
schools and Worcester Academy. When through with 
his studies he learned the marble cutting business, and 
on the retirement of his father took up the marble and 
monumental enterprise founded by the latter. Under the 
name of the Hampshire Marble Works he carried on 
the business until December, 1924, when he sold the 
property to the Northampton Hotel Association. Mr. 
Kinney's father bought the property at the corner of 
King and Court Streets in 1845 for three hundred dol- 
lars. Mr. Kinney sold it to the hotel company for $9,000. 
Mr. Kinney has worked at the marble business for sixty 
years, and has now retired from activity and is enjoying 
a well-earned rest. For a period of forty years he has 
been a noted flute and piccolo player and has performed 
on these instruments at home and abroad to great 
acceptance. He has performed with the Boston Sym- 
phony Orchestra at Smith College entertainments, and 
this talent has been his one diversion during a long and 
busy career. He has been a member of the North- 
ampton city government, serving in the City Council two 
or three terms, has been president of the city Water 
Board since 1890, and still holds that position; he is 
vice-president of the Nonotuck Savings Bank, of which 
President Coolidge was a former president; and he has 
been otherwise active in the city's interest. Mr. Kinney's 



residence in Northampton is next door to President 
Coolidge's residence. Mr. Kinney is a member of 
Jerusalem Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, of 
Northampton, and a member of the Christian Science 
Church. 

Mr. Kinney married (first) June 9, 1873, Eva Col- 
lins, of Ludlow, Massachusetts, who died April 12, 
1879. She was a daughter of Henry and Mary (Fuller) 
Collins. He married (second) April 20, 1880. Mrs. 
Harriet Jane (Annable) Lambert, born in Northampton, 
a daughter of Nathaniel and Lucinda (Clark) Annable, 
and widow of Louis Lambert. By her first marriage 
Mrs. Kinney had a son, Louis Halstead Lambert, now 
with the Victor Sporting Goods Company, of Spring- 
field, Massachusetts. He married Emma Riedell, and 
they have a daughter Hazel, who married Adrian Hines, 
now in the Regular Army. Mr. and Mrs. Kinney have 
one son, Charles Milton Kinney, born January 27, 1882. 
He is a professor and director of music in Columbia 
University, New York City. He is a graduate of Am- 
herst College, and has studied music abroad. He taught 
music in the Parker School in Chicago for ten years; 
was an organist in Redlands, California, and has been a 
private instructor to the children of John D. Rocke- 
feller, Jr. He now teaches voice culture and the piano 
in Columbia University. 



CLARENCE EUGENE BELDEN— Among the 
prominent men of Bradstreet, Massachusetts, is Qar- 
ence Eugene Belden, associated in a large way with the 
wholesale produce business and with several important 
business enterprises of Western Massachusetts. Mr. 
Belden is the descendant of a very old and honorable 
New England family which traces its record in Amer- 
ica back to the early years of the seventeenth century, 
and has been prominent for many generations in Hat- 
field, Massachusetts, of which Bradstreet is really a part 
The surname Belden is of very old English origin, and 
is a place name, derived from Bayldon or Baildon 
Common, a chapelry in the West Riding of Yorkshire, 
overlooking the Aire River, which was in existence as 
long ago as A. D. 550 as a part of the Angle kingdom 
of Deira, and has been the seat of the Bayldon family 
since the reign of King John. The name was spelled 
Bayldon, Belden, Belding, Baildon, at various times and 
by various branches of the family. The Bayldons of 
Bayldon have long borne arms as follows: 

Arms — Argent, a fesse between three fleurs-de-lis 
sable. 

(I) The earliest English ancestor from whom direct 
descent is traced was Walter Bayldon, who married a 
daughter of Thomas Gargrave. 

(II) John Bayldon, son of Walter Bayldon, inherited 
his father's estate, died December 22, 1526. He mar- 
ried (first) a daughter of John Haldenby, of Haldenby, 
County York, and (second) on October 15, 1515, Mary, 
daughter of Edward Copley, of Doncaster. By his first 
wife he was the father of Robert, of further mention; 
by his second wife, of Edward, William and George. 

(III) Robert Baildon, son and heir of John, was born 
in 1499. In 1519 he was groom of the Chambers to 
Henry VIII. and was one of his attendants on the Field 
of the Cloth of Gold. He married (first) Frances, 



58 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



buried at Kippax, May 21, 1587, daughter and co-heir 
of Henry Johnson of Leathley ; and they were the par- 
ents of Ellen, Dorothy, Elizabeth and Francis, the last- 
named, the eldest son and heir. Robert Baildon married 
(second) Margaret, buried September 15, 1598, daugh- 
ter of Richard Goodrick, of Ripston, and they were the 
parents of William, Richard, of further mention, Cuth- 
bert, Martin, Henry, Muriel, and Clare. 

(IV) Richard Belden or Baildon, son of Robert and 
Margaret (Goodrick) Baildon, and immigrant ancestor 
of the New England Beldens, was baptized at Kippax, 
County York, May 26, 1591. He took the oath of al- 
legiance in England in 1613 with the intention of be- 
coming a soldier under Captain George Blundell, after- 
wards Sir George Blundell. Some years afterwards he 
and his brother, William Belding, came to America and 
settled in Wethersfield, Connecticut. William later 
moved to Norwalk, but died in Wethersfield in 1660, 
leaving a wife, Temsen, and three sons, Samuel, Daniel 
and John. Richard Belden or Baildon, who lived for 
the rest of his life in Wethersfield, was allotted eight 
tracts of land by the town on February 7, 1641, had a 
case in court in 1643, and was a bondsman for George 
Chappel in 1645. In 1657 he was admitted as a freeman, 
the inventory of his estate having been taken on August 
22, 1655. He had married in England, and was the 
father of Samuel, of further mention, and John, a 
trooper of Wethersfield. 

(V) Samuel Belden, son of Richard Belden, was born in 
England, came to America and was in Wethersfield with 
his father between 1644 and 1660. In 1661, as a citizen 
of Hatfield, Massachusetts, he fought in King Philip's 
War. In Hatfield he had an estate valued at one hun- 
dred pounds, his house lot being on the east side of 
what is now Main Street, near the center of town, and 
he served as selectman, and was otherwise active in 
town and church affairs. He died there January 3, 1713. 
Samuel Belden married (first) Mary, of unknown sur- 
name, killed by the Indians in the attack on Hatfield, 
September 19, 1677 ; and they were the parents of Mary, 
Samuel, Stephen, of further mention, Sarah, Anna, 
Ebenezer and John. He married (second) on June 15, 
1678, Mary, died September 17, 1691, widow of Thomas 
Wells; (third) Mary (Meekins) Allis, daughter of 
Thomas Meekins and widow of John Allis, and (fourth) 
Sarah, widow of John Wells. 

(VI) Stephen Belden, son of Samuel and Mary Bel- 
den, was born at Wethersfield, Connecticut, December 
28, 1658, died October 6, 1720. He married, August 16, 
1682, Mary Wells, born September 8, 1664, daughter of 
Thomas Wells. After his death she married (second) 
Captain Joseph Field, of Sunderland, and died March 7, 
1 75 1. Stephen and Mary (Wells) Belden were the 
parents of nine children, all born at Hatfield: i. Eliza- 
beth, born February 2, 1683, married Richard Scott. 2. 
Mary, born May 20, 1685, married John Waite. 3. 
Sarah, born October 25, 1687. 4. Stephen, born Febru- 
ary 22, 1689, married Mindwell Wright. 5. Samuel, 
born October 23, 1692, married Elizabeth Dickinson. 6. 
Jonathan, born 1694, married Hepsibah Dickinson. 7. 
Joshua, of further mention. 8. Esther, born 1697, mar- 
ried Nathaniel Gunn. 9. Lydia, born July 24, 1714, un- 
married. 



(VII) Joshua Belden, son of Stephen Belden, was 
born in Hatfield, in 1696, and died in 1738. His resi- 
dence was on Middle Lane, later called School Street. 
He married, on December i, 1725, Sarah Field, daugh- 
ter of John and Sarah (Coleman) Field, of Hatfield. 
She married after his death (second) Thomas Noble, of 
Westfield, and died August 17, 1763. Joshua and Sarah 
(Field) Belden were the parents of: I. Stephen, born 
September 26, 1726. 2. Lucy, born March 7, 1729. 3. 
Sarah, born 1731. 4. Joshua, of further mention. 5. 
Elisha, born March 28, 1736. 6. Jabez, born April 10, 
1738. 

(VIII) Joshua Belden, son of Joshua and Sarah 
(Field) Belden, was born in Hatfield October 29, 1733, 
died there September 20, 1805. He married, in 1757 
Anna Fitch, born 1738, died November 8, 1819, daughter 
of Joseph Fitch, of East Windsor, Connecticut, and sis- 
ter of John Fitch, famed for his steamboat invention 
They had thirteen children: i. Stephen, born April 19 
1758. 2. Anna, born February 15, 1760, died young 
3. Anna, born July 22, 1761, married Elihu Smith. 4 
Lucy, born February 17, 1763, married John Bell. 5 
Irene, born October 18, 1764, died young. 6. Joshua 
born June 17, 1766. 7. Irene, born October 18, 1768. 
married John Hibbard. 8. Stephen, born March 6, 1771 
9. Augustus, born February 28, 1773. 10. Francis, born 
September 15, 1775. 11. Reuben, of further mention. 
12. Seth, bom February 12, 1780. 13. Aaron, born Jan- 
uary 22, 1782. 

(IX) Reuben Belden, son of Joshua and Anna 
(Fitch) Belden, was born in Whately, January 3, 1778, 
died June 27, 1854. He had a very large farm and was 
a prominent member of the community. He married 
(first) on September 26, 1802, Sally Locke, bom in 
Shutesbury in 1774, died October 12, 1806, daughter of 
Joseph and Mary (Nims) Locke; (second) on April 2, 
1807, Hannah Hibbard, born March 29, 1790, died April 
I, 1845, daughter of George and Lydia (Allen) Hib- 
bard, of Hadley; (third) in January, 1846, Anna Burn- 
ham, born at Hartford, September 20, 1778, died Sep- 
tember 18, 1847, daughter of Reuben and Chloe (Fitch) 
Burnham; and (fourth), July 25, 1848, Laura (Allis) 
Woodruff, who survived him. He was the father of 
nine children: i. A son, born February 6, 1808, died 
young. 2. Julia, born September 9, 1809, married Zebina 
Smith. 3. Sally Locke, born October 13, 1812, married 
Alvin S. Hall. 4. Lucy, born March 3, 1814, married 
Solomon Mosher. 5. Hannah, born May 26, 1816, mar- 
ried Calvin B. Marsh. 6. Electa, born April 3, 1818, 
married Austin S. Jones. 7. Reuben Hibbard, of fur- 
ther mention. 8. Diana, born February 19, 1822, mar- 
ried Joseph Knight. 9. Elihu, born February 4, 
1824, married Roxana, daughter of Moses H. and 
Asenath (Belden) Leonard. 

(X) Reuben Hibbard Belden, son of Reuben Belden, 
was born at Whately January 25, 1820, died January 27, 
1897, in Hatfield. He lived for the greater part of his 
life on a farm in North Hatfield, left him by his father, 
and was prominent in town affairs there and a deacon 
in the church. He served as selectman through the 
Civil War period, and was for many years a member 
of the School Committee. For years he gave time to 



W liSTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



59 



the study of medicine and practiced among the poor, 
with no remuneration. He married, on October 5, 1842, 
Sarah Ann Loomis, born October 12, 1817, died Novem- 
ber, 1901, daughter of Jonathan Qilton and Electa 
(Stockbridge) Loomis, of Whately ; and they had seven 
children: i. Hannah Almira, born October 8, 1843, died 
January 28, 1909, married, on October 19, 1875, Daniel 
W. Wells, of Hatfield. 2. Reuben, born July 8, 1845, 
died December i, 1919. 3. Sarah Elizabeth, bom Sep- 
tember II, 1847, died November 16, 1865. 4. George C., 
born September 5, 1850; died April 20, 1910. 5. William 
H.; married and had a son Robert Loomis, a biography 
of whom follows. 6. Herbert H., born June 2, 1855; died 
August 2, 1909. 7. Clarence Eugene, of further mention. 

(XI) Qarence Eugene Belden, son of Reuben Hib- 
bard and Sarah Ann (Loomis) Belden, was born in 
Hatfield, January 29, 1859, and was educated in the 
public schools and in Smith Academy, of Hatfield. As a 
boy he helped on his father's farm, and in 1885 began 
farming for himself in the part of Hatfield known as 
Bradstreet. Two years later he became a traveling 
salesman for the National Fertilizer Company, of 
Bridgeport, Connecticut, and was connected with the 
concern in this capacity for a period of thirty-five years, 
becoming also, after 1894, secretary and a director of the 
company. Mr. Belden moved to Sunderland, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1894, but returned to Bradstreet in 1907, and 
has since made^ his home there. He is now director and 
treasurer of the South Deerfield Onion Storage Com- 
pany; director in the Northampton National Bank of 
Northampton, and director in the Produce National 
Bank of South Deerfield, Massachusetts, for the charter 
of which he made the original application. The Hat- 
field trustee of Cooley-Dickinson Hospital of North- 
ampton. By political conviction Mr. Belden is a Re- 
publican, and his religious affiliations are with the Con- 
gregational Church. He is president of the Board of 
Trustees of Smith Academy, of Hatfield, and other- 
wise plays an active part in civic progress in the 
community. Fraternally Mr. Belden is a member of 
Jerusalem Lodge, of Northampton, Free and Accepted 
Masons ; Northampton Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; 
Northampton Council, Royal and Select Masters ; 
Northampton Commandery, Knights Templar; and 
Melha Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the 
Mystic Shrine, of Springfield, and holds the thirty- 
second degree in the order. 

He married, on October 19, 1892, Nellie Maude Snow, 
born May 13, 1866, daughter of Horace Harrison and 
Abbie Stall (Boss) Snow, of Providence Rhode Island, 
and like Mr. Belden, a descendant of an old New Eng- 
land family. 

Clarence Eugene and Nellie Maude (Snow) Belden 
had two children : Edgar M., born November 2, 1894, 
died November 23, 1894; and Abbie Snow, born August 
2, 1896. She is a graduate of Smith College, post grad- 
uate of Wellesley College, and assistant professor of 
hygiene in Smith College. 

(The Snow Line). 

Arms — Or, on a fess between two bars nebulae sable 
a lion pas.sant of the field. 

Crest — A demi-llon or, holding In his right paw a 
tassel sable. 

Motto — Per crucem ad coronam. 



(I) The progenitor of the Snow family in America 
was William Snow, born in England in 1624, who came 
to America in the ship "Susan and Ellen" in 1635 with 
Richard Derby, to whom he was apprenticed, his age 
being given as eighteen, although he was really only 
eleven. Richard Derby settled in Plymouth, and in 
1638 William Snow was assigned to Edward Doten to 
serve seven years at Plymouth, and was on the list of 
chose able to bear arms. He afterwards settled at Dux- 
bury, and still later was one of the proprietors and first 
settlers of Bridgewater and took the oath of loyalty 
there in 1657. He died in 1708 at the age of eighty-four. 
William Snow's wife was named Rebecca, and they 
were the parents of eight children: i. William, mar- 
ried in 1686 Naomi Whitman. 2. James, died in the 
Phipps expedition to Canada in 1690. 3. Joseph, of 
further mention. 4. Benjamin, married Elizabeth, 
daughter of Joseph Alden; and married (second) Sarah 
Cary. 5. Mary. 6. Lydia. 7. Hannah. 8. Rebecca. 

(II) Joseph Snow, son of William and Rebecca Snow, 
was born in West Bridgewater, Connecticut, and died 
there in 1753. His wife's name was Hopestill, and they 
were the parents of the following children: i. Deacon 
Joseph, of further mention. 2. Mary, born in 1691, 
married Joseph Lathrop. 3. James, born 1693, married 
Ruth Snow. 4. Rebecca, married Thomas Wade. 5. 
Isaac, married Hannah Shaw. 6. Jonathan (twin), 
born 1707, married (first) a wife of unknovra name, 
(second) Sarah Soule. 7. David (twin) born 1707, 
married Joanna Hayward. 

(III) Deacon Joseph (2) Snow, son of Joseph Snow, 
was born at West Bridgewater in 1690, moved to Easton, 
Massachusetts, in 1730, and later to Providence, Rhode 
Island. He was a deacon and afterwards a colleague of 
Rev. Mr. Wilson in the ministry. His children were: 
I. Joseph (3), of further mention. 2. James, bom 1717. 
3. Elizabeth, born 1719. 4. Susanna, born 1722. 5. 
Sarah, born 1725. 6. Daniel, born 1727. 

(IV) Joseph (3) Snow, son of Deacon Joseph (2) Snow, 
was bom in Bridgewater, March 26, 1715. Either he 
or his son Joseph was, like Deacon Joseph Snow, a min- 
ister. He married (first) on November i, 1737, Sarah 
Field, of Providence, born August 9, 1710, and (second) 
on March 14, 1754, Rebecca Grant. By his first wife 
he was the father of : i. Sarah, born in 1738. 2. John, 
born in 1740. 3. Joseph, born 1741, died in infancy. 4. 
Joseph (4), of further mention. 5. Lydia, born 1744. 
6. Susannah, born 1745. 7. Elizabeth, born 1747. 8. 
Abigail, born 1749. 9. Josiah, born 1750, and by his 
second wife of: 10. Rebecca, bom in 1756. 11. Samuel, 
born in 1758. 12. Edward, born in 1760. 13. Ben- 
jamin, born in 1 76 1. 

(V) Joseph (4) Snow, son of Joseph and grandson 
of Deacon Joseph, was born in Providence, Rhode 
Island, September 2, 1742. He married, at Providence, 
March 7, 1773, Sarah, daughter of Jonathan Badger 
Noyes, and among his children were Sarah, Thomas, of 
further mention, and Stephen Wardwell. 

(VI) Thomas Snow, son of Joseph (4) and Sarah 
(Noyes) Snow, was born in or near Providence about 
1785, and married, at Providence, October 13, 1811, Han- 
nah Barber. His children were: Alpheus, Thomas, 
Caroline and Horace Harrison, of whom further. 



6o 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



(VII) Horace Harrison Snow, son of Thomas and 
Hannah (Barber) Snow, was born February 20, 1826, 
in Providence, Rhode Island. He was a carpenter, and 
later assayer and mixer for the firm of Sackett, Davis 
& Company, of Providence, manufacturers of jewelry, 
with whom he was connected for many years. After 
this concern went out of business he retired. He was 
a member of the Methodist Church and a member and 
Past Master of St. John Lodge, Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons. He married, October 27, 1852, Abbie Stall Boss, 
born December 15, 1826, in Newport, died in 1894, 
daughter of Thomas Boss and they had five children, all 
born in Providence: i. Ida, born June, 1855, married 
Walter Wilkinson. 2. Mabel A., born May 21, 1864, 
married Benjamin W. Putnam. 3. Laura M., born 
February 20, 1865. 4. Nellie Maude, born May 13, 1866, 
who married Clarence E. Belden, as related above. 
5. Howard, born September 28, 1869, married Georgia 
Young. 



ROBERT LOOMIS BELDEN— One of the prom- 
inent producers of tobacco and onions in the vicinity of 
Hatfield, Massachusetts, is Robert Loomis Belden, the 
descendant of an old New England family whose lineage 
is traced in the sketch of his uncle, Qarence Eugene 
Belden (see preceding biography). Mr. Belden is the 
grandson of Reuben Hibbard and Sarah Ann (Loomis) 
Belden, referred to at length in that sketch. His 
father, William Howard Belden, was born in that part 
of Hatfield known as Bradstreet, December 28, 1852. 
He was educated in the Hatfield public schools and Mon- 
son Academy and later, Bemardston Academy. He has 
always lived on the old homestead where he was born, 
and in the house built by his Grandfather Belden, and 
has farmed all his life until recent years, when he has 
been retired from active work. Mr. Belden, Sr., served 
at one time as register of values, and has otherwise 
taken an active interest in local affairs in Bradstreet, 
where he is held in high regard. He married, on Feb- 
ruary 28, 1878, Emma Estelle Eaton, bom at Nashua, 
New Hampshire, October 22, 1856, daughter of James 
and Adeline Eaton, and they are the parents of the fol- 
lowing children : i. Howard Eaton, born December 7, 
1878, married, on October 21, 1908, Anna Edith Belden. 
2. Robert Loomis, of further mention. 3. William 
Lucius, born December 15, 1884. 4. Harrison Reuben, 
bom November 12, 1890. 

Robert Loomis Belden was bom in Bradstreet, a part 
of Hatfield, Massachusetts, October 2, 1882, and was 
educated in the local public schools. He has always 
lived on the old homestead, which comprises some one 
hundred acres. In connection with his brother, William 
L., under the firm name of Belden Brothers, he pro- 
duces a large acreage of tobacco, onions and potatoes, 
and has one of the finest farms in the valley. On the 
farm is a large warehouse where from sixty to seventy- 
five people are employed in the packing of tobacco, and 
for the past fifteen years Mr. Belden has been buyer 
for the concern of Meyer & Mendelsohn, of New York, 
dealers in tobacco. He is a member of Jemsalem 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, of Northampton ; of 
the Royal Arch Masons; and of the Congregational 
Church in Hatfield. 



Mr. Belden married Minnie Reba Graves, of Hatfield, 
daughter of Alfred H. and Anna (Hunt) Graves. She 
is a descendant of Thomas Graves through (2) Ser- 
geant Isaac, (3) John, (4) Elnathan, (5) Captain Perez, 
(6) Levi, (7) Deacon Jonathan, and (8) Alfred How- 
ard Graves. Mr. and Mrs. Belden have five children: 

1. Anna Hunt, born March 18, 1906. 2. Laura Eaton, 
born January 6, 1909. 3. Rebecca Graves, born March 

2, 1914. 4. Murray, bom October 8, 191 5. 5. Lois, 
born April 19, 1917. 



DR. JOHN JOSEPH BOLAND, well known phy- 
sician and surgeon of Berkshire County, and veteran 
surgeon of the World War, who practices his profes- 
sion in Pittsfield, was born May 5, 1889, in Westboro, 
Massachusetts, son of James H. and Mary (McKnight) 
Boland. He attended the grammar and high schools 
of his native town, and then entered Holy Cross Col- 
lege, Worcester, from which he was graduated in the 
class of 191 1 with the degree of B. A. He then went to 
the University of Vermont, where he took his degree of 
M. D. in 1915. He served as interne at St Vincent 
Hospital, Worcester. Desirous of perfecting himself 
still further in his profession. Dr. Boland took a post- 
graduate course in the New York Polyclinic Hospital. 
He was a student in that institution when the World 
War broke out, and he at once volunteered for service, 
when the United States entered the conflict. He re- 
ceived a commission as first lieutenant in the medical 
corps and was sent to the Army Medical School, Fort 
Oglethorpe, Georgia. He was afterward transferred to 
the United States Army Hospital, New Haven, Connec- 
ticut, and then to the government hospital at Otisville, 
New York, where he was surgeon and had charge of the 
tuberculosis department. From Otisville, Dr. Boland 
came to Pittsfield, in which city he has conducted his 
practice since 1920. He is chief of the tuberculosis 
clinic at the House of Mercy Hospital, Pittsfield. He 
specializes in surgery and in the treatment of tuber- 
culosis. 

Dr. Boland is a member of the Massachusetts Med- 
ical Society, Berkshire County Medical Society, the 
Knights of Columbus and St. Joseph's Roman Catholic 
Church, Pittsfield. 

Dr. Boland married, February 9, 1919, A. May O'Neill. 
Their residence is at No. 2 White Terrace, Pittsfield. 



JUDGE WALTER B. SANFORD— A distin- 
guished figure in Western Massachusetts and one of the 
leading men of Great Barrington, Judge Walter B. 
Sanford has high attainment to his credit and in his for- 
ward looking spirit he meets duties and responsibilities 
with the force and judgment of the courageous and able 
executive. Active in practice for thirty-three years, 
Judge Sanford has made his influence felt in many 
branches of worthy endeavor as well as in his profes- 
sional field. He is a son of John F. and Sarah A. 
(Brown) Sanford, his father a pioneer merchant of 
Great Barrington and a man of high attainments. 

Walter B. Sanford vras born in Great Barrington, 
August 22, 1863. Following his elementary studies at 
Sedgwick Institute, he attended high school in Great 
Barrington, his graduation occurring in the class of 




<^JeJ~ ^.^^^^^^ 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



6i 



1881. Thereafter he entered WiHiams College, from 
which he graduated in the class of 1885 with the degree 
of Bachelor of Arts. He was admitted to the bar of 
his native State in 1891. Taking up his professional 
activities in his birthplace he has followed general lines 
of practice principally, although many corporate in- 
terests have been placed in his hands and he has for years 
been active as attorney for the Southern Berkshire 
Power & Electric Company. For a time he practiced in 
Lee but the greater part of his career has been devoted 
to work in his Great Barrington office. He is a trustee 
of the Great Barrington Savings Bank and his interest 
in every phase of progress, particularly such as con- 
tributes to the general prosperity and well being, is 
always constructive. 

Judge Sanford's elevation to the bench was an early 
recognition of merit by one of the distinguished chief 
executives of the State. He was appointed on June i, 
1893, after only about two years of practice, as justice 
of the district court of Southern Berkshire, and is now 
one of the oldest justices in point of service in the State 
of Massachusetts, having served for thirty-one years 
in this office which he still ably fills. He has been 
active in various local offices such as town clerk, 
assessor and others and in his public service his single 
minded devotion to the duties of office place him among 
the outstanding men of the day to whom people gladly 
accord the honor so richly due. During the period 
of the World War (1917-1918) Judge Sanford was 
secretary of the Selective Service Board No. 3, and 
also gave liberally of his time and means to advance the 
many activities of the period. Fraternally he holds the 
thirty-third degree in the Masonic Order, being a mem- 
ber of Cincinnatus Lodge and the various other bodies of 
this order up to and including Connecticut Valley Con- 
sistory, Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite, also Berkshire 
Commandery, Knights Templar. Judge Sanford is ex- 
president of the Berkshire Bar Association, ex-president 
of the Congregational Club, of Berkshire, a member of 
Williams Club, of New York, also Park Club of Pitts- 
field. He is a member of the First Congregational 
Church, of which he has served as trustee, treasurer and 
in other responsible offices. 

Judge Walter B. Sanford married in Chatham, New 
York. October 18, 1893, Katharine M. Mesick, daughter 
of John P. and Frances (Payne) Mesick. 



GEORGE BARKER ADAMS— A distinguished 
figure in Western Massachusetts is George Barker 
Adams who stands at the head of financial affairs in 
Adams, as president of Greylock National Bank and the 
Adams Cooperative Bank. Mr. Adams has a long 
record of eminent usefulness to his credit, both in the 
industries and in the world of finance, and as one of the 
foremost executives of his day in this part of the State, 
he is given leading rank in local progress. His use- 
fulness links his name with many branches of beneficent 
activity and in his success and prominence he stands 
among the thoroughly representative figures of to-day 
in Berkshire County. He is a son of George W. and 
Helen (Barker) Adams. His father was a cotton manu- 
facturer of this city for many years and a member of 
one of the old and noted families of New England. 



George Barker Adams was born in Adams, January 
26, i860. His education was begun in the public schools 
there and was completed at the Hudson River Institute 
in Lansingburg, New York, His early business ex- 
perience was with the Boston Dyewood and Chemical 
Company with which he became identified as a salesman 
in the year 1880, continuing thu3 active for about five 
years. He then returned to Adarns to become treasurer 
and general manager of the Adams Brothers Manu- 
facturing Company with which he is still affiliated. As 
the years passed and Mr. Adams proved his ability and 
the excellence of his judgment, as a business executive 
he was sought by other corporate interests. He has 
now for many years been treasurer of the Hoosac 
Reservoir Company, director of the Worcester Sub- 
urban Electric Company, also of the New England Fire 
Insurance Company, a director of the Hoosac Reservoir 
Company, and a member of the shareholders committee 
of the New England Company of Boston. For many 
years a director of the Adams Brothers Manufacturing 
Company he has also long been a director of the Grey- 
lock National Bank and the Adams Cooperative Bank, 
and was made president of the former institution, also 
elected president of the Adams Cooperative Bank. 

A Republican by political affiliation and always a 
loyal and effective advocate of the party's principles, Mr. 
Adams has chosen ordinarily to avoid spectacular con- 
nection with political affairs but served for ten years 
as Committee Commissioner of Berkshire County. For 
twenty-one years he has been active on the Prudential 
Committee of the Adams Fire District and in all worthy 
movements he lends his influence to the support and en- 
dorsement of community activity. Fraternally he is 
affiliated with the Free and Accepted Masons, and his 
clubs are the Adams; the Adams Colonial; the Forest 
Park Country; the Berkshire, of North Adams; and the 
Park Club, of Pittsfield. Mr. Adams is a member of 
St. Mark's Episcopal Church, of Adams, of which he 
has been treasurer for twenty years. He resides at No. 
30 Grove Street, Adams. 



HAROLD R. GOEWEY— In legal advance in 
Western Massachusetts, Harold R. Goewey is counted 
among the leaders of the younger group and his demon- 
strated ability has already carried him to a noteworthy 
position in the professional field. He is more widely 
known in political circles, for at the present time (1924). 
he is a member of the Massachusetts State Legislature, 
serving the second year of his term. Mr. Goewey is a 
man of definite talents, whose preparations for his work 
have been made in leading institutions of America and 
whose future is unquestionably assured. He is a son 
of Philip W. and Margaret T. (Roberts) Goewey, long 
residents of Pittsfield. The elder Mr. Goewey is treas- 
urer of the Barris-Goewey Company, a leading firm of 
hardware merchants in this part of the State, with a 
fine modern store in Pittsfield. 

Harold R. Goewey was born in Pittsfield, October 
12, 1893. His education was begun in the local schools 
and following his graduation from high school, he 
covered a preparatory course at Georgetown University, 
at Washington, D. C, then entered Syracuse University, 
for his professional work. He was graduated from the 



62 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



law department of that institution in the class of 1916, 
with the degree of Bachelor of Laws and was admitted 
to the bar of this State in October of the same year. 
An able speaker and a profound student, Mr. Goewey 
has risen to high rank in legal advance and his success 
is already a demonstrated fact. His friends are confident 
that he will go forward to ever greater success and he 
is numbered among the thoroughly noteworthy men of 
the day in his chosen profession. 

Political interests have engaged a share of Mr. 
Goewey's attention from the time he established him- 
self in his professional field. He was a member of the 
Pittsfield school board in 1917, but resigned to enter the 
war. A popular young man and universally known in 
Pittsfield, his election to the Massachusetts State Legis- 
lature was a handsome compliment from the people, 
for he received a gratifying majority. As representative 
from this city, during the years 1923 and 1924, he is 
reflecting credit upon his constituency as well as honor 
upon his own name and is now serving on the Committee 
of Legal Affairs in the Legislative body. Mr. Goewey 
is a veteran of the World War, having enlisted in May 
of 1917. He was made second lieutenant of infantry and 
served until December of the following year, when he 
received his honorable discharge. Interested in various 
branches of organized advance, Mr. Goewey is a mem- 
ber of the Massachusetts Bar Association, the Berk- 
shire County Bar Association, the American Legion, 
the Alpha Chi Rho fraternity, the Park Club and the 
Central Board College Foot Ball Association. 

Harold R. Goewey married, March i, 1924, in Brook- 
lyn, H. Lois Anderson. 



HON. WILLIAM KIRK GREER— One of the 

foremost business men of Western Massachusetts is Wil- 
liam Kirk Greer, of North Adams, and in placing him in 
the highest local office of the municipal government 
the people of the city have given an impetus to civic 
affairs wlaich is strongly felt and will bear permanent 
significance to the community. An able executive of 
force and discretion, keen of vision and always in the 
forefront of progress, Mr. Greer is honored and esteemed 
by all with whom he comes in contact, and his work in 
his present responsible position is receiving the commen- 
dation of his every contemporary. Mr. Greer's history 
is a record of a steady rise in the industrial world, and 
for years he has borne a worthy part in municipal ad- 
vance. He is a son of John and Caroline (Kirk) Greer, 
and his father, who is now deceased, was active in the 
textile industry throughout his entire career. 

William Kirk Greer was born in Philadelphia, Penn- 
sylvania, October 11, 1873. His early education was re- 
ceived in the public schools of his birthplace and later 
attending the Philadelphia Textile School he was gradu- 
ated in due course. After the completion of his studies 
he entered the textile industry in the same city as an 
employee. Active thus for four years Mr. Greer then 
came to North Adams, and on August 27, 1898, accepted 
a position as textile designer for the Eclipse and Beaver 
Mills. Two years later he was made assistant superin- 
tendent and thereafter superintendent, receiving his pro- 
motion to that position at the time these mills were 
absorbed by the Hoosac Cotton Mills. This was only 



a step to a higher rank, for Mr. Greer was eventually 
made agent of the Hoosac Cotton Mills, in which office 
he is still efficiently active. Standing thus among the 
prominent executives of the day, Mr. Greer is an in- 
fluential figure in industrial progress and his work is 
counting largely for the good of the people. 

Always deeply interested in public affairs, whether of 
local or national import, and from his youth a supporter 
of the Republican party, Mr. Greer was some years ago 
brought forward as a member of the North Adams City 
Council, serving for three years, and during the last 
year as chairman of the Finance Committee. He was the 
first chairman of the City Planning Board, whose work 
in the development of the community and its ever greater 
beauty and dignity has been of outstanding importance. 
In the fall of 1922 Mr. Greer was elected mayor of 
North Adams and still serves in this position of honor 
and distinction. Applying to the duties of his office the 
business ability and the fruits of long years of in- 
dustrial experience, Mr. Greer has made his influence 
strongly felt as a benefit to the civic body. One feature 
of his administration which is considered particularly 
strong is his definite plan for the development of the city 
which comprehends both the city's physical needs and 
the financial arrangements necessary to consummate 
this plan. Through all his endeavors Mr. Greer's for- 
ward looking spirit is a force for ever wider usefulness 
and greater civic strength, and his practical efforts for 
the economic side of the city's well-being is universally 
commended. Mr. Greer is a Republican, but he is first 
a citizen, and in all his endeavors the civic interest stands 
above any partisan consideration. He is a trustee of the 
North Adams Savings Bank, and fraternally is affiliated 
with the Masonic Order. He is a member of the Nati- 
onal Association of Manufacturers, the Southern New 
England Textile Club, and the Berkshire Club. His 
religious conviction is with the Congregational Church. 

William Kirk Greer married, in Philadelphia, October 
18, 1898, Sarah M. Walker, and they are the parents 
of three children: Henry K., Bertrand C, and 
Dorothy W. 



LEWIS DENNISON BEMENT— Nearly all great 
sayings from the Golden Rule downward have had to 
submit to burlesque distortion by some waggishly in- 
clined critic. The lofty sentiment expressed in the 
lines "who rules over freemen should himself be free," 
has been the object of satire and the result was that 
"who drives fat oxen shall himself be fat." But with 
much more right could it be said that, "he who makes 
keen hardware, should himself be keen." If that be con- 
ceded Lewis Dennison Bement, president of the John 
Russell Manufacturing Company at Turner's Falls, is 
without a doubt "the right man in the right place" 
because under his wise guidance the firm has attained 
to and is keeping its place among the leading enterprises 
of its kind in the cutlery trade. The John Russell Cut- 
lery Company established at Greenfield, in 1834, moved 
to its present site below the dam in 1873. Not far from 
where the present Wiley and Russell dam is located in 
Greenfield, John Russell made the first table knives 
ever produced in America, and the company founded by 




-- ,f B.-j yvy 



--^tyC/yuCti c>cao^ C^\. ^^^L^e^^^-h^ _ 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



63 



him was the first to come to Turner's Falls, and take 
advantage of the greater power available there. 

Lewis D. Bement, the present president, was born 
December 27, 1877, in Chicago, Illinois, as a son of 
Edward Nichols and Ella (Dennison) Bement, and after 
completing his studies in the local school entered the 
employ of the Dennison Manufacturing Company of 
Framingham, with whom he occupied, for twenty-one 
years, various positions of trust. During the World 
War he was made one of the business managers of the 
Red Cross activities in Italy, having the disbursement 
of a fund of some three millions of dollars. Returning 
to the United States in 1919 he completely reorganized 
the John Russell Cutlery Company, and is now the 
president and active managing head. Apart from his 
business interests, Mr. Bement has only one other cause 
near to his heart, and that is civic work and social im- 
provement in every respect, two objects to which, as 
president of the Improvement Society of Deerfield, he 
devotes much of his time and energy. In politics Mr. 
Bement is an Independent and in religion an undenom- 
inational Christian. He is a member of the Rotary 
Club, the Greenfield Country Club, the Peskeomskut 
Club and Turner's Falls "Community Service" and is 
a devotee and talented participator in amateur theatricals. 

Lewis D. Bement married, in 1906, in New Jersey, 
Grace Power and they are the parents of three children: 
Lewis, Jr., Barbara, Kathleen. The family home is in 
Old Deerfield. 



FRANK HOWARD— A prominent figure in the 
business advance of Pittsfield, is Frank Howard, 
merchant, banker, and public servant whose handsome 
property, known as the Howard Building, is an ornament 
to the city. Mr. Howard has always followed practical 
lines of business and with keen perceptions and ever 
forward-looking attitude he has done much to benefit 
the people, while at the same time achieving his own 
success. Mr. Howard is a member of a well known 
family of Berkshire County, a son of Jesse and Celestia 
(Luce) Howard, his father active as a farmer through- 
out his entire career. 

Frank Howard was born in Pittsfield, January 14, 
1861. Receiving a limited but practical education in 
the public schools of his birthplace, he began his activi- 
ties at the age of fifteen years, securing a position on a 
farm. Three years later however, Mr. Howard availed 
himself of an opportunity to work in a hardware store 
and was active along that line for some thirteen years. 
He established the present interest in 1893 beginning 
with a partner but soon buying out his associate. Mak- 
ing his familiarity with the farm work and farm needs 
serve him in his progress, Mr. Howard developed a 
successful business which steadily grew to large im- 
portance. In 1916 he erected his present handsome 
building, seventy-four by one hundred and forty feet in 
ground dimensions with three stories and basement. 
This building faces three streets, Fenn, First and Fede- 
ral and is one of the substantial and dignified business 
structures which makes Pittsfield a center of commercial 
activity. The enterprise of which Mr. Howard has now 
been the head for more than thirty years has assumed 
wide importance in its field in Berkshire County. Mr, 



Howard deals in agricultural implements of every kind, 
seeds, fertilizers, etc; lime, cement, wall plaster, and 
contractors tools; sewer pipes, flu lining, and other fit- 
tings of this general group; dairy and poultry supplies; 
paints and oils; as well as the usual line of hardware. 
His large success has carried him to an important posi- 
tion in the community and he is esteemed by all with 
whom he comes in contact. 

The public service has on various occasions called 
Mr Howard to civic duties and for two years he served 
on the Pittsfield Common Council, also for a similar 
period on the board of aldermen, and serving for a con- 
siderable time on the board of public works, he was 
chairman of that body for eight years. His work for 
the public good has reached outside the bounds of the 
municipality and for five years he has acted on the 
Berkshire County Board as county commissioner, hav- 
ing been elected chairman in 1921 and still serving in 
that capacity. Mr. Howard is a director of the Pitts- 
field National Bank and the Pittsfield Morris Plan 
Company, is a member of the National Builders' Supply 
Association, the New England Builders' Supply Asso- 
ciation and the Pittsfield Chamber of Commerce. Fra- 
ternally he is affiliated with Mystic Lodge, Ancient Free 
and Accepted Masons of which he is past master; 
Berkshire Chapter, Royal Arch Masons; Berkshire 
Council, Royal and Select Masters; Berkshire Comman- 
dery, Knights Templar; Melha Temple, Ancient Arabic 
Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, and the Masons 
Club. He is further a member of the Royal Arcanum 
of which he is past regent and is affiliated with the 
Kiwanis Club and the Park Club. 

Frank Howard married Belle Merchant and they are 
the parents of three sons: Edward Frank, educated in 
the local grammar and high school and the Spring- 
field Business College, who married Leila Crouch; 
Arthur M., educated in the local school and Mas- 
sachusetts Agricultural College at Amherst, who 
married Louise May; and Albert L., whose studies in 
the local schools were supplemented by an electrical 
course at the Worcester Institute of Technology, and 
who married Marion Haight. All three sons are associ- 
ated with their father in the above business and are con- 
sidered progressive and thoroughly representative young 
men of the day. 



THEODORE ROBINSON PLUNKETT— For 

many years the dominating influence of the Plunkett 
family in affairs, industrial and financial, in Western 
Massachusetts, and indeed throughout the State, has 
received merited recognition, their milling and banking 
interests being among the most important at Adams, 
where two generations have shared prominently in the 
directorship of leading institutions. 

Theodore Robinson Plunkett, now in the mill supply 
business in his own name at Adams, has long been as- 
sociated with the cotton mill interests of the manufac- 
turing and mill supply plants, and is a strong and well- 
known factor among New England's mill supply men. 
A citizen of the best type, both from highly regarded 
family and business associations, bank director, and 
coimsellor in movements for civic and patriotic progress, 



64 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Mr. Plunkett is a true representative of the advanced 
thought and aim of the western part of the State. 

He is a son of William Brown Plunkett, who died 
October 25, 1917, and of Lyda (French) Plunkett, who 
died October 7, 1907. William Brown Plunkett was a 
prominent cotton manufacturing official, who also occu- 
pied a leading place in affairs of State Government, and 
in the business associations of the State capital. He was 
treasurer of the Berkshire Cotton Manufacturing Com- 
pany, treasurer of the Greylock Mills, and president of 
the Greylock National Bank, all of Adams ; president 
of the Home Market Club, in Boston ; trustee of the 
New York Life Insurance Company ; and a member of 
the Council of Governor Roger Wolcott, of the State 
of Massachusetts. 

Theodore Robinson Plunkett was born May 10, 1882, 
at Adams, where he attended the public schools. His 
academical courses were taken at Phillips Exeter Acad- 
emy, and at Riverview Military Academy, where he 
graduated in 1901. He was in Williams College, at 
Williamstown, in 1902. Upon starting out in his busi- 
ness career, Mr. Plunkett was manager of Greylock 
Mills, at North Pownal, Vermont, from November, 1910, 
until April, 1915. He was superintendent of the Berk- 
shire Cotton Manufacturing Company, at Adams, from 
April, 1915, until November, 1918, and he was presi- 
dent of the Greylock Mills Supply Company at Adams 
from 1 91 9 to 1923. He is now engaged in the mill 
supply business, under the name of Theodore R. Plun- 
kett. He is a member of the board of directors of the 
Greylock National Bank, having been elected to the 
board in January, 1918. 

Mr. Plunkett's fraternal affiliations are those of the 
Free and Accepted Masons, and he is a Knights Templar 
of St. Paul Commandery, No. 40; Massachusetts Con- 
sistory of Scottish Rites, of the thirty-second degree; 
and Aleppo Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of 
the Mystic Shrine; he was first Exalted Ruler of Adams 
Lodge, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, from 
May, 1916, until April, 1919; he is a member of the 
Kappa Alpha Fraternity of Williams College, and of 
the Adams Colonial Club, Forest Park Country Club, 
and North Adams Country Club. His religious fellow- 
ship is with the First Congregational Church, of Adams. 

Mr. Plunkett married, January 3, 1905, at Adams, 
Bessie H. Daniels, a daughter of Arthur B. and Ida 
(Millard) Daniels; and they are the parents of: Wil- 
liam Brown Plunkett, born January 18, 1906; Douglas 
Robinson Plunkett, born February 16, 1909; Theodora 
Plunkett, born December 31, 1917. 



HENRY REED PEIRSON— The harmonious co- 
operation of father and sons in business is a valuable 
asset of that moral kind which in commerce, as well as 
in private life, has its peculiar and far-reaching conse- 
quences and can neither be bought nor replaced by any 
material substitute. Henry Reed Peirson has had the 
good fortune of being associated with his nearest rela- 
tions in his life work and in seeing it prosper and ex- 
tend for the common benefit of himself and those nearest 
and dearest to him. 

His father, Henry M. Peirson, the founder of the 
Peirson Hardware Company, was born in Richmond, 



Massachusetts, May 15, 1825, and died in Pittsfield in 
1894. In 1850 he came to Pittsfield and entered into 
partnership with Dr. Stephen Reed, the firm name 
being known as Reed & Peirson, in the agricultural busi- 
ness and in publishing the "Culturist Gazette." In 1853 
he asociated himself with George N. Dutton, in the 
hardware business, with a store in the Brown Block, 
located where Fenn Street now joins North Street. In 
1869 they bought out James A. Burbank and Company 
and moved their stock to the store now occupied by the 
Peirson Hardware Company. In 1876 Henry M. Peir- 
son bought out the interest of Mr. Dutton and the name 
was changed to Peirson & Son. In 1891 Frank E. Peir- 
son came into the concern and the name was again 
changed to Peirson & Sons. On March 20, 1903, under 
counsel of William R. Plunkett the firm was incor- 
porated under Massachusetts laws and the name was 
changed to Peirson Hardware Company with the fol- 
lowing officers : Henry R. Peirson, president ; Frank E. 
Peirson, treasurer ; Kenneth P. Ritchie, clerk. There 
has been no change in the concern since that time. Since 

1853, or for over seventy years, the name Peirson has 
been associated with the hardware business in Pittsfield, 
and for fifty-five years they have occupied their prem- 
ises at 41 North Street. Almost every year additions 
have been made to their store and warehouse, and the 
purchase of the property enables them to make per- 
manent repairs and improvements. 

Henry Reed Peirson, the president of the Peirson 
Hardware Company, was born in Pittsfield on July 11, 

1854, a son of Henry M. and Electa M. (Dresser) Peir- 
son, and first attended the public schools of his native 
city. In response to plans for entering the steel and 
iron business in Ohio his education was laid out with 
a view of taking a course in the technical sciences. 
While still at school, however, an incident happened 
which turned his career, namely, a partner of his 
father's in the hardware store asked him to come for a 
while and help out. After working with his father 
and friends and finding this occupation more interesting 
than school life, he stuck to his work and never returned 
to school. This happened in 1870, when he was sixteen 
years old. He was engaged in the store as a helper at 
an initial salary of $2 a week, out of which he paid 
$1 a week to his mother for board. In the six years 
following he worked his way up to the position of head 
clerk, and his salary was as large as that of any other 
head clerk who had preceded him in the store. About 
this time, thinking that he had better give other em- 
ployees a chance for promotion, he contemplated ac- 
cepting a position as travelling salesman for an iron and 
steel firm. His father hearing of his plans asked him 
whether he would not prefer to become a partner in the 
firm. Mr. Peirson gladly replied that he would like 
nothing better, and by two o'clock on the same day the 
father had bought out his partner and the firm name 
was changed to Peirson & Son. In 1889 Mr. Peirson 
became a director of the Berkshire Mutual Fire Insur- 
ance Company, and later its president. About the same 
time he became president of the Hampshire Fire Insur- 
ance Company. Mr. Peirson is also vice-president of 
the City Savings Bank. Though often urged by friends 
to accept public office, he feels that the responsibilities 




yj^iMiy^ /M a^^L.^^ 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



65 



of business are sufficient to employ his time and yield 
satisfaction. In 1890 he was elected to the first Board 
of Assessors under the city charter, serving for three 
years. 

Mr. Peirson, who is one of Pittsfield's most promi- 
nent citizens, loved and respected by high and low, rich 
and poor, has for years been a trustee of the Berk- 
shire Atheneum Library. His fraternal and other as- 
sociations include membership in the Mystic Lodge, Free 
and Accepted Masons, the Berkshire Chapter of Royal 
Arch Masons, the Berkshire Council, the Berkshire 
Commandery of Knights Templar, the Park Club, the 
Chamber of Commerce, the Hardware Club of New 
York. 

On April 12, 1877, Mr. Peirson married Ella J. Dan- 
iels, daughter of S. V. R. Daniels, a prominent realty 
man of earlier days. Mrs. Peirson died in 1920, and is 
survived by a daughter, Nannie (Daniels) Peirson, who 
is married to Owen Coogan and has two children, Henry 
Peirson and Patricia. 



RALPH B. BARDWELL— A distinguished figure 
in the world of finance in Western Massachusetts is 
Ralph B. Bardwell, who has been active for sixty-three 
years in banking affairs and is still the alert, progressive, 
efficient financial executive, although past the age of 
four score years. Such a record of worthy activity is 
an honor to any man and reflects credit upon the com- 
munity in which he has risen to leadership and in the 
interests of which he has served. Mr. Bardwell, in ap- 
pearance is many years younger than is actually the case, 
and, in his spirit of forward-looking endeavor, he may 
well be counted among the most significant men of the 
day in this section. For sixty years he has been a resi- 
dent of Pittsfield and active in local banking institu- 
tions, and he is an outstanding figure in the progress 
of Berkshire County to-day. Mr. Bardwell is a mem- 
ber of an old family of this State, and a son of Ralph 
B. and Amy (Rice) Bardwell. 

Ralph B. Bardwell was born in Shelbume Falls Sep- 
tember 9, 1843. His education was received in the local 
public schools, and even when still attending school 
he was employed about various odd jobs, such as 
could be handled in leisure time. At the age of nine- 
teen years he secured a regular position as clerk in the 
Shelburne Falls Bank at $100 per year, or $8 per month. 
He was a lad of earnest purpose, however, and in his 
faithful application to duty the officials of the institu- 
tion recognized both a willing spirit and a definite nat- 
ural ability. His work was so acceptable to them, 
indeed, that only six months of the original contract 
had expired before it was cancelled and a new con- 
tract was made, tendering him $150 per year. Mr. 
Bardwell remained with this institution for one year, 
steadily rising in the organization and finding his work 
more remunerative. He then resigned March 24, 1864, 
to accept a position in the Pittsfield National Bank, and 
only one year later was made teller of that institution. 
Continuing in the latter capacity until 1881, he then 
resigned to accept the cashiership of the Third Na- 
tional Bank of Pittsfield. He has now for forty-three 



years been connected with this important bank. In 
January of 1905 he was elected president of the institu- 
tion, and has now for nearly nineteen years filled that 
important office with large ability and distinction. Mr. 
Bardwell's long connection with the world of finance 
has made him one of the eminently able and efficient 
executives in this realm. He is conservative and con- 
siders himself simply a custodian of the bank's funds. 

Mr. Bardwell's time and attention have largely been 
absorbed by his work in the institution, but he gives 
his endorsement to every phase of organized advance 
and lends his influence to all worthy effort. He is a 
member of Mystic Lodge, Ancient Free and Accepted 
Masons; Berkshire Chapter, Royal Arch Masons; Berk- 
shire Coimcil, Royal and Select Masters; Berkshire 
Commandery, Knights Templar; the Berkshire County 
Bankers' Association; and the Park Club. 

Ralph B. Bardwell married, October 20, 1866, Emma 
L. Daniels, and they are the parents of two children: 
Herbert, who died at the age of four years; and Rob- 
ert Daniels (q. v.), who was born June 4, 1884. 



ROBERT DANIELS BARDWELL— In financial 
and insurance circles, and as a veteran of the World War, 
Robert Daniels Bardwell, of Pittsfield, is a distin- 
guished figure, and his usefulness is a force for local 
and general advancement. An efficient business exec- 
utive, trained for his career in some of the noted Amer- 
ican institutions, and now standing among the leaders 
with wide experience behind him, Mr. Bardwell is 
thoroughly representative of present day American cit- 
izenship, and is one of the best known of Pittsfield's 
business men. He is a son of Ralph B. Bardwell (q. v), 
whose long career in local financial aflfairs has given 
his name permanent significance to the city. 

Robert Daniels Bardwell was born June 4, 1884, and 
received his early education in the Pittsfield public 
schools. Leaving high school after the close of the 
second year, he entered Phillips-Andover Academy, at 
Andover, Massachusetts, from which he graduated in 
1904, then took up his higher studies at Yale Univer- 
sity, receiving the degree of Bachelor of Philosophy 
upon his graduation in 1907. Mr. Bardwell's first busi- 
ness experience was in the Berkshire County Savings 
Bank, which he served for a few years in the capacity 
of clerk. He then went over to the Third National 
Bank of Pittsfield, of which his honored father was 
then and is still the head, and remained with this insti- 
tution in a responsible capacity, as assistant to the presi- 
dent, until 1918. When the World War involved the 
United States, he enlisted, and for a time served as 
local representative for the American Field Service. 
In March of that year, however, he enlisted in the United 
States Army, wishing to identify himself more closely 
with the activities of the period. Commissioned lieu- 
tenant, he was assigned to the Finance Division of the 
Ordnance Department, later becoming assistant to the 
financial director of this department in New York City. 
Much to his disappointment, however, he was not sent 
overseas, his experience in financial aflfairs having been 
vitally needed in executive interests on this side. Fol- 



W.M.— 3-6 



66 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



lowing his honorable discharge from the service Lieu- 
tenant Bardwell was commissioned captain of the United 
States Reserve Corps, which rank he still holds. On 
receiving his honorable discharge, he reentered the busi- 
ness world in the field of insurance, becoming associated 
with Carl B. Gale in insurance brokerage. This action 
represented a consolidation of personal efforts in special 
lines of insurance dating back to 1907. The president of 
the company, Carl B. Gale, entered the insurance field 
immediately on his graduation from Williams College 
in 1907, becoming associated with his father, Bennett T. 
Gale, in a general insurance agency in Lee. In 1912 
Carl B. Gale sold his interests in the Lee agency and 
moved to Pittsfield, where his technical knowledge and 
aggressive efforts were given a wider field of endeavor, 
and the substantial foundation of the present business 
resulted. In 1919 Robert D. Bardwell became associ- 
ated with Carl B. Gale, and the following year, July, 
1920, the business received the incorporate name of Gale- 
Bardwell, Inc., Carl B. Gale was elected president, and 
Robert D. Bardwell, vice-president and treasurer. On 
the board of directors, associated in advisory capacity 
were the fathers of these two men, namely, Bennett T. 
Gale and Ralph B. Bardwell. 

The territory covered by the business of this cor- 
poration comprises mainly Western Massachusetts, but 
extends very largely into Vermont, New York and 
Connecticut. There is no line of insurance which com- 
panies will accept, that cannot be placed through this 
office. A staff of brokers is maintained, not only in the 
city of Pittsfield, but extending throughout the larger 
towns of Berkshire County. The greatest volume of 
business is in casualty lines, the company being gen- 
eral agents for the Employers' Liability Assurance Cor- 
poration, but the amount of business of other lines 
closely approaches the casualty business. The company 
has among its clients many of the large manufacturing 
plants throughout the county, also the large commercial 
houses, banking institutions and hotels. The facilities 
of the office are unequaled for the handling of special 
lines; for analysis of coverage; for rate adjustments, 
and for highly technical service. In the handling of 
these important and involved lines of insurance there 
is still maintained a most careful consideration for the 
needs of the smaller clients, and the constantly increas- 
mg number of small policy holders carrying fire, theft, 
automobile or life insurance bears tribute to the suc- 
cess of this effort. No similar organization exists in 
the city where personal service and individual attention 
is constantly given to the specific requirements of a client 
by the members of the firm. The principle upon which 
the business of the office has been developed, may there- 
fore, be summarized by everything in insurance — and 
insurance only. The offices, a handsome suite located in 
the Agricultural Bank Building, have become an im- 
portant center and force for insurance advance in this 
part of the State, and their progressive program prom- 
ises even greater results in the future than have been 
accomplished in the past. Mr. Bardwell is affiliated with 
Pittsfield Post, American Legion, of which he is a 
charter member; the Yale Club of New York City; 
Park Club; Country and Pittsfield Golf; Pipe and Pen 



and the Kiwanis clubs. He is a director of the Third 
National Bank and of the Pittsfield Cooperative Bank. 
Robert Daniels Bardwell married, March 26, 1908, 
Helen M. Pillsbury, daughter of Fred and Alice (Cook) 
Pillsbury, and a granddaughter of the founder of the 
famous Pillsbury Flour Mills of Minneapolis, Minne- 
sota. Mr. and Mrs. Bardwell have two children: 
Beatrice, born January 18, 1909; and Robert D., Jr., 
born November 27, 1920. 



KARL SCOTT PUTNAM— The lineage of a very 
large part of the Putnams of New England is traced to 
John Putnam, the immigrant, ancestor of several prom- 
inent citizens of the early days of Massachusetts. The 
name comes from Puttenham, a place in England, and 
this, perhaps, from the Flemish word putte, "a well," 
plural putten, and ham, signifying a "home," and the 
whole indicating a settlement by a well. The name has 
also been connected with the family name of Put, which 
is still in existence in certain villages in Friesland, and 
which may very possibly have been borne by some of 
the Friesland followers of Hengist and Horsa. Some 
four or five years after the settlement of Salem, Massa- 
chusetts, it became necessary to extend the area of the 
town in order to accommodate a large number of im- 
migrants who were desirous of locating within its juris- 
diction, and as a consequence farming communities were 
established at various points, some of them being con- 
siderable distance from the center of population. Sev- 
eral families newly arrived from England founded a 
settlement which they called Salem Village, and the 
place was known as such for more than a hundred years. 
It is now called Danvers. Among the original settlers 
of Salem Village was John Putnam. He was the Amer- 
ican progenitor of the Putnams of New England, and 
among his descendants were the distinguished Revolu- 
tionary generals, Israel and Rufus Putnam. Much val- 
uable information relative to the early history of the 
family is to be found in the "Essex Institute Collec- 
tion." In common with most of the inhabitants, they 
suffered from the witchcraft delusion, but were not seri- 
ously affected. The first ancestor of whom definite 
knowledge is obtainable is Roger, a tenant of Putten- 
ham in 1086. The second generation is represented by 
Galo, of the same locality. Richard, of the third gen- 
eration, born 1 154, died 1189, presented the living of 
the church of Puttenham to the prior and canons of 
Ashby. Simon de Puttenham was a knight of Herts 
in 1 199. Ralph de Puttenham, a journeyman in 1199, 
held a knight's fee in Puttenham of the honor of Leices- 
ter in 1210-12. William de Puttenham is the next in 
line. John de Puttenham was lord of the manor of 
Puttenham in 1291, and was a son of William. His 
wife, "Lady of Puttenham," held half a knight's fee 
in Puttenham of the honor of Wallingford in 1303. Sir 
Roger de Puttenham, son of John de Puttenham and 
Lady of Puttenham, was born prior to 1272, and with 
his wife, Alina, had a grant of lands in Penne in 1315. 
He was sheriff of Herts in 1322, in which year he sup- 
ported Edward II against the Mortimers. His wife, 
perhaps identical with Helen, is called a daughter of 
John Spigornel, and was married (second) to Thomas 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



67 



de la Hay, king's commissioner, knight of the sheer, in 
^337, who held Puttenham with reversion to the heirs 
of Roger Puttenham, and land in Penne in right of 
his wife. Sir Roger de Puttenham was pardoned by 
the king in 1338, probably on account of some political 
offense. The next year he was a follower of Sir John 
de Molj'ns, and was knight of the shire from 1355 to 
1374. He had a grant of remainder after the death of 
Christian Bordolfe, of the manor of Long Marston, in 
1370-71. He had a second wife, Marjorie, in 1370. 

Robert Putnam, son of Sir Roger de Puttenham, in 
1346, held part of a knight's fee in Marston, which 
the Lady of Puttenham held. He was living in 1356. 

William de Puttenham, son of Robert de Puttenham, 
of Puttenham and Penne, was commissioner of the peace 
for Herts in 1377, and was called "of Berk Hampstead." 
He was sergeant-at-arms in 1376. He married Mar- 
garet, daughter of John de Warbleton, who' died in 1375, 
when his estates of Warbleton, Sheffield, and other parts, 
passed to the Putnams. They had children : Henry, of 
whom further ; Robert and William. 

Henry Puttenham, son of William and Margaret 
(Warbleton) de Puttenham, was near sixty years of age 
in 1468, and died July 6, 1473. He married Elizabeth, 
widow of Jeffrey Goodluck, who died in i486, and was 
probably his second wife. 

William Puttenham, eldest son of Henry Puttenham, 
was in possession of Puttenham, Penne, Sheffield and 
other estates. He was buried in London, and his will 
was proved July 23, 1492. He married Anne, daughter 
of John Hampden, of Hampden, who was living in 
i486. They had sons : Sir George ; Thomas ; and Nich- 
olas, of further mention. 

Nicholas Putenham or Putnam, third son of William 
and Anne (Hampden) Puttenham, of Penne, in 1534 
bore the same arms as his elder brother, Sir George. 
He had sons : John and Henry, of whom further. 

Henry Puttenham, youngest son of Nicholas Putnam, 
was named in the will of his brother John, in 1526, one 
son, Richard, of whom further. 

Richard Putnam, son of Henry Putnam, was of Ed- 
delsboro in 1524, and owned land in Slapton. His will 
was proved February 26, 1557, and he left a widow, Joan. 
He had sons : Harry and John, of whom further. 

John Putnam, second son of Richard and Joan Put- 
nam, was of Wingrave and Slapton ; was buried Oc- 
tober 2, 1573, and his will was proved November 14, 
following. His wife Margaret was buried January 27, 
1568. They had sons : Nicholas, of further mention ; 
Richard, Thomas and John. 

Nicholas Putnam, eldest son of John and Margaret 
Putnam, was of Wingrave and Stukeley; died before 
September 2y, 1598, on which date his will was proved. 
His wife, Margaret, was a daughter of John Goodspeed. 
She married (second) in 1614, William Huxley, and 
died January 8, 1619. Children of Nicholas and Mar- 
garet Putnam : John, of further mention ; Anne, Eliza- 
beth, Thomas and Richard. 

John Putnam, eldest son of Nicholas and Margaret 
(Goodspeed) Putnam, was of the nineteenth generation 
in the English line and first in the American line. He 
was born about 1580, and died suddenly in Salem Vil- 



lage, now Dan vers, Massachusetts, December 30, 1662, 
aged about eighty-two years. It is known that he was 
a resident of Aston Abbots, England, as late as 1627, 
as the date of the baptism of the youngest son shows, 
but just when he came to New England is not known. 
Family tradition is responsible for the date 1634, and the 
tradition is known to have been in the family over one 
hundred and fifty years. In 1641, new style, John Put- 
nam was granted land in Salem. He was a farmer, 
and exceedingly well off for those times. He wrote a 
fair hand, as deeds on file show. In these deeds he styled 
himself "Yeoman" ; once in 1655, "husbandman." His 
land amounted to two hundred and fifty acres, and was 
situated between Davenport's hill and Potter's hill. John 
Putnam was admitted to the church in 1647, six years 
later than his wife, and was also a freeman the same 
year. The town of Salem in 1644 voted that a patrol 
of two men be appointed each Lord's' day to walk forth 
during worship and take notice of such who did not 
attend service, and who were idle, and to present such 
cases to the magistrate ; all of those appointed were of 
standing in the community. For the ninth day John 
Putnam and John Hathorne were appointed. The fol- 
lowing account of the death of John Putnam was writ- 
ten in 1773 by his grandson Edward : "He ate his 
supper, went to prayer with his family, and died before 
he went to sleep." He married, in England, Priscilla 
(perhaps Gould), who was admitted to the church in 
Salem in 1641. Their children, baptized at Aston Ab- 
bots, were : Elizabeth ; Thomas, grandfather of Gen- 
eral Israel Putnam, of the Revolutionary War; John; 
Nathaniel ; Sara ; Phoebe ; John. 

(I) Rufus Putnam, son of Michael Putnam, born De- 
cembef 26, 1791, died August 13, 1844, married in 1815, 
Relief Despeau, who died in 1819; married (second) 
Phoebe Wetherbee Lamb. Timothy, of further men- 
tion, was a son of the first marriage, and Mary Weth- 
erbee was a child of the second. 

(II) Timothy Putnam, son of Rufus Putnam, was 
born April 29, 1817, in Grafton, Massachusetts, died in 
Leverett, Massachusetts, 1891, where he was a farmer. 
He married, January, 1839, Sarah Field Bangs, who was 
born July 15, 1818, died March 22, 1891, daughter of 
Isaac Howard Bangs and Peggy Howard Bangs. They 
had one child: Roswell Field, of further mention. 

(III) Roswell Field Putnam, son of Timothy Put- 
nam, was born in Leverett, Massachusetts, May 20, 1840, 
died in Northampton, Massachusetts, April 17, 191 1. 
He attended the schools of Leverett, Powers Institute 
at Bernardston, and later went to Worcester, Massa- 
chusetts, where he engaged in architectural work, where 
he remained a number of years. He then went to North- 
ampton and opened an office as an architect, where he 
did an ever-increasing business and was considered one 
of the best in his profession. His work embraced 
Greenfield, Amherst and other towns in Western Massa- 
chusetts, while he did much first-class work in North- 
ampton. He was a member of Jerusalem Lodge, Free 
and Accepted Masons ; Royal Arch Masons ; Ancient 
Accepted Scottish Rite; a Knights Templar; and a 
member of the Northampton Club. He married Sarah 
Scott, who was born in Hawley, Massachusetts, Novem- 



68 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



ber 3, 1857, and died in Leverett, Massachusetts, in 1884, 
daughter of Lucius and Lucy (Vincent) Scott. They 
had one child, Karl Scott Putnam, of further mention. 

(IV) Karl Scott Putnam, son of Roswell Field Put- 
nam, born in Leverett, Massachusetts, April 28, 1883, 
came to Northampton at the age of eight years, attended 
the public schools of that city, from which he went to 
the University of Pennsylvania. Here he took an archi- 
tectural course and was graduated in 1908, after which 
he spent two years at Columbia University. Mr. Put- 
nam then spent three years in an architect's office in 
New York City and one year in Boston. He then re- 
turned to Northampton and worked with his father 
until the latter's death, when he took over his father's 
office and has carried on the business successfully since. 
Mr. Putnam has done much architectural work for Smith 
College, as well as work in Holyoke, Amherst and 
Greenfield, Massachusetts. He is a member of the 
Mystic Shrine of Springfield, in addition to the Masonic 
bodies of Northampton already mentioned ; of the Massa- 
chusetts Engineering Society ; Northampton Country 
Qub; the Holyoke Canoe Club. He was married July 3, 
1 912, to Mabel Louise Crafts, who was born in Whately, 
Massachusetts, July 7, 1883, a daughter of Lyman A. 
and Arm Maria (Forbes) Crafts. They have one 
daughter, Ruth Ann Putnam, born June 14, 1915. 

Mrs. Putnam, wife of Karl Scott Putnam, also comes 
of a distinguished ancestry. Her father, Lyman Alex- 
ander Crafts, a leader in civic affairs in Franklin 
County. He is prominent in agricultural interest and 
a representative of the successful tobacco growers of 
Western Connecticut, and has been a strong force in 
the State Legislature and Constitutional conventions. 
His record upon progressive questions of economics and 
legislation is notable, having been highly constructive, 
with a view to ultimate results. His home, his farm 
and his State have ever been objects of devotion. Here 
for generations his ancestors have builded and delved, 
and the name is highly respected in the old town of 
Whately, in which he was born and bred. The Crafts 
family, boasting Colonial ancestry and a Revolutionary 
record, have been noted in town building and all pro- 
gressive matters for generations. 

(The Crafts Line). 
The line begins with Griffin Craft, who, born in York- 
shire, England, came to America in the ship "Arabella," 
the flagship of Governor Winthrop's four vessels to ar- 
rive in New England. On May 18, 1631, Griffin Craft 
took the freeman's oath, and settling in Roxbury, Massa- 
chusetts, he was elected Deputy to the General Court 
in 1638, and again in 1665-66-67. He was lieutenant in 
the Ancient and Honorable Artillery Company, holding 
that office until 1676, when he resigned. For many dif- 
ferent times he held the office of selectman. He mar- 
ried (first) Alice (surname unknown), born in Eng- 
land, died in 1673; and (second) Ursula, widow of Wil- 
liam Robinson, daughter of Henry Adams, of Braintree; 
(third), Dorcas (surname unknown). He died October 
4, 1689. There were five children, one of whom was 
John, of further mention. 

(II) John Crafts, son of Griffin Craft, was born on 



shipboard, July 10, 1630, and died at Roxbury, Massa- 
chusetts, September 3, 1685. He married (first) Re- 
becca Wheelock; (second) Mary Hudson. There were 
ten children, one of whom was Thomas, of further 
mention. 

(HI) Thomas Crafts, son of John Crafts, was born 
in Roxbury, Massachusetts, in 1656, and died at Hadley, 
Massachusetts, February 27, 1692. He married Abigail, 
daughter of John and Frances (Foote) Dickinson, of 
Hadley, and they were the parents of six children, one 
of whom was John, of whom further. 

(IV) John Crafts, son of Thomas Crafts, was born 
at Hadley, Massachusetts, in 1684, died in May, 1730, at 
Hatfield, Massachusetts. He married Martha Graves, 
and they had six children, one of whom was Benoni 
Crafts, of whom further. 

(V) Benoni, Crafts, son of John Crafts, was born in 
Hatfield, Massachusetts, in 1725, died at Whately in 
1812. He was an expert hunter, by trade a cooper, and 
a soldier of the Revolution. He conducted an exten- 
sive farm. He married Abigail Graves, and they were 
the parents of five children, one of whom was Reuben, 
of whom further. 

(VI) Reuben Crafts, son of; Benoni Crafts, was born 
at Whately, Massachusetts, in 1759, and died in 1814. 
He was a soldier of the Revolutionary War, enlisting 
first in place of his father, who had been drafted to the 
service at the age of fifty years. He married Henrietta 
Graves, and they were the parents of eight children, one 
of whom was Erastus, of whom further. 

(VII) Erastus Crafts, son of Reuben Crafts, was 
born in Whately, Massachusetts, in 1791, and died April 
27, 1881, at the age of ninety-one years. He married 
(first) Charlotte Scott, who was born in 1786, and died 
in 1815 ; (second) Marion Samson, who was born in 
1791 and died in 1872. They were the parents of eight 
children, one of whom was Walter, of whom further. 

(VIII) Walter Crafts, son of Erastus Crafts, was 
born in Whately, Massachusetts, August 16. 1823, and 
died March 23, 1902. He was a farmer. In his younger 
days he was employed in a tool factory at Conway, and 
at Greenfield, Massachusetts, but returned to the home 
farm at Whately. He took an active interest in the 
affairs of the township. He was in Boston during the 
Civil War, and there assisted in raising the quota for 
war service. He was a member of the Orthodox Con- 
gregational Church and its parish committee. 

Mr. Crafts married, January i, 1851, Lucy Lyman 
Alexander, who was born in Northfield, Massachusetts, 
February 28, 1823, and died at Whately November 28, 
1888. She was a daughter of George and Mary 
(Lyman) Alexander. To them was born Lyman Alex- 
ander Crafts, who was born in Whately, Massachusetts, 
October 28, 1854, in the house in which he continues to 
reside. He married, in 1877, Ann Maria Forbes, daugh- 
ter of John H. and Sophia K. (Russell) Forbes. 



DR. LUTHER OAKS WHITMAN— John Whit- 
man, of Weymouth, the ancestor of a numerous family 
of that name, was of English birth. He came from 
England, perhaps from Holt, County Norfolk, where 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



69 



the name of Whitman was common as well as ancient. 
Governor Winthrop came with his company from the 
vicinity of Holt and settled in Weymouth, and John 
Whitman was among the early settlers of this town. 
He arrived probably in New England before the year 
J638. He was admitted a freeman March 13, 1638-9, 
and was a town officer of Weymouth in 1643. He was 
appointed ensign by the Governor in 1645, and was 
probably the first military officer in Weymouth. At the 
same time, May 14, 1645, he was made the magistrate of 
the town. He was also deacon of the church there, 
probably from its foundation until his death, November 
13, 1692. He was nearly ninety years old when he died, 
as the youngest of his nine children was born in 1644 
and the eldest son in 1629, while some of the daughters 
may have been older. It is supposed that he married 
in England about 1625. The family did not follow the 
father to Weymouth until 1641. He had a brother, 
Zachariah, who emigrated at the time he did, or soon 
afterward, and settled in Milford, Connecticut, as early 
as 1639. His estate in Milford was bequeathed to Rev. 
Zachariah Whitman, son of his brother, John Whitman, 
of Weymouth. The records, according to Pope's "Pio- 
neers," show that Zachariah, aged forty, came with his 
wife, Sarah, aged thirty-five, and child, Zachariah, aged 
two and one-half years, in the ship "Elizabeth," from 
Weymouth, England, April 11, 1635. Robert Whitman, 
aged twenty, from the parish of Little Minories, Eng- 
land, came in the "Abigail," in June, 1635, and settled 
in Ipswich. It is not known that he was a relative. The 
fact that Zachariah and Robert Whitman came in 1635 
makes it probable that John also came in that year. 

John Whitman owned and lived upon a farm adjoining 
the north side of the highway, leading by the north 
side of the meeting house of the north parish of Wey- 
mouth, and directly against it, and extending to the 
Weymouth River. His dwelling house was near the 
middle of the farm, and a part of the house now on the 
place was built about 1680; and if this date is correct, 
it was occupied by the immigrant ancestor. The farm 
until 1830 was owned by a descendant. John Whitman 
had many grants of land, and must have become by pur- 
chase and otherwise the largest, or one of the largest, 
landholders in the town. He held the office of ensign 
until March 16, 1680. He was appointed May 15, 1664, 
a messenger to the Indians, and held other positions, places 
of trust in the colony. Children : Thomas, of whom fur- 
ther ; John ; Sarah, married about 1653, Abraham Jones, 
of Hingham, died June 11. 1718, resided at Hull; Zach- 
ariah, born in 1644, died November 5, 1726; Abiah, born 
in 1646; Mary, married, November 22, 1656, John Pratt, 
died July 10, 1716; Elizabeth, married, May, 1657, Joseph 
Green, died February 2, 1720; Hannah, married, Sep- 
tember 9, 1660, Stephen French ; Judith, married Philip 
King. 

Thomas Whitman, son of John Whitman, was born 
in August, 1629, and married, in 1636, Abigail Byram. 
He died in 1712. They had three sons and four daugh- 
ters, one of whom was Nicholas, of whom further. 

Nicholas Whitman, son of Thomas and Abigail 
(Byram) Wiiitman, was born in Bridgewater, Massa- 
chusetts, and died August 6, 1746, aged seventy-one. He 



married (first) Sarah Vining, by whom he had six chil- 
dren; married (second) Mary Gary, by whom he had 
two children; married (third) Mary Conant, by whom 
he had eight children; he had a son, Thomas, of whom 
further. 

Captain Thomas Whitman, son of Nicholas Whitman, 
was born in 1702, died December 15, 1788, married (first) 
Jemimah Alden; married (second) Mrs. Rebecca 
Rickard ; and he had eight children by the first mar- 
riage ; he had a son, William, of whom further. 

William Whitman, son of Captain Thomas Whitman, 
was born in 1740, died in 1797; married (first) Mary 
StudJey; (second) Constance Cole. He had six children, 
all by his first wife, ong son, Oakes, of whom further. 

Oakes Whitman, son of William Whitman, was born 
January 26, 1769, died March 10, 1850, removed to Maine 
and settled in the town of Turner. He married, June 
17, 1790, Susanna, daughter* of Joshua and Olive (Bass) 
Barrell, born in 1771, died in 1861. They had nine chil- 
dren, one of whom was Luther, of whom further. 

Luther Whitman, son of Oakes Whitman, was born in 
Hanson, Massachusetts, October 3, 1796,^ died March 22, 
1881, in Turner, Maine. He was a teacher for many 
years, having schools in Sumner, Hartford and Turner. 
About 1 85 1 he bought a farm in Turner and resided 
there until his death. He married, April 15, 1824, 
Brittania Jones, born in 1799, died in 1854. He married 
(second) in 1855, Rebecca Jones, a sister of his first 
wife, born in 1806, died in 1875. He had eight children, 
all born in Turner, Maine, one of whom was Amos T., 
of whom further. 

Amos Turner Whitman, son of Luther Whitman, was 
Dom ui Turner, Maine, May 22, 1834. He was an ex- 
pert accountant, and went West from Turner and en- 
gaged in lumbering and milling. He was bookkeeper for 
Clark & McClure, of St. Qoud, Minnesota, for a time. 
He married in St.Cloud, January 17, 1869, Martha J., 
daughter of Joshua Crummett, of China, Maine. He 
had an adopted son, John Herbert, a son of John O. and 
Susan F. Crummett. This son was adopted June 20, 
1878, and hir name changed to Luther Oaks Whitman. 

Luther Oaks Whitman, born in Detroit, Minnesota, 
July 15, 1877, was educated in the public schools of St. 
Qoud, Minnesota, and received an academic education 
at Carlton College, Northfield, Minnesota, graduating 
in 1900. His medical education was gained in the Uni- 
versity of the South, Sewanee, Tennesse, from which 
he was graduated in 1905. He practiced medicine first 
in Barre, Massachusetts, where he continued two or 
three years, when he went to San Antonia, Texas. Here 
he practiced six years, and then went to New Harbor, 
Maine, where he practiced three years. Amherst, 
Massachusetts, was his next residence, and here he re- 
mained in practice three years. In Jime, 1919, he bought 
his present residence in Northampton, and located there 
to continue his medical practice, opening his office in 
September of that year; and here he has since con- 
tinued. Dr. Whitman is a member of the Hampshire 
County Medical Society, the Massachusetts Medical So- 
ciety, the American Medical Association, and a mem- 
ber of the Cooley-Dickinson Hospital Association. In 
fraternal association he is a member of Zion Lodge, 



70 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Free and Accepted Masons ; of the Ancient Accepted 
Scottish Rite; Melha Temple, Ancient Arabic Order 
Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, of Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, and of the Nonotuck Lodge, Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, and of Mount Holyoke Encampment of 
Northampton. He is a member of the Laymen's League 
of the Unitarian Church, of which he is organist and 
choirmaster. His college fraternities are the Sigma 
Alpha Epsilon and Chi Phi. He is a member of the 
Northampton Club. During the Spanish-American War 
Dr. Whitman was attached to the hospital corps in the 
camps in South Carolina. During the World War he 
was contract surgeon, stationed at Fort Williams in 
Portland Harbor, Maine. Dr. Whitman married (first) 
June 2, 1903, Selina Primm; (second) Adelaide Luby; 
(third) Jennie M. (Craig) Durber, daughter of James 
Mcintosh Craig, actuary of the Metropolitan Life In- 
surance Company. Dr. Whitman had one son by his first 
wife, who died in infancy. 
The line of Dr. Whitman's mother : 

(I) Andrew Greile, born in 1617, died at Salisbury, 
Massachusetts, 1697. He married Mary Moyse. 

