(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of Erie County, Pennsylvania"

■#'" 



^ 



m 




.^ 




UNIVERSITY 
OF PITTSBURGH 




LIBRARIES 



,0-^ 



HISTORY 

of 



ERIE COUNTY 

PENNSYLVANIA 



By 
JOHN ELMER REED 



IN TWO VOLUMES 
ILLUSTRATED 



VOLUME TWO 



HISTORICAL PUBLISHING COMPANY 

Topeka — Indianapolis 

1925 



Digitized by the Internet Archive 

in 2009 with funding from 

University of Pittsburgh Library System 



http://www.archive.org/details/historyoferiecou02reed 



BIOGRAPHICAL INDEX 



Abbey, George J 760 

Acheson, A. K 1130 

Ackerman, Dr. John 1166 

Adams, Dr. Melvin L 863 

Alberstadt, E. P 535 

Alexander, Cassius L 964 

Alexander, Walter A 639 

Allen, Dr. William G. 1040 

Althof, Edward W. 1009 

Althof, George T. 1010 

Althof, Henry 1008 

Althof, Henry A. 1009 

Amenta, Dr. L. Joseph 1173 

Anderson, Alfred D. 665 

Anderson, Carl H. 627 

Anderson, Dr. Rollin H. 749 

Anshutz, Reed 552 

Anthony, James F. 1239 

Arbuckle, William I. 801 

Askownes, Gustave 1250 

Ashton, Mortimer S. 1049 

Anstead, Martin L. 1207 

Austin, Ruby F. 1118 

Avery, Dr. F. E. 759 

Baker, Isaac 786 

Baldwin, James 1120 

Bannister, John 1246 

Barber, Arthur W. 1038 

Barker, James K. 1225 

Barkey, Dr. Peter 695 

Barrett, Dr. George T. 1164 

Barns, Howard 890 

Barney, J. Ross 826 

Barthel, William L. 1284 

Barton, Dr. Aulrey J. T 782 

Battles, L. A. 1158 

Battles, R. S. 520 

Bauman, Katherine W. 817 



Bauschard, Philip C. 590 

Beal, Dr. Thomas A. 942 

Becker, John A. 1056 

Becker, Otto E. 798 

Beckman, William R. 1032 

Beckwith, William E. 523 

Bemiss, William H. 883 

Bennett, G. Clyde 911 

Bennett, James H. 615 

Benze, Adolph L. 1144 

Benze, Albert L. 1150 

Benze, Charles Theodore 1145 

Benze, Gustave A. 1146 

Benze, Leopold O. 1148 

Benzing, George 1205 

Berg, George 694 

Berry, Dr. Ellen Walker 1282 

Bevins, Lawrence 1286 

Beyer, Arthur H. 823 

Beyer, Richard H. 1270 

Biebel, William G. 959 

Bieber, John F. 1280 

Billingsley, Harry 1254 

Birkland, C. Otto 661 

Blaine, George W. 940 

Blair, C. L. 899 

Blair, Frederick W. 1109 

Blair, Lloyd A. 588 

Blair, Samuel 668 

Blake, Katherine Brown 655 

Blakeslee, Dr. T. W. 746 

Blethen, Eugene H. 795 

Blodgett, Francis B. 560 

Blossom, Walter L. 1240 

Bliley, Charles F. 1151 

Bliss, C. F. 672 

Bliss, John H. 581 

Bond, F. S. 629 

Bostwick, DeWitt C. 938 



BIOGRAPHICAL INDEX 



Boughton, Dr. G. C. 698 

Bowman, Frederick X. 1061 

Bracken, O. W. 1255 

Brandt, F. J. 806 

Brennan, Charles S. 1199 

Brennan, Joseph H. 1234 

Brevillier, Frederick 780 

Brevillier, Frederick A. 781 

Briggs, Benjamin E. 1112 

Briggs, Walter R. 865 

Brindley, Zachary T 1188 

Bristol, Emery F. 889 

Britton, Ray M. 1203 

Brooks, John B. 522 

Brown, Clyde F. 978 

Brown, Isaac B. ^ 1138 

Brown, J. J. 653 

Broughton, Francis 1224 

Buck, Robert M. 1011 

Burch, Emmett L. 560 

Burgoyne, Leo J. 791 

Burnham, F. W., Sr. 614 

Burns, Robert B. 683 

Burt, Frank D. 1030 

Busch, Lynn J. 687 

Butt, Daniel E. 1215 

Butler, Frank J. 1283 

Buys, John H. 834 

Cameron, M. Agnes 987 

Campbell, Charles R. 1236 

Campbell, Earl P. 1122 

Canon, Reuben V. 1117 

Cantor, Dr. Carlton F. 762 

Carter, Gerald N. 671 

easier, Oliver 993 

Cessna, Jonathan B. 1267 

Chaffee, Dr. O. N. 768 

Chaffee, Helen Davidson 1241 

Chaffee, Warren 1021 

Chambers, Benjamin F. 849 

Cheeks, Dr. Clarence E. 1163 

Cherry, Clare G. 973 

Chidester, Dr. Charles B. 764 

Church, H. L. 684 

Citizens National Bank of Corry, 

The 656 

Clark, Henry 500 

Clark, Henry A. 501 



Cleland, Dr. C. B. 774 

Clough, Eugene D. 1026 

Cochanides, Manuel 1254 

Coburn, Hubert E. 563 

Cole, Phila Olds 897 

Colegrove, Arthur D. 1259 

Collins, M. B. 810 

Condon, C. D. 1273 

Condren, Dr. James E. 1173 

Constable, Charles A. 619 

Continental Rubber Works 1156 

Cook, Charles E. 680 

Cook, Edward H. 1133 

Cooper, Dr. Harry C. 1165 

Cornell, Earl R. 1212 

Cornell, Martin C. 910 

Covell, Alvah W. 688 

Cowles, W. P. 633 

Craig, J. Reed 554 

Crane Family, The 830 

Crawford, W. A. 579 

Crawford, William T. 881 

Croop, Dr. J. Elmer 1174 

Currie, Dougald A. 537 

Culbertson, William M. 1058 

Cummins, C. R. 1233 

Curtis, Daniel G. 540 

Curtis, Dr. Harrison A. 980 

Curtze, Hermann J. 1080 

Danielson, Charles E. 978 

Darsie, Burns 645 

Dart, Walter A. 1273 

Davis, M. Levant 1271 

Davison, Wesley 1042 

Dawley, Florence M. 814 

Detzel, William F. 522 

Dear, Dr. E. J. 759 

Deck, Bernard M. 818 

Deck, P. W. 592 

Delack, Burton L. 536 

Deming, Alton A. 1088 

Denison, Howard H. 1195 

Depinet, Henry J. 1247 

Depinet, John 900 

De Rosay, D. Warren 632 

Devine, Robert F. 510 

Devine, Robert F., Jr. 511 

De Wolfe, Mott 893 



BIOGRAPHICAL INDEX 



Dickinson, Dr. G. S. 1277 

Diehl, C. H. 1286 

Dietz, Dr. William S. 777 

Dill, Arthur 861 

Dill, Dr. William M. 695 

Dill, Robert J. 875 

Dinnison, Dr. J. A. 735 

Dolan, Dr. L. W. 1161 

Doolittle, Clarence L. 694 

Downs, George R. 574 

Downs, Stephen J. 1004 

Doyle, John J. 571 

Drake, Dr. J. C. M. 729 

Drew, Frank M. 1060 

Drown, S. H. 785 

Drozeski, Dr. Edward H. 737 

Drury, Carl M. 1062 

Dugan, Rev. Gerald G. 652 

Dunn, Dr. Harrison A. 697 

Dunn, Eugene 1123 

Dunn, Ira J. 730 

Dunn, T. P. 1231 

Dunwoody, James 664 

Durbin, Dr. George S. 689 

Egan, William F. 846 

Eaton, Charles C. 531 

Echols, Monroe 609 

Eckerd, W. H. 811 

Edwards, Stephen M. 1103 

Edwards, Vernon K. 879 

Eichorn, Theodore 509 

Eisaman, Howard G. 1108 

Elber, Fred M. •.._1197 

Eldredge, Lucius O. 1086 

Electric Materials Co., The 1227 

Elliott, Walter G. 1096 

Emerman, Allen H. 547 

Emerman, Benjamin 546 

English, Charles H. 493 

Engles, Dr. Edward M. 769 

Epp, William R. 1238 

Erie Business College, The 649 

Evans, Benjamin F. 822 

Evans, E. M. 858 

Evans, James A. 855 

Everhart, Dr. W. H. 761 

Fairview Schools 1211 



Falk, Dr. Harry S. 1170 

Farnham, John A. 1002 

Farver, John B. 1217 

Faulkner, C. V. 1194 

Farver, Harley W. 956 

Feisler, Charles A. 827 

Ferguson, Albert W. 690 

Fiero, Dr. Charles N. 1171 

Fincken, Harriet Bowen 1239 

Firman, Robert J. 816 

First National Bank, Albion 1287 

Fisher, Christian A. 1105 

Fisher, Dr. Fred, Jr., 773 

Fisk, Alpha J. 1132 

Fletcher, Milan D. 1186 

Fluegel, George A. 672 

Flury, Mary G. 860 

Flynn, Dr. Theobald M. M. 976 

Forbes, C. R. 1208 

Force, C. E. 874 

Ford, Richard E. 844 

Fordham, Thomas J. 691 

Foringer, Dr. H. H 1179 

Forsberg, Goran E. 1184 

Fox, I. L. 630 

Foye, Harry 1067 

Frank, George K. 880 

Franz, Jacob 995 

Freeman, A. A. 944 

Fry, Charles H. 1216 

Fry, William H. 1216 

Fuller, N. P. 939 

Galbo, John J. 607 

Gallanis, Leo 1283 

Galster, Dr. H. C. 749 

Gamble, U. A. 1119 

Gandy, Howard W. 1198 

Gannon, Dr. Norbert D. 742 

Gannon, James E. 635 

Gerbracht, G. M. 821 

Geren, Harry O. 1 917 

Gleeton, Wayne A. 1206 

Glenn, Frank L. 1033 

Gibbons, Dr. Robert L. 758 

Gifford, William Pitt 492 

Gingrich, Walter W. 495 

Goldman, Dr. Benjamin 731 

Gooding, George 1243 



BIOGRAPHICAL INDEX 



Goodwin, Charles B. 1023 

Gorman, Harold D 1235 

Goss, Glenn M. 1074 

Graham, Gustavus C. 870 

Graham, Orson J. 851 

Graham, Wilbur M. 643 

Griffey, J. M. 1105 

Griffith, George P. 568 

Griffith, John 729 

Grimshaw, Fred 943 

Griswold, Marvin E. 537 

Griswold, Matthew 1264 

Griswold, R. Todd 593 

Griswold, Roger W. 662 

Guerrein, Carl C. 834 

Guild, L. W. 799 

Gunnison, Eben J. 1069 

Hagenlocher, William 790 

Haibach, Charles L. 631 

Hain, I. A. 852 

Hall, Edward F. 926 

Halloran, George A. 883 

Hammond, Dr. C. C. 1169 

Hapgood, Dr. C. H. 1177 

Hard, Jean Ashley 519 

Harper, David, W. 796 

Hart, Dr. Fred C. 1054 

Hartleb, Peter 666 

Hartleb, Phillip 666 

Hartman, Philip H. 1185 

Harvey, Ellis E. 999 

Hartline, Harry G. 1129 

Hatch, Edwin W. 752 

Haughney, Charles P. 494 

Haughney, John R. 494 

Hawkes, George 1078 

Hay, James D. 549 

Hayes, Edward 525 

Heard, Dr. C. F. 1162 

Heath, Fred B. 867 

Henderson, Charles H. 1189 

Herbolsheimer, Henry C. 1210 

Herbst, Otto 1115 

Hermann, Fred 1128 

Herrick, Cordello 809 

Herrick, Norton J. 916 

Hertzler, Jacob 0. 601 

Hess, Conrad, Jr. 936 



Hess, Dr. Elmer 984 

Hess, Walter 1052 

Heuer, Edward 577 

Hicks, Dr. Fred T. 777 

Hill, Clyde C. 556 

Hill, James R. 953 

Hill, Theodore C. 937 

Hillstrom, David A. 989 

Hirt, John M. 756 

Hirt, William E. 496 

Hitchcock, Otto G. 542 

Hober, Clifford F. 1040 

Hoffsetter, Robert F. 554 

Holden, Anthony M. 1046 

Holeman, Dr. Ralph B. 1010 

Hopkins, Frank 1083 

Hopkins, Hiram S. 696 

Hortsman, Walter E. 567 

Hosbach, Franklin B. 800 

Howell, Reg H 784 

Hubbard, Henry H. 740 

Hughes, John C. 1094 

Hurley, Joseph L. 1275 

Hutchinson, Charles M. 1095 

Hutchinson, Dale 950 

Hutchinson, Ward E. 954 

Hyer, Francis E. 1176 

Ignasiak, John A. 905 

Illig, Frank J. 692 

Illig, William C. 564 

Indich, Charles I. 1272 

Inman, Herbert D. 1137 

James, Charles M 1160 

Janniere, Dr. J. W 1258 

Jarecki, Alexander . 538 

Jarecki, Charles 1189 

Jarecki, Robert 570 

Jeffs, Henry R. 921 

Jenkins, Frank E. 893 

Jensen, Thomas 991 

Jerrell, Leroy A 861 

Jiuliante, Jessamine S. 576 

Johnson, Calvin L. 1099 

Johnson, Dr. Earl B 745 

Johnson, J. Arthur 1102 

Jordan, John L 1229 

Johnson, Raymond A. 1221 



BIOGRAPHICAL INDEX 



Kalson, Dr. A. M. 747 

Kaltenback, George J 1250 

Kamerer, Samuel E. 1031 

Kane, R. E. 1127 

Kastner, E. J. R. 653 

Kearney, J. P. 1205 

Keim, A. E. 658 

Keim, Henry F. 1129 

Kellani, N. R. 825 

Kellam, Walter R. 670 

Keller, Frank H. 954 

Kelley, Joseph M. 679 

Kelly, George L. 833 

Kelsey, Dr. James H. 755 

Kelsey, E. A. 1001 

Kelso, Frank H. 1132 

Kendall, Dr. E. E. 1045 

Kenyon, Harry M. 782 

Keppel, Ernest 1135 

Keppel, Henry M. 804 

Kessler, Henry 608 

Keystone Co-operative Grape Asso- 
ciation, The 1265 

Kibler, Dr. Charles B. 977 

Kibler, William C. 1053 

Kilburn, Noah P. 1006 

Kimmel, Charles A. 815 

Kincade, Franklin P. 1185 

King, Henry F. 1003 

Kirkland, Clifton R. 1065 

Klein, Frank A. 1024 

Kneib, Joseph A. 793 

Koch, Moses 562 

Koehler, Dr. John J. 785 

Kohler, Dr. John J. 785 

Krack, Gustave C. 660 

Krum, Dr. A. G. 741 

Krum, F. D. 856 

Kurczewski, Frank 838 

Kuenzig, Charles J. 1274 

Lamb, Nettie Olds 897 

Lamberton, Edwin H. 572 

Ladd, Charles 1143 

Lander, William H. 1196 

Lane, Harry A. 1035 

Lang, Alfred P. 847 

Lanston, John A. 983 

Laurie, Frank 967 



Law, T. V. 583 

Lawrie, Robert W. 744 

Laver, John V. 682 

Lee, M. H. 903 

Leomhuis, P. L. 516 

Leemhuis, Raymond P. 517 

Leet, Frank R. 621 

Leet, George E. 615 

LeJeal, Charles H. 857 

Leslie, Joseph E. 1178 

Le Sueur, Peter 788 

Leuschen, Peter 904 

Lias, William M. 675 

Liebel, Michael, Jr. 641 

Liebel, William E. 634 

Lick, Chauncey V. 974 

Lick, Dr. Maxwell 738 

Lininger, Dr. Carl B. 1064 

Little, Lowell M. 902 

Lloyd, Dr. John H. 775 

Lloyd, F. A. 1057 

Lochner, C. N. 793 

Loomis, Joseph W. 873 

Lord, H. C. 611 

Loveland, Francis A. 1258 

Lowe, Warren G. 647 

Luke, Dr. R. H. 1175 

Lumbard, William J. 697 

Lund, C. Harrison 613 

Lyle, George M. 1275 

Lyons, Dr. H. E. 776 

McAllister, Clark 1044 

McBrier, David N. 532 

McBrier, Frederick B. 535 

McCarthy, Dr. F. P. 750 

McCarty, F. B. 1083 

McClelland, William E. 685 

McCord, Ralph B. 958 

McCumber, E. Sears 901 

McCune, Dr. Charles E. 1101 

McElroy, Leonard T. 908 

McEntarfer, A. D. 1041 

McEnteer, George L. 1222 

McFayden, Alexander 1242 

McFayden, William T. 803 

McGavern, C. S. 1246 

McGeary, Charles P. 648 

McLean, Allen H. 594 



8 



BIOGEAPHICAL INDEX 



McLean, B. Courtney 918 

McNary, Carl W. 587 

McNeill, Dr. Charles A. 596 

McQuiston, Ira D. 1190 

Mackay, Donald L. 878 

MacLeod, William W. 868 

Madden, Francis R. 885 

Magay, William J. 813 

Mahoney, Timothy J. 820 

Main, Comer B. 1034 

Mang, Archie W. 854 

Marks, Harriet Acheson 1201 

Marks, Marcus M. 638 

Mark-wood, Henry C. 1276 

Marquis, Giles "^28 

Marsh, Ritchie T. 497 

Marsh, W. Ed. 986 

Marshall, George N. 887 

Martin, Michael A. 1257 

Martineau, Cornelius 1036 

Martin, Joseph C. 623 

Mason, Leander A. 1037 

Mather, Charles L. 994 

Maurer, John C. 1012 

Mayo, Otto J. 1251 

Mead, James P. 979 

Mead, John J. Jr. 1233 

Mehaffey, Thomas 503 

Mehl, John V. 678 

Merrick, Marshall R. 612 

Merrick, Walter H. 996 

Merritt, W. P. Jr. 1237 

Messenkopf, Charles 618 

Mertens, Charles A. 892 

Metcalf, George R., Jr. 626 

Metzger, Frank F. 1047 

Meyer, H. Harold 935 

Mielcarek, Stanley 686 

Miles, John F. 1087 

Millar, Maude S. 652 

Miller, Dr. A. B. 743 

Miller, Fred J. 621 

Miller, George A. 842 

Miller, George P. 864 

Miller, Miles R. 580 

Millet, Francis 1168 

Mills, Homer A. 1098 

Minnig, C. J. 919 



Mitchell, Arthur W. 808 

Mitchell, G. R. 1202 

Moffatt, Waters G. 1260 

Mohring, Frederick G. 1079 

Moline, Peter J. 610 

Montague, Claude 1234 

Montgomery, F. L. 1253 

Mook, Harold F. 924 

Moomy, Harry E. 663 

Moore, Edward C. 561 

Moore, George O. 557 

Moorhead, Dr. Hugh M. 636 

Moorehead, Joseph Y. 595 

Moorhead, Robert J. 597 

Moorhead, Victor 869 

Morgan, Philip H. 1118 

Morris, Dr. J. K. 1229 

Morrison, Asa S. 886 

Morrison, James M. 1068 

Morrison, Karl E. 792 

Morrison, Kendall R. 841 

Morton, E. J. 843 

Mszanowski, Dr. M. M. 960 

Munger, Herbert L. 654 

Munsee, Ira B. 1013 

Murray, John D. 1077 

Myers, W. S. 813 

Nagorski, Alois 1253 

Nagorski, Francis T. 824 

Nash, Albert E. 909 

Nash, Richard L. 941 

Nason, Joseph E. 550 

Nason, W. S. 551 

Nelson, George B. 794 

Nelson, Paul B. 859 

Nelson, Raymond W. 1257 

Neuer, John J. 637 

Newton, George H. 879 

Neyland, B. G. 923 

Nichols, Sumner E. 667 

Nicholson, Ezra 513 

Nick, Edwin W. 565, 

Noble, Will 669 

Nollanger, George 997 

Noonan, J. T. 854 

Norman, Williami C. 658 

Northrop, Claude M. 1028 



BIOGRAPHICAL INDEX 



Obermanns, Henry F. 676 

O'Brien, John E. 850 

Olds, Lewis W. 888 

Olds, Lewis W. 930 

Olsen, O. E. 1244 

Oriole, Philip F. 627 

O'Rourke, James 1039 

Osborne, Frank H. 1014 

Otto, Joseph 877 

Paasch, Josephine Moeller 907 

Parker, Dr. G. J. 1214 

Parker, Louis H. 871 

Parker, William A. 548 

Parsons, Dr. P. P. 757 

Pasqualicchio, Leonard 726 

Patton, Dr. R. E. 1166 

Patterson, George W. 982 

Paul, Dr. F. H. 755 

Payne, Dr. Charles 1029 

Payne, F. Dana 545 

Payne, Francis H. 514 

Peake, Walter L. 975 

Perry, Lytle F. 609 

Petrillo, Edward 527 

Phillips, Louis 802 

Phillips, Vere E. 988 

Pierce, George E. 934 

Pinks, F. O. 1180 

Place, Claude D. 1152 

Plate, Ferdinand M. 1116 

Pohle, W. B. 802 

Purcell, Dr. J. A. 763 

Purcell, James 508 

Putnam, Dr. Burton H. 865 

Putman, Emmett M. 998 

Putts, Dr. B. Swayne 753 

Quinn, Frank B. 530 

Quinn, John J. 790 

Ramsey, Myrtle 1213 

Ramsay, Robert G. 558 

Randall, Carlton M. 924 

Ras, Frank K. 1228 

Raymond, Laverne H. 1219 

Reed, Carl M. 920 

Reed, Dr. George A. 733 

Reed, J. E. 969 

Reibs, Henry J. 862 

Reichard, Dr. S. Warren 872 



Reichbaum, Davis 839 

Reichel, Dr. Edwin J. 762 

Reid, Max H 870 

Reinoehl, Dr. D. V. 1161 

Renick, Charles E. 1154 

Renz, Dr. Oscar W. 852 

Rhea, Joe E. 856 

Rhoads, Ethard A. 789 

Riblet, Henry M. 1072 

Riblet, Porter K. 913 

Rice, C. A. 657 

Rick, Thomas J. 1056 

Rickert-Shafer Company 586 

Riedel, Frederick K. 1036 

Riley, Guy S. 996 

Rilling, Christopher H. 1066 

Rilling, E. L. 544 

Rilling, John S 933 

Rilling, Kemper W. 670 

Rindernecht, William E. 661 

Robertson, Dr. J. F. 771 

Robison, George S. 634 

Robinson, William J. 604 

Robinson, William J., Jr. 606 

Rochelle, Ford W., Jr. 555 

Rodgers, R. L. 505 

Roland, Emanuel W. 578 

Rose, Albert E 539 

Ross, Dr. F. E. 725 

Ross, Gale H. 657 

Rossiter, L. T 843 

Rossiter, Samuel Y 603 

Rossiter, Uriah P. 602 

Rosswog, Robert J. 584 

Rost, Daniel B. 656 

Roth Cadillac Company 1136 

Roth, Dr. A. H 693 

Roth, Gottlieb 1137 

Rowe, David S. 1005 

Royer, Charles E 840 

Royer, Joanna Carey 840 

Russell, J. 853 

Russell, James 797 

Rusterholtz, Harper G. 647 

Sacred Heart Mission House, The 1110 

Sallen, H. 687 

Salisbury, Archie 1232 

Saltsman, Robert J. 640 



10 



BIOGRAPHICAL INDEX 



Sammons, DeWitt B. 1134 

Sample, Dr. R. J. 1172 

Sapper, Frederick W. 968 

Saxer, A. P. 1223 

Schaaf, William J. 620 

Schaffner, Morris 1000 

Schaffner, Jacob 1204 

Schaffer, William C 1074 

Schaller, William F 1227 

Schaper, P. Gustave 1256 

Schilling, Dr. J. W. 754 

Schilling, Joseph M 848 

Schlaudecker, Leo P 1193 

Schlesinger, W. Louis 929 

Schlosser, Ben 637 

Schlindwein, Dr. G. William 928 

Schluraff, Helen M 644 

Schmalenbach, Dr. H. 1164 

Schmelzer, Edward 876 

Schmid, Frank J. 1241 

Schmidt, Fred C. 544 

Schmidt, Otto 807 

Schneider, John 640 

Schreck, John 495 

Schrimper, Frank A. 1150 

Schroeck, J. A 1125 

Schweinhardt, Otto J. 912 

Scibetta, Dr. Samuel L. 738 

Scott, E. H. 1244 

Scott, Henry E. 643 

Seabrook, Wilbur R. 925 

Search, LeRoy 1048 

Seavy, Dr. L. E. 1121 

Selden, Edward P. 585 

Selkregg, George H. 1140 

Sell, Ernest F 1022 

Semler, Frank 1076 

Sevin, Henry J. 836 

Shacklett, Turner W 490 

Shaw, Charles S 1049 

Sheldon, Dr. Ralph V 1176 

Sheldon, Edmund W. 543 

Shepard, Robert W. 896 

Sherman, Melvin Z. 736 

Sherwin, J. M 526 

Sherwood, Dr. Andrew J. 1025 

Shipley, Dr. Joseph N 1167 

Shreve, Joseph L. 1015 

Shreve, Milton W. 1225 



Shutts, Frank A 966 

Siegel, C. L. 835 

Simmons, F. R. 779 

Sims, Henry 624 

Sinclair, Robert B. 593 

Sisson, A. Elverton 721 

Sisson, Spencer A. 724 

Skellie, Walter A. 1220 

Skelton, P. M. 1124 

Skelton, Fred S. 1123 

Skidmore, Marion 982 

Skinner, La Grand 1270 

Sloan, Oliver M. 1050 

Smart, John P. 628 

Smiley, J. B. V. 1027 

Smith, Carlton W. 985 

Smith, Eldred G. 1142 

Smith, Harry L. 1207 

Smith, James M. 1071 

Smith, James O. 1106 

Snyder, V. Carl 1193 

Sobel, Isador 599 

Spaulding, Dr. Garner P. 1192 

Spaulding, Fred D. 895 

Spaulding, Milton 990 

Speed, James E. 1131 

Spencer, William 518 

Spofford, Thomas W. 600 

Spooner, J. A. 948 

Sprague, Theodore 748 

St. Lawrence, John 524 

St. Mary's College 960 

Stackhouse, Dr. J. A. 735 

Stadler, Joseph L. 547 

Stark, Dr. James D. 768 

Steadman, Dr. H. R. 770 

Steiger, George R. 1279 

Stem, Dr. Henry L. 1007 

Stern, William J. 528 

Sterrett, Andrew J. 631 

Sterrett, Thomas W. 699 

Stevens, George W. 659 

Steward, George W. 891 

Stewart, S. V. 1025 

Stone, Katherine M. 1005 

Stoney, Dr. George F. 774 

Stork, Carl F. 1262 

Stow, Walter K. 971 

Strickland, Dr. Charles G. 727 



BIOGRAPHICAL INDEX 



11 



Strong, Charles H. 498 

Stuart, R. R 1126 

Suerken, E. H. 815 

Sullivan, Humphrey 928 

Sweet, Dr. B. W. 734 

Sweet, E. M. 955 

Sweet, Lewis 1022 

Swenson, Harry 884 

Swenson, William 821 

Switzer, Dr. J. W 1169 

Sykes, Charles E 906 

Tayntor, Inez Olds 898 

Taylor, Matthew H. 1182 

Teras, Charles 1111 

Teudhope, Alexander 1093 

Thomas, A. M. 992 

Thompson, Clarence L. 512 

Thompson, Dr. Ross W. 1141 

Thorne, F. Howard 1231 

Toivonen, John 1111 

Totman, Alma B. 818 

Towne, Will J. 949 

Tredway, Dr. T. Palmer 751 

Trippe, Dr. Frank A. 739 

Trivett, Jesse P. 882 

Trost, Henry C. 650 

Turner, W. S 1097 

Twichell, Harry S. 673 

Tyrrell, Francis L. 1085 

Umburn, Dr. L. R. 972 

Van Camp, Allen C 1069 

Van Cleve, J. Spencer 588 

Veit, Albert 846 

Veith, George J. 1075 

Vicary, Arthur C. 1248 

Viorus Club, The 1212 

Von der Groben, Guenther G. 1063 

Wade, Dr. Walter F. 1119 

Wagner, Andrew A. 922 

Wagner, Samuel W. 669 

Wait, Joseph 616 

Walbridge, Andrew M. 1107 

Waldinger, F. J. 1114 

Walker, A. Grant 914 

Walker Brothers 1127 



Walker, Edward E. 504 

Walker, James D. 783 

Wallace, Frank M. 507 

Walling, Emory A. 1113 

Walling, William B. 1183 

Walsh, Mary 1196 

Walter, Harvey L. 1262 

Ward, Frank M. 1084 

Ward, John C. 566 

Warren, B. L. 1043 

Way, R. B. 778 

Weber, Carl J. 591 

Weber, William F 806 

Weeks, Frank L. 989 

Weibel, Dr. E. G. 1282 

Weindorff, Harry A. 651 

Weislogel, Charles E. 692 

Weislogel, Roy E. 692 

Wells, Benjamin H. 862 

Werren, Herbert A. 1157 

Weschler, Andrew P 1237 

Weschler, Robert E 832 

Wheeler, E. A. 1261 

Wheeler, Walter S. 951 

Whiteman, George 1082 

Whitehill, James S. 1280 

Willcox, Oscar D. 1055 

Williams, James L. 1070 

Williams, Joseph C. 828 

Williams, Joseph H. 829 

Williams, John J. 1187 

Williams, Nancy B. 830 

Williams, Samuel G. 1062 

Willis, E. B. 1285 

Willis, A. Hunter 598 

Wilson, Emmett C. 894 

Wilson, Wesley O. 1200 

Wilson, Wilbur E 981 

Wingerter, G. B. 1104 

Wolf, Willis F. 899 

Woodard, Harry O. 1051 

Woodruff, Thomas S. 1191 

Woodruff, U. Z. 1100 

Worster, Dr. Vere K. 1052 

Wishart, Dr. Hager MacL. 1096 

Wright, Dr. John W. 541 

Wright, E. J. 1202 

Wright, F. R. 1245 

Wright, Rial B. 890 



12 



BIOGRAPHICAL INDEX 



Yard, James B 772 

Yeager, William H 1263 

Yokes, P. E. 927 

Young, Annette 832 

Young, Jacob A. 1230 

Young, Nicholas 689 

Younghans, Horace J. O. 819 

Youngs, Arthur F. 1252 

Youngs, Leonard G 732 

Yount, Malcolm A. 674 



Zachos, George 1198 

Zeiser, John E. 799 

Zink, Jacob F. 642 

Zuck, Arthur Perry 1016 

Zuck, Clark W. 1019 

Zuck, Bert C. 1020 

Zuck, Floyd J. 1018 

Zurn, J. A. 812 



ILLUSTRATIONS 



Abbey, Mr. and Mrs. George J 760 

Academy, Erie 314 

Ajax Iron Works, Corry 439 

Allen, William G. 1040 

Althof, Henry 1008 

Anshutz, Reed 552 

Arrow Heads 92 

Baldwin, James 1120 

Battles, Charlotte Webster 520 

Battles, R. S. 521 

Battles Memorial School 422 

Becker, John A. 1056 

Beckman, Henry 1032 

Benze, A. L. 1144 

Benze, A. L. 1144 

Benze, C. Theodore 1144 

Benze, G. A. 1144 

Benze, L. O. 1144 

Bieber, John F. 1280 

Bliss, C. P. 672 

Blair, Lloyd A. 588 

Blair, Mr. and Mrs. Samuel 668 

Blossom, Walter L. 1240 

Brevillier, Frederick 780 

Bridge, Highway 329 

Briggs, Benjamin E. 1112 

Broughton, Mr. and Mrs. Francis__1224 
Buehler House 284 

Campbell, Charles R. 1236 

Chaffee, O. N. 768 

Chidester, Chas. B. 764 

Church, H. L. 684 

Church, M. E., West Springfield___ 463 
Citizens National Bank of Corry__ 656 

Clark, Henry A. 501 

Clark, Henry and Sally 500 

Colt, Judah 236 



Cook, Mr. and Mrs. J. W. 680 

Cook and Sons' Mill, J. W 681 

Corry Brick & Tile Co., The 441 

Courthouse Built in 1824 312 

Courthouse, Erie County 64 

Covell, C. L. 688 

Curtis, Daniel G. 540 

Curtze, Hermann J. 1080 

Deck, P. W. ^ 592 

Delack, B. L. 536 

Deming, A. A. 1088 

Deming, Mrs. A. A. 1088 

Denison, Howard H. 1195 

De Rosay, D. Warren 632 

Dobbins, Capt. Daniel 235 

Dock, Public 315 

Dunwoody, James 664 

Electric Materials Company, The--1227 

Ellicott, Gen. Andrew 235 

Erie Business College, Department 

of 649 

Erie County, Map of 62 

Erie, First Survey of 178 

Farnsworth, Willard 1252 

Finn, Richard S. 1252 

Firman, Robert J. 816 

First National Bank, Albion 1155 

Flury, Jacob 860 

Flury, Mary Naomi 860 

Flynn, Theobald M. M. 976 

Forbes, A. T. 1208 

Forbes, C. R. 1208 

Ford, Richard E. 844 

Fort Le Boeuf 143 

Fort Le Boeuf, Site of 140 

Fort Presque Isle, Site of 174 



13 



14 



ILLUSTRATIONS 



Forsberg, Goran E. 1184 

Frank, Geo. K. 880 

Freeman, A. A. 944 

French Fort 138 

Frontiersmen, Implements of 197 

Fry, Charles H. 1216 

Gridley, Capt. Charles V. 309 

Griffith, Geo. P. 568 

Griswold, Matthew 1265 

Griswold, Matthew, Sr. 1264 

Grubb, Home of Hon. John 459 

Harper, David W. 796 

Hatch, Mr. and Mrs. E. W. 752 

Herbolsheimer, Henry C. 1210 

Hermann's Greenhouse 1128 

Hermann, Mr. and Mrs. 1128 

Hess, Conrad, Jr. 936 

Hess, Elmer 984 

High School, North East 425 

High School, Union City 428 

Hill, Clyde C. 556 

Hirt, John M. 756 

Hirt, William E. 496 

Hopkins, Mr. and Mrs. H. S. 696 

Hosbach, Franklin B. 800 

Howell, R. H. 784 

Hubbard, H. H. 740 

Hyer, Mr. and Mrs. Francis 1176 

Illig, W. C. 564 

James, Mr. and Mrs. Charles M 1060 

Jiuliante, Jessamine S. 576 

Keppel, Henry 804 

Kessler, Henry 608 

Klein, Frank A. 1024 

Kohler, Arthur J. 952 

Krack Family, The 660 

Lakeland Hotel 748 

Lamberton, E. H. 572 

Lawrie, R. W. 744 

Lawrence Hotel 553 

Leemhuis, P. L. 516 

Le Sueur, Peter 788 

Leuschen, Peter 904 



Lighthouse 311 

Lininger, Carl Blaine 1064 

Lyons, H. E. 776 

McBrier, David Nye 532 

McBrier, Frederick B. 532 

McBrier, James 532 

McGeary, Charles P. 648 

McNeill, Dr. Charles A. 596 

MacLeod, William W. 868 

Mahoney, Timothy Jay 820 

Marquis, Giles 728 

Merrick, Austin W. 612 

Mertens, Charles A. 892 

Middlebrook Church 246 

Millar, Maude S. 652 

Miller, George P. 864 

Miller, Miles R. 580 

Millet, Mr. and Mrs. Francis 1168 

Mitchell, Arthur Warren 808 

Moorhead, Dr. Hugh M. 636 

Morrison, Karl E. 792 

Mounds, Ancient 71 

Municipal Building, Corry 440 

Mszanowski, M. M. 960 

Nagorski, Francis Thomas 824 

New France, Map of 101 

Niagara, The 279 

Normal Hall 376 

Obermanns, H. F. 676 

Old Blockhouse, Erie 305 

Olds, Lewis W. 888 

Oregon Indian Medicine Company_-1153 

Park, View of Corry 438 

Parker, William A. 548 

Perry Boarded, House Where 284 

Perry, Commodore 341 

Perry Square in 1838 295 

Pioneer Home, A 245 

Place, Claude D. 1152 

Portage, Map of French 134 

Postoffice, Corry 437 

Post office and Library, Erie 64 

Presque Isle Bay, Map of 137 

Purcell, James 508 



ILLUSTRATIONS 



15 



Randall, W. S. 1208 

Reed, Carl M. 920 

Reed, Chas. M. 921 

Reed, John Elmer Frontispiece 

Reed, Seth — . 236 

Reichard, S. Warren 872 

Renz, Oscar W. 852 

Rhea, Joe E. 856 

Riblet, Henry M. 1072 

Rilling, E. L. 544 

Robinson, William J. 604 

Rosswog, Robert J. 584 

Roth-Cadillac Company, The 1136 

Royer, Charles Edward 840 

Salisbury, L. H. 1232 

Saltsman, Robert J. 640 

Sapper, F. W. 968 

Schaaf, William J. 620 

Schaffner, Morris 1000 

Schilling, Joseph M. 848 

Schlindwein, G. William 928 

Schluraff Greenhouse, Section of 728 

Schluraff, Helen M. 644 

Schmelzer, Edward 876 

Schweinhardt, Otto J. 912 

Search, LeRoy 1048 

Sevin, Henry 836 

Shacklett, Turner W. 490 

Shepard, Robert W 896 

Sherman and Family, M. Z. 736 

Signatures, Indian 210 

Sims, G. A. 624 

Sims, H. W. 624 

Sims, Henry 624 

Sisson, A. E. 721 

Smart, John Packard 628 

South Park, Girard 377 

Spaulding, G. P. 1192 

Spaulding, G. W. 1193 



Spoffard, Thomas W. 600 

Sprague, Mr. and Mrs. Theodore 748 

St. John's Ev. Lutheran Church 1147 

St. Lawrence, John 524 

St. Stephen's Ev. Lutheran Church, _1149 

State Street, Erie 69 

Steam Shovel Company, Erie 533 

Stern, W. J. 528 

Stove, Old "Ten-plate" 371 

Sunset on Lake Erie 67 

Swenson, Harry 884 

Thomas, A. M. 992 

Thompson, C. L. 512 

Thompson, V. M. 513 

Von Buseck, Mr. and Mrs. Albert A.1016 

Wait, J. O. 616 

Walker, B. J. 504 

Wampum Belt 124 

Washington Monument 157 

Waterford Academy 431 

Wayne, Gen. Anthony 337 

Weis Library 460 

Weislogel, Charles E. 692 

Williams, Joseph C. 828 

Williams, Joseph H. 829 

Williams, Nancy B. 828 

Wilson, Home of Wesley O. 1200 

Wilson, Wesley O. 1200 

Wingerter, G. B. 1104 

Wishart, Hager MacL. 1096 

Yard, James B. 772 

Young, Annette 832 

Youngs, L. G. 1252 

Youngs, Mr. and Mrs. L. G. 732 

Zurn, J. A. 812 




Z-^Ta. 



VOLUME II. 



History of Erie County 



BIOGRAPHICAL HISTORY— CONTINUED 



A. Elverton Sisson, who ranks among the prominent attorneys of 
Erie County, was born at Dayton, N. Y., Jan. 12, 1851, being the son of 
Nathaniel and Sahna (Phillips) Sisson. 

The Sisson family is of English descent, having settled in that coun- 
try in 1066, and having held New England residence since 1640. The first 
American ancestor was Richard Sisson, born in 1608, who came to America 
soon after the landing of the "Mayflower." He settled at Portsmouth, 
R. I., where he possessed lands that long remained in the family. He 
afterward became owner of large tracts of land in Dartmouth, Mass., his 
death occurring in 1684. James Sisson, son of Richard Sisson, from 
whom A. Elverton Sisson is of the sixth generation in descent, married 
Lydia Hathaway, daughter of Arthur and Sarah (Cook) Hathaway. John 
Cook, father of Sarah, and Francis Cook, father of John Cook, were pas- 
sengers on the Pilgrim vessel Mayflower, while the maternal grandmother 
of Lydia Hathaway, Sarah (Warren) Cook, was a daughter of Richard 
Warren, who also sailed on that vessel. Most of the Sissons of early 
years were members of the Society of Friends. James Sisson, of the 
second American generation, was a collector of taxes for the Massachu- 
setts town in which he lived, and suflfered imprisonment because he would 
not collect the Church of England tax. 

Nathaniel Sisson, great grandfather of A. Elverton, was a native of 
Dartmouth, Mass., bom Nov. 11, 1756, and died at Queenstown, N. Y., 

721 
(46) 



722 History of Erie County 

on May 10, 1840. His wife, Grace Gifford, was also a native of Dart- 
mouth, Mass., born Sept. 16, 1761, and died at Queenstown, on Sept. 4, 
1843. The grandfather, Benjamin Sisson, born Jan. 22, 1791, was a 
native of Queenstown, and died at Brant, N. Y., in 1874. In 1820 Benja- 
min Sisson moved from Queenstown, N. Y., where his father had settled 
at the close of the Revolutionary War, and established a home near 
Buffalo. For many generations the majority of the Sisson family were 
Quakers, but Benjamin, the grandfather, was debarred from the church, 
as he had married Sally Ferris, a woman outside the faith. Nathaniel, 
father of A. Elverton Sisson, was a farmer and a native of Erie County, 
N. Y., born in 1821, his wife, Salina Phillips, being born near Glens 
Falls, N. Y., in 1819. Mrs. Sisson was a daughter of Samuel D. and Han- 
nah (Wing) Phillips. The Wing family, on the maternal side, was also 
identified with the Society of Friends, and was long established at Glens 
Falls, and Sandy Hill, N. Y., whither different members had moved from 
Massachusetts, prior to the migration of the Sisson family. In 1854 
Nathaniel Sisson settled in Crawford County, Pa., and five years later 
moved to Springfield, Erie County, where he died in 1885. His first wife 
passed away in 1851, the year of the birth of A. E. Sisson, of this sketch. 
A. Elverton Sisson received his education in the common schools of 
Crawford and Erie County and at the Kingsville, Ohio, Academy, the West 
Springfield, Pa., Academy, and the North East, Pa., Seminary. He taught 
school and was in business a short time, then began the study of law, and 
in 1881 gained admission to the bar of Erie County, and almost from the 
start gained favor as an attorney. His political activities began early 
and in 1885 and 1886 he held the chairmanship of the Republican County 
Committee, the following year being elected prosecuting attorney of Erie 
County. He succeeded himself in this office through reelection in 1890, 
his being the first instance in which a prosecuting attorney of Erie County 
had been elected for two successive terms. In 1900 he became the candi- 
date of his party (Republican) for state senator, was elected and re- 
elected in 1904 and again in 1908, thus setting a new mark as being the 
first senator from the Erie district to hold a seat in the Senate for three 
successive terms. At the conclusion of the session of 1907 he was elected 
president pro tempore of the Senate and again became presiding officer of 
that body of the Legislature in 1909. During the special session of the 
Senate in 1906 he served as a member of the committee investigating the 
state insurance department and in 1909 was chairman of the committee 



History of Erie County 723 

on railroads, and a member of the commission created at the session of 
that year to investigate all transactions in connection with the building 
and furnishing of the Pennsylvania State Capitol, and several men were 
sent to the penitentiary as a result of this investigation. President of 
the Senate, a member of the most important senatorial committee, and 
one of the leaders of his party, Mr. Sisson displayed rare political genius 
and wrote boldly a record of public service that will long endure. 

Mr. Sisson was elected auditor general of Pennsylvania on Nov. 2, 
1909, having been the unanimous choice of his party for that office. At 
the notification meeting informing Mr. Sisson of his nomination for this 
office, the chairman of the meeting spoke in part as follows: "Senator 
A. E. Sisson, you are the unanimous choice of the Republicans of Penn- 
sylvania for the office of auditor general. There existed special reasons 
for your selection for the office. You have an excellent reputation as a 
lawyer, your capacity and integrity as a business man are generally recog- 
nized, as legislator of wide experience for years, you have been identified 
with public affairs. You are familiar with the duties of auditor general 
and no other man in this state possesses higher qualifications for the per- 
formance of those duties. You are a public spirited and progressive citi- 
zen and your selection by the convention should be enthusiastically i-ati- 
fied at the polls." The fulfillment of the above prediction is now a matter 
of history and Mr. Sisson's efficient administration of the office has added 
to the lustre of his achievements in public life and has given a new appre- 
ciation of generous talents already recognized. In 1920 he was again 
elected to the state Senate, and his term expired with 1924. In 1907 
he succeeded in securing an appropriation from the state of Pennsylvania 
of $150,000 for constructing and building the "public steamboat landing 
or wharf upon state lands of the Port of Erie, by producing State Street 
northwardly into the harbor commencing on the north side of the public 
dock at the foot of State Street in the City of Erie, and extending north- 
wardly about 600 feet, and 100 feet in width, to the harbor line estab- 
lished by the U. S. engineer." The splendid dock at the foot of State 
Street is the result of this legislation secured by the then Senator Sisson. 

In 1909 and 1911, he, with others, secured the enactment of legisla- 
tion in Pennsylvania that brought about the building of the splendid 
Perry's Victory Memorial at Put In Bay, commemorating the victory won 
by Commodore Perry and his fleet at the Battle of Lake Erie, and in 1913 
he was instrumental in securing an appropriation by the state of Penn- 



724 History of Erie County 

sylvania of the sum of $150,000 for raising and restoring the brig "Ni- 
agara" and "the erection of a permanent marker, arch or memorial at 
the city of Erie, Pa., commemorating the building of the fleet at that place, 
as well as the splendid manner in which, in the hands of the brave Com- 
mander Perry and the gallant men who fought with him, it performed its 
errands at the Battle which followed its construction," and in 1921, when 
a member of the Senate, he prepared, introduced and aided by Hon. J. 
Reed Craig, member of the House from Erie, secured the enactment into 
law of a bill providing that the Presque Isle peninsula and certain water 
property in the Bay of Presque Isle "be preserved, maintained, improved, 
enlarged, and forever held as a public park, to be known as Pennsylvania 
State Park at Erie." 

Mr. Sisson was president of the Pennsylvania Perry's Victory Cen- 
tennial Commission and treasurer general of the Interstate Board of 
Perry's Victory Commissions, the latter of which built the splendid monu- 
ment at Put In Bay, Ohio, and now that board and commission has become 
a national commission and he is vice president of it. He took a very 
active part with others in bringing about the erection of that memorial, 
which has now, by act of Congress, been made a national memorial. He 
was a member of the Pennsylvania Historical Commission and is a mem- 
ber of the Pennsylvania State Bar Association, the Historical Society of 
Pennsylvania, the Pennsylvania Society of New York, the Erie Club, the 
Harrisburg Club of Harrisburg, Pa., and the Elks Lodge of Erie. He is 
affiliated with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and has taken an 
active interest in all these organizations, availing himself of the special 
benefit of each as often as possible. 

On Dec. 13, 1888, Mr. Sisson married Miss Lena L. Spencer, daughter 
of Dr. H. A. Spencer, a leading physician of Erie for a number of years. 
They have a son, Spencer Alec Sisson, a practicing attorney of Erie. 

Spencer Alec Sisson, son of A. Elverton Sisson and Lena L. (Spencer) 
Sisson, was born in Erie, Nov. 2, 1889. He completed his public school 
course with graduation from Erie High School in 1908, going thence to 
Princeton University, there receiving his Bachelor's degree with the class 
of 1912. Choosing the profession of law, he entered Harvard Law School, 
whence he was graduated LL. B. in the class of 1915. In the autumn 
following, Mr. Sisson was admitted to the bar of Erie County and on 
Feb. 14, 1916, was admitted to the bar of the Supreme Court of Pennsyl- 



History of Erie County 725 

vania. He began practice with his eminent father and so continued until 
Dec. 6, 1917, renewing the affiliation in November, 1919, under the firm 
name of A. E. & S. A. Sisson, of Erie. 

Mr. Sisson enlisted in the United States Naval Reserve Force, Dec. 
6, 1917, and was released from active duty April 10, 1919, serving in the 
supply corps with the rank of ensign. 

He is a Republican in politics and a member of St. Paul's Protestant 
Episcopal Church of Erie. He is a member of the American Legion, the 
Pennsylvania and the Erie County Bar associations, the University Club 
and the Kahkwa Club of Erie. 

At Malletts Bay, Vt., on Aug. 11, 1917, Mr. Sisson was married to 
Miss Marguerite Amy Nash, the daughter of George and Isabelle (Mar- 
shall) Nash. They have a daughter, Lois Marshall Sisson, born at Erie, 
Jan. 25, 1921, and a son George Spencer Sisson, born likewise at Erie, 
on Nov. 1, 1922. 

Dr. F. E. Ross, physician of Erie, who has practiced his profession 
for 25 years, is a native of Pennsylvania. He was born at Waterford, 
Dec. 2, 1872, and is the son of L. M. and Nancy Jane (Lunger) Ross. 

L. M. Ross, deceased, was born at Waterford, Pa., in 1841. He was a 
son of James S. Ross, who died in 1885. He moved to Waterford Town- 
ship in 1851 and was engaged in lumbering for some time. His wife was 
Sarah Ann Wilson, a native of Vermont. L. M. Ross was a farmer in 
early life and later engaged in the threshing business. He died in Janu- 
ary, 1921, and his wife died in October, 1919. Mr. and Mrs. Ross, who 
were married at Waterford, Pa., in 1863, had two children: Hattie Eliz- 
abeth Wells, born in 1863, lives at Waterford, Pa.; and Dr. F. E., the 
subject of this sketch. 

After receiving his preliminary education in the schools of Water- 
ford, from which he was graduated in 1894, Dr. F. E. Ross entered the 
medical school of the University of Buffalo, from which he received his 
degree in 1897. The following year was spent in the Buffalo General 
Hospital and in 1899 Doctor Ross came to Erie and established his prac- 
tice at 137 East Eighth Street. After seven years he removed to 2012 
Peach Street, later to 154 West Eighth Street, and in 1919 he located 
at his present address, 13414 West Ninth Street. Since 1912 Doctor 
Ross has specialized in pediatrics, after having spent a year in study at 
the Children's Hospital in Boston. He has been connected with the 



726 History of Erie County 

staff of Hamot Hospital for 18 years and is also a member of St. Vincent's 
Hospital staff. 

On June 20, 1901, Doctor Ross was married to Miss Myrtice E. 
Watson, a native of New York and a daughter of Stephen and Emma E. 
(Bull) Watson. To Doctor and Mrs. Ross three sons have been born: 
Cecil E., born Dec. 7, 1902, a student at Allegheny College; Everett L., 
born June 17, 1907, a student; and Robert W., born Sept. 21, 1912. 

Doctor Ross is identified with the Medical Society of Erie County, the 
Pennsylvania Medical Society, and the American Medical Association, 
Erie Clinical Society and Erie General Dispensary. He and his family 
hold membership in the First Methodist Episcopal Church arid are well 
and favorably known in the community. 

Leonard Pasqualicchio, president of the Bank of Italy, is a represen- 
tative business man of Erie. He was born at Troia, Italy, April 28, 1886, 
and is the son of Pasquale and Josephine Pasqualicchio. The Pasqualic- 
chio family came to America in 1891. The father and mother are both 
deceased. 

Leonard Pasqualicchio worked his way through school as a printer's 
boy. He attended the public schools, was graduated from( the high 
school of Brockwayville, Jefferson County, Pa., and was also gradu- 
ated from the State Normal School at Clarion, Pa., in 1905. The follow- 
ing 10 years were spent in the printing business, after which Mr. Pas- 
qualicchio was appointed Italian court interpreter for Clarion, Jefferson 
and Elk counties. Pa. In 1908 he went to Corry, Pa., where he was 
connected with the Evening Journal for five years. During that time he 
was appointed probation officer by Judge Walling. In 1913 he was ap- 
pointed court interpreter for Erie and removed to Erie at this time. 
Later, with his brother he became interested in the wholesale grocery 
business, the business being known as Pasqualicchio Bros. This partner- 
ship was dissolved in 1919, our subject taking over the real estate repre- 
sentatives of the steamship lines and foreign exchange end. Mr. Pas- 
qualicchio continued in this business until the organization of his bank 
in 1921. The Bank of Italy is a private bank under state supervision. It 
has had a steady growth and at the end of the year, 1924, had assets 
amounting to §184,791.70. It is located at 444 West 18th Street. 

On Dec. 10, 1906, Mr. Pasqualicchio was united in marriage with Miss 
Lucille Aquilino, of Troia, Italy. They have four children: Leonard, Jr., 



History of Erie County 727 

a student at Academy High School; Louisa, also a student at Academy 
High School; Dora and Robert. 

In politics Mr. Pasqualicchio is identified with the Republican party. 
He is a member of the Catholic Church and belongs to the Sons of Italy, 
Italian National Club, and the Italian Business Men's & Professional Club. 
He was an active war worker during the recent World War, being promi- 
nent in the various Liberty Loan Drives, as well as a four minute Speaker, 
appointed by the late President Wilson. Mr. Pasqualicchio is an enter- 
prising and energetic business man and well known throughout Erie 
County. 

Mr. Pasqualicchio is the authorized representative of the Banca Com- 
merciale Italiana, of Naples, Italy, one of the largest banking institutions 
of the kingdom of Italy. 

Through Mr. Pasqualicchio's activities during the World War in bene- 
fit of the Italian Red Cross, he received a special decoration and a First 
Degree Diploma by the Italian government. Red Cross Department. 

Dr. Charles G. Strickland, a leading physician and surgeon of Erie, 
with offices at 153 West Seventh Street, was born here, and is the son 
of the late Dr. David Hayes Strickland. 

Doctor Strickland was graduated from Erie High School in the class 
of 1897 and in 1904 received his medical degree at the University of 
Pennsylvania. The following two years were spent in Philadelphia hos- 
pitals and in 1906 Doctor Strickland came to Erie and engaged in the 
practice of his profession with his father at 702 Sassafras Street. His 
father spent 40 years here in the practice of medicine and met with 
unusual success. Doctor Strickland specializes in obstetrics and gynae- 
cology. He is an ex-president of the Erie County Medical Society and is 
a member of the American College of Surgeons. 

On Oct. 29, 1907, Dr. Strickland was married to Miss Clara L. Walker, 
the daughter of B. F. Walker, late vice president of the Erie Malleable 
Iron Works. They have two children: Benjamin W., born in November, 
1908, a student at the Choate School, Wallingford, Conn.; and Jane G., 
born in May, 1911. 

Doctor Strickland is a member of the Park Presbyterian Church, 
has served as president of the Erie Club and the Kahkwa Club, is vice 
president of the Marine National Bank, and is a director of the Erie Bolt 
& Nut Company and of the American Sterilizer Company. 



728 



History of Erie County 



Giles Marquis, vice president of the Schluraff Floral Company, was 
born on the Isle of Guernsey, Dec. 30, 1878, and is a son of Giles Clark 
and Lydia (Martel) Marquis. 

Mr. and Mrs. Giles Clark Marquis, residents of the Isle of Guernsey, 
are the parents of the following children: Sidney, engaged in the green- 
house business with his brother, Giles ; Walter, lives at home with his par- 
ents; and John, who was killed during the World War while serving with 
Guernsey's forces under English command. 




A CARNATION ROOM, SCHLURAFF FLORAL COMPANY 

Giles Marquis left his native land in 1905 and located in Canada, where 
he engaged in the lumber business and also conducted a greenhouse until 
1912. He has since lived in Erie and for the past ten years has been 
associated with the Schluraff Floral Company. He has complete charge 
of the large greenhouses on West Lake Road and is recognized as an au- 
thority on flower and plant life. The greenhouses of the Schluraff Floral 
Company cover 35,000 square feet. They have a wholesale and retail 
store at 30 West Eighth Street. 

Mr. Marquis is a Republican and a member of the Episcopal church. 
He has an extensive acquaintance in Erie and stands high in the com- 
munity. 




GILES MARQUIS, VICE-PRESIDEXT 
SCHlLURAFF FLORAL COMPANY 



History of Erie County 729 

John Griffith is a leading business man of Erie, where he has had 
the agency for the Franklin automobile since 1910. He was born in Eng- 
land, June 2, 1882, and is the son of John and Mary (Owens) Griffith. 

John Griffith, deceased, brought his family to this countiy in 1883 
and settled in Erie, where he worked at his trade as blacksmith. There 
were five children in the Gi'iffith family: Will, Robert, John, Hugh and 
Jeanette. 

After completing his schooling in the public schools of Erie, John Grif- 
fith entered the employ of the Jarecki Manufacturing Company. He was 
later employed by the Erie Pail Factory, the Simmons Bros., the Epp 
Bros. Furniture Company, and Murphy Bros. He remained in the employ 
of the latter concern for seven years and received his experience in the 
automobile business with that company, who were then the local Franklin 
dealers. Mr. Griffith's business, which is located at 419 West 5th Street, 
is among the up-to-date agencies of the city. He has an attractive sales- 
room and a fine garage in connection. 

On April 9, 1902, Mr. Griffith was united in marriage with Miss Anna 
Lundgren, of Sweden. They have one daughter, Nathalie, attending the 
Syracuse, N. Y., University. 

Mr. Griffith is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and be- 
longs to the Automobile Association of Pennsylvania, the Erie Auto 
Dealers Association and the Board of Commerce. He has an extensive 
acquaintance and is highly esteemed in Erie. 

Dr. J. C. M. Drake, who has ranked among Erie's leading physicians 
and surgeons for many years, is a native of New York. He was born 
at Panama, Chautauqua County, June 24, 1855, and is the son of Col. 
Jeremiah C. and Clara (Utley) Drake. 

Col. Jeremiah C. Drake, deceased, was a descendant of one of the 
earliest families of New England. His father was a colonel of militia and 
his grandfather was a captain in the Revolutionary War. His ancestors 
were among the first settlers of the Empire State, and were descendants 
of the renowned Sir Francis Drake, the first circumnavigator of the globe. 
Colonel Drake was born at Salisbury, N. Y., April 19, 1824. At an early 
age he embraced religion under the Harmony Baptist Association, and 
throughout his life adhered with his whole heart and soul to his faith. 
He was graduated from Rochester University in 1852 and also during 
that year was ordained pastor of a church which he had organized at 



730 History of Erie County 

Churchville, N. Y. Later he had a pastorate at Westfield, N. Y., and at 
the outbreak of the Civil War he joined the 49th New York Infantry as 
a captain under the Command of Col. D. D. Bidwell. In the fall of 1862 
he was commissioned colonel in charge of the 112th Regiment and during 
his subsequent two years of service he was distinguished for his courage 
in action. During the battle of Cold Harbor he was mortally wounded 
and died the following day, June 2, 1864. His wife is also deceased. To 
Col. J. C. and Clara (Utley) Drake were born three children: J. C. M., 
the subject of this sketch ; Mrs. Jennie Leakey, resides in France ; and 
Charles K., who died at the age of 14 years. 

Dr. J. C. M. Drake attended Greylock Institute, Mass., after which 
he entered Cornell University, taking a literary and scientific course. 
After two years he entered Hahnemann College, Chicago, and was grad- 
uated from there in 1880, when 25 years of age. After practicing a year 
at Westfield, N. Y., in connection with Dr. George W. Seymour, he came 
to Erie, and has since been identified with the practice in this city. He 
has been president of the Erie County Homeopathic Medical Society, and 
IS a member of the County, State and National societies. Since 1895 
Doctor Drake has maintained his office at 720 Sassafras Street. 

On June 4, 1890, Dr. Drake was married to Miss Cassie Crouch, the 
daughter of J. B. and Frances (Cook) Crouch, the former a prominent 
miller in Erie for many years. Mrs. Drake has a sister, Mrs. Florence 
Evans, who lives at Wabash, Ind. To Doctor and Mrs. Drake were born 
two children: Benson, born Feb. 20, 1891, lives at Jacksonville, Florida; 
and Clara Louisa Criswell, born Feb. 10, 1893, lives in Pittsburgh, Pa. 

Doctor Drake attends the Park Presbyterian Church and is a repre- 
sentative citizen of Erie County. 

Dr. Ira J. Dunn, who ranks among the leading physicians and surgeons 
of Erie, is a native of Crawford County, Pa. He was born Nov. 12, 1863, 
and is the son of Holton D. and Diantha (Curtis) Dunn, natives of Penn- 
sylvania. Their family consisted of four children: Lizzie R. ; Thomas 
D., a physician; Ira J., the subject of this sketch; and Arthur D., Dunn, 
a prominent physician of Omaha, Nebr. 

Dr. Ira J. Dunn received his college preparatory education in the pub- 
lic schools of Crawford County, Pa., and in 1881 entered Allegheny Col- 
lege at Meadville, from which he was graduated in 1886. He then accepted 
the principalship of the Linesville public schools, where he remained one 



History of Erie County 7S1 

year, and in 1887 he resigned the same and entered the medical depart- 
ment of the University of Pennsylvania. At the end of the year he tem- 
porarily abandoned his medical studies and accepted the professorship of 
Latin in the First district normal school of West Chester. He remained 
there one year, when he returned to the University of Pennsylvania and 
in 1891 was graduated from the medical department. He then became 
assistant surgon in the Miner's State Hospital at Hazelton, Pa. He 
remained there about six months, when he resigned and began a special 
course on the eye. In March, 1892, he was appointed assistant physician 
at the State Hospital at Harrisburg, Pa., and after nearly a year in that 
institution he returned to Philadelphia and took a special course at the 
Philadelphia Polyclinic for graduates in medicine, on the eye, ear, nose and 
throat. He then engaged in practice at Meadville, where he remained but 
a short time, and in February, 1894, he located in Erie. Doctor Dunn has 
been in his present location in the Masonic Temple building since 1910. 
He has an excellent practice and is known as a thoroughly capable man 
in his profession. During the past year Doctor Dunn has been associated 
in practice with Dr. George H. Clapp. 

Doctor Dunn was married Oct. 21, 1893, to Miss Addie E. Phillips, and 
they have four children : Thomas P., a successful young attorney of Erie ; 
Dr. F. L., a graduate of the University of Chicago, also the Medical 
Department of Harvard University, now an interne in the Presbyterian 
hospital; Suzanne, attended the University of Chicago, and the Radcliffe 
College for Women at Harvard, now a graduate nurse, lives in Erie; and 
Florence, attended the Universities of Wisconsin and Pennsylvania. 

Doctor Dunn is a member of the County, State and the American 
Medical Association. He is also a member of the Association for the 
Advancement of Science, the Opthalmological and Oto-Laryngoligical and 
the Oxford (England) Opthalamological Congress. 

Dr. Benjamin Goldman, who ranks among Erie's capable young physi- 
cians and surgeons, was born in New York, March 4, 1897, and is a son 
of William and Henrietta (Adler) Goldman. There were two children in 
the Gk)ldman family: Benjamin and Hannah. 

Dr. Benjamin Goldman was graduated from Fort Madison (Iowa) 
High School in 1916, and after i-eceiving his degree of Bachelor of Science 
from the University of Iowa, he entered New York University where he 
received his degree of Doctor of Medicine in 1922. The following year 



732 History of Erie County 

was spent as an interne at Bellevue Hospital, after which Doctor Goldman 
came to Erie. He is interested in anesthesia work and is a member of the 
staff of Hamot Hospital of the Erie Infants' Home and the B'nai B'rith 
Orphanage, Fairview. His office is at 156 West Eighth Street. 

Dr. Goldman is a member of the Erie County Medical Society, the 
State Medical Society and the American Medical Association. He is a 
Mason and belongs to the University Club and the Elks lodge. 

Leonard G. Youngs, one of Erie County's highly esteemed and well 
known citizens, was born in North East Township, Dec. 13, 1853, and is 
the son of Sears and Jane (Harper) Youngs. 

Sears Youngs was a native of Vermont, born in 1808. At an early 
date he settled in Erie County, where he improved 200 acres of land in 
North East Township, now known as Gulf Road. He was a prominent 
citizen of his time and held many township offices. He died in 1892, and 
his wife, who was born July 19, 1811, died March 29, 1897. Mr. and Mrs. 
Youngs were the parents of the following children: Cordelia M., born 
Aug. 30, 1842, deceased; Levant, born in July, 1841, died Aug. 28, 1918; 
and Leonard G., the subject of this sketch. 

L. G. Youngs was reared in North East Township and educated in 
the public schools, and Lake Shore Seminary, North East. He taught 
school several years, mostly in Ohio. He at one time was the principal of 
the Grafton Academy, Grafton, Ohio. In 1888 he was appointed postal 
clerk and worked on the Chicago, New York Railroad and two years later 
resigned his position and has since devoted his entire time to fruit growing 
and general farming. Since 1917 he has served as investigator of the 
state auditors and has collected more than $1,000,000. He also served as 
county commissioner of Erie County, from 1898 to 1901. 

Mr. Youngs farm contains 60 acres of land, 20 of which are in grapes, 
12 in prunes, and he has 1,000 peach trees, and 600 pear trees. He sells 
to the Welch Company of Westfield, N. Y. 

On Dec. 31, 1874, Mr. Youngs was married to Miss Mary L. Covey, 
who died in 1891, leaving four children, as follows: Arthur F., a sketch 
of whom appears elsewhere in this history; Leonard, lives at home; Al- 
fred L., married Gertrude Youngs, lives in North East Township; and 
Anna M., a teacher, lives in Idaho. 

On July 4, 1894, Mr. Youngs was married the second time to Celia 
A. Dowman, a native of New London, Ohio, and to them were born three 



History of Erie County 733 

children: Blanche, died in infancy; Howard D., born in 1899, a graduate 
of North East High School, Allegheny College and Columbia University, 
now a radio engineer with the Crosley Radio Company, Cincinnati, Ohio; 
and Russell, married Miss Leonora Inghram, lives at North East. 

Mr. Youngs is a member of the Methodist Chui'ch, and belongs to the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Grange. He is among the rep- 
resentative citizens of the community and has a wide acquaintance. 

Dr. George Arthur Reed, physician and surgeon, who has been suc- 
cessfully engaged in the practice of his profession in Erie since 1895, 
is a member of a family that has long been identified with the interests 
of Erie County. He was born in Mill Creek Township, Feb. 27, 1869, and 
is the son of John Grubb and Candace Eliza (Blair) Reed. 

John Grubb Reed, deceased, was born on a farm in Mill Creek Town- 
ship, Sept. 27, 1838, the son of Joseph and Jane (Grubb) Reed, who rep- 
resented substantial pioner families of the county. Mr. Reed was a 
prominent citizen and progressive farmer of Mill Creek Township for 
many years, having served for two terms as tax collector and three 
terms as justice of the peace. He was also active in the affairs of the 
Westminster Presbyterian Church of Mill Creek, having served as trustee, 
elder, and Sunday School superintendent. He died Nov. 7, 1923. Mr. 
Reed was married to Miss Candace Eliza Blair, daughter of John W. and 
Candace Blair. She was born Jan. 1, 1840, and died May 8, 1901. To 
Mr. and Mrs. Reed were born six children: John Elmer, a leading attor- 
ney of Erie and editor of this history; George Arthur, the subject of 
this sketch; Joseph W., deceased; Mary E., resides in Westminster, Pa.; 
Edith J., the wife of P. E. Carpenter, Westminster, and Dr. James R., 
a physician specializing in diseases of the eye, ear, nose and throat, Pase- 
dena, Cal.. 

Dr. George Arthur Reed obtained his early education in the common 
schools and at the State Normal at Edinboro, and then entered the Medi- 
cal Department of the University of Pennsylvania, from which he was 
graduated in 1895. He returned to Erie and began the practice of his 
profession at 2113 Peach Street. On March 15, 1907, he removed to his 
present location, 122 West 21st Street.. He has. an excellent practice and 
is known as a thoroughly capable man in his profession. 

On Sept. 8, 1892, Doctor Reed was united in marriage with Miss 
Mabel A. Love, the daughter of James F. and Jeanette (Dunn) Love, of 



734 History of Erie County 

Erie County. She was born June 1, 1870, and died March 1, 1917. Two 
sons were born to this union: Thomas H., born Jan. 29, 1895, lives at 
home; and James Richard, born March 31, 1900, a senior at Carnegie 
School of Technology where he is studying architecture. Doctor Reed was 
later married to Mrs. Jennie B. Reed, the widow of his brother, Joseph 
Wilbur Reed. 

Doctor Reed is an active member of the Erie County Medical Society, 
the Pennsylvania State Medical Association, and the American Medical 
Association. He is also a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons. 
He is a trustee of the Warren State Hospital for the Insane, and has served 
as a member of the Board of Health for 20 years. He was a charter 
member of the Chamber of Commerce, and is connected with St. Vincent's 
Hospital staff. 

Dr. B. W. Sweet, a leading osteopathic physician of Erie, with offices 
at 216 West Seventh Street, is a native of Missouri. He was born in 
Sullivan County, in 1871. 

Doctor Sweet received his early schooling in his native state and 
attended high school at Bancroft, Nebr. After studying medicine under 
a preceptor for nearly two years he went to Alaska in 1898, where he 
engaged in prospecting. He returned after a year and spent the following 
two years at Kirksville, Mo., where he studied osteopathy. He has been 
located in Erie since 1902, and practiced his profession in partnership 
with Dr. J. A. Root for several years. In 1905 he removed his office to 122 
West 10th Street, and was later located on West 10th for 17 years. Doc- 
tor Sweet has been in his present location for six months. 

On Jan. 11, 1899, Doctor Sweet was united in marriage with Miss 
Myrtle E. Edeburn, a native of Mercer County, Pa., and the daughter of 
Benton and Fannie Edeburn. To Doctor and Mrs. Sweet were bom the 
following children: Hazard A., born Feb. 14, 1900, a doctor of osteopathy, 
who specializes in eye, ear, nose and throat diseases; Lucile, born Oct. 31, 
1901, died June 7, 1910; Richard A., born Feb. 17, 1905, a student at 
Grove City College; and Robert L., born July 26, 1908, died in October, 
1909. 

Doctor Sweet is identified with the Masonic and Elk lodges. He is 
a member of the First Presbyterian Church and ranks among the substan- 
tial and highly esteemed citizens of Erie. 



History of Erie County 735 

Dr. J. A. Dinnison, physician and surgeon of Erie, was born at Nauvoo, 
Pa., Nov. 11, 1877, and is a son of James and Harriet Dinnison. 

Dr. J. A. Dinnison attended the pubUc schools and in 1898 was grad- 
uated from business college in Elmira, N. Y., after which he was engaged 
as a bookkeeper for four years. He then attended Central State Normal 
School in Pennsylvania, and later engaged in teaching. He was graduated 
from Jefferson Medical College in 1912 and spent the following year as an 
interne in the Williamsport (Pa.) General Hospital. Doctor Dinnison 
began the practice of his profession at Coudersport, Pa., where he re- 
mained five years. He has been located in Erie since 1918, where he has 
established an excellent practice. His offices are located at 147 West Eighth 
Street. 

In 1916 Doctor Dinnison was united in marriage with Mrs. Rose S. 
(Simmons) Babcock, who had two children by her former marriage, 
Clara and Wilbert Babcock. 

Doctor Dinnison is a Republican, a member of the United Presbyterian 
Church and belongs to the Masonic Lodge. He is identified with the Erie 
County Medical Society and is recognized as a capable physician and 
surgeon. 

Dr. J. A. Stackhouse, who ranks among the leading physicians and 
surgeons of Erie, is a veteran of the World War. He was born at Ambler. 
Pa., and is the son of John D. and Adella (Sperry) Stackhouse. 

After attending the public and high schools of his native city, Doctor 
Stackhouse took a business course at Philadelphia and in 1907 entered 
Hahnemann Medical College in Philadelphia, from which he was graduated 
with the degree of Doctor of Medicine. His interne work was done at the 
Children's Homeopathic Hospital of Philadelphia and the Homeopathic 
Hospital of Rochester, N. Y. Doctor Stackhouse then located in Erie, 
where he established his practice at 326 Sassafras Street. At the time 
of the World War in 1917 he enlisted and served as a first lieutenant with 
the 77th Division, taking part in numerous battles and drives, including 
the Meuse Argonne. Doctor Stackhouse was seriously wounded in serv- 
ice, and is a member of the Disabled Veterans of the World War, and 
the Veterans of Foreign Wars. 

Upon his return to Erie after the close of the World War, Doctor 
Stackhouse was located at 116 West 8th Street. He has established an 
excellent practice and is now located at 156 W. Eighth Street. For 



736 History of Erie County 

several years he maintained an office at 814 Peach Street. He is con- 
nected with the staff of Hamot Hospital and also with the Infants' Home 
of Erie. 

Doctor Stackhouse is identified with the County, State and Ameri- 
can Medical Associations, is a member of the American Legion, now 
president of the Exchange Club of Erie. He is secretary of the Sailors 
and Soldiers Home of Erie. Doctor Stackhouse holds membership in the 
First Presbyterian Church. He is a Republican. 

Melvin Z. Sherman, one of the well known citizens of East Spring- 
field, now living retired, is a veteran of the Civil War. He was born in 
Springfield Township, Erie County, Aug. 6, 1846, and is the son of Z. L. 
and Elizabeth (Levins) Sherman. 

Z. L. Sherman was born in New York and his wife was born there 
also. He was among the early settlers of Luzerne County, Pa., where he 
cleared and operated 200 acres of land. He died in 1901 and his wife died 
in 1905. They had seven children, as follows: Eunice L., married Rev. 
Alden Allen, both deceased; Melvin Z., the subject of this sketch; Win- 
field S., lives at North Girard, Pa.; Olive L., deceased, was the wife of 
Perry Frisbiee; Mahala M., married 0. M. Ellis, lives at East Springfield; 
John L., lives at East Springfield ; and Alta V., married Chauncey Strong, 
both deceased. 

Melvin Z. Sherman was educated in the schools of East Springfield 
and until his retirement was prominently identified with the agricultural 
interests of this section. He served throughout the Civil War and took 
active part in the battles of Resaca, Kenasaw Mountain, Nashville, Jones- 
boro, and Spring Hill. 

Mr. Sherman was married first on March 27, 1867, to Miss Lucy J. 
Weed, a native of Springfield Township, born Oct. 14, 1846, and died Nov. 
23, 1921. Seven children were born to them: Alice, married Frank Sum- 
ner, deceased, and later married Guy Humes; Martha, married Harry L. 
Barker, East Springfield; William W. ; J. B., lives at North Kingsville, 
Ohio; Bessie, married E. T. Salisbury, lives at Albion, Pa.; Belva, died in 
1906; and Rev. Charles, a minister of the Christian church. Mr. Sher- 
man was married Aug. 16, 1924, to Miss Sarah McFarland, a native of 
Springfield Township, born Aug. 26, 1855, and the daughter of William S. 
and Mercy (Weed) Seeley, who were the parents of the following children: 
Susan, the widow of Edgar Coman; Mrs. Sherman; Nancy, Ellen, Henry, 



History of Erie County 737 

Ida, all deceased; Harley, lives at Waldron, Mich.; and Etta, married 
R. Perry, lives retired at Waldron, Mich. 

Mr. Sherman is a Republican and has served as constable of East 
Springfield for 18 years. He is a member of the Christian church and 
belongs to the Grand Army of the Republic and the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows. The Sherman family is among the highly respected 
pioneer families of Erie County and is favorably known. 

Dr. Edward H. Drozeski, who ranks among the leading physicians and 
surgeons of Erie, was born in this city, March 27, 1880, and is the son 
of J. R. and Fredericka C. (Kolb) Drozeski. 

J. R. Drozeski, who is state factory inspector of labor and industry, 
has spent his entire life in Erie, and lives at 505 Sassafras Street. He was 
married in 1879 to Miss Fredericka C. Kolb, also a native of this city, and 
they have two children: Dr. Edward H., the subject of this sketch; 
and Roland C, manager of the Lawrie Brothers Furniture Company of 
Erie. 

Edward H. Drozeski was graduated from Erie High School in 1899, 
and in 1903 received his degree as Doctor of Medicine from the Univer- 
sity of Buffalo. He spent the following year as an interne in the Buffalo 
General Hospital. In 1905 he returned to Erie where he established his 
practice at 211 East Sixth Street. He has been located at his present 
address, 117 East Sixth Street since 1908. In 1924 Doctor Drozeski spent 
three months in Europe, taking post graduate work in Paris, Vienna and 
Berlin. During the World War he served as medical examiner for the 
draft board. In 1918 he was appointed a member of the first civil service 
board and served until 1924. In 1918 he was appointed chief of State 
Genito-Urinary Clinic which service he organized and conducted until 
1922. 

Dr. Drozeski was married on April 29, 1920, to Blanche Whitehill, 
born at Meadville, Pa. She is a daughter of James C. and Elizabeth 
Whitehill, the former now deceased and the latter now living in Mead- 
ville, Pa. 

Doctor Drozeski is a member of the Erie County Medical Society, the 
Pennsylvania State Medical Association, and the American Medical Asso- 
ciation. He is a Republican and a member of the University Club. Doc- 
tor Drozeski is a substantial citizen and stands high in his profession 
(47) 



738 History of Erie County 

Dr. Samuel L. Scibetta, a prominent young physician and surgeon of 
Erie, is a veteran of the World War. He was born in Italy, Jan. 9, 1893, 
and is the son of Cosmo and Rose (Giglea) Scibetta. 

Cosmo Scibetta brought his family to this country from Italy in 1897 
and settled at North East, Pa. There were six children in the family: 
Anna, lives at North East; Mary Rizzo, lives at Ndrth East; Francis, 
lives at North East; Dr. Samuel L., the subject of this sketch; Louis, a 
student at Georgetown University ; and one child died in infancy. 

Dr. Samuel L. Scibetta spent his boyhood at North East and after 
his graduation from high school in 1913 he entered the University of 
Buffalo, where he received his degree of Doctor of Medicine in 1917. He 
spent the next year in Buffalo as an interne in Columbus Hospital. 

During the World War Dr. Scibetta enlisted in the medical corps at 
Buffalo and was sent to Fort Oglethorpe as an instructor in the Medical 
Officers Training School. He was later sent to France and served with 
the medical corps at base hospital No. 48. After his discharge, Aug. 
13, 1919, Dr. Scibetta came to Erie, where he spent six months as an 
interne at Hamot Hospital. He has taken post graduate work in Chicago 
and has already established an extensive practice in Erie, where he is 
widely known as an able physician and surgeon. 

On Nov. 25, 1920, Dr. Scibetta was united in marriage with Miss 
Angeline Palmisno, a native of Erie. They have a daughter, Geraldine, 
born Jan. 23, 1924. 

Dr. Scibetta is identified with the Erie County Medical Society, the 
Pennsylvania State Medical Association, the American Medical Associa- 
tion, and the Association of Military Surgeons of the United States. He 
is a member of the American Legion, the University Club, the National 
Club, the Ansonia Club, the Sons of Italy, and the Elks lodge. He is a 
Democrat and a member of the Catholic Church. 

Dr. Maxwell Lick, physician and surgeon, who is successfully engaged 
in the practice of his profession in Erie, is a member of a prominent 
pioneer family of Erie County. He was born at Albion, Pa., Oct. 25, 1884, 
and is the son of C. V. and Mary (Dietz) Lick. 

C. V. Lick, who now lives retired at Albion, Pa., was engaged in the 
implement, harness and carriage business there for 50 years. He was 
born in 1859 and is the son of John L. and Eliza (Goodrich) Lick, and a 
grandson of Aaron Lick, who came to Erie County almost a century ago. 



History of Erie County 739 

C. V. Lick was married in June, 1880, to Miss Mary Dietz, a daughter 
of Adam and Amanda Dietz, of Conneaut Township, Erie County. To 
this union were born three children: Milo Vernon, lives at Wesleyville, 
Pa.; Doctor Maxwell, the subject of this sketch; and Florence Elizabeth 
Loose, lives in Erie. 

Doctor Maxwell Lick attended the public schools of Albion, Pa., and 
in 1902 graduated from high school. In 1908 he received his degree at 
Allegheny College, and four years later was graduated from the Medical 
School of the University of Pennsylvania. His interne work was taken 
at the University Hospital, Philadelphia, Pa., and in 1914 Dr. Lick began 
the practice of his profession in Erie. He specializes in surgery and is 
a member of St. Vincent's Hospital staff as well as Hamot Hospital 
staff. He is surgeon for the New York Central Railroad and the Nickel 
Plate Railroad. 

In July, 1915, Dr. Lick was married to Miss Mary MacLaughlin, and 
to this union three children have been born: Maxwell, Jr., born June, 
1916; Robert, born in 1921, died in 1922; and Mary, born Oct. 31, 1923. 

Doctor Lick is identified with the County, State and American Medical 
Societies and is a member of the American College of Surgeons. He is 
a Republican, a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, a 32nd degree 
Mason, and a member of the Shrine and Elks Lodge. He is a capable 
physician and surgeon and is recognized as one of the leaders of his 
profession. 

Dr. Frank A, Trippe. One of the well known and highly esteemed of 
the younger physicians and surgeons of the city of Erie is Dr. Frank 
A. Trippe, who is also a veteran of the World War. He was born in 
Sicily, Aug. 5, 1890, and is the son of John and Rose Trippe. 

In 1891 John Trippe brought his family to this country and settled 
in Buffalo, N. Y., where he engaged in the grocery business until 1901, 
at which time he removed to Fredonia, N. Y., and engaged in general 
farming. 

Dr. Frank A. Trippe attended the public schools and was graduated 
from Fredonia State Normal School in 1912, after which he entered the 
medical school of the University of Buffalo. After receiving his degree 
as Doctor of Medicine in 1916, Doctor Trippe spent the following year 
as an interne in Columbus Hospital in Buffalo. In 1917 he removed to 
Erie, where he engaged in practice until April of that year, when he 



740 History of Erie County 

volunteered for service during the World War. After three weeks in the 
Medical School at Washington, D. C, he was transferred to Camp Sevier, 
Greenville, S. C, and later to Camp Mills. Doctor Trippe was sent to 
France as a surgeon with Field Hospital No. 422 and was at the front 
during the Argonne and Meuse drives. After the close of the war he was 
transferred to the army Medical School at Lyons, France, where he re- 
mained until July, 1919. He was discharged from service at Camp Dix, 
N. J., Aug. 3, 1919, and immediately returned to Erie, and resumed his 
practice. 

On May 6, 1918, Doctor Trippe was united in marriage with Miss Ade- 
line Milani, a native of Buffalo, N. Y. They have two children : Ehzabeth 
R., born Jan. 16, 1921 ; and Adele F., born Dec. 4, 1922. 

Doctor Trippe is identified with the American Medical Association, 
the Pennsylvania State Medical Association, and the Erie County Medical 
Society. He is a Republican, a member of St. Paul's Church, and belongs 
to the Sons of Italy, and Elks lodge. 

Henry H. Hubbard, a highly respected pioneer citizen of Erie County, 
was born at Girard, Nov. 24, 1855, and is a member of one of the first 
families of this section. He is the son of G«orge and Mary (Porter) 
Hubbard. 

George Hubbard was a native of Litchfield, Conn., and one of the 
very early settlers of Erie County, having come here in 1818. He lived 
at North East for several years, after which he removed to Girard and 
purchased the old Evans farm, the present site of the Nickel Plate Rail- 
road. He later removed to West Springfield, where he operated a saw- 
mill for many years. He was also extensively engaged in the lumber 
business. To Mr. and Mrs. Hubbard the following children were born: 
Helen, deceased, was the wife of Hartley Graves; George A., lives at Con- 
neaut, Ohio; A. M., deceased; Emma, deceased; and Henry H., the subject 
of this sketch. 

Henry H. Hubbard began life as a farmer. He was educated in the 
district schools and attended North East Seminary. He has served as 
justice of the peace of West Springfield for a number of years and is now 
notary public. He has also been a member of the election board. 

On Nov. 11, 1878, Mr. Hubbard was united in marriage with Miss 
Jennie Laughlin, born at Conneaut, Ohio, Aug. 24, 1857, and died Aug. 8, 
1899. She was the daughter of Hugh and Mary (Luntz) Laughlin, natives 




H- ^ H^-^rtr^^'^ 



History of Erie County 741 

of Ohio, and both now deceased. One son was born to Mr. and Mrs. 
Hubbard, S. H., who lives at Conneaut, Ohio. He has a son, Hugh H. 
Hubbard. 

In politics Mr. Hubbard is identified with the Democratic party. He 
has always been a public spirited and progressive citizen. 

Dr. A. G. Krum is a widely known specialist of this section, who has 
practiced his profession in Erie for the past 25 years. He was born at- 
Mt. Zion, Lebanon County, Pa., Nov. 26, 1862, and is the son of Dr. George 
R. and Mary R. (Bucks) Krum. 

