u/ho deyot thee?
BY GILBERT O. BENT.
K/ith the complitvenis cfihe compiler.
Who Begot Thee?
made in an effort to trace the
American progenitors of
one individual living
in America in
By gilbert O. ^ENT.
Lattnce. * * Tell me this : Who begot thee ?
Speed. Marry, the son of my grandfather.
Launce. O illiterate loiterer ! It was the son of
— The Two Gentlemen of Verona, Act, in., Sc. i.
t > J >
1 J ■>
PRINTED FOR PRIVATE DISTRIBUTION.
^ircss of IBaijtti OCIapp & &an.
April 14, 1908 •
•'•: ;. ••:;
« » » * i ^ ■
:• ; •.*
Some time since tlie writer had occasion to look up certain lines
of his American ancestors. The quest proved interesting and led
to an attempt being made to trace them all. The following pages
of family history and genealogical data — a sort of " reversed " gene-
, alogy — are the result, up to the present, of this effort to trace the
American progenitors of one American family, or individual, of the
present day, throujO'h both fathers and mothers. A few historical
notes have naturally been evolved. The information has been gath-
ered from various genealogical and historical publications, as well
as by original research. There are still numerous gaps to be filled
before a complete chart can be printed.
The compiler will be glad to be notified of errors or to receive
further information regarding any of these lines of descent.
Gilbert O. Bent,
5 Oxford Terrace, Boston, Mass.
March 1, 1903.
i. The Male Line ....... 7
ii. The Progenitors or Elizabeth Brown . . 13
ii. The Progenitors of Grace Rice . . . 17
iv. The Progenitors of Mary Felch . . . 21
V. The Progenitors of Anna Longley . . . 29
vi. The Progenitors of Mary Eliza Bath . . 52
Places mentioned are in the State of Massachusetts, U. S. A., when not otherwise
specified or apparent.
Dates are intended to conform to present sjstem of reckoning time.
THE MALE LINE.
John Bent. 1,596-1672. There is no confusion or doubt
about the name of Bent among the emigrant founders of New Eng-
land. The record is clear. Only one of this name appears in the
ligts — John Bent, of Penton Grafton, Parish of Weyhill, County
of Hants, England. He sailed for America, from Southampton,
the latter part of April, 1638, in " the good shipp the Confidence
of London of CC. tonnes, John Jobson, master," and became one
of the founders of the town of Sudbury in the Massachusetts Bay
colony. He brought with him his wife, Martha, and five children.
He was son of Robert Bent* (1566-1631) and was born at
Penton Grafton, about 70 miles southwest of London. Baptized
Nov. 20, 1596. Married in England about 1621. Died at Sud-
bury Sept. 27, 1672. His widow, Martha, died at Sudbury May
Martha, the youngest child of John Bent, married in 1663
Samuel Howe. Her son, David, was first proprietor of the Red
Horse Tavern at Sudbury. David Howe's son, Ezekiel, grandson,
Adam, and great-grandson, Lyman, (died 1861), were successive
proprietors of this old tavern, which was made famous by Long-
fellow under the name of "The Wayside Inn." It was Lyman
Howe to whom Longfellow's poem refers as
A man of ancient pedigree,
A Justice of the Peace was be,
Known in all Sudbury as " The Squire."
* See article on " The English Ancestors of John Bent of Sudbury " by E. C. Felton
of Steelton, Pa , iu the New-England Historical and Genealogical Register for Janu-
For full Bent genealogy consult " The Bent family in America " by Allen H. Bent
of Roxbury, Mass., from which excellent work this Bent line of descent is taken.
8 GENEALOGICAL NOTES.
Anne Bent, who, for nearly forty years, kept the well-known
shop and ladies' exchange on Marlborough Street, later Washington
Street, Boston, was sixth in descent from John, being the daughter
of Rufus and Anne (Middleton-McKenzie) Bent. She opened the
shop in 1795 by the advice of Judge R(f)bbins, with whom she lived
at Milton, and retired from business in 1833. She died at Canton,
Feb. 27, 1857, in the 89th year of her age and in possession of
her maiden name.
Peter Bent. 1629-1678. Son of John. Born at Penton
Grafton, Eng., in April, 1629. Married, about 1651, Elizabeth.
Settled at Marlborough. Died in England in May, 1678. His
house was garrisoned, was burned by the Indians, and one of his
sons scalped, during King Philip's war.
Peter Bent, of Marlborough (1707-1798), who was a member
of the first three Provincial Congresses, was a grandson of the
above Peter and the great-grandfather of Peter Bent Brigham, who
died in 1877. Peter Bent Brigham was for about forty years
"mine host of Concert Hall," Boston (see S. A. Drake's "Old
landmarks of Boston"). His bequest to found a hospital for the
sick poor of Boston, which is now (1903) being applied, will
amount to over $4,500,000.
On Jan. 2, 1900, there died, in Boston, Robert Breck Brigham, a
nephew of Peter Bent Brigham and fifth in descent from Peter
Bent, the member of Congress. He was proprietor of that popular
resort, Brigham's hotel and restaurant, on Washington Street. He
owned the Hollis Street Theatre and other property in Boston.
Under the terms of his will, besides various other charitable be-
quests, a sum in the vicinity of $3,000,000 will be available to
establish a hospital for incurables in Boston.
Neither of these men left any family, Peter Bent Brigham never
having married. Their gifts, for the purpose of alleviating human
suffering, are among the most notable in the history of philanthropy.
Hopestm Bent. 1672-1725. Son of Peter. Born at Marl-
borough elan. 17, 1672. Married Nov. 27, 1700, Elizabeth,
daughter of Major Thomas Brown. Died at Sudbury Aug. 18,
He served *'*«'^*i^*»^in the Colonial army in the campaign of
1690 against the French and Indians.
THE MALE LINE. 9
HoPESTiLL Bent, through Elijah, was the progenitor of the Mis-
souri branch of this family. Judge Silas Bent of St. Louis, Mo.,
died in 1827. The careers of his sons in Indian wars and in pio-
neer work in the West furnish an interesting chapter in the history
of the Bent family and in the annals of the doings of brave men
anywhere (see Missouri Historical Soc. publications. No. II.).
Charles (1799-1847) married a New Mexican lady, Maria Ignacia
Jaramillo. When Gen. S. W. Kearney marched with "the army
of the West " from Bent's Fort to Santa Fe, and conquered New
Mexico, Charles Bent was appointed governor — the first English-
speaking ruler of the old land of the Pueblos. He was assassinated
Jan. 19, 1847, with several of those holding office under him.
For this crime, Montoya, the leader of the insurrection, and several
others, were hanged, after the United States soldiers had subdued
the revolt. William (1809-1869), with his brothers, was of Bent's
Fort, Colorado, the employer of Kit Carson for thirteen years.
He married an Indian maiden, the daughter of a chief of the Chey-
ennes. Robert and George died at Bent's Fort.
Micah Bent. 1716-1760. Son of Hopestill. Born at Sud-
bury April 29, 1716. Married in 1737, Grace, daughter of David
Rice. Died at Sudbury in 1760.
David Bent. 1739-1795. Son of Micah. Born at Sud-
bury March 18, 1739. Married in 1761, Mary, daughter of Eben-
ezer Felch. Died in Annapolis co.. Nova Scotia, in 1795.
David Bent saw some military service in the Colonial army
during the last French and Indian war. He served in Col. Joseph
Buck minster's regiment in the expedition for the relief of Fort Wil-
liam Henry in 1757. His name also appears in Massachusetts
archives as a member of a military company at Sudbury in 1759.
He was a member of a deputation appointed by citizens of the
Massachusetts Bay province, in 1759, to visit the province of Nova
Scotia and report upon the advisability of taking up land there for
settlement, under the terms of the proclamation of Governor Law-
rence, which followed the removal of the French Acadians. He
was detained in Massachusetts, in 1760, when many of the others
concerned in this emigration took their departure, by the death of
his father and the settlement of his father's estate. He probably
took up his residence in Nova Scotia in 1761. Some of his de-
10 GENEALOGICAL NOTES.
scendants are among the people from the Maritime Provinces of
Canada, who, in Liter years, have returned to the land of their fore-
fathers to hew out a living for themselves. These people, with
comrades from the various New England states, furnish a large
portion of the English population of the great provincial city of
Among the names on the original grant of the tovA^nship of An-
napolis, in 1759, were Elijah Bent, Hopestill Bent, Micah Bent,
P. Bent* and Thomas Bent. Many of the original grantees did
not settle there.
The Bents have displayed their aptitude for pioneer work in Nova
Scotia, as elsewhere. Calnek's History | thus refers to one member
of the family — a descendant of Samuel^ — who settled at Lake
Pleasant, a remote part of Annapolis county :
'' The pioneer in the work of cultivation here was Mr. Charles Grandi-
sou Bent, a son of the late Nedabiah Bent of Mount Hanley, in Wilmot,
and was therefore the grandson of one of the stalwart immigrants from the
old Massachusetts colony in 1760. The members of this family for three
generations have been famed for the strength, activity and hardiness of
their physical structure, and Grandison shared in a considerable degree this
idiosyucracy of his family."
Joseph Bent. 1771-1831. Son of David. Born in An-
napolis CO., N. S., in 1771. Married in ll^)k, Anna, daughter of
Israel Longley. Died in Annapolis co. in 1831.
Mary, a daughter of Joseph Bent, married Aaron Eaton. Ai^^s-
lia, another daughter, married Gilbert T. Bay. These two m^n
formed the old shipping firm of Eaton & Bay of St. John, N. B.
Lydia, a daughter of iVaron and INlary (Bent) Eaton, married
the lion. George Edwin King (1839-1901), who was premier of
* This was, doubtless, Peter Bent, son of Hopestill, and of the fourth generation
from John, who nuiriied INIary, daughter of Kev. Samuel Panis, of Suleni witchcraft
fame. lie is said to have died in Nova Scotia soon after his arrival there, and to have
been the first of these emigrant founders of Nova Scotia to receive burial in the oldest
burial ground in Canada, at Annapolis.
t History of the County of Annapolis by W. A. Calnek. Edited and completed by
Judge A. W. Savary, 1897.
X Samuel Bent — who Avas one of the passengers by the " Charming Molly " in 1760 —
and D:!vid Beat were both of the fifth generation from John. These two men were
the progenitors of the people of this name in Annapolis Co., N. S. Samuel Bent, ac-
cording to tradition, served under Wolfe at Quebec, in the company of Capt. John
Wade. He is said to have made the staff and hoisted the Briti>h flag on the plains of
Abraham when the French capitulated. He was a brother of Nedabiah Bent, royalist,
of Braintree, Mass., and gave one of his sons this euphonious name of Nedabiah.
His nephew, Josiah, Avas the original proprietor of "Bent's Crackers," Avhich have
been manufactured in the United States for more than one hundred years. Capt.
Wade also settled in Nova Scotia. John Chipman Wade (1817-1892) M.P., was his
THE MALE LINE. 11
the province of New Brunswick and, at the time of his death at
Ottawa, a judge of the Supreme Court of Canada. Aaron Eaton
was of New England descent, and Gilbert T. Ray was a son of
Robert Ray, a Long Island, N. Y., loyalist, of Irish birth, who
settled in Nova Scotia. Gilbert T. Ray's brother, Charles, fought
under Nelson at Trafalgar. His brother, William Loutret, was the
fiither of AVilliam Hallet Ray, M.P. (Canada), and another brother,
Robert, was the fetlier of Charles R. Ray, who has been Colpnel of
the 62d battahon Canadian militia and mayor of St. John, N. B.
Susan Morse, a daughter of Joseph Bent, married George Troop
Fellows. His nephew, the Hon. James I. Fellows (b. 1826),
was agent-general in England for the province of New Brunswick
and a member of the Legislative Council of the province. He was
the originator of " Fellows' Hypophosphites " of world-wide repute.
He died in London, Eng., in 1896.
Gilbert Bent. 1813-1900.' Son of Joseph. Born in An-
napolis CO., N. S., April 10, 1813. Married Nov. 22, 1838,
Mary Eliza, daughter of John Bath. Married (2) Matilda Breeze.
He built a number of vessels on the Annapolis river, including the
first ship of Read & Wright's Black Ball Line. He removed to St.
John, N. B., in 1843 and established the wholesale flour and pro-
vision business which is still carried on there. Died at St. John,
N. B., Oct. 19, 1900.
i. Annie Maria, b. Aug. 5, 1839. m. Oct. 16, 1858, Samuel Ed-
ward Dawson,* Lit. D., F. R. S. C, King's Printer and Comp-
troller of Stationery, Ottawa, Canada.
ii. John Bath, b. July 24, 1841. d. Jan. 14, 1849.
iii. Elizabeth Antoinette, b. May 4, 1844.
iv. Amelia Ray, b. April 28, 1849. m. Dec. 14, 1886, Acahis
Lockwood Palmer,t member of the Canadian Parliament and
judge of the Supreme Court of New Brunswick. He d. Aug.
V. Mary Eliza, b. Feb. 14, 1852. d. March 4, 1863.
vi. Gilbert Oscar, b. July 24, 1854.
vii. Frank Gordon, b. July 14, 1857.
* Dr. Dawson is descended from the Dawsons of County Monoghan, Ireland. His
grandfather, Thomas Dawson, was in the Royal Irish Artillery, served as a non-com-
missioned officer in the army of Lord Cornwallis and was amongst those who surren-
dered at Yorktown.
t Judge Palmer was of Irish descent. His grandfather was a loyalist who left a large
property in Westchester, N. Y., at the time of the American Revolution, and settled
in New Brunswick.
12 GENEALOGICAL NOTES.
The family name of Elizabeth, who was probably born about
1630 and married about 1651 Peter Bent, has not yet been discov-
ered. Peter was born in England and came to America with his
father, John, in 1638, when 9 years of age. He made more than
one trip to England afterwards and died there. Elizabeth was
probably born in England. She survived her husband many years.
Was living at Sudbury as late as 1704 and, presumably, died there
in old age.
THE PROGENITORS OF ELIZABETH BROWN.
William Brown, d. 1676. "Gentleman." Was one of the
original grantees and settlers of Sudbury in 1639. Had a grant of
200 acres of land there, in that part which is now the town of May-
nard. He married Nov. 15, 1-641^ Mary, daughter of Thomas
Besbedge. In 1643 he "was chosen and sworn surveyor of the
armes of Sudbury." Was first deacon of the church at Sudbury,
of which the Kev. Edmund Brown, who was also one of the origi-
nal grantees of Sudbury, was first minister. Was Captain of mili-
tia. He died in Boston Sept. 30, 1676, and was probably buried in
the King's Chapel burial ground, Boston, where the remains of his
son, Thomas, were laid 33 years later. He left a considerable es-
tate, including interest in houses and lands in the parishes of Het-
corne and Frittingden, Kent co., Kng., given to him by his father-
in-law Besbedge, which he left to his wife Mary.
The Browns and some others of the earliest Sudbury settlers prob-
ably came from Sudbury, Eng., or adjacent parts, and gave the
name to the new town in the Massachusetts Bay colony. The
Brown family took an active part in the affairs of the Massachusetts
Bay company both in England and America.
Thomas Brown. 1645-1709. Son of William. Born May
22, 1645. Was adopted as son by his maternal grandfather Thomas
Besbedge. He married Sept. 29, 1667, Patience, daughter of
Hopestill Foster. He married (2) March 1, 1704, Mary, daugh-
ter of Deputy-Governor Thomas Danforth and widow of Solomon
Phipps of Cambridge. He was representative from Sudbury for
several successive terms. Commanded a company of horse in In-
dian war. The " old Browne garrison " at Sudbury was probably
built by him. He died May 7, 1709. Judge Sewall writes : " Mon-
14 GENEALOGICAL NOTES.
day May 9, 1709. Major Thomas Brown Esqre. of Sudbury was
buried in the old burying place;* bearers, Cook, Sewall ; Eliakim
Hutchinson, Townsend ; Jer. Dummer, Paul Dudley. Scarves and
gloves." The will of Thomas Brown made his grandson, Jonathan
Willard, his heir, and, among other bequests, gave his lands and
tenements in England to be divided equally among his seven daugh-
ters : Mary Willard, Thankful Hubbard, Patience Rice, Elizabeth
Bent, Silence Herds, Hannah Brown and Eunice Brown.
Elizabeth Brown. Born 1678. Daughter of Thomas. Born
May 17, 1678. Married Nov. 27, 1700, Hopestill Bent. She sur-
vived her husband and was living at Sudbury in 1728.
This name has even a greater variety of spelling than usual in
in the old names, ranging from Beesbeech down to Bisby. The
matter of the spelling of a man's name, in old days, seems to have
been left, as the estimable Mr. Samuel Weller left the spelling of
his name, to "the taste and fancy of the speller."
Thomas Besbedge. d. 1674. "Gentleman." Sailed from
Sandwich, Eng., in the "Hercules" with his wife, six children (ac-
cording to records, but there w^ere probably only three) and three
servants, landing at Scituate harbor in the spring of 1634. He was
one of the first deacons of Lothrop's church, the earliest gathered at
Scituate. In 1638 he bouolit a house from William Palmer of
Duxbury and moved there. He had real estate transactions in vari-
ous parts of the colonies. In 1643 he was Deputy from Duxbury.
He subsequently moved to Marshfield and thence to Sudbury, where
he lived several years and where he died March 9, 1674. His will
bequeathed all his houses and lands in Hetcorne and Frittingden,
England, which constituted the principal part of his estate, to his
grandchild and adopted son, Thomas Besbedge alias Brown, son of
William and Mary (Besbedge) Brown, and made two other grand-
sons, William and Edward Brown, executors. His daughter, Alice,
married John Bourne-j- of Marshfield. Their daughter, Ehzabeth,
* King's Chapel burial ground, Boston.
t The second man-iagc recorded at Marshfield : " John Bourne and Alis Besbege was
married ye is July 1645."
PROGENITORS OF ELIZABETH BROWN. 15
married in 1666 Joseph Bent,* son of the first John, and had a son
Experience Bent (married in 1703 Abigail Sampson) who was be-
queathed to in the will of Thomas Besbedge.
Mary Besbedge. Daughter of Thomas. Born in England.