(II) Philip Greile, born in Salisbury, Massachusetts, 
1644, died in 1717. He married Sarah Isley. 

(III) Jonathan Greile, born in 1672, died in 1750. 
He married Jane Wallace. 

(IV) Samuel Greeley, born in 1716, died in 1785. He 
married Judith Allen. 

(V) Jacob Greeley, born in 1739, died at Palermo, 
Maine, in 1820. He married Mary Laiten. 

(VI) Jonathan Greeley, born in Newcastle, Maine, in 
1768, died at Palermo, Maine, in 1852. He married 
Mary Foye. 

(VII) Jonathan Greeley, born at Palermo, Maine, 
January 15, 1797, died at Chelsea, Maine, July 12, 1867. 
He married Sally Choate. 

(VIII) Susan Frances (Greeley) Crummett, born 
September 29, 1841, married in Chicago, Illinois, May 

9, 1869, John O. Crummett, born in China, Maine, May 

10, 1833, son of Joshua and Dorothy Crummett. Susan 
Frances Crummett died in St. Cloud, Minnesota, June 
20, 1878. Children: Frank W., born July 24, 1872; 
Fred, born June 13, 1874; John Herbert, born July 8, 
1877; adopted by Amos T. Whitman and name changed 
to Luther Oaks Whitman. 



REV. LEVI JOSEPH ACHIM— No history of 
Western Massachusetts would be complete without the 
name of Rev. Levi J. Achim, whose work in connection 
with Notre Dame Roman Catholic Church is and has 
been most excellent and praiseworthy. A most notable 
characteristic, which has caused him to be beloved by 
hosts of people both inside and out of his parish, is his 
spirit of good fellowship and fraternal brotherliness, one 
of the beautiful traits of a priestly character, proving 
self-forgetfulness in the interests of Christ. 

Rev. Levi J. Achim was born January 16, 1859, at 
Spencer, Massachusetts, the son of Francis and Adelaide 
(Langois) Achim. He is a descendant of French fore- 
bears, who emigrated to America from Northern France 
in the early part of the seventeen hundreds. They 
settled in and around the Berkshire hills, where have 



sprung up at least two generations of loyal and patriotic 
American citizens. Father Achim received his educa- 
tion in the public and high schools of Spencer, then 
became a student of Holy Cross College, at Worcester, 
Massachusetts, from which he was graduated in 1885, 
having received his Bachelor of Arts degree. He next 
went to Montreal, Canada, in order to complete his 
theology course, and became a student of the Grand 
Seminary. From this institution he graduated in 1888, 
and was ordained there on December 22, of the same 
year. Shortly after, he received his appointment to St. 
Michael's Cathedral in Springfield, where he served for 
a period of five years, being then transferred to South 
Hadley Falls. Here he remained nine months, when he 
was made pastor of Northboro, having, also, Shrews- 
bury as a mission, serving in this community for ten 
years. His next move was to Grafton, where he was 
pastor for five years, or until he was called to Pittsfield, 
on July 23, 1910, to take charge of the Notre Dame 
Parish. This is the oldest parish of French-speaking 
people in the Springfield diocese, (aoing back to the 
year 1844, there stood upon this ground, now occupied 
by Notre Dame, a small wooden structure, plain in 
construction directly east of it lay the cemetery. Here 
it was that the pioneer Catholics of the county came 
tc worship, and where at the end of their earthly ca- 
reers they were laid at rest. In 1867, the French took 
possession of this property, and after thirty years of 
work and devotion, improved their property little by 
little, and were rewarded for their self-sacrifice by the 
beautiful Notre Dame structure of to-day. This beau- 
tiful edifice, in which to worship God, was dedicated 
and the first mass solemnized May 2, 1897. To this 
parish in 1910 came Rev. Levi J. Achim, who has been 
responsible for much of the improvement of buildings 
and property. His wise foresight immediately visioned 
the necessity of securing more property for future needs 
of the parish, and his first step in this direction began 
only two months after his arrival, when he purchased the 
Van Valkenburg property on the north corner of Mel- 
ville and First streets. He continued to purchase ad- 
joining land until he had a sufficiency for the needed 
buildings and spacious lawns for beautification. On 
April I, 1912, Father Achim spaded the first sod in the 
excavation necessary to build the rectory, and this 
building was completed and ready for occupancy Feb- 
ruary I, 1913. This handsome structure is unsurpassed 
by any in the diocese, and Father Achim's parishioners 
are proud of it, as they are of their pastor and curates 
who occupy it. 

In the early days there was not the general good fel- 
lowship between the French-Canadian Catholics and the 
Catholics of the United States, but to-day the at- 
mosphere about Notre Dame Parish is entirely changed, 
due in a large measure to the influence of their splen- 
did leader. Father Achim. He being a native of the 
United States, is thoroughly American and sees to it 
that his parish is the same. He is proud of his lineage 
and has a reverence for the customs and manners of his 
race, but he believes that America's ideas are best and 
endeavors to make his parishioners true American cit- 
izens. Father Achim has accomplished wonders since 




Lew-ts riistar'cal P'j-b 




WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



71 



his coming to Pittsfield, being of the type that never 
turns back when once he sets out to reach a goal. His 
next work in connection with his church is the building 
of a parish school. Father Achim organized in his 
parish the sodality for married women, the Ladies of 
St. Anne, which has met the needs of the people very 
successfully, and is now the favorite society of the 
parish. He is also the head of League of the Sacred 
Heart, the Promoters, and the Ladies of Charity, the 
last named the oldest society in the parish. Father 
Achim as well as being a learned English scholar speaks 
fluently the French language. 

Father Achim takes a keen interest in civic affairs, 
and is ever ready to help any movement for the social, 
moral or physical improvement of the community. 
During the World War he was actively interested in all 
the Liberty Loan and Red Cross drives, and his parish- 
oners worked with an earnest zeal to cooperate with his 
plans. They, in turn, were recompensed by the grati- 
fying result of seeing all their plans materialize. 

Father Achim devotes much time to study, keeping 
well abreast of the times, and derives a great deal of 
pleasure from travel, having visited many places of in- 
terest in both America and Europe. May the good work 
that he is doing continue for many j-ears. 



WALTER H. HADLEY— The ancient English 
name of Hadley has been borne in America by a long 
line of able men. To his race Walter H. Hadley, of 
Hatfield, Massachusetts, owes qualities that have made 
possible his own success. The name is found in several 
English counties, including Middlesex, Suffolk and Som- 
erset. As a family name in England, it is first found in 
the twelfth century records as de Haddeleigh and de 
Hadderly. This form has been many times changed, 
and variations are : Headley, Hedley, Hadly, Hedly. 
According to some authorities, the name is composed 
of the Saxon words "head" (high or elevated) and 
"leigh" (place). 

(I) George Hadley, American founder of the family, 
was born in England and came to this country before 
1639, when he was about thirty-nine years old. He 
settled first in Ipswich, Massachusetts, whence he moved 
to Rowley, on the Merrimac River, near Haverhill, 
Massachusetts, in 1655. Doubtless he shared there the 
hard experiences of his pioneer contemporaries. At any 
rate, he improved his farm so that one Thomas Kimball 
was glad to exchange for it his own farm in Ipswich 
in November, 1666. There he lived, in the western part 
of Ipswich, known as Live Brook Parish, near Tops- 
field. On December 11, 1676, he is recorded as having 
taken the oath of allegiance to Charles II ; on December 
2, 1679, he is listed as one of those entitled by law to 
vote on town affairs. He seems to have been comfort- 
ably off at this time, as his property is described as in- 
cluding houses, barns, orchards, wood and underbrush, 
and also a right to the common land. George Hadley 
died in Ipswich, Massachusetts. He married Mary 
Proctor. They had a son, Samuel, of whom further. 

(II) Samuel Hadley, son of George Hadley, married 
and had a son, Samuel (2), of whom further. 

(III) Samuel (2) Hadley, son of Samuel Hadley, 
married and had a son, Amos, of further mention. 



(IV) Amos Hadley, son of Samuel (2) Hadley, was 
born in Haverhill, Massachusetts, and died in Dunbar- 
ton. New Hampshire. He married Dorothy Woodbury. 
Their son was Moses, of further mention. 

(V) Moses Hadley, son of Amos and Dorothy 
(Woodbury) Hadley, was born in Dunbarton, New 
Hampshire, May i, 1769, and died in Canaan, New 
Hampshire, June 20, 1858. He married Mary Martin. 
Their son was Joshua, of further mention. 

(VI) Joshua Hadley, son of Moses and Mary (Mar- 
tin) Hadley, was born in Dunbarton, New Hampshire, 
August 29, 1795, and died in Lowell, Massachusetts, Sep- 
tember 6, 1868. He married Ruth Davis, and their son 
was Gilbert, of whom further. 

(VII) Gilbert Hadley, son of Joshua and Ruth 
(Davis) Hadley, was born in Orange, New Hampshire, 
March 22, 1822, and died in Worcester, Massachusetts, 
December 25, 1903. A carpenter by trade, he soon be- 
came a contractor and builder, with an important place 
in town affairs. He was selectman and Representative 
to the Legislature from Orange, New Hampshire. He 
trained men for the Civil War, as captain of the Guards.* 
He was deacon and treasurer of his church, and member 
of the Independent Order of Odd ellows. In 1869 he 
moved to Worcester, where he remained until his death. 
Gilbert Hadley married (first) Catherine Andrew, by 
whom he had a son Herman, of further mention; (sec- 
ond) Margaret Somers; (third) Elizabeth Currier; 
(fourth) Mrs. Sarah Lowell. 

(VIII) Herman Hadley, son of Gilbert and Catherine 
(Andrew) Hadley, was born in Orange, New Hamp- 
shire, November 23, 1847, and died in Worcester, Massa- 
chusetts, August 9, 1915. With his parents he moved to 
Worcester but returned to Orange for a time before 
settling finally in Worcester. As contractor and builder 
he erected many fine residences in Worcester. He was 
town clerk and treasurer of Orange, New Hampshire, 
in 1870, 1871 and 1872. In his church, the Baptist, he 
was an important member, acting as treasurer and also 
as superintendent of the Sunday school. Herman Had- 
ley married Margaret Lowell, of Orange, daughter of 
Elijah and Sarah Lowell. Their children were Walter 
H., of further mention, and Earl Gilbert, who is man- 
ager of the American Optical Company Branch of 
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. 

(IX) Walter Herman Hadley, son of Herman 
and Margaret (Lowell) Hadley, was born in Or- 
ange, New Hampshire, November 12, 1870. His 
elementary education he gained in the schools of 
Orange, New Hampshire, and Worcester, Massachu- 
setts, where he moved with his parents when he was 
fifteen years old. He finished his education at business 
college, and later entered the office of O. B. Wood, a 
Worcester manufacturer, where he held the position of 
bookkeeper for twelve years. Moving to Boston, he 
established a printing business, which he operated until 
1912, when he moved to Hatfield, Massachusetts, and 
became treasurer and manager of the Universal Trolley 
Wheel Company, of Northampton. After five years 
with this company he entered the organization of Pom- 
eroy Brothers, Inc., of Northampton, who manufacture 
house finishings and cabinet work. Since he entered 
in 191 8, Mr. Hadley has become vice-president and 



72 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



treasurer of the company, which position he still holds. 
Mr. Hadley occupies an important part in other circles, 
as well as financial, in Northampton. He has been 
president of the Board of Trade, is a director in the 
Northampton Credit Bureau, and is treasurer of the 
Laurel Park Chautauqua. He is a member of the Morn- 
ing Star Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, of Wor- 
cester, Massachusetts; Hiram Council, Worcester Royal 
and Select Masters. He is Past Grand Regent of the 
Royal Arcanum, of Massachusetts, in which he has 
always been an active worker. His religious activities 
are equally significant. He is a director of the Board 
of the Methodist Camp Meeting Association and super- 
intendent of the Sunday school in the Congregational 
Church in Hatfield. This church has sent out nine mis- 
sionaries and has been supported by notable philan- 
thropists: Oliver Smith, of the Smith Charities; Sophia 
Smith, founder of Smith College; and Cooley Dickin- 
son, founder of the Cooley Dickinson Hospital of North- 
ampton, who were all members. Mr. Hadley's par- 
ticular hobby is genealogy, and for thirty years he has 
been engaged in working out his own and allied family 
lines. 

Waher H. Hadley married, November 17, 1892, Hattie 
F. Lowell, of Hatfield, Massachusetts, daughter of Isaac 
Bruce and Anna Adeline (Streeter) Lowell. Walter H. 
and Hattie F. Lowell had one son, who died in infancy. 
Mrs. Hadley's ancestry is as follows : 

(The Lowell Line). 

(I) Richard Lowell, born in England in 1602, came 
to America, where he died in Newbury, Massachusetts, 
August 5, 1682. He married (first) in England, Mar- 
garet (surname unknown), who died in 1642; and (sec- 
ond) Margaret (surname unknown). He had a son 
Percival, of further mention. 

(H) Percival Lowell, son of Richard Lowell, was 
born in Newbury, Massachusetts, in 1639, the son of 
Richard and Margaret Lowell. He married Mary 
Chandler, and had a son, Gideon, of further mention. 

(HI) Captain Gideon Lowell, son of Percival and 
Mary (Chandler) Lowell, was born September 3, 1672, 
in Newbury, Massachusetts, and died in Amesbury, 
Massachusetts, before 1753. He married (first) Miriam 
Swett; (second) the widow, Elizabeth Colby. His son 
was Gideon (2), of whom further. 

(IV) Gideon (2) Lowell, son of Captain Gideon 
Lowell, was born in 1700 and died before October, 1765. 
He served in the French and Indian War. He married 
Mary Blaisdell, and had a son, Isaac, of further mention. 

(V) Isaac Lowell, son of Gideon and Mary (Blais- 
dell) Lowell, was born in Amesbury, Massachusetts, 
May 30, 1739, and died before May 10, 1796. He served 
in the Revolutionary War. He married (first) Anna 
Chase; (second) Sarah Pillsbury. He had a son. 
Ebenezer, of whom further. 

(VI) Ebenezer Lowell, son of Isaac Lowell, was born 
in Amesbury, Massachusetts, and died in Dansville, 
Vermont, in 1832. He married Sarah Morrill, who 
died in 1863. They had a son, Isaac, of whom further. 

(VII) Isaac Lowell, son of Ebenezer and Sarah 
(Morrill) Lowell, was born in Loudon, New Hampshire, 



October 8, 1797, and died in Orange, New Hampshire, 
November 26, 1865. He married, December 31, 1818, 
Mehitable Osborn, born in 1801, died in 1859. They had 
a son, Isaac Bruce, of whom further. 

(VIII) Isaac Bruce Lowell, son of Isaac and Me- 
hitable (Osborn) Lowell, was born in Orange, New 
Hampshire, August 21, 1828. He represented his town 
in the State Legislature, after he moved to Mittineague, 
Massachusetts, where he was agent for the Agawam 
Canal Company. When he retired from business he 
went to Hatfield to live and was there chairman of the 
Water Commission, which was instrumental in supplying 
the town with its splendid water system. He married, 
May 20, 1859, Anna Adeline Streeter, born in Northfield, 
Massachusetts, September i, 1832, and still living (in 
1925) to the age of ninety-three. They had a daugh- 
ter, Hattie, of further mention. 

(IX) Hattie F. Lowell, daughter of Isaac Bruce 
and Anna Adeline (Streeter) Lowell, was bom in Mit- 
tineague, and married Walter Herman Hadley. (See 
Hadley line IX). 



MELVIN W. POTTER— Descended from a long 
line of American forebears, who helped in the upbuild- 
ing of this great nation, Melvin W. Potter, retired 
farmer of North Sunderland, has spent his life in the 
splendid work of agriculture. This industry in all ages 
has been the very foundation work of progress and civ- 
ilization, and without it even modern progress is impos- 
sible. He has well earned the fruits of his toil, and 
lives to-day enjoying that leisure that through thrift 
and industry he was enabled to prepare for himself. 

The Potter family is prominent in early New Eng- 
land history, as it has been ever since George Potter, 
the immigrant ancestor of the family, settled early in 
Rhode Island. He was born in England, and died soon 
after 1639, it is supposed, as no record of him beyond 
that year has been found. His widow married Nich- 
olas Miles. George Potter was admitted as an inhab- 
itant of the island of Aquidneck in 1638. With twenty- 
eight others he signed a compact, dated April 30, 1637, 
in these terms: "We whose names are under, written 
to acknowledge ourselves the legal subjects of His 
Majesty, King Charles, and in his name, do hereby bind 
ourselves into a body politicke, unto his laws, accord- 
ing to matters of justice." Nathaniel Potter, probably 
George Potter's brother, signed the same compact. 

Abel Potter, the only child of George Potter, was 
doubtless born in England, about 1638. His father-in- 
law (step-father), Nicholas Niies, bound him out to 
William Baulstone for a term of eighteen years. (He 
may have been three years old at the time, but prob- 
ably older, for the boy "gave his consent," and thus 
his apprenticeship extended until after he became of 
age.) The town approved the contract for the better 
security of Mr. Baulstone. He and Nathaniel Potter 
confirmed, September 5, 1669, a deed of eight acres 
of land that had once been in their father's possession, 
said deed having been made by Samuel Wilbur to John 
Fipp, shaft carpenter. May 7, 1663. By "father's pos- 
session" the respective father of each is meant. Na- 
thaniel Potter was son of Nathaniel Potter. Abel Pot- 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



73 



ter bought land of John Reed for thirty-six pounds, a 
right in Mashautateck, at Dartmouth, Massachusetts, 
May 3, 1667. He and his wife Rachel, of Mashautateck, 
sold sixty acres and coming near Pautucket Falls, to 
Josephus Jenches, said land formerly belonging to her 
grandfather, Ezekiel Holliman, the deed being dated 
at Providence, October 10, 1671. He was admitted a 
freeman. May i, 1677. He sold land on October 6, 
1682, to Roger Burlingham, for two pounds. His will 
was dated January 14, 1792, and proved March 9, fol- 
lowing. His wife Rachel was executrix. He bequeathed 
to his son George sixty acres "where he had made prep- 
aration for building," and various other property, he 
paying his sister Mary five pounds. He directed his 
wife to divide the remainder of the estate among the 
children, excepting George and Stephen. To the latter 
was bequeathed at the death of the wife all the home- 
stead, paying to his sister Mary five pounds, and the 
sons Abel and Benjamin were to pay Mary five pounds 
within two years after they became of age. The will 
of the widow, Rachel Potter, was dated November 23, 
1724, and her sons Ichabod and Job were executors. 
She bequeathed her property to her sons Abel, Benja- 
min, Stephen and John; to daughter Mary, Ichabod, 
and Job the lands at Mashautateck. Abel Potter mar- 
ried, November 16, 1669, Rachel Warner, who died 
November 8, 1724. She was a daughter of John and 
Priscilla (Holliman) Warner. Children, born at War- 
wick, Rhode Island: George, married. May 3, 1712, 
Rachel, surname unknown; John, of whom further; 
Abel, married (first) January i, 1713, Rebecca Paine; 
married (second), April 30, 1719, Martha Paine, widow 
of John Paine; Benjamin, married Sarah Lockwood, 
daughter of Abraham Lockwood; Mary, married Hugh 
Stone, son of Hugh and Abigail Stone; Stephen; Icha- 
bod ; Job, married Meribah Carter. 

John Potter, son of Abel and Rachel (Warner) Pot- 
ter, was born at Warwick, Rhode Island, 1680, died 
aged ninety. He married, February 19, 1702, Rachel 
Dearborn, daughter of John Dearborn. Children, born 
at Coventry, Rhode Island: John, Jr., of whom fur- 
ther; Susanna, born January 11, 1705; Elizabeth, born 
May 18, 1709; Mary, born December 29, 171 1; Wil- 
liam; Abel; Joseph, born 1715, died aged seventy. 

John Potter, Jr., son of John and Rachel (Dear- 
born) Potter, was born at Coventry, Rhode Island, 
July 8, 1703. He married, December 6, 1741, Mary 
Arnold. Children, born at Scituate, Rhode Island; 
Phebe, born November 20, 1742; Hannah, born Decem- 
ber 9, 1744, married, November 3, 1763, Job Manchester; 
Philip, born April 20, 1749; John, born April 20, 1752, 
died June 24, 1806, married, in 1776, Jemima Carpen- 
ter; Susannah, born December 25, 1755; Gilbert, born 
June 22, 1758; Mary, born March 25, 1760. 

Later in descent was Mortimer Potter, born in Ley- 
den, Massachusetts, May i, 1819. At the age of twenty- 
five he married Alvira Barton, of Gill, Massachusetts, 
and went to Greenfield, in that State, to live on a small 
farm in the north part of the town. In 1845 he bought 
a farm in partnership with his brother, J. Warren 
Potter, of whom further, in Greenfield Meadows, but 
sold out to the latter after three or four years, and 



lived in Greenfield village eight years or longer. There 
were four children bom to him: Ella Flora, born May 
2, 1848; Benjamin Barton, born September 22, 1850; 
Delia Anne, born August 30, 1855; Stephen Olin. In 
i860, when the Civil War broke out, he went to 
Springfield and worked in the United States Armory 
on the hill for seven years. In 1867 he was appointed 
to take care of the city street lamps, and this position 
he filled for four years. In August, 1871, he removed 
to a farm at South Deerfield, and on February 20, 
1875, he died there. In June, 1875, his widow moved 
back to Springfield with her children. Benjamin Bar- 
ton Potter, the oldest son, died August 27, 1875, and on 
July 14, 1876, Alvira (Barton) Potter, his widow, died. 
Ella Flora, Stephen Olin, and Delia Anne are still living. 
Ella Flora was with the Kibbe Candy Company for 
forty-eight years; Stephen Olin was a house painter 
and decorator, is now an invalid; Delia Anne kept the 
home. Mortimer Potter joined the Methodist Church 
in Leyden, at the age of seventeen years. Wherever he 
went he was a loyal Methodist and Christian, and his 
wife was also of that faith. His children united with 
the Trinity Methodist Church in Springfield in the 
years from 1865 to 1867. Three years ago circum- 
stances compelled them to united with the North Con- 
gregational Church near their present home. The 
Methodist Church was moved from the center of the 
city two miles to Forest Park. 

The children of Charles Potter, brother of Mortimer 
Potter, are living in Des Moines, Iowa. The son of 
Louise (Potter) Bunnell, sister of Mortimer Potter, is 
living at No. 607 Park Avenue, Omaha, Nebraska. 
William S. Potter, brother of Mortimer Potter, who 
lived in Leyden, had five children: Lewis, George, 
Fayette, Henry, and Susie. Lewis enlisted in the Civil 
War in i860, and was killed in battle after three years' 
service, and but two days before his time to return 
home, as he had enlisted for three years. He was about 
twenty-three years old. George Potter died in Leyden 
in January, 1868, aged about twenty-four years. Fay- 
ette died in Leyden, in 1922, aged seventy-four years. 
He left a daughter Lucy. Henry died in Brattleboro, 
Vermont, aged about thirty years. Susie, the only 
daughter, married Austin Mowry, of Leyden, in 1875, 
and went to Leyden Center to live. She died at her 
home at the age of thirty-three. 

Frank Field Potter, son of Melvin Potter, and grand- 
nephew of William Potter, was born May 10, 1880, in 
South Deerfield, and lives on a farm in Montague, Mas- 
sachusetts. The children of Lillie (Potter) Peeler, 
sister of Melvin Potter: David W., born in Deerfield, 
Massachusetts, April 2, 1879, lives in Hazardville, Con- 
necticut, and has two children; Minnie (Peeler) Wells, 
born July 14, 1892, lives on a farm in Northfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, and has three children. 

David Potter, a lineal descendant of the first Potter 
in this country, died as a result of an accident in Ley- 
den, Massachusetts, prior to i860. He married Sarah 
Rounds, of Leyden, and their children were: Mortimer; 
William; Hezekiah; Ruth, who married James Foster; 
Louise, who married Mr. Bunnell; Joseph Warren, of 
whom further; Charles. 



74 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Joseph Warren Potter, son of David and Sarah 
(Rounds) Potter, was born at Leyden, Massachusetts, 
August 22, 1822, and lived in Greenfield, in that State. 
He was a farmer, and early in life came to Greenfield, 
where in company with his brother, Mortimer, he 
bought a large farm on the Shelburne Road, at the foot 
of Shelburne Mountain. Later he purchased his broth- 
er's interest and carried on the farm alone. He had 
about one hundred and seven acres in the home farm, 
and an additional one hundred acres on Shelburne 
Mountain. He himself built all the buildings on the 
farm, and was in every way a progressive, up-to-date 
and prosperous farmer. He was twice married. His 
first wife was Sophronie Newcomb, daughter of Hart- 
man Newcomb. She was born in Leyden, Massachu- 
setts, in 1827, and died in 1864. His second marriage 
was to Sarah L. (Bishop) Williams, a native of Char- 
lemont, Massachusetts, born in 1832, died in May, 1913, 
aged eighty-one years. Mrs. Sarah L. Potter, before 
her marriage to Joseph Warren Potter was the widow 
of Eros Williams. The children of the first marriage: 
Melvin W. Potter, of further mention. Lily Potter, 
who married David Peeler, of Deerfield, in March, 
1877, living there until she died, September 29, 1913. 
Elwin Newcomb Potter, a sketch of whom follows. 
William H. Potter, bom June 24, 1864. The children 
of the second marriage: Florence H., born in 1869, 
who married Charles Bissell. Lawson B., born Feb- 
ruary 27, 1873, died March 9, 1923. Joseph Warren 
Potter, Jr., a sketch of whom follows. 

Melvin W. Potter, son of Joseph Warren and So- 
phronie (Newcomb) Potter, was born November 22, 
1853, at Greenfield, Massachusetts, and received his 
early education in the schools of his native town. He 
then worked at home on his father's farm until he 
reached the age of twenty-one years. In 1875 he went 
to Deerfield, to a farm owned by his father, which he 
purchased, and where he lived and worked for forty- 
five years. When he first began for himself, he had 
but ninety-two dollars capital, but he worked steadily 
and industriously, his main crops being tobacco, but he 
kept five or six cows and did dairying on a small scale. 
He also for a time ran the ferry across the Connec- 
ticut River, known as Whitmore's Ferry, running be- 
tween Deerfield and North Sunderland. His steady 
work for nearly half a century, finally yielded him sufifi- 
cient to buy a small farm in North Sunderland, which 
he did after selling his old farm in 1920, and since then 
he is living practically retired, the competency he now 
has being a well earned reward of foresight, thrift and 
industry, added to good judgment. Mr. Potter is an 
active member of the Baptist Church of which he has 
been for many years Deacon as well as Superintend- 
ent of the Sunday school. He is an active and interested 
member of the community, doing his part in all mat- 
ters of civic and social duty, and he is a revered mem- 
ber of the section where he is widely known and 
respected. 

Melvin W. Potter married (first) December 27, 
1876, Martha Field, born in Illinois, April 29, 1849, 
daughter of John Field. She died May 29, 1915. He 
married (second) December 8, 1918, Ida M. True. 



The children of the first marriage were: i. Frank 
Field, born in Deerfield, May 10, 1880; married Maud 
Day; he is a farmer in Northfield, Massachusetts. 2. 
Melvin, Jr. 3. Martha Potter (twins) born August, 
1882; both died in September, 1882. 



ELWIN NEWCOMB POTTER, son of Joseph 
Warren and Sophronie (Newcomb) Potter (q. v.), was 
bom in Greenfield, Massachusetts, March 22, i860. He 
received his education in the schools of Greenfield, and 
after finishing his studies entered the service of Kibbe 
Brothers, manufacturers of candy in Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, staying with them for two years. At first he was a 
clerk, but later he traveled on the road as a salesman, 
driving one of their famous four-horse teams. In 1880 
he went to Sioux Falls, South Dakota, where for two 
years he was in the real estate business, buying and sell- 
ing land and building houses. In 1890 he returned East, 
and for six years had charge of the Thayer farm. For 
two or three years he traveled on the road through au- 
tumn and winter for a fertilizer company. In 1899 he 
bought the farm he now occupies. He is the owner of 
some one hundred and fifty acres of land, carries on 
general farming, including dairy work, and also raises 
tobacco and onions. His home farm on Greenfield 
Meadows is especially attractive, and is often admired 
by visitors and experts in farming. Mr. Potter was for 
a number of years on the Republican finance commit- 
tee of his district, and has been a member of the Repub- 
lican town committee. He also has the care and super- 
vision of the roads of the town. In religion he is a 
Congregationalist, and he attends the North Parish 
Congregational Church. 

On December 8, 1897, he married Abbie M. Carpen- 
ter, of Deerfield, Massachusetts, daughter of C. Newton 
and Lottie (Smeed) Carpenter, and they have three 
children : Leslie Elwin, born May 10, 1898, who works 
with his father on the farm ; Edith Gertrude, born Oc- 
tober 4, 1902 ; and Harold Carpenter, born October 24, 
1911. 



JOSEPH WARREN POTTER, Jr.— It is so obvi- 
ously true as to be a platitude that the whole of our human 
civilization in its many aspects of trade, commerce, 
science and art rests directly or indirectly upon agri- 
culture, the cultivation of the soil, that as long as the 
age still seems in the distance, when as our scientists 
phophesy, human and animal food will be prepared in 
in huge laboratories in a much cleaner, simpler and 
less expensive way, the farmer is the modern atlas who 
on his broad back carries the structure of our much- 
vaunted civilization, which, however, far advanced, has 
not yet touched human nature and the human heart 
sufficiently to merit its name. A man like J. W. Potter, 
Jr., who has been born on his father's farm and passed his 
youth there and now owns it, works it, and lives on it, 
may well claim in his own way to be very much more 
essential and fundamental and indispensable in the gen- 
eral scheme of things than all the skyscrapers, radios, 
airplanes, systems of philosophy and products of art 
rolled into one, inasmuch as all these things and hun- 
dreds and thousands of others could not be and could 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



75 



never have been invented or conceived of as possibilities 
of the future, had it not been for the quiet, unobtrusive, 
patient toil of the agriculturist. It is, therefore, very 
natural and in no way extraordinary that the farmer 
should assert himself civically, politically and in other 
ways, as the most important factor in the common- 
wealth, on whose labor the very life of the nation, its 
prosperity and its chance in the race for political power 
and supremacy rests. 

Joseph Warren Potter, Jr., a fine type of American 
farmer, born, bred and living on the soil which he 
tills, is a native of Greenfield, Massachusetts, where 
he was born on January 7, 1877, a son of Joseph War- 
ren and Sarah L. (Bishop-Williams) Potter (q. v.). 
He received his early education in the schools of Green- 
field, Massachusetts. Since his father's death he has 
owned and operated the home farm, having devoted his 
time to general farming. Previous to that he worked 
for nine years for the Text Brothers, of Springfield, 
Massachusetts, buying milk for them in all the adjoin- 
ing towns and loading it into the cars. He has also 
done much work on the streets in Greenfield, Massa- 
chusetts, of which he had charge to some extent. He 
keeps several teams of horses and does much teaming 
summers and winters and also keeps about twenty-live 
head of cattle, sometimes more, sometimes less, accord- 
ing to the season and the opportunities arising in the 
routine of mixed farming. The new highway over 
Shelburne Mountain, built by the State at an expense 
of a quarter of a million dollars, goes through the Pot- 
ter's land for a large portion of the way. 

In November, 1903, Mr. Potter married Susie Fritz, 
of Greenfield, Massachusetts, who is a daughter of 
Jacob Fritz. Mr. and Mrs. J. W. Potter are the 
parents of two children: Henry Rufus, born in 1904; 
and James Warren, born in 1907. 



GEORGE WARREN ANDREWS, representative 
among the citizens of Orange, Massachusetts, who for 
a period of over twenty-five years has held the respon- 
sible and exacting position of treasurer of the Orange 
Savings Bank, is a representative of a family that 
traces back several generations, the line of descent being 
as follows : Thomas Andrews ; Robert Andrews, who 
was killed while constructing a log cabin when his son. 
Dr. Robert Andrews, was two years of age; Dr. Rob- 
ert Andrews, of whom further; Warren Brooks An- 
drews, of whom further ; George Warren, of this re- 
view; Virgil Lord Andrews, of whom further; George 
Warren Andrews, (second), and Virgil Lord, Jr. 

Dr. Robert Andrews, grandfather of George Warren 
Andrews, was born in New York State, but came as a 
small boy to New Salem, Massachusetts, and although 
he had only the clothes that were then on his back, he 
had enough ambition, combined with energy and grit, 
to earn for himself the necessary means to put him 
through college. This he desired to do very much, as 
he had made up his mind to be a medical man. He 
became a student of Dartmouth College, and was grad- 
uated with the class of 1831. Having earned his medical 
degree he located in New Salem and began the prac- 
tice of medicine. While a resident of this place he was 



honored with election to the Legislature and the Con- 
stitutional conventions. He was also for a time a resi- 
dent of Orange, having gone there in 1859. He mar- 
ried Ora Merriam. 

Warren Brooks Andrews, father of George Warren 
Andrews, was born in New Salem, Massachusetts, and 
conducted the business of pharmacist in Orange, in 
which he became prosperous. He married Lizzie T. 
Stone, daughter of Edwin and Mary Clark (Bassett) 
Stone, and the granddaughter of Joseph and Elizabeth 
(Makepiece) Bassett. He lived past the allotted three 
score and ten, being eighty-one years of age when he 
passed away on April 14, 1921. His wife died some 
thirty years previous to his passing. 

George Warren Andrews was born in the village of 
Orange, Massachusetts, November 30, 1868. He received 
only a common school education ; he entered the Orange 
National Bank, and from the first made himself of value 
to the firm. The year of his entry to the bank was in 
1886, and in 1899. just thirteen years after he had the 
honor of being elected treasurer of the Orange Savings 
Bank. This very important office of trust he is hold- 
ing to-day (1925). This bank, officers of which are 
Augustus J. Fisher, president ; Harry C. Gates and Ed- 
ward M. Buell, vice-presidents, and George W. Andrews, 
treasurer, was organized in 1871 under the new State 
law and now conditions are as follows: Statement July 
31, 1925, resources: Public funds, $359,658.13; railroad 
bonds, $581,388.75; street railway bonds, $133,549.70; 
Boston terminal bonds, $10,000; telephone bonds, $57,985; 
gas, electric and power bonds, $40,575 ; bank stock, 
$16,000; loans on real estate, $2,256,862; loans on per- 
sonal security, $89,035.77 ; real estate bank purposes, 
$15,000; taxes, etc., paid mortgaged property, $2,209.24; 
Securities acquired, $725; cash in banks, $92,064.30; 
cash on hand, $5,818.63; total, $3,660,871.52. Liabilities: 
Deposits, $3,352,178.75 ; guaranty fund, $164,021 ; un- 
divided profits, $138,078.67; rents bank building, $593.10; 
due on mortgage loans, $6,000; total, $3,660,871.52. 

Mr. Andrews is a man greatly respected and admired 
in his native Orange. He is progressive and interested 
in all movements for the improvement of the village. 
During the World War he was' a leader of much of the 
war work carried on in the community, serving on vari- 
ous committees. Mr. Andrews is affiliated with the 
Congregational Church of Orange, in which he is an 
active worker, being a deacon of same, and has held 
many offices of trust on various committees of the 
church. 

George Warren Andrews married, in Orange, Massa- 
chusetts, September 7, 1892, Carrie Lord, daughter of 
Albion and Sarah (Pease) Lord, and they are the par- 
ents of two children: Virgil Lord, of whom further; 
and Pearl, who is a graduate of the Simmons College; 
taught for a time in the Gardner High School, and is 
now a teacher in the Fanny Farmer Cooking School. 
Mr. Andrews has recently purchased the historic Deacon 
Moore homestead at Warwick, Massachusetts, and has 
made a thorough restoration of same, using it as a sum- 
mer residence. 

Virgil Lord Andrews, son of George Warren and 
Carrie (Lord) Andrews, is a resident of Greenfield, 



76 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Massachusetts. In association with his father, he has 
been active in the brokerage of real estate, his father, 
in addition to his banking responsibilities, handling real 
estate in all its branches. Virgil L. Andrews married 
Margaret Riordan, of North Adams, Massachusetts. 
They are the parents of two sons : George Warren (sec- 
ond), and Virgil Lord, Jr. 



HENRY JOHONNOTT KELLOGG, who is 

prominent in the paper industry in Massachusetts, as 
general manager of the Turners Falls plant of the In- 
ternational Paper Company, is a man of wide promi- 
nence as a business executive, and his numerous con- 
nections with pioneers in American history give his 
name and individual record more than passing signifi- 
cance to any history of the old Bay State. 

The pioneer ancestor of the Kellogg family in Amer- 
ica was Samuel Kellogg, who was born in England, 
and whose name appears in early records of Hadley, 
Massachusetts, in 1664. It is believed quite probable 
that he was in this country for some years prior to 
the Hadley settlement. In direct line from the pioneer, 
Abner Kellogg, probably of the fifth generation in 
descent, was born in Colchester, Connecticut, about 
1716, and there married, on June 26, 1740, Lydia Otis, 
who was born in that village in 1716. He died in Col- 
chester, Connecticut, November 18, 1754, while she died 
in Lebanon, Connecticut, at the great age of ninety- 
one years, January i, 1807, many years after her mar- 
riage to her second husband. Captain Amos Thomas. 

Through collateral lines, tracing down to this mar- 
riage, Mr. Kellogg is descended from John Tilley, who 
married in Europe, his wife perhaps having been 
Bridget Van de Velde, and they both came to America 
on the "Mayflower," and both died in 1621. Elizabeth 
Till y, their daughter, was born about 1607, and became 
the wife in Plymouth, Massachusetts, of John Howland, 
who was born in England about 1592, and died, in Ply- 
rrouth, February 23, 1672-73. She died in Swansea, 
Massachusetts, December 31, 1687, and both were 
"Mayflower" passengers. Desire Howland, daughter of 
these parents, was born in Plymouth, Massachusetts, in 
1623, and died in Swansea, August 3, 1683. She be- 
came the wife of Captain John Gorham, in 1643, who 
was born in England and baptized January 28, 1621. 
Lydia Gorham, daughter of these parents, was born in 
Barnstable, Massachusetts, November 11, 1661, and 
became the wife of Colonel John Thatcher, who was 
born in Marblehead, Massachusetts, March 17, 1639, 
and died at Yarmouth, May 8, 1712. Hannah Thatcher, 
daughter of these parents, was born in Yarmouth, Oc- 
tober 9, 1690, and died in Colchester, Connecticut, May 
6, 1780. She became the wife of Nathaniel Otis, who 
was born in Scituate, Massachusetts, January 30, 1689- 
1690, and died, in Colchester, April 15, 1771. Lydia 
Otis, their daughter, became the wife of Abner Kel- 
logg, as above mentioned. 

Ezekiel Kellogg, son of Abner and Lydia (Otis) Kel- 
logg, was born in Colchester, Connecticut, September 
17, 1748, and there married, on May 30, 1771, Elishaba 
Wells, who was born in that village, September 15, 
1751. He died, in Otsego, New York, July 7, 1823, 



having survived for many years his wife, who died in 
Great Barrington, Massachusetts, January 9, I777' 

Silas Kellogg, son of Elzekiel and Elishaba (Wells) 
Kellogg, was bom in Great Barrington, February 15, 
1775, and married, in Wilmington, Vermont, August 12, 
1808, Sophia Lamb, who was born at Halifax, Ver- 
mont, February 13, 1787, and died in Wilmington, Ver- 
mont, May 13, 1827. He died at Oswegatchie, New 
York, February 16, 1824. 

Henry Kellogg, son of Silas and Sophia (Lamb) 
Kellogg, was born in Wilmington, Vermont, November 
29, 181 1, and died at Roxbury, Massachusetts, April 19, 
1899. He married, in Roxbury, November 29, 1840, 
Hannah Reed Goddard (see Goddard line), who was 
born in Roxbury, October 23, 181 5, and there died, 
May 19, i860. 

George Gilbert Kellogg, son of Henry and Hannah 
(Reed-Goddard) Kellogg, was born in Roxbury, Mas- 
sachusetts, September 4, 1853. He became a resident of 
Montpelier, Vermont, as a young man, and rose to a 
position of more than usual importance in the commu- 
nity. He became a leading bantcer of that section, and 
later removed to Winchester, Massachusetts, where he 
eventually died, in 1921, after many years of promi- 
nence in the banking world in Boston. He married, in 
Montpelier, Vermont, on October 22, 1879, Nellie Mary 
Johonnott, who was born in that city, October 20, 
1855. They were the parents of Henry Johonnott Kel- 
logg, whose name entitles this review. 

Henry Johonnott Kellogg, son of George Gilbert and 
Nellie Mary (Johonnott) Kellogg, was born in Mont- 
pelier, Vermont, July 15, 1882. The family removing 
to Winchester when he was two years of age, he re- 
ceived his early education in the local public and high 
schools, then entered Harvard University to prepare for 
his professional career. When he left college he en- 
tered the employment of the Oxford mills, at Rum- 
ford, Maine, as chemist of the plant, and after excel- 
lent training there went to the International Paper 
Company, in 1907. Mr. Kellogg began at the bottom 
and worked his way up, serving two years in the labor 
production department, and was later assistant day 
superintendent. He went to New York City, becoming 
assistant to the president and manager at the Aucram 
Paper Mills. Then he returned to the International Paper 
Company, in 191 1, as resident engineer. In 1916 he be- 
came manager of the Turners Falls mills for the In- 
ternational Paper Company, and in this responsible office 
he is ably and efiliciently meeting the problems of the big 
producer. He devotes his time and attention to his 
work in this connection, but is broadly in sympathy 
with every branch of human endeavor, and lends his 
influence to the encouragement of all worthy effort, 
and especially in connection with playground and recre- 
ational activities. He is esteemed and honored by every 
one with whom he comes in touch, and is considered one 
of the eminently useful and outstanding textile execu- 
tives of New England. 

Henry Johonnott Kellogg married, April 21, 1913, at 
Winchester, Massachusetts, Caroline Dunn Jewett, 
daughter of Nathaniel March and Caroline (Dunn) Jew- 
ett. Mr. and Mrs. Kellogg are the parents of three 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



77 



children: Henry, Jr.; Caroline Jewett; and Natalie 
Dunn. 

(The Goddard Line). 

The Goddard line traces back to Giles Goddard, who 
came, undoubtedly from England to America in the 
seventeenth century. Of the children of Giles and Mary 
Goddard, a son William was born, August 4, 1678, and 
this birth is noted in the vital records of Boston. The 
family removed to the "Pemaquid Country," of Maine, 
and Giles Goddard served at one time as chosen rep- 
resentative of the Freeholders of Pemaquid and De- 
pendencies to the General Assembly of New York, 
under which domain the country then lay. He became 
lieutenant of the Foot Company for the town of New 
Dartmouth, and surveyor of Cornwall County, also a 
commissioner, and with seven others received from 
King James II a commission as justice of the peace. 
The settlement was destroyed by Indians, but Giles God- 
dard escaped and spent his declining years in Boston. 
He married twice (second) on August 2, 1721, Lydia 
(4) Chapin, daughter of Caleb (3) and Sarah Chapin, 
and she died in 1738. 

Captain John (2) Goddard, eldest son of Giles (i) 
and Mary Goddard, was born before the family came 
to Boston, and lived in Roxbury, Massachusetts. He 
married, in Lynn, June 19, 1697, Sarah Farrington, 
daughter of Matthew (3) and Sarah (Potter) Farring- 
ton. She died, leaving five children, and of his second 
marriage there was no issue. He died in 1745, after a 
useful life as a "cordwainer" and "innholder." 

Giles (3) Goddard, eldest child of Captain John (2) 
and Sarah (Farrington) Goddard, was born December 
28, 1698, and died in 1747, or 1748. He seems to have 
been an innkeeper also, and he married, December 23, 
1720, Hannah Pratt, daughter of John (2) and Mary 
Pratt. 

Sergeant John (4) Goddard, third child and second 
son of Giles (3) and Hannah (Pratt) Goddard, was 
bom December 10, 1725, probably in Maiden, and died 
in Roxbury, about 1793. He enlisted in the Revolu- 
tionary War from Roxbury, and married, at Maiden, 
August 3, 1745, Sarah Sargent, daughter of John (4) 
and Sarah (Dexter) Sargent. 

Ebenezer (5) Goddard, fifth child and second son of 
Sergeant John (4) and Sarah (Sargent) Goddard, was 
born about 1752, and was evidently prosperous. He 
married, October i, 1777 or 1778, Sally Curtis, who 
died, and he married a second time. His death occurred 
at Roxbury, April 8, 1827. 

Ebenezer (6) Goddard, who seems to be the only 
son of Ebenezer (5) and Sally (Curtis) Goddard, was 
born in Roxbury, in 1779, and died, December 15, 1838. 
He married, in Boston, April 24, 1799, Susanna Chan- 
nel, daughter of Lewis and Susanna (Marston) Chan- 
nel. Ebenezer Goddard (6) was commissioned by Gov- 
ernor Christopher Gore, of Massachusetts, March 7, 
1810, captain of a company in the First Militia Regi- 
ment (Infantry), of Massachusetts, and he resigned his 
commission April i, 1815. 

Hannah Reed Goddard, youngest of the seven daugh- 
ters of Ebenezer (6) and Susanna (Channel) Goddard, 
became the wife of Henry Kellogg (see Kellogg). 



(The Channel Line). 

The Channel line traces back to Lewis Channel, who, 
according to family records, was the son of French 
Protestants, who fled from Paris to Denmark during a 
persecution by the Catholics in the time of Louis XIV. 
He later came to Boston, and became a tanner and 
dyer of leather, possessing, according to tradition, sec- 
ret processes for certain colors which he never revealed. 
He served in the Revolution. Lewis Channel married, 
April 12, 1763, Susanna Marston, daughter of James (3) 
and Elizabeth Marston. 

Susanna Channel, fourth child and third daughter of 
the above parents, was baptized at Trinity Church in 
Boston, January i, 1769, and married, in Boston, April 

14, 1799, Ebenezer Goddard, Jr. He died, December 

15, 1838, while she survived him for nearly eleven years, 
passing away, December 11, 1849. 

Hannah Reed (joddard, youngest child of the above 
parents, became the wife of Henry Kellogg. (See 
Kellogg.) 

(The Johonnott Line). 

The Johonnott line traces back in America to an 
early period, when John Johonnott was a resident of 
Boston. There was also in Middletown, Connecticut, 
a Daniel Johonnott, and both these men had children, 
the former, one son and two daughters, under sixteen 
years of age, the latter, three sons and one daughter of 
similar age. A Mrs. Johonnott, in the same period, had 
one son and three daughters under sixteen years of age. 
No other records are available to complete these fam- 
ilies. Daniel Johonnott came from La Rochelle, France, 
to America in 1666, with a party of Huguenots. 

Peter Johonnott, Sr., the third generation from Dan- 
iel Johonnott, became a tanner of hides, and in 1795 
started on horseback, with his wife and infant, making 
a trip to Vermont by blazed trails in nine days. He 
located on the Robert Morse farm, in the town of 
Barre, and established a tanning business. He married 
(first) Ruth Sheldon, a twin of Thankful Sheldon, and 
one of the fourteen children of Isaac and Mary (Wood- 
ford) Sheldon, the mother, a daughter of Thomas and 
Mary (Blott) Woodford, Isaac Sheldon and Thomas 
Woodford also being pioneers in America. 

Peter Johonnott, Jr., eldest child of Peter, Sr., and 
Ruth (Sheldon) Johonnott, was born in Hartford, 
Connecticut, March 6, 1778, and died in Montpelier, 
Vermont, January 29, 1867. He married, March 3, 
1825, Nancy Blanchard, daughter of General Asa 
Blanchard, and they were the parents of five children. 

Through other collateral lines Mr. Kellogg traces 
ancestry to William White; accordingly he is descended 
from seven passengers of the "Mayflower," as follows: 
John Tilley, Mrs. John Tilley, wife; Elizabeth Tilley, 
daughter, married John Howland; William White, 
Susanna (Fuller) White, wife; Resolved White, son, 
John Howland. Of his ancestors, John Howland and 
John Tilley participated in the "First Encounter" at 
Great Meadow Creek, December 8, 1620; while Captain 
Nathaniel Thomas, of Marshfield, Massachusetts, and 
Zechariah Field, of Hartford, Connecticut, took part 
in the Pequot War, in 1637. 

The following ancestors took part in the two years' 



78 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



struggle of King Philip's War, 1675-1677: Captain 
John Gorham; Lieutenant Phineal Upham; Sergeant 
Samuel Field; Ensign John Dickinson; Corporal Abiel 
Lamb; Nathaniel Richardson; Richard Thayer (the 
foregoing seeing action in the "Great Swamp Fight"); 
Lieutenant David Hoyt; Lieutenant Thomas Cooper; 
Lieutenant Nathaniel Thomas; Lieutenant James Lewis; 
Sergeant John Woods, Sr.; Deacon Samuel Chapin; 
Robert Bartlett; Joseph Bernard; Hugh Clark; John 
Howe, Sr.; John Howe, Jr.; Isaac Howe; John Wol- 
cott; Thomas King; William Ward; Stephen Paine; 
John Otis; John Rice; and John Thatcher. 

The following were killed by the Indians in that 
early period: Sergeant Samuel Field; Lieutenant David 
Hoyt; Ensign John Dickinson; Lieutenant Thomas 
Cooper; Lieutenant Phineal Upham; Robert Bartlett; 
Joseph Barnard; John Howe, Jr.; Mrs. Samuel Kellogg; 
and Mrs. Ensign John Sheldon. 

The following participated in later Indian wars: Lieu- 
tenant David Hoyt; Lieutenant Jonathan Hoyt; David 
Hout; Sergeant Samuel Field; Ensign John Sheldon; 
Captain Ebenezer Sheldon; Joseph Barnard; John Ham- 
ilton, Sr.; John Hamilton, Jr.; Silas Hamilton; Edward 
Rice; Colonel John Thatcher; John Wolcott; Ensign 
Noah Wells; and John (3) Howe. 

The following were members of military companies: 
William Vassall, 1643, Scituate, Massachusetts; Re- 
solved White, 1643, Scituate; Rev. Anthony Thatcher, 
1643, Yarmouth, Massachusetts; Elder John Strong, 
1643, Taunton, Massachusetts; Captain Joseph Hills, 
1645, Maiden, Massachusetts; Lieutenant Nathaniel 
Kellogg, Colchester, Connecticut; Cornet Nathaniel 
Otis, Colchester; High Wells, Wethersfield, Connec- 
ticut; Ensign John Wells, Colchester; Lieutenant Dan- 
iel White, Hatfield, Massachusetts; Nathaniel Dickin- 
son, Hadley, Massachusetts; Sergeant Thomas Merrick, 
Springfield, Massachusetts; Lieutenant Jonathan Lamb, 
Leicester, Massachusetts; Lieutenant Francis Peabody, 
Topfield, Massachusetts; Trumpeter Thomas Green, 
Maiden, Massachusetts; Captain Samuel Green, Leices- 
ter, Massachusetts; John Bent, Sudbury, Massachu- 
setts; Ensign Thomas Lincoln, Hingham, Massachu- 
setts; and Lieutenant James Lewis, Barnstable, Mas- 
sachusetts. 

Public affairs of varied import engaged the devoted 
attention of these early pioneers, of whom six served as 
assistants to the governors of the various New England 
colonies: John Howland; Colonel John Thatcher; Wil- 
liam Thomas, all of Plymouth Colony; William Vassal, 
Massachusetts Bay Colony; Deacon Samuel Chapin, 
Springfield Colony; Ensign John Sheldon, Connecticut 
Colony. 

William Thomas, Rev. Anthony Thatcher and Col- 
onel John Thatcher, all of Plymouth Colony, were mem- 
bers of the "Council of War." Joseph Otis was judge 
of the Court of Common Pleas of Plj'mouth Colony. 
Nathaniel Thomas was judge of the Court of Common 
Pleas of Plymouth County, and justice of the Superior 
Court of Province of Massachusetts, and Samuel Chapin 
was judge of County Court, at Springfield, Massachu- 
setts. 

The following were representatives to the General 
Court: John Howland; William Thomas; Nathaniel 



Thomas, Jr.; Rev. Anthony Thatcher; Colonel John 
Thatcher; Elder John Strong; Thomas Gilbert; Joseph 
Otis; Captain John Gorham; John Wolcott; William 
Goodwin; Captain Joseph Hills; John Upham; Ed- 
mund Rice; Gregory Stone; John Stone; Deacon Ed- 
ward Howe; Nicholas Jacob; Nathaniel Dickinson; 
William Ward; Lieutenant Thomas Cooper; Joseph 
Barnard; William Beardsley; Nathaniel Foote; Thomas 
Ford; John White; Nathaniel Thomas, Sr.; John Death; 
and Samuel Bass. 

The following served in the Revolutionary War: 
Ezekiel Kellogg; David Lamb; Corporal Lewis Chan- 
nel; Silas Hamilton; and David Hoyt. 

Immigrant ancestors of two collateral lines, whose 
names do not appear in the above, were Robert Day, 
who came to Cambridge, Massachusetts, from Eng- 
land in 1634, and pressed on to Hartford, Connecticut, 
in 1636. His first wife crossed the ocean with him, but 
in the rigors of the cold climate and the trying condi- 
tions, died. He married (second) Editha Stebbins, also 
of England, and she was the mother of his children. 
Nicholas Jacob came from England in 1633, bringing 
with him his young wife, Mary, and their two children. 
He first located at Watertown, but removed to Hing- 
ham in 1635. His daughter, Mary became the wife of 
John (2) Otis. 



EDWARD ARCHIE JONES— In Western Mas- 
hachusetts the Jones family, of which Edward Archie 
Jones is a thoroughly representative figure, has for many 
years held a leading position in the paper industry. The 
death of Edward Dorr Grif^n Jones, father of Edward 
Archie Jones, marked the passing of a man of indom- 
itable will, great business sagacity, tireless industry and 
the loftiest integrity. These admirable qualities built 
that most enduring and valuable of monuments, the im- 
portant industrial plant which he developed from small 
beginnings, and in which he prepared his sons for the 
large responsibilities which became their heritage. 
Edward Dorr Griffin Jones was one of Pittsfield's most 
successful men, and his faithfulness to his ideals led 
the people to place him in a position of great public 
trust, making him their Senator in the legislative halls 
of the State. A man of thoughtful attitude, keen vision 
and unerring judgment, he was identified with the de- 
velopment and growth of this section for more than half 
a century, standing among the leaders of progress. 

(I) This family traces back in Berkshire County to 
Adonijah Jones, who was born August 20, 1748, and 
died December 18, 1820. He was enumerated as one 
of the first settlers of Otis, and married Ann McElwain, 
born February 2"], 1753, died December 18, 1831. Of 
their children Eber Jones, of whom further. 

(II) Eber Jones, son of Adonijah Jones, was born 
June 7, 1787, and died April 4, i860. Removing from 
Otis in the prime of life, he engaged in the jewelry 
business in Brooklyn, New York. The family subse- 
quently located on a farm in Wellington, Ohio. Eber 
Jones married Betsey Pelton, born April 20, 1794, died 
April 13, 1886, at the great age of ninety-two years. 
She was a daughter of Captain Samuel and Mary 
(Woodworth) Pelton, her father a gallant soldier of 
the Revolutionary War, who was born May 9, 1757, 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



79 



and died January 28, 1849, his wife born June 21, 1761, 
died March 19, 1848. Of their children, Edward D. G., 
of whom further. 

(Ill) Edward Dorr Griflfin Jones, son of Eber and 
Betsey (Pelton) Jones, was born September 22, 1824, 
in Otis, Berkshire County, Massachusetts, and died at 
his home in Pittsfield, December 30, 1904. The family 
becoming residents of Brooklyn, New York, in his 
childhood, he secured a practical education in the public 
schools of that section, and remained at home during 
the second removal of the family, assisting his father in 
the work of the Ohio farm until attaining his majority. 
He then returned to Otis in his native State and county, 
where he learned the trade of millwright with an uncle. 
Always capable, industrious and economical, he was 
able in a few years to establish himself in business in 
East Lee, then environed by a network of paper mills. 
Mr. Jones foreseeing the great strides this industry 
would inevitably make, established and equipped a small 
plant for the manufacture of paper mill machinery. On 
this beginning he built up a reputation for excellence 
of workmanship, efificient service and strict integrity. It 
was about 1867 that he came to Pittsfield, seeing the 
necessity of locating in a larger place. He established 
a Woodworking Plant on the North Side of Depot 
Street, and directly opposite the present location of the 
general ofifices of the company and formed the partner- 
ship — William Clark & Company, which latter oper- 
ated a machine shop in the same building. Both plants 
were so successful that he in a few years purchased the 
Machine Shop and Foundry property on the south side 
of Depot Street which was at that time owned by 
Messrs. Clarey & Russell. It was these two small 
plants that he consolidated which became the nucleus 
of the present larger plant. 

In 1890 he purchased his partner's interest in Wil- 
liam Clark & Company, and took into the business his 
two sons, Harley Eber and Edward Archie; and Walter 
T. Noble, the firm name thereby becoming E. D. Jones, 
Sons & Company. In May, of 1893 the interest was in- 
corporated as E. D. Jones & Sons Company and Edward 
Dorr Griffin Jones remained as the head until his 
death some eleven and a half years thereafter. 

Other interests claimed a share of the attention of 
this able and progressive man. He is one of the origi- 
nal directors of the Third National Bank, of Pittsfield, 
which was organized in 1881. He was elected vice- 
president in 1902, and his name was considered for the 
presidency after the death of Henry W. Taft. Mr. 
Jones was president and a director of the Central Block 
Corporation, on North Street, served as vice-president 
of the Pittsfield Cooperative Bank, and as a director of 
the Keith Paper Company, of Turners Falls, Massa- 
chusetts. Ever responsive to the call of duty, he served 
on the Board of Public Works, laboring without stint, 
although at that time no salary was attached to the 
honor. His period of activity covered three full terms, 
during which he was chairman, and many great public 
improvements were made under his administration in 
that office. His judgment on bridge construction was 
considered that of an expert, and he informed himself 
exhaustively on all existing public works, particularly 



the water and sewer systems. Mill Brook was secured 
for the water system during his regime, and he was 
largely instrumental in carrying this splendid and vital 
civic improvement to its present outstanding rank in the 
Commonwealth. In 1882 Mr. Jones represented the 
Third Berkshire District in the House of Representa- 
tives of the State of Massachusetts, serving on the com- 
mittee on Federal relations. In 1886 he was State Sen- 
ator from the Old Berkshire District, and the follow- 
ing year from the North Berkshire District. His sound 
and practical judgment in business afifairs proved of in- 
estimable value in affairs of the State, and it was uni- 
versally acknowledged that had he cared for a political 
career he might have been advanced to much higher 
public offices. He was always a staunch Republican. 

Mr. Jones was a successful business man, and built 
up, through his extensive and honorable dealings, a 
large fortune which he used as a faithful steward. He 
was a liberal supporter of every measure for the general 
welfare, faithful in counsel, and his employees bear 
witness to his unfailing care and kindness. Many were 
long in his service and gratefully recall his friendship. 
His memory will long abide in the community that he 
served with such uprightness and fidelity. 

In fraternal circles, Mr. Jones was widely prominent, 
holding membership in the Masonic Order, in which 
he was affiliated with all bodies of the Scottish Rite, 
up to and including the thirty-second degree, also with 
Berkshire Commandery, Knights Templar. He was one 
of the founders of the Park Club, and long a member 
of the Methodist Episcopal Church, which he served for 
a number of years on the Board of Trustees. 

Edward Dorr Griffin Jones married (first) Novem- 
ber 10, 1849, Nancy E. M. Breckenridge, daughter of 
Francis and Zilla Breckenridge. She died, leaving one 
child: Italia N. Mr. Jones married (second) October 
20, 1858, Ardilla H. Herrick, daughter of Levi W. and 
Mercy (Hamblin) Herrick. Mrs. Jones was born 
June 30, 1836, and died April 6, 1866, leaving two chil- 
dren: I. Harley Eber, married, April 16, 1885, Libbie 
Hancock, daughter of Samuel H. and Margaret (Noble) 
Hancock. He was drowned in Pontoosuc Lake, Sep- 
tember 24, 1896, leaving a wife, and one daughter: 
Margaret Ardilla, born August 5, 1887, wife of Stanley 
P. Benton, formerly of Great Barrington, Massachu- 
setts, now of Pittsfield, Massachusetts. 2. Edward 
Archie, of further mention. Edward D. G. Jones mar- 
ried (third) Arvilla Bartlett Noble, daughter of John 
S. and Mary Ann (Granger) Noble, and they were the 
parents of three children: Lefifel Noble, deceased; Mae 
Elvira, deceased; and Samuel Ralph, born March 29, 
1878, married Adelaide Flanders, daughter of Calvin 
and Susan (Lankin) Flanders, their only child a son: 
Samuel Harley. 

(IV) Edward Archie Jones, son of Edward Dorr 
Griffin and Ardilla H. (Herrick) Jones, was born No- 
vember 3, 1863, in East Lee, Berkshire County, Mas- 
sachusetts. His early education was obtained in the 
schools of Pittsfield, supplemented by an academic 
course at Peekskill Military Academy, class of 1882. 
He then entered Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 
taking the course in Mechanical Engineering. Owing 



8o 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



to severe illness he lost one year, but was graduated in 
the class of 1887. Immediately entering the designing 
room of his father's plant, Mr. Jones from the first 
demonstrated marked ability, and in June of 1890 he was 
given a partnership interest in the business. The plant 
was then operated under the name of E. D. Jones' Sons 
& Company, the members of the concern being Edward 
D. G. Jones, his sons Harley E. and Edward A. Jones; 
also Walter T. Noble. Upon the incorporation of the 
interest the present form of the name was adopted, E. D. 
Jones & Sons Company. The founder was made presi- 
dent, Harley E. Jones treasurer, and Edward A. Jones 
secretary. Edward A. Jones, upon the death of his 
brother, succeeded him as treasurer, and became presi- 
dent following the death of his father, in 1904. 

Meanwhile, the plant has been enlarged by the addi- 
tion of new buildings and equipment and occupies very 
valuable land in the heart of Pittsfield and fronting on 
three streets. Depot Street, McKay Street, and Clapp 
Avenue, also the corner of East and Newell streets. 
Carrying forward the work in which his father made 
such a splendid record of industrial achievement, Ed- 
ward A. Jones has developed the business to world-wide 
importance. Not only in America, but in England, Can- 
ada, Mexico, Cuba, France, Spain, Norway, Sweden, 
Siam, China and Japan, leading paper manufacturers 
hold the product of this concern in the highest regard 
and seek new equipment here, and the Jones' paper 
making machinery is shipped to all parts of the world. 
They manfacture only paper and pulp mill machinery 
and more than two hundred employees are required by 
the plant, largely skilled mechanics, and the buildings 
are a veritable hive of industry. Mr. Jones now fills 
the office of president and treasurer, while Wallace E. 
Bardwell is assistant treasurer and secretary. The fur- 
ther business affiliations with which the name of Ed- 
ward A. Jones is connected include the Pittsfield Na- 
tional Bank, of which he is a director, the Central 
Block Corporation, of which he is president and a di- 
rector, and he is also a director of the Keith Paper 
Company, one of the most important concerns of Tur- 
ners Falls, Massachusetts. He is a director of the 
Berkshire Life Insurance Company, and a member of 
the finance committee, vice-president and director of 
the Pittsfield Electric Company, also vice-president and 
a trustee of the Berkshire County Savings Bank. 

The public service has for years felt the impetus of 
Mr. Jones' cooperation. His ward, the fourth, placed 
him in the City Council in 1903, and during one term 
he did efficient work on the finance, fire department, 
fuel and lighting, and almshouse and poor committees. 
Thereafter his ward gave him a large majority as Alder- 
man, where he served with equal distinction. When 
Mr. W. H. Maclnnis was mayor of Pittsfield, at his 
suggestion a special water committee was appointed, 
consisting of Messrs. W. H. Swift, chairman; James 
W. Hull, A. H. Rice, Daniel England, and Edward A. 
Jones, with authority to increase the water supply of 
Pittsfield. This was in January of 1910. Under the 
supervision of this committee the present Farnham 
Reservoir was built at the headwaters of Mill Brook, 
and the waters of Roaring Brook were diverted by a 



conduit and discharged into the new reservoir. New 
and larger pipe lines were laid from the various reser- 
voirs, into, through and around the city. This work 
occupied a period of two or three years, and to it Mr. 
Jones gave unsparingly of his time and energies. The 
dam, reservoir and conduits cost $424,855.99, the pipe 
lines $253,480.43, while the engineering costs amounted 
to $63,118.61, and the work of the committee $38,894.75, 
a grand total of $781,349.78. The dam is a remarkable 
example of modern masonry, nine hundred feet in 
length, the crest one hundred feet above the brook, 
while its maximum thickness is sixty-eight feet. The 
capacity of the reservoir, which was completed in No- 
vember of 1912, is 447,000,000 gallons of water, below 
the spillway. Of the group of citizens who accom- 
plished this splendid work Messrs. Swift and Hull are 
now deceased. Mr. Jones is a progressive and note- 
worthy citizen, possessing that integrity which is the 
bulwark of civic security, and his helpfulness in every 
phase of advance has won him the unqualified esteem 
and confidence of all. In fraternal circles, Mr. Jones is 
prominent, holding membership in Masonic orders, up 
to and including Berkshire Commandery, Knights 
Templar. He is a member of the Park Club, a mem- 
ber and director of the Country Club of Pittsfield, and 
serves on the board of assessors of the Parish of the 
First Church of Christ (Congregational). He is also 
a deacon of the church. 

Edward Archie Jones married, October 7, 1891, 
Isabel Amelia Abbe, daughter of Charles M. and 
Amelia (Henry) Abbe, of Springfield, Massachusetts. 
The only son of these parents, Charles Edward Jones, 
made the supreme sacrific for his country and humanity 
in the recent World War. He was born January 7, 
1894, was educated in the Pittsfield grammar and high 
schools; the Hill School, of Pottstown, Pennsylvania, 
class of 1912; Yale University; Sheffield Scientific 
School, class of 191 5, with the degree of Mechanical 
Engineer, and post-graduate work at the Massachu- 
setts Institute of Technology. He entered his father's 
plant in Septeniber of 191 6. Mr. Jones was one of the 
first to enlist for service when America entered the 
Great War. He attended the Officers' Training Camp, 
at Plattsburg, New York, enlisting from there in the 
aviation section of the army, June, 191 7. In August he 
was transferred to the Ground School of the Massachu- 
setts Institute of Technology, graduating from there in 
October. He was assigned to Mineola, Long Island, for 
training and from there was sent abroad, October 27, 
1917, and trained at Tours, France, until December 26, 
191 7, when he was transferred to a French flying school 
in Avord. There he was killed in an aeroplane acci- 
dent, February 15, 1918. After the close of the war his 
remains were brought home and are buried in the 
family plot in the Pittsfield Cemetery. The loss of 
this brilliant and universally beloved young man was 
deeply mourned by his countless friends, both in his 
home city of Pittsfield, the alumni of the leading Amer- 
ican institutions in which he had gained a fine prepara- 
tion for a lifetime of usefulness, and by his comrades in 
arms who had witnessed his daring, his self-forgetful- 
ness and his devotion to duty in the uniform of his 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



8i 



native land. To every one vifho recalls his lovable per- 
sonality his memory will ever be an inspiration to worthy 
activity and noble achievement. 



FRANK JOSEPH LAWLER— With youth, aspi- 
ration, ability and a "genius for work" as his entire 
capital Frank Joseph Lawler has achieved enviable suc- 
cess in the legal profession and an assured place in the 
political activities of the Democratic paity. 

Mr, Lawler is a descendant of the old family Lalor, 
formerly O'Lalor, family which, in ancient times emi- 
grated from Ulster Province in the North of Ireland, 
to the district of Leix in Queens County, with the 
O'Mores, under whom the}' became influential chief- 
tains. 

(I) Francis Lawler, grandfather of Frank Joseph Law- 
ler, was born in County Cavan, Ireland about 1800, but 
after the severe famine of the middle part of the nine- 
teenth century, he, with many of his countrymen, came 
to this country and settled in South Deerfield, Massa- 
chusetts, where he was engaged in farming throughout 
his active life. Both he and his wife lived to the age 
of ninety years. Their children, born in Ireland, were : 
1. Mary A., who married Patrick A. Masterson, of 
Peabody, Massachusetts. 2. Margaret, married Na- 
thaniel Black, of Greenfield, Massachusetts. 3. Cath- 
erine, married Franklin Wells, of Greenfield. 4. Delia, 
married Walter H. Seaman, of Greenfield. 5. James, 
mentioned below. 6. Philip, married Ann Conway, of 
South Deerfield, Massachusetts. 7. Frank J., married 
Nora Madden, of Greenfield. 8. Thomas, died in Ire- 
Ireland. Six other children who died young in 
Ireland. 

(II) James Lawler, son of Francis Lawler, was born 
in Ireland. He followed his parents to America in i860, 
and lived for a number of years with the family at 
South Deerfield. He removed thence to Leicester, Wor- 
cester County, where he worked in the manufacture of 
card clothing for the wool business. On account of 
failing health, however, he gave up that occupation, re- 
turned to Western Massachusetts, in 1881, and spent his 
last years at Greenfield, where he died November 5, 
1886. He married, at South Deerfield, Margaret Hafey, 
who was born at Ballenclay, County Waterford, Ire- 
land, died January 24, 1907. Children: i. Frank Jo- 
seph, mentioned below. 2. Nicholas J., of Lawler 
Brothers, owners of Lawler Theatre. 3. Thomas L., 
associated with his brother, Nicholas J. 4. Margaret 
J., died aged three years. 5. Mary A., born April 2, 
1872, married Edward Donovan, a grocer of Greenfield, 
Massachusetts. 

(III) Frank Joseph Lawler, son of James and Mar- 
garet (Hafey) Lawler, was born at South Deerfield, 
July 31, 1863, and was educated in the public schools of 
his native town and Leicester, Massachusetts. At the 
age of thirteen he began to work in a shoe factory to 
aid in the support of the family and to learn his trade, 
and in 1881 he removed to Greenfield, where, for the 
following twelve years, he was employed in a shoe fac- 
tory. He was ambitious, however, and devoted his 
leisure hours to study. In 1888' he began to read law in 



the office of Samuel O. Lamb, Esq., of Greenfield, con- 
tinuing his work in the shoe factory at the same time. 
Later he entered the Boston University Law School, 
took the three years course in one year, was gradu- 
ated in June, 1894, and was admitted to the bar the fol- 
lowing month. He immediately began the practice of 
his profession, and in February, 1895, formed a part- 
nership with his former preceptor, Samuel O. Lamb, 
under the firm name of Lamb & Lawler, which connec- 
tion was continued until the death of Mr. Lamb, March 
10, 1908. Mr. Lawler has won many important cases 
and has secured some decisions which when he took 
the case seemed impossible. Among these might be 
mentioned the case in which he served as counsel and 
secured acquittal, November, 1907, for Paul Sadow- 
oki and Ignaz Kokoski, who for the slaying of How- 
ard Jackson were indicted for murder in the second 
degree. His natural ability and careful training have 
given him a high standing in his profession, and he 
ranks among the leading attorneys of the section in 
which he resides. He is also prominent in political 
circles. He was a candidate on the Democratic ticket 
for Representative of the district including Greenfield, 
which is strongly Republican, and he came within sixty- 
nine votes of being elected, which is strong proof of 
his popularity ; in 1906 he was the candidate for Congress 
for the First Congressional District; was alternate at 
the National Convention at Denver, in 1908; acted as 
delegate for the Eleventh Congressional District for 
Massachusetts ; chairman of the Democratic Town Com- 
mittee, and also of the Democratic County Committee. 
He is popular in Greenfield, and when that city voted to 
employ a counsel Mr. Lawler was chosen to fill the 
newly created and important office. He is a member of 
the Father Mathew Total Abstinence Society, of the 
Knights of Columbus, and is one of the managers and 
treasurer of the Franklin County Public Hospital. He 
is a parishioner of the Holy Trinity Roman Catholic 
Church of Greenfield. 

Frank Joseph Lawler married, October 4, 1899, Annie 
C. Looney, of Greenfield, who was born November i, 
1868, daughter of James and Catherine (Flanagan) 
Looney. Children: i. Margaret Frances, born March 
31, 1901, a graduate of Smith College. 2. James Fran- 
cis, born March 23, 1902, a student at Holy Cross Col- 
lege. 3. Katherine Mary, born May 31, 1903, a grad- 
uate of Simmons College. 4. Thomas Lawrence, born 
October 10, 1904, a student in Norwich University, at 
Northfield, Vermont. 5. Francis Joseph, born June i, 
1908, a student in Greenfield High School. 



HENRY ALONZO FIELD, of Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, insurance actuary and man of affairs, and 
ex-president of the Springfield Chamber of Commerce, 
was born at Milford, Massachusetts, August 8, 1870. 
His father was John A. Field and his mother Mary 
Anne (Phillips) Field, prominent settlers on both sides 
being their ancestors. Indeed the Field family traces 
its ancestry to a period prior to the Norman Conquest 
Sir Hubertus De La Feld went to England with the 
Conqueror and received lands in the Duchy of Lancas- 



W.M— 3-6 



82 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



tei for military services. He was of the Counts De La 
Feld, owners of the Chateau de la Feld, near Colman, 
in Alsace, in the remote past. Roger Del Feld was 
bom in Sowerby, England, about 1240, and he is the 
Field to whom the American family goes back. In the 
wars with France of the thirteenth century the French 
prefixes were discarded and the spelling anglicized as 
Field. Among the great Americans who have borne the 
name were Cyrus W. Field, who laid the first Atlantic 
cable David Dudley Field and Justice Stephen J. Field, 
of the United States Supreme Court; Marshall Field, 
the great Chicago merchant; Eugene Field, the poet and 
author, to mention a few. 

The line of Roger Del Feld is through his son, 
Thomas, of Sowerby, England; his son, John; his son, 
Thomas, all of Sowerby ; his son, Thomas, of Bradford ; 
his son, William Feld, of Bradford; his son, William 
Feld, of EcLSt Ardsley, England ; his son, Richard Feld, 
"husbandman of the parish of Ardeslowe" ; his son, 
John Field, a noted pioneer in science and astronomy ; 
his son, Zachariah Field, of the eleventh English gen- 
eration and the founder of the family in New England. 

:1) Zachariah Field was born in East Ardsley, York- 
shire. England, m 1596, and died in Hatfield, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1663. He came to New England in 1629 
and made his home in Dorchester; but in 1636 he went 
tr Hartford, Connecticut, remaining until 1659, when 
he followed the liberal element in Dr. Thomas Hooker's 
church to Northam.pton, Massachusetts. There he en- 
gaged in business as a merchant and did a large trade 
with the Indians. He died in Hatfield. He married, in 
1 64 1. Mary, surname unknown, who died about 1670. 

(II) Sergeant Samuel Field, fourth son of Zachariah 
Field, was born about 1651, in Hartford, and was slain 
by Indians while working in the fields at Hatfield, June 
24, 1697. He was a sergeant in the Turners Falls fight. 
May 19, 1^76, and prominent in Hatfield, where he held 
many offices. He married, August 9, 1676, Sarah Gil- 
bert, daughter of Thomas and Sarah (Chapin) Gilbert, 
of Springfield. 

(III) Deacon Samuel (2) Field, son of Sergeant 
Samuel and Sarah (Gilbert) Field, was born in Hat- 
field, September 27, 1678. He moved to Deerfield in 1706 
and died there. He was one of the twenty-two men 
from Hatfield who were engaged in the Meadow fight 
in the unsuccessful attempt to rescue three prisoners 
taken by the French and Indians in the Deerfield mas- 
sacre of February 29, 1704. He was wounded by 
Indians, August 25, 1725. He was a deacon in the 
church, and was honored and respected in the com- 
nmnity. He married, January 10, 1706, Mrs. Hannah 
(Edwards) Hoyt, daughter of Joseph Edwards, and 
widc'W of David Hovt, who was killed in the Aleadow 
fight. 

(IV) Colonel David Field, fourth child of Deacon 
Samuel (2) and Hannah (Edwards-Hoyt) Field, was 
born in Hatfield, January 4, 1712, and died in Deerfield, 
April 19, 1792. He was a merchant and traded with 
the Indians of the Mohawk Valley. During the Revo- 
lution he held notes and accounts receivable for almost 
$20,000 and did not realize six cents on the dollar from 
them. He was a member of the first Congress that met 



in Concord, Massachusetts, in 1774 also of the Con- 
gress which met in Cambridge in 1775 ; and a member 
of the Massachusetts Council of Safety, which gave a 
commission to Benedict Arnold and authorized him to 
raise four hundred men to be known as the Berkshire 
Regiment for the expedition against Fort Ticonderoga. 
He was commissary-General under General John Stark 
at the battle of Bennington, August 16, 1777, and for 
a time commanded a regiment, the 5th Hampshire Com- 
pany. His appointment was voted by the Massachu- 
setts House of Representatives, January 31, 1776, con- 
curred in by the Council, February 8, 1776, and his com- 
mission as colonel signed the same day. He resigned 
his command February 20, 1778. Colonel Field mar- 
ried, in 1740, Mrs. Thankful (Taylor) Doolittle, bom 
July 18, 1716, daughter of Thomas Taylor and widow 
of Oliver Doolittle. 