Dr. George R. Krum was born in Lebanon County, Pa., and was en- 
gaged in practice at Mt. Zion for more than 20 years. He was born in 
1836 and died July 8, 1876. He was a graduate of the University of 
Pennsylvania and at the time of the Civil War was drafted into service, 
but discharged after five days of service at Harrisburg, Pa. His wife, 
also a native of Pennsylvania, was born in 1836 and died in 1888. They 
had three children: Dr. Octavia Krum, a physician, was born June 15, 
1861, lives at St. Petersburg, Fla. ; Dr. A. G., the subject of this sketch; 
and Dr. Francis G., a physician, born March 15, 1865, lives in North 
Carolina. 

The Krum family originally came to this country from Germany in 
1764. John C. Krum settled in Lebanon County, Pa., during that year 
and the family became one of the leading pioneer families of the state. 
In 1792 John Krum, Esq., was appointed a captain by Thomas Miffin, at 
that time governor of Pennsylvania. 

Dr. A. G. Krum was educated in the schools of Lebanon County and 
taught school for several years before taking up the study of medicine. 
He was graduated from Jeflferson Medical College in 1887 and spent the 
following three years in the practice of his profession at Mt. Zion, Pa. 
During the years 1891-92 he attended the University of Berlin, where he 
specialized in the study of women's diseases. Since 1899 Doctor Krum 
has been located in Erie continuously and has established an excellent 
reputation as a physician and surgeon. He is now practically retired, 
but still maintains his office at 163 West 18th Street. 

On June 23, 1896, Doctor Krum was united in marriage with Miss 
Carrie A. Merriam, a native of Conneaut, Ohio, born Dec. 23, 1862, and 
the daughter of Dr. Edward and Phoebe (Keyes) Merriam, natives of 
Conneaut. Doctor Merriam, who died at the age of 80 years, practiced 



742 History of Erie County 

his profession in Conneaut, Ohio, for more than 50 years. His wife is 
deceased. 

Doctor Krum is a Republican, a member of the German Reformed 
Church of Lebanon, Pa., and belongs to the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows. He is identified with the County, State and American Medical 
Associations and ranks among the highly esteemed citizens of the com- 
munity, in which he has spent so many years. 

Dr. Norbert D. Gannon, a prominent physician of Erie, is a veteran of 
the World War. He was born in this city, Feb. 18, 1891, and is a son 
of William and Margaret (Eichenlaub) Gannon. 

William Gannon is a well known citizen of Erie, where he has been 
engaged as a salesman for many years. He was married to Miss Mar- 
garet Eichenlaub, who was born in Erie, in September, 1866, the daughter 
of Joseph Eichenlaub, who owned and operated a shoe factory in Erie for 
many years. To Mr. and Mrs. Gannon were born five children, as follows: 
Ethel, at home; Marguerite, deceased; Lillian, at home; William, lives 
in New York city ; and Dr. Norbert D., the subject of this sketch. 

Dr. Norbert D. Gannon received his education in the grade schools of 
Erie and was graduated from Central High School in 1911. He studied 
medicine at Loyola University, Chicago, and was graduated from that 
institution in 1917, and in 1921 granted an M. D. by the School of Medi- 
cine of the University of Pittsburgh. He served as an interne in St. Francis 
Hospital, Pittsburgh. 

At the outbreak of the World War Dr. Gannon volunteered his serv- 
ices and served as a lieutenant in the medical corps. He spent one month 
at Fort Leavenworth, Kan., a month in the Brady Laboratory of Yale 
University, New Haven, Conn., a month in the Rockefeller Institute in 
New York city, and was then transferred to Allentown, Pa. He was 
later stationed in Hoboken, N. J., and from there was sent to Debarka- 
tion Hospital No. 3, New York city, and later became chief of the labora- 
tory of Embarkation Hospital No. 4. After Tiis discharge at the close of 
the war, Dr. Gannon took post graduate work in the Childrens Hospital 
at Pittsburgh, and later spent six months in the Magee Hospital there. 
In 1920 he came to Erie and established his office at 154 West 8th Street. 
He is now located at 349 West 9th Street, where he has a well established 
practice. Dr. Gannon specializes in the diseases of infancy and children, 
is medical inspector of public and parochial schools in Erie, has charge 



History of Erie County 743 

of infant's department at St. Joseph's Home for Children, the Erie Day 
Nursery, is a member of the staff of Hamot Hospital and on the pediatric 
staff of St. Vincent's Hospital. 

On Nov. 28, 1921, Dr. Gannon was united in marriage with Miss 
Loretta Emerick, a native of Meadville, Pa., and the daughter of William 
and Julia Emerick, residents of that place. 

Dr. Gannon is identified with the Erie County, State and American 
Medical Associations. He is a member of St. Peter's Cathedral and 
belongs to the Elks lodge. He is a substantial citizen and stands high 
in his profession. 

Dr. A. B. Miller is a prominent physician and surgeon of Erie and a 
veteran of the World War. He was born in Indiana County, Pa., March 
19, 1881, and is a son of Henry S. and Mary (Baer) Miller. 

Henry S. Miller, deceased, was a native of Pennsylvania and a suc- 
cessful farmer during his life. His wife, who was born in Pittsburgh, 
is also deceased. They were the parents of the following children: S. C, 
lives in Cuba, where he is a structural engineer; Charles M., a farmer, 
lives in Indiana County, Pa. ; H. E., an attorney, lives in Cleveland ; Ira 
A., official photographer for the United States government, Beaufort, S. 
C. ; Dr. A. B., the subject of this sketch; and R. V., who represents the 
Eastman Kodak Company at San Antonio, Texas. 

Dr. A. B. Miller was educated in Pittsburgh, after which he entered 
the Medical School of the University of Pittsburgh. He received his de- 
gree of Doctor of Medicine in 1905, and spent the following year as an 
interne in the Allegheny General Hospital, Pittsburgh. In 1906 Dr. Miller 
began the practice of his profession at North Girard, where he was 
located until 1921. Since moving to Erie he has been located at 159 West 
8th Street. 

During the World War Dr. Miller was commissioned a lieutenant, after 
attending the Medical Officers Training Camp at Fort Oglethorpe, Ga. He 
was later transferred to Camp Logan, Houston, Texas, and from there 
to Ft. McPherson, Ga., where he remained until March 1, 1918, when he 
sailed for France where he remained until June 1, 1919. At the time 
of his discharge, Dr. Miller had attained the rank of major. 

On March 14, 1904, Dr. Miller was united in marriage with Miss Jean 
Tannehill, a native of Pittsburgh, and to this union three children have 
been born: A. Boyd, bom Aug. 20, 1905, now a junior at Allegheny 



744 History of Erie County 

College; Wilbur, born Jan. 22, 1907, a freshman at Allegheny College; 
and Marie Agnes, born June 26, 1915. 

Dr. Miller is a member of the Erie County Medical Society, the Medi- 
cal Society of Pennsylvania and the American Medical Association. He 
is a member of the Hamot and St. Vincent Hospital staffs, and specializes 
in surgery. Dr. Miller is a Republican, a member of the Methodist Epis- 
copal Church and belongs to the Masonic lodge and Shrine. He is a sub- 
stantial citizen and stands high in his profession. 

Robert W. Lawrie. Numbered among the successful and representa- 
tive business men of Erie is R. W. Lawrie, owner of Lawrie Brothers 
Furniture Company, Erie's largest and oldest furniture house. He was 
born at Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada, Sept. 8, 1872, and is the son of 
James and Mary (Drinkle) Lawrie. The father, a native of Scotland, dur- 
ing infancy was brought to Canada, where he died in 1904. Mr. and 
Mrs. Lawrie had three children: William J., lives at Oshawa, Canada; 
Alberta, married J. J. Croskem, lives at Toronto, Canada; and R. W., 
the subject of this sketch. 

In his native town of Bowmanville and Oshawa, R. W. Lawrie was 
reared and educated. He left school at the age of 11 years and entered 
the employ of a commercial establishment. His first step in the business 
world was that of a messenger boy, in which position, although it was 
humble, he was honest in the performance of his duties, considering his 
post as one of trust and in this way prepared himself for a higher step 
in the business, his next position being that of a clerk, and as such he 
worked for a period of five years. He then became apprenticed to a wood 
finisher, and after learning his trade went to Woodstock, where he re- 
mained until 1892, when he located in Erie. Upon his arrival here he 
accepted a position in the Shaw Piano Works as a finisher, and followed 
this trade until 1896, when he engaged in the furniture enterprise on a 
small scale at West 18th Street. There he conducted business success- 
fully until 1891 when he transferred his business to South State Street. 
About the time of the removal he was joined by his brother, William J. 
Lawrie, and the firm became known as Lawrie Brothers. The partnership, 
however, was of short duration, the brother who entered into business 
relations in April, withdrawing from the concern in the following Sep- 
tember. Nevertheless by mutual agreement the firm name, Lawrie Broth- 
ers, was still maintained and under this title the business has since been 



History of Erie County 745 

transacted. In December, 1908, Mr. Lawrie removed to his present location, 
1207 State Street, where he owns a fine four-story building. He deals in 
furniture and house furnishings and carries a stock valued at $150,000. 
The store employs 50 people and operates a fleet of delivery cars. 

Mr. Lawrie was married to Miss Nellie Aaron, of this city, and the 
daughter of John Aaron. She died June 13, 1923. They had no chil- 
dren. On July 7, 1924, Mr. Lawrie was married to Miss Romayne Wagner, 
of Indiana, Pa. 

Mr. Lawrie is a member of the Lutheran Memorial Church, and is 
a member of the Board of Directors of Thiel College. He belongs to the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the Knights of Pythias, Elks Lodge, 
Maccabees, Royal Arcanum, Erie Maennerchor, Kiwanis Club, Chamber 
of Commerce, and the Erie Motor Club. 

Dr, Earl B. Johnson is a successful physician and surgeon of Erie, en- 
gaged in general practice with special attention to eye, ear, and throat 
diseases, to which he has devoted special study and attention. He is a 
native of Crawford County, Pa., born Oct. 3, 1867, and the son of 
William and Rebecca (Beedy) Johnson. 

William Johnson was born in New York, Oct. 9, 1812. At an early 
date he settled in Richmond Township, Crawford County, Pa., where he 
engaged in general farming. He died at Cambridge Springs, July 13, 
1879, and his wife, who was born at McLean, Pa., Feb. 17, 1825, died 
Aug. 11, 1902. She was the daughter of Samuel Beedy, who came from 
Massachusetts to Pennsylvania during the early days and became a widely 
known educator. By a former marriage to James Snow, Mrs. Johnson had 
two children: Genevieve, born June 30, 1851; and Estelle Sibley, born 
April 27, 1857. To Mr. and Mrs. William Johnson were born three chil- 
dren: Winslow, born Jan. 27, 1864, superintendent of the county home 
of Crawford County, Pa.; Dr. Earl B., the subject of this sketch; and 
Dr. Elton M., born April 3, 1870, a physician, died Jan. 18, 1923, at 
Portland, Ore. 

Dr. Earl B. Johnson attended the rural schools of Crawford County 
and after completing a high school course at Cambridge, Pa., he entered 
Bellevue Medical College, from which he was graduated in 1891. He spent 
several years in post graduate work and in 1897 went to Europe, where 
he did hospital work in London. Before coming to Erie in 1913 he prac- 
ticed his profession at Cambridge, Pa. His offices are at 2102 Peach Street. 



I 



746 History of Erie County 

On March 31, 1897, Dr. Johnson was united in marriage with Miss 
Ora Mechling, who was born in Jefferson County, Pa., March 22, 1872, 
the daughter of Rev. J. H. and Rebecca (Morrow) Mechling. Reverend 
MechUng was born May 26, 1837, and died May 11, 1917. He was a 
minister of the Methodist Episcopal Church and served in the ministry 
from 1868 until 1895. His wife was born in 1839 and died in 1883. They 
were the parents of four children: Elizabeth M. Robinson, lives in West 
Virginia ; Frank, deceased ; John M., lives in Butler County, Pa. ; and Mrs. 
Johnson. 

Dr. Johnson is identified with the Republican party and is a member 
of the Masonic lodge and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He is 
a capable physician and surgeon and ranks among the leaders of his 
profession. 

Dr, T. W. Blakeslee, a widely known physician and surgeon of Erie, 
was born at Luzerne, Pa., March 19, 1860, and is the son of Charles M. 
and Frances (Parker) Blakeslee. 

Charles M. Blakeslee is a native of Pennsylvania and is of Scotch- 
Irish descent. He was born April 1, 1835, and spent his entire life in 
Pennsylvania where he was engaged in the manufacturing business. He 
died December, 1924. His wife, a native of Wyoming County, Pa., was 
born in 1834 and died in 1905. Mr. and Mrs. Blakeslee were the parents 
of the following children: Jerome B., lives at Muncy, Pa.; Dr. T. W., 
the subject of this sketch; Matthew, lives at Muncy, Pa.; Maggie, twin 
sister of Matthew, lives at Elimsport, Pa.; and John B., lives in Chicago. 

Dr. T. W. Blakeslee was educated in the district schools of his native 
state and in 1898 received his degree as Doctor of Medicine from Louis- 
ville Medical College. After taking a year's post graduate work at Louis- 
ville (Ky.) Medical College and one year post graduate work at Tulane 
University of New Orleans, La., Dr. Blakeslee was an interne in the city 
hospital there. After taking a year's course of study in the IHinois School 
of Electro-Therapeutics, where he specialized in the study of X-ray, 
Dr. Blakeslee began the practice of his profession at Danville, Pa. After 
three years there he spent a year at York, Pa., and afterward located in 
Erie, where he took over the practice established by Dr. Sipe. He has 
been in his present location, 924 Peach Street, since 1913. He specializes 
in diseases of the stomach and intestines, and has a well established 
practice. 



I 



History of Erie County 747 

On April 23, 1889, Dr. Blakeslee was united in marriage with Miss 
Anna Springer, and to this union were born seven children, as follows: 
Harvey T., lives in Portland, Ore. ; Addie Sprague, lives in Portland ; 
Frances Farber, lives in Cleveland; George, lives in Erie; Beatrice Peth, 
lives in Wheeling, W. Va. ; Cyril, lives in Cleveland ; and Warner Mc- 
Dowell, lives in Erie. 

Politically Dr. Blakeslee is a Republican, and is identified with the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He is a progressive man and is held 
in high esteem throughout the county. 

Dr. A. M. Kalson, one of the well known younger physicians and sur- 
geons of Erie, who is successfully engaged in the practice of his profes- 
sion at 218 West 8th Street, is a native of Pennsylvania. He was born 
in Pittsburgh, Oct. 14, 1892, and is the son of Harry and Hinde Libbe 
(Hurwitz) Kalson. 

Harry Kalson is a native of Russia, as is also his wife. After their 
marriage in 1891 they came to this country and settled in Pittsburgh, 
where he was engaged in general contracting and for the past 12 years has 
been successfully engaged in the laundry business. He is also interested 
in real estate and has served as city councilman. To Mr. and Mrs. Kalson 
were born eight children, as follows: Dr. A. M., the subject of this 
sketch; Samuel, Isadore, and Ralph, all live in Pittsburgh; Jacob E., an 
attorney, and William, who live in Pittsburgh; Sarah L., died in infancy; 
and Ruth, lives in Pittsburgh. 

Dr. A. M. Kalson was reared and educated in Pittsburgh and after 
his graduation from high school in 1911 he entered the University of 
Pittsburgh, where he remained three years. He received his degree in 
medicine at Cincinnati University in 1916, and the following year was 
located in Pittsburgh as an interne. He engaged in the general practice 
of his profession at Chickasaw, Pa., the next year and in August, 1919, 
removed to Erie. 

On Aug. 5, 1917, Dr. Kalson was married to Miss Ida M. Safran, a 
native of Baltimore, Md., born April 18, 1899, and the daughter of Philip 
and Molly Safran. Mr. Safran now resides in Baltimore, Md. His wife 
is deceased. To Doctor and Mrs. Kalson have been born two daughters: 
Mildred E., born Nov. 5, 1919, and Dorothy R., born Sept. 14, 1924. 

Doctor Kalson is a member of the American Medical Association, the 
Pennsylvania State Medical Association and the Erie County Medical 



748 History of Erie County 

Society. He is a Republican and belongs to the Modern Woodmen of 
America and the Elks lodge. As a physician and surgeon and a citizen, 
Doctor Kalson ranks high in the community. 

Theodore Sprague is a prominent citizen of North East and a member 
of a family that has long been identified with the agricultural interests 
of Erie County. He was born at North East, April 9, 1888, and is the son 
of Theodore and Laura Edna (Mason) Sprague. 

Theodore Sprague, deceased, was a native of East Bloomfield, Ontario 
County, N. Y., born Oct. 4, 1848. His wife was born at Wales, Ontario 
County, N. Y., June 20, 1850. After coming to Erie County in 1874 Mr. 
Sprague became interested in farming and owned 38 acres of well im- 
proved land near North East. They built the Lakedale Hotel at Free- 
port in 1905, which is now conducted during the summer months by mem- 
bers of the family. Mr. Sprague died Aug. 3, 1921, and is bui'ied in North 
East Cemetery. There were four children in the Sprague family: George 
H., born March 13, 1883, married Ethel Adams, of Ipswich, Mass., and 
they live at Hamilton, Mass.; Julia, born May 5, 1885, married Feb. 6, 
1911, Albert M. Barnes, Jr., an attorney, lives in New York City; Theo- 
dore, the subject of this sketch; and Walter K., born Feb. 8, 1890, a pro- 
fessor, lives at Hightstown, N. J., mai-ried Joyce Ricart. He served 
throughout the World War. 

Theodore Sprague attended the public and high schools of North 
East and was graduated from Cook Academy at Montour Falls, N. Y., in 
1907. After spending two years at Colgate University he entered Cornell 
University, from which he was graduated in 1912. He then went to 
Mount Kisco, N. Y., as a fruit expert for the Bedford Farmer's Cooperative 
Association, with whom he remained until 1915. From there he went to 
Seaford, Del., as superintendent of the Sunnyside Orchard Company, and 
in 1919 went to Cheswold, Del., as superintendent of Commercial Orchards 
of Delaware. Jan. 1, 1921, Mr. Sprague came to North East where he 
has since been engaged in fruit growing. 

In June, 1915, Mr. Sprague was united in marriage with Miss Edith 
Gilmore, of Salem, N. Y., born Oct. 17, 1886, and the daughter of George 
and Isabel (Reid) Gilmore, both deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Sprague have 
four children: Margaret, born March 31, 1916; Theodore, Jr., born March 
5, 1917; Dorothy, born Aug. 5, 1920, died July 9, 1924; and Reid Gilmore, 




THKODORE SPRAGUB 



MRS. THEODORE SPRAGUE 




LAKELAND HOTEL. NEAR NORTH EAST — THE HISTORIC OLD SPRAGUE 
HOMESTEAD REMODELED 



History of Erie County 749 

born June 9, 1922. Mi's. Sprague is a graduate of Mount Holyoke College, 
Massachusetts. She is a member of the Daughters of the American Revo- 
lution and belongs to the Fortnightly Club of North East. 

Mr. and Mrs. Sprague hold membership in the Presbyterian church 
and he belongs to the Masonic lodge, the North East Golf Club, and the 
Delta Upsilon fraternity. He and his wife are highly esteemed and have 
a wide acquaintance in Erie County. 

Dr. Rollin H. Anderson, a prominent young dentist of Erie, was born 
at Muncy, Pa., July 20, 1890, and is the son of George H. and Anna M. 
(Hockley) Anderson. Mr. and Mrs. Anderson, who reside at Muncy, have 
five children, as follows: Theodore R., and Willis E., live in Muncy; Dr. 
Rollin H., the subject of this sketch; and Claud R. and Clyde H., twins, 
died in infancy. 

Dr. Rollin H. Anderson grew up in Muncy, Pa., and attended the public 
and high schools there, from which he was graduated in 1912. He then 
attended Lycoming County Normal School and after teaching for several 
terms, entered Potts Business College at Williamsport, Pa. He was then 
employed by the Pennsylvania Railroad Company in a clerical position and 
after a short time entered the University of Pennsylvania, where he 
studied dentistry and received his degree in 1919. Doctor Anderson then 
took up the practice of his profession in Erie where he has since been 
located. He has been efficient and successful in his work and is widely 
known. 

Politically Doctor Anderson is a Republican. He is a member of the 
Central Presbyterian Church and belongs to the Masonic and Elks lodges. 
He is identified with the Erie Dental Association, the Lake Erie Dental 
Association and the American Dental Association. 

Dr. H. C. Galster has been a successful and well known physician and 
surgeon of Erie for the past 32 years. He was born in northern Germany, 
June 1, 1862, and is the son of William and Elizabeth (Koch) Galster. 

William Galster was a cooper by trade and in 1866 brought his family 
to this country and located in Buffalo, N. Y., where he remained but a 
short time, later removing to Michigan. Ten years later, however, he 
returned to Buffalo, where he spent the remainder of his life. He died 
in 1909 at the age of 88 years and his wife died in 1911 at the age of 
87 years. They were the parents of the following children: William 



750 History op Erie County 

deceased; Sophia Rebmann, lives in Buffalo; John; Louise, deceased; 
Henry, lives in Buffalo; Fred, engaged in the jewelry business in Toronto, 
Canada; Louie, deceased; and Dr. H. C, the subject of this sketch. 

Dr. H. C. Galster was reared in Buffalo, where he attended the public 
schools. He attended the Cleveland Medical College and received his de- 
gree as Doctor of Medicine in 1892. Since that time he has practiced his 
profession continuously in Erie, where he is known as a thoroughly com- 
petent physician and surgeon. His oi!ice is at 129 West 25th Street. 

Doctor Galster's first marriage was to Miss Sophia Margaret Pett, a 
native of England, who died at the age of 32 years, leaving the following 
children: Agnes M. Allen; Dr. Henry, a physician, lives at Hudson, N. Y. ; 
and Norman, lives in New York. Doctor Galster was married the second 
time to Miss Caroline VanBusch, who died Dec. 3, 1920. To this union 
were born three children : Herman W., a physician, lives in Schenectady, 
N. Y. ; Paul V., a student in Erie ; and one child died in infancy. 

Doctor Galster is identified with the Erie County Medical Society, the 
American Institute of Homeopathic Physicians, and other various medical 
societies. He is a Republican and a member of the Masonic lodge. 

Dr. F. P. McCarthy has been a successful and well known physician 
and surgeon of Erie for the past 14 years and is a veteran of the World 
War. He was born at Oil City, Pa., March 13, 1879, and is the son of 
P. T. and Margaret (McCuUough) McCarthy. 

P. T. McCarthy, deceased, was a native of Ireland and a pioneer drug- 
gist of Oil City, Pa., where he engaged in business for 40 years. His 
wife was born in Philadelphia and now resides in Pittsburgh. There were 
seven children in the McCarthy family as follows: Dr. F. P., the subject 
of this sketch; Mary, resides in Pittsburgh with her mother; Louis, a 
druggist, lives in Wyoming; John, engaged in the automobile business at 
Oil City, Pa. ; Loretta, a nurse, lives in Detroit, Mich. ; Thomas, was 
killed during the World War while serving in the aviation ; and Margaret, 
deceased. 

Dr. F. P. McCarthy was reared in Oil City, Pa., and was graduated 
from the local high school in 1897. In 1901 he received his degree as 
Doctor of Medicine at Jefferson Medical College, and spent the following 
year as an interne in St. Luke's Hospital at South Bethlehem, Pa. He 
then practiced his profession at Oil City until 1911, when he removed to 
Erie. He has taken post graduate work in New York city and has been 



History of Erie County 751 

a member of St. Vincent's Hospital staff for 13 years. He also served on 
the Hamot Hospital staff for three years, as a surgeon for the Pennsyl- 
vania Railroad for seven years, and as a surgeon at St. Joseph's Orphan 
Asylum Hospital. 

Dr. McCarthy served as a lieutenant during the World War, having 
enlisted in October, 1917. After being located at Fort Oglethorpe and 
Camp Custer, Battle Creek, Mich., he was sent to France, where he saw 
active service in the hospitals at the front. After his discharge, May 2, 
1919, he resumed his practice in Erie, where he is known as a thoroughly 
competent physician and surgeon. 

On April 14, 1910, Dr. McCarthy was married to Miss Maud Emery, 
who was born in Pennsylvania, Oct. 25, 1876. 

Dr. McCarthy is a member of the American Medical Association, the 
Pennsylvania State Medical Association, the Erie County Medical Society 
and the American College of Surgeons. He is a member of the Catholic 
Church. 

Dr. T. Palmer Tredway, physician and surgeon, is an able man in his 
profession and a citizen of progressive ideals. He was born in Wash- 
ington, D. C, March 17, 1885, and was the son of Rev. Silas B. and 
Cornelia (Palmer) Tredway. 

Rev. Silas B. Tredway was born in Baltimore, Md., and was a minister 
of the Methodist Protestant church for 45 years. He died July 7, 1917, 
and his wife, a native of Leipsic, Del., resides in Washington, D. C. She 
was born May 23, 1855. Rev. Silas B. and Mrs. Tredway, who were mar- 
ried in 1875, were the parents of three children: Alice Stevenson, lives 
at Newark, N. J. ; Idella W., lives in Washington, D. C. ; and Dr. T. Palmer. 

Dr. T. Palmer Tredway attended Western Maryland Preparatory School 
and in 1906 received his degree of A. B. from Western Medical College. 
In 1910 he was graduated in medicine from John Hopkins University, 
and the following year served as an interne at Adrian Hospital. Since 
March 1, 1911, Doctor Tredway has been engaged in the practice of his 
profession in Erie. He is a specialist in pathological work and is attendant 
obstetrician at Hamot Hospital and is also a member of the staff of St. 
Vincent's Hospital and the Infant's Home. 

On Nov. 12, 1912, Doctor Tredway was united in marriage with Sliss 
Caroline Bufhngton, a native of New Windsor, Md., and the daughter of 
Dr. John and Mary Buffington. Doctor BufRngton died in 1902. To Doctor 



752 History of Erie County 

and Mrs. Tredway have been bom two children: John Buffington, born 
May 11, 1914; and Thomas Palmer, born March 11, 1916. 

Doctor Tredway is a Republican and his wife is identified with the 
Democratic party. He is a member of the American Medical Association 
and the Erie County Medical Society. Doctor Tredway is a 32nd degree 
Mason. He is also a member of the Erie County Historical Society. 

Edwin W. Hatch, a prominent and highly esteemed citizen of Union 
City, is a man whose name is connected with the pioneer days of Erie 
County. He was born at Hatch Hollow, Amity Township, Erie County, 
Nov. 16, 1835, and is the son of Jason C. and EHzabeth (King) Hatch. 

Jason C. Hatch was a son of Roswell Hatch, a soldier in the War of 
1812, a prominent citizen and founder of the Methodist Episcopal Church 
at Hatch Hollow, where he passed his life. Jason C. Hatch was born in 
Herkimer County, N. Y., in 1808, and died in 1864. He was extensively 
engaged in farming and at the time of his death owned 600 acres of land 
in Erie County. He was a leading citizen of his time and held many 
public offices. There were 15 children born to Mr. and Mrs. Jason C. 
Hatch, as follows: Sylvia, deceased; Edwin W., the subject of this sketch; 
Hollis, deceased ; Cyrus, died in service during the Civil War ; Daniel 
Webster, a Civil War veteran, died in 1920 ; Mary Ann, deceased ; Arvilla, 
married Hiram Palmer, both deceased; George, a Civil War veteran, lives 
retired in Kansas; W. Scott, a ranch owner, lives in Montana; Julia, de- 
ceased; Elwin W., died in Montana in 1921; Wilson; Eugene L., lives in 
North Dakota; Fred J., deceased; and William W., died in infancy. 

Edwin W. Hatch was educated in a log school house in Hatch Hollow 
and was graduated from Waterford Academy in 1851. He began life as 
a farmer and in 1864 removed to Union City where he engaged in the 
manufacture of staves for several years. He then became interested in 
the real estate business. He allotted 25 acres which he sold at what is 
known as Hatch Hill subdivision. In 1872 he and his brother George 
began the manufacture of brooms, and operated the first broom factory 
in the state of Pennsylvania. The partnership continued for three years 
when Edwin W. purchased his brother's interest in the business, which 
has since been known as E. W. Hatch & Sons. Mr. Hatch has been promi- 
nent in the business affairs of his city and for many years served as 
president of the National Bank of Union City. 




MR. AND MRS. E. W. H.\TCH 



History of Erie County 753 

Mr. Hatch was married first Dec. 10, 1856, to Miss Nancy Chaffee, 
who was born in Amity Township, Erie County, July 24, 1836, and died in 
March, 1905. To them were born four children: Leon W., born Nov. 9, 
1857, associated in business with his father; Francis T., born Jan. 9, 1861, 
manager of the E. W. Hatch & Sons; Dr. Philip Luther, born Oct. 13, 
1871, a veteran of the World War, and a prominent physician and surgeon 
of Union City; and Augustus Edwin, born Nov. 2, 1874, a ranch owner 
of Montana, where he has a section of land of 640 acres. 

On July 26, 1906, Mr. Hatch was married to Miss Martha L. Fuller, 
who was born at Richmondville, Schoharie County, N. Y., June 2, 1845, 
the daughter of Leroy and Ann Janet (Dennis) Fuller, natives of New 
York and parents of the following children: Nicholas, boi-n Aug. 29, 1831, 
died Aug. 2, 1901; Dolly, born June 9, 1834, died in infancy; Elias, born 
July 18, 1835, died in infancy; Sarah A., born Oct. 29, 1836, died May 13, 
1888 ; Hannah M., born Dec. 15, 1839, died in infancy ; Levi, born in 1841, 
died in 1914; Mrs. Hatch; Tirzah, born Jan. 10, 1849, married Levi Van- 
Voorhis, Uves in South Dakota. Mr. Fuller died March 30, 1893, and his 
wife died May 13, 1882. 

Mr. Hatch and his wife are members of the Methodist church and 
have a wide acquaintance in Erie County. 

Dr. B. Swayne Putts, who ranks among the leading and successful 
physicians and surgeons of Erie, was born in Baltimore, Md., Feb. 26, 
1882, and is the son of J. W. and Mary L. (Meredith) Putts. 

J. W. Putts was a native of Virginia and his wife was born in Mary- 
land. He engaged in the mercantile business in Baltimore for 44 years 
and became prosperous. Mr. and Mrs. Putts, now deceased, were the 
parents of four children: A. C, lives in Baltimore; W. E., deceased; Dr. 
B. Swayne, the subject of this sketch; and Mabel Gardner, lives in 
Baltimore. 

Dr. B. Swayne Putts attended the public schools of Baltimore. In 
1902 he received his A. B. degree and in 1906 his M. D. degree at John 
Hopkins University, after which he spent a year as an interne in Alle- 
gheny Hospital, Pittsburgh. After practicing his profession in that city 
for some time he served as physician at the Massachusetts State Sani- 
tarium for one year, and the next two years was physician at the Penn- 
sylvania State Sanitarium. He began the practice of medicine in Erie 
in 1911 and in 1917 returned to John Hopkins University where he spe- 
(48) 



754 History of Erie County 

cialized in the study of Roentgenology. He has since specialized in X-ray 

work and is Roentgenologist at both Hamot and St. Vincent's Hospitals. 

On May 25, 1910, Doctor Putts was united in marriage with Miss Edna 

B. Buhl, a native of Butler County, Pa., and they have one child, Christine 
D., born Jan. 17, 1912. 

Doctor Putts is a member of the American Medical Association, the 
Pennsylvania State Medical Association, the Erie County Medical Society, 
the Radiological Society, and the American Roentgenray Society. He is 
identified with the Masonic lodge and is a member of the University and 
Kahkwa Club. He is a member of the Park Presbyterian Church and he 
and his wife are favorably known in Erie, where they have a wide circle 
of friends and acquaintances. 

Dr, J. W. Schilling ranks among the successful and well known young 
physicians and surgeons of Erie. He was born in this city, April 1, 1895, 
and is the son of William J. and Jane (Gills) Schilling. 

William J. Schilling was born in Pittsburgh in 1865 and is a pioneer 
resident of Erie, where he is engaged in business. His wife was born in 
New England. To Mr. and Mrs. Schilling were born seven children : Roy 

C, lives in Chicago; Florence Kent, lives in Los Angeles, Cal. ; Dr. J. W., 
the subject of this sketch; Leona, lives in Erie; Julius C, student at the 
University of Pittsburgh ; Jennie ; and William J., Jr., both at home. 

Dr. J. W. Schilling received his early education in the public schools 
of Erie and was graduated from high school in 1915. After attending 
Muhlenberg College at Allentown, Pa., he entered the University of Mary- 
land at Baltimore, where he received his degree of Doctor of Medicine 
in 1921. The next year was spent in St. Vincent's Hospital, Erie, and on 
Oct. 1, 1922, Doctor Schilling began the practice of his profession at 1818 
Chestnut Street, where he has met with success. 

On Aug. 5, 1924, Doctor Schilling was united in marriage with Miss 
Lois Johnston, the daughter of Frank and Flora (Coleburg) Johnston, 
residents of Erie. 

Doctor Schilling is a member of St. Vincent's and Hamot Hospital 
staif, and is connected with the Erie General Dispensary. He is identified 
with the Erie County Medical Society, the Erie Clinical Society, the Penn- 
sylvania State Medical Association, and the American Medical Associa- 
tion. He belongs to the University Club. During the World War Doctor 
Schilling served as a fii-st-class hospital apprentice for a period of six 
months. 



History of Erie County 755 

Dr. James H. Kelsey has been a successful and well known dentist of 
Erie since 1901. He is a native of England, born July 3, 1877, and the 
son of George and Margaret (Stubbs) Kelsey. 

George Kelsey and his wife were natives of England and settled in 
Toronto, Canada, in 1882, where he was engaged in the mercantile busi- 
ness for a number of years. Mr. and Mrs. Kelsey, both of whom are now 
deceased, had five children. 

After attending the public schools of Toronto, Dr. Kelsey matricu- 
lated into Trinity University. He then entered the Royal College of 
Dental Surgeons of Ontario and in 1900 was graduated from that college 
with the title of L. D. S. and received the degree of D. D. S. from the 
University of Toronto. In 1913 he took post graduate work there, re- 
ceiving the degree of Master of Dental Surgery and has since taken post 
graduate work in many of the large centers of learning both in America 
and Europe. In 1917 he was appointed Oral Surgeon on the staff of 
Hamot Hospital. Since 1901 he has engaged in the practice of his pro- 
fession in Erie, where he has a well established practice, with offices at 
714 Sassafras Street. 

On June 27, 1906, Doctor Kelsey was married to Miss Kathleen Cor- 
son, and they have two children: Patience, born in 1907, and Arthur, 
born in 1912. 

Dr. Kelsey is identified with the American Medical Association, the 
American Dental Association, State and local dental societies. He is a 
Republican, a member of St. Paul's Episcopal Church, and belongs to the 
Masonic lodge, the Shrine, Rotary Club, University Club, Delta Sigma 
Delta fraternity, Kahkwa Club and various other organizations. 

Dr. F. H. Paul, a popular and successful dentist of Erie, was boi'n at 
Titusville, Pa., Aug. 21, 1875, and is the son of A. 0. and Electa (Sargent) 
Paul. 

A. 0. Paul, who lives at Girard, Pa., has been the proprietor of the 
Girard Hotel for the past 16 years. His wife was born in Crawford 
County, Pa. To Mr. and Mrs. Paul were born two children: Elnora, 
died at the age of eight years; and Dr. F. H., the subject of this sketch. 

Dr. F. H. Paul received his early education in the schools of Spring- 
boro. Pa., and in 1899 was graduated from the Philadelphia Dental Col- 
lege. After practicing his profession at Springboro for three years, he 
spent five years in Pittsburgh, and in 1907 established his practice at 



756 History of Erie County 

Erie. With the exception of five years, during which time Doctor Paul 
engaged in the manufacturing business in Erie, he has practiced his pro- 
fession in Erie. His office is located at 520-21-22 Commerce Building. 

Doctor Paul was married on Sept. 9, 1907, to Miss Margaret Schusler, 
a native of Pittsburgh, and the daughter of John and Louise Schusler, 
both deceased. 

Doctor Paul is identified with the Republican party and he ranks 
among the substantial citizens of his community. 

John Melhorn Hirt, who is successfully engaged in the automobile 
insurance business in Erie with offices in the Commerce Building, is a 
native of Erie. He was born Aug. 15, 1879, and is the son of Frank W. 
and Sarah Melhorn Hirt. 

Frank W. Hirt is also a native of Erie and throughout his life has 
been interested in the business activities of the city. In 1895 he with 
his son John M. founded the Erie Mantel and Tile Company, today one of 
the leading industries of its kind in Pennsylvania. About 1920 Frank W. 
Hirt retired from active business and now resides at his family residence, 
1016 Wayne Street. His wife died in 1921 at the age of 68 years. To 
Frank W. Hirt and wife were born two sons and three daughters, all of 
whom are now living. 

The ancestors of John M. Hirt played an intimate part in the early 
activities of both the county and city of Erie. His grandfather on his 
mother's side, the late Rev. J. K. Melhorn, at the beginning of the Nine- 
teenth Century came to Erie County with his parents in their covered 
wagons, driving with all their earthly possessions from Lancaster County. 
They bought large tracts of land on the bank of Lake Erie in Fairview 
Township. Several hundred acres of what is now the most valuable lake 
front property belonged to the Melhorns and was only disposed of in 
recent years. 

The original log house, built of logs cut and put together while the 
family lived in their wagons, still stands where it was built more than a 
hundred years ago. The Lutheran church at Fairview was built largely 
through the efforts of the Melhorns. The old church moved from its 
original location is today the Fairview town hall and is in a perfect state 
of preservation. 

Rev. J. K. Melhorn was educated in the old Erie Academy and for 
a number of years was a teacher in that institution. 




JOHN M. HIRT 



History of Erie County 757 

John M. Hirt received his education in the pubhc schools here and 
after leaving scliool was for 20 years associated with the Metric Metal 
Works of Erie. In 1918 Mr. Hirt was appointed manager of the Erie 
branch office of the Pennsylvania Indemnity Company, which business 
has prospered under Mr. Hirt's direction from a small beginning until 
today in the Erie office a force of 12 persons are engaged and about 44 
more report to the Erie office from outlying territory supervised by this 
office. The business represented by Mr. Hirt is today one of the largest 
of its kind in the world. 

In 1903 Mr. Hirt was united in marriage with Miss Bertha Offerle, 
of Warren, Pa., a daughter of Daniel and Nancy Offerle, residents of 
Warren. Rev. J. K. Melhorn, grandfather of Mr. Hirt, officiated. To 
Mr. and Mrs. Hirt have been born three children: John 0., born in 1912; 
Willard Frederick, born in 1920; and Nancy Elizabeth, born in 1922. 

Mr. Hirt in addition to being a substantial citizen is widely and 
favorably known. 

Dr. P. P. Parsons, who ranks among the leading and successful of the 
younger physicians and surgeons of Erie, is a native of Pennsylvania. 
He was born at Kane, Dec. 17, 1885, and is the son of Rev. J. A. and 
Josephine (Peters) Parsons. 

Reverend Parsons was born in Ontario, Canada, July 16, 1853, and was 
a prominent minister of the Methodist Episcopal Church during his life 
and served in the Erie Conference. He died Feb. 26, 1913, and his wife 
resides at 1249 West 9th Street, Erie. She was born at London, Ontario, 
Canada, Nov. 7, 1858, and was married to Reverend Parsons in 1883. To 
them three children were born: Dr. P. P., the subject of this sketch; 
Mary V. Whitmarsh, lives at McKeesport, Pa. ; and Joseph H., deceased, 
mention of whom is made below. 

Dr. Joseph H. Parsons was killed while in service during the Woi'ld 
War. He was a dentist in Erie and at the time of his enlistment was 
commissioned a first lieutenant with the 313th Machine Gun Battalion. 
He was killed during the Meuse-Argonne Drive, Nov. 4, 1918. He left 
a widow, Rosella (Wilson) Parsons. 

Dr. P. P. Parsons received his education in the public schools of Reyn- 
oldsville, Pa., and after completing his high school course in 1905, he took 
a course at Allegheny College, which he completed in 1909, receiving the 
A. B. degree. He then entered the Medical School of the Universitv of 



758 History of Erie County 

Pennsylvania, from which he received his degree as Doctor of Medicine 
in 1913. His interne work was done at the Methodist Episcopal Hospital 
of Philadelphia and in 1914 Doctor Parsons began the practice of his 
profession in Erie at 1017 West 10th Street. Since 1920 he has been 
located at 1022 West 8th Street. He has built up a large practice and is 
widely known as an able physician. Doctor Parsons specializes in obste- 
trical work and internal medicine. He is a member of the staff of St. 
Vincent's Hospital. 

Doctor Parsons was married Sept. 14, 1910, to Miss Lillian Harries 
of Reynoldsville, Pa., and they have three children: Miriam, born Nov. 
22, 1916; William H., born June 28, 1919; and Louise, born Jan. 31, 1922. 

In politics Doctor Parsons is identified with the Republican party. He 
is a member of the Kingsley Methodist Episcopal Church of Erie, and be- 
longs to the American Medical Association, the Pennsylvania State Medi- 
cal Society, and the Erie County Medical Society. He is also a member 
of the Phi Delta Theta fraternity, the Phi Betta Kappa honorary frater- 
nity, the Phi Alpha Sigma medical fraternity, and belongs to the Elks 
lodge. Doctor Parsons is an excellent citizen and merits the high esteem 
in which he is held by the community. 

Dr. Robert L. Gibbons is a prominent young physician and surgeon 
of Erie. He was born at Greenville, Pa., Oct. 13, 1892, and is the son 
of P. C. and Henrietta (McMahon) Gibbons. 

P. C. Gibbons was born in England and came to this country with his 
parents when a small boy. He was a successful merchant at Sharon, Pa., 
for many years and now lives retired there. His wife, a native of Penn- 
sylvania, is deceased. They had nine children, as follows: Clarie Mink, 
lives at Sharon, Pa. ; Augusta, lives at Sharon, Pa. ; Paul, lives at Sharon, 
Pa.; Dr. Robert L., the subject of this sketch; Stanley, lives at Sharon; 
Florence Lyman, lives at Sharon; Gertrude Deforest, lives at Sharon; 
Marion, lives at Sharon; and one child died in infancy. Mr. Gibbons was 
married the second time to Miss Rose Kahl, of Sharon. 

Dr. Robert L. Gibbons was graduated from the public schools of 
Sharon in 1911, after which he entered Pittsburgh University. After 
receiving his degree in 1914 he entered the Medical School of the same 
university, from which he was graduated in 1918. The following year 
he spent at Mercy Hospital, Pittsburgh. He began the practice of his 
profession in Erie in 1919 and is located at 420 East 11th Street. Doctor 



History of Erie County 759 

Gibbons is examining physician for the Metropolitan Life Insurance Com- 
pany and the Indiana State Life Insurance Company. He is identified 
with the Erie, State and American Medical Associations and is a progres- 
sive man in his profession. 

On Nov. 27, 1923, Doctor Gibbons was united in marriage with Miss 
Irene Kuhn, a native of Erie and the daughter of Joseph and Elizabeth 
(Conrath) Kuhn. They have one child, Robert L., Jr. 

Doctor Gibbons is a Republican, a member of the Catholic church and 
belongs to the University Club and the Knights of Columbus. 

Dr. F. E. Avery, a prominent osteopathic physician of Erie, with offices 
at 343 West 8th Street, was born in Greene County, N. Y., Aug. 29, 1872, 
and is the son of Henry A. and Rosella (Whitcomb) Avery. 

Henry A. Avery was a native of New York, and is now deceased. 
His wife resides at Westfield, Mass. They were the parents of four chil- 
dren: Nettie Harwig, lives in New York city; Mary Shephard, lives at 
Westfield, Mass.; Dr. F. E., the subject of this sketch; and John, born in 
1874, died in 1904. 

Dr. F. E. Avery received his early education in the schools of Massa- 
chusetts and in 1910 received his degree as Doctor of Osteopathy at 
Kirksville, Mo. He immediately began the practice of his profession in 
Erie, where he has a well established reputation. 

In September, 1907, Doctor Avery was united in marriage with Miss 
Anna Chittenden, of Syracuse, N. Y., and they have three children: F. E., 
Jr., born Feb. 15, 1911; Lewis C, born May 22, 1913; and Ralph Whit- 
comb, born April 18, 1918. 

Doctor Avery has always been progressive, public spirited, and is a 
citizen of real worth. 

Dr. E. J. Dear, a successful dentist of Erie, who has been engaged in 
the practice of his profession in this city for 16 years, is a native of 
New York. He was born at .Rochester, Jan. 31, 1885, and is the son of 
John and Margaret (Moon) Dear. 

John Dear was born in Ontario, Canada, and for many years has lived 
in Rochester, N. Y., where he is a building contractor. In 1882 he was 
married to Miss Margaret Moon, a daughter of Joseph and Margaret L. 
(Berry) Moon, natives of New York. To Mr. and Mrs. Dear one son was 
born, Dr. E. J., the subject of this sketch. 



760 History of Erie County 

Dr. E. J. Dear was graduated from East High School, Rochester, N. Y., 
in 1905, and three years later received his degree of Doctor of Dentistry 
at the Pennsylvania College of Dental Surgery. After being located in 
the Rochester Dispensary for one and one-half years. Doctor Dear estab- 
lished his practice in Erie. He has a well equipped office at 405 Commerce 
Building and is efficient and successful in his work. 

On May 15, 1913, Doctor Dear was married to Miss Mildred E. Man- 
ning, of Lockport, N. Y., and they have two sons: John R., born Nov. 
5, 1917; and William E., born March 10, 1919. 

Doctor Dear is a member of the Erie County, State and American 
Dental Associations, and he is identified with the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, Elks lodge, and Psi Omega. He is a member of the Sanford 
Presbyterian Church. 

George J. Abbey is a substantial and widely known citizen of Erie 
County. He was born on a farm in Girard Township, Jan. 5, 1850, and is 
the son of John J. and Jane (Dempsey) Abbey. 

John J. Abbey was born near Syracuse, N. Y., and in 1825 removed to 
Erie County and settled on a farm in Girard Township, where he re- 
mained until 1861. He then lived in Springfield Township until his death. 
There were four children born to Mr. and Mrs. Abbey; George J., the sub- 
ject of this sketch ; William, who died in 1925 ; Frank, who died in 1924 ; 
and John, who died in 1924. The grandfather of George J. Abbey was 
David Abbey and the grandmother was Phoeba Abbey ; they were the 
parents of 13 children, all of whom are deceased. 

George J. Abbey was educated in the schools of Springfield Town- 
ship and in early life engaged in farming on 70 acres of land in this town- 
ship. In 1923 he retired from farming, and now devotes his entire time 
to his business interests. Mr. Abbey is president and manager of the 
West Springfield Telephone Company, and has served in this capacity 
since 1910. 

On March 31, 1875, Mr. Abbey was married to Miss Melissa Harris, 
a native of Springfield Township, and a daughter of Luke and Rebecca 
(Craven) Harris, early settlers of Springfield Township. Mr. and Mrs. 
Harris, deceased, were the parents of the following children : Jane, mar- 
ried George Silverthorn, both deceased ; Priscilla, married Minor Cole, both 
deceased; Sylvanius; Sarah, married George Howard, both deceased; Mrs. 
Abbey; Elizabeth and John, both deceased. Mrs. Abbey died March 5, 



History of Erie County 761 

1920, and is buried in the East Springfield Cemetery. Three children were 
born to Mr. and Mrs. Abbey, two of whom died in infancy. A daughter, 
Imogene H., is a trained nurse and lives in Illinois. During the World 
War she served at Washington, D. C. 

Mr. Abbey has been a member of the Lake Erie Lodge, No. 416, I. 0. 
0. P., for 35 years; he is also a member of the Encampment. He has been 
a member of the local state police for 45 years and is past grand captain. 
He is trustee of East Springfield Cemetery. Politically Mr. Abbey is a 
Republican. He is a member of the Universalist church and is highly 
esteemed in the community in which he lives. 

Dr. W. H. Everhart is a successful young dentist of Erie and a vetei-an 
of the World War. He was born at Staples, Minn., Dec. 3, 1891, and is 
the son of J. B. and Rachael (Long) Everhart. 

J. B. Everhart is a native of Germany and has lived in this country 
since he was a small child. He is an engineer and resides in Erie. His 
wife was born at New Castle, Pa. To Mr. and Mrs. Everhart were born 
five children, as follows: Mary Brainard, lives in Pittsburgh; Albert J., 
lives at Uniontown, Pa.; Dr. W. H., the subject of this sketch; William J., 
lived at Connellsville, Pa., and is now deceased; and Florence, deceased. 

Dr. W. H. Everhart received his education in the public schools and 
was graduated from Allegheny High School, after which he entered Pitts- 
burgh University. In 1914 he received his degree as Doctor of Dentistry 
from that institution and began the practice of his profession at Far- 
rell. Pa., where he remained almost two years. From there he went to 
Connellsville and after three years volunteered for service in the World 
War. He served as a first lieutenant for seven months and was stationed 
at Camp Coppee, Bethlehem, Pa. After his discharge from the army, 
Dec. 23, 1918, Doctor Everhart established his practice in Erie in the 
Lawrence Park district. He is now located at 1015 State Street, where 
he has an excellent practice. 

On Sept. 4, 1917, Doctor Everhart was united in marriage with Miss 
Ruth Swarmer, a native of Connellsville, Pa., and the daughter of Daniel 
and Edith (Eicker) Swarmer. To Dr. and Mrs. Everhart have been born 
two sons: Watson H., born June 5, 1918; and Robert James, born June 
11, 1921. 

Politically, Doctor Everhai't is a Republican. He is a member of the 
First United Presbyterian Church and belongs to the Knights of Pythias 



762 History of Erie County 

and the Knights of Malta. He is also identified with the Erie County- 
Dental Society, the State, and American Dental Associations. He and his 
wife are well known in Erie and have a host of friends. 

Dr. Carlton F. Cantor, a competent dentist and progressive citizen of 
Erie, who is a veteran of the World War, was born in this city, Nov. 24, 
1893, and is the son of Frank C. and Helen (Fritz) Cantor. 

Frank C. Cantor was born in Erie in 1861 and for the past 40 years 
has been connected with the Jarecki Manufacturing Company as a time 
keeper. In 1891 he was married to Miss Helen Fritz, a native of Erie, and 
a daughter of Jacob and Elizabeth Fritz. Mr. and Mrs. Cantor have only 
one child. Dr. Carlton F., the subject of this sketch. 

Dr. Carlton F. Cantor attended the public schools of Erie and was 
graduated from Erie High School in 1912. He then entered the Uni- 
versity of Michigan where he received his degree of Doctor of Dentistry 
in 1915. After two year's practice in Flint, Mich., Doctor Cantor re- 
turned to Erie and established his office at 1204 Palace Hardware Build- 
ing, where he remained until his enlistment in the World War. He served 
as a first lieutenant in the dental corps at Camp Wheeler, Macon, Ga., 
for four months and was discharged Dec. 18, 1918. He returned to his 
former location in Erie where he has a large practice. 

Doctor Cantor is identified with the Republican party in politics, is 
a member of the Central Presbyterian Church, and belongs to the Uni- 
versity Club, Kahkwa Club, and the Masonic and Elks lodges. He is 
supervisor of clinics in the Erie schools in which work he has been en- 
gaged for seven years. He is also president of the local dental association 
of Erie County, and is a member of the staff at the Erie Boy's Club. 

Di-. Edwin J. Reichel, who ranks among the leading young dentists of 
Erie, is a veteran of the World War. He was born in this city, June 1, 
1893, and is the son of William F. and Anna (Freidman) Reichel. 

William F. Reichel was born in Erie, Aug. 10, 1867, and has spent 
his entire life here. His wife was born in this city, Jan. 7, 1873, and is 
the daughter of John B. Freidman. To Mr. and Mrs. Reichel, who were 
married, in 1892, were born two children: Dr. Edwin J., the subject of 
this sketch ; and William Freidman Reichel, Hves in Erie. 

Dr. Edwin J. Reichel was graduated from high school in Erie in 1911 
and in 1914 entered the dental school of the University of Pittsburgh, 



History of Erie County 763 

where he received his degree in 1917. On Sept. 8, 1917, Doctor Reichel 
volunteered for service during the World War and was commissioned a 
first lieutenant in the dental corps. He served throughout the war with 
the 23rd Engineers and was at the front during the St. Mehiel and Ar- 
gonne drives. He was promoted to captain on Feb. 17, 1919, and dis- 
charged at Boston, on June 12th of the same year. He immediately re- 
turned to Erie and established his practice at 1004 Palace Hardware 
Building. 

On Nov. 22, 1923, Doctor Reichel was united in marriage with Miss 
Blanche E. Schackleton, a native of Edinboro, Pa., and the daughter of 
Samuel and Dora Schackleton, who are now residents of Erie. 

Doctor Reichel is a Republican, a member of the Presbyterian Church 
and belongs to the Masonic lodge and the Veterans of Foreign Wars. He 
is identified with the Erie County Dental Association, the Lake Erie, State 
and National Dental Associations. He has an excellent practice and is 
capable in his profession. 

Dr. J. A. Purcell is among the leading young dentists of Erie. He was 
born in this city, Oct. 17, 1897, and is the son of James and Nora (Keough) 
Purcell. 

James Purcell is a pioneer business man of Erie, having been engaged 
in the plumbing and heating business here for 25 years. He was born 
at North East, Pa., in 1860, and his wife is a native of Glenwood, N. Y. 
They were married in 1887 and had four children, all of whom reside in 
Erie: James J., Wm. J., Leo G., and Dr. J. A., the subject of this sketch. 
Mr. Purcell is a Democrat and has been a member of the Erie County 
Historical Society for many years. 

Dr. J. A. Purcell was educated in the public and high schools of Erie 
and was graduated from Central High School in 1917. He then volun- 
teered for service in the World War and was stationed at the Navy Re- 
serve at Pittsburgh, Pa. Through his war work he received a year's 
credit in the University of Pittsburgh's Dental School, which he entered 
in 1919. After receiving his degree in 1923 Doctor Purcell estabhshed 
his practice in the Commerce Building, Erie, where he has met with 
success. 

Doctor Purcell is a Democrat, a member of St. Patrick's Catholic 
Church, and belongs to the Psi Omega fraternity. He is identified with 
the Erie County, State and American Dental Associations. 



764 History of Erie County 

Dr. Charles B. Chidester, who has practiced his profession in Erie for 
35 years with honor and exceptional abihty, is a native of Ohio. He was 
born at Parkman, Ohio, Oct. 17, 1858, and is the son of Julius and Eliza 
H. (Mastick) Chidester. 

Julius Chidester was born at Canfield, Mahoning County, Ohio, Feb. 
21, 1826, and was a prominent agriculturist during his life. He was the 
son of Erastus and Lydia (Sackett) Chidester, besides whom three broth- 
ers and two sisters reached mature age. He married at Burton, Ohio, 
Sept. 24, 1850, Eliza Harriet Mastick, of Claridon, Ohio, and went house- 
keeping at Canfield; they lived here two years and in Geauga County 
23 years engaged in the stock business, and then took a flock of 500 sheep 
to Mercer County, 111. After his arrival there wolves were very savage, 
many times attacking the sheep in droves, and were with difficulty beaten 
off with dogs and guns. Here he also engaged in shipping stock to Chi- 
cago, and from 1867 shipped hundreds of head of dairy cows to the West- 
ern Reserve in Ohio for dairy purposes from Illinois and Iowa. He also 
procured thousands of head of young stock in Ohio and Pennsylvania 
and shipped to Iowa for stocks or feeders, as well as buying of fat or 
matured live stock for the Chicago and eastern markets up to the time 
he came to his late home at Fairview, Erie County, Pa., where he died 
Nov. 29, 1901. His wife died June 12, 1912. While a resident of Claridon, 
Ohio, Mr. Chidester was township officer eight years and also a member 
of the board of Geauga County Agricultural Society eight years. To Mr. 
and Mrs. Julius Chidester three children were born: Mary E. Coryl, lives 
at Maryville, Ohio ; Dr. Charles B., the subject of this sketch ; and William 
A., died Nov. 8, 1874. 

Eliza Harriet (Mastick) Chidester was born in Claridon, Geauga 
County, Ohio, May 16, 1831, the daughter of Owen Mastick, who was born 
in Grafton, Vt., Dec. 20, 1802; married Jan. 3, 1830, Harriet, daughter 
of Ephraim and Susannah Cook. He died in Tampa, Florida, Dec. 20, 
1884. Their other children were: Maryett Lydia Lavinia, Julius Cook, 
and Owen Burdell. Owen Mastick, son of Nathaniel Mastick and Lydia 
(Caryl) Mastick, was born in Norfolk County, Mass., July 8, 1772. His 
wife, Lydia Caryl, was born in Norfolk, Mass., Feb. 22, 1773, and died 
in 1857. He was a leader in his county and the first to import Morgan 
and Black Hawk horses and Durham cattle into Ohio. For seven years he 
was justice of the peace, ten years township trustee, a school director 
and militia captain. 




(U^, Q. (D"i<d^t^ v9^ 



History of Erie County 765 

John Mastick, father of Nathaniel, was the only son of John Salter, 
of a wealthy Holland family, born in 1717, was stolen by a British press- 
gang at the age of nine years, put aboard a man-of-war and held in the 
service nine years. Taking advantage of the first opportunity when the 
ship lay in Boston harbor, he "swapped" clothes with a stone mason, 
assumed the name of John Mastick, and though pursued and wounded, 
escaped, settled, married, and raised a family. An advertisement in after 
years appeared in a New York paper for the heirs of this Holland house. 
His eldest son gathered together the proofs and started for Europe, but 
was never more heard from. Harriet (Cook) Mastick, the third child 
in a family of four sons and five daughters, was born Sept. 27, 1804. She 
died May 20, 1894, aged 90, and was buried at Ridgeville, Ind. Her 
mother, Susannah Ives, was married Dec. 16, 1799, to Ephraim Cook, who 
was born Dec. 21, 1775, in Cheshire, Conn., son of Elam Cook, born in 
1733, in Cheshire, Conn., son of Capt. Ephriam Cook, born in 1704, in 
Cheshire, Conn., son of Samuel Cook, who came from England. 

Erastus Chidester was one of seven brothers: Hezekiah, Philo, Eras- 
tus, William Rush, Julius, Velorus and Royal Canfield; all but the last 
were born at Cornwall Bridge, Conn. His birth was on March 23, 1789, 
son of William and Martha (Dean) Chidester. He married Lydia Sackett, 
at Canfield, Ohio, in 1813, and they raised a family of three sons, Clark, 
Julius and William N., and two daughters, Caroline and Martha. He moved 
to Richland Grove, near Swedonia, Mercer County, 111., where they cele- 
brated their golden wedding and here resided till his death, March 10, 
1866. His wife, Lydia Sackett, who survived him several years, was born 
Nov. 1, 1790, afterwards went with her eldest son, Clark Chidester, to 
Fairfield, Jefferson County, Iowa, where she died Feb. 23, 1872, at the 
mature age of 82 years, and was buried at Brookville, Jefferson County, 
Iowa. 

William Chidester, born in Williamstown, Mass., in 1757, was a son 
of William Chidester, who with his brother Jonathan, emigrated from 
Wales to America. The latter settled in New Jersey, the former in Wil- 
liamstown, Mass. When quite young the Indians attacked the town, 
killed a number of the inhabitants, and carried away several women and 
children, among whom was Mrs. Carter, sister-in-law of William, Sr. 
Together with Mr. Carter and others he followed their trail and overtook 
them near Wilkesbarre, Pa., where a battle ensued and both were killed. 
William, Jr., soon after went to live with his uncle, Hezekiah Carter, who 



766 History of Erie County 

resided at Cornwall, Litchfield County, Conn., and was brought up by 
him. He married Chloe Peck in 1779, by whom he had one son, but his 
wife and son died in less than two years. 

The following account of the father, William Chidester, and his jour- 
ney to the then West, is from the lips of his son, Erastus: "William 
Chidester was a soldier in the War of the Revolution, at first drafted as 
a militiaman under Samuel Canfield of New Milford, Conn. He enlisted in 
the company of Capt. Theodore Woodbridge, Eleventh Connecticut line, 
under command of Colonel Homan Swift, in which he served four years. 
He participated in the battles of Brandywine and Monmouth. At the 
expiration of his term he was discharged, returned to Cornwall, and mar- 
ried Martha, daughter of Thomas Dean of that place. He began keeping 
house near Cornwall bridge, and followed his trade of tailor here for three 
years. He then bought a nearby farm on which he lived until 1802, when 
he exchanged it for land in Canfield in what was then called New Con- 
necticut in the Northwest Territory, later known as the Western Reserve, 
State of Ohio. He left Cornwall April 27, 1802, arriving at his destination, 
Canfield, Ohio, June 2nd. His large family and household goods and stores 
were conveyed in two wagons, one drawn by a team of horses, the other 
by oxen, with a led cow. His route was up the Hudson to Newburgh, 
where he crossed in a piroque at one load. Thence proceeded to Easton on 
the Delaware, which was crossed in a flat boat in two loads; thence by a 
then lonesome and dangerous road over the Allegheny Mountains to Fort 
Pitt; crossing the Monongahela here, they journeyed down the south 
bank over a mere trail in the rough hills to Beavertown. They forded the 
Ohio about a mile and a half below, thence reached Canfield, Ohio, in two 
and one-half days. He selected plot No. 15, first division in the woods, 
the next house west of his being then 15 miles distant. Three years after- 
wards he removed to plot No. 18 in the third division, where he lived, and 
in 1811 built a frame house for his son. Royal Canfield Chidester, the first 
white child born in that settlement. After the admission of Ohio in 
1803 he was elected justice of the peace, which office he held until his 
death, Feb. 26, 1813. He also served as township trustee and commis- 
sioner of Trumbull County. His wife, Martha, survived him a number 
of years and drew a pension on account of his services in the Revolution." 

Dr. Charles B. Chidester received his early education in the schools 
of Hiram, Ohio, and attended Hiram College, after which he was gradu- 
ated from the Medical Department of the University of Michigan, and 



History of Erie County 767 

the College of Physicians and Surgeons, Baltimore, Md., from which he 
received his degree of Doctor of Medicine, March 4, 1881. He began the 
practice of his profession at Burton, Ohio, and in 1890 removed to Erie, 
where he has since been located. His office is at 219 West 18th Sti'eet. 

On Nov. 13, 1884, Doctor Chidester was maiTied to Minnie, second 
daughter of Waterman S. and Caroline B. Hodges, of Middlefield, Ohio. 
They had two children: Rose Ann, born July 15, 1886, died Aug. 8, 1886; 
and Frank Charles, born May 5, 1888, died May 16, 1888. Mrs. Chidester 
died May 12, 1888. Her memory will always be dear to a large circle ot 
friends by whom she was loved and admired for her vivacity and refine- 
ment of manner and a remarkable sweetness of disposition. Her ancestors 
were pioneers in Middlefield from North Bradford, Conn. He was married 
Feb. 19, 1889, to Mrs. Ella J. Durban (nee Vance), of Collingwood, Ohio, 
born July 16, 1850, at Fairview, Erie County, Pa. They had two daugh- 
ters: Minnie Bickford, born Dec. 25, 1889, lives at home; and Mabel E., 
bom May 11, 1891, died April 29, 1915. Ella J. (Vance) Chidester's great- 
grandfather was Patrick Vance, who settled in Erie County in 1797. His 
son, Thomas Vance, lived on a farm near Fairview. He had three chil- 
dren: Thomas Vance, Jr., who afterward lived on the farm; Jane, who 
married Franklin Willis, of Fairview, April 14, 1842; and Margaret, who 
died, unmarried. Thomas Vance, Jr., born July 16, 1821, married Eliza- 
beth Olivia Weidler, Feb. 17, 1848, died Dec. 7, 1887. She was born Aug. 
21, 1829, and died Feb. 18, 1855. They are buried at Fairview, Erie 
County, Pa. Her maternal grandfather, Daniel Weidler, a pioneer of Erie 
County, was born in Lancaster, Pa., Feb. 12, 1805, and married Sept. 15, 
1827, Catherine Frissler in Lancaster. He died Sept. 3, 1874; she died 
May 19, 1855. They are buried in Fairview. Their children were: Eliza- 
beth Olivia, born Aug. 21, 1829, died Feb. 18, 1855 ; Michael George, Sam- 
uel, Daniel, Samuel S., Anna Amelia, Catherine Atlanta, John A. and 
Mary A. 

Doctor Chidester was married the third time on June 29, 1922, to 
Mrs. Florence (Hiegel) Burroughs, a native of Erie, and the daughter 
of George and Mary (Berchtold) Hiegel. Mr. Hiegel was born in Erie, 
Oct. 14, 1859, and died June 10, 1913. His wife, who was born Feb. 4, 
1859, resides in Erie. There were four children in the Hiegel family: 
Mrs. Chidester; George, lives in Erie; William, deceased; and Gertrude 
Dunbeck, lives in Erie. Before her marriage Mrs. Chidester was the 
widow of Willard Burroughs, who was born in Maryland, Nov. 24, 1875, 



768 History of Erie County 

and died Nov. 11, 1909. By that marriage she had three children: G«orge, 
died May 25, 1906; lola Mary, born April 22, 1908; and Henry W., born 
June 7, 1910. 

Doctor Chidester is identified with the Republican party. 

Dr. 0. N. Chaffee, who is widely known as a successful physician and 
surgeon of Erie, is a native of Pennsylvania. He was graduated from 
Wattsburg High School (Pa.) in 1896 and then attended Edinboro Normal 
School. The following two years were spent in teaching in the rural 
schools of his native state, after which Doctor Chaffee entered the College 
of Physicians and Surgeons of Baltimore, Md., where he began the study 
of medicine. He was graduated from the Physicians and Surgeons College 
at Baltimore, Md., in 1906, and his interne work was done at Mercy Hos- 
pital, Baltimore. The next year Doctor Chaffee located at Conneaut Lake, 
Pa., and the following year removed to Wattsburg, where he practiced 
his profession for three years, succeeding Dr. Bell, deceased. 

After spending almost a year in the study of medicine at Vienna, 
Doctor Chaffee came to Erie in 1911 and established his practice at 820 
Sassafras Avenue. He has a large practice and is recognized as one of 
the leading physicians and surgeons of this section. 

On June 12, 1907, Doctor Chaffee was united in marriage with Miss 
Eliza Baldwin, of Erie, and the daughter of James and Frances (Titus) 
Baldwin, residents of Erie, where Mr. Baldwin is engaged in the real estate 
business. To Doctor and Mrs. Chaffee two children have been born : Mary 
F., born in 1908 ; and John S., born in 1914. 

In October, 1923, Doctor Chaffee was made a member of the American 
College of Surgeons. He is identified with the Erie County, State and 
American Medical Societies, is a 32nd degree Mason, member of the Shrine, 
belongs to the University Club, and holds membership in the First Meth- 
odist Episcopal Church. Doctor Chaffee is a member of St. Vincent's 
Hospital staff. 

Dr. James D. Stark, a physician of Erie, is well known throughout 
the community, both as a successful man in his profession and as an ex- 
cellent citizen. He was born at Toledo, Ohio, March 15, 1893, and is the 
son of Frank H. and Laura A. (Dolph) Stark. 

Frank H. Stark, who resides at Coraopolis, Pa., is a native of New 
York. He has served as vice president of the Coraopolis Savings & Trust 




DR. O. N. CHAFFKE 



History of Erie County 769 

Company for many years and as superintendent of the Montour Railway 
Company. His wife was born in Toledo, Ohio. To Mr. and Mrs. Stark 
were born three children: Elizabeth Reeve, deceased; Myrtle Anderson, 
lives in Pittsburgh, Pa.; and Dr. James D., the subject of this sketch. 

Dr. James D. Stark attended the public and high schools of Coraopolis, 
Pa., from which he was graduated in 1912. He then entered Pittsburgh 
University, from which he received his Bachelor of Science degree in 
1916. Four more years were spent in this institution and in 1920 Doctor 
Stark was graduated from the Medical School. He began practice of his 
profession in Erie at 960 East 6th Street, and in March, 1925, moved his 
office to his residence at 860 East 6th Street. He is connected with Hamot 
Hospital and the Erie Infants' Home and is identified with the Erie County 
Medical Society, the Pennsylvania State Medical Association, and the 
American Medical Association. He has served as physician for the Ham- 
mermill Paper Company of Erie for one year and is still associated with 
the company. 

On July 30, 1921, Doctor Stark was united in marriage with Miss Emma 
McCormick, a native of Coraopolis, Pa., and the daughter of Samuel and 
Elizabeth McCormick. To Doctor and Mrs. Stark one child has been 
born, Marjorie Leigh Stark, born July 23, 1922. 

Doctor Stark is a Republican, a member of the Presbyterian Church, 
and belongs to the Masonic lodge. 

Dr. Edward M. Engels, a prominent and successful dentist of Erie, 
with offices at 960 East 6th Street, is a native of Highland Falls, N. Y. 
He was born Aug. 7, 1877, and is the son of Charles W. and Louise 
(Lebrantz) Engels. 

Charles W. Engels has spent his entire life in New York and is en- 
gaged in the painting business at Beacon, N. Y. His wife is also a native 
of that state. They have ten children, as follows: Charles, lives in 
Brooklyn, N. Y. ; Dr. Edward M., the subject of this sketch; Catherine, 
hves at Albany, N. Y. ; Anna Boliver, lives at Union Hill, N. J.; Leonard, 
lives at Middletown, N. Y. ; Clara Martin, lives at Batavia, N. Y. ; Paul, 
lives at Newburgh, N. Y.; Carroll, lives at Union, N. Y. ; Grace Harring- 
ton, lives at Beacon, N. Y. ; and Jennie Foster, lives at Beacon, N. Y. 

After receiving his preliminary education in the public schools. Dr. 
Edward M. Engels entered the dental school of the University of Mary- 
land, where he received his degree in 1900. For one year he practiced 
(49) 



770 History of Erie County 

his profession at Rochester, N. H., then went to Altoona, Pa., where he 
remained six years. In 1913 he located at Erie, where he has built up 
a splendid practice. 

On June 8, 1907, Doctor Engels was married to Miss Agnes M. Young, 
a native of Philadelphia and the daughter of John Young. They have 
three children: Edward, born in 1908; Elizabeth, born In 1909; and 
Miriam, born in 1917. 

Doctor Engels is a Republican, a member of the Episcopal Chuixh and 
belongs to the Elks lodge. He is identified with the Erie County, State, 
Lake Erie and American Dental Associations. 

Dr. H. R. Steadman, physician and surgeon of Erie, who is engaged in 
practice at 529 East 6th Street, is a native of Pennsylvania. He was 
born in McKean, Oct. 8, 1888, and is the son of Thomas and Fannie L. 
(Morrow) Steadman. 

Thomas Steadman was born at McKean, Pa., April 21, 1864, and his 
wife is also a native of Pennsylvania, born Aug. 13, 1864. He engaged 
in the grocery business at Edinboro, Pa., for 29 years and now lives 
retired. Mr. and Mrs. Steadman had two children: Dr. H. R., the sub- 
ject of this sketch; and Vera Coyle, born April 5, 1895, lives at Edin- 
boro, Pa. 

Dr. H. R. Steadman attended the public and high schools at Edinboro 
and in 1906 completed a course at Edinboro Normal School. The next 
four years were spent in teaching school, and as principal of the Phillips- 
ville and Edinboro high schools. In 1910 Doctor Steadman entered Jef- 
ferson Medical School at Philadelphia where he received his degree of 
Doctor of Medicine in 1914. He then served as interne at Kings County 
Hospital (N. Y.) for two years, and in 1916 established his present prac- 
tice in Erie. 

In 1916 Doctor Steadman was married to Miss Mary J. Haflfner, a 
native of Lawrence, Mass., and a daughter of Lewis and Emily (Bour- 
isse) Haffner. Before her marriage Mrs. Steadman was a trained nurse, 
after having completed her course in the King County Hospital in 1914. 
Doctor and Mrs. Steadman have two sons: Thomas R., born March 15, 
1917; and Henry R., Jr., born Nov. 27, 1921. 

Doctor Steadman is identified with the Erie County Medical Society, 
the Pennsylvania State Medical Association and the American Medical 
Association. He is also a member of the American Public Health Asso- 



History of Erie County 771 

ciation and has served as chief medical inspector of the Erie public 
schools for seven years. He is a Republican, and a member of the 
Masonic and Elks lodges. He is connected with the staff of St. Vincent's 
and Hamot hospitals. Doctor Steadman is one of Erie's best known young 
men and is deservedly popular with his rapidly increasing practice. 

Dr. J. F. Robertson, a prominent physician of Erie, with offices at 918 
Peach Street, was born in Dorchester, New Brunswick, Canada, Sept. 11, 
1867, and is the son of Allan 0. and Margaret (MacDonald) Robertson. 

Allan 0. Robertson, deceased, was a native of Scotland, as was also 
his wife. When a young man he came to this country and settled in 
Providence, R. I. Later they moved to Maine, where he engaged in the 
lumber business. He moved to Connecticut, to engage in the building 
stone business, later moving to Canada, where the subject of this sketch 
was born. He served as superintendent of The Ohio Building Stone Com- 
pany for a number of years. In the year 1887 he went to Tacoma, Wash., 
and engaged in the building stone business there. He died at the age 
of 86. His wife is also deceased. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Robertson, who were married in Providence, R. I., 
in 1844, were born eight children, of whom four are now living: Cath- 
erine Gooding, lives at Central Falls, R. I.; Georgeanna Vinol, lives at 
Pasadena, Cal.; Margaret Bailey, lives at Dayton, Ohio; and Dr. J. F., the 
subject of this sketch. 

J. F. Robertson spent his boyhood in the state of Ohio and attended 
the Northwestern Ohio State Normal School (Ohio Northern) and Ober- 
lin College. He later went to the Pacific coast, where he engaged in the 
mercantile business for several years. In 1895 he was graduated by the 
Philadelphia Dental College and in 1896 by the Medico Chirurgical College 
of Philadelphia. He practiced dentistry from 1896 to 1900 in Philadel- 
phia. He practiced medicine in Philadelphia from 1900 to 1909. He 
served as a member of the Philadelphia Polyclinic staff for several years. 
He then moved to New Castle, Pa., where he specialized in Urology and 
Proctology for 13 years. Since January, 1923, he has been in Erie, where 
he is well established in general and special practice. 

On June 18, 1891, J. F. Robertson was united in marriage with Miss 
Anna L. Barker, of Seattle, Wash., and the daughter of David W. and 
Margaret L. Barker. They have three children: Allan D., bom Oct. 
22, 1894, lives in Erie, Pa., lessee and manager of Park Theatre; Gladys 



772 History of Erie County 

B. Wood, born July 13, 1896, lives at Cleveland; and Margaret L., born 
Aug. 22, 1904, a student at Lake Erie College, Painesville, Ohio. 

Doctor Robertson is identified with the Republican party in politics. 
He is a member of the Baptist church, a 32nd degree Mason, and belongs 
to the Shrine. He was formerly a member of the Philadelphia County 
Medical Society and the Lawrence County Medical Society, as well as 
other state and national associations. 

James B. Yard, the well known prothonotary of Erie County, is a 
native of Pennsylvania. He was born at Milton, Northumberland County, 
March 14, 1871, and is the son of John W. and Sarah (Buoy) Yard. 

John W. Yard was born in Pennsylvania, as was his wife. In 1890 
they came to Erie where he became a prominent architect. He died in 
1920 and his wife died three years later. They had three children: Wil- 
liam H., lives in Utica, N. Y. ; James B., the subject of this sketch; and 
Mrs. Grace Spangenberg, lives in Erie. 

After completing his early education in the schools of New York, 
James B. Yard entered Cornell University, from which he received his 
degree in 1894.. He then located in Erie with his father and engaged in 
architectural work until Jan. 1, 1916, when he was elected to his present 
office. Mr. Yard is now serving his third term and is most capable and 
efficient. He served as a member of the city council from 1900 until 1904. 

Mr. Yard was a member of the National Guard when the Spanish- 
American War broke out and was at that time made a first lieutenant in 
Company C, Fifteenth Regular Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry. He left 
for war April 26, 1898, and was transferred later from Mount Gretna 
to Athens, Ga., and later to Cuba with the rank of captain. He spent 
three months there and was discharged in Erie, Feb. 1, 1899. 

June 18, 1913, Mr. Yard was united in marriage with Miss Alice 
Daniel, of New York City. They have six children : Mary, married D. C. 
Dean ; William B., a student at Cornell University ; Amanda ; Daniel ; Laura- 
Grace ; and Florence. 

Mr. Yard has taken an active part in Republican politics and has been 
a delegate to two state conventions and to the national convention in Chi- 
cago in 1920. He is affiliated with the Masonic and Elk lodges and belongs 
to the University Club and the Spanish-American War Veterans. He and 
his family hold membership in the Kingsley Methodist Episcopal Church 
and are representative of the best citizenship in Erie County. 




JAMES B. YARD 



History of Erie County 773 

Dr. Fred Fisher, Jr., is one of Erie's capable young physicians and 
surgeons, whose practice is' limited to the treatment of eye, ear, nose and 
throat diseases. He was born at Brockwayville, Pa., Oct. 27, 1890, and 
is the son of Fred and Mary (Fraley) Fisher. 

Fred Fisher resides in Erie, where he is connected with the General 
Electric Company as paymaster. He is a native of Pentwater, Mich., 
born in 1869, and for many years lived at Kane, Pa., where he served as 
assistant postmaster for 25 years. His wife was born at Renovo, Pa., 
in 1869, and is the daughter of Sam and Permilia (Moore) Fraley. Mr. 
Fraley was connected with the Pennsylvania Railroad Company during 
his life and was the first conductor to run a train into Kane, Pa. To Mr. 
and Mrs. Fisher three children were born: Mary A. and Minnie May, 
both deceased ; and Dr. Fred, the subject of this sketch. 

Dr. Fred Fisher, Jr., received his education in the public schools of 
Kane, Pa., and after his high school graduation in 1909 he entered the 
University of Pennsylvania, where he received his degree as Doctor of 
Medicine in 1913. He was an interne in the Altoona (Pa.) Hospital for 
one year and in 1914 began the practice of his profession in Erie. He 
has taken post graduate work in the University of Pennsylvania, where 
he specialized in the study of eye, ear, nose and throat diseases. He has 
also taken post graduate work in the Eye, Ear, Nose and Throat Hospital 
of New Orleans (La.), the Loyola University, and Tulane University at 
New Orleans (La.). 

On April 30, 1924, Doctor Fisher established a hospital for eye, ear, 
nose and throat at 343 East 6th Street, and has a staff of nurses and 
twelve physicians. Miss Margurite M. Hollis is nurse in charge. The 
hospital is modernly equipped in every respect for this kind of work. 

On June 24, 1915, Doctor Fisher was united in marriage with Miss 
Mary D. Heison, of Philadelphia, and the daughter of Charles and Kezia 
(Cans) Heison, deceased. To Doctor and Mrs. Fisher have been born 
two children: Mary Dorothy, born Sept. 13, 1916; and Ruth Edith, born 
July 29, 1924. 

Doctor Fisher is identified with the American Medical Associaton, 
the Pennsylvania State Medical Association, and the Erie County Medical 
Society. He is a member of the Park Presbyterian Church, and is affili- 
ated with the Masonic Lodge No. 708 and the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows No. 107. Doctor Fisher has been unusually successful in his 
work and is deservedly popular in his community. 



774 History of Erie County 

Dr. George F, Stoney, a well known physician and surgeon of Erie, 
was born in Cleveland, Ohio, May 4, 1886, and is the son of George F. 
and Lenora (Shepard) Stoney. 

George F. Stoney is a native of Cleveland, born July 12, 1857, and his 
wife was born in that city, Aug. 14, 1859, the daughter of Joseph and 
Maryette (Demars) Shepard. Mr. Stoney has served as superintendent 
of the Lorain plant of the United States Steel Company for the past 20 
years. There were three children in the Stoney family: Alfred R., en- 
gaged in the foundry business at Elyria, Ohio; Thomas, who died at the 
age of four years; and Dr. George F. Stoney, the subject of this sketch. 

Dr. George F. Stoney attended the public schools of Wilkinsburg, Pa., 
and after completing a preparatory course at Bethany in 1903, he entered 
Jefferson Medical College, from which he received his degree in 1910. 
He then served as interne at St. John's Hospital, Pittsburgh, and in 1911 
located in Erie. His office is at 759 East 6th Street. 

On Oct. 12, 1910, Doctor Stoney was united in marriage with Miss 
Blanche Piersol, a native of Ostrander, Ohio, and the daughter of George 
and Abagail (Robinson) Piersol. To Doctor and Mrs. Stoney have been 
born three children: Florence V., born in February, 1912; George F., 
born June 19, 1915, died Aug. 30, 1919 ; and Mary B., born April 15, 1923. 

Doctor Stoney is a Republican, a member of the Church of Christ, 
and belongs to the Masonic lodge and Shrine. He is identified with the 
Erie County Medical Society, the Pennsylvania State Medical Associa- 
tion, and the American Medical Association. He is a member of St. Vin- 
cent's Hospital staff and ranks among the influential citizens of the 
community. 

Dr. C. B. Cleland, dentist, is a prominent citizen of Erie and a veteran 
of the World War. He was born in Crawford County, Pa., Sept. 1, 1884, 
and is the son of John J. and Martha May (MacFeeters) Cleland. Mr. 
Cleland has engaged in farming during his life and lives in Summit Town- 
ship, Erie County. His wife, a native of Crawford County, Pa., died in 
October, 1918. Doctor C. B., the subject of this sketch, is their only child. 

C. B. Cleland received his early education in the grade and high schools 
of Erie, from which he was graduated in 1904. After four years in the 
employ of the Ball Iron Works, Erie, he entered the dental school of the 
University of Michigan, from which he received his degree in 1911. He 
has since practiced his profession in Erie and has been in his present 



History of Erie County 775 

location, 24 West Ninth Street, since March, 1924. Doctor Cleland spe- 
cializes in dental X-ray work, and is capable in his profession. In 1920 
he completed a post graduate course in the University of Pennsylvania. 

Doctor Cleland enlisted for service during the World War on July 
10, 1917, and was commissioned a first lieutenant. On March 8, 1918, 
he was promoted to captain and served throughout the war as a member 
of the Third Division. Doctor Cleland was made a captain in the Penn- 
sylvania National Guard on Feb. 26, 1923, and is still serving in that 
capacity. 

On Aug. 22, 1906, Doctor Cleland was united in marriage with Miss 
Bess Mae Inman, who was born at Wattsburg, Erie County, Sept. 11, 
1883, and the daughter of Sylvester C. Inman, deceased. Doctor and Mrs. 
Cleland have an adopted daughter, Harriet Lick, born in 1910. Her 
parents are deceased and she has resided with her foster pai'ents since 
1922. 

Doctor Cleland is a member of the Simpson Methodist Episcopal 
Church and is Sunday School Superintendent. 

Dr. John H. Lloyd, who ranks among Erie County's capable physicians 
and surgeons, is a veteran of the World War. He was born in Ontario, 
Canada, Nov. 19, 1873, and is a son of Andrew and Jane (Smeaton) Lloyd. 

Mr. and Mrs. Andrew Lloyd, natives of Canada and Scotland, respec- 
tively, settled in Erie County in 1875. He was a machinist by trade and 
conducted a shop in Erie for a number of years. He now lives retired. 
His wife is deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. Lloyd three children were born: 
Edward William, general contract agent, Commonwealth Edison Com- 
pany, Chicago; John H., the subject of this sketch; and Arthur M., en- 
gaged in business with his brother in Chicago. 

John H. Lloyd received his early education in the public schools of 
Erie and in 1896 received his degree as Doctor of Medicine at Jefferson 
Medical College, Philadelphia. After two years at Fairview, Erie County, 
he established his practice in Erie, remaining here five years. The fol- 
lowing two years were spent in Florida and in 1907 Doctor Lloyd settled 
at West Mill Creek, Pa., where he was successfully engaged in practice 
for 17 years. His office in Erie is at 210 West 8th Street. 

On July 19, 1917, Doctor Lloyd volunteered for service during the 
World War and received the rank of first lieutenant. After six weeks 
at Camp Fort Oglethorpe, Ga., he was transferred to Camp Pike, Ark., 



776 History of Erie County 

where he served until Feb. 8, 1919. Doctor Lloyd was serving as a major 
at the close of the war, and was recently promoted a lieutenant colonel 
of the Officers Reserve Corps. 

On May 26, 1898, Doctor Lloyd was united in marriage with Miss 
Edith Willis, of Fairview, Pa., and a daughter of Rufus and Martha 
(Eaton) Willis. They have four children: Marjorie, born in 1900; A. 
W., born in 1902, a student at Grove City College ; Virginia, born in 1904 ; 
and Andrew, born in 1907. 

Doctor Lloyd is identified with the Erie County, Pennsylvania State 
and American Medical Associations. He is a Republican, a member of 
the Presbyterian church, and belongs to the Masonic lodge and the Knights 
of Pythias. He is a member of the Association of Military Surgeons 
of the United States. Doctor Lloyd is a substantial citizen and stands 
high in his profession. 