Married Nov. 15, 1641, William Brown, whom she survived. Died
Among the passengers from London, Eng., to America by the
good ship "Elizabeth," April 17, 1635, were Patience Foster, wid-
ow, age about 40, Hopestill Foster, her son, and Rachel Bigg,
mother of Patience Foster. Rachel Bisfo; died at Dorchester in
1647. Patience (Bigg) Foster was the widow of Richard Foster
of Biddenden, co. of Kent, Eng., who died in 1630. Richard
was son of Rev. Thomas Foster of Biddenden and Ipswich, Eng.
Hopestill Foster. 1616-1676. Son of Richard and Pa-
tience (Biao") Foster. Born in Eno^land about 1616. Settled in
Dorchester, Mass. Married, about 1639, Mary, daughter of James
Bates. Hopestill Foster was an active man in the early Colonial
days. His name for years is on nearly every page of Dorchester
records. He was selectman in 1655 and many subsequent years.
Was Deputy to the " General Court," annually, from 1659 to 1676,
except in 1671 when he was commissioner to try small causes. He
was Captain of militia. In " Good Old Dorchester," by William
Dana Orcutt, there is given a copy of an interesting letter to Capt.
Hopestill Foster from "King Philip, his Majesty P. P." in which
His Majesty asked " that you would send me by this Indian five
yards of white light collered serge to make me a coat and a good
holland shirt redy made and a pr of good Indian briches all which
I have present need of," etc. Hopestill Foster's occupation is said
to have been that of a brewer. He died Oct. 15, 1676. His
gravestone is standing in the old Dorchester burial place.
Patience Foster. 1646-1703. Daughter of Hopestill. Bap-
tized Aug. 16, 1646. Married at Sudbury Sept. 29, 1667, Thomas
Brown. Died Aug. 15, 1703. Her gravestone is still standing in
the old Sudbury burial ground, now in the town of Way land.
* This Joseph Bent was killed in 1675, at the age of 34, by an accidental pistol shot
from his brother Peter,
16 GENEALOGICAL NOTES.
James Bates. 1582-1655. Son of James Bate of Lydd,
Kent, Eng., who died in England March 2, 1614. Baptized Dec.
2, 1582. Came from England with the Fosters in the " Elizabeth"
in 1635 and settled at Dorchester. He was a cousin of widow Pa-
tience Foster. He married in 1603 Alice Glover of Saltwood,
Eng. (b. 1583). "For centuries the family of Bate or Bates was
seated at the old town of Lydd,* county of Kent, and for succes-
sive generations held the offices of Chief Magistrate and Jurat."
Thomas Bate was of the manor and estate of Jaques Court and also
tenant of the manor of New Langport, both near Lydd. Master
James Bates brought with him from England his wife, Alice, and
four children. He was ruling elder of the church, selectman sev-
eral years and Deputy in 1640. He died in 1655, leaving estate in
England and in Massachusetts. His widoAv died Aug. 14, 1657.
His son, Richard, lived at Lydd, Eng., and was the only one of his
family left behind in the emigration to America. Richard was named
trustee in his father's will, but died March 6, 1656. Another son,
James, born 1626, lived in Dorchester and settled his father's es-
Mary Bates. 1619-1703. Daughter of elames. Born in
England. Baptized Nov. 21, 1619. Married, about 1639, Hope-
still Foster. Died Jan. 5, 1703.
*The old spelling was Lid, as Lynn was anciently spelled Lin.
THE PROGENITORS OF GRACE RICE.
Edmund Rice. 1594-1663. Born about 1594. Came,
with wife and famil}'', from Berkhamstead, Hertfordshire, Eng.,
probably in 1638. Was one of the original proprietors and settlers
of Sudbmy in 1639. Selectman from 1639 to 1644, deacon of the
church, and Deputy to General Court for several terms. He bought
various properties in Sudbury. His wife, Tamazine, died at Sud-
bury June 13, 1654. He married (2) March 1, 1655, Mercie
(Hurd), widow of Thomas Brigham of Cambridge. He was one
of the petitioners for the town of Marlborough in 1656, and removed
there about 1660. Among various appointments conferred upon
" Goodman Rice " by the General Court was that of commissioner
to solemnize marriag-es in Marlborouo^h. He died at Marlborouofh
May 3, 1663, and was buried at Sudbury. His widow, Mercie,
married in 1664 William Hunt of Marlborough, who died in 1667.
She died Dec. 28, 1693.
Henry Rice. 1617-1711. Son of Edmund. Born in Eng-
land in 1617. Married at Sudbury, Feb. 1, 1644, Elizabeth,
daughter of John Moore. In 1659 his father gave him deed of his
grant of land in Framingham, whither he removed from Sudbury
and built a house. He died at Framingham Feb. 10, 1711. Sev-
eral rtiembers of the Rice family lived to great age.
Jonathan Rice. 1654-1725. Son of Henry. Born at
Sudbury July 3, 1654. Married (1) March 23, 1675, Martha
Eames.* She died Feb. 2, 1676. Married (2) Nov. 1, 1677,
* Probably daughter of Thomas Eames (1618-1680), whose wife and family were
killed or taken captive by Indians Feb. 1, 1676.
18 GENEALOGICAL NOTES.
Rebecca, daughter of John Watson. She died Dec. 22, 1689.
Married (3) Feb. 12, 1691, Elizabeth Wheeler, who survived
him. At death of his mother, in 1705, he removed from Sud-
bury to Framingham, and lived there with his father. He was
selectman eleven years at Framingham, and Representative in 1711
and 1720. Died at Framingham April 12, 1725.
David Rice. 1680-1761. Son of Jonathan. Born March
4, 1680. Married Nov. 7, 1707, Elizabeth, daughter of tJames
Cutler. In 1730 David Rice was chosen constable of Sudbury,
where he resided, but refused to serve, " and paid down five pounds
money to said town, and so was discharged." He died in 1761.
His will made his son, Israel, his executor, he to pay daughter,
Grace Bent, £200, and son David £100.
Grace Rice. b. 1716. Daughter of David. Born at Sud-
bury about 1716. Married in 1737 Micah Bent, whom she sur-
vived, and was living at Sudbury in 1764.
(Second Rice line on p. 27.)
In an Indian descent upon Marlborough, Aug. 8, 1704, Silas
Rice ae. 9 and Timothy te. 7 were carried captive. They remained
with the Indians, married Indian women, and became chiefs Tooka-
nowras and Oughtsorangoughton of the Caughnawaga Indians in
Canada. When old men they visited their native place in Massa-
chusetts, bringing interpreters with them, as they had entirely for-
gotten their mother tongue.
John Moore, d. 1674. Probably from Essex co., England.
Was an early settler at Sudbury, where he and his oldest son,
John, who afterwards settled in Lancaster, were both proprietors.
Made various purchases of property at Sudbury. Was town officer.
One of his sons, Jacob, married Elizabeth, daughter of Henry and
Hannah (Brewer) Loker. His wife, Elizabeth, was probably
daughter of Philemon Whale. He died at Sudbury Jan. 6, 1674,
leaving a lengthy and carefully-drawn will and a considerable
PROGENITORS OF GRACE RICE. 19
Elizabeth Moore. d. 1705. Oldest daus^hter of John.
Born in England. Married at Sudbury, Feb. 1, 1611, Henry
Rice. Died at Framingham Aug. 3, 1705.
Lydia 3Ioore. 1643-1723. Youngest daughter of eJohn.
Born at Sudbury June 21, 1613. ^Married at Sudbury, May 3,
1664, Samuel Wright, who died Aug. 21, 1664. She married (2)
at Sudbury, June 15, 1665, James Cutler. She survived her sec-
ond husband thirty-eight years and died, his widow, Nov. 23, 1723.
Philemon Whale. d. 1676. Probably came from Col-
chester, Essex CO., Eng. Was an early settler at Sudbury, where
he bought land in 1643. Ownedland in various parts of Sudbury.
He was a weaver. His wife, Elizabeth, died June 20, 1647. He
married (2) Nov. 7, 1649, Sarah, widow of Thomas Cakebread.
She died in December, 1656, and he married (3) Nov. 9, 1657,
Elizabeth, widow of Hugh Griffin, wlio died June 21, 1656.
Philemon died Feb. 22, 1676. His widow, Elizabeth, died Nov. 8,
1688. Whale's bridge is still known at Sudbury.
Elizabeth Whale. Dausfhter of Philemon. Married John
Moore. She was probably born and married in England. Died
at Sudbury Dec. 14, 1690.
John Watson. 1619-1711. Born in 1619. Became a resi-
dent of Cambridge about 1650. His wife w^as Rebecca, daughter
of Ann Errington. He was selectman in 1682 and 1684. Died
May 20, 1711.
Rebecca Watson. 1650-1689. Daughter of John. Born
about 1650. Married at Sudbury, Nov. 1, 1677, Jonathan Rice.
Died at Sudbury Dec. 22, 1689.
20 GENEALOGICAL NOTES.
Ann Erringtoii. 1576-1653. Widow. Born in 1576, near
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, Eng. Lived at Cambridge. It is not known
at what time she came there or whether she was at that time a
widow. She died Dec. 25, 1653, ^. 77, according to the inscrip-
tion on her gravestone, which is the oldest one now standing in the
Cambridge burial ground. " The Lord gave her a good husband
but he died." (Narrative upon joining the church at Cambridge.)
Rebecca Errington. 1625-1690. Daughter of Ann. Born,
probably, in England, about 1625. Married John Watson. ^ Died
Nov. 11, 1690.
James Cutler. 1606-1694. Was an original grantee of
Watertown. Probably settled there as early as 1634. His first
wife, Anna, was buried Sept. 30, 1644. She is said to have been
a sister of the wife of John Grout. The tradition is that these two
sisters were Puritans, and together sought their fortunes in America,
coming from England "unattended by parents, husbands or lovers."
James Cutler married (2) at Watertown, March 9, 1645, Mary,
widow of Thomas King.* She died Dec. 7, 1654. He married
(3) about 1662, Phosbe, daughter of John Page of Watertown.
He removed, about 1651, to Cambridge Farms (Lexington). Died
May 17, 1694.
James Cutler. 1635-1685. Son of James. Born at Wa-
tertown Nov. 6, 1635. Was of Cambridge and Lexington. He
married, June 15, 1665, Lydia, daughter of John Moore and
widow of Samuel Wright. Was a soldier in King Philip's war.
Died at Lexington July 31, 1685,
Elizabetli Cutler, b. 1681. Daughter of James. Born at
Lexington March 14, 1681. Married, Nov. 7, 1707, David Rice.
Died previous to 1739.
* Thomas King was one of the purchasers of the Nashaway lands (Lancaster), in
connection with John Prescott and others. He died in 1644, when hardly thirty years
of age. James Cutler took his place as proprietor of Lancaster.
THE PROGENITORS OF MARY FELCH.
The name of Felch or Felt is probably of Flemish origin and
was brought into England in the reign of Queen Elizabeth, when
some 30,000 Flemish weavers went from the Netherlands to Eng-
land in search of relio:ious freedom. This was a much laro;er num-
ber of people than came to America in the whole so-called Puritan
immigration of 1620-40.
Henry Felch. d. 1670. Probably a native of Wales. Came
to America about 1640. Was a settler and proprietor at Glouces-
ter in 1641 and Watertown in 1642. His wife, Margarett, died
June 23, 1655. He married (2), probably about 1657, Elizabeth,
widow of Thomas Wyborne, who came from Tenterden, Kent, Eng.,
about 1638. Her son, John Wyborne, married Mary, daughter of
Henry Felch. He is thought to have removed to Boston about
1654 and to have lived there until his death. He died in Boston
in August 1670. His widow, Elizabeth, was living in 1686 and
probably died about 1695.
Henry Feicli. d. 1699. Son of Henry. Was probably born
in Wales and came to America with his father about 1640. He
settled first at Watertown. Removed to Readins; about 1647. He
married, in 1649, Hannah, daughter of William Sargent. He was
selectman for several years. He appears to have been one of the
people who did not appreciate Puritan customs and institutions.
Sept. 10, 1653, he was convicted at Reading of the heinous crime of
"departing the public assembly when the ordinance of baptism was
about to be administered, was admonished by the court of his sin
and ordered to pay costs to Jonas Eaton, two shillings."
He died at Reading Nov. 11, 1699. His son John was appointed
administrator of his estate.
22 GENEALOGICAL NOTES.
John Felcli. 1660-1746. Son of Henry. Born at Reading
Feb. 26, 1660. Married May 25, 1685, Elizabeth, daughter of
Robert Gowing. About 1709 he removed from Reading to AYes-
ton and there died April 9, 1746. His wife, Elizabeth, died one
day later, and a double headstone marks their graves at Weston.
Under date of Sept. 12, 1730, he deeded all his lands in Natick to
his son Ebenezer.
Ebeiiezer Felcii. 1701-1779. Son of John. Born at Read-
ing July 20, 1701. Married May 15, 1728, Mary, daughter of
Stephen Bacon. He went to Katick in 1723, being the fourth
white settler there. It is said that he went there as assistant super-
intendent of Indians. Natick — the "place of hills" — was estab-
lished by John Eliot, the "apostle to the Indians," in 1650. There
he gathered his converts together and founded, in 1660, the first
church of Christian Indians in America. Natick was an Indian vil-
lage for nearly a century. The first records of the settlement were
kept in tlie Indian language. Ebenezer Felch was the first white
deacon of John Eliot's Indian church, being elected to that office by
the Indians April 29, 1731. The John Eliot church is still at Na-
tick, and there still stands the apostle's famous oak tree, but the red
men are all gone. Civilization and Christianity did not agree with
them. There were, it is said, five of the Natick Indians living in
1792 and one last Indian as late as 1855.
Ebenezer Felch was teacher of the public school at Natick and
was also surveyor, assessor, the first selectman, moderator of town
meetino's and the first town clerk. He held this latter office for fif-
teen years or up to the time of his departure for Nova Scotia. His
son, John, succeeded him as town clerk at Natick and in most of his
other offices. Henry Evans, Ebenezer Felch and David Bent con-
stituted a deputation sent in 1759, from the Massachusetts Bay
province to the province of Nova Scotia, to confer with Governor
Lawrence in reference to a grant of land. He became one of the
grantees of the township of Annapolis, N. S., in 1759. This was
known as the Eelch-Evans grant. He was one of the company
which sailed from Boston for Annapolis May 17, 1760, by the
"Charming Molly." There were 45 emigrant-passengers by this
vessel and a considerable number of horses and cattle. Both be-
fore and after his emigration to Nova Scotia he transferred various
parcels of land in ISatick to his sons John and Daniel. Daniel
Felch settled in Nova Scotia, with his fiither. Each settler had ap-
portioned to him a lot of 500 acres of " forest primeval " in addi-
tion to a portion of the cultivated marsh and upland which had been
previously the property of the French inhabitants — the unfortunate
PEOGENITOKS OF MARY FELCH. 23
Acadians of the land of Longfellow's "Evangeline." In 1770 Eb-
enezer Felch was entered in census returns of township of Annap-
olis as holding 748 acres of land, and his son Daniel 642 acres. He
died in Annapolis county in 1779.
His children were :
John. b. April 6, 1729. m. April 28, 1757, Mary Bacon. He
was of Natick, imiholder. He was Captain in militia and was
on the Crown Point and other Colonial military expeditions.
He was a Revolutionary soldier and was killed at the battle of
White Plains, Oct. 28, 1776. Left 6 children. His widow,
Mary, died at Natick, Aug. 26, 1813, ae. 76.
Stephen, b. Sept. 10, 1731. m. 1754, Hannah Fisher. Set-
tled at Walpole. d. June 12, 1823. Left 5 daughters. He
served for 8 months, as sergeant in Col. Ebenezer Nichols' reg-
iment in the campaign of 1758 against the French.
Daniel, b. Dec. 8, 1734. m. April 9, 1763, Anne Bent. 'Set-
tled in Nova Scotia. Had 8 children, d. about 1783. Widow
m. Anthony Van Blarcom in 1785 and died the same year.
Mary Felch. 1740-1792. Daughter of Ebenezer. Born at
Natick Feb. 9, 1740. Married in 1761 David Bent. Died in An-
napolis CO., N. S., about 1792.
William Sargent. 1602-1682. Son of Roger Sargent, who
was son of Hugh, the mayor of Northampton, Eng., in 1626.
Huofh Sarsfent married Maro^aret, daus^hter of Nicholas GifFord of
the ancient and distinguished family of Gifford, seated at Honfleur,
Normandy, in the eighth century. William Sargent was baptized
June 20, 1602. Married (1) Hannah, who died in Sept. 1632.
Married (2) Marie, who died about 1637. Married (3) in 1638
Sarah, widow of William Minshull of Whitchurch, co. of Salop,
gentleman, and formerly of Bunbury in Cheshire.* William Sar-
gent came to America from Northampton, Eng., in 1638 with his
newly-married wife, Sarah, and two daughters by his first wife.
He settled at Charlestown, in that part which afterwards became
the town of Maiden, where he was lay preacher in 1648-50. He
* A member of this old Cheshire family, Elizabeth Minshull, was the third wife of
John Milton. They were married Feb. 24, 1663, when she was in her 25th j^ear and
Milton in his 55th. She died in 1727- Another member of the family, Thomas Min-
shull, was one of William Penn's emigrants to Pennsylvania. He and wife, Margaret,
settled there in 1682. They were Quakers.
24 GENEALOGICAL NOTES.
was also deacon and an active citizen. He removed to Barnstable,
about 1656, where he was again lay preacher. Died at Barnstable
Dec. 16, 1682. His widow died Jan. 12, 1689.
HaiiM all Sargent. 1629-1717. Daughter of William. Born
in England. Baptized July 13, 1629. Married in 1649 Henry
Felch. Died Dec. 15, 1717. Her sister, Ruth, married (1) Jon-
athan Winslow, (2) Richard Bourne, (3) John Chipman, whose
first wife was Hope Howland, daughter of John Howland who came
in the "Mayflower." John Chipman died April 7, 1708. Ruth
Chipman died at Sandwich in 1713. In her will she left bequest to
"the daughters of my sister Felch at Reading."
Robert Gowing. 1618-1698. Born in Scotland in 1618.