(V) The Rev. Samuel Field, son of Colonel David 
and Thankful (Taylor-Doolittle) Field, was born in 
Deerfield, September 14, 1743, and died in Conway, Mas- 
sachusetts, September 17, 1800. After graduation from 
Yale College, in 1762, he studied divinity under the Rev. 
Jonathan Ashley, of Deerfield, but later he studied law 
under Daniel Jones, of Hinsdale, New Hampshire. He 
was admitted to the bar, but returned to Deerfield and 
engaged in mercantile life. In 1771 he opened a law 
office in Greenfield and also engaged in trade. He passed 
the years 1774-1776 on a farm in Conway; lived in 
Deerfield again until May, 1794, when he returned to 
Conway. He represented the town of Deerfield in the 
General Court for several years, and was a member of 
the Massachusetts convention which adopted the Con- 
stitution of the United States. He was a Swedenbor- 
gian in religion and wrote and preached in support of 
that doctrine. He was a political writer of note. He 
married, April 26, 1769, Sarah Childs, born in Deer- 
field, September 27, 1742, died December 3, 1831. 

(VI) Robert Rufus Field, son of the Rev. Samuel 
and Sarah (Childs) Field, was born in Deerfield, Au- 
gust 22, 1771, and died there July 26, 1841. He moved 
to Conway in 1791, and in 1796 to Phelps, Ontario 
County, New York. He went to (Geneva, New York, in 
1800, and in 1809 returned to Deerfield, where he died. 
He was fir years toll gatherer at the Deerfield bridge, 
Cheapside; but his occupation was farming. He mar- 
riea, January 15, 1795, Patty Hoyt, born in 1775, died 
July 23, 1859, the daughter of Jonathan and Abigail 
(Nash) Hoyt. 

(VII) Robert Rufus (2) Field, son of Robert Rufus 
and Patty (Hoyt) Field, was born in Geneva, New 
York, June 29. 1806. He was a manufacturer of car- 
riages and sleighs in Greenfield, Massachii.-,etts, until 
1838, when he moved to Attleboro, Massachusetts. In 
T843 he moved to West Newton, Massachusetts, and in 
1850 returned to Greenfield. He afterwards went to 
Columbus, Ohio, to superintend the manufacture of a 
line of children's carriages, but returned again to Deer- 
field. He married. May 6, 1834, Eliza Ophelia Bar- 
nard, born May 13, iSii, died in Bernardston, Massa- 
chusetts, November 3, 1869. 

(VIII) John Adams Field, son of Robert Rufus (2) 
and Eliza Ophelia (Barnard) Field, was born in Attle- 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



83 



boro, July 4, 1842. He engaged in the hotel business 
in Deefierld until burned out. In 1880 he moved to Fort 
Wayne, Indiana, and from there to Chicago, Illinois, 
where he engaged in the hotel business and continued 
until his death. He married Mary A. Phillips, born in 
Athol, Massachusetts, February 22, 1848, daughter of 
Alonzo and Mary A. Phillips, of Deerfield. 

(IX) Henry A. Field, son of John Adams Field, was 
a boy when the family removed to South Deerfield, 
where he received his education in the famous Deer- 
field Academy. Soon after his graduation Mr. Field 
entered the employ of the Phillips Manufacturing Com- 
pany at Springfield, in which his uncle. Colonel Henry 
M. Phillips, was largely interested. He accepted the 
post of district manager of the Vacuum Oil Company 
soon after, and continued with that concern until about 
1918, when he formed a copartnership with B. A. Op- 
penheimer under the firm name of Oppenheimer & Field, 
which has become one of the largest fire and liability 
concerns in New Ejigland representing the Fire and 
Marine Insurance Co., in Springfield, since March i, 
1908. Mr. Field was elected a director of the Spring- 
field National Bank in January, 1922; and a director of 
the Springfield Fire and Marine Insurance Company 
succeeding Warren D. Kinsman, deceased; and was 
elected president of the Springfield Hospital in 1923. 
In 1917-1918 Mr. Field was chairman of the Hampden 
County Chapter of the Red Cross. He was also active 
in the promotion of the Citizens' War Chest and the 
Community Chest. For several years he was vice- 
president of the Springfield Chamber of Commerce 
after serving a long period as a director. He was 
elected president of the Chamber in October, 1919. He 
was president of the Nayasset Club, 1918-1919, was 
also a member of the Colony Club and the Springfield 
Country Club, and the St. Nicholas Club of New York. 
He is a warden of St. Peter's Church, having been elected 
junior warden in 1912. He is treasurer of the Episco- 
pal Diocese of Western Massachusetts, and a member 
of its board of managers ; a member of the standing 
committee of the diocese; and treasurer of the Episco- 
pal Diocesan Pension Fund. He is, a member of all the 
Masonic bodies, having taken both the York Rite and 
Scottish Rite degrees ; a member of George Washington 
Chapter, Sons of the American Revolution, and was its 
president in 1910 and 191 1; was president of the Insur- 
ance Federation of Massachusetts in 1921 ; and president 
of the Union Relief Association of Springfield in 
the same year. In March, 1921, Mr. Field was ap- 
pointed a member of the City Planning Board for a 
four-year term. 

He was married, October 23, 1901, to Margaret Owen, 
of New York. 



HON. WILLIAM AUGUSTUS WHITTLESEY, 

one of the pioneers in supplying electricity for lighting 
purposes in Pittsfield, was descended from a long line of 
American forebears, reaching back to 1650, when the 
first of the family to settle here, John Whittlesey, of 
English birth, crossed the Atlantic in his boyhood and 
became a tanner and shoemaker at Saybrook, Connec- 
ticut. He later served the town on various committees 



and as a collector of minister's rates. He established 
in 1662, in connection with William Dudley, at Say- 
brook, by authority of the General Court, a ferry across 
the Connecticut River, which remained in the hands of 
the Whittleseys until 1839, when it was conveyed to the 
town. He married, in 1664, Ruth Dudley, the sister of 
the William Dudley above named, and daughter of Wil- 
liam Dudley, Sr., of Guilford, Connecticut. They had 
a son, Eliphalet, of whom further. 

(II) Eliphalet Whittlesey, son of John Whittlesey, 
married Mary Pratt in 1702; their son, Eliphalet (2), 
of whom further. 

(III) EHphalet (2) Whittlesey, son of Eliphalet 
Whittlesey, married, in 1736, Dorothy Kellogg, daughter 
of Captain Martin and Dorothy (Chestei) Kellogg. 
Eliphalet Whittlesey was a former by occupation, and 
became a citizen of influence, holding the office lA jus- 
tice of the peace,! and serving as a Representative to the 
Legislature for seventeen sessions ; he also was a mem- 
ber of the Connecticut convention that ratified the Con- 
stitution of the United States, January 3, 1788. Eli- 
phalet and Dorothy (Kellogg") Whittlesey weie the 
parents of John, of whom further. 

(IV) John Whittlesey, son of Eliphalet (2) Whittle- 
sey, married, in 1765, Mary Beale, and later removed 
to Salisbury, Connecticut. He was a captain in the 
French and Indian War, 1755-59, and three of his sons, 
Martin, Lemuel and John also served, the latter of whom 
served three years as teamster in his father's company, 
and who was called out during the War for Indepen- 
dence. His brother Asaph Whittlesey, who was a cap- 
tain of a company, was killed at the Massacre of Wy- 
oming, in 1778. Carrying down the line in the fifth 
generation was Matthew Beale, of whom further. 

(V) Matthew Beale Whittlesey, eldest of the eight 
children of John and Mary (Beale) Whittlesey, was 
born at Salisbury Connecticut, October 3, 1766, and be- 
came a lawyer. He won a high reputation as an advo- 
cate and a man of sterling character and integrity, and 
was an esteemed member of the Fairfield County bar, 
over whose meetings he presided for many years. He 
died October 10, 1847. He married (first) Hannah 
White, December 28, 1794, and she died May 7, 1819, 
at the age of fifty-three years. He married (second) 
Caroline H. Buckley, October 24, 1824. The youngest 
of his eight children by the first marriage was Ebenezer 
Russell, of whom further 

(VI) Ebenezer Russell Whittlesey, son of Matthew 
Beale Whittlesey, was born January 30, 1815, at Dan- 
bury, Connecticut. He married, at Bushwick, Long 
Island, February 19, 1840, Ann Eliza White, who was 
born January 16, 1822. Soon after their marriage they 
removed to Danbury, Connecticut, and there spent the 
remainder of their days, he following agricultural pur- 
suits. Ann Eliza (White) Whittlesey claims descent 
from Peregrine White, who was born on board the 
"Mayflower" in Cape Cod Harbor in November, 1620, 
son of William and Susanna (Fuller) White. Pere- 
grine White settled in Marshfield, and married, in 1648, 
Sarah, daughter of William Bassett, who came over in 
the "Fortune," in 1621. Among the sons of Peregrine 
White were Daniel, who married Hannah Hunt, and 



84 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



lived in Marshfield; and their second son, Joseph, who 
married Elizabeth Dudley and removed to Connecticut. 
Ebenezer Russell and Ann Eliza (White) were the par- 
ents of nine children: Francis, Matthew Beale, John 
Jacob, Mary, William Augustus, of whom further; El- 
mina Carmen, Frank Russell, Charles White and Gran- 
ville. 

(VII) Hon William Augustus Whittlesey, in direct 
American descent from the pioneer of the family in 
America, was born in Danbury, Connecticut, February 
21, 1849, son of Ebenezer Russell and Ann Eliza 
(White) Whittlesey. His early education was acquired 
in the town of Danbury, and he then entered Marietta 
College, at Marietta, Ohio, from which he was gradu- 
ated in 1870. He then went to Detroit, Michigan, where 
he entered the woolen business in association with his 
brother, John J. Whittlesey, remaining tKere ior four 
years. This was followed with his taking charge of the 
literary department of the Henry A. Tilden Company, 
of Lebanon, New York, for three years, when he re- 
turned to Detroit. Later he entered the lumber busi- 
ness in Northern Wisconsin, where he remained for 
seven years, leturning E^st in 1886 and settling in Pitts- 
field. Here ht took charge of the Pittsfield Electric 
Light Company, which was the first concern in the town 
tc supply light by means of electricity. It was orig- 
inally incorporated under the laws of Maine, but in 
1885 the company had relinquished its Maine charter and 
became incorporated in Massachusetts. Another elec- 
tric light company, called the Pittsfield Illuminating 
Company, was organized in 1887, but they soon became 
allied, and in 1890 were formally united into the Pitts- 
field Electric Light Company, which was incorporated 
in that year, and purchased all the stock of the two pio- 
neer companies. Alexander Kennedy, at present (1923) 
serving as president of the Pittsfield Electric Light Com- 
pany, has held that office continuously since its incor- 
poration, and Mr. Whittlesey was its treasurer and gen- 
eral manager until his death in 1906. In the early 
nineties Mr. Whittlesey became interested in some of 
the electrical devices of William Stanley, of Great Bar- 
rington, and induced him to associate himself with a 
number of prominent men in the organization of a com- 
pany which was to bear the inventor's name. The late 
William R. Plunkett, Charles Atwater, W. W. Gam- 
well and other men organized a company with a capital 
of $25,000, and having quarters on Clapp Avenue. Mr. 
Whittlesey became manager and treasurer, and later the 
business was removed to larger quarters on Renne Ave- 
nue, where it continued until its removal to Morning- 
side, where the land was acquired at his suggestion, and 
the beautiful station erected there was a monument to 
his enterprise. This company was the nucleus of what 
was later the General Electric Company, and which has 
risen to a wonderfully successful point, employing at 
the time that Mr. Whittlesey was still associated with 
it, 3,000 men ; this business being accomplished through 
the untiring business sagacity and energy of Mr. 
Whittlesey. He continued in this until 1896, when he 
resigned from his active duties as manager, retaining 
his directorship, and gave his entire time to the busi- 
ness of the Pittsfield Electric Company. He became 



deeply interested in real estate transactions, and, indeed, 
every good enterprise had his cordial endorsement and 
support He encouraged substantial companies to locate 
here, and gave to them not only his moral but his finan- 
cial support. He was a director in several companies 
and corporations, among them being the Agricultural 
National Bank. He was one of the founders of the 
Pittsfield Board of Trade and freely lent his aid and 
means in advancing this, together with many other pro- 
gressive enterprises. It was not alone business aflfairs 
that interested him, but Mr. Whittlesey was likewise 
interested in political matters, and in 1897 was elected 
a representative to the General Court, and served on the 
committees on roads and bridges and the committee on 
State House. In 1898 he was elected to the State Sen- 
ate, and served on the committe on ways and means, 
banks and banking, and was chairman of the commit- 
tee on water supplies. In 1899 he was returned to the 
State Senate and served in that year on the committees 
on insurance. State House and cities. His legislative 
experience served him well, for in later years he was 
frequently called upon to appear before legislative com- 
mittees in connection with various matters in which he 
was deeply interested, among them being the State Board 
of Gas and Electric Commissioners, and other commit- 
tees on matters pertaining to the city of Pittsfield. Mr. 
Whittlesey as a leader of legislation invariably held to a 
high standard of official excellence; his convictions being 
of the strongest, and once convinced that he was right, 
he never hesitated, nor could he be swerved from his 
direct course of action. This knowledge of his integ- 
rity, served him in retaining the confidence of the people, 
and his influence for good in consequence was far reach- 
ing. He was for several years in the forefront as one 
of the opponents of the succession in the Governor's 
office, and in the State campaign of 1904, wrote a letter 
opposing the election of John L. Bates, and favoring 
the election of William L. Douglass, a Democrat; the 
latter was elected and served in 1905. In the fall of 1905 
he wrote another letter, advocating the defeat of Charles 
W. Bartlett, and the election of Curtis Guild, Jr. Mr. 
Guild was elected and served efficiently. Mr. Whittle- 
sey's objection was based solely on his objection to the 
line of succession ; he had only the kindliest feelings for 
all the candidates personally. 

He was much interested in social matters, and was a 
member and treasurer of the Windsor Club, an organi- 
zation that meant much to its members, among whom 
were the late James Madison Barker, Judge Slocum, C. 
C. Gamwell and other men of like prominence. It was 
their custom to make excursions to the South for the 
purpose of hunting and fishing, and on the occasion of 
one of these trips, Mr. Whittlesey took opportunity to 
visit several of the Southern battlefields, and to bring 
back many souvenirs. He had a singularly versatile 
mind, and an exact knowledge of the history of his 
country. He was widely and well read, and had col- 
lected many books, the strong working tools of an active 
and discriminating mind. Through his devotion and 
generosity the Young Men's Christian Association ac- 
quired its valuable North Street property, and was thus 
put in the way of securing a permanent home. At the 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



85 



time that he became interested in the undertaking it was 
sorely in need of friends, and he was induced to accept 
the presidency and put his shoulder to the wheel ; he 
held the office of president for ten years. In associ- 
ation with William H. Chamberlain, and in the giving of 
his time and means, the institution was placed firmly 
upon its feet ; he made possible the development of as- 
sociation work in Pittsfield along broad lines, and in this 
instance the marked characteristics of the man were 
shown forth. Any individual or cause which was 
worthy and needy, quickly enlisted his sympathy, and 
hand in hand with his sympathy went substantial help, 
and the encouraging words that meant belief, and gave 
strength and courage. Fraternally, Mr. Whittlesey was 
a member of the Mystic Lodge, Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons ; Berkshire Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; Berkshire 
Commandery, Knights Templar ; and he held the thirty- 
second degree in the Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite. 
He was a member of the Sons of the American Revo- 
lution, and in his church connection was a member of 
the First Congregational Church and parish, and was 
deacon of the church for many years. He took active 
part in the Sunday school work, and was a teacher of 
a Bible class of young men. 

In the death of the Hon. William A. Whittlesey on 
December 5, 1906, Pittsfield lost one of its most enter- 
prising and successful business men, as well as one of 
its most noted public-spirited citizens. Since 1887 he 
had been a resident of the city, and he laid the founda- 
tion of what is now one of the largest and most flour- 
ishing industries, namely, the General Electric Com- 
pany, as well as for nine years holding the offices of 
treasurer and general manager of the Pittsfield Electric 
Company, which he had made up to that time one of the 
leading industries of the city, and which is to-day still 
going forward to greater success. In an editorial of the 
"Berkshire Eagle" on the death of Mr. Whittlesey we 
find in part the following : 

By the death of William A. Whittlesey Pittsfield 
loses a progressive citizen who made himself felt 
from the beginnings of his residence in this city. It 
is doubtful if any other Pittsfield man can be named, 
who did more for the material growth of the city. 
. . . . As one man has truly said, "his coming was 
the beginning of a new Pittsfield." 

The testimonials and other editorials in regard to his 
work and life are too numerous to permit of repro- 
ducing here, and we quote but a few lines. Ex-Repre- 
sentative John M. Stevenson said: 

I think he was imbued with what we call public 
spirit as much as any man that I knew. 

Charles L. Hibbard, speaking of him in relation to the 
Young Men's Christian Association, said: 

His optimism, faith in men, broad, liberal and dis- 
criminating views of life, infectious energy, warm 
sympathy and courage, were indeed inspiring. 

Judge Slocum said of his long-time friend: 

His thoughts and his ideals were high, and he had 
a detestation of anything like chicanery or trickery. 
.... His stainless honor and uprightness of his 
life will ever remain with us a lasting memory. 

Hon. William A. Whittlesey married, June 24, 1874, 



Caroline B. Tilden, daughter of Henry A. Tilden, of Leb- 
anon, New York, and niece of the late Hon. Samuel J. 
Tilden, of New York City, distinguished political leader 
and founder of the Tilden Library of New York. Mr. 
and Mrs. Whittlesey were the parents of three children: 
I. William A., who on his father's decease in 1906, 
succeeded him in the duties (1908) of general manager 
of the Pittsfield Electric Company, in which office he 
continues to-day (1924) ; the president of the company, 
Mr. Kennedy, assuming the duties of treasurer, both of 
which offices had been held by the Hon. William A. 
Whittlesey. Mr. Whittlesey is also vice-president of the 
Pittsfield Chamber of Commerce ; and since 1923 has 
been president of the Pittsfield Electric Company, suc- 
ceeding Mr. Kennedy, so that he to-day holds the two 
important position of president and general manager; 
he is treasurer of the Lee Electric Company and 
of the Mount Electric Company; president and treasurer 
of the Whittlesey Co.; trustee of the Berkshire County 
Savings Bank; director of the Union County Coopera- 
tive Bank; and member of the American Institute of 
Electric Engineers; of the National Electric Light 
Association; the Country Club of Pittsfield, and also 
of the Park Club. 2. Susan Tilden, who married Mr. C. 
B. Tyler, an attorney of New York. 3. Granville E. 



JOHN B. STONE— One of the most distinguished 
figures in insurance advance in Western Massachusetts 
is John B. Stone, who recently completed a half cen- 
tury of service in the employ of the Berkshire Life In- 
surance Company. The many congratulations received 
by Mr. Stone on that occasion and the many events for 
which his friends gathered in celebration were eloquent 
expressions of his standing in the personnel of insur- 
ance circles in this section. Mr. Stone's lofty idealism 
and the large ability which has carried him to his present 
outstanding position are widely recognized in this field 
of endeavor, and as one of the veterans of worthy 
achievement in Berkshire County Mr. Stone is honored 
by all who are familiar with his work. Mr. Stone is a 
son of John B. and Olive Stone, honored residents of 
Pittsfield in a day now gone by. His father was active 
as a carriage maker with Jason Qapp & Son until his 
death, August 25, 1874, at forty-six years of age. The 
mother survived him for ten years and experienced the 
gratification of seeing, in some measure, her son's success. 

John Benjamin Stone was born in Pittsfield, June 10, 
1855, in a double house then located in the rear of 
premises now occupied by Holden & Stone's store, and 
received a practical, although limited education. First 
attending the local schools he had the advantage of one 
year at Nicollette College, in Canada, from the fall of 
1873 to the spring of 1874, accompanied by H. A. Root, 
of the firm of O. Root & Sons, taking a general busi- 
ness course. From the deathj of his father he supported 
his mother's family, which consisted of six children. 
In the years 1871-72 he acted as office boy for Mr. Wil- 
liam R. Plunkett, who was an attomey-at-law and treas- 
urer of the Pittsfield Coal Gas Company. His duties 
were making out gas bills, collecting bills and reading 
meters, helping George Dunbar, then superintendent. On 
April ID, 1874, Mr. Stone became identified with the 



86 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Berkshire Life Insurance Company. His duties were 
those of office boy at a salary of $16.63 per month, and 
his first promotion was to junior clerk, a position which 
he filled for nine years. In this connection he had 
charge of supplies and was called upon to help any de- 
partment in case of need. Accordingly, his time was 
fairly well filled. On January i, 1883, Mr. Stone be- 
came associated with Air. George Hamer, general agent 
for Western Massachusetts and Eastern New York. 
Under the firm name of Hamer & Stone this agency 
was carried forward from that time on for seventeen 
years, with offices in both North Adams and Pittsfield. 
Mr. Hamer had established the agency on January i, 
1879, and he carried it to a point where he required 
assistance. It was through the choice of Mr. William 
R, Plunkett, then president, that Mr. Stone was placed 
in this position. The headquarters of the Hamer & 
Stone agency was a small second floor office room, which 
was ridiculed by their contemporaries as a "Cubby- 
hole" or "Box Stall." Nevertheless, under these most 
inconvenient and trying conditions the firm did a busi- 
ness that first year amounting to $257,000. It became 
imperative to expand, and a larger office was secured on 
the same floor. A fact of interest to this record is, 
that, of som.e early representatives of this agency, one 
later became mayor of Holyoke, Massachusetts ; an- 
other became mayor of Cambridge, Massachusetts ; and 
a third, Harry D. Sisson, became mayor of Pittsfield. 
Mr. Sisson was bookkeeper for Hamer & Stone from 
1885 to 1889. 

To all who were familiar with Messrs. Hamer & 
Stone it was clear that the firm would not stand still. 
The second year they wrote $1,056,000 worth of insur- 
ance, the work being practically all done by the partners, 
who were still working on salary and doing their own 
selling. Year by year the importance of the firm in- 
creased, and Mr. Stone, who was receiving $75 per 
month requested an advance in salary at the close of the 
fourth year. He was still a young man and the man- 
agement were over-conservative in those early days. Ac- 
cordingly, the request was refused. Mr. Stone immedi- 
ately resigned, but upon serious consideration felt that 
he was doing an injustice to the constituency of the firm 
to place his own interests above their welfare. He 
waited upon Mr. Plunkett and stated his attitude, offer- 
ing to "show the best year in the history of the agency" 
and thereby convince the company of his value as an 
executive. Mr Plunkett appreciated the worth of the 
man personally and was glad to reinstate him. An in- 
teresting state of affairs arose from this incident which 
almost necessarily forms a part of this record. Toward 
the close of that year, in the month of December, 
the company sought the members of the firm of Hamer 
& Stone to induce them to go forward in a somewhat 
more conservative manner. As the case stood, the New 
York agency fell far behind them in business done for 
the year, and was so thoroughly incensed at the country 
agency turning in a greater volume of business that the 
metropolitan agency demanded the privilege of unearned 
priority. The outcome of the situation was that the 
company forced over to January, 1888, every application 
filed with the Hamer & Stone agency in December of 
the year in question (1887). 



Certain of Mr. Stone's associates in the organization, 
however, appreciated the value of such a man in the 
progress of insurance activities, and among this group 
Mr. Plunkett was, perhaps, Mr. Stone's closest friend. 
To express his admiration for the younger man Mr. 
Plunkett arranged a banquet in his honor for March 12, 
1888. This historic date, as every resident of New 
England whose memory reaches it recalls, saw the most 
terrific blizzard ever 1-cnown in this part of the country, 
and the dinner was postponed until the twentieth of the 
same month. It did much to cement relations among the 
executives of the organization and subsequent occasions 
of similar nature have aided in maintaining the spirit 
of brotherly kindness and helpfulness. The company, 
from time to time, rewarded Mr. Stone more adequately 
for his labors, and in the constant increase in business 
which has been brought into effect by his tireless en- 
deavors and thorough efficiency, the usefulness of the 
company has greatly extended. Since the death of Mr. 
Hamer, Mr. Stone has gone forward under his own 
name, and in 1910 he secured more desirable quarters 
in the same building. It is interesting to note that the 
agency over which he has charge has written in the 
past forty years well toward thirty million dollars of 
insurance, and the first policy which Mr. Stone wrote, 
an endowment policy for $5,000, he paid himself upon 
its maturity, twenty-five years later. Mr. Stone has 
been active under the regime of eight presidents : Thomas 
F. Plunkett, Edward Boltwood, William R. Plunkett, 
James W. Hull, William D. Wyman, George H. Tucker, 
Winthrop Murray Crane and Fred H. Rhodes, who still 
serves. When Mr. Stone had served the concern for 
fifty years a long-to-be-remembered luncheon was given 
in his honor at the Park Qub in Pittsfield. On that 
occasion he was presented with a gold lined silver loving 
cup and an open-faced, white gold (Lord Elgin model) 
watch, with gold set figures, gold hands and a thin 
white gold chain. The inscription on the cup is as 
follows : 

1874-1924 
to 
John B. Stone from the Western Massachusetts 
Agency in recognition of fifty years of loyal 
and devoted service to the Berkshire Life In- 
surance Company. 

The inscription on the watch is : 

1874— J. B. S.— 1924 

The loving cup was presented by the employees of 
the agency of the Berkshire Life Insurance Company, 
and the watch by the executives. Mr. Stone received 
letters of congratulation on this occasion from exec- 
utives of many other life insurance companies. He also 
received letters from the entire force of general agents 
of his own company, as follows : Jame B. O'Brien, of 
Albany, New York; Paul H. Stewart, of Baltimore, 
Maryland; Spencer S. Dodd, of Boston, Massachusetts; 
Milton Loeb, of Bridgeport, Connecticut; Frederick A. 
Morrison, Brooklyn, New York; Harrison L. Amber, 
of Buffalo, New York ; Wyman & Palmer, Chicago, Illi- 
nois; Franklin J. White, of Cincinnati, Ohio; Joseph 
Loebe, of Cleveland, Ohio ; Joseph T. Peterson, of Des 
Moines, Iowa ; John D. Morphy, of Detroit, Michigan ; 
Home & Winings, of Indianapolis, Indiana; Thomas 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



87 



J. Opie, of Kansas City, Missouri; G. Allen Putnam, 
of Manchester, New Hampshire ; Leon A. Triggs, of 
Minneapolis, ) Minnesota; Alexander D. Prunty, of Mor- 
gantown, West Virginia; E. H. Plummer, of Philadel- 
phia, Pennsylvania; English & Furey, of Pittsburgh, 
Pennsylvania ; D. J. Roach, of Portland, Maine ; C. H. 
McChesney & Son, of Rochester, New York; Phil V. 
Brown, of St. Louis, Missouri ; Thomas A. Weedon, 
of Washington, District of Columbia ; and William M. 
Carroll, Jr., of New York City. On the personality of 
Mr. Stone the "Berkshire County Eagle" said in an ex- 
tensive review of his life, on the date of his half cen- 
tury celebration : 

Mr. Stone's life has been the life of Pittsfield for 
nearly seventy years.. He has seen it grow from a 
small village to its present commanding position 
among the cities of New England. His life has been 
a life of work and of play. He works hard — he plays 
hard, but in a way that always insures a happy time 
for his innumerable friends. He loves to have them 
about him, to enjoy with him a choice repast or a 
social evening. . . . 

He is companionable, hospitable and generous. . . . 

Mr. Stone is a member of the Insurance Federation 
of Massachusetts ; the Insurance Agents' Association of 
America ; and the American Institute of Electrical En- 
gineers. His benevolent endeavors link his name with 
the Pittsfield Day Nursery and the Pittsfield Girls' Club ; 
also the Young Men's Christian Association, his ser- 
vices on the boards of these various organizations being 
of a definitely constructive nature. His more personal 
interests include membership in Mystic Lodge, Ancient 
Free and Accepted Masons ; Berkshire Chapter, Royal 
Arch Masons ; Berkshire Council, Royal and Select 
Masters ; Berkshire Commandery, Knights Templar ; Bos- 
ton Consistory, Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite, in which 
he holds the thirty-second degree. He has been a Mason 
for forty-six years, and is a member of Melha Temple, 
Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine ; 
also the Eastern Star and the White Shrine ; and is ex- 
president of the Pittsfield Masonic Club; also now chair- 
man of the house committee of the Masonic Associa- 
tion, a position he has held for five years. He is a 
member of Pomona Grange, Patrons of Husbandry, 
and an honorary member of the Father Matthew Tem- 
perance Society, and his clubs are the Pittsfield Golf 
Qub, the Pittsfield Boat Club; the Pittsfield Sports- 
man Association; the Berkshire County Auto Club; the 
Lions, and Park clubs. 

Mr. Stone's interest has always centered largely in his 
work, and those other activities which have engaged 
his attention have been more or less definitely in the 
nature of relaxation. He has always been a lover of 
fine horses and deeply appreciative of horse flesh. Until 
recent years he has always kept several well bred and 
splendidly trained horses, and has many ribbons which 
his stable has won at leading showsj at Lenox and Great 
Barrington. His last pair of horses he gave to a friend 
a few years ago, but although he is interested in motor- 
ing, he never takes keener pleasure in the pastime of 
the present day than he did in the years gone by, in 
driving the vehicles which now are so seldom seen on 
the parkways of the day. He was formerly interested 
in hunting and fishing, and has always enjoyed outdoor 
sports. With no musical education Mr. Stone culti- 



vated by self study his fine bass voice, and he sang 
for four years in the South Congregational Church 
choir, the members of the quartet being Mrs. H. P. 
Lucas, soprano ; Mrs. N. P. Lawton, alto ; Frank D, 
Taylor, tenor, and John B. Stone, basso; E. G. Hubbell, 
organist ; and for six years he sang in St. Stephen's 
Episcopal Church. 

John, B. Stone married, April 23, 1898, Belle J. Gibbs, 
who died January 4, 191 8. 



WILBUR ALFRED PARSONS— The Parsons 
family in England is of great antiquity, going back to 
the Norman Conquest. Thomas Parsons, immediate 
ancestor of the family in America, received from Charles I 
a coat-of-arms which the royal decree set forth as fol- 
lows : "He beareth gules two chevrons ermine between 
three eagles displayed or : By the name of Parsons. 
Crest An eagle's head erased at the thigh standing on a 
leopard's head — gules." Sir Thomas Parsons, baronet, 
and faithful subject of Charles I traced his lineage back 
to Walter Parsons, of Mulso, Ireland, 1290, and through 
him back to Norman Britain, since the Parsons family 
went to Ireland from England. 

(I) Cornet Joseph Parsons, son of Sir Thomas Par- 
sons, was born about 1617 in England and died in 1683, 
aged about sixty-six years, he sailed to Boston from 
Gravesend, England, July 4, 1635, in the bark "Trans- 
port of London," Edward Walker, master ; he was then 
about eighteen years of age. He appears with William 
Pynchon's colony of planters, who founded a settlement 
at Agawam, now Springfield, Massachusetts. In 1642 
he was one of the founders of the colony at Northamp- 
ton, and one of the first purchasers of Indian lands 
there in 1645. He was a fur trader and bought the sole 
right to barter and traffic in furs in the Connecticut Val- 
ley for an annual fee of £12. He accumulated a larg* 
estate. He married, at Hartford, November 20, 1646, 
Mary, daughter of Thomas and Margaret Bliss, who had 
come from Beltstone Parish, Devonshire, England; they 
were the parents of thirteen children. Prior to his mar- 
riage in 1646 a house lot and other lands were allotted 
to him in Springfield and about the same time Margaret 
Bliss (widow of Thomas) and her sons removed from 
Hartford to Springfield. In January, 1646, Joseph Par- 
sons and Thomas Merrick were chosen surveyors in 
Springfield to lay out and make a certain road from 
Mill River to Long Meadow. In 1652 he was an as- 
sessor and selectman of Springfield, he was one of the 
original proprietors of Northampton, and one of its first 
settlers in 1655. In March, 1661, he was licensed to keep 
an ordinary, or house of entertainment in Northampton, 
in 1663 divers persons "in the soldering" in North- 
ampton formed a company of cavalry which was called 
the Hampshire Troop. John Pynchon, of Springfield, 
was captain, the other officers were a lieutenant, two 
quartermasters and a cornet. William Allis, of Hatfield, 
was the first cornet, a few years after Joseph Parsons 
succeeded him, and always after this bore the title of 
Comet. In 1667 Joseph Parsons united with the church 
then under the pastoral care of Rev. Eleazur Marthes. 
In 1662, he took of Weakwangon and his wife a mort- 
gage of Hockamain Meadow, a peninsula connected with 



88 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Hadley on the east side of the Connecticut River to 
secure a debt which the Indians owed him ; he sold this 
meadow and his right and title to the Hadley settlers ; 
the mortgage and deed are on record in Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts. 

He bought and sold land in Waranoke (now West- 
field) he became the owner of much land in Northamp- 
ton Meadow, more than any other person ; he pur- 
chased of various persons upwards of one hundred acres 
of upland meadow at a place called Pascammuck, at the 
foot of the north end of Mt. Tom. Some of his descend- ' 
ants now^ (1925) live on this land. 

(H) Joseph (2) Parsons, eldest son of Cornet Joseph 
Parsons, was born in Springfield in November, 1647, 
was the first judge of the County Court of Hampshire 
County in 1698, and held the office more than twenty- 
three years. He was often a selectman; he was elected 
a Representative to the General Court at Boston many 
times, the last time when he was in his seventy-fourtli 
year. He served on important committees. His large 
interests extended over a wide territory. He owned 
both saw mills and grist mills at Northampton and Deer- 
field ; and was largely interested in the iron business 
in SufReld, and Southfield. He was one of the earliest 
lawyers of Western Massachusetts, and also fought in 
King Philip's War. He married, March 17, 1669, Eliz- 
abeth, daughter of Elder John and Abigail (Ford) 
Strong, the progenitor of the Strong family in America, 
and the ancestor of Governor Caleb Strong. She was 
born in 1648 and died in 1737. They were the parents 
of ten children, one of whom was John, of whom further. 

(HI) Lieutenant John Parsons, son of Joseph (2) 
Parsons, was born January 11, 1673; died September 4, 
1746. He married (first), in 1696, Sarah Atherton, who 
died in 1729; he married (second) Mrs. Hannah (Qapp) 
Miller and had a son, Moses, of whom further. 

(IV) Moses Parsons, son of Lieutenant John Par- 
sons, was born July 6, 1708; died January 3, 1746; he 
married (first), in 1730, Wait, daughter of Abraham and 
Hannah (Qapp) Miller, who died in 1731; he married 
(second), Sarah, daughter of Samuel Jones. There 
were six children, one of whom was Joel, of whom 
further. 

(V) Deacon Joel Parsons, son of Moses Parsons, was 
born in Northampton, May 18, 1739; died in North- 
ampton November 10, 1818. Lived at Northampton 
where he was often employed as teacher in the district 
schools. He was sub-deacon in 1790 and deacon in 1798. 
He married, in January, 1761, Abigail Ferry, born in 
1742, and died October 2, 1828. There were twelve 
children, one of whom was Thaddeus, of whom further. 

(VI) Thaddeus Parsons, son of Deacon Joel Parsons, 
was born in Easthampton, December 24, 1777, and died 
August 16, 1859. He was a farmer was electel select- 
man in 1808, 181 1 and 1813, at Easthampton. He was 
captain of the miHtia company of the town ; was lieu- 
tenant of the company from Southampton and East- 
hampton, and was sent to the defense of Boston in 1812. 
He married (first) April 2, i.Soo, Mercy Janes, born 
December i, 1779: died May 5, 1873, daughter of Elisha 
and Sarah (Phelps) Janes. The children of Thaddeus 
and Mercy (Janes) Parsons were : Mercy Elvira, born 



September 29, 1809; Thaddeus Edwin, born July 28, 
1813 ; Elisha Janes, born November 4, 1818, of whom 
further. He married (second) in 1845, Sarah Par- 
sons, born in 1805, the daughter of Ashel and Sarah 
(Janes) Parsons. No children by second wife. 

William Janes, a native of Cambridge, England, came 
from Essex, England, to New Haven, Connecticut, 
probably in 1638, and in 1654-55 was one of the early 
settlers of Northampton, Massachusetts ; his son, Ben- 
jamin settled in Easthampton about 1700. The old 
"Janes-Parsons" house in Easthampton, was probably 
erected by a son of Benjamin, and father of Obadiah 
Janes, who was a school teacher, and Elisha Janes, who 
had three daughters, Sarah, who married Ashel Parsons ; 
Rachel, married Joel Parsons ; Mercy, who married 
Thaddeus Parsons. The first school in Easthampton 
was kept by Obadiah Janes in the front room at the left 
of the front door of the old house built in 1750, torn 
down in 1905. The new house erected on the old site is 
now occupied by Wilbur Alfred Parsons. 

(Vri) Elisha Janes Parsons, son of Thaddeus Parsons, 
was Iwrn in Easthampton November 4, 1S18, and died 
May ro, 1886. He taught school in Ireland Parish (now 
Holyoke) in early life. He was a farmer and lived 
at the old homestead. The first school in Easthampton 
was kept in the same building. He married Tryphena 
Day, born January 27, 1817; died August 24, i860, a 
daughter of Elisha and Hannah Waite Day. Their 
children were: Helen Mercy, born December 6, 1844; 
Isabella Elvira, born June 9, 1847 ; died September 9, 
1848; Thaddeus E., of whom further; Elisha Harrison, 
born November 23, 1851 ; died February 23, 1852, and 
Charles Irving, born September 2, 1854. 

(VIII) Thaddeus Edwin Parsons, son of Elisha Par- 
sons, was born in Easthampton, April 4, 1849, died De- 
cember 5, 1917. He always lived on the old home place, 
where he followed farming and manufactured cider in 
a mill that had been in use for generations. He built a 
new house in 1904 on the site of the old one that had 
been occupied by his family for several generations. He 
was married, October 18, 1871, to Clara Georgiana Poist, 
of Williamsburg, Massachusetts, born April 2, 1853, in 
Ashfield, Massachusetts, daughter of George and Mary 
(Nichols) Poist. Their children were: i. Myron Janes, 
born August 13, 1873; he married, July 4, 1896, Marga- 
ret Maria Ewing, of Easthampton, daughter of Samuel 
and Mary Jane (Crawford) Ewing. 2. Raymond Thad- 
deus, born June 14, 1875, who married, October 31, 1903, 
Caroline Gertrude Taylor, daughter of Samuel and Ger- 
trude (Ward) Taylor. Their children: Ernest Taylor, 
born January 28, 1905; Gertrude, bom April 21, 1906; 
Raymond Essington, born August 25, 1909. 3. Robert 
George, born February 24, 1877, who married, June 27, 
1899, Sarah Eliza Gilbert. Their children : Bessie Ger- 
trude, born June 11, 1900; Clara Hazel, born June i, 
1903; Robert Lauren, born June 30, 1910. 4. Wilbur 
Alfred, of whom further. 5. Mabel Florence, who mar- 
ried, November 11, 1916, William Monroe Stebbins. 
Their children : Claire Elizabeth Stebbins, born Septem- 
ber 4, 1918. 6. Edith Mary, born July i, 1886; married, 
June 30, 1908, George William Bailey. Their children : 
Sherburn Byron Bailey, born December 2, 1909; George 





(XX^XSlA 



v3oM 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



89 



William, Jr.. born July 16, 1916. 7. Ralph Nichols, 
born September 6, 1888, died August 4, 1889. 8. Arthur 
Jenkins, born August 6, 1894, died November 20, 1894. 
9. Thaddeus Edwin, a sketch of whom appears else- 
where. 10. Marion Elizabeth, married Richard John 
Clancy, September i, 1919. Children: Jean Marion, born 
July 18, 1921 ; Lois Camille, born September 6, 1924. 
Mr. Clancy married (first) Alice Kroll, by whom he 
had one daughter, Alice Cecilia, born December 20, 1916. 
II. Ruth Helen, born in Massachusetts; married Ray- 
mond Eugene Parsons October 10, 1924. 

(IX) Wilbur Alfred Parsons, son of Thaddeus Par- 
sons, was born in Easthampton, July 30, 1882, and edu- 
cated in the schools of Easthampton. He always was 
interested in everything electrical, and as a boy he built 
an electric car and laid seventy feet of track around 
his father's buildings in order to prove its merits. When 
he finished school he went to Connecticut and entered the 
employ of the Bristol and Plainville Tramway Com- 
pany, with which he remained five years. At the ex- 
IMration of that time he went to Hartford with E. S. 
Francis, where he remained two years. He returned to 
Bristol with the Shafifer-Marsh Company, where he re- 
mained two years, going once more to Hartford, where 
he opened an electrical store for the ShaflFer-Marsh 
Company, and was in charge of the business for three 
years. In 1914 he went into the electrical business for 
himself in Hartford, and carried on business there for 
six years. In 1919 he came to Northampton and bought 
out the electrical business of Samuel Cook, which he 
has developed and extended to large proportions with 
corresponding success. This business includes all kinds 
of electrical contracting, the construction and sale of 
radio sets, with electrical refrigerators, electric lighting 
plants, and lightning protection for buildings, all of 
which keeps a force of twenty or more men busy. He 
is a member of Montauk Lodge, Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows; of the Kiwanis Club; the Congregational 
Church of Easthampton, and lives inj the house in East- 
hampton built by his father on the site of the house 
built by his forefathers several generations back. 

He married, October 27, 1909, Harriet Emmons Ben- 
son, of Northampton, the daughter of John M. and 
Melita (Green) Benson. They are the parents of Ches- 
ter Merritt, born March 29, 1915; Wilbur A., Jr., born 
August 23, 1918, and Lois Chapin, born April 15, 1924. 



THADDEUS EDWIN PARSONS— Years were 
crowded into days and hours by the boys who fought 
overseas, and the length of their lives is not judged 
aright by a toll of the time they have passed on earth. 
Thaddeus Edwin Parsons was born in Easthampton, 
Massachusetts, April 18, 1898, and was educated in the 
public schools there. When he had finished his high 
school studies he went with his brother, Wilbur A. Par- 
sons, in Hartford, Connecticut, where he engaged in 
electrical work. He enlisted at Northampton, April 15, 
1 91 8, for the World War, and went to join the ist Re- 
placement Engineers at Washington Barracks, Wash- 
ington, District of Columbia. He was taken down with 
spinal meningitis on May 3, and was sent to the Walter 
Reed Memorial Hospital. He left the hospital on July 



ID, on a furlough of two months. When he returned to 
Washington he was assigned to post office duty, and was 
sent to France in October, 1918, through Camp Merritt. 
He was stationed at Angers ; and returned to the United 
States as a first-class private, and received his honor- 
able discharge at Camp Dix, March 7, 1919. After his 
discharge from the service Mr. Parsons again entered 
the employ of his brother, Wilbur A. Parsons, as elec- 
trician, and has remained with him ever since. 

Mr. Parsons was married, in October, 1920, to Rena 
Thouin, of Easthampton, daughter of Arthur and Delima 
(Brisson) Thouin, and they are the parents of Calvin 
Thouin, born in 1921, and of Enid, bom in 1923. 



JAMES E. WALL— The boot and shoe manufac- 
turers of Massachusetts have risen to national and inter- 
national fame, and not the least of the causes for their 
phenomenal success is the splendid scientific organization 
of these establishments, headed by business men and ad- 
ministrators of the very first order. One of these in- 
dustrials captains who started his career in the same line 
of endeavor in which he has attained such great success 
is James E. Wall. 

Mr. Wall, a native of North Adams, was born Oc- 
tober 26, 1884, a son of Patrick and Anna Wall. After 
receiving his preliminary education in the public schools 
and in the Drury High School, from which latter insti- 
tution he graduated in the class of 1903, he secured the 
position of manager of the Adams Shoe Store, Adams, 
Massachusetts, and continued with that firm from June, 
1903, to February, 1905. He next became a member 
of a retail firm dealing in clothing and shoes. Wall 
Brothers, of North Adams, continuing in business from 
1905 to 1912. In 1917 he became treasurer and manager 
of the Wall, Streeter & Doyle Company, shoe manufac- 
turers, of North Adams, being also treasurer of the 
Wall, Doyle & Daly Company, shoe manufacturers, of 
Brockton. Beside holding these important positions, 
Mr. Wall is a director of the North Adams Trust Com- 
pany, and a trustee of the Hoosac Savings Bank. In 
politics, Mr. Wall is an independent, and in religion a 
member of the Roman Catholic faith, an attendant of St. 
Francis Church, North Adams. His fraternal and other 
associations include membership of the Knights of Co- 
lumbus, of which he occupies the position of head of 
the Fourth Degree Assembly; director of the Berkshire 
Club; chairman of the executive committee, Hoosac Val- 
ley Agricultural Society, and member of the North 
Adams Country Club. 

James E. Wall married, October 30, 1907, at West- 
field, Martha Congdon, daughter of James and Ellen 
Congdon. They are the parents of four children: i. 
James Frederick, deceased. 2. Martha Constance. 3- 
Robert Edward. 4. Barbara. The family home is at 
No. 12 Elmwood Avenue, North Adams. 



WILLIAM HALLECK HAYDEN— Founder of 

industrial plants in the eastern and middle-western sec- 
tions of the United States, assayer of wide reputation, 
and one who by special studies applied his knowledge 
to practical and successful uses in his business, Wil- 
liam Halleck Hayden, of Haydenville, Massachusetts, 



90 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



distinguished himself in his family branch for his con- 
structive and administrative abilities. In his Hayden- 
ville foundry establishment he was an industrial pioneer, 
and following the reverses there caused by floods, he 
again proved his pioneer spirit in the institution of the 
prosperous business that at Columbus, Ohio, bears his 
name to-day. Imitating the example of a diligent an- 
cestry that first made their presence known in America 
in 1630, he continued, though upon the more extensive 
plane of his times, their wholesome custom of making 
one's life and gifts worth while to the community. He 
was of that old English family, the Heydons, who, 
as Rev. William B. Hayden has pointed out in his 
booklet, "The Heydons of England and America," have 
the name derived from "high down," which signifies 
the plain of the hill, the seat and domain of the ances- 
try in the Norman immigration being called Stinton 
Hall and Manor, at first, or Heydon Hall and Manor, 
Stinton being the location where the Heydons first 
settled, these manors being subsequently divided. The 
Heydons received their tenure from the Earl of War- 
ren, and the family came into public notice early in the 
thirteenth century, in the person of Thomas de Hey- 
don, a justice itinerant, the favorite occupation of a 
number of the early ancestors having been the law. The 
American descendants are of a Devon branch of the 
family, and the English line to the first comers to 
America is thus traced: 

Thomas de Heydon, of Norfolk. William Heydon, 
his son, the father of the first of the Devon line, who was 

John de Heydon, younger son, a judge in Devon in 
1273, the first year of the reign of King Edward I. 

Robert Haydon, first to change the spelling, who set- 
tled at Boughwood, near which the family always after- 
wards continued. 

Henry Haydon, "possessor of several thousands per 
annum." And so on in succession — William, Robert, 
John, Henry, John, William, Richard; Richard, sheriff 
and alderman, of London; John, eminent in law; Tho- 
mas, Thomas, Robert, Gideon, Gideon, William, 
Gideon. 

The American ancestry began with these sons of 
Gideon: John, William, and James Haydon, who ap- 
peared in Boston, Dorchester, and Charlestown in 1630. 
John became head of the Braintree, or Massachusetts, 
branch, and ancestor of William Halleck Hayden. He 
was a freeman. May 14, 1634, of Dorchester; of Brain- 
tree, 1640. His will mentions wife Susanna, who was 
living in 1695. 

William Haleck Hayden, a son of William and Elea- 
nor Hayden, was born December 6, 1827, at Hayden- 
ville, Massachusetts, and he received his preliminary edu- 
cation in the public schools of his birthplace. He was 
one of the first pupils at Williston Academy, and he 
then graduated at Yale University at the age of nine- 
teen years. He returned to Haydenville, with the in- 
tention of making preparations to take up the study of 
medicine, but relinquishing that project for the profes- 
sion of assayer, he took the voyage around Cape Horn 
in 1849 on his way to the California gold fields, where 
he had planned to establish a private mint. He was 
hindered from carrying out his plans in that direction 



by the passage of a law which lay a prohibition thereon, 
and upon his return to Haydenville, he became asso- 
ciated with the Haydenville Manufacturing Company, 
and represented that firm in the Boston trade. Later, 
in the profession of assayer, joining in with mining 
interests, he went to Central America, where he met with 
a large degree of success. Mr. Hayden's plans again 
recalled him to his native town, and there he estab- 
lished a foundry which he conducted until the famous 
Mill River flood inundated the valley and devastated 
his property. He then removed his business interests 
to Columbus, Ohio. The ancestral home at Haydenville, 
Massachusetts, however, is still retained in the family. 

Mr. Hayden married, April 7, 1851, Eliza Goodspeed, 
and they were the parents of the following children: 
William; Edward Parker, deceased; Eleanor; and Her- 
bert, deceased. 

William Halleck Hayden died December 31, 1891, in 
his sixty-fourth year. Actively associated with the in- 
dustries of his time, and with events that were making 
history before and during the Civil War, he left the 
enduring impression of one who had faithfully devoted 
himself to his generation and his calling. 



WILLIAM MARCELLINE MERCER, M. D.— 

The biographer finds it a special privilege to glean 
from the pages of the past the worthy and inspiring 
records of men who have gone into the Great Beyond, 
leaving behind them life histories of permanent signifi- 
cance to the people. It is indeed fitting that the name of 
Dr. William Marcelline Mercer should find honored 
place in the annals of Western Massachusetts, for as 
one of the most distinguished and noteworthy physicians 
in the history of Pittsfield his is a name of outstanding 
importance. Dr. Mercer gave his work the natural 
ability and tireless attention that make the successful 
physician, and in many branches of municipal advance 
he bore a worthy and honored part. 

Dr. William Marcelline Mercer was born in Kilkenny, 
Ireland, July 29, 1842, and was descended from Eng- 
lish ancestors who emigrated to that region to escape 
the rigorous government instituted by Oliver Cromwell. 
Certain members of the family settled in Kings County, 
Ireland, where the family had become prominent and 
from which many members have come to America. 

The son of a prosperous merchant. Dr. Mercer's 
father died when he was still an infant, and his mother 
brought him to this country, locating in Lawrence, 
Massachusetts. Receiving his early education in the 
local public schools, and finding himself largely depend- 
ent upon his own endeavors for a higher education, the 
dauntless young Irish lad tutored for the purpose of 
accumulating funds for further study while preparing 
himself for matriculation in Harvard University Med- 
ical School. He was graduated from that institution in 
the class of 1866, and went to Washington, District of 
Columbia, also spending a time in Virginia. It was his 
purpose to practice in the South, but the climate did 
not seem to agree with him, and returning North he 
looked about for an opening. He located in Pittsfield, 
Massachusetts, in 1867, and for over forty years was 
active in that city. Largely successful in private prac- 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



91 



tice, Dr. Mercer was also prominent in the various en- 
deavors of the community. He was long a member of 
the Medical and Surgical Staff of the House of Mercy, 
and was affiliated with organized advance of a profes- 
sional nature. He was a member of the American 
Medical Association, the Berkshire District Medical 
Society, living to be one of the oldest members of the 
latter organization in which he was a leading figure for 
many years. He was also one of the founders 
of the City Savings Bank, and treasurer and chair- 
manl of the investment board at the time of his 
death. He served the town as selectman, and when the 
city government was established he was made city 
physician, filling this office for upwards of ten years. 
He was also identified as treasurer with the Berkshire 
Athenaeum. These varied activities, however, were of 
lesser importance perhaps than Dr. Mercer's long and 
honored service on the local School Board. Elected to 
the school committee in 1872, he served until 1906 as a 
member of that important body, and the name of Wil- 
liam Marcelline Mercer was many years ago given to 
one of Pittsfield's handsomest and most important school 
buildings. The general esteem of the people was well 
expressed in thus perpetuating Dr. Mercer's name in 
connection with the municipal department which was 
always closest to his heart. The work which he con- 
ducted and fostered for so many years is now ably car- 
ried forward under the leadership of his son, Dr. Wil- 
liam James Mercer, but the older residents of this city 
will never forget the distinguished administration of 
the father as a leader of educational advance in Pitts- 
field. Dr. Mercer was a leading member of St. Joseph's 
Roman Catholic Church, and his death, which occurred 
June 10, 1908, was a sad loss to the church and to the 
city. 

Dr. William Marcelline Mercer married, in 1868, 
Henrietta M. Gilles, of Webster, Massachusetts, who 
died July 28, 1898, leaving five children: i. Dr. William 
James, a sketch of whom follows. 2. Walter R., of 
Pittsfield, proprietor of the Madden Pharmacy. 3. 
Helen Gertrude, wife of Edward N. Clancy, of Bos- 
ton, deceased. 4. Charlotte Mary, wife of Amedee V. 
Reyburn, of St. Louis, deceased. 5. Rev. Alexander F., 
pastor of a church in Baring, Missouri. 



WILLIAM JAMES MERCER, M. D.— A progres- 
sive and noteworthy figure in present day advance in 
Western Massachusetts is Dr. William James Mercer, 
whose success as a physician is paralleled by his use- 
fulness as chairman of the School Board of Pittsfield. 
Dr. Mercer has done much for medical progress in 
this section, and stands among the thoroughly repre- 
sentative men of the profession in America. He is a 
son of Dr. William M. Mercer (see preceding sketch), 
and a member of a distinguished family of Berkshire 
County. 

Dr. William James Mercer was born in Pittsfield, Oc- 
tober 6, 1871. Receiving his early education in the local 
public schools, he was graduated from the Pittsfield 
High School in the class of 1888. Taking up the course 
in the Liberal Arts at Holy Cross College at Wor- 
cester, Massachusetts, he was graduated from that in- 
stitution in the class of 1891, with the degree of Bach- 



elor of Arts, and the same institution conferred upon 
him the degree of Master of Arts in 1894. He re- 
ceived his doctor's degree in medicine from Harvard 
University upon his graduation in 1894. Taking up his 
professional activities in the place of his birth. Dr. 
Mercer has now been active for thirty years as a suc- 
cessful practitioner, and his fame along the line of his 
specialty is wide. He has become a recognized author- 
ity on obstetrics and he has attended approximately 
seven thousand cases of this nature. Dr. Mercer was 
one of the moving spirits in the founding of Hillcrest 
Hospital in Pittsfield and was one of the incorporators 
of the institution, still serving as a member of the staff. 
Standing high in the profession, he has long been a 
member of the American Medical Association and the 
Massachusetts Medical Society. 

In the year 191 1 Dr. Mercer was elected to the School 
Committee of the city of Pittsfield, and has served as 
chairman of the Board since 1920. His activities in 
this connection have been of the most constructive 
nature, and he has brought to the duties of his position 
the devoted attention and tireless endeavor which give 
his work permanent value. Since his election to this 
office he has re-organized the entire school system which 
now comprises six years of elementary work, three years 
in junior high school, and a similar period in senior 
high school. The present educational equipment makes 
it possible to cover a very extensive field including 
kindergarten, domestic science, manual training, the 
household arts in which the city enjoys the cooperation 
of the State, and an ungraded school for those mentally 
deficient, foreigners not speaking English, and a com- 
prehensive university extension group. Much of this 
modern expansion of local educational activity has been 
accomplished under Dr. Mercer's own regime, and the 
"American School Board Journal," in a brief review 
of his work speaks of it thus in part: 

Dr. Mercer has always been a consistent and strong 
advocate of giving^ to Pittsfield the best that a mod- 
ern American city should have along educational 
lines. He is not a faddist; on the contrary, he must 
be shown the value of anything new before he sub- 
scribes to it. His relations with the school depart- 
ment are on a distinctly professional basis. A favor- 
ite remark of his in discussing educational work is 
that he is a doctor of medicine and does not pretend 
to be an authority on the details of school manage- 
ment. He expects a clear, logical explanation for the 
work which is being carried on by the school depart- 
ment. He has a great fund of knowledge and experi- 
ence In matters pertaining to education which enables 
him to diagnose a situation quickly and accurately. 

The school committee, under his leadership, leaves 
the professional side of the school system to the men 
and women who are employed to conduct the schools. 
With such men as Dr. Mercer serving on the school 
committee the general policies of the school depart- 
ment are determined, while in matters distinctly edu- 
cational, the school committee acts more in an advis- 
ory capacity than with a dictatorial attitude. 

Dr. Mercer is affiliated with many branches of or- 
ganized advance, civic, benevolent and charitable, has 
long been president of the Pittsfield Veteran Volunteer 
Firemen's Association, and fraternally is affiliated with 
the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, of which 
he is Past Exalted Ruler; Fraternal Order of Eagles, 
of which he is past president; Knights of Columbus, 
of which he is past district grand deputy, and he is 



92 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



also a member of the Foresters of America, and the 
United States Order of Golden Cross. Dr. Mercer 
attends St. Joseph's Church. 

William James Mercer married Grace A. Van Buren, 
of Schenectady, New York, and they reside at No. 
140 First Street, Pittsfield, Massachusetts. 



FAY CLUETT WARREN— The surname Warren 
is derived from Carenne or Varenne, a small river in 
the old county of Calais or Caux in Normandy, which 
gave its name to the neighboring commune, and is but 
a few miles distant from Dieppe. There is at present a 
village called Caronne in the same district, and it is 
here that the origin of the family has been fixed by 
historians. On the west side of the River Caronne was 
the ancient baronial seat of the De Warrennes, and 
some of the ruins were standing as late as 1832. The 
surname has assumed different forms from time to 
time — Caroyn, Waroyn, Waryn, Warin, Waring, War- 
ynge, and Warren, the most common. The ancestor of 
perhaps all the English, Scotch and Irish Warrens was 
William de Warrenne, who came to England with 
William the Conqueror and was related to him both by 
marriage and consanguinity. He had a considerable 
command at the battle of Hastings, and on account of 
his valor and fidelity obtained immense grants of land 
from the Conqueror, He held estates in Shropshire, 
Essex, Suffolk, Oxford, Hants, Cambridge, Bucks, 
Huntington, Bedford, Norfolk, Lincoln and York 
counties, amounting in all, according to Hume, to three 
hundred lordships. He became the first earl of War- 
ren and Surrey. His wife, Gundrede, daughter of 
William the Conqueror, and a descendant of Charle- 
magne, died May 27, 1085, and was buried in the 
chapter house of the Prior of Lewes, County Sussex. 
Her tombstone is still in existence. The earl died 
June 24, 1088. His epitaph has been preserved, al- 
though the tombstone is lost or destroyed. In 1845 the 
coffers containing the bones of the earl and his countess 
were disinterred and are now in the Church of St. 
John the Baptist, Southover. 

The history of the Warren family has been written 
and is exceeded in interest and antiquity by none in 
England. In the "New England Genealogical Register," 
published in 1910, the English ancestry of the immi- 
grant. John Warren, has been proven by means of rec- 
ords and wills to be different from that which has been 
given before. He came from Nayland, as did other 
early settlers in Watertown, and his ancestors lived in 
Wiston, or Wissington, Nayland and Stoke-Nayland, 
three adjoining parishes in Suffolk, on the Essex border. 
Robert Warren, mentioned below, had a brother 
Thomas, of Wiston, testator of 1558, who was a father 
of Thomas Warren, of Wiston, testator of 1602, who 
left a widow, Elizabeth, testator of 1604. 

Robert Warren was born, perhaps, about 1485, in 
Wiston County, Suffolk England. His will was made 
October 29, 1544, when he "was aged and sick in body," 
and proved February 22, 1545, by his wife Margaret, 
who was executrix. He was buried in the churchyard 
at Wiston. He mentioned his wife and children in his 
will, and bequeathed to them land at Wiston and 



"Wyston Prestney." Children: James, born perhaps 
about 1 51 5; Lawrence, born perhaps about 1520; Anne, 
married a Mr. Lorkin; John; and William, under age 
in 1544. 

At least two Warrens came to this country with the 
Puritans. Richard Warren came in the "Mayflower," 
and settled in Plymouth, Massachusetts, in 1620; and 
John Warren came in the "Arabella," with Governor 
Winthrop, with the fleet of Sir Richard Saltonstall, 
and settled in Watertown. These were lineal descend- 
ants of the de Warrennes of Warren and Surrey, Eng- 
land, A. D. 1083. 

An ancestor of Fay Cluett Warren was Captain John 
Warren, born in New Hampshire and removed to Lud- 
low, Vermont. It is believed he saw service in the War 
of the Revolution. Benjamin Warren, born in Ludlow, 
Vermont, married Rena Ross. Their children were: 
Alvira, born September 24, 1815; Sally, born March 2, 
1819; Benjamin, Jr., born July 18, 1822; Leonard, of 
whom further; Augusta, born May 11, 1829; Horace, 
born August 17, 1832; and Elnathan, born October 17, 
1838. 

Leonard Warren was born in Ludlow, Vermont, June 
9, 1825, and died October 15, 1903. He served in the 
Civil War, enlisting August 9, 1862, in Company A, 
Twelfth Vermont Infantry. He was discharged July 
14, 1863. He married (first) Lucia Ann Heywood, born 
July 17, 1826, in Springfield, Vermont; (second) Mary 
Listiva Keyes, born February 2, 1837, in Windsor, 
Vermont, died in 1881. He had children by his first 
wife: Rena A., born in 1850, married George S. Law- 
rence; Prescott, of whom further; Loren L., born in 
1858; William L., born in 1863. Children by second 
wife: Myron E. ; Rosette E., married Waldo Stevens; 
Collins P.; and Cora E., who married Arthur R. 
Cob urn. 

Prescott Warren was born in Ludlow, Vermont, but 
is now living in Chester, Vermont (1925), aged seventy- 
eight years. He has been a contractor, doing mason 
work, putting in cellar walls, etc. Later in life he was 
a farmer, and is now retired. He lived in Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, for nineteen years, and there was en- 
gaged in contracting work. He married Zella Bridges, 
born in Grafton, Vermont, died April 16, 1924, daugh- 
ter of Sperry and Elizabeth Bridges. Their children: 
Frank; Fay Cluett, of whom further; and Ferris. 

Fay Cluett Warren was born in Cavendish, Vermont, 
September 2, 1878. He was educated in the public 
schools of Holyoke, Massachusetts, and when through 
his studies went with the Roland T. Oaks Company, of 
Holyoke, electrical contractors. He later went to Bur- 
lington, Vermont, with George D. Sherwin, in elec- 
trical work. From there he came to Middlebury, Ver- 
mont, where he became manager of the Middlebury 
Electric Company, a position he held for fifteen years. 
He was in business for himself in Middlebury, Ver- 
mont, for three years, and again later for two years. 
He engaged in the electrical business for himself in 
Rutland, Vermont. In 1920 he came to Northampton, 
Massachusetts, where he established an electrical enter- 
prise which he for a time carried on alone, later taking 
as a partner Mr. William Watt, the firm name being 



t 




.J^kcd 3^^c^^ 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



93 



Warren & Watt, electrical contractors. In Middlebury, 
Vermont, Mr. Warren was chief-of-police and chief of 
the fire department of that city for several years. He 
was a member of the local lodge, Knights of Pythias; 
a member of the Elks in Rutland, Vermont; a member 
of the Nonotuck Lodge, Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, of Northampton, Massachusetts; and he is a 
member of the Unitarian Church. 

Mr. Warren married, November 22, 1906, Josephine 
Harlow, of Cummington, Massachusetts, daughter of 
Orville and Catherine Harlow. Their children are: 
Kenneth Harlow, and Catherine Azella Harlow, both 
bom in Middlebury, Vermont; Laura Harlow and 
Elizabeth Harlow, both born in Northampton, 
Massachusetts. 



FRANK EMMET TUTTLE, manufacturer of 
Chicopee, Massachusetts, was born in Chicopee, No- 
vember 14, 1845, and died July 13, 1913. He was the 
son of Roderick Crosby and Nancy Cole Underwood 
Tuttle. Tuttle, from Tothill, a name common in Eng- 
land as a place name, has been one widely known to 
America for many generations. William Totyl, the 
first of the family known, lived in Devonshire, in 1591, 
and was Bailiff, 1528, 1548; and High Sheriff in 1549; 
Lord Mayor of Exeter in 1552. His arms were: A 
lion passant, sable. Branches of the Tuttle family in 
other parts of England, Ireland and Wales, bore coats- 
of-arms which were somewhat varied; but all bore a 
lion on the shield, indicating their common origin. 
Many circumstances indicate the Devon family as the 
ancestors of John of Ipswich; Richard of Boston; Wil- 
liam of New Haven, and John of Dover, New 
Hampshire. 

(I) William Tuttle, the immigrant ancestor of this 
branch of the family in America, came to New Eng- 
land aboard the ship "Planter," in April, 1635. On the 
records he was described as a husbandman and mer- 
chant. His wife, Elizabeth, twenty-three years of age, 
and their children: John, aged three and a half years; 
Arm, aged two and one-half years; and Thomas, aged 
three months, accompanied him. He was twenty-six 
years. The wife Elizabeth was admitted to the Church 
in Boston, July 14, 1636. In 1635 he received permis- 
sion to build a windmill at Charlestown. In 1636 he 
became a proprietor of Boston. His wife was dis- 
missed to the Ipswich Church, September 8, 1639. He 
bought a house lot in New Haven, Connecticut, from 
Edward Hopkins in 1641. It was in the square bounded 
by Grove, State, Elm, and Church streets, and was 
one of eight allotments into which the square was di- 
vided. In 1656 he bought of Joshua Atwater his man- 
sion and barn and other lands, afterwards owned by 
Mrs. Hester Coster, who bequeathed the property to 
the Church. Yale College bought it in 1717 and it 
now forms part of the college grounds, formerly en- 
closed by the famous Yale "fence." Mr. Tuttle was 
one of the first owners of East Haven, and surveyed 
the road from the ferry at Red Rock to Stony River. 
In 1659 he bought land at North Haven, and in 1661 a 
dwelling house and home lot from John Punderson, 
which he gave to his son, John Tuttle. He occupied 
one of the best seats in the meeting house which showed 



his standing in the community. He signed the petition 
to continue the settlement of the Delaware colonies un- 
molested. This project proved a failure, however, and 
he remained in New Haven where he was a farmer. He 
served as fence viewer and in 1646, did garrison duty. 
He often was called to serve on committees to adjust 
boundary lines, and on the jury. He was constable in 
1667. His character was revealed by a court pro- 
ceeding, when a young girl was found guilty of lying 
and stealing. Mr. Tuttle, having liberty to speak, 
"with great affection" said that the young girl's sin was 
very great, "yet he did much pity her, and he hoped 
the court would deal leniently with her, and put her in 
some pious family where she could enjoy the means of 
Grace for her souls good." The court, in considera- 
tion of his appeal said the punishment would be as 
light as comported with the heinousness of her sin, and 
for her soul's good she was sentenced to be "publicly 
and severely whipped, to-morrow after lecture." Wil- 
liam Tuttle died in June, 1763, and his widow died 
December 30, 1684, aged seventy-two years at the home 
of her son, Nathaniel. 

(II) Jonathan Tuttle, fourth child of William Tuttle, 
was baptized at Charlestown, Massachusetts, July 8, 
1637, and died in 1705. He settled in North Haven, 
Connecticut, about 1670. He built a bridge over the 
Quinnipiac River, long known as Tuttle's Bridge, and 
the court allowed him to collect toll and entertain trav- 
elers at a moderate compensation. He married Rebecca 
Bell, born August, 1643, died May 2, 1670, daughter of 
Lieutenant Francis and Rebecca Bell, of Stamford, 
and had a son William, of whom further. 

(III) William Tuttle, fifth child of Jonathan Tuttle, 
was born May 25, 1673, and died in 1727. He received 
from his father forty acres of land. Mary Abernatha, 
his wife, was a sister of his brother's wife. They were 
the parents of Abel, of whom further. 

(IV) Abel Tuttle, fifth child of William Tuttle, was 
born about 1705. He married, and had a son Abel (2), 
of whom further. 

(V) Abel (2) Tuttle, son of Abel Tuttle, was a 
soldier in the Revolution from New Haven, enlisting 
for three years from August i, 1777. After the Rev- 
olution he made his home in Westfield, Massachusetts, 
and was one of the first settlers of that part which is 
now the village of Russell. Tertius Tuttle, a relative, 
lived at West Springfield. In 1790 Abel Tuttle's fam- 
ily consisted of three sons under sixteen, one of whom 
was Abel (3), and one female. Caleb Tuttle, a relative 
living in West Springfield, is supposed to have married 
a Bishop. 

(VI) Abel (3) Tuttle, son of Abel (2) Tuttle, lived 
at Westfield and married Hannah Gowdy. They had a 
son Roderick Crosby, of whom further. 

(VII) Roderick Crosby Tuttle, son of Abel (3) 
Tuttle ,was born in 181 8, and died in 1864. He was a 
farmer, and dealer in horses, and his good judgment in the 
selection of horses was often sought by his friends, before 
purchasing stock. To the countryside his good nature 
and kindly manner endeared him to all. He owed much 
to his wife, a woman of unusual intelligence and learn- 
ing in a day when the education of women was not con- 
sidered of any consequence, and able to support him in 



94 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



his undertakings. She was Nancy Cole Underwood, a 
native of Pomfret, born in 1822, died in 1886, and a 
daughter of William Givens Underwood. They had a 
son, Frank Emmet, of whom further. 

(VIII) Frank Emmet Tuttle, son of Roderick Crosby 
Tuttle, appears to have inherited the best traits of his 
parents, the suavity and even good nature of his urbane 
father, and the love of learning which was conspicu- 
ous in his mother. This was manifest in his early desire 
to enter one of the learned professions. He was obliged, 
however, to undertake the earning of a livelihood when 
he was in his early teens, and help support his mother. 
At seventeen, accordingly, he entered the employ of 
E. R. Haskell & Sons as bookkeeper, the firm being 
engaged in the provision business at Springfield. The 
boy developed exceptional energy and capacity for his 
years and his enthusiasm in his work opened the doors 
to a wider opportunity and a greater responsibility. In 
1861 he accepted a position with Howard Brothers, 
dealers in railroad supplies, and was quick to grasp the 
details, which brought him the post of confidential 
clerk. He continued for eleven years with Howard 
Brothers. He was ambitious to engage in business for 
himself and attain independence. And he saved. In 
1873 he was able to realize his ambition and form a part- 
nership with John Olmstead, an enterprising business 
man in Springfield, to handle cotton waste. They did 
business with headquarters in Springfield for a time; 
but in 1887 found it advantageous to move the business 
to Chicopee. They erected a new plant and as a result 
of increased facilities the business grew extensively. 
Mr. Tuttle had a marvelous genius for detail coupled 
with an executive ability and capacity for work seldom 
combined in one person. He installed many ingenious 
machines for converting cotton waste into comforters, 
mattresses, carpet linings, mops, and other useful or 
convenient things for household utility. The business 
grew steadily; the plant was enlarged. Mr. Tuttle, 
aside from being president and treasurer of the company, 
looked after the practical workings of every department. 
He was indulgent toward the sick and indisposed, and 
it was not uncommon to retain invalid employees on 
the payroll for weeks, months, or even years, if neces- 
sary, while he manifested an interest in the comfort 
and progress of their families. 

This devotion to his own business, taxing his mental 
and physical energies, did not prevent him from taking 
an active interest in the community and the town where 
he lived. The fast growth of the city and its suburbs 
led him to enter into a partnership in 1890 to take ad- 
vantage of the opportunity offered. He engaged in the 
real estate business with James L. Humphry; and 
bought the tract of land including thirty-seven acres on 
the road to Springfield, which was cut into lots, on 
which houses were built. His own strong conviction 
being that every man with a family should own his 
home. He made the terms easy. On the land which he 
named "Veranus" for a former owner, he erected a 
superb Casino which was intended to encourage socia- 
bility and sympathetic ties among the people, by afford- 
ing them an attractive rendezvous for gatherings and 
meetings of clubs and societies in which they were 
interested. 



Mr. Tuttle was a Republican in politics, active in 
that he studied affairs at home and abroad with keen 
insight into the trend of events and a warm sympathy 
with others which drew about him men of diverse 
views and opinions which he loved to draw out and 
criticize whether to approve or oppose them. His social 
relations with leading politicians were constant, and 
took no account of views or parties. Yet he did not 
aspire to office and steadfastly refused to accept when- 
ever it was offered. One of the most attractive of these 
offers was the nomination for mayor of Chicopee. 
Nevertheless he was a liberal contributor to the party's 
war chests and never missed going to the polls. Mr. 
Tuttle also was an authority on landscape gardening 
with excellent taste and judgment. Thus he was chosen 
one of the commissioners to improve Fairview Cemetery. 
There his taste in architecture, to which he had given 
much earnest study, in his leisure, stands revealed es- 
pecially in the Spaulding Memorial Chapel. His recrea- 
tion was as strenuous and thorough as his work. Busy 
as he was he knew the necessity of recreation and took 
it as systematically as he took other things. He en- 
joyed a hard-fought ball game; a football scrimmage; 
and he loved music, especially the opera, of which he 
proved a connoisseur. He was an inveterate theatre- 
goer, but he avoided tragedy, which he did not enjoy, 
and regarded as no part of his recreations. His respect 
for the profession was sincere and deep, and he re- 
sented criticism in the press which he thought unjust 
to the actor, when written by an inexperienced pen. 
This often led him to discuss the play with critics of 
the press between the acts and explain his views and 
judgments, all of which were based on the soundest 
premises, so that his conclusions were quite sure to be 
correct. As a boy he saved his money and was fond 
of taking his mother to see every celebrated player who 
came to Springfield. 

Mr. Tuttle's ability to concentrate led him also to 
throw off all business thoughts and cares as soon as he 
entered the precincts of his home. He loved the best 
in literature and was familiar with the great authors; 
but he derived little pleasure from reading a book he 
did not own. This trait accumulated a library. His 
taste ran to biography and his shelves were filled with 
the lives of statesmen in England and America, and of 
French and English writers. His margin notes were 
voluminous in number and revealed the close attention 
he ever gave to everything he did. His sense of humor 
led him to the novelists of the past, and Artemus Ward 
was his delight. He found something new whenever he 
opened "His Book." In early life he became infatuated 
with the works of Charles Dickens, and the admiration 
of youth grew in ardor with the years. As a boy he 
committed page after page of the best in Dickens's 
sketches to memory; as a man he astonished friends and 
hearers by reciting in inimitable style the very stories 
Dickens himself was reading to American audiences on 
his tours of the United States. Of all writers of fiction 
he regarded Dickens as the first with a veritable mine 
of noble thoughts and generous sentiments which car- 
ried with them calm repose and stirring courage. It 
seems almost superfluous to add that the possessor of 
all these traits was a man of charming hospitality, and 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



95 



the most companionable character. He was a member 
of several of the leading clubs in Springfield, although 
he rarely frequented them. His feelings and ideas were 
generous; his sympathy for the burdened and oppressed 
strong and active. His interest in the Church of the 
Unity began in boyhood and continued through life. 

His passing away was a great shock to his large 
circle of sincere friends. 

Mr. Tuttle married (first), October i, 1876, Mary 
Caroline Stearns, daughter of George M. and Emily C. 
(Goodnow) Stearns. Mr. and Mrs. Tuttle had a son, 
George, who died in infancy. Their daughter, Emily 
Stearns, married George H. Mann, an attorney of New 
York City. Mrs. Tuttle died on February 18, 1884, 
and Mr. Tuttle married (second), November 25, 1885, 
Sarah Florence Knapp, born March 18, i860, daughter 
of George H. and Mary B. (Cooley) Knapp. 



FREDERICK WELLES CONANT— Few more 
useful enterprises are counted in the present day progress 
of Western Massachusetts than the manufacturing plant 
of Frederick Welles Conant, known under the cor- 
porate name of Conant & Donelson, Mr. Conant being 
treasurer and general manager . The activities of the 
business extend to many foreign countries, for their 
export trade has become very important within recent 
years. The development of the interest has been in a 
large measure due to Mr. Conant's energy and initiative 
and the fine executive ability which is one of the chief 
characteristics of the man. As a worthy citizen of Con- 
way he holds leading rank in the progress of the day 
in this section and his usefulness is acknowledged by 
all who are familiar with his activities. 

(I) The Conant family is one of more than usual 
distinction in New England, and traces back to Roger 
Conant, who was bom in Devonshire, England, and was 
baptized in 1592. He came to America in 1623, and 
marrried Sarah Horton. 

(H) Lot Conant, son of Roger and Sarah (Horton) 
Conant, was born at Cape Ann, Massachusetts, in 1624, 
and married Elizabeth Walton. 

(HI) William Conant, son of Lot and Elizabeth 
(Walton) Conant. was born February 19, 1666, and 
married Mary Woodbury. 

(IV) David Conant, son of William and Mary 
(Woodbury) Conant, was born in Beverly, Masachu- 
setts, December 11, 1698, and died at Lyme, New Hamp- 
shire, April 3, 1789. He married Sarah Hayward. 

(V) Jonathan Conant, son of David and Sarah (Hay- 
ward) Conant, was born in Bridgewater, Massachu- 
setts, October 25, 1734, and died in Orange, Vermont, 
in 1820. He served for seven years in the War of the 
Revolution, was at Valley Forge with General Wash- 
ington, and took part in the battle of Brandy wine and 
other important engagements. He married Jane Latham. 

(VI) Josiah Conant, son of Jonathan and Jane 
(Latham) Conant, was born February 19, 1768, at 
Bridgewater, Massachusetts, and was killed by a falling 
tree in Orange, Vermont, July 9, 1801. He married 
Betsy Sloan. 

(VII) Jonathan Conant, son of Josiah and Betsy 
(Sloan) Conant, was bom in Lyme, New Hampshire, 



June IS, 1793, and was a soldier in the War of 1812. 
He rose to the rank of colonel in the State Militia, and 
died October 21, 1863. He married Clarissa Dimick, and 
their children were : Lucy, Jonathan Josiah, David Sloan, 
Samuel Dimick, Clarissa O., Chester Cook, Frederick 
Dodge, of whom further ; and Abel Blood. 