Dr. H. E. Lyons, one of Erie's prominent young physicians and sur- 
geons, who is a veteran of the World War, was born in this city, Nov. 22, 
1883, and is the son of Eugene and Mary (Hagmann) Lyons. 

Eugene Lyons is a native of Greenfield Township, Erie County, born 
in 1857, and his wife was born at Gloversville, N. Y., in 1862. They were 
married Oct. 17, 1882, and have four children: Dr. H. E., the subject 
of this sketch; Fred R., lives in Erie; Frank R., died in infancy; and 
Jessie M., at home. Mr. Lyons has worked at the carpenter trade for 
many years and resides in Erie. 

Dr. H. E. Lyons was graduated from Erie Central High School in 
1905 and received his degree as Doctor of Medicine at the University of 
Buffalo in 1909. His interne work was done in St. Vincent's Hospital, 
Erie, and in 1910 he began the practice of his profession at Fairview, 
Pa., where he remained until 1917. He volunteered for service during the 
World War and was commissioned a first lieutenant at Fort Oglethorpe, 
Ga., where he remained for six weeks. He was then stationed at Camp 
Stewart, Virginia, until his discharge, March 15, 1919. Since that time 
he has been located in Erie, with offices at 618 West 26th Street. He is 
a member of the staff of St. Vincent's Hospital. 

On April 24, 1913, Doctor Lyons was married to Miss Irene M. Wil- 
liams, of Erie, and the daughter of John F. and Marie Williams. They 
have a son, Robert W., born Aug. 5, 1914. 

In politics Doctor Lyons is identified with the Republican party. He 
is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church and belongs to the Masonic 




DR. H. E. LYONS 



History of Erie County 777 

Lodge, Shrine, the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and Lions Club. 
He is a member of the Erie County, State and American Medical Associa- 
tions. Doctor Lyons is progressive in his profession and has a host of 
friends and acquaintances in Erie. 

Dr. William S. Dietz, who is well and favorably known in Erie as a 
successful doctor of osteopathy, is a native of Pennsylvania. He was born 
in Pittsburgh, April 18, 1866, and is the son of Henry and Mary E. (Lam- 
berts) Dietz. 

Henry Dietz came to this country from Germany when a young man 
and settled in Pittsburgh. He died at the age of 34 years, and his wife 
died at the age of 85. They were the parents of the following children: 
Adam, deceased; Mary Patterson, lives in Pittsburgh, Pa.; Emma Dietz, 
lives in Pittsburgh; Harry, lives at Toronto, Ohio; and William S., the 
subject of this sketch. 

William S. Dietz received his early education in the schools of Pitts- 
burgh and in 1907 received his degree as Doctor of Osteopathy at the 
Union School of Osteopathy, Wheeling, W. Va. He then practiced his 
profession in Pittsburgh until 1916, when he removed to Erie. He has 
offices in the Commerce Building and has an extensive practice. Doctor 
Dietz has taken post graduate work in the Palmer Chiropractic School 
at Oklahoma City, Okla., and a course of Electronic Medicine at Brad- 
ford, Pa. 

Doctor Dietz has four children: Sherman, Seleah Beatty, Ada B., and 
Charles, all living in Pittsburgh. 

Doctor Dietz is a member of the Lutheran church and belongs to the 
Knights of Malta and Elks lodge. 

Dr. Fred Thomas Hicks, well known doctor of osteopathy and highly 
esteemed citizen of Erie, is a native of Canada. He was born at Lotus, 
Ontario, June 2, 1877, and is the son of William T. and Esther (Parsons) 
Hicks. 

William T. Hicks and his wife were born in Canada and settled in 
Erie in 1888 where he followed his trade as a mill wright. He is now 
deceased. His wife resides at 614 East 23rd Street, Erie. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Hicks, who were married Feb. 2, 1875, four children were born: 
Nellie A. Schmid, a nurse at the Soldiers' Home, lives with her mother 
in Erie; Fred Thomas, the subject of this sketch; J. Howard, a leading 



778 History of Erie County 

architect of Erie, with oflfices in the Palace Building; and Evelyn Blanche 
Tanner of Erie. 

Fred Thomas Hicks received his early education in Canada and after 
coming to Erie with his parents attended the public and high schools 
here. In 1912 he took up the study of osteopathy at Kirksville, Mo., 
which he completed in 1915. He then began the practice of his profession 
at Oregon, 111., and in 1918 located in Erie. In 1921 he removed to his 
present location, 124 West 7th Street, where he has an extensive practice. 

Doctor Hicks is identified with the Erie County Osteopathic Society, 
of which he served as secretary and treasurer for three years, and he 
belongs to the State and American Osteopathic Associations. 

On June 21, 1905, Doctor Hicks was united in marriage with Miss 
Blanche Helene Ellis, a native of Crawford County, Pa., born March 9, 
1879, and the daughter of Rev. WiUiam H. and Sarah Elizabeth (Kirby) 
Ellis. Reverend Ellis, who now resides at Uniontown, Pa., served as 
pastor of the Second Baptist Church in Erie for one year. His wife is 
deceased. They were the parents of the following children: Irene Carrie 
Sweyer, lives at 821 East 25th Street, Erie; Mrs. Hicks; Jessie Estelle, 
deceased ; William Stanley, lives at Uniontown, Pa. ; Rachel Gertrude Van- 
Kirk, lives at Bellevue, Pa.; and Leon G., lives in Philadelphia. Doctor 
and Mrs. Hicks have two children: William Roland, born June 13, 1908; 
and Wallace Arnold, born Nov. 16, 1911; a son, Frederick Ellis, died in 
infancy. 

Doctor Hicks is a Republican, a member of the Baptist church, and 
belongs to the Masonic lodge and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 
He ranks among the progressive men in his profession. 

R. B. Way, a well known and substantial citizen of Erie County, who 
is successfully engaged in the real estate and insurance business at Erie, 
is a native of Pennsylvania. He was born in Center County, Aug. 14, 1894, 
and is the son of Benner W. and Anna C. (Sellers) Way. 

Benner W. Way was born at Buffalo Run, in Center County, Pa., where 
he engaged in general farming. Later, he was a merchant. He died in 
1922 at the age of 70 years and his wife now resides at State College, Pa. 
Mr. and Mrs. Way were the parents of the following children: Earl C, 
deceased; Ida M., married P. B. Meek, lives at State College, Pa.; I. G., 
lives at Erie; A. S., also lives at Erie; and R. B., the subject of this 
sketch. 



History of Erie County 779 

R. B. Way spent his boyhood on his father's farm in Pennsylvania and 
attended the public schools. He was a student at Altoona, Pa., and later 
attended high school and a year at State College, Pa. When a young 
man he became associated with the Aluminum Cooking Utensil Company 
and later with the Colgate Company at Pittsburgh, Pa. In 1913 he came 
to Erie and at the age of 21 years engaged in the real estate business there, 
in which he has since been successfully engaged. He organized the R. B. 
Way Company and is president of the concern. Mr. Way is also president 
of the Frontier Company, secretary and treasurer of the Penn-Erie Land 
Company, vice president of the Citizens Mortgage Company, president of 
Erie Real Estate Board and secretary of Erie Industrial Board. 

On Dec. 21, 1915, Mr. Way was married to Miss Grace F. Reeder. of 
Altoona, Pa., and the daughter of Charles W. and Addie (Bates) Reeder. 
To this union a daughter has been born, Virginia Grace, born Feb. 9, 1924. 

Politically, Mr. Way is a Republican. He holds membership in the 
First Methodist Church of Erie, is a 32nd degree Mason, a member of the 
Shrine, Elks, Erie Club, Chamber of Commerce, Erie Yacht Club, Erie 
Motor Club, Old Colony Club, and the Y. M. C. A. Mr. Way is a believer 
in progressive methods in his business, and is always ready to support 
the best interests of the community. 

F. R. Simmons, a well known pioneer business man of Erie, who is 
engaged in the wholesale dairy business, was born at East Springfield, Pa., 
March 3, 1845, and is the son of Elliott and Mary (Hart) Simmons. 

Elliott Simmons was born at Jamestown, N. Y., in 1810, and was among 
the early settlers of Springfield, Pa., where he was proprietor of a tannery 
for 35 years. His wife was born at Weston, Vt., and died at the age of 
25 years. They had two children: Herman, who died at the age of 13 
years ; and F. R., the subject of this sketch. 

After attending the schools of Springfield, Pa., F. R. Simmons entered 
Oberlin College, from which he was graduated in 1870. He then taught 
school for three years and in 1873 came to Erie, where he became inter- 
ested in the hide and leather business, in which he was successfully en- 
gaged until 1915. Beside this business, Mr. Simmons in 1889 entered the 
cold storage business. He owned the first cold storage plant between 
Cleveland and Buffalo, N. Y. He deals in butter, eggs, cheese and other 
dairy products. 

In 1872 Mr. Simmons was united in marriage with Miss Susanna Als- 
dorf, a native of Utica, Ohio, and the daughter of William and Sarah 



780 History of Erie County 

(Reed) Alsdorf, deceased. Mrs. Simmons died in 1917 and is buried in 
Erie. To Mr. and Mrs. Simmons a daughter was born, Ruth, now the 
wife of A. W. Brevillier, who Hves in Erie. They have a daughter, Ruth, 
born in 1904. She married Robert VanCleve and they live in Erie. 

Mr. Simmons is a Repubhcan and for 50 years has held membership 
in the Park Presbyterian Church. He is a reliable citizen and has been 
able to build up a successful business by his integrity and progressive 
methods. During the years of 1880 and 1885 Mr. Simmons was a mem- 
ber of Common and Select Council of Erie. 

Frederick Brevillier, deceased, was a native of Germany, born Aug. 
29, 1838, and the son of Alexander and Christiane Brevillier. The family 
was of French-Huguenot origin and the founders of the family in Ger- 
many were refugees who fled from France to escape the persecutions inci- 
dent to the revocation of the Edict of Nantes in 1685. 

After receiving his education in the schools of his native land, Fred- 
erick Brevillier came to this country with his parents in 1854. They set- 
tled in Erie, where his elder brother, Gustav F., had taken up his residence 
several years previously. In 1855 Mr. Brevillier was a student in the 
Erie Academy, and in the spring of the following year he became an 
employe in a large importing house in New York City, where he remained 
until the latter part of 1857. Later, he attended business college in 
Cleveland, after which he accepted the position of secretary and treas- 
urer of the Croton Glass Works, at New Castle, Pa., but returned to Erie 
a short time later. Here he entered the employ of J. V. Boyer, who con- 
ducted a hardware establishment on upper State Street. In January, 1861, 
he became bookkeeper in the wholesale grocery establishment of J. John- 
ston & Brother, and on Feb. 23, 1864, he was admitted to the firm as a 
copartner with Joseph and Orville Johnston, under the firm name of John- 
ston & Brevillier. Under this title the business was conducted for nearly 
two score of years, and during all this time the reputation of the firm 
was impregnable, while it advanced to the rank of one of the leading 
commercial concerns of this section of the state. Based upon honorable 
dealings and most effective service, the business of the house reached 
extensive propoi'tions and covered a large territory. 

On March 12, 1901, Joseph Johnston retired from the firm, owing to 
advanced age and the desii-e to be free from the exactions of active busi- 




cjfe^>-i-c.^- CJyU2^''i^~'oC^^-<-''y 



History of Erie County 781 

ness. Mr. Brevillier purchased his partner's interest in the business, 
which he thereafter continued, under his own name until April 1, 1906, 
when, after 45 years of arduous and effective work in the wholesale 
grocery trade, he too felt it expedient to retire, and the business was 
closed out. Mr. Brevillier died Dec. 24, 1910, and his wife died April 
25, 1924. 

On Oct. 6, 1864, Mr. Brevillier was married to Miss Charlotte M. 
Walther, a native of France, and the daughter of the late Jacob F. Walther. 
To this union were born four sons, all of whom are actively identified with 
business interests in Erie. They are: Frederick A., Charles G., Arthur 
W. and Edwin H. Brevillier. 

Frederick A. Brevillier, president of the Bank of Erie Trust Company, 
is one of Erie County's most prominent business men and highly esteemed 
citizens. He was born in this city, Sept. 6, 1866, and is the son of Fred- 
erick and Charlotte M. Brevillier. 

Mr. Brevillier received his education in the public schools of Erie, 
■and began his business career with the wholesale grocery firm of Johnston 
& Brevillier, where he remained until February, 1897, at which time he 
became associated in business with C. M. Conrad, and two years later, 
when the business of C. M. Conrad was absorbed by the Erie Brewing 
Company, Mr. Brevillier was elected its secretary, which position he held 
until January, 1919, when he was elected vice president and treasurer. 

In the organization of the Bank of Erie in 1918 he was elected its 
president, which oflSce he has since filled. He is also connected in an 
official capacity with the United Gas & Fuel Company of Hamilton, On- 
tario, which supplies natural and manufactured gas in Hamilton, and is 
connected with the Hamilton By-Products Coke Ovens, Ltd., of Hamilton. 

On June 28, 1893, Mr. Brevillier was united in marriage with Miss 
Katherine E. Conrad, a native of Erie, and the daughter of Charles M. and 
Dorothea Conrad. Mr. Conrad died Nov. 26, 1910, and his wife died Jan. 
22, 1882. Mr. and Mrs. Brevillier have no children. 

Mr. Brevillier is affiliated with the Masonic fraternity, being a Knights 
Templar, 32nd degree Scottish Rite Mason, and a member of Zem Zem 
Temple, A. A. 0. Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. He is also a member of 
the Erie Chamber of Commerce, the Erie Club, Kahkwa Club, Rotary Club 
of Erie, and other civic organizations. In politics he is a Republican. 



782 History of Erie County 

Harry M. Kenyon is a prominent citizen and successful business man 
of Erie. He is engaged in the real estate business with offices at 14 East 
8th Street. Mr. Kenyon was born at Edinboro, Pa., May 29, 1891, the 
son of Elwin D. and Euretta (Hotchkiss) Kenyon. 

Elwin D. Kenyon is a substantial citizen of Erie. He was born at Edin- 
boro, Pa., as was also his wife. Many years ago he came to Erie and for 
the past 15 years has served as sales manager of the Baldwin Real Estate 
Company. Mr. and Mrs. Kenyon have the following children: Harry M., 
the subject of this sketch; Mrs. Alberta Young, lives at Erie; John W., 
lives at Erie, where he is employed by the Pennsylvania Railroad as a 
detective ; and Treva, a student. 

Harry M. Kenyon has lived in Erie since he was a small boy. After 
attending the public schools he clerked in a local clothing store and at 
the age of 21 years became affiliated with the Baldwin Company, real 
estate dealers. In 1916 he engaged in business for himself at 412 Com- 
merce Building, where he was located until May, 1923, at which time he 
removed to his present location. Mr. Kenyon deals in improved property 
exclusively and has an extensive business. 

On Sept. 18, 1912, Mr. Kenyon was united in marriage with Miss 
Josephine Bergsten, a native of Erie, and the daughter of Charles and 
Emma Bergsten, both deceased. Mrs. Kenyon's father died when she 
was a small child and her mother was drowned in the Erie flood. There 
were three children in the Bergsten family: Mrs. Helen Hiller, lives at 
330 East 28th St., Erie; Mrs. Kenyon and Ralph, who lives at San Diego, 
Cal. To Mr. and Mrs. Kenyon have been born two children: Lucile, born 
July 19, 1916; and Marjorie, born July 2, 1919. 

Mr. Kenyon is a Republican and belongs to the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows and the Elks lodge. His wife is a member of the Catholic 
Church. 

Dr. Aulrey J. T. Barton is well and favorably known in Erie as a suc- 
cessful young dentist. He was born in Canada, Jan. 6, 1899, and is the 
son of Robert James and Amelia (Davidson) Barton. There are seven 
children in the Barton family, as follows: Newton James, Charles Ken- 
neth, William Edward, Walter Robert, Wilfred Norman, Charlotte Sarah 
Anne, and Dr. Aulrey J. T., the subject of this sketch. 

Aulrey J. T. Barton was reared and educated in Toronto, Canada, and 
in 1921 received his degree as Doctor of Dentistry. He has since prac- 



History of Erie County 783 

ticed his profession in Erie and has met with marked success. His office 
is located at 705 Commerce Building. Doctor Barton enlisted for service 
during the World War and served two years overseas with the Canadian 
Expeditionary Forces. 

On June 19, 1924, Doctor Barton was united in marriage with Miss 
Ruth C. Allen, who was born at Edinboro, Pa., the daughter of Harvey 
and Claudia (Ross) Allen. To Doctor Barton and wife has been born a 
daughter, Phyllis Jean, born March 29, 1925. 

Politically, Doctor Barton is a Republican. He is a member of the 
First Methodist Episcopal Church and belongs to the County, State and 
National Dental Associations. He is also a member of the Psi Omega 
fraternity. 

James D. Walker is among the highly esteemed and prominent business 
men of Erie County. He was born at Erie, Jan. 28, 1874, and is the son 
of James and Jane (Johnson) Walker. 

James Walker, deceased, was a native of Scotland. At the age of 23 
years he came to this country and settled in Erie County, Pa., where he 
engaged in general farming. In later life he was a merchant. Mr. and 
Mrs. Walker were the parents of the following children : Mrs. Anna Howe, 
deceased; Francis J., deceased; Thomas W., lives retired at Erie; Mrs. 
Elizabeth Gwinnell, lives at Erie ; Mrs. Jane Jack, lives at Erie ; Mrs. Mar- 
garet Bennett, deceased; Mrs. Sarah Warfet, lives at Erie; and James D., 
the subject of this sketch. 

James D. Walker grew up in Erie and attended the public schools 
there. When a boy he learned the printer's trade and later became a 
builder of homes. He has been actively engaged since 1897 in the pur- 
chasing of large plots of land and the erection thereon of very fine dwell- 
ings. In addition to the real estate and building business Mr. Walker 
has since 1918 manufactured hardwood and cloth covered caskets — the 
plant which is one of the largest of its kind in the world, is located between 
9th and 10th Streets on the Pennsylvania Railroad tracks at Erie, Pa. 
Mr. Walker is president and owner of Erie Burial Case Co., of Erie. He is 
president of the Elmira Casket Company of Elmira, N. Y. His real estate 
offices are located in his beautiful new fireproof building at 703 Peach 
Street. 

Mr. Walker has a son, Everett David, who was born in 1895. After 
attending the public and high schools of Erie, he spent three years at 



784 History of Erie County 

Swarthmore and Cornell Universities, and one year at Columbia Uni- 
versity, New York City. He then enlisted in the World War and sailed 
for overseas where he served for 18 months. He returned to the United 
States in May, 1918. January, 1917, he went into training camp at Ogle- 
thorpe, Ga. He served in the ordnance department. He is now engaged 
in the manufacturing business with his father. 

In politics Mr. Walker is identified with the Republican party. He is 
affiliated with the Central Presbyterian Church of Erie, and belongs to the 
Elks lodge, the Board of Commerce, the Real Estate Board, the Erie Motor 
Club, the Yacht Club and the Kahkwa Club. Mr. Walker is well known 
in his community. 

Reg H. Howell, registrer of wills in Erie County, is a native of Erie. 
He was born at 21 West 2nd Street, Oct. .5, 1872, and is the son of Chauncey 
G. and Isabelle (Mehaffey) Howell. 

Chauncey G. Howell, deceased, was born in Erie in 1841 and his wife 
was born there in 1842. She was the daughter of Hugh Mehaffey, a very 
early settler of Erie. Mr. Howell was associated with the grocery firm of 
French & McKnight, on State Street, and died in 1883 in Detroit while 
on a lake trip to Detroit, Mich. His wife died in 1914. They had two sons : 
Harry P., who died Oct. 14, 1923, at the age of 56 years, and Reg H., the 
subject of this sketch. 

Reg H. Howell was educated in the public schools of Erie and began 
life as a messenger boy for the Lake Shore & Michigan Southern Railway 
at $22.50 per month. He remained in their employ for 13 years and at 
the time of his resignation was soliciting agent. He then engaged in the 
life insurance business representing the Mutual Benefit Life Insurance 
Company of Newark, N. J., and he was thus engaged until his appointment 
as deputy sheriff, in which capacity he served one year. He was then 
made assistant postmaster of Erie under Isador Sobel, and on March 15, 
1911, he again engaged in the insurance business with the above named 
company, with whom he was associated until 1915. Mr. Howell was then 
elected county registrer and recorder, taking office Jan. 1, 1916. He was 
reelected registrer and recorder in 1919 and in 1923 was elected registrer 
of wills, when the office was automatically divided by law. 

Mr. Howell was married, March 5, 1899, to Miss Florence A. Dorsch, of 
Erie, the daughter of John Dorsch. They have a daughter, Virginia, who 
was graduated with honors from Erie High School in the class of 1925. 




R. H. HOWEI.L 



History of Erie County 785 

Mr. Howell is a Republican and is identified with the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, Knights of Pythias, Erie Maennerchor, Elks and 
Moose lodges. He is widely known throughout Erie County and is highly 
esteemed. 

Dr. John J. Koehler is among the enterprising and successful young 
dentists of Erie with offices at 701-702 Commerce Building. He is a na- 
tive of Philadelphia, born July 23, 1898, and a sjn of Dr. C. E. and 
Catherine A. (Ackerman) Koehler. 

Dr. C. E. Koehler, deceased, was a well known dentist of Erie, where 
he practiced his profession for 20 years. He died at the age of 45 years 
and his widow resides at 344 East Eighth Street, Erie. To Doctor and 
Mrs. Koehler were born three children: Marion Devine, lives in Erie; 
Dr. John J., the subject of this sketch; and Catherine, dietician at the 
University Hospital, Philadelphia. 

John J. Koehler was graduated from Central High School, Erie, in 
1917, and after completing a year's study at Western Reserve Univer- 
sity, Cleveland, he enlisted in the Medical Reserve Corps for service dur- 
ing the World War. He was transferred to the Pittsburgh University 
Dental School, where he received his degree of Doctor of Dentistry in 
1921. He has since been located in Erie. 

Doctor Koehler is a Republican, a member of the Lutheran Memorial 
Church, and belongs to the Masonic lodge and Shrine, the Elks and the 
Delta Sigma Delta fraternity. He is a member of the Erie County Dental 
Society, the Pennsylvania State Dental Association, the Lake Erie Dental 
Society, and the American Dental Association. Doctor Koehler has an 
extensive acquaintance in Erie and is held in the highest esteem. 

S. H. Drown, a member of the firm of Drown-Russell Company, real 
estate and insurance dealers, ranks among the pi'ogressive and enterpris- 
ing business men of Erie. He was born on a farm in Green Township, 
Erie County, Sept. 12, 1876, and is the son of Hosea and Melvina M. (Hil- 
born) Drown. 

Hosea Drown was born in Green Township, July 13, 1833, and his 
wife was also a native of the same township, born March 31, 1848. He 
followed general farming during his life and met with success. He died 
in 1912 and his wife died in 1906. Mr. and Mrs. Drown had four children: 
Myron Cyril, Hves at Erie; S. H., the subject of this sketch; Arthur L., 
(50) 



786 History of Erie County 

engaged in business with his brother, S. H. ; and Mrs. Bertha Catherine 
French, lives at Newark, Ohio. 

S. H. Drown was reared on his father's farm and was educated in the 
district schools and also attended the Erie public schools. On Feb. 1, 1901, 
he engaged in the real estate business at 716 State Street, where he re- 
mained until 1911, at which time he removed to his present location in 
the Marine National Bank Building. The firm of Drown-Russell Company 
was organized on Jag. 1, 1918. 

On Sept. 12, 1901, Mr. Drown was married to Miss Bertha L. Russell, 
the daughter of Thomas J., and Amy (Campbell) Russell, residents of 
Erie. Mr. and Mrs. Drown have no children. In politics Mr. Drown is 
identified with the Republican party. He is a member of the Central Pres- 
byterian Church, a 33rd degree Mason, the Zem-Zem Temple of the Mystic 
Shrine, at Erie, and belongs to the Chamber of Commerce and the Erie 
Real Estate Board. 

Isaac Baker. Among the most prominent pioneer business men and 
influential citizens of Erie is Isaac Baker of the firm of Isaac Baker & 
Son, clothiers, 629 State Street. His many years residence in this city 
have been spent not only in establishing this extensive business but in 
promoting the public interests of Erie in many directions. He is a native 
of Germany, born in the province of Rhine, Aug. 22, 1847, and the son 
of Bernard and Barbara Baker, both natives of Germany. 

When the family came to the United States in 1849, they located at 
once in Erie, but after remaining here for about two months removed to 
Girard, Pa., which remained the family home for eight or nine years, 
during which time the father engaged in general merchandising. Mr. 
Baker then returned to Erie with his family, where he established a cloth- 
ing and dry goods business, and was thus engaged until the time of his 
death, his wife having died several years previous. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Baker were born six children, namely: Isaac, the subject of this sketch; 
Sarah, deceased; Emma Ostheimer, lives in Erie; Helen, deceased; Frank, 
deceased ; and Henry, engaged in the real estate business in Cleveland. 

Isaac Baker was reared in Girard and Erie, received his education in 
the public schools of these two places and at the age of 14 years became 
his father's regular assistant in the conduct of his business, subsequently 
becoming a member of the firm. Upon the retirement of the senior mem- 
ber of the firm from active business, Isaac Baker and his brother-in-law 
succeeded to the business, their store then being located at 510 State 



History of Erie County 787 

Street. In about 1869 they purchased what was then known as the Cald- 
well Block on the southeast corner of Fifth and State streets, which they 
remodeled into what became the leading wholesale and retail clothing store, 
as well as merchant tailoring house in Erie or this portion of the state. 
The original style of the firm was B. Baker but upon his son's association 
with his brother-in-law, Jacob Ostheimer, it became Baker & Ostheimer. 
Upon the retirement of the latter, Alfred Baker, son of Isaac, was admitted 
into the firm, which then became Isaac Baker & Son, as at present. The 
business has been in its present location since 1906, a modern four story, 
brick building. During the time Mr. Baker was engaged in the wholesale 
business he became well known among the business men in the following 
counties of Pennsylvania: Crawford, Mercer, Butler, Venango and Law- 
rence. 

Mr. Baker is acknowledged not only to be one of the leading merchants 
of Erie but among its most public spirited and progressive citizens, his 
interest in all forms of public education and charitable work being especially 
deep. He was one of the original promoters of the Erie Public Library, 
having been one of the board which permitted the city to own its own 
library and largely through his energy and wisdom this institution has 
become one of the leaders of its kind in the state. As stated he has also 
been identified with the local board of education and has been a member 
of the board since 1885 and for two terms served as its president. He has 
also been a trustee of St. Vincent's Hospital since its organization. He is 
also at the head of various social and religious organizations of the city 
and is an active member of the Chamber of Commerce and is also a director 
of the Security & Savings Bank, of which he was an organizer. Mr. 
Baker is a member of the Jewish faith and served as president of the 
Jewish temple in Erie, for a number of years. 

At the age of 24 years Mr. Baker was married to Miss Bertha Einhorn, 
a native of New York City, and the daughter of Rev. Dr. David Einhorn, 
one of the most noted reform rabbis of his time. The five children born 
to Mr. and Mrs. Baker are: Clara, the widow of J. Mayer, a prominent 
merchant of Cleveland for many years; Alfred, a member of the fimi of 
Isaac Baker & Son, married Blanche Goldman, of Baltimore, Md. ; Edward 
M., a graduate of the University of Chicago, lives in Cleveland, where he 
is president of the Cleveland Stock Exchange; Belle, lives at home; and 
Florence, married Rabbi Max C. Currick, lives in Erie. 

Mr. Baker is a member of the Erie and University clubs. 



788 History of Erie County 

Peter LeSueur, principal of the Erie Conservatory of Music since its 
inception in 1913, has had a long and distinguished career in the realm 
of music. He began the study of the piano at the age of seven and the 
organ a year later. At nine he was appointed organist of the Aquila 
Road Church, Jersey, England, which fact was commented upon in an 
article on "Musical Prodigies" in the San Francisco "Argonaut." He was 
organist of the Victoria Street Congregational Church at 16 ; winner of 
the medal offered by the "Western Daily Mail," Cardiff, for original com- 
position, and of numerous prizes offered by various musical journals for 
compositions, articles on musical history and musical knowledge. He did 
considerable concert work as piano soloist and accompanist and gave many 
organ recitals. 

After passing the Preliminary Arts examination for Bachelor of 
Music, Oxford University, he matriculated at New College in 1892, getting 
through the Intermediate Mus. Bac. exams in due course. Before taking 
his final exams he received at the hands of Mr. A. J. Eyre, organist of 
the Crystal Palace, London, after competitive examination, the valuable 
colonial appointments of Solo Organist and Music Master of the Meth- 
odist College, St. John's, Newfoundland, and Organist and Choirmaster 
of Gower Street Church. Four years later he received leave of absence 
and successfully took the final exams for Bachelor of Music under Sir 
John Stainer, the University Professor of Music ; Sir C. Huburt H. Parry, 
the Choragus, and Sir Walter Parratt. Mr. LeSueur has also taken the 
Fellowship diploma of the Royal College of Organists, London (the high- 
est diploma obtainable in the organ playing world), with Sir George C. 
Martin, Organist of St. Paul's Cathedral, London ; Sir Frederick Bridge, 
Organist of Westminster Abbey, and other famous musicians as exam- 
iners. He also passed the searching requirements for the diploma of 
Licentiate of the Royal Academy of Music, London. Mr. LeSueur held 
his Newfoundland appointments for ten years, during which time he 
taught piano, organ, voice and theoretical branches, making a brilliant 
reputation for himself as a pedagogue. Some hundreds of pupils passed 
through his hands and many are now occupying honored positions in the 
musical world. He was founder and conductor of St. John's Choral and 
Orchestral Society and received the honor of presentation to the present 
King and Queen of England at Government House, St. John's. He came 
to Erie in 1905 as organist and choirmaster of St. Paul's Episcopal Cathe- 
dral, which position he now holds. He was made a Fellow of the American 



History of Erie County ■ 789 

Guild of Organists in 1912, and asked to form a Western Pennsylvania 
Chapter of the Guild, but the pressure of his many musical activities 
compelled him to decline. He was director of Thiel College Conservatory 
of Music for five years and relinquished this position to devote his entire 
time to the exacting requirements of his Cathedral and Conservatory 
duties in Erie. 

Mr. LeSueur was born at Jersey, England, Jan. 9, 1871, and is the 
son of Peter and Miriam LeSueur, the latter deceased. There were six 
children in the LeSueur family: Peter, Florence, Mabel, Charles, Maude 
and Percival. 

In August, 1905, Mr. LeSueur was married in St. John's Church, 
Westminster, London, England, to Miss Muriel Kate Hunter Watts. They 
have a son, John Hunter, born in Erie July 8, 1912. 

Mr. LeSueur is a Republican, a member of St. Paul's Episcopal Cathe- 
dral and belongs to the Masonic Lodge, Rotary Club and the Chamber 
of Commerce. 

Ethard A. Rhoads is among Erie's prominent young business men. 
He was born at Omaha, Neb., March 31, 1903, and is a son of Clyde and 
Jennie (Blair) Rhoads. 

Clyde Rhoads, deceased, was born at Claypool, Ind., May 12, 1870. 
For 22 years he operated a feather mattress plant in Indiana, which he 
sold in 1915. Since 1915 the Rhoads family has resided at Erie, where 
Mr. Rhoads was successfully engaged in the transfer business for many 
years. He died in 1922 and is buried at Silverlake, Ind. His wife was 
born at Silverlake, Ind., in 1873, and lives at 240 West 18th Street, Erie. 
She is the owner of the Clyde Rhoads Transfer Company. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Rhoads one child was born, Ethard A., the subject of this sketch. 

Ethard A. Rhoads received his education in the public and high schools 
at Erie and is a gi-aduate of the New York Military Academy. He is now 
in charge of his father's business, which is among the leading enterprises 
of its kind in the city. Mr. Rhoads operates 14 automobile trucks and 
does all kinds of moving' and trucking. 

On Aug. 28, 1922, Mr. Rhoads was united in marriage with Miss 
Leona Brady, of Greenville, Pa., and they have one son, Robert, born 
June 26, 1928. 

Mr. Rhoads is a Democrat, a member of the United Brethren Church 
and belongs to the Eagles lodge. 



790 History of Erie County 

John J. Quinn, funeral director, is among the substantial and well 
known business men of Erie. He was born there, April 22, 1893, and 
is a son of W. J. and Sarah (McMahon) Quinn. 

W. J. Quinn was a native of County Tyrone, Ireland, born in 1845. 
At the age of ten years he came to this country with his parents and 
settled at Providence, R. I., where he was educated. He served through- 
out the Civil War as a captain in the Rhode Island cavalry and after 
the close of the war removed to Erie, where he engaged in the under- 
taking business. Mr. Quinn was actively engaged in his profession for 
45 years, and died suddenly on Nov. 22, 1919. He was a member of St. 
Patrick's Catholic Church and a highly esteemed member of his com- 
munity. His wife was born in New York City in 1855 and died March 
23, 1920. Mr. and Mrs. Quinn were the parents of seven children, four 
of whom are now living. 

John J. Quinn attended the schools of Erie and in 1912 became 
associated in business with his father at his present location, 133 East 
4th Street. He served during the World War in the school of arms 
at Camp Lee, being in service from September, 1917, until December, 
1918. On Feb. 3, 1925, Mr. Quinn was married to Harriet Burgess 
Parke, born in Erie, Pa., a daughter of John F. and Sarah (Burgess) 
Parke. Mr. Parke is deceased and Mrs. Parke resides at 315 West 7th 
Street, Erie Pa. 

Politically Mr. Quinn is identified with the Democratic party. He is 
a member of St. Patrick's Catholic Church and belongs to the Knights 
of Columbus, the Elks Club, the Erie Yacht Club and the American 
Legion. He is a member of the Erie Morticians Association, the Penn- 
sylvania Funeral Directors Association, as well as the national organ- 
ization. 

William Hagenlocher, who ranks among the successful real estate 
operators of Erie, was born there, Oct. 13, 1886, the son of Jacob and 
Anna (Rose) Hagenlocher. 

Jacob Hagenlocher was born in Germany, as was also his wife. In 
1870 he came to this country and located at Erie, where he entered the 
employ of the Erie City Iron Works. For the past 18 years he has lived 
retired. His wife died in 1919 and is buried in Erie cemetery. Mr. and 
Mrs. Hagenlocher were the parents of the following children: Mary, de- 
ceased; Henry, lives in Erie, where he is engaged in the manufacturing 



History of Erie County 791 

business; Charles, engaged in the real estate business at Erie; George, 
deceased; Frank, lives in Erie; William, the subject of this sketch; Anna, 
who is employed in her brother William's office; Lena, a trained nurse, 
lives in Erie; Ernest, engaged in the electrical supply business in Erie; 
Edith, married Hubert Bi-ubacker, lives in Erie; and Emma, who died 
in 1923. 

William Hagenlocher received his education in the public and high 
schools at Erie and after completing his schooling became interested in 
the manufacturing business. In 1909 he sold his manufacturing plant 
and engaged in the real estate business at 1108 State Street. Two years 
later he removed to his present location at 27 East 8th Street. 

On June 23, 1914, Mr. Hagenlocher was united in marriage with Miss 
Lillian E. Blass, of Erie. She is a daughter of Adam and Mary Blass, 
residents of Erie. To Mr. and Mrs. Hagenlocher has been born one daugh- 
ter, Martha Jane, born in May, 1916. 

In politics Mr. Hagenlocher is identified with the Republican party. 
He is a member of the Lutheran Memorial Church of Erie and belongs 
to the Masonic and Elks lodges and the Knights of Pythias. He is a 
public spirited citizen who holds the high regard of all who know him. 

Leo J. Burgoyne, a successful and well known merchant of Erie, who 
is engaged in the grocery business at 461 East 6th Street, is a native 
of Erie. He was born March 2, 1881, and is a son of John J. and Mary 
(Hanley) Burgoyne. 

John J. Burgoyne, deceased, was born in Harbor Creek Township, 
Erie County, in 1854. He served as a mail carrier for a number of years 
and was in the service when there were only 18 men employed at the 
Erie postoffice. He later engaged in the livery business at 7th and French 
streets. He died in 1909, and is buried in Trinity cemetery. His wife 
is a native of Erie Where she now resides. Mr. and Mrs. Burgoyne were 
the parents of six children, as follows: Sarah, a teacher, lives in Erie; 
Mrs. Agnes Taylor, lives in New York; James, employed by the General 
Electric Company, lives at Erie ; John J., ticket agent at the union station, 
Erie; Leo J., the subject of this sketch; and Susan, at home. 

Leo J. Burgoyne was reared in Erie and attended the public and high 
schools there. When a young man he entered the employ of the Dispatch 
Printing & Engraving Company of Erie, where he remained until 1917. 
He then established a grocery business at 5th and Wallace streets, which 



792 History of Erie County 

he sold in 1921. He then purchased the grocery business of William 
Schwab, which was established in 1900. He handles a staple line of 
groceries, candies, cigars, tobacco and patent medicines, and is among the 
leading merchants of the community. 

On Aug. 24, 1920, Mr. Burgoyne was married to Miss Rosella Cauley, 
a native of Hollywood, Cal., and a daughter of John J. and Mary (Welch) 
Cauley, residents of Hollywood, Cal. Mrs. Burgoyne is a graduate of 
Mount Mercy Academy, Buffalo, N. Y. To Mr. and Mrs. Burgoyne one 
child has been born, Rosella, born Oct. 7, 1923. Their residence is located 
at 333 East 6th Street. 

Mr. Burgoyne is a Republican and he and his family hold membership 
in the St. Patrick's Catholic Church. 

Karl E. Morrison is a leading architect and prominent citizen of Erie. 
He was born at Lowville, Erie County, March 23, 1886, and is the son of 
Albert G. and Elizabeth (Ensign) Morrison. 

Albert G. Morrison was born at Newmarket, Ontario, Canada, and his 
wife was a native of North East, Pa. In early life he was a merchant and 
also engaged in general farming. Later he became interested in the insur- 
ance business and represented the Metropolitan and Mutual Life of New 
York and the New York Life Insurance Company. He now lives retired 
in Los Angeles, Cal. His wife died June 1, 1913. To Mr. and Mrs. Morrison 
four children were born as follows : Walter L., born June 9, 1884, a mining 
engineer, Portland, Ore. ; Karl E., the subject of this sketch ; Leon A., 
born June 8, 1889, a mail carrier, Erie ; and Gertrude, born Oct. 28, 1896, 
married N. N. Kilburn, Erie. 

Karl E. Morrison was reared on the Downing farm in Erie County 
and attended East Mill Creek school, Erie High School, and Syracuse Uni- 
versity. He followed his profession in the employ of the state of New York 
and was also connected with various architects' offices in New York and 
New England. Mr. Morrison formed a partnership with Frank A. Shutts 
in 1912, and they are widely known. They are the designers of the Central 
Bank & Trust Company Bank building, and the office of the Erie Lighting 
Company, besides many commercial buildings and fine residences. 

On June 18, 1913, Mr. Morrison was married to Miss Edna Wolfgang, 
of Albany, N. Y., and the daughter of Fred A. and Jane A. (Zinn) Wolf- 
gang, natives of New York. They reside at 271 Elm Street, Albany, N. Y. 
Mr. and Mrs. Morrison have four children: Ralph K., born April 20, 1914; 




KARL E. MORRISON 



History of Erie County 793 

K. Raymond, born March 9, 1918; Earl C, born May 1, 1920; and Jane 
E., born Nov. 26, 1921. 

Mr. Morrison is president of the Erie Chapter of the American Institute 
of Architects, and in 1923 was delegate to the national convention in Chi- 
cago. In 1921 he served as vice president of the Erie Builders Exchange. 
He is a Republican, a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, the 
Masonic Lodge, Shrine, University Club, Y. M. C. A., Chamber of Com- 
merce and a charter member of the Kiwanis Club. 

C. N. Lochner is a veteran of the World War and a prominent young 
business man of Erie. He was born in Erie, May 11, 1890, the son of A. 
C. and Lena (Mangold) Lochner. 

A. C. Lochner was a native of Erie, born in 1862. His parents had 
settled here the previous year and were among the leading pioneers of 
the county. Mr. Lochner engaged in the grocery business for 35 years 
and died in April, 1914. His wife's family settled here in 1858 and she 
was the daughter of Frank Mangold. She resides in Erie. Mr. and Mrs. 
Lochner had five children, as follows: Carrie, C. N., Mrs. Julia Spaeder, 
Marcella and Amanda, all of whom reside in Erie. 

C. N. Lochner received his education in the public schools of Erie and 
when a young man entered the employ of his father. He now manages 
the business established by his father, which is located at 2601 Parade 
Street. The A. C. Lochner estate carries a fine line of groceries. 

During the World War Mr. Lochner served in France with the 318th 
Infantry, 80th Division. 

Mr. Lochner is a Democrat, a member of the Catholic Church and 
the Elks lodge. He is unmarried. He has been successful in his work 
and is considered among Erie's efficient citizens. 

Joseph A. Kneib, a well known and substantial citizen of Erie, engaged 
in the dry goods business, at 904 Parade Street, is a member of one of 
Erie County's prominent pioneer families. He was born in Erie, March 19, 
1877, and is the son of Anthony and Frances (Sanner) Kneib. 

Anthony Kneib was a native of Erie, born in 1844 and the son of 
Mathias Kneib, who came to this country from Germany when a youth 
and settled at Erie. Anthony Kneib was a pioneer merchant of Erie, 
where he operated a dry goods business for 55 years. At the age of 72 
years he retired and in April, 1921, died at San Diego, Calif. He is buried 



794 History of Erie County 

in Trinity cemetery, Erie. Mr. Kneib held membership in St. John's 
Catholic Church and was highly esteemed in Erie. His wife was born 
in Delaware County, Iowa, and also died in 1921. Mr. and Mrs. Kneib 
were the parents of five children. 

Joseph A. Kneib has always lived in Erie. After attending the public 
and high school he began as a clerk in his father's store, where he re- 
mained continuously until 1919, at which time he purchased the business. 
Mr. Kneib has an up to date store and carries a complete line of dry 
goods and notions. He lives at 351 East 26th Street. 

Mr. Kneib was married to Miss Claire E. Etter, of Erie, the daughter 
of John and Sophia (Fryer) Etter, both deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Kneib 
have no children. 

Mr. Kneib is a Democrat, a member of St. John's Catholic Church 
and belongs to the Elks lodge. He has many friends in EHe County, 
where the name of his family has been known and respected for many 
years. 

George B. Nelson is a progressive and enterprising citizen of Erie, 
where he is engaged in the sheet metal and roofing business at 523 East 
18th Street. He was born in Wisconsin, Sept. 3, 1886, and is a son of 
Charles and Caroline (Anderson) Nelson. 

Charles Nelson was reared in Wisconsin where he became a prosperous 
farmer and lumberman. Mr. and Mrs. Nelson now live retired at Nicker- 
son, Minn. They are the parents of the following children: George B., 
the subject of this sketch; Mrs. Florence McDonald, lives in North Da- 
kota; Viola, married John Burg, lives in North Dakota; Charles Howard, 
lives at Duluth, Minn.; Hazel, married James Woodard, Hves at Duluth; 
Arthur, lives in Idaho; Lester, lives at Duluth; James, and Floyd, both 
at home. 

George B. Nelson received his education in the schools of Duluth and 
Superior, Wis. When a young boy he was employed in the lumber camps 
during the summer and in later years worked in the mines of Minnesota. 
Several years later he became interested in a roofing business and located 
in Erie in 1919, where he opened a shop at 1317 Parade Street. In 1923 
he built his present building, at 523 East 18th Street, which is of three 
story brick construction, 40x72 feet. Mr. Nelson also sells furnaces and 
stoves. 

On May 26, 1918, Mr. Nelson was united in marriage with Mrs. Anna 
Nelson of Cleveland, daughter of John Lister and Mary Thompson. By 



History of Erie County 795 

her former marriage Mrs. Nelson had four children: Richard, deceased; 
Margaret, married Timothy J. Conway, lives in Cleveland; John, lives in 
Detroit, Mich. ; and Donald, now in the employ of Mr. Nelson. 

In politics Mr. Nelson is identified with the Republican party. He 
is a member of the Lutheran Church and belongs to the Elks lodge. He 
also holds membership in the Erie Chamber of Commerce and the Builders 
Exchange. He is a substantial citizen and stands high in the community. 

Eugene H. Blethen, a progressive and enterprising merchant of Erie, 
located at 1807 State Street, was born at Portland, Maine, July 28, 1878. 
He is a son of James L. and Ellen M. (Woods) Blethen. 

James L. Blethen, deceased, was a veteran of the Civil War. He was 
born at Portland, Maine, and was 16 years old at the time of his enlist- 
ment. After the close of the war he served as a member of the Portland 
police force until 1881, at which time he brought his family to Erie. 
After his arrival here he established a grocery business now owned by 
his son. Mr. Blethen died in 1899 at the age of 64 years, and his wife 
died in 1908, at the age of 65 years. Mr. and Mrs. Blethen were members 
of the Methodist Episcopal Simpson Church of Erie. They were the 
parents of six children: Francis E., Edith and Charles E., all deceased; 
Eugene H., the subject of this sketch; Arthur E., lives at San Diego, Cal., 
where he is engaged in the poultry business; and Coral E., lives at Spar- 
tansburg. Pa. 

Eugene H. Blethen attended district school No. 7 at Erie and in April, 

1898, volunteered in the service of the Spanish Am.erican War and served 
in Company C, 15th Pennsylvania division. He was discharged in March, 

1899, and returned to his business at Erie. Mr. Blethen moved to his 
present location at 1807 State Street in 1921. He carries a good grade of 
groceries and meats. 

On Dec. 12, 1899, Mr. Blethen was married to Miss Emma L. Adams, 
of Wesleyville, Pa., the daughter of Jeremiah and Diana (Roberts) Adams. 
Mr. and Mrs. Adams, deceased, are buried in North East cemetery. Mr. 
and Mrs. Blethen have no children. 

Politically, Mr. Blethen is a Republican. He is a member of the Meth- 
odist Episcopal Simpson Church and belongs to the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows, and the Spanish American Veterans. He is held in high 
regard throughout the community and is an excellent citizen of Erie 
County. 



796 History of Erie County 

David W. Harper, the well known senior member of the firm of 
Harper & Russell Company, real estate and general insurance, Erie, Pa., 
was born Feb. 13, 1872, at Toronto, Canada, a son of William W. and 
Mary Martin (Tweed) Harper. 

William M. Harper was born in Campsie Glen, Scotland, Aug. 29, 
1844. In 1868 he came to the United States, locating first at Lynn, 
Mass., where he married Mary Martin Tweed, a native of Glascow, Scot- 
land. Later they removed to Toronto, Canada, where they lived for ten 
years, and in 1880 came to Erie, Pa., where Mr. Harper became connected 
with the old Stearns Manufacturing Company and later engaged in the 
insurance business, in which he has been actively engaged since 1890. 
He is still a very active man in his profession. Mr. and Mrs. Harper 
were the parents of six children, as follows: William Rae, an instructor 
in the public schools of New York City; James L., died in Chicago in 
1892, but is buried in Erie; David W., the subject of this sketch; Mar- 
garet Martin, the wife of Milton Rowley, a manufacturer, lives in Erie ; 
Eva Hay, married Jay D. Cudney, lives at Houston, Tex.; and Ruth D., 
married Robert Lee Sale, president of the Sale Lithograph Company, Buf- 
falo, N. Y. Mrs. Harper died Feb. 15, 1898, at the age of 52 years, and is 
buried at Erie. 

David W. Harper was educated in the public schools of Toronto and 
EHe, and at the age of 13 years learned the moulder's trade with the 
Stearns Manufacturing Company. After completing his trade he went to 
high school for two years, and from there to the office of the Water Woi'ks 
Company, as cashier. Later he was a stamp clerk in the Erie postoffice 
for three years. He then entered the railway mail service for a short 
time, and after having resigned from that position he went into the 
insurance business in 1893, where he was associated with his father, in 
the Exchange building on North Park Road and State Street until 1907. 
In that year he formed a partnership with James Russell under the firm 
name of Harper & Russell Company. Their offices are located in the 
Ariel building, of which Mr. Harper is president. While handling a gen- 
eral line of insurance, the firm specializes in industrial real estate. 

On June 30, 1904, Mr. Harper was married at Erie, Pa., to Miss 
Pearl Critchfield, a native of Erie, and the daughter of John Dawson 
and Hattie (Henderson) Critchfield, both now deceased. Mr. Critchfield 
was an attorney at law in Mount Vernon, Ohio, where he practiced his 
profession for 35 years. He is buried at Mount Vernon and Mrs. Critch- 




Ai^/y^ 




History of Erie County 797 

field is buried at Erie. They were the parents of two children: Mrs. 
Harper, and one child who died in infancy. To Mr. and Mrs. Harper 
five children have been born : David Dawson, born in 1905, a student at 
Case School of Applied Science, Cleveland ; William Tweed, born in 1907 ; 
James Critchfield, born in 1908; Robena Pearl, born in 1913; and John 
Rae, born in 1918, the latter four attending the Erie public schools. The 
family are members of the First Baptist Church. 

In national politics Mr. Harper votes the Republican ticket. He be- 
longs to the Masonic fraternity, the Shrine, the Elks, the Kahkwa Club, 
the Erie Club, University Club, and Yacht Club. He is also a member 
of the Rotary Club, being one of its charter members. He is vice presi- 
dent of the Chamber of Commerce, and is serving his second term as 
water commissioner of Erie. Mr. Harper was the first president of the 
Pennsylvania Real Estate Association, and has served as president of the 
Erie Real Estate Board, and was a member of the common council in 
1901-02. He is a stockholder and is financially interested in a number of 
Erie's financial institutions. Mr. Harper is general chairman of the Erie 
Industrial Board of the Chamber of Commerce. The industrial board 
was organized for the purpose of bringing new industrial plants to the 
city. To this work Mr. Harper is devoting much time and effort. He is 
an enterprising and far sighted business man who has achieved marked 
success by virtue of hard work and integrity. 

James Russell, a member of the firm of Harper & Russell, ranks among 
the prominent brokers and real estate operators of Erie. He was born 
in Baltimore, Md., March 12, 1871, and is a son of James and Maria 
(Wilkins) Russell. 

James Russell, Sr., was born in Baltimore in 1841. He held an im- 
portant position with the Eutaw Savings bank there for many years 
and died in 1888. His wife died in 1876. To Mr. and Mrs. Russell the 
following children were born : Edward, died at the age of seven years ; 
James, the subject of this sketch ; Olive, the widow of Elliott Gilpin, lives 
at Baltimore; May W., lives at Catonsville, Md. ; and one child died in 
infancy. 

James Russell resided in Baltimore until 1899. At an early age he 
became interested in the telephone business and was one of the organizers 
of the Baltimore Telephone Company. After coming to Erie he served 
as treasurer of the Union Telephone Company, which operated throughout 



798 History of Erie County 

the northwestern part of Pennsylvania. In 1907, Mr. Russell became asso- 
ciated in business with D. W. Harper, a sketch of whom appears elsewhere 
in this history. Harper & Russell, besides their brokerage business, deal 
in real estate and insurance. Their offices are at 306 Ariel Building. 

In 1902, Mr. Russell was married to Miss Dorothy M. Macintosh, of 
Erie, who died in 1911. He was later married to Mrs. Gertrude 0. Dens- 
more, who died in 1921. Mr. Russell was later married to Miss Kathryn 
Langdon. He has no children. 

Mr. Russell is a Democrat, a 32nd degree Mason, and belongs to the 
Rotary Club, Chamber of Commerce, University Club, and the Real Estate 
Board of Erie. He is one of the substantial business men of Erie. 

Otto E. Becker, one of the proprietors of the P. A. Becker Company, 
is a substantial citizen and a member of one of Erie's oldest and most 
prominent families. He was born in Erie, Jan. 5, 1865, and is a son of 
Philip A. and Eugena (Jung) Becker. 

Philip A. Becker was born in Germany and came to the United States 
when he was 18 years of age. He located in Erie where he established 
the retail grocery business in 1852, now owned by his son. He died Jan. 
12, 1888, at the age of 52 years, and is buried in Erie cemetery. Mr. 
Becker served as mayor of Erie for several years and was a highly re- 
spected citizen of his community. His wife, also a native of Germany 
came to fhis country with her parents when she was four years old and 
settled in Baltimore, Md. She died in 1896 at the age of 56 years. Mr. 
and Mrs. Becker had four children: Eugenia, died in 1876, at the age 
of 18 years; Emil A., born in January, 1861, died at the age of 50 years; 
Arman, died in infancy; and Otto E., the subject of this sketch. 

Otto E. Becker received his education in the Erie schools and in 1884 
engaged in business with his father and brother, Emil Becker, until the 
father's death in 1888. The brothers then became owners of the store 
until the time of Emil's demise, when his widow, Mrs. Becker, became 
a stockholder in the company. The business is now conducted under the 
name of P. A. Becker, and is located at 531 French Street and Mr. Becker 
deals in high grade pi-oducts exclusively. 

On March 3, 1903, Mr. Becker was united in marriage with Miss 
Salona A. Smith, a daughter of Dr. and Mrs. B. A. Smith, of Erie. Dr. 
Smith has been a leading physician of Erie for over 50 years and is widely 
known. His wife died in June, 1924. To Mr. and Mrs. Becker a son was 



History of Erie County 799 

born, Philip Smith Becker. After attending the pubhc and high schcjls 
of Erie, he was graduated from a preparatory school at Lawrenceville, 
N. J., and is now a junior at Princeton University. 

In politics Mr. Becker is identified with the Democratic party. He is 
a member of the Mt. Olivet Commandery and the Zem Zem Shrine and 
belongs to the Erie Club. He is an enthusiastic golfer. 

L. W. Guild, proprietor of the Keystone Toilet Supply Company, is an 
enterprising and successful business man of Erie. He was born in Spring- 
field, Mass., and is a son of Dr. E. H. and L. M. (Maslen) Guild. 

Dr. E. H. Guild, who now lives retired at Springfield, Mass., has for 
many years been a prominent physician of that section. He was educated 
at John Hopkins University and is now at the head of the Springfield 
Board of Health, in which he has been actively interested since the time 
of his retirement, 15 years ago. Dr. and Mrs. Guild have two children: 
Edgar M., who resides in Boston, Mass. and L. W., the subject of this 
sketch. 

L. W. Guild spent his boyhood at Springfield, Mass., and is a graduate 
of New York University. After completing his schooling he traveled for 
several years representing the Victor Hack Saw Works of Springfield. 
He served two years during the World War with the Red Cross and 
afterward spent several years in Philadelphia. In April, 1921, he came 
to Erie, where he established the Keystone Toilet Supply Company. This 
has developed into the leading towel supply company of the city, and 
also does business within a radius of 50 miles of Erie. Mr. Guild furnishes 
coats and aprons as well as linens to his numerous customers. 

Mr. Guild has a daughter, Helen, who resides in New York. 

Mr. Guild is a member of the Episcopal Church and belongs to the 
Kiwanis Club and the Delta Upsilon fraternity. 

John E. Zeiser is a reliable and substantial business man of Erie, where 
he is engaged in the grocery business at 7th and Peach avenue. He was 
born in New York, Oct. 16, 1870, and is the son of John and Barbara 
(Jerge) Zeiser. 

John Zeiser was a native of Germany as was also his wife. He was 
a mason by trade and died in 1895 at the age of 54 years. His wife died 
in 1892. They were the parents of 11 children. 

John E. Zeiser received his education in the schools at Fairview, Pa., 
and at the age of 15 years was employed as a clerk in a local grocery 



800 History of Erie County 

store. In 1900 he purchased a store at 712 State Street, which he con- 
ducted until 1911 when he moved to his present location. Mr. Zeiser 
owns one of the finest grocery stores in Erie, and carries a high grade 
line of domestic and imported goods. About six men are employed in his 
store. 

In 1891, Mr. Zeiser was united in marriage with Miss Barbara Heidt 
of Erie, now deceased. To this union one son was born, Lawrence Ed- 
ward, who now owns a half interest in his father's business. Mr. Zeiser 
was later married to Miss Anna Sponer of St. Mary's Pa. 

In politics Mr. Zeiser is identified with the Democratic party. He is 
a member of St. Peter's Catholic Church and belongs to the Knights of 
Columbus and the Elks lodge, as well as the Chamber of Commerce. 

Franklin B. Hosbach is among the prominent young attorneys of 
Erie. He was born on a farm in McKean Township, Erie County, Oct. 
27, 1891, and is the son of George C. and Mary C. (Bausch) Hosbach. 

George C. Hosbach, deceased, was a native of Forest County, Pa. He 
settled in Erie County over 50 years ago and engaged in general farming 
in McKean Township until 1912, at which time he removed to Erie. There 
he became interested in the contracting and building business until his 
death, April 14, 1925. He is buried in Erie Cemetery. His wife, a native 
of McKean Township, lives with her son at 720 West 23rd Street, Erie. 
To Mr. and Mrs. Hosbach two children were born: Bertha F., born Aug. 
19, 1882, married Willis W. Williams; and Franklin B., the subject of 
this sketch. 

Franklin B. Hosbach spent his boyhood on his father's farm and 
after his graduation from West Mill Creek High School he studied law at 
Valparaiso University. He has practiced law since 1915 and has oflRces 
in the Masonic Building. 

On July 7, 1917, Mr. Hosbach was married to Miss Mildred E. Chif- 
man, a native of Kankakee County, 111., and a daughter of A. B. and Laura 
(Kelsey) Chifman, residents of Crown Point, Ind. Mr. and Mrs. Hosbach 
have no children. 

Mr. Hosbach is a Republican, a member of the Methodist church, and 
is identified with the Masonic Lodge, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
Elks, Moose, Knights of Malta, Knights of Pythias, Erie Maennerchor, 
and the Erie County Bar Association. He is capable in his profession and 
is a citizen of high ideals. 




FRANKLIN B. HOSBACH 



History of Erie County 801 

William Irwin Arbuckle is a well known and substantial business man 
of Erie and a member of one of the county's leading pioneer families. He 
was born in Mill Creek Township, May 26, 1871, and is a son of Richard 
H. and Julia Antoinette (Burton) Arbuckle. 

Richard H. Arbuckle was born in Erie in 1835, a son of William 
Arbuckle, who was the son of Adam Arbuckle. William Arbuckle became 
a prominent politician of his time and served as a member of the school 
board for 25 years. He was a member of the city council during the rail- 
road war. He was a carpenter by trade and among the many contracting 
jobs was that of the Erie County farm buildings. He died at the age 
of 91 years and is buried in Erie cemetery. His son, Richard H., the 
father of the subject of this sketch, now lives retired with his wife at 941 
East 21st Street. He has been a prominent Democrat for many years 
and was the first commissioner of his party to be elected in Erie County. 
He also served as customs collector under President Grover Cleveland's 
administration. Mr. Arbuckle helped to organize the Erie County Milk 
Association and served as president for a number of years. Mr. and 
Mrs. Arbuckle, who have celebrated their 66th wedding anniversary, are 
the parents of the following children: Janette, married John C. Wolf, 
lives in Erie ; John Burton, lives in Erie ; Laura, died in infancy ; Charlotte, 
died in 1915; William Irwin, the subject of this sketch; and Richard C, 
general agent for the Federal Bond & Mortgage Company of Detroit, lives 
in Erie. 

William Irwin Arbuckle was educated in the district schools of JMill 
Creek Township, and also attended Erie Academy. At an early age he 
became interested in the mercantile business and was employed by a local 
wholesale house for ten years, and later he was with another wholesale 
house for five years. In 1903 he engaged in his present business on Peach 
Street. In 1923 he removed to his present location at 144 West 13th 
Street. Mr. Arbuckle deals in household goods and furnishings and has 
an extensive wholesale trade throughout northwestern Pennsylvania, east- 
ern Ohio, and western New York. 

On Sept. 28, 1893, Mr. Arbuckle was married to Miss Leonora Clemens, 
the daughter of Fred and Eva (Barnard) Clemens. Mr. Clemens lives 
retired in Erie. His wife is deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. Arbuckle the 
following children have been born: William Humphrey, vice-president 
and general manager of his father's business, married Esther Cardot, and 
they have one son, William Irwin ; Priscilla, a graduate of Ward-Belmont 

(51) 



802 History of Erie County 

school, married Paul N. Berner, lives in Buffalo, N. Y., where he repre- 
sents the Federal Bond & Mortgage Company of Detroit; and Antoinette 
Burton, a student at Smith College. 

Mr. Arbuckle is identified with the Republican party in politics and 
he belongs to the Masonic lodge. He is a member of the Chamber of 
Commerce and is one of the progressive and enterprising citizens of 
the city. 

W. B. Pohle is a progressive and enterprising merchant of Erie. He 
was born at St. Joseph, Mo., Oct. 13, 1900, and is the son of Christopher 
J. and Mary H. (Eraser) Pohle. 

Christopher J. Pohle was born in Buffalo, N. Y., in 1860. Eor many 
years he was interested in the sugar refining business in Ontario, Canada, 
and later in Buffalo. After retiring from that business he engaged in the^ 
grocery business at St. Joseph Mo., where he remained 20 years. In 1906 
he removed his family to Erie where he conducted a grocery store at 1921 
Myrtle Street until the time of his death, in 1923. His wife, who was 
born in Canada, resides at Erie. Mr. and Mrs. Pohle had two children: 
W. D., the subject of this sketch; and Mrs. Mary Lyle, who lives in Erie. 

After completing his schooling, W. B. Pohle engaged in the grocery 
business with his father. He now owns and operates the business estab- 
lished by his father and has an extensive trade. 

Mr. Pohle is a Democrat, a member of the Methodist Episcopal Simp- 
son Church, and belongs to the Masonic lodge. He is unmarried. 

Louis Phillips, president of American State Bank, is one of Erie's 
enterprising and successful business men. He was born in Italy, June 18, 
1865, and is a son of Gesualdo and Philomena (Guisti) Phillips. 

Gesualdo Phillips was born in Italy in 1826 and died there in 1911. 
His wife was born in 1844 and died in 1903. They were the parents of 
the following children: Louis, the subject of this sketch; Alameno, de- 
ceased; Fulvia, deceased; Fortunato, lives in Cleveland; Fuldio, deceased; 
Crolinda, lives in Erie and three children died in infancy. 

Louis Phillips was reared and educated in his native land and came 
to this country in 1890. He worked at his trade of carpenter for four 
years and then opened a small fruit stand on West 12th Street. In 1895 
he established an office on West 16th Street, where he dealt in the remit- 
tance of steamship and foreign money orders. He also maintained a 
fruit store and became one of the leading wholesale fruit dealers of the 



History of Erie County 803 

city. The business which is now owned by his son is located at 16th and 
State streets. 

The bank was organized by Mr. Philhps as a private bank in 1921, 
and on March 10, 1924, was incorporated as American State Bank. The 
officers are as follows: Louis Phillips, president; Angelo Phillips, vice- 
president; Jennie Phillips, cashier; and Joseph Phillips, secretary. The 
directors are: Louis, Joseph, Angelo, Mary and Elizabeth Phillips. 

On Jan. 13, 1894, Mr. Phillips was married to Miss Eliza Casciani, a 
native of Italy, born Aug. 28, 1867. To this union the following children 
were born: John, a general contractor, lives at Erie, married Nardina 
Petrucella, and they have two children, Elizabeth and Mary; Mary, at 
home; Joseph, engaged in the fruit business at Erie; Jennie, cashier in 
her father's bank; Angelo, general manager and part owner of the fruit 
business, married Ameha Bevilacqua, and they have one son, Robert; 
Gemma, Marreno, and Albert, all students, and three children died in 
infancy. 

Mr. Phillips is a Republican and has been a member of St. Paul's 
Catholic Church since 1892. He belongs to the Sons of Italy and the 
Italian National Club. Mr. Phillips is an energetic man who stands well 
in the esteem of his neighbors and fellow citizens. 

William T, McFayden, prominent druggist of Erie, is among the en- 
terprising and successful business men of the county. He was born at 
Waterford, Pa., Oct. 23, 1857, and is the son of Alexander and Emmeline 
(Woodford) McFayden. 

Alexander McFayden came to this country from Scotland with his 
parents in 1832. He was the son of Neil McFayden who became a pros- 
perous farmer. Alexander McFayden was engaged in farming on the 
home place. He died in 1888 at the age of 71 years and his wife, who 
was born in Connecticut, died at the age of 54 years. Her parents settled 
in Erie County in 1814. Her grand-father, Capt. Case, served during the 
Revolution and her father, Rufus Woodford, fought in the War of 1812. 
To Alexander and Emmeline (Woodford) McFayden the following children 
were born: Mrs. Isabel Thomas, lives on the old homestead; William T., 
the subject of this sketch; Alexander, a sketch of whom appears else- 
where in this history; Elizabeth, married Leon Sherwood, lives in Water- 
ford Township; Finley, lives retired in Erie; and John. 

William T. McFayden received his education in the district school at 
Sharp's Corner and later attended Waterford Academy and Edinboro Nor- 



804 History of Erie County 

mal School. In early life he engaged in farming and at the age of 27 
years came to Erie where he engaged in the drug business. In 1912 he 
moved to his present location at 461 West 8th Street. Mr. McFayden is 
one of the leading pharmacists of the city and has an attractive place of 
business. His residence is located at 1314 West 9th Street. 

On Feb. 18, 1893, Mr. McFayden was married to Miss Mabel Phillip, 
of Toronto, Canada, the daughter of Samuel P. Phillip. Mr. and Mrs. 
McFayden have one daughter, Mrs. Reva Baptist. She resides in Erie. 

Mr. McFayden is a member of the Elks lodge. He and his family 
are widely known throughout the county and have many friends. Mrs. 
McFayden is a member of Kingsley Methodist Church. 

Henry M. Keppel, deceased, was one of the best known and most suc- 
cessful business men of Erie County. He was one of the organizers and 
at the time of his death president of the National Bank of Corry. Mr. 
Keppel was born in Herschbarre, Germany, Nov. 13, 1837, the son of Charles 
and Fredricka (Vogel) Keppel. 

Charles Keppel emigrated to this country with his family in 1853 
and settled near Buffalo, N. Y., where he operated a farm and also was 
employed by the United States government in the postal service. Mr. and 
Mrs. Keppel, deceased, are buried in Cattaraugus County, N. Y. They 
had six children, as follows : Henry M., the subject of this sketch ; Charles, 
lives at Fair Plains, N. Y. ; Ernest, lives at Corry ; John, deceased ; Mary, 
married Joe Herdick, lives at Gowanda, N. Y. ; and Elizabeth, married 
Charles Rider, lives at South Dayton, N. Y. 

Henry M. Keppel was educated in Germany and was 16 years of age 
when his parents came to this country. Soon after locating in Buffalo 
he learned the blacksmith's trade, serving an apprenticeship of three 
years. Then taking a partner he conducted a shop in that city for five 
years, after which he had a shop in Titusville, Pa. He was also inter- 
ested in oil refineries. Turning his attention to agricultural pursuits in 
1867, Mr. Keppel purchased a tract of land in Columbus Township, Warren 
County, and there took up his residence. While clearing the land he be- 
came interested in the manufacture of lumber and soon had a saw mill 
in full operation, being very successful in his new industry. In 1893 with 
J. B. Moore he purchased pine lands in northern Wisconsin, erecting a 
large mill, which they operated until 1903. In 1898 they became owners 
of heavily timbered land in Randolph County, W, Va., and subsequently 




lC,e..px/i^ /"l^^^x^^z^ 



History of Erie County 805 

having added to their original tract by purchase of more timber, they put 
in a double band saw mill with a capacity of 100,000 feet a day, and pro- 
ceeded to build up a town and establish a business. They built a spur 
railway track extending into their land 15 miles, erected 33 homes, and 
had granted to the new colony a postofRce, which was called Ellamore. 
Mr. Keppel removed with his family to Corry in 1898 where he became 
identified with the leading industries of the place. He was one of the 
organizers of the Corry Metal Products Company and was president for 
some time. He was connected with many other important industrial con- 
cerns of the city of Corry and did a great deal to promote commercial 
enterprises here. He was also a director of the Corry Electric Light 
Company for many years. Mr. Keppel died Nov. 11, 1924, and is buried in 
Pine Grove Cemetery, Corry. 

In 1893 Mr. Keppel was married to Miss Martha C. Miller, a native 
of Webster, N. Y., and a daughter of John F. and Laura (Aistrich) Miller, 
natives of Germany, now deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. Keppel two children 
were born: Henry Harrison and Marie, mention of whom is made below. 

H. Harrison Keppel was born at Torpedo, Pa., Oct. 5, 1893, and was 
educated in the public schools of Corry and Chamberlain Military Insti- 
tute, Randolph, N. Y. He is vice president of the National Bank of Corry 
and treasurer of the Corry Jamestown Manufacturing Corporation. He is 
a member of the Blue Lodge Masons, Corry; Columbus Chapter, Corry; 
Commandery K. T., Corry; Shrine, Zeni Zem, Erie; Erie Consistory; and 
the Elks Lodge, Corry, of which he is Past Exalted Ruler. Mr. Keppel 
was married to Miss Edna Moore, of Ridgeway, Pa., and they have two 
children, Henry Martin and Barbara Anna. 

Marie Keppel Hawkins was born at Torpedo, Pa., June 9, 1895. After 
her graduation from the Corry High School in 1915 she was graduated 
from LaSalle Seminary, Auburndale, Mass. She was married to Edward 
E. Hawkins of Corry and they have a daughter, Martha Marie, born 
April 6, 1919. Mr. Hawkins is the son of William Henry and Nancy 
(Rutley) Hawkins, both deceased. Mr. and Mrs. William Henry Hawkins 
had five children: Edward E., William Henry, Elizabeth, who married 
Guy Rogers; Earl, deceased; and Nellie, deceased. Edward E. Hawkins 
was educated in the public schools of Chicago and Corry and is a graduate 
of Carnegie Institute of Technology, Pittsburgh. 

Mr. Keppel was a staunch Republican and in 1908 was alternate dele- 
gate to the Republican National Convention at Chicago. Both he and his 



806 History of Erie County 

wife were members of the Lutheran Church at Corry and through their 
efforts one of the finest churches in the city was erected several years 
ago. Mrs. Keppel is still an ardent worker in the church. He was an 
energetic man who stood well in the esteem of his many friends and 
acquaintances. 

F. J. Brandt is a substantial citizen and enterprising merchant of 
Erie. He was born there Oct. 27, 1887, and is the son of Julius and Anna 
(Persick) Brandt. 

Julius Brandt was a native of Germany. When a young man he came 
to this country and located on a farm just outside Erie, where he died in 
1901. His wife died the same year and they are buried in Lakeside ceme- 
tery. Mr. and Mrs. Brandt had ten children, four of whom are now living. 

After attending the public schools of Erie, F. J. Brandt learned the 
stone cutter's trade and later became a boilermaker. In 1910 he engaged 
in his present business as grocer. Four years later he purchased a half 
interest in the business and finally became sole owner. Mr. Brandt's 
business is located at 1358 Buffalo Road, and is among the up to date 
grocery stores of the community. Delivery service by truck is main- 
tained. 

On Sept. 1, 1911, Mr. Brandt was married to Miss Alma Delilah Fuhr- 
mann, of Erie County, the daughter of Charles and Catherine (Serr) 
Fuhrmann. Mr. Fuhrmann died Sept. 28, 1924, and is buried in Erie 
cemetery. His wife resides on the old homestead. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Brandt have been born two children: Vernon Frederick, born Aug. 10, 
1912 and Russell Fuhrmann, born April 2, 1914. 

Politically Mr. Brandt is a Republican. He is a member of the Uni- 
tarian church and belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He 
is known in his community as an upright and reliable citizen. 

William F. Weber, retired, ranks among the prominent and substan- 
tial citizens of Erie. He was born in Erie County, May 15, 1857, and 
is a son of Francis Anton and Mary (Spath) Weber. 

Francis Anton Weber was a native of Germany and came to this 
country when he was 20 years of age. He was married in Buffalo, N. Y., 
and was for a number of years engaged at the blacksmith trade until his 
health failed. He then owned a grocery business until the time of his 
death in 1864. He was buried on the present site of St. Vincent's Hos- 



History of Erie County 807 

pital and the body was later removed to Trinity cemetery, Erie. Mr. 
Weber's wife who was also a native of Germany, is deceased. They were 
the parents of a large family and the following children grew to maturity : 
Francis A., deceased; F. J., deceased; Henry C, deceased; Mrs. Adolph 
Brooker, deceased; Elizabeth, deceased; Mary Ann, married Charles Beck, 
lives in Erie; William F., the subject of this sketch; and A. S., a carpenter 
contractor, lives in Erie. 

William F. Weber grew up in Erie and after receiving his education 
was employed by his brother, F. J., who was a well known photographer 
of Erie. When he was 21 years old Mr. Weber purchased his brother's 
interest in the business, which is located at 351 East 9th Street, and now 
conducted by his son, H. J. Weber. Mr. Weber has been considered the 
leading photographer of the city for many years and is an artist in his 
work. He also has an interest in the Erie Picture and Framing Company. 

On April 29, 1878, Mr. Weber was united in marriage with Miss Helen 
Rectenwald, of Erie, and to this union 11 children were born, as follows: 
Minnie Mayer, lives in Buffalo, N. Y. ; Rudolph, deceased ; Alice, deceased ; 
Clarence, engaged in plastic art work at 20 East 18th Street, Erie; Wil- 
bert, lives at Wesleyville, Pa. ; H. J., who operates the studio ; L. J., a 
printer, lives in Erie; Leonora Weiderle, lives in Erie; Rosemary, at 
home; Margaret, deceased; and one child died in infancy. 

In politics Mr. Weber is identified with the Republican party. He is 
a member of St. Mary's Catholic Church, and is vice-president and direc- 
tor of the Parade Street Market House. He owns a property at 1023 State 
Street and his residence is at 355 East 9th Street and the photograph 
studio adjoining the residence. He is a reliable citizen of the community. 

Otto Schmidt, deceased, was a well known merchant of Erie for many 
years. He was born in Germany and came to this country at the age of 
80 years. 

In 1888 Mr. Schmidt engaged in the bakery business at 8th and 
Parade streets, which has developed into one of the largest genei-al 
bakeries in the city. He died in 1906 and is buried in Trinity cemetery. 

In 1885 Mr. Schmidt was married to Miss Elizabeth Mentz, a native 
of Erie, born Dec. 19, 1867, and the daughter of Louis and Christina 
(Guild) Mentz. 

Louis Mentz came to this country from Germany when he was a young 
man. He was a pattern maker by trade and was one of the oldest em- 
ployees of the Jarecki Manufacturing Company. He died at the age of 



808 History of Erie County 

70 years, and his wife is also deceased. They were the parents of the 
following children: Elizabeth, the subject of this sketch; Adolph, lives 
in Cleveland; William, lives in Cleveland; and Mrs. Ida Ohmer, lives at 
1152 Brown Avenue, Erie. Her son, Louis Ohmer, is employed by Mrs. 
Schmidt as head baker. It was largely through his knowledge and inter- 
est in the business that Mrs. Schmidt was able to carry on the business 
after her husband's death. To Mr. and Mrs. Schmidt two children were 
born. Otto and Helen, both of whom died in infancy. 

Mr. Schmidt was a Republican and a member of St. Mary's Catholic 
Church. He was a progressive citizen who merited the esteem in which 
he was held by his fellow citizens. 

Arthur Warren Mitchell. Among the men of Erie who have taken 
leading positions in the legal profession of Pennsylvania is Arthur War- 
ren Mitchell. He was born at Bradford, Pa., Dec. 2, 1878, and is the 
son of George Warren and Stella (Southwick) Mitchell. 

The Mitchell family came from Londonderry, Ireland, in 1735 and 
were of English and Scotch descent. They settled in Vermont and later 
came to the Western Reserve in 1810. They drove west by ox team as 
far as Lorain, Ohio, but returned as far east as Westfield, N. Y., and 
settled in Chautauqua County at Busti, where George Warren Mitchell 
was born. He is a highly esteemed member of his community and at one 
time was prominent in politics, having served as sheriff, registrer and 
recorder prothonotary and clerk of courts of McKean County, Pa. 

The Southwick family emigrated to America in 1635 and settled in 
Massachusetts. Lawrence and Cassandra Southwick were the founders 
of the family from England and Arthur Warren, subject of this sketch, is 
the eleventh generation in this country. This family also migrated to 
New York and settled in Cattaraugus County. 

Harmon G. Mitchell, grandfather of the subject of this sketch, was a 
leading citizen of Chautauqua County, N. Y., and held public offices, in- 
cluding that of side judge. 

Arthur Warren Mitchell lived at Bradford, Pa., until he reached the 
age of 15 years, when his family removed to Smethport, Pa. He attended 
DeVeaux School, Niagara Falls, N. Y., Pennsylvania State College, and 
Dickinson Law School, Carlisle, Pa., and was graduated from the latter 
institution in 1901 with the degree of LL. B. He was admitted to the bar 
in 1901, and until 1907 was associated with the legal department of the 




ARTHUR WARREN MITCHELL. 



History of Erie County 809 

Standard Oil Company in West Virginia. Since 1908 he has been success- 
fully engaged in the practice of law in Erie with offices in the Marine 
Bank Building. Mr. Mitchell served in the General Assembly of Pennsyl- 
vania during the session of 1913 from the West Side District. Mr. 
Mitchell has served as president of the Erie County Bar Association. He 
has given special attention to corporation and orphan's court practice. 
He is also interested in a number of industrial enterprises in Erie and has 
taken an active part in their formation. In 1921 he was elected delegate 
to the constitutional convention. He is a director of the Marine National 
Bank of Erie, a director of the Community Savings & Loan Company, a 
member of the Board of Trustees of Pennsylvania State College, and 
treasurer of the Erie Bolt & Nut Company, of which he was an organizer. 

Mr. Mitchell was married first to Miss Helen Forrest of Smethport, 
Pa. She died Feb. 19, 1918, leaving two sons: John Forrest, born March 
2, 1905, a student at Yale University; and George Warren, born Oct. 15, 
1912. Mr. Mitchell was married June 17, 1921, to Miss Josephine English, 
a sister of C. H. English, of Erie, a sketch of whom appears in this 
work. 

Mr. Mitchell is a member of St. Paul's Episcopal Church and is a 
member of the Chapter or Vestry, and is a member of Masonic Lodge, 
Scottish Rite and Shrine, and belongs to the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows and the Knights of Pythias. 

Cordello Herrick is a well known business man and leading citizen of 
Erie, where he represents the New York Life Insurance . Company as 
agency director of the Erie branch office. He was born in Toddsville. 
N. Y., May 4, 1866, and is a son of William Henry and Ada (Flansburg) 
Herrick. 

William Henry Herrick, retired, is a veteran of the Civil War. He 
was born in Otsego County, N. Y., in 1845. His wife died in 1882. They 
were the parents of the following children: Cordello, the subject of this 
sketch; Ida, died in infancy; George, died at the age of eight years; 
William, died at the age of 16 years; Arthur, died at the age of 28 years; 
Frank C, lives at Mendon, N. Y. ; Fred, lives at Syracuse, N. Y. ; Rev. A. 
E., lives at Emporium, Pa. ; and Asa, lives at Rochester, N. Y. 

When Cordello Herrick was two years of age his parents removed to 
Auburn, N. Y., where he was reared and educated. He learned the ma- 
chinist's trade but after several years he began the study of theology. 



810 , History of Erie County 

He was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Conference for 23 years, 14 
years of which were spent as chaplain of the State prison at Auburn, 
N. Y. In May, 1911, Mr. Herrick resigned and immediately came to Erie, 
where he took the position of agency director of the Erie branch office 
of the New York Life Insurance Company. He has been most successful 
in his undertaking and employs a force of 53 people. Mr. Herrick's terri- 
tory covers ten of the northwestern counties of Pennsylvania. His offices 
are located at 415-16-17 Commerce Building. 

In 1886 Mr. Herrick was united in marriage with Miss Emily E. Tay- 
lor, of Newark, N. Y., and to this union two children were born: Mrs. 
Herbert E. Yury, a graduate of Syracuse University, lives at Tampa, 
Florida, and has two children, Virginia E., and Lester; and Frank C, a 
graduate of Wyoming Seminary, married Helen Stephens of Nicholson, 
Pa., and they have one child, Martha. 

On Aug. 19, 1913, Mr. Herrick was married to Miss Grace E. Copp, 
of Auburn, N. Y. 

In politics Mr. Herrick is identified with the Republican party. He 
is a member of the First Methodist Episcopal Church and belongs to 
the Perry Masonic lodge, the Consistory and Zem Zem Shrine. He is a 
Past Noble Grand of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. During the 
World War he took an active interest and served as chairman of Local 
Draft Board No. 1. Mr. Herrick is an energetic and capable business man 
and an excellent citizen of Erie. 

M. B. Collins, a prominent citizen of Erie, who is president of the 
United States Laundry Company, is a native of New York. He was born 
at Buffalo, June 7, 1876, and is a son of Patrick and Ellen (Riley) Collins. 

Patrick Collins was born in Ireland in 1829 and came to this country 
in 1864, locating in Buffalo, where he engaged in the contracting business. 
He died in 1894 and his wife, who was born in Ireland in 1834, died in 
1890. Mr. and Mrs. Collins were the parents of the following children: 
Lillian, deceased; Mrs. Mary Turnbull, lives in Buffalo, N. Y.; M. B., the 
subject of this sketch; and Mrs. Katherine Shea, lives in Buffalo. 

M. B. Collins grew up in Buffalo and attended the schools there. At 
the age of 16 years he entered the employ of the General Hospital at 
Buffalo, where he remained ten years. He then was connected with the 
Genessee Hotel there as a stationary enginer, and after four years was 
appointed superintendent of the laundry department. Later he came to 



History of Erie County 811 

Erie where he installed the laundry in the Reed House for J. S. Rowe, at 
that time manager of the hotel. Mr. Collins then became associated with 
the American Laundry Company of Erie, and after three years went to 
Sharon, Pa. In January, 1908, he returned to Erie, and organized the 
United States Laundry Company, with the following officers: M. B. 
Colhns, president; D. J. Tollan, vice-president; W. J. Patterson, secretary; 
and J. F. Zink, treasurer. E. J. Shey later purchased Mr. Tollan's interest 
in the business, becoming manager and treasurer, and J. F. Simon pur- 
chased Mr. Patterson's interest. Messrs. Shey and Collins are now owners 
of the laundry business, which is among the leading business enterprises 
of Erie. 

In 1903 Mr. Collins was married to Miss Mayme Wild, of Buffalo, N. Y. 
They have no children. 

Mr. and Mrs. Collins are members of St. Patrick's Catholic Church 
and stand high in the community. 

W. H. Eckerd, proprietor of the Eckerd Drug Stores, Inc., is among 
the prominent and successful young business men of this section. He 
was born at Harrisburg, Pa., Dec. 22, 1893, and is the son of J. M. and 
Ida K. (Kennedy) Eckerd. 

J. M. Eckerd, retired, was born at Mechanicsburg, Pa., in 1870. For 
a number of years he was interested in the mercantile business and later 
became prominent in the drug business. In 1898 he opened his first drug 
store at 1105 State Street, which he operated for 21 years. In 1916 
Mr. Eckerd sold his local interests to his sons, and removed to Wilming- 
ton, Del., where he established another chain store. Although living 
retired, Mr. Eckerd still owns drug stores at Wilmington, Del., Jamestown, 
N. Y., Charlotte, N. C, and Asheville, N. C. He lives in Philadelphia. 
His wife died at the age of 35 years at Mechanicsburg, Pa., and in 1924 
her remains were removed to Philadelphia. There were four children in 
the Eckerd family as follows: K. M., who is engaged in business with 
his brother; Mrs. Hazel R. Hill, hves at Wilmington, Del.; W. H., the 
subject of this sketch; and Sarah E., a twin sister of W. H., lives at 
Charlotte, N. C. 

W. H. Eckerd attended the public and high schools of Erie, and was 
also a student at the University of Philadelphia. Since 1916 he and his 
brother have engaged in the drug business at Erie and now own stores 
at 1105 State Street, and 710 State Street. During the past four years 



812 History of Erie County 

they have established branch stores at Oil City, Pa., Zanesville, Ohio, 
and New Castle, Pa. 

Mr. Eckerd was married to Miss Biana E. Edkin, of Erie, a daughter 
of Bert C. and Anne (Askin) Edkin, who now reside in Erie. To Mr. 
and Mrs. Eckerd has been born one child, Sally Ann, born in 1921. 

Mr. Eckerd is affiliated with the Masonic lodge, and is a member of 
the Shrine. He is an energetic and enterprising citizen and widely known. 

J. A. Zurn, president of the J. A. Zurn Manufacturing Company, is 
among Erie's most enterprising and successful business men. He was 
born in this city, Dec. 8, 1875, and is the son of John and Rose Zurn, both 
of whom are deceased. 