Was at Dedham in 1636. Married Oct. 31, 1644, Elizabeth,
daughter of Henry Brock. He lived at Wenham for ten years and
finally settled at Lynn. Died at Lynn, June 7, 1698.
Elizabeth Growing. 1660-1746. Daughter of Robert. Born
in 1660. Married May 25, 1685, John Felch. Died at Weston
April 10, 1746.
Henry Brock, d. 1652. Came from Stradbroke, Suffolk
CO., Eng., with wife, Elizabeth, who was daughter of Richard
Barber. Proprietor at Dedham in 1638. Lived in Boston in 1639.
Admitted to church at Dedham Dec. 24, 1641. Died at Dedham in
1652. His son, the Rev. John Brock, married Sarah, widow of the
Rev. Samuel Haugh, whom he succeeded as minister at Reading in
Elizabeth Brock, b. 1620. Daughter of Henry. Born at
Stradbroke, Eng., about 1620. Admitted to church at Dedham
Oct. 27, 1643. Married at Dedham Oct. 31, 1644, Robert Gow-
ing. Probably died at Lynn.
PKOGENITORS OF MARY FELCH. 25
Richard Barber, d. 1644. Born in England, probably
about 1575. Proprietor at Dedham in 1638. His wife, Elizabeth,
died at Dedham Feb. 20, 1643. He died at Dedham June 18, 1644.
The first bequest in his will is that of a cow, which he had received
as a free gift from London, to the deacons of the church at Dedham
for " the use and benefit of the poor in Dedham." He left his house,
lands, etc., in Dedham to his executors, Henry Brock and John
Brock, son of Henry.
Elizabeth Barber, d, 1652. Daughter of Kichard. Born
in England. Married in Eng. Henry Brock. "The wife of good-
man Brocke " was received into the church at Dedham March 29,
1640. She died at Dedham in 1652 — the same year as her husband.
Michael Bacon, d. 1648. Was one of the veiy small num-
ber of the early settlers who came from Ireland. The Irish immi-
gration increased at a later date. He is said to have been born in
England and to have gone to the north of Ireland about seven years
before his emigration to America. He brought wife and children with
him and settled at Dedham in 1640. He signed the church covenant
at Dedham. His wife, Alice, was admitted to the church Sept. 17,
1641, and died April 2, 1648. Michael died April 18, 1648. He
had children: Michael, Daniel, John, Sarah and Alice, who mar-
ried at Dedham March 31, 1647, Lieut. Thomas Bancroft.* She
died at Dedham March 29, 1648. f
John Bacon, d. 1683. Son of Michael. Came to America
with his father and settled at Dedham. Made a " freeman " in 1647.
Married at Dedham Feb. 17, 1652, Rebecca Hall. He was select-
man, etc., at Dedham, and one of the largest ratepayers. A fac-
simile of his autograph, with those of many others of the early Ded-
ham settlers, may be found in Vol. HI. of the published records of
Dedham. John Bacon was a member of Capt. Timothy Dwight's
company in King Philip's war. He died at Dedham June 17,
1683. His widow, Rebecca, died at Dedham Oct. 27, 1694.
*The ancestor by second wife, Elizabeth Metcalfe, of George Bancroft the historian,
tit is recorded that in 1647-48 there was a "mild winter" in this section of the
country and that "a great sicknesse epidemical did the Lord lay upon us."
26 GENEALOGICAL NOTES.
Stephen Bacon. 1677-1766. Son of John. Born at Ded-
ham Aug. 21, 1677. Married Jan. 6, 1704, at Sudbury, where his
first child was born, Mary, daughter of John Loker. He built a
house in Needham in 1705 and there settled. This house is now, or
was recently, standing. In 1719 he was one of a committee of three
appointed to run the boundary line between Needham and Natick.
His name appears upon Needham records in 1740 in connection with
a highway through his lands. He died at Needham in 1766. His
son, Stephen, died in Digby, Nova Scotia, in 1804, ae. 91. He had
two other sons who lived to over 90. His older brother, Samuel,
also settled in Needham and died there Nov. '^^, 1743.
Mary Bacon, b. 1708. Daughter of Stephen. Born at
Orr^ NtLdham March 20, 1708. Married at Needham May 15, 1728,
Ebenezer Felch. Probably died in Annapolis co., N. S., after
1770. She was a sister of Lieut. John Bacon who married Abigail
Sawin, granddaughter of Thomas Sawin, the first white settler at
Natick. Lieut. Bacon was one of the Natick men who went to
Annapolis, N. S., in the campaign against the French of 1745-48.
He went forth with the patriots on the momentous day of Lexington
and was killed in the fighting of April 19, 1775. A monument in
memory of him and four others who fell on that day, on the Colonial
side, was erected in the burial ground at Needham in 1851. He had
as many as six sons who served in the Revolutionary war. In the
official lists of Massachusetts soldiers and sailors of the Revolution
are 271 Bacon names.
The good old names of Mary and John occur frequently among
the early Bacons. The two principal New England lines of this his-
toric name appear to come from Michael of Dedham and Nathaniel
of Barnstable, who is an ancestor of a very large proportion of the
eminent people of Cape Cod.
John Bacon, lawyer and judge, who died at Barnstable Aug. 20,
1731, was descended from Nathaniel.* This John Bacon provided
in his will that his "negro slave, Dinah, shall be sold and the pro-
ceeds improved by my executors in buying bibles and they shall give
them equally and alike to each of my said wife's and my grand-
children." There seems to be something like a touch of grim humor
about this provision in the will of John Bacon. Our Puritan fore-
fathers were slaveholders, and slavery was an established institution
in New England up to the close of the 18th century. In those
" good old days " they also hanged people or " pressed " them to
* It is not known what relationship, if any, this Nathaniel Bacon bore to his name-
sake and contemporary of Virginia fame.
PROGENITORS OF MARY FELCH. 27
death, not only for " witchcraft " but for what we would consider
now the most petty offences, such as the theft of some small article.
John liOker. d. 1653. Was one of the orio-inal orrantees of
Sudbury in 1639. Made a freeman May 6, 1646. Died at Sud-
bury June 18, 1653.
His widow, Mary (Draper), survived many years. She bought
a house and lot from the executor of the estate of Robert Best in
1654, and appears to have been living in Sudbury as late as 1697.
A widow, Elizabeth Loker, who died at Sudbury May 18, 1648,
may have been the mother of John, Henry, Bridget, who married
(1) Robert Davies, (2) Thomas King, and another sister (Anne?)
who probably married Richard Newton.
John LiOker. 1650-1719. Son of John. Born at Sudburv
about 1650. Was one of the settlers in the " outlands " of Sudbury.
He married about 1673, Sarah, daughter of Matthew Rice. Mar-
ried (2) Jan. 6, 1705, Rachel, daughter of John Haynes, who sur-
vived him. He died at Sudbury Nov. 10, 1719. His oldest son,
John, settled in Needham. To him and to his son-in-law, Stephen
Bacon, he bequeathed lands in Natick and Needham.
Mary Loker. b. 1680. Daughter of John. Born at Sud-
bury Aug. 3, 1680. Married at Sudbury Jan. 6, 1704, Stephen
Bacon. Probably died at Needham.
(Second Loker line on p. 38.)
Edmund Rice. See page 17.
Matthew Rice. 1629-1717. Son of Edmund. Born in
England in 1629. Was an early settler outside of Sudbury proper.
Married July 7, 1654, Martha, daughter of Barnabas Lamson and
ward of John Stone. In 1683 he bought the Indian Head farm,
300 acres, in Framingham, but did not settle there. The property
went to his children and grandchildren. Died in 1717.
Sarah Rice. 1655-1702. Daughter of Matthew. Born at
Sudbury, Sept. 9, 1655. Married, about 1673, John Loker. Died
at Sudbury, March 7, 1702.
28 GENEALOGICAL NOTES.
Barnabas Lamson. d. 1640. Probably from Essex co.,
Eng. Was proprietor and town officer at Cambridge in 1635. Se-
lectman in 1636. A member of the Cambridge church. He died
in 1640. His wife died before him.* He left his five young chil-
dren to the care, during their minority, of five different friends.
Martha Lanasoii. 1635-1717, Daughter of Barnabas. Prob-
ably born at Cambridge about 1635. Left by her father to care of
John Stone, who became a pioneer settler in the " outlands " of Sud-
bury. Married, at Sudbury, July 7, 1654, Matthew Rice, whom
she survived. Died in old age — after 1717.
* Peter Lidgett, merchant, of Boston, who died in 1676, leaving a Avidow Elizabeth
(Scammon), who became the second wife of John Saffin, was a nephew of the wife of
Barnabas Lamson. Peter Lidgett's will bequeathed to the three daughters of Barna-
THE PROGENITORS OF ANNA LONGLEY.
The name of Longley or Langley is a distinguished one, both by
pedigree and by talents.
The visit of the Duke and Duchess of Cornwall and York to
Canada, in 1901, recalled the interesting fact that the first Duke of
York was a Langley — Edmund de Langley, 5th son of Edward
III. and great grandfather of Edward IV., was created Duke of
York in 1385. Between the houses of York and Lancaster were
fought the long wars of the roses — the great " genealogical " wars.
Early Langleys were of the manors of Penulbury and Agecroft in
Lancashire, the former acquired by marriage with the Prestwich
family. Three William Langleys were rectors of the church at
Prestwich.* William Langley, who married Lucy At Lese, and
his descendants, were of the manor of Well Court, Kent, in the
15th century. To one branch of this family belonged Thomas
Langley (1370-1437), who was Bishop of Durham, Cardinal and
Lord Chancellor of England.
William Longley or Langley wrote the famous " Piers Plough-
man's Visions," two hundred years before Shakespeare, inaugurating
the first great epoch in English literature. He held orders in the
church and was an ardent reformer.
William Longley. 1614-1680. Son of John Longley of
Firsby, Lincolnshire, Eng. Born about 1614. He married Joanna
GofFe.f He was one of the grantees of Lynn, where he was ad-
*A list of the rectors of Prestvpich and much other interesting matter regarding
some branches of early English Longleys and Langleys may be found in the publica-
tions of the Chetham Society, of England.
t She was a sister of Thomas Goflfe, a merchant and ship-owner of London and a
member of the company which " floated " the Pilgrims. He was probably the owner
of the " Mayflower " on her memorable voyage of 1620 as well as on her later voj'^ages
to America of 1629 and '30. He was also the first Deputy-Governor of the Massacliu-
setts company. He died when on a voyage to America to look after his commercial
interests in New England. He lost heavily by his "adventures" with the Pilgrims.
30 GENEALOGICAL NOTES.
mitted a freeman (under name of Langley) March 14, 1639.
Bought house and land at Lynn about 1638. He made a letter of
attorney Aug. 8, 1639, as "son and heir of John Longley, late of
Firsby in co. of Lincoln, clerk," to Thomas Meeke of Waynflete
St. Mary,* gentleman, to sell lands etc. descended to him from his
said father. William Longley held various offices at Lynn. He
was a selectman, clerk of the writs, magistrate, etc. He appears
to have been possessed of an excellently-developed bump of com-
bativeness. The annalist of Lynn relates that the Longleys were
often at odds with their neighbors on account of land claims. In
the court records of March 30, 1641, there is a suit entered : "The
Worshipful Emanuell Downing and Edmund Batter v. William
Langley de Lynn."
In 1662 William Longley prosecuted the town of Lynn for not
laying out to him 40 acres of land, according to the division of 1638,
when this grant had been erroneously put down to " Richard " Long-
ley. This land appears to have been withheld from W^illiam Longley
during the Cromwellian regime. The court decided, after hearing
evidence, that he should have the 40 acres or £40 in money. In 1 663
John Hathorne complained to the church at Lynn that Andrew Mans-
field and William Longley had given false testimony in the recent land
case, for which they were censured. They appealed to the county
court, accusing Hathorne of slander, of which he was found guilty
and sentenced to pay a fine of £10 and make a public acknowledg-
ment in the meeting-house at Lynn, or else to pay £20 and costs.
This direct clash between the powers of Church and State appears to
have caused considerable commotion at Lynn.
In 1663 Thomas Newhall, the first white person born at Lynn,
was prosecuted by William Longley for assault and battery com-
mitted on the wife of said William Longley while she was assisting
in running a land line.
In 1663 William Longley removed from Lynn to Groton.
Under date of June 17, 1663, Thomas Browne of Groton gave
deed to "William Longley of Lin, in the county of Essex, yeo-
The government of Massachusetts granted, April 16, 1734, 1000 acres of land to Rob-
ert "Rand, whose father married a daughter of William and Joanna (Goffe) Longley, on
account of the services to the colony of his granduncle Thomas GofFe. That Thomas
poffe must have rendered great services to the Plymouth and Massachusetts colonies,
in their early days, is evident from this remarkable expression of gratitude, in the shape
of a large grant of land, more than a century after the first settlements, to so remote a
connection as a grandson of his sister.
The early emigrations to America, from England, were commercial ventures organ-
ized by English merchants. The religious element Avas made very prominent by some
ovei'-zealous Puritans, who attempted to establish, and did establish for a time, an ec-
clesiastical despotism in New England.
* The village of Firsby is about 4 miles northwest of Wainfleet St. Mary (there is
also a Wainfleet All Saints) in Lincolnshire. Not far away is Somersby, where the
poet Tennyson Avas born, and by Firsby runs the little river Steeping — the original of
Tennyson's "Brook." Upon its gi'assy banks the first American William Longley,
as a lad, doubtless disported himself, nigh three centuries agone.
PROGENITORS OF ANNA LONGLEY. 31
man," of his house, orchard, lands, etc. in Groton, for £80.
sterling. Under same date William Longley of Lynn and Jo-
anna, his wife, conveyed to Thomas Browne, of " Grawton," his
house, orchard and lands in Lynn for £125. sterling. Richard
Blood, Capt. James Parker and William Longley were the three
largest original proprietors of the extensive territory which originally
bore the name of Groton. Probably some of William Longley's
lands took in a portion of what later formed the town of Shirley,
where some of his descendants settled. His large tracts of native
forest were eventually divided into farms and occupied by his de-
scendants. His son, John, was also an original proprietor of Gro-
William Longley first appears upon the records of Groton June
21, 1663, when with Capt. eJames Parker and others, he voted
against the proposal to give Rev. Samuel Willard the use of the
house and lands devoted by the town to the purposes of the ministry.
There are numerous indications that the first William Longley was
not in accord with the attempted ecclesiastical despotism of the day.
He was selectman at Groton in 1665, and town clerk in 1666 and
Groton was destroyed by Indians in the spring of 1676 and its
inhabitants dispersed. William Longley and his family went to
Charlestown, where they remained for a year or two and where he
had a grant of land. Some members of the family were also in
Lynn during this period. He returned to Groton with a large pro-
portion of the old inhabitants, and rebuilt his house there. At Gro-
ton this dauntless pioneer man died Nov. 29, 1680. His widow,
Joanna, married, about 1683, Benjamin Crispe, survived him, and
died at Charlestown, probably at the home of one of her children,
April 18, 1698, te. 79. Her gravestone is still standing in the old
Phipps street bm-ial ground, Charlestown, where the remains of
many of her descendants also lie. In her will she remembered her
three grandchildren who had been carried captive by Indians in 1694.
It contains the following clause :
Item. I give and bequeath unto my three grandchildren y*
are in captivity, if they return, Yizdt, three books, one of
y"^ a bible, another a sermon book, treating of faith, and the
other a psalm book.
William Longley. d. 1694. Son of William. Probably
born at Lynn and removed with his father to Groton in 1663. He
married (1) at Groton, May 15, 1672, Lydia. He married (2)
previous to 1686, Deliverance Crispe, probably the widow of Jona-
than Crispe, who died at Groton in 1680. Was a large owner of
lands in Groton. He was town clerk of Groton in 1687 and from
32 . GENEALOGICAL NOTES.
1692 until his death, July 27, 1694, when he and his family, with
the exception of three of the children, were slain by Indians. On
Feb. 20, 1880, a monument at the place in Groton where stood
William Longley's house, and where the first William Longley had
also lived, was dedicated. The inscription reads :
WILLIAM AND DELIVERANCE LONGLEY
WITH THEIR EIGHT CHILDREN.
On THE 27th of July, 1694,
The Indians Killed the Father and Mother
and five of the children
and carried into captivity
the other three.
Of the three children, Betty, Lydia and John, who were taken
captive by the Indians, Betty died of starvation and Lydia was sold
to the French in Canada. She became a Roman Catholic and a
sister of the Congregation de Notre Dame in Montreal. In that
institution is preserved the French record of the baptism of Lydia
Longley. A copy of it was procured by Dr. Samuel A. Green, a
native of Groton and an ex-mayor of Boston, who gives the follow-
ing' translation in his historical sketch of Groton :
On Tuesday, April 24, 1696, the ceremony of baptism was performed on
an English girl, named Lydia Longley, who was born April 14, 1674, at
Groton, a few miles from Boston in New England, She was the daughter
of William Longley and Deliverance Crisj),* both Protestants. She was
captured in the month of July, 1694, by the Abdnaqui Indians, and has
lived for the past month in the house of the Sisters of the Congregation de
Notre Dame. The godfather was M. Jacques Leber, merchant ; the god-
mother was Madame Marie Madeleine Dupont, wife of M. de Maricort,
Ecuyer, Captain of a company of Marines : she named this English girl
Lydia Madeleine. Signed
" Lydia Madeleine Longley
" Madeleine Dupont
*'M. Caille, acting curate."
Sister Madeleine died at the house of the Sisters of the Congrega-
tion de Notre Dame, July 20, 1758, at the age of 84 years. Her
remains and those of Sister Marguerite (who was her relative, Sarah
Tarbell, of Groton) lie buried in the little cemetery connected with
the con vent, f
* Deliverance Crispe was probably her stepmother.
t In a Dictionnaire G^nealogique, by the Abbe Tanguay, published in the Province of
Quebec, in 1871, there is a list of" Anglais " who were taken " in the wars of the seven-
teenth century between New-France and New-England," including the name of
" Lydia Madeleine Longly."
PEOGENITORS OF ANNA LONGLEY. 33
The Longleys and their relatives and connections at Groton suffered
severely in the various Indian raids — in killed, wounded and missing.