(VIII) Frederick Dodge Conant, son of Jonathan 
and Clarissa (Dimick) Conant, was born in Lyme, New 
Hampshire, July 22, 1833, and died in Colerain, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1889. Receiving a common school educa- 
tion, he was active in farming in early life, then later 
went to Waterbury, Connecticut, where he entered the 
dry goods business and was largely successful until com- 
pelled to relinquish his activities on account of ill health. 
He then removed to Massachusetts and settling in Cole- 
rain established very extensive agricultural activities. 
Owning a farm of about four hundred and thirty acres 
he conducted it on a very large scale, his apple crop 
alone approximating some thousand barrels a year. He 
also kept a splendid herd of cows, further raising and 
selling steers, cattle and sheep by the hundreds of head 
annually. It was said that "he was a man of vision and 
did things in a large way on a large scale." His com- 
paratively early death was considered a great loss to the 
community, and among all with whom he came in touch 
his memory was cherished as that of one of the leading 
citizens of his time. He married Sarah Elizabeth 
Welles, of Greenfield, who was born in 1841 and died in 
1916, in Conway, Massachusetts. She was a daughter 
of Alfred Welles, and also a member of a prominent 
family of New England. Frederick Dodge and Sarah 
Elizabeth (Welles) Conant were the parents of three 
children: Clara, Sarah and Frederick Welles, of whom 
further. 

(IX) Frederick Welles Conant, son of Frederick 
Dodge and Sarah Elizabeth (Welles) Conant, was born 
in Lyme, New Hampshire, July 30, 1867. Educated in 
the schools of Deerfield, Coleraine and Brooklyn, New 
York, he was active in farming until 1898, then came 
to Greenfield and entered the employ of the Wells 
Brothers. This firm manufactured taps and dies, and 
in this connection Mr. Conant became broadly familiar 
with mechanical affairs and their practical application in 
this special branch. In 1904 Mr. Conant formed his 
present affiliation with Mr. Donelson, locating in Green- 
field, and beginning the manufacture of a similar line of 
products. In 1909 the firm of Conant & Donelson built 
the present fine modern plant at Conway and removed 
their business to this building. They manufactured a 
very superior quality of taps and dies and a limited line 
of other mechanical equipment, employing about seventy- 
five people, almost every member of the organization 
being a highly skilled mechanic. The product of this 
plant goes to practically every leading country in the 
world as well as to all parts of the United States, and 
as one of the foremost executives of the organization 
Mr. Conant is considered a man of large prominence in 
mechanical advance. Public affairs have also engaged 
a share of his effort and energy. For five years he was 
chairman of the Board of Selectmen, and has long been 
a member of the Republican Town Committee, also of the 
Board of Registrars. He is affiliated with Republican 



96 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Lodge, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, of Green- 
field, also the Knights Templar, and his religious affili- 
ation is with the Congregational Church, in which he 
serves on the standing committee. 

Frederick Welles Conant married, June 21, 1893, 
Lena Donelson, of Coleraine, Massachusetts, daughter of 
Ruben J. and Nancy S. (Thompson) Donelson. 



WALTER LEROY STEVENS is one of the prom- 
inent attorneys of Northampton, Massachusetts, where 
he has been a familiar figure for a period of over 
twenty-five years. To-day, under the firm name, Stev- 
ens & Andre, the latter of whom he became associa- 
ted in partnership in 1921, these brilliant and capable 
minds are handling successfully a large clientage. Mr. 
Stevens descends from worthy ancestors, members of 
this family having settled in Massachusetts at a very 
early day. The line of descent from the emigrant an- 
cestor is as outlined below: 

(I) Sergeant John Stevens, or Stephens, as his name 
is sometimes recorded, the emigrant ancestor, was born 
about 161 1, and died in February, i688-8g. In 1640 he 
was a proprietor of Salisbury, and later is recorded as 
a commoner, being taxed in 1650-52-54. He was a 
member of the Salisbury Church in 1687. His occupa- 
tion was that of a farmer. He made a will which was 
dated April 12, 1686, and this was proved November 
26, 1689. His wife's name was Katherine, but her 
surname is unknown, and she died July 31, 1682. John 
Stevens was the father of seven children: Thomas 
(probably), mentioned below; John; Elizabeth, died 
young; Elizabeth; Nathaniel; Mary; and Benjamin. 

(II) Deacon Thomas Stevens, probably the son of 
John Stevens, was born about 1637, and died April 14, 
1729. John Stevens above, deeded to him in January, 
1667-68 land on the west side of Powow River, and 
propably, because of this, he was not mentioned in his 
father's will. He resided first in Salisbury, but in 
March, 1668-69, was granted a common right in Ames- 
bury, and in October, 1669, bought a house and land 
there of Ezekiel Wathen. He took the oath of allegi- 
ance in 1677, and was a member of the train band in 
1680. In 1686 he was a selectman, and in 1690 he was 
admitted a freeman. In 1693 he is recorded as a school- 
master. His will was dated November 29, 1723, and 
proved April 28, 1729. He married, April 15, 1670, at 
Newbury, Martha Bartlett, who died September 8, 
1718. To this marriage were born ten children, of 
whom Roger is of further mention. 

(III) Roger Stevens, son of Deacon Thomas and 
Martha (Bartlett) Stevens, was born in Amesbury and 
settled in Northborough, where he was a clothier. On 
November i, 1729, he bought of John Perry a house 
lot in Brookfield. He died December 26, 1730. He 
married, November 24, 1698, Sarah Nichols, and to 
them were born the following children: Abigail, born 
July 17, 1705; Roger, of whom further; Sarah, born 
January 31, 1709-10; Thomas, born November 21, 
171 1 ; Jacob, born October 24, 171 3; Nehemiah, born 
May 26, 1715; Martha, born September 27, 1717; 
Christopher. 

(IV) Roger Stevens, son of Roger and Sarah (Nich- 
ols) Stevens, was born May 22, 1708, and died in May, 



1794. He married, March 14, 1735, Hannah Woolcott, 
and among their children was John, of whom further. 

(V) John Stevens, son of Roger and Hannah (Wool- 
cott) Stevens, was born April 25, 1744. He married, 
October 27, 1768, Ruth Moore, daughter of Thomas 
Moore, of Brookfield, Massachusetts, and moved to 
Chester, Massachusetts. Among the children born to 
this marriage was Aaron, of whom further. 

(VI) Aaron Stevens, son of John and Ruth (Moore) 
Stevens, was born August 19, 1786, in Brookfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, and died in Worthington, Massachusetts, 
July 2, 1855. He married, December 5, 181 1, Sarah 
Spellman, who was born October 23, 1783, and died 
December 15, 1859. They settled in Worthington in 
181 1, and there purchased a farm of seventy-five acres, 
containing a saw and gristmill, and this he operated to 
the time of his death, the only establishment of its kind 
in the neighborhood. In 1837 it was destroyed by fire, 
but his son, Lafayette, built another mill and in 1858 
erected a still larger one. His home at first was in a 
log house, but later he built a frame structure in which 
he resided. They were the parents of seven children 
as follows: Nathan Spellman, born August 24, 1812 (see 
following sketch) ; John M., born February 28, 1814, died 
January i, 1815; Aaron, Jr., born February 5, 1816, 
died August 14, 1899; Conil, born March 21, 1818, 
died June 21, 1895; Sarah R., born September 16, 
1820, died June 2, 1829; Catherine M., born June 12, 
1823; Lafayette of whom further. 

(VII) Lafayette Stevens, son of Aaron and Sarah 
(Spellman) Stevens, was born November 30, 1824, and 
died in December, 1895. He remained on the home 
farm, where he conducted farming operations together 
with his grist mill. After the burning of the mill, as 
previously noted, he built a new dam and sawmill on 
the site of the old, and later began the manufacture of 
wood novelties, installing wood-working machinery. 

This business he carried on to the end of his life. 
He represented the town in the Legislature, and was a 
deacon in the Congregational Church. Mr. Stevens 
married, September 10, 1846, Laura S. Packard, born 
in Cummington, Massachusetts, November 9, 1825, 
died in November, 1897. She was the daughter of Wil- 
liam and Sarah (Stoddard) Packard. To the marriage 
of Lafayette and Laura S. (Packard) Stevens were 
born the following children: Julia P., born July 3, 
1847, married Darwin E. Lyman; Ella A., born April 
28, 1850; William A., born October 11, 1852; Alfred 
C, of further mention; Lester F., born August i, 1859; 
Flora B., born December 25, 1863. 

(VIII) Alfred C. Stevens, son of Lafayette and 
Laura S. (Packard) Stevens, was born in Worthing- 
ton, Massachusetts, November 31, 1856. His educa- 
tion was received in the schools of Worthington, after 
which he operated the grist mill and wood-working 
plant in company with his father. Later he took up 
iron work, blacksmith work, and plumbing, the latter 
work employing his time exclusively for ten years. In 
1921 he bought a residence in Northampton, where he 
has made his home during the winters since. He is a 
member of the Nonotuck Lodge, Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, and an attendant of the Congregational 
Church. He married (first) Edith M. Tower, of Cum- 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



97 



mington, born April 22, 1857, died September 8, 1894, 
daughter of Warren E. and Agnes S. (Lyman) Tower. 
He married (second) Elizabeth Reid. Of the first mar- 
riage were born two children: Walter Leroy, of whom 
further; and Clara L., born July 28, 1883. Of the 
second marriage were born four children: Fayette R., 
born May 21, 1898; Laura E., born 1S99: Esther M.; 
and Alfred C, Jr., born November 31, 1915. 

(IX) Walter Leroy Stevens, son of Alfred C. and 
Edith M. (Tower) Stevens, and the subject of this 
biography, was born December 14, 1877, in Worthing- 
ton, Massachusetts. After obtaining his preliminary 
education in the schools of Worthington, he entered the 
Williston Seminary, at Easthampton, Massachusetts, 
from which he graduated in the class of 1896. After 
leaving school he studied law in the offices of Hammond 
and Field, in Northampton, and on October 22, 1900, 
he was admitted to the bar. For three years Mr. Stev- 
ens practiced law with Louis H. Warner under the firm 
name of Warner and Stevens, then for a number of 
years he practiced alone, meeting with unusual success. 
Mr. Warner, his former partner, is now (1925) serving 
as attorney in Washington, District of Columbia. In 
1921 Mr. Stevens formed a partnership with Mr. Andre 
and to-day they are doing business under the firm name 
of Stevens and Andre. 

Mr. Stevens was a member of the Common Council 
in 1902-03, and in 1912 he was appointed referee in 
bankruptcy, which office he has continued to hold since. 
He is a trustee of the Northampton Institution of Sav- 
ings, and is clerk of the corporation. Fraternally he 
is a member of Williamsburg Lodge, Knights of 
Pythias, of Northampton. He holds membership in 
the Edwards Church. 

Walter Leroy Stevens married, July 20, 1905, Eu- 
phemia A. Tantum, of Ocean Grove, New Jersey, 
daughter of Frank and Katherine THendricksoo) 
Tantum. 



ARLIN VARILLAS STEVENS, manufacturer of 
Cummington, Massachusetts, was born in Worthington, 
Massachusetts, June 15, 1854. His father was Nathan 
Spellman Stevens, and his mother Sybil (Cowing) 
Stevens. (For ancestry see preceding sketch). 

(VII) Nathan Spellman Stevens, son of Aaron and 
Sarah (Spellman) Stevens, (q. v.), was born in Worth- 
ington, Massachusetts, August 24. 1812, died June 5, 
1889, in Cummington. He passed his early life in Worth- 
ington, but went to North Chester, where he learned the 
machinist's trade. In 1834 he returned to Worthington, 
and in company with his brother Aaron built a saw mill 
and factory where they established a wood-working 
business. They manufactured sieve rims and bent wood 
work until i860. In that year, Mr. Stevens came to 
Cummington, and bought the old Hayden Cotton Mills. 
He fitted them with new machinery, and began the 
manufacture of penholders and cedar brush handles. 
He also manufactured diamond grit scythe stones. In 
1874 he took his two sons, Arthur S., and Arlin V., 
into partnership, and extended the scope of his wood- 
working business. The new machinery he added was 
largely of his own invention. At the time the Stevens 



factory led all others of its kind in the country. It 
was destroyed on February 13, 1883, by fire. A new 
plant was ready for occupancy on April 15, 1884. and 
from 1884 to 1887 the Stevens concern was engaged in the 
manufacture of the New York Lead Pencil, turning out 
an average of one hundred gross a day. Mr. Stevens 
was a selectman; and a deacon of the Congregational 
Church. He married Sybil Cowing, of Northampton, 
who died on June 13. 1885, at the age of sixty-one years. 
Children: Ida; Arthur S., deceased; and Arlin V., of 
whom further. 

(^^III) Arlin Varillas Stevens came to Cummington, 
Massachusetts, as a child, with his parents when they 
removed from Worthington. He was educated in the 
town schools and in Wilbraham Academy. He worked 
three years in the hardware store of W. E. Thayer in 
Williamsburg, Massachusetts, and then went to Chi- 
cago, where he was employed as a salesman in the 
furnishing goods department of Field & Leiter. In 
1874 he came to Cummington, and engaged in business 
with his father and brother, Arthur S. Stevens, who 
died soon after. Arlin V. Stevens bought out his in- 
terest afterwards and upon the death of his father he 
came into full control. He invented much of the valu- 
able machinery used in the plant and has installed many 
improvements. The Stevens Manufacturing Company 
specializes in the making of brush handles, and has 
turned out as high as two hundred gross in a day. They 
have in the past employed forty hands and have used 
300,000 feet of native lumber; and 200,000 feet of Florida 
cedar in a year. He was town moJerator for twenty 
years. He has served as selectman, town treasurer, and 
collector of taxes. He was elected to represent his con- 
stituency in the Legislature in 1896, and in the House 
he was a member of the Committee on Manufacturing. 
He attends the Congregational Church. 

Mr. Stevens was married on February 6, 1878, to 
Harriet Emagene Pettingill, of Montague, who was 
born January i, 1855, daughter of Alden and Anne 
Zeruiah (Shaw) Pettingill. Children: i. Winifred 
Leslie. 2. Anne Viola, who married Howard E. Drake, 
postmaster and merchant in Cummington. They have 
a daughter, Dorris Stevens Drake. 3. Margie, who died 
in childhood. 4. Cullen Ashley, now conducting the 
business of the Stevens Manufacturing Company. He 
married Fannie Durkee and they are the parents of: 
William Cullen, deceased; Spellman Ashley; Lois Ema- 
gene and Sybil Alice, twins; Calvin and Stanley Leroy. 
5. Leon Arthur, who married Mari Packard. Their 
children are: Dorothy Elizabeth, Harold Austin, and 
Virginia Anne. 6. Ruth Whitney, married Arthur Giles 
and they have two children: Richard Alden and Wini- 
fred Leslie, and Arlin Stevens, the eldest child, who died 
in infancy. 



JOHN THEODORE SWANSON, president and 
superintendent of the American Saw and Manufactur- 
ing Company, was born in Wafersunda, Sweden, June 
12, 1877. His father was Sven Swanson, and his 
mother was Lira (Petersen) Swanson, and they were 
the parents of six children: Karl J., Svenson, Eva, Hul- 
dah, John Theodore and Fritz. 



W.M. — 3-7 



98 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



The rise of this noted Springfield manufacturer adds 
another chapter to the success of men of persevering 
northern blood, maintaining high standards of integrity 
and possessing commanding ability. When his school 
days were over in his native Sweden, John T. Swanson 
was employed on a farm from the time he was fifteen 
until he had reached the age of nineteen. With the 
love of adventure common to his years and his race he 
came to America, arriving on November 17, 1897, with 
little money and no knowledge of the English language. 
He was twenty years old. He came to Springfield, but 
after ten weeks went to Stockbridge, and there for five 
weeks he worked on a farm milking cows and drawing 
coal. For this work he received $9 and his board. Re- 
turning to Springfield he was employed by Mr. Fuller, 
on Allen Street, where he remained five months, receiving 
a salary of $15 a month. He went next to Thompson- 
ville, Connecticut, and entered the employ of Dr. Vail 
in his famous sanitarium. Later he returned to Spring- 
field and was employed by the Bemis Car and Truck 
Company from March, 1898, to November, 1899. He 
next entered the employ of the National Equipment 
Company, a connection he maintained until April, 1904. 
In that month he went to Sweden, but returned to Amer- 
ica in the following September. Coming to Springfield 
he entered the employ of the Massachusetts Saw Works 
Company, and remained from 1905 to 1906. Meanwhile, 
he was improving every opportunity to study and in- 
crease his knowledge of his adopted country. He at- 
tended the evening schools, and the winter of 1906-1907 
he qualified for entrance to the Technical High School, 
from which he afterwards received a diploma. He also 
attended the draughting classes of the Young Men's 
Christian Association during the winters, and improved 
every oportunity of reading and association to master 
the English language and become familiar with Amer- 
ican customs and institutions. In 1906 he entered the 
employ of Charles Napier on Liberty Street, manufac- 
turer of hack saw blades, and remained until 1914. 
During this time, in 1913, he again went abroad, but this 
time he combined business with pleasure, stopping in 
London on his way to Sweden, and doing business for 
his company. He had advanced step by step from the 
time he arrived in America, without means and without 
knowledge of the language, to the time when he was able 
to represent an American firm in an English-speaking 
country on an important business matter. He returned 
to this country, and in 1915, when the American Saw 
and Manufacturing Company was organized, John Theo- 
dore Swanson was made president and superintendent. 
The company consisted of Mr. Swanson, Mr. Ericson 
and Mr. Davis; they began the manufacture of hack 
and hand saws in a small way on the top floor of the 
E. S. Stacy Building, No. 41 Taylor Street, using only 
half the floor space. It is a significant fact that here 
George M. Hendee had started on the same floor a few 
years before what is now one of Springfield's largest in- 
dustries — the Hende Manufacturing Company. 

The success of the American Saw and Manufacturing 
Company from the outset was due in no small measure 
to the fact that its directing heads had previously had 
years of experience in the hack saw blade business in 



the employ of other manufacturers, and were able to 
adapt the best in each. They placed their product before 
the public as the Lenox brand, and within a year the 
rapid growth of the business required the entire floor 
space to handle it. Early in 1917 the company bought 
land on Boylston Street, 86 by 250 feet, in dimension, 
and erected a modern fireproof and brick factory which 
was completed and occupied in October. In 191 9 the 
Lenox line of metal cutting band saws was added, and 
it became an item of considerable volume. The Lenox 
wood cutting band saws were added in 1921, in 1923 
screw drivers were added; in 1924 glass cutters were 
added, and in 1925 socket wrenches. The entire output 
is manufactured in the Boylston Street plant with special 
machinery of a design, and is sold not only in the United 
States and Canada, but throughout the world, branch 
selling houses being located in New York, Chicago, At- 
lanta, Georgia, and Paris, France. The officers of the 
company are : President, John T. Swanson ; vice-presi- 
dent and secretary, Carl L. Ericson ; treasurer, Carl G. 
Davis. 

Mr. Swanson is an expert in hardening steel, and is 
in charge of the production. Mr. Ericson is master 
mechanic and designer of special machinery, and Mr. 
Davis superintends the financial and selling departments. 
It is interesting to note that there has been no change 
in this personnel since the incorporation. The firm is 
one of the youngest members of the National Metal 
Trades Association, having joined in 1921. It is repre- 
sented in the association by Mr. Swanson. Besides hav- 
ing membership in the association, he is affiliated with 
the Associated Industries of Massachusetts and the 
Springfield Chamber of Commerce. Mr. Swanson has 
always believed in extending a helping hand to those 
around him. He is a member of the Swedish Mission 
Church of Springfield, of which he is a trustee, and a 
director of the Swedish Children's Orphanage, at Crom- 
well, Connecticut. 



HOWARD RODGERS BEMIS, one of the active 
business men and bankers of Springfield, Massachusetts, 
was born in that city March 7, 1867, the son of William 
Chaplin and Emily Olive (Rodgers) Bemis, his wife. 
Joseph Bemis, the immigrant ancestor of the Bemis fam- 
ily in America, was born in Dedham, County Essex, 
England. John Bemis, his father, died in 1604. 

(I) Joseph Bemis, son of John Bemis, came to Water- 
town, Massachusetts, with his sister, Mary, as early as 
1640, when he was twenty-one years old. Mary died 
in December, 1695. Sarah Bemis, wife of Joseph, was 
a native of England. Their first child was born in 
America and registered in Boston. Joseph Bemis was a 
blacksmith and farmer ; he served the town as "haward" 
collector of taxes, member of the school committee and 
selectman in 1648-1673-1675. At one time the magis- 
trate fined him for "having one disorderly hog." Again 
he was fined for cutting trees on the common land with- 
out formal permission of the authorities. He left more 
than £200 pounds when he died August 7, 1684. 

(II) Joseph(2) Bemis, son of Joseph and Sarah Bemis, 
was born December 12, 1651, and died in 1684. He was 
a soldier in King Philip's War, his son, Joseph, re- 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



99 



ceived a grant of land for his father's services. He 

married Anna . Their son, Philip, of further 

mention. 

(III) Philip Bemis, son of Joseph (2) and Anna 

( ) Bemis, was born in 1700, and was alive in 1782. 

He was the third permanent settler in Westminster in 
1738. He married, in 1723, Elizabeth Lawrence. Wil- 
liam, their second son, of further mention. 

(IV) William Bemis, son of Philip and Elizabeth 
(Lawrence) Bemis, was baptized in Cambridge, Novem- 
ber 13, 1726. He died at Weston November 8, 1801. 
He married (first) Regina, the daughter of Joshua and 
Sarah (Keycs) Wilder; (second), November 12, 1772, 
Abigail Annis, who died at Harvard in 1824. The Rev. 
Samuel Bemis, his son, of further mention. 

(V) Rev. Samuel Bemis, son of William and Abi- 
gail (Annis) Bemis, was born in Westminster, Sep- 
tember 10, 1774. He died at Harvard in 1828. He was 
graduated at Dartmouth College in 1798, and was or- 
dained to preach at Harvard, Massachusetts, June 3, 
1802. After serving the church in Harvard as pastor 
for twelve years, failing health compelled him to give 
up active work. He married Sophronia Chapin, their 
son Hon. Stephen Chapin, of further mention. 

(VI) Hon. Stephen Chapin Bemis, son of Rev. Stephen 
and Sophronia (Chapin) Bemis, was born November 
28, 1802, in Harvard, Massachusetts, and died in Spring- 
field, February 12, 1875. At fourteen he entered his 
uncle's store in Chicopee, where he made rapid progress, 
was made a partner, and eventually took over the busi- 
ness. He removed to Springfield and became the pio- 
neer hardware dealer of the Connecticut Valley, having 
as partner Chester W. Chapin, later president of the 
Boston and Albany Railroad. Mr. Bemis withdrew 
from the firm and erected a mill at Willimansett, Massa- 
chusetts, for the manufacture of woolen machine cards, 
augers and machine tools. A gold medal was awarded 
the products by the Massachusetts Charitable Mechanics 
Association Fair in 1837; and a silver medal was 
awarded by the American Institute Fair at New York 
in 1841. He built tenement houses for his employees, 
opened a general store, and looked out for their welfare 
in every way. He removed his family to Willimansett 
with the intention of making it a permanent business ; 
but the mills were burned. Going to Troy, New York, 
he engaged in the hardware trade until 1843, when he 
returned to Springfield and resumed the manufacture of 
tools on the Mill River under the style of Bemis & Call. 
He established the second coal yard in the city on 
ground afterwards occupied by the New York, New 
Haven & Hartford car shops. He was also interested 
in the Blanchard & Kimberly Locomotive Works. 
Finally, in association with Chester W. Chapin, he bought 
the entire plant under the hammer, selling it again to a 
Missouri railroad and realizing a handsome profit. In 
1853 he erected the buildings occupied by the Phillips & 
Bemis Company. He was a director of the Agawam 
National Bank, and president of the Hampden Sav- 
ings Bank. He was at first a Whig in politics ; but he 
voted for Martin Van Bur en. Democrat, in 1840. When 
the guns were trained on Fort Sumter, like his old 
friends, Stephen A. Douglas and Benjamin F. Butler, he 



bent every nerve to support the Union. In 1830 Presi- 
dent Jackson appointed him postmaster of Chicopee. 
In 1834 he was tax collector of Springfield. He was 
selectman in 1835 and represented the city in the Legis- 
lature in 1837, when Edward Everett was Governor. 
He was justice of the peace under Governors Boutwell, 
Banks and Bullock ; was coroner of Hampden County ; 
fire warden of Springfield, and in 1856-7-8 a member of 
the Board of Aldermen. In 1861, as a Democrat, he 
was elected mayor, defeating Daniel L. Harris, the Re- 
publican candidate in a Republican stronghold. He was 
reelected in 1862, and by a big vote, over a popular Re- 
publican, Henry Alexander, Jr. As war mayor of 
Springfield he did efficient service in equipping and for- 
warding troops to the front. He ran for Lieutenant 
Governor on the Democratic ticket ; was nominated for 
Congress ; was a delegate to several Democratic con- 
ventions. He married, at Chicopee, December 25, 1828, 
Julia, the daughter of the Rev. Otis and Kezina (Chapin) 
Steele, from an old Connecticut family. William Chap- 
lin Bemis, their son, of further mention. 

(VII) William Chaplin Bemis, son of Hon. Stephen 
Chapin and Julia (Steele) Bemis, was born at Williman- 
sett, November 16, 1832. He was eleven years old when 
the family removed to Springfield, and he completed 
his education in that city. He was an organizer of the 
Bemis & Call Hardware & Tool Company in 1855, and 
was elected treasurer. On the death of William K. 
Baker, in 1897, he was elected president, and held the 
office as well as that of treasurer until his own death, 
October 26, 1904. He was a trustee of the Hampden 
Savings Bank and of the Asbury Church. He was a 
man of sterling integrity, and an accomplished man of 
affairs. He married, in Springfield, on Christmas Day, 
1856, Emily Olive Rodgers, daughter of Aaron D. and 
Olive R. (Leonard) Rodgers, and granddaughter of 
Thomas Rodgers. They were the parents of Edward 
Leonard Bemis, born November 17, 1858; William 
Stephen, born November 24, i860, died March 23, 1895; 
Howard Rodgers, of further mention; Belle, born No- 
vember I, 1872, died February 24, 1874; Chester Chapin, 
born August 6, 1879, died February 11, 1880. 

(VIII) Howard Rodgers Bemis, son of William Chap- 
lin and Emily Olive (Rodgers) Bemis, attended the pub- 
lic schools and the high school in Springfield. He was 
then employed for two years by Mcintosh & Company, 
manufacturers and jobbers of boots and shoes, Spring- 
field. The following year was with Cutler & Company, 
grain dealers at North Wilbraham. In 1886 he became 
timekeeper for the Bemis & Call Hardware & Tool 
Company, and soon acquired an interest. Later he be- 
came president and treasurer of the company, and has 
continued as president to the present time. He is also 
vice-president and treasurer of the Fiberloid Corpora- 
tion of Indian Orchard, Massachusetts ; a director of the 
Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Company; of the 
Indian Motorcycle Company, and the United Manufac- 
turing Company. He is a director of the Union Trust 
Company ; and vice-president of the Hampden Savings 
Bank. He is a member of Roswell Lee Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons, and all of the York Rite bodies, in- 
cluding the Springfield Commandery, Knights Templar; 



ICXD 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



and of Melha Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of 
the Mystic Shrine; the Colony Club; Long Meadow 
Country Club; Union League Qub, of New York, and 
the Anglo-American Fish and Game Club of Rimouski 
County, Canada. He attends Faith Congregational 
Church. 

Mr. Bemis was married, January 8, 1880, in Sprnig- 
field, to Helen Elizabeth Kenyon, daughter of Silas 
Law and Ella A. (Crosby) Kenyon. They are the par- 
ents of William Chaplin Bemis, born December 3, 1891. 



MRS. LOUIS (JENNIE E.) HOLLINGWORTH 

— It is peculiarly appropriate that a memorial to 
Mrs. Louis (Jennie E.) Hollingworth be placed in 
these pages of Western Massachusetts history, for it 
was in Pittsfield that many years of her life were spent 
and it was here that her all-embracing love for human 
kind found expression in philanthropic works of endur- 
ing value. Putnam, Connecticut, Providence, Rhode 
Island, New York City, and Becket, Massachusetts, her 
summer home where her death occurred, were also her 
home at dififerent periods, and in each place there is 
left, among the many who knew and loved her, the 
fragrant memory of a life in which were realized the 
rarest virtues of Christian womanhood. Deeds of 
thoughtfulness, of kindness, and of generous charity 
were the constant outpouring of her beautiful spirit and 
were to her the very bread of life. If this record can 
catch but some gleam of that spirit and can set it forth 
as inspiration and appreciation, its purpose will have 
been fulfilled. 

Jennie E. (Potter) Hollingworth, wife of Louis Hol- 
lingworth, was born at Putnam, Connecticut, October 
8, 1863, the only child of Albert S. Potter, born August 
8, 1 81 5, at Thompson, Connecticut, and Almira L. (Wil- 
liams) Potter, born September 5, 1831, at Putnam. She 
married, April 22, 1889, Louis Hollingworth, who was 
born at Woodstock, Connecticut, October 14, i860, 
eldest son of Constantine A. Hollingworth, born at 
Leicester, Massachusetts, July 2, 1834, and Phebe B. 
(Chapman) Hollingworth, born at Westford, Con- 
necticut, April 14, 1840. 

For a number of years after their marriage Mr. and 
Mrs. Hollingworth made Providence, Rhode Island, 
their home. About 1903 Mr. Hollingworth became 
identified with the W. E. Tillotson Manufacturing Com- 
pany, of Pittsfield, with a view to buying a controlling 
interest in the company, which interest he subsequently 
acquired, becoming its president, treasurer, and chief 
executive. In 1919 Mrs. Hollingworth's health caused 
Mr. Hollingworth to sell the W. E. Tillotson Manu- 
facturing Company to a New York syndicate in order 
that their future plans might be determined solely by 
her welfare. At that time they left Pittsfield, where, 
throughout their entire stay, they had made their home 
at the Wendell Hotel, and took up their residence at 
the Biltmore Hotel, New York City. In Pittsfield, as 
in Providence, Mrs. Hollingworth had entered into many 
branches of organized charitable work, giving liberally 
of her means for their support. She was a firm believer 
in Red Cross work. Her especial interest and sympathy 
were given to the work of the Salvation Army, for she 
felt that to an unusual degree they rendered faithful 



stewardship of funds entrusted to them and that ex- 
ceptional efficiency, as well as understanding sympathy, 
marked their work. The Pittsfield Day Nursery also 
received her support, for no appeal in the name of 
children ever went unheeded, whatever the circum- 
stances. Her particular pleasure and joy came from 
personally befriending and helping middle-aged and 
elderly people, who were struggling in various ways to 
support themselves and who really needed sympathy and 
financial aid. 

One monument to her unbounded generosity is seen 
in the Free Dental Clinic at the House of Mercy Hos- 
pital in Pittsfield, directed by Dr. Harley J. Couch (see 
following biography). It was her provision of finances 
that made this clinic possible. The idea of a dental 
clinic originated with Dr. Couch, who, in his work, 
saw the urgent need for it, but who was without funds 
for the project and was confronted with much strong 
opposition. Mrs. Hollingworth, one of Dr. Couch's 
patients, learned of his desire, and, with the plan fully 
outlined to her, was quick to provide the necessary 
amount. This clinic is to-day accomplishing a most 
worthy work in a too long neglected field, and treat- 
ments are given free to those unable to pay. Since Mrs. 
Hollingworth's death, Mr. Hollingworth has continued 
her work by furnishing the additional equipment re- 
quired to give the clinic all modern apparatus. Dr. 
Couch and Dr. John J. Lally, assisting Dr Couch, give 
their time and service without charge for the carrying 
out of this work. In Mrs. Hollingworth's death the 
clinic lost one of its chief benefactors, and to commemo- 
rate her devotion to its interests a bronze plate, bearing 
the words "The Hollingworth Dental Clinic for Chil- 
dren, Established A. D. 1921" has been placed at 
the entrance to this department. In the room there is 
a memorial tablet thus inscribed: "This tablet is placed 
here in memory of Jennie Potter Hollingworth, 1863- 
1924, whose generous gifts established the Hollingworth 
Dental Clinic for Children, A. D. 1921. She gave to 
us that we may give to others." 

In New York City, Mrs. Hollingworth was treated by 
eminent heart specialists, but continued to suffer from 
her malady, often in extreme pain. In the spring of 
1920 she expressed a wish to return to the Bcrkshires 
for the summer, believing that her health would be 
benefited under the care of Dr. R. A. Woodruff, her 
former physician, who she believed understood her 
heart action better than any other physician and who al- 
ways seemed to give her immediate relief. The pro- 
visions made by her husband for this move were those 
which, as always, provided for her every pleasure and 
the most watchful care. He purchased, as a country 
home, beautiful "Boulder Grange," located at Becket, 
Massachusetts, near Pittsfield. This property was 
thoroughly refinished and refurnished and the grounds 
and gardens were rearranged by Mrs. Hollingworth to 
her own liking. Because of the extremely serious nature 
of her malady she was forced to consider the possibilities 
of early passing from earth and she often voiced the hope 
that, if she had to go, she might pass from this life at 
"Boulder Grange" without intense suffering. It was here 
that she was taken, having been confined to her bed in 
the west chamber only a week. This room she loved, 




FT,q:b y Fin lar/ A C'c 




^ Jpi^^^r^ryA^ 





^-^,^^^3:^* 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



lOI 



for from it one could look south, north, and west, down 
upon the beautiful gardens and grounds and beyond to 
the quaint New England village with its white church 
spires, the whole set in an ever fascinating and pictur- 
esque scene of hills and stream. Here Dr. R. A. Wood- 
ruff and Dr. W. L. Tracy did everything within their 
power to prolong her life, the life that had been the 
source and center of so much that was good, beautiful 
and true. During the last three days of her illness the 
angel of death hovered near while Mrs. Hollingworth 
lay in a coma, apparently without any suffering, as she 
had hoped might be, and at eight o'clock on the morning 
of August 26, 1924, she passed peacefully to her Eternal 
Home. The following editorial from the "Berkshire 
County Eagle" is expressive of the thoughts and feelings 
of those who were privileged to stand in the relation of 
friend to her or in the closer communion of family.: 

One of the flowers that made the world sweeter and 
better was plucked in the garden of life when Mrs. 
Hollingworth passed from among us. That flower, 
we are confident, will bloom again, even more fair and 
radiant and beautiful, in the garden of eternal life, 
where happiness is, •where repose is, where cares and 
the griefs with which we are familiar in our weary 
earthly pilgrimage will be no more and where the 
paeans of the last reunions are forever sounding. 

Her life was filled with brave and kindly deeds. 
She mothered more of the world's children than can 
be counted now. Their bright faces, their hopeful 
hearts, their innocent little lives, appealed to her 
strongly. To add to their happiness was to her a 
vast and continuing joy. This kind thoughtfulness 
was shown in all the relations of her life. "Where 
distress was, there her generous spirit was to be 
found. "Where help was to be tendered, there her 
practical sympathy went in unbounded measure. 
"Where relief was needed, there she was always with 
the best she had to give. And she did it all with 
g-racious unpretending. 

This life, ended all too soon, was yet lovable beyond 
words in its rich completeness. That will bring com- 
fort to all these aching hearts. 

At "Boulder Grange," her beauty spot in the Berk- 
shires, Mrs. Hollingworth's funeral services were con- 
ducted by the Rev. C. B. Osborne, of Blackstone, 
Massachusetts, a dose friend of the family for many 
years with whom, in the Rhode Island days, she had been 
thrown much in contact in their unselfish community 
labors. From this close acquaintanceship and the high 
regard it had engendered, came the high tribute that he 
paid and the comforting message that he brought. Rev. 
Osborne read two poems, of which Mrs. Hollingworth 
was exceedingly fond: "The House by the Side of the 
Road" and "The Beyond," the former expressing her de- 
sire realized in her every-day life, to "live by the side of the 
road and be a friend to man." Two hymns, "O Love 
That Wilt Not Let Me Go" and "The Christian's Good 
Night," hymns which v.ere in perfect harmony with 
the poems, though selected without knowledge that the 
latter were to be read, were selected and sung, unac- 
companied, by James C. Norton. 

Barrie has written "God gave us memory so that we 
may have roses in December," and the memory of Mrs. 
Hollingworth must always bring with it abiding joy and 
gratitude — joy that she has won the reward she so richly 
deserv-ed and gratitude for the glimpse of the beyond 
her shining spirit vouchsafed. The following is the 
tribute in verse of one of her host of friends: 



IN MEMORY 
She Is not dead, the one whose regnant spirit 

Leads ever onward with its kindly light; 
Her soothing voice — e'en now we seem to hear It, 

As we keep ceaseless vigil in the lonely night. 

For her now all life's noble tasks are ended, 
A smile of hope blends softly with our tears; 

Undisturbed her dreams, for none has she offended. 
Our love goes with her gently through the endless 
years. 



HARLEY J. COUCH, D. D. S.— Dr. Couch's name 
is closely connected with the Dental Clinic in Mercy 
Hospital, for it was through his efforts and influence in 
engaging the interest of his patients, that funds were 
raised to establish this much needed want in the com- 
munity. Of all his important work, his heart and soul 
are in this particular clinic, and although it may be 
called by many the Hollingworth Free Dental Clinic, 
after Dr. Couch's patient who made his hope and dream 
a fact by her philanthropic contribution towards its 
fulfillment, yet his name will ever be associated with it 
in the hearts and memories of the people. Through his 
efforts alone in interesting his patients to contribute has 
this clinic become a part of the hospital work, for it is 
not supported by either the hospital or by the city, but 
entirely by private contribution up to the present time 
(1924) of Dr. Couch's patients. 

Dr. Conch was born at Lee, March 27, 1868, son of 
Charles M. and Sarah (Couch) Couch; his mother's 
maiden name, while being the same as his father's name, 
were not of related families. The son received his early 
education in the Pittsfield public and high schools, then 
immediately entered the Chickering and Carter business 
college. About this time financial reverses overtook 
his father and necessitated his son's going to work. 
From this time on he financed his own education, attend- 
ing the New York Dental College for a time, and be- 
ginning to practice dentistry in 1887. Since then, every 
year he has taken post-graduate work in New York 
City, keeping abreast of the advanced strides taken in his 
profession, and to-day he stands at the head of his pro- 
fession. He is on the staff of House of Mercy Hospital 
of Pittsfield and has had charge of oral surgery since 
1898; and also of Fairview Hospital of Great Barring- 
ton since 1916. Both appointments came to Dr. Couch 
through no solicitation of his own but through well 
known physicians. He was the originator of the Dental 
Clinic in House of Mercy Hospital, having seen the 
need of such a clinic in Pittsfield. Dr. Couch, whose 
practice is one covering a broad field, had specialized in 
oral surgery in connection with his general practice, 
and his close touch with hospital work put him in a 
position to see the need of a dental clinic. To establish 
such a clinic was not an easy proposition, and Dr. Couch 
met v/ith strong opposition in the early stages of his 
efforts in this direction. But it became an obsession 
with him, and his determination to see it through only 
grew with the opposition. Finally Mrs. Louis Holling- 
worth (see preceding biography) one of the doctor's 
patients, gave him a sufficient contribution to make the 
clinic a fact, and now, after a few years, it is doing a 
splendid work. The complete dental equipment repre- 
.^ented (in 1922) $2,800. but a very liberal discount was 



102 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



allowed through the kindness of the Dental and Surgical 
Supply Company of Springfield. All of this money 
was presented to Doctor Couch by his patient, Mrs. 
Hollingworth, and the clinic is called the Children's 
Free Dental Clinic, House of Mercy Hospital. Other 
patients have given from five to ten dollars each towards 
the support of the clinic, and everything is paid for up 
to date, and a surplus of $32.79 is carried (1922). 

The clinic room is about thirty feet long and is wide 
and well lighted. A division of the room is made by 
the use of white curtains, making a small reception 
room for mothers accompanying children ,and others 
kept in waiting. The operating room is furnished 
with two S. S. White Diamond Dental Chairs, two 
dental engines, and large 'cabinet; two Clarks Foun- 
tain Cuspidors; aluminum dry and moist sterilizer with 
a large white enamel table; two S. S. White in- 
strument stands and brackets, also one S. S. White 
instrument table; special electric mouth light; white 
enamel floor waste receiver, white medicine wall cabinet; 
Charles W. Teter Hospital Gas Apparatus complete. 
The instrument cabinet is well equipped with all opera- 
tive instruments, and the reception room is adequately 
furnished. All charity patients in need of dental treat- 
ment are sent to the hospital by health officers, visiting 
nurse associations, and by the superintendents of schools. 
A large waiting room equipped with chairs, tables, hat- 
racks, dressing rooms, etc., at the hospital accommo- 
dates easily, fifty children, and a clinic is held on Satur- 
day. If it is found that a child has had a dentist em- 
ployed, inquiry is made as to why they should be taken 
as a clinic patient; in cases where the patient can only 
give a small fee, a nominal charge is made; in this way 
the clinic is carried on, on an ethical basis with other 
dentists, and at the same time does not pauperize those 
who can afford to pay a small fee. The average number 
of cases on clinic day runs from fifteen to thirty, but as 
there are almost three thousand children in need of den- 
tal treatment, it is easily seen how urgent was the nec- 
essity for such a clinic. All modern methods are being 
used, and everything is done to eliminate unnecessary 
pain. At the inception of this clinic, Dr. Couch associ- 
ated himself with Dr. J. J. Lally (q. v.) and they have 
labored assiduously together ever since, giving their time 
and service free in the carrying out of this work. Their 
work of preliminary preparation was begun in August, 

1921, and the clinic was actually started in February, 

1922. To-day the community is deeply indebted to Dr. 
Couch for his splendid services. The successful result 
of this clinic is due solely to Dr. Couch, and has been 
done at considerable expense and time. 

Dr. Couch is a member of the Massachusetts Dental 
Society and the Massachusetts Western District Dental 
Society. He is a member of Crescent Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons; Ancient Order of United Workmen 
and New England Order of Protection; of the Pitts- 
field Golf, Boat and Sportsman's Clubs; and of the 
Berkshire County Automobile Club. He takes a deep 
interest in the civic life of the community, and all move- 
ments tnat are for the betterment and the welfare of the 
city receive his support and approval. 

Dr. Harley J. Couch married, April 14, 1887, Bertha 
Allen, and they are the parents of one son: Frank War- 



ren, who was educated in the public and high schools 
of Pittsfield, and at Williston Academy. He is now 
advertising manager of the Pittsfield Eagle and a charter 
member and one of the organizers of the Pittsfield 
Advertising Club. Frank Warren Couch is a member 
of the Masonic Order, and belongs to all the bodies in 
the York Rite. At the time he became a Thirty-second 
degree Mason he was the youngest member of the order 
in Western Massachusetts. He married Hazel Smith, 
and they are the parents of a son: Frank Warren, Jr. 



CHARLES HILAND HALL, president of Charles 
Hall, Incorporated, dealers in china and crockery, with 
stores in Springfield, Massachusetts, and New York 
City, was born August 12, 1874, in Springfield. His 
father was Charles and his mother Mina C. (Butter- 
field-Phillips) Hall. The Halls were numerous among 
the early settlers of New England, and John Hall was 
a name often occurring, which makes the tracing of 
genealogy difficult in most cases. In the case of this 
family, however, the line has been correctly traced. 
Hall is defined as a "manor house," and medieval docu- 
ments contain "Atte Hall, Del Hall, De Aula." The 
hall in old manors was the important room, and in feudal 
times it served as a petty court of j'ustice as well as the 
scene of entertainment. The chief servitor when the 
lord was resident, or the tenant, in his absence naturally 
would acquire such a name. Hence its frequency. 

(I) John Hall, immigrant ancestor of the Middletown 
family and part of the Guilford branch of the Hall 
family, was born in 1584, and came from the county of 
Kent, England, in the summer of 1633, settling first in 
Cambridge and later in Roxbury, Massachusetts, where 
his name on the church record bears the prefix "Mr." 
of respect. John Hall, and John Oldham, with two 
others had the honor of being pioneer discoverers of 
Connecticut and of projecting the plantation of the 
river towns, Hartford and Windsor and Wethersfield. 
Governor Winthrop mentions Oldham's expedition under 
date of September 4, 1633. They were on the river in 
October, 1633, and returned to the bay towns in Janu- 
ary, 1634, reporting on the rich bottom lands, which 
led to the immigration from Dorchester to Wethersfield 
and Windsor, and from Cambridge to Hartford in 1635- 
1636. Mr. Hall was made a freeman of Boston May 6, 
1635, 3"d joined the great immigration of Hooker and 
Stone in 1635-1636. Mr. Hall drew the home lot No. 
yj, of six acres, on "Lord's Hill," Hartford, afterwards 
owned by the Spencer family, still later by Mrs. Si- 
gourney, and in time by Governor Catlin. He also 
bought lands the same year from William Hooker and 
William Bloomfield. Mr. Hall was a carpenter and held 
a respected place among his associates. He removed 
his family to Connecticut in 1639. In 1650 he sold his 
home lot and land to the family of William Spencer, 
and with his three sons, his daughter and her husband, 
Thomas Wetmore, removed to Middletown or Matta- 
besit, a recent purchase from the great sachem, Sowheag. 
Mr. Hall was sixty at the time and was probably the 
patriarch of the new settlement. His home lot at 
Middletown was on the northwest corner of Main and 
Washington streets, and contained five acres running to 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



103 



the Great River. It adjoined the home of his son-in- 
law, Thomas Wetmore, on the north. A Grand Court 
of Connecticut, held at Hartford, March 9, 1659, "Ap- 
poynted John Hall for entry and recording of such goods 
as are subject to the custome at Middletowne." Before 
and afterwards he filled offices of honor and trust. He 
died May 26, 1673, in the eighty-ninth year of his age, 
and the fortieth of residence in New England. He was 
born therefore, in 1584. His wife, Esther died long 
before he did. Their children were all born in England. 
Samuel, the fourth child, of further mention. 

(H) Samuel Hall, son of John and Esther Hall, was 
born in 1626, and came to New England with his father's 
family" in 1633, at the age of seven years. He became a 
freeman at Middletown in 1654. His home lot of five 
acres was on the east side of Main Street, and extended 
to the river. The Mansion House lot occupies his front- 
age on Main Street. He was a farmer and large land 
owner. He also learned his father's trade, and he was 
a signer of the plantation covenant of June i, 1639. He 
died in 1690, at sixty-five. He married, in 1662, Eliza- 
beth Cooke, daughter of Thomas and Elizabeth Cooke, 
of Guilford their youngest son, Deacon Thomas, of 
whom further. 

(HI) Deacon Thomas Hall, son of Samuel and Eliz- 
abeth (Cooke) Hall, was born in Middletown, August 
29, 1671, and died February i, 1753. He removed to 
Guilford with his mother, where he passed his life, an 
honored and respected citizen. In 1727 he was chosen 
deacon of the First Church of Guilford, and held the 
office imtil his death. He was captain of militia, mod- 
erator of town and society meetings, first selectman, and 
the like. He married Mary Highland or Hiland, born 
May 12, 1672, third daughter of George and Mary 
(Cruttenden) Highland, the wife a daughter of Abra- 
ham Cruttenden. George Hiland first appears at Guil- 
ford September 4, 165 1, a very young man who took the 
oath of fidelity. Mr. and Mrs. Hall were the parents of 
Hiland, of whom further. 

(IV) Hiland Hall, second son of Deacon Thomas 
and Mary (Hiland) Hall, was born at Guilford, Sep- 
tember 30, 1703, and always lived in the town. The 
records place the prefix "Mr." before his name and give 
his death as of June 16, 1781. He married, March 17, 
1725, Rachel Bishop, sixth daughter of Daniel and Mary 
(Hall) Bishop, of Guilford. Thomas, their eldest son, 
of whom further. 

(V) Thomas Hall, son of Hiland and Rachel 
(Bishop) Hall, was born in Guilford February 11, 1726. 
He removed to Roxbury Parish in April, 1759, and 
owned about one hundred acres of land on "Good Hill." 
sold this farm in 1778 to Truman Hinman, of Wood- 
bury, for i2,6oo lawful money and bought a lot in 
Williamstown, Massachusetts, a right of three hundred 
and fifty acres in Cornwall, Vermont, and the farm at 
North Bennington, where his son, Nathaniel, afterwards 
lived and died. He removed to Bennington in the spring 
of 1779 and died there December 23, 1802. He married, 
April 20, 1751, Phebe Beachley, daughter of David 
Beachley, of East Guilford, and his wife, Abigail 
(Hand) Beachley, of East Hampton, Long Island. She 
was born October 10, 1720, and died July 29, 1801. 
Their youngest son, Nathaniel, of whom further. 



(VI) Nathaniel Hall, son of Thomas and Phebe 
(Beachley) Hall, was born at Roxbury, Massachusetts, 
March 4, 1763, and died in Bennington, March 4, 1849. 
He was married October 12, 1794, to Abigail Hubbard, 
born at Middletown, Connecticut, October 18, 1767; 
died at Bennington March 24, 1846. Governor Hiland, 
their eldest son, of whom further. 

(VII) Governor Hiland Hall, son of Nathaniel and 
Abigail (Hubbard) Hall, was born at Bennington July 
20, 1795, and died in Springfield, December 18, 1885. 
He studied law in the office of David Robinson, of Ben- 
nington, and was admitted to practice at Bennington in 
1819. In 1827 he represented the town in the Legisla- 
ture, and in 1829 was elected State's attorney of Ben- 
nington County. In 1832 he was elected to congress to 
fill the unexpired term of Jonathan Hunt. Mr. Hall was 
returned by five consecutive reelections, making his ser- 
vice in Congress cover eleven years. He was after- 
wards bank commissioner of the State of Vermont. In 
1846 he was elected Supreme Judge. In 1850 Presi- 
dent Fillmore appointed him second comptroller of 
the United States Treasury. He held this office until 
California was admitted to the Union, when he was ap- 
pointed land commissioner with General James Wilson, 
of New Hampshire, and Judge Harry I. Thornton, of 
Alabama, as associates. Mr. Hall was made chairman 
of the commission, the duties of which were the settle- 
ment of contested land claims between the United 
States and the Spaniards. Judge Hall wrote the de- 
cision in the claim of John C. Fremont, which furnished 
a precedent for many others, and was highly compli- 
mented. Retiring to his farm in Bennington in 1854, 
he was nominated by the Whig party as its candidate 
for Governor of Vermont, and was elected to a second 
term. He passed the remainder of his life on his farm. 
After 1884, until his death, he was the oldest living ex- 
Congressman. He was married at Rockingham, Ver- 
mont, October 27, 181 8, to Dolly Tuttle Davis, born in 
Rockingham March 2, 1792, and died in North Benning- 
ton January 8, 1879. Their golden wedding was cele- 
brated with elaborate festivities. Charles, their young- 
est son, of whom further. 

(VIII) Charles Hall, son of Governor Hiland and 
Dolly Tuttle (Davis) Hall, was born in Bennington, 
Vermont, November 18, 1832, and died in Springfield 
January 18, 1907. He accompanied his father to Cali- 
fornia as clerk to the Land Commission. Returning to 
Bennington after three years he studied law with his 
brother, Nathaniel B. Hall. He took a year in the Law 
School at Albany, New York, and received its diploma 
in the spring of 1855. He opened a law office in Osh- 
kosh, Wisconsin, but he suddenly decided to follow a 
commercial life. Closing his law office he opened a 
store in the town of Oshkosh and for eleven years he 
traded with the farmers and lumbermen of the neighbor- 
hood. Soon after he opened the store Oshkosh was 
destroyed by fire and his store was one of the buildings 
consumed. He rebuilt the store and President Lincoln 
appointed him postmaster of Oshkosh, and he served 
until he was removed by President Johnson, who changed 
the policy of the administration. He returned to Ver- 
mont in 1867 and became president of the Vermont Boot 
and Shoe Company, newly formed. The stockholders 



I04 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



wished for wholesale warerooms in Chicago and asked 
Mr. Hall to go West and open them. They were estab- 
lished at Wabash Avenue and Lake Street. They were 
lost in the great fire of 1871 ; but Mr. Hall remained in 
the city and worked with Professor Swing, the noted 
preacher ; Pullman, of palace car fame ; David Gage, a 
hotel proprietor and others to organize relief for young 
men. They organized the Young Men's Christian Union 
and Mr. Hall was its vice-president and a director. In 
1873 he retired from the Vermont Company and went 
to Springfield, where he bought a china and glassware 
store at No. 395 Main Street. From this beginning 
he evolved the business conducted in his name at Nos. 
411-413 Main Street. He was successful and a staunch 
Republican in politics. In 1893 he served one term as 
president of the Board of Trade. He was a strong sup- 
porter of the Church of the Unity. He was a Mason 
and an Odd Fellow. 

He married (first), in 1856, Jane E. Cady, of Ben- 
nington; (second) Mina C. (Butterfield) Phillips, of 
Lake Mills, Wisconsin, widow of Frank Phillips and 
daughter of Oliver Butterfield. She was born in Rush- 
ford, New York, July 14, 1836. They were the parents 
of three children: i. Trenor, died in infancy. 2. Mary 
D., born December 31, 1871, married, January 27, 1904, 
Charles C. Morgan and resides in New York City. 3. 
Charles Hiland, of whom further. 

(IX) Charles Hiland Hall, son of Charles Hall, after 
several years in the public schools was graduated from 
the Springfield High School in 1893. He entered Wil- 
liams College in the class of 1897 and remained a year. 
In 1894 he went into business with his father and re- 
mained until 1902, when he accepted an offer from Mar- 
shall Field & Company, of Chicago, and became a buyer 
of foreign goods in certain departments, continuing for 
five years. He afterwards took a similar post with 
Carson, Pirie, Scott & Company. In 1906 he was re- 
called to Springfield by the death of his father, and 
took over the control of the business, which has been 
carried on for more than fifty years as a china store 
under the name of Charles Hall. In 1907 Mr. Hall 
bought the home office building of the Massachusetts 
Mutual Life Insurance Company three doors north of 
the old store, and in January, 1909, it was occupied by 
the business, which had been conducted at No. 393 Main 
Street for thirty-six years. He deals in china and glass, 
lamps, silver and jewelry. Mr. Hall is president and 
treasurer, and has made twenty-two trips to Europe as 
buyer for the stores in New York and Springfield con- 
ducted by Charles Hall, Incorporated. The New York 
business is entirely wholesale purchase, and occupies its 
own building and equipment for its occupancy at No. 3 
East Fortieth Street. 

The business consists of the di.stribution of interest- 
ing and artistic merchandise, both foreign and domestic, 
to interior decorators, department stores and art stores 
throughout the country. One important line is manu- 
factured in the home office building at Springfield ; other 
lines are domestic pottery lines for which the firm 
holds agency for the United States, and foreign pottery 
and antiques. He is a director of the Third National 
Bank of Springfield, and a trustee of the Springfield 



Hospital. He belongs to the Unitarian Church, and is 
independent in politics. He is a member of Springfield 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons ; of the Williams, the 
Colony, the Nayasset, the Bennington Country, the 
Springfield Country, the Longmeadow Country clubs, 
and the Springfield Chamber of Commerce, of which he 
has been vice-president and a director. He has been 
president of the Community Welfare Association; and 
was chairman of the War Chest during the World War. 
Mr. Hall was married, June 12, 1901, to Grace Nichols, 
of Springfield, born November 19, 1875, daughter of 
Charles A. and Elizabeth D. (Barton) Nichols. Mr. 
Nichols for years was a successful publisher. Mr. and 
Mrs. Hall are the parents of Nichols, born October 
13. 1903 ; Hiland, born December 2"^, 1905 ; Elizabeth, 
born September 20, 1907, and Mary, born July 31, 1914. 
Mr. Hall's business address is at No. 411 Main Street, 
Springfield, Massachusetts. 



LEWIS HUBBARD KINGSLEY, who was town 
treasurer, clerk of the Board of Selectmen and clerk 
of the Water Works Board of Hatfield, Massachusetts, 
achieved distinction in earlier years as one of the most 
eminent photographic artists in the country, many of 
his rare and exquisite landscapes having been reproduced 
in the leading magazines of this country and Europe. 
He was a pupil of his brother, Elbridge Kingsley, the 
famous engraver and illustrator. 

The Kingsley family is of English ancestry, and in 
the home country was and still is distinguished. Several 
branches, residing in County Chester, and in Sarratt, 
Canterbury and London, being entitled to bear arms. 
The last named groups bore : 

Arms — Vert, a cross engrailed ermine. 
Crest — A goat's head couped argent. 

Most of the Kingsley name in Massachusetts are 
descended from John Kingsley, who came from Hamp- 
shire (some authorities say Corset and some Lancashire) 
and settled in Taunton, Massachusetts, where he was one 
of the original purchasers. He removed to Dorchester 
in 1635. 

Moses W. Kingsley, father of Lewis Hubbard Kings- 
ley, was born in Hatfield, Massachusetts, May 3, 1815, 
and died June 20, 1894. He was a successful farmer in 
Hatfield, and he was among those enterprising citizens 
of New England who emigrated to Ohio during the 
middle period of the nineteenth century. He married, 
August 31, 1837, Rachel Curtis, of Hatfield, who was 
born October 22, 1817, and died August 26, 1900, daugh- 
ter of John and Irene (Graves) Curtis. Moses W. and 
Rachel (Curtis) Kingsley were the parents of eight 
children : i. Roswell H., born at Oxford, Ohio, April 
2.";/, 1840. 2. Elbridge, born at Carthage, Ohio, Septem- 
ber 17, 1842; became a famous engraver and illustrator, 
and was for a time associated with the Century Pub- 
lishing Company, of New York City; he won a gold 
medal in Paris, and originated several new methods of 
engravure. 3. Seth, born at Hatfield, Massachusetts, 
July 27, 1844; attended the local schools and worked on 
his father's farm until he was twenty-one years of age, 
then learned the trade of blacksmith and built a shop 




<*i 



^w^^lc^ 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



105 



next to the homestead ; he later built a larger shop ad- 
joining his dwelling house, and in addition carried 
on a wheelwright establishment, a cider mill, a ma- 
chine shop, and retired in 1922, after fifty-five years of 
active work; he was superintendent of the Hatfield 
Truant Office, and was appointed deputy sheriff in 1894 ; 
he served in the 52d Massachusetts Regiment under Cap- 
tain Best, and took part in the capture of Fort Hudson 
at New Orleans, under General Banks, coming back 
North in the first boat up the Mississippi River after 
the surrender of Fort Vicksburg ; he is one of the two 
surviving members of the Sons of the American Revo- 
lution at Northampton; he is a member of the Congre- 
gational Church ; he married, at Hatfield, Massachusetts, 
Mary E. White, a daughter of Quaruis and Mary Ann 
(Wilkie) White, and they became the parents of three 
children: Lida, born in 1874; Hattie E., died in Au- 
gust, 1923; Alma, died in infancy. 4. Stephen, born at 
Carthage, Ohio, May 5, 1847. 5. Edwin, born Novem- 
ber 17, 1S50. 6. Lewis Hubbard, of whom further. 7. 
Louisa, born September 9, 1858. 8. Henry, born May 

8, 1859- 

Lewis Hubbard Kingsley, son of Moses W. and Rachel 
(Curtis) Kingsley, was born at Hatfield, Massachusetts, 
November 2"], 1853. After attending pubHc schools he 
entered the printing establishment of the Star Printing 
Company of Northampton, with whom he remained for 
twenty-three years, becoming expert in all the branches 
of the trade. He became especially interested in the 
engraving of plates for reproduction, but in 1881 severed 
his connection with the Star Printing Company and en- 
tered the photographic profession on his own account 
in Hatfield, and attained great fame as an artistic pho- 
tographer, whose work was known and appreciated by 
connoisseurs the world over. In 1905 Mr. Kingsley 
was elected town clerk of Hatfield, Massachusetts, a po- 
sition which he had held for twenty consecutive years. 
In 1907 he was appointed town treasurer, and later was 
elected clerk of the Board of Selectmen, clerk of the 
water works, and tax collector. In politics Mr. Kings- 
ley is a staunch Democrat. The esteem in which he 
was held by his fellow-citizens is evidenced by the fol- 
lowing set of resolutions : 

OFFICE OF THE SELECTMEN 

Hatfield, Massachusetts. 
"WTTEREAS, At the Annual Town Meeting, held Feb- 
ruary 2d, 1925, the inhabitants of Town did then and 
there vote unanimously for a set of resolutions on the 
death of Lewis H. Kingsley. 

RESOLVED, That the wisdom and ability which he 
exercised in performing his duties as Town Clerk, 
Treasurer, and Assessor for the past twenty years 
will be held in grateful remembrance by the people of 
the town. 

RESOLVED, That the sudden removal of such a 
life from our midst, leaves a vacancy, and loss to us 
all. His kindness and goodwill to every one leaves a 
lasting impression that will not soon be forgotten. 

RESOLVED, That a copy of these resolutions be 
spread upon the records of the town, and copy sent to 
the bereaved family. 

JOHN McHUGH, 
CLARENCE E. BELDEN, 
VERNET H. KELLER, 

Committee. 

On March 31, 1881, Mr. Kingsley married, at Hadley, 
Massachusetts, Lizzie Josephine Dickinson (see Dick- 
inson line), and they were the parents of four children: 



I. Dwight Henry, born January 22, 1882, died July 
15, 1883. 2. William Curtis, born July 15, 1883. 3. 
Bessie May, born October 21, 1887. 4. Harry Elbridge, 
born March 18, 1890. William Curtis married Mabel 
Guyer, and they are the parents of two children : 
i. William August, born January i, 1905. ii. Flora May, 
born January 3, 1906. 

(The Dickinson Line). 

The Dickinson family are of most ancient and illus- 
trious lineage, the records of the American branches 
going back to the year 1620, while the history of their 
English forebears can be traced back to the times of 
the Conqueror. Walter DeCaen was one of the Nor- 
man nobles who came to England with William the 
Conqueror, and with him entered London in October, 
1066. He later spelled his name as Walter De Kenson, 
taking the name of his manor in Yorkshire. The transi- 
tion of the name follows through Dykenson Jonne, free- 
holder in Kingston upon Hull, Yorkshire, married Mar- 
garet Lambert, and died in 1316; Dykenson William, 
freeholder, died in 1330; Dykenson, Hugh, freeholder 
in Kingston upon Hull, Yorkshire, died in 1376. The 
line of Mrs. Kingsley is traced as follows : 

(I) Samuel Dickinson, son of Nathaniel Dickinson, 
was born in July, 1638, and died at Hartford, Connec- 
ticut, November 30, 171 1. He married, January 14, 
1668, Martha Bridgeman, who died July 16, 191 1, aged 
sixty-one, daughter of James Bridgeman. There were 
eight children : Samuel, Nathaniel, of whom further ; 
Sarah, Azariah, Ebenezer, Anna, Joseph, Hannah. 

(II) Nathaniel Dickinson, son of Samuel and Martha 
(Bridgeman) Dickinson, was born at Hatfield Febru- 
ary 10, 1672, and died November 29, 1741. He married. 
May 25, 1713, Esther Cowles, born April 14, 1686, died 
1750, daughter of John and Debora (Bartlett) Cowles, 
and they were the parents of four children: Eunice, 
Gideon, of whom further; Joseph, Miriam. 

(HI) Gideon Dickinson, son of Nathaniel and Esther 
(Cowles) Dickinson, was born at Hatfield, April 27, 
1716, and died April 13, 1780. He was married to Re- 
becca Crafts, who was born at Hatfield, October 12, 
1 72 1, and died August 27, 1788, daughter of John and 
Margaret (Graves) Crafts. Children: Lois, Gideon, 
of whom further ; Joseph, Beula. 

(IV) Gideon Dickinson, son of Gideon and Rebecca 
(Crafts) Dickinson, was born at Hatfield, Massachu- 
setts, December 29, 1744, and died at Whately, Septem- 
ber 2, 181 1, aged sixty-seven years. He was married 
to Lydia Dickinson, who was born at Whately, Novem- 
ber, 21, 1746, and died August 8, 1812, daughter of 
Daniel and (Allis) Dickinson, of Hatfield. They re- 
sided at Whately and had seven children: Lydia, Asa, 
Daniel, Gideon, Ruth, Dexter, of whom further; Giles. 

(V) Dexter Dickinson, son of Gideon and Lydia (Dick- 
inson) Dickinson, was born at Whately, June 12, 1788, 
and died March 14, 1868, aged eighty years. He was 
a farmer of Connecticut. He was married to Dency 
Whitney, who was born August 6, 1796, and died Au- 
gust 2Z, 1851, daughter of Jonathan Whitney. Children: 
I. Lucy W., born November 30, 1818; married Charles 
Steams, of Connecticut. 2. Jonathan W., of whom 



io6 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



further. 3. Lorenzo, bom March 14, 1827, died July 19, 
1850. 

(VI) Jonathan W. Dickinson, son of Dexter and 
Dency (Whitney) Dickinson, was born in Whately, 
Massachusetts, March 23, 1823. He married (first), 
May I, 1850, Ophelia E. Bartlett, who was born Oc- 
tober 27, 1830, and died March 22, 1872, daughter of 
Dexter Bartlett. He married (second), December 18, 
1872, Judith L. Graves, who was born January i, 1834, 
daughter of Randall and Martha (Scott) Graves, of 
Whately. Children of first marriage : i. Lucy, born in 
July, 1852, married John Cannon, November 30, 1881. 
2. John W. B., born October 11, 1854. 3. Lizzie 
Josephine, born May 15, 1859, married Lewis Hubbard 
Kingsley. 4. George Sherman, born July 20, 1862. 5. 
Gideon, born January 21, 1870, married, January 2, 1899, 
Harriet L. Smith. Children of second marriage : 6. 
Martha Malista, born February 17, 1874. 7. Edith 
Lydia, born March 13, 1880. 



ORMAN CALVIN MARVELL— Particularly rep- 
resentative of such New England families as have the 
distinction of clinging to Massachusetts soil for more 
than two centuries, and of still engaging in an industry 
that to a large extent was part of the business routine 
of the colonists and of his own ancestors, Mr. Marvell, 
lumber dealer and lumber products manufacturer, of 
Leverett, one of the most extensive owners of timber 
land in that section of Massachusetts, is also a towns- 
man prominent in all the civic and business affairs of 
Leverett. Of the sound, substantial fibre of the pio- 
neers themselves who organized their Massachusetts 
towns on enduring basis and made their institutions 
celebrated in New England story. Mr. Marvell is a 
worthy descendant of early settlers, of Rehoboth, the 
"broad places," who got their homes and their living 
from the land, and made the land productive and pros- 
perous. The Marvels settled in Rehoboth, Massachu- 
setts, early, where the name, spelled Marvell and Mar- 
vel, has always been prominent. Hon. John Colton Mar- 
vel was postmaster there from 1843 to 1897 ; Professor 
Frederick W. Marvel, of the faculty of Brown Univer- 
sity, is of the same town and family. Orman C. Mar- 
veil's ancestry is thus traced from the first recorded 
settlers of the name at Rehoboth, the old Seekonk 
Township where Rev. Samuel Newman came in 1645 
with his Weymouth flock, to bestow the name of Re- 
hoboth, and there to write out his Concordance by the 
light of pine knots. 

(I) Thomas Marvell, of Rehoboth, was born Sep- 
tember 15, 1709; he married Ruth Kempton, and had a 
son, Stephen, of whom further. 

(II) Stephen Marvell, son of Thomas and Ruth 
(Kempton) Marvell, was born August 2, 1737, and died 
after 1790. He was a soldier in the War of the Revo- 
lution, and is recorded as private and sergeant. He mar- 
ried Ann Lamoine, and they were the parents of : James, 
Stephen, Judith, Bananuel, William, Ann, Pascal, of 
whom further; Susannah, Elizabeth, Darling. 

(III) Pascal Marvell, born in Swansea, Massachu- 
setts, June 12, 1773, married, December 4, 1796, Polly 
Baker, born November 6, 1775, died October 14, 1841. 



Their children: Jesse, of whom further; Mary, Pascal, 
Martha. 

(IV) Jesse Marvell, son of Pascal Marvell, was born 
in Shutesbury, Massachusetts, October i, 1797, and he 
died in Leverett November 6, 1871. He settled in Lev- 
erett in 1834, where he engaged in farming and was 
prominent in public affairs, he served on both the Shutes- 
bury and the Leverett boards of selectmen. He married 
(first) Eunice Locke, born September 19, 1797, died 
April II, 1821, and they were the parents of Jesse Edson 
Marvell. He married (second) Patty Butler, born 
June 10, 1795, died May 10, 1875. Their children : Cal- 
vin Pascal, of whom further; Stephen, Mary Ann, Caro- 
line, Eunice Martha. 

(V) Calvin Pascal Marvell, son of Jesse Marvell, wai 
born November 7, 1824, at Shutesbury, and died August 
16, 1905, at Leverett. He attended the schools of 
Shutesbury and Leverett, and cultivated his farm all his 
life. He held all town offices, serving on the Board of 
Selectmen, the school committee, and the Board of Over- 
seers of the Poor. He was a charter member of Bay 
State Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, of Montague, 
and a member of Leverett Grange. He married. May 
3, 1848, Lydia Glazier, of Leverett, born July 21, 1828, 
died July 25. 1893, a daughter of Ebenezer Nye and Mary 
(Spaulding) Glazier. Their children: i. Jane Isadore, 
married George Beals, deceased. 2. Ella Susan, married 
Henry Fisk, deceased. 3. Flora, deceased, married Or- 
rin Grant. 4. Orman C, of whom further. 5. Ida Es- 
telle, married Charles C. Moore, deceased. 6. Mary 
Luthera, deceased. 7. Lelia Mabelle, deceased, married 
Sidney Williams. 

(VI) Orman Calvin Marvell, son of Calvin Pascal 
Marvell, was born November 22, 1856, at Leverett, where 
he attended the public schools. From his youth on- 
wards he followed farming, and has always resided on 
the place where he was born ; to the original farm he 
has added much by purchase, until to-day he owns and 
controls some seven hundred acres, much of which is 
timberland. In addition to his extensive agricultural in- 
terests, Mr. Marvell is engaged in buying and clearing 
of large tracts of timberland ; and he has been associ- 
ated many years in partnership with (Tharles H. Beaman, 
of Leverett, in the manufacture of lock-corner boxes, 
and when the business was incorporated in 1913 under 
the name of Beaman, Marvell Company, Mr. Marvell 
was made vice-president of the company, which office he 
still holds. He is also associated with Mr. Beaman in 
the lumber business. Mr. Marvell was selectman of 
Leverett twenty-five or thirty years, as his father was 
before him; he has been road commissioner, has served 
with the school committee, and is assessor of the town 
of Leverett. A man of superior judgment, he is held in 
highest esteem. He is a member of Bay State Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons, of Montague. Mr. Marvell 
married, February 16, 1877, Alice Jane Church, of Ash- 
field, Massachusetts, a daughter of Leonard and Jane 
(Barber) Church, and granddaughter of Seth Church 
and Sally (Rogers) Church, and great-granddaughter 
of Caleb Church. They are the parents of Ralph Nye 
Marvell, who was born July 2, 1878, on the home place 
in Leverett ; he attended the town schools, and has 







J^^n^z^7^^j^^2^^/:;j^/^ 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



107 



always lived on the farm with his father. He has served 
on the school board, and is now one of the selectmen 
of Leverett. He is a member of the Grange. He mar- 
ried, September 16, 1902, Carrie Dickinson, of Leverett, 
Massachusetts, who died August 26, 1922, a daughter of 
John W. and Anna (Elder) Dickinson. Their children: 
Milton Dickinson and Marion Church (twins), born 
July 7, 1903- 



EMERSON GEORGE GAYLORD, of Chicopee, 
president of the Cabot Trust Company, is in the ninth 
generation of Gaylords in America. This family, of 
English descent, goes back to the Norman Conquest, 
when it was spelled Gaillard. From Normandy the 
Gaylords went to Glastonbury, England, afterwards to 
Devonshire, and thence to America, where Deacon Wil- 
liam Gaylord arrived in 1630. He was one of the resi- 
dents of Dorchester, Massachusetts, and a deacon in the 
Dorchester Church. He took a prominent part in town 
affairs and religious matters, was one of the two men 
signing the first land grants, was a large landowner, a 
selectman and a delegate to the General Court, all of 
which indicates the possession of great influence in the 
community; he had a son, William (2), of whom further. 

(H) William (2) Gaylord, son of William Gaylord, 
came to America with his father, and also was a large 
landowner in Dorchester, where he died December 14, 
1656. He married Ann Porter, and they were the par- 
ents of seven children, one of whom was William (3), 
of whom further. 

William (3) Gaylord, son of William (2) Gaylord, 
was born in Windsor in 1651 and removed in 1669 to 
Hadley, Massachusetts, where he died in 1680. He mar- 
ried Ruth Crow, daughter of one of the first settlers, 
and they had three children: Ruth, Samuel, of whom 
further, and William. 

(IV) Samuel Gaylord, son of William (3) Gaylord, 
was born in Hadley in 1676 and died in 1734. He was 
one of the ninety-five residents whose property was suf- 
ficient to entitle them to a special allotment of land. 
He married Mary Dixon, and they had nine children, 
one of whom was John, of whom further. 

(V) John Gaylord, son of Samuel Gaylord, was born 
in 1713 in Hadley. In 1774 he was a member of one 
of the Committees of Safety. He was a prosperous 
farmer. He married (first) Abigail Miller, and they 
were the parents of four children, one of whom was 
Josiah, of whom further. He married (second) Dolly 
Taylor. 

(VI) Josiah Gaylord, son of John Gaylord, was born 
in 1783. He married Lucinda Smith, and they were the 
parents of seven children, one of whom was Emerson, 
of whom further. 

(VII) Emerson Gaylord, son of Josiah Gaylord, was 
born in 1817 in South Hadley, a man of great force of 
character. His father died when he was seven, and he soon 
had to depend upon himself. At seventeen he was ap- 
prenticed to a harness maker ; and also learned shoe- 
making. In 1841 he went to Chicopee, and entered the 
employ of the N. P. Ames Company, manufacturers of 
cannon, swords and military accoutrements, including 
harness and saddles. His first work was making har- 



ness for the Texas trade, and it was extended to scab- 
bards and other military accoutrements. In 1843 he 
went into business for himself, still retaining an asso- 
ciation with the N. P. Ames Company, to whom he con- 
tracted to furnish the leather goods. In 1856 he re- 
ceived orders from the War Department for mili- 
tary accoutrements, and continued to fill them up to 
1861. At the outbreak of the war he declined a large 
offer which would have brought him thousands of dol- 
lars because he suspected the goods would find their 
way to the Confederates. In the course of the war his 
contracts from the Government were so large that he 
was obliged to erect larger buildings and engage more 
men. The output averaged in value from $18,000 to 
$20,000 a week. In politics Mr. Gaylord was a Repub- 
lican, and served in the Legislature in i860. He mar- 
ried (first) Jane Burnett, of South Hadley, and they 
had one son, Arthur P., of whom further. He married 
(second) Victoria, daughter of Lester and Cordelia 
(Palmer) Van Horn. 

(VIII) Arthur F. Gaylord, son of Emerson Gaylord, 
was born at Chicopee, June 27, 1846, and died there 
September 29, 1888. He was educated in the public 
schools of Chicopee, and was graduated from the high 
school, and the Williston Academy in Easthampton, 
Massachusetts. He was associated with his father in 
the Gaylord Manufacturing Company, and continued in 
the management of that concern until it was sold to the 
Eagle Lock Company, of Terryville, Connecticut. He 
continued at the head of the Gaylord Sword Company, 
of Chicopee, which manufactured swords, scabbards, 
belts and other accoutrements. He was president and 
general manager until he died, and was notably success- 
ful in business. He was a director of the First National 
Bank of Chicopee, and a member of the Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, having taken the York Rite degree. He 
was a member of the Third Congregational Church of 
Chicopee, and is a Republican of influence in Hampden 
County, also serving as postmaster of Chicopee from 
1884 to 1886. He married, June 21, 1876, Isabelle 
Murphy, daughter of Timothy and Priscilla (De For- 
rest) Murphy, and had a son, Emerson George, of 
whom further. 

(IX) Emerson George Gaylord, only son of Arthur 
F. Gaylord, was born in Chicopee, Massachusetts, May 
23, 1881. He attended the public schools and was grad- 
uated from the Chicopee High School in 1900. After 
taking a post graduate course in the Springfield High 
School he entered Amherst College and was graduated 
in 1905 with the degree of Bachelor of Arts. He went 
into banking in partnership with Frank C. Kendall, for- 
merly cashier of the First National Bank. The new firm 
styled the Gaylord-Kendall Company, succeeded to the 
business of this bank, which went into liquidation upon 
the expiration of its charter. Mr. Gaylord had been a 
director of the bank, and the new firm was successful 
in business was one of the two banks of the kind recog- 
nized by the Boston Clearing House. In April, 1917, 
the Cabot Trust Company of Chicopee was formed, 
taking over the business of Gaylord and Kendall, and 
Mr. Gaylord was made president of the new company. 
The incident was important in the banking history of 



io8 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Chicopee, known as Cabotville, when the Cabot Bank 
was organized in 1845. When Springfield became a city 
in 1848, the suburb of Cabotville with 8,000 of the 18,000 
population refused to join, and remained a separate com- 
munity called Chicopee; but the Cabot Bank remained. 
Under the National Bank Act of 1865, the Cabot Bank 
obtained a new charter as the First National Bank of 
Chicopee. In its best days the Cabot Bank had deposits 
of $24,000. Thirty years later the First National Bank 
could boast of some $50,000 in deposits. In 1917 the 
Gaylord-Kendall Company had deposits of $260,000. The 
Cabot Trust Company began business April 2, 1917, with 
a capital of $100,000 and a paid-in surplus of $20,000. 