John Zurn was a highly esteemed citizen of Erie, where he engaged 
in business for many years as a painting contractor. He died in 1908 
and his wife died in 1924. 

J. A. Zurn received his education in the public schools of Erie and 
when a young man was associated in business with his father. He served 
as foreman for the Erie City Iron Works for 10 years and in 1905 organ- 
ized the J. A. Zurn Manufacturing Company, leading manufacturers of 
plumber's supplies. The business was founded as the Advance Manufac- 
turing Company and during the World War did a considerable amount 
of war work for the government, and were cited for their honesty and 
efficiency. Mr. Zurn also has other extensive business interests and is 
president and principal stockholder of the Lake Erie Foundry Company 
at Gii'ard, Pa., president and principal stockholder of the Keystone Brass 
Works, and vice president of the Girard (Pa.) Model Works. 

On April 12, 1900, Mr. Zurn was united in marriage with Miss Clara 
Ackerman, of Erie, and the daughter of Jacob and Margaret Ackerman, 
both deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. Zurn liave been born three children: 
Melvin A., born Jan. 10, 1901, general manager of the J. A. Zurn Manu- 
facturing Company, is a graduate of Kent Military Institute; Arloween 
M., born July 17, 1905, a graduate of Erie High School, now a student 
at Oberlin College; and Everett F., born March 31, 1908, a student at 
Erie High School. 

Mr. Zurn was elected school director of the city of Erie in 1923 for a 
term of six years. He is a director of Central Bank & Trust Company 
of Erie, director of the Y. M. C. A., and a director of the City Mission. 
Mr. Zurn has held membership in the Baptist church during his entire 




J. A. ZURN 



History of Erie County ' 813 

life and is an active church worker. He has been organist of the Central 
Baptist Church for 35 years and has also served as Sunday School super- 
intendent, and deacon. Mr. Zurn is a Republican and an excellent citizen 
of Erie, where he has spent his entire life. 

William J. Magay, manufacturing optician, is one of the well known 
and successful business men of Erie. He was born at Cambridge, Mass., 
Oct. 28, 1882, and is the son of Andrew B. and Rebecca (Logan) Magay. 

Andrew B. Magay was born in the Province of Ulster, Ireland, in 1848. 
After coming to this country he located at Cambridge, Mass., where he 
worked at his trade as a furniture upholsterer. He was killed in a street 
car accident in 1895, and his wife, who was born in 1857, resides at 
Worcester, Mass. To Mr. and Mrs. Magay four children were born as fol- 
lows: William J., the subject of this sketch; James, an optician, resides 
at Worcester, Mass. ; and Robert and Alexander, both deceased. 

William J. Magay received his education in the public schools of Cam- 
bridge, Mass., and at the age of 18 years went to Boston, where he was 
engaged in optical work for six years. He then spent five years in Provi- 
dence, R. I., and in 1911 came to Erie. Mr. Magay is located at 928 Peach 
Street, and operates one of the leading optical houses in the city. 

On May 20, 1908, Mr. Magay was united in marriage with Miss Mabel 
H. Dennen, of Cambridge, Mass., the daughter of Arthur P. and Annie 
(Tucker) Dennen, residents of Watertown, Mass. To Mr. and Mrs. Magay 
have been born two children, Edith Hammond, born in 1909, and Donald, 
born in 1912. 

Mr. Magay is a Republican, a member of the First Baptist Church, 
and belongs to the Masonic and Elks lodges. He is also a member of the 
Consistory and Shrine. 

W. S. Myers, owner and proprietor of the Imperial Laundry, is among 
the leading business men of Erie. He was born at Woodcock, Pa., July 
17, 1868, and is the son of John G. and Emmeline (Kelley) Myers. 

John G. Myers was born in Philadelphia. He engaged in dairy farm- 
ing during his life and met with success. He died in November, 1896, 
at the age of 71 years and is buried at Warren, Ohio. His wife died in 
May, 1910. They were the parents of the following children: Eva and 
Ida, both died in infancy; Edgar E., died Dec. 3, 1923, at the age of 68 
years; J. D., engaged in the laundry business at Warren Ohio; F. A., 



814 * History of Erie County 

lives retired at St. Petersburg, Fla. ; Lavina Baker, lives at Auroi-a, 111. ; 
Henrietta Bodamer, lives at Warren, Ohio; and W. S., the subject of this 
sketch. 

W. S. Myers received his education in the schools of Townville, Pa. 
When he was 21 years of age he engaged in the laundry business at 
Ashtabula, Ohio, with his brothers, F. A. and J. D. The following year 
he went to Jamestown, N. Y., and from there removed to Erie where he 
entered the employ of the Park View Laundry. He later went to Warren, 
Ohio, and again to Jamestown, N. Y., where he conducted a laundry busi- 
ness four years. Mr. Myers spent several years at Olean, N. Y., and 
for the past 18 years has conducted the Imperial Laundry at Erie, which 
is located at 21st and State Streets. He operates three trucks and em- 
ploys about 27 people in his business. The Imperial Laundry renders 
high class service at reasonable prices. 

On May 20, 1896, Mr. Myers was married to Miss Gertrude Carpenter 
of Erie, the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. W. B. Carpenter. Mr. and Mrs. 
Myers have no children. 

Mr. Myers is a Republican, and belongs to the Chamber of Commerce. 

Miss Florence M. Dawley, who is secretary and treasurer of the Perry 
Specialty Company, ranks among the prominent young business women 
of Erie. She was born at North East, Pa., Sept. 11, 1891, and is the 
daughter of A. J. and Susan (Perry) Dawley. 

A. J. Dawley was born at North East in 1867 and now resides at St. 
Louis, Mo., where he is connected with the Sewell Oil Company. During 
his early life in North East he engaged in the livery business. His wife 
is a native of Chautauqua County, N. Y., born in 1870. She is a grand 
niece of Oliver Hazard Perry. To Mr. and Mrs. Dawley four children were 
born as follows: Florence M., the subject of this sketch; Mrs. John Ban- 
nister, resides in Erie, was a teacher before her marriage; Perry A., a 
World War veteran, lives at San Jose, Cal. ; and Marjorie G., lives in Erie. 

Florence M. Dawley received her education at North East, and after 
leaving school commenced her business career with the Fisk Rubber Com- 
pany. She was later connected with the Miller Rubber Company, and 
since 1923 has served as secretary and treasurer of the Perry Specialty 
Company, which has been an outgrowth of the Miller Rubber Company. 

Politically Miss Dawley is a Republican. She is a member of the 
Emmanuel Presbyterian Church and belongs to the Zonta Club of which 



History of Erie County 815 

she is president, having been elected Jan. 2, 1925, and is a member of the 
Y. W. C. A. The Dawley family is well known and highly respected in 
Erie County. 

Charles A. Kimmel, proprietor of one of Erie's pioneer business houses, 
is a substantial and widely known business man. He was born in Michi- 
gan, Jan. 5, 1879, and is the son of J. A. and Emma (Hummel) Kimmel. 

J. A. Kimmel, retired, was born at Fairview, Pa., in 1845. For a num- 
ber of years he followed general farming and stock raising in Michigan, 
and in 1886 came to Erie, where he engaged in the livery business. Sev- 
eral years later he engaged in the shoe business at 1625 Sassafras Street, 
which was established in 1871 by his father. Mr. and Mrs. Kimmel have 
three children: Charles A., the subject of this Sketch; Luella Mannig, 
lives in New York city; and Rollo, lives at Ashland, Ky. 

Charles A. Kimmel received his education in the Erie schools, and when 
a young boy was employed in his grandfather's shoe store, and later by 
his father. Since 1900 he has had charge of the business, which has be- 
come one of Erie's leading shoe stores. 

On April 26, 1906, Mr. Kimmel was united in marriage with Miss 
Carrie Lytle, the daughter of Fleet and Laura (Durst) Lytle, residents 
of Erie. Mr. Durst, retired, was employed by the Pennsylvania railroad 
for many years. To Mr. and Mrs. Kimmel three children have been born : 
Elsworth and Edwin, twins, born April 5, 1907, and Barbara, born in 1909. 

Mr. Kimmel and his family hold membership in the Lutheran Memor- 
ial Church, and the Kimmel family has always been representative of 
the best citizenship of Erie County. 

E. H. Suerken, who is widely known in Erie as an enterprising and 
successful business man, was born here, April 24, 1876, and is a son of 
John B. and Elizabeth (Kolb) Suerken. 

John B. Suerken was born in Germany and came to this country many 
years ago. He was a well known merchant of Erie where he was en- 
gaged in the jewelry business for 25 years. He died when E. H., the 
subject of this sketch, was but nine months of age. His wife was born 
in Erie and died in 1918 at the age of 76 years. They were the parents of 
six children, all of whom are deceased, except E. H. 

E. H. Suerken was reared and educated in Erie and in early life was 
a prominent musician. For several years he owned a bicycle shop and 



816 History of Erie County 

was the agent for the Oldsmobile gas and steam automobiles, at 13th and 
State streets, and later engaged in the theatrical business, building some 
of Erie's earliest amusement centers. In 1916 Mr. Suerken became in- 
terested in the grain business and is now one of the leading grain brokers 
of the city with offices at 619 Marine Bank Building. 

Mr. Suerken was united in marriage with Miss Ruth Crouch of Erie, 
the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. 0. E. Crouch. Mr. Crouch is deceased and 
his widow resides in Erie. To Mr. and Mrs. Suerken two children have 
been born: Maxwell, born in 1907, and Nancy, born in 1913. 

Mr. Suerken is a Republican, attends the Methodist Episcopal Church 
and belongs to the Masonic lodge. He is an energetic and industrious 
man, highly esteemed throughout the community. 

Robert J. Firman was born in the Township of Harborcreek, Erie 
County, Pa., May 30, 1880, and is the son of James and Maria (Glenn) 
Firman who, for many years, were prominent and respected citizens of 
Harborcreek Township. 

His early education was gained in the public schools of Harborcreek 
Township, afterwards graduating from the State Normal School at Edin- 
boro. Pa., and later from the Law Department of the University of Michi- 
gan. After gaduating fom the Normal School he taught in the public 
schools of Harborcreek Township for two years. Not content with teach- 
ing as a vocation he determined to prepare himself for the law. In the fall 
of 1903 he entered the Law School of the University of Michigan, and 
pursued the studies of his chosen vocation, graduating from that institu- 
tion in June of 1906. In June of 1908 he was admitted to the general 
practice of law in the several courts of Erie County, Pa., and has since 
been admitted to the several appellate courts of the State and United 
States. 

In December, 1906, he married Mary Camp Allen of Harborcreek, 
only child of W. H. and Lovisa (Elliott) Allen, and to the issue of this 
marriage are two children: W. Allen, born Oct. 28, 1910, and Robert J., 
Jr., born Oct. 30, 1912. 

In politics Mr. Firman is a Republican and as a Republican has 
served his party two terms as its chairman; his government as Deputy 
United States Marshal ; his county as district attorney. 

He is a member of the Presbyterian Church of Harborcreek of which 
institution he is a member of the board of trustees. He is a thirty-second 




ROBERT J. FIRMAN 



History of Erie County 817 

degree Mason, and a member and officer of Zem Zem Temple ; he is 
also a member of the Erie Chamber of Commerce ; Erie Lodge No. 67, Order 
of Elks; Lake Shore Lodge of Odd Fellows, and other fraternal organi- 
zations. Socially he is a member of the Erie Club, the Shriner's Club, 
the Erie Yacht Club, the Erie Maennerchor, and the North East Golf 
Club. 

He is an able and successful lawyer, and enjoys a varied and lucra- 
tive practice. 

Where he resides at the Village of Harborcreek he has extensive 
land holdings, large acreages of which are now under cultivation in grapes ; 
the land itself being very valuable because of its location near the City of 
Erie, and being suitable for subdividing in building sites. 

Mrs. Katherine W. Bauman is a substantial and highly esteemed citi- 
zen of Erie. She is a native of Erie County and the daughter of Michael 
W. and Henrietta (Able) Willrich. 

Michael W. Willrich, deceased, was a member of a prominent pioneer 
family of Erie County. He and his wife are now deceased. They were 
the parents of four children: Jacob, Elizabeth, Katherine, the subject of 
this sketch, and John, all residents of Erie. 

Katherine W. Willrich was reared and educated in Erie and was 
married to Louis J. Bauman, also a native of Erie, and a son of Gustave 
and Magdalene (Haas) Bauman. 

Louis J. Bauman owned and operated the first rug cleaning plant in 
Erie, having engaged in the business with his father. Their first location 
was at 644 East 5th Street, and in 1898 he removed to 138 West 4th Street, 
the present location. Mr. Bauman installed the first compressed air rug 
and carpet cleaner in Erie and successfully conducted the business until 
the time of his death, Nov. 7, 1910. He is buried in Erie cemetery. Since 
the death of her husband, Mrs. Bauman has continued in charge of the 
business, and is now assisted by her two sons, Morrill A., and Allan J. 
The business is known as Bauman Association General Cleaners. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Louis J. Bauman five children were born, as follows: 
Mrs. Elsie A. Strick, lives in Erie; Mrs. Lucille Peckham, lives in Erie, 
and they have one son, Paul Edward ; Morrill A. ; Allan J. ; and Louis F., 
a high school student. 

Mrs. Bauman and her family are members of St. Paul's Episcopal 
Church and rank among the ambitious and progressive citizens of the 
community. 
(52) 



818 History of Erie County 

Bernard M. Deck, a substantial citizen of Erie, engaged in the grocery 
business at 621 West 26th Street, is a native of Erie. He was born July 
24, 1876, and is the son of Conrad and Mary (Hoffman) Deck. 

Conrad Deck, who now lives retired, was for many years a leading 
cigar manufacturer of Erie. He was born in Germany, Feb. 6, 1837, the 
son of John and Margaret (Welsh) Deck. In 1861 he came to this country 
and located in Erie, going to work for George Bartles, where he remained 
for one year. He then worked 18 months for C. M. Conrad, when he 
bought him out and conducted the factory on 5th Street. Later he 
operated on French Street and Park Row. For the past ten years Mr. 
Deck has lived retired. He resides at 214 East 4th Street. He was mar- 
ried in 1863 to Miss Anna M. Hoffman, the daughter of Nicholas Hoffman, 
of Erie, and to this union the following children were born: Mrs. Mar- 
garet Reemer, lives in Erie; John, lives in California; Conrad, Jr., lives 
in Erie; Adam, Peter, Mrs. Anna Koon, and Mrs. Catherine Gehrleim, all 
live in Erie; Amanda, treasurer of the Underwood Typewriter Company 
in Erie; Edith, a teacher, lives in Erie; P. W., a sketch of whom appears 
in this history; and Bernard M., the subject of this sketch. 

Bernard M. Deck received his education in the Erie schools and when 
a young boy learned the cigar making trade in his father's factory. He 
engaged in this business until 1914, at which time he entered the grocery 
business at his present location. Mr. Deck carries a fine line of groceries 
and meats, and also has a soda fountain and cigar business in connection. 
He has an extensive trade. 

In June, 1902, Mr. Deck was united in marriage with Miss Frances 
Mary Eichenlaub, a native of Erie, and the daughter of Joseph B. and 
Elizabeth (Haas) Eichenlaub, residents of Erie. Mr. and Mrs. Deck had 
three children, all of whom are deceased. 

Mr. and Mrs. Deck are members of the Sacred Heart Catholic Church 
and he belongs to the Elks lodge. 

Mrs. Alma B. Totman is a well known and highly esteemed business 
woman of Erie. She is the proprietor of the Totman Auto & Carriage 
Works at 1215-17 French Street. She was born in Melbourne, Australia, 
the daughter of Thomas and Sarah (McCruddon) Smith. 

Thomas Smith traveled throughout the world as a silk broker. He was 
born in England in 1853, and died at Melbourne, Australia, in 1918. His 
wife, a native of Australia, died in 1914 at the age of 45 years. Mr. and 



History of Erie County 819 

Mrs. Smith had two children, Alma B., the subject of this sketch; and 
Clement M., who lives in Australia. 

Alma B. Smith spent her early life traveling with her parents and was 
educated in Europe. At the age of 19 years she was married to J. R. 
Totman of Erie, the son of H. M. Totman. 

H. M. Totman was born in Connecticut and came to Meadville, Pa., and 
in 1892 established the Totman Carriage Works at Erie, Pa., which was 
later conducted by his son. He died in 1917 and is buried in Lakeside 
cemetery, Erie. J. R. Totman was born at Meadville, Pa., and was edu- 
cated in the public and high schools of Erie. 

To Mr. and Mrs. J. R. Totman two children were born: James R., 
born July 19, 1909; and Thelma V., born October 14, 1914. 

Mrs. Totman and her family are members of the Episcopal Church. 

Horace J. 0. Younghans, a prominent and successful business man of 
Erie, engaged in the insurance business at 1101 State Street, was born 
at Conneaut, Ohio, March 11, 1869. He is the son of John A. and Laura 
(Greene) Younghans. 

The Younghans family is among the well known pioneer families of this 
section. John A. Younghans was a native of Erfurt, Saxony, Germany, 
born in 1844. When he was six years of age his parents came to this 
country and located in Erie, where he engaged in the shoe business. He 
served throughout the Civil War, having enlisted in the navy. About 
1897 he became associated with the Holland Manufacturing Company 
of Erie, Pa., as a stockholder and traveling salesman. During the latter 
part of his life he was a traveling salesman and represented the American 
Beauty Stove Company. He served on the Erie City Council for two terms. 
He died November 13, 1921, and his wife, who was a native of Pennsyl- 
vania, died July 8, 1911, at the age of 60 years. Mr. and Mrs. Younghans 
are buried in Erie cemetery. They were the parents of three children: 
Horace J. 0., the subject of this sketch; Mrs. Gertrude J. Pilgram, lives 
in Erie; and Laura, married Edward Clark, a native of London, England, 
both deceased. 

Horace J. 0. Younghans attended the public schools of Conneaut and 
was also educated in Tennessee. In 1880 he located in Erie with his par- 
ents where he was employed in a shoe factory and later he became a ma- 
chinist. In May, 1900, he began writing insurance for the Prudential Life 
Insurance Company. He has been located at his present address since 



820 History of Erie County 

March 23, 1923. He specializes in casualty insurance and to some extent 
deals in real estate. 

In 1895 Mr. Younghans was united in marriage with Miss Philomena 
Roth of Erie. To this union a daughter was born, Dorothy L., a musician. 

Mr. Younghans is affiliated with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows 
and the Maccabees. He is a public spirited citizen and holds the high 
regard of all who know him. 

Timothy Jay Mahoney is among the representative young attorneys 
of Erie, where he is a member of the firm of Nagorski, Firman & Mahoney, 
with offices in the Palace Building. He was born in this city, Feb. 22, 
1890, and is the son of M. L. and Ellen (Hughes) Mahoney. 

M. L. Mahoney, deceased, was a native of this city, as is his wife. 
For a number of years he operated W. L. Scott's pleasure yacht. Steamer 
"Mystic," and later engaged in business in Erie. He died April 29, 1912, 
and is buried in Trinity Cemetery. His wife resides at 113 West Third 
Street, Erie. To Mr. and Mrs. Mahoney were born five children : Thomas 
Hughes, lives in Erie; Harrison Gerald, lives in Los Angeles, Calif.; Mary 
A., and Robert F., live in Erie; and Timothy Jay, the subject of this 
sketch. 

After attending the parochial and public schools of Erie, Timothy 
Jay Mahoney entered Georgetown University, Washington, D. C, from 
which he was graduated in 1921 with the degree of LL. B. In October of 
that year he was admitted to the bar of the District of Columbia and in 
December was admitted to the Pennsylvania bar. Mr. Mahoney began 
his business career in 1910 in the employ of the Erie Dispatch and until 
1918 was connected with that newspaper as well as the Herald and Times. 
From 1920 until 1921 he served as chief of The Pay Division of the Public 
Health Bureau of U. S. Treasury Department, at Washington, D. C. 
While in the university he held the office of managing editor of "Ye 
Doomsday Booke," the graduating year book of all the departments of 
Georgetown University. 

During the World War Mr. Mahoney served 18 months in the in- 
fantry branch of the U. S. Army and was stationed at Fort Thomas, Ky., 
and Camp Meigs, Washington, D. C. 

On Sept. 1, 1919, Mr. Mahoney was married to Miss Arvilla Renz, a 
native of this city, a daughter of George F. and Maud A. (Lutz) Renz, 
natives of Erie, and a sister of Dr. 0. W. Renz and Dr. M. F. Renz, also 




TIMOTHV JAV .\1AH(_)X1£:Y 



History of Erie County 821 

of Erie. George F. Renz died May 8, 1917, and his wife resides at 548 
East Eighth Street, Erie. To Mr. and Mrs. Mahoney have been born 
two children: Timothy Jay, Jr., and Nedra Mary. 

Mr. Mahoney is a member of the Catholic Church and belongs to 
the University Club, Delta Theta Phi Ljiw Fraternity, Knights of Colum- 
bus, and is past grand knight of the Knights of Columbus, Erie Council 
No. 278. He is a Republican. 

William Swenson, a well known and dependable citizen of Erie, was 
born in Sweden, Sept. 21, 1881, and is a son of Swan and Johanna (Yol- 
son) Swenson. 

Swan Swenson has spent his entire life in Sweden and is now living 
retired. He and his wife are the parents of ten children, nine of whom 
are living. 

William Swenson spent his boyhood in his native land where he learned 
his trade as cabinet maker. At the age of 19 years he came to this country 
and settled in Erie where he has since lived. He owns a shop at 513 
West 11th Street and does all kinds of upholstering and cabinet work. 

On Dec. 12, 1904, Mr. Swenson was married in Erie to Miss Marie 
Christopher, who came to this country from Denmark, at the age of 18 
years. They have six children, as follows: Wilbur, Gordon, Elizabeth, 
Alice, Paul and Harvey. 

Mr. Swenson is a Republican and a member of the Swedish Salvation 
Army Church. 

G. M. Gerbracht is a substantial citizen of Erie, where he is engaged 
in the grocery business at 1102 West 22nd Street. He was born in Erie, 
Jan. 12, 1890, and is the son of Jacob A., and Louise (Albracht) Ger- 
bracht. 

Jacob A. Gerbracht is a native of Erie, born at 524 West 6th Street, 
July 9, 1864. He is the son of Antone and Margaret (Weber) Gerbracht, 
and has spent his entire life in Erie. After working at his trade of 
moulder for 20 years, he engaged in the grocery business in 1908. Mr. 
Gerbracht's place of business, known as the Erie grocery, is located at 
1002 West 6th Sfreet. On April 28, 1888, Mr. Gerbracht was married at 
Dunkirk, N. Y., to Miss Louise Albracht, of Erie, and to this union 15 
children were born, ten of whom are now living, as follows : Louise Bern- 
hart, lives in Erie; G. M., the subject of this sketch; Earl, lives in Erie; 



822 History of Erie County 

William, a veteran of the World War, associated in business with his 
father; Mrs. Martha Steimer, Mrs. Anna Schack; Mrs. Ruth Lewis, Flor- 
ence, Thomas, and Donald, all residents of Erie. Those deceased are: 
Charles, Margaret, John, Katherine R., and Jacob. 

G. M. Gerbracht was educated in the public schools of Erie and in 
1916 engaged in the grocery business at 1061 West 22nd Street. Several 
years later he sold this business and moved to his present location. Mr. 
Gerbracht carries a high grade line of groceries and also deals in cigars 
and tobacco. 

On May 17, 1911, Mr. Gerbracht was united in marriage with Miss 
Agnes Youngbauer, of Erie, and to this union one child has been born, 
Catherine, born in 1912. 

Politically Mr. Gerbracht is a Democrat and he and his family hold 
membership in the Catholic Church. He is a progressive man and well 
liked throughout the community. 

Benjamin F. Evans, retired, is a member of one of the oldest and most 
prominent pioneer families in Erie County. He was born on a farm in 
Mill Creek Township, Jan. 31, 1857, and is the son of Uriah and Dorothy 
(Knodle) Evans. 

Uriah Evans was a native of Lancaster County, Pa., and came to this 
county with his parents when he was five years old. He engaged in the 
lumber busmess in Mill Creek Township. He settled on a farm in McKean 
Township, where he spent the remainder of his life. Mr. Evans died at 
the age of 78 years and his wife, a native of Germany, died when she 
was 79 years old. They are buried in Talmadge Cemetery, Mill Creek 
Township. Mr. and Mrs. Evans were the parents of six children, three of 
whom are now living: Benjamin F., the subject of this sketch; Miss Eliza- 
beth and Charles W., who reside on the old home place. 

Benjamin F. Evans spent his boyhood on the farm and received his 
education in the district schools. In 1881 he came to Erie, where he worked 
at his trade as a carpenter. Later, he was employed by Jacob Minnig, 
well known grocer and then became associated with P. Minnig, grocer, 
in whose employ he remained for 28 years. Mr. Evans was stock keeper 
and also served as adjuster between the railroads and his firm for dam- 
aged goods. In 1913 he was elected tax collector of Mill Creek Township 
and served four years. In 1918 he retired from active business. He lives 
at 301 Peach Street, where he owns a modern and attractive home. 



History of Erie County 823 

Mr. Evans was united in marriage with Miss Nancy Jane Waidley, a 
native of Erie County, and the daughter of Adam and Elizabeth (Minnig) 
Waidley, both deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. Evans two children were born: 
Lee W., who was killed in an automobile accident on July 5, 1915, at the 
age of 29 years ; and Ruby Dorothy, a graduate of Erie High School, took 
a kindergarten teacher's course. She has been a teacher of the kinder- 
garten school for 13 years, the last seven of which have been spent in 
Perry School. She resides with her parents. 

Mr. Evans is an independent voter. He and his family hold member- 
ship in the New Jerusalem Church, and he belongs to the Knights of 
Pythias. Mr. Evans is held in high regard throughout the entire com- 
munity and is an excellent citizen. 

Arthur H. Beyer, who is successfully engaged in the jewelry business 
in Erie, is a veteran of the World War. He was born in Erie, April 15, 
1893, and is the son of Emil and Louise (Brevillier) Beyer. 

Emil Beyer was born in Germany in 1855. At the age of 25 years he 
came to the United States and located in Erie, where he engaged in the 
jewelry business with his brother, Joseph, who had established the busi- 
ness in 1892. At the death of his brother in 1900, Mr. Beyer became 
owner of the business which he successfully conducted until the time of 
his death in 1919. Hfs wife, a native of Erie, is now 68 years of age. There 
were two children in the Beyer family: Arthur H., the subject of this 
sketch ; and Edmund, who died at the age of eight years. 

Arthur H. Beyer received his education in the public schools of Erie 
and was graduated from Central High School in 1914. He was engaged 
in his father's store until the outbreak of the World War, when he en- 
listed in the navy. After a year's service he was commissioned ensign 
and served in that capacity four months. Mr. Beyer spent two years in 
the Philadelphia Horological School. His place o fbusiness is located at 
1602 Peach Street, and is one of the attractive jewelry shops of the city. 
He carries a complete line of jewelry, silverware, watches and clocks. 

On Oct. 2, 1920, Mr. Beyer was married to Miss Eleanor Gray, of Erie, 
and to this union has been born one child, Mary Louise. 

Mr. Beyer is a Republican, a member of the Elks lodge and belongs 
to the American Legion. He is well known in his community, where his 
family has always been held in high esteem. 



824 History of Erie County 

Francis Thomas Nagorski has attained distinctive prestige as one 
of the able and popular members of the bar of Erie County and has also 
gained marked recognition as a progressive business man of Erie. He 
was born in the Village of Wiszyn, near Dantzig, in Pomerania, then West 
Prussia, Germany, now Poland, Sept. 18, 1879, and is the son of John and 
Frances (Klawiter) von Nagorski. In 1888 the family came to the United 
States and in May of that year took up their residence in Erie. 

The family name of Nagorski was corrupted by erroneous spelling 
initiated by an uncle, Alois Nagorski, who was an early settler in Erie, 
and who upon his naturalization wrote his name Nagosky. This last spell- 
ing is wrong and was caused, perhaps, by a desire to simplify the name 
and make it less difficult to pronounce. 

Mr. Nagorski received his early education in the public schools of his 
native land and was about 11 years of age at the time that the family 
immigrated to America. He was reared in Erie and continued his primary 
education in St. Stanislaus' parochial school, after which he took up his 
preparatory work in Sts. Ciril and Methodius Seminary at Detroit, Mich. 

In 1895, his father who was a building contractor and was engaged 
in the construction of the St. Stanislaus' Church in the City of Erie, 
became afflicted with paralysis, and Francis T. Nagorski was compelled 
to quit school. He finished his preliminary education in the Central High 
School of Erie, Pa., with the class of 1898, and afterwards entered the 
Law School of the University of Michigan, from which he was graduated 
in 1904 with the degree of LL. B. On July 1, 1905, he was admitted to 
the bar of Erie County; he is also admitted to practice before the 
Supreme Court of the State of Pennsylvania. 

He became interested from the very beginning of his legal career, in 
the material, economical and moral improvement of the Polish immigrant. 
He has defended the Polish people from unjust attacks, and has from time 
to time written illuminating articles in the press, dispelling prejudice 
and disseminating truthful information. In co-operation with Rev. An- 
drew Ignasiak, he organized the East Side Building and Loan Association 
in the year 1907, for the purpose of stimulating savings and creating 
funds to facilitate the building of homes and improving living conditions. 
This association has been very prosperous, and he is still its solicitor. He 
was also one of the initiators of the Bank of Erie, now the Bank of Erie 
Trust Company, of which he is a director and solicitor. Besides the inter- 




FRANCIS THOMAS NAGORSKI 



History of Erie County 825 

est in the material side of life, he has taken active part in the promotion 
of education and social improvement of the people among which he has 
cast his lot. He was a secretary of the Saint John Kanty College Associa- 
tion which built the Saint John Kanty College, south of Wesleyville, near 
the City of Erie. He was director of the Erie's Community Chest for one 
term, and he is president of the Community Young Men's Association, an 
institution which is endeavoring to do work on the east side of the City 
of Erie after the manner of the Y. M. C. A. 

He takes active part in the problems of the American citizens of 
Polish descent in this country, and in Americanization work amongst the 
people of his descent. The most influential of these organizations, and 
which will be remembered during the late great war rendered such ef- 
fective service, is the Polish National Alliance, of which he is a member 
and president of the local lodges. He is a member of the University Club, 
and the Elks. 

In 1918 and 1919 he represented his constituents in the city council 
as finance director and vice-mayor. 

He was married in 1910 to Hedwig Dymsia, of Homestead, Pa., and 
the issue of this marriage are three children: Francis T., Jr., born April 
29, 1911 ; Robert, born March 12, 1915 ; and Hubert, born Dec. 17, 1921. 

He is a Republican in politics. In the year 1916 in the campaign for 
assembly, he came within 34 votes of being elected over the combination 
Republican-Democrat candidate. His defeat, however, was a victory for 
the Republican party because his winning precincts also gave Henry A. 
Clark a fine vote, which resulted in the election of Mr. Clark to Congress. 
Mr. Clark won by 613 votes from his Democratic opponent, Charles N. 
Crosby. 

N. R. Kellam, owner of the Paris Cloak House, is among the well known 
and successful business men of Erie. He was born in Maine, April 9, 
1862, and is the son of Wesley and Selenia (Porter) Kellam. 

Wesley Kellam was a native of Maine and died in 1866. His wife was 
born in Nova Scotia and died in 1888. There were four children in the 
Kellam family, all of whom are now living. 

N. R. Kellam received his education in the schools of Maine, and when 
a young man engaged in market gardening. When he was 24 years of 
age he went to Lyons, Neb., and became a miller for the Lyons Brothei-s 
Milling Company. In 1900 Mr. Kellam came to Erie and established his 



826 History of Erie County 

present business at 708 State Street, which was part of the old Tom 
Hughes estate. In 1919 he removed to his present location, 826 Peach 
street. Mr. Kellam specializes in the sale of women's wear, and the Paris 
Cloak House is among the leading shops of its kind in the city. 

In 1887 Mr. Kellam was married at Milwaukee, Wis., to Miss Margaret 
Forbish, and they have two children: Walter R., a veteran of the World 
War, engaged in the automobile business in Erie, married Miss Ruth 
Sunberg, of Erie; and Doris. 

In politics Mr. Kellam is identified with the Republican party. He 
is a member of the First Methodist Church and belongs to the Elks lodge 
and the Rotary Club. He is esteemed throughout the community as a 
substantial and reliable citizen. 

J. Ross Barney, a prominent builder and developer of restricted home- 
sites of Erie, was born on a farm in Green Township, Erie County, Pa., 
Oct. 15, 1882, and is the son of J. M. and Mary (Lavery) Bai'ney. 

J. M. Barney, retired, is a native of Erie County, born in Green Town- 
ship, in 1859. During his life he followed general farming and met with 
success. His wife died in 1919 at the age of 64 years and is buried in 
Green Township. To Mr. and Mrs. Barney eight children were born, of 
whom J. Ross, the subject of this sketch, is the oldest son. 

J. Ross Barney acquired his education in various schools and colleges 
including Edinboro Normal School and Grove City College. After gradu- 
ating from these institutions and receiving his degree, he took two yearj 
post graduate work under Dr. Bowne, of Boston University, and Dr. 
Ormond, of Princeton University, specializing in philosophical research 
work, and has one of the best collections of books on philosophical and 
theosophical work. Mr. Barney finds time to continue his studies and 
devotes several hours each week to study and meditation. 

After graduation our subject spent four years as principal of schools 
in this state and later became interested in real estate development and 
building of fine homes. He named his subdivision Chestnut Hill and was 
a pioneer in this field of work, being the first to restrict his property to 
homes with $25,000.00, and has built several that cost considerable more. 

Mr. Barney is well equipped with his wide experience in building and 
development of allotments and has the advantage of having his own 
mill doing his mill work and finish on the job. 

Mr. Barney owns another large subdivision called Moreland Farms 
and has several homes already completed. 



History of Erie County 827 

In addition to the Erie projects, he has complete management and de- 
velopment and exclusive sale of Sheridan Park, the largest and most ex- 
pensive projects ever attempted in Buffalo. The improvements are now 
completed in over eight miles of street frontage at a cost of over five 
million dollars. Sheridan Drive, a 180 ft. boulevard, is the only street 
in the world costing over two hundred thousand dollars per mile for pave- 
ment. 

On Aug. 15, 1907, Mr. Barney was united in marriage with Miss Myrtle 
E. Frantz, a native of Cambridge Springs, Pa., the daughter of George 
D. and Sarepta (Fullerton) Frantz. To this union have been born four 
children, as follows: J. Milton, born April 8, 1911; Dorothy, born April 
29, 1913 ; Marjorie L., born January 2, 1918 ; and Marian Ruth, born July 
23, 1921. 

Mr. Barney is a Republican, a member of the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, the University Club, the Chamber of Commerce, the Master 
Builders Association, and the Erie Builders Exchange. He is a progressive 
citizen of Erie and has an extensive acquaintance throughout the com- 
munity. 

Charles A. Feisler, superintendent of the Northwestern Humane So- 
ciety of Pennsylvania, is one of the well known and dependable citizens 
of Erie. He was born there Aug. 8, 1876, and is a son of Louis E. and 
Mary (Bowers) Feisler. 

Louis E. Feisler was born in Mill Creek Township, Erie County, in 1846. 
He engaged in railroading during his active career and has lived retired 
since 1915. His wife, who was also a native of Mill Creek Township, 
died in 1884, at the age of 40 years. Her parents settled in Erie County 
more than a century ago. To Mr. and Mrs. Feisler six children were born, 
three of whom are now living. 

Charles A. Feisler grew up in Erie and attended the public schools. 
He was very ambitious and at 14 owned a paper route besides working 
in a barber shop evenings. When he was 18 years of age he opened a 
barber shop at 1509 Sassafras Street, which he conducted for six years. 
His next business venture was a pool room, bowling alley and barber 
shop, at 1511 Peach Street, which he owned until 1904. He then pur- 
chased a hotel at 26th and Peach Street, which was known as the South 
Erie Hotel. In 1914 this was sold and Mr. Feisler engaged in the automo- 
bile business with M. Nelson, agent for the Hudson automobile. Since 



828 History of Erie County 

1918 he has held his present position. His wife is matron of the Erie 
County Detention Home. 

On Sept. 30, 1903, Mr. Feisler was married in Buffalo to Miss Mayme 
Haaf, of Erie, a daughter of Joseph and Mary A. (Grant) Haaf. Mr. 
Haaf hves at Erie. His wife is deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Feisler have a 
daughter, Marion Dorothy. 

Politically, Mr. Feisler is a Republican. He is a member of St. Paul's 
Episcopal Church and belongs to the Elks, Eagles and Moose lodges. He 
has always been a progressive and enterprising citizen. 

Joseph Crane Williams, mayor, is among Erie's representative and 
influential citizens. He was born in this city at 837 East Sixth Street, 
Jan. 8, 1877, and is the son of Joseph H. and Nancy B. (Crane) Williams, 
sketches of whom appear in this history. 

Mr. Williams began life as a newsboy on the streets of his home town 
and attended the public schools. His business career began as a messen- 
ger boy for the Pennsylvania Railroad in the freight house office at Parade 
and 15th Streets. He then was employed as a clerk with the W. L. Scott 
Coal Company and during the years, 1903 and 1904, he acted as superin- 
tendent of the company's dock in Chicago, returning to Erie Jan. 1, 1905. 
Here he served as clerk in the Susquehanna Coal Company office until 
December, 1911, when he began his term of office as city treasurer, to 
which he had been elected in November, 1910. Mr. Williams held this office 
until April, 1916, at which time he was appointed chief clerk of the 
county commissioners. He served in this capacity until January, 1920, 
when he again took office as city treasurer, being re-elected in the fall 
election of 1920. On Jan. 7, 1924, he took office as mayor of Erie, having 
been elected in the November, 1923, election without opposition. 

On July 31, 1901, Mr. Williams was united in marriage with Miss 
Caroline Loverna Schuwerk, who was born at McKean, Erie County, the 
daughter of Max M. and Jenny L. (Stafford) Schuwerk, the former a 
native of Germany and the latter of Erie County. Mr. Schuwerk was born 
Nov. 5, 1852, and his wife was born Jan. 25, 1852. He died Oct. 23, 1911, 
and his wife died March 25, 1917. To Mr. and Mrs. Williams a daughter 
has been born, Jane Loverna Williams, born March 20, 1906. She is a 
student at Allegheny College, Meadville, Pa. 

Mr. Williams is affiliated with the First Methodist Church of Ei'ie, 
and belongs to the Masonic Lodge and Shrine, Chamber of Commerce, 




yXff^uui£ LXAi-o:^^^ 




JOSEPH H. WILLIAMS 




MRS. NANCY B. WILLIAMS 



History of Erie County 829 

Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the Knights of Pythias, Elks Lodge, 
and the Loyal Order of Moose. He is a Republican and during his long 
term of public service as an official he has been most progressive and 
efficient. 

Joseph H. Williams, deceased, was a substantial and highly esteemed 
citizen of Erie. He was born at Burlington, N. J., Oct. 29, 1839, a son 
of Samuel S. and Sarah (Hutchinson) Williams, the father a native of 
Burlington, N. J., and the mother of Bucks County, Pa. 

The Williams family is an old and highly esteemed family of New 
Jersey, and John N. Williams, the paternal great-grandfather of the Erie 
Joseph H. Williams, served in the Revolutionary War in a New Jersey 
regiment. He met his death at the Battle of Monmouth, and his son 
Daniel, the grandfather of Joseph H., was born near that battle ground 
in Monmouth County, and died in Burlington, N. J., and the maternal 
grandfather of Mr. Williams died in Bucks County, Pa. The latter was 
an Englishman by birth. 

Joseph H. Williams spent the early years of his life in his native city 
of Burlington and in 1861 he volunteered in three month's service in the 
Civil War, but being refused on account of the company being full, he 
again volunteered in February, 1864, in Company F, 186th Regiment of 
Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry and served until the close of the struggle. 
Four of his brothers were also in the war, two serving in the 112th 
Regiment of Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, one in the Third New Jer- 
sey Regiment and one was in the Construction Corps. Previous to join- 
ing the army, Joseph H. Williams had learned the bricklayer's trade and 
coming to the City of Erie in 1872 he began contracting and building and 
continued along that line of work until his death. Mr. Williams, in com- 
pany with Robert T. Shank, built some of the leading business places and 
beautiful homes of Erie and during its existence was one of the largest 
contracting firms in the county. Among the fine residences constructed 
by them was the home of Mrs. C. W. Strong. He died Dec. 23, 1913. 

On Oct. 14, 1870, Mr. Williams married Miss Nancy B. Crane, a sketch 
of whom and a history of the Crane family appear in this volume. 

Mr. Williams was a Republican and served as a member of the School 

Board for 16 years and was instrumental in the founding of the public 

. libi'ary in Erie. He was a member of the Chamber of Commerce and was 

identified with the Masonic Lodge and the following branches : P. M. Perry 



830 History of Erie County 

Lodge No. 392 ; Temple Chapter No. 215, R. A. M. ; P. T. I. G. M. Jerusa- 
lem Council No. 33, R. & S. M.; E. C. Mt. Olivet Commandery No. 30 
K. T. ; Zem Zem Temple, and Presque Isle of Perfection. 

Mrs. Nancy B. (Crane) Williams, probation officer of Erie County, is 
among the highly esteemed women of Erie, and a member of one of the 
county's prominent pioneer families. She was born in this city, Jan. 12, 
1852, and is the daughter of James and Priscilla (Roberts) Crane. 

James Crane was the son of Abiatha Crane, one of the pioneers of 
Erie and a soldier of the Revolutionary War. He established the Crane 
Stone Quarry Company in Erie, which was owned by him until his death 
in June, 1852. 

Nancy B. Crane was reared and educated in Erie and on Oct. 14, 1870, 
was united in marriage with Joseph H. Williams, now deceased. A sketch 
of Mr. Williams appears in this volume. 

To Joseph C. and Nancy B. (Crane) Williams were born six chil- 
dren, as follows: Charles Hutchin, born July 31, 1871, married Clara 
Jackson, and they live at 117 East Fifth Street, Erie; Joseph Crane, born 
July 8, 1877, mention of whom is made below; Max C, born Sept. 29, 
1879, married Louise Greger, served as chairman of the Erie County 
Republican Committeemen from 1919 until 1924, and they live at 217 
East Avenue, Erie; Robert K., born Oct. 28, 1882, married Mamie Olivett, 
lives at 823 East Sixth Street, Erie; Sarah, born Jan. 10, 1884, married 
C. V. Olsen, lives at 837 East Sixth Street ; and Laura, bom Jan. 31, 1885, 
married Hugo Nicolai, and they live at Irvington, N. J. 

Mrs. Joseph C. Williams was appointed probation officer for girls in 
Erie County by Judge Walling in 1914 and in this work she has proven 
thoroughly capable and efficient. She is the first woman to hold the posi- 
tion of probation officer in Erie County. She is a member of the Wayne 
Park Baptist Church, and belongs to the Eastern Star, Hiram Brown 
Circle, Ladies of the Grand Army, and is a teacher of the Women's Bible 
Class. She is a Republican. 

The Crane Family. The following is taken from the Cleveland Sun- 
day Leader of April, 1903: "History of an Illustrious Family. Many 
descendants of Abiathar Crane, one of Erie's pioneer settlers, now reside 
in this section. The Cranes are among the earliest pioneers of Erie 
County, Elihu, Miles, and Abiathar Crane, coming from New England and 
settling in the western part of the county in 1797, in the vicinity of 



History of Erie County 831 

Cranesville. Abiathar Crane later moved to Erie and located in its east- 
ern suburb. No family in the county has a more honorable record than 
that of the Cranes. Jasper Crane, who came from England in 1637 with 
Alice, his wife, was the emigrant ancestor. Their son, Jasper, was one of 
the committee of safety to protect the New Haven colony against De 
Ruyter, the Dutch Admiral, who cruised in the Long Island Sound and 
threatened the settlements. During the Revolutionary War, the Con- 
necticut colony, to increase facilities for coast defense, put into service 
three boats or galleys, one being called 'The Crane,' named in honor of 
the family who stood so loyally by the colony. It was sent to New York to 
assist in its defense under General Washington and even the exact cost of 
the 'Crane' has been recorded, £1,013, 6s, lOd. 

"Of the other Cranes who gave service to their country there was 
Ebenezer Crane, a private of the militia, designated as the 'Lexington 
Alarm.' Memebrs of the family served as privates, corporals, and cap- 
tains, not only in the Revolutionary War and all colonial wars, but in that 
of 1812 and the Mexican War. Anyone who can claim a Crane as an 
ancestor has no trouble in proving eligibility to the various patriotic socie- 
ties, Colonial Dames or Revolutionary Daughters and Sons. Love of coun- 
try has ever been a distinguishing trait of the family as well as upright 
business principles. No descendant so far as is known, has ever been a 
criminal, a pauper, or a suicide. The family is descended from Lord 
Arundell's family, and inherit the blood of Charlemagne and Hugh Capet, 
both of whom claimed to spring from Pharmond, and from him to Ante- 
nor, king of the Crimenians, B. C. 443. Chilton, near Gudbury, in Suffolk, 
is the home of the Cranes. They lived at Chilton Hall, a moated manor or 
some distinction and were lords of the manor. The Cranes in England 
have borne five coats of arms, whether all of one family is not certain, 
although there is reason for believing that they were special grants made 
for special services. The several Armorials are lacking in mottoes with 
one exception. 

"A member of the Crane family of Cheshire county, England, on notic- 
ing his neighbor Corbett's motto, 'God Feeds the Crows,' wrote for his 
motto, 'He who feeds the crows will not forget the Cranes.' In Chilton 
Church is an elaborate marble monument to the memory of Liv. Robert 
Crane, who was knighted by James I. Of Jane Anne Arundell it is 
recorded that she left by will, which was proved in 1521, money for wax 
tapers for the day of her burying and afterwards for use at mass, also 
money for bells to ring dirges at her obsequies. A John Crane was clerk 



832 History of Erie County 

of the kitchen to James I, a position of much honor. A Robert Crane 
of Suffolk, was one of the gentlemen chosen by King Charles II to be made 
knight of the Royal Oak. He had an estate of $75,000 per year." 

Annette Young, the efficient clerk of courts of Erie County, is a 
native of this county. She is a daughter of James Brown and Phoebe 
Jane Young. The father was born in Ireland in 1832 of English and 
Irish parentage. He came to Erie County when a small child and died 
in 1879. The mother was a native of Erie County and of Scotch descent. 
She was reared in this county, educated in the public schools and Water- 
ford Academy and taught school. She died April 28, 1925. 

Miss Young was educated in the public schools, taught school for one 
year, and was employed in business offices for five years. She was a resi- 
dent of Redlands, Calif., for four years, where she was deputy city clerk. 
She was appointed deputy clerk of courts of Erie County, Dec. 1, 1912, 
and May 1, 1922, was appointed by the governor to fill out the unexpired 
term of the late Ross Cutter as clerk of courts, and was elected to that 
office for a four year term, 1924 to 1928, at the November, 1923, election. 

Miss Young is a Republican, a member of Park Presbyterian Church, 
Woman's Club, Zonta Club, National Federation of Business and Profes- 
sional Women's Club. She is a capable public official and has a wide 
acquaintance in Erie County. 

Robert Edward Weschler, who ranks among the well known business 
men and substantial citizens of Erie, was born there Feb. 2, 1877, the son 
of Leo B. and Pauline (Kimmeth) Weschler. 

Leo B. Weschler was born in Erie, the son of Jacob Weschler, one of 
the city's pioneer citizens, and old time malt dealers. Mr. Weschler died 
in 1891, and his wife is also deceased. They were the parents of the 
following children: Robert E., the subject of this sketch; Charles L., 
Joseph S., Frank J., Harry J., and Frances. 

Robert Edward Weschler attended St. Joseph's school in Chicago, 
the Erie public schools, and Clark's Business College. He entered upon 
his business career as a salesman selling the old Graphic newspaper, of 
which John Miller was the editor. From that line of work he entered 
the employ of M. A. Krug, in the shoe business, and was associated with 
that business house for 13 years. In 1901 Mr. Weschler engaged in the 
shoe business with his brother, Charles L., on State Street. With the 




ANNETTE VOUNG 



History of Erie County 833 

passing years his business has enlarged and he is now proprietor of one 
of the largest shoe houses in the city. In 1903 the business was incor- 
porated with Mr. Weschler as president and Harry J. Weschler as secre- 
tary, which offices they both now hold. 

Mr. Weschler was married to Miss Mae C. Scharrer, of Erie, and a 
daughter of one of its oldest residents, Jacob Scharrer. Mr. and Mrs. 
Weschler have four children, as follows: Joseph, a graduate of Central 
High School, engaged in business with his father, married Miss Beatrice 
Duffy of Erie ; Mildred, a graduate of Academy High School, now a student 
at Seton College, Greensburg, Pa. ; Robert, a high school student ; and 
Helen Frances, also a student. 

Mr. Weschler is a Democrat, a member of St. Peter's Catholic Church, 
and belongs to the Knights of Columbus, the Elks lodge, and the Board 
of Commerce. He has served as a member of the board of education for 
21 years and has served as president of the board for three terms. Mr. 
Weschler and his family are highly esteemed citizens of their community 
and have many friends. 

George L. Kelly is an enterprising and successful business man of 
Erie. He is a member of the firm of Kelly & Green, commercial photog- 
raphers, located at 116 West 11th Street. Mr. Kelly was born at Tazewell, 
Va., March 29, 1884, and is the son of John P. and Mary (Groseclose) 
Kelly. 

John P. Kelly is a native of Marion, Va., born in 1850. During his 
active life he engaged in general farming and stock raising and now lives 
retired. His wife, who was born in Virginia in 1844, died in 1895. Mr. 
and Mrs. Kelly had nine children. 

George L. Kelly received his education in the schools of his native 
state and is a graduate of Emory and Henry College, in Virginia, and 
also of the University of Chicago. After teaching high school at Duftield, 
Va., for five years, Mr. Kelly taught for three years at Ottumwa, Iowa. 
He then came to Erie where he taught social science in the high schools 
for eight years. Messrs. Kelly & Green specialize in commercial photog- 
raphy and wholesale kodak finishing. Their business covers a radius of 
200 miles around Erie. 

On Aug. 20, 1920, Mr. Kelly was united in marriage with Miss Gladys 
Short of Erie, and the daughter of Alfred and Helen (Horton) Short. 
Mr. Short died in 1914 and his wife resides at Erie, Pa. Mrs. Kelly is a 
(53) 



834 History of Erie County 

graduate of the University of Florida and taught school for six years in 
Erie before her marriage. Mr. and Mrs. Kelly have one son, Donald, born 
May 5, 1924. 

Mr. Kelly is a Democrat and a member of the First Methodist Church. 
He is a leading and representative citizen of his community. 

John Henry Buys, who ranks among the substantial and hig'hly es- 
teemed citizens of Erie, was born in Summit Township, Erie County, in 
1839. After attending the district schools he attended Waterford Acad- 
emy, Erie County, after which he engaged in general farming. Later, 
he worked at the blacksmith trade, and after several years became in- 
terested in the coal business. For a number of years Mr. Buys was con- 
nected with the Whitman Coal Company, Erie. Since 1916 he has been 
an invalid and confined to his home at 260 West 8th Street. 

On Aug. 10, 1876, Mr. Buys was united in marriage with Miss Marietta 
Tarbell, a native of Chicago, 111., and the daughter of James and Margaret 
(Demars) Tarbell, who settled in Erie County in 1797. The Tarbell family 
located on a farm in Mill Creek Township and were well known pioneers 
of this section. Mrs. Buys has a brother living, Eugene Tarbell, who re- 
sides in Florida. To Mr. and Mrs. Buys two daughters were born: Mar- 
garet, who was drowned July 4, 1903, at the age of 26 years, and she is 
buried in Erie Cemetery; and Elizabeth, who married B. Emmons, and 
she died June 3, 1908, at the age of 31 years, and is buried in Erie Ceme- 
tery. 

Politically, Mr. Buys is a Republican. He and his wife are members 
of the Central Presbyterian Church and have an extensive acquaintance 
is Erie, where they have spent so many years. 

Carl C. Guerrein, one of Erie's enterprising and successful young busi- 
ness men, was born there March 26, 1896, and is the son of Leo and Bar- 
bara (Fischer) Guerrein. 

Leo Guerrein was born in Germany in 1868 and came to this country 
in 1892, locating in Erie. He established a wholesale cheese business in 
1895 at 2509 Peach Street, where the business was located until 1916, at 
which time it was moved to 1014 Holland Avenue. On December 16, 
1916, Mr. Guerrein retired from business. He resides at 2509 Peach Street. 
Mr. Guerrein has been successful in his business undertaking and owns 
several pieces of valuable real estate, including the Hippodrome Theater. 



History of Erie County 835 

His wife, a native of Sondernheim, Germany, died at the age of 40 years, 
leaving six children, of whom Carl C, the subject of this sketch is the 
oldest. 

Carl C. Guerrein has always lived in Erie. After attending the public 
schools he engaged in business with his father. He manufacturs high 
grade cheeses and besides his extensive local trade ships his product to 
Philadelphia, Pittsburgh and surrounding territory ; he also imports cheese 
and fish from Europe. 

In 1917 Mr. Guerrein was married to Miss Edith Margaret Arndt, of 
Erie, a daughter of Joseph G. and Theresa (Mangold) Arndt, residents of 
Erie. To Mr. and Mrs. Guerrein have been born three children: Carl J., 
born January 2, 1918; E. Barbara, born March 11, 1919; and Virginia, 
born February 29, 1920. 

In politics Mr. Guerrein is identified with the Republican party. He 
and his family are members of St. John's Catholic Church. He belongs 
to the Elks lodge and various other organizations. 

C. L. Siegel is a well known citizen of Erie and the manager of one 
of the city's old established businesses. He was born here, Aug. 24, 1875, 
and is the son of Jacob F. and Margaret (O'Brien) Siegel. 

Jacob F. Siegel, retired, is one of Erie's pioneer coal dealers. He was 
born in Bavaria, Germany, May 12, 1845, the son of Frederick L. and 
Katherine (Zimmer) Siegel. In 1853 the family came to Erie, where Jacob 
F. was educated. In 1890 he entered the coal business and by careful 
management was able to build up a splendid business, which is now operat- 
ed by his son. In 1910 Mr. Siegel sold his oil interests to the Bayerson 
Oil Company of Erie. He now lives retired. There were seven children 
born to Mr. and Mrs. Siegel, five of whom are now living. 

C. L. Siegel attended the Erie schools and when he was 18 years of 
age entered his father's employ. He now conducts the business, although 
his father maintains his interest in it. Mr. Siegel carries a complete line 
of building materials, cement, coal, etc., and operates three trucks. The 
business is located at 849 East 11th Street. 

On April 27, 1910, Mr. Siegel was united in mai-riage with Miss Emma 
Vetter, of Erie, and they have two children: Charles and John, both stud- 
ents. 

Mr. Siegel is a Democrat, a member of the Masonic and Elks lodges, 
and an excellent citizen of Erie. 



836 History of Erie County 

Henry J. Sevin was a prominent art dealer for more than fifty years 
in the City of Erie. He was bofn in this city, Jan. 14, 1856, was educated 
in the city schools, and at the age of 13 years entered the business firm 
of his father. His father, Jacob Theodore Sevin, son. of a teacher, was 
born at Gruenstatt, Rhine Bavaria, Germany, Oct. 28, 1812, and died 
Aug. 17, 1888. His mother, Catherine Albrecht, was born at Erbach, 
Hesse-Darmstadt, Germany, and died Oct. 14, 1871. She was the daughter 
of a cloth manufacturer. Both of Mr. Sevin's parents are buried in Erie 
Cemetery. 

The Sevin family were originally French Hugenots and came from 
Orleans, France. To escape the Catholic persecutions of the early 17th 
century they fled to Germany. There is a legend that up until this 
time the name had been Nives, and that it was now written backward and 
spelled Sevin to escape detection. This is substantiated by the old Sevin 
crest which bears in the lower portion of an ornamental shield, a cluster 
of snow flakes. The Latin plural of snow is nives, denoting the origin 
of the name and its original spelling. 

Jacob T. Sevin was educated in the public schools of Germany and was 
graduated from the Gymnasium, a school which corresponds to our high 
school. He was a student of Latin and spoke German, French, Italian, 
Spanish and English. His father was a school teacher by profession and 
Jacob also taught school when a young man. Later he became a journey- 
man worker, following a mechanical and constructive bent and a desire to 
travel. He was an expert wood turner, also a turner of metals, horn, 
and other mediums. In 1849 he was forced to "flee Germany because of his 
republican tendencies and lack of sympathy with the German monarchy. 
He then came to the United States and to Erie, because his brother. Dr. 
Charles Sevin, had located here the year previously. These traits of 
mechanical ability, desire to travel, and independence of thought are ap- 
parent in his children and grandchildren. 

In 1846, three years before leaving Germany, Jacob Sevin married 
Catherine Albrecht. Two children were born there, Ernestine and Eliza- 
beth Sevin. Ernestine taught in the public schools of Erie, was organist 
and choir leader in St. Paul's German Lutheran Church for many years, 
and later married Ernest Waeldin of Brooklyn, N. Y., where she made her 
home from that time until her death in 1923. Elizabeth became a pianist 
and teacher of music. She did not marry and died in 1917. Five more 
children were born in Erie: Carrie Sevin who married Jacob Eichorn and 








HENRY J. SEVIX 



History of Erie County 837 

who died in 1916; Margaret Sevin, who married Charles B. Weunschel and 
is now hving at 328 West Fifth Street, Erie ; Charlotte Sevin, who married 
William S. Sherwood and is living at 435 West 10th Street, Erie (both 
Margaret and Charlotte were school teachers before their marriage). 
Charles Theodore, who is in the art business in Buffalo, N. Y., and lives 
at 785 Ashland Avenue; and Henry J. Sevin, the subject of this sketch. 

Jacob Sevin continued in Erie his trade of wood and metal turning, 
making various articles such as canes, pipes, and later picture frames. 
This was the beginning of the art business in this city and of Sevin's Art 
Store. His first place of business was at Seventh and State Streets, at 
about 705 State Street. It was in this building that Henry J. Sevin was 
born in 1856. Later the business moved just above Eighth Street on 
State, where the Penn Building now stands. Here it remained until 1863 
when the shop was moved to 17 West Seventh Street and a house erected 
at 15 West Seventh Street. In 1873 the firm cf J. T. Sevin and Sons was 
formed, the house was moved to the rear, and the present building at 15 
West Seventh Street was erected. Here the sons, Theodore and Henry, 
developed the art business while their father conducted a repair depart- 
ment at No. 17. By 1884 the art business had grown considerably. In 
this year the sons erected a two-story building at 912 State Street, moved 
the art business there, and formed the firm of J. T. Sevin's Sons. Their 
father continued the repair department at 17 West Seventh Street until 
his death in 1888. In 1897 another change took place when the firm of 
J. T. Sevin's Sons was dissolved and C. Theodore Sevin moved to Buffalo, 
N. Y., to open an art store on Main Street. In 1903 Henry J. Sevin 
remodeled and enlarged the building at 15 West Seventh Street and moved 
back to the old stand. In August, 1924, he retired from active business 
and died April 18, 1925. The business is now being conducted by his 
daughter Gertrude K. 

On Oct. 19, 1881, Henry J. Sevin married Fredericka Mehl. She was 
an Erie girl, having been born and reared in this city. Her parents came 
from Alsasce which belonged to France during the time they lived there. 
Her father, Michael M. Mehl and her mother, Catherine Witter, were mar- 
ried in 1834 and had several sons. Michael Mehl was not in sympathy 
with the military program of France and did not want his sons subjected 
to the enforced military training so he brought his family to America and 
settled in Erie. It was his intention to go farther west but his wife had 
wearied of traveling and requested that they go no farther, so they re- 



838 History of Erie County 

mained in Erie. Michael Mehl brought with him from Strausburg a num- 
ber of instruments and formed the Mehl Band, the first brass band in 
Erie. His sons went to the Civil War with it. Michael Mehl died in 1880 
and his wife in 1887. They are buried in the Erie Cemetery. 

Of the children born to Henry J. Sevin and wife, Harry Louis Sevin 
is now living in Birmingham, Mich. He is manager of the Detroit Branch 
OflSce of the Theodore L. Dodd Company, manufacturers' agents. In 1914 
Harry Sevin married Ethel Love of Hartford, Conn. They have three 
boys, William, Harry Louis, Jr., and Frederic Robert. Gertrude Katherine 
the eldest daughter, was graduated from Syracuse University in 1910. 
In 1911 she was appointed professor of biology and head of that depart- 
ment at Agnes Scott College, a college for women in Decatur, Ga., a suburb 
of Atlanta. In 1915 she returned to Syracuse University for a year of 
study and was granted a master's degree in June, 1916, and elected a 
member of Sigma Xi, the national honorary science society. In the fall 
of 1916 she went to Adelphi College for women in Brooklyn, N. Y., where 
she was head of the biology department until June, 1923. In August of 
this year when her father retired from business, his daughter, Gertrude, 
decided to give up her teaching profession to take over and continue the 
art business which her father had successfully carried on for so many 
years. A younger daughter, Madeleine Sevin, was with her father in the 
art business for a number of years. In 1918 she married Dr. Donald S. 
Sterret, the orthodontist. They have three children, Virginia, David, 
and Martha. Two younger sons, Frederic William and Robert Edward 
are twins. They both were graduated from the University of Michigan 
in 1917 as mechanical engineers. During the World War they served 
with the Curtis Aeroplane Corporation as assistants to the chief engineer. 
Frederic W. Sevin is at present with the Vacuum Oil Company as a 
lubrication expert working out of their Detroit office. Robert E. Sevin 
is associated with the Union Iron Works of Erie. 

Frank Kurczewski, steamship and insurance agent, is among the en- 
terprising and successful business men of Erie. He was born at Engle- 
wood, N. J., Jan. 17, 1877, and is a son of Stanislaus and Agnes (Wender- 
ski) Kurczewski. 

Stanislaus Kerczewski was born in Poland in 1854 and settled in New 
Jersey in 1871. He was a successful merchant during his active career 
and now lives retired at Buffalo, N. Y. His wife, also a native of Poland, 



History of Erie County 839 

died in 1898, at the age of 51 years and is buried in Trinity cemetery, Erie. 
Mr. and Mrs. Kerczewski were the parents of eleven children, of whom 
Frank, the subject of this sketch was the oldest. 

In 1878 the Kurczewski family removed to St. Joseph, Mo., and ten 
years later settled in Erie. When a young boy Frank Kurczewski learned 
the cigar making trade, in which business he was engaged for 28 years, 
being in the employ of several leading cigar manufacturers of Erie. In 
1910 he entered the employ of Lawrence Stachowski, at that time steam- 
ship agent of Erie. In 1920 Mr. Kurczewski purchased the business which 
is located at 1208 Parade Street. He is also engaged in the insurance 
business, specializing in fire insurance. 

Mr. Kurczewski has four children : Walter, born in 1901 ; Edmond, born 
in 1902 ; Alois, born in 1904 ; and Irene, born in 1910. 

Mr. Kurczewski is a member of the Catholic church. 

Davis Reichbaum is a progressive and enterprising business man of 
Erie. He was born in Russia, Aug. 14, 1877, and is the son of Moses 
and Gussie Reichbaum. 

Moses Reichbaum was born in Poland in 1831 and now lives there re- 
tired. He was successfully engaged in the manufacturing business until 
the outbreak of the World War. His wife, who was born in 1840, died 
in 1891, and was buried in Poland. Mr. and Mrs. Reichbaum had seven 
children: Marian, Ida and Gussie, all hve in Poland; Solomon, died in 
1920; Abraham, lives in Pittsburgh; Alexander, lives in Pittsburgh; and 
Davis, the subject of this sketch. 

At the age of 15 years Davis Reichbaum came to this country and 
settled in Pittsburgh, where he engaged in the salvage and contracting 
business with his brothers. In 1916 he removed his family to Erie and 
successfully engaged in the same business in this city. On June 23, 1924, 
Mr. Reichbaum, with Edward C. Hanley, opened the Boston Terminal 
Parking Station, 714 Peach Street, which is one of the largest and most 
conveniently located parking spaces in Erie. The space is 87x180 feet. 
On Feb. 10, 1925, Mr. Reichbaum bought Mr. Hanley's interests in the 
business. He also conducts a gasoline filling station and has a special car 
washing machine. Mr. Reichbaum has business interests in New York 
city, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, and Cambridge Springs, Pa. 

In 1896, Mr. Reichbaum was married in Pittsburgh to Miss Anna 
Shocet, a native of that city. To them were born four children: Samuel, 



840 History of Erie County 

who has been with the Keith Circuit for 14 years, and known as the popu- 
lar comedian, "Roy Rogers"; Doctor Theodore, a veteran of the World war, 
and a graduate of the School of Medicine, Harvard University, now con- 
nected with St. Vincent's Hospital, New York city; Benjamin, now a stud- 
ent at a military academy in Virginia ; and Sidney, a student at East High 
School, Erie. 

Mr. Reichbaum is a member of the C. B. S. Congregation Church and 
he belongs to the B'nai B'rith, the Elks and Moose lodges and Erie Maen- 
nerchor. He is a capable man who has achieved marked success in his 
business undertakings. 

Charles Edward Royer is a veteran of the World War and a leader 
among the younger attorneys of Erie. He was born in this city, Feb. 15, 
1896, and is the son of Charles Edward and Joanna (Carney) Royer. 

Charles Edward Royer, deceased, was born at Waterford, Pa., Oct. 
26, 1849, and died March 28, 1917. He was employed by the Erie Forge 
Company for a number of years as a draftsman and was highly esteemed 
in the city. He was a Democrat, a member of the Catholic Church, a 
fourth degree Knight of Columbus, and belonged to the Royal Arcanum 
and the C. M. B. A. He was married Sept. 26, 1882, to Miss Joanna Car- 
ney, who was born in Erie, Aug. 28, 1859, the daughter of John C. and 
Mary (Crowley) Carney, natives of Ireland and early settlers of Erie. 
To Mr. and Mrs. Royer two children were born: Ellen Josephine, born 
Nov. 6, 1884, married John Henry Coon, of Buffalo, now of Baltimore, 
Md. She is a graduate of Villa Maria Academy, Erie ; and Charles Edward 
Royer, the subject of this sketch. 

Joanna Carney Royer was educated in the parochial schools of Erie 
and has been identified with the L. C. B. A. since its organization in 1890. 
It was the first fraternal insurance society organized for Catholic women 
in the world and from the time of its organization in 1890, Mrs. Royer 
has served continuously as Supreme Recorder. In that year she was a 
delegate to the first convention held at Titusville, Pa. The society now 
has 1,300 branches throughout the United States and Canada, with head- 
quarters in Erie. Mrs. Royer is a member of St. Peter's Catholic Church 
and belongs to the Women's Club. Elbert Hubbard referred to Mrs. 
Royer as being one of the 12 leading business women of the world. 

Charles Edward Royer attended the parochial and public schools 
of Erie and was graduated from Central High School in 1914, from George 




CHARLES EDWARD ROVER 



History of Erie County 841 

Washington University in 1920 with A. B. degree, and from the Law- 
School of Georgetown University in 1921 with the degree of LL.B. The 
following year he received the degree of LL.M. He was admitted to the 
Bar of the Supreme Court and Court of Appeals of the District of Colum- 
bia in 1921, to the Erie County Bar in 1922, to the Supreme Court of 
Pennsylvania in 1923, to the Superior Court of Pennsylvania in 1923, and 
to the U. S. Federal Court of the Western District of Pennsylvania in 
1924. On Aug. 1, 1922, Mr. Royer established his office in the Marine 
Bank Building. 

Mr. Pioyer enlisted in the Quartermaster's Corps, U. S. Army in 
August, 1917, and later transferred to the 33rd Artillery, 11th Division. 
He served with this outfit until his discharge, Dec. 11, 1918. He now 
holds the commission of second lieutenant in the Field Artillery, Officers' 
Reserve Corps. He is a member of the American Legion and the Societe 
des 40 Hommes et 8 Chevaux. 

Mr. Royer is a member of the Erie County Bar Association, the 
University Club, the Erie Golf Club, Knights of Columbus, and Sigma Nu 
Phi Fraternity (legal). 

Kendall R. Morrison, justice of the peace and leading real estate opei-a- 
tor of Wesleyville, was born in Cameron County, Pa., Oct. 20, 1861, and 
is the son of Robert H. and Alzina (Bliss) Morrison. 

Robert H. Morrison was a native of Genesee County, N. Y., born in 
1834. He engaged in the lumbering business in Cameron County, Pa., 
for many years and died in 1911. His wife died in 1901. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Morrison six children were born. 

Kendall R. Morrison grew up in Emporium and attended the schools 
there. At the age of 19 years he learned telegraphy and three years later 
engaged in the lumber business with his father. He was a bookkeeper 
for 15 years for Hall, Gardner & Company, in Elk County, Pa., after which 
he served in the same capacity for the West Hickory (Pa.) Tannery Com- 
pany for 11 years. In 1920 Mr. Morrison removed to Wesleyville and 
after clerking for three years for the Frask, Prescott & Richardson Com- 
pany, he became interested in the real estate business. In May, 1923, he 
was appointed justice of the peace. Mr. Morrison handles insurance, also, 
and is considered a reliable business man. 

On July 21, 1883, Mr. Morrison was married at Wilcox, Pa., to Miss 
Annie Cook, and to them have been born nine children, as follows: Laura 



842 History of Erie County 

May, married Ezra H. Webb, lives in Ontario, Canada; Nellie Mary, mar- 
ried W. 0. Hazelton, foreman in the General Electric plant, Erie ; Edward 
K., lives in Wesleyville, is also connected with the General Electric Com- 
pany; Robert H., insurance agent, lives in Erie; Lena, a demonstrator at 
the Boston Store, Erie, lives at home; Anna I., at home; Gerald E., mar- 
ried Mary Bertram, and he is also employed at the General Electric Com- 
pany, Erie; Verna Belle, at home; and Ethel, a high school student. 
Mr. Morrison is a member of the Free Methodist Church of Erie. 

George Allen Miller, authorized dealer for the Hupmobile and Gray 
automobiles, ranks among the leading business men of Erie. He was born 
there Jan. 1, 1891, and is the son of Allen and Susan (Wiley) Miller. 

Allen Miller was born in Ireland in 1852 and came to this country 
when a young man. He settled in Erie where he worked at his trade of 
a moulder and later as a machinist. Mr. and Mrs. Miller, who now live 
retired in Erie, are the parents of four children, of whom George Allen, the 
subject of this sketch, is the youngest. 

George Allen Miller was reared and educated in Erie and when he was 
14 years old learned the pattern making trade, being the first apprentice 
ever hired by the General Electric Company there. Several years later 
Mr. Miller became a plumber and glazer. His first automobile experience 
was with the Keystone Sales Agency. During the World War he enlisted 
with the 111th Regiment, 28th Division, and was later transferred from 
the infantry to the regimental band. After two years service he returned 
to Erie and entered the employ of the Meyers Motor Sales Company, 
Chevrolet dealers. He was later appointed sales manager of the Watson 
& Peck Agency, and for the past year has had the agency for the Hupmo- 
bile and Gray cars. His place of business is located at 21 West 21st 
Street, and is among the up to date agencies and garages of the city. 

On April 18, 1923, Mr. Miller was married to Miss Ruth Allison, the 
daughter of Charles and Myrtle Allison, of Erie. They have one son, 
George Allison, born March 2, 1924. 

Mr. Miller is a Republican, a member of the Wayne Methodist Epis- 
copal Church and belongs to the Masonic and Elks lodges, the Kiwanis 
club, and the Loyal Order of Moose. 

The Miller Orchestra was organized by Mr. Miller in 1906 and was 
composed of members of his high school class. It now has 20 members 
and is considered one of Erie's leading orchestras. 



History of Erie County 843 

E. J. Morton, retired city engineer, is among Erie's prominent and in- 
fluential citizens. He was born in London, Eng., April 6, 1847, and is a 
son of John and Emma (Haddan) Morton. 

John Morton, deceased, spent his entire life in London, and for a num- 
ber of years published the London Gazette. There were seven children 
in the Morton family, of whom E. J., the subject of this sketch, was the 
oldest. 

At the age of 15 years E. J. Morton came to the United States and 
settled in Buffalo, N. Y. Later he came to Erie, making the entire trip 
on foot. Here he studied engineering in the offices of Gray & Sherman. 
Mr. Morton was connected with the city engineering department for about 
30 years. He lives at 708 West 10th Street. 

On Sept. 16, 1877, Mr. Morton was married to Miss Elvira Masters, 
a native of Clarion County, Pa., and the daughter of Johnathan and Hannah 
(Richenbrode) Masters, both deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Morton have four 
children: Daisy Emma, married J. Hogan, inventor of the Trojan Wash- 
ing Machine, lives in Erie; Edna, lives in New York city, where she is 
connected with the Lee Tire & Rubber Company ; Henry Edgar, lives in 
Erie, where he has been connected with the city water department for 22 
years ; and Grace, private secretary of Charles Strong, Erie. 

Mr. Morton is a Republican and a member of the First Methodist 
Church. He is one of Erie's well known and representative citizens. 

L. T. Rossiter is a prominent citizen of Erie, where he is successfully 
engaged in the real estate and insurance business. He was born in Phila- 
delphia, June 24, 1863, and is a son of James P. and Eliza (McCusker) 
Rossiter. 

James P. Rossiter was a native of Philadelphia, born in 1838. He was 
a distiller and engaged in the wholesale liquor business during his entire 
life. He died in Philadelphia in 1898, and his wife died there in 1871. 
They were the parents of five children. 

L. T. Rossiter spent his boyhood in Philadelphia and was educated 
in the public schools there. When 17 years of age he became an apprentice 
to a ship's smith, and worked at that trade continuously for 12 years, 
after which he became interested in the insurance business in Philadelphia. 
Mr. Rossiter represented the Metropolitan Life Insurance Company and 
the New York Life Insurance Company for 21 years, and in 1902 removed 
to Erie, where he became local superintendent of the Metropolitan Life 



844 History of Erie County 

Insurance Company. In 1910 he engaged in the real estate business, spe- 
ciahzing in residence property. Mr. Rossiter's offices are in the Penn 
building. 

On Dec. 28, 1886, Mr. Rossiter was married at Philadelphia to Miss 
Elizabeth Griffin of that city. To them were born seven children: Helen, 
married L. F. O'Brien, lives in Buffalo, N. Y., and they have three chil- 
dren, Rita, Louis F., and Helen Marie; James P., a graduate of George- 
town University, and a veteran of the World War, having served as a 
lieutenant in the artillery, now practicing law in Erie; Louis T., Jr., also 
a World War veteran, engaged in business with his father; May T., lives 
in Erie; Ruth A., a student at the University of Philadelphia; Elizabeth, 
married Harry Harvey, lives in Erie; and Marion C, lives in Erie. 

Politically, Mr. Rossiter is a Democrat. He is a member of St. Peter's 
Catholic Church and is among the dependable business men of his com- 
munity. 

Richard E. Ford, who is successfully engaged in the insurance and 
bond business, is a member of one of Erie's most prominent pioneer fami- 
lies. He was born there July 16, 1881, and is the son of the late Jerry 
and Catherine (Lang) Ford. 

Jerry Ford and the Erie Herald grew up together. He printed the 
first newspaper in July, 1878, and with very few exceptions got out every 
issue until the last day of June, 1918, when his active career ceased. 
Mr. Ford was born in Bristol, England, in 1854, where his parents had 
moved from County Cork, Ireland, on their way to America. He arrived 
in this country at the age of three months. He learned the printer's 
trade under John Bayliss of Philadelphia on the Erie Republican. At the 
age of 15 years he worked on the Erie Dispatch, and later went to Cleve- 
land, and from there to Pittsburgh, where he was employed by James Bul- 
lock, the inventor of the Webb press, which revolutionized the newspaper 
printing business. Later he worked for Walter Scott, inventor of the 
Scott press, and later was associated with Elder Goss, who also became 
a great manufacturer of printing presses, and whose machine Mr. Ford 
operated during the last ten years of his life. His next position was as 
an expert with the Campbell Press Company of New York City, placing 
machinery, and also served as a factory inspector. During this time his 
parents lived in Erie and while on one of his frequent visits there, his 
mother persuaded him to locate in Erie, which he did. His first work was 
to move a press for the Lake Shore Visitor, owned by Father Casey and 




RICHARD E. FORD 



History of Erie County 845 

Bishop Mullen. He operated this press for some time, after which he 
began the publication of the Erie Herald. The first copy was printed in 
the basement of the old Lafayette Hotel on French Street, between 
Fourth and Fifth Streets. The press was later moved to the basement of 
the Scott Building, and when the present building at State and 10th 
Streets was occupied, Mr. Ford superintended the moving of the machin- 
ery without missing an edition of the paper. At that time he was super- 
intendent of the printing department and for some time it was the largest 
printing concern between New York City and Chicago. 

Mr. Ford died on Nov. 16, 1918. He was a member of the Typo- 
graphical Union and a charter member of the Pressmen Union and one of 
the delegates to the first convention. He served as president of the local 
chapter in 1878. Mr. Ford's widow still resides in the old homestead in 
Erie. They were the parents of ten children, four of whom are now liv- 
ing, as follows: Mrs. John A. Becker, a sketch of whom appears in this 
history; Richard E., the subject of this sketch; Everett J., employed 
on the Erie Dispatch-Herald; and Miss Ruth E., a nationally famed con- 
tralto, now singing in concert. Those deceased are Mary A., Zetta, Jerry 
W., Harry L., Lottie, and John Seymour. 

Mr. Ford was a life-long Democrat and president of the first ward 
Democratic Club, which was a power in city politics in the early nineties. 
He was a member of the Board of Education. He was a member of St. 
Patrick's Catholic Church, but was later identified with St. Peter's Cath- 
edral congregation. 

Richard E. Ford received his education in Erie, where he has always 
lived. In 1913 he became interested in the insurance and real estate busi- 
ness and was located at 1120 State Street, where he remained until 1920. 
He now has oflSces in the Marine National Bank Building, where he carries 
on a large volume of business in insurance and bonds. 

On Aug. 21, 1906, Mr. Ford was united in marriage with Miss Helen 
Retzbach, of Erie, and the daughter of Edmund and Barbara (Anthony) 
Retzbach, natives of Germany and leading pioneer citizens of Erie, hav- 
ing come here in 1869. To Mr. and Mrs. Ford the following children have 
been born: Helen, died at the age of four years; Natalie, a student in 
Academy High School; Virginia and Richard Jerry. 

Mr. Ford is a Democrat, a member of St. James Catholic Church, and 
belongs to the Elks and Eagle lodges, the Knights of Columbus, the Cham- 
ber of Commerce, and the Erie Motor Club. He is an enterprising and 
prominent business man of Erie. 



846 History of Erie County 

William F. Egan. One of the citizens of Erie who has made his own 
way and built up a substantial business by his own initiative and enter- 
prise is William F. Egan, owner of the American Heating and Plumbing 
Company. He was born in Buffalo, N. Y., Dec. 25, 1889, and is the son 
of Fred W. and Margaret (Cantillion) Egan. 

Thomas Egan, grandfather of the subject of this sketch, migrated 
from Ireland to Canada in 1835 and settled at Hamilton, Ont. He served 
throughout the Civil War with the Union Army and died at the age of 
89 years, while serving the government at Washington, D. C. His son, 
Fred W., was born in Ontario, Canada. He has been interested in the 
plumbing and heating business during his entire life and now lives retired 
at Jamestown, Pa. In 1915 Mr. Egan settled in Erie and with his son 
established the present business. Margaret (Cantillion) Egan, also a native 
of Canada, is now deceased. 

William F. Egan attended the schools of Pittsburgh and at an early 
age became interested in the plumbing and heating business. He spe- 
cializes in the installation of heating plants, as well as the plumbing for 
same. 

On Feb. 8, 1910, Mr. Egan was married at Washington, D. C, to Miss 
Mabel Clara Hammers, of Bellevue, Pa. They have three children: Fred, 
born in 1912; Clyde, born In 1913; and Perry, born in 1916. 

Mr. Egan and his family hold membership in St. Paul's Episcopal 
Church and he belongs to the Masonic and Elk lodges and the Chamber 
of Commerce. 

Albert Veil is among the prominent pioneer business men of Erie, 
where he has engaged in the restaurant business for many years. He 
was born in this city, Oct. 8, 1865, and is the son of Tobias and Anna 
Elizabeth (Hoffman) Veit. 

Tobias Veit was a native of Neupfoltz, Bavaria, where he was born 
Dec. 6, 1828. He worked on his father's farm until 1848, when he came 
to the United States, locating in Erie in October of that year. He was em- 
ployed as a moulder at several foundries in Erie until 1888, when he pur- 
chased Jacob Kaltenbach's restaurant. He continued the business until 
May, 1894, when it was purchased by his sons, Albert and Bernard. Mr. 
Veit was married in November, 1851, to Anna Elizabeth Hoffman, daugh- 
ter of Adam Hoffman, also of Neupfoltz, Bavaria. Mr. Veit died in 1917 
and is buried in Trinity cemetery, Erie. His wife is also deceased. They 



History of Erie County 847 

had five children: Albert, the subject of this sketch; Bernard, deceased, 
was elected mayor of Erie in 1915, but died before beginning his term of 
office ; Maggie, married Peter Leiss ; Teckla, the widow of Louis Knaf ; and 
Lena, married Patrick Foley. 

Albert Veit has always lived in Erie. After attending the public 
schools he engaged in the restaurant business with his father, in which 
he has since been successfully engaged. His restaurant is located at 154 
East 18th Street. 

On July 30, 1918, Mr. Veit was married to Miss Marie Oehnnestteter, 
a native of France. They have no children. 

Mr. Veit is a member of St. Mary's Catholic Church and belongs to the 
Elks and Eagles lodges. 

Alfred P. Lang is among the highly esteemed and well known resi- 
dents of Erie, where he has spent practically his entire life. He was 
born at Girard, Pa., Sept. 20, 1868, and is the son of Jacob and Mary 
(Weiblein) Lang. 

Jacob Lang and his wife were natives of Germany. He settled in 
Girard, Pa., many years ago and conducted a meat market there until 
1874, when he removed to Erie and engaged in the same business. He 
died in October, 1890, at the age of 48 years and his wife, a daughter 
of Gotleib Weiblein, died in 1890 also. Mr. and Mrs. Lang had four chil- 
dren: Alfred P., the subject of this sketch; Ollie, wife of E. Smith, lives in 
Erie; Oscar was killed in a railroad accident while in the employ of the 
New York Central Railroad as a conductor; and Fredericka, twin sister of 
Oscar, married W. W. Johnson, of Buffalo, N. Y., and she is deceased. 

Alfred P. Lang was six years of age when his parents removed to 
Erie, and he was educated in the public schools here. He engaged in busi- 
ness with his father for a number of years, later he became interested 
in the summer resort business at Four Mile Creek, and in 1907 entered 
the employ of the Erie Street Railway Company as a motorman. Since 
1912 he has served as an inspector for this company. He lives at 1841 
East Lake Road. 

On June 26, 1890, Mr. Lang was united in marriage with Miss Addie 
Little, of Mill Creek, Pa., and the daughter of William and Elizabeth (Lan- 
don) Little. To them were born five children, as follows: Mary E. .mar- 
ried Stephen Schimeck, and she died at the age of 25 years, in 1916, leaving 
a daughter, Melverta; Alfred, Jr., died in 1916, while serving in the U. S. 



848 History of Erie County 

Navy, in the Chelsea Hospital, Boston, Mass. ; Ethel, married Ernest 
Forest, lives in Erie, and has four children, Ernest, Gladys, Melvia, and 
Betty Mae ; Emory, married Josephine Childs, lives in Erie, and they have 
two children, Alfred and Norma; and Lavina, born in 1912, a student at 
East High School, Erie. 

Politically, Mr. Lang is a Republican. He is a member of the Lutheran 
church, and belongs to the Elks and Moose lodges, the Woodmen of the 
World, Maccabees, East Erie Turners and the Eagles. 

Joseph M. Schilling, a member of the State Legislature, ranks among 
the prominent and influential citizens of Erie. He was born at Ashland, 
Pa., Aug. 25, 1881, and is the son of John B. and Carolina (Schodt) 
Schilling. 

John B. Schilling was born at New Philadelphia, Pa., March 25, 1856, 
and his wife was a native of Ashland, Pa., born in 1858. He died in 1898. 
During his life Mr. Schilling worked at his trade as carpenter and was 
later a member of the police force. To Mr. and Mrs. Schilling the follow- 
ing children were born : Harry, lives at Spokane, Wash. ; Mary, mar- 
ried Joseph F. George, lives at 1407 Morse Avenue, Erie ; Frederick G., 
man-led Mabel Gussman, lives at 6131/4 East 11th Street, Erie; Caroline, 
married Daniel F. Layden, lives at 2521 Reed Street, Erie; John, lives 
at 2521 Reed Street, Erie ; Elizabeth, married T. J. Keady, lives at Law- 
ton, Okla. ; Madaline, married Thomas F. Canavan, lives at 206 East 
Fourth Street, Erie; and Joseph M., the subject of this sketch. 