Among those captured by the Indians were three Tarbell boys, who
were taken June 20, 1707. They married Indian women, became
chiefs and founded the Indian settlement of St. Regis in Canada,
which is said not to contain a pure-blooded Indian. A part of the
village of St. Regis comes within the limits of Franklin county in
the state of New York. More than once treaties have been made
between the governor of that state and the chiefs of the Indians,
among whom were the descendants of these Tarbell lads. On Sept.
23, 1825, a treaty was signed by eleven chiefs and trustees of the
tribe, including Peter Tarbell, Thomas Tarbell, Mitchell Tarbell,
Louis Tarbell and Battice* Tarbell. These were all descendants of
the Tarbells of Groton, Mass.f Several efforts were made by the
Massachusetts government to induce these wandering Tarbells and
others to return to the New England fold, but without avail. They
remained with the red men, and their children forgot the tongue
which the fathers spoke. Among others taken captive from Groton
was Matthias Farnsworth (born 1690). He was taken in August
1704. He remained in Canada, took a French wife, and the name
is now found in French Canada written Farnet, Phaneuf, etc.
Matthias Farnsworth was long supposed to be dead. He was bap-
tized into the Roman Catholic Church at Montreal as Matthias
Claude Farnet, his godfather being Claude de Ramezay.
Among: the Canadian branches of Farnsworths — descendants of
Matthias Farnsworth of Lynn and Groton, who was born in 1612 in
Lancaster, Eng. — are those of Annapolis co., N. S. Several of his
descendants went to Nova Scotia in the emigration of 1760 and
settled in Granville.
JohnLongley. 1683-1750. "The Captive." Son of Wil-
liam. Born at Groton in 1683. Taken captive by Indians July
27, 1694, when the massacre of his family took place. He remained
with the Indians over four years and was known among them as John
Angary. He narrowly escaped death from starvation. He took
kindly to hfe among the Indians, notwithstanding hardships, and,
had it not been for determined efforts on the part of his relatives and
the Massachusetts government, he would probably have become an
Indian chief. He was ransomed by the government and, with great
difficulty, induced to return to civilization. He became, instead of
a great Indian Sachem, a respectable deacon of the church and lead-
ing citizen of Groton, Mass. Among papers in possession of the
* Saint Jean Baptiste.
t Some interesting reading in this connection is to be found in " A history of St.
Lawrence and Franklin counties, New York," by Dr. Franklin B. Hough (Albany,
34 GENEALOGICAL NOTES.
New-England Historic Genealogical Society, Boston (Knox manu-
scripts), is a deposition made by John Longley, giving a brief state-
ment concerning his captivity among the Indians.
John Longley married (1) in 1705 Sarah, daughter of Jonas
Prescott, by whom he had five children. He married (2) at Lan-
caster Nov. 30, 1720, Deborah, daughter of John Wilder and
widow of Robert Houghton, junior, by whom he had seven children.
He had nine sons. Like his father and grandfather before him, he
was clerk of the town of Groton. He filled that office from 1723 to
1726 and again in 1728 and 1729. He was town treasurer for some
twelve years and had three elections as Representative to the Gene-
ral Court. He was deacon of the church 28 years. He died at
Groton May 25, 1750. His widow, Deborah, died Nov. 7, 1763,
in her 7 2d year.
William Longley. 1708-1788. Second child and oldest son
of John. Born at Groton Feb. 7, 1708. Among the records of
hajotismata by the Rev. Dudley Bradstreet, 4th minister of Groton,
is the following : Feb. 15. 1707* Guilielmus Longly Filius
Joannis & Sarace Longly.
He married Jan. 4, 1733, Mary, daughter of Joseph Parker. He
appears to have been concerned in the settlement of the new town of
Lunenburg, adjoining Groton, and may have lived there for a time.
In 1751, in company with his two brothers, John and Jonas, he re-
moved from Groton to Shirley — a very serious journey through the
wilderness, at that time, though only ten miles distance. In con-
nection with Samuel Hazen, he built the first grist-mill at Shirley, to
which a saw-mill was added later. He was the miller of Shirley and
was succeeded by his son, William, in the same occupation.
William Longley saw military service in the French war. He
served in Col. Jonathan Bagley's regiment during the campaign of
1758. Several of his brothers also served in this war. His brother,
Joseph, who was in the same company as William, was mortally
wounded at Fort William Henry and died at Greenbush, N. Y.,
Oct. 12, 1758. Under date of May 9, 1758, William Longley
appointed his brother, "John Longley, of Shirley, gentleman," his
lawful attorney to sell real estate and transact all business for him.
Under this power of attorney, Dec. 5, 1763, John Longley, on
behalf of his brother, William, " now residing in the Province of
Nova Scotia, yeoman," deeded William's interest in the estate of his
father's widow, Deborah, to their brother, Zachariah of Groton.
William Longley removed to Nova Scotia in 1760 and settled in the
Belleisle district, Granville, Annapolis co. He took with him his
son, Israel, then about 15 years of age. About the time that Israel
* 1708 present style.
PROGENITORS OF ANNA LONGLEY. 35
became of age he appears to have returned to Shirley, leaving the
Nova Scotia property to Israel.
He died at Shirley May 15, 1788.
Israel Longley. 1745-1824. Son of William. Born at
Groton, Oct. 12, 1745. Removed to Granville, N. S., with his
father in 1760. Married in 1770 Anna, daughter of Isaac Kent.
He was one of the grantees of the township of Wilmot, when that
section of Annapolis county was opened up in 1777. He settled
at a place in the new township which was given the name of Para-
dise — famed for its fruits and flowers. He died in Annapolis co.,
N. S., Sept. 16, 1824.
Anna Longley. 1773-1860. Daughter of Israel. Born in
Annapolis co., N. S., Feb. 23, 1773. Married in 1792 Joseph
Bent. Died in Annapolis co. Sept. 12, 1860.
The Canadian branches of the Longleys have been very success-
ful in maintaining life and liberty and in the pursuit of happiness
under the British flag.
Among the more prominent members of the family in Annapolis
CO., Nova Scotia, may be mentioned Avard Longley (1824-1884),
who represented Annapolis county, both in provincial and national
parliaments, for many years. He was a grandson of the first
Israel. In two of his successful elections his brother, Israel, was
a candidate on the opposing ticket.
Hon. James Wilberforce Longley (born 1849), F.R.S.C.,
etc., attorney-general of Nova Scotia, is a great-grandson of the first
Israel. His eloquent voice has been heard in Boston on diflferent
John Prescott. 1605-1681. James Prescott, who married
a Standish, was of Standish in Lancashire, Eng., in the time of
good Queen Elizabeth. An order of Her Majesty, dated August,
1564, directs him ''to keep in readiness horsemen and armor." He
had six sons, the oldest of whom was Sir James Prescott, of the
manor of Dryby in Lincolnshire, who married Alice Molineaux.
The second son, Roger, married (1) Elizabeth and (2) Ellen
Shaw of Standish. Ralph, youngest son of Roger and Ellen, born
36 GENEALOGICAL NOTES.
in 1572, had a wife, Ellen, and a youngest child, eTohn Prescott,
the emigrant, who was born at Standish in 1605. He married
Jan. 21, 1629, at Wygan, in Lancaslnre, Mary Platts, "a York-
shire girl," and removed to Sowerby in Yorkshire, where he lived
for some seven years. In 1638 he emigrated to Barbados, W. I.,
where he became a landowner. There does not appear to be any
evidence that religious matters had anything to do with his emigra-
tion. In 1640 he migrated from the island of Barbados to the
Massachusetts Bay colony in North America. He landed at Bos-
ton, and took up his residence at Watertown, which was a sort of
"clearing-house" for early emigrants. He had grants of land at
Watertown. In 1643 he associated himself with Thomas King
(see p. 20) and others in the purchase from Sholan, the Indian
Sachem of the Nashaway tribe, of a large tract of land, where he
became one of the pioneer settlers. He was probably settled on
these lands by June, 1645. In 1652 this settlement at Nashaway,
of which for forty years John Prescott was the leading spirit, was
incorporated and, " at the request of the inhabitants," was given
the name of " Prescott " by the House of Deputies. Some of the
Puritan Deputies discovered, however, after this graceful act had
been performed, that, from their point of view, John Prescott was
not all that he ought to be. He had maintained his liberty of
conscience, which was something that they could not tolerate — es-
pecially under the sway of a John Endecott. The awful fact
transpired that John Prescott had " never given public adhesion to
the established church covenant ;" in short, he was not a " freeman,"
and, therefore, not eligible for any kind of an office, and not even a
voter, so to name a whole township, and especially one where there
was a good deal of "heresy," after such a man, could not be thought
of. In 1653 the name of the town was changed by the House of
Deputies to West Town, and, finally, as a sort of compromise, to
Lancaster. Thus this town bears, at the present day, instead of
one of the greatest of American family names, the name of the
native county in England of the founder of that family.
John Prescott is surely deserving of high honor, if for no other
reason, for the stand which he took in favor of intellectual and re-
ligious liberty. He was a supporter of Dr. Robert Child, who
truthftdly set forth in his petition to the Massachusetts government,
in 1646, that there were " many thousands in these plantations"
who were most unjustly detained from voting and from all part in
the government because " they will not take these church covenants."
Gov. John Winthrop, in his history of New England (II. 306),
relates, with pious superstition, the ills which "a special providence
of God" brought upon those who favored Child's petition. He tells
PROGENITORS OF ANNA LONGLEY. 37
how the pioneer Prescott " lost a horse and his lading in Sudbury
river, and a week after, his wife and children, being upon another
horse, were hardly saved from drowning." All this befell Prescott
on account of his refusal to promptly bend the knee to the Puritan
theocracy ! Governor Winthrop failed to note the wonderful inter-
position of providence which saved Prescott's wife and children from
a watery grave, which he would have been quick to do had it suited
John Prescott finally found it advisable to become a " freeman "
in 1669, when he was about sixty-four years of age, and after the
religious restrictions had been altered by instructions from the gov-
ernment of Charles II.
In 1654 John Prescott built the first grist-mill in Lancaster, and
also, later, a saw-mill. In 1667, by contract with Capt. James
Parker and others, a committee of citizens of Groton, he built a
grist-mill in Groton, to which a saw-mill was afterwards added, re-
ceiving, in consideration, 520 acres of land in Groton and various
privileges. He and his family escaped the Indian massacre of
1676, when Lancaster was destroyed, and remained uninhabited for
three years. He returned to Lancaster about 1679, and rebuilt his
mills and houses.
He brouofht with him to America a suit of armor which had
probably been worn by him, or some of his ancestors, in the British
army. This he used sometimes to don, greatly to the terror of the
He died at Lancaster in December, 1681. His wife died a short
time before him. In the old burial field at Lpoucaster the remains
of this ideal pioneer man were laid. There, upon a rude fragment
of slate-stone, may be deciphered the words, faintly traced, " John
Jonas Prescott. 1648-1723. Youngest child of John. Born
at Lancaster in June, 1648. Married Dec. 14, 1672, Mary,
daughter of John Loker. He settled in Groton, where he was the
first miller — succeeding to the mill and lands of his father there.
Both Jonas Prescott and his father followed the calling of black-
smith, as well as miller and millwright.
He was town clerk of Groton for several years, selectman, Rep-
resentative, and Captain of niilitia. i
He died, generally lamented, Dec. 31, 1723. p
Sarah Prescott. 1686-1718. Daughter of Jonas. Born
at Groton May 3, 1686. Married in 1705 John Longley. Died
at Groton March, 8, 1718.
38 GENEALOGICAL NOTES.
The Hon. Benjamin Peescott (1696-1738), justice of Superior
Court, etc., was a brother of Sarah and father of Col. WilUam
Prescott, who served as lieutenant in the expedition of 1755 to
Nova Scotia, which expelled the French Acadians, and w^ho led the
Colonial forces at the battle of Bunker Hill. A monument marks
the place of his birth at Groton. Col. William Prescott was the
father of the Hon. William Prescott (1762-1844), who married
Catharine Green Hickling and whose son was William Hickling
Prescott, the historian (1796-1859).
Col. William Prescott's sister, Elizabeth, married Col. Abijah
Willard, loyalist. He went with the Royal army to Halifax,
N. S., in 1776. In 1778 he was proscribed and banished by the
revolted colonies. He settled in St. John county. Province of New
Brunswick, and named the locality Lancaster (now the parish of
Lancaster) after his native place in Massachusetts. He died at
Lancaster, N. B., in 1789.
John Loker. See page 27.
Mary Loker. 1653-1735. Daughter of John — a posthu-
mous child. Born at Sudbury Sept. 28, 1653. Married at Lan-
caster Dec. 14, 1672, Jonas Prescott, by whom she had twelve
children. Died Oct. 28, 1735. It is said that she lived to see one
hundred and seventy-six of her descendants.
Joseph Parker, d. 1690. Was one of the original proprie-
tors of Groton, and also a petitioner for Chelmsford in 1653 and
Dunstable in 1673. Was a large landowner in these places. He
was a brother of James Parker of Groton, Chelmsford and Dun-
stable, and they had three ether brothers, Abraham, John and
Jacob, among the early settlers of New England. He was a select-
man, etc., at Dunstable. The official seal or " town's brand marke "
of Groton was adopted by the government on his petition.
His first wife, Margaret, died about 1654. He married (2) June
24, 1655, Rebecca Read. He died in 1690, leaving an only son,
PROGENITORS OF ANNA LONGLEY. 30
Joseph Parker. 1653-1725. Son of Joseph. Born at
Chelmsford March 30, 1653. Said to have been the first child born
there. He and his father both served in King Philip's war. Feb.
15, 1676, while going after reinforcements from Major Willard's
forces, they were ambushed and " had ye Indian bullets thick about
them." The son was wounded in the shoulder and had his clothes
torn by pistol bullets. One of the two was at Charlestown, for a
time, after the destruction of the frontier towns, and was admitted
as a citizen there April 3, 1676. He settled, later, in Groton. His
first wife, Elizabeth, was probably the daughter of Richard and
Isabel Blood of Groton. He married (2) Nov. 19, 1684, Hannah.
He died at Groton in 1725, and his widow, Hannah, was appointed
to administer his estate. She sold the homestead in Groton to
Thomas Tarbell in 1729.
Joseph Parker. 1689-1753. Son of Joseph. Born March
1, 1689. Married Jan. 24, 1716, Abigail, daughter of Obadiah
Sawtell. He died at Groton Nov. 26, 1753, leaving nine or ten
children and a large estate.
Mary Parker. 1716-1758. Oldest child of Joseph. Born
at Groton Oct. 12, 1716. Married at Groton Jan. 4, 1733, Wil-
liam Longley. Died at Shirley Aug. 7, 1758.
The many early Parkers in New England begot many early Mary
Parkers, and there is, naturally, some confusion about them. In
1692, during the Salem witchcraft frenzy, a Mary Parker was
hano;ed as a witch. At her examination she was asked, " How lonof
have ye been in the snare of the devil ? " She answered : " I know
nothing of it. There is another woman of the same name in An-,
dover." Nevertheless she was hanged. In 1710 an act was pa?sed
by the General Court of Massachusetts reversing the witchcraft
convictions and declaring them to be null and void. The represen-
tatives of the witch, Mary Parker, received from the government of
Massachusetts the munificent sum of £8. as compensation for her
Among Parker descendants of note is Samuel Parker, the Ha-
waiian. He is descended from Samuel Parker of Dedham, through
John P. Parker of Newton, who settled in Hawaii about 1816 and
whose son, the father of Samuel, owned half of the island. Samuel
Parker, millionaire, nobleman at King Kalakaua's court and Prime
Minister under Queen Liliuokalani, is said to have been offered the
governorship of Hawaii by President Roosevelt.
40 GENEALOGICAL NOTES.
Richard Sawtell. d. 1694. Was a proprietor at Water-
town in 1636. He was one of the early settlers of Groton, where
he was the first town clerk, filling that office in 1662—4. Richard
Sawtell served in Major Appleton's company during King Philip's
war. He appears to have returned to W^atertown after the de-
struction of Groton by the Indians in 1676. Was selectman, etc.
He died at Watertown Aug. 21, 1694. His widow, Elizabeth,
died at Watertown Oct. 18, 1694. He left his lands in Groton to
his son Obadiah.
On May 23, 1665, " goodwife Sawtell" was among those who
were " warned " by the selectmen of Watertown for " not attending
their seats in the meeting-house, appointed them by the town."
Obadiah SawtelL 1649-1740. Son of Richard. Probably
born at Watertown about 1649. Married, about 1682, Hannah,
daughter of George Lawrence. Died at Groton March 20, 1740,
"in 92^ year of his age," according to the inscription on his grave-
stone at Groton. Obadiah Sawtell was a soldier in King Philip's
war. His son, Obadiah, was killed by Indians at Charlestown,
N. H., June 17, 1749.
Abigail Sawtell. 1698-1787. Daughter of Obadiah. Born
at Groton March 13, 1698. Married at Groton eJan. 24, 1716,
Joseph Parker. Died at Pepperrell Feb. 9, 1787. The inscription
on her tombstone at Groton reads :
She left two hundred or upwards
of children and grand-children.
The sweet remembrance of Y® Just
Shall flourish when she sleeps in dust.
Upon her death, her grandson, Joshua Longley of Shirley, ad-
ministered her estate.*
George Liawrence. 1637-1709. An early settler at Wa-
tertown. Married (1) Sept. 29, 1657, Elizabeth, daughter of
Benjamin Cris[)e. She died May 28, 1691. He married (2)
Aug. 16, 1691, Elizabeth Holland, who survived him.
He died at Watertown March 21, 1709.
* Joshna was sou of William Longley, the progenitor of the Nova Scotia branch of
this famil3^ and was a man of note in the business and politics of Shirley. He mar-
ried Bridget Melvin of Concord. Of him Chandler's History of Shirley remarks:
" Of all who have borne the name of Longley in Shirley, Joshua (the tenth-born of
William, the eldest sou of the redeemed captive) was the most illustrious."
PROGENITORS OF ANNA LONGLEY. 41
Hannah LaTrrence. b. 1662. Daughter of George. Born
May 24, 1662. Married, about 1682, Obadiah Sawtell. Prob-
ably died at Groton — after 1726.
Benjamin Crispe. b. 1611. Born in England about 1611.