Mr. Gaylord also is a director in the Springfield 
Fire and Marine Insurance Company, the Springfield 
Safe Deposit and Trust Company, and in the Chapman 
Valve Manufacturing Company of Springfield. He 
serves also as a trustee of the Chicopee Savings Bank. 
In poh'tics he is a Republican, although he received the 
nomination of both parties for alderman in Chicopee and 
was elected by a unanimous vote. He is a member of 
the Nayasset Club of Springfield, and of the Colony 
Club. 

Mr. Gaylord married, December 12, 1906, Helen Cos- 
sett Malone, born February 3, 1884, at Beloit, Wiscon- 
sin, daughter of Booth Malone, of Denver, Colorado. 
Mr. and Mrs. Gaylord are the parents of three children : 
Emerson George, Jr.; Arthur Booth, and William Ben- 
nett. His address is the Cabot Trust Company, No. 
35 Center Street, Chicopee, Massachusetts. 



JOHN SCHOFIELD BOYD— The realm of chem- 
istry is of an almost infinite extent, and the opportuni- 
ties in this field for the well qualified, highly trained 
and ambitious young man are in keeping with its scope. 
An American of English birth and origin, who has risen 
to prominence in what is one of the most important in- 
dustries in Massachusetts, and who had his training as 
a chemical expert in one of the most famous technolog- 
ical colleges of the country is John Schofield Boyd. 

A native of Church, England, where he was born Au- 
gust 17, 1874, a son of Pythagoras and Ann (Foster) 
Boyd. His father was a former agent of the Arnold 
Printing Works of North Adams. Mr. Boyd received 
his first education in the public schools and in the Drury 
High School of North Adams. After graduating from 
the latter institution he entered the world famous Massa- 
chusetts Institute of Technology in Boston, where he 
went through all the courses of industrial chemistry and 
took a degree. From 1897 to 1899 he was in the service 
of the Arnold Printing Works as an assistant chemist; 
from 1899 to 1901 he occupied the position of assistant 
superintendent of the Slater Company of Webster, Mas- 
sachusetts, from 1901 to 1909 he served as chemist and 
superintendent of dyeing and bleaching with the Merri- 
mack Manufacturing Company of Lowell; from 1909 
to 1924, he organized the John S. Boyd Company, man- 
ufacturers of corduroy and velveteens, of Williams- 
town, of which he is president and treasurer. Mr. Boyd 
is also a director of the Williarastown National Bank. 

In politics he is an independent, and has never had time 
or inclination to hold political office. In religion he is a 



member of the Williamstown Congregational Church. 
During the World War he rendered national service as 
second lieutenant of the Massachusetts State Guard 
from 1917 to 1919. Mr. Boyd is one of the most pop- 
ular members of his town and participates in every cause 
that has the common welfare for its object. His fra- 
ternal and other associations are membership in the 
Williamstown Lodge of the Free and Accepted Masons ; 
the Composite Chapter of the Royal Arch Masons ; 
Hamilton Consistory ; St. Paul Commandery, No. 40, 
Knights Templar, and Melha Temple, Ancient Arabic 
Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, of Springfield. He 
is a member of the Berkshire Club and the Chamber of 
Commerce of North Adams, and a member of the Wil- 
liamstown Board of Trade, Williamstown. 

John Schofield Boyd married, June 22, 1902, Marion 
Ordway Franklin, daughter of Ira S. and Annie (Ord- 
way) Franklin. The family residence is on Park Street, 
Williamstown. 



CHARLES JESSE BILLINGS— Among the well 
established manufacturers of Montague, Mr. Charles 
Jesse Billings, who for the past four decades has carried 
on his manufacturing plant, which he started on a small 
scale, and which has steadily grown in size and quantity 
of output, may well be placed in the prominent fore- 
ground. A descendant of a long line of American, and 
prior to that of English forebears, he represents the sev- 
enth American generation in direct lineal descent, and 
his family has been traced back eight English genera- 
tions further. The surname is derived from a place, 
Billing, very ancient, four miles from the borough of 
Northampton, County Northampton, and in Saxon means 
a place of meadows. The surname was originally de 
Billing, and in the Domesday Book the named is found 
spelled Belling. The final "s" has been added in 
America within two hundred years, the first two gen- 
erations in this country never using the "s." The fol- 
lowing English pedigree is given in the "History of 
Woodstock, Vermont," stated briefly here : 

(I) John Billing, progenitor of the English and Amer- 
ican lines was of Rowell, patron of the church of Colly, 
Weston, and also having land in Rushden. He had two 
sons, the elder, Sir Thomas, of whom further. 

(II) Sir Thomas Billing, son of John Billing, of 
Rowell, was of the inns of court and was called to the 
bar; was sergeant at law in 1453; knighted in 1458, for 
taking part with the Lancastrian party; was counsel at 
the bar of the House of Lords for Henry VI when the 
right to the crown was argued, leading the attorney and 
solicitor-general. He was principal law advisor to Ed- 
ward IV, in 1465, justice of the King's Bench, and in 
1468 Lord Chief Justice of the King's Bench. He died 
in 1 481 and was buried in Bittlesden Abbey, Oxford- 
shire, where a large blue marble slab was placed over 
the body, having on it figures wrought in brass of him- 
self and his wife. The body was subsequently removed 
from the Abbey and placed at the upper end of the center 
aisle of Wappenham Church, where it is at present. He 
married (first) Catherine Gifford, daughter of Roger Gif- 
ford of Twyford, in Buckinghamsliire, heir to Giff^ord's 
Manor, hamlet of Astwell, parish Wappenham, after- 




oJ/^i^ 



WESTERN MASSACHUSEITS 



109 



wards called Billing's Manor. The ancient manor house, 
somewhat curtailed, is still in use as a farm house. He 
married (second) Mary Wesenham, of Conington, 
County Huntingdon. 

(HI) Nicholas Billing, son of Sir Thomas Billing, 
settled at Middleton, Melzor, Northampton, and died 
in 1512. He married Agnes Bilbert, daughter of Stephen 
of Middleton Manor. Among their children was John, 
of whom further. 

(IV) John Billing, son of Nicholas Billing, was born 
about 1530. Among his children was William, of whom 
further. 

(V) William Billing, son of John Billing, lived at 
Middleton Manor and died in 1575. He married Joan. 
Among their children was Roger. 

(VI) Roger Billing, son of William Billing, was born 
at Middleton Manor, Melzor. He removed later to 
Somersetshire, and settled at Baltonsborough, near Glas- 
tonbury, where he was buried December 16, 1596. He 
married (first) Katherine. She died and he married 
(second) Edith Colburn. He had eight children, the 
first born, Richard the Elder ; his eighth child being 
called Richard the Younger. 

(VII) Richard the Elder Billing, son of Roger 
Billing, was born about 1560 and married Elizabeth 
Strong, daughter of Ebenezer Strong. Their third 
child was Roger, of whom further. 

(VIII) Roger Billing, son of Richard the Elder 
Billing, was born in Taunton, England, about 1590. He 
was father probably, though possibly uncle of Roger, 
the first of the American line, of whom further. 

(I) Roger Billing, immigrant ancestor of the family 
in America, was a carpenter by trade, and a proprietor 
of Dorchester, Massachusetts, in 1640. He was admitted 
a freeman May 10, 1648, and he bought of the Indians 
a tract of land two and a half miles by two miles, part 
of which was taken off in establishing Rhode Island. 
In 1662 he was one of the petitioners for six miles 
square for a township at Warranoco. He died Novem- 
ber 16, 1683, aged sixty-five years. He was the father 
of ten children, the seventh being Roger of whom 
further. 

(II) Roger (2) Billing, son of Roger Billing, was 
born November 16, 1657, and died January 17, 1717-18. 
He settled in Canton and was married, January 22, 1678, 
by Governor Bradstreet, to Sarah Paine, who died Sep- 
tember ig, 1742, aged eighty-four years, daughter of 
Stephen Paine, of Braintree. Among their fourteen 
children was the seventh, Stephen, of whom further. 

(III) Stephen Billings, this generation adding the "s" 
to the name's spelling, son of Roger Billing, was born 
August 27, 1691, and settled in Canton. He married, 
June 9, 1724, Elizabeth Fenno, who died October 17, 
1783. Among their twelve children was the tenth child, 
Jesse, of whom further. 

(IV) Jesse Billings, son of Stephen and Elizabeth 
(Fenno) Billings, married, March 14, 1770, Sarah Bard- 
well and settled in Hatfield, Massachusets. They had 
a son, David, of whom further. 

(V) David Billings, grandfather of Charles Jesse 
Billings, was the son of Jesse and Sarah (Bardwell) 
Billings, and was born in Hatfield, Massachusetts, in 



1777, and died in North Hadley, Massachusetts, in 
1879. He was a blacksmith by trade, and ran a hotel. 
He married Sarah Heighto, who died April 19, 1866, 
aged eighty-eight years. Their children were: William; 
John; Horace; Christopher; David; one who died in 
infancy; Bardwell; Erastus ; Mary Ann; Sophia; Jere- 
miah Bardwell, of whom further. Mr. Billings had five 
brothers, all blacksmiths. 

(VI) Jeremiah Bardwell Billings, son of David and 
Sarah (Heighto) Billings, was born in North Hadley, 
Massachusetts, in 181 6, and died at North Leverett, 
Massachusetts, September 3, 1887, aged seventy-one 
years. He was a farmer in North Leverett all his life. 
He married Eunice Marvill, born in 1823, died July 28, 
1902, aged seventy-nine years, daughter of Jesse and 
Patty (Butler) Marvill. Their children were: i. 
Charles J., died at the age of ten months, December 28, 
1847. 2. Charles Jesse, of whom further. 3. Carrie 
Eunice, died September 26, 1871, at the age of seventeen 
years. 

(VII) Charles Jesse Billings, son of Jeremiah Bard- 
well and Eunice (Marvill) Billings, was born February 
17, 1849, at North Leverett, Massachusetts. He was 
educated in the schools of his native town, and then 
farmed for two years, at the end of which period he 
entered the shops of S. S. Graves at North Leverett, 
where he learned the manufacture of scythe nibs, work- 
ing there for five years. He then went to Miller's Falls, 
where he worked for the Miller's Falls Co. for ten and 
a half years. With this decade and a half of manufac- 
turing experience behind him, Mr. Billings came to 
Montague in 1884, he bought the property which he has 
since that time made his home, and on which he has car- 
ried on his manufacturing activities. His concern man- 
ufactures box stocks, in which he consumes large quan- 
tities of lumber ; the business is carried on under the 
firm name of C. J. Billings & Sons, and their products 
are distributed over a wide area. The establishment also 
does custom sawing, and the plant is splendidly equipped 
for the various kinds of work handled. It gives em- 
ployment to a number of men, and is one of the im- 
portant industries of this center. Mr. Billings besides 
his industrial work, which for the past forty years he 
has carried on with ever growing success, has been 
largely active in local affairs, and he is president of the 
Locks Pond Reservoir Company. Fraternally, he is a 
member of Bay State Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, 
of Montague, in which he is the oldest lodge member; 
he is also a member of Eastern Star Lodge. Mr. Billings 
is one of the esteemed citizens of this section, and he is 
well known for his activities in the service of the com- 
munity. 

Charles Jesse Billings married, August 30, 1871, Lucy 
M. Nichols, of Readsboro, Vermont, daughter of Moses 
and Olive (Ballou) Nichols, and they are the parents of 
the following children : i. Mary E., who married 
George Johnson, of Montague. 2. Alice L., who mar- 
ried Orville C. Leonard, of Greenfield; he was a rail- 
road man and was killed in 1923; they had a daughter, 
Gladys, who married Earl C. Goodenough. 3. George 
N., of Greenfield, Massachusetts, a sketch of whom fol- 
lows. 4. Henry J., who married Alice Fish, and they 



no 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



have a son, Roger F. 5. Gertrude T. 6. Lucy Earl, 
associated with her father in business ; she married 
Marion Watson. 7. Leon C, who married Mabel 
Tucker. 



GEORGE NICHOLS BILLINGS— Active for the 

greater part of his career in mechanical endeavors, com- 
prising mainly plumbing and steamfitting work. Mr. 
Billings, who spent the earlier years of his business 
life in connection with railroads, has for the past two 
decades confined his efforts to the former occupation, 
and has during the latter period been in association with 
the same shop for over twenty-one years in that capacity. 
Descended from an ancient lineage tracing back to the 
earliest American settlers, and before that to English 
forebears, he is a representative of the eighth genera- 
tion in direct descent from the first American immigrant 
of the family, Roger Billing, his English genealogy 
being traced back for eight generations to John Billing, 
progenitor of the English and American branches, of the 
family. This genealogy is outlined in the preceding 
sketch in the account of Charles Jesse Billings (q. v.), 
father of Mr. Billings. 

George Nichols Billings was born December 29, 1877, 
at Erving, Massachusetts, son of Charles Jesse and Lucy 
M. (Nichols) Billings. He received his education in the 
schools of Montague, Massachusetts, and on the com- 
pletion of his studies found his first employment with 
the Boston and Maine Railroad, as a fireman on a loco- 
motive. He worked in this capacity for seven years, 
and then went for a time with a plumbing and steam- 
fitting firm, returning again to the railroad work for a 
a year and a half. He subsequently took up again the 
plumbing and steam fitting business, and for the past 
twenty-one years has followed this in the same shops, 
his efficiency and his industry winning for him a position 
in which he is held in the greatest respect by his fellow- 
workers. He has been active in various lines connected 
with his calling, and is a member of the Locomotive 
Firemen, and is a "call" man in the local fire depart- 
ment of Greenfield. He is held in high regard by the 
citizens of his town, and is always ready and willing to 
lend his aid in all matters pertaining to the general 
public welfare. 

George Nichols Billings married, January 18, 1905, at 
Greenfield, Massachusetts, Anna M. Hayes, of Green- 
field, daughter of Salen W. and Margaret (Madden) 
Hayes, and they are the parents of one son, George 
Paul, born August 31, 1915, in Greenfield, Massachusetts. 



THOMAS FRANCIS McGRATH— Tobacco cul- 
ture in all its interests, including those of growing, 
purchase and sale, constitute the main industrial activity 
of Mr. McGrath, whose extensive farming operations in 
that line in the Northampton Third Massachusetts 
District, are accounted among the foremost in this part 
of the State. Well known and deservedly popular be- 
cause of his large circle of friends both in the hotel and 
the tobacco-growing business, he is one of the most 
public-spirited citizens of Northampton, a capable 
custodian of the duties and responsibilities of public 
office, and a prominent man of affairs in this section 



of the State. His family, both in this country and 
abroad, have invariably been recorded as mdustrious and 
progressive people; they originated in Ireland, where 
the McGraths had their lands confiscated three times in 
six hundred years. Mr. McGrath's grandfather, who 
lived and died in Ireland, had these children: John; 
William, father of Mr. McGrath; Grace, who married 
John O'Donnell; James; Mary, who married Mathew 
Dwyer; John, who came to America in 1849. 

William McGrath was born in 1834, in County 
Waterford, Ireland, and died May 21, 1892, in North- 
ampton. Coming to the United States in 185 1, he first 
located at Hadley, where he engaged in broom-making, 
and became a naturalized citizen. He married Margaret 
Canary, who was born in 1836, in Chatham, New York, 
and died March 2, 1888, in the Massachusetts General 
Hospital at Boston, aged fifty-two years, daughter of 
Timothy and Helen (Daley) Canary, who were born in 
Ireland. The children of Mr. and Mrs. William Mc- 
Grath: Mary, who married James O'Brien; Thomas 
Francis, of whom further; John A.; Timothy H.; 
James L. ; William E., who is deceased ; Helen J. ; 
Edward S. ; and Grace, who died aged nine years. 

Thomas Francis McGrath was born August 7, 1859, 
in Hadley, where he attended the public schools. He 
was bound out under the Oliver Smith will, and worked 
at farming for eight years, after which he removed to 
New York City and for a time was a tobacco salesman 
on the road. Returning East, he engaged in the growing 
of tobacco, and then became associated with the hotel 
business, and was owner and operator of the Bay State 
Hotel for eleven years. In 1901 he bought out the 
tobacco warehouse that he now operates, and he became 
associated with C. H. Spitzner & Son, of New York, 
in the handling of leaf tobacco. He grows, buys, and 
sells tobacco on a large scale, owning and operating two 
farms in that business; he raises one hundred acres of 
tobacco, and is a large employer of labor. Mr. McGrath 
is the chairman of the Northampton Board of Public 
Works; he is a director in the First National Bank, 
and a trustee in the Northampton Institution of Savings; 
and he also is a trustee of the Cooley-Dickinson Hos- 
pital. He served on the Exemption Board during the 
World War. His fraternal affiliations are with the 
Knights of Columbus; and the Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks, and he is a member of the North- 
ampton Chamber of Commerce. 

Thomas Francis McGrath married, April 24, 1889, 
Annie G. Lynch, of Hadley, daughter of Edward and 
Margaret (Hurley) Lynch. 



JOHN McAllister STEVENSON— Few names 
which adorn the records of Berkshire County bear 
closer or more honorable significance to the progress of 
the people than does the name of John McAllister Ste- 
venson, whose career was one of high achievement. 
Possessing a brilliant mentality, gifted with great breadth 
of spirit and charity for his fellow-beings, Mr. Steven- 
son won much from life, then gave with lavish hand to 
those less fortunate than himself. In his business activ- 
ities Mr. Stevenson's work was eminently constructive, 
and under his able leadership great advance was made 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



III 



in insurance affairs in Pittsfield. In his many affili- 
ations with organized endeavor along civic, benevolent 
and welfare lines he gave to the progress of his day a 
high enthusiasm which reflected great benefit on every 
community effort with which he was identified. His life 
was filled with worthy and beautiful deeds, and when 
death claimed him there was universal mourning in 
every circle in which he had moved. 

William Stevenson, the pioneer of this family in 
America, was born in Stranrear, near Glasgow, Scot- 
land, in the year 1771. He came to America in 1795 and 
settled in Cambridge, New York, where he established 
himself in a mercantile enterprise and became a largely 
prosperous and prominent citizen. Thrice married, his 
second wife was Frances Wardale McAllister, daugh- 
ter of John McAllister, a prominent resident of Phila- 
delphia, Pennsylvania. 

John M. Stevenson, son of William and Frances 
Wardale (McAllister) Stevenson, was born in Cam- 
bridge, New York, and following his early studies in the 
local schools he attended Union College in Schenectady, 
from which he was graduated in the class of 1839. 
Later studying law, he was admitted to the bar of his 
native State. Influential in his profession and a leading 
citizen of his own community, he became prominent in 
politics, and in early life was a noted "Old line" Whig. 
He bore a part in the organization of the Republican 
party, and throughout his lifetime was one of the lead- 
ing exponents of Republican principles in that part of 
the State. He died September 8, 1872, mourned by all 
who were familiar with his activities. John M. Steven- 
son married Seraph Huldah Newton, who was born in 
Marlboro, Vermont, August 6, 1823, and was the daugh- 
ter of Ephraim Holland and Huldah (Chipman) New- 
ton, and a direct descendant along the maternal line of 
John Howland, a member of the little company of Pil- 
grim fathers who came over on the "Mayflower" and a 
signer of the "Alayflower" compact. Mrs. Stevenson 
was also descended from Thomas Chipman, who lived 
in Sheffield, Alassachusetts, during the Revolutionary 
War and served in the Continental line. His son, Tim- 
othy Fuller Chipman, Mrs. Stevenson's grandfather, was 
also a member of Washington's forces, and served in 
the campaign against General Burgoyne. The Newton 
line traces back to Richard Newton, one of four brothers 
who emigrated from England about the year 1630, and 
were among the early settlers of Massachusetts. One 
of his descendants, Marshall Newton, lived in Shrews- 
bury, a man of property and influence. He was a lieu- 
tenant in Colonel Williams' regiment in the French and 
Indian War, and was at the battle of Lake George. His 
son, Marshall Newton, Jr., (Mrs. Stevenson's grand- 
father), was a soldier of the Continental Army, enter- 
ing at the age of eighteen and serving seven years. He 
was in many important engagements under General 
Ward. After the war he settled in Newfane, Vermont, 
where he became an influential citizen. 

John M. and Seraph Huldah (Newton) Stevenson 
were the parents of several children, of whom John 
McAllister Stevenson, Jr., was the second. The others 
were Holland Newton, who became a commodore in 
the United States Navy, now deceased ; Jean Huldah, 



wife of Daniel March, Jr., M. D. ; Frances Wardale, 
wife of Charles Y. Beach, of Bridgeport, Connecticut, de- 
ceased ; Sarah Mary, who died December i, 1905, the 
wife of Dewitt Bruce, of Pittsfield; William Chipman 
(q. v.) ; Eliza Agnes, widow of the late John P. Lane; 
Edward Porter, of Syracuse, New York; and MacLaren, 
a resident of Bridgeport, Connecticut. 

John McAllister Stevenson, son of John M. and Seraph 
Huldah (Newton) Stevenson, was born in Washington 
County, New York, August 31, 1846, and died in Ashe- 
ville. North Carolina, March 20, 1916. His education was 
begun in the public schools of Cambridge, New York, 
and later attending Washington Academy, also in his 
birthplace, he subsequently was a student at the Walnut 
Hill School in Geneva, New York, also the Phillips- 
Andover Academy, from which institution he was grad- 
uated in 1865. He then entered Yale University, with 
the class of 1869, but after two years of study, ill health 
compelled him to leave college, and for a considerable 
time he devoted himself to such activities in his home 
town as would take him much into the open air. He was 
associated with his father in various interests which in- 
cluded a planing mill and lumber plant. Remaining with 
his father until the winter of 1872, Mr. Stevenson was 
employed during that winter in the office of George Law, 
a distinguished capitalist of that time, of New York 
City. In September of the same year Mr. Stevenson 
came to Pittsfield and identified himself with the Phoenix 
Mutual Life Insurance Company, of Hartford, Connec- 
ticut, in the office of their Pittsfield general agent, David 
W. Bartlett. This office was in the West Block, on the 
present site of the Berkshire County Savings Bank 
Building, and tlie firm of Gilmore & Francis also oc- 
cupied the building. On January i, 1874, Mr. Steven- 
son accepted a position in the employ of Tillotson & 
Collins, woolen manufacturers, although at the same 
time continuing active in the insurance business. On 
October i, 1876, Mr. Stevenson became identified with 
Captain Fred A. Francis, successor of the firm of Gil- 
more & Francis, but in April of the following year he 
withdrew to form a partnership with George D. Dutton. 
These progressive men purchased the important business 
of which Captain Francis was the chief executive, and 
from that time forward for a considerable period the 
firm name was Stevenson & Dutton. Mr. Stevenson 
then purchased the interest of his associate and went 
forward under the title of J. M. Stevenson & Company, 
and continued for a few years, having as his partner 
Thomas N. Enright. Later his brother, William C. 
Stevenson, also another progressive resident of Pitts- 
field, and William C. Moulton came into the firm, and 
they are still active members of Stevenson & Company. 
The organization of the firm of Stevenson & Dutton, 
which, in April of 1877, formed the nucleus of the im- 
portant and influential enterprise which has weathered 
the storms and trials of business advance and has now 
been in existence for nearly forty-eight years. The 
concern is incorporated and throughout its entire his- 
tory has been active in the same location. In the entire 
realm of insurance Mr. Stevenson rose to a lofty posi- 
tion, and as early as September 29, 1879, he was elected 
secretary and treasurer of the Berkshire Mutual Fire 



112 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Insurance Company. In 1909 he was elected a director 
of the same concern, and three years later, declining re- 
election as secretary, he was still retained as treasurer 
and elected vice-president. Thus it transpired that from 
1879 until his death, a period of thirty-seven years, he 
served as treasurer of this important concern. He also 
was closely affiliated with the Hampshire Mutual Fire 
Insurance Company, and when the offices of this con- 
cern were removed to Pittsfield in 1914, he was elected 
president and filled that office until his death. These 
concerns later occupied the same office suites in the 
Agricultural National Bank. From 1879 he was a mem- 
ber of the Massachusetts Mutual Fire Insurance Union, 
and for a number of years its vice-president, also from 
September, 1906, to September, 1908, was president of 
that organization. 

No human interest could offer its appeal to John M. 
Stevenson without eliciting cordial and healthful re- 
sponse. In every community interest he devoted himself 
generously to the public good. He did much for the 
early promotion and accomplishment of street railway 
service in Pittsfield, and was long a member of the 
Pittsfield Electric Street Railway Company, which con- 
trolled the majority of the Pittsfield and outlying lines. 
On October 30, 1890, he was elected clerk of this com- 
pany and served on its board of directors from 1892 until 
the interest was absorbed by the Berkshire Street Rail- 
way Company. From 1883 until 1896 Mr. Stevenson 
was active as clerk and treasurer of the Pittsfield Board 
of Underwriters, and he was long a member of the 
board of trustees of the Berkshire County Savings Bank, 
serving in that connection from May 3, 1882, until his 
death. A Republican by political affiliation, Mr. Steven- 
son only once served in a public capacity of an official 
nature. He was elected a member of the General Court, 
February 9, 1899, to fill the vacancy occasioned by the 
death of E. N. Robbins, and the following year he was 
elected to a full term. Every benevolence and every 
healthful endeavor appealed strongly to Mr. Stevenson, 
and he was long a trustee of the Union for Home Work, 
of which he was elected president in January of 1913. 
Treasurer of the board of managers of this organiza- 
tion for a considerable time as well, he was one of the 
moving spirits in the merging of this organization into 
the Associated Charities, of which he was a director 
until his death. He also served, from its organization 
as auditor of the Berkshire County Home for Aged 
Women. On April 10, 1887, Mr. Stevenson was elected 
clerk and treasurer of the proprietors of the Pittsfield 
Cemetery, and it was during his tenure of these offices 
that the boundaries of the cemetery were materially 
extended and the beautiful gateway and Clapp Memorial 
Chapel were built. He also bore a part in many im- 
provements including the laying out of streets, and the 
sale of home sites and dwelling on the property owned 
by the cemetery corporation. He is one of the founders 
of the Pittsfield Young Men's Christian Association, 
and throughout his lifetime evidenced the deepest interest 
in its progress. 

The more personal interests of Mr. Stevenson linked 
his name with various branches of organized advance. 
He was a member of the Berkshire County Chapter, 



Sons of the American Revolution, of which for two 
years he was president. He was identified with the 
Massachusetts Society of Mayflower Descendants, the 
Society of Colonial Wars, also the New England His- 
torical and Genealogical Society. On March 8, 1916, 
Mr. Stevenson was elected president of the Yale Alumni 
Association of Berkshire County on the occasion of its 
annual meeting at the Wendell Hotel. He always took the 
deepest interest in the progress and well being of his alma 
mater, and kept in close touch with the members of his 
class. Among his leisure interests were hunting and 
rifle practice, and for many years he was one of the 
foremost members of the Pittsfield Rod and Gun Club. 
He took great pride in his success in qualifying for the 
rifle team which, it was universally acknowledged, in- 
cluded some of the finest shots in New England. , 
John McAllister Stevenson married, January 27, 1880, 
Hattie, daughter of Samuel Mather and Almira L. 
(Tillotson) Cooley, of this city. Their four children 
are: i. John M. (3), Yale graduate (1903) and ad- 
mitted to the bar. 2. Louis Tillotson, Yale, 1906, Shef- 
field Scientific School. 3. Holland (2) Newton, Yale, 1908, 
Sheffield Scientific School, and also graduated from Johns 
Hopkins Medical School of Baltimore. 4. Clara Cooley, 
wife of Merle D. Graves, of Springfield, Massachusetts. 



WILLIAM CHIPMAN STEVENSON— A dis- 
tinguished figure in insurance advance in Western 
Massachusetts is William Chipman Stevenson, whose 
usefulness in his important field of economic endeavor 
has carried him to high rank in present day advance, 
and whose practical ability has given his name permanent 
significance to the history of his time. Following pro- 
gressive methods and handling important affairs Mr. 
Stevenson has achieved large success. 

The Stevenson family has been prominent for several 
generations in this country, and dates back to William 
Stevenson, who was born in Stranrear, near Glasgow, 
Scotland, in 1771. Coming to America in 1795, William 
Stevenson settled in Cambridge, New York, and became 
widely known as a merchant in that community. He 
was universally esteemed and was counted among the 
noteworthy men of his day. He was three times mar- 
ried, his second wife, Frances Wardale McAllister, was 
a daughter of John McAllister, a noted resident of Phila- 
delphia, and a leader in business circles in that city. 

John McAllister Stevenson (q. v.), son of William 
and Frances Wardale (McAllister) Stevenson, married 
Seraph Huldah Newton, and one of their children was 
William Chipman Stevenson. 

William C. Stevenson was born in Cambridge, New 
York, April 17, 1857. He came to Pittsfield in 1874 to 
attend high school. After about a year in that school 
he entered the employ of John T. Power, a prominent 
citizen of Pittsfield, who was then engaged in mill sup- 
ply business. Mr. Stevenson followed this business for 
a number of years, and in the early eighties became as- 
sociated with his brother, John M., in the insurance 
business. From early life Mr. Stevenson had found 
his interest dravra toward the insurance business, this 
being undoubtedly governed more or less definitely by 
his brother's prominence as secretary and treasurer of 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



113 



the Berkshire Mutual Fire Insurance Company. He is 
one of the organizers of the firm of Stevenson & Co., 
which has risen to leading rank in insurance activities 
in New England. This company was the outgrowth of 
a similar enterprise conducted by Captain Fred A. Fran- 
cis, as successor of the firm of Gilmore & Francis. 
Since the death of his brother Mr. Stevenson's partners 
have been William C. Moulton, Edward L. Murphy and 
John D. Lynch. These progressive men are still going 
forward under the title of Stevenson & Co., and the con- 
cern looks back over a record covering more than a half 
century of time. They represent various old line con- 
cerns and maintain spacious offices in the Stevenson 
Building, which was recently remodeled. They occupy 
the entire ground floor and hold foremost rank in local 
insurance circles. The company is further affiliated with 
many business and financial enterprises of an allied 
nature of progressive import. 

Mr. Stevenson was early actively engaged in the de- 
velopment of the Morningside section of Pittsfield. He 
became interested in that section when the Pittsfield 
Street Railway Company extended its line to Dalton 
by way of what is now Dalton Avenue. Later seeing 
possibilities in the growth of Pittsfield through the de- 
velopment of the electrical manufacturing business he 
became chairman of a committee of property owners, 
who sold a portion of the land now used by the General 
Electric Company to the then Stanley Electric Manu- 
facturing Company, which was later absorbed by the 
present concern. 

Mr. Stevenson was the organizer of the Pittsfield 
Boys' Club, and for the first twenty years was the club's 
president. He saw the beginning of this organization 
in small quarters on Fenn Street, through to the occu- 
pancy of the present modem structure on Melville 
Street. He succeeded his brother, John McAllister Ste- 
venson, as director and treasurer of the Pittsfield Ceme- 
tery Corporation for over twenty-five years. He still 
holds membership on the board of directors. He early 
became interested in the playground movement, and was 
one of the organizers of the Park and Playground As- 
sociation, which acquired land for park purposes, later 
conveying it to the city. He was for several years a 
member of the Park Commission, resigning that member- 
ship a few years ago. Mr. Stevenson's interest in the 
youth of the city was not confined to the boys, and for 
many years he was actively identified with the Young 
Women's Home Association, being president and treas- 
urer. The Young Women's Home Association is the 
parent organization providing headquarters, equipment 
and maintenance for the Working Girls' Club, Business 
Women's Club and Girls' League. During his adminis- 
tration as president the land on East Street, now occu- 
pied by the Girls' League House, was secured and many 
improvements were made to the existing building. The 
large addition which now houses the gymnasium was 
also erected under his supervision. Mr. Stevenson is 
still prominent in the councils of the association. For 
twenty-five years he was assessor of the First Congrega- 
tional Church Parish. He is a member of the Crescent 
Lodge, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons of Pittsfield, 
Pittsfield Country Club, Park Club and Saturday Eve- 



ning Club. Mr. Stevenson has always been interested 
in the welfare of his adopted city, but, although he ha3 
been requested several times, he has never been a can- 
didate for public office. 

William Chipman Stevenson married Sarah P. Good- 
man, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. William W. Goodman, 
and they have two children: Mary G., educated in the 
Pittsfield schools, graduated from Smith College with 
the degree of Bachelor of Arts; and Helen, who married 
Winfred N. Stilwell, of Philadelphia, and has two chil- 
dren, William S. and Robert W. The Stevenson family 
residence is at No. 128 Pomeroy Avenue, Pittsfield, 
Massachusetts. 



CHARLES LYMAN PARSONS— Eminently use- 
ful in his activities as a citizen and individual, Charles 
Lyman Parsons, of Conway, has for many years com- 
manded the unqualified respect and esteem of his contem- 
poraries, and his career is acknowledged to be one of large 
significance. Giving to his work in its every phase the 
constructive attention of the man of natural ability and 
strong faith in the future, Mr. Parsons is counted among 
the thoroughly representative men of the day and bears 
a practical part in local progress. 

The Parsons family is a very old one in America, and 
the name is undoubtedly derived from the occupation of 
early bearers of this patronymic. The word is derived 
from Parsons, the Latin word signifying the person who 
cares for the souls of his parishioners. The name is 
known as far back as the year 1290, when Walter Par- 
sons was a well known resident of Mulso, Ireland. 

Joseph Parsons, or Cornet Joseph Parsons, the pioneer 
ancestor of this family in America, was bom in Eng- 
land in 1 61 3, and is said to have been an officer in the 
English army. He sailed from that country to America 
in 1635, settling at once at Boston, but ten years later re- 
moving to Springfield, and in 1655 removing thence to 
Northampton. He was also known to be with William 
Pynchon in Springfield in 1636. 

The line of descent from the pioneer to the recent 
years was through Benjamin, son of Cornet Joseph Par- 
sons ; Samuel, son of Benjamin; Nathaniel, son of Sam- 
uel ; Chadwell, son of Nathaniel ; and Joel, son of Chad- 
well, who became a resident of Somers, Connecticut, in 
January, 1753, and died at Conway, Massachusetts, Au- 
gust 9, 1831. He married Tryphene Booth, and they 
were among the first settlers of Conway, where Joel 
Parsons became a leading figure in the community and 
served as selectman. 

Captain Charles Parsons, son of Joel and Tryphene 
(Booth) Parsons, and grandfather of Charles L. Par- 
sons, was born June 22, 1798, and died May 14, 1889. 
He established the family on the farm which his grand- 
son now ownes and occupies, removing to this place in 
1838. The house was erected by the Billings family in 
the year 1827, and is one of the handsomest and best 
preserved in this part of the State. Captain Charles Par- 
sons was a farmer. He won his rank in the militia, be- 
coming colonel of the home guard. He was also a select- 
man of the village of Conway, and a prominent member 
of the .School Board, further being well known as a 
leader in the Congregational Church. He married, Oc- 



W.M.— 3-S 



114 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



tober 30, 1823, Sylvia Boyden, who died August 9, 1876, 
and their children were : Adeline Nancy, Tryphene, 
Charles Lyman, and Charles Jr., of whom further. 

Charles Parsons, Jr., the next in line, and father of 
Charles L. Parsons, was born April 2, 1839, in Conway, 
and died November 11, 1919. He was a largely success- 
ful farmer of Conway, and a leading figure in all local 
affairs of the community, serving as selectman, assessor, 
member of the School Board, etc. At the time of his 
death he was town clerk of the town of Conway. As 
an individual he was considered one of the foremost men 
of the community, and during his early farming activ- 
ities he specialized in thoroughbred shorthorn stock, in 
which connection he was associated with Stephen Hey- 
ward, of Cummington, Massachusetts. In later life he 
devoted his attention principally to dairying, and was 
one of the important milk producers of this section. 
Charles Parsons, Jr., was a leading figure of his day in 
fraternal circles, holding membership in Mountain Lodge, 
Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, of Shelburne Falls, 
and later becoming a charter member of Morning Sun 
Lodge, of Conway. He was the first Master of this 
lodge, and was affiliated with the various Scottish Rite 
bodies of the Masonic order, up to and including the 
thirty-second degree, also was a member of the Com- 
mandery. He was a leading member of the Congrega- 
tional Church, and was honored and esteemed in re- 
ligious circles. He married, October 29, 1861, Helen A. 
Wickham, born in Albion, New York, in 1843, and died 
in Conway, Massachusetts, June 17, 1919. The children 
of these parents were : Minnie A., Charles Lyman, of 
whom further ; Lizzie, Lois and Sylvia. 

Charles Lyman Parsons was born in Conway, Febru- 
ary 10, 1868. He gained a practical education in the 
local schools, supplementing his work in these institu- 
tions at Deerfield Academy, where he spent two years, 
later also attended the celebrated Arms Academy at 
Shelburne Falls for a similar period. He has been active 
in farming throughout his entire lifetime and conducts 
extensive operations on his splendid property, which 
covers some two hundred and eighty-five acres. He 
handles general farming and dairying, also grov*?ing to- 
bacco to some extent. Always active in town affairs, Mr. 
Parsons has served on the local Board of Selectmen for 
nine years, and for twelve years on the Board of As- 
sessors, still being a member. Upon his father's death 
Mr. Parsons succeeded him to the office of town clerk, 
which he still ably fills, and he has also been deputy 
sheriff of this county for the past eleven years. These 
many worthy endeavors have given Mr. Parsons the 
unqualified esteem and confidence of his fellow-citizens, 
and in his prominence he reflects credit and honor upon 
the community as well as upon the name which he bears. 
Fraternally Mr. Parsons is a member and Past Master 
of Morning Star Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, and 
he is also a member of the local Order of the Eastern 
Star. He has been a member of the Congregational 
Church since his youth, and is active in the work of 
the church organization. 

Charles Lyman Parsons married, October 18, 1893, 
Laura Wilson Wing, daughter of Edward E. and Helen 
J. (Newman) Wing, and a descendant of Johni Wing, the 
pioneer ancestor of this family, of whom further. 



Charles Lyman and Laura Wilson (Wing) Parsons 
are the parents of three sons, as follows': i. Charles 
Edward, born November 22, 1894, prominent electrician 
of South Deerfield ; he was educated in Conway High 
School, and early became half owner of the Cook Elec- 
tric Company, of Greenfield, of which he was later sole 
owner ; this interest he sold to locate in South Deerfield, 
and his only interruption in his electrical career was 
his service in the World War, joining the army June 24, 
1918, he was stationed at Camp Devens ; he was assigned 
to the Motor Transport and Signal Corps, and received 
his honorable discharge January 28, 1919; he married 
Mildred Reed, daughter of Albert S. Reed, of Conway, 
and they have one daughter, Helen Laura, born April 
16, 1919. 2. Howard, born March 28, 1902; is a gradu- 
ate of the Conway schools, also of the Deerfield and 
Dickinson academies ; he is further a graduate of the 
Massachusetts Agricultural College (1922), and is deeply 
interested in farm affairs. 3. Sidney, born March 6, 
1905 ; is a graduate of the Massachusetts Agricultural 
College of the year 1924. 

The Wing family ranks as one of the finest and oldest 
of the New England families, and from John Wing, the 
emigrant ancestor, whose wife was Deborah (Batchelder) 
\Vinf.=r, the American line descends as follows: John and 
Elizabeth Wing, of Lynn and Yarmouth ; John and Mary 
(Knowles) Wing, of Plymouth, Eastham and Brewster, 
Massachusetts; John and Abigail (Snow) Wing, of 
Harwich and Conway; Rev. Isaiah and Zelinda (AUis) 
Wing, of Conway, Massachusetts ; Lucius Bliss and Abi- 
gail (Wilson) Wing, of Conway; and Edward Everett 
and Helen Jane (Newman) Wing, of Conway, Massa- 
chusetts. Notable among these forebears were : Ananias 
Wing, who served as a soldier in King Philip's War 
(1675) ; and Rev. Isaiah Wing, who served in the Rev- 
olutionary War in the famous Colonel Nicholas Dike's 
regiment (1776). 



HORACE COOK— In his business life, and 
throughout his civic activities, Horace Cook continued 
and preserved those traditions of New England perse- 
verance and energy that have been notably fulfilled by 
individuals in all branches of the family. A native of 
Hadley, and bestowing the best things his useful life 
had to offer for his community. Mr. Cook exerted 
a very practical influence in the steady advancement 
of his township, v/hether he represented its interests 
in the State Legislature or as a manufacturer in the 
maintenance of its industrial prestige. He was proud 
of his birth from men and women of sturdy New Eng- 
land characteristics, and of his birthright to be of con- 
tinued service to old townships long the residence of his 
fathers' fathers. His people had resided in this coun- 
try close to three centuries. 

(I) Major Aaron Cook, who came from England, 
was one of the first settlers in Dorchester, Massachu- 
setts. He removed to Windsor, Connecticut, in 1635-36, 
and upon returning to Massachusetts is recorded as of 
Northampton in 1661. He was also one of the early 
settlers in Westfield in 1668, and after residing there 
about ten years he returned to Northampton, where he 
died September 5, 1690, aged eighty years. He was 
successively a lieutenant, a captain and a major in 




\l/rZ c^j\A.aA U o^f^y^^imj^ 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



115 



militia. His first wife was a daughter of Thomas Ford; 
his second wife was Joanna Denslow, who died in April, 
1676, daughter of Nicholas Denslow; his third wife was 
Elizabeth Nash, daughter of John Nash ; his fourth wife 
was Rebecca Smith, widow of Lieutenant Philip Smith, 
of Hadley. The children of Major Aaron Cook: Sam- 
uel, who died in 1649; Joanna, born August 5, 1638; 
Aaron, of whom further; Miriam, born March 12, 1642, 
married Joseph Leeds ; Moses, born November 16, 1645 ; 
Samuel, born November 21, 1650; .Elizabeth, born Au- 
gust 7, 1653; Noah, born June 14, 1657. 

(II) Captain Aarcn Cook, son of Major Aaron Cook, 
of Northampton, was baptized September 21, 1640, and 
died September 16, 1716, in Hadley. He was a Repre- 
sentative to the General Court in 1689, 1691, 1693 and 
1697. He married, May 30, 1661, Sarah Westwood, 
daughter of William Westwood ; she died March 24, 
1730, aged eighty-six years. 

(III) Lieutenant Samuel Cook, son of Captain Aaron 
and Sarah (Westwood) Cook, was born November 16, 
1672, and died September 16, 1746. He married, June 
21, 1698, Ann Marsh, daughter of Jonathan Marsh. 

(IV) Jonathan Cook, son of Lieutenant Samuel and 
Ann (Marsh) Cook, was born January 17, 1722. He 
married, August 2, 1744, Ruth Goodman. 

(V) Seth Cook, son of Jonathan and Ruth (Good- 
man) Cook, was born October 4, 174S, and died No- 
vember 26, 1817. He married, March 23, 1775, Eliza- 
beth Stevens, who died May 4, 1818. 

(VI) Winthrop Cook, son of Seth and Elizabeth 
(Stevens) Cook, was born April 26, 1785, and died June 

II, 1854. Fie married (first) a daughter of Joel 

Smith, of Amherst. He married (second) February 3, 
1814, Sophia Smith, daughter of Erastus Smith ; she died 
September i, 1846. Their children: Chester; Charlotte 
Smith ; Horace, of whom further ; Mary D. ; Charles, a 
review of whose life and work appears in the following 
sketch. 

(VIII) Horace Cook, son of Winthrop and Sophia 
(Smith) Cook, was born April 24, 1824, at Hadley, 
where he attended the public schools. He was a broom 
manufacturer and farmer ; and he was especially ac- 
tive in civic life. He served on the board of trustees 
of Hopkins Academy, of Hadley; and he was a mem- 
ber of the Board of Selectmen of that township for 
sixteen years. A highly influential citizen, he repre- 
sented the town in the State Legislature two terms, 
1861, and again in 1876. 

Mr. Cook married, December 19, 1855, Cornelia 
Asenath Pasco, born October 22, 1831, at Hadley, died 
March 2. 1925 at the age of ninety-three years, daugh- 
ter of Theodore and Fanny (Kellogg) Pasco; Theodore 
Pasco was born at Warehouse Point, Connecticut. The 
children of Mr. and Airs. Cook : Herbert Stanley, born 
June 27, 1857, died December 25, i860; Fanny An- 
toinette, who resides at Hadley. 

Horace Cook died April 7, 1905, at Hadley, a prac- 
tical man of affairs, of value to his generation as spokes- 
man for its best interests, and a citizen of well known 
business capacity. 



HOMER FRANCIS COOK— Of those business 
men in the western part of the State who through their 



personal capabilities, their integrity and their compre- 
hensive knowledge of certain branches of industry both 
in product and distribution, have easily taken their 
place at the head of manufacturing, and as leaders in the 
esteem of their generation, Mr. Cook, distributor of the 
vast Smith Charities Fund, is widely noted as one of 
the foremost broom manufacturers in New England. A 
native of Hadley, where he spent a most active portion 
of his life, and where the industry established by his 
father has increased and prospered through his enter- 
prise, he has the high regard of all the institutions with 
which he is associated. He possesses that heritage of de- 
votedness to his vocation and to the duties of the hour 
that has been passed along from generation to genera- 
tion even beginning with pioneer of this State and Na- 
tion. His lineage is from early settlers and men prom- 
inent in all the affairs of their times. 

Charles Cook, son of Winthrop Cook (see pre- 
ceding sketch), was born February 9, iS.'i, in Had- 
ley, and died in 1906. A broom manufacturer, he con- 
tinued in that industry at Hadley throughout his life. 
He was a member of the board of directors of the First 
National Bank in Northampton for twenty-seven years. 
A lifelong Republican in politics, he was a member of 
the Hadley Board of Selectmen for many years ; and he 
was a Representative to the State Legislature in 1886. 
His religious faith was that of the Congregational 
Church. He married (first), November 20, 1856, Har- 
riet M. Flagg; (second) Eunice T. Cook, who was born 
in Hadley, daughter of Samuel and Eunice (Torrence) 
Cook. The children of the first marriage : Francis 
Luther, deceased ; Frederick. The children of the sec- 
ond marriage: Homer Francis, of whom further; Mary 
Augusta; Lina Miriam, who married Alfred C. Thomp- 
son, of Brockport, New York; she has a daughter, 
Miriam Thompson, who married Robert Winne and has 
a son, Robert Winne, Jr., born October 27, 1924. 

Homer Francis Cook, son of Charles Cook, was 
born October 19, 1869, at Fladley, where he attended 
the public schools and graduated at Hopkins Academy 
with the class of 1888. He went West for a short time, 
and was located in Iowa, later removing to Colorado, 
where he was employed on passenger trains for two and 
a half years. Mr. Cook then returned to Hadley, where 
he at first engaged in farming, afterwards becoming as- 
sociated with his father in the manufacture of brooms, 
under the firm name of Charles Cook & Sons. Since 
the death of his father, he has continued the industry 
under the same firm name, employing a number of 
people, the product of the plant being sold extensively 
throughout the New England States. During 1912-13 
Mr. Cook was one of the directors of the Smith Char- 
ities, and a member of the Board of Electors. Since 
May, 1923, he has been president of the board, and he 
has the oversight of the expending of the income of a 
million and a half dollars, under the terms of the Oliver 
Smith will, and for the benefit of indigent boys, girls 
and widows. Mr. Cook has been chairman of the School 
Board of Hadley for fourteen years; and he is a member 
of the Board of Water Commissioners. His fraternal 
affiliations are with Jerusalem Lodge of Northampton, 
Free and Accepted Masons, the Royal Arch Chapter, 
the Council of Royal and Select Masters, Knights 



ii6 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Templar Commandery, Melha Temple, Ancient Arabic 
Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine; Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks; Kiwanis Club, and North- 
ampton Club. He is a deacon of the Congregational 
Church. 

Homer Francis Cook married (first), June 5, 1895, 
Harriet Eliza Haskins, of Baldwinsville, who died in 
1900, daughter of William and Katherine (Freeman) 
Haskins. He married (second), November 14, 1903, 
Jane (McKillip) Phillips. The children of the first 
marriage: i. Donald Homer, born November 26, 1898, 
now a paper manufacturer at Irving, who married Mary 
O'Grady. 2. Frederick Cady, born April 2, 1900. Both 
sons were bom in Hadley and attended the schools there. 
Both served in the World War, Donald being stationed 
in Boston; Frederick joined the navy and was stationed 
at Newport. 



STEPHEN FRENCH— Eminently successful in 
the sewing machine business in the pioneer days of that 
industry and a man of the highest integrity and most 
genial character is Stephen French, who died at his 
home in Orange, Massachusetts, April 19, 1905, in his 
eighty-second year. He was one of the outstanding 
figures of Western Massachusets. The French family 
is a very old one in the annals of Vermont. Nathaniel 
French, the great-grandfather of Mr. French, and Asa 
French, his grandfather, both fought in the Revolution- 
ary War, and William French, of Westminster, Ver- 
mont, a brother of Asa French, and great-uncle of 
Mr. French was the first victim of that conflict, being 
killed in the Court House defense, March 13, 1775, one 
month before the battle of Lexington. Asa French 
married Mercy Rice, a direct descendant of Edmund 
Rice (as is also President Coolidge) ; and their son, 
Stephen French, born in 1788, died in 1858, a well-to-do 
farmer, married Polly Pierce, who was a noted cen- 
tenarian, living to be one hundred and one years and 
eight months old. She was the daughter of Benjamin 
Pierce, a soldier of the Revolution and a pensioner of 
the War of 1812, and the granddaughter of Joseph 
Pierce, who was also in the Revolution, and who, 
strangely enough, was one of the coroner's jury held 
over the William French mentioned above (as was also 
an ancestor of President Coolidge). Thus the history 
of the early days of Vermont is the history of the 
ancestors of Stephen French on both sides. 

Stephen French, son of Stephen and Polly (Pierce) 
French, was born in Dummerston, Vermont, June 2, 
1823. He secured all the education that was possible 
in the schools of his native town, and until he was 
nineteen years old, worked on his father's farm. He 
then "purchased his time" from his father for $150 and 
went to East Templeton, Massachusetts, to work in a 
chair factory for $12.50 a month and board. He re- 
mained in East Templeton for nine years and then went 
to Ohio, where he went into the business of making 
chairs under the firm name of Pratt, French & Company. 
In 1857 he went to British Columbia with a party of 
three in quest of gold, and remained there for about a 
year. Upon his return to the East he entered the em- 
ploy of Greenwood & Whitney in their chair factory in 



East Templeton, and worked with that concern until 
1 861, when he accepted a position with Thomas H. 
White, who was then making the New England Hand 
Sewing Machine with a single thread. He was put to 
work assembling machines, and owing to experiments 
and inventions on his part the machine was greatly im- 
proved and business rapidly increased. In 1862 Mr. 
White moved his business to Orange, Massachusetts, and 
Mr. French, who came with him, was given an interest 
in the business. The shop was located where the present 
New Home shop now stands, and carried on a very 
successful business until 1866, when Mr. White, well 
known in the trade as president of the White Sewing 
Machine Company, moved his machinery to Cleveland, 
Ohio. Owing to his wife's ill health, Mr. French re- 
fused to accompany the concern to Ohio, but instead be- 
came superintendent of the Gold Medal Sewing Machine 
Company upon its organization ; and remained in Or- 
ange with this concern until the New Home Company 
was formed, at which time he sold out his interests at 
at a larje piofit. After leaving the sewing machine 
business he was for a time in the wholesale and retail 
shoe business in Worcester, Massachusetts, with a 
nephew, and later went to Kansas, where he was presi- 
dent of a bank in the town of Manhattan and its largest 
stockholder. Mr. French had expected to take his family 
to Kansas, but the continued ill health of his wife com- 
pelled him to come back to the East. He was for a 
time connected with the New Home Company, but later 
severed that connection to devote himself to the care 
of considerable real estate which he had acquired 
in the course of his life. 

Mr. French was always the staunchest kind of a Re- 
publican, as were his forefathers before him. He liked 
to tell how, in 1840, at the age of seventeen, he made a 
small log cabin and cider barrel and cloth flag bearing 
the words : "Tippecanoe and Tyler Too' for the post 
of his father's gate, thus greatly enraging many of the 
neighbors. In his early days he was affiliated with the 
Masonic order, but later withdrew. Although he was 
not a man to belong to many organizations, he took a 
keen interest in all civic events, and was always ready 
to give his effort and support to any good cause. He 
took especial interest in young men who were just 
starting out in business, and it was often said that manj 
people among his acquaintancee owed much of their suc- 
cess in life to his encouragement or assistance at some 
timely point in their career. His utmost pride was in 
the fact that he was known as a man whose word was 
as good as his bond. His religious affiliations were with 
the Universalist Church. , 

Mr. French married, on May 12, 1852, at Gardner, 
Massachusetts, Ann Ross Whitney, daughter of Solo- 
mon and Sibyl Arms Whitney, the widow of William 
Goodnow. Mrs. French traced her descent on both sides 
from ancestors who fought in the Revolution and the 
Colonial wars, and also from Mayflower ancestry. She 
received her education in the Whitingham Academy and 
in Wesleyan Seminary, at Springfield, Vermont. Stephen 
and Ann Ross (Whitney) French had four children: 
I. Frank Seward, born at Brattleboro, Vermont, Oc- 
tober 13, 1855, is a member of Orange Lodge, Ancient 





T7^^r^->-^C-/o 



ofmm^ 





WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



ii: 



Free and Accepted Masons ; Crescent Chapter, Royal 
Arch Masons, of Orange ; Athena Chapter, Order of 
Eastern Star ; thirty-second degree Scottish Rites Bodies 
of Boston, Massachusetts ; Giles Fonda Yates Council, 
Princes of Jerusalem ; Lafayette Lodge of Perfection ; 
Mount Olivet Chapter, Rose Croix; Massachusetts Con- 
sistory, Sublime Princes of the Royal Secret ; thirty- 
second degree Northern Masonic Jurisdiction ; Aleppo 
Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic 
Shrine, of Boston, Massachusetts. 2. Stephen Everett, 
born at Orange, Massachusetts, April 26, 1868, killed in 
Boston by an automobile truck, August 16, 1919, in the 
midst of a very active career in both manufacturing and 
political spheres, and known as one of the most valu- 
able citizens of Franklin County. 3. Burton Whitney, 
born at Orange, July 9, 1870. 4. Grace Goodnow, of 
further mention. 

Grace Goodnow French, now Mrs. Fred Smith Wey- 
mouth, was born at Orange, Massachusetts, May 10, 
1872, and has always lived in the house where she was 
bom. She was educated in the local public schools and 
graduated from the Orange High School in the class 
of 1891. She is a member of the Orange High School 
Alumni Association, of the Mount Grace Chapter of the 
Daughters of the American Revolution, and is registrar 
and curator of the Historical Rooms of Mount Grace 
Chapter. 

She married, at Orange, Massachusetts, September 16, 
1896, Fred Smith Weymouth, bom at Brattleboro, Ver- 
mant, June 16, 1872, son of Henry and Mary Emeline 
(Hooper) Weymouth, of Walpole, New Hampshire. 
Mr. Weymouth was for many years in the military ser- 
vice, having risen from private to captain of the old 
Company E, Massachusetts Volunteer Militia. He is a 
member of all the Masonic bodies and Past Commander 
of Orange Commandery, No. 145 ; and Aleppo Temple, 
Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, of 
Boston, Massachusetts. Since 1897 he has been closely 
identified with the business interests of Orange. The 
Weymouth family are attendants at the Universalist 
Church. Mr. and Mrs. Weymouth are the parents of 
three children: i. Burdette Earlton Weymouth, born 
January 31, 1898, a graduate of Orange High School 
in the class of 1916, and of Dartmouth College, Han- 
over, New Hampshire, in the class of 1920. He is a 
teacher of French, having taught in Petersham High 
School in 1922-23, and in Shrewsbury High School in 1924, 
and he has taken advanced courses in French in the 
University of Paris during the summer of 1923, and in 
Middlebury College, Middlebury, Vermont ; also a mem- 
ber of Orange Lodge, Ancient Free and Accpted Ma- 
sons ; and Crescent Chapter, Royal Arch Masons. 2. 
Sibyl Fae Weymouth, bom October 18, 1899, a grad- 
uate of Orange High School in the class of 1917, of 
Lasell Seminary, at Auburndale, Massachusetts, in the 
class of 1919, and of the course in secretarial science 
at Boston University in the class of 1922. 3. Douglas 
French Weymouth, born September 7, 1901, a graduate 
of Orange High School in the class of 1919, after 
which he was for two and a half years a student at 
Dartmouth College. Both he and his brother are members 
of the Theta Chi fraternity at Dartmouth. 



REV. JOHN HOYT LOCKWOOD, D. D.— In 

the ancestral line of Rev. John Hoyt Lockwood, D. D., 
the early colonial Massachusetts residence of the family 
was broken by a long period of identification with Con- 
necticut and neighboring New York, but his intimate 
relationship with Western Massachusetts reestablished 
and strengthened the contact of three centuries before, 
which had, however, been continued in numerous branches 
of the Lockwood family. 

The name of Lockwood is of very ancient origin, and 
is found in Domesday Book, compiled at the order of 
William the Conqueror. Burke's "General Armory" 
gives the Lockwood arms, as derived from the Rev. 
Richard Lockwood, rector of Dingley, Northampton, 
England, in 1530, thus : 

Arms — Argent a fesse between three martlets sable. 

Crest — On the stump of an oak tree, erased proper 
a martlet sable. 

Motto — Tutus in undis. (Secure against the waves); 
Ne cede (Break rather than bend). 

In the historical records of Connecticut it appears that 
many Lockwoods were in the Colonial and Revolutionary 
wars. Forty-two officers of this name were in the Rev- 
olutionary War, besides many privates in the army and 
navy. The Tories in and about Norwalk, Greenwich 
and Fairfield said : "They could not endure the notori- 
ously rebellious Lockwood Tribe." These same Lock- 
woods had been burned out, plundered, and had their 
harvests destroyed by the British, and distressed in many 
ways. The record adds that the General Assembly re- 
ported their taxes abated. They were called the "Fight- 
ing Lockwoods." 

Robert Lockwood came from England in 1630 in 
Governor Winthrop's fleet, and settled at Watertown, 
Massachusetts, where his first six children were bom 
and their births recorded. He was made a freeman 
March 9, 1636. He removed to Fairfield, Connecticut, 
about 1646, and died there in 1658. He was made a 
freeman of Connecticut March 20, 1652, and was ap- 
pointed sergeant at Fairfield in May 1657. He sold to 
Bryan Pendleton all the land granted him by the town, 
also four acres of remote meadow and one acre of patch 
meadow September 29, 1645, to Edward Garfield, an- 
cestor of the late President James A. Garfield. He left 
no will, and his estate was administered upon by his 
widow, Susanna. The court decided that the widow 
should have one-third of the estate, the ten children the 
remainder. Susanna Lockwood gave evidence in a witch 
case May 13, 1654, at a court held in New Haven, and 
stated she was present when Goodwife Knapp was 
hanged for a witch. She subsequently married Jeffrey 
Ferris ; she was the daughter and heir of Richard Cutts, 
Esq., and died at Greenwich, Connecticut, December 23, 
1660. Children. Jonathan, married Mary, a daughter of 
his stepfather, Jeffrey Ferris; Deborah; Joseph; Daniel; 
Ephraim, see forward ; Gershom, who was the principal 
carpenter and builder in Greenwich, held many important 
public offices, and married Lady Ann Millington, of Eng- 
land, daughter of Lord Millington; John; Abigail, mar- 
ried John Barlow ; Sarah ; Mary, married Jonathan 
Huested. 

Ephraim Lockwood, son of Robert and Susanna 
(Cutts) Lockwood, was born in Watertown, Massachu- 



ii8 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



setts, December 6, 1641. He was a young lad when 
he removed to Connecticut with his father, and settled 
in Norwalk, where he was admitted a freeman October 
13, 1669. He married, June 8, 1665, Mercy Sention 
(now written St. John), daughter of Mathias Sention, 
of Norwalk. Children: John B. ; Daniel, married 
Charity Clements; Sarah, married John Piatt; Ephraim; 
Deacon Eliphalet, married Mary, daughter of John Gold, 
of Stamford; Deacon Joseph, married Mary Wood, 
daughter of John Wood, of Stamford; Lieutenant James, 
married Lidia Smith; Edmund; Mary, married Joseph 

Gainsey; Abigail, married Cook. Both Eliphalet 

and James were members of the General Assembly of 
Connecticut. 

Isaac Lockwood, a grandson of Ephraim and Mercy 
(Sention) Lockwood, was a soldier in the War of the 
Revolution during its entire period. 

Hanford N. Lockwood, son of Isaac Lockwood, went 
from Danbury, Connecticut, to Troy, New York, with 
his family in 1810, was a leading merchant there during 
sixty years, and for a time mayor of the city. He mar- 
ried Rachel Wildman, of Danbury. Their goods for 
the new home were carried in an ox cart to Fishkill, 
and thence by sloop up the Hudson River. 

Charles Nicholas Lockwood, son of Hanford N. and 
Rachel (Wildman) Lockwood, was a merchant and 
banker. He married Mary Elizabeth Fry, daughter of 
Deacon John and Eliza (Wildman) Fry, of Danbury, 
Connecticut. 

Rev. John Hoyt Lockwood, son of Charles N. and 
Mary Elizabeth (Fry) Lockwood, was born at Troy, 
New York, January 17, 1848. Until i860 he attended the 
public schools of his native city, and he was then pre- 
pared for entrance to college at Troy Academy, at which 
he was a student for a period of four years. Matricu- 
lating at Williams College at the age of sixteen years, 
he was graduated in the class of 1868 with the degree of 
Bachelor of Arts ; the degree of Master of Arts was 
conferred upon him three years later by the same insti- 
tution. In the meantime he had also been pursuing a 
course of study at the Princeton Theological Seminary, 
from which he was graduated in the class of 1871. 
Early in 1870 he had been licensed to preach by the Pres- 
bytery of New York in New York City, and a few 
months later we find him doing home missionary work 
in Southern Minnesota during his summer vacation, 
during which time he organized a Presbyterian Church 
at Wells, in that State. He was ordained to the min- 
istry November 15, 1871, by the Classis of Cayuga and 
installed as pastor of the Reformed Church of Can- 
astota, New York. April 28, 1873, terminated this 
charge, and shortly afterward he became pastor of the 
New England Congregational Church of Brooklyn, New 
York, from which he resigned December 31, 1878. He 
assumed the duties of the pastorate of the First Con- 
gregational Church of Westfield, Massachusetts, April i, 
1879, being formally installed the following May 14. 
The bi-centennial of the church was celebrated in that 
year, and the historical sermon which Rev. Mr. Lock- 
wood preached on that occasion was later published in 
book form. After Mr. Lockwood assumed charge, the 
church maintained a steady growth in attendance and 



membership. He always laid special emphasis on pas- 
toral work while making earnest preparation for his 
service in the pulpit. As a preacher he was interest- 
ing and effective, increasing in power with advancing 
years. To the Sunday school Mr. Lockwood devoted 
especial time and care, discharging the duties of super- 
intendent during ten years, and so attractive did he make 
its classes and every phase of its work that the number 
of its members was greater than ever before in its 
history. The church needed better equipment for its 
varied enterprises, and in 1894 a $20,000 parish house 
was erected as an addition to it, the money for this pur- 
pose being largely raised through the personal efforts 
of Mr. Lockwood. 

Educational, missionary and benevolent matters also 
have occupied a goodly share of the time of Mr. Lock- 
wood, and he has been foremost in the ranks of those 
who have the improvement and development of the 
town at heart. In connection with these ideas he has 
held a number of public offices. For a number of years 
he was a member of the Westfield School Committee, 
during a part of the time serving as chairman of this 
body. Since soon after his arrival in town he has been 
a member of the board of directors of the Westfield 
Athenaeum, the Public Library, and a member of the 
board of trustees of the Westfield Academy Fund, of 
which he is now vice-president. He served a term of 
three years as a member of the Board of Visitors of 
Williams College, and has hardly missed attendance at 
the annual commencement since his graduation fifty- 
seven years ago. For many years he has been a mem- 
ber of the Connecticut Valley Historical Society, an 
active organization in this region, and for a time its 
vice-president. He is a trustee of the Young Men's 
Christian Association College of Springfield ; an as- 
sociate editor of the "Encyclopedia of Massachusetts 
biography," and supervising editor of the present "His- 
tory of Western Massachusetts." In his political opinion 
he is an independent Republican. 

At the conclusion of twenty-seven years of service 
Mr. Lockwood resigned the active duties of the pastorate 
in Westfield, and was by vote of the church made pas- 
tor emeritus, May 14, 1906. Soon afterward he re- 
moved to the neighborhood city of Springfield, where he 
has continued to make his home, though returning often 
to Westfield. 

The research in local history demanded in preparing 
his bi-centennial sermon soon after entering upon his 
work in Westfield inspired an interest in town affairs 
which has deepened with the passage of time. No 
adequate history of the town having been produced, Mr. 
Lockwood long ago registered a purpose to supply the 
deficiency should it ever become possible for him to do 
so. For twenty years he found great satisfaction in 
prosecuting that task, delving far and wide into Colonial 
and Revolutionary archives for facts related to the 
town's birth and progress during nearly two hundred and 
fifty years. The splendid two volume work, "Westfield 
and Its Historic Influences," published in 1923, is the 
result of that labor. 

Mr. Lockwood has been from the time of his entrance 
to college a devoted member of the Kappa Alpha So- 






42- 




c7^>Cci/tyL/R- /</ - 1/lA^ 




WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



119 



ciety, the oldest of the Greek letter organizations of our 
American colleges, founded at Union College in No- 
vember, 1825. He is a charter member and ex-presi- 
dent of the Connecticut Valley Congregational Club, 
having served as its president in 1888, soon after its 
organization. He has been, since 1882 a member and 
is ex-secretary of the Connecticut River Valley Theo- 
logical Club, composed of ministers of various denom- 
inations living within fifty miles of Springfield, its ac- 
tive membership being limited to twenty at any one 
time. He has been for many years an enthusiastic 
golfer, was a charter member of the Tekoa Golf Club 
of Westfield, and for ten years past has been a mem- 
ber of the Springfield Country Club. Of other clubs 
in Springfield, he is a member of the Winthrop Club, 
ex-prcsident of the Reality Club, ex-secretary of The 
Club. He is also a member of the University Club of 
New York, and the West Hampden Historical 
Society. 

Mr. Lockwood married, at Danbury, Connecticut, July 
19, 1871, Sarah L., daughter of Dr. Ezra P. and Sarah 
M. (Comstock) Bennett, of Danbury, Connecticut, who 
made her radiant and gracious personality a beneficent 
force in each of his three parishes. She died on Janu- 
ary 9, 1908. Three children are living : William An- 
drew, Williams, '96, a lawyer in New York City ; Annie 
Elizabeth, wife of Ralph H. Davison, of Ballston Spa, 
New York, and Lucy Bennett, Mrs. William I. Thomas, 
Vassar, 1907, living in Springfield. 

His grandchildren are John Edwards, Williams, 1925, 
son of William Andrew and Elizabeth (Edwards) Lock- 
wood, a student at Harvard Law School ; John Lock- 
wood and Elizabeth, children of Ralph H. and Annie 
Elizabeth Davison ; and Lester Isaac and Grace Bennett, 
children of Mrs. William L Thomas. 



FRANK H. METCALF is one of the widely known 
manufacturers and business men of Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts. He was born in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada, No- 
vember 9, 1868, the son of Joseph Metcalf, born at 
Hunslet, Yorkshire, England, March 24, 1841. The 
family is descended from Adam de Mefikalf, who re- 
sided in Yorkshire, England, in 1278, he in turn claim- 
ing descent from Arkefrith the Dane, who came to 
England in 1016 with King Canute. The early men of 
the family were noted for their great size and strength. 
Whitaker, in his "History of Craven," says the name is 
derived from the old Saxon "Mechalgh," signifying 
"Men of Mec's Land." 

Joseph Metcalf, with an aunt and his elder brother, 
came to America and settled in Hamilton, Canada, where 
he attended school until fifteen years old. His father 
having lost his sight in an accident when the boy was 
very young. He entered the service of the Great West- 
em Railway Company and rose rapidly. At twenty-six, 
in 1867, eleven years after he began service, he was 
chosen treasurer of the company, a post that was always 
held by some one in England, where the stock was entirely 
owned. He served for seven years, having won the 
honor solely on his ability, after which he resigned. 
With his brother-in-law, Herbert M. Farr, he came to 
Holyoke and organized the Farr Alpaca Company in 



1873. From 1874 until his death in Holyoke in 1916, 
he was the guiding genius of the company, and to him 
Holyoke owes a wonderful institution and potent factor 
in its development. Prosperity followed in its wake and 
stockholders and operatives shared liberally in the gain. 
He^ developed a profit-sharing plan with the operatives 
which has been taken as a model and regarded every- 
where as attaining the utmost fairness and generosity. 
Mr. Metcalf was a director of the Springfield Safe De- 
posit and Trust Company, of the National Woolen Man- 
ufacturers' Association; of the Holyoke City Hospital, 
and of the Public Library; vice-president of the Home 
Market Club. A member of Springfield County Club, 
of Town Golf Club and the Holyoke Canoe Qub. He 
took a deep interest in the philanthropies of the city and 
gave to all. He is a member of St. Paul's Protestant 
Episcopal Church. The Joseph Metcalf School was 
named in recognition of his liberality and the collection 
of pictures in the school costing $3,000 are an example 
of his liberality. 

Mr. Metcalf married, in January, 1868, in Hamilton, 
Canada, Qara Wheeler Farr, daughter of Marshall H. 
Farr, a leading railroad contractor, who built much of 
the Grand Trunk Railway of Canada, and many build- 
ings; he built the old Massasoit House at Springfield. 
Mr. and Mrs. Metcalf were the parents of Frank H., 
of whom further; Gertrude, born January' 20, 1876, who 
became the wife of Addison L. Green, and has children: 
Clarissa, Gertrude and Marshall. 

Frank H. Metcalf attended the public schools of Hol- 
yoke, and after leaving the high school he entered the 
Worcester Pol>-technic Institute. A severe illness in- 
terrupted his course, and upon recovery he entered the 
employ of the Farr Alpaca Company and began his long 
connection with the concern in 1889 at the very bottom 
of the ladder. His first job was that of wool sorter. 
Later he entered the machine shop as repair man, and 
became familiar with the mechanical departments before 
he entered upon office work. He rose to assistant agent ; 
later as assistant treasurer ; he became his father's close 
business associate. When his father died in 1916 he 
was chosen to succeed him as treasurer. This position 
he still (1925) holds. In 1925 he was also elected presi- 
dent and director of the Kilbum Mill at New Bedford, 
Massachusetts. He is also president of the Holyoke 
Valve and Hydrant Company; director of the Hadley 
Falls National Bank; of the Holyoke Savings Bank; the 
Springfield Safe Deposit and Trust Company, of Spring- 
field ; the Morris Plan Company of Holyoke ; the Na- 
tional Association of Wool Manufacturers ; the Public 
Library of Holyoke ; the Holyoke City Hospital, and 
the Clarke School of Northampton. He is among the 
leaders of the business world of the city and State. 
Mr. Metcalf owns a large stock farm at South Hadley, 
where, having a fondness for Holstein cattle, he owns 
many costly specimens of that breed. He is an authority 
on the history of the Connecticut Valley, and its Indian 
lore and early settlement. He is a member of the Amer- 
ican Society of Mechanical Engineers, the American So- 
ciety for the Advancement of Science, and the Home 
Market Club of Boston. He is a member of the Ma- 
sonic fraternity, the York Rite; the Ancient Arabic 



120 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine ; also the Ancient 
and Honorable Artillery Company of Boston, organ- 
ized in 1632 ; the Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks; and the Knights of Pythias. He is a member of 
the American Protective Tariff League of Nevi? York 
City, and is interested in and takes part in all charitable 
works. He is a member of St. Paul's Protestant Epis- 
copal Church. 

Mr. Metcalf married, May 23, 1894, at Northampton, 
Mabel A. Warner, born in Northampton April 27, 1869, 
daughter of Lewis and Lusanna (Pratt) Warner. Mr. 
and Mrs. Metcalf are the parents of a daughter, Cath- 
erine Lewis, born February 10, 1895, who married, April 
23, 1916, Edward Lyman Allen, of Burlington, Ver- 
mont, and they are the parents of a daughter, Juliette, 
born June 20, 1917. Mrs. Metcalf has been the Regent 
of Mercy Warner Chapter, Daughters of the American 
Revolution, of Springfield; of the City Club of Boston; 
of Robert Morris Chapter, Order of the Eastern Star; 
the National Society of Founders and Patriots ; Hum- 
boldt Lodge, Pythian Sisters ; is a member of the Chil- 
dren's Aid Association ; being president and chairman 
and a director ; and of the Holyoke Nurses' Association ; 
vice-chairman of the Holyoke Red Cross, and actively 
interested in all kinds of women's work in Holyoke. 
She is a descendant of Ebenezer and Mary (Gerrald) 
Warner, through their son, John Warner and his wife, 
Margaret (Sykes) Warner; their son, John (2) War- 
ner, born in Springfield, Massachusetts, about 1756, 
died December 24, 1807, a minute man of the Revolu- 
tion, registered in the Springfield Company under Major 
Andrew Colton ; he married Mary Ward. The line con- 
tinues through their son, Thomas Warner, and his wife, 
Sarah (Hartong) Warner; their son, Lewis Warner 
and his wife, Lusanna (Pratt) Warner, the parents of 
Mabel A. (Warner) Metcalf. Lusanna (Pratt) War- 
ner was a descendant of Matthew Pratt, referred to by 
Cotton Alather as a very religious man. 



FREDERICK CHARLES McGREGORY— Among 

the men who will long be remembered for the work 
they have done is Frederick Charles McGregory, of 
Springfield, Massachusetts, who, as field manager for 
the American Historical Society, Inc., of New York 
City, has for the past seven years (1918 to 1925) been 
engaged in supervising the collection of material for the 
encyclopedia of family history of his native State. 

The McGregory family, which is of Scotch origin 
(derived from the brave and hardy Clan McGregor, 
whose war cry was "Royal is my race") has been traced 
back in direct line for twenty-six generations to the 
third King of Scotland, who was living in 845, and has 
been represented in America for nearly three hundred 
years. 

Ebenezer McGregory, Sr., great-grandfather of Fred- 
erick Charles McGregory, was among the earliest settlers 
of East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, where he was a 
typical pioneer, living, as was the custom of the pioneers, 
for a time in a log house, following the vocation of the 
agriculturist all his life, and dying at a good old age. 
He married Susan Bradley, and they reared a family of 
six children: i. Joseph. 2. Ebenezer, of whom further. 



3. Susan, who became the wife of a Mr. Blodgett. 4. 
Thankful, who married a man named Lewis. 5. Lucinda, 
whose husband's name was Gardener. 6. Hannah, who 
became the wife of a Mr. Pease. 

Ebenezer McGregory, son of Ebenezer and Susan 
(Bradley) McGregory, was born in East Longmeadow, 
and was reared to farm life and labor, but later learned 
and followed the trade of stone cutter. He spent his 
life in this town and died at the age of forty-four years. 
He married Mary P. Crane, who died at the age of 
eighty- four years, daughter of Allen Crane, who was a 
farmer, and who after his marriage removed from East 
Windsor, Connecticut, to East Longmeadow, Massa- 
chusetts, where he spent the rest of his life. 

Ebenezer and Mary P. (Crane) McGregory were the 
parents of eight children, among whom was Nelson 
Horatio, of whom further. 

Nelson Horatio McGregory, son of Ebenezer and 
Mary P. (Crane) McGregory, was born in East Long- 
meadow, Hampden County, Massachusetts, in 1815, and 
died in Ludlow, Massachusetts, in 1887, aged seventy- 
two years., He remained on his father's farm until he 
was fifteen years of age, when he went to Hartford, 
Connecticut, to learn the trade of mason. After re- 
maining in that city a short time, however, he went to 
New York City, and remained there four years, com- 
pleting his knowledge of the trade. He then returned 
to Hartford, Connecticut, where he followed his trade 
as a journeyman for some years. While here he joined 
the militia, rose to be captain of a company, and achieved 
considerable reputation as a marksman, taking the first 
prize, a gold medal, for skill with the rifle. He was 
also an active member of the fire department of that 
city. In 1857 he came to Springfield, where he remained 
until i860, when he removed to East Longmeadow and 
purchased a saw and grist mill, which he operated suc- 
cessfully for four years. During the Civil War, in ad- 
dition to the operation of his mill, he was employed at 
the Water Shops, the forging plant of the United States 
Armory, where he built the forge hearths used in the 
forging of gun barrels for the Union troops. In 1864 
he sold his property in East Longmeadow and removed 
to Ludlow, where he purchased a farm of seventy-five 
acres, known as the Eaton Homestead, and located one 
mile from Indian Orchard. After that he both con- 
ducted the farm and followed his trade. For over 
twenty years, from 1866 to 1888, he was employed by 
the Indian Orchard Manufacturing Company in the 
supervision of the repairs of their plants and the erec- 
tion of new buildings ; also by the Ludlow Manufactur- 
ing Company in the same capacity. In addition to this 
he was also employed by the Duckvill and Three Rivers 
companies, for each of whom he supervised the erection 
of their great cotton mills. During the latter part of 
his life he acted as an independent contractor, having 
entire supervision of the work in which he engaged. 
It was during this time that he had charge of laying 
the brick sidewalk and setting the curbing at Indian 
Orchard (the Eighth Ward of Springfield), and so well 
did he do this work that now (1925), sixty years later, 
they are in almost perfect condition. As a workman he 
was a master of his craft, understanding it thoroughly 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



121 



in every detail. The laying of 2,500 bricks was con- 
sidered a good day's work, but he had a record of laying 
5,000 bricks in one day on the wall of a church in Suf- 
field, Connecticut. In politics he was a firm supporter 
of the Republican party, making his influence felt by 
his vote and example, but holding no office except that 
of member of the school committee of Ludlow, for which 
he was well fitted, being a great reader and well in- 
formed. He was a Hberal supporter of the Christian 
faith, insisting upon having his family regularly at- 
tend church and Sunday school, and was always in sym- 
pathy with every movement for the moral advancement 
of the community in which he lived. 