Joseph M. Schilling began his business career in the coal mines of 
Pennsylvania as a slate picker. He attended the public schools of Ash- 
land, Pa., and later learned the machinist's trade in the employ of the 
Pennsylvania Railroad. He was also a clerk for the C. S. Marks & Com- 
pany for six years. In 1916 Mr. Schilling was made manager and secre- 
tary of the Fraternal Order of Eagles No. 282, in which capacity he served 
as manager until 1922. He is now secretary. 

In 1918 Mr. Schilling was elected to the Pennsylvania House of Rep- 
resentatives and has served four terms of two years each, having been 
elected every two years on the Democratic and Republican tickets. 

On June 23, 1902, Mr. Schilling married Miss Mary Barbara Johannes, 
a native of Erie, born Oct. 27, 1881, and the daughter of Adam and Mary 
(Straub) Johannes, residents of Erie. To Mr. and Mrs. Schilling two 
children were born: Marie C, married in February, 1923, to Edward 




JOSEPH lyi. SCHILI.IXG 



History of Erie County S49 

Senger, and they have a son, Joseph J. Senger; and Joseph J., born Nov. 
11, 1904, a student at Notre Dame University. 

Mr. Schilling and his family hold membership in the Catholic Church 
and he is identified with the following clubs and lodges: Fraternal Order 
of Eagles, No. 282, Erie, of which he is secretary, deputy grand presi- 
dent for eight years, and state president for 1924-5; Knights of Columb- 
bus. No. 278 ; Elks, No. 67, Erie ; Loyal Order of Moose, No. 66, Erie ; Erie 
Maennerchor; Fraternal Order of Orioles of Erie; East Erie Turners; 
South Erie Turners; Star Athletic Club; Siebenburger Singing Society 
and the Cascade Park Club, and the Erie Arbeiter Singing Society. 

Benjamin F. Chambers, vice president of the Bank of Wesleyville, is 
a member of a prominent pioneer family of Erie Conuty, and the owner 
of one of the valuable old homesteads in this section. He was born on 
this farm, March 19, 1873, and is the son of Cassius M. and Maria (Fun- 
ston) Chambers. 

Cassius M. Chambers was born in Harbor Creek Township, July 1, 
1845, and died July 1, 1915. He was the son of Benjamin Chambers, who 
was born in Chambersburg, Pa., and who in 1802 removed to Harbor 
Creek Township, Erie County, with his parents, Ezekiel and Rebecca (Cus- 
tard) Chambers. Here he was married to Philanda Sewell, who was born 
in Rome, N. Y., in 1807. In 1852 they removed to the present Chambers 
homestead now owned by Benjamin F., the subject of this sketch. 

Cassius M. Chambers followed general farming and fruit growing dur- 
ing his entire life and met with marked success. He was married on Dec. 
10, 1869, to Miss Maria Funston, a cousin of General Funston, who was 
born in DeWitt, N. Y., and the daughter of Thomas and Maria E. (Hamil- 
ton) Funston, from Connecticut. The children born to Mr. and Mrs. 
Chambers were : Jessie, married Wilford Bliley, lives at Wesleyville, Pa. ; 
Benjamin F., the subject of this sketch; Clara B., married W. 0. Smith, 
Uves in Erie; and one child died in infancy. Mrs. Cassius M. Chambers 
lives just across the road from her son, Benjamin F. 

Benjamin F. Chambers received his education in the schools of Wes- 
leyville and Harbor Creek and attended Erie Business College. When a 
young man he engaged in business in Erie, where he conducted a bicycle 
shop for several years. Later, he returned to the old homestead, where 
he has since remained. He has dealt in real estate extensively and is also 
vice-president of the Bank of Wesleyville, which was organized in 1920. 
(54) 



850 History of Erie County 

The officers are: R. W. Sapper, president; Benjamin F. Chambers, vice- 
president ; and M. Carlson, cashier. Since its organization its capital stock 
has been increased from $25,000 to §50,000 and its surplus from $5,000 to 
$10,000. 

On March 25, 1902, Mr. Chambers was united in marriage with Miss 
Clara L. Kern, of Erie, and the daughter of Charles and Louise (Smith) 
Kern. Mr. Kern now resides in Erie, Pa. His wife died Jan. 18, 1900. Mr. 
and Mrs. Chambers have four children: Benjamin F., Jr., a student at 
Western Reserve Academy; Donald, Robert and Anna. 

Mr. Chambers has been a life long Republican. He is a member of the 
Methodist Church and belongs to the Elks lodge. He is a public spirited 
citizen and holds the high regard of all who know him. 

John E. O'Brien, who is connected with the O'Brien Printing Company, 
Erie, was born in this city, June 14, 1884, and is the son of John J. and 
Mary (Kinney) O'Brien. 

John J. O'Brien, founder of the O'Brien Printing Company in 1386, 
was born in Cleveland, Ohio, in 1860. At the age of ten years his parents 
removed to Erie, where he spent the remainder of his life. When a young 
man he learned the printer's trade and established the business now con- 
tinued by his sons. He died in 1919 and his wife, a native of Brooklyn, 
N. Y., died in 1918, at the age of 59 years. Mr. and Mrs. O'Brien had 
five children: John E., the subject of this sketch; Mrs. W. C. Quirk, lives 
in Erie; Edna D., hves in Erie; Rose C, lives in Erie; and Paul M., lives 
in Erie, mention of whom is made below. 

John E. O'Brien was reared and educated in Erie. He and his brother 
Paul M., are now owners of the printing business, which ranks among the 
leading concerns of its kind in the city. They specialize in general job 
printing. The place of business is located at 426 French Street. 

On Oct. 26, 1921, Mr. O'Brien was married to Miss Gertrude Murphy, 
of Erie, and a daughter of Nicholas and Catherine (Slattery) Murphy. 

Mr. O'Brien is a member of the CathoHc Church, and belongs to the 
Chamber of Commerce and Elks lodge. He is a substantial citizen of 
Erie, who by inheritance and training is energetic and capable. 

Paul M. O'Brien was married Nov. 4, 1915, to Hazel C. Noble, of Erie, 
and a daughter of Fred D. and Belle (Rice) Noble. Mr. Noble died Dec. 2, 
1924, and his wife resides in Erie. Mr. and Mrs. Paul M. O'Brien have a 
son, Paul M. Jr., born in 1917. 



History of Erie County 851 

Orson J. Graham is a prominent young attorney of Erie and a veteran 
of the World War. He was born at Oil City, Pa., May 20, 1894, and is a 
son of Lyman L. and Nettie (Barnes) Graham. 

Lyman L. Graham was born at Lincolnville, Crawford County, Pa. 
He spent a number of years in Meadville and in 1889 removed to Oil City, 
engaging in the oil business and in 1890 became affiliated with the South 
Penn Oil Company. In 1908 he became the head of the Lease, Title and 
Claim Department and later became vice-president of the United Natural 
Gas Company. Mr. Graham retired from business in January, 1925. He 
lives at Meadville, Pa. Nettie Barnes Graham was a native of Mead- 
ville. She died at the age of 46 years. To Mr. and Mrs. Graham the fol- 
lowing children were born: Wallace Frederick, died at the age of 14 
years; Orson J., the subject of this sketch; Mortimer Elliott, who com- 
pleted a law course in Philadelphia, in June, 1925, and then began the 
practice of law in Erie; and Constance Virginia, a student at Milwaukee- 
Downer College. After the death of his first wife, Mr. Graham was mar- 
ried to Miss Sarah Counselman, a native of Crawford County, Pa. 

Orson J. Graham is the grandson of James Graham, one of Crawford 
County's most prominent citizens. The subject of this sketch was edu- 
cated in the public schools of Oil City and was graduated from Allegheny 
College in 1915, and from the Law School of the University of Pennsyl- 
vania in 1919. He has since been identified with the law firm of Gunnison, 
Fish, Gifford & Chapin, one of the most prominent law firms in the city. 
On Sept. 28, 1921, Mr. Graham was appointed United States Commissioner 
by the District Courts of the United States for the Western District of 
Western Pennsylvania, and served in this capacity until January, 1924, 
when he was appointed First Assistant District Attorney of Erie County. 

Two weeks after the outbreak of the World War, Mr. Graham enlisted 
in the reserve officers corps at Fort Niagara, N. Y., and on Aug. 15, 1917, 
was commissioned first lieutenant and assigned to duty with Company I, 
315th Infantry, 79th Division, which trained at Camp Meade, Md. He 
was sent overseas in July, 1918, and took part in the final engagements 
of the war. While in action on Sept. 28, 1918, he was gassed and sent to 
a base hospital, where he was confined until Nov. 25, 1918. He was dis- 
charged from service, Jan. 5, 1919. 

In 1920, Mr. Graham was married to Miss Louise Renner, of Cambridge 
Springs, Pa., and the daughter of Peter and Clara (Cummings) Renner. 
Mr. Renner is deceased and his wife resides in Erie. She has two daugh- 



852 History of Erie County 

ters, Mrs. Graham and Dorothy, who married Frederick St. Clair, and 
they live in Pittsburgh, Pa. Mrs. Graham was graduated from Milwau- 
kee-Downer College in 1914 and before her marriage taught music in the 
public schools of Crawford and McKean counties, Pa. Mr. and Mrs. Gra- 
ham have a daughter, Barbara Louise. 

Mr. Graham is a Republican, a member of the First Methodist Episco- 
pal Church, a 32nd degree Mason, and belongs to the American Legion, 
University Club, and Erie Tennis Club. He is well known in Erie County 
and has many friends. 

Dr. Oscar W. Renz is a prominent young physician and surgeon of 
Erie, where he was born July 3, 1892. He is the son of George F. and 
Maud A. (Lutz) Renz. 

George F. Renz was born in Erie, July 12, 1867, and died May 8, 
1917. He was well known in Erie and served as foreman of the Jarecki 
Manufacturing Company for many years. On Sept. 24, 1891, he was 
married to Miss Maud A. Lutz, who was born in Erie, July 5, 1872, the 
daughter of Jacob and Bridget Lutz. The Lutz family is among the lead- 
ing pioneer families of this section. 

Dr. Oscar W. Renz attended the public schools of Erie and was 
graduated from Central High School in 1910. In 1915 he received his 
degree as Doctor of Medicine at the College of Physicians and Surgeons in 
Baltimore, and spent the following year as an interne in St. Vincent's Hos- 
pital. He was then located in New York City for two years as a surgeon 
for the Pennsylvania Railroad, and in 1918 he began the practice of 
medicine and surgery in Erie at 2210 Parade Street. 

Doctor Renz is identified with the American Medical Association, 
the Pennsylvania State Medical Association, and the Erie County Medical 
Society. He is a Republican, a member of St. John's Catholic Church and 
belongs to the University Club and the Elks Lodge. He is a member of 
St. Vincent's surgical staff and is a progressive man in his profession. 

L A. Hain is an enterprising young business man of Erie, where he is 
proprietor of the Penn Electric Company. He was born at Wernersville, 
Berks County, Pa., Jan. 21, 1891, and is the son of Lewis J. and Ellen 
(Hain) Hain. 

Lewis J. Hain was born at Wernersville, Pa., in 1864 and has spent 
his entire life there. He owns 400 acres of well improved land and besides 




DR. OSCAR \V. KKNZ 



History of Erie County 853 

his farming interests is engaged in the coal and feed business. His wife 
is also a native of that place. To Mr. and Mrs. Hain two children were 
born: I. A., the subject of this sketch; and William, authorized Chevrolet 
dealer, Reading, Pa. 

I. A. Hain was graduated from the public and high schools of Werners- 
ville and Westchester State Normal School. Later he attended Temple 
University, Philadelphia. In 1912 he entered the employ of the Phila- 
delphia Gas Company and two years later became connected with the 
Illuminating Company of Cleveland. After several years he returned to 
his father's farm and in 1918 settled in Erie, where he became associated 
with the General Electric Company. Since 1921 he has engaged in his 
present business at 11-17 East 5th Street. Mr. Hain renders a complete 
battery service, making a specialty of Westinghouse batteries. He also 
handles radios and supphes. 

On Dec. 26, 1913, Mr. Hain was united in marriage with Miss Lucy 
Shimer, of Delaware County, Pa., and to them a daughter was born, Sarah. 
On Dec. 18, 1924, Mr. Hain was married to Mrs. Louis C. Schiefferle, of 
Erie. 

Mr. Hain is a Republican, a member of the First Baptist Church, the 
Erie Maennerchor and the L O. 0. F., Lake Shore lodge No. 718, Erie, Pa. 

J. Russell, a well known and substantial citizen of Erie, was born at 
Hooker, Pa., Feb. 25, 1851, and is the son of Andrew and Phoebe (Jordan) 
Russell. Mr. and Mrs. Russell, deceased, were natives of Pennsylvania. 
Their only child is J. Russell, the subject of this sketch. 

J. Russell spent his boyhood at Hooker, Pa., and attended the public 
schools there. He was graduated from the School of Pharmacy. Pitts- 
burgh, after which he engaged in the drug business at Sunbury, Pa., for 
four years. From there he went to Pittsburgh and later to Clarendon, 
Pa., where he was employed by A. W. Storry. In 1890 Mr. Russell re- 
moved to Erie, and in 1896 established a drug business on Buffalo Road. 
From 1905 until 1925 he conducted a drug store which is known as the 
East Side Pharmacy. Mr. Russell handled a complete line of drugs, sun- 
dries, stationery, tobacco, etc. He is also a prescription specialist, and 
had an extensive business. 

In 1874 Mr. Russell was married to Miss Amy J. Campbell, of Hooker, 
Pa. They are the parents of the following children: Winifred, deceased; 
Mrs. S. J. Drown, whose husband is a member of the firm of Drown-Rus- 



854 History of Erie County 

sell, leading real estate operators of Erie; Maggie, married Dr. William 
Dill, a physician, Erie; John H., a member of the firm of Drown-Russell ; 
and Dr. J. A. M. Russell, a prominent physician of Erie, with offices at 206 
Masonic Temple Building. 

Mr. Russell is a Republican, a member of the First Presbyterian 
Church, belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and Royal Ar- 
canum. 

J. T. Noonan, president of the Noonan Printing Company, Inc., is well 
known in Erie, both as a successful business man and as an excellent citi- 
zen. He was born in this city, Oct. 24, 1860, and is the son of D. and 
Mary (Leahy) Noonan. 

D. Noonan was born in Ireland, and at the age of 14 years came to 
this country. He was employed by the government in the navy yards 
at Brooklyn, N. Y., for eight years, and in 1858 removed to Erie, where 
he served in the same capacity. He died at the age of 70 years, and his 
wife is also deceased. They were the parents of 12 children. 

After completing his schooling in Erie, J. T. Noonan learned the 
printer's trade while in the employ of the Erie Daily Dispatch. Five 
years later he became connected with the Ashby & Vincent Printing Com- 
pany, and in 1904 engaged in business for himself at 1104 State Street. 
Later he engaged in the printing business at 701 State Street, where he 
is now lacted. The Noonan Printing Company does commercial job print- 
ing. 

Mr. Noonan is affiliated with the Eagle and Moose lodges and belongs 
to the Typographical Union and the Chamber of Commerce. 

Archie W. Mang is well and favorably known in Erie, where he con- 
ducts Mang's Kodak Studio. He is a native of Conneautville, Pa., born 
Jan. 5, 1885, and a son of Henry L. and Mary (Watters) Mang. 

Henry L. Mang is a native of Titusville, Pa., and his wife was born in 
Conneautville, Pa. He was a stationary engineer during his active life 
and is now retired, living at Conneautville, where he has spent the greater 
part of his life. Archie W., the subject of this sketch, is their only child. 

Archie W. Mang received his early education in the schools of Erie 
and was later a student at Conneautville, his family having lived in Erie 
for several years. Mr. Mang studied electrical engineering, in which he 
engaged for several years, later becoming interested in the kodak business 



HistorV of Erie County 855 

with Walter Kiedisch, in Ei'ie. In January, 1923, he became sole owner 
of the business. Mr. Mang is staff photographer for the Erie Times. 

Mr. Mang was married in June, 1909, to Miss Mabel trappers, and 
they have a son, Alanson W., born June 8, 1915. 

Mr. Mang is a Republican, a member of the Unity Church and belongs 
to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 

James A. Evans, a prominent business man and substantial citizen of 
Erie, was born in this city, Oct. 31, 1872, and is the son of Conrad B. and 
Charlotte E. (Love) Evans. 

Conrad B. Evans was born in Mill Creek Township, Erie County, in 
1838. He was an extensive land owner and successful farmer and died in 
1900. He was a veteran of the Civil War having served with the 111th 
Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry. His wife, also a native of Mill Creek 
Township, was born in 1847 and died in 1917. Mr. and Mrs. Evans were 
the parents of nine children, one of whom being James A., the subject of 
this sketch. 

James A. Evans attended the district schools of Mill Creek Township 
and after his graduation from Erie High School, he entered the University 
of Michigan, where he received the degree of Bachelor of Science in 1900. 
He was then made assistant chemist at Western Reserve University, Cleve- 
land, and while serving in that capacity was also City Gas Inspector. In 
March, 1904, Mr. Evans founded the Erie Laboratory, which is located 
at 1519 French Street. He does general analytical and consultation work 
and specializes on the analyses of ores, iron, steel, coal, paints, oils, water, 
food products, fertilizers, etc. Since 1904 Mr. Evans has served as one 
of the State Chemists of Pennsylvania. 

On June 17, 1902, Mr. Evans was united in marriage with Miss E. 
May Bickle, of Chardon, Ohio. They have four children: Janet, born May 
30, 1903, graduated from Mount Holyoke College, Mass., in 1925 ; Gertrude, 
born Aug. 27, 1906, a student at Mount Holyoke College; Allison B., born 
Aug. 29, 1910, a student at Erie High School; and Winifred M., born 
March 26, 1914, a student at Gridley Junior High School. 

Mr. Evans is a Republican, a member of the First Presbyterian Church, 
of which he has been an Elder for 17 years, and he is also a 33rd degree 
Mason. He has been identified with the American Chemical Society since 
1900. Mr. Evans and his family have always ranked among the repre- 
sentative citizens of the county and have many friends. 



856 History of Erie County 

Joe E. Rhea is recognized as one of the representative business men 
of Erie where he is engaged in the brokerage business. He is a native of 
Forney, Texas, where he was born Aug. 3, 1882, the son of R. P. and Nan- 
nie Belle (Burts) Rhea. 

R. P. Rhea is a prominent citizen of Dallas, Texas. He located there 
after 45 years in the mercantile business at Forney, Texas, and he is now 
among the leading cotton merchants, shippers and brokers of Dallas. 

Joe E. Rhea was educated in the public schools of Forney, Lewis Acad- 
emy, and Sherman College, Texas. After several years in the investment 
business in Kansas City, Mr. Rhea returned to Dallas, where he volunteered 
for service during the World War. He served with the marines for two 
and one half years and held the rank as auditor to the paymaster's de- 
partment. During the war he was stationed at New York, Virgin Islands 
and South America, and was discharged May 15, 1919. He then repre- 
sented the J. D. Webb Company, investment brokers of Chicago, the Motor 
Mortgage Company of Pittsburgh, having charge of their New York 
business, and in 1922 Mr. Rhea located in Erie. He specializes in hotel 
securities, and recently disposed of a quarter of a million dollars worth of 
stock in Erie of the New Roosevelt Hotel in New York City. 

On June 4, 1920, Mr. Rhea was united in marriage with Miss Mabelle 
Larson of Chicago, and they have two children, Mabelle Lenox, born July 
17, 1922, and Joseph E., Jr., born Friday, Feb. 13, 1925. Mrs. Rhea is a 
daughter of Benjamin Larson, a prominent Chicago building contractor. 

Mr. Rhea is a Republican, a member of the Presbyterian Church and 
belongs to the Masonic and Elks lodges, the Knights of Pythias, and the 
Y. M. C. A. He is well and favorably known in Erie and has many 
friends. 

F. D. Krum, manager of the Pennsylvania Gas Company, is among the 
highly esteemed and prominent business men of Erie. He was born at 
Danville, Pa., Nov. 17, 1874, and is the son of Benjamin and Matilda 
(Nuss) Krum. 

Benjamin Krum was born in Montour County, Pa., in 1839. He fol- 
lowed the blacksmith and millwrights trades for a number of years and 
was also a farmer. His wife died in 1893 and he died in June, 1922. They 
were the parents of five children. 

F. D. Krum received his education in the schools of Watsontown, Pa., 
and when a young boy learned the moulder's trade. After taking a course 




JOE E. RHEA 



History of Erie County 857 

in business and banking at Lancaster, Pa., he entered the employ of the 
Pennsylvania Railroad in 1900, with whom he remained for eight years. 
He has since been identified with the Pennsylvania Gas Company in Erie 
and has been local manager since 1917. 

On Feb. 16, 1916, Mr. Krum was united in marriage in New York city 
with Miss Maud Jessie Stuart, of Erie, and a daughter of Frank and Jen- 
nie B. (Caldwell) Stuart. Mr. Stuart is deceased and his widow resides 
in Erie. Mr. and Mrs. Krum have no children. 

Mr. Krum is a Republican and belongs to a number of Masonic bodies. 
Rotary Club, Erie Chamber of Commerce, Natural Gas Association of 
America, and Lawrence Park Golf Club. His wife is a member of the 
Christian Science Church of Erie. 

Charles H. LeJeal, proprietor of the LeJeal Automotive Service, 1721 
Sassafras Street, is one of Erie's representative business men and prom- 
inent citizens. He was born in this city, Aug. 27, 1873, and is the son 
of John and Mary (Weis) LeJeal. 

John LeJeal was born in Buffalo, N. Y., in October, 1847. He was 
among the earliest settlers of Erie and for many years was successfully 
engaged in business here, as a dealer in musical instruments. He retired 
in 1904, but is still active in the tuning of pianos and organs. His wife 
was a native of Pennsylvania, born July 22, 1852, and died Dec. 17, 1907. 
Her remains are buried in Lakeside cemetery, Erie. To Mr. and Mrs. 
LeJeal were born four children: Charles H., the subject of this sketch; 
Beatrice, lives with her father in Erie ; Archie, conducts the musical busi- 
ness originally established by his father, and is now located at 1023 State 
Street, Erie ; and Irene, married Frank Sturtevant, manager of the 
Kahkwa Club, Erie. 

Charles H. LeJeal was educated in the public schools and was asso- 
ciated in business with his father until he was 19 years of age, when he 
engaged in the bicycle business at 1617 Peach Street. Two years later 
he removed to 1507 Sassafras Street and finally to his present location. 
Mr. LeJeal was the first man in Erie who had an air compressor installed 
for the purpose of inflating auomobile and bicycle tires. In 1899 he be- 
came interested in automobile repair work and the following j^ear built a 
steam automobile in which he made the trip to the Pan-American Exposi- 
tion held in Buffalo in 1901. When he arrived in Buffalo he could not find 
a garage in which to put his car, so he was obliged to rent storage space 



858 History of Erie County 

in a livery stable. He was the first man in Erie to make an application 
for a building permit to erect a garage, and when he made application 
for it they did not know how to make such an application out. Mr. LeJeal, 
at the age of 13 years, built an electric motor as an experiment, and later 
built electric motors for various uses, some of which are still in use. Mr. 
LeJeal's business continued under the name of the LeJeal Cycle & Mobile 
Works until 1922, when it became known as the LeJeal Automotive Serv- 
ice. 

Mr. LeJeal also was a builder of marine engines several of which are 
used on Lake Erie and are giving continual service. While associated with 
his father in business Mr. LeJeal built a church organ, which was sold to 
St. Patrick's Catholic Church, Erie, for ?1,000, and he later built another 
intended for his own use, but later disposed of it to Sacred Heart Catholic 
Church for 8500. 

The LeJeal Automotive Service consists of the distribution of all kinds 
of automobile accessories and is the only speedometer service station in 
the city. They are local dealers for Bosch electrical products. 

In 1894 Mr. LeJeal was married to Miss May C. Canby, of Erie, the 
daughter of Joseph and Matilda (Smiley) Canby, both deceased. To Mr. 
and Mrs. LeJeal two children have been born: Charles Archibald, died sud- 
denly while riding in a motorcycle race at Corry, Pa., July 5, 1919, at the 
age of 19 years ; and Esther May, a student at Central High School. 

Politically, Mr. LeJeal is a Republican. He is a member of the Masonic 
order, the Zem Zem Shrine, Elk lodge and the Knights of Pythias. Mr. 
LeJeal is well known In Erie and is a citizen who holds the high regard 
of the entire community. 

E. M. Evans is a prominent business man of North East and a member ' 
of one of Erie County's oldest families. He was born in Mill Creek Town- 
ship, Erie County, July 24, 1882, and is the son of E. J. and Etta (Moshler) 
Evans. 

E. J. Evans is a Civil war veteran and an honored pioneer of this sec- 
tion. He was born in Mill Creek Township, in 1844, and his wife was born 
in the same township, in April, 1848. In early life he engaged in general 
farming and in 1901 removed to North East after disposing of his farm. 
He purchased the Plubell plumbing establishment and conducted it with 
his son, E. M. Evans, as the North East Plumbing Company until 1919, 
when he sold his interest to his son and retired. He lives on West Main 



History of Erie County 859 

Street. Mr. Evans is a Republican and an active member of the Presby- 
terian Church, of which he has been trustee for many years. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Evans were born six children: Walter, died at the age of 13 months; 
Frank, lives at Jamestown, N. Y. ; E. M., the subject of this sketch; Mary 
Hammer, lives at North East ; and two children died in infancy. 

E. M. Evans spent his boyhood on his father's farm and attended the 
district schools. When a young man he entered the employ of E. T. Moore- 
head at North East, but soon became interested in the plumbing business 
with his father. Mr. Evans is among the reliable business men of the 
community and conducts one of the largest businesses at North East. 

On April 20, 1903, Mr. Evans was united in marriage with Miss Emma 
Blakeslee of Greenfield, Erie County. They have no children. 

In politics Mr. Evans is identified with the Republican party and he 
has held several town offices. He served as fire chief for one year and 
has been a member of the department for 16 years. He hold membership 
in the Presbyterian Church, is a 32nd degree Mason, and belongs to the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows and Elks lodge. 

Paul B. Nelson, proprietor of the North East Laundry, is a substantial 
and highly esteemed citizen of Erie County. He was born at Union City, 
Pa., Aug. 24, 1889, and is the son of John and Mary Nelson. 

John Nelson was a native of Copenhagen, Denmark. At the age of 
16 years he came to this country and settled in Union City, where he died 
in September, 1912. His wife, a native of Buffalo, N. Y., hves at North 
East with her son, Paul B. Mr. and Mrs. Nelson were the parents of 
11 children. 

Paul B. Nelson spent his boyhood at Union City and attended the public 
schools there. When a boy he worked in the cheese factory 6f Charles 
Rockwood and later became interested in the laundry business at Union 
City with Clark Brown. After coming to Erie Mr. Nelson was superin- 
tendent of the laundry at Hamot Hospital and was later connected with 
the Troy Laundry and the Shaw Laundry, Erie. In September, 1924, he 
purchased his present business from Harry Obert. The North East Laun- 
dry has been in existence since 1900 and since 1914 has been in its present 
location, 8 Mechanic Street. It is the only business of its kind in the city 
and extends service to State Line, Ripley, and Westfield, N. Y. 

On April 1, 1914, Mr. Nelson was married to Miss Nellie Hanson, of 
Union City, and a daughter of Otto and Cora (Brown) Hanson, both de- 



860 History of Erie County 

ceased. Mr. Hanson was a native of Denmark, and his wife was born at 
Warren, Pa. There are two children in the Nelson family, Paul B., Jr., 
born March 17, 1915 ; and Rexford, born July 9, 1922. 

Politically Mr. Nelson is a Republican. He is a member of the Metho- 
dist Church and belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and 
the Business Mens Club of North East. 

Miss Mary G. Flury, who ranks among the successful and widely 
known teachers of Erie, is a member of a prominent pioneer family of this 
county. She was born at Harbor Creek, Pa., April 15, 1869, and is the 
daughter of Jacob and Mary Naomi (Ward) Flury. 

Jacob Flury was born at Meadville, Pa., Aug. 18, 1828, the son of Jacob 
and Margaret Flury, early settlers of Meadville. His wife was a native 
of York County, Pa., born March 15, 1832, and the daughter of John and 
Sarah Ward, also pioneer settlers of Pennsylvania. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Jacob Flury, who were married at Harbor Creek, Pa., March 16, 1852, the 
following children were born: John J., born Oct. 27, 1853; Leon G., born 
Nov. 11, 1855, died Nov. 25, 1923, and is buried in Erie Cemetery; Sarah 
W., born June 24, 1858, died July 6, 1908, and is buried in Erie Cemetery ; 
William H., born July 4, 1860, lives in Chicago, 111., where he is manager 
of the art department of the Lester Store ; Edward, born Feb. 22, 1863, a 
jeweler and watch maker, lives at New Buffalo, Mich.; and Mary G., the 
subject of this sketch. 

Jacob Flury followed general farming during the greater part of his 
life and in 1871 removed to Erie, where he was associated with the firm of 
Johnston & Brevillier, wholesale grocers. He served as president of the 
Harbor Creek School Board for many years and was a Republican and a 
Mason. He died Feb. 14, 1889, and his wife died Oct. 19, 1914. They 
are buried in Erie Cemetery. 

Miss Mary G. Flury was educated in the public schools of Erie and 
was graduated from Erie High School in 1887 and from Erie Normal 
School in 1888. Her teaching career began in School No. 4, which has 
since been named Burns School. Miss Flury has been a teacher in this 
school for 36 years and has established an excellent reputation as a 
teacher. She lives at 413 Peach Street. 

Miss Flury is a Republican, a member of the Park Presbyterian 
Church, and she belongs to the Erie Teachers' Association and the League 
of Women Voters. 



History of Erie County 861 

LeRoy A. Jerrell is a reliable and successful business man of Erie, 
where he is the owner of the Keystone Electrotype Company. He is a 
native of Indianapolis, Ind., born June 25, 1889, and the son of Charles 
and Rebecca (Crosby) Jerrell. 

Charles Jerrell, deceased, was born at Seymour, Ind. He was a resi- 
dent of Indiana during- his entire life and died in 1907. His wife died in 
1891. LeRoy A., the subject of this sketch, was their only child. 

After completing his schoohng in Indianapolis, LeRoy A. Jerrell was 
connected with a furniture factory in that city for a number of years. 
In 1917 he removed to Erie and established his present business at 123 
East 17th Street. 

On Nov. 16, 1910, Mr. Jerrell was married to Miss Elsa Anderson, a 
native of Indianapolis. They have a son, Charles C, born April 3, 1913, 
now a student at Garfield School. 

Mr. Jerrell is an independent voter. He is affiliated with the Masonic 
lodge and is a substantial citizen of his community. 

Arthur Dill is a prominent young business man of North East, where 
he is identified with the Mitchell & Dill Company, authorized Ford dealers. 
He was born in Cleveland, Ohio, Jan. 4, 1893, and is a son of Edward and 
Rose (McLean) Dill. 

Edward Dill, deceased, was a native of Cleveland and for a number 
of years engaged in the hotel business there. His wife is also deceased. 
They had five children: Gertrude, lives in Cleveland; Rome, lives at Lorain, 
Ohio ; Helen, lives in Elyria, Ohio ; Charles, deceased ; and Arthur, the 
subject of this sketch. 

Arthur Dill received his education in the public schools of Lorain, Ohio, 
and at an early age engaged in the clothing business there. In 1921 he 
became connected with the John W. Schmauck Company, Ford agents, as 
a salesman. In 1924 with G. R. Mitchell he purchased the agency of Ralph 
P. Wells at North East. Mr. Wells had been authorized Ford agent here 
since 1917. During their first year of business the Mitchell & Dill Com- 
pany has a record of selling 300 cars, 75 tractors, and 24 trucks. 

On Feb. 23, 1916, Mr. Dill was married at Lorain, Ohio, to Miss Blos- 
som Kortz, a native of Cleveland, and they have two children ; Myrtle, 
born Dec. 4, 1917 ; and Jack, born June 22, 1923. 

Mr. Dill is widely known and stands well in the esteem of his many 
friends and acquaintances. 



862 History of Erie County 

Benjamin H. Wells, vice-president of the Mitchell & Dill Company, is a 
progressive business man of North East and a veteran of the World War. 
He was born here June 30, 1889, and is a son of William D. and Mildred 
(Miller) Wells. 

William D. Wells was a native of Wesleyville, Pa., born in 1852. When 
a boy he learned the blacksmith's and wagonmaker's trade, which he fol- 
lowed successfully for 40 years. He died Dec. 25, 1913, and is buried in 
North East cemetery. His wife, a native of Canada, resides with her 
daughter in North East. Mr. and Mrs. Wells had four children: William, 
deceased; John D., lives at Buffalo, N. Y. ; Helen Nash, lives at North 
East; and B. H., the subject of this sketch. 

After attending the public and high schools of North East, B. H. 
Wells attended Bryant & Stratton's College, Buffalo, and Davis Business 
College, Erie. He then entered the employ of the Pennsylvania Railroad 
and later engaged in the real estate business at North East. Sincel 1917 
Mr. Wells has been interested in the automobile business. He served 
throughout the World War with the 418th Telegraph Battalion, a year 
of which was spent in France. 

On Oct. 10, 1912, Mr. Wells was united in marriage with Miss Harriet 
A. Backus, of North East, the daughter of Andrew M. and Mary (Moore- 
head) Backus, both deceased. 

Politically Mr. Wells is a Republican. He is a member of the First 
Presbyterian Church, and belongs to the Masonic and Elks lodges, the 
American Legion, and the Sons of Veterans. 

Henry J. Reibs is a member of the firm of Reibs Brothers, of North 
East, where he is successfully engaged in the grocery business. He was 
born here, Feb. 14, 1883, and is the son of Ferdinand and Fredericka 
(Wagner) Reibs. 

Ferdinand Reibs was born in Germany, March 5, 1850, the son of 
Henry and Sophia (Gorndt) Reibs. After receiving a public school educa- 
tion and spending three years in learning the grocery business in Ger- 
many, he came to the United States in 1867. After spending three years 
in Nebraska, Mr. Reibs located at North East in 1871, where in 1881 he 
established a grocery business now conducted by his sons. He died in 
1908 and his wife, also a native of Germany, died Aug. 22, 1918. They 
are buried in the North East cemetery. Mr. and Mrs. Reibs had four 
children; Louisa, married S. B. Eix, lives in Ontario, Canada; John F. ; 



History of Erie County 863 

H. J., the subject of this sketch; and Carl, a partner in the grocery busi- 
ness. 

H. J. and Carl Reibs were reared and educated in North East and at 
their father's death in 1908 the mother became owner of the business 
established By him. Since the death of the mother, in 1918, the business 
has been conducted by the brothers. It is one of the oldest concerns in 
the city and has an excellent trade. 

On July 16, 1912, H. J. Reibs was married to Miss Carohne Meehl, of 
North East, and they have a daughter, Anita, born in 1923. 

Carl Reibs was married June 4, 1916, to Miss Emma A. Rohmann, of 
Erie, and they have three children: Mary Louise, born in 1917; Martha, 
born in 1919; and John Henry, born in 1923. 

Messrs. Reibs are Republicans and members of St. Paul's Lutheran 
Church. They are substantial citizens of Erie County and favorably 
known. 

Dr, Melvin L. Adams, a competent physician and progressive citizen of 
North East, is a member of one of Erie County's oldest and most promi- 
nent pioneer families. He was born in Wayne Township, Erie County, 
Nov. 9, 1862, and is the son of Chester and Mary (Amidon) Adams. 

The Adams family is descended from English ancestry, the mother 
was of French descent, and settled in Massachusetts in 1634. Chester 
Adams was born in New York in 1838 and settled in Erie County in 1865. 
He was a conspicuous figure in connection with the agricultural develop- 
ment of Erie County from the initial stages, and his name was familiar 
to a great majority of the settlers in this portion of the state. He died 
in 1912 and his wife, who was born at Clymer, N. Y., died in 1878. Mr. 
and Mrs. Adams had two children: Frank L, who lives on the old home- 
stead in Wayne Township; and M. L., the subject of this sketch. 

M. L. Adams was educated in the district schools of Wayne Township 
and after teaching for several years entered the Homeopathic College, 
Cleveland, from which he received his degree in 1888. He then practiced 
his profession in Corry until 1891 when he removed to Maryville, N. Y. 
Dr. Adams came to North East in 1901, where he has a well established 
practice. He is a skilled physician and widely known throughout Erie 
County. 

On July 3, 1890, Dr. Adams was united in marriage with Miss Mary 
Fisk, the daughter of Col. H. C. and Mary Elizabeth (Nichols) Fisk, both 



864 History of Erie County 

deceased. Col. Fisk served throughout the Civil War as a colonel of the 
65th New York Regiment. He founded the Genessee Free Press, the first 
newspaper of the Genessee Valley. To Dr. and Mrs. Adams three children 
were born: Dr. Henry Fisk Adams, born April 24, 1893, a graduate of the 
Medical School of Boston University, and World War veteran, engaged 
in the practice of medicine at Braintree, Mass., married Miss Charlotte 
Bezanson, of Boston, and they have a daughter, Marion, born April 19, 
1923; Frances F., who will be graduated from Sargeant School, Boston, 
Mass., in 1925 ; and Mary Nichols, a student at the University of Michigan. 
Dr. Adams is a Republican and a member of the Presbyterian Church. 

George P. Miller is one of Erie County's most honored pioneer citizens. 
He has served as county tax collector for 23 years and is widely known in 
Erie, where he has spent his entire life. He was born March 21, 1852, 
and is the son of Frederick A. and Minnie (Jensen) Miller. 

Frederick A. Miller was born in Denmark, May 19, 1810, and his wife, 
also a native of that country, was born Sept. 21, 1811. At an early age 
they came to this country and settled in Erie, where Mr. Miller worked as 
a shipbuilder during the remaining years of his life. He was a Civil War 
veteran and died many years ago. Mr. and Mrs. Miller, who are buried in 
Erie Cemtery, were well known citizens of this section. 

George P. Miller grew to manhood in Erie and attended West 
Ward School. When a young boy he learned the barber trade, which he 
followed for 37 years. In 1902 he was appointed county tax collector for 
the fourth ward of Erie. In 1889 he was elected school director and held 
that office three years. 

On Sept. 10, 1874, Mr. Miller was married to Miss Magdalene Fischer, 
of Erie, born Oct. 27, 1855, and the daughter of Capt. John and Catherine 
(Diefenbach) Fischer, natives of Germany. Captain Fischer served 
throughout the Civil War also. Mr. and Mrs. Miller, celebrated their 
golden wedding anniversary on Sept. 10, 1924. They are the parents of 
the following children: Minnie E., lives at home with her parents; Wil- 
liam F., was a druggist, died in Erie, Nov. 11, 1923; Catherine J., mar- 
ried Victor F. Altermatt, lives at 307 Peach Street, Erie; Selma R., died 
April 15, 1886; George John, died May 1, 1886; and Edwin 0., lives at 
home. 

Mr. and Mrs. Miller have two grandchildren: George Victor Alter- 
matt, born Sept. 21, 1904, a student at the University of Detroit; and 




GEORGE P. MILLER 



History of Erie County 865 

Betty M. Altermatt, born March 14, 1906, was graduated from Central 
High School in 1925. 

Mr. Miller is a Republican, a member of St. Luke's Lutheran Church, 
and belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. The Miller family 
is representative of the best citizenship in the county. 

Walter R. Briggs, a well known garage owner of North East, and agent 
for the Chevrolet automobile, is a leading business man of that section. 
He was born in Chautauqua County, N. Y., March 10, 1886, and is the son 
of L. V. and Alene (Rickerson) Briggs. 

L. V. Briggs was born in Ohio in 1847 and his wife is a native of Penn- 
sylvania, born in 1852. He engaged in general farming and stock raising 
until 1916, when he retired and moved to Corry. He is a Republican and 
served as a member of the school board for many years. Mr. and Mrs. 
Briggs have five children: Elizabeth, deceased; Perley, deceased; Bertha, 
a widow, lives at Columbus, Pa. ; Walter R., the subject of this sketch ; 
and one child died in infancy. 

Walter R. Briggs received his education in the public schools, after 
which he taught school. He later entered the employ of the Erie post- 
office as a carrier, in which capacity he served for 14 years. In 1919 he 
removed to North East where he has since had the Chevrolet agency. 
He also carries a complete line of accessories and tires. 

On June 3, 1908, Mr. Briggs was married to Miss Florence Harrison, 
of Franklin Township, McKean County, Pa., and a daughter of Almond 
and Fannie Harrison, both deceased. They have no children. 

Mr. Briggs is a Republican, a member of the Masonic lodge and Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows. 

Dr. Burton Hill Putnam, who lives retired at North East, is among the 
representative citizens of Erie County, where he engaged in the practice 
of medicine and surgery for 45 years with exceptional honor and ability. 
He was born on a farm nine miles south of Westfield, N. Y., Sept. 12, 1849, 
and is the son of George Washington and Alpha (Vanvliet) Putnam. 

The Putnam family came to America from England about 1634. The 
old Putnam estate lies 40 miles due east of Oxford, England, and is now 
owned by the Rothchilds. The Putnam Church, built between 1280 and 
1300, still stands as a monument to the Putnam family and is also owned 
by the Rothchilds, and is used as the home of the manager of this large 
(55) 



866 History of Erie County 

estate. Jacob Putnam, grandfather of our subject, settled in Vermont 
and later in Chautauqua County, N. Y., where he built a large dam over 
the Chautauqua Creek. This mill was operated many years. Mr. Putnam 
died in 1847 and his son, George Washington, who was born at Manches- 
ter, Vt., July 7, 1818, died Jan. 8, 1903, and is buried at Westfield, N. Y. 
He was a leading citizen of his community and was the second elected 
school superintendent in Chautauqua County, and he was also a teacher of 
note. To George Washington and Alpha (Vanvliet) Putnam five children 
were born: LiUian, born April 27, 1848, married Dr. E. D. Needer, lives in 
Tennessee; Dr. Burton Hill, the subject of this sketch; Ida E., born Dec. 
10, 1854, died Dec. 4, 1879, was the wife of Horace Jones, of Westfield, 
N. Y.; Rev. Bradford Vanvliet, born Dec. 18, 1855, died Nov. 23, 1924; 
and Mary Elizabeth, born June 8, 1859, lives at Sunbury, Pa. 

Dr. Burton Hill Putnam received his early education in the schools of 
Westfield and from 1869 until 1873 taught school. He then entered the 
Buffalo Medical College, from which he received his degree in 1876. On 
April Ist of that year he established himself in practice at North East, 
locating where George Lee now lives. In 1889 he purchased his present 
location and built his present home in 1892, which is among the city's 
finest and most hospitable homes. From 1876 until 1921 Doctor Putnam 
was actively engaged in practice here and during this long period of serv- 
ice to the community he endeared himself to the entire community. 

On April 18, 1876, Doctor Putnam was united in marriage at Westfield, 
N. Y., with Miss Flora D. Blowers, a native of that state, born Oct. 11, 
1852, and the daughter of Harvey A. and DeAnna (Inghram) Blowers. 
She died Oct. 21, 1908, and is buried in the North East cemetery. Doctor 
Putnam was later married to Mrs. Lillian Holden, of Cortland, N. Y., who 
was born Aug. 27, 1852. By his first marriage he has two children: Cleo 
E., born April 3, 1877, mention of whom is made below; and George W., 
born May 7, 1878, married Dec. 25, 1902, to Miss Edith Clark of Pitts- 
burgh, and lives retired in Dover, N. H. He was graduated from the public 
schools of North East, Grove City College, and after teaching school for 
three years took a post graduate course at Harvard University, where he 
received his degree in 1901. After teaching school one year at Beloit, 
Wis., he taught for 14 years in Pittsburgh and later engaged in business 
with his brother-in-law, Mr. Clark, as secretary and treasurer of the Cold 
Rolled Steel Company of Pittsburgh. He retired from active business in 
1921. Mr. Putnam has made three trips to Europe. He studied at Oxford 
University, England, and Hanover, Germany. 



History of Erie County 867 

Miss Cleo E. Putnam was educated in the public and high schools of 
North East, attended Grove City College, and after teaching school for 
three years at Tidioute, Pa., she studied in Hanover, Germany, for one 
year, and also spent a year in Paris, France, where she specialized in the 
study of French. Upon her return to this country, Miss Putnam taught 
school at Brockton, Mass., until her marriage, Dec. 26, 1906, to Frank B. 
Neal. They live at Vandergrift, Pa., and have two children: Elizabeth, 
born in 1913; and Catherine, born in 1915. 

Doctor Putnam is a Republican, a member of the Masonic lodge, and 
has held every office in the city of North East, except that of mayor. 

Fred B. Heath is among the most prominent business men of North 
East, where he is manager and secretary of the Burnley Battery Manu- 
facturing Company. He was born in this city, Aug. 18, 1874, and is the 
son of Horace and Jane (McCord) Heath. 

Horace Heath was a native of Sherman, N. Y., where he was born in 
1814. He was an early settler of Erie County and lived at North East. 
During the "gold rush" to California he made the trip with a party of 
local men, but returned after a few months. He died in 1890 and his wife 
died in 1922 at the age of 81 years. To Mr. and Mrs. Heath four children 
were born: Frank, William, and Flora, all deceased; and F. B., the subject 
of this sketch. 

After completing his early education in the district schools, F. B. Heath 
attended Davis Business College in Erie from 1885 until 1887. He was 
associated in business with the Kaufman Buggy Company of Dayton, 
Ohio, and then entered the employ of the Short Manufacturing Company 
of North East as shipping clerk. His next position was as manager of 
the Burnley Battery Manufacturing Company of Painesville, Ohio, which 
was founded in 1899 by William Burnley, and removed to North 
East in 1907. Since his association with the business Mr. Heath 
has served as manager and secretary. He is also one of the largest stock- 
holders. The products of the Burnley Battery Manufacturing Company 
are sold throughout the world and it ranks among the leading industries 
of North East. 

On Dec. 4, 1895, Mr. Heath was united in marriage with Miss Jennie 
Burnley, of North East, and the daughter of William and Annie (Hitch- 
cock) Burnley, both deceased. It was Mrs. Heath's father who invented 
the Burnley batteries. Mr. and Mrs. Heath have a son, Sheldon, born Nov. 



868 History of Erie County 

27, 1897. He was graduated from the public and high schools of North 
East and Case School of Applied Science, Cleveland, and is now a chemical 
engineer at Midland, Mich. He was married Sept. 3,1923, to Miss Mary 
Hildegard Soderburg, of Pittsburgh, and they have a son, Sheldon Burn- 
ley Heath, Jr. 

Politically, Mr. Heath is a Republican and he has served as a member 
of the city council for five years and as a member of the fire department 
for 15 years. He was also a member of the school board and served six 
years. He is affiliated with the Masonic order and belongs to the North 
East Club. Mr. Heath is among the successful and dependable business 
men of his community. 

William W. MacLeod, well known funeral director of Erie, located 
at 930 East Sixth Street, is a native of Canada. He was born at Wood- 
stock, Ontario, Jan. 7, 1877, and is a son of Roderick and Isabel (Arm- 
strong) MacLeod. 

Roderick MacLeod was born in Scotland in 1832. When a young 
man he went to Canada and for many years was superintendent of a tan- 
nery at Woodstock. He died in 1890, and his wife, a native of England, is 
also deceased. They were the parents of 14 children as follows: Anna, 
deceased ; Catherine Waters, lives in Washington, D. C. ; Roderick, de-. 
ceased; Mary, deceased; Andrew, deceased; Margaret, lives in Ontario, 
Canada ; Belle Arens, lives at Erie ; James, lives at Toronto, Canada ; John, 
deceased; Henrietta, deceased; Mrs. Ehzabeth Eierman, lives at Little 
Rock, Ark.; William W., the subject of this sketch; Thomas, deceased; 
and Laura, deceased. 

William W. MacLeod spent his boyhood in Canada and at an early 
age learned the machinist's trade. After working at various occupations 
he enlisted in the navy, where he served four years. Since 1908 Mr. Mac- 
Leod has engaged in the undertaking business at Erie, and has been in 
his present location since 1915. The MacLeod Funeral Home is modern 
in all its appointments and is among the leading establishments of its 
kind in the state. 

On Nov. 4, 1901, Mr. MacLeod was married in Chicago to Miss Lilhan 
M. Baldwin. They have no children. 

In politics Mr. MacLeod is identified with the Republican party. He 
and his wife are members of St. Paul's United Evangelical Church, and 
he belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Felows, the Elks, the Loyal 




67-.^/^!^^^:^.^^ dT.yr7^^^^-€^'^r-,:>c^ 



History of Erie County 869 

Order of Moose, the Lions Club, the Chamber of Commerce, and is a 
32nd degree Mason, belongs to the Zem Zem Shrine of Erie, the K. of P., 
Knights of Malta and Knights of Golden Eagle. Mrs. MacLeod is active 
in the order of the Eastern Star, having served as worthy matron, dis- 
trict deputy grand matron, and now holds a prominent state office. She 
is also sovereign protector, Dames of Malta. Mr. MacLeod is a man 
esteemed in his community for his integrity and spirit of cooperation in 
all civic affairs. 

Victor Moorhead is a prosperous farmer of North East Township and 
a member of one of the most prominent and oldest families of Erie County. 
He was born at North East, Feb. 4, 1870, the son of Barnett and Cornelia 
(Harvey) Moorhead. 

Thomas Moorhead settled in Erie County in 1800 and was one of the 
founders of the Presbyterian church of North East, which was built in 
1805. Barnett Moorhead was born just across the road from the present 
Moorhead home, in 1822, and was the son of George and Matilda (Barnett) 
Moorhead. When George Moorhead came to Erie County in 1800 he pur- 
chased 150 acres of land from the government and settled on a spot now 
known as Moorheadville. His son Barnett, became a prominent farmer 
and landowner and died in 1891. His wife died in 1897. They had three 
children: George Harvey, deceased; Rose E., lives with her brother; and 
Victor, the subject of this sketch. 

Victor Moorhead has spent his entire life in this section of Erie County 
and has always been interested in general farming and fruit growing. 

On September 12, 1893, Mr. Moorhead was married in Iowa City, Iowa, 
to Miss Anna Slemmons, and to them nine children were born, as follows : 
John B., born Jan. 24, 1896, connected with the Mitchell & Dill Com- 
pany, Ford dealers of North East; George, died in infancy; Agnes Mary, 
born March 1, 1903, married Emmett Nichols, lives near Philadelphia; 
Ruth Anna, born in February, 1905, lives at home; Cyrus William, born 
Sept. 24, 1906, at home; William Frank, deceased; Margaret, born June 
11, 1911; James Isaac and Robert Slemmons, twins, born March 8, 1914. 

John B. Moorehead is a veteran of the World War, having served in 
the aviation from July, 1917, until June, 1919. He served in France and 
after the armistice was stationed in Germany as a member of the air- 
craft department. 

Victor Moorhead is a Republican and he and his family hold member- 
ship in the Presbyterian church. 



870 History of Erie County 

Max H. Reid, a prominent citizen of Erie County, engaged in the lum- 
ber business at North East, was born at North East, Nov. 7, 1891, and is 
the son of Richard and Saphronia (Huntley) Reid. 

RichaVd Reid was a native of Ireland who came to this country when 
a young man and settled at North East. He was a cabinet maker by trade 
and for a number of years conducted a furniture and lumber business at 
North East. He also operated a flax mill here. Mr. Reid died at the age 
of 70 years and his wife at the age of 68 years. They had 10 children, 
of whom Max H., the subject of this sketch, was the youngest. 

Max H. Reid has always been interested in the lumber business. After 
completing his schooling here he entered the employ of a lumber com- 
pany and in 1921 established his present business, which is one of the 
largest of its kind in the county. Mr. Reid makes a specialty of white 
and yellow pine and is also an extensive dealer in building materials and 
supplies. 

Mr. Reid was married to Miss Elizabeth Heath, of North East, a mem- 
ber of one of the county's well known pioneer families, and the daughter 
of Charles T. and Nina (Smith) Heath. They have a son, Charles, born 
May 9, 1920. 

Mr. Reid is affiliated with the Masonic lodge and the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows. He is a Republican and is accounted one of the alert young 
business men of the community. 

Gustavus C. Graham, justice of the peace of North East, is among 
the representative citizens of Erie County. He was born at Elgin, Erie 
County, March 18, 1865, and is the son of James and Hattie M. (Pierce) 
Graham. 

James Graham, deceased, was a Civil War veteran. He was born of 
Scotch-Irish parentage, in 1835. At an early age he settled in Erie County 
and engaged in the hotel business, conducting the Erie Hotel in 1865. Later, 
he removed to Minnesota, where he followed mercantile pursuits until his 
death in 1880. His wife, who was born at Hamburg, N. Y., died in 1910 
at the age of 76 years. G. C, the subject of this sketch, was their only 
child. 

G. C. Graham attended the schools of Minnesota, where his family 
had settled, and when a young man learned the carpenter trade, which he 
followed successfully for 18 years. He then was employed as a pattern 
maker. Mr. Graham was elected justice of the peace in 1907, which office 



History of Erie County 871 

he has since filled in a most capable and trustworthy manner. He has 
been Deputy County Controller since 1914. During his long period of 
office he has married 915 couples in North East. Mr. Graham is also ex- 
tensively interested in business and is a real estate and insurance operator. 
He owns a well improved farm at Greenfield, Erie County. 

On July 12, 1911, Mr. Graham was united in marriage with Miss Mary 
D. Orton, of Harbor Creek, Pa., and the daughter of Ashbell and Amy 
(Raymond) Orton. Mr. Orton served throughout the Civil War and lives 
with his daughter, Mrs. Graham. His wife died in 1918 and is buried in 
the North East Cemetery. To Mr. and Mrs. Graham four children have 
been born: John, born July 16, 1913; Stanley, born March 1, 1915; Dorcas 
Elaine, born Feb. 5, 1917; and Harriet Ruth, born Jan. 12, 1919. 

Mr. Graham is a Republican and belongs to the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows. 

Louis H. Parker is known as an enterprising and progressive citizen 
of North East. He was born near Corry, Pa., Nov. 3, 1869, and is the son 
of Washington and Sarah L. (Goodrich) Parker. 

Washington Parker, deceased, was born in Chautauqua County, N. Y., 
in 1829. At an early age he located in Erie County and engaged in farming 
in Amity Township. He was the first postmaster of Lake Pleasant, Pa., 
and served in this capacity during the Civil War. He died in 1906 and is 
buried at Sherman, New York. His wife was born at Cassadaga, N. Y., 
and died in 1920 at the age of 87 years. Mr. and Mrs. Parker had three 
children, of whom Louis H., the subject of this sketch, was the youngest. 

Louis H. Parker was reared on his father's farm and educated in the 
district school. For several years he taught school in Chautauqua County, 
N. Y., and later engaged in farming. He is also a carpenter by trade. Mr. 
Parker has been identified with the North East High School as custodian 
since 1915, and is also caretaker of the Public Library and post office. 

On March 13, 1890, Mr. Parker was married to Miss Alice Rice, a 
native of New York, and they have three children : Vinton Rice, manager 
of the Winters Piano Company, Erie, married Miss Rose Bear, and they 
have a son. Jack ; Clayton W., lives at home ; and Frances A., a student at 
Oberlin College, Oberlin, Ohio. 

Mr. Parker is identified with the Republican party in politics, is a mem- 
ber of the Presbyterian church, a 32nd degree Mason and belongs to the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 



872 History of Erie County 

Dr. S. Warren Reichard is a leading physician and surgeon of Erie 
and a veteran of the World War. He was born at Mauch Chunk, Pa., 
June 8, 1878, and is the son of William H. and Annie E. (Williams) 
Reichard. 

William H. Reichard was also a native of Mauch Chunk, Pa., born 
May 6, 1851. At the age of 15 years he became associated with the 
Hazard Manufacturing Company of Wilkes Barre, in whose employ he 
remained for many years, serving as superintendent for 30 years. He died 
in 1914. His wife was born at Odessa, Del., May 10, 1852, and resides at 
Wilkes Barre, Pa. To Mr. and Mrs. Reichard, who were married in 1871, 
two children were born: Nettie E. Craig, lives at Wilkes Barre, Pa. ; 
and Dr. S. Warren, the subject of this sketch. 

Dr. S. Warren Reichard was reared and educated in Wilkes Barre 
and after completing his high school course in 1895 he attended the 
Harry Hilman Academy for two years. In 1901 he received his degree 
from the University of Pennsylvania as Doctor of Medicine and spent the 
following year as an interne in Mercy Hospital, Wilkes Barre, Pa. In 
1902 he began the practice of his profession in that city and was con- 
nected with the city as physician to the police and fire departments also 
and physician to the poor of that city. He was also physician for the 
Hazard Manufacturing Company and the Electric Traction Company. He 
served for three days each week at the Pennsylvania State Tuberculosis 
Dispensary and was also connected with the staff of Mercy Hospital and 
the Kilcoyne Private Hospital. 

Doctor Reichard was the first physician to be called from Wilkes 
Barre during the World War, April 6, 1917. He went to Fort Benjamin 
Harrison and later to Camp Custer, Battle Creek, Mich. In June, 1918, he 
was sent overseas with the rank of major in the Medical Corps, and was 
commanding medical officer of the 337th Infantry, 85th Division. Doctor 
Reichard took part in many important battles of the war, including the 
Argonne, Verdun and the Meuse-Argonne. At the outbreak of the influ- 
enza epidemic he had complete charge of contagious hospital No. 68 and 
was made commander of field ambulances of the 85th Division. At the 
close of the war Doctor Reichard was serving as sanitary inspector of 
the Third District of the Toule Sector. He was discharged April 2, 1919, 
and during that month was appointed surgeon at the Pierce-Arrow Auto- 
mobile Works, Buffalo, N. Y. After eight months he came to Erie where 
he accepted a similar position at the General Electric Company. Seven 




DR. S. WARREN REICHARD 



History of Erie County 873 

months later he engaged in private practice at 1201 West 8th Street. He 
was district manager of the United States Veterans' Bureau for two years 
and when the same was moved to Pittsburgh, was made surgeon to United 
States Veterans' Bureau in care of disabled World War veterans, and 
still retains that position. 

On July 10, 1900, Doctor Reichard was united in marriage with Miss 
Anna P. Burns, of Pittston, Pa., and the daughter of P. J. and Belinda 
Burns. To this union were born four children: William H., mention of 
whom is made below; Helen Marie, born Jan. 12, 1908; Antoinette E., born 
Feb. 23, 1913; and Louise G., born Feb. 22, 1911. 

William H. Reichard was born April 8, 1902. In April, 1919, he 
enlisted in the United States Navy and while stationed at Pensacola, Fla., 
as an aviation mechanic he met his death, April 10, 1920, in a gasoline 
explosion. 

Doctor Reichard is a Republican, a member of the First Methodist 
Episcopal Church of Erie, and belongs to the Veterans of Foreigns Wars 
and American Legion. He is a 32nd degree Mason and member of the 
Shrine. Doctor Reichard is identified with the Erie County Medical So- 
ciety, the Pennsylvania State Medical Association and the American 
Medical Association. He is a capable, energetic and public spirited man, 
one whose life means much to his community. 

Joseph Warren Loomis, deceased, was a member of one of the first 
families to establish their home in Erie County, and from those early days 
to the present they have been prominent representatives of its business 
and public life. Dyer Loomis, Sr., his grandfather, was born in Connecti- 
cut but came to Erie County in 1796, to join his brother, Henry, who had 
come here years previously, and they secured together 400 acres of land 
just east of North East. Dyer Loomis was prominent in the early history 
of his community and held many offices. He was the first deputy sheriff 
of the county and died in 1842. He married a Miss Nancy Woods from 
Rhode Island. Among their children was Dyer Loomis, Jr., who was born 
Oct. 1, 1810, and died Dec. 3, 1901. He received his education in the Worth- 
ington and Milan, Ohio, Academies, and was one of the first school teachers 
of this county. He married Eliza M. Robinson. In their family was Joseph 
Warren Loomis, the subject of this sketch. 

Joseph Warren Loomis was born at North East, Oct. 4, 1844. In 1862, 
during the Civil War, he enlisted in Company F, 111th Pennsylvania Vol- 



874 History of Erie County 

unteer Infantry, with which he served for three years and was finally dis- 
charged for disability Nov. 29, 1865. Returning to North East he was 
identified with the business interests of this community as a farmer and 
as the proprietor of a brick yard. During a term of six years he served 
as a prothonatory of Erie County and was also a deputy in that office. His 
death occurred very suddenly at the court house in Erie, Jan. 20, 1896. 

On April 15, 1872, Mr. Loomis was married to Miss Lydia Almeda 
Wells, a native of Cattaraugus County, N. Y., born July 20, 1846, and the 
daughter of Daniel J. and Lydia L. (Whitney) Wells, also from New York. 
They settled in Erie County in 1852, where Mr. Wells was a blacksmith, 
and from there they moved to Greenfield, thence to Wesleyville, and finally 
to North East. He died here in 1886 and his wife died in 1882. Mr. and 
Mrs. Loomis had no children, and she now resides in North East. Her 
pretty home on Robinson Street is ever ready to welcome her friends. 

C. E. Force, retired, is a substantial and highly esteemed citizen of 
North East and a member of one of Erie County's pioneer families. He was 
born in North East Township, Dec. 15, 1860, and is a son of William J. 
and Nancy (Burwell) Force. 

William J. Force was born in this township in 1816 and died in 1898. 
His father, Joseph Force, settled in Erie County in 1814, having come 
here from Freehold, N. J., where he was born in 1776. He became a promi- 
nent citizen of this section and died in 1868. William J. Force was a 
cooper by trade and also followed general farming. He died in Erie in 1898. 
He was a life long member of the Methodist Episcopal Church and held 
many township offices. His wife was a native of Bridgeport, Conn., and 
also a member of a pioneer family of Chautauqua County, N. Y. She died 
in 1880. To Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Force the following children were born : 
Sarah, Abraham, Samuel, Prudence, Rebecca, and Thankful. To Mr. and 
Mrs. William J. Force were born Albert, former district attorney of Erie 
County; Joseph M., an Erie lawyer; Mrs. W. W. Ross, Mrs. N. W. Lowell, 
William, and C. E., the subject of this sketch. All are deceased except 
C. E. Force. 

C. E. Force grew up on his father's farm in North East Township and 
attended the district school and later the Lake Shore Seminary. At the 
age of 20 years he entered the employ of the American Express Company 
in the office at Erie. He was later transferred to their New York city 
office, where he remained for 43 years. In October, 1923, Mr. Force re- 



History of Erie County 875 

tired from active business and returned to North East where he lives on 
the North Lake Road, near Shorewood Beach. Mr. Force's home contains 
three acres, all of which is in fruit, and it is among the most attractive 
spots in this section. 

On Oct. 7, 1886, Mr. Force was united in marriage with Miss Georgia 
E. Loomis, whose home was just across the road from the present Force 
home. She is the daughter of Joel and Susan (Hall) Loomis, both de- 
ceased. Mrs. Force's grand-parents came from New England to New York 
State and founded the city of Westfield, N. Y. Mr. and Mrs. Force have 
no children. 

Mr. Force is a Republican, a member of the Presbyterian Church and 
belongs to the Masonic lodge. He is one of the interesting men of the 
county, where he holds the esteem of all who know him. 

Robert J. Dill is a prosperous and widely known horticulturist of Erie 
County. He was born at Erie, Sept. 23, 1877, and is a son of Robert and 
May J. (Mount) Dill. 

Robert Dill, deceased, was born at Toronto, Canada, July 8, 1841, the 
son of Alexander aUd Jane (McCormick) Dill, both natives of Canada, 
who came to Toronto in 1830 and were married in that city. Robert Dill 
went to New York city when a young man and in 1871 removed to Buffalo. 
After one year at the latter place he located at Erie, his first employment 
being in connection with the decoration of the mansion owned by Gen. 
C. M. Reed. Subsequently he established himself as a contractor in Erie 
and continued in that line until 1889 when he disposed of his business 
and purchased 145 acres of land in North East Township. He devoted 
many years to the raising of fruits, 60 acres being grown to grapes alone. 
Mr. Dill served as president of the Keystone Co-operative Grape Asso- 
ciation for many years and was vice president of the First National Bank 
of North East from the time of its organization. He died in 1924 and is 
buried in North East cemetery. His wife, a native of New York city, 
died in 1907, at the age of 71 years. To Mr. and Mrs. Dill five children 
were born, of whom Robert J., the subject of this sketch, is the only 
survivor. 

Robert J. Dill was reared and educated in North East and has fol- 
lowed fruit farming his entire life. In 1924 he purchased his present 
farm of 120 acres, which is among the finest fruit farms in this section 
of the state. It contains 25 acres of grapes, 15 acres of apples, 17 acres 



876 History of Erie County 

of peaches, 8 acres of pears, and 2 acres of plums. Harry D. Short is his 
partner. 

On Jan. 31, 1900, Mr. Dill was married to Miss Blanche L. Butt, the 
daughter of G. W. and Lillian L. (Fullerton) Butt. They have a daughter, 
Mildred L., who was married July 12, 1924, to Harry D. Short. He is the 
son of C. M. and Martha B. (Donaldson) Short, residents of North East. 

Mr. Dill is identified with the Republican party in politics, is a member 
of the Presbyterian church, and belongs to the Masonic lodge. He has 
inherited the stability and genius of his father and is one of the progres- 
sive and successful men of the county. 

Edward Schmelzer is a veteran of the World War and a well known 
and successful business man of Erie. He was born in this city, Sept. 27, 
1880, and is a son of Emil and Mary (Storer) Schmelzer. 

Emil Schmelzer was a native of Switzerland and his wife was born 
in Erie. After a number of years residence in this city they removed to 
Buifalo, N. Y., where Mr. Schmelzer became a well known clothing manu- 
facturer. He and his wife are now deceased. They were the parents of 
the following children: Jacob Fred, deceased; Minnie, married Frank 
Maurer, clothing manufacturer, lives in Buffalo, N. Y. ; Julia, the widow 
of William Guenther, lives in Buffalo ; Lillian, married Peter Klumpp, chief 
clerk of the Pennsylvania Railroad, lives in Buffalo; Barbara, married 
Arthur Dunn, lives in Buffalo; John, a sergeant in the detective force in 
Buffalo, married Daisy Fay; Catherine, married William Baldwin, road 
construction superintendent of the Austin Steam Roller Company, Buffalo; 
Joseph, shipping clerk with the Pierce Arrow Automobile Co., Buffalo, 
married Florence Cray; and Edward, the subject of this sketch. 

After completing his schooling in Erie, Edward Schmelzer enlisted 
in the U. S. Army at Columbus, Ohio, and served as a member of the 
first infantry during the Spanish American War. He was wounded dur- 
ing the battle of Santiago, July 3, 1898. He was transferred to Company 
F, 202nd New York Volunteers about Sept. 1, 1898, returning to Cuba 
with the Army of Occupation Dec. 15, 1898, and back to the United States 
March 15, 1899, and mustered out of service as a corporal, April 15, 1899. 
After leaving the army he learned the boilermaker's trade at the Union 
Iron Works, Erie, with whom he remained until 1907. He then went to 
Lima, Ohio, where he was connected with the Lima Locomotive Machine 



^^^^CT^. v)^ 


^^^^^H^i^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^H 


^^^^^Bff ...--- — ■ — N 




^H ^' 




^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^Hjl^^^^^^rigMl 


^^ 


^^^^^^^^p^^ 


"^"^^ 




A ^^.| 



EDWARD SCHMELZKR 



History of Erie County 877 

Works as foreman of the boiler shops. Later he returned to Erie and in 
1912 entered the employ of the Pennsylvania Railroad as fireman. 

In 1901 Mr. Schmelzer enlisted in the Pennsylvania National Guard 
as a member of Company G, 16th Re^ment. After several promotions 
he was made first lieutenant, Oct. 1, 1915, and in 1916 served on the 
Mexican border vs^ith Company G, 16th Regiment, P. N. G. Seventh Divi- 
sion. During the World War he vi^as a member of Company G, 112th 
Regiment, 28th Division. His company arrived in France, May 18, 1918, 
and on Sept. 4th of that year he was promoted to captain of his com- 
pany. He took part in the following important engagements: The Fifth 
German Offensive from July 14th to 18, 1918; advance on the Ourqu 
River Heights, July 24, 1918 ; Aisne-Marne defensive ; and the advance on 
the Vesle River. On Aug. 27th he was captured by the Germans at Fis- 
mette and remained a prisoner until Nov. 29, 1918. On Dec. 24th he 
returned to his company and assumed command. He returned to the 
United States, April 30, 1919, and was discharged May 27, 1919. Mr. 
Schmelzer is now a captain in the U. S. Reserve Corps. 

On May 28, 1902, Mr. Schmelzer was married to Miss Caroline Schmitt 
of Erie, born Aug. 1, 1881. To them have been born five children : Ray 
G., born March 3, 1903, engaged in business with his father; Emil J., born 
Jan. 10, 1904, an electrician in the employ of the General Electric Com- 
pany, Erie; Margaret, born Dec. 1, 1907, died May 6, 1908; Lucille L., 
born Jan. 6, 1913, died June 21, 1921 ; and Leo W., born Jan. 14, 1914. 

Mr. Schmelzer owns and operates a gasoline filling station at 2401 
State Street. 

Mr. Schmelzer is a Republican and in November, 1919, was elected 
director of public safety. He is a member of the Disabled American Vet- 
erans and belongs to the Eagle and Moose and Elk lodges. He is an enter- 
prising citizen and stands high in his community. 

Joseph Otto, a reliable and successful business man of North East, en- 
gaged in the flour and feed business at 47 Wall Street, was born in Bavaria, 
Germany, May 31, 1876, and is the son of Joseph and Barbara (Mann) 
Otto. 

The Otto family have been millers for over 200 years in Germany. 
Joseph Otto, deceased, spent his entire life in Germany and died in 1885. 
His wife lives there and is 70 years of age. There were eight children 
in their family, three of whom are residents of North East, Joseph, George, 



878 History of Erie County 

and Fred. One sister, Mary, the wife of Charles Sauer, of New York. 
George is also interested in the flour and feed business. 

At the age of 16 years, Joseph Otto came to America and immediately 
settled in North East, where he worked at his trade as miller. Later 
he lived in Sandusky, Ohio, and Erie, Pa. Since 1908 he has been located 
at North East and for a number of years was associated in business with 
his brother. Mr. Otto has a well established business and deals exclusively 
in fine flours, feed and grain. 

In 1916 Mr. Otto married Miss Mary A. Schlindwein, a native of Erie, 
and they have two children: Elizabeth, born in 1917; and Joseph, Jr., born 
in 1920. 

In politics Mr. Otto is identified with the Republican party. He is well 
and favorably known in his community. 

Donald L. Mackay, a veteran of the World War, is among Erie County's 
prominent young business men. He has the Dodge automobile agency at 
North East. He was born here, June 1, 1895, and is the son of George 
N. and Mary (Shaw) Mackay. 

George N. Mackay, deceased, was a native of Ontario, Canada. At an 
early age he settled in North East, where he died in 1925. There are three 
children in the Mackay family: Gladys, married Walter Lick, lives at 
North East; Donald L., the subject of this sketch; and Blaine, now taking 
a course in milling at Minneapolis, Minn. 

Donald L. Mackay spent his boyhood at North East and was educated 
in the public and high schools and at Swarthmore, Pa. He also attended 
the Hackley School, Tarrytown, N. Y., and Pennsylvania State College, 
after which he became interested in the milling business. In May, 1917, 
Mr. Mackay volunteered for service in the World War and served as an 
ambulance driver, later being attached to the Italian Army. He was dis- 
charged from service in April, 1919, after which he engaged in his present 
business at North East. Mr. Mackay has a well equipped garage and up- 
to-date salesroom and ranks among the progressive automobile men of this 
section. 

On Sept. 18, 1923, Mr. Mackay was united in marriage with Miss 
Kathryn Gallup, a native of Youngsville, Pa., and the daughter of Arnold 
and Mabel (Horner) Gallup. 

Mr. Mackay is a Republican, a member of the Presbyterian church, and 
belongs to the Masonic and Elk lodges. 



History of Erie County 879 

Vernon K. Edwards, who ranks among the leading citizens of North 
East, was born at Riceville, Crawford County, Pa., Oct. 21, 1887, and is 
a son of R. F. and Edith (King) Edwards. 

R. F. Edwards, retired, is a substantial citizen of Crawford County. 
He has held many township offices and during his active career was a 
successful farmer. His wife is deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. Edwards three 
children were born: Vernon K., the subject of this sketch; Zoe Staff oi'd, 
lives at Lincolnville, Pa. ; and G. L., a farmer, lives at Lincolnville, Pa. 

Vernon K. Edwards grew up on his father's farm and received his 
education in the public and high schools of Lincolnville. He is also a 
graduate of Edinboro State Normal School, and taught school for several 
years. In 1918 Mr. Edwards came to North East and accepted his present 
position with the General Electric Company as salary payroll clerk. 

In 1908 Mr. Edwards was married to Miss Lena Fosburgh, of Lincoln- 
ville, Pa. They have a daughter, Thelma. 

Mr. Edwards holds membership in the Methodist church and is an 
active worker in all church activities. He is well known and representa- 
tive of the best citizenship of Erie County. 

George H. Newton is among the prosperous and well known young fruit 
farmers of Erie County. He was born in North East Township, July 3, 
1893, and is the son of Monroe D. and Sophia (Senger) Newton. 

The Newton family, after whom Newton Road in North East Town- 
ship is named, settled in Erie County in 1836. Monroe D. Newton was 
born in this township, Jan. 18, 1861, the son of John L. and Harriett 
(Welch) Newton, pioneers of Erie County. The father was born at Os- 
wego, N. Y., in 1830, the son of Elias and Laura Ann (Gay) Newton, 
both natives of New York. They moved to Erie County and settled at 
North East when John L. was six years old. Their children were : Warren, 
Julia, William, Eveline, and J. L., all deceased. John L. Newton married 
April 19, 1855, to Miss Harriet Welch, of Onondaga County, N. Y., and 
they had three children: Loran E., deceased; Monroe D., father of the 
subject of this sketch ; and U. G. Mr. John L. Newton held several politi- 
cal offices, was road commissioner, school director, and assessor. He was 
a staunch Republican. 

Monroe D. Newton was reared and educated in North East Township 
and always made farming his chief occupation. He died in 1912. He was 
married March 25, 1885, to Miss Sophia Senger, of North East. They had 



880 History of Erie County 

four children: William John, assistant postmaster at North East; Bertha 
Marie Ross Kocher, lives on the Lake Road, North East; Orpha Deloss, 
lives on the old home place; George H., the subject of this sketch; and 
Lorenzo, lives at home. 

George H. Nev/ton received his education in the public schools of North 
East and has lived on the same farm all his life. He specializes in the 
growing of fruit and has 14 acres of grapes. He is a member of the 
Keystone Grape Co-operative Association. 

Politically Mr. Newton is a Republican and he is affiliated with the In- 
dependent Order of Odd Fellows. He is unmarried. 

George K. Frank, successful and widely known real estate operator 
of Erie, with offices in the Masonic Temple Building, is a native of Penn- 
sylvania. She was born at Middletown, Dauphin County, July 8, 1873, 
and is a son of P. W. and Mary (Schultz) Frank. 

P. W. Frank, deceased, was a native of Pennsylvania. He was a 
carpenter and bridge builder and helped build the Centenial buildings in 
Philadelphia in 1873-4. He died Jan. 6, 1914, and his wife died March 12, 
1913. They had four children: William H., lives in Chicago; Edward P., 
a contractor and builder, lives at Miami, Fla. ; George K., the subject of 
this sketch; and J. M., associated in business with George K. 

George K. Frank was obliged to leave school at an early age. In 
1884 he had settled in Erie with his parents and his first position was with 
Walker & Gallagher. Later he was associated with Cronin-Bloser Com- 
pany, shoe dealers, and while there Mr. Frank attended night school. His 
next position was as a stenographer in the real estate firm of J. Spencer 
VanCleve, with whom he became associated with on March 1, 1894. After 
several years a partnership was formed with Floyd Hill, the firm being 
known as Frank & Hill, and purchasing the interests of Mr. VanCleve. 
This partnership existed for 12 years, and since 1912 Mr. Frank has been 
in business alone, dealing in real estate, general insurance and surety 
bonds. 

On Sept. 15, 1917, Mr. Frank was married to Miss Pauline Blakely, 
the daughter of Christian and Caroline Blakely. They had three chil- 
dren: Charles Robert, born June 2, 1919; George K., Jr., born Jan. 13, 
1921 and died April 10, 1921 ; and David Philips, born July 3, 1922. 

Mr. Frank helped organize the local Anti-Tuberculosis Society in 1912 
and has since served as treasurer, having charge of the sale of seals 



History of Erie County 881 

yearly. He was appointed by the city council as a member of the State 
Park and Harbor Commission in charge of the new Peninsula Park, and 
after having served as secretary of the commission from 1921 until 1924 
he was reappointed for a second term of four years. He was also ap- 
pointed a member of the commission in charge of the erection of the Erie 
County Tuberculosis Hospital in 1923. 

Mr. Frank is a 32nd degree Mason, Knights Templar and a Shriner, a 
member of the Elks Lodge, and a charter member of the Kiwanis Club 
and served as president of this organization in 1921. He is also a member 
of the Chamber of Commerce. He was one of the organizers of the Erie 
Motor Club. He has held membership in the Park Presbyterian Church 
for 25 years and served as deacon several years ago. He is also con- 
nected with the Real Estate Board, having served as president, and was 
president of the Fire & Casualty Underwriters Association. Mr. Frank 
has always been interested in all activities concerning the welfare of 
Erie and Erie County. He is a Republican. 

William T. Crawford, who is successfully engaged in farming and fruit 
growing in North East Township, is a member of one of the county's oldest 
and most honored families. He was born in the Township of North East, 
Feb. 7, 1860, the son of Thomas Childs and Ruth A. (Wilcox) Crawford, 
both also from this township, and a grandson of William and Nancy 
(Blaine) Crawford. Thomas C. Crawford was a farmer throughout life. 
He was born here, Dec. 27, 1842, and died Jan. 27, 1923. His wife was 
born in Silver County, N. Y., July 16, 1847, and died March 25, 1900. They 
had five children: Ella M., died in infancy; Mary Josephine, born in 1857, 
died in 1911; William T., the subject of this sketch; Albert W., born Jan. 
8, 1862, died in 1885; and F. B., born June 3, 1865, a fruit farmer, lives 
at North East. 

The Crawford farm on Lake road has been owned by the Crawford 
family for three generations, Thomas Crawford having settled here in 
1796. Thomas Crawford settled on a farm about one mile west of this place 
where his son, William was born Dec. 25, 1798, and died Aug. 19, 1850. 
His son, Thomas C, was the father of the subject of this sketch. 

William T. Crawford was educated in the district schools of North 
East Township and has been interested in fruit farming his entire life. 
In company with his brother, Frank B., he took charge of the old Craw- 
ford farm of 98 acres in 1880 and about five years later set out six acres 
(56) 



882 History of Erie County 

of vineyard. They added to their vineyard until it covered 155 acres and 
they became leading buyers and shippers of grapes in this section. At 
the present time Mr. Cravirford ovi^ns 100 acres of well improved land on 
Lake road. 

On Nov. 21, 1907, Mr. Crawford was married to Miss Helen Moorhead, 
of Moorheadville, Pa., and the daughter of James A. and Julia (Baldwin) 
Moorhead, both deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Crawford have three children: 
Ruth Elizabeth, born March 9, 1911; Julia Moorhead, born June 16, 1912; 
and Jean, born Dec. 3, 1913. 

Mr. Crawford is a Republican and a member of the Presbyterian church. 
He is a substantial citizen and merits the esteem in which he is held by 
the community. 

Jesse P. Trivett, who lives retired at North East, has for many years 
been a prominent citizen of Erie County. He was born at Russell, War- 
ren County, Pa., July 1, 1839, and is the son of Channing and Nancy (Love) 
Trivett. 

Channing Trivett was a native of Boston, Mass., born in 1809. Many 
years ago he settled at Ripley, N. Y., where he engaged in general farm- 
ing. He died in 1891 and his wife died in 1873. They had seven children: 
Susan, John Mercelina, deceased, J. P., the subject of this sketch, Emily, 
lives at Sherman, N. Y. ; James, deceased ; and Ida, married Stephen Abbey, 
lives at Sherman, N. Y. 

J. P. Trivett was educated at Jamestown, N. Y., and Russell, Pa. 
In early life he was interested in prairie freighting between New York 
and California. Six oxen were used to each wagon and for a number of 
years Mr. Trivett operated a fleet of 28 wagons. Indians were always 
encountered on these trips, but Mr. Trivett claims his only hardships were 
the possible shortages of food and supplies. He was engaged in this work 
continously for 34 years, after which he returned to Ripley, N. Y., and 
followed general farming. In 1902 he purchased his present home at 
North East and conducted a real estate and building business here until 
1916, when he retired. His residence is at 30 Clinton Street. 

On April 8, 1875, Mr. Trivett was united in marriage with Miss Lida 
Louisa Hannum, a native of North East, born March 1, 1854, and a daugh- 
ter of Jerome and Sarah (Roberts) Hannum. Mrs. Trivett has two broth- 
ers: Frank W., lives retired at Bradford, Pa.; and Fred J., lives at May- 
ville, N. Y. Mr. and Mrs. Trivett have a son, Jesse Guy, born Oct. 6, 



History of Erie County 883 

1891. He was educated in the public and high schools of Ripley and North 
East, and for several years was connected with the Federal Reserve Bank 
of Cleveland. He is now engaged in the automobile business there. He 
was married to Miss Lois Chamberlain. 

Mr. Trivett and his family hold membership in the Presbyterian 
church and he and his son are affiliated with the Masonic lodge. 

William H. Bemiss, a well known citizen of North East, highly esteemed 
for his integrity and industry, was born in Greenfield Township, Erie 
County, June 21, 1885, and is the son of George E. and Anna (Hartley) 
Bemiss. 

George E. Bemiss, deceased, was a native of Greenfield Township, Erie 
County, and a prominent merchant of that vicinity. He was also a farmer. 
He died in 1908 and is buried in North East Cemetery. His wife, also 
a native of Greenfield Township, was born Nov. 1, 1861, and lives at 
North East. They had two sons: W. H., the subject of this sketch; and 
George, who lives on the old home place in Greenfield Township. 

After attending the public and high schools of Erie County, W. H. 
Bemiss entered Cornell University. He became interested in the dairy 
business and for a number of years was manager of a butter and cheese 
business in Greenfield. He then engaged in business with his father as 
manager of his store and in 1911 removed to North East, where with Mr. 
Kimball, the present business was established. Early in 1925 Mr. Kimball 
sold his interest and it is now owned by Bemiss & Stetson, and is the 
only general merchandise store in North East. 

On April 6, 1908, Mr. Bemiss was united in marriage with Miss Edna 
M. Kimball, a native of North East and the daughter of Fred I. and Anna 
(Evans) Kimball, residents of North East. They have a son, Meryl Kim- 
ball Bemiss, born Aug. 10, 1910. 

George A. Halloran, manager of the McQuitty Farm, North East, is a 
leading farmer of Erie County. He was born at Ripley, N. Y., July 27, 
1886, and is a son of James and Eva (Webster) Halloran. 

James Halloran, deceased, was a prosperous farmer of North East 
Township. He was born at Lock Haven, Pa., in 1851, and settled in Erie 
County in 1887. In early life he engaged in the lumber business and later 
operated a farm. He died in 1923 and is buried in North East cemetery. 
His wife, a native of Illinois, now resides with her daughter, Sarah Hal- 



884 History of Erie County 

loran, in North East. There were six children in the Halloran family: 
Lee, lives at Moorheadville, Pa.; Sarah; G. A., the subject of this sketch; 
Frank ; Roy ; and Er, all of whom live in North East. 

After completing his schooling in the public schools of North East, 
G. A. Halloran became interested in farming and since 1906 has been 
manager of the McQuitty farm, which is one of the largest and best im- 
proved farms in Erie County. It contains 162 acres. 

On Feb. 25, 1922, Mr. Halloran was married to Miss Ruby Briggs, 
a native of Cambridge, England. They have two daughters: Beatrice, 
born in 1923 ; and Jean, born Sept. 29, 1924. 

Politically, Mr. Halloran is a Republican and he is affiliated with the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He is a substantial citizen and stands 
high in the community and county. 