Came to America in 1629 with Major Edward Gibbons. Was
proprietor at AYatertown in 16r56. Made a freeman May 6, 1646.
He sold his property at Watertown Sept. 25, 1666, to Thomas
Boydon, and removed to Groton. Was selectman at Groton in
1668. He returned to Watertown after the destruction of Groton
by the Indians in 1676, and was living there in 1681.
His wife, Bridget, dying, he married (2) about 1683, Joanna,
widow of William Longley, who survived him.
Elizabeth Crispe. 1637-1691. Daughter of Benjamin.
Born Jan. 8, 1637. Married Sept. 29, 1657, George Lawrence.
Died at Watertown May 28, 1691.
The Kcnts were seated at Sherbeck, England, as far back as the
thirteenth century. Several of this name came to America in the
early immigrations. One of the most distinguished of Kent de-
scendants in America was the " ChanceUor," James Kent of Xew
York, who died Nov. 12, 1847, te. 84. He was of the sixth gen-
eration from the immigrant Thomas Kent.
Edward Augustus, Duke of Kent, the fourth son of King George
ni., and the father of Queen Victoria, was governor of Xova Scotia
in 1796. At his death in 1820 this title became extinct.
John Kent. Born in England. Came to Dedham in 1645.
He was made a freeman ^lay 3, 1654. He had two brothers,
Joseph and ^Foshua, who came to Dedham about the same time.*
He married May 21, 1662, Hannah, daughter of Erancis Griswold.
* If anv religions or political reason influenced the emigration of these three broth-
ers, at this conipanitively late period, it must have been the desire to escape Puritan
domination in Englaiid.
One genealogical writer makes the statement that large numbers of people came to
America because they were •' disgusted with the rule of Cromwell and his fanatics."
42 GENEALOGICAL NOTES.
He removed from Dedham to Charlestown in 1673. In 1678 and
'79 was one of the "tythingmen." He bought land of William
Bullard's heirs in 1695. In old age — July 16, 1707 — he deeded
his dwelling-house and lands in Charlestown to his son John of
Ebenezer Kent. 1680-1752. Son of John. Born at
Charlestown Aug. 18, 1680. Removed to Hingham about 1700
and built the first dwelling-house on the west side of the Conah asset
river. He married Sept. 8, 1703, Hannah, daughter of Joseph
Gannett. Was a landowner in several Massachusetts towns. He
died Feb. 16, 1752. His will is at Suffolk Probate records,
Boston. The administrators were his widow, Hannah, and sons
Isaac and Ebenezer.
Isaac Kent. b. 1712. Son of Ebenezer. Born at Hingham
Sept. 27, 1712 (or, perhaps, a few years later). Married Oct. 25,
1739, Rachel, daughter of Andrew Beal. Removed in 1745 to
Milford. From 1750 to 1760 his name is on the executive com-
mittee of that town. On May 17, 1760, he was a passenger by the
sloop " Charming Molly " from Boston to Annapolis, Nova Scotia.
He took his live stock with him in the vessel, and settled near Round
Hill, Annapolis co. In 1770 he was one of the largest land own-
ers in the township of Annapolis, being returned in census as hold-
ing one thousand four hundred and ninety-eight acres. Died in
Annapolis co.. Nova Scotia.
Anna Kent. b. 1750. Daughter of Isaac. Born at Milford,
Mass., July 25, 1750. Married in 1770 Israel Longley. Had
fourteen children. Died in Annapolis Co., N. S.
Francis Griswolcl. d. 1652. A resident of Cambrido:e in
1636. Had grant of land there at that date. He was a drummer.
A member of the Cambridge church. Bought various properties at
Cambridge. Proprietor also of Charlestown, whither he removed
about 1650. Bought at Charlestown March 16, 1650, house,
orchard and lands from Richard Wilson of Boston, the witness to
the transaction being Increase No well. He died at Charlestown
Oct. 2, 1652, leaving two children : Elizabeth, who married Jonas
Palmer of Rehoboth, and Hannah. His widow, Mary, married
PKOGENITORS OF ANNA LONGLEY. 43
about January, 1654, William Bullard of Charlestown, formerly
of Dedham. They were members of the church at Cambridge in
1658. She died at Charlestown May 17, 1685. William Bullard
died at Dedham Dec. 24, 1686, ae. about 92.
Hannah Oriswolcl. 1645-1691. Daughter of Francis.
Born at Cambridge March 4, 1645. Married at Dedham May 21,
1662, John Kent. The " wife of brother John Kent " was received
into the church at Dedham Feb. 5, 1665. She died Jan. 9, 1691.
Matthew Gannett. 1618-1694. Was born in England,
probably Dorsetshire, in 1618. Settled at Hingham about 1638.
Married, about 1650, Hannah, daughter of Joseph Andrews. In
1651 he removed to Scituate where he purchased an interest in the
Conahasset lands from Anna Yinal. He died at Scituate in Octo-
Joseph Gannett. 1660-1693. Son of Matthew. Born at
Scituate about 1660. He married Aug. 15, 1682, Deborah, daugh-
ter of Henry Coombs. Died of yellow fever at Scituate, Aug. 14,
Hannah Gannett. 1684-1767. Daughter of Joseph. Born
in 1684 at Scituate. Married at Scituate, Sept. 8, 1703, Ebenezer
Kent. Died at Hingham March 27, 1767.
A member of this family, Benjamin, married in 1783 Deborah
Sampson* (1760-1827), who was a soldier in the revolutionary
war. Having spun and wove the cloth, she had made for herself a
suit of male attire and enlisted in the 4th Massachusetts regiment of
the Colonial army, in April 1781, under the name of Robert Shurt-
liffe. She served two and one-half years with the army and took
part in several engagements, without her sex being discovered until
after the close of the war, though she was wounded. She was dis-
charged Oct. 23, 1783, with a pension, the same as other soldiers.
Soon afterw^ards she married Benjamin Gannett and became the
exemplary mother of a respectable family of children. After her
death her pension was continued to her husband during his lifetime.
* A member of an earlier generation of her family, Abigail Sampson, married in
1703 Experience Bent, grandson of the first John Bent (see Besbedge).
44 GENEALOGICAL NOTES.
Thomas Andrews, d. 1643. Came from Devonshire, Eng.,
when, probably, well up in years, with his son, Joseph. Settled
at Hingham previous to 1635, his grant of land there being adjacent
to that of his son. Died at Hingham. Rev. P. Hobart records
Aug. 21, 1643, "Old Thomas Andrews dyed."
Joseph Andrews. 1597-1680. Son of Thomas. Born in
Devonshire, Eng., about 1597. Probably married in England and
brought his wife, Elizabeth, with him to America. Settled early
at Hingham where he was one of the grantees of 1635. Was the
first town clerk of Hingham. Deputy for three years. He removed
to Duxbury, where he lived some time and held various offices. He
returned, later, to Hingham and there died Jan. 1, 1680. His
widow, Elizabeth, died Aug. 12, 1688.
He erected the Andrews garrison house, probably the oldest
building in Hingham, which passed, in 1665, into , the possession
of his son, Thomas. Thomas was Deputy from Hingham and
Captain of militia. He perished, with most of his command, when
on the ill-managed and disastrous expedition against the French in
Canada, under Sir William Phipps, in 1690.
The will of Joseph Andrews provided carefully for his widow and
family and remembered many of his descendants. Among the items
in the bequests were : to " daughter Hannah Gannett 1 pewter
platter," "daughter Mary Beard 1 pewter platter and 1 candlestick,"
to son Joseph " my sword and my gold ring and a bible " and
"unto all my grandsons that bear my name, Joseph, each of them
and every one of them a pewter platter." His son Ephraim got the
estate in New Jersey. His son Thomas was made sole executor.
Hannah Andrews. 1622-1700. Daughter of Joseph. Born
in England about 1622. Married about 1650, Matthew Gannett.
Died July 21, 1700.
The Andrews family of England furnished most important sup-
port to both the Plymouth and the Massachusetts colonies in their
early struggles for existence.
Richard Andrews, who contributed so liberally to the Puritan
funds, was an alderman of London. Thomas Andrews, who was
probably a brother of Pichard, was Puritan Lord Mayor of Lon-
don, and appointed as his chaplain Samuel Mather — brother of In-
crease and uncle of Cotton Mather. Thomas and Richard An-
PROGENITORS OF ANNA LONGLEY. 45
drews were both of the London Adventurers' company of merchants
which organized the early emigrations.
Sir Edmund Andros (Andrews) was a royalist, an officer of the
British army and a favorite at Court. He was governor successively
of New York, New England, Virginia and Guernsey, where his
family had been long established. His official reputation has suf-
fered from " the caustic pens of the Mathers and the bitter spite of
the early New England historians." (Henry Ferguson.) What
relationship the above bore to the Hingham branch of the family has
not been established.
Henry Coombs, d. 1669. Was a proprietor at Salem in
1635. Bought property at Marblehead in 1648 and removed there.
"Way-warden" at Marblehead in 1656. In 1667 there was a com-
plaint* against him for saying that Mr. Walton, who was school-
master and acted as minister at Marblehead, " preached nothing but
lies and he could prove him to be a knave." It does not appear
that he was hanged for this offence but died in 1669. His widow,
Elizabeth, died in 1709.
Deborah Coombs, d. 1728. Daughter of Henry. Born at
Marblehead. Married at Marblehead, Aug. 15, 1682, Joseph Gan-
nett. Married (2) at Scituate, June 17, 1703, Joseph House.
Died at Scituate, Sept. 19, 1728.
John Beal. 1588-1688. Came to America in the " Diligent,"
from London, and landed at Boston, Aug. 10, 1638. He brought
with him his wife, five sons, three daughters and two servants. He
was of the parish of Hingham, in the Forehoe Hundred, Norfolk
CO., England. He settled at Hingham, Mass. Was Deputy in
1649 and '59. His wife, Nazareth, was daughter of Edmund Ho-
bart. She died in 1658. He married (2) March 10, 1659, Mary,
widow of his old friend Nicholas Jacob, of Hingham, Eng., who
* Prosecutions and decisive punishments for various forms of the crime of Use ma-
jeste were frequent under the Puritan despotism. As an instance, from Salem court
records Feb. 27, 1650 : " Apphia, wife of John Clemence of Marblehead, to be set by
the heels in the stocks at Marblehead half an hour for saying that the governor was
the death of her father."
46 GENEALOGICAL NOTES.
was one of the pioneers at Hingham, Mass., in 1633. She died at
Hingham, June 15, 1681. John Beal was found dead in his yard
April 1, 1688. Judge Sewall writes on that date : " Father Beal
of Hingham dies set. 100 years." His lengthy will, proved before
Sir Edmund Andros, is on record at Suffolk Probate, Boston.
Jeremiah Beal. 1631-1716. Son of John. Born in Eng-
land in 1631. Married Nov. 18, 1652, Sarah, daughter of William
Ripley. He was Lieutenant in militia, selectman and Representa-
tive from Hingham for several years. Died Aug. 10, 1716.
Jeremiah Beal. 1655-1703. Son of Jeremiah. Born at
Hingham, May 13, 1655. Married May 22, 1677, Hannah, daugh-
ter of Andrew Lane. Was selectman for several years. Died
April 21, 1703.
Andrei;v Beal. 1686-1762. Son of Jeremiah. Born at
Hingham, Jan. 27, 1686. Married Dec. 14, 1715, Rachel, daugh-
ter of Joshua Bates. Died Jan. 10, 1762.
Bachel Beal. b. 1719. Daughter of Andrew. Born at
Hingham, Aug. 25, 1719. Married at Hingham by the Rev. Ne-
hemiah Hobart, Oct. 25, 1739, Isaac Kent. Died in Annapolis
county, Nova Scotia.
The author of " One thousand years of Hubbard history " claims
that the Hubbards and Hobarts are descended from the Norse Sea-
King Hubba, who ravaged portions of France and England in the
latter half of the ninth century. According to Miss Yonge and
Bardsley's new dictionary these names are derived from St. Hubert,
patron of hunters.
Edmund Hobart. 1574-1646. Born about 1574. Came
to America from Hingham, Norfolk co., Eng., in 1633, with wife,
three children and one servant. His wife was Margaret Dewey.*
* In the Dewey family history and life of George Dewey, Rear Admiral TJ. S. N.,
who destroyed the Spanish ileet at Manila Bay in 1898, it is stated that Margaret Dew-
ey was born about 1575 and there is given the following copy from parish records of
Hingham, Eng. : " Edmund Hubberte and Margaret Dewe were married the vij daie
of September 1600."
PROGENITORS OF ANNA LONGLEY. 47
He settled first at Charlestown, where he was one of ten citizens
who agreed that only certain desirable persons should be allowed to
"sit down and dwell in the town." He was admitted to the church
in Boston in 1634. His wife, Margaret, died soon after arrival in
America. He married (2) at Charlestown, Oct. 10, 1634, Sarah,
widow of the Rev. John Lyford.*
Edmund Hobart became one of the settlers of Hingham in 1635.
He was Deputy for several years. He died at Hingham March 8,
1646. His widow died at Charlestown June 23, 1649.
' Nazareth Hobart. 1601-1658. Daughter of Edmund.
Born in England about 1601. Married in England John Beal.
Died at Hingham, Sept. 23, 1658.
Rev. Peter Hobart, the first minister of Hingham, was a brother
of Nazareth. He came out about two years later than his father,
arriving at Charlestown, June 8, 1635, with wife and four children,
in one of a fleet of seven vessels. He was one of the founders of
Hingham, Sept. 18, 1635. He was the keeper of the famous
" diary," which for forty-four years chronicled the births, deaths,
marriages, etc., which came under his notice.
Peter Hobart appears to have been a staunch royalist and other-
wise entirely out of sympathy with the Puritan str anglers of religious
freedom. He had many clashes with the Puritans. In 1646 he was
fined £20. for "seditious practices and derogation of and contempt
for authority." According to Gov. Winthrop he was prevented from
preaching in Boston " for that his spirit had been discovered to be
averse to our ecclesiastical and civil government and he was a bold
man and would speak his mind." Peter Hobart was born in 1604
and died Jan. 20, 1679. The names of eighteen of his children
Garret A. Hobart (1844-1899), who was elected vice-President
of the United States in 1896, when William McKinley was first
elected President, was of the 10th generation from Edmund Hobart
and Margaret Dewey.
*Rev. John Lyford was sent out, in Maixh, 1624, by the Company in England, from
his charge at Lebeleglish, Ireland, to administer to the spiritual needs of the Plymouth
settlement. Whether the Company neglected to inform itself as to his ecclesiastical
and other leanings, or sent him with malice prepense, is not clear, but certain it is that
he proved so very unacceptable to the brethren at Plymouth, and so stern an adherent
to the faith of his forefathers, that he was banished from Plymouth colony a few months
after his arrival.
48 GENEALOGICAL NOTES.
William Ripley, d. 1656. Was of Wymondham, Norfolk
CO., England. Came to America in the "Diligent," in 1638,
bringing with him his wife, two sons and two daughters. He was
a weaver. Settled at Hingham in 1638. His wife died at Hing-
ham. He married (2) Sept. 29, 1654, Elizabeth, widow of Thomas
Thaxter. William Ripley was buried at Hingham July 11, 1656.
His widow married (3) Jan. 20, 1658, John D wight.* She died
July 18, 1660.1
Sarah Ripley, d. 1715. Daughter of William. Born in Eng-
land. Married at Boston, Nov. 18, 1652, Jeremiah Beal. Died at
Hingham, June 29, 1715.
William Lane. d. 1654. Came from England with adult
family, including two sons and four daughters. Settled at Dorches-
ter in 1635 and received several grants of land there. He was a
maltster and yeoman. His wife, Agnes, who was received into the
church about 1637, died some time before him. His daughter,
Mary (Long) , lived with him at Dorchester up to the time of his
death in 1654.
Andrew Lane. d. 1675. Son of William. Born in Ens:-
land. Settled with his brothei*, George, at Hingham — one of the
original proprietors of 1635. He had various grants and made
many purchases of lands at Hingham and in that vicinity. He was
a felt-maker and farmer. He died at Hingham May 1, 1675. His
widow, Triphena, died at Hingham June 2, 1707, said to have been
aged about 95.
Hannah Lane. 1658-1719. Daughter of Andrew. Born
at Hingham Sept. 30, 1658. Married May 22, 1677, Jeremiah
Beal. Died Sept. 19, 1719.
* John Dwight of Dedham died in i66L Timothy Dwight, his oldest son, was for
many j^ears town clerk of Dedham and also Representative in 1692. It is recorded of
Timothy that " he inherited the estate and virtues of his father and added to both."
He also, incidentally, added considerably to the family, as he had six wives and four-
teen or fifteen children. His sixth wife died a few days after him in 1718. Two of his
namesakes have beeu presidents of Yale University.
t " July 18. 1660. Elizabeth, sometime wife to Thos. Thaxter and to \Vm. Ripley
then to Mr Dwight at Dedham was drowned in a well." — Diary of Rev. P. Hobart.
PROGENITORS OF ANNA LONGLEY. 49
Clement Bates. 1595-1671. Son of James Bate of Lvdd,
Kent, Eng. Brother of James of Dorchester (see p. 16). Came
to America in the "Elizabeth," in 1635, with wife, Anna, and five
children. Settled at Hingham, where he was a grantee of Sept. 18,
1635. The old "Anchor Tavern" was on a portion of his estate.
His wife, Anna, died at Hingham, Oct. 1, 1669, set. 74. Clement
Bates died Sept. 17, 1671— "Sabb. day night" (Hobart). His
oldest son, James, who married Ruth, daughter of Rev. John Ly-
ford, was made his executor.
Joseph Bates. 1630-1706. Son of Clement. Born in Eng-
land in 1630. Married at Hingham Jan. 9, 1658, Esther, daugh-
ter of William Hilliard. Was selectman at Hingham for many
years. Died April 30, 1706.
Joshua Bates. 1671-1757. Son of Joseph. Born at Hing-
ham Aug. 14, 1671. Married Jan. 15, 1696, Rachel, daughter of
Ibrook Tower. ' Died at Hingham in April, 1757.
Hon. John Lewis Bates (b. 1859), who was elected governor of
the state of Massachusetts, Nov. 4, 1902, is a descendant of Joshua
and of the 9th generation from Clement.