Nelson H. McGregory married twice; (first) Marie 
Hunt, daughter of John Hunt, of East Longmeadow, 
and they had five children, four of whom, with the 
mother, died within ten years. Albert N., now (1925) 
deceased, the only one who survived to maturity, fol- 
lowed his father's trade and resided in Lockport, New 
Jersey, where he married (Miss) M. Dooling (also now 
deceased) of that city. They had two children: Nelson 
H. and Maud, both now deceased. 

Nelson Horatio McGregory married (second), in 
1856, Eunice Day, a native of Easthampton, who was 
born in 1829, and died in 1881, daughter of William and 
Roxanna (Knowlton) Day. She proved a worthy help- 
meet, presiding over the household with true womanly 
tact, care and hospitality, and although a partial in- 
valid for the last twelve years of her life and often in 
great pain, she endured her sufferings with patience, and 
was a good mother to her children, who bore her in 
affectionate remembrance. She was a faithful member 
of the Congregational Church. She died in 1881, at the 
age of sixty-three, leaving two children: i. Frederick 
Charles, of whom further. 2. William B., born in East 
Longmeadow, was educated in the public schools of 
East Longmeadow, Pillsbury Seminary , at Ludlow, 
Massachusetts, and Wesleyan Academy, at Wilbraham. 
He spent his life in the old homestead at Ludlow, where 
he died at the early age of thirty-one years. He mar- 
ried in 1883, Eva Hicks, of Wilmington, Vermont, and 
they had two sons, Wayne and Ebenezer N. 

Frederick Charles McGregory, son of Nelson Horatio 
and Eunice (Day) McGregory, was born in Springfield, 
Massachusetts. May 2, 1858. After leaving the district 
school he continued his studies in the Indian Orchard 
(Springfield) High School, and later prepared for col- 
lege at Burnett's English and Classical Institute, at 
Springfield. It was his father's desire that he should 
learn a trade, and he spent nearly three years in attempt- 
ing to master first the mason's trade, later the trade of 
blacksmith, and still later that of brass moulder. But 
none of these proved to his liking. He then for a time 
studied medicine, but finally decided to take up the study 
of law. Owing to close confinement in the office, how- 
ever, his health broke down and he was compelled to 
give this up. But his love for the law has ever re- 
mained with him, and he has spent much time in listen- 
ing to the trials of many of the most famous cases. 
In this way he has acquired a very comprehensible knowl- 
edge of the principles of law, and he is frequently con- 
sulted by his friends along these lines. Finding that he 



must take up some outside employment he became iden- 
tified with a large photographic concern in Springfield 
and travelled through Massachusetts and Connecticut, 
assisting in making views of residences. In 1883 he 
went to New York City and took a position with the 
National Photo View Company and rose to be manager, 
which position he held for three years. He then organ- 
ized the Standard Photo View Company, of which he 
was president and general manager and conducted this 
business for some years. This concern made a specialty 
of group photography and secured the photographing of 
the classes in the public schools in all the cities and 
towtis about New York City, doing a very large busi- 
ness. Mr. McGregory also visited during the summer 
months the State encampments of the military of New 
York, Pennsylvania and Connecticut, and photographed 
the State troops. In this connection he was at one time 
associated with Colwell Lane, one of the finest artistic 
photographers in New York City, and the work done for 
the regiments, particularly the 7th, 22d and 23d of New 
York, elicited the highest praise from officers of these 
organizations. In 1890 he accepted a position as New 
England manager for the Astra Publishing Company, 
with an office in Boston, and continued with them some 
months. In 1891 Mr. McGregory entered the biograph- 
ical publishing business, taking his first position with 
the Biographical Review Publishing Company, of Bos- 
ton. He remained with this company for six years 
and assisted in the collection of material for works cov- 
ering the New England and Middle States. He then 
took a position with J. H. Beers, of Chicago, with whom 
he remained for about two years. In November, 1900, 
he became associated with the Lewis Historical Publish- 
ing Company and assisted in the preparation of a work 
covering the State of Vermont. All this time he had 
been collecting material and soliciting subscriptions for 
books, but his work being highly satisfactory along this 
line the company allowed him to try handling the sale of 
portraits. He soon demonstrated that he could do this 
equally as well, and since that time he has continued 
successfully in this line. In 1910 he was sent to Wilkes- 
Barre, Pennsylvania, when he was placed in charge of 
the work of Luzerne County, and here he remained two 
years, completing a highly creditable work. Since that 
time he has acted as a field manager not only for edi- 
tions published by the New York office, but at times for 
the Chicago office of this company, having been engaged 
on various publications for them, including one of De- 
troit, Michigan. He has travelled extensively in his 
work, having been in thirty States in the Union and 
covering the territory from Portland, Maine, to Denver, 
Colorado. As Springfield was his native city, he de- 
cided, in 1917, to attempt the work of collecting the 
family history of his native State, he taking charge of 
Western Massachusetts. 

A company known as the American Historical Society 
had been formed and the work was undertaken by this 
concern. At first the encouragement was not forth- 
coming, but Mr. McGregory persisted in his efforts and 
finally convinced the people of Western Massachusetts 
that the work would be a most valuable one, and no 
effort has been spared to make it so. Seven years, 1918 



122 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



to 1925, have been devoted to the enterprise, and during 
that period Mr. McGregory has given the benefit of his 
many years of experience and his undivided attention to 
producing an invaluable work for reference. That his 
efforts and the work of those associated with him have 
been crowned with success is evidenced by the fact that 
the history, in many instances dating back to the im- 
migrant ancestor of hundreds of famiHes have been col- 
lected in fourteen volumes of over six hundred pages 
each. And Mr. McGregory feels that he has done for 
the people of his native city and State a work of which 
he can well feel proud, and one that will be highly prized 
by succeeding generations. Mr. McGregory has always 
been deeply interested in military training. At eighteen 
years of age he joined Company G, 2d Regiment of 
Massachusetts Volunteers, known as the "Peabody 
Guard," and serving with that organization until he 
went to New York. In New York City he assisted in 
organizing Company D, of the 12th Regiment, which 
was popularly known as the "Temperance Company." 
Later he passed through the various ranks in promotion, 
serving as captain, later rising by appointment to major 
on the 3d Brigade staff, and as inspecting, reviewing, 
and reporting officer, he spent considerable time each 
year in the camps of the State Guard of all the New 
England and Middle States. He is well and favorably 
known in Masonic circles in Springfield, being a member 
of Esoteric Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons ; Morn- 
ing Star Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; Springfield 
Chapter, Royal Arch Masons; Springfield Council, Royal 
and Select Masters ; the Masonic Club, Bella Grotto, 
Mystic Order of Veiled Prophets of the Enchanted 
Realm, and Adelphi Chapter, Order of the Eastern Star. 
In all these bodies he takes an active interest. Genial, 
courteous, always ready with an encouraging word, a 
vigorous handshake and a friendly smile, he has won 
a host of friends not only in Springfield and surround- 
ing towns, but also among his business associates in the 
New York office, with which he has now (1925) been 
identified for nearly a quarter of a century, a record that 
speaks for itself. During this time he has seen the busi- 
ness grow from a small beginning to the largest in the 
world in this line. 

Mr. McGregory married, December 31. 1886, Adele 
Rumler, of New York City, daughter of John Rumler, 
of England, a most beautiful and accomplished lady, who 
died November 18, 1910, leaving one son, Lawrence 
Thompson. 

Lawrence Thompson McGregory, only son of Fred- 
erick C. and Adele (Rumler) McGregory, was born in 
New York City, July 13, 188S. He was educated in 
the public schools there, completing his studies in the 
High School of Commerce, and although it was the wish 
of his parents he should enter college he preferred a 
business career. He had always been of a studious 
nature, and after completing special courses in stenog- 
raphy and typewriting, decided to become a private sec- 
retary. He proved to be adapted to this position and 
was employed at different times by some of the best 
known men in New York City. Later he widened his 
experience by accepting a position with the Bush Ter- 
minal Company as head of correspondence, and still 



later he became identified with the American Druggist 
Syndicate in the same capacity. For a time he was as- 
sociated with Montgomery Ward & Company, and 
later with the Bacley Corset Company, of Newark, New 
Jersey, with whom he remained four years. While em- 
ployed with the latter concern he inaugurated a model 
correspondence system for use in their great business of 
corresponding with over 10,000 of their representatives 
throughout the United States. He was an indefatigable 
worker, and his extended studies, together with his 
strenuous duties, undermined his health, and he passed 
away September 7, 1922. A young man of superior 
ability along many lines, and possessed of the highest 
qualities of character, he attracted warm friendships, 
and at his death left a large circle of friends to mourn 
his passing. 

Lawrence Thompson McGregory married, in New 
York City, August 29, 1912, Minnie Williams, of New 
York City, and they were the parents of one child, 
Margaret Adele McGregory, born July 6, 1913. 



STOUGHTON FAMILY— Probably no other es- 
tate in the Connecticut Valley includes so many im- 
portant features of unique interest as the one which for 
a century and a half has been in possession of the 
Stoughton family. The estate originally consisted of 
three hundred and fifty acres, adjacent to the river, in 
the village now called Riverside, and among the feat- 
ures of leading historical and topographical interest 
contained therein are : "Birdtrack quarries," of great 
scientific interest ; "Healall spring," thus named by the 
Indian owners ; the towering "Sunset Rock" ; and the 
charming "Cascades." 

The Stoughton family, a branch of which is owner of 
this beautiful estate, is one of remote antiquity in County 
Surrey, England, where it was already seated at the time 
of the coming of W^illiam the Conqueror to England in 
ic66. The name is derived from Stock or Stoke in Sur- 
rey, and "tun," the Saxon word for "enclosure." 

In the reign of King Stephen (1135-54) Godwin de 
Stocton resided at Stocton, in Surrey, and in the eighth 
year of the reign of King Edward I, Henry de Stocton 
received the royal license to empark one hundred and 
sixty acres of land there. In the early part of the six- 
teenth century the family became divided into two 
branches, a younger branch locating at St. Johns, County 
Warwick, occupying a large and ancient mansion, orig- 
inally the Hospital of St. John the Baptist, remaining 
there for a series of years and maintaining a leading 
position in the county until the male line expired with 
George Stoughton, Esq., of St. Johns, who left an elder 
daughter and heiress, Eugenie. She married James 
Money, Esq., of Pitsford, Northamptonshire; and of 
Much Marde, in Herefordshire, thus merging that 
branch in the Money family. 

The elder branch continued at Stoughton, Nicholas 
Stoughton, Esq., of Stoughton, son of Anthony Stough- 
ton and grandson of Sir Lawrence Stoughton, Knight. 
He was created a knight January 29, 1661. He mar- 
ried, in 1602, Elizabeth Massingberd, daughter of Sir 
Henry Massingberd, baronet, of Braytoft, in Lincoln- 
shire. He left a son and successor. Sir Lawrence 




#tOUg^i0Tt 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



123 



Stoughton, of Stoughton, at whose death in 1692, the 
baronetcy became extinct. At Sir Lawrence's death the 
mansion, called Stoughton Place, situated on a delight- 
ful eminence near the middle of the manor, was pulled 
down, and the site, now a plowed field of about six 
acres, is known by the name of "Stoughton Garden." 
In the church of Stoke, at the east end of the north aisle, 
is the Stoughton Chapel, containing many quaint and 
interesting inscriptions and ancient memorials of the 
Stoughton family. 

The ancient arms of the Stoughton family show an 
azure field charged with "a cross engrailed ermine" and 
a robin red breast, proper, for crest ; but John Guillin 
in his work entitled "A Display of Heraldry," records 
for Stoughton a coat-of-arms similar to the one em- 
blazoned herewith, the latter differing from Guillin's 
description only in the fact that in the first and fourth 
quarters, the ancient "cross engrailed ermine" appears 
instead of the saltire, and that a crescent is also added 
for difference. 

The armorial bearings emblazoned herewith are de- 
scribed as follows: 

Arms — Quarterly, first and fourth, azure, a cross 
engrailed ermine, in dexter chief a crescent for differ- 
ence (Stoughton); second, quarterly, a cross argent, 
A and D sable, three lance rests or, B and C gules, 
three cockatrices or; third, argent, a lion rampant 
gules charged on the shoulder with a trefoil slipped 
or between eight crosses-crosslet fitch§e of the second 
(Brett). 

The connection between these old English fami- 
lies and the early settlers of the name in this coun- 
try is not definitely established, but circumstantial evi- 
dence strongly indicates that Thomas and his brother 
Israel, mentioned below, were of these old families. 

Thomas Stoughton, father of the first Sir Lawrence, 
had a cousin named also Thomas Stoughton. The latter 
lived in Dorset and had married into the Montpeson 
family of County Wilts. This Thomas of Dorset is 
claimed to have been the direct ancestor of the American 
branch of the Stoughton family, and two items of evi- 
dence lend some support to the claim: (i) Sir Nicholas 
Stoughton, father of the last Sir Lawrence, compiled 
an exhaustive history of the family, in which he men- 
tions no other Thomas Stoughton of the right age and 
generation, or otherwise unaccounted for, who could 
have been the parent of Rev. John Stoughton, of Lon- 
don, and of Thomas and Israel Stoughton, who came 
to New England with the early influx of Puritan settlers. 
(2) The founders of Dorchester, Massachusetts, were 
"families out of Dorsetshire" who came over on the 
"Mary and John." 

At any rate. Rev. John, Thomas and Israel Stoughton 
were brothers ; and probably the sons of : 

(I) Rev. Thomas Stoughton, of Coggeshall, since the 
parish register there records the baptism of an Israel, 
son of Thomas, February 18, 1602. Possibly the Rev. 
Thomas, of Coggeshall, and Thomas of Dorset were one 
and the same person. 

Some genealogists have stated tha the Rev. Thomas 
Stoughton accompanied his sons to Massachusetts, and 
that he was the Mr. Thomas Stoughton, of Dorchester, 
who married the widow of Huntington. However, let- 
ters written in 1634, by General James Cudworth, of 



Scituate, Massachusetts, to his step-father, Rev. John 
Stoughton, of London, clearly show that it was Thomas, 
the brother of the Rev. John, who contracted this mar- 
riage: "As concerning my unkells, blesed be god, they 
are both in good health, & my unkell Thomas is to bee 
married shortly to a widow that has good means and 5 
children." No reference to the Rev. Thomas is made. 
Evidently, if he ever came to America in 1630, he either 
had returned to England, or was deceased in 1634. His 
widow, in 1644, was a member of her son Israel's fam- 
ily in Dorchester, and Israel made ample provision for 
his "deere mother" in his will. 

(II) Thomas Stoughton, brother of the Rev. John of 
London, and Colonel Israel, of Dorchester, may be con- 
sidered the founder of the line here traced. A widower, 
bringing with him a small son bearing also the name of 
Thomas, he came with the first settlers of Dorchester, 
in the "Mary and John," landing at Nantasket May 30, 
1630. It is recorded that he and his brother Israel, who 
came in 1632, were of the Puritan faith; and that, like 
many of their belief, they left England without taking 
any oath of allegiance to either church or king. 

According to the Colonial Records, Thomas Stough- 
ton was appointed the first constable of Dorchester in 
September, 1630, and subsequent references style him 
"Ancient" or "Ensign Thomas." In 1635 he married 
Margaret (Barrett) Huntington, widow of Simon Hunt- 
ington, and previous to 1640 had made the difficult jour- 
ney across the rough wilderness to the valley of the 
Connecticut River, and had settled his family at Wind- 
sor, Connecticut. He was a delegate to the first Connec- 
ticut Court, and was a man of influence in Windsor until 
his death there, March 25, 1661. 

Israel Stoughton is recorded as having been in ac- 
tive military service in the Indian wars, and upon one 
occasion he went to the defence of the colony at Ply- 
mouth. At the time of his death he was owner of 5,000 
acres of land in and about Dorchester, Massachusetts, a 
part of which to-day bears the name of Stoughton. 
Israel continued to be at variance with both the Estab- 
lished Church and the Government under the Stewarts ; 
and when Cromwell entered upon his plans for the over- 
throw of kingly rule, Stoughton returned to England, 
where he served as lieutenant-colonel in the army of 
Oliver Cromwell. He died of a fever while he was in 
England. Governor William Stoughton, a son of Lieu- 
tenant-Colonel Israel Stoughton, who sat upon the bench 
at witchcraft trials, died unmarried, as did also two 
brothers of his. 

(III) Thomas (2) Stoughton, son of Thomas Stough- 
ton, who as a small boy came from England with his 
father in 1630, became a man of large property and 
social distinction in Windsor. He was the builder and 
first occupant of the "Old Stoughton House," a stone 
building which he erected as his dwelling place, and 
which came to be known as the "Stoughton," or "Stone 
Fort" of Windsor. He married, November 30, 1655, 
Alary Wadsworth, whose younger brother afterward hid 
the charter in the famed "Charter Oak" at Hartford. 
Thomas Stoughton died September 15, 1684, and the 
probate records contain a long and minute inventory 
of his estate. 



124 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



(IV) Captain Thomas (3) Stoughton, son of Thomas 
(2) and Mary (Wadsworth) Stoughton, settled at 
Stoughton's Brook, where he was an active and prom- 
inent man. He was confirmed as ensign of North Com- 
pany of Windsor train band, by the court September, 
1689, and in May, 1698, he (then called "Lieutenant") 
was confirmed as "captain ofi the train band in Windsor 
in the east side of the Great River." He was a deputy 
to the General Assembly for Windsor, October session 
1699, October, 1725, May, 1726, October, 1729, May and 
October, 1733. He married (first), December 31, 1691, 
Dorothy Talcott, of Hartford, daughter of Lieutenant- 
Colonel John Talcott. She died March 28, 1696, and 
he married (second). May 19, 1697, Abigail (Edwards) 
Lathrop, daughter of Richard Edwards and widow of 
Benjamin Lathrop. Captain Thomas died January 14, 
1749, in his eighty-seventh year. Child of first mar- 
riage: I. Mary, married Peletiah Allyn. Children of 
second marriage: 2. Lieutenant Thomas. 3. Daniel. 4. 
Benjamin. 5. Timothy, of whom further. 6. Abigail, 
married John Moore. 7. David. 8. Mabel, married 
Samuel Belcher. 9. Jonathan. 10. Elizabeth, married 
Peletiah Bliss. 11. Isaac. 

(V) Timothy Stoughton, son of Captain Thomas and 
Abigail (Edwards-Lathrop) Stoughton, was born June 
27, 1703. He was of Hartford in 1733-45, but in 1751 
was of Somerset County, province of New Jersey. In 
1763 he was of Frederick County, province of Mary- 
land. He married June 27, 17,17, Hannah Olcott, 
who died in 1739. Children: i. Jonathan, born in 
1735- 2. John, born in 1738. 3. Samuel, of whom 
further. 

(VI) Samuel Stoughton, son of Timothy and Han- 
nah (Olcott) Stoughton, was born in Hartford, Con- 
necticut, December 12, 1739. His mother died soon 
after his birth, and under date of May 22, 1740, he was 
indentured to Samuel Wrisley, Jr., of Glastonbury, 
Connecticut, to be educated and to learn the cooper's 
trade. Mr. Wrisley subsequently moved to Montague, 
Massachusetts, and later to Gill. Here Samuel Stough- 
ton attained his majority, and took over the property 
purchased by his foster father. Here he resided until 
his death, January 25, 1814, and here his old homestead 
still stands on the banks above the Connecticut River. 
He was a soldier of the Revolutionary War, having been 
chosen by election second lieutenant in the 3d Company 
of the 5th Hampshire Regiment, April 22, 1776. Under 
Colonel Ruggles Woodbridge he saw active service with 
the Northern Army, and participated in the battle of 
Saratoga. He married (first), January 12, 1769, Mary 
Severance, who died leaving one daughter. He married 
(second), December 5, 1771, Sarah Munn, daughter of 
John and Mary (Holton) Munn. Child of first mar- 
riage: I. Mary, married Asahel Parmenter. Children 
of second marriage: 2. Sarah, married (first) Moses 
Richards; (second) Eliphaz Allen. 3. Samuel. 4. 
Timothy, died young. 5. George. 6. Timothy, of whom 
further. 7. Nancy, d:ed young. 8. Nancy, married Na- 
thaniel Gore Stevens. 9. Asa. 10. Ira, died young. 11. 
Ira. 

(VII) Deacon Timothy Stoughton, son of Samuel 
and Sarah (Munn) Stoughton, was born May 23, 1779. 



He married, July 15, 1802, Eunice Stark, daughter of 
Nathan and Olive (?) (Morgan) Stark, of Groton, 
Connecticut, and later of Guilford, Vermont. Children : 
I. Qementina, married Amos J. Locke, of Stoddard, 
New Hampshire. 2. Ruth, died early. 3. Evelina, 
married Dr. Jared Bement, of Ashfield, Massachusetts. 
4. Priscilla, died young. 5. Eunice, married Benjamin L. 
Thompson, of Water Valley, Mississippi. 6. Reuben S. 

7. Timothy M., of whom further. 8. Parthena P. 9. Isa- 
bella, died young. Deacon Timothy Stoughton died July 

8, 1849. 

(VIII) Timothy Morgan Stoughton, son of Deacon 
Timothy and Eunice (Stark) Stoughton, was born Sep- 
tember 16, 1817. He married, October 16, 1839, Maria 
Clarissa Richardson, daughter of Isaiah and Betsey 
(Stearns) Richardson, of Brattleboro, Vermont She 
died December 29, 1864, and he married (second) Eliza 
Rebecca Spaulding. The children of Timothy Morgan 
and Maria C. (Richardson) Stoughton: i. Exene E., 
married General Francis Amasa Walker. 2. Lucy E. 3. 
Elizabeth C. 4. Edward P. 5. Charles R. 6. George, died 
young. y. Henry T., died early. 8. William C. 9. 
Clara L., married Frederick A. Perry (deceased). Tim- 
othy Morgan Stoughton died July 26, 1908. 



FRANK GRIN WELLS— That the child is "father 
to the man" is well illustrated in the case of Frank 
Orin Wells, of whom it is related that when a boy his 
desire to handle tools was so great that he saved all his 
pennies until he had enough to buy a set of tools. To- 
day he is the head of a great firm that manufactures 
cutting tools and machinery, his childhood predilections 
being the lines that he continued to follow into manhood, 
where he attained his success. 

Mr. Wells is the descendant of an old American fam- 
ily of English origin, who trace their lineage back even 
further to France. The De Welles family of Lincoln- 
shire, barons by summons to Parliament, was in the 
Vaux, or Bank, or Bayeux, or de Vallibus family of 
France, one of the most illustrious families known to 
history. The derivation is traced to the year 794, from 
which period they held the highest rank, personally and 
by royal intermarriages. It was founded in England 
after the Conquest by Harold de Vaux, a near connec- 
tion of William the Conqueror, and his three sons, 
Barons Hubert, Ranulph and Robert. The descent is 
traced through the youngest son, Robert, whose grand- 
son, William, had four sons: Robert de Dalston, baron; 
Adam and William de Welles, of Lincolnshire, 1194; and 
Oliver de Vallibus, prior of Pentney Abbey. Adam de 
Welles died, and his brother William thus became the 
founder of that long line of noblemen of Lincolnshire, 
whose history is given in full by Dugdale in his standard 
work on "Baronage of England." 

Among the different branches of the Wells family in 
America are traditions of origin, varied but not contra- 
dictory, nor inconsistent with each other. Thus, the 
descendants of George, afterwards of Southampton, 
Long Island ; Richard, afterwards of Salisbury, Massa- 
chusetts, and William, afterwards of Southold, Long 
Island, known as among the first settlers of Lynn, Mas- 
sachusetts, 1638, claim that there were three brothers 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



125 



who came over together; also those descended from 
Isaac, of Barnstable, Massachusetts ; Edward, of Boston, 
and Thomas, of Ipswich, have the same tradition, as 
have also those of Hugh, of Hartford, contemporary 
with Governor Thomas, and John, his son, 1636-1650; 
while the descendants of Joseph, of Boston, 1636, thence 
into Rhode Island, about 1640, at Wickford, state that 
he was the first immigrant of the family, who fled from 
London to avoid religious persecution and to save his life, 
and that he was soon followed by his seven sons or 
brothers, who may all reasonably be supposed to be 
named above, viz. : Isaac, Edward, Thomas, Richard, 
George, William and Edward, although there is no 
evidence of their consanguinity. It is, however, related 
by Albert Wells, the historian of this family, that the 
account of the family history and ancestry is voluminous 
and very satisfactory being, as the facts above stated, 
of ancient origin (794), and of high rank in Normandy 
and England, with royal intermarriages for over seven 
centuries, when the titles and estates merged into the 
Willoughby and Dymoke families. 

From this English source came over, in 1636, Thomas 
Wells, who was the common ancestor of many of the 
Wells in this country. He was eminent among that band 
of Worthies, who planted in this western world the 
germs of civil and religious freedom. He was not only 
Deputy Governor but also Governor of Connecticut. 
He was elected one of the six magistrates first chosen 
at the organization of the Government at Hartford, 
Connecticut, and annually reelected until his demise, a 
period of more than twenty years. At the time the mag- 
istrates constituted the highest Legislature and Judicial 
Tribunal in the Colony. In 1639, on the full organiza- 
tion of the Colonial Government, he was chosen treas- 
urer of the colony, the first ever elected. Later he was 
chosen secretary of state, and in 1649 he was chosen 
one of the two commissioners to represent Connecticut 
in the confederation of the New England Colonies. 

(I) Hugh Wells, born in the county of Essex, Eng- 
land, came from England, probably in the ship "Globe," 
in 1635. He was of Hartford, Connecticut, in 1636, 
and removed from there to Wethersfield, where he died 
about 1645. He married Frances, surname unknown, 
who survived him, and who married (second) Thomas 
Coleman, of Hatfield. Among their children was 
Thomas, of whom further. 

(II) Thomas Wells, eldest child of Hugh and Fran- 
ces Wells, was born about 1620, and died in 1676. He 
evidently came to America with his father's family, and 
removed from Wethersfield to Hadley in 1659, as one 
of the "Engagers" to settle that town. He married 
Mary Beardsley, who survived him and who married 
(second) Daniel Belding, of Hatfield. Among their 
children was Ebenezer, of whom further. 

(III) Ebenezer Wells, seventh son of Thomas and 
Mary (Beardsley) Wells, was born July 20, 1669, at 
Hatfield. He married (first) Mary Waite, daughter of 
Sergeant Benjamin Waite, of Hatfield. He married 
(second) Sarah Lawrence, daughter of Samuel Smith, 
widow of John Lawrence, who had been killed by the 
Indians at Brookfield in 1694. Among the children were 
Joshua, of whom further. 



(IV) Joshua Wells, third son of Ebenezer and Mary 
(Waite) Wells, was born at Greenfield, Massachusetts, 
and died April i, 1768. He married Elizabeth Smead, 
and among their children was Elisha, of whom further. 

(V) Elisha Wells, son of Joshua and Elizabeth 
(Smead) Wells, was born July 23, 1731, and died Oc- 
tober 5, 1792. He married (first) Abigail Brooks; 
(second) Mabel Matoon; (third) Rhoda Graves. 
Among his children were Amasa, of whom further. 

(VI) Amasa Wells, son of Elisha Wells, was bom 
September 22, 1762, and died June 12, 1816. He mar- 
ried Eunice White, and they had a son, Barnabas, of 
whom further. 

(VII) Barnabas Wells, son of Amasa and Eunice 
(White) Wells, was born May 20, 1793, and died July 
I, 1855. He married (first) Sophia Parsons; (second) 
Lydia Coney; (third) Louisa Wood. Among their 
children was Elisha, of whom further. 

(VIII) Elisha Wells, son of Barnabas Wells, was 
born in 1820, at Hatfield, and died January 3, 1895, at 
Greenfield, Massachusetts. He was a blacksmith and 
cutler, and later in life a drop forger, a man of high 
integrity and great industry. He married, December 20, 
1842, Lucina Lilley, born July 8, 1820, and died August 
5, 1906. She was a woman of much force of character 
who exerted a large influence in the development of the 
intellectual and moral sides of her children. Their 
children are: i. Frederick Elisha, born May 5, 1844, at 
Buckland, Massachusetts; married, April 13, 1875, Fran- 
ces M. Cowles, and they have one son, Fred Ward, born 
February 11, 1881. 2. Cora A., born in 1852, died in 
October, 1899; she married Albert A. Yeaw. 3. Frank 
Orin, of whom further. 

(IX) Frank Orrin Wells, son of Elisha and Lucina 
(Lilley) Wells, was born January 6, 1855, at Shelburne 
Falls, Massachusetts. He was started early in the learn- 
ing of regular habits of work, a faculty that he never 
afterwards lost. He also loved to study books on flower 
culture, hygiene, and shop management, and early became 
interested in all things pertaining to mechanics, nor did 
he forget the book of books. His father became asso- 
ciated early with the tap and die trade at Greenfield, 
Massachusetts, "the home of taps and dies," being one 
of the first salesmen for Wiley & Russell, who later 
manufactured a screw cutting device, a bolt cutter, and 
an improved form of die under the patent of John J. 
Grant. This fact, no doubt, had much to do in the 
shaping of the thought of the son along mechanical lines. 
He received his early education in the public schools and 
at Petersham Academy, and early had practical experi- 
ence with the Wiley & Russell Company, working for a 
dollar a day, formerly being employed in the paper mill 
industry. 

After serving an apprenticeship, when he was twenty- 
one years of age, he left the parent concern of Wiley 
& Russell, and with his brother, Frederick E. Wells, and 
father organized with a capital of about $1,000 the firm 
of Wells Brothers, which soon became a leader in the 
industry. They made an improved form of die which 
soon developed into the present form of the "Little Giant" 
die, its innovation marking a new step in the screw cut- 
ting tool business. In 1879 the business was reorgan- 



126 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



ized under the name of Wells Brothers & Company, and 
soon the "Little Giant" taps, dies and screw plates were 
sold in practically every country on the face of the globe. 
In about 1888 the company was incorporated as Wells 
Brothers Company, and in 1912 Mr. Wells was the dom- 
inant factor in the organization of the Greenfield Tap & 
Die Corporation, a consolidation of Wells Brothers Com- 
pany and the Wiley & Russell Manufacturing Company, 
and of this concern Mr. Wells has since been the presi- 
dent and moving spirit. The corporation embraces half 
a dozen plants at Greenfield, and the Wells Brothers 
Company, of Canada, Ltd., which operates a plant at 
Gait, Ontario. It has offices in New York, Chicago and 
London, and its chief products are the taps known as 
"Little Giant," "Lightning," "Green River," "Smart," 
"Wells," "Hercules," and "O. K." ; also gages, screw 
cutting tools, reamers, pipe tools, and machine tools. 
Gages have been produced for foreign governments as 
well as for the United States for various types of mu- 
nitions, such as shrapnel and high explosive) shells, rifles, 
small arms, etc., and a series of special gac^cs was worked 
out for the United States Government for use during the 
great World War, during which period practically 100 
per cent of the gage production, either direct or indirect, 
was for Government use. The events surrounding the 
inception and growth of this important branch of manu- 
facture at Greenfield forms an interesting chapter in the 
industrial life of the community, and so well known has 
Frank O. Wells become through his work that the 
"American Machinist" said of him in one of its former 
issues : "In Washington he is known as Wells, the gage 
man ; in the American Society of Mechanical Engineers 
as Wells, the screw thread man ; in the New England 
Hotel Men's Association, as Wells, the hotel man (of 
which further), and among agriculturists, as Wells, the 
farmer." 

His hobby is gardening, and in this he finds his chief 
recreation, usually spending his week ends at his large 
farm in the Berkshires, near Worthington, Massachu- 
setts. In 1905 Mr. Wells built the Weldon Hotel in 
Greenfield, which is, perhaps, one of the finest in the 
country, and which is well and favorably known from 
coast to coast. Mr. Wells' public benefactions have 
been many. His activities in the Agricultural Society 
of Franklin County, of which he was president for 
many years, being especially noted. He built the splen- 
did archway at the entrance to the grounds of the society, 
at his own expense, a project that ran into thousands of 
dollars. He has also been especially active in the Cem- 
etery Association, of which he is president; he built the 
lodge for the caretakers, and has been instrumental in 
making the grounds the most beautiful of any in Western 
Massachusetts. He was largely instrumental in opening 
a reading* room for young men ; he aided in opening the 
golf course, and was active in consummating the beauti- 
fying of the hospital grounds of the city. He is public- 
spirited in all matters pertaining to the betterment of 
the community and the nation, and in this' latter relation 
the commandant of the Franklin Arsenal, Philadelphia, 
in a talk to the employees of the Wells Brothers plant 
shortly after America entered the war, said : "Our coun- 
try owes a debt of gratitude to your president, Mr. Wells, 



for the valuable work he has done in awakening this 
Government to the necessity of standardizing drawings 
in the immediate production of gages to make possible 
the rapid manufacture of small arms and ammunition." 
He is a member of the American Society of Mechanical 
Engineers; the Greenfield Club; the Greenfield Cemetery 
Association ; a director in the Greenfield Machine Com- 
pany; the Granite State Mowing Machine Company, of 
Hinsdale, New Hampshire ; president of the Green River 
Cemetery; member of the Hardware Qub of New York, 
and sole owner of the Weldon Hotel in Greenfield. He 
is a Republican in his politics, and in his religious affili- 
ation a member of the Congregational Church. Besides 
his gardening, his diversions are principally walking, 
golf and tennis. 

Mr. Frank Orin Wells married (first), March 10, 
1880, Alice L. Graves, of Whately, Massachusetts. She 
died December 31, 1891. He married (second), July 12, 
1893, Carolyn Dutton, of Randolph, Vermont. By the 
first marriage there was one child, Dorothy Virginia, 
born February i, 1889. She married, September 12, 191 1, 
Joseph Tennyson Seller, born in Prince Edward Island, 
Nova Scotia, July 1, 1879, son of Rev. Joseph and Mar- 
garet (Ward) Seller, and they are the parents of four 
children: Virginia Wells, born September 18, 1912; Jane 
Margaret, born February 11, 1914; Alice Frances, born 
in 1915 ; and Wells Tennyson, born January 9, 1917. 



CHARLES F. CANEDY, M. D.— One of the best 
known and best loved physicians of Franklin County, 
Massachusetts, was Dr. Charles F. Canedy, of Green- 
field, who died there May 5, 1925. Dr. Canedy was of 
Irish extraction. His great-great-grandfather, John 
Canedy, Sr., was born in Ireland and came to America 
about the year 1800, settling in Franklin County, where 
the Canedy family have lived ever since. John Canedy, 
Sr., bought one hundred and sixty acres of new land, the 
greater part of which he cleared, this being at Colerain, 
Franklin County. Here he reared a large family and 
lived to be eighty years old. 

(II) John (2) Canedy, son of John Canedy, was born 
in Colerain and spent the greater part of his life in that 
town. In 1834 he bought one hundred and eighty acres 
of land in Heath, but he died the next year. He had 
married Susan Stowe, who brought up their eight chil- 
dren and lived to be seventy-five. 

(III) Joel Canedy, son of John and Susan (Stowe) 
Colby, was a minor when his father died. He was 
bound out to John Burrington, of Heath, until he 
reached his majority, at which time he came into pos- 
session of his share of the estate. Joel and his wife, 
Louisa, had four children: Francis J., of further men- 
tion ; Winifred S.. Lucy and George M. 

(I\^) Dr. Francis J. Canedy, son of Joel and Louisa 
Canedy, was born in Heath, Massachusetts, July 9, 1846. 
He attended the district school and Shelburne Falls 
Academy. After leaving school he taught for five win- 
ter terms, and, having decided to enter the medical pro- 
fession, became a student in the medical school of the 
University of Michigan at Ann Arbor, graduating there 
in 1870 with the degree of Doctor of Medicine. In May 
of that year he opened an office in Whitingham, Ver- 




(_iP r <iS/ f 




WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



127 



mont, where he practiced for two years, after which 
he went to Greenfield as assistant to Dr. William Sev- 
erance. He later purchased the practice of Dr. C. 
Puffer, at Shelburne Falls, where he has ever since been 
engaged in the practice of his profession. In time he 
purchased the beautiful residence on Bridge Street, 
which he now occupies. Dr. Canedy married, on Au- 
gust 20, 1872, Emma, daughter of Jacob and Caroline 
Chase, of Whitingham, Vermont. Mr. Chase was a 
teacher and later a farmer, dying at the age of seventy- 
two. Dr. and Mrs. Canedy had three children : Grace 
E., Charles F., of further mention; and Ruth B. 

(V) Charles F. Canedy, son of Dr. Francis J. and 
Emma (Chase) Canedy, was born in Shelburne Falls 
in 1877, and received his preliminary education in the 
schools of that town and in Arms Academy. He grad- 
uated from this school in 1892, at the age of fourteen 
and entered Williams College. After completing the 
regular academic course at Williams, he entered Harvard 
Medical School and graduated there in 1900 with the 
degree of Doctor of Medicine. After a year of interne- 
ship in a New Ha->-en hospital. Dr. Canedy set up prac- 
tice in Greenfield, where he soon built up a substantial 
practice. Shortly after his arrival in Greenfield, in 
1901, he was made a member of the staff of the Franklin 
County Hospital and served on this staff up to the time 
of his death in 1925. During the World War Dr. 
Canedy enlisted in the Medical Corps of the United 
States Army, in 1917, and was sent to Siberia, where he 
remained throughout the rest of the war, returning to 
the United States in 1919. He held the rank of cap- 
tain in the army. Dr. Canedy took a keen interest in 
local affairs in Greenfield, was a member of many or- 
ganizations there and known for his fine public spirit 
as well as for his professional skill and winning per- 
sonality. 

He married, in August, 1924, Mildred Apte, daughter 
of Mr. and Mrs. William Apte, of Colerain. Dr. Canedy 
died May 5, 1925 as the result of a severe attack of 
appendicitis, and was buried in Shelburne Falls. At the 
very prime of his career, when but forty-eight years old, 
he was called to the great beyond, and his passing was 
a severe loss to the community. The local newspaper 
on the occasion of his death expressed the prevailing 
sentiment of the community as follows : 

Greenfield and the county will miss the doctor, mi.ss 
him as a man, and mis.s him as a doctor. He had 
just reached the highest point of professional capa- 
bility. He was in the prime of life. He was beloved, 
admired, and respected by all who knew him, and the 
memory of him, all that is left, will remain in the 
hearts and minds of local men and women through 
the years to come. 



CHARLES FERRELL PACKARD— Active in the 
civic, political and club life of his community, Charles 
Ferrell Packard, is also well known in his section as one 
of the live business men who served his business ap- 
prenticeship in this country and abroad. Later, on his 
return, he engaged in financial work, and finally settled 
down to his present line in the insurance field, being to- 
day the owner of one of the oldest established agencies 
in this part of the State. He is a member of a very old 
American family, a number of the past generations hav- 
ing settled in Massachusetts. 



(I) Mr. Packard's great-grandfather was Timothy 
Packard, born in 1778, and died in i860, in Monson, 
Massachusets. He was clerk and treasurer of the 
Springfield and Providence Stage Coach Line. He had 
a son, William M., of whom further. 

(H) William M. Packard, son of Timothy Packard, 
was born in Monson in 1804, and died in Thorndyke in 
1878. His father had deeded to him in 1831, the old 
homestead in Thorndyke. He conducted an old-fashioned 
general country store, located near the Boston Duck 
Mill, and he was also treasurer of the Monson Agri- 
cultural Society. In the possession of the family to-day 
is a letter to William M. Packard from John Quincy 
Adams, dated 1834, while he was Govenor of Massa- 
chusetts, declining an invitation to attend the fair that 
was to be held under the auspices of that society. Wil- 
liam M. Packard married Prudence Ferrell, and their 
children were: i. Rufus A., of whom further. 2. Henry 
K. 3. Minnie K., who married Charles F. Bennett 

(III) Rufus A. Packard, son of William M. and Pru- 
dence (Ferrell) Packard, was born in 1834, in Monson, 
and died December 26, 1895, in Greenfield. He was pay- 
master in Boston Duck Mills, being located in Thorn- 
dyke as early as 1854, while he was still a very young 
man. He was requested to come to Greenfield tem- 
porarily, by Mr. Fuller, who was the president of the 
Franklin County Bank, which he did, remaining but a 
short time. In i860, however, he returned to Green- 
field, where he was made cashier of the Franklin County 
Bank, and it was during his administration, in 1871, that 
the new granite building now occupied by the bank, was 
built, with Mr. Packard in charge of its construction. 
He remained cashier of this bank until 1875. In 1868 he 
started the Greenfield Savings Bank, and was its first 
treasurer. His children have to-day the first bank books 
put out by that institution, numbered i, 2, 3 and 4. In 
187s Mr. Packard started the Packard National Bank, 
of which he was president, and which was active for sev- 
eral years. Subsequently he was a trustee of the sav- 
ings bank, a member of the board of corporators, and 
of the board of investments. He was always active in 
the civic life of his communities, was a Republican in 
politics, and in his fraternal affiliation a member of Re- 
publican Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, of Green- 
field. He also belonged to the Greenfield Qub, and at- 
tended the Unitarian Church. 

Rufus A. Packard married, about 1861, Fannie San- 
ford, of Glens Falls, New York, who was born in 1834, 
and died in November, 1892. They were the parents of 
five children: i. William G., of Washington. D. C, who 
is in the Income Tax Department of the United States 
Government. 2. Mary Sanford, who married Jacques 
Pollack, of New York. 3. Charles F., of whom further. 
4. George, who died in infancy. 5. Henry Davis, who is 
in the insurance business in Greenfield, and resides at 
South Deerfield. 

(IV) Charles Ferrell Packard, son of Rufus A. and 
Fannie (Sanford) Packard, was born January i, 1867, 
in Greenfield, and educated in the public schools of his 
native town. He attended the high school, and on the 
completion of his studies entered the bank in 1883. He 
remained in this position seven years, when he went to 



128 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



London, England, with his uncle, Henry K. Packard, 
who at that time was manager and director of the A. J. 
White Co., Ltd., of London, a large manufacturing con- 
cern, capitalized at $600,000, and which later sold out 
for $5,000,000. In 1893 Mr. Packard returned to Amer- 
ica, and again entered the bank for a short period. The 
following year, in 1894, he went into the insurance busi- 
ness in Greenfield, buying out the old agency of Sam- 
uel Lyons, which was the third agency on the books of 
the ^tna Conipan}'. The first policy issued by this 
agency is more than a hundred years old, and was issued 
in 1819 to Jerome Ripley and Franklyn Ripley, the 
founders of the First National Bank and Franklin Sav- 
ings Institution. Mr. Packard has a large fire and gen- 
eral insurance business. He has been very active in the 
civic life of his community, is a Republican in poHtics, 
and has served as a member of the Republican Town 
Committee. His clubs are the Greenfield and the Coun- 
try clubs. 

Charles Ferrell Packard married, September 26, 1893, 
Maud Crowell, of Cleveland, Ohio, daughter of Win- 
throp M. and Antoinette fSalloway) Crowell, and they 
are the parents of two children: i. Antoinette, who 
married Roy A. Davis, of Concord, and has a son, 
Charles Packard Davis, born May 24, 1922. 2. Winthrop 
Crowell, of whom further. 

(V) Winthrop Crowell Packard, son of Charles Fer- 
rell and Maud (Crowell) Packard, was born June 5, 
1901, in Greenfield, and educated in the public schools 
of this town. During the great World War, he en- 
listed April 19, 1917, in the United States Navy, and was 
stationed at the Commonwealth Pier in Boston harbor; 
later he was stationed at the Atlantic Yacht Qub, in 
Salem, and at Bunker's Island ; and was also placed on 
submarine chasers at Portsmouth, and acted as signal 
man. Subsequently he was made acting quartermaster. 
At the close of the war, after receiving his honorable 
discharge, he returned to civilian life, and to prepare 
himself for a business career, attended the Commercial 
School at Northamptoru He then entered the employ of 
the Franklin County Trust Company, for a time holding 
an office position, but after a short period of this service 
he went to San Domingo, where the Government was 
building one hundred and fifty miles of road, and was 
engaged in the paymaster's office. On his return to the 
United States, he became associated with his father in 
the insurance business. 



CHARLES TISDALE BANGS— As assistant post- 
master of Greenfield, Massachusetts, Charles Tisdale 
Bangs is well known throughout a large district in this 
vicinity, his connection with the postal department hav- 
ing been continuous for a period of over thirty years. 
He comes of a long line of American ancestry, tracing 
back to Edward Bangs, the immigrant ancestor. 

(I) Edward Bangs was born in England about 1592, 
and came to Plymouth, Massachusetts, in the ship "Anne," 
which landed there in July, 1623, being the third of the 
vessels to arrive in Plymouth, having been preceded by 
the "Mayflower" and the "Fortune." There is a tradi- 
tion that Edward Bangs came from Chichester, County 
Sussex, England. The year of his arrival he received 



four acres of land for a garden plot on the other side 
of Eel River, and in 1627, of a division of cows and 
goats and also a division of land, he received a share. 
He was at this time one of the surveyors appointed to 
lay out the lots of land, together with Edward Winslow, 
John Howland, Francis Cook and Joshua Pratt. In 1633 
he was a freeman, and in 1634-35, one of the assessors. 
In October, 1636, he was on a jury "to try actions and 
abuses," and in 1636-37 and 1638, 1640 and 1641 one of 
the great inquest or grand jury. In the latter year he 
was appointed with the Governor and assistants as a 
committee to divide meadow lands. He contributed in 
1642, one-sixteenth part of the money to build a barque 
of forty or fifty tons, to cost £200. As compensation 
the court at Plymouth granted him eighty acres of land, 
and it is said that he superintended the building of this 
vessel. In 1645 he removed to Eastham, the oldest 
town on Cape Cod, and was a freeman there for one 
year. He became town treasurer of Eastham during 
1646-1665, and selectman for about two years. In 1650-52 
he was a deputy to the old Colony Court, and in the 
latter year one of the jurors to lay out a convenient 
way from Sandwich to Plymouth. In 1657 he was 
licensed as a merchant, and it is said that for many 
years he engaged extensively in trade. He had formerly 
been a shipwright. He married (first) Lydia, daughter 
of Robert and Margaret Hicks; her father came from 
Southwark, England, where he was a dealer in hides 
and leather, in 1621, in the "Fortune," and settled at 
Plymouth. At an early date he had one acre of land as- 
signed him, and he was called "merchant." Before 1634 
he settled in Duxbury, and subsequently removed to 
Scituate. He died in Plymouth, and left a will dated 
May 28, 1645. His first wife was Elizabeth, and his 
second Margaret, who survived him. Edward Bangs 

married (second) Rebecca . He died at Eastham 

in 1678. Among his children by the second marriage was 
Captain Jonathan, of whom further. 

(II) Captain Jonathan Bangs, son of Edward and 
Rebecca Bangs, was born at Plymouth in 1640, and 
died at Brewster, November 9, 1728. In early life he lived 
at Eastham, where he was selectman for three years, 
and deputy to the Old Colony Court 1674-76-82-83-87. 
In 1692 he was representative to the General Court. He 
also was for some time treasurer of Eastham, and he 
was captain of a military company. In 1680, on a docu- 
ment relating to the boundaries of certain lands lying at 
Sautuckett, later Harwich, and adjacent places, and 
signed by him and others concerned, he used a crest 
which belonged to the Bankes or Bangs family of Eng- 
land. He married (first), July 16, 1664, Mary, daughter 
of Captain Samuel and Thamasine (Lumkin) Mayo, bap- 
tized at Barnstable, February 3, 1649-50, died at Brew- 
ster, January 26, 171 1. Her father. Captain Samuel, a 
mariner, was born about 1625, settled at Boston in 1658, 
and died in 1663 or 1664. He was the son of the Rev. 
John Mayo, of Boston and Barnstable and lastly of Yar- 
mouth. Jonathan Bangs married (second) Sarah, who 
died in June, 1719, aged seventy-eight. He married 
(third), in 1720, Ruth Yoimg, of Eastham, daughter of 
Daniel Cole, of Eastham. Among the children of the 
first marriage was Captain Samuel, of whom further. 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



129 



(III) Captain Samutl Bangs, son of Captain Jonathan 
and Mary (Mayo) Bangs, was bom July 12, 1680, at 
Harwich, and died there June 11, 1750. He married 
(first), January 13, 1703, Mary, daughter of Samuel and 
Sarah (Pope) Hinckley, born July 22, 1678, died Janu- 
ary 7, 1741, at Harwich. Her father was the son of 
Governor Thomas Hinckley, and his first wife; her 
mother the daughter of John Pope, of Sandwich. He 
married (second), April i, 1742, Widow Mary Rider. 
Among the children by the first marriage was David, 
of whom further. 

(IV) David Bangs, son of Captain Samuel and Mary 
(Hinckley) Bangs, was born at Harwich, Massachusetts, 
March 29, 1709, and went to Hardwick, Massachusetts, 
in 1768. He died in Wilmington, Vermont, April 11, 
1802. He married Eunice Stone, who died February 5, 
1816, at the venerable age of one himdred and four years 
and nine months. Among their children was Nathan, 
of whom further. 

(V) Nathan Bangs, son of David and Etmice (Stone) 
Bangs, was born May 2, 1736, at Hardwick, Massachu- 
setts, and died December 26, 1793, at Montague, Massa- 
chusetts. He married Abigail Wing, and among their 
children was John, of whom further. 

(VI) John Bangs, son of Nathan and Abigail (Wing) 
Bangs, was born June 21, 1764, and died March 13, 1813. 
He served in the War of the Revolution. He married 
Eunice Root, born in 1768, died in 1835. 

(VII) Cephas Bangs, son of Nathan and Eunice 
(Root) Bangs, was bom May 14, 1787, and died in Mon- 
tague, Massachusets, April 15, 1863. He was a farmer, 
and manufactured brick. He married, October 25, 1810, 
Dorothy Cushman, who died January 9, 1862. They 
were the parents of: i. Sylvester Woodbury, born in 
1811, died in 1884. 2. John Cushman, of whom further. 

(VIII) John Cushman Bangs, son of Cephas and 
Dorothy (Cushman) Bangs, was born in Montague, 
Massachusetts, January 15, 1815, and died in Orange, 
Massachusetts, January 13, 1884. In his youth he worked 
in a cooperative store in Montague for $400 a year. 
Later he bought out the store and conducted a country 
store in Montague for several years. The post office was 
in his store, and he was the postmaster. He later came 
to Greenfield, Massachusetts, and carried on a millinery 
business for a time, and some ten years before his death 
he retired from business. He spent his last years in 
Orange, where he died. He was town clerk in Montague 
for many years, and he was a member of the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows of Montague. He married (first), 
March 28, 1844, Jane Rickert, who died October 8, 1849. 
He married (second), September 23, 1850, Eliza Matilda 
Spier, who died April 5, 1909, at the age of eighty-four 
years. By the first marriage there was one child, Dwight 
Clayton, deceased. The children of the second marriage 
were: i. Burton Clifton. 2 Frank W., of whom further. 
3. Clarence Spier, died in childhood. 4. Effie Arabella, 
deceased, married Warren King, of the First National 
Bank of Northampton. 5. John C, Jr., of the North- 
ampton National Bank. 

(IX) Frank William Bangs, son of John Cushman and 
Eliza Matilda (Spier) Bangs, was born in Montague, 
Massachusetts, June 9, 1853. He attended school in his 



native tovm, and later came to Greenfield, when thirteen 
years of age, where he completed his education. On the 
completion of his schooling he found employment with 
T. D. Root & Company in a dry goods store, entering 
this concern at the age of fifteen years. Subsequently 
he worked for W. A. Forbes, and for Forbes & Root, 
and was eventually taken in as a partner with W. A. 
Forbes, and for several years remained with this con- 
cem under the firm name of W. A. Forbes & Company. 
Later he bought out Mr. Forbes and carried on the busi- 
ness alone until 1887, when he sold out and for a time 
travelled on the road. He later went with F. E. Wells & 
Son, manufacturers of taps and dies, and when the 
Greenfield Tap and Die Company was organized, he went 
with them and is still with that company. He is a 
member of Republican Lodge, Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons, of Greenfield, and of the Knights Templar. In his 
religious connection he is a Unitarian. He married, 
February 2, 1874, Elmina L. Tisdale, of Taunton, Mas- 
sachusetts, daughter of Samuel and Elizabeth (Lincoln) 
Tisdale, and granddaughter of Isaac Tisdale, and they 
were the parents of four children: i. Charles T., of 
whom further. 2. Elizabeth Hall, deceased, born April 
19, 1880, married James Whitbeck, and they had two 
children, Elizabeth and Elliot. 3. Ruth Lincoln, born 
August 7, 1883, married Marcus A. Rhodes, of Taunton, 
and they have four children : Louisa, Stephen Holbrook, 
Rowena Lincoln and Marcus Arnold. 4. Rachel, died at 
the age of fourteen months. 

(X) Charles Tisdale Bangs, son of Frank William 
and Elmina L. (Tisdale) Bangs, was born in Greenfield, 
Massachusetts, April 20, 1875, and received his education 
in the public schools of his native town. On the com- 
pletion of his education he found employment in the 
Franklin County Trust Company, where he remained for 
a year and a half. In 1892 he went into the post office 
of Greenfield as mailing clerk, and has remained there 
continuously since, having risen to the position of as- 
sistant postmaster. He is very well known over a large 
area of the surrounding countryside, and is highly 
thought of as a citizen of his community, where he does 
much for the advancement of all movements that are for 
the progress and benefit of the general public. Mr. 
Bangs is a member of the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks, and is active in various ways for the ad- 
vancement of his town. 

Charles Tisdale Bangs married, March 2, 1918, Amy 
W. Strieker, of Greenfield, daughter of Edward Strieker, 
they are the parents of Strieker, Elmina and Spicer. 

FRANCIS NIMS THOMPSON was born in Green- 
field, Massachusetts, August 26, 1872. In 1890 he be- 
came a clerk in the office of his father, who was then 
the register of the Probate Court. In 1893 he became 
assistant register, in 1899 register, and in 1914 judge of 
the Probate Court for the county of Franklin. Judge 
Thompson is a trustee of the Franklin Savings Insti- 
tution, has been a member of the local Kiwanis Qub 
since its organization, and of the (Thamber of Com- 
merce; is an officer of some welfare organizations and 
historical societies, and has written "The Story of God- 
frey Nims of Old Deerfield" and other papers on local 



W.M. — 3-9 



I30 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



history or descriptive of nature. He is a member of the 
Second Congregational Church of Greenfield, clerk of 
the corporation and trustee of its trust funds. His wife, 
Cora Blake Thompson, who died in 1921, was a member 
of that church and of the Episcopal Church. They were 
married in the Episcopal Church at Johnson City Tenn- 
essee, on July 12, 1915. Her father, Edward Blake, was 
a son of Richard Blake, M. D., of Terre Haute, Indiana, 
whose ancestor, Captain Thomas Blake, of "Brillings 
Right," Calvert County, Maryland, came to this county 
prior to 1671 ; and her mother, Ella F., was the daughter 
of Hon. Newell and Jane (Thompson) Snow, of Green- 
field, Massachusetts. Judge Thompson' only child, Mary 
Nims, was born January 26, 1921. His father, Hon. 
Francis M. Thompson, was born in Colerain, Massa- 
chusetts, October 16, 1833; his immigrant ancestors, Jo- 
seph and Janet Thompson coming to America in 1749 
with her parents, Michael and Jane (Henry) McClel- 
lan, and his mother being a descendant of that Henry 
Adams, of Braintree, who arrived in Boston about 1632 
and became the ancestor of the Presidents Adams. In 
boyhood Francis M. Thompson came to Greenfield with 
his parents and his grandfather Adams; and in young 
manhood he went to Cincinnati, where he was employed 
in a banking house, and to the Rocky Mountains as an 
explorer, prospector and trader. About 1865 he was 
in New York City as immigration commissioner for Mon- 
tana, as he had been instrumental in organizing that ter- 
ritory and had designed its great seal. Returning to 
Greenfield, he filled many important offices and became 
judge of the Probate Court and historian of the town. 
His wife, Mary, was the daughter of Hon. Lucius Nims, 
State legislator, county commissioner and town officer, 
a descendant of Godfrey Nims, one of the earliest 
settlers of Deerfield, and of Rev. Thomas Hooker and 
Rev. Roger Newton, of the Connecticut Colony. 



HERBERT ENOCH ROOTE— The Roote family 
of Westfield, Massachusetts, are descended from one of 
the oldest families in New England, the immigrant ances- 
tor, John Roote, a son of John and Mary (Russell) Roote, 
of Badly, Northamptonshire, England, having settled in 
Wethersfield (Glastonbury). His son Thomas was born 
about 1648, at Farmington, removed to Westfield, and 
died August 16, 1709. He was the husband of Mary 
Spencer, probably born Mary 20, 1655, and a daughter 
of Sergeant Thomas Spencer and his wife, Sarah, daugh- 
ter of Nathaniel Bearding. Thomas Roote had a son, 
Timothy, who was born December 3, 1685, at West- 
field, Massachusetts, and removed to Enfield and later, 
about 1713, to Somers. In 1710 he married Sarah Pease. 
A descendant of the Roote family, Enoch Roote, a na- 
tive of Westfield, Massachusetts, married Sarah Utley, 
and died in 1885. They had three children: i. Fred- 
erick J., of whom further. 2. Enoch. 3. Sarah. 

Frederick J. Roote, son of Enoch and Sarah (Utley) 
Roote, was born at Westfield, Massachusetts, December 
37, 1847, and died in Whately, Massachusetts, April 16, 
1897. He was a plumber and tinsmith by trade, which 
in early life he exercised in Westfield. In 1884 he 
came to Whately, Massachusetts, where he followed the 
profession of farming up to the time of his death. He 



married, on May 30, 1869, Mary Elizabeth Graves, born 
at Whately, Massachusetts, in 1849, a daughter of Ran- 
dall and Mary Ann (Thwing) Graves, of Cormecticut, 
born July 20, 1809, died August 31, 1864. They had 
children: Bertha E., born July 3, 1870, and died on 
April 8, 1897. She was the wife of Charles H. Waite. 
They had a son, Howard R., who married Esther War- 
ner, and they have a daughter. Bertha Arlene. 2. Her- 
bert Enoch, of whom further. 3. Arlene Isabelle. 

Herbert Enoch Roote, son of Frederick J. and Mary 
Elizabeth (Graves) Roote, was born at Westfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, on March 26, 1872, attended school, first in 
Westfield, Massachusetts, and later at Deerfield, and in 
addition to the ordinary studies he took a business course 
in Springfield, Massachusetts. After having completed 
his studies he began to work on a farm in Whately, Mas- 
sachusetts, where he continued for nine years. He then 
accepted service in the general store of Mr. Howes & 
Son, in Whately, continuing there for five years. By 
that time he had saved a little capital which enabled him 
to buy out the father and form a partnership with the 
son. The business thereupon changed to the firm name 
of Howes & Roote, and Mr. Roote conducted the busi- 
ness from 1905 to 1 91 2, at which time he bought out the 
son, and since that time has carried on the business alone. 
Mr. Roote has not been entirely engrossed in his own 
business and personal affairs, but is a citizen of wide 
interests, who has always taken an active interest in 
public and town affairs. He has been postmaster of the 
town, and at the present time is town clerk. In politics 
he is a Republican, and in religion a member of the 
Congregational Church. His fraternal and other asso- 
ciations include membership in the Lodge of Perfection 
and the Morning Star Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, 
of Conway ; and he is also a member of the Order of the 
Eastern Star. 

Herbert Enoch Roote married, October 10, 1910, 
Mabel Raftery, at Hopkinton, Massachusetts, daughter 
of Thomas and Harriet (Phipps) Raftery. The family 
home is in Whately, Massachusetts. 

(The Graves Line). 

(I) Thomas Graves, born in England about 1585. 
His wife's name was Sarah. They came to New Eng- 
land before 1645 with their five children : i. Isaac. 2. 
John. 3. Samuel. 4. Nathaniel. 5. Elizabeth. Thomas 
Graves died in Hatfield, Massachusetts, in November, 
1662, his wife, Sarah, died in December, 1666. 

(II) John Graves, son of Thomas and Sarah Graves, 
was born in England in 1621, died September 19, 1677. 
He was killed by Indians while at work on a house for 
his son John. He married (first) Mary Smith, of 
Wethersfield, Massachusetts; and married (second), a 
widow, Mary Pratt, a daughter of John Bronson, of 
Haddam Court, and they had ten children, of whom the 
first five were bom at Wethersfield and the last five at 
Hatfield, Massachusetts. 

(III) Nathaniel Graves, son of John and Mary 
(Bronson-Pratt) Graves was born at Hatfield, in June, 
1671, died in 1757. He was married to Rebecca Meekins, 
and with her had eight children. 

(IV) Deacon Oliver Graves, son of Nathaniel and 
Rebecca (Meekins) Graves, was born at Hatfield, Mas- 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



131 



sachusetts, August 6, 1725, and died August 30, 1810. 
He was a member of the first Provincial Congress, and 
was in the French War in 1757. He was the husband 
of Rebecca Smith, of Hatfield, born May 4, 1732, died 
in 1825, and with her was the father of ten children. 

(V) Oliver, Jr., son of Deacon Oliver and Rebecca 
(Smith) Graves, was born at Whately on February 9, 
1761, died October 10, 1852; married Abigail Graves, 
and with her had nine children. He was a soldier of the 
Revolutionary War. 

(VI) Randall Graves, son of Oliver, Jr., and Abigail 
Graves, was born at Whately, Massachusetts, on July 
18, 1800, and died January 22, 1874. He married Mary 
Ann Thwing. They were the parents of Mary Elizabeth 
who married Frederick J. Roote. 



BAYARD PUTNAM DEXTER— As president and 
treasurer of the Leavitt Machine Company of Orange, 
Massachusetts, Mr. Bayard Putnam Dexter holds one 
of the highest positions in the industrial world of this 
section, and he has risen to this point in his career within 
a period of less than a decade and a half. Coming from 
a long line of American forebears, his lineage is traced 
back to Thomas Dexter, the first ancestor of this line 
of Dexters to arrive in this country, and of whom a pic- 
ture is extant, with that of the Indian chief, Pognanum, of 
"Black Will," selling the land of Nahant to Thomas Dex- 
ter. Of the early life of this ancestor, very little is 
known, but he came to this land either with Mr. Endicott 
in 1629, or with the fleet of Governor Winthrop in 1630, 
bringing with him at least three of his children and sev- 
eral servants. It is presumed that his wife died before 
he sailed from England, as no mention is made of her 
in the early records ; and as the following years after 
his arrival Mr. Dexter had considerable dealings with 
the people of Bristol, England, there is reason to believe 
that he belonged in that neighborhood before coming to 
America. In 1640 he gave a mortgage of his eight-hun- 
dred-acre farm at Lynn, to Humphrey Hooke, Alderman 
of Bristol, England. 

(I) Thomas Dexter, the first ancestor of this line in 
America, had evidently received a good education in Eng- 
land, and wrote a beautiful hand, which at that period 
was a test of scholarship, papers now in existence still 
showing this chirography. He was a man of great 
energy and character, public spirited and ever ready to 
contribute to the support of any enterprise that he thought 
to be of interest to the colony, he was always fearless 
in the expression of his opinions. These were his lead- 
ing traits, but as one writer expressed, it may be ad- 
mitted that "his energy of character bordered on stub- 
bornness and his independence of thought on indiscretion 
and self-will." Be this as it may, it undoubtedly led him 
into many lawsuits of the time, his most outstanding one 
being with the inhabitants of Lynn over the ownership 
of the land that he purchased from the Indian Chief 
Pognanum, mentioned above, paying for the same a suit 
of good clothes, at that time considered a good price for 
land. This land he had fenced in and used for a pas- 
ture for his cows, and it was his title to this that was 
disputed by the other inhabitants in 1657, who, if his 
claim were denied, would share in the division of the 



land. The result was a defeat for him and his heirs, 
although they kept it in court for over thirty-eight years. 
In 1630, while in the prime of life and with ample means, 
he settled on his Lynn farm of eight hundred acres, and 
had many servants. He was called "Farmer Dexter," 
and in 163^ he built a bridge over the Sangus River, and 
stretched a wier across it, and a little later built a mill 
near by. He was greatly interested in starting the iron 
works, which were the first to be built in this section of 
the country, getting the iron from the cape, and he in- 
terested English capital in the enterprise and became the 
general manager. Some years later, however, becom- 
ing convinced that the enterprise could not prove satis- 
factory, he withdrew. In 1637, with nine others, he ob- 
tained from the Plymouth Colony Court a grant of the 
township of Sandwich, and going there he built the first 
grist mill, but did not long remain there, his adventurous 
spirit moving him continually onward, and he lived at 
various times at Lynn, Barnstable and Boston. In 1657 
he took the oath of fidelity, and he was admitted a free- 
man of Plymouth Colony June i, 1658, having forfeited 
that privilege earlier in his career for his many turbulent 
quarrels and vexatious lawsuits. In spite of this tur- 
bulent nature, he was one of the foremost men of his 
time, doing all in his power to promote the interest of the 
infant colony of Lynn, where he built the wier, the mill, 
the bridge, and the great iron works; at Sandwich and 
Barnstable, where he built bridges, mills and roads. In 
his religion he was a member of the Puritan Church, 
but was liberal and tolerant in his views. Thomas Dex- 
ter and Edmund Freeman, who were neighbors in Lynn, 
both were among the grantors of Sandwich, and in the 
fifth generation these two families were united, Samuel 
Dexter, of Hardwick, inarrying Thankful, a descendant 
of Edmund Freeman. Among the children of Thomas 
Dexter was William, of whom further. 

(II) William Dexter, second son of Thomas Dexter, 
was born in England and came to America with his 
father, and was in Barnstable in 1650, living on one of 
the two farms that his father had bought. He took the 
oath in Barnstable in 1657, and removed in 1679 to Roch- 
ester, where he died in 1694. He was one of the party 
of thirty including such men as William Bradford, 
Kenelem Winslow, Thomas Hinckley, and Rev. Samuel 
Arnold, who became the grantees of the town of Roch- 
ester. He married, in July, 1653, Sarah Vincent, and 
they had seven children, all born in Barnstable. When 
he died he owned considerable land both in Barnstable 
and Rochester, which he left to his children; among his 
sons being Benjamin, of whom further. 

(III) Benjamin Dexter, seventh child of William and 
Sarah (Vincent) Dexter, was born February 16, 1670, 
at Barnstable, and removed to Rochester with his father, 
where he died in 1732. He was a farmer and disposed 
of various parcels of land inherited from his father. 
He married Sarah Arnold, daughter of Rev. Samuel 
Arnold, one of the grantees of Rochester, where he was 
the second minister, and granddaughter of Rev. Samuel 
Arnold, the third minister of Marshfield. They were 
the parents of eleven children, among them being Sam- 
uel, of whom further. 

(IV) Samuel Dexter, son of Benjamin and Sarah 



132 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



(Arnold) Dexter, was born in Rochester, Massachusetts, 
December 14, 1708. He spent the early part of his life 
there, but removed later to Hardwick, and for a period 
resided in Athol, returning again to Hardwick, prob- 
ably on account of the troubles with the Indians. He 
was a husbandman and owned considerable property. 
He married, May 18, 1732, Mary Clark, and they were the 
parents of seven children, among them Benjamin, of 
whom further. 

(V) Benjamin Dexter, son of Samuel and Mary 
(Qark) Dexter, was born in Hardwick November 17, 
1747, and remained there until he was eight years of age, 
when he was bound out to his brother Ichabod, of Athol, 
where he remained until he became of age. He re- 
ceived for his services £13 65. 8d. He settled later and 
built his home upon what is now Orange, Massachu- 
setts, being a part of the "Ruggles grant." He mar- 
ried, in 1769, Hannah Stone, of Rutland, Massachusetts, 
and they were the parents of nine children, among them 
Benjamin, of whom further. 

(VI) Benjamin Dexter, only son of Benjamin and 
Hannah (Stone) Dexter, was born November 24, 1775, 
in Athol, in that part afterwards set off to Orange. He 
helped his father in the clearing of a large tract of 
forest land, and his schooling he received in the district 
school when not so occupied. His father was a large 
dealer in real estate, and he also assisted him in this. 
He married four times and had twelve children, the fifth 
one being Moses, of whom further. 

(VII) Moses Dexter, son of Benjamin and his third 
wife, Betsey (Legg) Dexter, was born January 26, 1811, 
in Orange, and died December 22, 1846. He married 
Persis Lord, April 13, 1837, a daughter of Joseph and 
Unity W. (Ruggles) Lord, and they had two children, 
one of whom was Joseph L., of whom further, 

(VIII) Joseph L. Dexter, son of Moses and Persis 
(Lord) Dexter, was born January 7, 1839, in Orange, 
Massachusetts, and spent his early life on the farm at 
home, and also in learning the carpenter's trade of Deacon 
Howe. He removed to Athol about 1864-5, and for over 
thirty years was the leading builder and contractor of 
that town, some of Athol's finest residences being the 
work of his brain and his hand. It was said of him that 
he never erected a poor building. He married, October 
7, 1858, Sarah Jane Wood, and they had four children, 
among them Fred Abbott, of whom further. 

(IX) Fred Abbott Dexter, son of Joseph L. and Sarah 
Jane (Wood) Dexter, was born October 17, 1862, at 
Orange, Massachusetts, in what is known as the Albee 
House, on East Main Street. He passed two years in the 
house where he was born when his parents removed to 
Athol. His education was obtained in the public schools 
of that town, but he left school after completing half 
the high school course, to enter upon a business career, 
being at that time fourteen years of age. He spent three 
and a half years as clerk in an Athol clothing store, when 
he accepted a position as manager of the Orange Cloth- 
ing Company on January i, 1882, being then in his nine- 
teenth year. After managing the store for three years 
he was received into partnership, and since that time 
remained as one of the proprietors as well as manager. 
He was one of the founders, and has always held the 



office of treasurer of the Leavitt Machine Company 
until recently, when the reins of government of the con- 
cern were placed in the hands of his son. In 1892 he and 
his partner opened a store in Athol, and it has become one 
of the principal mercantile establishments of that town. 
He is a director in and vice-president of the Orange 
National Bank, and is a member of the board of trus- 
tees of both the Orange Savings Bank and the Orange 
Cooperative Bank. For ten years he was treasurer of 
the First Universalist Society of Orange, and he held the 
office of secretary of the Orange Board of Trade for 
five years. Fraternally, he is a member of the Free and 
Accepted Masons ; and the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows. 

Fred Abbott Dexter married, February 26, 1884, Flora 
L. Putnam, and they are the parents of one son. Bayard 
Putnam, of whom further. 

(X) Bayard Putnam Dexter, only child of Fred Ab- 
bott and Flora L. (Putnam) Dexter, was born April 14, 
1885, at Orange, Massachusetts. He was educated in the 
local public schools and Phillips-Exeter Academy, being 
graduated from the latter class of 1905. He then en- 
tered Cornell University at Ithaca, New York, being of 
the class of 1909. He received his degree of Mechan- 
ical Engineer, and is a member of the American Society 
of Engineers. In 1910, on the completion of his studies, 
he came with the Leavitt Machine Company, and so 
closely did he identify himself with the workings and 
progress of this concern that he has risen to become its 
president and treasurer. The Leavitt Machine Company 
under its president and manager of to-day is still mov- 
ing forward to a broader development, and it is one of 
the most important of the industrial companies of this 
section. One of its newest products is the Dexter 
machines for reseating valves, which are built to insure 
ease of operation, reliability, efficiency and durability, 
and are the result of thirty years of experience special- 
izing in tools for repairing valves. These machines are 
positive in operation. They true up a worn valve seat 
and its disc exactly alike, making a perfectly tight seat 
for water or steam, the operation itself being a simple 
matter, the job being completed in a few minutes. It 
closes the valve and makes it absolutely tight and as 
good as new, that same valve being capable of being re- 
seated from ten to twenty times, saving the cost of a 
new valve each time. The saving of a few valves pays 
for the machine, and the work of reseating a valve with 
the Dexter machine can be done by an ordinary mechanic 
without disconnecting the valve from the pipe line, stop- 
ping immediately the constant sizzle and drip, which are 
the most annoying and disagreeable conditions where 
valves are used. The Dexter machines are used by or- 
ganizations throughout the United States and Cuba, in- 
cluding public institutions, hospitals, colleges, ice and 
cold storage plants, coal companies, transportation and 
steamship companies, cotton and woolen mills, copper 
mines, paper manufacturers, iron and steel industries, 
lumber companies, sugar manufactories and sugar plan- 
tations of Cuba, electric plants, water works, oil re- 
fineries, pump manufacturing companies, tanneries, ce- 
ment companies, automobile companies, United States 
post office buildings, powder plants and large mercantile 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



133 



houses and others. They also have agencies represent- 
ing the Leavitt Machine Company in England, Canada, 
Denmark, Holland, Italy, Brazil, Argentine and Chili. 
Mr. Dexter, besides his large official duties in this con- 
cern, is an active citizen of his community, and takes an 
interest in all matters that pertain to its general welfare 
and progress ; and he is especially interested in the work- 
ing conditions and the lives of the many employees of 
the huge plant, and they in return render to him an hon- 
ored esteem and fellowship. 



DWIGHT LOOMIS, who for some years was the 
head of the large tobacco industry of Dwight Loomis & 
Company, a wholesale packing business in Springfield, 
Massachusetts, was born in Suffield, Connecticut, March 
29, 1844, and died July 22, 1924, at Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts. The English name appears in the seventeenth 
and eighteenth centuries, and it underwent many changes 
of form, as Lummas, Lommas, or Loomis and Lomys 
which settled on Lomas as the permanent form in Eng- 
land and on Loomis in America, by the nineteenth cen- 
tury. Joseph Loomis, immigrant ancestor of the New 
England family, was one of the settlers of Windsor, 
Connecticut, the line of descent to Dwight Loomis being 
traced as follows : 

(I) Joseph Loomis, son of John and Agnes Loomis, 
was born about 1590, in Braintree, Essex County, Eng- 
land, and arrived in Boston July 17, 1638, aboard the 
ship "Susan and Ellen," from London, England. With 
him came his wife, five sons and three daughters. They 
proceeded to the west side of the Connecticut River with 
the Rev. Ephraim Hewett, who arrived at Windsor Au- 
gust 17, 1639. The territory was in the possession of the 
Massachusetts Bay Colony, and Joseph Loomis received 
a grant of twenty-one acres of land adjoining the Farm- 
ington River. He also bought several large tracts on 
the east side of the river, but he chose the west side as 
a site for the house he built near the mouth of the 
Farmington River, on what was called the Island. His 
children, all born in England, numbered eleven. His 
wife died August 23, 1652. Eight of her children were 
as follows: i. Joseph, born about 1616; married (first) 
Sarah Hill, 1646, and (second) Mary Chancery, 1659, 
and had twelve children, born in Windsor. 2. A daugh- 
ter, who, in 1640, became the wife of Captain Nicholas 
Olmstead, of Hartford. 3. Elizabeth, who married Jo- 
siah Hull, May 20, 1641, and moved to Killingworth. 4. 
Deacon John, born in 1622, married, February 3, 1648-49, 
Elizabeth Scott, and had twelve children ; died in Wind- 
sor, September i, 1688. 5. Thomas, married (first) Han- 
nah Fox, November i, 1653; (second) Mary Judd, Janu- 
ary I, 1662-63. They had eleven children, all born in 
Windsor. 6. Nathaniel, married Elizabeth Moore, 
daughter of John Moore, November 24, 1653. 7. Mary, 
married (first) John Skinner and (second) Owen Tudor. 
8. Samuel, of whom further. 

(II) Lieutenant Samuel Loomis, son of Joseph Loomis, 
was born in Essex County, England, in 1628, and died Oc- 
tober I, 1689. He came to America with his parents, who 
settled at Windsor, but about 1675 he removed from the 
Connecticut River town to Westfield, Massachusetts. 
He was made a freeman in 1654. The General Court in 



1674 appointed him court ensign of the ist Company of 
Westfield, commanded by Major John Pynchon, serving 
against the Indians in 1677. He married, December 27, 
1653, Elizabeth Judd, daughter of Thomas Judd, and 
their children were: Samuel, Elizabeth, Ruth, Sarah, 
Joanna, Benjamin, William, of whom further; Philip and 
Mary. 

(III) William Loomis son of Lieutenant Samuel and 
Elizabeth (Judd) Loomis, was born March 18, 1672, and 
died in 1738 in Westfield. He married, January 13, 1703, 
Martha Morley, born September 7, 1682, daughter of 
Thomas and Martha (Wright) Morley, and their children 
were : Martha, Joshua, Benjamin, Ann, William, James, 
Thankful, Jonathan, Hezekiah and Noah, of whom 
further. 

(IV) Noah Loomis, son of William and Martha 
(Morley) Loomis, was born in Westfield May 12, 1724, 
and died in Southwick, Massachusetts, August 9, 1808. 
He commanded a company of "minute-men" at Lexington, 
April 19, 1775, and enlisted afterwards in Captain Leb- 
beus Bolt's company, Colonel Timothy Danielson's reg- 
iment. He was listed second among the settlers of 
Southwick, and was aften elected selectman. He mar- 
ried, November 5, 1747, Rhoda Clark, daughter of Wil- 
liam and Abigail (Bush) Clark, who died at eighty -one 
years in November, 1806. Their children were : Rhoda, 
Mercy, Tirzah, Noah, Shem, Ham, of whom further; 
Japhet and Esau. 

(V) Ham Loomis, son of Noah and Rhoda (Qark) 
Loomis, was born in Westfield November 28, 1758, 
died August 3, 1827. He married, in 1782, Elizabeth 
Allen who died March 21, 1829. Their children were: 
Ham, of whom further; James, Rowland, Elizabeth, 
Riley Parks, Allen, Fanny, Kimland, Moses, Aaron and 
John Wilkes. 