Harry Swenson, a veteran of the World War, is among Erie County's 
prominent and successful young business men. He was born at Wellsville, 
N. Y., Sept. 25, 1893, and is the son of Alexander and Josephine (Ander- 
son) Swenson. 

Alexander Swenson, deceased, was a native of Sweden. He was 
born in 1856 and at the age of 32 years came to this country and located at 
Wellsville, N. Y., where he married. In March, 1900, he removed his 
family to Erie and later became associated with the Erie Stove Works, 
in whose employ he remained ten years. He was later connected with 
the Erie Tool Works. He died in 1922, and his wife resides at Erie. To 
Mr. and Mrs. Swenson seven children were born, as follows: Josephine, 
deceased; Harry, the subject of this sketch; Anna and Harold, both de- 
ceased; Erland, lives at Erie; Walter, deceased; and Lillian Ruth, a stu- 
dent at East High School, Erie. 

Harry Swenson received his education in the public and high schools 
of Erie, from which he was graduated in 1911. During that year he 
became associated with the real estate firm of William P. Hayes & Son. 
After four years with this firm he become associated for one year with 
Samuel Landis. On Jan. 1, 1917, Mr. Swenson engaged in business for 
himself but the following September answered the call to the World War. 
He received a commission of lieutenant at Camp Lee, and was later sta- 
tioned at Camp Meade, where he remained until the close of the war. 
Since that time he has been actively engaged in the real estate business at 
Erie, and has offices at 610 Marine Bank Building. In July, 1923, Mr. 



H 


^^^^^^^^U 


^^^^B 


1 




^H^^^^^^^^H 


M 


^ > 





HARRY SWENSOiN' 



History of Erie County 885 

Swenson handled the sale of the Reed House, one of Erie's old landmarks. 
It was among the notable real estate transactions in Erie during the last 
few years. 

On July 6, 1918, Mr. Swenson was united in marriage with Miss Helen 
Love Douglas, of Erie, and the daughter of Harry G. and Flora (Love) 
Douglas, residents of Erie. To this union a son has been born, Douglas 
Roger, Aug. 8, 1919. 

In politics Mr. Swenson is identified with the Republican party. He 
is a member of the Central Presbyterian Church of Erie, is a 32nd degree 
Mason, and belongs to the Elks, American Legion, and was the first presi- 
dent of Lions Club of Erie and first deputy district governor of Lions Club 
of Western Pennsylvania. He is treasurer of the Erie Real Estate Board, 
one of the organizers of the Union Trust Company of Erie and served as 
secretary and director, director of the Central Savings & Loan Company, 
and a member of the Board of Commerce. Mr. Swenson is well and favor- 
ably known in Erie and ranks among the representative citizens of the 
county. 

Francis R. Madden is among the successful and representative young 
business men of Albion, where he is a member of the firm of Madden & 
Hoover, local agents for the Chevrolet, Hudson and Essex automobiles. 
He was born at Crossingville, Crawford County, Pa., June 23, 1892, and 
is the son of Cornelius S. and Electa (Steward) Madden. 

Cornelius S. Madden was born at Pageville, Erie County, Jan. 10, 1858. 
He has followed general farming during his entire life and met with 
marked success. He has held various township oflSces and is at present 
serving as tax collector. Mr. Madden is a member of the Catholic church 
at Crossingville. His wife, also a native of Erie County, was born Jan. 
14, 1854. To Mr. and Mrs. Madden the following children were born : Mary, 
married Harvey Knickerbocker, deceased, and she is now the wife of Floyd 
Moses, lives at Crossingville, Pa. ; Martha, a twin sister of Mary, died at 
the age of 14 years; Flora, married Andrew McLaughlin, lives in Erie 
County ; Cornelius Sylvester, a farmer, lives at Crossingville, Pa. ; Fran- 
cis R., the subject of this sketch ; Urban, a farmer, lives at Pageville, Pa. ; 
and Leonard, a farmer, lives at Pageville, Pa. 

Francis R. Madden spent his boyhood at Pageville and received his 
education in the public schools and at Edinboro State Normal School, 
from which he was graduated in 1914. He completed a course of study 



886 History of Erie County 

at Meadville Commercial College in 1920, after which he spent two years 
in Erie. Since 1922 he has been associated in business at Albion with 
Mr. R. S. Hoover and W. J. Hoover and they have a well established busi- 
ness. They are expert repair men and have a well equipped grage, and also 
deal in automobile accessories and tires. 

On Dec. 27, 1922, Mr. Madden was united in marriage with Miss Fran- 
ces M. Fuller, of Edinboro, who was graduated from Edinboro State Nor- 
mal School and taught in Washington Township, Erie County, for four 
years before her marriage. She is the daughter of George H. and Julia 
(Coughlin) Fuller. Mr. Fuller lives at Edinboro. His wife is deceased. 
A daughter born to Mr. and Mrs. Madden, Margaret Julia, died in infancy. 

Politically, Mr. Madden is a Republican. He is a member of the Catho- 
lic church and is highly esteemed in his community. 

Asa S. Morrison, who is successfully engaged in the lumber business 
at Albion, is a native of Erie County. He was born on a farm in Conneaut 
Township, Aug. 22, 1883, and is the son of George and Sally (Hewitt) 
Morrison. 

George Morrison, for many years a well known resident of Erie County, 
was born in Conneaut Township. He now lives in Kingsville Township, 
Ashtabula County, Ohio, where with his two sons, he is engaged in gen- 
eral farming. They are owners of 350 acres of well improved land. Sally 
Hewitt Morrison, also a native of Conneaut Township, Erie County, died 
Dec. 16, 1913, and is buried in Albion cemetery. There were four children 
born to Mr. and Mrs. Morrison: Mrs. Belle Knapp, lives at Albion; Fred 
and Lavern, who live with their father; and Asa S., the subject of this 
sketch. 

Asa S. Morrison was educated in the schools of Albion and Wellsburg. 
For several years he engaged in farming with his father and was later 
employed by the Bessemer Railroad Company until 1910, when he became 
interested in the lumber business. In 1918 Mr. Morrison became part 
owner and manager of the business which is known as the Albion Lumber 
Company, and which was established by A. W. Sergeant in 1907. The com- 
pany carries a complete line of building materials and supplies and has 
an extensive trade throughout Erie County. 

On July 7, 1909, Mr. Morrison was married to Miss Ethel V. Keep, 
a native of Albion, and a daughter of Willie 0. and Eliza J. (McArthur) 
Keep, natives of Erie County. Mr. and Mrs. Morrison have two children: 



History of Erie County 887 

Jack, born in July, 1910, a student at Albion High School; and Belle 
Louise, born March 11, 1919. 

Mrs. Morrison's family is among the honored pioneer families of Erie 
County. Her father, Willie 0. Keep, was born on the old homestead in 
Conneaut Township, Dec. 19, 1866, and on July 21, 1888, was married 
to Miss Eliza J. McArthur. Mr. and Mrs. Keep, who reside at Albion, 
are the parents of the following children: Mrs. Morrison, Pliny M., Cleora 
Sally, Andrew M., Milton H., Marshall, and Adella L. The Keep family 
have lived in Erie County since 1797, Marsena Keep having come here in 
that year from Long Meadow, Mass. He was a soldier in the War of 
1812 and died at Keepville, the town of which he was the founder, in 1851. 

Asa Morrison is identified with the Republican party and belongs to 
the Masonic lodge and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He is an 
enterprising citizen and representative of the successful type of business 
men of the community. 

George N. Marshall, well known retired farmer and highly esteemed 
citizen of Erie County, was born on the farm where he now lives in North 
East Township, April 22, 1840, and is the son of Robert and Martha (John- 
ston) Marshall. 

Both Robert Marshall and his wife were natives of County Tyrone, 
Ireland. They were married in Ireland and came to America in 1829 and 
located at Solon, Ohio, where they lived until 1836. They then decided 
to return to Ireland and had reached Buffalo, N. Y., when the mother 
was taken ill with cholera. At Buffalo they met a friend, Ed Graham, 
who told them of Erie and induced them to return to Erie County, which 
they did when the mother recovered her health. They settled in North 
East Township, buying 50 acres of land and then followed farming until 
the death of Robert Marshall, Dec. 25, 1875. His widow died Nov. 9, 
1894. They were the parents of seven children: James, Maria J., Eliza- 
beth, Margaret, Robert W., George N., the subject of this sketcn, and 
Thomas 0. All are now deceased except George N. 

George N. Marshall received his education in the district schools of 
North East Township and was successfully engaged in farming until 1904, 
when he retired. He owns 92 acres of land. 

On Aug. 18, 1869, Mr. Marshall was united in marriage with Miss 
Emma L. Edgerton, and they have four children: Minnie, married Frank 
Rater, lives near the Marshall farm in North East Township; Margaret. 



888 History of Erie County 

at home; Frank, lives at home and operates the farm; and Adgate, mar- 
ried Catherine Spacht, lives near the old homestead. 

Mr. Marshall is independent in politics and has a v^^ide acquaintance 
in the community where he has spent his entire life. 

Lewis W. Olds, deceased, was among the prominent and influential 
citizens of Erie County. He was born in East Mill Creek Township, July 
21, 1822, the son of Asa Gilbert Olds, a native of Alstead, N. H., born 
Nov. 15, 1793, and who, when a child, was taken to Williamstown, Vt., 
where he resided until the spring of 1816, when he came to East Mill 
Creek, Erie County. Here he died Dec. 8, 1877. He married April 16, 
1821, Lucy Church, a native of Winchester, Conn., who bore him five 
children: Lewis W., the subject of this sketch; Nelson, Erskine, Clarissa 
E., and Emily J. John Church, father cf Lucy (Church) Olds, enlisted 
when 18 years of age in the Patriot Army at Saybrook, Conn., and went 
with Arnold to the siege of Quebec in 1776. He was present at the battle 
of Saratoga and assisted Arnold off his horse when there wounded. 

Lewis W. Olds received a part of his early education in a small leg 
school house in the country with a slab bench for a seat. He finished 
his academic course at the Erie Academy and was married in Erie, May 9, 
1848, to Louisa E. Ackerly, born at Middletown, N. Y., April 10, 1826. 
To this union were born the following children: Inez Tayntor, a sketch 
cf whom appears elsewhere in this history; Clark, born at East Mill 
Creek, July 14, 1850, died Aug. 14, 1922, was married to Lidia Kaetor of 
Cortland, N. Y., who died Dec. 18, 1919, and they are buried in the 
Erie Cemetery; Nettie, born Sept. 17, 1854, married on Dec. 17, 1884, to 
Frank M. Lamb, who died Oct. 14, 1920, and she resides at 617 Chestnut 
Street, Erie, and a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this history; 
Phila, born Nov. 20, 1857, the widow of James W. Cole, and she lives at 
Greencastle, Ind., a sketch of whom also appears in this history; William 
C, born Aug. 17, 1859, resides at Norfolk, Va. ; Florence Ehzabeth, born 
Nov. 9, 1863, died Oct. 10, 1909 ; and Charlotte, born Sept. 3, 1865, married 
Dec. 26, 1894, to John C. Thomas, an attorney, and they live in Erie. 

Lewis W. Olds commenced the manufacture of pumps in East Mill 
Creek in 1844 and moved his pump works to Erie in 1853, and was the 
first man in the United States, and probably in the world, to reduce the 
old log pump to an article of commerce. In 1869 he lost heavily through 
a fire, but later regained his fortune and at the time of his death, 




UliWlS W. OLDS 



History of Erie County 889 

June 25, 1908, was the owner of a great deal of real estate. His wife, 
who was born in Delaware County, Pa., April 26, 1826, died Aug. 12, 1901. 
Mr. Olds was a member of the Masonic Lodge, having joined the order 
at Westfield, N. Y., before a chapter was organized in Erie. He was a 
staunch Republican, and took an active interest in all public and civic 
affairs, being especially interested in historical and geneological matters. 
Mr. Olds was a man of strong ideas, firm in his convictions and master 
of every situation in which he found himself. 

Emery Fisk Bristol, known in Albion as an excellent citizen and suc- 
cessful business man, is a member of a well known pioneer family of Erie 
County. He was born in Girard Township, Nov. 6, 1871, and is the son of 
Samuel and Sarah (Mills) Bristol. 

Samuel Bristol was born in Concord Township, Erie County, in 1836, 
the son of Miles and Betsy (DeForest) Bristol, a farmer and school teacher 
who migrated from New York State at an early date. Sarah Mills Bristol 
was born in New York June 20, 1832, the daughter of Augustus and Ann 
(Owen) Mills, who came to Erie County in 1844. Samuel Bristol spent 
his entire life in Girard Township and was a successful farmer. He died 
in 1898, and his wife died in 1918. They were the parents of the follow- 
ing children; Carson, deceased; Ellen, the widow of Walter Jennes, living 
in Erie; Achaia, married William Chapman, lives at East Springfield, Pa.; 
Miles, O., a merchant at East Springfield; George A., a merchant at West 
Springfield; and Emery Fisk, the subject of this sketch. 

Emery Fisk Bristol received his education in the schools of East Spring- 
field and Girard Township. At the age of 18 years he was employed as a 
clerk in a general store at Springfield owned by Townsend Webster. In 
March, 1910, Mr. Bristol established his present business, which is one 
of the leading business enterprises in the community. It is the only furni- 
ture store in Albion and one of the largest in this section of the county. 

In June, 1895, Mr. Bristol was married to Miss Carrie Ferguson, de- 
ceased. To this union a son was born, Howard, who was educated in the 
public schools of Albion and the University of Pittsburgh, where he studied 
dentistry. He is now practicing his profession at Conneautville, Pa. He 
was married to Miss Leone Locke, and they have a son, Robert. Dr. Bristol 
is a veteran of the World War. On Sept. 29, 1898, Mr. Bristol was mar- 
ried to Miss Harriet Barnes, of Albion, and the daughter of Robert and 
•Lucy Barnes, both deceased. They have a son, Charles V., a student at 



890 History of Erie County 

Albion High School. Mrs. Bristol was graduated from Edinboro State 
Normal School in 1893 and was a teacher in the schools of Conneautville 
Township before her marriage. 

Mr. Bristol is a Republican, a member of the Methodist church and 
belongs to the Masonic lodge and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 

Howard Barns is a successful and well known young business man 
of Albion, and a veteran of the World War. He was born at Albion, May 
24, 1893, and is the son of H. J. and Kate (Barnes) Barns. 

H. J. Barns is a native of this place and the son of Robert Barns w-ho 
established the present dry goods business in Albion in 1850. H. J. Barns 
is still actively engaged in this business, and is among the prominent mer- 
chants of Erie County. He has served as a member of the Albion city 
council and the local school board for many years and is highly esteemed. 
Howard, the subject of this sketch, is the only child of Mr. and Mrs. 
Barns. 

Howard Barns attended the public and high schools of Albion and was 
graduated from Allegheny College. He has since been interested in the 
dry goods business with his father and became part owner in 1919. Dur- 
ing the World War Mr. Barns volunteered for service and enlisted in the 
officers training school at Camp Green, N. C. 

On June 10, 1919, Mr. Barns was united in marriage with Miss Lyda 
S. Sparling, of Erie, and the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Sparling, residents 
of Erie. They have a daughter, Marjory Ann, born March 11, 1923. 

Mr. Barns is a Republican, a member of the Methodist church, a 32nd 
degree Mason,and belongs to the Conneaut Country Club. He is popular 
among his wide circle of friends in Erie County. 

Rial B. Wright, now living in Littlehope, Greenfield Township, is among 
Erie County's substantial citizens. He was born in North East Township, 
Feb. 19, 1865, and is the son of Sherman and Eu'nice (Tousey) Wright. 

Sherman Wright was a native of Canada and at an early date settled 
in New York, coming to Erie County in 1855. He died Jan. 20, 1910, and 
his wife died in 1908. They are buried in North East cemetery. R. B., 
the subject of this sketch, is their only child. 

R. B. Wright was reared and educated in North East Township and 
began business for himself when 18 years old, running a threshing ma- 
chine for 11 years. From 1883 until 1903 he engaged in the saw mill 



History of Erie County 891 

and lumber business at North East and from that time until 1923 lived 
in Alabama, where he was engaged in the same business. Since 1923 he 
has lived at Littlehope, Greenfield Township. He owns a farm which was 
purchased by him in 1909. 

On March 18, 1886, Mr. Wright was married to Miss Emma A. Cris- 
pen, the daughter of James and Adeline Crispen of East Bradford, Pa. 
They have three children: Edna May, married E. M. Sweet, a sketch of 
whom appears elsewhere in this history ; Lola P., married Leo King, lives 
near Wesleyville, Pa., and they have four children, Arthur, Robert, Doris 
and Louis ; and James, engaged at Greenfield with E. M. Sweet. 

Mr. Wright is justice of the peace, has served as road supervisor and 
school director. He is identified with the Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows and the Loyal Order of Moose. He is esteemed throughout his com- 
munity as a reliable man. 

George W. Steward, a leading citizen of Albion, and a member of one 
of the early pioneer families of Erie County, was born in Elk Creek Town- 
ship, Erie County, July 3, 1870, and is the son of Perry D. and Celia (Win- 
chester) Steward. 

Perry D. Steward, deceased, was a native of Erie County and the son 
of Jonathan Steward, who settled here during the very early days. The 
former engaged in general farming during his early life and later followed 
the carpenter trade in the city of Erie. He died in 1912, and his wife, 
who was born in Elk Creek Township in 1851, resides with her son George 
W. To Mr. and Mrs. Steward the following children were born: George 
W., the subject of this sketch; Grace H., married Charles Cummings, 
lives at Providence, R. L ; Shirley Munson, deceased ; Nellie, married F. S. 
Powell, lives in Erie ; and Belle, first married Herbert Cleveland, deceased, 
and lives in Albion, Pa., with her second husband, Frank Woodard. 

George W. Steward received his education in the district schools and 
for several years engaged in farming with his father. He learned the 
carpenter trade and until 1917 was interested in the building business. He 
then purchased the Albion Hotel, which he has since successfully conduct- 
ed. It is well known throughout this section for its excellent food and 
good service. 

On Nov. 24, 1894, Mr. Steward was married to Miss Rhoda E. Warren, 
who died in January, 1914, leaving four children: Clifford P., a World 
War veteran, married Sadie E. Morrow, of Paterson, N. J. ; Thora C, mar- 



892 History of Erie County 

ried Earl T. Cherry, of Albion, and they have a son, Wallace Milton; 
Arthur, lives in Cleveland, mari-ied Margaret Williams; and Francis, de- 
ceased. On Dec. 23, 1914, Mr. Steward was married to Mrs. Hattie E. 
Jones, a daughter of George and Cora Capin, both deceased. They have a 
daughter, Grace H., born Sept. 14, 1915. 

Mr. Steward is a Republican and belongs to the Knights of Pythias. 

Charles A. Mertens. Numbered among the representative members 
of the bar of Erie County is Charles A. Mertens, who is successfully 
engaged in the practice of his profession in Erie. He was born in this 
city. May 30, 1875, and is the son of August and Louise (Ester) Mertens, 
both natives of Germany, who were married in Erie. 

Charles A. Mertens was educated in the public schools of Erie and 
was graduated from high school in 1893. In the following year he began 
reading law in the office of H. J. Curtze, of Erie, and in 1897 he was 
admitted to the bar of his native county, and since that time has been 
admitted to practice in the state and federal courts. After being admitted 
to the bar he continued to be associated in practice with his former pre- 
ceptor, Mr. Curtze, until 1903, since which time he has conducted an 
individual professional business, with offices at 14 East Eighth Street. 
He has shown distinctive ability as a trial lawyer and has proved a safe 
and conservative counsel. His practice runs extensively into the line 
of real estate and orphan's court practice on which subject he is con- 
sidered an authority. 

Mr. Mertens has ever manifested a zealous interest in the cause of 
the Republican party, and in its behalf has rendered effective service. 
In 1900-01 he represented Erie County in the State Legislature, where 
he made an excellent record as a careful and conscientious worker for 
effective legislation. In 1904-05 he was chairman of the Republican 
County Committee of Erie County, and during the incumbency of this 
position he showed much ability and discrimination in marshaling the 
foi'ces at his command. 

Mr. Mertens was married in 1914 to May L. Fehrenbach, and to them 
have been born six children as follows: Francis, Charles A., Jr., Adolph 
A., Edward H., John Robert, and Donald A. 

Mr. Mertens and his family hold membership in St. John's Lutheran 
Church and he is identified with the Masonic Lodge and the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows and has been an active worker in this organization 




CHARLES A. MERTBNS 



History of Erie County 893 

having served as grand master of the I. 0. 0. F. Grand Lodge of Pennsyl- 
vania from 1923 until 1924. He also belongs to the Elks Lodge, the 
Kahkwa Club, Erie Yacht Club, and other social organizations in his 
home city. 

Frank E. Jenkins is among the substantial and highly esteemed citi- 
zens of Albion. He was born in Crawford County, Pa., May 21, 1878, 
and is the son of George M. and Minerva (Watson) Jenkins. 

George M. Jenkins was a native of Crawford County, born May 3, 1855. 
He was engaged in general farming and stock-raising the greater part of 
his life and met with success. He and his wife are deceased. She was 
the daughter of Conrad Watson, an early settler of Crawford County. To 
Mr. and Mrs. Jenkins were born six children, as follows: Frank E., the 
subject of this sketch ; Mae, married E. J. Wright, lives at Albion ; Iva, 
married Fred Salisbury, lives in Conneaut Township, Erie County ; John, 
born April 12, 1889, a teacher in the Girard (Pa.) schools; Gladys, born 
June 16, 1894, married Park Irwin, lives at Albion; and Doris, born in 
September, 1897, married LeRoy House, deceased, and she later married 
M. Mitchell, and lives in Denver, Col. 

After completing his schooling in the pubhc schools, Frank E. Jenkins 
followed general farming until he reached the age of 26 years, when he 
suffered a serious illness and was left an invalid. He has since engaged in 
business in Albion and in 1916 purchased his present business from Free- 
man & Ocker, and conducts what is known as the Jenkins Billiard Hall. 
Mr. Jenkins has met with success in this business venture and has a large 
patronage. 

Mr. Jenkins is a Republican and has a wide acquaintance in the com- 
munity. 

Molt DeWolfe, who is engaged in the coal business at Albion is one 
of the well known and successful business men of that section. He was 
born in Conneaut Township, Erie County, Jan. 4, 1882, and is the son of 
Augustus and Alida (Marsh) DeWolfe. 

Augustus DeWolfe, deceased, was born in Springfield Township, Erie 
County, July 7, 1857, and died in 1912. He was an extensive land owner 
and a leading citizen of his community, having served for many years as 
school director and road commissioner. His wife, a native of New York, 
resides with her daughter, Mrs. B. E. Kinney. To Mr. and Mrs. DeWolfe, 



894 History of Erie County 

six children were born, as follows : Dallas M., a fruit farmer, lives in the 
Isle of Pines, Cuba; Cora, married B. E. Kinney, lives at Cherry Hill, Erie 
County ; Blanche, a doctor of chiropractic, lives in Washington ; Mott, the 
subject of this sketch ; Rush, lives in Erie, is a World War veteran ; and 
one child died in infancy. 

Mott DeWolf e was reared and educated at Albion and engaged in farm- 
ing with his father until 21 years of age, when he became connected with 
the Bessemer Railroad as a trainman and later as station agent. In 1914 
he became interested in the coal business in which enterprise he has met 
with success. 

On July 2, 1903, Mr. DeWolfe was united in marriage with Miss Pearl 
C. Bancroft, who was born in Conneaut Township, the daughter of J. J. 
and Louise (Thompson) Bancroft. A strange coincident concerning the 
lives of Mr. and Mrs. DeWolfe is that they were born in the same house 
and in the very same room. They have no children. 

Politically Mr. DeWolfe is a Republican and he is affiliated with the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 

Emmett C. Wilson. One of the well known and highly esteemed of the 
younger attorneys of the city of Erie is Emmett C. Wilson, who has offices 
with Miles B. Kitts at 25 East 8th Street. He was born in this city, 
Aug. 23, 1900, and is the son of Clyde C. and Mamie M. (Deck) Wilson. 

Clyde C. Wilson was a native of Sharpsville, Pa., and his wife was 
born in Berlin, Germany. He attended medical school for several years, 
but engaged in business later, being a successful merchant of Erie for a 
number of years. He is deceased and his wife resides in Erie. They had 
two sons: Emmett C, the subject of this sketch; and Grant, who also 
resides in Erie. 

After receiving his early education in the public schools of Erie, 
Emmett C. Wilson was graduated from the School of Economics at the 
University of Pittsburgh. He received his degree in law at the same 
institution in 1924, and has since been engaged in the practice of his 
profession in Erie. 

On Oct. 31, 1923, Mr. Wilson was united in marriage with Miss Aline 
McElhainey, a native of Indianapolis, Ind., and the daughter of Alexander 
and Henrietta (Gagel) McElhainey. They were bom at Marion, Ind., 
and now reside in Pittsburgh, Pa. Another daughter, Lillian McElhainey, 
married Raymond Mater, and lives at 1339 Elm Street, Youngstown, 



History of Erie County 895 

Ohio. To Mr. and Mrs. Wilson a son has been born, Emmett C, Jr., born 
Sept. 5, 1924. 

Mr. Wilson is an independent voter. He is a member of St. Peter's 
CJitholic Church, and belongs to the Delta Theta Phi fraternity, of which 
he served as treasurer for one year. He was also a delegate to the na- 
tional convention of the fraternity several years ago, and in the capacity 
of tribune for the succeeding year. He also holds membership in the 
Delta Sigma Rho, an honorary debating fraternity. During the World 
War, Mr. Wilson was a member of the Students' Army Training Corps. 

Fred D. Spaulding is a progressive and enterprising business man of 
Albion, where he is local manager and representative of the Atlantic Re- 
fining Company. He is a native of this county, born in Conneaut Town- 
ship, July 20, 1878, and the son of Randall D. and Florence (Kinney) 
Spaulding. 

Randall D. Spaulding, deceased, was a veteran of the Civil War. He 
was born in Conneaut Township and was the son of Dexter Spaulding, 
one of the first settlers of Erie County. Randall D. Spaulding was a stone 
mason by trade and also owned a small farm at Cherry Hill. He held many 
public offices and was a member of the Grand Army of the Republic. He 
died in March, 1918, and his wife lives at Conneaut, Ohio, and is now 71 
years of age. To Mr. and Mrs. Spaulding were born five children: Fred 
D., the subject of this sketch; Imogene, married 0. L. Brewster, lives at 
Conneaut, Ohio; Dexter W., postmaster and editor of the Conneautville 
(Pa.) Courier; and two children died in infancy. 

Fred D. Spaulding was educated in the district schools and when a boy 
learned the painter's trade, which he followed for five years. He then 
entered the employ of the Bessemer Railroad as a brakeman, and was later 
promoted to conductor. Mr. Spaulding also owned a well improved farm 
of 50 acres, which he sold in 1918 and he has since lived at Albion and 
held his present position. 

On Oct. 31, 1898, Mr. Spaulding was united in marriage with Miss 
Deborah Badger, a native of Conneaut Township, Erie County, and the 
daughter of Henry and Eleanor (Nash) Badger. Mr. Badger died March 
7, 1925, and his wife died in 1900. Before her marriage, Mrs. Spaulding 
was a teacher. To Mr. and Mrs. Spaulding a daughter was born, Eleanor, 
born May 7, 1902. She attended the public and high schools of Albion and 
after her graduation in 1920 spent a year at St. Luke's Hospital, Cleve- 



896 History of Erie County 

land, Ohio, and also a year at Battle Creek, Mich. She is now a student 
at Western Reserve University, Cleveland, where she has taken a special 
course in public health. 

Politically, Mr. Spaulding is a Republican. His family are members 
of the Methodist church and he belongs to the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows. Both he and his family have a wide acquaintance in Erie County 
and are favorably known. 

Robert W. Shepard, manufacturing optician, located at 115 West 
Ninth Street, is among the reliable and successful business men of Erie. 
He was born in Union Township, Erie County, Dec. 22, 1881, and is the 
son of Royal D. and Malinda L. (Johnson) Shepard. 

Royal D. Shepard, also a native of Union Township, was born in 
1851. He ran the stage coach from Wattsburg to Erie during the early 
days and was later employed at the Hanna docks in Erie. After a number 
of years in the employ of the Soldiers Home at Erie, he engaged in the 
grocery business at Erie. He has lived retired since 1918. Mr. and Mrs. 
Shepard, who have been married 49 years, are the parents of the follow- 
ing children: Eugene H., engaged in the real estate business at Erie; 
Estella, the wife of Dexter D. Morey, lives in Erie; Aurie, who died at 
the age of five years; and Robert W., the subject of this sketch. 

Robert W. Shepard received his education in the public schools of 
Erie and in 1899 began the study of optometry. After completing a 
course at South Bend, Ind., he was graduated from the Philadelphia 
Optical College and for the past 18 years has followed his profession in 
Erie. In connection with the practice of optometry, Mr. Shepard conducts 
a manufacturing plant in which he makes all of the tools for specially 
ground lenses, requiring only about a half hour for making a tool for any 
special lense. The plant is modern and up-to-date in every detail. The 
business was started in 1906 with an apprentice and has grown to such 
an extent that six skilled assistants are now employed. He has estab- 
lished one of the important business institutions of the community. 

On June 21, 1905, Mr. Shepard was united in marriage at Holyoke, 
Mass., with Miss Alice M. Chapin of Batavia, N. Y. They have three 
children: Mildred A., born June 11, 1908; Arthur J., born Nov. 18, 1910; 
and Donald D., born Dec. 18, 1913. 

Mr. Shepard is a Republican, a member of the Methodist Church, is 
a 32nd degree Mason and belongs to the Erie Consistory, Mt. Olivet Com- 




ROBKRT W. SHEPARD 



History of Erie County 897 

mandery and Zeni Zem Shrine. He is a member of the Kiwanis Club, the 
Erie Golf Club and the Erie Yacht Club. Mr. Shepard is held in high 
regard throughout the community and is an excellent citizen. 

Mrs. Nettie (Olds) Lamb, who now resides at 617 Chestnut Street, 
Erie, is a native of this city. She was born at 511 Chestnut Street, Sept. 
17, 1854, and is the daughter of Lewis W. and Louisa E. (Ackerly) Olds. 
A biography of Lewis W. Olds appears elsewhere in this history. 

On Dec. 17, 1884, Nettie Olds was united in marriage with Frank M. 
Lamb, a native of Erie, born Dec. 14, 1854. He was a banker and identi- 
fied with the Keystone Bank of Erie until the time of its failure. He later 
removed to Montgomery, Ala., in 1900, where he promoted the Graphite 
Milling Company, and where he died Oct. 14, 1920. He is buried in the 
Erie cemetery. To Mr. and Mrs. Lamb two children were born: Clark 
Victor, born in Erie, May 2, 1887, superintendent of the U. S. Engineers 
at Colurnbus, Ga., served with the 319th U. S. Engineers during the World 
War, married to Nettie Savage Kieth of Camden, Ala. ; and Catherine 
Louise, born at Erie, June 27, 1891, married on Oct. 15, 1913, to J. Douglas 
Murphy, and they reside in Erie, where he is engaged in the real estate 
and insurance business. 

Mrs. Lamb is a Republican, a member of St. Paul's Episcopal Church 
and a charter member of the Erie Women's Club and the Art Club. She 
is a member of the Daughters of the American Revolution and holds the 
position of vice regent of Presque Isle Chapter. 

Frank M. Lamb was a 32nd degree Mason and a Republican. He was 
an energetic citizen, who stood well in the esteem of his fellow citizens. 

Mrs. Phila (Olds) Cole, of Erie, is a m,ember of a family that has long 
been identified with the history of Erie County. She was born in this 
city, Nov. 20, 1857, and is the daughter of Lewis W. and Louisa E. (Ack- 
erly) Olds. A complete sketch of Lewis W. Olds appears elsewhere in 
this history. 

Phila Olds was born and reared in Erie County. She was married 
to James W. Cole, a native of Dearborn County, Ind., born Feb. 2, 1820. 
He died June 5, 1907, and is buried at Greencastle, Ind. Mr. Cole estab- 
lished the Cole Brothers Lightning Rod Company of Greencastle, Ind., 
before the CiVil War and became president of the firm. In 1898 he sold 
his interests to his brothers and retired. He was a Republican and a 
(57) 



898 History of Erie County 

member of the Masonic lodge. To Mr. and Mrs. Cole a son was born, 
James Gilbert Cole, born Sept. 20, 1894. He is a graduate of Culver Mili- 
tary Academy and served in the army during the World War as an in- 
structor in the Officers' Training School at Porto Rico. He now resides 
in Indianapolis, Ind. 

Mrs. Cole is a Republican, a member of St. Paul's Episcopal Church, 
and the Daughters of the American Revolution. 

Mrs. Inez (Olds) Tayntor is widely known in Erie and is among the 
esteemed women of Erie County where she has spent so many years. She 
was born at Farmington, Ohio, March 11, 1849, and is the daughter of 
the late Lewis W. and Louisa E. (Ackerly) Olds, a sketch of whom appears 
in this history. 

Inez Olds was married to Eugene N. Tayntor, who was a native of 
West Eaton, N. Y., born Jan. 22, 1847, and the son of Joseph and Marietta 
(Bebbe) Tayntor, both now deceased. Mr. Tayntor was manager of the 
Tayntor Gi-anite Quarries of Barre, Vt., for 20 years and died there Aug. 
28, 1911, and is buried in Erie cemetery. To Eugene N. and Inez (Olds) 
Tayntor two sons were born: Lewis Olds, born Nov. 3, 1886, attended the 
public schools of Barre, Vt., and later assigned to the State Department 
of Health, Maryland, and now a medical student at the University of 
Maryland; and Clark Olds, born Oct. 10, 1892, mention of whom is made 
below. 

Clark Olds Tayntor attended the public and high schools of Barre, Vt., 
from whicli he was graduated in 1911. Four years later he received his 
degree from Yale University and then entered the Law School of Har- 
vard University. During his senior year there he volunteered for service 
during the World War and served overseas with the 47th Infantry as a 
first lieutenant. He was severely wounded during the second battle of 
the Marne, on July 28, 1918, and was later with the Army of Occupation 
in Germany. He was awarded the distinguished service cross by Gen. 
John J. Pershing in the absence of the president, for bravery in action. 
He resigned his commission Jan. 20, 1920, and returned to Harvard Law 
School, where he received his degree in 1922. Mr. Tayntor is now prac- 
ticing his profession in Erie and is connected with the firm of Brooks, 
English & Quinn. 

Mrs. Inez Tayntor is a Republican, a member of the Methodist Church, 
and belongs to the Erie County Historical Society and the Daughters of 



History of Erie County 899 

the American Revolution. She and her family have always been well 
and favorably known in Pennsylvania and are representative of the best 
citizenship of the state. 

C. L. Blair, who is successfully engaged in the coal business at Albion, 
was born at Corwith, Iowa, Jan. 17, 1879, and is the son of Cyrus and 
Delia (Raymond) Blair. 

Cyrus Blair, a native of Crawford County, Pa., died in 1885 when his 
son was but six years of age. His widow then went west with her 
daughters. Bertha and Lottie, where they made their home. C. L., the 
subject of this sketch, was reared and educated by his grandfather, Hugh 
Blair, a well known farmer of Crawford County, who died in 1897. 

At an early age C. L. Blair entered the employ of the Bessemer Rail- 
road as a freight trainman and was later made conductor. He has been 
in the employ of this company for 21 years and is also interested in the 
coal business at Albion. 

In 1903 Mr. Blair was married at Buffalo, to Miss Lottie G. Peters, a 
native of Pennsylvania. They have three children: Stanley, born Oct. 8, 
1907; Doris, born Aug. 6, 1920; and Harold, born Feb. 13, 1922. 

Mr. Blair is affiliated with the B. of R. T. He is esteemed throughout 
the community as a substantial and reliable citizen. 

Willis F. Wolf, who lives retired at North East, was for many years 
a leading farmer of Erie County. He was born in Mill Creek Township, 
July 16, 1857, and is the son of Isaac and Eliza (Meyers) Wolf. 

Isaac Wolf, deceased, was a member of one of the pioneer families 
of Erie County. He was born in Lancaster County, Pa., April 11, 1827, 
the son of Cyrus and Mary (Piatt) Wolf. They came from their native 
county of Lancaster to Mill Creek Township in 1838. Isaac Wolf was a 
prosperous farmer during his life and died Aug. 15, 1904. His wife, a 
native of Fairview Township, Erie County, was born Oct. 7, 1832, and 
died March 7, 1909. The children born to Mr. and Mrs. Wolf were: Clara, 
married F. J. Moore, lives in Philadelphia ; Perry A., lives at Ripley, N. Y. ; 
Willis F., the subject of this sketch; Edward, who died in infancy; Frank, 
who died at the age of 19 years; Nelson, a fruit farmer, lives at State 
Line; Mary, married John Beatty, deceased, and she lives at North East; 
Charles, a fruit farmer, lives at Ripley, N. Y. ; and Boyd, lives at State Line. 

Willis F. Wolf was reared and educated in North East Township, his 



900 History of Erie County 

family having removed here when he was three years of age. For many 
years he specialized in the raising of fruit and owned 67 acres of well 
improved land on the State Line Road, which he sold in 1912. He has since 
lived retired in North East. 

Mr. Wolf was married to Miss Elsie Cora Wolsey, a native of Elk 
Creek Township, Erie County, who was born June 27, 1860, and died Feb. 
3, 1915. To them three children were born: Ford, born Oct. 10, 1882, a 
hardware merchant at Ripley, N. Y. ; Frank Levi, lives in Girard Township, 
Erie County ; and Mrs. Bessie Grimshaw, who lives in Girard Township. 
Mr. Wolf was married later to Miss Alice Newton, deceased. He was mar- 
ried the third time to Mrs. Jennie T. Ross, the widow of William Ross, 
and she died March 23, 1924. His fourth wife was Miss Lucy Fellows, a 
native of Albion, and a daughter of Jonathan and Altha (Bradish) Fel- 
lows, both deceased. 

Mr. Wolf is a substantial citizen of his community. 

John Depinet is among the honored and well known residents of Ei'ie, 
where he was born Nov. 14, 1855. He is the son of Michael and Mary 
(Ehret) Depinet, natives of Alsace-Loraine and Germany, respectively, 
who emigrated and located in Erie in 1853. He was a prominent build- 
ing contractor and died in 1881. His wife died in 1856. 

John Depinet was educated in the public schools and Erie Academy, 
and in 1877 accepted a position as bookkeeper in the office of William 
Densmore. After five years' faithful service in this capacity, he became 
a member of the firm of William Densmore & Company, and traveled 
in the interest of the company. In 1890 he was elected register and re- 
corder of Erie County and re-elected in 1893. From 1897 until 1903 he 
operated the Erie Stove Works and in 1898 was elected mayor of Erie, 
which office he filled in a most competent manner for three years. In 
1906 Mr. Depinet moved to New Orleans, La., where he represented the 
first motion picture firm of that city. He returned to Erie in 1916 and 
was appointed court crier in 1921, which position he still holds. 

Mr. Depinet was married on Oct. 2, 1882, to Miss Jessie, only daughter 
of William and Harriet (Dewey) Densmore, of Erie. She was born May 
30, 1858, and died in 1900. To Mr. and Mrs. Depinet two sons were born: 
Fred Ehret, born Sept. 16, 1886, married Marie Roberts of Erie, and they 
reside at Gardner, Mass., where he is treasurer and office manager of the 
W. 0. Siebert & Company; and Ned Everett, born Sept. 9, 1890, married 



History of Erie County 901 

Alida Kammac of Dallas, Texas, and they reside in New York City, where 
he is sales manager for the Universal Film Company of New York. 

Mr. Depinet is a Republican, a member of the Elks lodge and he also 
is a member of Perry Lodge No. 392, Masonic Blue Lodge, Commandery 
and Shrine. Public spirited and with the best interests of the community 
at heart, he is ever ready to support and encourage by his means and in- 
fluence all worthy enterprises of a public or charitable nature. 

E. Sears McCumber is a progressive and enterprising business man 
of Erie, where he is successfully engaged in the advertising business. He 
vras born at Franklin Center, Erie County, Aug. 13, 1893, and is the son 
of William M. and Minnie (Sears) McCumber. 

William M. McCumber was a native of Albion, Pa., where he was born 
Aug. 24, 1862. He engaged in the blacksmith trade for a number of years 
and was also a prosperous farmer. He died in February, 1919, and is 
buried at Wellsburg, Pa. His wife, who was born at Cassadaga, N. Y., 
lives in Erie. Mr. and Mrs. McCumber, who were married at Albion, Pa., 
June 20, 1889, were the parents of the following children: E. Sears, the 
subject of this sketch; Leo B., born at French Creek, N. Y., Jan. 20, 1897, 
mention of whom is made below; Vernon, born Nov. 3, 1898, married Opal 
Curtiss, of Cranesville, Pa. ; Norine, born May 9, 1900, married Clifford 
A. Peters, a farmer, lives at Cranesville, Pa.; Clara, born Nov. 18, 1902, 
nuarried Earl Goodenow, a farmer, lives at Cranesville, Pa. ; and Enola, 
born Sept. 5, 1904, lives at Wesleyville, Pa. 

Leo B. McCumber is a veteran of the World War. He was stationed 
at Debarkation Hospital No. 6, New York city, and while there contracted 
diphtheria. He was married to Miss Dorothea Burett, of Erie, and they 
reside in this city. 

E. Sears McCumber received his education in the schools of French 
Creek and Sherman, N. Y., and after his graduation from high school he 
engaged in farming until 1916, at which time he c^me to Erie as adver- 
tising manager for the Osborne, Norman & Zahniser Company. On March 
1, 1924, he established the E. Sears McCumber Advertising Agency, w-hich 
is located in the Hayes Building. He is also owner of the E. Sears Mc- 
Cumber Advertising Agency of Jamestown, N. Y., which was established 
in April, 1924. They specialize in market research work, sales develop- 
ment, merchandizing ideas, and the planning, preparing and placing of 
advertising for manufacturers and business concerns. In 1923 Mr. Mc- 



902 History of Erie County 

Cumber organized a class in Salesmanship and Advertising at the Academy 
High School, which is held three evenings each week. 

On Aug. 29, 1914, Mr. McCumber was married to Miss Hazel Perdue, 
of Ripley, N. Y., who was born there Aug. 29, 1893, the daughter of 
George and Clara (Cummings) Perdue, residents of Ripley. To Mr. and 
Mrs. McCumber have been born five children: G. Maurice, born Sept. 1, 
1915; Vera Louise, born March 23, 1917; W. Harold, born Aug. 19, 1919; 
Mazie Magdalen, born Feb. 17, 1921; and Earnest Douglas, born March 
26, 1923. 

Mr. McCumber was one of the organizers and is a charter member of 
the Erie Advertising Club. He served as secretary and treasurer and as 
a member of the board of directors for two years. 

Lowell M, Little, deceased, was a well known business man and lead- 
ing citizen of Erie. He was a native of Ohio, born at Aurora, Portage 
County, Jan. 1, 1847. In 1865 he came to Erie and entered the office of 
the American Express Company, but later was transferred to Titusville, 
Pa. While residing there he became connected with the Titusville Na- 
tional Bank, but in 1870 returned to Erie, where he remained until his 
death. He served as secretary and director of the W. L. Scott Coal Com- 
pany for 30 years, relinquishing his position only when compelled to re- 
tire from active business on account of failing health. For many years 
he was also a director of the First National Bank. His ability, fidelity, 
and elevating influence made him a Welcome and a prominent personage 
in the specific circles of religious and charitable workers. In the Park 
Presbyterian Church he was a strong supporting pillar for many years, 
being long the leader of its choir, for eight years superintendent of the 
Sunday School, and during the last three years of his life one of its elders. 
He was also for some time president of the local organization of the Y. M. 
C. A., and held other positions on the boards of various religious, charit- 
able, and benevolent bodies. Fully alive to the elevating effects of a gen- 
eral mental enlightenment upon the public, he was always a firm and 
earnest supporter of the city library, being one of its original trustees. 

In 1872 Mr. Little married Susan Brewster, daughter of Alexander W. 
Brewster. Her father was a native of Allegheny County, Pa., born in 
1796, and in 1806 was brought by his parents to Erie, where he became a 
leading citizen. He served as sheriff of Erie County, was the last burgess 
of the city, and held other honorable offices. Mr. Brewster died May 26, 



History of Erie County 903 

1851, and his was the first interment in Erie cemetery, of which he was 
one of the incorporators. His wife, (nee Susan M. Jones) was a native of 
Connecticut and died in 1886. Susan (Brewster) Little was born in Erie, 
Oct. 29, 1839. She has spent her entire life in this city and now resides 
at 254 West 9th Street. She is a member of the Park Presbyterian Church, 
and like her husband, has always taken an active part in all church work. 
To Lowell M. and Susan (Brewster) Little a daughter was born, Mar- 
garet, born in Erie in 1879. She was married to F. A. Cleveland, a native 
of Palmyra, N. Y., born Aug. 1, 1876. He was graduated from Cornell 
University in 1899, and was a member of the Phi Beta Kappa fraternity. 
He was a professor of modern history at Bryn Mawr College, and died 
at Saranac Lake, N. Y., Oct. 15, 1914. He is buried in Erie cemetery. 
To Mr. and Mrs. Cleveland were born two daughters: Susan Brewster, 
born June 15, 1904; and Catharine Aldrich, born at Fryburg, Germany, 
April 2, 1910. They are students at Vassar College. Mrs. Cleveland, who 
resides with her mother in Erie, is also a member of the Park Presbyter- 
ian Church. She is a member of the Women's Club, the League of Women 
Voters, the Council of Republican Women, and the Kahkwa and Erie 
Yacht clubs. Her mother is a member of the Daughters of the Anxerican 
Revolution. 

M. H. Lee, proprietor of the Perry Electric Company, is well known 
in Erie as a progressive business man. He was born at Corry, Pa., June 
26, 1881, and is the son of W. H. and Phoebe (Hall) Lee. 

W. H. Lee was born at Little Valley, N. Y., Dec. 2, 1829, and his wife 
was a native of Castleton, Vt., born April 14, 1847. He died in 1900 and 
his wife died in 1917, and they are buried at Corry. Mr. Lee was a build- 
ing contractor and for a number of years was superintendent of bridges 
and general purchasing agent for the old Cross Cut Railroad. 

M. H. Lee received his education in the public schools at Corry and 
when a young man learned the mattress making trade. In 1900 he became 
interested in the electric business and in 1915 purchased a half interest 
in the Perry Electric Company. Two years later he became sole owner 
of the business. He is the local agent for the Philadelphia Storage Bat- 
tery Company and also the Electric Storage Battery Company of Phila- 
delphia. He does general repair work on all kinds of batteries. He has a 
well equipped shop at 217 West 11th Street. Mr. Lee handles the Walker 
and Steinmetz Electric street trucks. 



904 History of Erie Counts.' 

On Feb. 7, 1906, Mr. Lee was united in marriage with Miss Pearl Noble 
of Tidioute, Pa., born Dec. 19, 1882, and the daughter of Andrew J. and 
Amelia (Bishop) Noble, both deceased. Mr. Noble served throughout the 
Civil War as a member of the 83rd Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry. Mr. 
and Mrs. Lee have five children: Maurice J., born Dec. 17, 1906, a student 
at Central High School; Alice Virginia, born Feb. 4, 1910, a student at 
Central High School; Paul Noble, born Aug. 18, 1911, a student at Gridley 
Junior High School ; Evelyn Elizabeth, born Sept. 17, 1914, a student at 
Longfellow school; and Muriel Lucille, born Feb. 28, 1920. 

Mr. Lee is a Republican, a 32nd degree Mason, and a member of the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 

Peter Leuschen is among the highly esteemed and well known 
pioneers of Erie and a veteran of the Civil War. He was born in Buffalo, 
N. Y., Jan. 5, 1849, and is the son of Mathias and Katherina (Uhlmann) 
Leuschen. 

Mathias Leuschen was a native of Prussia and his wife was born in 
Wurtemberg, Germany. He was a Prussian soldier and emigrated to 
America in 1843 and settled in Buffalo, where he was married Feb. 23, 
1846. In June, 1849, he came to Erie, where he died Aug. 6, 1869. To 
Mr. and Mrs. Leuschen the following children were born: Nickolas L., 
a prominent politician in Erie for a number of years and well known 
dry cleaner, died Oct. 7, 1896; Elizabeth, married Loth Mader, who died 
in March, 1911, and she lives at 1623 Cherry Street, Erie; Lena, married 
Frank Winchel, lives at 423 East 11th Street, Erie; George, born in 1855 
and died in 1894; Frank, agriculturist, lives on West Lake Road, Fair- 
view Township, Erie County; Henry, an electrical engineer for Scott & 
Company of Erie, who died in March, 1912 ; and Peter, the subject of this 
sketch. 

Peter Leuschen spent his boyhood in Erie and attended the public 
schools. He was connected with the Erie & Pittsburgh Railroad for nine 
years, was superintendent of Shaw's Laundry for 16 years, and on Jan. 1, 
1913, was appointed tipstaff by the judges of Erie County, which office 
he now holds. 

Mr. Leuschen was married at New Castle, Pa., to Miss Mary Lincoln, 
of Warsaw, N. Y., who died in November, 1911. She was the daughter of 
J. and Eleanor (Barber) Lincoln, natives of Vermont and Warsaw, N. Y., 
respectively. They are deceased. To Peter and Mary (Lincoln) Leuschen 




PETER LEUSCHEN 



History of Erie County 905 

a son was born, Nicholas G., who lives at 118 West 25th Street, Erie, 
He was born April 5, 1878, and was married to Miss Clara Kern of Erie, 
and they have two children, Marion and George. Mr. Leuschen is a clerk 
in the employ of the Erie Police Department. 

Mr. Leuschen is a member of the Strong Vincent Post No. 67 Grand 
Army of the Republic, and is past commander. He is an honorary mem- 
ber of the Veterans of Foreign Wars and belongs to the Elks 
Lodge No. 67. In July, 1864, Mr. Leuschen enlisted in the U. S. Navy 
and was immediately assigned to the West Gulf Blockading squad- 
ron, and he remained there until the close of the war. He was then 
transferred across the Isthmus of Panama to join the U. S. S. Lancaster. 
The French had armed troops on American soil and were ordered 
to withdraw, and it was at this time that Maximilian, the French em- 
peror of Mexico, was arrested and executed in 1867. Mr. Leuschen then 
sailed around Cape Horn, arriving in Norfolk, Va., in March, 1867, where 
he was discharged. Upon his arrival in Philadelphia he found that Captain 
Landman was recruiting former service men to make a tour of Europe 
with Admiral Farragut in command. He enlisted and went on the U. S. S. 
Franklin and while on this trip in Europe was received by all the crowned 
heads of Europe. Upon his return to this country he served on various 
ships until 1870, when he was discharged and returned to civilian life in 
Erie. 

Mr. Leuschen has an extensive acquaintance in Erie County and 
stands high in the community. 

John A. Ignasiak, who is successfully engaged in the practice of law in 
Erie, is a veteran of the World War. He was born in Poland, June 1, 1892, 
and is the son of Stanislaw and Mary (Teclaw) Ignasiak. 

Stanislaw Ignasiak and his wife, now deceased, were natives of Poland 
where they spent their entire lives. They were the parents of the follow- 
ing children: Bronislawa, lives in Poland; Valentine, lives in Poland; 
Frances, lives in Erie; Catherine, lives in Poland; and John A., the subject 
of this sketch. 

John A. Ignasiak received his early education in his native land and in 
Germany and cam)e to this country in 1900. He was graduated from St. 
Stanislaw's School, Erie, and from St. Mary's College, Orchard Lake, Mich., 
in 1909. After two years post-graduate work at the latter institution 
he entered Georgetown University, Washington, D. C, in 1911, where he 



906 History of Erie County 

received his degree in law in 1914. During the years 1913 and 1914 he 
was also a student at George Washington University, from which he re- 
ceived his degree as Bachelor of Arts in 1914. In 1914 Mr. Ignasiak en- 
tered the law firm of Charles Haughney and F. L. Camp, with whom he 
remained until February, 1915, when he estabhshed his own practice. 
His offices are located at 402 Ariel Building. 

During the World War Mr. Ignasiak volunteered for service on June 
28, 1918, and served with the Quartermaster's Corps, as a member of 
Company C, Headquarters, 331st Service Battalion. The month follow- 
ing his enlistment he was sent to France where he was in active service 
until the close of the war. 

On July 15, 1920, Mr. Ignasiak was married to Miss Cecile M. Mrovka, 
a native of Johnstown, Pa., born Nov. 18, 1892, and the daughter of Val- 
entine and Anastasia (Rezler) Mrovka, natives of Poland. Mr. Mrovka 
is deceased and his widow resides with Mr. and Mrs. Ignasiak. A son, 
Frank E. Mrovka, is an attorney at Johnstown, Pa. Mr. and Mrs. Ignasiak 
have a son, John F., born May 11, 1921. 

Major Charles E. Sykes is among the highly esteemed and well known 
citizens of Erie, where he is identified with the Volunteers of America. 
He was born at Carlisle, Pa., June 22, 1860, and is the son of William and 
Catherine (Miller) Sykes. 

William Sykes was born in Perry County, Pa., the son of Henry Sykes, 
of Huddersfield, Yorkshire, England, who came to this country when a 
small boy. William Sykes died in 1884, and is buried in Nebraska. His 
wife, a native of Hopewell, Pa., married a second time to William Gibson, 
of Carlisle, Pa., and a n^echanical engineer. She died Aug. 2, 1890, and is 
buried in Williamsport, Pa. To William and Catherine (Miller) Sykes 
nine children were born, seven of whom are now living. 

Charles E. Sykes was four years old when he left Carlisle, Pa., with his 
mother and step-father to go west. They lived for a short time in Fort 
Wayne, Ind., and then moved on to Oskaloosa, Iowa, and later to Newbern, 
Iowa. There they became part of a caravan consisting of 32 covered 
prairie schooners, which had formed along the way. When they reached 
Lincoln, Neb., it was incorporated as a boro. The trip required seven 
weeks and settled at Idaho Springs, Colo. It was here that Mr. Sykes 
received his early education and his step-father engaged in the lumber 
business and became one of the prominent citizens of the town. Mr. Gib- 



History of Erie County 907 

son was a candidate for the first house of representatives when Colorado 
came into statehood. After his death, Mrs. Sykes and her son returned 
to Williamsport, Pa., where he resided until 1892. While living in the 
west he attended the State University of Colorado in 1878-79. In 1892 
Mr. Sykes went west again to Denver, Colo., where he remained until his 
wife's death in 1897, after which he took up his residence in San Diego, 
Calif., where he became associated with the Volunteers of America. Dur- 
ing the latter part of 1897 he was ordered to Chicago, becoming attached 
to the Northwestern Territorial Division of the Volunteers of America. 
From there he was sent out as musical director of the traveling brigade 
in the interest of spiritual work. In 1903 Mr. Sykes was transferred to 
San Francisco, Calif., and remained there until 1906. He was located 
there at the time of the earthquake and rendered splendid service to the 
stricken area. Mr. Sykes was transferred to Pittsburgh in 1906 to the 
Central Regiment and since coming to Erie has proven an active and will- 
ing worker in this good service. 

On June 9, 1886, Mr. Sykes was united in marriage with Miss Alice 
Peeling, of Williamsport, Pa., and she died in Denver, Colo., in 1896 and 
is buried in Wildwood cemetery, Williamsport, Pa. To them were born 
three children: Charles E., born Sept. 26, 1891, an electrical engineer, 
Williamsport, Pa.; Louise, born Oct. 4, 1889, married M. Plankenhorn, 
manufacturer, Williamsport, Pa.; and Catherine, born April 22, 1888, 
married George Darlington, a banker, Westchester, Pa. 

On Aug. 31, 1908, Mr. Sykes married Mrs. Carrie Lawton, of McKees- 
port. Pa., born March 13, 1861. 

Mr. Sykes is identified with the Democratic party in politics and is 
affiliated with all the Masonic bodies as follows : Knights of Templar, 32nd 
degree, and the Zem Zem Shrine. He lives at 212 East 11th Street. 
Mr. and Mrs. Sykes have a wide circle of friends in Erie County and are 
well liked. 

Mrs. Josephine (Moeller) Paasch is one of the women of Erie who 
has lived a long and useful life and made every year count for the good 
of her own family and the community in general. She was born at 
Flensburg, Holstein, Germany, Jan. 23, 1847, the daughter of Frederick 
A. and Marinka (Jensen) Moeller. 

Frederick A. Moeller served throughout the Civil War and also served 
six years on the U. S. S. Michigan on Lake Erie, which is now the U. S. S. 



908 History of Erie County 

Wolverine. He was born at Keil, Germany, in 1810, and was a ship- 
builder. Mr. and Mrs. Moeller, deceased, are buried in Erie cenietei-y. 
They had two children: Josephine, the subject of this sketch; and George 
P. Moeller, born in 1852, married Lena Fischer of Erie, and they reside at 
302 Peach Street, Erie. 

Josephine Moeller was born in Germany and in 1866 she was married 
to John D. Paasch, a native of Germany, born Dec. 3, 1839. He was a 
prominent shipbuilder of Erie for many years and died March 3, 1893. 
To Mr. and Mrs. Paasch the following children were born: William D., 
died Nov. 26, 1923; Fred E., a member of the firm of Paasch Bros., ship- 
builders ; John E., also a member of the firm of Paasch Bros., was mar- 
ried to Anna M. Burns, and they live at 21 East 2nd Street, Erie; Lena 
M., office manager for the firm, lives with her mother; Louise M., a 
teacher at McKinley School, lives at home; and Laura C., a teacher at 
Perry School, lives at home. 

Misses Laura C. and Louise M. Paasch were educated in the public 
schools of Erie and after completing their high school courses they were 
graduated from the city normal school. They are members of the Teach- 
ers' Association. 

The Paasch homestead is at 215 West Front Street and the members 
of this pioneer family of Erie County are excellent citizens who hold the 
respect of the entire community. 

Leonard T. McEIroy, who is successfully engaged in the manufacturing 
business at Corry, is a prominent citizen of Erie County. He was born 
in Corry, Aug. 6, 1886, and is the son of William and Susie (Davis) Mc- 
EIroy. 

William McElroy was born at Toronto, Canada, April 14, 1847, and 
was married at Lawrence, Kan., Aug. 14, 1870, to Susie Davis, who v/as 
born July 5, 1849. He died Oct. 7, 1916, and his wife died March 27, 
1913. They are buried in Pine Grove cemetery, Corry. 

Leonard T. McElroy was reared and educated in Corry. His first 
business experience was as an apprentice mechanic with the Trill Indi- 
cator Company of Corry. He was appointed manager of the works in 
1910 and remained in their employ until 1916, when with three other 
business men he established the Standard Screw Company, which was 
reorganized the following year as the Standard Turnbuckle Company. 
During the World War the plant employed 900 men and produced about 
two-thirds of all the turnbuckles used by the government. Contracts were 



History of Erie County 909 

also made with the British government. After the close of the war Mr. 
McElroy began the manufacture of automobile parts, as well as turn- 
buckles, and in 1920, the company became known as the Standard Auto- 
matic Products Company. At the present time it is the only plant in the 
world manufacturing aeronautical turnbuckles. About ten percent of the 
company's products are used by the U. S. navy and U. S. air service. The 
N. C. 4, which was the first airplane to cross the Atlantic ocean, the Shen- 
andoah, and the "Around the World Planes" were equipped with turn- 
buckles made at this plant. The automobile products are used by the 
Studebaker Corporation, Chevrolet Corporation, Hupmobile and Paige Mo- 
tor Company. Mr. McElroy, who is general manager and superintendent 
of the plant, was awarded a medal at the Panama Exposition in 1915 for 
a new type of rolling engine indicator, designed by him. 

On Feb. 9, 1906, Mr. McElroy was married to Miss Rosa B. Munn, 
who was born at Corry, July 27, 1889, and the daughter of Charles W. and 
Matilda Belle (Leach) Munn, residents of Corry. Mr. Munn was born 
Oct. 17, 1858, and his wife was born Aug. 17, 1862. They have five chil- 
dren: Grace, born Aug. 7, 1882, died in infancy; Mrs. McElroy; Charles, 
born July 4, 1891, lives at Corry; Bertram, born Nov. 7, 1893, died in 
1894; and Earl, born Nov. 29, 1895, lives in Corry. To Mr. and Mrs. 
McElroy six children have been born: Walter L., born June 25, 1907, a 
student at Carnegie Institute of Technology, Pittsburgh ; Grace, born July 
4, 1908, died Oct. 7, 1908 ; Harold, born Feb. 10, 1910, a student at Junior 
High School; Mildred, born Jan. 6, 1912, a student at Concord School, 
Corry; Melvin, born Feb. 23, 1914; and Harmon, born Jan. 16, 1918. 

Mr. McElroy is a member of the Corry Country Club and belongs to 
the Elks lodge and Kiwanis Club. He is known as a man of enterprise 
and ability, and is esteemed as a progressive business man. 

Albert E. Nash, a veteran of the World War, is a reliable and substan- 
tial young business man of Erie, where he is proprietor of the Erie Book 
store. He is a native of England, born at Bristol, March 7, 1891, and the 
son of Thomas and Edith (Collins) Nash. 

Thom.as Nash, who now lives retired in England, was a railroader dur- 
ing his active career and was employed as a freight agent. He and his 
wife are the parents of the following children : Harold, Rose, Jessie, Robert 
and Arthui% all of whom live in England; and Albert E., the subject of this 
sketch. 



910 History of Erie County 

Albert E. Nash grew to manhood in England and was educated in the 
schools there. At the age of 19 years he came to this country and lived 
in Schenectady, N. Y., where he entered the employ of the General Elec- 
tric Company. In October, 1921, he resigned his position with this com- 
pany as electrical engineer and purchased the Harris Book Store in Erie, 
which is now known as the Erie Book Store. Mr. Nash carries a com- 
plete line of books, magazines, and greeting cards, and also has a large 
circulating library. The shop is located at 17 East 8th Street. 

On Aug. 27, 1913, Mr. Nash was united in marriage with Miss Olive 
Ellis, of Kent, England, born Dec. 31, 1888, and the daughter of James 
and Harriet (Dence) Ellis, natives of England. Mr. Ellis died at Marden, 
England, and his wife died in Schenectady, N. Y. 

During the World War Mr. Nash volunteered for service and was in 
France with Evacuation Hospital No. 6. He was personally cited for 
meritorious service by General Pershing, after having taken part in the 
following engagements: Aisne Marne offensive; Aisne Marne defensive; 
Saint Mihiel ; Meuse Argonne ; Chateau Thierry. 

Mr. and Mrs. Nash are active memibers of St. Mary's Episcopal Church 
of Lawrence Park, Erie, both being Sunday school teachers. He is af- 
filiated with the Masonic lodge, Knights of Pythias, Elks lodge, and Amer- 
ican Legion and Veterans of Foreign Wars. 

Martin C. Cornell, attorney, is a well known citizen of Erie and a mem- 
ber of a pioneer family of Erie County. He was bom at Edinboro, Pa., 
April 7, 1887, and is the son of George Harper and Carrie A. (Beam) 
Cornell. 

George Harper Cornell was born in Washington Township, Erie Coun- 
ty, March 23, 1860, and his wife was born Feb. 9, 1860. He died in 
October, 1914, and his widow resides at Edinboro. Mr. Cornell estab- 
lished a tailoring business at Edinboro many years ago, which he con- 
ducted until the time of his appointment as justice of the peace, which 
office he held for four consecutive terms. He was also interested in the 
real estate business. Mr. and Mrs. Cornell had two sons: Martin C, the 
subject of this sketch; and Don H., born Jan. 27, 1893, a contractor, lives 
at Edinboro. 

After receiving his early education in the public schools of Edinboro, 
Martin C. Cornell was graduated from Edinboro State Normal School in 
1905. He then entered the law department of Georgetown University, 



History of Erie County 911 

Washington, D. C, where he received his degree in 1911. He then came 
to Erie and entered the law firm of Brooks & English, with whom he 
remained for five years. In 1916 he established his own offices in the 
Palace Hardware Building. In 1925 he located his office at 16 East 8th 
Street. Mr. Cornell was admitted to the Supreme Court of the District 
of Coluni,bia and Court of Appeals of the District of Columbia in 1911 
and the following year was admitted to the Bar of Erie County. In 1917 
he was admitted to the Supreme, Federal and Superior Courts. Mr. 
Cornell served as assistant city solicitor of Erie for six years and in 1920 
was appointed city solicitor for a four-year term. 

On Feb. 26, 1910, Mr. Cornell was united in marriage with Miss Laura 
C. Nicholson, of West Mill Creek Township, Erie County, born July 26, 
1884, and the daughter of Henry Clay and Catherine (Stein) Nicholson, 
natives of Pennsylvania and both now deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Cornell 
had a daughter, Betty Cornell, born Aug. 6, 1911, who died Aug. 7, 1911. 

Politically, Mr. Cornell is a Democrat. He was county chairman of 
the Democratic party for two terms and was secretary for six terms. In 
1920 he was a delegate to the Democratic National Convention at San 
Francisco from the 25th Congressional District of Erie and Crawford 
counties. He is a member of the Presbyterian Church and his wife holds 
membership in the Episcopal Church. He is identified with the Elks 
lodge and was a delegate to the Elks National Convention held at Atlantic 
City in 1918. He also belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
the Phi Alpha Delta fraternity, the Eagles lodge, the Erie Maennerchor, 
and the Erie Yacht Club. Mr. Cornell is an able man in his profession, 
a citizen of progressive ideals, and a man highly esteemed in Erie County. 

G. Clyde Bennett is well and favorably known in Erie, where he is 
connected with the Perry Specialty Company. He is a native of Union 
City, Pa., born Sept. 23, 1884, and the son of George F. and Lillian E. 
(Reynolds) Bennett. 

George F. Bennett was a native of Union City, Pa., as was also his 
wife. Mr. Bennett served throughout the Civil War in Company K, 
83rd Reg. Pa. Vol. Infantry. He is deceased and she lives in Erie with 
her son, G. Clyde. They also had a daughter, Elta, who married W. B. 
Emmerson, and they live at Union City. 

G. Clyde Bennett grew up at Union City and after his graduation 
from the public schools he entered the Ackerman Business College there, 



912 History of Erie County 

from which he was graduated in 1900. He was then employed as a 
stenographer for two years with the American Sterilizer Company of 
Erie and the following 12 years was bookkeeper for the United States 
Horse Shoe Company. He was later a salesman for the A. & A. Motor 
Company for six years and in 1923 established the Perry Specialty 
Company in partnership with Miss Florence Dawley and P. E. Yokes 
They are dealers in products manufactured by the Miller Rubber Com- 
pany of Akron, Ohio, including automobile accessories and rubber goods. 

In 1907 Mr. Bennett was married to Miss Edith Wheeler of Erie, and 
the daughter of Lemuel and Anna Wheeler. They have two daughters: 
Lillian A., born March 31, 1908, a student at Academy High School; and 
Geraldine May, born Feb. 4, 1913, a student at Lincoln School. 

Mr. Bennett and his famil yare members of the Presbyterian Church 
and he belongs to the Elks and Moose lodges. 

Otto J. Schweinhardt is an enterprising merchant of Erie, engaged 
in the hardware business at 1806 Parade Street. He was born in Erie, 
June 9, 1892, and is a son of John and Dora (Harding) Schweinhardt. 

John Schweinhardt, who now lives retired at 2312 Holland Street, 
was an early settler of Erie, having come here from Germany. He was 
successfully engaged in the dairy business until the time of his retire- 
ment in 1912. His wife died in 1913. Mr. and Mrs. Schweinhardt were 
the parents of the following children: Mrs. Bertha Gauley, lives in Erie; 
Clara, the widow of C. J. Kissell, lives with her father; Mrs. Ida Baerle, 
lives in Erie where her husband is engaged in the real estate business; 
and Otto J., the subject of this sketch. 

Otto J. Schweinhardt attended Garfield School in Erie and Davis 
Business College. When a young man he was employed by his father in 
the dairy business and later, became connected with the Wayne Brewing 
Company. On Dec. 10, 1914, Mr. Schweinhardt entered the employ of 
the Anchor Line, Pennsylvania Railway Company in Erie as a messenger 
and later became cashier and accountant. He resigned from that position 
June 1, 1924 and purchased the hardware business formerly conducted 
by his brother-in-law, C. J. Kissel, who died April, 1924. He carries a 
complete line of hardware, builders supplies, and paints, and has a well 
established business. 

On May 6, 1918, Mr. Schweinhardt was united in marriage with Miss 
Margaret E. Baird, of Renovo, Pa., the daughter of Herbert L. and Mar- 




OTTO J. SCHWEINHARDT 



History of Erie County 913 

garet Baird, residents of Erie. To Mr. and Mrs. Schweinhardt one daugh- 
ter has been born, Jean Baird, born Dec. 10, 1920. 

Mr. Schweinhardt and his family are members of St. John's Lutheran 
Church. 

Porter K. Riblet, retired, is among the highly esteemed and represen- 
tative citizens of Erie, where he has spent practically his entire life. He 
was born in this city, Feb. 26, 1858, and is the son of John E. and Eliza 
Jane (Collins) Riblet. 

John E. Riblet was born March 20, 1815, and died June 5, 1880. He 
was a merchant during his life and also engaged in the contracting busi- 
ness in Erie. His wife was born Dec. 20, 1824, and is also deceased. Mr. 
and Mrs. Riblet, who were married in 1846, have five children, as follows: 
Annetta M., born Feb. 11, 1848, married Aug. 6, 1878, to John P. O'Fla- 
herty, an attorney, and she died Feb. 20, 1917 ; John E., born Feb. 2, 1850, 
married March 18, 1873, to Elsina Gates, deceased, and he lives at Harbor 
Creek, Pa.; Charles F., born May 28, 1852, married Emma Riblet, and he 
died at Albany, N. Y., Sept. 16, 1895; 0. S., born April 15, 1855, a retired 
contractor, lives at 516 Walnut Street, Erie; and Porter K., the subject of 
this sketch. 

Porter K. Riblet attended the public schools of Erie and also took a 
business course. He then studied law in the office of Judge Gunnison and 
Henry Riblet. Later, Mr. Riblet was employed as a machinist by the 
Otsego Fork Mills at Girard, Pa., for three years, and on July 7, 1888, 
he was appointed a letter carrier in the city of Erie, in which capacity 
he served for 35 years continuously. He is now retired and lives at 438 
East 7th Street. 

On May 4, 1881, Mr. Riblet was married to Miss Hattie M. Collins, 
of Girard, Pa., born March 15, 1864, and the daughter of James and 
Amanda (Terry) Collins of Erie. Mr. Collins was born in 1830 and died 
Jan. 22, 1897. His wife was born July 25, 1830, and died Aug. 20, 1915. 
They had thi-ee children: Frank A., married Elida Carroll, both de- 
ceased ; Clara A., married Charles Drury, and they live at Girard, Pa. ; 
and Hattie M. Riblet. To Porter K. and Hattie M. (Collins) Riblet were 
born six children, as follows: Lillian Ruth, born Dec. 12, 1884, married 
Harry Miller, and they five at 1109 East 5th Street, Erie; John C, born 
April 20, 1888, married on Jan. 23, 1913, to Marie Round, and he is super- 
intendent of the Erie Reservoir; Adella A., born Aug. 7, 1893, married 
(58) 



914 History of Erie County 

Earl S. Wagner, merchant, lives at 752 East 6th Street, Erie; Dorothy 
J., born July 28, 1890, a graduate of Central High School, Erie, lives at 
home; Gertrude E., born Jan. 8, 1897, married A. J. Horak, lives at 500 
East 9th Street, Erie; and Hattie M., born June 20, 1883, died June 12, 
1891. 

Politically, Mr. Riblet is a Republican. He is identiiied with the Letter 
Carriers' Mutual Benefit Association, of which he served as secretary for 
one year. In 1876 he enlisted in the Pennsylvania National Guard and 
served for five years as a member of Company G. 16th Regiment. He is 
a member of the Methodist Church and is widely known in Erie. 

A. Grant Walker, who is well known among the younger attorneys 
of Erie, is a member of a pioneer family of Erie County. He was born 
in Harbbr Creek Township, Sept. 18, 1890, and is a son of William Grant 
and Hattie Elizabeth (Hyke) Walker. 

William G. Walker is a memiber of an old and substantial Eastern 
family. Well authenticated records trace the family to the great great 
grandfather, Timothy Walker, who was born at Hebron, Mass., in 1720, 
and died in Penfield, N. Y., in 1808. This is the location of the old home- 
stead and the resting place of many members of the family, the Walker 
cemetery being an historic landmark of the region. Justice Walker, who 
married Nancy Miller, was of the next generation, being born in 1763 
and dying in 1831. The grandfather of William G., Sam^'uel" Walker, was 
born in 1796 and married Sarah Case. Their son, Chauncey Case, was 
a native of Washington County, N. Y., who was born Sept. 16, 1842, and 
died in March, 1889. With his widowed mother he came to Erie County, 
where he spent his long and honorable life as a farmer. The elder Mr. 
Walker was a Republican and a Methodist. He married Elizabeth Whee- 
lock, who was born Sept. 4, 1828, and died Feb. 28, 1904, the daughter 
of Jesse Wheelock, who was long a justice of the peace in his old home 
neighborhood of Cambridge Springs, Pa. The children of Mr. and Mrs. 
Chauncey C. Walker were: May L., the wife of F. J. Walker, a manu- 
facturer of Erie; Homer 0., living on the old Harbor Creek homestead 
in Erie County; S. J., a farmer, lives at Afton, Iowa; and William G., 
father of the subject of this sketch. 

William G. Walker was born in Harbor Creek, Erie County, July 1, 
1869, receiving his early education at that place and later attending Erie 



History of Erie County 915 

Academy. Although reared on a farm he evinced an inclination for busi- 
ness in his boyhood and has followed mercantile lines since he left school. 
He first resided at San Francisco, Calif., but at the death of his parents, 
a year after going to that place, he took his share of the family estate 
which he traded for property in Erie, with the result that he has since 
been identified with the advancement of the county all along the line. 
In 1897 he purchased the W. I. Potter's leading general store at West 
Springfield. 

In November, 1919, Mr. Walker was elected County Commissioner of 
Erie County, and took office Jan. 1, 1920, serving a term of four years. 
He then returned to Conneaut, Ohio, where he is now engaged in the real 
estate and building business. He was appointed postmaster of West 
Springfield in 1901, which oflSce he held until 1919. Mr. Walker has been 
a life long Republican and is a member of the Methodist Church, the 
Masonic lodge, and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 

In September, 1889, Mr. Walker was married to Miss Hattie Eliza- 
beth Hyke, of Erie County, born in October, 1869, and a daughter of 
Charles C. and Harriet Jane Hyke. They have two children: A. Grant, 
the subject of this sketch; and Dorothy Vernon, born July 24, 1906, a 
student at Villa Marie, Erie. 

A. Grant Walker received his education in the public schools and after 
his graduation from high school in 1910 entered the law school of the 
University of Michigan from which he received his degree in 1914. In 
that year he was adnjitted to the Erie County bar and the following year 
to the Federal, Superior and Supreme Courts. Since he began the prac- 
tice of his profession he has been associated with the firm of Gunnison, 
Fish, Gilford & Chapin, leading attorneys of this city. Their offices are 
in the Masonic Temple building. 

On June 20, 1914, Mr. Walker was united in marriage with Miss Flor- 
ence Amy, a native of Greenville, Pa., born Feb. 29, 1889, and a daughter 
of Charles E. and Lillian (Bernard) Amy, natives of Greenville, Pa. He 
was born Sept. 9, 1863, and died Oct. 16, 1918. For many years he was 
proprietor of the Greenville Stone Company. His wife resides in Green- 
ville. They had six children: Helen Amy, born May 15, 1887, married 
Carl Soult, Greenville, Pa.; Mrs. Walker; Hettie, born Sept. 2, 1890, mar- 
ried Koy Beever, a civil engineer with the Bessemer Railroad, lives at 
Greenville, Pa.; Ruth, born April 2, 1892, married Frank Rigglemjan, New 
Castle, Pa. ; Richard, born Nov. 2, 1893, purchasing agent for the Perry 



916 History of Erie County 

Iron Works, Erie; and Dowd, born May 19, 1906, resides with his mother. 
To Mr. and Mrs. A. Grant Walker one son has been born, Wilham Grant, 
born Sept. 10, 1916. 

Mr. Walker is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church of West 
Springfield and his wife holds membership in the Lutheran Memorial 
Church, Erie, in which she is an active member. She is past president 
of the Sunday school class. She is identified with the Erie Women's 
Club, and is president of the Parent-Teachers Association of Ferncliff. 
Mr. Walker belongs to University Club, Erie Yacht Club, and the Elks 
lodge. He is also a 32nd degree Mason. 

Norton J. Herrick is among the highly esteemed and widely known 
citizens of Erie, where he has lived for more than 30 years. He was born 
in Cambridge Township, Crawford County, Pa., May 25, 1851, and is 
the son of Alonzo and Eliza Ann (Nichols) Herrick. 

Alonzo Herrick was born in Vermont in 1818 and his wife was a native 
of New York. He engaged in general farming during his entire life and 
died in Crawford County, Pa. There were eight children in the Herrick 
family, as follows: Nancy, born in 1846, lives at the Lutheran Home for 
Ladies, Erie; Sarah, born in 1848, married John Anderson, deceased, and 
she lives at Topeka, Kan. ; G. C, born in 1850, married Lizzie Culbertson, 
and they live at 1018 French Street, Erie; N. J., the subject of this sketch; 
Alcy, born in 1853, married M. Gard, deceased, and she lives at Topeka, 
Kan. ; Joseph M., born in 1855, married Blanche Birchfield, lives at Se- 
dalia. Mo. ; Myra, born in 1857, married A. S. Faber, lives at Cambridge 
Springs, Pa. ; and Will, born in 1859, married Miss Bernson, and they live 
in Chicago, 111. 

Norton J. Herrick attended the district schools of Cambridge Town- 
ship, Crawford County, and in early life engaged in farming. He then 
learned the barber trade, and followed that at Cambridge Springs for ten 
years. In 1893 he removed to Erie, and conducted a barber shop in this 
city until 1922, when he was appointed court officer of the Erie County 
Court House. 

In 1873 Mr. Herrick was married to Miss Flora M. Culbertson, of 
Edinboro, Pa., and they have a son, Ralph B. Hen-ick, who was born at 
Edinboro, Pa., Feb. 26, 1887. 

Ralph B. Herrick received his education in the public schools of Erie 
and after the completion of his high school course he became a poster 



History of Erie County 917 

artist. Later, he studied civil engineering and in October, 1922, associated 
himself with Mr. 0. F. Whipple, organizing the Herrick-Whipple Con- 
struction Company of Erie. They are general contractors and are well 
known in this section. Mr. Herrick is a member of the Elks No. 67, the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Fraternal Order of Eagles No. 
188. He was married to Miss Mildred Amidon of Edinboro, Pa., and they 
have two sons: Ralph B., Jr., born May 9, 1913, a student at Central 
High School ; and Clair Douglas, born Nov. 14, 1923. 

N. J. Herrick has been a life long Repubhcan. He is affiliated with 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and was a delegate to the Grand 
Lodge at Philadelphia in 1906. He is favorably known in Erie and has 
a wide circle of friends and acquaintances. 

Harry O. Geren is well and favorably known in Erie, where he is in 
charge of the United States Weather Bureau. He is a native of Columbus, 
Ohio, born Dec. 2, 1877, and the son of Dudley D. and Adenia (Wilson) 
Geren. 

Dudley D. Geren, retired, is a Civil War veteran. He was born at 
Marietta, Ohio, Oct. 22, 1846, and at the age of 15 years enlisted in Bat- 
tery H, 1st Ohio Light Artillery, and served throughout the Civil War. 
His brother, Ireneus A., who was 17 years old, also served in the war. 
Mr. Geren was a brick contractor during his active career and now lives 
retired. His wife, also a native of Marietta, Ohio, was born Oct. 26, 1854. 
They had six children: Arthur G., born at Columbus, Ohio, Sept. 9, 1880, 
a merchant at Columbus, Ohio; James R., assistant postmaster at Colum- 
bus, Ohio; Myles W., engaged in the florist business, Columbus, Ohio; 
Francis G., lives at Columbus; Helen 0., born in July, 1875, died in 1900, 
and is buried in Columbus; and Harry 0., the subject of this sketch. 

Harry 0. Geren was educated in the public schools of Columbus and 
after his graduation from high school in 1894, he entered Ohio State 
University, where he received his degree in 1899. In 1898 he was ap- 
pointed major of the cadet battalion of Ohio State University, which is 
the highest rank held in the university. After leaving college he was 
appointed by the United States Secretary of Agriculture, James Wilson, 
as observer at the U. S. Weather Bureau at Boston, Mass. He has served 
since at the following stations: Assistant at Columbus, Ohio; Assistant 
at Havana, Cuba ; official in charge of Cienf uegos, Cuba ; Assistant at 
Phoenix, Ariz. ; official in charge at Valentine, Neb. ; Assistant at Chicago, 



918 History of Erie County 

111. ; Assistant at Columbus, Ohio ; official in charge at Reno, Nev. ; official 
in charge at Rapid City, S. D. ; and official in charge at Sioux City, Iowa. 
Mr. Geren has been located at Erie since 1913 and has proven most ef- 
ficient and capable. 

On June 11, 1901, Mr. Geren was united in marriage with Miss Nellie 
Miller, a native of Columbus, Ohio, born Jan. 29, 1880, and the daughter 
of John C. and Mary (Mitchell) Miller. Mr. Miller, a Civil War veteran, 
was born in October, 1837, and is now retired. His wife died in 1919 and 
is buried in the Greenlawn cemetery, Columibus. Mrs. Geren is a grand 
niece of Horace Greeley, American journalist. 

Mr. and Mrs. Geren have a daughter, Jeanette Geren, born June 6, 
1906. She is a student at Ohio State University. 

B. Courtney McLean, well known veterinary surgeon of Erie and pro- 
prietor of a veterinary hospital at 353 East 18th Street, is a native of 
Pennsylvania. He was born at Meadville, Jan. 10, 1894, and is the son 
of Dr. C. Courtney and Sarah (Dougherty) McLean. 

Dr. C. Courtney McLean was born at Meadville, Pa., Feb. 2, 1859, and 
is a well knoviai resident of Crawford County, where he has spent his 
entire life. His wife was born at Patterson, N. J., Jan. 28, 1869. They 
are the parents of three children: Margaret, born July 13, 1892, a grad- 
uate of Allegheny College, lives at home ; B. Courtney, the subject of this 
sketch; and Leone, born April 27, 1890, a graduate of Allegheny College, 
lives in New York city. 

B. Courtney McLean spent his boyhood at Meadville and attended 
the public schools there. He then entered Allegheny College, from which 
he was graduated in 1916. In 1920 he received his degree from the vet- 
erinary department of the University of Pennsylvania, and he has since 
engaged in business in Erie. Doctor McLean has facilities for treating 
all kinds of domestic animals and his hospital is among the finest of its 
kind in the state. He also carries on a general practice besides his hos- 
pital work. 

On Sept. 1, 1920, Dr. McLean was united in marriage with Miss 
Maidelle Boatwright, who was born at Ridge Spring, S. C, Sept. 19, 
1891, and the daughter of Ida and Benjamin Boatwright, of Ridge Spring. 

In 1917 Doctor McLean enlisted in the Medical Reserve Corps and the 
following year attended the Students Army Training Corps. He was 
discharged in December, 1918. He is a memiber of the University Club, 



History of Erie County 919 

the Sigma Alpha Epsilon fraternity, the Alpha Psi fraternity, the Elks 
No. 67, Rotary Club, and the Chamber of Commerce. Doctor McLean 
is an able man in his profession and a substantial citizen of Erie County. 

C. J. Minnig, a successful real estate operator and broker of Erie, 
is a member of a family that has long been identified with Erie County. 
He was born in this city, Dec. 21, 1867, and is the son of Jacob and Eliza- 
beth (Sehlabach) Minnig. 

Jacob Minnig was a native of West Mill Creek, Pa., born in 1835, and 
his wife was born at Kearsage, Pa., born in 1845. They are both deceased 
and buried in Erie cemetery. Mr. Minnig was successfully engaged in the 
grocery and flour business here for many years and was among the first 
business men of the old Erie Canal. Mr. and Mrs. Minnig had the fol- 
lowing children: Louis J., a foreman with the Griswold Manufacturing 
Company, Erie ; William P., a farmer ; Harrison, Eddie, Ada, all deceased ; 
Alice, married Martin Fletcher, lives at Seattle, Wash. ; Etta, a teacher, 
lives in Seattle, Wash.; and C. J., the subject of this sketch. 