Rachel Bates. 1696-1780. Daughter of Joshua. Born at
Hingham July 14, 1696. Married Dec. 14, 1715, Andrew Beal.
Died Nov. 20, 1780.
Another emigrant-member of this family was Edward Bates, who
settled at Weymouth. Just what his relationship was to James and
Clement has not been established.
From Edward was descended Joshua Bates of Weymouth (b.
1788) " whose munificence endowed and permanently founded the
Boston Public Library." He died in London, Eng., as head of the
house of Baring Brothers & Company, in 1864.
William Hilliard. An early resident of Boston and subse-
quently of Hingham, with wife Esther. He had three children —
William, Esther and Mary — baptized by the Rev. P. Hobart at
Hingham, Feb. 25, 1655.
Esther Hilliard. 1642-1709. Daughter of William. Born
in Boston, March 25, 1642. Married Jan. 9, 1658, Joseph Bates.
Died June 3, 1709.
50 GENEALOGICAL NOTES.
John Tower. 1609-1702. Son of Robert and Dorothy (Da-
mon) Tower. Baptized at Hingham, Eng., May 17, 1609. Set-
tled at Hingham, Mass., in 1637. Had several grants and made
many purchases of lands in Hingham. He married, Feb. 13, 1639,
Margaret, daughter of Richard Ibrook. He took an active part in
current affairs and opposed both civil and religious authorities when
occasion required. He was prominent in the Lieut. Eames military
difficulties. He fortified and garrisoned his house at his own ex-
pense, but gained and kept the confidence of the Indians. He was
a man of both courage and diplomacy. He died Feb. 13, 1702.
Ibrook Tower. 1644-1731. Son of John. Born at Hing-
ham, Feb. 7, 1644. Married April 14, 1668, Margaret, daughter
of John Hardin. Married (2) Aug. 6, 1712, Patience, widow of
Daniel Hobart, whose father, Edmund, was twin brother of Rev.
Peter Hobart. He was selectman in 1699. Died Nov. 21, 1731.
His widow. Patience, died Dec. 22, 1747, as. 80. His son, Daniel
(b. 1671), died when on the ill-fated expedition to Canada, in
1690, with Capt. Thomas Andrews.
Rachel Tower. 1675-1757. Daughter of Ibrook. Born
at Hingham, March 16, 1675. Married, Jan. 15, 1696, Joshua
Bates, whom she survived. Died in old age, after 1757.
Charlemagne Tower (1809-1889) of Philadelphia, distinguished
as lawyer, soldier and man of affairs, author of the Tower gen-
ealogy, was 7th in descent from John Tower. His son, Charle-
magne (b. 1848), was appointed United States ambassador to
Austria-Hungary in 1897, later to Russia, and is the present (1903)
ambassador to Germany.
Richard Ibrook. d. 1651. Probably from Suffolk co.,
Eng. Came to America with his wife and three unmarried daugh-
ters and settled at Hingham in 1635. He died Nov. 14, 1651.
His widow died April 4, 1664. He left no son. The name has
been preserved as a given name among the descendants of his
PROGENITORS OF ANNA LONGLEY. 51
Margaret Ibrook. 1617-1700. Daughter of Richard. Bom
in England about 1617. Married at Charlestown, Feb. 13, 1639,
John Tower. Died at Hingham, May 15, 1700. Her sister, El-
len, married Joshua, brother of Rev. Peter Hobart, and her sister
Rebecca was second wife of Rev. Peter Hobart. Another sister,
Christian, married in England William Cockraine and came with
him to America in 1637.
The Hardins were among the very early settlers in New England.
The first representatives of this name are believed to have come
with Governor Robert Gorges, son of Sir Ferdinando, in 1623, and
to have received their grants of land from him. Sir Robert Gorges,
a kinsman of the above, married, in England, Mary, daughter and
heiress of William Hardin or ^Harding. The Gorges plantation
was at the ancient Wessagussett, now Weymouth and Brain tree.
John Hardin. Was of Brain tree. He was probably a son of
Joseph and Martha Hardin, of Braintree and Plymouth, and born
about 1625. His uncle, Richard Hardin, who died at Braintree,
Dec. 27, 1657, and who appears to have had a brother John and a
son John, left a widow, Elizabeth, who was related to John Kent.
Margaret Hardin. 1647-1705. Daughter of John. Born
in 1647. Married April 24, 1668, Ibrook Tower. Died at Hing-
ham, Nov. 19, 1705. Sarah, another daughter of John Hardin,
married, in 1669, John Tower, brother of Ibrook.
THE PROGENITORS OF MARY ELIZA BATH.
John Bath. 1751-1816. When the long struggles between
English and French, for supremacy in old Acadia, were drawing to
a close, England found herself in possession of a land, inhabited,
as far as it was inhabited, by French people and by Indians with
French sympathies.. The English, after forty years possession, did
not succeed in founding a single English settlement, while the French
population had steadily increased. In 1749, largely through the
efforts of Capt. Thomas Coram, the British government was induced
to exert itself to send some English-speaking people into the coun-
try. In June, 1749, Col. Edward Cornwallis arrived and estab-
lished at Chebouctou a colony of 2,500 persons — mostly retired
soldiers. This was the foundation of Halifax. After the deporta-
tion of the Acadians came the immigration of 1760, from New
England, and in 1783 the "loyalist" immigration.* About mid-
way between these two latter dates a number of families from the
north of England settled in Annapolis county, f In one of these fam-
ilies came a young Yorkshireman bearing the distinguished old family
name of Bath. J John Bath came with his uncle, William Clarke,
* These emigrations are often confounded by United States genealogical writers but
they were entirely distinct movements and a quarter of a century apart. Concerning
the "loyalists," " tories " or "refugees," a Canadian writer, Charles G. I). Koberts,
says; "They brought to our making about thirty thousand peO])le, of the choicest
stock the colonies could boast * * * Canada owes deep gratirude indeed to her
southern kinsmen, who thus, from Maine to Georgia, picked out their choicest spirits
and sent them forth to people our northern wilds."
The emigration of 1760, to the western part of Nova Scotia, though a comparatively
small affair, was more in the nature of the present (1902-3) great movement which is
taking ])lace from the central and western states into the fertile, unoccupied lands
of the Canadian North West.
t About this time there came also several familit^s from the north of Ireland, includ-
ing the Sproules, "a family whose male members were the equals of the Bents and
Youngs ill muscular endowments." (Calnek).
X Bath, Bathe or de Bathe — a very ancient English family, with Irish branches. Henry
de Bathe was Lord Chief Justice of England in the reign of Henry III. There are
people in the United States of the name of Bath who are of German origin.
PROGENITORS OF MARY ELIZA BATH. 53
"a highly respectable tenant farmer of Yorkshire," — so runs the
tale — who brought with him his four children. His wife, Dorothy,
died just before his departure from England. They sailed from the
city of Hull, near which they had lived, to Halifax, N. S., bring-
ing with them in the vessel their horses, farming implements, etc.
Young Bath, who was only about nineteen years of age, was landed
at Halifax, with the horses, and took them across Nova Scotia to
Annapolis, though the road from Windsor was then but a mere
trail, even the mails being carried on foot. John Bath was the
first to convey His Majesty's mails to Halifax on horseback. At
Annapolis, John Bath was joined by his uncle, who had come
from Halifax by water, and they settled in the township of Gran-
ville, on land bought from Mr. Fletcher, the Deputy Provost Mar-
shal of the county. Being settled in his new abode yoimof John
Bath followed the custom of the day and, about 1776, took unto
himself a wife, in the person of one Kezla, a daughter of John
Hill. John Bath became an honored citizen of the township of
Granville. There he spent his days, tilling the fertile soil and cul-
tivating the apple-trees of the beautiful Annapolis valley, and there
he died Nov. 3, 1816, ». 6b.
His children were :
i. Elizabeth, b. May 19, 1777. m. about 1802, Obadiah Parker.
d. January, 1867.
ii. John, see below.
iii. Mary, b. 1783. m. 1804, Israel Longley. d. Nov. 29, 1842.
iv. Tamar, b. 1785. m. 1806, Valentine Troop.
V. Hannah, b. 1787. d. 1802.
vi. Robert, b. 1789. m. 1812, Minetta Willoughby.
vii. Henrietta Cooper, b. 1792. m. 1812, Abner Troop.
John Bath. 1779-1860. Son of John. Born in Granville,
N. S., Jan. 18, 1779. Married (1) in 180:^, Elizabeth, daughter
of Jacob Troop. Married (2) in 1820, Phoebe, also daugliter of
Jacob Troop. Married (3) in 1842, widow Curry. He was
Colonel in militia. Justice of the Peace, etc. He died in Gran-
ville, May 11, 1860.
His children were :
i. Hannah Stoneth, b. 1804. m. Dec. 24, 1822, Israel Longley
Bent. d. Oct. 29, 1847.
ii. Kezia Ann, b. 1806. d. 1807.
iii. Kezia Ann, b. 1809. m. Feb. 22, 1831, James Edwin Reed,
d. Oct. 7, 1842.
iv. John Fletcher, b. May 23, 1811. m. April 24, 1838, Eliza-
beth Ann (b. l^sl6. d. Dec. 24, 1855), daughter of David
Shaw and Catharine (Wade) Hall. Justice of the Peace, etc.
Died Sept. 3, 1891.
54 GENEALOGICAL NOTES.
V. Mary Eliza, see below.
vi. Jacob Valentine, b. 1818. d. 1841, iinm.
vii. Elizabeth, b. May 3, 1822. m. February, 1851, Charles Fitz-
Randolph.* d. April 30, 1877.
viii. Abner Troop, b. April 28, 1825- m. Oct. 28, 1852, Sarah,
daughter of William Handley Chipraan.t d. July 11, 1880.
His widow, Sarah, m. Dec. 6, 1887, Charles Parker and was
living in 1902.
ix. Henrietta Maria, b. Jan. 29, 1833. m. March 24, 1856,
Samuel Strong, Dry Goods merchant of Halifax, N. S. (d.
March 5, 1895). Living in 1902.
X. Robert, b. June 2, 1836 m. (1) Dec. 28, 1858, Matilda, daugh-
ter of Rev. William Wilson. She d. March 23, 1880. He
m. (2) Dec. 7, 1883, Ada, daughter of Silas Morse and Maria
Anne (Witherspoon) Troop. Living in 1902.
Mary Eliza Batli. 1813-1878. Daughter of John. Born
in Granville, N. S., Sept. 29, 1813. Married Nov. 22, 1838, Gil-
bert Bent. Died at St. John, N. B., Dec. 12, 1878.
No family ante-dates the Hills in New England. One of this
name came in the expedition of Bartholomew Gosnold in the " Con-
cord " in 1602 — the first direct voyage across the Atlantic to New
England. This was eighteen years before the soil at Plymouth was
made sacred by the feet of the Pilgrims, and even before the first
settlements were made in Nova Scotia by the French. Gosnold's
plantation at Cuttyhunk, now in the town of Gosnold, did not prove
a success, and the party returned to England, but the Hills have
taken part in a large proportion of the settlements in New Eng-
land since that date.
* Charles Fitz-Randolph was proprietor of the " Belle " farm, near Bridgetown, N. S.
His grandfather, Robert Fitz-Randolph, a loyalist, acquired this property from Col.
Christopher Prince, M.P.P. It was originally known as " Bellivean's," from the name
of the French Acadian proprietor, who was one of those unfortunate " exiles."
Hon. Archibald Drummond Fitz-Randolph of Fredericton, N. B., of beloved and
honored memoi-y, who was born in 1833 and died May 14, 1902, was a nephew of
t William Handley Chipman of Bridgetown, N. S. (born 1801) was fifth in descent
from the emigrant John Chipman, from Dorsetshire, Eng., in 1631 (see p. 24). He was
a brother of Zachariah Chipman of St. Stephen, N. B., whose daughter, Alice Starr,
married in 1867, Sir Samuel Leonard Tilley, CB., KCMG. (1818-1896), who was gov-
ernor of the province of New Brunswick and finance minister of Canada.
Also fifth in descent from John Chipman was Ward Chipman, (1754-1824), loyalist,
justice of the Supreme Court of New Brunswick and father of Ward Chipman, (1787-
1851), chief justice of New Brunswick.
PROGENITORS OF MARY ELIZA BATH. 55
John Hill. Was one of the emigrants of 1760 from Massa-
chusetts* to Annapolis county, Nova Scotia. He went from Boston,
Mass., by the "Charming Molly," May 17, 1760, and settled in
Granville, N. S., where, in a census, taken in 1770, he was put
down as having a household of five persons. He had three daugh-
ters and one son, Samuel, married in Annapolis co., N. S.
Kezia Hill. Daughter of John. Probably born in Massa-
chusetts about 1753. Married in Granville, N. S., in 1776, John
Bath. Died in Granville, N. S.
Valentine Troop. 1713-1776. Among the settlers, from
Massachusetts, in the township of Granville, Annapolis co., Nova
Scotia, within a few years after the granting of the township, in
1759, was Valentine Troop. He probably settled there about 1763.
The frontage of his lot on the Annapolis river is still known as
Troop's Point. A half century before his advent this locality had
been the scene of fighting between English and French, when a
force from New England made the unsuccessful attempt of 1707 to
capture Port Royal. Valentine Troop married, in Massachusetts,
Catharine Church (Calnek's History). Several of his children were
probably born before his settlement in Nova Scotia.
Valentine Troop was probably an original immigrant^ who came
to Boston not many years before his removal to Nova Scotia.
Boston was his place of residence for several years prior to his
migration. In April, 1762, "Valentine Troop, of Boston, in our
County of Suffolk, Trader," recovered a judgment against Cornelius
* He was probably a descendant of Master John Hill who may hare come to Boston in
Gov. Wiuthrop's fleet in 1630. He went from Massachusetts to Plymouth. Was at Ply-
mouth in 1632, and settled at Dorchester in 1633, where he had a large family by wife,
Frances. He died at Dorchester, May 31, 1664. His widow, Frances, married Jonas
Austin in 1667 and died in 1676. He had a son John (b. about 1638 j, who settled in
Sherborn and married (1) Hannah Johnson, (2) Elizabeth (Thorpe), widow of Benjamin
Bullard. He died at Sherborn, Jan. 23, 1718. The other sons of first John Hill were
Jonathan, one of the early settlers of Bridgewater, Mass., Samuel, who died at Dor-
chester in 1709, and Ebenezer who was of Dorchester.
t Some genealogists have naturally supposed that Valentine Troop was a descendant
of William Troop, 1638-1704 (the progenitor of the Throops), of Barnstable 1666 and
Bristol 1687. William Troop, tradition has it, was a scion of the English house of
Scrope (Scroop) who varied the name to Troop, upon coming to America, after the
execution, by Charles 11., in 1660, of Col. Adrian Scrope, one of the judges of Chai-les
I. Investigation, however, does not show any probability of Valentine having been a
descendant of William. Some aver a connection with the Valentines of Long Island,
N. Y. In Nova Scotia there is a firmly-rooted tradition that Valentine Troop came
originally from Germany, though Troop does not appear to be a German name, and it
would seem more probable that he was of Scotch or English origin.
56 GENEALOGICAL NOTES.
Bollan, Baker, of Boston, for £40 and costs, in the "Inferior Court
of Common Pleas," Boston. An execution was issued, under which
a property of Bollan, situated on Frog Lane, Boston, was taken
and transferred to Valentine Troop, the execution being returned as
satisfied July 19, 1762. (Suifolk Deeds.)
Like others of the settlers who took up the Acadian lands, Val-
entine Troop saw some military service in the campaigns against
the French. He served under JefFry Amherst, in the expedition
against the French in Canada, in 1759. In a return of that year,
in the Massachusetts archives, his age is put down as 45, and resi-
dence, Boston. He also served for eight months, in 1760, under
Major eTeremiah Greene, in the company of Capt. Giles Harris.
He received his discharge Oct. 30, 1760. This company may have
been at Annapolis, N. S. Valentine Troop died in Granville,
N. S., August 16, 1776.
Many of his descendants have been prominent, in Canada, in
Church and State, as well as in mercantile affairs.
Jacob Troop, b. 1758. Son of Valentine. Born in Mas-
sachusetts, about 1758, according to Calnek. In census of Gran-
ville, N. S., in 1770, he is put down as a householder or proprietor.
Married in 1774, Anna, daughter of Abner Morse. Died in Gran-
ville, N. S.
One of his grandchildren was Jacob Valentine Troop, who set-
tled in St. John, N. B., founded the shipping house of Troop &
Son, and was, at one time, a Representative from St. John to the
New Brunswick House of Assembly.
Elizabeth Troop. 1784-1818. Daughter of Jacob. Born
in Granville, N. S., in 1784. Married in 1803, John Bath. She
died in 1818, and John Bath married, for second wife, her sister
Phoebe (b. 1798).
Samuel Morse. 1585-1654. Born in England about 1585.
Came to America in the "Increase" in 1635, with wife Elizabeth.
Lived first at Watertown. Was one of the founders of Dedhara,
where he settled in 1637. Was town treasurer and selectman at
Dedham. When the settlement of Medfield was projected he cast
in his lot with the new town. He died at Medfield, Dec. 3, 1654.
His widow, Elizabeth, died at Dedham, June 20, 1655, ae. 68.
PEOGENITORS OF BIARY ELIZA BATH. 57
Daniel Morse. 1613-1688. Son of Samuel. Born in Eng-
land in 1613. On his arrival in America he went to Watertown,
where he became a freeman in 1635. A few years later he sold his
lands at Watertown to John Sherman and settled in Dedham. He
married, probably about 1638, Lydia, daughter of Anthony Fisher.
He took a prominent part in the settlement of Medfield and Sher-
born. Removed to Medfield in 1651. In 1658 he settled in the
district which afterwards became the town of Sherborn, where he
had purchased a tract of 800 acres of land. He sold his homestead
in Medfield to Thomas Thurston. Was selectman at Medfield in
1655-7, and at Sherborn from 1678 until his death. He died June
5, 1688. It is written: "in all public meetings and elections in
Sherborn precedence was uniformly yielded to him as long as he
Daniel Morse. 1641-1702. Son of Daniel. Born at Ded-
ham, Jan. 31, 1641. Settled at Sherborn. Married in 1669, Eliz-
abeth, daughter of Capt. George Barbour. Died at Sherborn,
Sept. 29, 1702, leaving nine children.