(VI) Ham Loomis, son of Ham and Elizabeth (Allen) 
Loomis, was born in Southwick, Massachusetts, Decem- 
ber 5. 1782, died March 23, 1825. He married, in 1804, 
Ann Burritt, born in Connecticut in 1784, died in Hart- 
ford, Connecticut, in February 1871, daughter of Isaac 
Burritt. Children : Amaryllis, Amelia Pollyann, Eme- 
line, Burritt, of whom further ; and Caroline. 

(VII) Burritt Loomis, son of Ham and Ann (Burritt) 
Loomis, was born in Southwick, Massachusetts, Decem- 
ber 4, 1 81 6, and died in Suffield, Connecticut, February 12, 
1883. He passed the larger part of his life in Suffield, 
travelling on the road in early life and afterwards buying 
and selling horses. He married, in Chester, Massachu- 
setts, October 7, 1840, Harriett Abbott Henry, born in 
Chester, Massachusetts, April 23, 1815, died in Spring- 
field, January 15, 1889, daughter of William and Betsy 
(Abbott) Henry. Their children were: Dwight, of 
whom further ; William, Henry, John B., Robert Henry 
and Harriett Louise. 

(VIII) Dwight Loomis, son of Burritt and Harriett 
Abbott (Henry) Loomis, received his education in the 
schools of Suffield and the Connecticut Literary Insti- 
tute at Suffield. He went to Thompsonville on the com- 
pletion of his schooling, and was employed for a year 
as bookkeeper by George Barber. From Thompsonville 
he then came to Springfield, Massachusetts, and for a 
short time was employed in the grocery business by 



134 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Erastus Bly, after which he went to Suffield, Connec- 
ticut, and engaged in the meat business for himself, hav- 
ing carts on the road to supply his trade. He sold out 
this business in 1870 and went to Pittsburgh, Pennsyl- 
vania, where he engaged in the tobacco business in as- 
sociation with Albert Austin under the style of Austin 
& Company. Returning to Suffield, Connecticut, he en- 
gaged in the tobacco business for himself, and in 1879 
transferred his activities to Springfield. The partner- 
ship with J. F. Bidwell, which did business as Bidwell 
& Loomis, was formed in November, 1879, and was con- 
tinued until 1901, when the firm was dissolved. Mr. 
Loomis, during this period, operated a woollen mill in 
Mystic, Connecticut. From 1901 to his death he carried 
on a large and successful tobacco business under the style 
of Dwight Loomis & Company. They bought tobacco 
from the farmers of the Connecticut Valley, packed it 
after sorting, and sold the cases to manufacturers. The 
business has been extended to Wisconsin, where large 
purchases of tobacco likewise are made and packed. The 
plant employs many persons and ships wholesale large 
quantities of the weed. Mr. Loomis for three years 
raised tobacco on a fifty-acre farm he owned in Suffield. 
Mr. Loomis married (first), June 13, 1870, Clara M. 
Austin, daughter of Albert and Ann Eliza (Norton) 
Austin. She died July 14, 1870. He married (second), 
December 30, 1874, Helen Marie Austin, bom in Ra- 
venna, Ohio, August s, 1854, sister of Clara M. Austin, 
his first wife. The children of Dwight and Helen Marie 
(Austin) Loomis are : Paul Henry, bom December 5, 1876. 
2. Dan Austin, bom April 6, 1882. 3. Lynn Albert, 
born in Springfield, Massachusetts, May 22, 1884, is as- 
sociated with the Eastman Kodak Company, of Roch- 
ester, New York. He buys all the silver the Eastman 
Kodak Company uses in making films, travelling exten- 
sively to South America and other countries. In the 
World War he had charge of all the gas supplies as 
they came into France, where he had headquarters, di- 
recting a force of about two hundred men. He entered 
the service a lieutenant and was promoted to and dis- 
charged with the rank of major. Mrs. Loomis makes her 
home at No. 727 State Street, Springfield, Massachusetts. 

(The Austin Line). 

(I) Anthony Austin, ancestor of Mrs. Dwight Loomis, 
was born in 1635, and died August 22, 1708, in Suffield, 
Connecticut, where he removed from Rowley, Massa- 
chusetts. He married, October 19, 1664, Esther Huggins, 
who died March 7 1697. 

(H) Nathaniel Austin, son of Anthony and Esther 
(Huggins) Austin, was born December 12, 1670. He 
married, January 7, 1702, Abigail Hovey, who died Janu- 
ary 9, 1767. 

(HI) Thomas Austin, son of Nathaniel and Abigail 
(Hovey) Austin, was born September 21, 1705. He mar- 
ried, December 19, 1737, Hannah Hale, and they had a 
son Thomas, of whom further. 

(IV) Thomas Austin, son of Thomas and Hannah 
(Hale) Austin, was born August 29, 1738, and died Au- 
gust 28, 1816. He married Lucy Rising, and their chil- 
dren were : Lucy, Thomas, Moses, of whom further ; Joel, 
Aaron and Phoebe. 



(V) Moses Austin, son of Thomas and Lucy (Rising) 
Austin, was born in 1774, and died January 7, 1828. He 
married, January 12, 1796, Caroline Smith, who died 
July 25, 1844. Children: Almira, Moses Seymour, Na- 
thaniel, Thomas Homer, Samuel, Albert, of whom fur- 
ther ; and Caroline. 

(VI) Albert Austin, son of Moses and Caroline 
(Smith) Austin, was born in Suffield, Connecticut, in 
181 1, and died in 1895, in Suffield, Connecticut. He mar- 
ried Ann Eliza Norton, born in Ohio, 1820, died in Suf- 
field, Connecticut, 1904. Children: i. Fannie, married 
Webster E. Burbank, now deceased, of Suffield, Connec- 
ticut. 2. Clara M., married Dwight Loomis, and died 
July 14, 1870. 3. Albert, died in childhood. 4. Helen 
Marie, married Dwight Loomis. 5. Leverett Norton, 
born 1856, died 1900. 7. Polly Curtis, married Amos 
Burton Crane, and died in 1909. 



WILLIAM DELANO RUSSELL— The long pe- 
riod of fifty years in the business of paper manufac- 
turing, in company with various leading concerns, and 
occupying all positions of industry and official trust 
therein, secured for Mr. Russell, who is now retired 
from active business, an experience that has given him 
the distinction of having shared intimately and prac- 
tically with the history of the paper-making enterprise 
of the country during that period. As executive officer 
of two of the oldest and most substantial concerns in the 
industry, and for ai quarter of a century associated with 
one of them to the close of its own history and its merg- 
ing into the activities of the International Paper Com- 
pany, he shared in the direction of the affairs of both 
through their various eras of growth and prosperity, 
and gave to both and to the public the valued benefits of 
his prudent and far-sighted methods. Residing in Green- 
field, he is interested in its institutions and its general 
advancement in civic, social and business matters, and 
he is a member of a number of organizations here and 
in this section of the State, while he is also affiliated 
with New York City institutions, as his business head- 
quarters were there for years. The members of his fam- 
ily have been associated with all the eras and changes 
in American life from the days of the "first-comers," 
for they were of that stock who helped in the founding 
of towns in the wilderness, fought the battles of the 
Revolutionary War, and worked generally in the upbuild- 
ing of the country and shared in making its progress se- 
cure. Mr. Russell's line of descent has been traced from 
the first immigrant ancestor thus : 

(I) John Russell, who was born in England, was in 
Cambridge, Massachusetts, in 1635, whence he removed 
to Wether sfield, Connecticut, in 1648, and to Hadley, 
Massachusetts, in 1659. His first wife, Sarah Fellows, 
was the mother of his children, John Russell and Philip 
Russell, of whom further. He married for his second 
wife Dorothy, widow of Henry Smith, of Wethersfield, 
Connecticut, who died in 1694. He died May 8, 1680, 
aged eighty-five years. 

(II) Philip Russell was a glazier, as his father had 
been. Settling in Hatfield, Massachusetts, he married 
(first), February 4, 1664, Joanna, daughter of Rev. 
Henry Smith, and she died December 29, 1664. He mar- 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



135 



ried (second), January 10, 1666, Elizabeth Terry, of 
Hartford, Connecticut, a daughter of Stephen Terry ; she 
was killed by the Indians, September 19, 1675. He mar- 
ried (third), December 25, 1679, Mary, daughter of Ed- 
ward and Mary Church. Their children : Joanna, John, 
Samuel, Philip, Stephen, Samuel, Thomas, Mary, Philip 
and Daniel, of whom further. 

(HI) Daniel Russell was one of the first settlers in 
Sunderland, Massachusetts. He died June 28, 1737. He 
married, November 28, 1713, Jerusha Dickenson, daugh- 
ter of John and Sarah Dickenson, who was born March 
20, 1693. She married (second) Simon Cooley. Daniel's 
children : Jonathan, Mary, Daniel, Jerusha, Sarah, Mary, 
Philip, Sarah (2) and Martha. 

(IV) Jonathan Russell, born in 1714, died April 8, 
1777, married, November 10, 1743, Mary Smith, daughter 
of Nathaniel Smith. She died February 28, 1816. Their 
children : Daniel, Jonathan, Martha, Mary, Philip, of 
whom further ; Israel, Samuel, John, Spencer and Persis. 

(V) Philip Russell, was born in 1752, and died April 
II, 1821. He was a soldier in the War of the Revo- 
lution. He married Miriam Hubbard, daughter of David 
Hubbard ; she died September 23, 1833. Their children : 
Achsah, Moses, Justin, of whom further ; Alvan, Orra, 
Neri, Hiram and Alma. 

(VI) Justin Russell was born in Sunderland, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1785, and died January 9, i860. He was a 
farmer. He married, in 1809, Sarah Wiley, daughter of 
Ebenezer Wiley. She died May 5, 1874. Their children : 
William Wiley, of whom further; Joseph Warren, Rufus, 
Mary Smith, Sarah Wiley, Ebenezer, Thomas Edwards, 
John Wiley and Catherine Elizabeth. 

(VII) William Wiley Russell was born in Sunderland, 
Massachusetts, December 26, 1809, and died November 
18, 1891, at Turner's Falls, Massachusetts. His occupa- 
tion was that of farmer. He represented his town in 
the State Legislature in 1859 and 1881, was especially 
familiar with State laws, and was a man of exceptional 
ability. He held many town offices, and acted as a coun- 
try lawyer in the settlement of estates, etc. He married, 
June 12, 1833, Lucretia Hubbard Delano, born January 
5, 1811 ; died February 13, 1890, a daughter of William 
and Lucretia (Hubbard) Delano. William Delano was 
a magistrate, and was the first postmaster of the tovm 
of Sunderland. He was a descendant of Philip De la 
Noye, a French Huguenot, who came to Plymouth, Mas- 
sachusetts, in 1 62 1, and the line comes down through 
Philip, his son ; Thomas, Benoni, Baruch, Lemuel Wil- 
liam and Lucretia H., who married William Wiley Rus- 
sell. Their children : Edward William, two who died 
in infancy, Edgar Francis and William Delano, of whom 
further. 

(VIII) William Delano Russell was bom in Sunder- 
land, Massachusetts, December 28, 1851, and after at- 
tending the local schools, he graduated at the Massachu- 
setts Agricultural College with the class of 1871. In 
April, 1872, he went to Turners Falls, in the employ 
of the Montague Paper Company. He began in the ca- 
pacity of clerk, and held all the positions, shipping clerk, 
bookkeeper, and in 1885, he was made vice-president, 
treasurer and general manager of this company, which 
offices he held to 1897, a period of twenty -five years that 



he was with the company. In 1897 the business was sold 
out to the International Paper Company, at which time 
Mr. Russell went to New York as general auditor of the 
company at that office. He held that position to 1901, 
when he became associated with Bulkley Dunton & 
Company, of New York City, the oldest paper merchants 
in that city. He remained with that company to 1910, 
and on that date he returned to the International Paper 
Company as vice-president of the concern. He con- 
tinued in that office until 1921, when, upon his resigna- 
tion, he retired from active life. He built a residence at 
Greenfield, Massachusetts, in 1914. There he spends his 
summers, while his winters are passed in New York 
City. 

Mr. Russell is a member of the board of directors of 
many institutions, and he is a member of the Lotos Club 
and The City Midday Club in New York City. He is 
a member of Mechanics' Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons, at Turners Falls, Massachusetts, and of the 
Greenfield Club, and the Country Qub. 

William Delano Russell married, in 1882, Kate Maria 
Shumway, of Webster, Massachusetts, a daughter of 
William Towne and Jane E. (Keith) Shumway, and they 
have a daughter, Janet Lucretia. 



HARRY D. SISSON— Dean of the automobile men 
of Western Massachusetts, and perhaps of all New Eng- 
land, a descendant from two of the oldest families of 
that region, Harry D. Sisson is president and treasurer 
of the Sisson Buick Company of Pittsfield, and has had 
a successful business career covering forty years. In 
association with his sons, he carries on a large business 
in Berkshire County and the surrounding territory; in 
fact, the Sisson Company is, perhaps, the dominating 
factor in the automobile business for their particular 
class of cars in Western Massachusetts. In the Masonic 
fraternity Mr. Sisson has been highly honored with elec- 
tion to high office, and he is a Past Grand Patron for the 
State of Massachusetts of the Order of Eastern Star, as 
well as having held the Worshipful Master's chair, the 
highest office within the gift of his local lodge of Free 
and Accepted Masons. 

Harry D. Sisson is the son of Henry D. and Emily 
(Spaulding) Sisson, and was born in Stockbridge January 
9, 1863. His father was a Civil War veteran, and was 
at the front when the birth of his son Harry took place. 
The family history is ancient and honorable in New 
England. On the son Harry's maternal side he has his 
ancestors among several of the old families of this part 
of the country, among them being Elias Howe, inventor 
of the sewing machine. Mr. Sisson attended the public 
schools of New Marlboro, and at an early age his school 
days ended and he began to earn his own living. At the 
age of nineteen years in 1882, he came to Pittsfield and 
engaged in different lines of employment for more than 
twenty years. His first business enterprise was a box 
factory. In 1889 he bought practically on credit and with 
very little money of his own a box factory already estab- 
lished, soon after he formed a partnership with Charles 
H. Robinson, now deceased, under the firm name of 
Sisson & Robinson, which became prosperous and lasted 
till 1905, when it was sold. During this time Mr. Sis- 



136 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



son designed most, or all, of the fancy stationery boxes 
used by the Eaton, Crane & Pipe Company. They em- 
ployed two hundred and fifty hands at busy seasons. In 
1905 he began business as a dealer in automobiles. Three 
years later, 1908, he became president of the old Central 
Garage on West Street, Pittsfield, on which site he 
afterward erected a large garage. In 191 1 he organ- 
ized the Sisson Company, of which he became president 
and treasurer. In August, 1923 the Sisson-Buick Com- 
pany was established for the purpose of handling Buick 
automobiles only. Mr. Sisson is the active head and the 
financial man of the new company. Although his con- 
cern now sells Buick cars only. Mr. Sisson has the 
pleasure of knowing that during all his career in the auto- 
mobile business he has dealt in cars of superior make, 
and can point to hundreds of satisfied owners and drivers 
whose automobiles were purchased through his sales 
offices. 

In public life Mr. Sisson has been correspondingly 
active and influential. He was elected tax collector for 
three successive terms, 1891-92-93, and was the second 
tax' collector that Pittsfield had. In 1896 he was elected 
assessor of Pittsfield and served as such throughout four 
terms. In 1903 he was elected Mayor of Pittsfield, and 
while serving in this highest civic office he was instru- 
mental in having the first street paving done) in the city, 
on North Street, from Tyler Street to the Union Sta- 
tion. So well and ably did he discharge the duties de- 
volving upon the office of Mayor that he was reelected 
for a second term in 1904. 

Mr. Sisson enjoys a remarkable range of membership 
in business, fraternal and social organizations. He is a 
member of the Pittsfield Chamber of Commerce, a char- 
ter member of the General William F. Bartlett Camp, 
Sons of Veterans, whose first commander he was, and 
he is a Past Division Commander for Massachusetts 
and Past Commander-in-Chief of the National Sons of 
Veterans. When he joined the Masonic fraternity he 
first became a member of Crescent Lodge, and afterward 
he became a charter member and was installed as the first 
Worshipful Master of Pittsfield Lodge. He is also 
affiliated with all the York and Scottish Rite bodies, 
including the Consistory (thirty-second degree). He 
is a charter member of Collina Chapter, Order of 
Eastern Star, and in this order he has held all the offices 
for men in the State organization, being a Past Grand 
Patron of Alassachusetts. Mrs. Sisson is the present 
Grand Chaplain of the State organization of the Eastern 
Star. 

Mr. Sisson married Elizabeth C. Wells, and to them 
have been born four sons : i. Walter W., educated in 
Pittsfield Grammar and high schools, died August 28, 
1923, was associated with his father in the automobile 
business, married Jessica Dellert, and they were the par- 
ents of two sons, Walter and John. 2. Irving D., edu- 
cated in the Pittsfield schools, associated in business 
with father, veteran of the World War air service, mar- 
ried Dorothy Lake, a trained nurse. 3. William H., edu- 
cated in the Pittsfield schools, now with R. G. Dun & 
Co., in their Boston branch office, overseas veteran of 
the World War, married Norma McMillan. 4. Harry D. 
Sisson, Jr., educated in the Pittsfield schools and is as- 
sociated with his father in the automobile business. 



FREDERICK COFFIN PEACH— An outstanding 
figure in the present day activities in Berkshire County 
is Frederick Coffin Peach, who is prominent as a leader 
in financial circles and represents the internationally 
famous firm of Kidder, Peabody & Company in this dis- 
trict. Mr. Peach is a man of definite and tested ability, 
and in his steady rise to his present prominence he has 
won countless friends. 

The Peach family is an old one in the State of Massa/- 
chusetts, having been represented in this colony as early 
as 1649. John Peach, who was born in 1612, settled in 
Marblehead in 1648, where he died in 1679. In direct 
descent of the pioneer line. General Benjamin F. Peach, 
Mr. Peach's father, was a noted figure in military aflfairs 
of the State of Massachusetts for many years. In the 
Civil War he served in every service of the 8th Massa- 
chusetts Infantry through the grades of first sergeant, 
first lieutenant, adjutant and colonel. After the war he 
was active in the Massachusetts National Guard as 
colonel of the 8th Infantry and as brigadier-general of 
the 2d Brigade, retiring in 1897 with the rank of major- 
general. Mr. Peach's mother was Lucy Adelaide (Cof- 
fin) Peach, the only daughter of Colonel Frederick J. 
Coffin, of Newburyport, Massachusetts, who was also 
a commander of the 8th Massachusetts Infantry in Civil 
War service. 

Frederick Coffin Peach was born in Lynn, Massachu- 
setts, October 17, 1880. His education was begun in 
the public schools of his birthplace, and he was gradu- 
ated from the Lynn Classical High School in the class 
of 1899. His first business affiliation was with the present 
business concern of Kidder, Peabody & Company, lead- 
ing bankers of Boston and New York. He was with 
this firm as a clerk in their Boston office until the year 
191 5, then coming to Pittsfield and establishing his own 
business, but continuing his affiliation with Kidder, Pea- 
body & Company as their correspondent in Western 
Massachusetts. He has won the unqualified respect of 
all who are familiar with his activities, and is widely 
recognized as a man of lofty integrity and sound judg- 
ment. He is a director of the Berkshire Morris Plan 
Company, and the Pittsfield Industrial Development 
Company ; he is vice-president of the Pittsfield Anti- 
Tuberculosis Association, and is affiliated with various 
patriotic and civic organizations, including the Military 
Order of the Loyal Legion of the United States, Sons of 
the American Revolution, the Country Club, the Park 
Club, and the Chamber of Commerce. He is a member 
of the Rotary Club, serving as its president in 1923. Mr. 
Peach attends the Unity (Unitarian) Church, and he has 
been president of this parish since 1919. 

Frederick Coffin Peach married (first) Dora Holman, 
of Winchester, Massachusetts, in 1909, who died in 
1919, leaving two children: Sally, born in 191 1, and 
Louise, born in 1913, and both of whom attend Miss 
Mills private school. Mr. Peach married (second), in- 
1921, Mrs. Mary (Gimlich)^ Humphrey, daughter of the 
late Jacob Gimlich, a member of an old and respected 
Pittsfield family. Mr. and Mrs. Peach are the parents 
of one son: Frederick B., born in 1923. Mrs. Peach has 
one child by her former marriage, Ernestine Louise 
Humphrey, born in 1907. 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



^37 



CLIFTON LAMSON FIELD, president of one of 
the most important manufacturing establishments of this 
section, and active in the financial, educational, fraternal 
and civic life of the community, comes of an ancient line- 
age, the name being traced back in the family to the time of 
William of Normandy, the Conqueror. There are prob- 
ably not a dozen families in England who can prove so 
great an antiquity, Mr. Field himself being in the eight- 
eenth generation in direct lineal descent from the first 
of the name of whom we have record in England, who 
was a descendant from the Norman forebear. The name 
is one of those derived from locality, Burke stating that 
this family was originally in Alsace, then part of the 
French territory, seated at the Chateau de la Feld, 
meaning "of the field," near* Colmar, from the middle of 
the dark ages. Hubertus de la Feld was the first of the 
line that emigrated to England, and in 1069 was enrolled 
as the owner of lands by gift of the Conqueror, as com- 
pensation for military service, in the county of Lan- 
caster. He was one of the Counts de la Feld of Col- 
mar. In the fourteenth century, because of the wars 
with France, the French prefixes were dropped, and the 
name thereafter was written Field. 

(i) Roger del Feld, born in Sowerby, England, about 
1240, was a descendant of Sir Hubertus, and head of 
the family, which settled in Lancashire and Kent counties. 

(II) Thomas, son of Roger, was bom about 1278, in 
Sowerby, and was a jeweler there in 1307. 

(III) John, son of Thomas, was born in 1300, in 
Sowerby, and had land there in 1336. 

(IV) Thomas Feld, son of John, was bom in 1330, 
in Sowerby, and was constable there in 1365, and greave 
in 1370, and also filled other public offices. He mar- 
ried Annabelle. 

(V) Thomas Feld, son of Thomas and Annabelle Feld, 
was born in 1360, and willed lands to his wife, Isabel, in 
the territory of Bradford. He died in 1429, at his resi- 
dence in Bradford. 

(VI) William Feld, son of Thomas and Isabel Feld, 
was born, probably, in Bradford, and died in April, 
1480, at Bradford. His wife, Katherine, was administra- 
trix of his estate. 

(VII) William Feld, son of William and Katherine 
Feld, was born in Bradford and lived in East Ardsley. 

(VIII) Richard Felde, son of William Feld, was 
bom, probably, in East Ardsley, where is was a hus- 
bandman, and died in December, 1542. His wife, Eliza- 
beth, was one of his executors. 

(IX) John Field, son of Richard and Elizabeth Felde, 
was born about 1535, at East Ardsley, and married, in 
1560, Jane Amyas, daughter of John. She died August 
30, 1609, and he died in May, 1587. He was an eminent 
astronomer, and introduced to England, in 1557, the 
Copernican system, against the opposition of the scien- 
tists of his day, and in recognition of this service to 
science and astronomy, a sphere was later added to and 
surmounted the family coat-of-arms. 

(X) John Field, son of John and Jane Field, was born 
about 1568, in Ardsley, and moved away before attain- 
ing his majority. Record of his death has not been 
found. 

(XI) Zachariah Field, grandson of John Field, the 



astronomer, and American ancestor of the Field family, 
was born in 1596, at East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England. 
The Field family has usually taken the liberal side of re- 
ligious and political questions, and in that early day, on 
account of the persecution of the dissenters, Zachariah 
Field left England in 1629, and landed in Boston, settling 
at Dorchester. In 1636 he was one of the Rev. Thomas 
Hooker's congregation, which settled at Hartford, Con- 
necticut. With the more liberal members of that church 
he removed to Northampton, in 1659. He was engaged 
in mercantile business, and had a large trade with the 
Indians. He was one of the original twenty-five pro- 
prietors of Hatfield, and was a member of the commit- 
tee which laid out the lands. He received a grant of 
land there in 1661, and resided there until his death, June 
30, 1666. He married, about 1641, Mary, who died about 
1670. Their children were: Mary, Zachariah, John, 
Samuel and Joseph, of whom further. 

(XII) Captain Joseph Field, youngest son of Zach- 
ariah and Mary Field, was born about 1658 at Hartford, 
Connecticut. He went to Hatfield, Massachusetts, with 
his father in 1663, and was one of the forty signers to 
an agreement made April 13, 1714, to settle the town of 
Swampfield, now Sunderland. In 1720 he removed to 
Northfield; in the spring of 1726 he sold out and re- 
moved to Northampton, but the same year he returned 
again to Sunderland, in which place he died, February 
15. 1736. In the town records of the latter place he is 
called Sergeant Joseph Field. Captain Field married 
(first), June 28, 1683, Joanna, daughter of John and 
Mary (Bronson) Wyatt, of Sunderland, born in 1663, 
died March 23, 1722. He married (second), January 2, 
1723, Mary, daughter of Thomas and Mary (Beardsley) 
Wells, widow of Stephen Belding, of Hatfield, born Sep- 
tember 8, 1664, died March 15, 1751, at Northfield. He 
had eleven children, all by the first marriage, the third 
child and first son being Joseph, of whom further. 

(XIII) Deacon Joseph Field, son of Captain Joseph 
and Joanna (Wyatt) Field, was born June 9, 1689, 
at Hatfield, and died February 4, 1754, at Sunderland, 
to which place he had removed in 1714, when that place 
was settled for a second time, in 1715, taking his father's 
allotment No. 12, on the east side of the street, and 
occupying this residence until his death. He married, 
September 13, 1716, Mary, daughter of Joseph and Can- 
ada (Wait) Smith, born September 24, 1697, died March 
9, 1767. Among their ten children was Joseph, the fourth 
child and second son, of whom further. 

(XIV) Joseph Field, son of Deacon Joseph and Mary 
(Smith) Field, was born in Sunderland December 8, 
1723, and died October 6, 1798. He married Ruth Par- 
l>er, and they became the parents of eleven children, 
among them (Taptain Elijah, of whom further. 

(XV) Captain Elijah Field, son of Joseph and Ruth 
(Parker) Field, was born in Sunderland February 21, 
1754, and died February 4, 1822. He removed to Hawley 
in 1785. He was a soldier in the War of the Revolution. 
He married, September i, 1783, Nyphemia Coley, at 
Sunderland, born in 1756, died in 1833. They were the 
parents of six children, among them Theodore, of whom 
further. 

(XVI) Theodore Field, son of Captain Elijah and 



138 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Nyphemia (Coley) Field, was born September 22, 1788, 
and died April 6, 1865. He lived in Hawley and mar- 
ried, in 1814, Deborah Tobey, born in 1787, died in 1854. 
They were the parents of eight children, among them 
Samuel Tobey, of whom further. 

(XVII) Hon. Samuel Tobey Field, son of Theodore 
and Deborah (Tobey) Field, was born in Hawley, April 
20, 1820, and died in Shelburne Falls in September, 1901. 
He was a graduate of Williams College, class of 1848, 
and of the New Haven Law School, class of 1852. He 
was Representative to the Legislature in 1855 and again 
in 1869, and was district attorney in 1875, 1876 and 
1877, the famous trial of the robbers of the Northamp- 
ton Bank occurring while he was district attorney. 

Hon. Samuel Tobey Field married (first), in Shel- 
burne Falls, November 20, 1856, Sarah Howe Lamson, 
daughter of Nathaniel and Sarah (Howe) Lamson, who 
was born February 23, 1832, and died February 5, 1871. 
He married (second), in 1873, Susan E. Loomis, widow 
of Rev. Wilbur Loomis. The children, all of the first 
marriage, were: Clifton Lamson, of whom further; 
William D., May Gertrude, Frank Smith, Nathaniel 
Lamson, see following sketch; and Samuel Albert. 

(XVIII) Qifford Lamson Field, son of the Hon. Sam- 
uel Tobey and Sarah Howe (Lamson) Field, was born 
February 8, 1858, at Shelburne Falls. He was educated 
in the public schools of his native town, and then at- 
tended Williston Seminary at Easthampton, being grad- 
uated from the classical department in 1876. He then 
attended Amherst College, graduating there in 1880. 
On the completion of his studies he went to New York 
City and entered the cutlery plant of Lamson & 
Goodnow Cutlery Company, where he remained for 
two years, studying the business thoroughly, then 
went to the University of Michigan Law School in 
1882. He studied law with his father also, and was 
admitted to the bar in March, 1885. From 1885 to i8g6 
he was actively engaged in the manufacturing of cotton 
cloth and yarns, with his brother, in the Massaemet 
Yarn Mills at Colerain, and he is to-day (1924) treas- 
urer of this company, holding his connection in spite 
of his other occupations. He is also president of the 
Lamson & Goodnow Cutlery Company, at Shel- 
burne Falls, the plant having been founded in 1837, and 
incorporated in 1855, the son of the founder being Presi- 
dent Goodenow, of Johns Hopkins College. In January, 
1897, Mr. Field became county clerk of Franklin 
County, which office he held until July, 1920. He is a 
director of the First National Bank of Greenfield; 
trustee in the Greenfield Savings Bank; chairman of 
trustees of the Public Library and special judge of 
probate of Franklin County. He is active in the civic 
educational and fraternal life of the community, and is a 
member of Mountain Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, 
of Shelburne Falls; of his college fraternity, Psi Epsi- 
lon, and is a member of the Greenfield Club and Country 
Club. He was a delegate at the Chicago National Re- 
publican Convention, June, 1904, from the First Con- 
gressional District, Massachusetts. In his religious con- 
nection he is a member of the Unitarian Church and is 
a trustee of its funds. 

Clifton Lamson Field married, September il, 1889, 
Isabella Clapp Bardwell, of Shelburne Falls, daughter 



of Samuel D. and Louise (Clapp) Bardwell, and they 
are the parents of two children: i. Louise Bardwell, 
born June 24, 1891; married Dr. Lewis W. Allen, of 
Greenfield; they are the parents of one child, David 
Field Allen, born January 27, 1924. 2, Isabelle Sarah, 
born July i, 1897; married, November 28, 1921, Follard 
F. Gilmore, of Boston; they are the parents of one child, 
Isabelle, born January 10, 1923. 



EDGAR ROYLANCE FIELD, university gradu- 
ate, mining engineer and veteran of the great World 
War, after a wide and varied experience accepted the 
position of treasurer in the Lamson & Goodnow Cutlery 
Company, and in this position, which he holds to-day 
(1924), he occupies an important office in the industrial 
life of Shelburne Falls. He is also connected with 
financial and other organizations in an official capacity, 
and takes an active interest in civic, fraternal and club 
life of the community. He is a descendant of jm old 
American and English family, the name being traced 
in the family lineage back to the time of William the 
Conqueror, Mr. Field being in the nineteenth genera- 
tion from Roger del Feld, bom in Sowerby, England, 
about 1240. 

Nathaniel Lamson Field, fifth child of the Hon. 
Samuel Tobey and Sarah Howe (Lamson) Field 
(see preceding sketch), was born in 1868, in Shelburne 
Falls, and received his education in the public schools 
of the town and at Arms Academy. At the close of his 
school attendance he obtained employment in the local 
bank, remaining there for several years, and becoming 
bank teller. From this position he went to Bangor, 
Maine, where he worked for a year and a half in a bank, 
his next move being to Bridgeport, Alabama, where he 
also was employed in a bank. He then removed to Rud- 
yard, Michigan, where he entered commercial life, nm- 
ning a general store, and so successful was he in this 
endeavor that he remained there, building up a fine busi- 
ness, in which he has put so much of thought and energy, 
that it has expanded to splendid proportions. He is also 
active in the financial and civic and political life of his 
section, being director in the Citizens' Bank of Rudyard, 
and Sault Ste. Marie Savings Bank; on the Board of 
Supervisors from 1906 to 1911, inclusive, and having 
served as Representative to the State Legislature, two 
terms, a total of four years. Mr. Field is a? member of 
Sauit Ste. Marie Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons ; 
and of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. In his 
religious connection he is a member of the Presbyterian 
Church. 

Nathaniel Lamson Field married, April 23, 1894, at 
Bridgeport, Alabama, Isabelle Roylance, daughter of Ed- 
ward William Roylance. Mr, and Mrs. Field are the 
parents of Edgar R., of whom further; Mabel Lamson, 
Ada Marguerite, Nathaniel L., Jr., and Francis. 

Edgar Roylance Field was born at Rudyard, Michi- 
gan, April 2, 1895, son of Nathaniel L. and Isa- 
belle (Roylance) Field. He attended the public schools 
of his native town and Arms Academy, of Shelburne 
Falls, which his father had attended before him, and 
then went to Michigan College of Mines, in Houghton, 
Michigan, graduating in 1916, with the degrees of Bach- 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



139 



elor of Science and Mining Engineer. On the comple- 
tion of his collegiate work he located at Mineville, 
New York, as chief mining engineer in the mining of iron 
ore, remaining there from May, 1916, to April, 1918, 
when he enlisted in the service of the United States in 
the great World War. He was ordered to Madison 
Barracks, Sacket Harbor, New York, where he re- 
mained for six weeks; he then went to Rochester, New 
York, and was at the Ithaca Attending Ground School 
for three weeks; then to Newport News, from where he 
went overseas October 6, 1918. He was in Brest and St. 
Nazaire, and served until July 29, 1919, when he re- 
ceived his honorable discharge. He held the rank of 
second lieutenant of the Quartermasters' Department. 
On his return to civilian life he resumed mining in New 
York State for a short period, and in December, 1919, 
he came to Shelburne Falls, as treasurer of the Lamson 
& Goodnow Cutlery Company, in which office he has 
remained ever since (1924). He is a director in the 
Shelburne Falls National Bank; and fraternally, is a 
member of Mountain Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons; and Alethian Lodge, Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows; also Alethian Encampment, and Bethany 
Lodge, Orientals. His church affiliation is as a member 
of the Presbyterian Church. Mr. Field is prominent in 
all activities that tend to the progress and welfare of the 
community life, and has well earned the high regard and 
esteem in which he is held by his fellows. 

Edgar Roylance Field married, April 23, 191 8, Flora 
Myrtle Davis, of Cedar Rapids, Iowa, daughter of Al- 
bert L. Davis. Mr. and Mrs. Field are the parents of 
two children: Edgar R., Jr. born July 11, 1920, and 
Frank Marvin, born August 16, 1922. 



CHARLES T. PLUNKETT— The name of Plun- 
kett has been one of leadership in progress in Berkshire 
County for many generations, and in the person of 
Charles T. Plunkett, of Adams, Massachusetts, the 
people recognize a man of not only lofty individual at- 
tainments and extensive influence, but also a man keenly 
and particularly interested in every phase of local 
progress and advancement. Identified with the textile 
industry of the locality, as well as with various branches 
of industrial, commercial and financial activities, Mr. 
Plunkett has nevertheless done more for the cause of 
education in this vicinity than possibly any other one 
individual. His cooperation has been tireless and en- 
thusiastic, and the new junior high school of Adams, 
recently completed, is an eminently practical as well as 
dignified and beautiful monument to his public spirit. 
It fittingly bears his name, for his gift made it possible, 
his unceasing cooperation with the municipality until its 
consummation in its present perfection of structure and 
equipment being widely known. The Plunkett family, 
representatives of which have been noted for their ster- 
ling worth and characteristics, filling important political 
positions and contributing to progress along the various 
lines of manufacture, have been residents of Western 
Massachusetts since the founding of the family in this 
country. 

(I) Patrick Plunkett, the immigrant ancestor of the 
American branch of this family, was a native of Ireland, 
whence he emigrated in the closing years of the eight- 



eenth century, settling in Lenox, Massachusetts, where 
he spent the remainder of his life. He was a man of 
energy and enterprise, and these traits have descended 
in a large degree to his posterity, who in each succeed- 
ing generation have performed with high integrity the 
duties intrusted to them, whether in business or private 
and social life. He married Mary Robinson, also a native 
of Ireland, who had emigrated to New York City in 
1798. They were the parents of three sons, the eldest of 
whom was William C, of whom further. 

(II) William C. Plunkett, eldest son of Patrick and 
Mary (Robinson) Plunkett, was born in Lenox, Massa- 
chusetts, on October 23, 1800, and died January 21, 
1884, at the advanced age of eighty-four years. He 
spent his early years in Lenox, acquiring a practical edu- 
cation in the village school, after which he taught in 
Lanesboro for two years. He then entered into partner- 
ship with Thomas C. Durrant, opening up a country 
store, adding somewhat to his savings by teaching school, 
so that he brought to South Adams, in 1826, the sum of 
two hundred and seventy dollars, with which to start a 
career for himself in the business world. Three years 
later he bought the Russell Brown Mill, built in 1814, 
which was one of the oldest and the most important 
cotton mills in that region. Some years later (1836 or 
1837) this enterprise became Plunkett & Wheeler, (D. 
D. Wheeler, who married General Plunkett's sister, be- 
ing given a quarter interest). This firm name remained 
until Mr. Plunkett's sons were taken into business. It 
was through his efforts that North Adams enjoys to-day 
the benefits of a brisk railroad competition, and he was 
largely responsible and instrumental in making it the 
railroad center that it now is. As early as 183 1 he served 
as moderator, and with scarcely a year's exception up 
to his decease, he occupied one or more local offices, in- 
cluding that of selectman, measurer, highway surveyor, 
fence viewer, bridge commissioner, fire warden, field 
driver and tithingman, in all of which capacities he re- 
peatedly served. In 1840 he was elected Whig candidate 
for State Senator; in 1852 one of the Governor's 
Council ; in 1853, Delegate to the Constitutional Conven- 
tion, and in 1854, lieutenant-Ck»vemor with Governor 
Emory Washburn. Mr. Plunkett was a man of strong 
convictions, slow to make up his mind, weighing well 
the pros and cons of a question, but when once his 
opinion was formed, it became unalterable under the 
facts. He was frequently called upon to make public 
addresses for various objects, and while serving in this 
capacity at the Town Hall on the occasion of the reunion 
of the Forty-ninth Regiment, he contracted a cold that 
resulted in his death January 21, 1884, He married 
Lovisa Brown, of Elbridge, New York, who was a direct 
descendant of Chad Brown of Salem (1638), later of 
Providence, Rhode Island, residing on the site of Brown 
University and being a collaborator with Roger Williams 
in government of Rhode Island. Among their children 
was Charles T. Plunkett, of whom further. 

(Ill) Charles T. Plunkett, younger son of William 
C. and Lovisa (Brown) Plunkett, was born in Adams, 
Massachusetts, February 20, 1855. He received his edu- 
cation in the public and high schools, completing his 
courses in 1873. He immediately became identified with 
the textile industry, and on being taken into partnership 



I40 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



in his father's firm of Plunkett & Wheeler, in which his 
brother, WilHam B., was also a partner, the firm name 
was changed to W. C. Plunkett & Sons Company since 
which time it has operated under that title. Thus the 
partnership has continued for a period of ninety-six 
years, in two generations of the family. 

Mr. Plunkett is to-day president of the W. C. Plunkett 
& Sons Company, of Adams, of The Berkshire Cotton 
Manufacturing Company, of Adams; of the Greylock 
Mills, of North Adams; of the Industrial Insurance 
Company, Boston ; vice-president and director of the 
Greylock National Bank of Adams ; president of the 
Board of Trustees of the Plunkett Memorial Hospital, 
and of Deerfield Academy, Deerfield, Massachusetts; ex- 
president of the National Association of Cotton Manu- 
facturers, having served in that official capacity during 
1908-9; as treasurer of the Adams Free Library for the 
past thirty years ; and he has served for many years on 
the School Committee. He is a director in the following 
important concerns : the Cotton and Woolen Mutual 
Fire Insurance Company; Rubber Mutual Fire Insurance 
Company; Berkshire Life Insurance Company, of Pitts- 
field ; and the Liberty Mutual Insurance Company, of 
Boston. He is a member and former vice-president of 
the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, of New 
York, and his clubs are : The Engineers', of New York 
and of Boston; the Union League and India House; 
and the Colonial of Adams. Mr. Plunkett is thoroughly 
representative of the highest type of American citizen- 
ship, and in his beneficient use of his wealth, he is shar- 
ing with the humblest the success which has carried him 
to his present outstanding position. Always deeply in- 
terested in educational progress, Mr. Plunkett has made 
it his special pleasure to keep in close touch with the 
problems and needs of the local schools, the ever-grow- 
ing congestion, which of recent years has been hamper- 
ing and hindering the work of the Adams Schools being 
his especial consideration. 

On June 10, 1924, the magnificent new building of the 
Junior High School was dedicated with fitting exercises 
in its spacious auditorium, where fully a thousand 
people witnessed the ceremonies. Henry L. Harrington, 
chairman of the Board of Selectmen, presided, and Com- 
missioner Smith was the speaker of the evening. Mr. 
Harrington paid fitting tribute in his opening remarks 
to Mr. Plunkett who served as chairman of the Building 
Committee and who donated a large share of the neces- 
sary funds. 

The initial step in the movement, which resulted in 
the present splendid building, was the offer received by 
the selectmen, in March, 1922, from Charles T. Plunkett, 
of the site of the L. L. Brown property on Commercial 
Street, provided that a suitable building would be 
erected for the school. On May 13, 1922, the town, at 
a special meeting, appropriated $350,000 and the con- 
tract was awarded to the C. H. Cunningham & Sons 
Company, of Lynn; Frank Irving Cooper Corporation 
of Boston being the architects. Work was begun No- 
vember 21, 1922, and necessarily suspended on account of 
winter weather, December 23, but resumed April 5, 
1923, and thenceforth continued until completion. The 
entire cost of the building and equipment, including 
every item, was close to $500,000, the excess above the 



$350,000 being contributed by Mr. Plunkett. This dona- 
tion is characterized in the North Adams "Evening Tran- 
script," of June II, 1924, as: "the munificent gift of 
one whose great vision and marked interest first made 
possible the thought and later the realization of the 
project." The school will accomodate fully five hundred 
pupils, and the auditorium will seat iioo persons. The 
stage is spacious, and the great room is equipped with a 
moving picture apparatus, while its lighting and ventila- 
tion systems are of the most approved type of modern 
days. The school also has a large gymnasium and 
cafeteria. It is destined to become a civic center, hav- 
ing many features and equipment about the building 
which are absolutely new and are in no other similar 
building. It is a monument to the people of Adams, and 
particularly to Mr. Plunkett, whose philanthropy enabled 
the building committee to carry on the work unhampered, 
the result being a school building that will compare 
with any of its kind in New England. The two acres 
of land in the center of the town on which the structure 
stands was given by Mr. Plunkett, but even this liberal 
gift is small compared to the financial assistance which 
he gave in the building itself. 

Charles T. Plunkett married, February 20, 1879, at 
Adams, Massachusetts, Leila Taylor, daughter of Amory 
E. and Marie Antoinette (Babbitt) Taylor. Mrs. 
Plunkett died January 24, 1908, leaving a son Charles 
Taylor, who married Elizabeth Clark of Elizabeth, New 
Jersey. He is associated with his father in the textile 
business. 



DR. HOWARD BENNETT MARBLE— With a 

background of substantial English ancestry, and among 
them numbered hardy men and brave women, strong 
in the faith that made our pioneers mighty pillars in the 
temple reared to the new birth of freedom, Howard Ben- 
nett Marble, Medical Doctor, well-known practicing phy- 
sician of Shelburne Falls, Franklin County, Massachu- 
setts, may well be proud of his lineage. The surname 
Marble has been honorably borne by mason-builders, 
thoroughgoing and honest in their craftsmanship ; Revolu- 
tionary officers, patriotic to the core; a silver mine op- 
erator, who became a considerable owner of selected 
New York real estate; and an artisan of jewelry, who 
in his time ranked second to none for skill in his art. 
Mention must be made also in this connection of the 
glorified mothers and daughters of the succeeding gen- 
erations of the Marbles of America, who by marriage 
or birth became units of that family, and in a manner 
though less conspicuous than that of the men, yet within 
their ever-widening circles of influence were brilliant 
contributors to the worth of the family. Their fathers 
ranked high as ofificers of the War of the Revolution 
and in the professional and other honorable callings, and 
they became mothers of men who carried the family 
name to its present state of numerically important 
strength and high esteem. 

The present family name of Marble, which in later 
generations has been the universally accepted form, is 
a development of the varying Mirable, Marrable and 
Marable. This surname is one of those occupative 
names which' had their origin in the trade of marbler or 
marble mason, derived from the old French Marbre, 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



141 



which was altered in England to marbel, marbil and 
through the above variations, to marble. It is generally 
believed that three Marble brothers came from England 
to America in the ship following the "Mayflower." 
From one of these Dr. Marble descended. One of the 
brothers seems to have been John Marble, who had, by 
his wife, Judith, a son John, born in Boston, November 
10, 1646. William Marble was in Charlestown in 1642, 
but returned to England. Joseph Marble, brother of 
Samuel, settled in Andover, Massachusetts, and later at 
Stow. By some it is thought their father was Nicholas 
Marble, who was in Gloucester in 1658. 

(I) Gershon Marble, the earliest authentic ancestor 
of Dr. Marble in America, was born about 1665, and died 
in Hingham, Massachusetts, August 6, 1725. He was in 
early life a mariner, living for a while at Charlestown, 
Massachusetts, where his first wife died. Afterward he 
moved to Hingham, where he died. The inventory of 
his estate is quite lengthy, specifying among various 
items, six oxen, five cows, a bull, heifer, two calves, six 
swine, a house, a barn, etc. He sailed on the ship "Suc- 
cess," in his seafaring days. Gershon Marble married 
(first) Mary, who died December 30, 1694; (second) 
Waitstill Ingle, in 1697, who died in Hingham, Massa- 
chusetts, November 14, 1728. Children: John, born 1700; 
Ephraim, born 1702; Mary, born 1704; David, of further 
mention ; Nathaniel, born 1708. 

(II) David Marble, son of (jershon and Waitstill 
(Ingle) Marble, was born in Hingham, Massachusetts, 
in 1706. According to "Deane's History" this family 
was at Scituate in 1748; but David and David, Jr., were 
residents at Hingham at a later date. In 1771 David 
was taxed at Cohasset. He married, December 27, 1732, 
Abigail Joy, daughter of Prince and Abigail (Tower) 
Jo\'. Their children were: David. Jr., born about 1733; 
Luther, of further mention; Abigail; Nathaniel, bom 
1748, at Scituate. 

(III) Luther Marble, son of David and Abigail (Joy) 
Marble, was born at Hingham, Massachusetts, about 
1735. He was lost at sea, for he was by calling a mar- 
iner. He married Priscilla James, daughter of Thomas 
and Hannah (Holbrook) James. (Children : James, bom 
November 3, 1760 ; Luther and Fann" baptized June 5, 
1763; Jane, baptized June 15, 1765; Ephraim, of further 
mention. 

(IV) Ephraim Marble, son of Luther and Priscilla 
(James) Marble, was born at Hingham, Massachusetts, 
October 29, 1769, and died in Cohasset, Massachusetts, 
July 5, 181 1. His residence was cm Beechwood Street, 
Cohasset. He married, January 4, 1790, Hannah, daugh- 
ter of Abner and Hannah (Cowan '• Pincin, of Scituate. 
Their children were: Luther, born November 13, 1790; 
Jane, born June 10, 1792; Abner Pincin, born October 6, 
1794; Elijah, born August 29, 1796; Enos, born July 9, 
1798; Hannah Litchfield, born April 10, 1801 ; Almira, 
born August 24, 1803 ; James, born June 27, 1805 ; David 
Joy, of further mention ; Priscilla James, twin of David 
Joy, born October 6, 1807 ; Ephraim, born October 4, 
1809; Aiary James, born February 11, 181 2. 

(V) David Joy Marble, son of Ephraim and Hannah 
(Pincin) Marble, was born in Cohasset, Mass"'"'"usetts, 
October 6, 1807, and died in 1865. He married, Decem- 



ber I, 1831, Jane, daughter of John and Sarah Delano, 
of Dorchester, Massachusetts. Their children were : 
Enos Franklin, of whom further; George Delano, bom 
August 22, 1836, also a son David. 

(VI) Enos Franklin Marble, son of David Joy and 
Sarah (Delano) Marble, was born in Cohasset, January 17, 
1833, and died December 12, 1904, in Plainville, Massa- 
chusetts. Enos Franklin was a jewelry worker. He 
married Mary Bennett, born in Dublin, Ireland, Decem- 
ber 19, 1839, who died February i, 1922, in Plainville, 
Massachusetts. Their children were : Emma Jane, who 
married John Blanchard; Etta, who married John Black- 
well; Charles Franklin, of further mention; David Joy; 
John. 

(VII) Charles Franklin Marble, son of Enos Frank- 
lin and Mary (Bennett) Marble, were the parents of Dr. 
Howard Bennett Marble. Charles was born in North 
Attleboro, Massachusetts, July i, 1863, and is living at 
Plainville, Massachusetts, a farmer. For many years 
before he began farming, he. followed the trade of jew- 
elry maker. He married (first) Fannie Rose Tink- 
ham, born in Foxboro, Massachusetts, but lived in Ab- 
botts Run, Rhode Island, a daughter of Albert M. and 
Frances (Jenks) Tinkham. She died January 11, 1901, 
Their children were : Ellsworth Franklin, Howard Ben- 
nett, of further mention; and Mildred May, who mar- 
ried Howard Walsh, of North Attleboro, Massachusetts. 
Charles Franklin Marble married (second) Nellie Marion 
Hancock. 

(VIII) Howard Bennett Marble, son of (Tharles 
Franklin and Fannie Rose (Tinkham) Marble, was bom 
in Plainville, Massachusetts, February 14, 1894. He at- 
tended schools in Providence, Rhode Island; Den- 
ver, Colorado; Abbotts Run, Rhode Island; Foxboro, 
North Attleboro, Plainville and Franklin, Massachusetts. 
He also took a course at Bryant & Stratton's Business 
College at Providence, Rhode Island, from which institu- 
tion he graduated in 191 1. When he elected to become 
a physician, he entered Brown University, Providence, 
Rhode Island, studying three years, and then entered 
Harvard Medical School, whence he graduated in the 
class of 1920 with the degree of Medical Doctor. He 
served as hospital interne at Erie, Pennsylvania, follow- 
ing his graduation, until July, 1921, and in that year went 
to Shelburne Falls, where he engaged in the practice of 
his profession. He has built up a large practice in that 
town and the surrounding country, and is well liked by 
the people. Pie has attained high standing among the 
younger physicians of Franklin County, and is also held 
in high regard by his elders in the profession, who 
forecast a bright future for him in his services to his 
fellows. i 

Dr. Marble is a member of the Massachusetts Medical 
Society, Mountain Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, of 
Shelburne Falls, and Delta Phi, college fraternity. He 
is a member of the Congregational Church of Shelburne 
Falls. 

Howard Bennett Marble married, June 22, 1920, Lucille 
Ina Smith, of Colerain, Massachusetts, daughter of Henry 
L. and Jennie (Bond) Smith. They have one son, How- 
ard Bennett, Jr., born June 14, 1923. 



142 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



FREDERICK AUSTIN LOOMIS— A man of 
practical ability and sound judgment is Frederick Aus- 
tin Loomis, who for more than three decades has been 
successfully engaged in the building and contracting 
business in Greenfield, where he has resided since 1887. 

Mr. Loomis is a descendant of a family which in the 
seventeenth and eighteenth centuries spelled the name 
Lummas or Lomis, but in the nineteenth century the 
name was uniformly spelled Lomas in England. In 
New England in the seventeenth century it was variously 
spelled Lomis, Lomys or Lomas, while in the nineteenth 
century it was, with a few exceptions, spelled Loomis. 
The family to which Frederick Austin Loomis belongs 
traces descent from Joseph Loomis, one of the first set- 
tlers of Windsor, Connecticut, in 1639, of whom further. 

(I) Joseph Loomis, immigrant ancestor of this branch 
of the family in America, was born in Braintree, Essex 
County, England, about 1590, and came from London, 
England, in the "Susan and Ellen," Mr. Edward Payne, 
master, to, Boston, Massachusetts Bay Colony, arriving 
July 17, 1638. He brought with him his wife, five sons 
and three daughters, and they migrated from Boston to 
the west side of the Connecticut River with Rev. Ephraim 
Huet, who arrived at Windsor, August 17, 1639. This 
territory was in possession of the Massachusetts Bay 
Colony, who granted to Joseph Loomis from the planta- 
tion twenty-one acres of land adjoining Farrington River, 
and he also had several large tracts of land on the east 
side of the river by purchase. He built his home near 
the mouth of the Farrington River on what was an 
island at high water during the spring freshets, and so 
the location became known as the Island. His wife, 
whose name does not appear in the records, died August 
23, 1652, and they were the parents of eleven children, 
Deacon John being the second son, of whom further. 
Joseph Loomis, the patriarch immigrant, died Novem- 
ber 25, 1658. 

(II) Deacon John Loomis, second son of Joseph 
Loomis, of Windsor, was born in England in 1622, and 
came to New England with his father's family in 1638. 
He was admitted to the church at Windsor, October 11, 
1640. He married Elizabeth Scott, daughter of Thomas 
Scott, of Hartford, February 3, 1648-49. He was granted 
forty acres of land from the plantation. May 3, 1643, and 
resided in Farmington from 1652 to 1660. He returned 
to Windsor in 1660, and became a deacon of the church. 
He served as deputy to the General Court of the Con- 
necticut Colony in 1666-67, and in 1675 and 1687. Among 
the twelve children of Deacon John and Elizabeth 
(Scott) Loomis was Thomas, of whom further. The 
father died September i, 1688, at Windsor, and a monu- 
ment marks his grave in the Windsor Burying Ground. 
His widow died May 7, 1696. 

(III) Thomas Loomis, son of Deacon John and Eliz- 
abeth (Scott) Loomis, was born in Windsor, Connecti- 
cut, in 1655, and died at East Windsor in 1746. He mar- 
ried Hannah Porter, and they were the parents of nine 
children, among them Thomas, of whom further. 

(IV) Sergeant Thomas Loomis, son of Thomas and 
Hannah (Porter) Loomis, was born in 1687, and died 
in 1770, at Bolton, Connecticut. He married (first) 
Scirah, surname unknown, who died in 1728. He mar- 
ried (second) Mary Darte, and they were the parents of 
five children, among them Thomas, of whom further. 



(V) Thomas Loomis, son of Sergeant Thomas and 
Mary (Darte) Loomis, was born in 1723, and died in 
1 761. He built a residence in Bolton, Connecticut, that 
is still standing. He married Abigail Robbins, and they 
were the parents of three children, of whom one was 
Thomas, of whom further. 

(VI) Thomas Loomis, son of Thomas and Abigail 
(Robbins) Loomis, was born in 1756, and died in 1842, 
in Bolton, Connecticut. He was a sergeant in the Revo- 
lutionary War. He married Eunice Mann, and they 
were the parents of eight children, among them Austin, 
of whom further. 

(VII) Austin Loomis, son of Thomas and Eunice 
(Mann) Loomis, was born in Bolton, Connecticut, June 
10, 1789, and died in Amherst, Massachusetts, in 1872. 
He was a farmer. He married (first), in 1820, Hannah 
Dickinson, who died in 1850. He married (second) 
Mary Annette (Lyman) Russell, widow of Deacon Sam- 
uel Russell. There were three children by the first mar- 
riage: John Milton, Austin Dickinson, and Richard 
Baxter, of whom further. 

(VIII) Richard Baxter Loomis, son of Austin and 
Hannah (Dickinson) Loomis, was born at Amherst, 
Massachusetts, March 17, 1832, and died at Greenfield, 
Massachusetts, May 20, 1906. He was a farmer, and 
lived in Amherst, Montague, and Leverett, subsequently 
spending his later years in Greenfield, Massachusetts. He 
served during the Civil War in Company H, 21st Regi- 
ment, Massachusetts Volunteers, and was wounded at 
Petersburg, Pennsylvania, by a sharpshooter. He took 
part in thirteen hard fought battles and in thirty 
skirmishes. He was a Republican in his politics, and in 
his religious connection a member of the Congregational 
Church. He also was a member of the Grand Army of 
the Republic. He married, March 16, 1864, Julia (Dick- 
inson) Amsden, born in Amherst, Massachusetts, Octo- 
ber 13, 1839, died February 13, 1919, daughter of Fred- 
erick E. and Almira (Brown) Dickinson, and widow of 
Thomas Amsden; they were the parents of six chil- 
dren: I. Frederick Austin, of whom further, 2. Osborne 
M., born April 8, 1868. 3. George R., bom March 19, 
1872. 4. Bessie I., born January 28, 1877 ; married Carl 
C. Whipple. 5. Abbie Grace, born August 27, 1880, died 
April 19, 1888. 6. Nettie L., born April 11, 1885, died 
April 26, 1888. 

(IX) Frederick Austin Loomis, son of Richard Bax- 
ter and Julia (Dickinson-Amsden) Loomis, was born 
May 5, 1866, at Montague, Massachusetts. He received 
his education in the schools of Leverett, Massachusetts. 
On the completion of his studies, he worked in a shoe 
factory for a time, in Athol, Massachusetts, and later 
learned the carpenter trade, which he has practically 
followed ever since, although he has developed it into 
the building and contracting lines, and has pursued this 
industry for about thirty-seven years. He came to 
Greenfield in 1887, and since that time he has made his 
home here. He has been in the building and contracting 
business for himself for thirty-two years, and has had 
much to do with the upbuilding of Greenfield. He has 
bought land, constructed houses upon it, and sold them, 
and has also done contracting in Athol and Holyoke, as 
well as in other vicinities, his principal work, however, 
having been in Greenfield, where his important interests 

are centered. He built the entire fourth story addition 



\f^- 




^.^^^>^X;§^^Ox^ 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



143 



on the Weldon Hotel; constructed the Merrian Apart- 
ment houses; and has built many business blocks and 
residences. He built his own residence, having bought 
the land, as well as adjacent land, on which he built 
several other especially fine residences, all of which are 
among the handsomest in the town. He is active in 
financial institutions, being a director in the Cooperative 
Bank, of which he is a charter member, and which has 
assets of over a million dollars. He is chairman of the 
surety committee of the bank, and has to pass judgment 
on all appeals for loans, and the bank has never lost any 
money through his judgments. In his religious connec- 
tion he is a member of the Methodist Church. 

Frederick Austin Loomis married, December 11, 1889, 
Maggie E. McCoy, of Huntington, Province of Quebec, 
daughter of George and Chelmerse Adella (Howard) 
McCoy, and they are the parents of the following two 
children: i. Howard Milton, of whom further. 2. 
Ralph Stanley, of whom further. 

(X) Howard Milton Loomis, son of Frederick Aus- 
tin and Maggie E. (McCoy) Loomis, was born in Green- 
field, Massachusetts, March 19, 1892. During the great 
World War he served in a clerical capacity in Syracuse, 
New York; Jacksonville, Florida, and at Cumberland 
Gap. He is at the head of the sales department at the 
Godall-Pratt Company, of Greenfield, Massachusetts. 
He married, in 1919, Mary Brooks, and they are the 
parents of one child, Marylin, born October 29, 1921. 

(X) Ralph Stanley Loomis, son of Frederick Austin 
and Maggie E. (McCoy) Loomis, was born May 5, 1897, 
at Greenfield, Massachusetts. He was graduated from 
Dartmouth College, class of 1921, and is a writer and 
journalist. During 1923 he toured Europe. He served, 
during the World War, in the heavy artillery, and was 
located at Camp Jackson, North Carolina. 



CARL GOODRICH DAVIS, treasurer and gen- 
eral manager of the American Saw and Manufacturing 
Company of Springfield, Massachusetts, was born in 
Springfield, March 9, 1884. His father was Everett L. 
Davis, born in Stafford Springs, Connecticut, and his 
mother Ella F. Goodrich, also a native of Stafford 
Springs. Carl G. Davis represents the ninth generation 
of his branch of the Davis family in America. Beginning 
in Massachusetts the third generation passed to Con- 
necticut. Indeed, Carl G. Davis was the first son of 
this branch born in Massachusetts, his father having 
moved to Springfield in 1876. 

(I) Thomas Davis, founder of the American family, 
came to Newbury, Massachusetts, in 1635, aboard the 
ship "James." His English home was at Marlboro, 
County Wihs. He died in Haverhill where he passed the 
last years of his life at the age of eighty, in 1683. He 
had a son John, of whom further. 

(II) John Davis, son of Thomas Davis, married, and 
had a son Cornelius, of whom further. 

(III) Cornelius Davis, son of John Davis, was born 
in 1653; served in the Narragansett War and received 
a tract of land for his services, known as West Staflford, 
Connecticut. He married Elizabeth Hilton and they were 
the parents of Samuel, Cornelius (2), of whom further; 
and James. 

(IV) Cornelius (2) Davis, son of Cornelius Davis, 



was born in 1678, married Mehitable Bartlett, and they 
were the parents of eleven children: i. Cornelius (3), 
born in 1721. 2. Samuel, born in 1723. 3. Joseph, born 
in 1725. 4. Benjamin, of whom further. 5. Moses, born 
in 1730. 6. Mehitable, born in 1732. 7. Sarah, born in 
1734. 8. Mary, born in 1738. 9. Aaron, born in 1740. 
10. Noah, born in 1741. 11. Love, born in 1744. 

(V) Benjamin Davis, son of Cornelius (2) Davis, 
was born in 1728, married Hannah Lull and they were 
the parents of four children: Benjamin (2); Asa, of 
whom further; Cornelius; and Hannah. 

(VI) Asa Davis, son of Benjamin Davis, was bom in 
Connecticut in 1778 and died September 27, 1828. His 
wife Mary Robinson, died July 13, 1828, at fifty-five 
years. Their children were : Erastus and Margaret, 
twins ; Lester ; Marcus ; Horace ; William R., of whom 
further; Sophia; Almira; Louisa; and Emily. 

(VII) William R. Davis, son of Asa Davis, was born 
in Stafford, Connecticut, in 1812, and died April 19, 
1893. He attended the district school and learned the 
trade of cabinet maker, becoming a skilled worker in 
wood. He passed his life in Stafford where he was a 
large employer of labor in his business of contractor and 
builder. As a contractor he built all the factories and 
many of the business and dwelling houses in Stafford. 
He was one of the important men of the town. He mar- 
ried Clarissa Howe of Stafford; born in 1814; died in 
February, 1898, daughter of Eli and Mary Johnson 
Howe. Their seven children were: i. Francis Joy, 
born May 3, 1837. 2. William A., born February 5, 
1840. 3. Elmer, born February 22, 1843. 4. Annette, 
born April 10, 1846; married Landomir E. Pease. 5. 
Madelia A., bom July 17, 1848, married Elliot Robbins. 
6. Perry P., born November 11, 1853, died April 27, 
1914. 7. Everett Lewellyn, of whom further. 

(VIII) Everett Lewellyn Davis, son of William R. 
Davis, was born in Stafford, Connecticut, October 17, 
1856, and was educated in the Stafford public schools 
and in Monson Academy. He removed to Springfield 
Massachusetts, in 1876 as a young man of twenty years. 
For thirty years he was continuously in the employ of 
his brother-in-law, L. E. Pease, a meat dealer. He then 
resigned and went into business for himself, but later 
sold out and again took his former position which he still 
occupies (1925). He is a member of Bay Path Lodge, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and an attendant of 
Hope Congregational Church. Everett L. Davis was mar- 
ried, November 25, 1880, to Ella F. Goodrich, born in 
Stafford, April 15, 1859; died in Springfield March 25, 
1919, daughter of Leonard and Betsy (Paddleford) 
Goodrich. Their son Carl Goodrich, of whom further. 

(IX) Carl Goodrich Davis, son of Everett and Betsy 
(Goodrich) Davis, was born in Springfield where he 
attended the public schools and was graduated from the 
high school in the class of 1902. He passed the following 
seven years in New York City. The early part of his em- 
ployment was with the foreign department of the Cunard 
Steamship Company. The second three years he was 
connected with J. Pierpont Morgan & Company. In 
1910 he returned to Springfield, and became advertising 
manager of the Victor Saw Works until 1912 when he 
joined the Napier Saw Works remaining until 1915 as 
office manager. In 1914-15 he organized the American 



144 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Saw and Manufacturing Company of which he is treas- 
urer and general manager. The company manufactures 
hack saws used in cutting metal, and in addition a full 
line of hand saws for metal and wood cutting. The 
concern is located at No. 41 Taylor Street, but in 191 7 
the large plant now occupied at Boylston Street was built. 
Since its removal to the larger plant, every part of which 
is taxed to capacity, a supply of screw drivers, glass 
cutters, socket wrenches and similar implements have 
been added to the output. Mr. John T. Swanson is 
president of the company and Carl L. Ericson secretary. 
It employs sixty-five hands. Mr. Davis is also a director 
of the Springfield National Bank and the American 
Metallurgical Corporation of Boston. He was a member 
of the Seventh Regiment, New York National Guard 
from 1907 to 1910. He is a member of the Masonic 
fraternity, being affiliated with the Springfield Lodge, 
and is a member of all the Scottish Rite bodies in which 
he has attained the thirty-second degree; also a member 
of Melha Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the 
Mystic Shrine; of the Benevolent and Protective Order 
of Elks; of the Rotary Club, the Colony Club, the 
Long Meadow Country Club; the Highland Country 
Club of Meriden, Connecticut; the Bircham Flying 
Club; a life member of the Old Colony Club; a member 
of the Automobile Club of Springfield; and the Ameri- 
can Associated Industries of Massachusetts. He attends 
the Hope Congressional Church and his political prefer- 
ences are Republican. 

Mr. Davis was married (first) May 6. 1905, to Marion 
Terry, born in New Orleans, Louisiana; died in May, 

1914. He married (second) Ida Mae Reid, August 4, 

191 5, daughter of William B. Reid. She was born in 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, February 20, 1885. 



HENRY DICKINSON BARDWELL— The Bard- 
well family is a striking type of several groups of West- 
ern Massachusetts families who through prominent indi- 
viduals here and there continue their traditions of civic 
and town government activities, and among the many 
changes that now appear in old communities, preserve 
much of the substantial usages of a former day. Mr. 
Bardwell's ancestors for generations have been depend- 
able factors in the growth and expansion of the towns 
in this section of the State; and he himself has still 
further honored the name through the positions of trust 
he holds and his capable share in their responsibilities. 
The year 1925 marks the thirtieth anniversary of his 
election to the office of' town clerk of Montague, in 
whose long tenure he has proven efficient and popular, 
capable and public-spirited. He has frequently been 
called upon to serve other local and State offices, which 
he has done to the satisfaction of the community. His 
is an interesting ancestry both in town settlement and 
town government, beginning from close to the earliest 
days of the founding of Massachusetts communities ; and 
we may follow his line from a time just preceding the 
King Philip War to the present : 

(I) Robert Bardwell came from London, England, in 
1670, and he was then said to be twenty-three years of 
age. He was a hatter by trade, and he learned his trade 
in London, where he resided at the time of the great 
plague of 1665. He arrived in Hatfield at an opportune 



time to lend aid against the Indians, and he was among 
the first to march to the attack upon King Philip's men 
at Turners Falls, which took place May iS, 1676. He 
married, November 29, 1676, Mary, daughter of William 
and Elizabeth (Smith) Gull, and widow of Nathaniel 
Foote. He died in 1726, aged seventy-nine years, his 
wife died November 12 of the same year. They had 
eleven children, among whom was John, of further 
mention. 

(II) John Bardwell, son of Robert and Mary Bard- 
well, was born August 18, 1687, at Hatfield, and died in 
that town, May 25, 1728, aged forty-one years. He mar- 
ried Mehitable, daughter of Samuel and Sarah Graves, 
of Hatfield; and they had six children, among whom 
was Joseph, of further mention. 

(III) Joseph Bardwell, son of John and Mehitable 
Bardwell, was born in 1713, at Hatfield; and he mar- 
ried. May I, 1735, Lydia Morton, daughter of Ebenezer 
Morton, of Hatfield, who died January i, 1791. Joseph 
was prominent in town affairs, and he was a soldier of 
the Revolutionary War. Among the ten children of 
Joseph and Lydia was Obadiah, of further mention. 

(IV) Obadiah Bardwell, son of Joseph and Lydia 
Bardwell, was born September 18, 1757, at Belchertown, 
and he died March 10, 1853, at the age of ninety-five 
years. He married, in October, 1782, Mehitable Smith, 
who was born June 21, 1763, and died September 12, 1852, 
aged eighty-nine years. They removed to Williamstown 
in 1800; and had ten children, among who was Chester, 
M. D., of further mention. 

(V) Dr. Chester Bardwell, son of Obadiah and Me- 
hitable Bardwell, was bom February 22, 1787, and died 
May 14, 1864. He married, August 28, 1817, Mary, 
daughter of Dr. John and Sybil (Dickinson) Hastings, 
of Hatfield, born in 1794. He matriculated at Williams 
College, Williamstown, Massachusetts, but left before 
completing his full term. He studied for his profession 
with Dr. John Hastings, and practiced with him for 
awhile. He removed to Whately about 1816, and he 
there built the house that later was owned by Dennis 
Dickinson. He was a Representative to the Massachu- 
setts Legislature three terms, and was State Senator 
two terms from Franklin County. Dr. Chester and 
Mary (Hastings) Bardwell were the parents of seven 
children, among whom was Charles P., of further 
mention. 

(VI) Charles P. Bardwell, son of Dr. Chester and 
Mary (Hastings) Bardwell, was born July 21, 1825. He 
married, January 2, 1850, Sarah A. Dickinson, daughter 
of Erothus and Sarah Alice Dickinson, who was bom 
January 13, 1837; and they were the parents of: i. 
John Hastings, born January 3, 1851, at Whately, died 
August 18, 1861. 2. Ellen Hastings, born September 16, 
1852, at Whately, and died August 21, 1853. 3. Henry, 
of whom further. 4. Clara Allis, born June 24, 1858, at 
Hatfield, married Myron B. Allen, of Turners Falls. 

(VII) Henry Dickinson Bardwell, son of Charles P. 
Bardwell, was born October 24, 1856, at Hatfield, and 
when he was seven years of age the family removed to 
Florence; and again, to Turner's Falls, when he was 
thirteen years old, and where he attended the public 
schools. He was appointed United States and Canada 
express agent in 1880, which position he held until 1914, 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



145 



when he retired in order to devote his entire time to the 
duties of the office of town clerk, to which he was 
elected in 1895, and which position he continues to hold. 
Mr. Bardwell was a member of the Turners Falls 
School Committee three years, and he was chairman of 
the school board two years; and for the long period of 
twenty-four years he was a member of the Water Com- 
mission. He was elected to the Board of Selectmen, and 
was chairman of the board in 1893. Mr. Bardwell was 
a member of the Massachusetts Legislature in 1892-93. 
His fraternal affiliations are those of the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, at Turners Falls. His religious 
faith is that of the Unitarian Church, and he holds the 
position of clerk of the Turners Falls Society. 

Henry Dickinson Bardwell married, September 29, 
1887, Mary D. Sauter, daughter of Martin and Barbara 
Sauter, of Greenfield, Massachusetts, and they are the 
parents of Gertrude R., bom at Greenfield, November 
28, 1903. 



FORDIS C. PARKER— When in the winter of 1924 
the voters of Springfield had concluded their spirited 
municipal campaign and election day had ended, they 
found that they had chosen for the office of mayor one 
of the best-equipped of the available candidates — Fordis 
C. Parker, Republican, who for approximately thirty 
years has been in the public service. Hardly a man 
within the city over whose affairs he has been called to 
preside has had a fuller career or possesses a riper expe- 
rience than he; his pohtical service began with member- 
ship in the Common Council, of which he was chosen 
president, and he was successively advanced to the Board 
of Aldermen, the Massachusetts House of Representa- 
tives, the Massachusetts Senate, in which bodies he gave 
distinguished service on the floor and in committee, to 
the chairmanship of the Springfield Board of Public 
Works, to membership in the Springfield Board of 
Survey and to membership in the Springfield Planning 
Board. It will readily be gathered, then, that the people 
of his city should be satisfied that Mayor Parker "knows 
his Springfield" and its assets and requirements equally 
as well, if not better, than any other citizen. To-day, as 
he occupies the highest office within the gift of the 
municipality, the people, without regard for differences 
of political faith, are virtually unanimous that the ma- 
jority's successful choice for mayor was a most wise 
and happy one. Mayor Parker, in January, 1925, entered 
upon his two-year term, since Springfield has the 
biennial system of election, under pleasing auspices, and 
with the good wishes of the citizenry for a progressive 
and constructive administration, which the voters are 
likely to indorse by returning the mayor to office for a 
second term. 

The origin of the patronymic Parker is in the Latin 
parcarius, park-keeper, or shepherd. The name seems to 
have been held by Danes, Saxons and Normans in Eng- 
land at a very early date. Parcum and de Parco are 
founds in "Domesday Book." In the reign of Edward 
I, as early as 900-925, a Geoffrey Parker is mentioned, 
even before the common use of surnames in England. 
The family of Parker was one of those honored with 
the right to bear arms. 

(I) James Parker, immigrant ancestor, arrived in 



America from England before 1640. He settled in 
Wobum, Massachusetts, where he was a taxpayer as 
early as 1645. He probably was related to others of 
the numerous early settlers in that part of the Bay State, 
then known as a colony. He removed to Billerica about 
1654, to Chelmsford in 1658, and to Groton in 1660. He 
became the largest owner of land and probably the rich- 
est proprietor in the town of Groton. He was a dea- 
con of the church, and a selectman of the town for more 
than thirty years, and also served as town clerk for a 
period. He was moderator of all the important town 
meetings of his time, and besides holding other local 
offices was a Representative to the General Court in 
1693. He rose to captain of the Groton Militia Company 
through his prowess as an Indian fighter. A remnant 
of his original homestead was said, at last reports, to be 
still owned by descendants in Groton. He died in 1701, 
at the age of eighty-three years. He married (first) 
Elizabeth Long, daughter of Robert Long, of Charles- 
town, Massachusetts, and by this marriage there were 
twelve children, of whom was Eleazer, of further men- 
tion. He married (second), name unknown, and of this 
marriage there was one child, Sarah, bom thirty-seven 
years after her half-brother Eleazer. 

(II) Eleazer Parker, youngest child of James and 
Elizabeth (Long) Parker, was born November 9, 1660, 
at Groton. He married Mary, surname unknown, and 
to them were born seven children, of whom was Zacha- 
riah, of further mention. 

(III) Zachariah Parker, son of Eleazer and Mary 
Parker, was born January 29, 1699, at Groton. He 
married (first), at Weston, Massachusetts, Rebecca 
Parks, who died June 11, 1748. He married (second), at 
Mansfield, Massachusetts, Peace Ames. Three children 
were born of the first marriage, of whom was James, of 
further mention. Of the second marriage there were 
eight children. Zachariah Parker was a lieutenant, and 
probably an officer in the local militia company. 

(IV) James Parker, son of Lieutenant Zachariah and 
Rebecca (Parks) Parker, was born August 18, 1740, in 
Dutchess County, New York, although his birth is 
recorded at Mansfield, Connecticut, to which town his 
family removed soon after his birth. He was a soldier 
of the American Revolution, and served in Captain Jon- 
athan Nichols' company, Lieutenant-Colonel Experience 
Storrs' regiment, at the Lexington Alarm, April 19, 
1775; also, in 1781, in General David Waterbury, Jr.'s, 
regiments, in the State Brigade. He removed to Will- 
ington, Connecticut, and owned land there in 1802. He 
married Mary Conant, daughter of Malachi Conant, of 
Mansfield, and had fourteen children, of whom was 
David, of further mention. 

(V) David Parker, son of James and Mary (Conant) 
Parker, was born June 20, 1779, at Mansfield, Connecti- 
cut. He lived in Willington and Ashford, Connecticut, 
until 1806, when he sold his property and removed to 
Brimfield, Massachusetts. A number of his brothers 
and sisters moved to Ohio. He married Hannah Curtis, 
daughter of Silas Antisdel Curtis, a soldier of the Revo- 
lution, at Willington, and to them were born eleven chil- 
dren, of whom was Orre, of further mention. 

(VI) Orre Parker, third child of David and Hannah 
(Curtis) Parker, was born October 4, 1804, at Ashford 



W.M. — 3-10 



146 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



or Willington, Connecticut. With the exception of 
about one year at Ellington, Connecticut, he lived all 
his life at Brimfield, Massachusetts. He married Abi- 
gail Needham Andrews, daughter of Colonel Robert 
Andrews, of Brimfield. They had a son, David F., of 
further mention. 

(VII) David F. Parker, son of Orre and Abigail 
Needliam (Andrews) Parker, was born April lo, 1833, 
at Ellington, Connecticut. His youth was spent in Brim- 
field, to which town his parents removed when he was 
an infant. He was a pupil of the public schools, and 
finished his education at Monson Academy and the State 
Normal School at Westfield, Massachusetts. He was a 
teacher in Brimfield and afterward in Philadelphia, 
Pennsylvania. In 1858 he entered upon a business career 
as a merchant in Wales, Massachusetts. He was elected 
at different times to a number of town ofiices in Wales, 
and in i860 was the Representative from his district to 
the General Court. He was a deacon of the Wales Bap- 
tist Church. In 1870 he removed to Springfield, where 
he entered the fire insurance business, and for the most 
of the time until his death he was associated with the 
late Colonel S. C. Warriner. For the eight years prior 
to his death he was an invalid, but his optimistic tem- 
perament buoyed him above his great suffering. He was 
held in high respect by all who had the rare privilege of 
knowing him. He died January ii, 1892, and was buried 
in Wales, Massachusetts. He married (first) Mary L. 
Shaw, of Wales, daughter of Solomon Shaw, and by this 
marriage had three children, of whom was Fordis Clif- 
ford, of further mention. He married (second), in 
1880, Clarissa M. Oilman, of South Windsor, Connecti- 
cut, and by this marriage had one daughter, Esther G. 
Parker. 