C. J. Minnig spent his boyhood in Erie and after completing his school- 
ing he entered his father's business. Later, he learned the boilermaker's 
trade at the Nagel Boiler Works, where he remained for six years. In 
1896 he entered the Tribune Bicycle Company of Erie as manager and 
was afterward manager of the General Insurance Company of Philadel- 
phia. He was also general manager of the Dispatch-Herald for several 
years and in 1910 he established the C. J. Minnig Real Estate Company. 
It is located at 132 West 18th Street. 

In 1886 Mr. Minnig was married to Miss Anna Firman, of Erie, who 
died in 1893, leaving a son, Carl J., born Sept. 22, 1890. He is connected 
with the Phillips Petroleunij' Company at Bartlesville, Okla. He was mar- 
ried to Miss Marcella Krug of Erie and they have three children: Charles 
M., Donald I., and Max A. Minnig. 

On Sept. 1, 1898, Mr. Minnig was married the second time to Miss 
Kathryn Murphy, of Lockport, N. Y., born Sept. 5, 1880, and the daughter 
of John and Catherine (Markley) Murphy. Mrs. Murphy died March 1, 
1921, and her husband died Feb. 12, 1925, at Sharon, Pa. Mrs. Minnig 
has two brothers : Edward J. Murphy, lives at Jersey City, N. J. ; and 
George W. Murphy, lives at Wesleyville, Pa. 

Mr. Minnig is a member of the Elks lodge and belongs to the Erie 
Maennerchor. He is a progressive man and is held in high esteem through- 
out the county. 



920 History of Erie County 

Carl M. Reed, a representative citizen of Erie County, was born in 
this city, Nov. 17, 1876, and is the son of Charles M. and Ella M. (Morri- 
son) Reed. 

The Reed family is closely and intimately associated with the history 
of Erie County from the very beginning, and may be said to have been the 
pioneers in its development. Colonel Seth Reed, the founder of the family 
fortune, was a physician at Uxbridge, Mass. When the Revolution began 
he was given command of a regiment and fought at Bunker Hill. After 
the close of the war he located in Ontario County, New York, where he 
became possessed of a tract of land 18 miles in extent by a trade with 
the Indians. Impressed with the favorable location of the then new 
town of Erie and believing that it was destined to become an important 
commercial center, he sold his Ontario estate and with his wife and sons, 
Charles, John and Manning, started for the frontier. They reached the 
harbor of Erie on July 1, 1795. Two other sons, Rufus S. and George, 
later came by way of Pittsburgh. He died March 19, 1797, at the age 
of 53 years. Rufus S. Reed, the most prosperous and best known of the 
sons of Colonel Reed, always remained in Erie. He was born at Uxbridge, 
Mass., Oct. 11, 1775. While the rest of the family took to farming, his 
taste was altogether for business, in which he had extraordinary success. 
He started a store in 1796, which did a large trade with the Indians, the 
soldiers and the settlers. In 1797 he began an extensive fur trade with 
the Indians which was very profitable. His boats ran constantly on the 
lake, loaded with shore goods one way, and furs the other. He secured a 
large government contract for supplying the western posts with beef, 
pork, flour and whiskey. He became an extensive owner of lake vessels and 
was the foremost man in enterprise in the whole lake country. Rufus 
Reed was married twice, his first wife being Dolly Oaks of Palmyra, N. Y. 
In 1801 he married Agnes, daughter of Gen. William Irvine, who boi'e 
him one son, the well known Gen. Charles M. Reed. Rufus Reed died at 
the age of 70 on June 1, 1846, leaving the largest fortune that had been 
accumulated up to that time in the lake shore region. 

Gen. Charles M. Reed, the only child of Rufus S. Reed, inherited his 
father's great business ability. He was born in Erie in 1803 and after 
receiving the best education the schools of the time afforded, he was sent 
to college at Washington, Pa., and from there went to Philadelphia, where 
he read law and was admitted to the bar in 1821. Returning to Erie he 
almost immediately engaged in business with his father, and developed 



History of Erie County 921 

such aptitude for money making that it was a question which was the 
more skillful of the two. He early foresaw the advantages of steam 
navigation and became the largest owner of steamboats on the lakes. 
When the time came for building railroads he quickly grasped their im- 
portance. In his early years he was fond of military display and became a 
brigadier general of militia. He served a year in the State Legislature 
and a term in Congress. In politics he was first a Whig and then a Repub- 
lican. He died at the age of 69 years, Dec. 18, 1871. His fortune at the 
time of his death is variously estimated at five to fifteen millions. Gen- 
eral Reed was married in September, 1838, to Miss Harriet Gilson of 
Watertown, N. Y. Among their children was Charles M., father of tlae 
subject of this sketch. 

Charles M. Reed was born in Erie in 1844 and died in 1917. He and 
his brother, Lloyd G., were sole heirs to the Reed estate. He served as 
mayor of Erie for two terms and was one of the city's most prominent 
financiers. He married Ella M. Morrison, daughter of R. S. Morrison, 
who came to Erie in 1860. To them were born four children : Charles and 
Helen, deceased; Harrison, lives in Erie; and Carl M., the subject of 
this sketch. Mrs. Reed lives in the old family home on West Sixth Street. 

Carl M. Reed has always lived in Erie. He organized the Reed Manu- 
facturing Company in which he was actively interested for a number of 
years. He has since devoted his entire time to real estate activities and 
has offices in the Penn Building. 

On April 30, 1910, Mr. Reed was married to Miss Lena Wells, the 
daughter of W. B. and Lyda Wells. They have two children : Chai'les M., 
a student at Gridley High School; and Virginia Hardwick, a student at 
Miss Bennett's School, New York. 

Mr. Reed is a Republican, a member of St. Paul's Episcopal Cnurch, 
and belongs to the Kahkwa and Erie Clubs. 

Henry R. Jeffs is among the prominent and influential citizens of Erie, 
where he is engaged in the practice of law. He was born in this city, 
April 14, 1884, and is the son of Samuel and Blanche A. (Sherwood) 
Jeffs. 

Samuel Jeffs was born in Hertfordshire, England, May 12. 1861, and 
his wife is a native of Erie, born March 30, 1863, and the daughter of 
Charles M. and Mary Ann (Warren) Sherwood. Mrs. Jeffs is a direct 
descendant of General Warren of Revolutionary War fame. To Mr. and 



922 History of Erie County 

Mrs. Jeffs, who reside in Erie, the following children were born: Vera 
N., married Dr. Carl T. Nick, lives in Erie; Marjorie A., lives in Erie; 
Marie, married William Bannister, a chemist, lives at Terre Haute, Ind. ; 
Harold Warren, lives in Erie; and Henry R., the subject of this sketch. 

Henry R. JeiTs received his education in the public schools and was 
graduated from Erie High School in 1901. In 1903 he became agent for 
the C. M. Reed estate and continued in that capacity until 1908, when he 
began the study of law in the offices of T. A. Lamb, now deceased. He 
was admitted to the bar of Erie County April 1, 1912, and is a member 
of the Bar of the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania. His offices are in the 
Penn Building. 

On April 20, 1907, Mr. Jeffs was united in marriage with Miss Eleanor 
E. Schopp, a native of Buffalo, N. Y., born Feb. 24, 1886, and the daugh- 
ter of Charles F. and Susan M. (Seaver) ??hopp. Mrs. Schopp is de- 
ceased and her husband lives in Buffalo, N. ". They had four children: 
Robert E., lives in Buffalo, N. Y. ; Betty M., married Samuel Gintz, lives 
in Erie ; Dorothy, married William Shamp, lives in Buffalo, N. Y. ; and 
Mrs. Jeffs. To Mr. and Mrs. Jeffs a daughter has been born, Geraldine E., 
born April 9, 1908, now a student at Central High School. 

Mr. Jeffs is a member of the Erie County Bar Association, of which 
he served as treasurer for three years, and he is identified with ihe 
Kahkwa Club and the Elks lodge. He is a reliable and highly esteemed 
member of the community. 

Andrew A. Wagner, county tax collector, is a dependable citizen of 
Erie and is well known. He was born in this city, Dec. 26, 1864, and is 
the son of August and Catherine (Mayer) Wagner. 

August Wagner, deceased, was a veteran of the Civil War. He was 
born in Bavaria, Germany, and his wife was also a native of that country. 
She came to this country when she was 11 years old, making the trip in a 
sailing vessel, which required 78 days. Mr. Wagner's mother lived to be 
101 years of age and is buried in South Erie cemetery. 

Andrew A. Wagner has always lived in Erie. He attended the public 
schools and when a young man engaged in the contracting and excavating 
business. He was second ward foreman of streets for three years during 
Mayor Saltsman's administration, and also served as a member of the 
police force for six years. In 1911 Mr. Wagner was appointed tax col- 
lector from the Second Ward and has since served in that capacity. He 
lives at 222 East 13th Street. 



History of Erie County 923 

In 1886 Mr. Wagner was married to Miss Anna E. Stabelein, of Erie, 
born Dec. 24, 1865, and the daughter of John and Leagardia (Hepplie) 
Stabelein, natives of Germany and both now deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Wagner have been born two children: Eleanor, born March 22, 1888, at 
home; and Elmer F., born in November, 1889, lives in New Rochelle, N. Y. 

In politics Mr. Wagner is identified with the Democratic party. He 
is a member of St. Mary's Catholic Church and belongs to the Elk and 
Moose lodges. 

B. G. Neyland, proprietor of the Neyland Wall Paper & Paint Com- 
pany, is among Erie's progressive business men. He was born at McKean, 
Pa., Aug. 24, 1885, and is the son of George W. and Alleta F. (Wood) 
Neyland. 

George W. Neyland was a native of New York, born April 24, 1850, 
and his wife was born in Illinois. He was a building contractor at Mc- 
Kean, Pa., for many years, where his family resided. Mr. and Mrs. Ney- 
land, now deceased, had two sons: Harry A., born Aug. 9, 1875, princi- 
pal of the Swain School of Designing, New Bedford, Mass. ; and B. G., the 
subject of this sketch. 

B. G. Neyland spent his boyhood at McKean and received his early 
education in the public schools there. He is a graduate of Edinboro State 
Normal School, and the Pratt Institute of New York city, where he studied 
applied electricity. In 1920 Mr. Neyland organized the Neyland Wall 
Paper & Paint Company in Erie, which has developed into a successful 
enterprise. He also owns and conducts the Folly Theater, at 654 West 
26th Street, which was estabhshed by him in 1915. 

On June 2, 1915, Mr. Neyland married Miss Isabella E. Young, of 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, Canada, who was born Jan. 31, 1883, and 
the daughter of James and Sarah Ann (Mellon) Young, natives of Lon- 
don, England, and Ontario, Canada, respectively. Mr. Young was born 
Nov. 12, 1840, and his wife was born May 9, 1842. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Neyland a daughter has been born, Sarah Georgette, born Oct. 19, 1918. 
She is a student at the Sacred Heart School, Erie. 

Mr. Neyland is a member of the Unitarian Church and his wife is a 
member of the Catholic Church. He belongs to the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, the Woodmen of the World and the Moose lodge. He is 
widely known in Erie County and has well earned the respect and esteem 
of his many friends. 



924 History of Erie County 

Carlton M. Randall, attorney of Erie, is well known throughout the 
comimunity as a successful young man in his profession. He was born 
in this city, Oct. 19, 1895, and is the son of M. M. and Mary (Bowes) 
Randall. 

M. M. Randall was born in Cattaraugus County, N. Y., and his wife 
is a native of Ireland. They now live retired in Erie. Mr. and Mrs. 
Randall have two sons: Carlton M.,. the subject of this sketch; and Ches- 
ter I., born Dec. 25, 1901, lives in Erie, where he is connected with the 
Bell Telephone Company. 

Carlton M. Randall was educated in the public schools of Erie and in 
1913 was graduated from Central High School. He then entered the law 
school of George Washington University, Washington, D. C, where he 
received his degree in 1918. After leaving college he spent the following 
year in the Supreme Court Library at Washington, D. C. He was ad- 
mitted to the Supreme Court of the District of Columbia on Oct. 7, 1919, 
and the Court of Appeals of the District of Columbia on Oct. 8, 1919. In 
December, 1920, he was admitted to the bar of Erie County and on Dec. 
9, 1920, to the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania. Mr. Randall was admitted 
to the Federal Court on March 27, 1922. After a year in the office of the 
law firm of Marsh, Eaton & Bauer, he formed a partnership with Harold 
F. Mook, under the firm name of Mook & Randall and established offices 
in the Marine Building in November, 1921, where he is now located. 

On June 2, 1923, Mr. Randall was united in marriage with Miss Hazel 
E. Mack, a native of Crawford County, Pa., born Dec. 12, 1893, and the 
daughter of William S. and Ida E. (Fry) Mack, natives of Pennsylvania. 

Mr. and Mrs. Randall hold membership in the Methodist Episcopal 
Church, and he is affiliated with the Delta Sigma Rho fraternity, the Elks 
lodge, the Independent Order of Odd Fellows Irwin Lodge No. 1100, Lake 
Erie Encampment No. 73, and Abraham Lincoln Commandery No. 601. 

Harold F. Mook is a veteran of the World War and a prominent young 
attorney of Erie, where he is a member of the firm of Mook & Randall. 
He was born at Saegertown, Pa., June 26, 1894, and is the son of Wallace 
and Julia A. (Floyd) Mook. 

Wallace Mook is a native of Saegertown, Pa., born there in 1859, and 
his wife was born at Blooming Valley, Pa., in 1872. He has been a 
successful merchant at Saegertown for 40 years and is widely known. 
Mr. and Mrs. Mook have three sons: Harold F., the subject of this sketch; 



History of Erie County 925 

Paul v., born in 1900, a biologist at the University of Maryland ; and 
Andrew W., born in 1904, a student at the University of Pittsburgh. 

Harold F. Mook received his education in the public schools of Saeger- 
town and was graduated from Allegheny College in 1915, with the degree 
of Bachelor of Arts. He graduated from the University of Pennsylvania 
Law School in 1921, receiving the degree of Bachelor of Laws, and im- 
mediately established his practice in Erie. He was admitted to the bar 
of Erie County in 1921 and to the Federal, Supreme and Superior Courts 
during the same year. The offices of this law firm are located in the 
Marine Bank Building. 

On 'April 14, 1917, Mr. Mook enlisted for service during the World 
War at Philadelphia, entered the First Officers Training School, and was 
later transferred to the Air Service for ground school training at Prince- 
ton University. In January, 1918, he was sent to Park Field, Memphis, 
Tenn. He was commissioned a second lieutenant in the aviation section 
of the signal corps as a reserve military aviator, and served as an instruc- 
tor in various fields throughout the United States. He was discharged 
at Rockwell Field, San Diego, Cal., Feb. 5, 1919. Mr. Mook now holds a 
commission of first lieutenant with rating of junior airplane pilot in the 
Air Service of the U. S. Army Officers Reserve Corps. 

Mr. Mook is identified with the Erie County Historical Society and 
belongs to the American Legion, being a Past Commander of Rogers 
Israel Post No. 11, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, Y. M. C. A., and 
Elks lodge. He has an extensive acquaintance in Erie and is held in the 
highest esteem. 

Wilbur R. Seabrook ranks among the prominent young professional 
men of Erie, where he is engaged in the practice of law. He is a native 
of this city, born Dec. 14, 1895, and the son of William G. and Helen I. 
(Reed) Seabrook. 

William G. Seabrook was born in Westfield, N. Y., and his wife is a 
native of Harvard, 111. They settled in Erie in 1878, where Mr. Seabrook 
is connected with the New York Central Railroad in the offices. 

After the completion of his high school course in Erie in 1915, Wilbur 
R. Seabrook entered the law offices of Marsh & Eaton, where he remained 
until April, 1916. He then was connected with the office of Lytle F. Perry, 
but in 1917 returned to his former position, where he remained until 
January, 1920. Mr. Seabrook was admitted to the bar on March 10, 1919, 



926 History of Erie County 

and on April 14, 1919, to the Superior Court. On Sept. 29, 1919, he was 
admitted to the Superior Court of Pennsylvania and the District Court 
of the United States of the Western District. On April 17, 1924, he was 
admitted to the United States Supreme Court and on Aug. 27, 1924, to 
the Circuit Court of Appeals of the Third Circuit, and subsequently to the 
courts of Crawford and Warren counties. Mr. Seabrook has offices in 
the Commerce Building and has an extensive practice. 

Mr. Seabrook is identified with the Erie County Bar Association, the 
Pennsylvania State Bar Association, and the American Bar Association. 
He belongs to the Commercial Law League of America, the Erie County 
Historical Society, the National Rifle Association of America and the Law- 
rence Park Rifle Club. He is also a member of the Simpson Methodist 
Episcopal Church, a 32nd degree Mason, Shriner, and belongs to the Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows and the Elks. 

Edward F. Hall, who was a member of the firm of Hall's Cigar Store, 
is one of the well known and successful young business men of Erie. He 
was born in Erie, June 18, 1892, and is the son of William B. and Alice 
(Fielder) Hall. 

William B. Hall was born at Ithaca. N. Y. He was a noted musician, 
having studied in Paris, and he was a member of various well known 
bands throughout the country. He established Hall's Cigar Store in 1898 
and continued as proprietor until 1915, at which time his sons, Edward F. 
and Harold G., became owners. He died Aug. 20, 1918, and is buried in 
Lakeside cemetery, Erie. His wife, who was born at Dansville, N. Y., now 
resides on the West Lake Road, Erie. Mr. Hall was a veteran of the 
Spanish-American Wai\ 

Edward F. Hall was reared and educated in Boston, Mass., and at- 
tended the public schools in this city after his family settled here. He 
was graduated from Erie High School in 1911 and immediately engaged 
in business with his father. Hall's Cigar Store which was located at 706 
State Street, and is now located at 10 West 7th Street, is one of the popu- 
lar shops of the city. 

On Sept. 28, 1914, Mr. Hall was united in marriage with Miss Leona 
Schlaudecker, who was born in this city, Feb. 8, 1896, and the daughter 
of Emil P. and Mayme (Reiser) Schlaudecker. Mr. Schlaudecker lives in 
Erie and is a musician at the Perry Theater. Formerly he was interested 
in the hotel business at Harbor Creek and Mill Village, Pa. To Mr. and 



History of Erie County 927 

Mrs. Hall have been born two children: William B., born April 27, 1917; 
and Dorothy Fielder, born Jan. 21, 1922. 

Mr. Hall is affiliated with the Masonic lodge. Perry Lodge No. 392, 
Shrine, Consistory, and is a 32nd degree Mason. He also belongs to the 
Elks lodge No. 67. He is a Republican. 

Hai'old G. Hall was born in Erie, May 16, 1894, and has spent his 
entire life in Erie, where he is now engaged in the cigar business, being 
the Hall Stand now located' 10 West 7th Street. He was married to Miss 
Gladys Bacher, of Erie, and they have four children: Alice, Jean, Gladys 
and Frederick. 

The Halls are highly esteemed in the community and are reliable and 
substantial citizens of Erie. 

P. E. Yokes is among the prominent and successful business men of 
Erie, where he is manager of the Miller Rubber Company. He is a native 
of Jamestown, Pa., born Feb. 18, 1884, and the son of Eli S. and Abagail 
(Floch) Yokes. 

Eh S. Yokes was born in Crawford County, Pa., in 1832, and his wife, 
a native of the same county, was born in 1860. He was a farmer in early 
life and later engaged in the produce business. He died in 1888 and his 
wife died in 1913. They had two children: P. E., the subject of this sketch ; 
and Grace, married Lynn L. Brown, and they live retired at Highlands, 
Cal. 

P. E. Yokes received his education in the public and high schools of 
Jamestown, Pa., and when a young man entered the employ of the Penn- 
sylvania Railroad as a ticket agent. Five years later he became a sales- 
man for the W. C. DeForrest Automobile & Piano Company of Sharon, 
Pa. In 1912 Mr. Yokes removed to Erie and became a member of the firm 
of Hilliard & Yokes, dealers in automobile accessories. Since 1919 he has 
served as manager of the Erie branch of the Miller Rubber Company, which 
is located at 201 West 18th Street. 

In 1907 Mr. Yokes was united in marriage with Miss Margaret Steines 
of Sharon, Pa., born Feb. 4, 1884, and the daughter of Gerhard and Mary 
(Filer) Steines, natives of Germany, both of whom are now deceased. To 
Mr. and Mrs. Yokes have been born three daughters : Madeline, born April 
14, 1915 ; Dorothy, born Dec. 31, 1917 ; and Elizabeth, born Jan. 18, 1919. 

Mr. Yokes is a member of St. Ann's Catholic Church and belongs to the 
Elks lodge and the Chamber of Commerce. 



928 History of Erie County 

Dr. G. William Schlindwein, eye, ear, nose and throat specialist, with 
offices at 138 West Ninth Street, is among Erie's successful physicians 
and surgeons. He was born in Erie, Sept. 8, 1872, and is the son of 
George and Louise (Meyer) Schlindwein. 

George Schlindwein was born in Erie, Aug. 28, 1842, and was a 
prominent merchant of this section for more than 50 years. He is now 
retired. His wife, who was born in Philadelphia, in 1842, died Dec. 20, 
1917. They had five children, as follows: Dr. G. William, the subject 
of this sketch; Joseph B., lives in Syracuse, N. Y. ; Mary L., died at the age 
of 18 years ; Josephine Weinheimer, hves in Syracuse, N. Y. ; and Rev. 
A. Leo, pastor of St. Mary's Catholic Church, Cleveland. 

Dr. G. William Schlindwein attended the parochial schools of Erie 
and also took a business course, and then was employed in the coal office 
of R. W. Russell and later by the Jacob Weschler Company. He was grad- 
uated from Jefferson Medical College in Philadelphia, leading the class of 
1904 with high honors, and served one year as interne in St. Joseph's 
Hospital in Philadelphia. The following year was spent as resident 
physician in Wills Hospital, Philadelphia, and in 1906 Doctor Schlindwein 
came to Erie, and located at 133 West Ninth Street. In 1912 he took post- 
graduate work in Berlin and Vienna and upon his return to Erie, estab- 
lished his practice in his present location. He is also connected with 
Hamot and St. Vincent Hospitals. 

On Sept. 2, 1902, Doctor Schlindwein was united in marriage with 
Miss Rose E. Conrath, of Erie, the daughter of Herman and Kate 
(Schnurr) Conrath. 

Doctor Schlindwein is a member of the County, State and American 
Medical Associations, and is also a member of the Amei'ican College of 
Surgeons and the American Academy of Ophthalmology and Otolaryngol- 
ogy. He is a member of the Catholic Church and belongs to the Knights 
of Columbus. Doctor Schlindwein and his wife are well known in Erie 
and have many friends. 

Humphrey Sullivan, well known county assessor and pioneer resident of 
Erie, was born in County Cork, Ireland, March 2, 1852, and is the son of 
Thomas and Ellen (McCarthy) Sulhvan. 

Thomas Sullivan and his wife were natives of Ireland, where they 
spent their entire lives. He died in 1883 and his wife died in 1892. Mr. 
Sullivan was a farmer during his life, all of which was spent on the Sulli- 





'zf^'^/^^yc^<!C<.o~(>ui^ T^v^ 



History of Erie County 929 

van homestead in County Cork, and which is now farmed by his son, 
Michael. To Mr. and Mrs. Sullivan five children were born : John, married 
Ann Dillon of England, and they are both deceased ; Michael, married 
Helen Manahan, lives in Ireland; Thomas, died at Queensland, Australia; 
Margaret, deceased, was the wife of M. Donovan, who lives in Ireland; 
and Humphrey, the subject of this sketch. 

Humphrey Sullivan attended the national schools of Ireland and at the 
age of 20 years came to this country. After spending a year in Boston, 
Mass., he came to Erie in 1873, where he was employed as a time keeper 
at the grain docks. In 1895 he was appointed county assessor, which 
office he has since filled in a capable manner. 

On Nov. 4, 1880, Mr. Sullivan was united in marriage with Miss Mary 
E. Meagher, a native of Buffalo, N. Y., born Aug. 13, 1857. To them were 
born nine children, as follows : Minnie, lives at home ; Ella, Margaret, and 
Josephine, all deceased; Thomas, married Mabel Sullivan, lives in Erie; 
Lawrence, deceased; Elizabeth, married James Clancy, lives at Meadville, 
Pa.; Anna May, a teacher, at Wayne School, lives at home; and Joseph H., 
deceased. 

Mr. Sullivan and his family hold membership in St. Patrick's Catholic 
church. They live at 215 Holland Street. 

W. Louis Schlesinger. Among the most capable of the younger attor- 
neys of Erie is W. Louis Schlesinger, a veteran of the World War. He 
was born at McKeesport, Pa., Oct. 2, 1893, and is a son of Jacob and Lena 
(Zimmerman) Schlesinger. 

Jacob Schlesinger is a native of Austria Hungary, as is also his wife. 
He was born in 1863 and she in 1865. They have resided in this country 
for over 40 years and now live retired at McKeesport, Pa. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Schlesinger were born the following children: (1) W. Louis, the 
subject of this sketch; (2) Sadie Helen, married Julius Degner, lives in 
Elizabeth, N. J., and they have two children: Sidney, born April 1, 1908; 
and Dorothy Helen, born in March, 1914; (3) Belle, born in October, 1897, 
married David Krause, a World War veteran, and they have a son, Arthur 
Selwyn Krause, born in January, 1924; (4) Samuel Alexander, born in 
October, 1901, a student at the University of Pittsburgh; and (5) Flor- 
ence B., born in October, 1908. 

W. Louis Schlesinger attended the public and high schools of Mc- 
Keesport, from which he was graduated in 1910. The following year was. 
(59) 



930 History of Erie County 

spent at the College of the University of Pittsburgh, and in 1911 Mi-. 
Schlesinger entered the law school of the University of Pittsburgh, from 
which he received his LL.B. degree in 1914. He was admitted to the 
Supreme Court of Pennsylvania, Oct. 12, 1914, and to the Allegheny 
County Bar on the same date. Until January, 1916, Mr. Schles- 
inger was associated in practice with H. Fred Mercer, Esq., in Pittsburgh, 
and he has since been located in Erie, with offices in the Marine Bank 
Building. In January, 1916, he was admitted to the Erie County bar 
and the Superior and Federal Courts of Pennsylvania. 

Mr. Schlesinger enlisted in the army during the World War in August, 
1918, and was sent to Camp Holt, Gettysburg, Pa. He was later trans- 
ferred to Erie and served with the District Appeal Draft Board until 
Dec. 29, 1918, when he was sent to Camp Dix, N. J. He was honorably dis- 
charged Jan. 9, 1919. Before entering the World War Mr. Schlesinger 
was secretary of the Jewish Welfare Board of Erie, an organization with 
activities during the war similar to those of the Y. M. C. A. and K. of C. 

Mr. Schlesinger is a member of the West Eighth Street Temple and 
belongs to the Erie Lodge of B'nai B'rith of which he is past president 
and a delegate to the Grand Lodge at Erie in 1922. He also belongs to 
the Men's Club of the West Eighth Street Temple of which he is a mem- 
ber of the board of directors, and he is identified with the Y. M. C. A., 
Erie County Bar Association, University Club, Erie Elks lodge. Commer- 
cial Law League of America, Glenwood Park Golf Association, and the 
Young Men's Hebrew Association. He is also a member of the American 
Legion, Post No. 11, Roger Israel. 

Lewis W. Olds. A man of good business talents and ability, Lewis W. 
Olds is intimately associated with one of the most important manufactur- 
ing industries of Corry, being president of the Climax Manufacturing Com- 
pany, builders of geared locomotives, and also interested in timber lands 
in Washington. A son of Mason 0. Olds, he was born March 30, 1865, 
at Youngsville, Warren County, Pa. He comes of New England stock, his 
grandfather, Elisha Olds, a lineal descendant of Phineas Olds, who was 
a son of Ezekiel Old, of Brookfield, Mass., having been born and brought 
up in Vermont, and who served as corporal and captain in the war of the 
Revolution, being in the Battle of Bunker Hill, June 17, 1777, also in the- 
Battle of Lexington. Ezekiel Old also served in the French and Indian 
wars, as mentioned in History North Brookfield, pages 214-215 and 697. 

Ezekiel was the son of Capt. William Old who took part in the siege 



History of Erie County 931 

and capture of Louisburg in Queen Anne's War in 1747, and William Old 
is a son of Dr. Robert Old who settled in Windsor, Conn., in 1669, having 
come from England in that year and settled in Connecticut. The letter S 
was added to the surname Old as mentioned, pages 44-45 of History Suf- 
field, Colony Massachusetts 1660-1749, pubhshed by Hezekiel Spencer Shel- 
don. 

In company with his half-brothers, Joel and Gilbert Olds, Elisha Olds 
migrated from the Green Mountain state to Pennsylvania in pioneer days, 
making the entire journey with teams. Locating in Erie County, he bought 
a tract of forest covered land on Mill Creek, being one of the earlier 
settlers of that part of the county. Making a clearing, in which he erected 
a log cabin, he began the improvement of a homestead. After he had 
well started his farming operations, he took advantage of the water on 
the place, developed the water power, erected a saw mill and a pump shop, 
and was one of the pioneer lumber and pump manufacturers of Erie 
County. Succeeding in his labors, he cleared a goodly portion of his land, 
erected a substantial set of frame buildings and there resided until his 
death at the age of 67 years. He was three times married. He married 
first Abigail W. Flint, who was born in Vermont, a daughter of James and 
Jerusha Flint. He married second Mary A. Deming, of Kenosha, Wis., and 
married for his third wife, Mrs. Electa (Chase) Huie. By his first mar- 
riage he had 13 children, as follows: James P., George, Oby, Oro, Mason 
0., Allen, Welcome, Henry, Delight, Moses, Nellie, and Martha. One child 
died in infancy. Of his second marriage two children were born, Dana 
E., and Walter R. 

Mason 0. Olds was born July 21, 1836, at Belle Valley, Mill Creek Town- 
ship, and was there reared on the home farm, receiving his education in 
the pioneer schools of his district. Beginning when young to assist his 
father in the shop and mill, he became familiar with the business, and on 
attaining his majority went to Youngsville, Warren County, Pa., where 
he engaged in the manufacture of pumps until 1870. Coming in that year 
to Corry, he established a pum^ factory, which he conducted successfully 
until his death, two years later, while yet in manhood's prime. His wife, 
whose maiden name was Eliza Mead, was born at Youngsville, Pa., in 1838, 
a daughter of Joseph Mead, a pioneer farmer of Warren County. She died 
in 1906, aged 68 years. 

The only son of his parents, Lewis W. Olds I'eceived a practical edu- 
cation in the public schools of Corry, after which he commenced his busi- 
ness career as a bookkeeper for the Climax Manufacturing Company, ac- 



932 History of Erie County 

cepting the position in 1885. After a few years of faithful work in that 
capacity, he became financially interested in the business as a part owner, 
and in 1904, when it was incorporated, Mr. Olds was elected president of 
the company and has since devoted his entire time and energies to its 
interests. 

Mr. Olds married in 1885 Nellie Raym^ond, whose father, Murray M. 
Raymond, and grandfather, Francis Raymond, were born in Columbus 
Township, Warren County, Pa., where her great-grandfather, Seth Sears 
Raymond, was a pioneer settler, and where her great-great-grandfather, 
Zachariah Raymond, a Revolutionary soldier (mentioned in Book 1298, 
Massachusetts, Soldiers and Sailors of the Revolutionary War, page 1013) 
spent his last years. Seth Sears Raymond came to Warren County when 
the country round-about was in its primeval wildness. Buying a tract of 
timber land in Columbus Township, he cleared and improved a homlestead 
on which he lived many years. When ready to give up active labor, he 
removed to the village and there lived retired until his death. Brought 
up on the home farm, Francis Raymond early turned his attention to 
agricultural pursuits, and having purchased land in Columbus Township 
was there engaged in general farming during his active life, residing there 
until his death, at the age of four score years. His wife, whose maiden 
name was Delia Colegrove, was born in Concord Township, where her par- 
ents were early settlers. Muri-ay M. Raymond was born June 10, 1843, 
and grew to mjanhood on the home farm. During the Civil War he served 
one year in the Union army, after which he engaged in the lumber business 
for a time. He later established himself in Corry as a manufacturer and 
was president of the Raymond Manufacturing Company. He married 
Seraphina Bishop, who was born in Columbus Township, a daughter of 
Joseph Bishop. Joseph Bishop's mother's maiden name was Sallie Burk, 
daughter of Joseph Burk, who served in the Revolutionary War at New- 
berry, Guilford, and Westminster, mentioned in Vermont Revolutionary 
Roll, book 991-12, page 353. She died in 1903, leaving three children: 
Nellie G., wife of Mr. Olds; Frank M., and Harriet. Mr. and Mrs. Olds 
have one son living, Murray Raymond Olds, born in 1890. Their first son, 
Mason 0., was born in 1887 and died in 1904. 

Mr. Olds is a director of the National Bank of Corry. He has served 
as a member of the Corry Council and city commission. He is identified 
with the Masonic lodge, being a 33rd degree Mason, and he belongs to 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and Elks lodge. 



History of Erie County 933 

John Stephen Rilling. Among the prominent members of tlie Erie 
County bar, wlio has practiced his profession in Erie for 40 years with 
honor and exceptional ability, is John Stephen Rilling. He was born in 
Mill Creek Township, Erie County, July 22, 1860, and is the son of Chris- 
topher and Elizabeth (Ackerman) Rilling. 

The paternal grandparents of John S. Rilling were Stephen Henry and 
Mary (Young) Rilling, and his maternal grandparents were Valentine and 
Susan (Weigel) Ackerman. His four grandparents were born in the 
southern part of Germany in the Neckar Valley near the town of Tubin- 
gen. In 1834 they embarked on and sailed on the Rhine to Antwerp, where 
they took a sailing vessel for America and were three months in making 
the passage. Arriving in Philadelphia, they proceeded via Pittsburgh, 
canal and horse drawn vehicles, to Erie and located on land in Mill Creek 
Township, a short distance south of the city of Erie. Christopher Rill- 
ing, father of John S. Rilling, son of Stephen Henry and Mary (Young) 
Rilling, was married on Aug. 20, 1846, to Elizabeth Ackerman, daughter 
of Valentine and Susan Ackerman. They both came from Germany with 
their parents when very young. 

John Stephen Rilling attended the public schools in his native township 
and Northwestern State Normal School at Edinboro, Pa. ; studied law 
and was admitted to the bar of Erie County, Feb. 19, 1885, and to the 
Superior and Supreme courts of Pennsylvania, the United States District 
Court and the Supreme court of the United States. From the time of 
his admission to the bar he has continued in active practice, and has 
offices in the Ariel Building. 

Mr. Rilling was a candidate for Lieutenant Governor of Pennsylvania 
in 1894 and was a delegate at large to the National Democratic Conven- 
tion which met in Chicago in 1896. In 1907 he was appointed by Governor 
Stuart a member of the Commission to codify the school laws of Penn- 
sylvania and was the only lawyer on the commission. When the School 
Code became a law in 1911, he was appointed by Governor Tener a mem- 
ber of the State Board of Education, on which Board he continued to 
serve until May 26, 1915, when he was appointed by Governor Brumbaugh 
a member of the Public Service Commission for the term of nine years, 
dating from July 1, 1913. 

Mr. Rilling was married Oct. 20, 1887, to Miss Stella Armstrong, 
daughter of Andrew and Amy Maria Armstrong. Her father was killed 
at the bloody angle at the battle of Spottsylvania during the Civil War 



934 History of Erie County 

and her mother died June 7, 1924. Mr. and Mrs. Rilling have two chil- 
dren: Marian E., married John R. Metcalf of Erie and they have two 
children, Mary R., and John R., Jr. ; Ruth A. Rilling married Chester H. 
Lang of Schenectady, N. Y., and they have two daughters, Margaret I., 
and Amy A. Lang. 

Mr. Rilling is identified with the Masonic lodge and is past master of 
Tyrian lodge and past commander of Mount Olivet Commandery, was one 
of the incorporators of St. Vincent's Hospital Association in 1894 and is 
still connected with that institution. He was also one of the charter mem- 
bers of the Kahkwa Club. 

George E. Pierce. Among the native born citizens of Erie County who 
have spent their lives within its boundaries, and have aided in every possi- 
ble way its growth and development, whether relating to its agricultural, 
commercial or financial interests, is George E. Pierce. He was born at 
North East, Dec. 25, 1860, and is the son of Earl and Louisa L. (Histed) 
Pierce. 

Earl Pierce was born at North East, Dec. 19, 1820. His parents were 
Palmer and Anna (Brewster) Pierce, the former a native of New York, and 
both of English descent, the Pierces being lineally descended from one of 
the Pilgrim'fathers. Palmer Pierce purchased a farm in North East Town- 
ship in 1819, and the following year located upon it with his family, and 
there continued to reside throughout his life with the exception of a year 
or two spent in Chatauqua County, N. Y. He died in 1859 and his wife 
in 1868. 

Earl Pierce was educated in the public schools and after learning the 
carpenter's trade followed that business for 24 years at North East. Jle 
purchased a farm in the township, where he resided for 12 years, during 
which period he was a dealer in agricultural implements. In 1876 he re- 
turned to North East where he spent the remiainder of his life. His wife, 
who was born at North East, July 6, 1822, is also deceased. Mr. and Mrs. 
Pierce had two children: Royce S., born at North East, May 2, 1846, died 
in August, 1907 ; and George E., the subject of this sketch. 

George E. Pierce attended the schools of North East and Lake Shore 
Seminary. At an early age he became interested in the grape growing 
industry and established the George E. Pierce Grape Company, which for 
a number of years has been one of the leading concerns of its kind in 
this section of the state. Mr. Pierce is vice president of the National Bank 



History of Erie County 935 

of North East, president of the Fernald Manufacturing Company, North 
East, and president of the Electric Materials Company, North East. He 
has served as burgess of North East since Jan. 1, 1922. 

In 1886 Mr. Pierce was married to Miss Cora Rogers, who was born 
at North East, Feb. 14, 1860. They have a son, Carleton R., born in June, 
1895. He is a graduate of Swarthmore College and is now superintendent 
of his father's farms. 

Mr. Pierce is a member of the North East Presbyterian church, a 32nd 
degree Mason, and belongs to the North East Club. His wife organized 
the D. A. R. Chapter at North East and is Regent of that Chapter. She 
is also State Vice Regent of the Daughters of the American Colonists. Mrs. 
Pierce is the daughter of Zenas and Lydia (Leet) Rogers, who were both 
natives of Erie County. 

H. Harold Meyer, manager and treasurer of the Keystone Co-Operative 
Grape Association, is a well known and successful business man of North 
East. He was born in Hodgeman County, Kansas, Aug. 30, 1888, and is 
a son of E. Carlos and Ida May (Chapman) Meyer. 

E. Carlos Meyer was born in Cincinnati, Ohio, Nov. 2, 1864, and his 
wife was a native of Chautauqua, N. Y., born July 25, 1865. He was a 
graduate of Ohio State University and when a young man settled on a 
ranch of 640 acres in Hodgeman County, Kan. Later he returned to Cin- 
cinnati, and at the time of his death in 1894, was secretary of the H. H. 
Meyer Packing Company. He is buried at Lawrenceburg, Ind. His wife 
died in June, 1920. To Mr. and Mrs. Meyer two children were born : Bertha 
Mae, born June 4, 1886, married Oct. 6, 1908, to Dr. Arthur W. Dieffen- 
bach, a prominent dentist of Westfield, N. Y. ; and H. Harold, the subject 
of this sketch. 

H. Harold Meyer received his education in the public and high schools 
of western New York and in 1908 was graduated from Bryant & Strat- 
ton's College, Buffalo. He was then employed as a bookkeeper by the Grape 
Products Company of North East, and later traveled as a representative 
for the Fernald Manufacturing Company of North East. In 1911 Mr. 
Meyer was associated with the Jacob Dold Packing Company at Buffalo, 
later with the W. D. Andrews Company, Buffalo, and in 1914 he entered 
the employ of the Welch Grape Juice Company of Westfield, N. Y. The 
following year he was transferred to their factory at St. Catherines, Can., 
as manager, and six months later to their factory at North East as assist- 



936 History of Erie County 

ant superintendent. After two years he returned to the company's main 
office at Westfield. In April, 1918, Mr. Meyer went with the Federal Trade 
Commission, Washington, D. C, as an examiner and auditor on special 
investigating work and remained in that position until 1920, when he 
accepted a position as office manager and chief accountant with the Har- 
vard Vineyard Company, Brocton, N. Y. In 1922 he came to North East 
as manager and treasurer of the Keystone Co-operative Grape Association, 
and in 1923 was made a director of the company. 

On Nov. 25, 1914, Mr. Meyer was united in marriage with Miss Hallie 
Adelle Rouse, of Noi'th East, born Aug. 1, 1890. 

Mr. Meyer is a member of the Methodist-Episcopal Church, a 32nd 
degree Mason and belongs to the Elks lodge. Lions Club, Y. M. C. A., and 
is Director of the North East Golf Club. He is a member of Erie Motor 
Club; a Shriner of Zem, Zem Temple, Erie, Pa., and a Director of H. H. 
Meyer Packing Company, Cincinnati, Ohio. He is a substantial citizen of 
Erie County and a worthy member of his community. 

Conrad Hess, Jr., merchant tailor, is a member of a prominent pioneer 
family of Erie. He was born in Bavaria, Germany, and is the son of 
Conrad and Elizabeth (Schellong) Hess, natives of Germany. 

Soon after their marriage in Germany, Mr. and Mrs. Conrad Hess 
emigrated to this country and settled in Erie, where he was employed at 
his trade as a cigar maker. In 1870 he engaged in business for himself, 
and at the time of his retirement in 1900 he ranked among the prosperous 
business men of the city. He died in 1922. To Mr. and Mrs. Hess the 
following children were born : John C, lives in Erie ; Conrad, Jr., the sub- 
ject of this sketch; Matilda, lives in Erie; Matthew, warden at the Erie 
County Prison, formerly of Matthew Hess & Brother, leading cigar manu- 
facturers of Erie; Catherine, married William Goulett, lives in Erie; An- 
thony, employed by the American Cleaning & Pressing Company, Erie; 
Emma, married Ray Zuck, Erie, Pa. ; and James, lives in Erie. 

Conrad Hess, Jr., was educated in the public schools of Erie and 
when a boy worked with his father and learned the cigar trade while 
going to school. At the age of 13 he began learning the tailor trade 
with Warnath Brothers in Erie, serving four years. He then w^ent to 
New York City to learn more of the trade and there took a course in 
men's garment cutting in Professor Green's Cutting Academy of New 
York. Later he spent 10 years in traveling from city to city, working 




CONRAD HESS. JR. 



History of Erie County 937 

at his trade as a coat maker. In 1898 he returned to Erie, Pa., and worked 
for Charles S. Marks, merchant tailor. In 1901 he began working for 
Isaac Baker & Sons Company, where he continued until 1916, when he 
established his present business at 266 West Eighth Street. He is the 
owner of the building in which his store is located, a fine two-story brick 
building. He has an excellent trade and his is one of the high class tailor- 
ing establishments of the country. 

On Nov. 8, 1899, Mr. Hess was married to Miss Julia Richtsheit, of 
Erie, a daughter of Joseph and Catherine Richtsheit. 

Mr. Hess is vice president of the board of education and has served 
as a member of the board since 1919. He is a Republican, a member of 
St. Matthews Lutheran Church, a 32nd degree Mason, and member of 
the Shrine, and belongs to the Elks Lodge, Knights of Malta, Chamber of 
Commerce and Union Club. Mr. Hess takes a keen interest in educa- 
tional affairs and is a man of progressive ideas. 

Theodore C. Hill is a veteran of the World War and a popular young 
business man of North East. He was born at Clymer, N. Y., Dec. 10, 
1893, and is the son of Clyde C. and Cora E. (Case) Hill. 

Clyde C. Hill, well known county engineer of Erie County, was born 
at Clymer, N. Y., Jan. 16, 1865, the son of Jamles and Aurelia S. (Green) 
Hill. In 1897 the Hill family removed to North East, where Clyde C. 
Hill successfully conducted a fire insurance business until 1915. He also 
followed his profession of civil engineer from 1895 and was elected county 
engineer in 1919. He resides in North East, Pa. Mr. and Mrs. Hill have 
three children: Theodore C, the subject of this sketch; James R., a mem- 
ber of the firm of Hill & Hill, civil engineers, in the Marine Bank Building, 
Erie; and Lucy A., who lives at Dundalk, Md. 

Theodore C. Hill was graduated from North East High School in 1911 
and after attending Allegheny College was graduated from the University 
of Michigan in 1916, and was later licensed by the University of New 
York as a civil engineer. In 1917 he was appointed city engineer at West 
Union, Iowa, and also served as county engineer of roads and bridges in 
Bremer County, Iowa, until 1918, when he began the study for Doctor of 
Public Health in the medical school at the University of Michigan. On 
Feb. 28, 1918, he volunteered for service in the army and served as a 
member of the water supply division of the sanitary corps. Mr. Hill served 
in France for ten months and was discharged at Camp Mitchell, L. I., July 



938 History of Erie County 

12, 1919. He is now city engineer of North East, Girard, Edinboro, Cam- 
bridge Springs and Westfield, N. Y., and is also secretary and treasurer 
of the civil engineering firms of Hill & Hill, Erie. 

In 1918 Mr. Hill was married to Miss Ada Thompson, of Cochranton, 
Pa., and they have two daughters, Kathryn, born May 19, 1920, and Marie 
Estelle, born Feb. 7, 1925. 

Mr. Hill is a member of the Presbyterian church, a 32nd degree Mason, 
and belongs to the American Legion, Veterans of Foreign Wars, Disabled 
Veterans of the World War, Sigma Alpha Epsilon fraternity, and the 
Lamda Chi Alpha fraternity. He is also a life member of the University 
of Michigan Union. 

DeWitt C. Bostwick. One of the most prominent of the successful 
business men of North East is DeWitt C. Bostwick, president of the Key- 
stone Co-operative Grape Association. He was born at Vernon, Oneida 
County, N. Y., Dec. 25, 1847, and is the son of John and Harriet (Butler) 
Bostwick, both natives of Utica, N. Y. 

John Bostwick was a cabinet maker by trade and in 1867 removed to 
State Line, where he engaged in the mercantile business, which he fol- 
lowed until within four years of his death, Feb. 21, 1880. He was born 
July 20, 1807. His wife died Sept. 14, 1893. They were the parents of 
four children: Rachael, born Jan. 1, 1845, married Doctor Strong, West- 
field, N. Y.; DeWitt C, the subject of this sketch; Marcia, born July 26, 
1851, married Levi Miller, Canton, Ohio ; and Carrie, born March 29, 1860, 
mflrried George Bartoo, St. Angars, Iowa. 

DeWitt C. Bostwick is of the seventh generation from John Bostwick 
who came from England with his three brothers, Robert, Ebenezer, and 
Joseph, about 1688, and moved to Stamford, Conn., in the year 1707, and 
was the second person settling in that town. He was of Scotch extraction. 
DeWitt C. Bostwick was educated in the private school and in Bryant & 
Stratton's College, graduating in 1866. He then came to State Line 
and engaged in business with his father until 1871, when he went to Ohio 
and engaged in the construction of the Painesville & Youngstown Railroad, 
in the capacity of superintendent of construction. Mr. Bostwick has been 
interested in the grape industry for many years and in 1910-1911 was 
manager of the Keystone Grape Company, and elected president in 1912. 
He served in this capacity until the liquidation of the company in 1921, 
in which year the Keystone Co-Operative Grape Association was formed. 



History of Erie County 939 

Jan. 1, 1922, he was elected chairman of the executive board and Jan. 1, 
1925, was elected president of the company. Mr. Bostwick is a director 
of the North East National Bank and chairman of the auditing committee. 
He is also interested in the Electric Materials Company of North East. 

Sept. 4, 1872, Mr. Bostwick was married to Miss Ottilia A. Hall, the 
daughter of George Hall. They have a son, George H., who was born 
Dec. 18, 1879. 

George H. Bostwick attended the public schools of Ripley, N. Y., and 
is a graduate of Cornell University, where he specialized in the study of 
horticulture. He is superintendent of the Bostwick & Son Farms. Mr. 
Bostwick was married to Miss Gertrude McCord, a native of North East, 
born Aug. 7, 1884, ana the daughter of William and Florence (Bemis) Mc- 
Cord. They have three children: Kenneth McCord, Florence Ottilia, and 
Catherine Hall Bostwick. Geo. H. Bostwick is a Knight Templar Mason. 

DeWitt C. Bostwick is a member of the Masonic order and is a Re- 
publican. 

N. P. Fuller, president of the First National Bank of North East, is 
a member of one of the early pioneer families of Erie County. He was 
born in North East, Sept. 5, 1875, and is a son of Elisha N. and Eliza 
(Shankland) Fuller. 

EHsha N. Fuller was a native of North East, born May 4, 1845. He 
engaged in the oil business at Bradford, Pa., for a number of years and 
later became a leading business man of North East. He built and man- 
aged the Earl Hotel here as well as other business blocks in the city. Mr. 
Fuller died in 1901 and his widow, who was born at Ellicottville, N. Y., 
Nov. 4, 1847, resides at North East. They had two children: N. P., the 
subject of this sketch ; and Emma K., born at North East, Sept. 20, 1884. 
She married Frank M. Baldwin, a druggist of North East, where they hve. 

N. P. Fuller attended the public schools of North East and at the age 
of 16 years began his business career in the bank of W. A. Ensign & Son, 
of North East, with whom he remained until 1893. He has since been 
identified with the First National Bank and has risen to his present posi- 
tion as president from messenger boy. He was elected to this office in 
January, 1925. 

In 1897 Mr. Fuller was united in marriage with Miss Anna E. Loop, 
who was born at North East. They have a son, Blair M. Fuller, who was 
born Aug. 18, 1898. He was educated in the public and high schools of 



940 History of Erie County 

North East and in 1921 was graduated from Annapolis Naval Academy 
with the rank of ensign. He has since been promoted to lieutenant and 
is at present on the U. S. S. "Pope". 

Mr. Fuller is a member of the Episcopal church and his wife holds 
membership in the Baptist church. He belongs to the Masonic lodge and 
the North East Golf Club. He has many friends throughout Erie County 
and is highly esteemed. 

George W. Blaine, retired, is one of North East's oldest business men 
and ranks among the substantial citizens of Erie County. He was born 
at North East, March 6, 1849, and is the son of A. W. and Sarah A. (Piatt) 
Blaine, also natives of North East. 

James Blaine, paternal grandfather of George W. Blaine, was born in 
Juniata County, Pa., and Jeremiah Piatt, maternal grandfather, was a 
native of Connecticut. Both became residents of North East Township 
about 1800 and purchased land from the Holland Land Company. 

A. W. Blaine and Sarah A. Piatt were married in North East and were 
prominent and well known residents there. He was actively and success- 
fully engaged in the banking business for a number of years. In 1864 he 
organized the First National Bank in association with Amos Gould, John 
McCord, and William Griifith and was elected its first cashier, in which 
capacity he controlled its interests and made it one of the substantial in- 
stitutions of that locality. He also did much towards shaping the public 
policy of that district, his ability and fitness for leadership resulting in 
his election to various offices. For some time he filled the position as jus- 
tice of the peace and three times was called upon to represent his district 
in the general assembly. He died Jan. 10, 1879, and his wife died in 
May, 1867. Their children were: Alice E., deceased, was the wife of Col. 
W. A. Robinson, a banker of Pittsburgh, and they had three children, 
Alice Blaine, A. Blaine, and W. A. Robinson; George W., the subject of 
this sketch; and Mary R., m'arried Joseph T. McCord, both deceased, and 
they had two children, Florence B., and Ruth M. McCord, who reside in 
Erie. 

George W. Blaine acquired his education in the public schools of North 
East and in 1870, when 21 years of age, he began business as proprietor 
of a grocery store, but a year later sold out and went on his father's 
farm, which he rented until the father's death. He then purchased the 
place which he developed into a fine 50 acre vineyard. In 1893 Mr. Blaine 



History of Erie County 941 

turned his attention to banking and with several other leading business 
men organized the First National Bank of North East. He was elected 
its president and served in that capacity until his resignation in 1925. He 
then accepted the chairmanship of the Board of Directors. Mr. Blaine is 
president of the Blaine, MacKay, Lee Company, flour, feed and coal deal- 
ers, and he is also president of the North East Cider Works, one of the 
oldest cider and vinegar works in this part of the country, being estab- 
lished in 1859. He is past president of the American Beauty Stove Works 
of Erie. Since the time of the organization of the North East Club in 
1905 he has served as its president, and he has been president of the Horti- 
culture Society of North East for many years. 

On Sept. 25, 1872, Mr. Blaine was married to Miss Anna M. Hampson, 
of North East, Pa., and the daughter of James and Matilda (Porter) 
Hampson, natives of North East and Scotland, respectively. Mr. Hampson 
died in 1898 and his wife died in 1896. They had four children: George 
A., engaged in the real estate and insurance business at North East; 
Harriet J., died in 1876; Alice, married J. S. Towne, deceased, and she 
lives in Erie. To Mr. and Mrs. Blaine one child was born, Ruth M., de- 
ceased. 

Mr. Blaine is a Republican and has served as a member of the city 
council for 13 years. He has been president of Oak Hill Cemetery at North 
East for 25 years. He is a member of the Presbyterian church of which 
he has been trustee for many years. Mr. Blaine has a wide acquaintance 
and the Blaine family ranks among the representative citizens of the 
county. 

Richard L. Nash is a prominent young man of Erie where he is engaged 
in the practice of law. He was born at Crossingville, Pa., April 20, 1897, 
and is a son of Michael H. and Mary (McLaughlin) Nash. 

Michael H. Nash was born in Erie County, in April, 1860, and his 
wife was born here in 1865. He was a carpenter by trade and for a num- 
ber of years was superintendent of the Erie Car Works. He died in 1913 
and his wife died in 1901. They are buried in Trinity Cemetery, Erie. 
There were four children in the Nash family: Carlton, born in 1891, lives in 
Erie ; Richard L., the subject of this sketch ; and Marie and Eunice, both 
of whom live in Erie. 

Richard L. Nash attended St. Patrick's school and was graduated from 
Erie High School in 1914. He received his education in law at George- 



942 History of Erie County 

town University, Washington, D. C, and was admitted to the District of 
Columbia Supreme Court and Court of Appeals in 1923. After practicing 
his profession in Washington for a year, Mr. Nash established his office 
in Erie in 1924. His offices are in the Marine Bank building. 

During the World War Mr. Nash volunteered for service in the U. S. 
Army, in April, 1918, and was a member of the 71st Coast Artillery. He 
served in France from October, 1918, until February, 1919, and was dis- 
charged March 15, 1919. He now holds a commission as second lieutenant 
in the Coast Artillery Officers Reserve Corps. 

Mr. Nash is a member of the Catholic church and belongs to the Knights 
of Columbus and the American Legion. 

Dr. Thomas A. Beal, a prominent and successful dentist of North 
East, is a native of Pennsylvania. He was born at Clark's Mills, Mercer 
County, Oct. 3, 1862, and is a son of George and Margaret Jane (Findley) 
Beal. 

George Beal was born near London, England, and came to this coun- 
try in 1852. He was a gardener and after coming here engaged in farm- 
ing on 106 acres of land in Mercer County, which he improved from 
timber land. He was a leading citizen of his community and served as 
school director, road commissioner, and borough director. Mr. and Mrs. 
Beal are buried at Clark's Mills, Pa. They were the parents of the 
following children: Anna M., the widow of John Pears, lives at Cochran- 
ton. Pa. ; Nettie L, deceased, was the wife of R. P. McClure, lives at 
Jamestown, Pa. ; Russell F., a farmer, lives at Hadley, Pa., married Al- 
bertina Dean; George E., a dentist, married Margaret Deming, lives at 
St. Louis, Mo. ; William L., a dentist, married Carrie Jordon, lives at 
New Castle, Pa. ; Morley J., a dentist, married Amelia Stoltzing, deceased, 
and later Jennie Haglund, lives at Jamestown, N. Y. ; Mary, deceased ; 
and Thomas A., the subject of this sketch. 

Thomas A. Beal was educated in the public schools of Clark's Mills, 
Sheakleyville (Pa.) High School, McElwain Institute at New Lebanon, 
Pa., and the College of Physicians and Surgeons at St. Louis, Mo., win- 
ning a gold medal for proficiency in college work. He completed his 
dental course at the Baltimore College of Dental Surgery, March 20, 
1890, and in 1898 took a post graduate course at the Northwestern Uni- 
versity Dental College, Chicago. From 1890 until 1898 Dr. Beal prac- 
ticed his profession at Fredonia, Pa., and after his post graduate work 



History of Erie County 943 

located at Cochranton, Pa., where he remained until 1901, after which 
he practiced dentistry with his brother in St. Louis. In 1908 he opened 
offices at Oil City, Pa., and three years later went to Jamestown, N. Y., 
where he remained until 1919. He has since been located at North East, 
where he has a well established practice with offices in the First National 
Bank Building. 

In 1900 Dr. Beal was united in marriage with Miss Eva J. Findley, 
born at Findley Lake, N. Y., March 23, 1879, the daughter of James D. 
and Sarah J. (Hazlett) Findley, the former a native of Findley Lake, and 
the latter of Ireland. Mr. Findley was a Civil War veteran and a direct 
descendent of Alexander Findley, a surgeon in the Revolutionary War. 
Alexander Findley settled in New York state and built a large dam which 
was later named Findley Lake. He also established large flour and saw 
mills there. To Dr. and Mrs. Beal two daughters were born: Winifred 
J., born in St. Louis, March 22, 1906, a student at Allegheny College; 
and Ina Mae, born at Jamestown, N. Y., March 25, 1919. 

Dr. Beal is identified with the Lake Erie Dental Association, the Erie 
County Dental Association, and the Eighth District Society of New York, 
the Dental Society of the State of New York and the American Dental 
Association. He is a member of the Presbyterian Church and belongs 
to the Masonic lodge. His wife is a member of the Daughters of the 
American Revolution and the Daughters of the American Colonists, Order 
of Eastern Star, and Rebecca lodge. Dr. Beal has a wide acquaintance in 
Western Pennsylvania and is a progressive man and very popular in his 
profession as shown by his recent election to the secretaryship of the 
Lake Erie Dental Association. 

Fred Grimshaw is one of the leading citizens of North East where he 
is identified with the Electric Materials Company. He was born here July 
6, 1871, and is the son of Benjamin and Sarah Ann (Pullen) Grimshaw. 

Benjarnin Grimshaw was born at Leeds, England, in 1832, and his wife 
was born there in 1833. They were married in England in 1853 and came 
to this country six years later. They established their home at Harbor 
Creek, Pa., where he was employed by the Cass Woolen Mills, which are 
now extinct. In 1861 they removed to North East where he founded the 
Cass & Grimshaw Woolen Mills. Mr. Grimshaw became a prominent citi- 
zen of this section and died in 1877. His wife died in 1898 and they are 
buried in the North East Cemetery. To Mr. and Mrs. Grimshaw two chil- 



944 History of Erie County 

dren were born: Jane, born at Leeds, Eng., married William Grimshaw, and 
they live retired at North East; and Fred, the subject of this sketch. 

After attending the district schools, Fred Grimshaw engaged in farm- 
ing for four years and in 1890 became associated with the Eureka Tem- 
pered Copper Company of North East, with whom he remained until 1915. 
In that year he was one of the organizers of the Electric Materials 
Company of which he is superintendent of foundries. 

Mr. Grimshaw was married to Miss Nellie Grace, who was born at 
North East, May 24, 1873, a daughter of Michael and Helen (Lynch) 
Grace, natives of North East, and both now deceased. Mr. and Mrs. 
Grimshaw have no children. 

Mr. Grimshaw is a Republican and has served as a member of the city 
council continuously since January, 1913. He is a member of the Episco- 
pal church and belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 

Arold Albert Freeman stands as a splendid representative of the legal 
profession in Erie County and is among the most prominent citizens of 
Erie. He was born on the old Freeman farm in Crawford County, Pa., 
July 4, 1850, and is the son of Arold and Mary (Davis) Freeman. 

Arold Freeman was born near Metuchen, N. J., July 26, 1807, and 
was a son of Arold Freeman, who was born in the same neighborhood in 
1770. His father, Thomas Freeman, was born in New Jersey in 1748, and 
was the son of Henry Freeman, Jr., born in Woodbridge, N. J., in 1717. 
The last named was of the first generation of American born members 
of the family. His father, Henry Freeman, Sr., was born in England in 
1670 and emigi-ated to America in 1683, landing at Philadelphia. 

Arold Freeman, father of the subject of this sketch, followed the 
occupation of farming throughout his entire life and died in Crawford 
County, Sept. 11, 1888. His wife was born in that county in September, 
1810, and was a daughter of Isaac Davis, of Welsh descent and a pioneer 
of Crawford County. She died Jan. 10, 1877, after having reared a family 
of seven children. 

Arold Freeman, whose name introduces this review, remained on the 
old home farm of the Freeman family in Crawford County until he at- 
tained the age of 19 years. Leaving the district schools, he entered the 
state normal school at Edinboro, and was there graduated with the class 
of 1872. He afterward engaged in teaching school for a few terms in 
order to obtain money with which to complete his education and after 



History of Erie County 945 

acquiring his literary course he entered the medical department of the 
Buffalo University, from which he was graduated with the class of 1876, 
winning his M. D. degree. The same year he located in Erie, where he 
engaged in the practice of his profession for five years until his health 
became impaired and he was forced to put aside the duties of his chosen 
calling. About that time he was elected to the office of alderman and while 
filling that position he also read law familiarizing himself with the lead- 
ing textbooks and commentaries during his five years' aldermanic term. 
In 1886 he was admitted to the bar and at once entered upon the practice 
of law, in which he has continued successfully to the present time. His 
ablity at the bar is evidenced by the large clientage accorded him. 

While his professional duties make heavy demand upon his time, Mr. 
Freeman has also been recognized as an active worker in the ranks of the 
Democratic party and in 1888 was made its candidate for assemblyman, 
being defeated by only 72 votes. The same year he was elected a mem- 
ber of the Erie School Board and served for three years, while for one 
year he was president of the board. During that period he agitated the 
subject of building a free school library, earnestly advocating this work 
and is conceded to be the originator and chief promoter of the project, 
a report of the secretary of the board giving him credit in this way. 

Concerning the beginning of the Public School Library in Erie the fol- 
lowing is taken from the report of Prof. H. C. Missimer for the years of 
1897-99. "The final realization of a public library is the work of the 
Board of Education of the City of Erie. The library idea was first pre- 
sented to the board by its text book and rules committee, of which A. A. 
Freeman was a member. In July, 1890, it recommended that $100 for 
the purchase of books of reference as the foundation of a school library 
and that all fines collected by city aldermen coming to the school board 
be used for library purposes. This motion was also made by Mr. Freeman 
as a member of this committee. In his inaugural address as president of 
the board in June, 1891, Mr. Freeman still further developed his ideas 
of a library, and in a letter to the Evening Herald of May 31, 1894, he 
advocated the establishment of a free non-sectarian public library under 
the supervision of the board of education. He pointed out the provisions 
of the law by which a library might be established and he argued that 
the board of education should therefore establish and maintain such a 
library. The honor of originating such a library for our city, under the 
control of the board of education clearly belongs to A. A. Freeman." This 
(60) 



946 History of Erie County 

is perhaps quoting enough of this report, enough to say that a law was 
drawn by Mr. Freeman and submitted to a committee by the board, of 
which Benjamin Whitman, H. C. Missimer, and A. A. Freeman were 
invited members, in February, 1894, and adopted. Largely through the 
efforts of Gen. D. B. McCreary, member of the senate, and Col. E. P. 
Gould, member of the house, the bill became a law June 28, 1895. The 
library grounds were bought and building provided for during the years 
1896 and 1897. Such in brief is the history of the origin of the public 
school library of Erie." 

Mr. Freeman has at all times been interested in matters of general 
improvement, reform and advancement, and wherever the opportunity 
has presented for a good work or for assistance in any worthy movement 
he has not been found wanting. He was one of the incorporators of St. 
Vincent's Hospital, drafted the plans for its organization and for many 
years its attorney. He is also attorney for the Sisters of St. Joseph, 
representing them in legal interests since his admission to the bar. 

The following is from a speech delivered by Mr. Freeman on the occa- 
sion of the celebration of the 50th anniversary of St. Vincent's Hospital: 
"I am very glad to meet with the members of the Corporation at the 
beginning of the 50th year of the establishment of the St. Vincent's Hos- 
pital. The iirst building was erected in the year of 1875 on the south side 
of 24th, about midway between Sassafras Street and Myrtle Street. The 
building was in size 60x90 feet and cost about $7,000. The hospital was 
placed in charge of seven Sisters of St. Joseph, under the super- 
vision of Mother Agnes, assisted by Sister Ambrosia, who afterward be- 
came the Mother Superior of the order, and Sisters Clotilda, Anastatia, 
Jerome, Agatha and Mary. These seven sisters devoted their whole time 
to the hospital. There was no mention of the hospital in the city directory 
of 1875, but in the issue of 1876 we find this note: 'St. Vincent's Hospital 
— In charge of the Sisters of St. Joseph. Open to all nationalities and 
creeds. Dr. J. L. Stewart, Physician.' This announcement continued to 
1889, Doctor Stewart being mentioned in each directory down to 1889 
and he continued in charge until his death in 1890. I was called many 
times to assist Doctor Stewart from 1876 until 1881 and I have no recol- 
lection of meeting any other physician at the hospital during that time. 
After the death of Doctor Stewart, Dr. C. W. Stranahan was at the head 
of the physicians in charge, assisted by other members of the profession. 
A few years prior to the establishment of the hospital. Mother Agnes 



History of Erie County 947 

Spencer came to Erie and organized a small band of women pledged to 
Chastity and Poverty into the Order of the Sisters of St. Joseph, objects 
of this organization being 'the relief and support of the sick, destitute and 
disabled persons, the maintenance of orphans, the care and education of 
youth and other works of charity.' For many years St. Vincent's was 
the only hospital in the City of Erie. Sole credit must be given to this 
small band of women, who without money, maintained and developed this 
hospital by their work and prayers, aided by such voluntary contributions 
as they might receive from the community. In order that they might be 
better able to carry on their work in the City of Erie a charter was 
granted by the Erie County Court, May 2, 1882, to the Sisters of St. 
Joseph by the corporate name of "Sisters of St. Joseph of Northwestern 
Pennsylvania." But the time came when this institution could no longer 
be supported by voluntary contributions and the work of the devoted Sis- 
ters and the medical profession. On Dec. 14, 1894, a charter was granted 
to the St. Vincent's Hospital Association, to establish and maintain in 
the City of Erie a hospital in which medical and surgical attention and 
nursing may be given to all who may need and desire it without regard 
or distinction of race, color or religion, and under that charter St. Vin- 
cent's Hospital has been conducted and maintained, and the history of 
which can be better given by those who have been in closer touch than I 
have. But never let it be forgotten that this work and success was 
made possible by that little band of devoted women, led by Mother Agnes, 
followed by Mother Ambrosia Powers and turned over to this association. 
At the time Mother Ambrosia Powers was appointed superintendent of 
the hospital a medical staiT was appointed consisting of Dr. C. W. Strana- 
han, chief of staff, assistants. Dr. Wallace Hunter and Dr. H. H. Por- 
ringer, specialist, Dr. J. H. Delaney. You will pardon me if I add here 
that owing to the well known principle universally adhered to in the 
medical profession, that no patient that came to this hospital ever lacked 
for the best of professional care and treatment, regardless of their abil- 
ity to pay." 

Mr. Freeman was married to Miss Josephine Finn, who was born in 
Chautauqua County, N. Y., but was reared in Erie County, a daughter 
of Nehemiah L. and Lucina (Weaver) Finn. She is a descendant in the 
fourth generation of William Finn, who came as a stowaway from Ire- 
land and when the vessel reached Castle Garden was sold for his pas- 
sage to a Doctor Carpenter, of Long Island. He afterward married the 



948 History of Erie County 

doctor's daughtei-, Helen. Their son, Anthony Finn, removed to Orange 
County, N. Y., while Nehemiah Finn, the grandfather of Mrs. Freeman, 
located in Greenfield Township, Erie County, and was one of the first to 
make and ship butter from this town to New York City, shipping by 
lake to Buffalo and thence to the Erie Canal to the Hudson and on to the 
metropolis. His son, Nehemiah Finn, Jr., became a well known and repre- 
sentative farmer of North East Township. To Mr. and Mrs. Freeman 
were born the following children: Arold R., born March 3, 1878, mar- 
ried Alice Blickinderfer, of Lancaster, Pa., and they have a daughter, 
Elinor Jane, born Oct. 2, 1907; and WilHam Arold, born March 31, 1915, 
in the Isle of Pines; Robert T., born Jan. 19, 1881, has two children, Al- 
bert S., born Aug. 5, 1916, and Robert L., born July 14, 1918; Hortense, 
born Dec. 20, 1883; and Gladys, born July 19, 1889, married C. Harrison 
Lund, a sketch of whom appears in this history. Mrs. Freeman died 
March 2, 1921. 

J. A. Spooner. Among the more prominent and influential citizens of 
North East is J. A. Spooner, assistant vice president of the First National 
Bank. He was born at North East, June 13, 1879, and is the son of B. 
Cortland and Alice (Southard) Spooner. 

B. Cortland Spooner, deceased, was born in North East Township, Erie 
County, Sept. 10, 1851, the son of Benjamin T. and Marana K. (Nichols) 
Spooner, who were natives of the north of England. The family settled 
in North East Township in 1849 and in 1872 removed to North East. B. 
Cortland Spooner attended Oberlin College and from 1870 until 1874 en- 
gaged in the insurance business in Erie, after which he camie to North 
East and accepted a position in the private bank of Blaine, Gould & Short. 
He was one of the organizers of the First National Bank of North East 
in 1893 and served as cashier for many years and was vice president at 
the time of his death. He died in 1922 and is buried in North East Ceme- 
tery. She is a daughter of Allen and Jane (Hughes) Southard. He was 
a captain on the Great Lakes. They had 12 children, four of whom sur- 
vice as follows: Mrs. Alice Spooner, North East; Geo. E. Southard, Lake- 
land, Fla. ; Margaret Barline, Wilmington, Del. ; and Julia S. Moore, Seattle, 
Wash. J. A. Spooner, the subject of this sketch, was the only child born 
to his parents. 

After completing his schooling in the public and high schools of North 
East, J. A. Spooner became interested in the banking business and has 



History of Erie County 949 

been identified with the First National Bank since 1902. In January, 1925, 
he was elected to his present position. 

In 1909 Mr. Spooner was united in marriage with Miss Mabel K. Hurst, 
born at Brooklyn, N. Y., Oct. 10, 1882. They have a son, Cortland S. 
Spooner, born Sept. 27, 1910. 

Politically Mr. Spooner is a Republican. He is an active member and 
treasurer of the Presbyterian church and belongs to the North East Club, 
the North East Golf Club and the Elks lodge. 

Will J. Towne is an enterprising and successful business man of North 
East and a member of one of the best known families in the history of 
Erie County. He was born at Wattsburg, Pa., Aug. 3, 1865, and is the 
son of Benjamin Franklin and Elizabeth S. (Pratt) Towne. 

Benjamin Franklin Towne, deceased, was one of the early agricul- 
turists of Erie County, and is numbered among its honored pioneers and 
business men. He was born at Granville, N. Y., May 11, 1822, the son of 
Bester and Betsey (Martin) Towne, both also from the town of Gran- 
ville. Benjamin F. Towne settled at North East with his parents in 1829, 
and the early years of his life were spent assisting his father clear and 
improve his farm. After his marriage he left his parents' home and be- 
came the proprietor of a mercantile business at Wattsburg, Pa., but in 
1870 returned to his father's farm on the state road. He died 
there Oct. 22, 1893, and his wife died in 1910. They had the following 
children: Joseph I., deceased; Bess May, deceased; Charles F., born in 
1849, died in 1907; Marietta, born in 1847, died March 21, 1921; Jessie 
M., the widow of Capt. D. S. McDonald, of North East; and Will J., the 
subject of this sketch. 

After attending the public schools of North East and Bryant & Strat- 
ton College, Buffalo, Will J. Towne became identified with the Downing 
Carriage Comlpany at Erie, and in 1891 went to Chicago, where he served 
as cashier of the Chicago Fruit Auction Company. In 1895 he returned 
to North East and became associated with the North East Cider Works 
as secretary and treasurer. He has since been affiliated with this com- 
pany. 

In 1907 Mr. Towne was married to Miss Zola E. Bigelow of North East. 
They have a daughter, Jane Elizabeth, born Dec. 24, 1914. 

In politics Mr. Towne is identified with the Republican party and he 
has served as school director for five years. He is a member of the Pres- 



950 History of Erie County 

byterian church and belongs to the Masonic lodge, Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, Lions Club and the North East Club. Mrs. Towne is a mem- 
ber of the Eastern Star, and is Past Worthy Matron. She also belongs 
to the North East Philomathean Literary Society, the Young Matron's 
Social Club and the Ladies' Auxiliary of the American Legion. Both Mr. 
and Mrs. Towne have a wide acquaintance in Erie County. 

Dale Hutchinson is among the successful and representative young 
business men of North East. He was born in Crawford County, Pa., Feb. 
5, 1892, and is the son of Dwight D. and Lydia (Beirwoth) Hutchinson. 

Mr. and Mrs. Dwight D. Hutchinson are natives of Crawford County, 
Pa., and now live there retired. He was a farmer during his active career 
and served as school director and road supervisor. He is a Democrat. To 
Mr. and Mrs. Hutchinson 12 children were born, as follows: Mark, a farmer, 
lives at Cambridge Springs, Pa. ; Irene, married Paul Bulow, lives at Cam- 
bridge Springs, where he is engaged in the real estate business; Don P., 
lives at home; Ralph W., lives at North East; Vern D., a merchant, lives 
at Harbor Creek, Pa. ; Delia, married Walter Leiphart, a building contrac- 
tor, lives at Dearborn, Mich.; Maud, married Addison Steinhoff, a me- 
chanic, lives at Wesleyville, Pa.; Lloyd, lives at North East; Ward, lives 
at North East ; Ardis, a student ; Flora lives at Wesleyville, Pa. ; and Dale, 
the subject of this sketch. 

Dale Hutchinson attended the public schools and when a boy worked 
on his father's farm in Crawford County. In 1913 he was employed by 
the Shreve Chair Company of Union City and the following year entered 
the offices of the B. & L. E. Traction Company as ticket agent at Erie, 
where he remained until 1917. He was then connected with the Stowe 
Lumber Company of Harbor Creek, Pa., and iri 1918 went to Cleveland, 
Ohio, where he took a complete course at the Clouse Vulcanizing' School. 
The following year Mr. Hutchinson established his present business at 
North East, which is known as the Dale Hutchinson Company. He car- 
ries a complete line of automobile accessories, tires and replacement parts 
and has a well established business. 

On Dec. 26, 1918, Mr. Hutchinson was married to Miss Bertha C. Miller, 
who was born at Mooreheadville, Pa., Jan. 10, 1891. They have a daughter, 
Bertha Mildred, born Oct. 22, 1919. 

Mr. and Mrs. Hutchinson are members of the English Lutheran 
Church. He is a Republican. 



History of Erie County 951 

Walter S. Wheeler. The Wheeler family has long been a potent fac- 
tor in the development of the horticultural and live stock interests of 
Erie County. Mr. Wheeler is one of the largest breeders and handlers 
of fine beef cattle in this locality. He is a native of LeBoeuf, Erie County, 
born March 13, 1858, the son of Charles M. and Sarah Jane (Clark) 
Wheeler. 

Charles M. Wheeler was born near New Ipswich, N. H., in 1826 and 
died April 26, 1904, and his wife was born at Townsend Center, Mass., 
July 9, 1835, and is living at LeBoeuf, Pa. Mr. Wheeler removed to 
Erie County about 1853, in that year buying land in the township named 
and devoting it to farming and live stock purposes 'for the balance of 
his life. At the time of his. death he was a large land owner, being 
proprietor of an extensive tract of wheat land in Marshall County, Minn., 
as well as the owner of his large and productive farm in Erie County. 
He had prospered in worldly possession and had also earned an honor- 
able reputation as a man in public life, having been a member of the 
Pennsylvania legislature for two terms. He was a 32nd degree Mason. 

Walter S. Wheeler was the second of six sons and was educated at 
the Edinboro Normal School and Waterford Academy, graduating from 
the latter institution in 1878. He lived with his parents and assisted 
his father until he was 21 years of age, when he was placed in control 
of the home farm and continued to conduct it from 1878 until 1893. 
He then purchased 150 acres of land two miles east of North East, 12 
acres of this tract being at the time cultivated in grapes. Since that 
time he has successfully developed 80 acres of different varieties of grapes, 
as well as fine orchards of apples and peaches. The balance of his estate 
is devoted to the raising of live stock, and he has christened his place, 
"The Walter S. Wheeler Stock and Fruit Farm." There are three gas 
wells on the farm and the residence is among the most modern in the 
township. 

During the years 1886-87-88, Mr. Wheeler went on numerous hunting 
expeditions in Texas and No Man's Land, which is now a part of Okla- 
homa. He has some very beautiful specimens of buffalo heads, and two 
mounted antelopes, which are kept in a cherry cabinet especially built 
for this purpose. 

Mr. Wheeler served as a member of the 17th Regiment, Pennsylvania 
National Guard for five years, and was in service during the Centennial 
celebration in Philadelphia in 1876, the Pittsburgh riots in 1877, the 



952 History of Erie County 

Pittsburgh railroad strike and the coal mine strikes at Scranton and 
Kingston, Pa. 

On March 25, 1896, Mr. Wheeler married Miss Cora Annette Burton, 
a native of Portland, N. Y., born Aug. 21, 1865. Mr. and Mrs. Wheeler 
have a daughter, Ruth Annette, born Jan. 10, 1897. 

Mr. Wheeler is a member of the Keystone Grape Cooperative Asso- 
ciation and a director of the National Bank of North East. He is a 32nd 
degree Mason and reached this degree before his father did and was 
present at the ceremony at Pittsburgh vi^hen his father received this 
degree. 

Arthur J. Kohler, agent for the Haynes and Oakland automobiles, 
is among Erie's reliable and excellent business men. He is a native of 
this city, born Oct. 22, 1882, and the son of Anton and Helen (Duttlinger) 
Kohler. 

Anton Kohler was a celebrated musician of his time. He was born in 
Austria and came to America in 1875, and settled in Erie, where he con- 
ducted a studio of music. He was a member of the Erie Symphony Orches- 
tra and died May 7, 1922. His wife resides in Erie. They had two sons : 
Franz, an internationally known musician, organizer, director and soloist 
of the Erie Symphony Orchestra and concert master of the Pittsburgh 
Symphony Orchestra for 14 years, died Dec. 22, 1918 ; and Arthur J., ths 
subject of this sketch. 

Arthur J. Kohler attended the public schools of Erie, Erie Academy, 
and Erie Business College. He served as secretary to the manager of 
the Wayne Brewing Company from 1902 until 1910, was associated with 
the Herald Lithographing Company from 1910 until 1911, and from 1911 
until 1918 served as manager of the F. P. Fieger Company, wholesale 
beverages. In 1918 he became local dealer for the Haynes and Oakland 
automobiles and has a well established business at 101-109 East 12th 
Street. 

On Oct. 23, 1905, Mr. Kohler was united in marriage with Miss Sarah 
W. Bums, of Erie, and they have four children: Richard, born March 
31, 1907; Arthur J., Jr., born Oct. 22, 1908; Franz, born July 9, 1910; and 
Louis, born Dec. 3, 1911. 

Mr. Kohler is a Republican, a member of the Catholic Church, and 
belongs to the Elks Lodge, the Eagles, the Optimist Club of which he is 
vice president. Chamber of Commerce, Erie Motor Club of which he served 




ARTHUR J. KOHLER 



History of Erie County 953 

as governor during the years 1923-24-25, and the Automobile Association 
of which he was president for three years. He is identified with the 
Used Car Exchange, the Pennsylvania State Association and the Penn- 
sylvania Automotive Association. 

James R. Hill, a member of the firm of Hill & Hill, civil engineers, 
is among the representative young business men of Erie. He was born 
at North East, Feb. 27, 1896, and is the son of Clyde C. and Cora E. 
(Case) Hill. 

Clyde C. Hill, county engineer, was born at Clymer, Chautauqua 
County, N. Y., Jan. 16, 1865, and is the son of James and Aurelia S. 
(Green) Hill. He was reared and educated at Clymer, N. Y., and is a 
graduate of Fredonia Normal School. In 1885 he was appointed principal 
of Ellington (N. Y.) Academy and in 1891 was appointed school commis- 
sioner of the first Chautauqua district, in which capacity he served until 
1897. He has engaged in his present profession as civil engineer since 
1895 and was elected county engineer of Erie County in 1919. 

On Dec. 24, 1890, Mr. Hill was married to Miss Cora E. Case of Great 
Harrington, Mass., and a daughter of Theodora A. and Lucy (Bagg) 
Case, natives of Chautauqua County, N. Y. Mr. Case died Oct. 23, 1923, 
and his wife resides on the old homestead at Ellington, N. Y. To Mr. 
and Mrs. Hill three children were born: Theodore C, lives at North 
East, Pa.; James R., the subject of this sketch; and Lucy A., lives at 
Dundalk, Md. 

James R. Hill spent his boyhood at North East and was graduated 
from high school in 1913. After spending a year at Allegheny College 
he entered the University of Michigan, where he received his degree as 
Bachelor of Science in Engineering. He has since been a member of the 
firm of Hill & Hill, with offices in the Marine Bank Building. 

In 1919 Mr. Hill was married to Miss Lavina N. Oldach, of North 
East, born June 2, 1896, and the daughter of John B. and Hannah (Leem- 
huis) Oldach. Mr. Oldach, a former merchant of North East, is now 
deceased. His widow lives at the old home there. Mr. and Mrs. Hill 
have two sons: James Russell, Jr., born March 27, 1920; and Richard 
Clyde, born March 13, 1924. 

Mr. Hill is identified with the Lutheran Memorial Church, a 32nd 
degree Mason, and belongs to the Sigma Alpha Epsilon, Lambda Chi 
Alpha and Tau Beta Pi fraternities. He and his wife have a wide circle 
of friends in Erie and are favorably known. 



954 History of Erie County 

Frank H. Keller ranks among the leading citizens and successful busi- 
ness men of Erie County. He is proprietor of the Keller Motion Picture 
Theatre at North East. Mr. Keller is a native of Erie, born April 4, 1876, 
and the son of Edward and Christina (Wiendorf) Keller. 

Edward Keller was born in Germany, Sept. 14, 1845, and his wife was 
born at Black Rock, N. Y., Sept. 11, 1845. He came to this country with 
his parents when a small child. He was a brother of the famous magician, 
Harry Kellar, and traveled throughout the world on various tours with 
him. Mr. Keller died April 1, 1920, and his wife died April 11, 1895. 
They are buried in Lakeside cemetery, Erie. To Mr. and Mrs. Keller 
the following children were born: Mary, born Aug. 14, 1868, married M. 
V. Buck, of London, Ont., and they live retired in Los Angeles, Cal. ; 
F. H., the subject of this sketch ; E. A., born July 2, 1878, married Mamie 
Keough of Boston, Mass., deceased, and he lives in Los Angeles, Cal., and 
has two children, Helen and Clara Keller; and Clara Catherine, born April 
2, 1872, died Nov. 11, 1911, was the wife of Dr. John W. Wright of Erie, 
and the mother of Elizabeth Keller Wright, a student at Simmons Col- 
lege, Boston. 

F. H. Keller was reared and educated in Erie and when a young man 
learned the printer's trade at which he was successfully engaged for 21 
years. He was the organizer of the "AKD" Company, which is the 
largest printing establishment in Erie, and which Mr. Keller disposed of 
in 1924. On Feb. 14, 1922, he purchased the Chickquitty Theatre at 
North East, which is now known as the Keller Theatre. 

In 1900 Mr. Keller was married to Miss Margaret E. White, a native 
of Ireland, born Feb. 14, 1876. They have a daughter, Katherine M., 
born May 3, 1901. She was married in 1922 to James K. Blakely of Erie, 
and they have a son, Harry Kellar Blakely, born July 11, 1924. 

Mr. and Mrs. Keller are well known in Erie County. She is a mem- 
ber of St. Peter's Catholic Church, Erie. 

Ward E. Hutchinson is well and favorably known in North East. He 
was born at Cambridge Springs, Crawford County, Pa., June 6, 1897, and 
is a son of Dwight D. and Lydia (Beirworth) Hutchinson. 