Daniel Morse. 1672-1719. Son of Daniel. Born at Sher-
born, July 10, 1672. Married in 1696, Susanna, daughter of
Thomas Holbrook. Died at Sherborn, April 4, 1719, leaving four
Obacliah Morse. 1704-1753. Son of Daniel. Born Aug.
15, 1704. He inherited the homestead of his father at Sherborn.
Married Nov. 28, 1728, Mercy, daughter of William Walker. He
died in 1753, leaving ten children and a large estate. Among the
items of personal property in his inventory was " one negro man
servant " valued at £300. His widow, Mercy, was appointed to
administer- his estate.
Abner Morse. 1731-1803. Son of Obadiah. Born at Sher-
born, Sept. 25, 1731. Married at Sherborn, Feb. 19, 1756, Anna,
daughter of Jonathan Church. He sailed from Boston, May 17,
1760, by the sloop "Charming Molly" for Annapolis, N. S., tak-
ing with him in the vessel 2 oxen, 2 cows and 1 three-year-old horse.
He settled in the township of Annapolis, entering upon some of the
former possessions of the banished Frenchmen. In 1770 he held
1046 acres of land. He died in the township of Annapolis, Nova
Scotia, Dec. 28, 1803.
Anna Morse, b. 1758. Daus^hter of Abner. Born at Sher-
born, Dec. 30, 1758. Married in Annapolis co., N. S., in 1774,
Jacob Troop. Had nine children. Died in Annapolis co.
58 GENEALOGICAL NOTES.
Antliony Fisher. 1591-1671. Son of Anthony Fisher, who,
in the latter part of the reign of Queen Elizabeth, lived in Eng-
land, in the parish of Syleham, county of Suffolk. His estate,
known as Wignotte, was upon the south bank of the Waveney river.
This Anthony Fisher died April 11, 1640. His will was probated
in London in December, 1641. His wife was Mary, daughter of
William Fiske* of the parish of South Elmham St. James, Suffolk
CO. The Fiskes w^ere an old Puritan family of Suffolk, descended
from Daniel Fisc, w^ho received a grant of land from King John in
1208, through Symond Fiske of the manor of Stadhaugh in Suffolk.
Anthony Fisher, the emigrant, was baptized at Syleham, Eng.,
April 23, 1591. He came to America with wife Mary, and chil-
dren, probably in the "Rose," arriving at Boston, June 26, 1637.
He settled at Dedham. His wife, Mary, was received into the
Dedham church March 27, 1642, but Anthony was one of the men
who did not bow promptly to the Puritan despotism. He proved
very obstreperous. The minister and deacons had a great deal of
trouble with him. He was "proud" and "haughty" and did not
become sufficiently " humbled " to be " comfortably received into ye
church " until March 11, 1645, when he was about 54 years of age,
and, probably, as a necessary prelude to holding office. He was
selectman at Dedham in 1646 and '47, Deputy in 1649, and held
various other offices there. He was also selectman for several years
at Dorchester. His wife, Mary, dying, he married (2) at Dorches-
ter, Nov. 14, 1663, Isabel, widow of Edward Breck. He died at
Dorchester, April 28, 1671. His widow, Isabel, died June 21,
Lydia Fisher. 1620-1691. Daughter of Anthony. Born
in England about 1620. Married, probably about 1638, Daniel
Morse. Died Jan. 29, 1691.
The Worshipful Daniel Fisher, her brother, was Speaker of the
House of Deputies for several years, and a member of the govern-
ment of Massachusetts at the time of his death in 1683.
George Barbour. 1615-1685. Born in England about 1615.
Sailed for America in the "Transport" July 4. 1635. He became
* Several members of the Fiske family came to America in the early immigrations.
Among notable Fiske descendants was John Fiske, the historian and scientist, who
died in 1901.
PROGENITOKS OF MARY ELIZA BATH. 59
a townsman at Dedham in 1640, but did not take the freeman's
oath there until 1647. He was a member of the Ancient and Hon-
orable Artillery company in 1646. Was one of the founders of
INIedfield, where he was chief military officer, served ten years on
the board of selectmen, twenty-three years consecutively as town
clerk* and many years as Deputy to the General Court. He mar-
ried Xov. 24, 1642, Elizabeth, daughter of Rowland Clarke. She
died in 1683. He married (2) Joanna (Faxon), widow of An-
thony Fisher the second.
Capt. George Barbour died in 1685 and administration of his
estate was granted to his son Samuel.
His widow, Joanna, died Oct. 16, 1694.
Elizabeth Barbour. 1651-1714. Daughter of George.
Born at Dedham, April 11, 1651. Married in 1669 Daniel Morse.
Died at Sherborn, Sept. 22, 1714.
KoTvlaiul Clarke, d. 1638. Was a proprietor at Dedham
in 1637, and there died Feb. 2, 1638. His widow, Mary, was ad-
mitted to the church in April, 1642, and died May 22, 1642.
Elizabeth Clarke, d. 1683. Daughter of Rowland. Prob-
ably born in England. Married at Dedham, Nov. 24, 1642, Capt.
George Barbour. Died at Medfield in 1683.
Joliii Holbrook. Was of Weymouth and Dorchester. Prob-
ably a brother of Thomas Holbrook of Dorset, Eng., who sailed
from Weymouth, Eng., March 20, 1635, with wife and family, and
settled in Weymouth, Mass. John Holbrook was made a freeman
May 13, 1640. He purchased a large milhng property at Wey-
mouth in 1656 and 1669. Appears also to have been a landowner
at Braintree. He was Deputy from Weymouth in 1651. His first
* Capt. George Barboui- drew and attested many documents for the people of Med-
field. The pioneers, as a rule, were not good penmen. They wielded both the sword
and the ploughshare better than the pen. A large proportion of our forefathers " made
60 GENEALOGICAL NOTES.
wife, Sarah, died Jan. 14, 1644. He married (2) Elizabeth. He
died after 1674.
John and Thomas Holbrook were both proprietors of the town of
Thomas Holbrook. 1624-1705. Son of John. Probably
born about 1624. Made a freeman in May, 1645. He lived at
Dorchester until about 1652, when he became one of the pioneers
at Boggestow (afterwards Sherborn). He was selectman, etc., at
Sherborn. Was a large landowner in Sherborn and Dorchester.
He married (1) Experience, daughter of Hopestill and Experience
Leland. He married (2) May 28, 1656 (the first marriage per-
formed by the commissioners of Medfield) Hannah, daughter of John
and Margaret Shepard of Brain tree. She died Aug. 28, 1668. He
married (3) at Medfield, Jan. 26, 1669, Margaret Bowker.* She
died April 9, 1690. He married (4) Oct. 31, 1693, Mary Rogers,
whom he also survived. Thomas Holbrook died April 11, 1705.
His will bequeathed his estate to eight children and three grandchil-
Susanna Holbrook. 1674-1717. Daughter of Thomas.
Probably born at Sherborn about 1674. Married in 1696, Daniel
Morse. Died at Sherborn April 14, 1717.
Thomas Walker, d. 1697. Was a resident of Boston in
1661 and not long after this date settled in Sudbury, where he went,
it appears, to take charge of a free school. He was innholder at
Sudbury, in 1672. His daughter, Mary, married Rev. James
Sherman. He died at Sudbury in 1697. The first bequest in his
will is " to my wife, Mary Walker, all my moveables, and negro
Sambo, to be solely at her disposal." His widow, Mary, married,
about December, 1705, Capt. John Goodenow (q. v.). By a docu-
ment dated Feb. 17, 1707, and recorded June 16, 1719, she gave
her " negro Sambo " his freedom at her decease. She died at Sud-
bury, Nov. 4, 1731.
William Walker. 1666-1732. Son of Thomas. Born at
Sudbury, July 22, 1666. Married May 6, 1686, Sarah, daughter
* Edmund Bowker died at Sudbury in March, 1667, leaving a widow Margaret. This
Edmund Bowker, or another, had lived at Dorchester and been miller there.
PROGENITORS OF MARY ELIZA BATH. 61
of John Goodenow. Died at Sudbury, Oct. 3, 1732. The old
Walker garrison house at Sudbury was built by William Walker
or his father. Among the items of his inventory is a considerable
collection ^of books.
Mercy Walker, b. 1709. Daughter of William. Born about
1709. Married at Sudbury, Nov. 28, 1728, Obadiah Morse.
Married (2) at Sherborn, May 25, 1757, Ezekiel Newton of South-
borough. Probably died at Southborough at an advanced age.
Edmund GoodenoTV. 1611-1688. Born about 1611. Came
from Dunhead, Wilts, England, with wife, Anne, two young sons
and one servant, in the "Confidence," in 1638, and settled at Sud-
bury, where he was one of the proprietors of 1639. His brothers,
John and Thomas, with their wives and families, also came in the
" Confidence,"* in which vessel came many others of the Sudbury
settlers. Edmund Goodenow was Deputy from Sudbury, Captain
of militia, etc. His wife, Anne, died at Sudbury, March 9, 1675, je.
67. He died at Sudbury, April 5, 1688, leaving an only son John.
Some of the Goodenow descendants have substantially benefitted
the town of Sudbury by the Goodenow bequest for the poor, the
Goodenow library, etc.
John Goodenow. 1635-1721. Son of Edmund. Born in
England about 1635. Married Sept. 19, 1656, Mary, daughter
of Thomas Axtell. She died in 1704. He married (2) about
December, 1705, Mary, widow of Thomas Walker, who survived
him (see Walker) .
In 1652 the town of Sudbury made a bargain with John Goode-
now " to beat the drum twice every Sabbath and also to beat it for
service on ^ Lecture Day.' "
John Goodenow was clerk of Sudbury in 1667. He w^as Cap-
tain of militia. He died at Sudbury, Aug. 6, 1721.
Sarah Goodenow. Born 1666. Daughter of John. Born
at Sudbury, July 2, 1666. Married at Sudbury, May 6, 1686,
William Walker. She survived her husband and was living in 1734.
* Among those who came to America in the ♦' Confidence " was a tall and sturdy lad
of 18 by the name of Thomas Whittier. He settled in Salisbury and married Rnth
Green. One of his descendants was John G. Whittier the poet.
62 GENEALOGICAL N0TE8.
Tliomas Axtell. 1619-1646. According to the records of
St. Peter's church, Berkhamstead, Hertfordshire, England, Thomas
Axtell was baptized Jan. 26, 1619. He was a brother of Col.
Daniel Axtell (b. Berkhamstead May 26, 1622), an officer under
Cromwell and one of the judges of Charles I,, who was executed
when Charles II. ascended the throne. Thomas Axtell and wife,
Mary, settled in Sudbury about 1642. He died there at the early
age of twenty-seven and was buried March 8, 1646. His widow,
Mary, married June 16, 1646, John Maynard, maltster, who died
at Sudbury, Dec. 10, 1672, leaving a widow Mary.
Mary Axtell. 1639-1704. Daughter of Thomas. Baptized
at Berkhamstead, Eng., Sept. 25, 1639. Married at Sudbury,
Sept. 19, 1656, John Goodenow. Died at Sudbury, April 14, 1704.
Richard Cliurcli. 1609-1668. Born in England about 1609.
Probably came to America in 1630, in the fleet of Gov. John Win-
throp, and landed at Boston. He appears to have gone from Boston
to Weymouth, and thence to Plymouth. He is referred to as being
at Plymouth in a communication, dated Feb. 6, 1632, from the
government of the Plymouth colony to that of the Massachusetts
colony. He was a carpenter. He made the gun-carriages and
coffins at Plymouth. In conjunction with John Tomson he built
the first church edifice at Plymouth in 1648. He was a volunteer
in the war against the Pequot Indians and served as sergeant under
Myles Standish. He married, about 1635, Elizabeth, daughter of
Richard Warren, who came in the "first ship." Had various land
transactions at Plymouth. In 1649 he sold his estate at Plymouth
(Eel River) to his brother-in-law Robert Bartlett, and soon after-
wards settled in Hingham. He purchased at Hingham, Jan. 24,
1653, from Thomas Joy, "one halfe or moytie of his corne mill."
Was town officer and selectman at Hingham. He died Dec. 27,
1668, at Dedham, probably at the home of his son Caleb, who set-
tled there at about that time. Was buried at Hingham.
His will gave his houses and lands, half-interest in mill, share in
iron works at Taunton, etc., to his widow, Elizabeth, during her life.
Richard Church had a family of twelve children, one of whom was
the renowned Col. Benjamin Church.
PROGENITORS OF MARY ELIZA BATH. 63
Caleb Church. 1646-1722. Son of Richard. Probably born
at Plymouth in 1646. He made a deposition April 1, 1686, in
which he stated his age at "about thirty-nine years." He married
(1) Dec. 16, 1667, Joanna, daughter of William Sprague. He
married (2), previous to June, 1680, Deborah, who died at Water-
town, Jan. 17, 1691. He married (3) at Watertown, Nov. 6,
1691, Rebecca Scottow,* whom he also survived. She died, prob- .
ably, in 1717.
Caleb Church removed from Hingham to Dedham about 1668
and there engaged in his business of miller and millwright. About
1676 he left Dedham and settled in Watertown, where he again en-
gaged in the milling business and where he also, according to Bond's
History, kept tavern from 1686 to 1711. He does not appear to
have been in any haste to submit himself to the Puritanical powers
of the day. He did not become a " freeman " until March 22, 1690,
when he was between forty and fifty years of age, and, apparently,
as a necessary preliminary to his first election as a " selectman." He
was selectman for seven years and Representative from Watertown
in 1713. He had numerous real estate transactions. One of his
deeds bears the names of Nathaniel Saltonstall, Thomas Danforth,
Joseph Elliot and Cotton Mather. Among his various investments
he purchased in connection with his brother. Col. Benjamin Church, f
* She was probably the widow of John Scottow, who was born May 6, 1644, and died
at Boston, in the small-pox epidemic of 1678, leaving a widow Rebecca. John Scottow
was the only son of Thomas and nephew of the celebrated Joshua Scottow of Boston,
Mass., and Scarborough, Me. Joshua Scottow acted as agent for Charles Latour in his
dealings with the Massachusetts government and for forwarding ships, men and sup-
plies fi-om Boston to Latour's fort at the mouth of the river St. John — the place where,
in later days, 5000 stricken and persecuted " loyalists " found refuge and established the
town and district of Parr, incorporated in 1785 as St. John. St. John, N. B., was the
first and for a long time the only incorporated town in British America. Some of La-
tour's and Scottow's contracts are on record at the Suffolk Registry of deeds, Boston,
where there are also some bearing the name of the heroine of Fort St. John, Frances
Mary Jacquelin, Lady de la Tour. Joshua Scottow was also attorney for Major Ed-
ward Gibbons, who advanced large amounts to the Sieur de la Tour to aid him in his
struggles with his rival and fellow-adventurer the Sieur d'Aulnay de Charnisay. Ma-
jor Gibbons held a mortgagee on Latour's fort and property at St. John. At his house
Latour staid when on his visits to Boston.
Joshua Scottow made a vovage to Latour's fort at the river St. John and a second
one to Port Royal (Annapolis, N. S.). He had a bill against Latour for oyer four thou-
sand pounds. Some of Scottow's original accounts against Latour are in the Boston
fCol. Benjamin Church was the famous leader of the Colonial military forces and the
hero of King Philip's war. In July, 1704, he commanded an unsuccessful expedition
against Annapolis, IS. S. He wrote a history of King Philip's war, which was edited
and published by his son Thomas, The wife of Col. Benjamin Church was Alice,
daughter of Constant and Elizabeth (Collier) Southworth. Constant was son of Alice
(Carpenter) Southw^orth who, upon the death of her first husband, in England, came
to America and became the second wife of Governor William Bradford. Mary, an-
other daughter of Constant Southworth, married David Alden, son of John Alden.
The youngest daughter of Constant Southworth was named Priscilla, after Priscilla
Molines, to whom John Alden " spoke."
Edward Church, son of Benjamin, was the grandfather of the celebrated Dr. Benja-
min Church, who favored the British cause m revolutionary times, and of Edward
Church who was United States consul at Lisbon. Charles Church (1682-1747), son of
Benjamin, was sheriff of Bristol county. Another member of this talented family was
Hoa. Thomas Church of Rhode Island.
64 GENEALOGICAL NOTES.
a property adjoining Tiverton (now R. I.) which included the whole
of the great water-power there. Caleb sold his half of the prop-
erty to Benjamin, Aug. 8, 1691, for £100. Benjamin erected a
saw-mill, grist-mill and fulling-mill there in 1703. In 1714 Ben-
jamin Church, then resident at Little Compton, sold the whole prop-
erty to Richard and Joseph Borden for £1000. Its value would be
very large today, for upon this property and about the old Indian
Quequechan — " falling water " — is now gathered the great manu-
facturing city of Fall River.
Caleb Church died at Watertown in the early part of 1722 (prob-
ably Feb. 9). He left three married daughters and son Isaac.
John Coolidge was appointed administrator of his estate.
Isaac Church. 1678-1752. Son of Caleb. Born at Water-
town, June 27, 1678. Had twin sister Rebecca. Married at
Watertown, by Rev. Samuel Angier, May 14, 1702, Mary Hutch-
ins, probably daughter of Nicholas Hutchins.* Isaac Church and
wife, Mary, removed, with their son Jonathan, from Watertown to
Sherborn in 1745. They occupied part of the same premises with
Jonathan, both at Watertown and Sherborn. Isaac was livinor at
Sherborn in 1747 and probably died there about 1752.
Jonathan Church, b. 1712. Son of Isaac. Born at Wa-
tertown. Baptized May 11, 1712. Married Aug. 21, 1734,
Thankful, daughter of Jonathan Bullard. He sold his lands in
Watertown and removed, in 1745, to Sherborn, where he purchased
a large property from Francis Brinley. He also bought, June 11,
1744, 100 acres of land in Marlborough. He was a member of the
board of assessors at Sherborn for five years. In 1760 he removed
to Nova Scotia in the emigration caused by the proclamation of Gov-
ernor Lawrence, opening up for English settlers the lands of the
deported French Acadians. He sailed from Boston to Annapolis,
N. S., by the sloop " Charming Molly," May 17, 1760, and settled in
Annapolis county. Probably died in Annapolis co., Nova Scotia.