(VIII) Fordis Clifford Parker, son of David F. and 
Mary L. (Shaw) Parker, was born January 3, 1868, 
at Wales, Massachusetts, and when he was five years of 
age his parents removed with him to Springfield. He 
was a pupil in the grade schools and the high school. 
His first stated employment was in the general offices 
of the Boston & Albany Railroad, under J. M. Griggs, 
general ticket agent. In 1888 Mr. Parker launched out 
into his own business career, in which he was destined to 
become successful, and with which he has since been 
identified — fire insurance — in Springfield. He was made 
district manager for the Sun Insurance Office of Lon- 
don, England, and has served as president of the Spring- 
field Board of Fire Underwriters. In 1920 he entered 
into partnership with Judd & Parsons, the firm name now 
being Judd, Parsons & Parker, his partners being 
Frederick D. Parsons and Edward E. Judd. In addi- 
tion to the fire insurance business, Mr. Parker has at 
times dealt quite extensively in Springfield real estate. 

Mr. Parker's political career began in 1897, when he 
was elected to the Common Council of Springfield. It 
was early seen that he possessed legislative capacity, 
and he was elected president of the Council in 1899. In 
1899-1900 he was a member of the Board of Aldermen. 
He is now on the high road to greater honors, and in 
1901 he was elected to the Massachusetts House of 
Representatives, and was reelected for the terms of 
1902, 1903 and 1904. He was still further promoted by 
election to the Massachusetts Senate for the term 1905- 



06. He was the last State Senator to represent the 
district made up of Springfield and the Eastern Hamp- 
den towns, including Wales, his birthplace. While on 
Beacon Hill he was chairman of the important Com- 
mittee of Ways and Means both in House and Senate; 
served as chairman of the Special Recess Committee 
to revise the insurance laws of the State, in 1905-06, 
and was on "Water Supply" when Springfield obtained 
its wonderful "Little River Supply." 

Of his service in the Massachusetts Legislature, 
"Practical Politics" had this to say upon Mr. Parker's 
retirement in 1906: 

Hon. Pordls C. Parker, of Springfield, retires from 
the Senate this year, but it will be some years before 
he retires from the political field. Senator Parker is a 
young man, and has achieved distinction on Beacon 
Hill during his legislative experience. He has had 
the distinction of having served as chairman of the 
important Committee on Ways and Means both on 
the part of the House and on the part of the Senate. 
This, in itself, is a tribute to his ability and judgment, 
for if cold judgment is needed anywhere on Beacon 
Hill it is at the head of such a committee. He would 
have been chairman of Ways and Means this year 
again, but President Dana wanted him as chairman of 
the Insurance Committee. Just before the General 
Court of this year came in, the wave of reform in 
insurance matters had swept across New York, where 
known and positive evils existed, and it was headed 
for Massachusetts, where no evidence of wrong-doing 
had been suggested. But a wise head was needed 
just the same, and the president selected the Spring- 
field man, who thereupon yielded the Ways and Means 
Committee. He was placed also on the Mercantile 
Affairs Committee and on the Committee of Water 
Supply. It was before the last-named committee that 
the fight of greatest moment to the Senator's own 
city and district was to take place, and he naturally 
wanted to be there. How signally he won out against 
tremendous odds in his contest for the Springfield 
water bill, which gave to Springfield a new and much 
needed source of water supply, is a part of the legis- 
lative history of the year. It required much energy 
and strategy to bring things to the successful issue 
to which they finally came. But the senator had 
smoothed the pathway for the measure long before 
its final appearance in the branches. For a young 
man his experience has been decidedly broad. 

After five years in the general court, Mr. Parker 
devoted his time and attention assiduously to his in- 
surance and real estate business. He eventually re- 
couped what he necessarily was compelled to sacrifice 
while in the public service, and added thereto much 
valuable new business. For about sixteen years he 
continued to be occupied with his business matters 
strictly, but in 1921 he was called to the important 
Board of Public Works in Springfield, and served as 
its chairman in 1922, 1923, and 1924. Concurrently 
with his membership in the Board of Public Works he 
was a member of the Board of vSurvey in Springfield and 
likewise of the Planning Board of Springfield, in the 
deliberations and decisions of all which bodies he was 
of invaluable service. Calm, cool, collected, and of a 
judicial temperament, with a trained capacity for State 
and municipal legislative action, it was not to be held a 
strange thing that the forward looking people of Spring- 
field, when a change in administration was inevitable, 
both by choice of the incumbent and through custom, 
should fix upon Mr. Parker as the logical man to sit in 
the mayoralty chair. The weight of public opinion 
eventually eliminated other aspirants for the office, and 
to Mr. Parker's long list of recognitions in political 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



147 



service was added the honor of being inaugurated the 
chief executive of the county seat of Hampden County. 

Mr. Parker is affiliated with Hampden Lodge, No. 
27, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, Springfield, and 
is a member of the Nayasset, Winthrop, Automobile, 
Fish and Game, Reality and Saturday Night clubs of 
Springfield. 

Mr. Parker married, in 1892, at Springfield, Nellie 
Frances Puffer, daughter of Herbert Cyrus and Elizabeth 
(Wilder) PufJer. 

(The Puffer Line). 
The surname Puffer, Poffer or Pougher seems to be 
of German origin and unquestionably numbers of its 
holders emigrated from Germany to England. William 
Pougher, or Puffer, died at Hart's Hill, near Ather- 
stone, County Warwick, England. He had a son 
George, and it is supposed that George, the immigrant, 
was his brother. The family of Puffer was located in 
Hesse, Germany, before 1569. 

(I) George Puffer, of Boston, Massachusetts, was 
granted land in North Wollaston sufficient to provide 
for nine head, and is said to have died September 27, 
1639. He and his descendants lived in old Braintree for 
nearly one hundred years, the family homestead being 
located about two miles from the Old Colony Railroad 
station in Quincy. His widow died February 12, 1677, 
at Braintree. Their children were three, of whom was 
James, of further mention. 

(II) James Puffer, son of George Puffer, was bom 
about 1624, in England, and came to Braintree with his 
father in 1639. He was heir to the homestead and was 
also a boatman. He lived at Ship Cove, now Quincy 
Neck. He owned land at what now is Randolph. He 
married Mary Ludden, a native of Weymouth, and 
daughter of James Ludden. They had seven children, 
of whom was Jabez, of further mention. 

(III) Jabez Puffer, son of James and Mary (Lud- 
den) Puffer, was born February 4, 1672, at Braintree. 
He bought land in 17 12 at Sudbury, to which town he 
and his brother James removed. He was a prominent 
citizen and captain of the militia company. He married 
Mary Glazier. He had seven children, of whom was 
Ephraim, of further mention. 

(IV) Ephraim Puffer, son of Jabez and Mary (Gla- 
zier) Puffer, was born July 22, 1716, at Sudbury. He 
married Mary Darby, daughter of Joseph Darby, of 
Stow, and settled there about 1749. He had four chil- 
dren, of whom was Jonathan, of further mention. 

(V) Jonathan Puffer, son of Ephraim and Mary 
(Darby) Puffer, was born June 9, 1746, at Sudbury. He 
fought in the Revolution as a member of Captain 
William Whitcomb's company, Colonel James Pres- 
cott's regiment, in 1775. He married (first) Elizabeth 
Gibson, of Stow. He married (second) Jemima Taft. 
He had nine children, of whom was Simon, of further 
mention. 

(VI) Simon Puffer, son of Jonathan Puffer, was born 
April 30, 1777, at Stow, where he was a farmer and 
where he died. He married (first) Mary Conant. He 
married (second) Abigail Rice. He had six children, 
of whom was Reuben, of further mention. 

(VII) Captain Reuben Puffer, son of Simon Puffer, 



was born April 11, 1803, at Sudbury. He lived at Stow. 
He married Nancy Walker, of Sudbury. They had 
three children of whom was Herbert Cyrus, of further 
mention. 

(VIII) Herbert Cyrus Puffer, son of Captain Reuben 
and Nancy (Walker) Puffer, was born February 3, 
1842, at Sudbury. He married, April 8, 1867, Eliza- 
beth Wilder, of Stow, and resided at Springfield. They 
had one child, Nellie Frances, who became the wife of 
Mayor Fordis Clifford Parker. Mayor and Mrs. Parker 
have their residence at No. 173 Buckingham Street, 
Sprmgfield. Their cottage in West Granville, Massa- 
chusetts, has been their summer home for over twenty 
years. 



REV. ROLAND D. SAWYER-One of the most 
picturesque figures of Western Massachusetts is the 
clergyman, writer and publicist. Rev. Roland D. Saw- 
yer, who is pastor of a church in Ware and at the 
same time occupies a seat in the House of Representa- 
tives of the Massachusetts Legislature at Boston; 
and he has been doing both of these things for twelve 
consecutive years; while his ministerial office, of course, 
has covered a much longer period, a full quarter century, 
and he has served his flock in Ware a decade and a 
half. As a champion of the rights of the people and 
as a student of politics and economic, and as a writer 
and lecturer on the same, he has attained a recognized 
standing throughout the commonwealth and even beyond 
her borders. His people of the church in Ware are 
delighted that their pastor has the capacity for serving 
church and State in his dual role; his constituents in 
that Representative district, on the whole regardless 
of party affiliation, have shown themselves eager, as 
the opportunity recurs, to do him honor by reelecting 
him to the office in which he has served the district faith- 
fully and with remarkable legislative ability. Although a 
Democrat with radical tendencies, his fearlessness, 
progressiveness and widespread popularity have been 
among the chief elements in his pastoral and legislative 
relations that have contributed to his success in an un- 
usual way, and which every political opponent for 
many years has found it impossible to surmount. Rev. 
and Representative Sawyer sweeps all before him when 
his name is on the ticket, for Democrats, Republicans 
and Socialists consider it an honor to forget their party 
differences and to unite on returning him to Beacon 
Hill, so great is their confidence that in his hands the 
affairs of the district are properly safeguarded. Rev. 
Mr. Sawyer has also found time in which to give ex- 
pression to his literary ability, being the author of 
various pamphlets of political and economic subjects, 
and of several books. Among his works is one recently 
returned from the publishers, "The Life of Coolidge," 
a timely volume by one who is a warm friend and ardent 
admirer of the President of the United States, and 
with whom he had very pleasant relations as a col- 
league when the President was Senator from Hamp- 
shire County and later Governor of Massachusetts. 
What the President is to the country as a whole and to 
Northampton, his home city, in particular. Rev. Mr. 
Sawyer is to his Representative district and to his 



148 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



home town, Ware; and the town, which is in Hamp- 
shire County, is the largest town in the eastern end of 
the county, while Northampton, the county seat, and 
the scene of President Coolidge's early political suc- 
cesses, is in the extreme western end. Rev. Mr. 
Sawyer is thus a particularly favored son of the 
county on the Democratic end, as the President has been 
en the Republican end, but people who know the county 
and its people will readily understand how two men 
like President Coolidge and Rev. Mr. Sawyer, though 
of diametrically opposite political faiths, should have so 
much in common. 

Roland D. Sawyer is the son of Stephen C. and Maria 
(Blake) Sawyer, and was born in Kensington, New 
Hampshire, January 8, 1874. He was graduated from 
the Exeter High School and from Boston University 
in the class of 1901. He early entered the ministry and 
became the assistant pastor of the South Congregational 
Church at Brockton, Massachusetts. He next served 
churches in Hanson and Haverhill, Massachusetts, and 
it was in igoQ that having received a call from Ware, he 
became pastor of the Congregational Church in that 
town. Here he has remained, accomplishing good work 
and growing in favor with church and community. 
More than a decade ago, Mr. Sawyer began to have 
political aspirations, and in 1912 he was nominated for 
governor of Massachusetts on the Socialist ticket. The 
following year, 1913, he was elected on the Democratic 
ticket to a seat in the Massachusetts House of Repre- 
sentatives from the Ware district, and regardless of 
who has had the temerity to oppose him, he has come 
through every successive campaign with flying colors. 
He has served on most of the important committees 
within the gift of the Speaker of the House. He is 
extremely popular with his colleagues of both parties, 
and when speaking of any measure that he champions 
or opposes he is given a ready and respectful hearing, 
either in committee or on the floor of the house. He 
has the reputation of being a tireless worker and a fear- 
less advocate. In 1908 and again in 1924 Mr. Sawyer 
was a delegate to the Democratic National Convention. 
Rev. Mr. Sawyer has been repeatedly urged by the 
Democrats of Western Massachusetts to seek higher 
political honors and his friends believe he will do so in 
the near future. 

Rev. Mr. Sawyer is a member of Ware Lodge, Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows, and of Ware Grange, 
Patrons of Husbandry, of which he is at present serving 
his second series of years as Master. 

Mr. Sawyer married, June 29, 1898, at Kensington, 
New Hampshire, Mary L. Palmer, daughter of Daniel 
E. and Martha (Brown) Palmer. They are the parents 
of six children: i. Ruth Elizabeth, born June 22, 1899. 
2. Rachel Nathalie, born May 12, 1901. 3. Roland 
Darrow, born December 26, 1902. 4. Robert Palmer, 
born August 24, 1904. 5. Rosalind Blake, born June 
17, 1906. 6. Ramona Jeanette, born September 16, 191 1. 



FRANK M. KINNEY, a leader in the insurance 
business in Springfield, and one of the city's foremost 
public men, was born in Holland, Massachusetts, October 
28, 1882. His father was Francis E. Kinney, and his 
mother Olivia (Parker) Kinney. The surname Parker 



is derived from the Latin Parcarium, a park keeper, or 
shepherd. Danes, Saxons and Normans in England all 
appear to have employed the name at an early period. 
"Parcum" and "De Parco" are found in the Domesday 
Book. As early as the reign of Edward, the Elder, 
King of the Anglos and Saxons, 900 to 925 A. D., a 
Geoffrey Parker is mentioned long before the use of 
surnames in England became common. 

An ancestor of Frank M. Kinney on the maternal side 
was aboard the ship "Ann," crossing in 1623. He be- 
came the first Governor of the Massachusetts Bay Plan- 
tation, and erected the first house in Salem. In 1634 he 
was one of the first three deputies elected by Salem to 
the higher branch of the Legislature. The coat-of-arms 
of the Brownholme family of Parker, the pedigree of 
which is traced to William Le Parker, of Witwistle, 
Lancashire, before 1400, is the one which seems most 
likely to belong to the American line here given. 

Arms — Vert, a chevron between three stags' heads 
embossed or. 

Crest — A leopard head affrontee, erased or, ducally 
gorged gules. 

Motto — Sepre ande. (Dare to be just.) 

This coat-of-arms descended through the Park Hall 
and Staffordshire lines, and is now represented by Sir 
Thomas Parker, Earl of Macclesfield, England. It is 
similar to the early coat-of-arms of the Parker family 
of Entwistle, and doubtless modified from that design. 

(I) James Parker, immigrant ancestor, came from 
England before 1640, when he settled in Woburn, Massa- 
chusetts, and was a taxpayer there in 1645. He prob- 
ably was related to other pioneers of the name located 
in that section of the Bay Colony. Abraham Parker, of 
Woburn, and John Parker, of Billerica and Woburn, 
doubtless were brothers. James Parker removed to 
Billerica about 1654; to Chelmsford in 1658; and to 
Groton in 1660. He owned rights in Groton, and in- 
creased his holdings by purchase until he was the largest 
owner of land and probably the richest proprietor of the 
town. He became prominent both in town and church. 
He was deacon of the church, and selectman of the town 
from 1662 to 1699, more than thirty years. He was 
town clerk for a time ; moderator of all the important 
town meetings of his day ; chairman of important com- 
mittees to locate highways, lay out lots and establish 
town boundaries. He was representative to the General 
Court in 1693. While living in Groton he was at one 
time selectman of Dunstable. He was a brave and sturdy 
Indian fighter, rising to the command of the Groton com- 
pany. His home was at a distance from the village of 
to-day, near Martin's Pond, removed some distance from 
the highway, shaded and secluded, and no trace of it 
remains. A description of his homestead, given in a re- 
cent publication, doubtless applies to the homestead of 
a later head of the family A small part of the original 
homestead was still owned by descendants in Groton at 
last accounts. James Parker owned a large part of Half 
Moon Meadow. He died in 1701, aged eighty-three. 

He married (first). May 23, 1644, Elizabeth Long, 
daughter of Robert Long, of Charlestown, Massachu- 
setts. He married (second) Eunice, (surname unknown). 
The children of James and Elizabeth (Long) Parker 
were : Elizabeth, Anna, John, Sarah, Joseph, James, 





^<^ .-,-^, i. 




WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



149 



Josiah, Samuel, Joshua, Zechariah and Eleazer, of fur- 
ther mention. The child of James and Eunice Parker 
was Sarah, born thirty years after the birth of Eleazer, 
December 12, 1697, as shown by the will and town 
records. 

(II) Eleazer Parker, son of James and Elizabeth 
(Long) Parker, was born in Groton, November 9, 1660. 
He married Mary, surname unknown. Their children, 
born in Groton, were: Anna; Eleazer; Mary; Zachariah, 
of further mention; Thomas, Mehitable; and Elizabeth. 

(III) Lieutenant Zachariah Parker, son of Eleazer 
and Mary Parker, was born at Groton, January 29, 1699. 
He married (first), at Weston, August 11, 1732, Re- 
becca Parks, who died June 11, 1748. He married 
(second), at Mansfield, October 26, 1748, Peace Ames. 
The children of first wife, born at Weston, were: Zach- 
ariah, Ephriam, and James, of further mention. The 
children of second wife, born at Mansfield, were: Mary; 
Daniel ; Eleazer ; Isaac ; Levi ; Sarah ; John Keith, and 
Rachel. 

(IV) James Parker, son of Lieutenant Zachariah and 
Rebecca (Parks) Parker, was born in Dutchess County, 
New York, August 18, 1740. His birth is recorded at 
Mansfield, Connecticut, whither the family removed 
soon after. He served in the Revolution in Captain 
Jonathan Nichols' company, Lieutenant-Colonel Experi- 
ence Storr's regiment, at the Lexington Alarm, April 
19. 177s ; also in 1781 in the regiment of General David 
Waterbury, State Brigade. He removed to Willington, 
Connecticut, later in life and owned land there in 1802. 
He married, December i, 1762, Mary Conant, daughter 
of Malachi Conant, of Mansfield. Their children were: 
A daughter ; James ; Reuben ; Keziah ; Joanna ; Eunice ; 
Olive ; Molly ; Rebecca ; David, of further mention ; 
Edmund ; Sarah ; a daughter, and Abigail. 

(V) David Parker, son of James and Mary (Conant) 
Parker, was born in Mansfield, Connecticut, June 20, 
1779. He lived in Willington and Ash ford, Connecticut, 
until 1806, when he sold his property and removed to 
Brimfield, Massachusetts. Several brothers and sisters 
removed to Ohio. He married Hannah Curtis, daughter 
of Silas Antisdel Curtis, a soldier of the Revolution, at 
Willington, Connecticut, March 7, 1799. Their children, 
bom at Willington, Connecticut, were : Luther ; Nehe- 
miah; Orre; Orson; Orson (2); David, Jr.; Hannah; 
Sumner, of further mention ; Silas ; Harriet, and Philo. 

(VI) Sumner Parker, son of David and Hannah 
(Curtis) Parker, was born October 30, 1815. He 
married Melina Parsons, and among their children was 
Olivia, who married Francis E. Kinney. 

The Kinney family traces its descent to Sir Thomas 
Kin(n)e, as the old spelling was, although the named 
is spelled Kinney, a form adopted in the succeeding gen- 
erations. 

(I) Sir Thomas was the father of Henry Kinney, the 
immigrant ancestor of the American line. Henry Kin- 
ney came to Salem, Massachusetts, by way of Holland, 
in 1651. His father. Sir Thomas Kinne, was of Nor- 
folk, England. The son is mentioned in "Pope's Pio- 
neers of Massachusetts" as being placed as an appren- 
tice with William Parker, of Roxbury, in 1639, and 
"removing to Salem," or Salem Village, which to-day is 
Danvers. His name is twice spelled Kenning in the 



Salem Vital Records, but usually Kinney. Henry Kin- 
ney married Ann, surname unknown, and they had eight 
children. 

(II) Thomas Kinney, son of Henry and Ann Kinney, 
was born in 1656. He married. May 23, 1677, Elizabeth 
Knight, of Salem. They were the parents of four 
children, born in Salem : i. Thomas, born June 27, 1678, 
died in 1756 ; married Martha, surname unknown. 2. 
Joseph, born September 7, 1680. 3. Daniel, born July 
23, 1682. 4. Jonathan, of further mention. 

(III) Jonathan Kinney, son of Thomas and Elizabeth 
(Knight) Kinney, was born in Salem, May 27, 1686. 
He married, and was the father of five children, all born 
in Salem: i. Jonathan, of further mention. 2. Rebecca, 
baptized September 20, 1714. 3. Thomas, baptized Sep- 
tember 2, 1716. 4. Nathan, baptized March 2, 1717-18. 
5. Samuel, baptized June 12, 1720. 

(IV) Jonathan Kinney, son of Jonathan Kinney, was 
baptized in Salem, June 8, 1712. He married, March 3, 
1735. Prudence Gale, of Sutton, Massachusetts, and they 
were the parents of ten children: i. Jonathan, baptized 
July 17, 1736. 2. Prudence, baptized December 
4. ^737- 3- Jonathan, baptized March 30, 1740. 4. 
Nathan. 5. Violette, born May i, 1744. 6. Rebecca, 
born April 18, 1746. 7. Jonas, born October 24, 1748; 
enlisted in the "Connecticut Line," July 10, 1780; dis- 
charged December 4, 1780. 8. Lucy, born October 27, 
1750. 9. Mara, baptized October 6, 1752. 10. A child, 
born August 7, 1754. 

(V) Nathan Kinney, son of Jonathan and Prudence 
(Gale) Kinney, was born November 4, 1741, in Sutton, 
Massachusetts, and came to Union, Connecticut, in 1773. 
He appears to have been in Westboro, Massachusetts, in 
1772, for he bought a farm in Union. The deed of John 
Rosebrooks, of South Brimfield, dated October i, 1773, 
conveying land to Nathan Kinney, said he was of West- 
boro, and he was in Westboro in 1780. He married 
(first), in Sutton, November 6, 1768, Abigail Williams, 
who died March 28, 1778, leaving five children. He mar- 
ried (second), October 5, 1780, Eunice Kinney, of Sut- 
ton, and they were the parents of three children. He 
married (third) Anna Chaffie, in Union, Connecticut. 
Of the eight children, five are in the Westboro, Massa- 
chusetts, records ; two are recorded in Union : i. Joel, 
of further mention. 2. Eleazer, born March 28, 1771 ; 
married Mary Paul. 3. Ruth, born August 14, 1772; 
married Thomas Lawson, Jr., of Union. 4. Lucy, born 
December 4, 1774; married David Coye, of Union. 5. 
John, born May 30, 1776. By second marriage: 6. Al- 
pheus, born July 29, 1781 ; married Lucy Eaton, daughter 
of John Eaton. 7. Nathan, born November 6, 1785, in 
Union ; married Roxa Thompson. 8. David, born March 
28, 1789, in Union. 

(VI) Joel Kinney, son of Nathan Kinney, was born 
August I, 1769, and died March 2, 1852. He married. 
May ID, 1792, Chloe Coye, who died March 21, 1834. 
They were the parents of these children : i. Abigail, 
born September 23, 1793, died September 27, 1793. 2. 
Archibald, born October 24, 1794. 3. David, born March 
II, 1796, died March 12, 1798. 4. Elizabeth, born March 
16, 1800, died in infancy. 5. Elizabeth, born September 
26, 1801 ; married Moses C. Sissions. 6. Nathan, born 
November 28, 1803. 7. Elisha, of further mention. 8- 



ISO 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



Daniorth, born November 30, 1809. 9. Horace, born 
March 22, 1814, died January 21, 1897. 

(VII) Elisha Kinney, son of Joel and Chloe (Coye) 
Kinney, was born October 11, 1808, and died August 
23, 1888, in Holland, Massachusetts. He was a hotel 
keeper in Holland for many years. He married, August 
25, 1833, Mary Ann Marcy, of Holland, who died Febru- 
ary 5, 1888, at seventy-eight years. They were the 
parents of two children : Mary A. E., born November 10, 
1834; she married Francis Wright, and they had two 
children, George H. and Everett E. K. 2. Francis E., 
of further mention. 

(VIII) Francis E. Kinney, son of Elisha and Mary 
Ann (Marcy) Kinney, was bom in Holland, Massachu- 
setts, February 14, 1841, and died there March 10, 1890. 
He owned a farm and conducted a hotel, and was active 
in the community life, having held various town offices. 
He was a man held in high esteem by every one who 
knew him, and had a wide circle of friends and ac- 
quaintances. He met his death while attempting to 
save his son, Frank M., who was at the time eight years 
old, and who had fallen into the water where they were 
cutting ice. Five other men assisted in the attempt at 
rescue, all of them escaping with their lives except Mr. 
Kinney. Mr. Kinney married, December 29, 1869, Olivia 
Parker, of Brimfield, Massachusetts, daughter of Sum- 
ner and Melina (Parsons) Parker (see Parker VI), and 
they were the parents of six children: i. Mabel Parker, 
bom January 22, 1871, died January 29, 1871. 2. Oscar 
Francis, born October 7, 1872. 3. Walter Earl, born 
September 10, 1874, died January 23, 1923. 4. Grace 
Millicent, born December 9, 1876; married Percy E. 
Woodward, died in 1909. 5. Sumner Parker, bom July 
13, 1880, died in 1916. 6. Frank Milton, of further 
mention. 

(IX) Frank Milton Kinney, son of Francis E. and 
Olivia (Parker) Kinney, was educated in Holland and 
Palmer, and came to Springfield in iSgi, where he was 
graduated from the Central High School in 1902. He went 
West and travelled extensively for twelve years. He trav- 
elled about twelve hundred miles on horseback on one 
of his trips, covering the States of North Dakota, Wyo- 
ming and Montana, during a period of about three 
months. He passed part of this time in Denver, and 
afterwards bought a fruit ranch in the Yakima Valley, 
State of Washington, which he operated for about eight 
years. In 1913, he returned to Springfield and entered 
the insurance business in association with Gilmore and 
Goldthwaite, remaining with this concern for a period 
of three years. In 1916 he established an insurance 
agency of his own, which he has carried on successfully 
ever since, his offices being located in the Third National 
Bank Building, and he represents a number of the best 
companies in America. He has always been active in the 
upbuilding of the insurance business, and has served 
as secretary and president of the Life Underwriters' 
Association of Western Massachusetts. In October, 
1924, he was elected president of the Insurance Associ- 
ation of Springfield, this organization being composed 
of all the insurance representatives of the city. Upon 
the organization of the Kiwanis Qub, of Springfield, 
Mr. Kinney was elected its first secretary, and later was 



made its president. In 1920 he was elected president 
of the Central High School Alumni Association. He is 
at the present time (1925) serving as vice-president 
of the Union Relief Association, and for three years he 
has been a director of the Chamber of Commerce. In 
1918 Mr. Kinney was elected to the lower board of the 
City Council, and after two years' service resigned to 
become a candidate for the upper board, to which he was 
elected. He has served on the following committees : 
For two years on the finance committee ; that on mayor's 
messages ; revision of ordinance ; the original Soldiers' 
and Sailors' Memorial Commission ; the rules of the 
road committee, of which he was chairman for several 
years. At the time of Cardinal Mercier's visit to the 
city Mr. Kinney was a member of the special committee 
on entertainment; he also served on the citizens' com- 
mittee when Springfield welcomed Marshal Foch. He 
has been active in all public afTairs, rendering services 
wherever there is need. He has been president of the 
Board of Aldermen since 1923, his present term expiring 
in 1926. He has been called upon to serve as acting 
mayor at various times, a memorable occasion being 
at the memorial services held in the Auditorium after 
the death of President Harding. He is a member of 
the following clubs, besides the Chamber of Commerce 
and the Kiwanis Club, already mentioned: The Nayasset, 
Winthrop, Longmeadow Country, Publicity and Auto- 
mobile. 

Mr. Kinney, alderman and president of the upper 
board of the City Council, was placed in the ring of can- 
didates for mayor. He was hailed as the next chief 
executive of Springfield by members of the city govern- 
ment at their annual farewell banquet in 1923, and glow- 
ing tributes were paid him both by Mayor Leonard and 
Alderman Raymond B. Shattuck, who was toastmaster 
of the occasion. Fraternally, Mr. Kinney is a member 
of Springfield Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons. Mr. 
Kinney stands high in the public esteem. His fine char- 
acter, his splendid force, and his genial nature are all 
qualities that help in winning his way to high office and 
success. His future smiles beckoningly, and there is 
every promise that he will attain even greater heights 
than in the past. 

Frank M. Kinney married, October 19, 1910, Ida 
Martha Sharkey, of Yakima, State of Washington. Mr. 
Kirmey's business address is the Third National Bank 
Building, and his residence No. 24 Oxford Street. 



FREDERICK HUFF PAYNE— The Payne family 
is an old and prominent one in America. Edward 
Payne, great-great-grandfather of Frederick Huff 
Payne, was born January 22, 17 10, and spent the greater 
part of his life in Pomfret, Connecticut. On May 18, 
1 73 1, he married but the name of his wife is not avail- 
able from any accessible record. His children were: 
I. Nathan, born in 1733. 2. John, born in 1735. 3. 
Lois, born in 1737. 4. Phoebe, born in 1739. 5. Abi- 
gail, born in 1741. 6. Sarah, born in 1744. 7. Stephen, 
born in 1746. 8. Thelda, born in 1748. 9. Edward, of 
whom further. 10. Eunice, born in 1752. 11. Nathan, 
born in 1755. 

(II) Edward (2) Payne, son of Edward Pajme, was 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



151 



born in Pom fret, Connecticut, in 1750, and died in 
Montague, Massachusetts, in 1845. He married Persis 
Cleveland, who was born in Canterbury, Connecticut, in 
1752. They were the parents of the following children, 
all born in Montague, Massachusetts: i. James, bom 
in 1774. 2. Edward (3), of whom further. 3. Lois, 
born in 1778. 4. Libeus, born in 1780. 5. Alvin, bom 
in 1782. 6. Libeus, born in 1783. 7. Persis, born in 
1785. 8. Oren, born in 1787. 9. John, born in 1789. 
10. Seril, born in 1791. 11. Ira, born in 1793. 

(III) Edward (3) Payne, son of Edward (2) PajTie, 
was born in Montague, Massachusetts, November 2, 
1776, and died in August, 1866. He married Susan 
Bancroft, who was born May 8, 1780, and died January 
10, 1856. They were the parents of three children: 
Mary, born in 1809; Nathan Cleveland, of whom further; 
and John P., born in 1815. 

(IV) Nathan Cleveland Payne, son of Edward (3) 
Payne, the next in line, was born in Montague, Massa- 
chusetts, November 5, 1812, and died August 24, 1856. 
He was active as a harness and trunk maker in Mon- 
tague. Nathan Cleveland Payne married in 1836 Sarah 
Brewer, who was born in 1817 and died in 1870. They 
were the parents of: i. Henry W., born in 1838, who 
served in the Civil War and died in 1916. 2. Susan, 
born in 1840, died in 1842. 3. Julia, born in 1842, be- 
came the wife of Burton Closson, and died in 1924. 4. 
Samuel Brewer, of whom further. 5. Freeman E., born 
February 8, 1847. 6. Fanny C, born December 18, 
1849, wife of John T. Shaw. 7. Charles Nathan, born 
July 24, 1852, died March 3, 1923. 

(V) Samuel Brewer Payne, son of Nathan Cleveland 
and Sarah (Brewer) Payne, was born in Massachusetts 
December 6, 1843, and died June 7, 1912. His early life 
was spent on the home farm and later he learned the 
trade of harness-making, which he followed during the 
greater part of his life. This business he developed, 
and in 1864 he came to Greenfield, where in company 
with his eldest brother, Henry W. Payne, he carried 
on the business of the manufacture of harnesses and sale 
of trunks, bags and saddlery hardware. For five years 
the brothers were active under the firm name of H. W. 
& S. B. Payne, when Samuel Brewer Payne purchased 
his brother's interest and continued at the same location 
until the time of his death. Samuel B. Payne married 
in Keene, New Hampshire, December 7, 1870, Eva 
Caroline Huff, who was born in Boston, June 10, 1850, 
and died April 10, 1917. She was a daughter of Daniel 
C. and Caroline (Merry) Huff. Samuel Brewer and 
Eva Caroline (Huff) Payne were the parents of two 
sons: I. Herbert Burton Payne, who was born in 
Greenfield, November 16, 1871, and succeeded his 
father in the harness and trunk business in that place. 
He married, October 9, 1900, Kate O. Anderson, of 
Shelburne, Massachusetts, and they are the parents of 
two children: Samuel Burton, born June 24, 1906; and 
Helen Anderson, born May 7, 1915. 2. Frederick Huff, 
of whom further. 

(VI) Frederick Huff Payne, son of Samuel Brewer 
and Eva Caroline (Huff) Payne, was born in Green- 
field, Massachusetts, November 10, 1876. As previously 
stated, his father, Samuel B. Payne, was prominently 
identified with the harness and saddlery business in that 



town for over forty years. His paternal ancestors were 
of Scotch-Irish extraction, and his mother's side was of 
English descent. Educated in the public schools of his 
native place, Frederick Huff Payne went to work at the 
age of fifteen years, beginning his business career 
with the First National Bank of Greenfield as a clerk, 
and remaining with that institution until he was twenty- 
nine years of age; he was bank teller at the time he 
resigned to accept the office of bank examiner of the 
State of Massachusetts. He resigned this position after 
three years to become president of the Mechanics' Trust 
Company of Boston. A few months later this bank 
consolidated with the Federal Trust Company of Boston, 
and Mr. Payne became first vice-president of that in- 
stitution. On April 2, 1912, he resigned to become the 
first treasurer of the Greenfield Tap and Die Corpora- 
tion, of which he was one of the organizers. In Febru- 
ary, 1916, he was elected vice-president and general 
manager, and in December, 1919, he became president 
of this corporation, a position he now holds. Mr. Payne 
is also a director of the First National Bank of Green- 
field; a trustee of the Franklin Savings Institution of 
Greenfield; a director of the Goodell-Pratt Company of 
Greenfield; a director of the Greenfield Electric Light 
and Power Company; a director of the Westchester Fire 
Insurance Company, of New York City; and he is 
prominent in other enterprises. In 1918 Mr. Payne was 
appointed Major of Ordnance in the United States 
service. He was made District Procurement Officer of 
the Bridgeport District, which comprised Connecticut 
and Western Massachusetts, On the signing of the 
armistice he became a member of the Bridgeport 
District Claims Board, with the rank of Major. He 
retired from active service July i, 1919, and is at the 
present time a lieutenant-colonel in the Ordnance 
Department, United States Army, Officers Reserve 
Corps. In August, 1919, he became a partner of Tucker, 
Anthony & Company, investment bankers, of Boston 
and New York, but retired from that firm June i, 1924, 
in order to devote all his time to the Greenfield Tap 
and Die Corporation. His club afifiliations are: Mem- 
bership in the Union League, the Metropolitan, the 
Army and Navy, the Recess, and the Hardware, all of 
New York; The University, of Boston; the Colony, of 
Springfield, Massachusetts; the Greenfield, and the 
Country clubs of Greenfield. In politics he is a Repub- 
lican. 

Mr. Payne married, November 8, 1900, Mary Blake, 
of Parsons, Kansas, daughter of Edward and Ella 
(Snow) Blake. Mr. and Mrs. Payne are the parents 
of three children: Frederick Blake, born in Greenfield, 
September 13, 1901; Groverman Blake, born in Boston, 
December 16, 1909; and Carolyn Huff, born in Green- 
field June 27, 1913. The Payne family residence is in 
Greenfield, Massachusetts. 



FRANKLIN EDWARD SNOW was one of the 

most pubHc spirited men of Greenfield, and his demise, 
within the last decade and a half, lost to the town one of 
those rare spirits, willing to devote much of his great 
ability to its service. He was a descendant of an old 
American family who can trace their lineage back to 
Nicholas Snow, the immigrant ancestor, who was born 



152 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



in England but came to this country in 1623, landing 
in Plymouth from the good ship "Ann," and who had 
a good share of the land in the division in Plymouth in 
1624. In 1634 he settled in Eastham, Massachusetts, 
and became a prominent citizen. His home was on the 
road from Plymouth to Eel River on the westerly side, 
and he was admitted a freeman in 1633. He was elected 
town clerk at the first meeting of the town of Eastham, 
and held that office for sixteen years; he was deputy to 
the General Court from 1648 for a period of three years; 
selectman from 1663, for seven years. He and his son, 
Mark, signed the call to Rev. John Mayo to settle as 
their minister in 1655; and he was one of Governor 
Thomas Prence's associates. He died at Eastham, No- 
vember 15, 1676. He married, at Plymouth, Constance 
Hopkins, daughter of Stephen Hopkins, who came over 
in the "Mayflower." All the descendants of Nicholas 
and Constance (Hopkins) Snow are eligible to the 
Mayflower Society; Constance, herself, having come on 
the "Mayflower" with her father. She died in October, 
1677. Among their children was Jabez, the eighth child, 
of whom further. 

Jabez Snow, son of Nicholas and Constance (Hop- 
kins) Snow, was born in 1642, and died December 20, 
1690, at Eastham, Massachusetts. He was a lieutenant 
in Captain John Gorham's company in the expedition to 
Canada under Phips in 1690, and he also was one of the 
prominent citizens of Eastham. He married, about 

1670, Elizabeth , and they were the parents of 

eight children, the eldest of whom was Jabez, of whom 
further. 

Jabez Snow, son of Jabez and Elizabeth Snow, was 
born at Eastham, September 6, 1670, and died there 
October 14, 1750. He married, about 1695, Elizabeth 
Treat, daughter of Rev. Samuel and Elizabeth (Mayo) 
Treat; her gravestone is in the Eastham burying ground, 
near the railroad station. Among their eight children 
was the sixth child, Samuel, of whom further. 

Samuel Snow, son of Jabez and Elizabeth (Treat) 
Snow, was born January 22, 1708 or 1709. He married 
Elizabeth Freeman, and they were the parents of ten 
children, the ninth being Sparrow, of whom further. 

Sparrow Snow, son of Samuel and Elizabeth (Free- 
man) Snow, was born at Eastham, April 12, 1748. He 
was one of the soldiers of the Revolution from Eastham, 
in Captain Isaac Higgin's company, Major Zenas Win- 
slow's regiment, in 1778. John and James Snow were 
in the same company and after the Revolution, Sparrow, 
Freeman, James and Thomas Snow removed to Sandis- 
field, Massachusetts, and were living there in 1790, ac- 
cording to the Federal census of that year. Sparrow 
Snow had several sons and daughters. 

Galen Snow, son or nephew of Sparrow Snow, was 
born about 1780, and he settled at Savoy, Berkshire 
County, Massachusetts. He married and had children, 
among them Newell, of whom further. 

Newell Snow, son of Galen Snow, was born at Savoy, 
October 9, 1816. He was educated in the public schools 
of his native town, and at a very early age became the 
main support of his widowed mother and six young 
children. He went to work in the cotton mills of North 
Adams and subsequently worked in the Griswold mills 



at Colerain, and in time became superintendent there. In 
1850, with a modest capital that he had saved, he en- 
gaged in business on his own account, as a general 
merchant, at Shelburne Falls, Massachusetts, and was 
very successful. From 1857 to 1864 he was in the 
wholesale and retail grocery business at Chicago. He 
became interested in the gold mining industry in Nova 
Scotia and took the management of the property there. 
He acquired a competency and retired, locating in 
Greenfield, Massachusetts, where he spent his last years. 
He was possessed of great business ability, energy, and 
industry, and was always interested in public affairs. He 
represented his district in the General Court in 1877, 
and was for a number of years selectman of the town of 
Greenfield. He was a member of the Masonic Order 
and during his residence in the provinces, was grand 
lecturer of New Brunswick and Nova Scotia. He 
was also for a number of years president of the Green- 
field Savings Bank. He married (first), November 
9> 1839, Jane E. Thompson, born July 14, 1820, daugh- 
ter of John and Elvira (Adams) Thompson. She died 
in 1853, and he married (second), in 1854, Sarah Hale, 
who died in 1893. He died August 19, 1889. Newell 
Snow was the father of seven children; by the first mar- 
riage: I. Emma. 2. Oscar N. 3. Ella. 4. Franklin 
Edward, of whom further. By second marriage: 5. 
Cora Maria. 6. Edward. 7. Walter N. 

Franklin Edward Snow, son of Newell and Jane E. 
(Thompson) Snow, was born at Griswold Village, Cole- 
rain, Massachusetts, April 10, 1849, and died in Green- 
field, Massachusetts, January 6, 1912. He received his 
education in the public schools of Greenfield and Chi- 
cago, and in 1867 became a bookkeeper in the Shelburne 
Falls National Bank, remaining there two years. In 
1869 he engaged in the banking business at Halifax, 
Nova Scotia, and in 1870 he went to Western Wiscon- 
sin, where he established a general store. A year later 
he went to Chicago, where he was employed in a bank 
until June, 1873. He then became cashier of the First 
National Bank of Negaunee, Michigan, where he re- 
mained for the next five years, returning then to Chi- 
cago as teller of the Northwestern National Bank. In 
1880 he engaged in the manufacture of tools and ma- 
chinery at Greenfield, Massachusetts, as partner in the 
firm of Wells Brothers & Company, which was after- 
wards incorporated as the Wells Brothers Company, of 
which he became treasurer and general manager. He 
was also interested in the Greenfield Machine Company, 
of which he was president at the time of his death. He 
was director of the First National Bank of Greenfield; 
trustee of the Franklin Institute of Savings; was at one 
time a trustee of the Smith Charities of Northampton; 
he served for one year as president of the Board of 
Trade; in 1910 was named as trustee of the North- 
ampton Insane Hospital. He was a member of the 
Republican Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons; Frank- 
lin Chapter, Royal Arch Masons; Titus Strong Council, 
Royal and Select Masters; Connecticut Valley Com- 
mandery, Knights Templar; Saint Croix Council, 
Princes of Jerusalem; Massachusetts Consistory, 
Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite, of Boston. He also 
held membership in the Ancient Arabic Order Nobles 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



153 



of the Mystic Shrine, of Springfield. He was for five 
years president of the Greenfield Club; was an active 
Republican in politics and was a delegate to the Re- 
publican National Conventions in St. Louis in 1904, and 
Chicago in 1908. He also served on the Republican 
Congressional Committee, and was for a time assessor 
of the town. He was interested in many public building 
enterprises, including that of All Souls' Church, of 
which he was a member, and also in the Masonic Build- 
ding. He was president and the moving spirit of the 
Greenfield Coaching Club, and was active in arranging 
the coaching parade that was such an attractive feature 
of the cattle show; he also did an enormous amount of 
work in getting up the brilliant parade at the time of the 
one hundred and fiftieth birthday celebration of the 
town. 

Franklin Edward Snow married, January 17, 1871, 
Lucy Elizabeth (L. Elizabeth) Whitney, of Shelburne 
Falls, Massachusetts, born May 27, 1849, daughter of 
John Brooks and Lucinda (Bardwell) Whitney, and 
they were the parents of three children: i. Pauline S., 
married Franklin Kittridge White, of Boston, and they 
have one son, Huntington. 2. Ella Gertrude, married 
Frederick Russell Browning, of Greenfield, and they 
have three children : Franklin Snow, Paul Russell, and 
Clyde Frederick. 3. Elizabeth Whitney, married Charles 
N. Stoddard, and they are the parents of two children : 
Charles Newell and Whitney Snow. Among the vari- 
ous editorials that appeared after the death of Mr. Snow 
are the following excerpts quoted from the "Iron Age": 

The death of Franklin Edward Snow was one of the 
greatest losses Greenfield has sustained in recent 
years. The town has had very few men of such pub- 
lic spirit so willing to devote large ability to public 
causes. . . . He was willing to take hold of any 
undertaking for the good of Greenfield; when he was 
appointed on a committee or accepted any ofllce, the 
work was pushed with untiring energy. . . . He was 
also interested in Masonry, .... this work taking 
him over a wide territory. 

An able and public-spirited citizen, giving of his best 
energies to his community, Mr. Snow has well earned 
the high esteem in which he is still held in the memo- 
ries of those who knew him; the works that he did are 
still a benefit to the town to-day, and his reputation as 
one of Greenfield's few and public-spirited men has 
but grown with time. 



REV. FATHER JAMES W. CASEY— The duties 
of pastor and priest in many of the dioceses in an 
enormous country like ours, apart from the care of 
souls and the discharge of ecclesiastical functions, in- 
clude numerous worldly tasks requiring an inexhaustable 
fund of human sympathy, business capacity, practical 
wisdom, patience and a superabundance of physical 
energy. Only the priest who possesses a combination 
of these qualities in a degree above the average that 
one is wont to find in secular life, can hope to do full 
justice to his high and responsible calling; to spiritually 
lift and influence for good, the souls of the members of 
his congregation; to imbue them with the principles 
and the mentality demanded by constructive civics from 
the members of a Christian democratic community. The 
Rev. Father James W. Casey, of St. Anne's Church, 
Turners Falls, is happily the possessor of these gifts. 



and he has maintained the traditions of his predecessors 
in that field, and has faithfully and steadfastly, for 
fifteen years or more, labored for the good of the 
Church and the spiritual and material well being of his 
congregation, to which he has become a real father and 
friend. 

The history of this parish took a decided turn in the 
year 1884, when the French-speaking people of Turners 
Falls numbered one thousand two hundred souls. On 
July 12, 1884, Bishop O'Reilly sent them as a pastor the 
Rev. J. Edmond Perreault, who was met on his arrival 
by Mr. B. N. Farren, who welcomed the priest and 
promised him his personal assistance. Mr. Farren, who 
is a man of wealth and who completed the Hoosic Tun- 
nel, had amassed his large fortune and attained his 
high position by his own energy, and he encouraged 
Father Perreault to build at once. Relying upon this 
advice, the young priest set about devising ways and 
means to accomplish this project. He found ready help 
in all his undertakings, in Mr. Farren, who remained a 
steadfast friend to the parish up to the time of his de- 
parture from Turners Falls. Plans were drawn up and 
the work was started immediately, and the basement 
of the present church of St. Anne was ready before the 
end of the following year. In 1886, mass was celebrated 
in the skating rink, and after this, the religious gather- 
ings took place in Clapp's Hall, pending the completion 
of the church. In 1889 the rectory was built, and the 
superstructure of the church was completed, and on 
May II, 1890, the church was finally dedicated to and 
placed under the patronage of St. Anne. In 1892 
Father Perreault bought land for a parochial school, 
but in February, 1893, he was transferred to Worcester 
and succeeded by Rev. Joseph C. Allard. In the sum- 
mer of Father Allard's first year as a pastor of St. 
Anne, he began to clear the land and prepare it for the 
school building, and in November, 1895, work was com- 
menced on this building. On September 8, 1896, two 
hundred and seventy pupils came to the four sisters of 
St. Anne, Sister M. Antoine, as a Superior, who that 
day became the teachers in the first parochial school of 
Franklin County. The Parish now has one thousand 
three hundred French Canadians, and owns a plot of 
land two hundred and forty feet long by two hundred 
and thirty feet wide. On this area stands the church, 
the rectory and the splendid school and convent, all of 
red brick, and too high a tribute cannot be paid to the 
good work of the sisters of St. Anne, in their teaching, 
and in the formation of the characters of the little ones 
of the parish since the opening of the school twenty- 
seven years ago. The parish also has exclusive posses- 
sion of a cemetery; the parish registers show that since 
its foundation there have been performed over one 
thousand two hundred baptisms, and over two hundred 
marriages have been celebrated. On January i, 1891, 
Father Allard had been appointed pastor at Shelburne 
Falls, and thence had come to St. Anne's at Turners 
Falls. He remained here until August 15, 1906, when 
he was succeeded by Rev. Edmond Graton, who in 
turn was succeeded by Father James W. Casey, No- 
vember 15, 1909. 

Father Casey is a native of South Wilbraham, born 
August 18, 1874, son of Mathias and Bridget E. Casey. 



154 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



He attended public schools, the Wesleyan Academy at 
Wilbraham, St. Charles College, Maryland, and finally 
Montreal College and Laval University, from which he 
was graduated in 1903. In the same year he was or- 
dained a priest at St. James' Cathedral, at Montreal, 
Province of Quebec. After spending two years at 
Montreal College, teaching, he went to Williamstown, to 
St. Raphael's Church, March 15, 1906, and from there 
to St. Joseph's Parish, Worcester, as assistant pastor to 
Revs. A. E. Langevin, E. Graton, and J. C. Allard, 
where he remained until 1909, when he was transferred 
to Turner's Falls to succeed his two former Worcester 
Pastors. Since coming to his new sphere of activity. 
Father Casey has renovated the church, school and 
rectory, throughout, and in 191 installed a peal of 
bells in the church, the work being done by the Menealy 
Company of Watervliet, New York. The bells of St. 
Anne's Church have the distinction of being the only 
peal of bells in Franklin County; and the parochial 
school, which is also the only one in the county, is 
to-day attended by two hundred pupils, who under the 
careful guidance of the sisters, are developing into a 
fine set of future citizens. Father Casey has for fourteen 
years been spiritual chaplain of the Farren Hospital, 
of St. Jean Baptiste, of St. Elizabeth; St. Cecile Union, 
St. Joseph and the Catholic Order of Foresters Socie- 
ties. Under his supervision the church has just been 
decorated and this work is considered one of the most 
artistic in the vicinity; a new electric lighting system 
has been installed, a gift of several of the parishionets; 
also new stations of the cross, a gift of others of the 
parish, among other gifts and donations. Father Casey 
had served on the school committee of the town for 
several years, until he resigned on account of extra 
parochial duties. He is a member of the Board of 
Trade, and enjoys the distinction of having given the 
town's jubilee address at the signing of the Armistice, 
November 11, 1918. St. Anne's has the honor of having 
among its members the first volunteer soldier in the 
town, and the church roll of honor, a piece of art in 
itself, shows St. Anne's boys, numerous, and diversified 
in their talents in their efforts to bring about a world 
peace. Father Casey's work has been forwarded by 
the fine spirit of cooperation that has been tendered 
him, not alone by his flock, but also by the people of 
the town, and he is justly proud of the splendid civic 
spirit that exists in the community. 



HENRY LELAND BOWLES, president of the 
Bowles Lunch Company, Limited, of Canada, operating 
lunch room in Ottawa, Toronto and Hamilton, Ontario; 
of the Bowles Lunch Company, Incorporated, operating 
lunch rooms in Massachusetts, Rhode Island and New 
York State, west to Buffalo; and of the Bowles Lunch 
Company with a chain of lunch rooms from Buffalo, New 
York, west to Duluth, Minnesota, makes his head- 
quarters and his home in Springfield, Massachusetts, 
where his other interests, especially in real estate, are 
large. Mr. Bowles was born January 6, 1866, in Athens, 
Vermont, son of Lyman E. and Julia L. (Leland) 
Bowles. 

(I) Joseph Bolles, his English ancestor, appears 
first of record in New England in 1640, where he en- 



gaged in trade at Winter Harbor near the mouth of 
Saco River, Province of Maine. There is a "Bolls" in 
the roll of Battle Abbey, and the name of Bole, Bol, Boll 
and Bolle occur frequently in Domesday Book. The 
American Bowles is a form of the English Bolles. 
Joseph Bolles left Winter Harbor to live at Wells, 
Maine, where he was town clerk for ten years, 1654-1664. 
In that period Indians made a raid on the town, burned 
his house and destroyed the first volume of the town 
records. He was grantor and grantee in numerous 
real estate transactions, was honored with important 
offices, and was rated a man of high character. He 
spelled the name Bolles whenever he wrote it himself; 
but in the fifth generation Bowles became the accepted 
form of spelling. Joseph Bolles, born in England in 
1608, died in Wells, Maine, prior to November 29, 1678. 
His wife who survived him is believed to have been a 
daughter of Morgan Howell who owned land at Cape 
Porpoise. She was born in 1624. 

(II) Samuel Bolles, son of Joseph Bolles, was born in 
Wells, Maine, March 12, 1646, and was living in the 
town of Rochester, Massachusetts, in 1713. He was 
burned out three times in Indian raids; then moved to 
Clark Island, Boston Harbor; and finally to Rochester. 
He married Mary Dyer, daughter of William Dyer, of 
Sheepscott. 

(III) Samuel Bolles, son of Samuel and Mary (Dyer) 
Bolles, born in the town of Wells, Maine, was a farmer 
all his life. He died October 3, 1746. His wife was 
Lydia Balch. 

(IV) David Bolles, fourth child of Samuel and Lydia 
(Balch) Bolles, lived in Rochester, Massachusetts, until 
1782, then moved to Richmond, New Hampshire, where 
he passed the remainder of his days. He married Lydia 
Kirby, and they were the parents of ten children. 

(V) Jesse Bolles, the yoimgest son of David and Lydia 
(Kirby) Bolles, was born in 1779, and died May 10, 
1855. His farm in Bethlehem, New Hampshire, is now 
the site of the Maplewood Casino. He married Polly 
Gale, and their son was Caleb W., of further mention. 

(VI) Caleb W. Bowles, as he spelled the name, son 
of Jesse and Polly (Gale) Bolles, was born in 1809, and 
died at Littleton, New Hampshire, February 8, 1882. 
He inherited the farm at Bethlehem, and lived there 
many years. He finally moved to Sugar Hill where he 
passed his last years and is buried. He married (first) 
Martha Goodnow, September 28, 1831, born in Lisbon, 
in 1806, died in 1858. 

(VII) Lyman Eliot Bowles, son of Caleb W. and 
Martha (Goodnow) Bowles, was born in Franconia, 
New Hampshire, October 8, 1838, and died in Newton, 
Pennsylvania, September 14, 1871. After attending the 
Bethlehem public schools he took advanced courses in 
an academy. He became a teacher in the district schools 
of Lyman and Lisbon, New Hampshire, and in Rocking- 
ham and Athens, Vermont. He was painstaking as a 
teacher and his pupils held him in high esteem. He was 
employed in New York by an ice company for about 
three years. He went South and was attacked by rheu- 
matic fever on his way to New Orleans. Returning 
North after a severe illness he was employed on the 
farm of his father-in-law, Otis Leland, at Athens, Ver- 
mont. He finally engaged in the life insurance business 




^ 



JL'-iyx^y'i^ 



^^ , /2.-^o~^^^i-^~2$^ 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



155 



at Newtown, Pennsylvania, and followed it until his 
death. He was buried in Sunset Hill Cemetery, Lisbon, 
New Hampshire, with Masonic rites. He was an ardent 
temperance advocate and universally esteemed. He mar- 
ried, March 8, 1865, at Athens, Vermont, Julia Louise 
Leland, born in Lowell, Massachusetts, September 14, 
1840, a descendant of Henry Leland, born in England, 
and a resident of the town of Sherbourne, Massachusetts, 
at the time of his death, April 4, i860. 

(VIH) Henry Leland Bowles, eldest son of Lyman 
Eliot and Julia Louise (Leland) Bowles, was born at 
Athens, Vermont, January 6, 1866. At eleven years he 
worked on a farm near Saxtons River, Vermont, for his 
board. After attending the public schools he was sent 
to the Vermont Academy at Saxtons River. At eighteen 
he left school and went to Osage, Mitchell County, Iowa, 
and worked two years for a farmer. At twenty years 
of age he went to Los Angeles, California, where he 
engaged in various occupations, ranching, working in 
lumber yard, and serving as hotel clerk, in all a period 
of four years. Returning to New England he found 
employment in the United States Watch Company's 
works at Waltham, Massachusetts. He was afterwards 
night clerk at the Old Essex Hotel in Salem for three 
years. He was for a short time agent for the Metro- 
politan Life Insurance Company of New York at its 
office in South Boston. Severing his relations with the 
insurance company, he engaged in the calling which 
proved to be his great success. Beginning as clerk for 
J. A. Whitcomb, proprietor of the Baltimore Dairy 
Lunch rooms, located in Boston and Lawrence, Massa- 
chusetts, and in other New England cities, he remained 
three years. His experience had taught him and ripened 
him to engage in the lunch business for himself. He 
opened his own lunch room in Springfield in 1898. At 
the present time he is associated with three large corpo- 
rations operating chain lunch rooms throughout the 
country. First, in Detroit, Charles Gilbert, formerly of 
Springfield, and Mr. Bowles operate the Bowles Lunch 
Company. Second, the Bowles Lunch Company, Inc., of 
Massachusetts. Third, the Bowles Lunch Company, 
Limited, of Canada. In the last two Mr. Bowles owns 
a majority of the stock. 

Mr. Bowles was elected a member of the Governor's 
Council as a Progressive endorsed by Democrats in 
1913. He again served two years in the same office 
as a Republican, 1918-1919, when the country was at war 
and Calvin Coolidge was Governor of Massachusetts. 
In 1915 he was the Democratic candidate for State 
Treasurer. In 1912 he followed the leadership of Theo- 
dore Roosevelt; in 1916 he favored the Roosevelt candi- 
dacy and supported Charles E. Hughes; in 1917-18 he 
served on a local selective draft board; he was a delegate 
to the Republican National Conventions (1920 and 1924), 
which nominated Harding and Coolidge. 

Upon the death of Congressman George B. Churchill, 
of Amherst, July i, 1925, Mr. Bowles was immediately 
mentioned as the most desirable Republican candidate 
for the vacancy. He refused to consider the suggestion, 
expressing the belief that the office should go to a 
younger man who might look forward to longer service. 
The persistency of his friends and admirers finally over- 
came his objections, and convinced that duty called, he 



announced his candidacy for the Republican nomination 
for congressman on the loth of July. Several candidates 
and prospective candidates immediately stepped aside to 
give Mr. Bowles a clear field. Mayor William H. 
Feiker, of Northampton, remaining as the only con- 
testant. In the special primary Mr. Bowles was nomi- 
nated by the Republicans of the Second Congressional 
District, defeating Mayor Feiker by the overwhelming 
majority of 7190 to 1357. Rev. Roland D. Sawyer, of 
Ware, was nominated by the Democrats without opposi- 
tion. Prior to the special election, September 29th, Mr. 
Sawyer conducted a vigorous campaign, severely scor- 
ing the Republican administration in Washington and 
concluded his drive for support with a rally in Spring- 
field at which former United States Senator David I. 
Walsh indorsed the Ware candidate and urged his elec- 
tion. Mr. Bowles was returned a winner in the election 
by a vote of 12,702 to 9067 and was immediately certi- 
fied for the office. He sat in the first session of the 
Sixty-ninth Congress which convened on December 7, 
1925. 

Mr. Bowles is a director of the Union Trust Company 
of Springfield; president and treasurer of the East 
Springfield Home Builders' Company, and a trustee of 
the City Library Association. He is a member of 
Hampden Lodge, of Springfield, Free and Accepted 
Masons; of the York Rite bodies and the Scottish Rite 
Masonic bodies; of Melha Temple, Ancient Arabic 
Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine; of the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks; Hartford Lodge No. 
19; of the Travelling Men's Club; the Nayasset Club; 
the Springfield Country Club; the Long Meadow 
Country Qub; the Colony Qub; the Fish and Game 
Club of Springfield; and the East Haddam Fish and 
Game Club. He owns a farm at Long Meadow con- 
sisting of sixty acres, and has made large investments in 
real estate in Springfield and other cities. 

Mr. Bowles married, in New York City, in December 
1908, Edna Howard, of Northampton, Massachusetts, 
daughter of William Howard, of Leeds, Massachusetts. 
In all the enterprises controlled by Mr. Bowles, a form 
of profit sharing with employees eliminates dissatisfac- 
tion and everyone works for the good of the business. 
This is an outstanding feature of his business methods, 
and to its efficiency he attributes a large part of his 
success. 



EDWARD LYMAN SHAW— The Shaw family is 
one of the oldest as well as one of the most noted in 
Massachusetts, and Edward Lyman Shaw is a direct 
descendant of Abraham Shaw, who came to New Eng- 
land in 1636 from Yorkshire, England. He was ad- 
mitted as a freeman March 9, 1636-37, and at the time 
was a proprietor of Watertown. His house there was 
burned in October, 1636, when he removed to Dedham. 
He signed the famous compact, and was a constable of 
Dedham, elected September 6, 1638. 

Abraham moved from Dedham to Cambridge, where 
he became a town officer. He had a grant of "coal and 
iron ore which may be found in any common land in 
this country's disposing," the grant being dated Novem- 
ber 2, 1637, and it is presumed he made a search for 
minerals at a time when great mineral wealth was ex- 



156 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



pected from the earth in New England. He was given 
liberty to erect a corn mill February 12, 1636-37. He 
married Bridget Best, and died in 1638, leaving a will 
in which he bequeathed to his children, through his 
eldest son, Joseph, and his son John, with Joseph had 
the decedent's lot at Dedham. He had a daughter Mary, 
and John and Martha were infants. Edward Allen ad- 
ministered the estate. He owned coal mines iii Halifax, 
England. Children of Abraham Shaw were as follows : 
Joseph, settled in Weymouth; John, of whom further; 
Mary, born about 1638; Martha, about 1638; Susanna, 
married Nicholas Byram and removed to Weymouth. 

(H) John Shaw, son of Abraham and Bridget (Best) 
Shaw, was born in Halifax, England, about 1630. He 
married Alice Phillips, of Weymouth, where he lived all 
his active life. He was a deacon of the church at Wey- 
mouth, and died March 21, 1718. His children, all bom 
at Weymouth, were: John (2), of whom further; Eliz- 
abeth, born February 26, 1656; Abraham, born October 
10, 1657; Mary, born May 24, 16C0; Nicholas, born 
March 23, 1662; Joseph, born April 15, 1664; Alice, born 
July 6, 1666; Hannah, born April 7, 1668; Benjamin, 
born June 16, 1670; Abigail, born July 15, 1672; Ebenezer, 
born April 24, 1674. 

(HI) John Shaw (2), son of John and Alice (Phil- 
lips) Shaw, married Hamiah Whitmarsh, of Weymouth, 
who died May 4, 1736. Their children, born at Wey- 
mouth or Bridgewater, were : Hannah, born December 
16, 1670, died young; Abraham, born February 14, 1685; 
Hannah, born April 26, 1687; John, born January 20, 
1690; Mary, born May 5, 1691 ; Benjamin, born July 25, 
1693 ; Joseph, of whom further. 

(IV) Joseph Shaw, son of John (2) and Hannah (Whit- 
marsh) Shaw, was bom at Weymouth, and died Novem- 
ber 13, 1774. He married, at Weymouth, Mary Blanch- 
ard, November 13, 1716, and the children born to them 
were : Ebenezer, of whom further ; Abraham, born Sep- 
tember 8, 1720; Mary, born July 14, 1723; Susannah, 
born March 3, 1726; Alice, born April 22, 1728; Abi- 
gail, born December 27, 1731. 

(V) Captain Ebenezer Shaw, son of Joseph and Mary 
(Blanchard) Shaw, was born at Weymouth April 23, 
1718, and died at Abington, Massachusetts, November 21, 
1796. He was a lieutenant in Captain Cobb's company 
at Lexington, when the alarm was sounded April 19, 
1775, and also a captain in the War of the Revolution. 
He married, September 2, 1740, Ann Colson, who was 
born at Weymouth January i, 1725, and died at Abing- 
ton, February 15, 1799. She was a daughter of John 
and Susannah (Lincoln) Colson. They were the parents 
of Ebenezer, of whom further. 

(VI) Ebenezer Shaw, son of Captain Ebenezer and 
Ann (Colson) Shaw, was born at Weymouth Septem- 
ber 30, 1741. He married, December 11, 1765, Sarah 
Porter. She was bom August 22, 1746, daughter of 
Richard and Ruth (Whitman) Porter. They were the 
parents of Silas, of whom further. 

(VII) Silas Shaw, son of Ebenezer and Sarah (Por- 
ter) Shaw, was born at Abington, March 31, 1767, and 
died at Amherst April 28, 1848. In 1793 he married 
Lucy White, who was born in 1775, and died April 2, 
1838. She vras a daughter of Micah White. Their 



children were Lucy, Giles, Henry, Sarah, Whitman, Eliz- 
abeth, Ebenezer, Cushing, of whom further ; Roland, 
Abigail, Nancy, Maria, Almira, Haxton, Spencer, Exi- 
ward and Edwin. 

(VIII) Cushing Shaw, son of Silas and Lucy (White) 
Shaw, was born at Hawley February 24, 1803, died in 
South Amherst. In Hawley he was engaged in the man- 
ufacture of potash. He removed to Northampton, where 
he operated a hotel on what is now Pleasant Street. This 
hotel was destroyed by fire, entailing a heavy loss, and 
he went to Huntington, where he engaged in farming for 
a time. Later he went to South Amherst, where he 
bought a small farm, which he cultivated to the time 
of his death. He married Betsy Sanford. Their chil- 
dren were Frederick C, of whom further; William, 
George, Alfred, Charles and Julia. 

(IX) Frederick Cushing Shaw, son of Cushing and 
Betsy (Sanford) Shaw, was born in Hawley, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1836, and died in Easthampton, January 22, 
1907, aged seventy-one years. He lived for a time in 
Huntington, and in Northampton, but the greater part 
o^ his life was spent in Easthampton, where for a num- 
ber of years he worked for Pynchon Lyman, who owned 
large sawmills. Upon the death of Mr. Lyman, Mr. 
Shaw bought a farm on West Street, in Easthampton, 
where he resided for a number of years. Several years 
prior to his death he moved from his farm to the village 
of Easthampton, where he lived retired. He was a very 
quiet, reserved man, of keen judgment, and highly re- 
spected by all who knew hirru He married Sarah Maria 
Lyman, of Easthampton, a daughter of Mosley and Har- 
riet (Avery) Lyman. She is now living at the age of 
eighty-four years, with her only son. Judge Edward 
Lyman Shaw, of whom further. 

(X) Judge Edward Lyman Shaw, only son of Fred- 
erick Cushing and Sarah Maria (Lyman) Shaw, was born 
at Easthampton, August 12, 1875. He was educated in the 
schools of Easthampton and at Williston Seminary, in 
that town. He studied law in the ofHce of John C. Ham- 
mond, at Northampton, was a student there with Calvin 
Coolidge. Mr. Shaw was admitted to the bar in Febru- 
ary, 1897, and has since been in the practice of the law 
at Northampton. He was appointed judge of the su- 
perior Court by Governor Coolidge in October, 1919, 
and served on the bench two years. He was elected 
vice-president of the First National Bank of Northamp- 
ton, in October, 1921. Upon the death of Judge Bassett, 
in 1922, Judge Shaw succeeded him as president of the 
First National Bank, which oflfice he still holds. He was 
associated with Judge Bassett in the practice of law, and 
is now a member of the law firm of Shaw, Hickey & 
Cook. 

Judge Shaw is president of the Glendale Elastic Fabric 
Company, located at Northampton, and a director in 
other companies. Until recently he was long a resident 
of Easthampton, but he has built a residence in North- 
anipton, where he is now located. He is a member of 
Ionic Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, of Easthamp- 
ton ; a member of the Royal Arch Chapter ; Commandery 
of the Knights Templar; and Alelha Temple, Ancient 
Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, of Spring- 
field; a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



157 



of Elks of Northampton, and of the Pascummuck Club 
of Northampton. He is an attendant of the Congrega- 
tional Church. 

Judge Shaw married, September 7, 1898, Laura C. 
Root, of Southampton, daughter of Albert R. and Cecil 
(Gordon) Root. Their children are: i. Edward C, 
bom March 8, 1900, a graduate of the Massachusetts In- 
stitute of Technology, and now with the Norwood Engi- 
neering Company. 2. Kenneth R., born June 17, 1905, 
now in his third year at the institute from which his 
brother was graduated. 



ARTHUR A. MILLS— Western Massachusetts 
profits very substantially by the presence and business 
spirit of men like Arthur A. Mills, who, in his Pitts- 
field associations for a period of fifty -five years, was 
prominently concerned with business of country-wide 
interests. Establishing himself in Pittsfield at a time 
when the township was about to enter its present day 
activities, he was a very essential part of its growth 
and advancement from that day to the present, and was 
a leading figure in all that has to do with the general 
welfare of Pittsfield, as well as in his well-known busi- 
ness foundation, the A. A. Mills Company. The city's 
realtj and its financial institutions prospered and in- 
creased through his practical counsel and direction, and 
he built and improved many residential and business 
structures. In his share in the city government affairs, 
too, his record is that of a citizen and official thoroughly 
interested in civic and material progress. Of an old 
Connecticut and Massachusetts family, Mr. Mills was 
also of Colonial and Revolutionary stock. His great- 
grandfather was Captain Samuel Mills, who removed 
from Connecticut to Williamstown about 1770, and 
settled as a pioneer in the locality known as Oblong. 
Captain Mills cleared a farm there, resided on it through- 
out the rest of his life, and died in 1814, at a good old 
age. Pie served in the Continental Army during the 
Revolutionary War, participating in the battle of Ben- 
nington, and he afterwards held a captain's commission 
in the State militia. He married Jemima Harrington, 
who survived him many years, and they reared three 
daughters and four sons, the names of the sons being : 
John, Reed, of further mention; Samuel and Theodore S. 

Reed Mills, the grandfather of Arthur A. Mills, was 
a lifelong resident of Williamstown, and he inherited 
the heme farm and cultivated it during the rest of his 
active period. At his death he was about eighty-four 
years old. He married Abigail Comstock, a native of 
V/illiamstown, and a daughter of Solon and Abaigail 
('Kinney) Comstock. His children were: i. Benjamin 
F. 2. Josiah Alban, father of Arthur A. Mills. 3. James 
Reed. 4. Sarah Abigail. The mother died at the age 
of eighty-seven years. 

A son of Josiah Alban Mills, Arthur A. Mills was 
born September 4, 1851, in South Williamstown, and 
died in Pittsfield July 17, 1923, leaving a record equalled 
by few for devotion in diversified ways to the develop- 
ment and progress of his township and city. He attended 
Greylock Institute until his parents removed to New 
York State, and his studies were completed at the gram- 
mar school in Buffalo. He was employed by the West- 



ern Union Telegraph Company until 1869, when he went 
to Pittsfield and began his business training in a general 
store kept by F. A. Hand, with whom he remained one 
year. Afterwards he entered the crockery business as a 
clerk for J. W. Grant, and obtained a good knowledge 
of that trade. After two years with Mr. Grant, Mr. 
Mills organized the firm of Mills & Davis, and bought 
out his employer, and that concern was succeeded some 
tliree or four years later by Rice & Mills. The latter 
coiicern continued in partnership six years, when, pur- 
chasing his associate's interest, Mr. Mills became the 
sole proprietor, and carried on the business until 1898. 
That year he formed the A. A. Mills Company, of which 
he was president and manager. The business, which 
was originally established in 1844, expanded into many 
times its former size after Mr. Mills took control, and 
the store was one of the largest of the kind in Western 
Massachusetts, employing an average of twenty-five 
clerks. For twenty-five years Mr. Mills was agent of 
the Standard Oil Company for Connecticut, Western 
Massachusetts and Eastern New York ; and he was pres- 
ident of the Fuller Company, which carried on a crock- 
ery business in Great Barrington. He assisted in or- 
ganizing the Pittsfield Cooperative and City Savings 
banks, and was an influential member of their financial 
committees; was similarly connected with the Berkshire 
Loan and Trust Company; and was a member of the 
board of directors of the Berkshire Mutual Fire Insur- 
ance. Also interested in real estate, he improved some 
valuable city property. He erected several large build- 
ings, including a brick block on North Street, and a fire- 
proof livery stable, containing one hundred stalls. In 
1896 he was a member of the Board of Aldermen, rep- 
resenting Ward Seven, having been persuaded to accept 
the nomination much against his will, and he rendered 
able service to the city as a member of the finance com- 
mittee, and as chairman of the police board. In politics 
he was a Republican. 

Mr. Mills was a trustee of the property belonging to 
the Masonic order, in which he advanced to the Com- 
mandery. Knights Templar. He was a member of the 
Park and the Country Clubs. His church membership 
was the First Congregational Church at Pittsfield, and 
his wife, who survives him is also a member of this 
church. 

Arthur A. Mills married Mary Ingraham, a daughter 
of William Tully Ingraham, for thirty years a prominent 
Boston & Albany Railroad official in this section. Mr. 
and Mrs. Mills were the parents of two children: i. 
Mabel Ingraham, who has owned a storage business in 
Pittsfield since 1908, and managed same since 1912. 2. 
Arthur J., now a resident of White Plains, New York 
(1924). 



LESLIE RAYMOND SMITH— There are various 
branches of the Smith family in New England, as else- 
where. The immigrant ancestor of the branch of the 
family here to be considered in New England was Lieu- 
tenant Samuel Smith, who was born in England about 
1602. He sailed on April 3, 1634, in the ship "Eliza- 
beth," of Ipswich, for New England, with his wife Eliz- 
abeth and his children: Samuel, aged nine; Elizabeth, 



158 



WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS 



aged seven ; Mary, aged four ; and Philip, aged one year. 
He and his wife were called thirty-two years of age at 
that time. He settled first in Salem, Massachusetts, 
where he was admitted a freeman, September 3, 1634. 
He was a proprietor there in 1638, and removed to 
Wethersfield, Connecticut, where he became a leading 
citizen. Thence he removed to Hadley, Massachusetts, 
where he held important offices both in church and state. 
He died about 1680, aged seventy-eight. The inventory 
of his estate was made January 17, 1681. His widow 
died March 16, 1686, aged eighty-four years. Their 
children were: Samuel; Elizabeth, married (first) Na- 
thaniel Foote; (second) William Gull; Mary, married 
John Graves ; Philip, married Rebecca Foote ; Chileab, 
of whom further; John. 

(H) Ensign Chileab Smith, son of Lieutenant Samuel 
and Elizabeth Smith, was born in New England, about 
1635-36, and died March 7, 1731, aged ninety-five years. 
He was admitted a freeman in 1673. He married, Oc- 
tober 2, 1 66 1, Hannah Hitchcock, who died August 31, 
1733. aged eighty-eight years, daughter of Luke Hitch- 
cock, of Wethersfield, Connecticut. Children : Hannah, 
married John Montague ; Samuel ; Luke, of whom fur- 
ther ; Ebenezer ; Nathaniel ; John, married Martha Gold- 
ing; Son; Hester, married Nathaniel Ingram; Daughter; 
Elizabeth, married James Smith; Mary, married (first) 
Preserved Smith; (second) Peter Montague; Chileab, 
2d; Sarah, married Jonathan Morton. 

(HI) Captain Luke Smith, son of Ensign (Thileab 
and Hannah (Hitchcock) Smith, was bom April 16, 
1666. In 1690 he married Mary Crow, who died June 
19, 1761, aged eighty-nine. His will was made in 1736, 
and proved in January, 1748. Children: Luke; Son; 
Mary, married John Preston ; Hannah, married Nathaniel 
Dickinson ; Luke ; Samuel ; Jonathan, of whom further ; 
Ruth, married Israel Dickinson ; David ; Joseph ; Sarah, 
married James Smith. 

(IV) Deacon Jonathan Smith, son of Captain Luke 
and Mary (Crow) Smith, was bom March 4; 1702, died 
April 7, 1774. He married (first) Rebecca Dickinson, 
who died in 1726. He married (second) Mehitabel 
Cook, who died in 1766. 

(V) Enos Smith, son of Deacon Jonathan and Me- 
hitabel (Cook) Smith, was born June 28, 1745, died 
March 14, 1836. He married Mary Dickinson, who 
died in 181 5. 

(VI) Jonathan Smith, son of Enos and Mary (Dick- 
inson) Smith, was born December 2.'j, 1784, died De- 
cember 27, 1856. He married, December 15, 1814, Cyn- 
thia White. Their children were : Jonathan ; Dwight ; 
George; Jane; Sophia; Jane; George Barlow, of whom 
further. 

(VII) George Barlow Smith, son of Jonathan and 
Cynthia (White) Smith, was born August 9, 1831, died 
November 6, 1908. He was born in Hadley, Massachu- 
setts, on the ancestral farm that had been in the family 
for generations. This branch of the family were the 
pioneer settlers of the town. He was a farmer and to- 
bacco grower, and was the first in Hadley to raise onions. 
He was also the first man in the town to use farm ma- 
chinery. He served on the School Board for twenty-two 
years, and was superintendent of the Sunday school of 



the Congregational Church for twenty-seven years. He 
married Ophelia Munn, born in Hoosic, New York, in 
1832, and died in 1914. Their children : Francis ; Dwight; 
Charlotte; Corinne; Eugene; Jonathan; Cynthia; Maria, 
who married Humphrey Tiler ; Willard ; Eben ; Luther ; 
Harry Burton; Leslie Raymond, of whom further. 

(VIII) Leslie Raymond Smith, son of George Bar- 
low and Ophelia (Munn) Smith, was born in Hadley, 
Massachusetts, February 17, 1873. He was educated in 
the town schools, and worked on the home farm for a 
time. In 1908 he went on the road for the Rogers & 
Hubbard Company, fertilizer manufacturers, acting as 
general agent, and covering New Hampshire, Maine and 
the Hudson River Valley. He represented this company 
until 1917. During the World War Mr. Smith was en- 
gaged in State work that related to the conflict, having 
charge of the placing of neavy farm machinery with 
agriculturists to aid in the greater production of crops. 
In 1920 he went into the office of the Department of 
Agriculture in Boston, and is now Deputy Commissioner 
of Agriculture, with offices in the State House at Boston. 
His duties take him all over the State. He has charge 
of reclamation, soil surveys and agricultural fairs. He 
was State deputy of the Grange for eight years, and was 
Master of the State Grange for four years. He is now 
serving his fifth year asi secretary of the executive com- 
mittee of the National Grange. He was chairman of 
the Hampshire Food Production organization during the 
war, president of the Hampshire County Far Bureau, 
and has served on the Board of Selectmen of Hadley. 
He organized the fire department of Hadley and was its 
chief. He is a trustee of the Northampton Institution 
of Savings. He took an active part in the apple show in 
New York in 1923, being a member of the executive 
committee, and is president of th