* Among the patentees to whom the charter of the Massachusetts Bay company was
granted, was Thomas Hutchins. He was one of the " assistants " in the government
of the company in England and may have come to America or had grants of land
here. John Hutchins ( 1604-1686) with wife Frances was of Newbury and Haverhill.
In 1653 the wife of John Hutchins of Haverhill was brought before the court charged
with the awful offence of wearing a silk hood. Upon evidence being presented that
she was "brought up above the ordinary way " she was discharged, without any pen-
alty being inflicted. Nicholas Hutchins was of Lynn. He married April 4, 1666, Eliz-
abeth, daughter of George Farr. Was a soldier in King Philip's war. Removed about
1681 to Groton. Died at Lancaster in 1693, leaving a widow, Mary. His son, John,
was admitted administrator of his estate. Joseph "Wheelock, of Lancaster, was ap-
pointed Jan. 10, 1694, guardian of his daughter Mary. This name appears to have been
spelled also Hudson. Nicholas Hudson was admitted a freeman of Massachusetts,
March 9, 1637. Thomas Hudson was one of the early grantees of Lynn.
PROGENITOES OF MARY ELIZA BATH. 65
Anna Chnrcli. 1737-1811. Daus^hter of Jonathan. Born
at Watertown, Nov. 20, 1737. Married by Rev. Samuel Porter
at Sherborn, Feb. 19, 1756, Abner Morse. Died in 1811 in the
township of Annapolis, Nova Scotia.
Kichard Warren. 1580-1628. Pilgrim Father. Born in
England, probably about 1580. Master Kichard Warren came to
America in the "Mayflower" in 1620. He was not of the original
band of Pilgrims, but came from London. His wife, Elizabeth,
and five daughters came out in the "Anne" in 1623. He had two
sons born in New England. "Grave Kichard Warren" was the
twelfth signer of the celebrated "compact" of Nov. 21, 1620.
"Bore a deep share in the difficulties and troubles of the settlement."
(Nathaniel Morton). He escaped the first sickness, which followed
the landing upon the bleak New England coast just at the beginning
of winter, and which carried off so many of that brave little band
of pioneers, but died at Plymouth in 1628. His widow, Elizabeth,
died at Plymouth, Oct. 2, 1673, ae. about 90, having survived her
husband 45 years and lived to see at least 75 great grandchildren
among her Mayflower descendants.
Elizabeth Warren. 1616-1670. Daughter of Richard.
Born in England about 1616. Married at Plymouth in 1635,
Kichard Church. Died at Hingham, March 4, 1670.
William Spragne. 1609-1675. Three brothers of the name of
Sprague — Kalph, Kichard and William — came to America together
and landed at Naumkeag (now Salem) in 1628 or '29. They came,
it appears, on their own account and at their own cost, not being
of those bodies of emigrants who were shipped to America by the
Merchant Adventurers' companies. They were sons of Edward
Sprague of Upway, Dorsetshire, England, who died there in Octo-
ber, 1614, leaving a widow. Christian, and six children. They
came either with John Endecott, in the " Abigail " — which sailed
from Weymouth, England, June 20 and arrived at Naumkeag,
GQ GENEALOGICAL NOTES.
Sept. 6, 1628 — or very soon afterwards. Upway, the home of the
Spragues, is but a few miles from Dorchester, in Dorsetshire, whence
came John Endecott.* William was the youngest of the three
brothers, being about 20 years of age when he arrived in America.
In the summer of 1629 he went, with a few others, on an expedi-
tion through the woods from Naumkeag to a place called by the
Indians Mishawum, where he was among the first to form a settle-
ment — the foundation of Charlestown. He found there one white
man, a settler by the name of Thomas Walford, a smith, who was
ens^ao^ed in "manufacturing contrabands of war for the Indians."
After a considerable settlement had been established at Mishawum
there was still on the opposite promontory, called by the Indians
Shawmut, but one white settler, a man by the name of Blaxton or
Blackstone.f The city of Boston is there now. William Sprague
married, in 1635, Milicent, daughter of Anthony Eames. He re-
moved, in 1637, with his father-in-law, from Charlestown to Hing-
ham. He was selectman and held various other offices at Hingham.
He died at Hingham, Oct. 26, 1675.
Joanna Sprague. 1645-1678. Daughter of William. Born
at Hingham, December, 1645. Married there Dec. 16, 1667,
Caleb Church. Died at Watertown, July 11, 1678.
Anthony Eames. Born in England, probably about 1590.
Was at Charlestown, with wife, Margery, in 1634. Removed to
Hingham in 1637, where he was Deputy for several years. He
* John Endecott was one of the six original grantees of the Massachusetts territory,
March 19, 1628, and Avas governor of the Massachusetts colony for some sixteen years.
He was a Puritan fanatic and religious despot. In 1659 and '60, under his administra-
tion, four Quakers, (also fanatics), one of whom was a woman, Avere hanged on Bos-
ton common on account of their religion. They came to America seeking religious
freedom but happened upon an ecclesiastical despotism in Massachusetts nxuch Avorse
than anything they had left behind them in England. In Massachusetts ''the clergy
evervAvliQre justified that compulsory conformity Avhich in England they had resisted
to the death." (Haliburton).
These terrible persecutions of the Quakers were only stopped by Royal interference
in the shape of a mandamus from Charles II. to John Endecott under date of Sept. 9,
t William Blackstonc, an English dissenter, settled at Avhat is now Boston as early,
probably, as 1625 or '26. The Puritans found him liA'ing there and claiming the terri-
tory by right of disoOA'ery and possession. He found the bigotry and intolerance of
the ncAv-comers unbearable and fled from the community, remarking, in the bitter-
ness of disappointed feeling, that he had left England because he did not like the " Lord
Bishops " and should noAv leaA^e them because he could not stand the " Lord Brethren."
He Avent, in 1635, to a place knoAvn by the Indians as Wawepoonseag, noAv Cumber-
land, R. I. He Avas the first settler AAdthin the original limits of the town of Rehoboth.
After him came Roger Williams, the Quaker. Blackstone died in 1675.
PEOGENITOES OF MARY ELIZA BATH. 67
was the first military commander of the town. Was chosen Cap-
tain of the Hingham train-band in 1645. His election was dis-
puted and resulted in the famous controversy which long convulsed
the colony. He does not appear to have always been in accord
with the Puritan powers. In 1651 he and his son Mark bought
property at Marshfield and removed there. He was Deputy for
many years from Marshfield. He or his son was Deputy to the
General Court for about thirty years. Probably died at Marsh-
Milicent Eames. d. 1696. Dauo-hter of Anthonv. Born
in England. Married at Charlestown, in 1635, William Sprague.
Died at Hingham, Feb. 8, 1696.
Another daughter of Anthony Eames was the first wife of the
brave Captain Michael Pierce, who was killed, with nearly the
whole of his command, in an eno-aoi-ement with the Indians in 1676.
cTeorg-e Bullarcl. 1608-1689. Born in England about 1608.
Was an early settler at Watertown, where he was made a freeman in
1641. His first wife, Margaret, died at Watertown, Feb. 8, 1640.
He married (2) the same year Beatrice Hall. She was admitted
to the church in Boston, June 20, 1640, and died at Dedham, May
29, 1652. He married (3) April 30, 1655, the widow Mary
Marplehead. He removed to Weston, probably about 1660. Died
Jan. 14, 1689.
Jonathan Bullarcl. 1647-1724. Son of George. Born at
Watertown, July 12, 1647. Large landowner at Watertown.
Married Dec. 9, 1669, Esther, daughter of Joseph Morse. Mar-
ried (2), in 1721, Elizabeth, widow of Richard Barnes of Marl-
borough. She survived him. He died at Weston, Aug. 12, 1724.
Jonathan Bullarcl. 1672-1719. Son of Jonathan. Born
at Watertown, Dec. 25, 1672. Settled at Weston. Married,
previous to 1700, Anna. Died Sept. 14, 1719.
His widow, Anna, was appointed to administer his estate and as
guardian to his minor children.
She married, May 24, 1727, Edward Harrington of Watertown,
who died in 1736. She survived him.
68 GENEALOGICAL NOTES.
Thankful Billiard, b. 1715. Daughter of Jonathan. Bom
Dec. 2, 1715. Married by the Rev. Seth Storer at Watertown,
Aug. 21, 1734, Jonathan Church. Probably died in Annapolis
CO., Nova Scotia.
Joseph Morse. 1587-1646. Born about 1587. Came from
Ipswich, England, about 1635, and settled at Ipswich, Mass. He
was a brother of Samuel, of Dedham. He brought various proper-
ties at Ipswich. Died at Ipswich in 1646. His will made his
widow, Dorothy, his sole executrix and gave to her and his son
John each a dwelling-house. He gave his new cloak to Joseph,
his great bible to Hannah and other bibles and books to his children.
Joseph Morse. 1610-1691. Son of Joseph. Born in Eng-
land about 1610. Came to America in the "Elizabeth," from
Ipswich, England, in 1634. His father came out a year or two
later. He settled at Watertown, where his name is on the earliest
list of proprietors. He married, in 1636, Esther, daughter of John
Peirce. He died March 4, 1691, and his estate was administered
by his son John.
Esther Morse. 1645-1719. Daughter of Joseph. Born at
Watertown, March 7, 1645. Married at Watertown, Dec. 9, 1669,
Jonathan BuUard. She was living in 1711 and probably died
John Peirce. 1588-1661. Born about 1588. Is thought
to have come from Norwich, Norfolk co., England. Was an early
settler at 'Watertown. Made a freeman in March, 1639. Was
one of the original proprietors of Lancaster but does not appear to
have ever lived there. Died at Watertown, Aug. 19, 1661. His
widow, Elizabeth, died at Watertown, March 12, 1667, a. about 79.
Esther Peirce. Daughter of John. Born in England. Mar-
ried in 1636, Joseph Morse. Was living in 1667. Probably died
before her husband.
PROGENITORS OF MARY ELIZA BATH. 69
Master John Peirce was one of the company of London mer-
chants which "financed" the Pilgrims. In his name the first patent
of the Plymouth company was taken out and he is the "Mr. I. P."
to whom is dedicated that fiimous old document " Mourt's Relation "
of the settlement at Plymouth. His relationship to the above John
Peirce, of Watertown, who is described as a man of " very good
estate," is not known, but no doubt many of the relatives and con-
nections of those merchants first interested in the emigration enter-
prises, came to America.
NAMES OF PERSONS.
Name may appear more
than once upon a page.
Alden, David .
Barnes, Elizabeth .
. 43, 44
. 44, 50
Andros, Sir Edmund
. 45, 46
, 16, 49
Angier, Rev. Samuel
Appleton, Major .
At Lese, Lucy .
, 49, 60
, 49, 50
Axtell, Daniel .
Ruth . . . .
. 61, 62
Bath, Abner Troop
, 54, 56
Elizabeth Ann .
. 25, 26
22, 23, 26, 27
Henrietta M. .
John . . 11, 52
, 55, 56
John Fletcher .
. 22, 26, 27
Barber, Elizabeth .
. 24, 25
. 24, 25
57, 58, 59
Bathe, Henry de .
Bardsley, Charles W. .
Baring Brothers & Compa
ay . .49
Beard, Mary .
Gilbert O. .
Hannah S. .
John Bath .
Best, Robert .
Bigg, Patience .
Black stone, William
B ond, Henry .
45, 46, 47
42, 46, 49
10, 22, 23
8, 12, 14
9, 10, 14
12, 15, 43
11, 15, 35
9, 10, 23
9, 10, 18
10, 12, 15
13, 14, 15
13, 14, 15
Bowker, Edmund .
Boydon, Thomas .
Bradstreet, Rev. Dudley
Brigham, Mercie .
Brinley, Francis ,
Rev. John .
Brown, Rev. Edmund
BroAvne, Thomas .
Caille, M. .
Cakebread, Sarah .
Calnek, W. Arthur
Carson, Kit .
Chandler, Rev. Seth .
Charles I., King
Charles II., King
Charnisay, d'Aulnay de
Child, Robert .
Cbipman, Alice S.
64, 67, 68
52, 55, 56
55, 62, 66
NAMES OF PEKSONS.
Cornwall, Duchess of
Danforth, Dep.-Gov. Thomas
D'Aulnay de Charnisay
Dawson, Annie M. .
Samuel E. . . .
Dewey, Admiral George
Margaret . . . .
Dinah, negro slave
Drake, S. A. ...
Draper, Mary .
Dummer, Jer. .
Dupont, Marie Madeleine
D wight, Elizabeth .
Eames, Anthony .
Eaton & Ray
Edward III., King .
EdAvard IV., King
Eliot, Rev. John
Endecott, John .
Farnet, Matthias Claude .
Farnsworth, Matthias .
Farr, George .
Faxon, Joanna . . . .
Felch, Anne ....
Daniel . . . .
Ebenezer . . 9,
John . . . 21,
Mary . . . 9, 21,
Stephen . . . .
Fellows, George Troop
James I. . .
Susan Morse .
Felton, E. C. .
Ferguson, Henry .
Fisher, Anthony .
Fiske family . ,
Fitz-Randolph, Archibald D
Elizabeth . .
George III., King
Glover, Alice . ,
GofFe, Joanna .
Goodenow, Anne .
Gorges, Sir Ferdinando
Gov. Robert .
Gosnold, Bartholomew .
Gowing, Elizabeth .
Griffin, Elizabeth .
Ilaliburton, Thomas Chandler
57, 58 59
42, 43, 44
42, 43, 45
Hall, Elizabeth A.
Rebecca . ,
Harris, Giles .
Haugh, Rev. Samuel
Herds, Silence .
Hickling, Catharine G.
Hill, Ebenezer .
Kezia . .
Hilliard, Esther .
Hobart, Daniel .
Rev. Peter . 44,
Hough, Franklin B.
Robert jr. .
, 47, 50
NAMES OF PERSONS.
Hubba, Norse Sea- Kin
Hubert, Saint .
Hunt, Mercie .
Hutchins, Elizabeth .
Ibrook, Christian^ .
Ellen . . " .
Jacquelin, Frances Mary
Jaramillo, Maria Ignacia
John, King .
Kearney, Gen. S. W.
Duke of .
James . ,
George E. ,
Lane, Agnes .
Langley, Edmund de
Lawrence, Gov. Charles
Leber, Jacques .
Long, Mary .
Longfellow, Henry W.
John . 29, 30
Sarah . .
William 29, 30,31,
Lothrop, Rev. John .
Lyford, Rev. John
Maricort, M. de
Marplehead, Mary .
. 9, 22, 64
. 40, 41
. 40, 41
• • • Oil
> • • ^o
. 18, 27
26, 27, 37, 38
. 26, 27, 37, 38
10, 29, 35, 42
• • • OD
. 31, 32
10, 34, 35, 42, 53
. 29, 30, 31, 41
31, 32, 33, 34, 37
. 31, 32
34, 39, 53
. 34, 37
32, 33, 34, 35, 39,
. 47, 49
. 44, 63
Parker, John ....
John P. . .
Joseph . . . 34,
38, 39, 40
Margaret . . . .
Metcalfe, Elizabeth .
. 34, 39
Middleton, Anne .
Obadiah . . . .
Milton, Elizabeth .
Samuel . . . .
Minshull, Elizabeth .
Parris, Mary . . . .
Samuel . . .
. . 23
Penn, William . . . .
Peirce, Elizabeth .
Molineaux, Alice .
. . 35
Esiher . . . .
. 68, 69
Philip, King . . . .
17, 18, 19
Solomon . . . .
. 17, 18, 19, 20
Sir William .
Morse, Abner .
56, 57, 65
Platts, Mary ....
. 56, 57, 65
Porter, Rev. Samuel
. 57, 58, 59, 60
Benjamin . . . .
56, 57, 59
Catharine G. .
. 35, 38
. 67, 58
John . . .20,
35, 36, 37
34, 37, 38
36, 37, 38
. 56, 57, 68
. 57, 60
Roger . .
Morton, Nathaniel .
34, 37, 38
McKenzie, Anne .
McKinley, William .
William H. .
Nelson, Admiral .
Ramezay, Claude de .
• -l- i
Charles R. .
• « X i
No well, Increase
. \. . 42
. 10, 11
Orcutt, Wm. Dana
. \ . 15
Chief . \ . 18
• -L X
Page, John .
• ■ X X
. \ 20
Palmer, Acalua L.
Read & Wright
Reed, James Edwin
Rice, David ....
9, 18, 20
. 17, 27
Elizabeth . . 17,
18, 19, 20
. 9, 17, 18
. 17, 19
. 39, 53
17, 18, 19
17, 27, 28
. 27, 28
NAMES OF PERSONS.
Riple)', Elizabeth .
Roberts, Charles G. D,
Rogers, Mary .
Savary, A. W.
Sawtell, Abigail .
Sherman, Rev. James
Sholan, Chief .
. 63, 66
. , . 65
63, 65, 66, 67
. 27, 28
Storer, Rev. Seth .
Strong, Henrietta M. .
Tanguay, Abbe .
St. Jean Baptiste .
. 33, 39
Tilley, Alice S.
Sir Samuel Leonard
. 49, 50, 51
. 50, 51
. 49, 50
. 56, 57
. 53, 56
Henrietta C. .
. 53, 56, 57
Jacob V. .
Maria Anne .
53, 55, 56
Troop & Son
Van Blarcom, Anne
Victoria, Queen .
Yinal, Anna .
Wade, Catharine .
Walton, Mr. .
Weller, Mr. Samuel
Whittier, John G.
. 60, 61
. 60, 61
57, 60, 61
Rev. William .
. 62, 65
18, 19, 20
Winthrop, Gov. John
Witherspoon, Maria A
Wolfe, Gen. James .
. 18, 19
Yonge, Charlotte M.
York, Duchess of .
Young family .
, 55, 62
Ah! whither shall we go?
Down to the grave, down to those happy shades below,
Where all our brave progenitors are blest
With endless triumph and eternal rest.
BOSTON PUBl ir i id«
^ yy^S 06174 358 7