Mr. and Mrs. Dwight D. Hutchinson are natives of Crawford County, 
Pa., where they now reside. He was a farmer during his active career 
and served as school director and road supervisor. He is a Democrat. 
To Mr. and Mrs. Hutchinson 12 children were born as follows: Mark, a 



History of Erie County 955 

farmer, lives at Cambridge Springs, Pa. ; Irene, married Paul Bulow, 
lives at Cambridge Springs, where he is engaged in the real estate busi- 
ness; Don P., lives at home; Ralph W., lives at North East; Vern D., a 
merchant, lives at Harbor Creek, Pa. ; Delia, married Walter Leiphart, a 
building contractor, lives at Dearborn, Mich. ; Maud, married Addison 
Steinhoff , a merchant, lives at Wesleyville, Pa. ; Lloyd, lives at North 
East; W. E., the subject of this sketch; Ardis, a student; Flora, lives 
at Wesleyville, Pa. ; and Dale, a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in 
this history. 

W. E. Hutchinson received his education in the public schools of 
Cambridge Springs and remained on the home farm until 1916, when 
he became associated with the General Electric Company at Erie. Later 
he went to Detroit, Mich., where he was employed by the Otis Elevator 
Company. In 1921 he established the Hutchinson Electric Service Com- 
pany at Erie. Besides his battery service he is a dealer in radios and 
supplies. 

On May 20, 1922, Mr. Hutchinson was united in marriage with Miss 
Freida Margaret Grossholz, of Fairview, Pa., born Feb. 25, 1897, and 
the daughter of Adolph and Mary Grossholz, natives of Germany and 
early settlers of Erie County. To Mr. and Mrs. Grossholz the following 
children were born: Fred R., a grocer at Fairview, Pa.; Adolph L., a 
merchant at Evans City, Pa. ; Elizabeth, married Henry Pf eil, who is 
connected with the Griswold Manufacturing Company, Erie; May, de- 
ceased ; Bertha, married John Carries, lives at Fairview, Pa. ; Minnie, 
married Bert Cobb, lives at Harbor Creek, Pa. ; and Mrs. Hutchinson. 
To Mr. and Mrs. Hutchinson two sons have been born: Ward A., Jr., born 
April 29, 1923 ; and Charles R., born Jan. 1, 1925. 

Mr. Hutchinson is affiliated with the Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows and the Knights of Malta. He is an enterprising young business 
man of Erie County, whose success in life is practically assured. 

E. M. Sweet, a well known and substantial citizen of Erie County, who 
resides at Greenfield, was born at Panama, N. Y., July 5, 1885, and is the 
son of Elon A. and Elnora (Sturges) Sweet. 

Mr. and Mrs. Elon A. Sweet, who reside at Greenfield, are natives 
of Panama, N. Y. He was born Jan. 15, 1850, and she was born Aug. 
20, 1863. For a few years he owned and operated a saw mill at Bear 
Lake, Pa., and also a hotel at Panama. He is at present engaged in 



956 History of Erie County 

general farming. There are five children in the Sweet family: C. F., 
born April 19, 1880, lives at 608 East 21st Street, Erie; W. B., born July 
21, 1882, a merchant at Adamston, W. Va.; E. M., the subject of this 
sketch; Mildred, boni July 7, 1887, married Charles Henderson, lives at 
Greenfield, Pa. ; and Elmyra, born June 7, 1901, married Homer Holmes, 
lives at Greenfield. 

When he had completed his schooling, E. M. Sweet became interested 
in the saw mill business and in 1908 entered the employ of the Erie 
County Milk Association, with whom he has since been identified. In 
1920 he was appointed superintendent of the plant at Greenfield and is 
now serving in that capacity. He has also conducted a saw mill here 
and in 1924 established a garage and blacksmith business. In 1925 he 
erected a large store building in Greenfield and has a general store there. 
Mr. Sweet is agent for the Ford automobiles and Fordson tractor. Be- 
sides his business interests he is interested in agriculture and owns 441/2 
acres of land in Greenfield Township. 

In 1905 Mr. Sweet was united in marriage with Miss Edna May 
Wright, born at North East, June 28, 1887, and the daughter of R. B. and 
Emma A. (Chrispen) Wright, natives and residents of North East. To 
Mr. and Mrs. Sweet have been born three children: Howard, born June 
16, 1906, connected with the Erie County Milk Association; Clifford, born 
May 4, 1908 ; and Gerald, born June 13, 1910. 

Mr. Sweet is affiliated with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows 
and the Loyal Order of Moose. 

Harley W. Farver is a successful fruit farmer of North East and a 
member of a family that has long been identified with the history of 
Erie County. He was born at West Mill Creek, Pa., Dec. 20, 1868, and 
is the son of John D. and Lyda M. (Buseck) Farver. 

John B. Farver, retired, is a Civil War veteran and for many years 
has ranked among the successful farmers of this section. He was born 
in Erie, Feb. 25, 1843, the son of John and Catherine (Butt) Farver. 
John Farver was born at York, Pa., in 1813. He was a cooper by trade 
but in later life engaged in general farming on the old Butt farm in Erie 
County. Mr. and Mrs. John Farver were the parents of the following 
children: Dan, deceased, was a Civil War veteran, having served with 
the 145th Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry and was wounded at Fred- 
ericksburg; Susanna, married Gilson Stone of North East, both deceased; 
Sarah E., married Conrad Ort of West Mill Creek, both deceased; Mary, 



History of Erie County 957 

the widow of Thomas McKee, lives at West Mill Creek; Edward, de- 
ceased; and John B. Farver, father of the subject of this sketch. 

On Feb. 25, 1868, John B. Farver was married to Miss Lydia M. Bu- 
seck, born at Erie, April 13, 1845, and the daughter of Clemens E. and 
Catherine (Zimmerman) Buseck, natives of Germany and Pennsylvania 
respectively. They were married in 1840 and were the parents of the 
following children: John C, born in 1842, died in 1919; Mrs. Farver; 
Edward E., born in 1851, died in 1921 ; Clemens, born in 1859, lives at 
Fairview, Pa. ; Clarence W., twin brother of Clemens, died in 1871 ; George 
C, born in 1862, lives retired in Erie; and Cassie, the widow of John 
Sparling, 358 West 7th Street, Erie. To Mr. and Mrs. Farver, who cele- 
brated their golden wedding anniversary in 1918, seven children were 
born, as follows: (1) Harley W., the subject of this sketch; (2) S. lona, 
born March 2, 1876, married May 1, 1902, to Edward M. Epp, furniture 
dealer of Erie, and they have two children: Herbert Verne Epp, born 
Nov. 25, 1903, a student at the University of West Virginia; and Bert E., 
born May 2, 1910, a student at Roosevelt Jr., High School, Erie; (3) 
John, born Oct. 29, 1879, connected with the Continental Rubber Com- 
pany, Erie, rr^arried in 1905, to Sadie Butt, of Erie, and they have four 
children: Alice Marie, born March 4, 1906; Norman, born Jan. 28, 1910; 
Marion L., born June 17, 1919; and Elwood Butt, born Nov. 26, 1923, 
died in June, 1924; (4) Katie A., born June 14, 1871, died April 17, 1875, 
buried in Erie cemetery; (5) Estella, born Oct. 4, 1883, married June 11, 
1921, to George T. Burger of Erie, and they reside with Mr. and Mrs. 
Farver; (6) Bert B., born Aug. 14, 1885, lives at Fairview, Pa., married 
in June, 1912, to Edith Pickett of Erie and they have three* children: 
Clemens B., born March 21, 1913 ; L. lone, born June 24, 1914 ; and John 
Burton, born Oct. 9, 1923; (7) Roy E., born April 7, 1889, lives in Erie, 
married May 29, 1910, to Edith Miller of West Mill Creek, born July 8, 
1888, and she died July 4, 1911, leaving a daughter Evelyn L., born May 
2, 1911, a student at Roosevelt Junior High School. 

Harley W. Farver was educated in the public schools of West Mill 
Creek and in 1886 was graduated from Erie High School, and three years 
later from Clark's Business College. He immediately engaged in farming 
on his father's land and in 1895 came to North East. His home is located 
on the Buffalo Road. 

In March, 1895, Mr. Farver was miarried to Miss Emma B. Parker, 
born at North East, Oct. 18, 1873, and a daughter of Z. and Nancy Jane 
(Caldwell) Parker. Mr. Parker was born at Davison, Mich., in 1838, 



958 History of Erie County 

and his wife was born at North East in 1842. He was a leading grape 
grower of Erie County and a Civil War veteran. He died Feb. 22, 1915, 
and his wife died July 23, 1913. Mrs. Farver was educated in the public 
schools of North East and attended Edinboro State Normal School. To 
Mr. and Mrs. Farver have been born four children: H. Parker, born Dec. 
24, 1899, married in June, 1923, to Anna Adler, and they have two chil- 
dren, Betty Jane and Harley Parker; Ruth Mary, born Dec. 20, 1901, 
married in November, 1928, to Haskell Miller, and they have a son, 
Elwood Miller; Helen Jane, born March 25, 1914; and Richard C, born 
Aug. 6, 1917. 

Mr. Farver is identified with the Masonic lodge, the Independent Or- 
der of Odd Fellows, and the North East Club. He and his family are 
highly esteemed in their community. 

Ralph Bemus McCord, postmaster of North East, is a veteran of the 
World War and one of Erie County's prominent young men. He was 
born at North East, May 30, 1890, and is the son of William F. and Flor- 
ence (Bemus) McCord. 

William F. McCord, deceased, was a successful farmer of North East 
Township for many years, operating a large fruit farm on the lake shore. 
He was a native of North East, his ancestors being among the first set- 
tlers in this region. His wife was a native of New York State, coming 
from the vicinity of what is now known as Bemus Point on Lake Chau- 
tauqua. Mr. McCord was a Republican and a member of the North East 
Presbyterian Church. He died in 1918 and Mrs. McCord died in the year 
1908. They were the parents of three children, all of whom live in the 
vicinity of North East, Gertrude McCord Bostwick, John M., and Ralph B., 
the subject of this sketch. 

Ralph B. McCord spent his boyhood on his father's farm and is a 
graduate of North East High School and of Cornell University, class of 
1913. From that time until he entered the army, he engaged in the 
practice of his profession as a veterinary surgeon at North East. 

On July 12, 1917, Mr. McCord was comimissioned a second lieutenant 
and was stationed at Front Royal, Virginia. He served in a number of 
camps on this side and on May 14, 1918, he was ordered overseas from 
Camp Mills and was attached to the Fourth Division regular army. Short- 
ly before being ordered overseas, Mr. McCord was married to Mary Eliza- 
beth Lyons of Corry, Pa., who is the daughter of Cornelius W. and Eva 



History of Erie County 959 

(Williams) Lyons, residents of Corry. Mr. and Mrs. McCord have no 
children. Mr. McCord participated in all the major engagements over- 
seas and was commissioned a captain while in France. He served for 
several months with the Army of Occupation in Germany. 

Politically, Mr. McCord is a Republican. He is a member of the Pres- 
byterian Church and belongs to the Masonic lodge, the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows and the Erie lodge B. P. 0. E. He has been very active 
among the ex-service men in this section and is past commander of Lake 
Shore Post 105, American Legion and last year served as commander of 
Erie County Post 40/8, which is affiliated with the Legion. 

On Sept. 15, 1924, Mr. McCord was appointed postmaster and is now 
serving in that capacity. 

William G. Biebel, of Kearsage, is a successful and well known mer- 
chant of Erie County. He was born here in Mill Creek Township, July 
31, 1875, and is the son of George and Mary (Schuwerk) Biebel. 

George Biebel, deceased, was a native of Mill Creek Township, born 
Jan. 1, 1846, and the son of Daniel and Charlotte (Gintz) Biebel. Daniel 
Biebel was born in 1817 and in August, 1836, came to this country and 
settled in Erie. He died at Kearsage in 1909. George Biebel engaged in 
the mercantile business at Kearsage in 1872 and died in 1900. His wife, 
a native of McKean, Pa., was born in 1851 and died in 1913. The fol- 
lowing children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Biebel: A. J., lives in Mill 
Creek Township, was for a number of years connected with the National 
Cash Register Company as a salesman ; Edward D., deceased, was a mem- 
ber of the firm of Biebel Brothers, Kearsage, married in 1903 to Rose 
McDowell, of Crawford County, and they have four children: Mary C, 
married Raymond Sawdey, lives at Kearsage; George J., Rose E., and 
John J., students; W. G., the subject of this sketch; and Amelia, married 
H. S. Countryman, lives in Erie. 

W. G. Biebel was educated in the schools of Kearsage where he has 
spent his entire life, with the exception of a year spent in the south. 
He is engaged in the general merchandise business and conducts an up- 
to-date general store. He is also local agent for the Chevrolet automo- 
bile. For many years Mr. Biebel has been widely known throughout 
Erie County as a successful auctioneer. 

On Jan. 1, 1915, Mr. Biebel was united in marriage with Miss Thora 
E. Wolf, a native of Mill Creek Township, and a daughter of L. W. and 



960 History of Erie County 

Mary Wolf, residents of this township. Mr. and Mrs. Biebel have a 
daughter, Marian E. 

Mr. Biebel is a Democrat, a member of the Catholic Church and be- 
longs to the Elks lodge. He has many friends throughout Erie County 
and the Biebel family has always stood high in the community. 

Dr. M. M. Mszanowski, a prominent young physician and surgeon of 
Erie, was born in this city, Jan. 6, 1892, and is a son of Thomas and Eliz- 
abeth Mszanowski, natives of Poland. Thomas Mszanowski came to Corry, 
Pa., about 1885 and later returned to Europe and brought his wife back 
to America and settled in Erie where he spent the remainder of his life. 
His widow now resides in Erie. 

After attending school in Erie, M. M. Mszanowski entered college at 
St. Mary's, Mich., from which he was graduated in the class of 1912. 
Four years later he received his degree as Doctor of Medicine at Jefferson 
Medical College, Philadelphia. The following year was spent as an interne 
at St. Margaret's Hospital, Pittsburgh, after which Doctor Mszanowski 
established his practice in Erie. His office is located at 510 East 12th 
Street. He has been a member of the Hamot Hospital staff for five 
years. 

On Sept. 28, 1921, Doctor Mszanowski was united in marriage with 
Miss Stephania Zywicka, and they have two children, Edwin and Irene. 

Doctor Mszanowski is identified with the Erie County Medical So- 
ciety, the Pennsylvania State Medical Association, and the American 
Medical Association. He is a member of the Catholic Church, a director 
of the Lincoln Bank and Stanley Brothers' Furniture Company of Erie, 
Pa. He is an enterprising young man whose success in life is already 
assured. 

St. Mary's College, North East. The congregation of the Most Holy 
Redeemer (C. Ss. R.), whose members are called Redemptorists, is a re- 
ligious order of Missionaries, founded at Scala, in the Kingdom of Naples, 
in 1732, by Saint Alphonsus Maria de Ligouri, Bishop of St. Agatha and 
Doctor of the Church. The Redemptorists came to this country in 1832, 
and up to the present year, 1925, have founded 60 houses in the United 
States, Canada and Porto Rico. For many years the congregation in 
America had no institution to prepare new members for the order. The 
means taken to supply this want gave origin to the Preparatory College, 





B 




^^^^^^H 

^^^^^^H 


^^fe^ 


^^M 


^^^^^^^^~~^^ 


^^M 


^^^^^^^^^^^^^^. ^^^k 






i^^/^^^^^t 



DR. M. M. MSZAXOWSKI 



History of Erie County 961 

now known as St. Mary's College at North East. In 1847 at Baltimore, 
the Redemptorists fathers sought to provide future members for the 
order by instructing a small class of boys, whose inclinations seemed to 
indicate a calling to the priesthood, and to the religious life. In 1856 
this class developed into a day school for boys who felt inspired to be- 
come Redemptorists. In 1867 this day school was in turn formed into 
St. Alphonsus' Academy by the Very Rev. Provincial J. Helmpraecht. 
Rev. J. N. Berger was the first director of this academy. 

In May, 1868, Rev. Joseph Firle succeeded Father Berger, and in the 
following July, Rev. Jos. Wuest was appointed Director. The latter is 
considered the real founder of St. Mary's Preparatory College. His 
energetic coadjutor was Rev. Thaddeus Anwander. They introduced a 
complete classical course of a regular college. For this purpose the garret 
of St. James' School at Baltimore was fitted up and opened on April 29, 
1869, under the name of St. James College. In September, 1869, 48 pupils 
were present; the faculty was increased by the addition of Prof. August 
Messier, who taught at the college for 35 years, when death came unex- 
pectedly, Aug. 18, 1904. In September, 1871, there were over 80 pupils 
on the roll. The next step in the progress of the college was its removal 
to Ilchester, Md., near Baltimore, where a large stone house had become 
the property of the Redemptorists. A frame building was added and 
both became known as St. Clement's College. In 1873 Father Wuest was 
relieved of the heavy burden as director of the college and was succeeded 
by Rev. Father Stuhl. The latter served to July, 1875, his successor being 
Rev. George J. Dusold. Rev. Joseph M. Schwartz became director in 
December, 1877, and during his term the college was removed to North 
East in 1881. 

During the sixties there had been established at North East under 
the auspices of the Methodist Church, a seminary for the education of 
young people. The site chosen was on a part of the property of an old 
North East family named Hall, and lay on the northern limits of the 
borough. The building was begun in 1867, and the corner stone was laid 
in October, 1868. The erection of the institution cost 870,000.00, a sum 
too large for the Methodists to carry. The Presbyterians, therefore, 
joined them in the undertaking and for some years prosperity seemed 
to attend the institution. The Lake Shore Seminary was chartered as 
"a literary institution of high gi-ade at which males and females may 
pursue and complete a course of study embracing English branches, 
(61) 



962 History of Erie County 

ancient and modern languages, mathematics, metaphysics, music, draw- 
ing, painting and the science and art of teaching." The Presbyterians 
soon became dissatisfied with the joint management and withdrew, after 
which the Seminary was so harassed by debt that it finally closed. The 
trustees at one time tried to get the United States government to take 
over the property and use it for an Indian school. Finally, the ground 
and buildings were sold, in satisfaction of the debts, to the North East 
Savings Banks. Meanwhile, the Preparatory College at Ilchester had 
reached the point where it demanded larger and better accommodations. 
The removal of the institution having been decided upon, a chance visit 
to Erie by one of the Redemptorists Missionaries, Rev. A. J. Mclnerney, 
brought the news about the desirable property at North East. The pa- 
pers which concluded the sale of the buildings and five acres of land 
to the Redemptorist Fathers were signed Jan. 31, 1881. 

With the opening of the first term at North East in August, 1881, 
the Preparatory College entered upon a new period of existence. This 
new period was inaugurated on Aug. 2nd by the solemn dedication of 
the building, the Lake Shore Seminary, henceforth to be known as St. 
Mary's College. The Preparatory College was no longer an idea, an 
experiment; it was an institution that had been taken up into the life 
and activity of the congregation of the Most Holy Redeemer, of which 
it was now recognized as a necessary part. The nature and ideals of 
the institution had been stated by Father Helmpraecht, some ten years 
before and the objects and principles then laid down had been faithfully 
pursued. "The institute is to be of such a nature as to impart both 
moral and scientific training. The moral training is to imbue the schol- 
ars thoroughly with the spirit of the Congregation of the Most Holy 
Redeemer. The scientific training shall embrace the usual classical course 
and must be formally completed before a student can enter the novitiate. 
The first and most essential requirements for admission of students to 
the college are: that they have a sincere desire to become Redemptorists 
and that they give promise of future usefulness. The pupils shall be 
made to understand that all their learning, however necessary is little 
better than useless, if it goes not hand in hand with virtue." 

The old seminary building was a two story brick structure, 168 feet 
long by 60 feet wide, with mansard roof and twin towers. The edifice 
presents practically the same external appearance that it did in 1881. 



History of Erie County 963 

In the interior, however, the changes have been so extensive that scarcely 
a vestige of the old building remains. The surrounding grounds have 
also been greatly changed and extended. The original property of the 
College was increased in 1887, by the purchase of the Hall property some 
12 acres, on the west side of Pearl Street, formerly the campus. A little 
later, during the same year, the Hitchcock property, east of the College, 
containing 21/2 acres with a residence in the midst of a pretty grove was 
added to the ground. From 1887 to 1891, two lower classes of St. Mary's 
College formed St. Clement's College at Saratoga Springs, N. Y. When 
they returned to North East the accommodations became limited and in 
1893 plans were made for the erection of a faculty building. The corner 
stone was laid Nov. 19, 1893, and in August, 1894, the new building was 
dedicated. In June, 1896, the Mills property, fronting on Lake and 
Seminary streets, was purchased. In 1900 an electric power house was 
erected. On June 25, 1901, the corner stone was laid for the College 
Chapel, a beautiful Gothic structure, built of granite with sandstone 
trimmings. The altars, statuary, windows, and the decorative work of 
the interior are products of the best artistic taste and work, and a source 
of constant inspiration to ecclesiastical students. 

In 1884 the Superior of St. Mary's was raised to the rank of Rector 
and Father Schwartz, whose labors as Superior of the College, both be- 
fore and after its removal to North East, entitled him to highest praise, 
was appointed its first Rector. He continued in this office during two 
terms until July, 1890, when he was transferred to take charge of a 
similar college in the Western Province of the Redemptorist Fathers 
at Kirkwood, Mo. Rev. August Dooper was the second Rector at the 
College and was succeeded in 1898 by Rev. Caspar Ritter. In May, 1901, 
Rev. John G. Schneider became Rector. Rev. Francis Auth was appointed 
Rector in May, 1904, and it was during his term that the Silver Jubilee 
of St. Mary's was celebrated. Scarcely had the Silver Jubilee of 1906 
been celebrated when Superiors were again confronted with the necessity 
of enlarging the College. Plans were proposed to increase the capacity 
of the institution, from 140 to 250 students. These plans were finally 
realized in 1912 when two spacious wings, the height of the College, were 
added to the rear of the central building. These additions were made 
possible by previous purchase in 1911 of the field, some 50 acres to the 
rear and north of the College. This purchase, however, did not include 



964 History of Erie Couxty 

the Sam Irving property, some five acres, fronting on Lake Street, which 
land however finally came into the possession of St. Mary's College in 
1924. 

The Rev. Francis Auth was succeeded to the Rectorship by Rev. Henry 
Jung in 1912, the Rev. Richard Donohoe being appointed Director of the 
College. In 1915 Rev. Donohoe was vested with the double office of 
Rector and Director. In the spring of 1918 the Rectorship and Director- 
ship devolved upon the Rev. John Beierschmidt, during whose triennium 
plans were matured for the erection of a spacious, commodious, up-to- 
date infirmary. It was, however, left to his successors to bring the 
project to completion. In the summer of 1922 Rev. Lawrence Jung was 
appointed Rector and Director, but owing to ill health resigned, and 
was succeeded in October, 1922, by the Rev. Louis Smith under whose 
first term of three years the infirmary, a structure of gray granite, was 
erected to the rear of the Chapel. It was also during this term that, 
Feb. 17, 1923, six Sisters of trie Order of St. Elizabeth arrived from 
Germany, having generously offered themselves to care for the sick and 
to do the housework of the College. In May, 1924, Rev. Louis N. Smith 
was reappointed Rector and Director, and under his able guidance St. 
Mary's College still holds aloft on her hills the torch of learning and the 
Cross of Religion. 

Cassius L. Alexander, mayor of Corry, is a leading citizen of Erie 
County. He was born in Wayne Township, Erie County, Jan. 24, 1875, 
and is a son of Robert Alexander. His grandfather, James Alexander, 
was born in Mercer County, where his parents located as pioneers. 

Learning the carpenter's trade in Mercer County, James Alexander 
came to Erie County when a young man and after working there a few 
years as a carpenter settled in Wayne Township, where he was employed 
as a tiller of the soil until his death, while yet in manhood's vigor, in 
1849. He married Clarissa Yeager, who was born in Wayne Township, 
Erie County, a daughter of Daniel Yeager. A native of Chenango County, 
N. Y., Mr. Yeager removed from there to Erie County, going with teams 
through the forests, part of the way following the path by means of 
blazed trees. Buying a tract of land in the timber he took possession of 
the cabin built by the former owner and at once began the herculean task 
of redeeming a farm from the forest. Industrious and enterprising, he 
succeeded well and in the course of a few years built a commodious frame 



History of Erie County 965 

house on the turnpike leading from Waterford to Columbus, which al- 
though but a small village was the nearest market for farm produce. In 
addition to farming, he made shaved shingles, which he sold at prices 
ranging from $1,121/0 to $2 per thousand. He lived on his homestead, 
esteemed and respected by his neighbors and friends until his death at 
the venerable age of 90 years. Mr. Yeager married Polly Pole, a native 
of Chenango County, N. Y., and she too lived to a good old age. Mrs. 
Clarissa (Yeager) Alexander died when 55 years of age, leaving six 
children as follows: Mary Jane, Robert, Daniel, Nancy, Clara and Alice. 
Left fatherless when a boy, Robert Alexander began when young to 
assist his miother in supporting the family, and when 12 years old began 
working out as a farm hand, receiving at first three dollars a month 
wages, and continued thus employed until 25 years of age. Embarking 
then in business on his own account he at first rented land for farming 
purposes, meeting with all of the success that he had anticipated, he 
soon bought a tract of 50 acres of land, nearly one-half of which was 
under cultivation, and began its further improvement. He erected frame 
buildings, cleared the greater part of the land, and at the end of 15 years 
sold at an advance. He subsequently purchased another farm in Wayne 
Township, not far from his first purchase, and there resided 23 years, 
until 1905, when he moved to Corry. During that time he made improve- 
ments of an excellent character, building a brick house and a frame barn, 
his estate ranking as one of the best and most valuable in the county, 
his land being unsurpassed for richness and fertility. Robert Alexander 
married in 1862 Sarah M. Dutton, who was born at Otselic, Chenango 
County, N. Y., April 5, 1846, a daughter of John Dutton, a native of the 
same town. Richard Dutton, the great grandfather of Mr. Alexander, 
was born as far as is known, in Otselic, and was there reared and mar- 
ried. Later in life he removed with his family to Chautauqua County, 
N. Y., traveling in true pioneer style with teams, taking all of his house- 
hold effects with him. One of the original settlers of Clymer, he bought 
a tract of heavily timbered land, and on the farm that he wrested from 
the wilderness, he spent his remaining years. In 1847 John Dutton, who 
was reared and educated in Chenango County, and there married, came 
to Erie County, bringing with him his wife and children and settled in 
Wayne Township. He bought land on which a small patch had been 
cleared and a log house erected, ^nd began the arduous task of improving 
a farm. He began life there with a pair of oxen and one cow and but 



966 History of Erie County 

little of anything else. Ambitious and courageous he prospered in his 
undertakings, clearing a good farm, and in the course of a few years 
replaced the humble log buildings with substantial frame ones. After 
occupying the farm a number of years he removed to Corry where he 
lived retired until his death at the age of 61 years. The maiden name 
of the wife of John Dutton was Mary Ann Raymond. She was born at 
Otselic, N. Y., a daughter of Lewis and Annia (Whitford) Raymond, and 
died at the age of 44 years. Four of her children grew to mature life, 
namely: Marcia, Laurancy, Darwin, and Sarah M. Mr. and Mrs. Robert 
Alexander reared seven children, namely: Mary A., John, Daniel J., Flor- 
ence, Ward, Cassius L., the subject of this sketch, and Harry. Mr. 
Alexander, who was born Aug. 11. 1837, died May 9, 1923, and is buried 
in Corry cemetery. His wife died in February, 1925. 

Cassius L. Alexander was reared and educated in Corry. In the 
fall of 1904 he was elected to the common council of the city of Corry 
and took office in January, 1905. In ]906 he was elected to the council 
at large and in 1909 was elected mayor of Corry, serving four years and 
nine months. In 1914 he was elected to the House of Representatives 
of Pennsylvania in the General Assembly, Third District. Mr. Alexander 
was again elected mayor of Corry in 1917 and re-elected in 1921. Like 
his father, he has always been a staunch Republican. 

Mr. Alexander has a daughter, Margaret, who was born in Corry, 
Dec. 21, 1895. On June 16, 1920, she was married to Sydney B. Elston, 
a native of Corry, born Dec. 24, 1888, and they have a daughter, Martha 
Eleanor Elston, born Jan. 7, 1923. Mr. Elston is a draftsman in the 
employ of the Climax Manufacturing Company at Corry. 

Mr. Alexander is a 32nd degree Mason and belongs to the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, and the Elks and Eagles. He has a wide acquaint- 
ance and has always been regarded both socially and in his business rela- 
tions as a valuable citizen of Erie County. 

Frank A. Shutts is a member of the firm of Shutts & Morrison, well 
known architects of Erie. He was born in this city, Jan. 9, 1887, and 
is a son of Charles A. and Barbara (Hanselman) Shutts. 

Charles A. Shutts was born at Westfield, N. Y., and his wife was a 
native of Germany. He was an early settler of Erie and for a number 
of years was a foreman in the Pennsylvania car shops in this city. He 
died in 1894 and his wife resides in Erie. They had two children: Frank 



History of Erie County 967 

A., the subject of this sketch; and Mrs. Blanch Thompson, lives at 2108 
East Avenue, Erie. 

Frank A. Shutts has spent his entire life in this city. After com- 
pleting his schooling he engaged in the building business to fit himself 
for the profession of architecture. Since 1909 he has engaged in the 
architectural profession. The offices of Shutts & Morrison are in the 
Marine Bank Building. 

On June 8, 1911, Mr. Shutts was united in marriage with Miss Hazel 
Rettman, of Erie, and a daughter of John and May (Brower) Rettman, 
who live at 227 Scott Street, Erie. Mr. and Mrs. Shutts have two daugh- 
ters, Violet M., and Beatrice H., both students. 

Mr. Shutts is a Republican and belongs to the Elks, Moose, Lions, 
and Eagle lodges, and the Knights of the Golden Eagle. He served as a 
member of the Pennsylvania National Guard for three years. Mr. Shutts 
stands high in the community. 

Frank Laurie, president of the National Bank of Corry, is a prom- 
inent citizen of Erie County. He was born in this city, March 12, 1863, 
and is the son of Alexander and Elizabeth (Gregory) Laurie. 

Mr. and Mrs. Alexander Laurie, deceased, were natives of Scotland 
and early settlers of Corry. He was a farmer during his active career. 
There were three children in the Laurie family: George M., lives at 
Orchard Park, N. Y. ; Mary, who lives with her brother in Corry ; and 
Frank, the subject of this sketch. 

Frank Laurie received his education in the schools of Corry and when 
a young man became interested in the hotel business. He was proprietor 
of the old Depot Hotel until it was destroyed by fire and later conducted 
the European Hotel, Corry. When the National Bank of Corry was 
organized Mr. Laurie was a member of the Board of Directors and later 
elected vice president. He has served as president since January, 1925. 

In 1887 Mr. Laurie was united in marriage with Miss Mary A. Work- 
man of Canisteo, N. Y. She died in 1923 and is buried in Pine Grove 
cemetery, Corry. To Mr. and Mrs. Laurie were born three children: 
Frank A., Jr., a graduate of Corry High School and the University of 
Pennsylvania, where he is now a professor of languages, was married 
to Miss Ebbert of Philadelphia, and they have two children, Francis and 
Jene; Anna, a graduate of Corry High School, Pratt Institute, Columbia 
University and Johns Hopkins Hospital, Baltimore, Mo., now superin- 



968 History of Erie County 

tendent of the Nurses Association, Erie ; and Raymond A., connected 
with the Ajax Iron Works, Corry, married Miss Merritt of Corry, and 
they have three children, Frank, Alton, and Mary. 

Mr. Laurie is a Republican and has served as a member of the City 
Council at various times for 16 years. He belongs to the Elks lodge, 
Knights of Pythias and Rotary Club. The Laurie family is well known 
throughout Erie County and representative of the best citizenship of 
the community. 

Frederick W. Sapper, president of the Bank of Wesleyville, is a 
substantial business man of Erie. He was born in this city, Oct 5, 1879, 
and is the son of John N. and Minnie (Miller) Sapper. 

John N. Sapper, deceased, was for many years one of the leading 
business men and citizens of Erie. He was born here, Nov. 16, 1848, the 
son of Veit and Anna Dora (Kroph) Sapper, natives of Germany. In 1848 
the Sapper family emigrated to the United States and settled in Erie. 
John N. Sapper was educated in Erie and when a boy learned the tinner's 
trade. He was employed by one firm for 25 years and in 1887 became a 
member of the firm of Mehl & Sapper, hardware dealers, at 1114 State 
Street. Mr. Sapper died in 1916 and his wife resides in Erie. They had 
one son, Frederick W., the subject of this sketch. 

Frederick W. Sapper attended the public and high schools of Erie 
and his first business connection was as clerk for the R. G. Dun Company's 
local office. He later became interested in banking and served in various 
positions with the Marine National Bank of Erie, for eight and one- 
half years, after which he engaged in the manufacturing business. He 
then served as cashier of the Home National Bank, Union City, Pa., for 
several years, when he was appointed a traveling auditor of the Auditor 
General's Department of Pennsylvania, which position he now holds. In 
March, 1920, Mr. Sapper organized the Bank of Wesleyville, of which 
he is president. The other officers are: Benjamin F. Chambers, vice 
president; and John A. Carlson, cashier. Mr. Sapper is one of the direc- 
tors of the Penn Art Steel Works of Erie. 

Mr. Sapper has a son, Frederick W., Jr., now a student at Western 
Reserve Academy, Hudson, Ohio. 

Politically Mr. Sapper is a Republican. He holds membership in the 
Park Presbyterian Church and belongs to the Masonic, Elks and Eagles 
lodges, and the Chamber of Commerce. He has an extensive acquaint- 
ance in Erie County. 




F. W. SAPPKR 



History of Erie County 969 

John Elmer Reed, the subject of this sketch and the author of this 
work, was born Feb. 27, 1865, in Millcreek Township, Erie County, Pa., 
in the log house where his father was born, on an eighty acre farm. 

His ancestry is Scotch and English, the first of the families having 
entered America in the early part of the eighteenth century, settling in 
southeastern Pennsylvania. His great grandfather, Joseph Ri^ed, was a 
captain of a company of the York County (Pa.) Militia of the Sixth 
Battalion, organized in 1776 composed of eight companies. The battalion 
was commanded in 1777-8 by Colonel William Ross, a relative of Joseph 
Reed from the same county. Mr. Joseph Reed was also a ferryman and 
tavern keeper on the Susquehanna River, owning a popular ferry below 
Harrisburg, as well as a large tract of land at that place. 

Joseph Reed married Janet Ross for his second wife, having three 
children, Elizabeth, George and William. George Reed was born August 
2, 1777, at the Ferry, and later married Miss Mary McCreary, a daughter 
of John McCreary and Rebecca (Clark) McCreary, whose farmstead was 
just across the river in Lancaster County. George Reed and wife re- 
moved to Millcreek Township, this county, in 1804, taking up an exten- 
sive tract of land in the Gore Tract, where they improved and resided 
until their deaths. They reared a large family on this farm: Joseph 
Reed, the elder of the children later marrying Jane Grubb, the daughter 
of Judge John Grubb of Millcreek Township, and settling upon the farm 
where our subject was born. These had three children, born in that log 
house: John Grubb Reed (father of our subject), George and Mary Alicia. 
J. G. Reed married Candace Eliza Blair, a daughter of John Wallace Blair 
of Girard Township, and Candace (Strong) Blair. 

Joseph Reed, son of George, was born Jan. 1, 1807, in Millcreek Town- 
ship. He married on Sept. 19, 1837, and died Sept. 17, 1844. His father, 
George Reed, married Feb. 28, 1804, and died April 6, 1857. John Grubb 
Reed was born on Sept. 27, 1838, married March 15, 1864, and died Nov. 
7, 1923. Mary McCreary, wife of George Reed, was born Jan. 14, 1776, 
and died Dec. 19, 1859. Jane (Grubb) Reed, wife of Joseph, was born 
Feb. 25, 1810, married Sept. 19, 1837, and died Dec. 31, 1846. Candace 
Eliza (Blair) Reed, wife of J. G., was born Jan. 1, 1840, and died May 9, 
1901. 

John Grubb Reed and his wife Candace Eliza, had six children: John 
Elmer, the subject of this sketch, born Feb. 27, 1865; George Arthur, 
an Erie physician and surgeon, Feb. 27, 1869; Joseph Wilbur, March 27, 



970 History of Erie County 

1871, married Sept. 5, 1901, died of tetanus April 3, 1910; Mary Ellen, 
Aug. 7, 1873, unmarried; Edith Jane, Sept. 16, 1876, married P. E. Car- 
penter, July 7, 1923 ; James Ross, a specialist in the eye and ear is located 
in Pasadena, Calif., born Feb. 24, 1880, married first Nina Katharine 
Blinn on June 1, 1910, who died Nov. 22, 1911, leaving one child, John 
Edmund, born Oct. 18, 1911; he married second Miss Margaret Violet 
Macey on April 30, 1914, and they have five boys. 

John Elmer Reed attended the Millcreek public school in his own (the 
"Love" neighborhood), Edinboro State Normal 1882-3, 1883-4; Clark's 
Business College in Erie, 1884-5; taught the "Rohrer School" in McKean 
Township two years, and the "Zuck School" in Millcreek Township for 
three years; read law in the office of Hon. Emory A. Walling, in Erie 
for four years, assisting in the office work, and was admitted to practice 
in the Erie County courts June 28, 1895. During his reading of law he 
was married to Miss Elizabeth Cora Brown, of Hamilton, Ont., they hav- 
ing one son, Robert Cameron Reed, born March 27, 1901, in Erie. Our 
subject was for some years identified with the Erie Tool Works, helping 
to place that business on a substantial financial footing. He practiced 
law in Erie for some years, and later became the senior partner in the 
law firm of Reed, Wait & Spoiford, with offices in the Masonic Temple 
in Erie. This firm has an enviable reputation in the district for fair 
dealing, and for an able presentation of its cases before the courts of 
Pennsylvania, and elsewhere. 

Mr. Reed joined the Westminster Presbyterian Church at Westmin- 
ster, west of Erie in early life ; was active in its work, and in the work 
and organization of the young peoples' societies of the church, being the 
first president of the Lake Shore Union of the Christian Endeavor So- 
cieties of this county. On his marriage they removed to Erie, and joined 
the Central Presbyterian Church of that city, of which they and their 
son are now members. Mr. Reed and his wife are the owners of a popular 
lake-side summer resort ten miles east of Erie, known as Shorewood, 
where they have a large shore-side inn, picnic grounds, bathing beach 
and summer cottages, and where they have lived for the past six years. 
His son Robert is the manager of the inn. He is also the owner of lake 
side property in Girard Township, called Erie Lakeland, adapted to sum- 
mer colony purposes. Our subject is the secretary of the Erie County 
Historical Society, and has contributed historical articles to the press 
from time to time; is the secretary-treasurer of the Weis Library, eight 



History of Erie County 971 

miles southwest of Erie; is a member of the Erie County Bar Associa- 
tion, and of the Pennsylvania State Bar Association. Through his descent 
from Thomas Cooper, the father-in-law of Hon. John Grubb, he was ad- 
mitted to membership in the Sons of the American Revolution on Jan. 3, 
1924. He served for many years with Messrs. Joseph M. Force and 
Cassius L. Baker on the Registration Committee of the Erie County Bar 
Association, and until registrations were effected under the Supreme 
Court rules and examinations. His great grandfather, Hon. John Grubb, 
was the first American to come to the lake shore country, and to become 
a permanent inhabitant here. He was in command of a company of 
militia who arrived here from Pittsburgh in June, 1795, guarding the 
engineers who were laying out the future city from Indian attacks; he 
became a major, and later was an associate judge of our court when it 
stood in the park, being on the bench with the other members when Henry 
Francisco was tried here for murder; and was later one of the Commis- 
sioners of Erie County, the first justice of the peace in Millcreek Town- 
ship, and a most prominent man in the county. He was here at the har- 
bor with his soldiers when Seth Reed and family landed on their way 
from Buffalo. Mr. Grubb and his family were prominent members of 
the old First Presbyterian Church in Erie. 

Walter K. Stow is a progressive business man of North East where 
he is extensively interested in the grape industry. He was born at To- 
ledo, Ohio, Jan. 24, 1887, and is a son of William L. and Anna J. (Steele) 
Stow. 

William L. Stow was born at Sackett's Harbor, N. Y., Sept. 8, 1839. 
For many years he lived at Toledo, Ohio, where he was general freight 
agent for the Lake Shore & Michigan Southern Railroad. He died June 
14, 1903, and is buried at Buffalo, N. Y. His widow resides in Erie. 

Walter K. Stow attended the public schools of Toledo and Buffalo 
and was graduated from Cornell University in 1911. He immediately 
engaged in agricultural pursuits and purchased the farm of James L. 
Spoffard. Later he sold this land to Roy Strickland and now owns two 
farms of 110 acres each. He specializes in the raising of grapes and 
fruit and is interested in the Keystone Grape Cooperative Association. 
He is also vice president of the Stow Lumber & Coal Company. 

On Feb. 17, 1916, Mr. Stow was united in marriage with Miss Mar- 
garet B. Jones, born at Pittsburgh, Sept. 5, 1890, and the daughter of 



972 History of Erie County 

the late Dr. William and Hannah (Short) Jones. Dr. Jones was a lead- 
ing physician of Pittsburgh. His widow resides at North East. Mrs. 
Stow was educated in Pittsburgh and attended Vassar College. Mr. and 
Mrs. Stow have a son, Walter K., Jr., born Oct. 19, 1916. 

Mr. Stow is a member of the Presbyterian Church, the University 
Club of Erie, the North East Club and the North East Golf Club. He 
also belongs to the Sigma Alpha Epsilon fraternity and the Scalp and 
Blade Society of Cornell University. 

Dr. L. R, Umburn, one of the well known physicians of Erie County, 
who has been successfully engaged in the practice of his profession at 
Albion for a number of years, is a veteran of the World War. He was 
born at Indiana, Pa., April 14, 1885, and is the son of Joseph and Susie 
(Crum) Umburn. 

Joseph Umburn, a native of Somerset County, Pa., was born in 1848 
and now lives retired at Albion. Practically his entire life he was inter- 
ested in the oil business. His wife died in 1913 and is buried at Waynes- 
burg, Pa. To Mr. and Mrs. Umburn four children were born: H. C, born 
in 1876, superintendent of the Roxanna Oil Company of Oklahoma; Fran- 
cis, born in 1880, a bookkeeper, lives at Fairmount, W. Va. ; Edith Um- 
burn, deceased; and Dr. L. R., the subject of this sketch. 

Dr. L. R. Umburn received his early education in the public schools 
of Waynesburg and was graduated from high school there in 1903 and 
later from Waynesburg College. He received his degree as Doctor of 
^Medicine at the University of Pittsburgh in 1910 and after completing his 
interne work at Hamot Hospital, Erie, he established his practice at 
Albion, where he has since been located with the exception of the period 
spent in service during the World War. 

Doctor Umburn enlisted in the National Guard of Pennsylvania in 
1903 and served until 1911 as a member of Company K, Tenth Regi- 
ment, N. G. P. In June, 1917, he enlisted in the United States Medical 
Corps and was called into service on Aug. 27th and sent to Fort Og'le- 
thorpe, Georgia, where he remained for six weeks. He was then trans- 
ferred to Camp Pike, Ark. He sailed for France as a member of the 
87th Division and was promoted from lieutenant to captain in December, 
1918, and in March, 1919, was nxade a major. Doctor Umburn saw active 
service in the war zone throughout the war and during the engagements 
at Verdun and the Meuse Argonne he was attached to the 80th Division. 



History of Erie County 973 

In September, 1919, he was discharged at Camp Dix, N. J., with the 
rank of major. He is now a major in the Medical Officers Training 
Reserve Corps. Doctor Umburn is a member of the American Legion 
Oakley Cobb Post No. 567 of Albion and is past commander. He also is 
identified with the La Societe des 40 Hommes et 8 Chevaux of Erie. 

In 1917 Doctor Umburn was united in marriage with Miss Marian 
Burns, a resident of Albion, now deceased. He was married in 1922 to 
Miss Ora Newton, of Los Angeles, Calif. 

Doctor Umburn is a staunch Republican and belongs to the Elks 
lodge. He is identified with the American Medical Association and the 
Association of Military Surgeons of the United States. He has served 
as deputy county medical inspector and as deputy coroner of Erie County. 
As a physician and a citizen. Doctor Umburn ranks high in the com- 
munity. 

Clare Gordon Cherry, secretary and manager of the Albion Telephone 
Company, is a successful and representative business man of Erie County. 
He was born in Spring Township, Crawford County, Pa., Dec. 14, 1883, 
and is the son of Edward M. and Alice (Knapp) Cherry. 

Edward M. Cherry is a prosperous farmer of Erie County and resides 
one and one-half miles northwest of Albion. He is a native of Wisconsin 
and his wife was born in Crawford County. They have six children: 
Claude N., a mail carrier, lives at New Castle, Pa. ; Truman T., a farmer, 
lives with his parents; Grace, married Geoi-ge W. Breese, lives at Albion; 
Earl, lives at Conneautville, Pa.; Myron M., lives at Albion; and Clare 
Gordon, the subject of this sketch. 

Clare Gordon Cherry spent his boyhood on his father's farm and 
received his education in the public schools of Albion and attended Edin- 
boro State Normal School. After several years as a teacher in the schools 
at Cherry Hill, Keepville and Tracy, Erie County, Mr. Cherry became 
interested in the electrical business at Albion, later going to North Caro- 
lina and New Orleans, La. In 1907 he returned to Albion where he was 
associated with Rogers Brothers, and later with the Erie Mutual Tele- 
phone Company. He was employed by the Erie City Iron Works for 
some time and in 1912 entered the employ of the Albion Telephone Com- 
pany as a lineman. Two years later he was appointed manager and in 
1921 was promoted to secretary and manager of the local concern. He 
is a director of the First National Bank of Albion and is chief of the fire 



974 History of Erie County 

department, being appointed to that office in January, 1925. He has 
served as a member of the city council since 1921 and is a Republican. 

In October, 1922, Mr. Cherry was united in marriage with Mrs. Sylvia 
(Laughlin) Eldridge, a native of Wexford County, Mich., born Aug. 12, 
1887, and the daughter of C. C. and Ada (Brown) Laughlin, natives of 
Pennsylvania. Mr. Laughlin is deceased and his wife lives in Pennsyl- 
vania. They had two daughters: Mrs. Cherry; and Estella, born Nov. 
28, 1880, married William Hodgkin, lives at Newberry, Mich., where he 
is engaged in the lumber business. By her former marriage Mrs. Cherry 
has four children: Gertrude Eldridge, born Jan. 10, 1906, lives with her 
mother; Leslie N., born Nov. 13, 1910, a student at Wellsburg, Pa.; Elsie 
M., born Sept. 1, 1913; and Fred L., born April 8, 1917. 

Mr. Cherry is one of the dependable citizens of his community and 
is favorably known. 

Chaunc«y V. Lick, who lives retired at Albion, is a worthy descendant 
of an old and honored family of Erie County. He was born at Edinboro, 
Jan. 3, 1859, and is the son of John L. and Eliza (Goodrich) Lick. 

John L. Lick, deceased, was born in Erie County in 1830, the son 
of Aaron Lick, who camie to Erie County during the early days. The 
former engaged in farming during his life and met with success. He 
died in Ontario, Canada, in 1873, and his wife, who died in 1914, was 
the daughter of Calvin and Hope Goodrich, who settled at Edinboro in 
1836. To Mr. and Mrs. Lick the following children were born: W. S., 
born in 1849, died in 1917; Mary, the widow of William Surft, lives at 
Edinboro; Rosa, born in 1856, died in 1923, was the wife of Leroy Baker, 
who lives at Edinboro; C. V., the subject of this sketch; John L., born 
Feb. 1, 1861, lives at Albion; Nellie, born in 1865, married Dr. H. 0. 
Gibson, a dentist, lives at Edinboro; Frank, born in 1868, lives at North 
East, Pa.; and two sons who died in infancy. 

After completing his schooling in the schools of Albion, C. V. Lick 
learned the harness maker's trade, which he followed successfully for 
48 years. In 1882 he established his own business at Albion and until 
the time of his retirement in September, 1924, conducted the largest 
harness and retail carriage business in this section. He was also a dealer 
in farming implements. In 1890 Mr. Lick also engaged in the under- 
taking business, but sold this interest in 1905. Before his retirement he 
served as vice president of the Citizens National Bank. 



History of Erie County 975 

On Dec. 1, 1880, Mr. Lick was united in marriage with Miss Mary 
Dietz, a native of Conneaut Township, Erie County, born Sept. 9, 1859, 
and a daughter of Adam and Amanda Dietz, natives of Erie County. 
Mr. Dietz is deceased and his widow resides at Portland, Ore. To Mr. 
and Mrs. Lick were born three children: Milo Vernon, born April 6, 1883, 
lives at Wesleyville, Pa., is a World War veteran; Dr. Maxwell John, 
born Oct. 25, 1884, was graduated from Albion High School, Allegheny 
College and the Medical School of the University of Pennsylvania, now 
engaged in the practice of his profession at 49 West Eighth Street, Erie, 
was married July 22, 1915, to Miss Mary E. McLaughlin, a native of 
Springboro, Pa.; and Florence Elizabeth, born July 19, 1887, was grad- 
uated from Meadville High School and the Meadville College of Music, 
was married June 14, 1910, to Elmer D. Loose, an attorney, lives at 
Erie, Pa. 

Mr. Lick has served as a member of the school board and the city 
council for many years. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church and belongs to the Masonic lodge. 

Walter L. Peake, attorney, of Corry, is among the representative citi- 
zens of Erie County. He was born at Wellsboro, Pa., March 7, 1883, and 
is the son of Frank C. and Ella (Close) Peake. 

Frank C. Peake is a prominent farmer and stockman of Wellsboro, 
Pa., where he has spent his entire life. He is a Republican and has held 
several county offices. Mr. and Mrs. Peake have three children: Erwin, 
a merchant, hves at Wellsboro; Walter L., the subject of this sketch; 
and Luva, at home. 

Walter L. Peake attended the public and high schools of his native 
town and is a graduate of Lafayette College, Easton, Pa. The next four 
years he was engaged in teaching school, and studying law with Merrick 
& Young, attorneys, of Wellsboro, after which he practiced law at Knox- 
ville. Pa., for five months. In March, 1912, he removed to Corry where 
he has established an excellent practice. 

On Oct. 18, 1911, Mr. Peake was united in marriage with Miss Eliza- 
beth Strang, the grand-daughter of B. B. Strang, at one time speaker in 
the house of representatives. Mrs. Peake was born at Westfield, Pa., and 
is the daughter of Francis D. and Alice (Tremper) Strang. Mr. Strang, 
who died Oct. 11, 1912, was a well known merchant of Westfield, where 
his widow resides. They were the parents of three children: Hugh B., 



976 History of Erie County 

attorney, lives at Westfield, Pa. ; Grace, married Charles Crane, attorney, 
lives at Madison, N. Y. ; and Mrs. Peake. Mr. and Mrs. Peake have one 
child, Walter Strang Peake, born Feb. 3, 1925. 

Mr. Peake is a Republican, a member of the Presbyterian Church, a 
32nd degree Mason, and belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows and the Elks lodge. He is a capable lawyer and is intensely inter- 
ested in every movement for civic improvement. 

Theobald M. M. Flynn, M. D., F. A. C. S., is a successful and well 
known physician and surgeon of Erie, where he has practiced his profes- 
sion since 1914. He was born in this city, Nov. 26, 1875, and is the 
son of the late Thomas and Mary E. (Walsh) Flynn. 

Thomas Flynn was born in Ireland, Sept. 29, 1829. He studied archi- 
tecture in Dublin and after settling in Ottawa, Canada, was superintendent 
of the Ottawa Construction Company and was in part charge of the 
Dominion Parliament buildings in that city. In 1854 he came to Erie, 
where he became a leading architect and contractor. Among his out- 
standing works is the Pennsylvania Railroad stone bridge work from 
Philadelphia to Harrisburg by Sunbury, the Catholic Cathedral, and the 
O'Brien vault in Trinity Cemtery, Erie, Pa. He died Sept. 14, 1881. Mr. 
Flynn was prominent in politics in his time and served as select councilman 
five terms. He was a Democrat and a member of the Catholic Church. 
His wife, who was born at Lockport, Erie County, Pa., Oct. 21, 1839, 
died Dec. 12, 1918. She was the daughter of James and Anna (Barrett) 
Walsh. To Mr. and Mrs. Flynn, who were married May 5, 1874, four 
children were born: Dr. Theobald M. M., the subject of this sketch; 
Thomas W., an actor, lives in New York City; James Patrick, a tobacco 
grower, lives in Spain; and Rev. John J., a priest, located in Brooklyn, 
N. Y. 

After his graduation from Central High School, Erie, in 1893, Theo- 
bald M. M. Flynn entered the employ of the Scott Coal Company, where 
he remained 13 years. In 1911 he received his degree from the University 
of Pennsylvania as Doctor of Medicine. His interne work was done at 
the Philadelphia Lying In Hospital and he was also an interne at Chil- 
dren's Sea Shore House, Atlantic City, and St. Joseph's Hospital in that 
city. He spent several months doing sanitary survey work for the United 
States Public Health Service at Wilmington, Del., and in 1914 came to 
Erie. Doctor Flynn specializes in pelvic surgery and obstetrics and has 




l)Ii. TilEOlJALD JI. M. FLVXX. 



History of Erie County 977 

taken post graduate work in Brooklyn, Boston, New York City and Chi- 
cago. He has been a member of Hamot Hospital staff for four years and 
a member of St. Vincent's Hospital staff for 10 years. He is a Fellow 
of the American College of Surgeons, a Fellow of the American Medical 
Association, a member of the American Association for the Advance of 
Science, a member of the Clinical Society of Erie, and he also belongs to 
the Erie General Dispensary staff. Doctor Flynn is a skilled physician 
and surgeon and has an extensive practice. 

On March 24, 1913, Doctor Flynn was united in marriage with Miss 
Clara E. Welsh, of Erie, born Feb. 1, 1888, and the daughter of John and 
Ellen Welsh, of Ireland. They have three children: T. M. M., Jr., born 
Nov. 26, 1914; John T., Born Nov. 18, 1917; and Patricia Claire, born 
May 21, 1919. 

Dr. Charles B. Kibler, a physician and surgeon of Corry, Pa., is well 
known throughout the community both as a successful man in his pro- 
fession and as an excellent citizen. He was born in Bucyrus, Ohio, and 
is a son of Fred and Eva (Hechtman) Kibler. 

Fred Kibler came to this country from Germany when he was 12 
years of age and located in Erie. He later removed to Bucyrus, Ohio, 
where he became a well known merchant. His wife was also a native of 
Germany. Mr. and Mrs. Kibler, deceased, were the parents of 12 children. 

Charles B. Kibler was graduated with honors from the Medical De- 
partment of the University of Buffalo in 1870, and soon afterwards lo- 
cated in Corry, where he later founded the Corry City Hospital. He 
served as a member of the board of education for 20 years, and as its 
president for 11 years. He was sent as a delegate by the Amei'ican 
Medical Association to the International Medical Congress in Berlin in 
1890, afterward spending some time in the hospitals of London, Paris, 
Berlin, Dresden, Munich and Vienna. For a number of years Dr. Kibler 
was president of the Association of Erie Railway Surgeons, and belongs 
to the County, State and American Medical Associations, the New York 
Medical Legal Society, the British Medical and the National Association 
of Railway Surgeons. Dr. Kibler performed the fortieth operation for 
appendicitis in America. 

On Oct. 26, 1871, Dr. Kibler was united in marriage with Miss Kittie 
L. Palmer, the daughter of Dr. J. M. Palmer of Corry. Mrs. Kibler is 
deceased. To Dr. and Mrs. Kibler were born three children: Bertha C- 
(62) 



978 History of Erie County 

who died in 1917; Florence Eva, married Joseph J. Desmond, banker, of 
Corry; and Dr. John C, who is associated in practice with his father. 

Dr. Kibler is a RepubUcan, a member of the Presbyterian Church and 
belongs to the Masonic lodge and Shrine, as well as the Rotary club and 
the Elks lodge. He is a capable, energetic and public spirited man, one 
whose life means much to his community. 

Charles E. Danielson, president of the Corry Box & Lumber Com- 
pany, is a highly esteemed and well known business man of Erie County. 
He was born in Warren County, Pa., June 16, 1872, and is the son of 
Louis Danielson. 

Louis Danielson settled in Warren County, Pa., in 1860. He im^ 
proved a large tract of land and became a successful farmer. He was a 
Republican and a member of the Swedish Lutheran Church. Mr. Daniel- 
son died in February, 1917. His widow resides at Chandler Valley, Pa. 
They were the parents of the following children: Charles E., the subject 
of this sketch ; Theodore, deceased ; Sophia, lives at Warren, Pa. ; Alma, 
lives at Warren; Josie, married John Torson, lives at Warren; Arthur, 
a farmer, lives in Warren County; and Bennett, lives on the old home- 
stead. 

Charles E. Danielson attended the schools of his native town and in 
1916 came to Erie County and located at Corry. He has always been 
interested in the lumber business and in 1921 organized a company of 
which he is now president. The Corry Box & Lumber Company handles 
building materials of all kinds and does a large volume of business in 
the county. 

On Jan. 17, 1904, Mr. Danielson was united in marriage with Miss 
Georgia Rexley, a native of Pennsylvania. They have no children. 

Mr. Danielson is a Republican, and he and his wife are well known 
in Erie County. 

Clyde F. Brown, manager of the Corry Bridge & Supply Company, 
ranks among the substantial citizens of his community. He was born in 
Concord Township, Erie County, July 31, 1870, and is the son of Lorenzo 
and Othelia (Patterson) Brown. 

Lorenzo Brown, deceased, was a native of Pennsylvania. He fol- 
lowed farming and stock raising during his life and met with success. 
Mr. Brown was a Republican and served as road commissioner and school 



History of Erie County 979 

director. He was a member of the Methodist Church. He died in Jan- 
uary, 1914, and his wife died in May, 1912. They were the parents of 
five children, as follows: Earl, lives at Corry; Clyde F., the subject of 
this sketch Bessie, married Louis Kirsh, lives at Corry; Bertha D., the 
widow of Ira McCray, lives at Corry; and Lata, died in infancy. 

Clyde F. Brown was reared on his father's farm and attended the 
district schools of Concord Township. He began life as a traveling sales- 
man and in 1909 was appointed manager of the Corry Bridge & Supply 
Company. This company builds highway bridges and handles road build- 
ing machinery. 

On Aug. 23, 1894, Mr. Brown was married to Miss Ora G. Young, who 
was born in Concord Township, April 1, 1874, and the daughter of Wil- 
liam and Hannah (Heath) Young, both deceased. Mr. Young was a 
Civil War veteran and a leading farmer of Concord Township. There 
were six children in the Young family: Mella, Alton, Robert, Walter, and 
Belle, all deceased ; and Mrs. Brown. To Mr. and Mrs. Brown two children 
were born: Harold L., born May 31, 1896; and Ralph W., born in 1900, 
died in 1916. 

Harold L. Brown is a veteran of the World War, having served over- 
seas for two years in the aviation service. He was married to Miss Flor- 
ence Slatterly of Bradford, Pa., and they have two children, Robert and 
Joan. Mr. Brown is employed by the Corry Bridge & Supply Company 
as a salesman. 

Clyde F. Brown is a Republican, a member of the Methodist Church 
and belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He is well known 
throughout Erie County, where he has always been esteemed as a man 
of progress, industry and initiative. 

James P. Mead, a well known business man of Corry, who conducts 
the Corry Steam Boiler Works, was born in Corry, Oct. 19, 1873, and 
is the son of Michael and Bridget (Martin) Mead. 

Michael Mead, deceased, was a native of Ireland and a pioneer of this 
section. In 1899 he organized the business now conducted by his son. 
Mr. Mead was a Democrat and a member of the Catholic Church. He 
died in 1914 and his widow, who was born in Philadelphia, now resides 
in Corry. Mr. and Mrs. Mead were the parents of the following children: 
Elizabeth, lives with her mother; James P., the subject of this sketch; 
Mary, married A. McCabe, a merchant of Erie; Anna, married John 



980 History of Erie County 

Graham, lives at Oil City, Pa.; Margaret, married Edward York, lives 
at Oil City, Pa.; Theresa, married Arthur Runser, lives in Erie; Thomas, 
engaged in business with his brother, James P.; and Florence, at home. 

James P. Mead attended the schools of Corry and when a young man 
entered his father's employ. At the latter's death he became manager 
of the business, which he has since conducted. The Corry Steam Boiler 
Works ranks among the city's well known enterprises and Mr. Mead 
is known as an enterprising and progressive citizen. 

On Oct. 20, 1915, Mr. Mead was united in marriage with Miss Catherine 
Conway, a native of Union City, Pa., and the daughter of Patrick and 
Mary (O'Brien) Conway, natives of Ireland and early settlers of Union 
City. Mr. Conway was a well known hardware merchant of that section 
and died in 1904. His wife died in 1918. To Mr. and Mrs. Mead have 
been born four children: Mary, James, Thomas and John, all at home. 

Mr. Mead and his family hold membership in the Catholic Church 
and he is identified with the Knights of Columbus. Their home is at 216 
East Wayne Street. 

Dr. Harrison A. Curtis, a successful and well known dentist of Corry, 
was born in Warren County, Pa., Oct. 25, 1882, and is the son of Nelson 
P. and Tirzah (Thompson) Curtis. 

Nelson P. Curtis was a veteran of the Civil War and a prominent 
citizen of Warren County. He was a pioneer building contractor of that 
county and served during the Civil War with Company H, 10th Pennsyl- 
vania Reserves. Mr. Curtis was a Republican, a member of the Grand 
Army of the Republic and belonged to the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows. He died in July, 1923, and his wife died in December, 1922. 
They were the parents of seven children, as follows: Cora, deceased; 
Anna, married I. C. Miller, lives in North Warren, Pa. ; Frank, lives re- 
tired at Jamestown, N. Y. ; Clyde, a building contractor, lives at Lake- 
wood, N. Y. ; Dr. Harrison A., the subject of this sketch; Amanda, de- 
ceased ; and Mabel, married Dr. G. E. Bennett, deceased. 

Dr. Harrison A. Curtis attended the public schools of Warren County 
and in 1909 completed his course at the University of Pittsburgh. He 
then practiced his profession at Columbus, Pa., and in 1910 located in 
Corry, where he has established a splendid practice. 

On June 1, 1904, Dr. Curtis was married to Miss Grace E. Bennett, of 
Warren, Pa., and a daughter of G. W. and Ellen (Brownell) Bennett. Mr. 



History of Erie County 981 

Bennett died in 1919 and his wife resides at Warren, Pa. They had four 
children: Dr. G. E., lives at Corry; Mrs. Curtis; Mildred, the widow of 
Dr. J. M. Hodges, lives at Corry; and Nellie, married Herman Bur- 
lingame, connected with the U. S. Radiator Company at Corry. To Dr. 
and Mrs. Curtis have been born three children: George Nelson, born in 
1910, and Harrison Everett, born in 1918. One child died in infancy. 

Dr. Curtis is a Republican, a member of the Presbyterian Church 
and belongs to the Masonic lodge and the Elks. 

Wilbur E. Wilson, agent for the Pennsylvania Gas Company at Corry, 
is one of the well known and successful business men of Erie County. 
He was born at Wrightsville, Pa., Feb. 8, 1875, and is the son of Robert 
and Sarah Jane (Lopus) Wilson. 

Robert Wilson was born at Pittsfield, Pa., and was a pioneer lumber 
man of Corry, where he settled many years ago. He died in January, 
1906, and his wife died in March, 1907. Mr. and Mrs. Wilson were the 
parents of five children: Izra, died in infancy; Ella, died Feb. 1, 1921, 
aged 65 years, was the wife of L. C. Dalrymple ; Mary, lives in Erie ; Fred 
DeForest, died Aug. 16, 1902, aged 29 years; and Wilbur E., the subject 
of this sketch. 

Wilbur E. Wilson received his education in the Corry schools and 
began life as a drug clerk. He was employed in the N. F. Ames & Co. 
store for one year, the R. C. Lindsey store for three years and then was 
connected with the Corry Chair Company for two years, was with Corry 
Artesian Mineral Water Company three years, and the Ajax Iron Works 
for four years. He then became connected with the Prudential Insur- 
ance Company in 1904 and one year later, in 1905, he entered the employ 
of the Pennsylvania Gas Company as a bookkeeper. Since 1913 he has 
served as local agent. 

On Sept. 17, 1906, Mr. Wilson was united in marriage with Miss Marie 
Amelia Dunn, who was born at Sheakleyville, Pa., July 25, 1879, and the 
daughter of Socrates Adam and Sarah (Richardson) Dunn, natives of 
Pennsylvania, now deceased. Mr. Dunn was a farmer in early life and 
later became a road contractor and was engaged in business with his 
sons, Wm. J. and Frank B. He died in June, 1899, and his wife died in 
January, 1889. Mr. and Mrs. Dunn were the parents of eight children, 
as follows: William J., deceased, was the builder of the main sewer in 
Corry, having begun the work in 1891 and it was completed in 1895; 



982 History of Erie County 

George, deceased; Laura, married Charles Ray, both deceased; Hettie M., 
died at the age of 29 years; Charles P., lives at Sharon, Pa.; Frank B., 
president of the Dunn Lug Brick Company of Conneaut, Ohio, and pres- 
ident of the Northeastern Oil and Gas Company at Conneaut; Mrs. Wil- 
son; and Sarah Elizabeth, who died at the age of 20 years. Before her 
marriage Mrs. Wilson was a trained nurse, having graduated from Roch- 
ester Hospital, Beaver County, Pa. To Wilbur E. and Marie Amelia 
(Dunn) Wilson two children have been born: Sarah E., born Dec. 17, 
1907; and Frank DeForest, born March 28, 1910, was drowned in Corry 
reservoir Sept. 11, 1920. 

Mr. Wilson and his family hold membership in the Methodist Episco- 
pal Church and he belongs to the Modern Woodmen of America. He has 
always taken a commendable interest in public affairs and community 
welfare and has a wide acquaintance in Erie County. 

Miss Marion Skidmore, librarian in the Corry public library, ranks 
among Erie County's prominent women. She is a native of Chautauqua 
County, N. Y., and a daughter of Henry and Martha (Eaton) Skidmore. 

Henry Skidmore was born in Chautauqua County, N. Y., and in 1868 
rem,oved to Corry where he served as freight agent for the Erie railroad 
for a number of years. He was a member of the Presbyterian Church 
and belonged to the Masonic lodge. Mr. and Mrs. Skidmore are deceased. 
They were the parents of four children: Lillian, married Frank T. Bab- 
bitt, a druggist, hves in Erie; Marion, the subject of this sketch; Thomas 
J., and Edwin, both deceased. 

Marion Skidmore received her education in the Corry public schools. 
She has many friends and the Skidmore family is one of the prominent 
pioneer families of Erie County. 

George W. Patterson, who is successfully engaged in the insurance 
business at Corry, is a native of Missouri. He was born at Grandby, 
June 21, 1874, and is the son of Robert A. and Amelia (Bradley) Patter- 
son. 

Robert A. Patterson was a native of Scotland and his wife was born 
in England. When he was 12 years old he cani,e to America and lived 
in Buffalo, N. Y., for a number of years. He was a pioneer in the oil 
fields of Pennsylvania and spent the last 30 years of his life in Corry. 
He retired in 1909 and is now deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. Patterson eight 



History of Erie County 983 

children were born, as follows: Robert A., engaged in the real estate 
business at Corry; Charles H., lives at Corry; Clara, died at the age of 
20 years; George W., the subject of this sketch; James A., lives at Corry; 
Rev. Albert, lives at Miami, Fla. ; Edith, married Howard J. Whitley, 
lives at Asbury Park, N. J.; and LeRoy, deceased. 

George W. Patterson grew up in Corry and attended the public schools 
there. He began life as a grocery clerk and later served as local express 
agent for four years. Since 1920 he has been interested in the insurance 
business and has met with marked success. 

On July 16, 1904, Mr. Patterson was united in marriage with Miss 
Katherine Miller, a native of Pennsylvania, born July 10, 1874, and the 
daughter of George P. and Elizabeth (Windsor) Miller, natives of Penn- 
sylvania. Mr. Miller was a Civil War veteran and died in 1906. His 
wife lives with the Patterson family. To Mr. and Mrs. Miller the follow- 
ing children were born : Blanch, married Harry Alexander, both deceased ; 
Miranda, teaches school in Chicago ; Mrs. Patterson ; and Richard W., 
deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Patterson have one daughter, Katherine G., born 
Sept. 8, 1911. 

In politics Mr. Patterson is identified with the Republican party and 
he and his family hold membership in the Methodist Episcopal Church. 
He is known throughout the community as an upright and reliable citizen. 

John A. Lanston, of Corry, is esteemed throughout the community 
as a prominent and successful business man. He was born in Corry, 
Oct. 17, 1885, and is the son of Arthur and Elizabeth (Hegrich) Lanston. 

Arthur Lanston settled in Corry in 1884, where he has become a well 
known ai'tist. He and his wife now live retired there. They are the par- 
ents of three children: John A., the subject of this sketch; Pearl, married 
Charles Edward Haskell, lives at Scranton, Pa. ; and Edna, married Harry 
Davis, United States Narcotic Agent, lives at Philadelphia. 

John A. Lanston was educated in the public schools of Corry and in 
1909 engaged in the interior decorating business. He established his 
present business in 1919. He has an attractive shop at 34 North Center 
Street, where he deals in interior furnishings. Mr. Lanston has the con- 
tract for the interior decorating of the new CoiTy Hotel. 

On June 25, 1913, Mr. Lanston was married to Miss Lottie May Rhoades, 
who was born at French Creek, N. Y., Aug. 27, 1883, the daughter of 
James and Emma (Coe) Rhoades, both deceased. Mr. Rhoades was a 



984 History of Erie County 

Civil War veteran. There were three children in the Rhoades family: 
Frank, lives in Minneapolis, Minn. ; Dana, a farmer, lives at French Creek, 
N. Y. ; and Mrs. Lanston. To Mr. and Mrs. Lanston have been born two 
children: Elizabeth, born April 26, 1914; and Ruth, born May 5, 1915. 

Mr. Lanston is a Democrat, a member of the Lutheran church and 
belongs to the Masonic and Elks lodges. 

Dr. Elmer Hess, a leader among the younger and most progressive 
physicians and surgeons of Erie, is a veteran of the World War. He was 
born at Millville, N. J., May 31, 1889, and is the son of Frederick and 
Mary (Theise) Hess. 

Doctor Hess studied medicine at the University of Pennsylvania, from 
which he received his degree in 1911. He then was appointed a medical 
officer in the United States Indian Service and was located in an Indian 
reservation for one year. Since 1912 he has practiced his profession in 
Erie, where he located at 11th and Peach Streets. In 1914 he removed 
to his present location at 501 Commerce Building. During the years 
1914-15 he did post graduate work in the University of Pennsylvania, 
where he specialized in the study of urology. 

During the World War Doctor Hess volunteered his services and 
was commissioned a first lieutenant at Fort Oglethorpe, where he re- 
mained until September, 1917, when he was sent overseas with the 2nd 
American Division. He participated in all the engagements of this divi- 
sion, including Verdun, Chateau Thierry, Pont-a-Mouson Sector, Soissons, 
St. Mihiel, Champagne, Argonne, and was a member of the American 
Army of Occupation in Germany from December, 1918, until March, 1919. 
He was commissioned a captain of the medical corps on Nov. 14, 1918, and 
was discharged from service at Camp Dix, April 1, 1919. His regi- 
ment as well as himself was permitted to wear the Croix de Guerre as a 
member of the 15 F. A., by order of the French Government No. 165 "F". 
He has received three personal citations from the American Government 
and an individual Croix de Guerre, order 13354, General Headquarters of 
the French army of the East. Doctor Hess resumed his practice in Erie 
in May, 1919. 

In 1921 Dr. Hess was elected a fellow of the American College of 
Surgeons and the same year was elected a member of the American Uro- 
logical Association. He is urologist of St. Vincent's Hospital, the Erie 
Infants' Home, and the Erie General Dispensary. The year 1924 was 




DR. ELMER HESS 



History of Erie County 985 

spent in Europe, where Doctor Hess did post graduate work in leading 
hospitals. He is a member of the Erie County Medical Society, the State 
Medical Society, and a member of the American Medical Association, 
medical chief of the Erie Boys Club, as well as a director. He 
has been appointed a member of the Penn Governing Committee of the 
Gorgas Memorial Institute. He is a member of Rogers Israel Post, 
American Legion, Erie, Pa. He was the first commander and delegate 
to the National Convention held in 1919 at St. Louis, Mo. He is also an 
honorary member of Paris Post No. 1, American Legion, Paris, France, 
and the Girard Post, Girard, Pa., and La Societe des 40 Hommes et 8 
Chevaux of Erie and is past grand chief. 

On June 24, 1908, Doctor Hess was united in marriage with Miss 
Edna G. Africa, the daughter of Samuel and Celeste Africa, natives of 
Cumberland, Md. They have two daughters, Remle Hess, born in 1913, 
and Hope Hess, born in 1918. 

Doctor Hess was the Republican nominee for mayor of Erie in 1919, 
but was defeated at the general election. He is a senior warden of the 
Trinity Memorial Episcopal Church of Erie and belongs to the University 
and Erie and Rotary Clubs. Doctor Hess has an extensive practice and 
is favorably known throughout the community. 

Carlton W. Smith, manager of the Brownell Shoe Company at Corry, 
is among the well known and substantial citizens of Erie County. He was 
born at New Castle, Pa., July 3, 1890, and is the son of Henry C. and 
EUmear (Pyle) Smith. 

Henry C. Smith, deceased, was a veteran of the Civil War. He was 
born in Lawrence County, Pa., June 29, 1844. He was a farmer during his 
life and met with success. In 1862 he enlisted with Company H, 134th 
Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry., and the following year was discharged, 
but re-enlisted and served with Company B, 100th Pennsylvania Volun- 
teer Infantry. He was discharged July 24, 1865, after having taken part 
in many of the hardest fought battles of the war. Mr. Smith was a Re- 
publican and a member of the Methodist Church. His father, H. D. 
Smith, also served throughout the Civil War. On April 6, 1882, Henry 
C. Smith was married to Miss Ellmear Pyle, who was born at New Castle, 
Pa., March 30, 1849, the daughter of Isaac N. Pyle, who served as a cap- 
tain during the Civil War with Company H, 100th Pennsylvania Volun- 
teers. To Mr. and Mrs. Smith one child was born, Carlton W., the subject 



986 History of Erie County 

of this sketch. By a second marriage Mrs. Smith had three children: 
Jessie Minton, engaged in the lumber business at New Castle, Pa. ; Lenora, 
the widow of Sheridan Anderson, lives at Sharon, Pa.; and Phoebe 
Amanda, the widow of Orin C. Stimple, lives at New Castle, Pa. 

Carlton W. Smith was educated in the schools of New Castle, and also 
attended New Castle Business College. He then engaged in farming for 
a short time, after which he entered the employ of the American Sheet 
& Tin Plate Company, where he remained several years. He was later 
connected with the Driggs Seabury Corporation for three years, and in 
1910, became connected with the Brownell Shoe Company, at Sharon, 
Pa. Two years later Mr. Smith was transferred to Corry to manage the 
local store. 

On Nov. 26, 1913, Mr. Smith was united in marriage with Miss Alice 
May Sliney, who was born at Titusville, Pa., April 14, 1884. They have one 
daughter, Ellmear, born Nov. 8, 1919. 

Mr. Smith is a Republican, a member of the Episcopal church and is 
a 32d degree Mason. 

W. Ed Marsh, of Corry, is one of the widely known and successful at- 
torneys of Erie County. He was born in Farmington Township, Warren 
County, Pa., Jan. 15, 1851, and is the son of William S. and Rosaville 
(Knapp) Marsh. 

William S. Marsh was a native of Warren County, Pa. He improved 
150 acres of land in Farmington Township and was one of the leading 
farmers and stockmen of that section. He was a Republican and h.eld 
many county and township offices. He died Sept. 2, 1902, and his wife, 
who was born in Boston, died in 1911. They were the parents of four 
children: W. Ed., the subject of this sketch; Sherman, deceased; Fred 
S., a druggist, lives at Jamestown, N. Y. ; and Carrie A., deceased. 

W. Ed Marsh received his education in the public schools of Warren 
County and was graduated from Jamestown College Institute. He began 
the practice of his profession at Corry in 1879 where he has since been 
located. He served as mayor of Corry in 1888 and as city attorney for 
two years. He was also police justice for six years. 

On Oct. 1, 1874, Mr. Marsh was married to Miss Mary S. Brown, a 
native of Warren County, born Oct. 20, 1854. She died July 9, 1889. On 
Oct. 1, 1890, Mr. Marsh was married to Miss Pearl E. Hoffman, who was 
born at Corry, May 11, 1869, the daughter of Philip and Mary (Wells) 



History of Erie County 987 

Hoffman. Mr. Hoffman was a Civil War veteran and died Jan. 1, 1900. 
His wife resides with the Marsh family. Mrs. Marsh was their only 
child. To W. Ed and Pearl E. (Hoffman) Marsh two children were born: 
W. Lloyd, born Jan. 25, 1895; and Barrett H., born Sept. 27, 1902. 

W. Lloyd Marsh was a graduate of Chamberlain Military Institute 
and during the World War served as a captain in Company A, 16th Penn- 
sylvania Regiment. He died while in service on March 1, 1921, and is 
buried in Pine Grove cemetery, Corry. 

Barrett H. Marsh is engaged in the electrical business and resides 
in Corry. He was married to Miss Maxine Yarling and they have one 
child, Alice Joan, born Sept. 30, 1924. 

W. Ed Marsh is a staunch Republican, a member of the Universalist 
Church, and past grand master of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 
He is a reliable and efficient citizen of the community and has the esteem 
of his fellow citizens. 

M. Agnes Cameron, who owns and conducts an art shoppe at Corry, is 
among the highly esteemed and widely known women of Erie County. She 
was born in New York, June 17, 1862, and is a daughter of Maxwell and 
Permelia (Simons) Camei'on. 

Maxwell Cameron was born at Hornell, N. Y., May 6, 1832, the son 
of Dugald and Anne (Taylor) Cameron. Dugald Cameron was born at 
Edinboro, Scotland, and came to America in 1818, locating at Hornell, 
N. Y., where he became an extensive land owner. He died in 1867 and 
his wife died the previous year. He was a member of the Presbyterian 
church and donated the ground on which the church now stands at Hor- 
nell. To Dugald and Anne (Taylor) Cameron, the following children 
were born: Dugald, James, Charles, Irwin, Lydia, married Hiram Hagge- 
dorn, Elizabeth, married Ev Chadwick, Maxwell, and Jane, all of whom 
are deceased. 

Maxwell Cameron came to Pennsylvania in 1864 and located at Corry 
where he entered the employ of the Atlantic & Great Western Railroad. 
He was a Democrat and served as justice of the peace and tax collector. 
He died May 26, 1907, and his wife died May 21, 1917. On Aug. 20, 
1855, Mr. Cameron was married to Miss Permelia Simons, who was born 
in New York, Aug. 10, 1838, the daughter of Charles and Jane (Commons) 
Simons, the former a native of Connecticut and the latter of England. 
Mr. Simons served as a captain throughout the Civil War and died in 



988 History of Erie County 

1867. His wife died in 1890. They were the parents of the following 
children: Mrs. Maxwell Cameron, Mary, George, Matilda, married Isaac 
Dey, Mattie, William and Charles, all deceased. 

To Maxwell and Permelia (Simons) Cameron the following children 
were born : Dugald, born May 17, 1857, died Sept. 5, 1862 ; M. Agnes, the 
subject of this sketch; and Jennie, born July 14, 1871, married Fred 
Hoenes, wholesale and retail confectioner, lives at Corry. 

M. Agnes Cameron was reared and educated in Corry and has been en- 
gaged in business there since 1894. 

Miss Cameron is identified with the Democratic party in politics and is 
a member of the Episcopal church. 

Vere E. Phillips is a veteran of the World War and a prominent young 
business man of Corry. He was born at Lockport, N. Y., Feb. 1, 1893, 
and is the son of Frank and Jennie (Le Gro) Phillips. 

Frank Phillips, who now lives retired at Lockport, N. Y., is a pioneer 
miller of that place. He is a Democrat, a member of the Presbyterian 
church and belongs to the Masonic lodge. His wife died June 7, 1914, 
and is buried at Lockport. There were three children in the Phillips fam- 
ily: Howard, deceased; Dr. Ralph, a dentist, lives in Detroit, Mich.; and 
V. E., the subject of this sketch. 

V. E. Phillips received his education at Lockport and learned the jew- 
elry business there also. In 1914 he was graduated from the Philadelphia 
College of Horology, and spent the next two years following his profes- 
sion in South Carolina. In 1921 Mr. Phillips came to Corry where he 
purchased the jewelry business of James H. Wright. This is one of Corry's 
oldest business houses and Mr. Phillips has a well established trade. He 
carries a high grade line of jewelry, clocks, silverware, etc. 

On June 7, 1917, Mr. Phillips enlisted in the World War from James- 
town, N. Y., and served with Company C, 302nd Field Signal Battalion. 
He was in service until July, 1919, and engaged in many important battles 
of the war, including Chateau Thierry and the Argonne. 

On Oct. 28, 1915, Mr. Phillips was united in marriage with Miss Elesha 
Metcalf, who was born at Lockport, N. Y., April 7, 1893. They have no 
children. 

Politically Mr. Phillips is a Republican. He is a member of the Presby- 
terian church and belongs to the Masonic lodge. He is a public spirited 
and progressive young man and has many friends and acquaintances. 



History of Erie County 989 

David A. Hillstrom, who is connected with the Corry-Janiestown Manu- 
facturing Corporation as secretary and general manager, is among the 
prominent and successful business men of Erie County. He was born in 
Sweden, Feb. 3, 1877. 

Mr. Hillstrom received his education in his native land and also attend- 
ed technical schools in this country, having come here in 1900. He settled 
in Chicago but seven years later removed to Jamestown, N. Y., where he 
becam(e manager of the Jamestown and Watson Mfg. Company. In De- 
cember, 1920, Mr. Hillstrom organized the Corry-Jamestown Manufac- 
turing Corporation. The Company also has offices in Chicago and New 
York and representatives throughout the United States as well as in 
Europe. The officers of the Company are: 0. R. Hillstrom, president; 
Charles A. Anderson, vice-president; H. H. Keppel, treasurer, and David 
A. Hillstrom, secretary and general manager. 

The Corry-Jamestown Manufacturing Corporation manufactures steel 
office furniture, filing cases, etc. They also specialize in built to order 
steel furniture of every description. An addition to the factory, costing 
$125,000, is now under construction. 

On June 23, 1909, Mr. Hillstrom was married to Miss Clara Swanlund, 
a native of Princeton, 111. They have three children: Armour, born at 
Jamestown, N. Y., in 1916; Clare, born at Corry, in 1920; and Mary 
Helene, born at Corry in 1922. 

In politics Mr. Hillstrom is identified with the Republican party. He 
is president of the Chamber of Commerce, a member of the school board 
and the local hospital board. Mr. Hillstrom belongs to St. Paul's Lutheran 
Church and is among the leading and representative citizens of his com- 
munity. 

Frank L. Weeks, a well known and highly esteemed business man of 
Corry, is a native of Ohio. He was born at Painesville, Oct. 21, 1857, 
and is a son of Seth and Debra (Blydenburg) Weeks. 

Seth Weeks was a native of Long Island and at an early date removed 
to Painesville, Ohio. In 1866 he located at Corry where he spent the re- 
mainder of his life. Mr. Weeks served throughout the Civil War with 
the 105th Ohio Volunteer Infantry. He was a Republican, a member of 
the Grand Army of the Republic and belonged to the Universalist church. 
To Mr. and Mrs. Weeks the following children were born: William, de- 
ceased; Dr. John E., an eye, ear and throat specialist, lives in New York 



990 History of Erie County 

city; Frank L., the subject of this sketch; C. E., lives retired at Corry; 
Albert, deceased; Harry L., deceased; and Mary Debra, the widow of 
Chapin Paddock. 

Frank L. Weeks grew up in Corry and attended the schools there. 
When a boy of eleven years he began learning the painter's trade and 
since 1889 has owned a shop at Corry. Mr. Weeks is a decorating and 
painting contractor and during his long period of service in Corry has 
established a fine business. 

On Jan. 16, 1874, Mr. Weeks was married to Miss Elizabeth Cook, a 
native of Panama, N. Y., and the daughter of Ebenezer Cook, who was 
a prominent citizen and politician of that section of New York. To Mr. 
and Mrs. Weeks were born four children, as follows: Minnie, married 
Frank Bogart, insurance, Warren, Pa. ; Hazel D., at home ; Dr. Webb W., 
who practices his profession in New York city, mention of whom is made 
below; and Margaret, married Richard G. Dawson, wholesale grocer, lives 
at Erie. Mr. and Mrs. Weeks have six grand-children. 

Dr. Webb W. Weeks is a veteran of the World War. He enlisted at 
Bellevue, N. Y., as a first lieutenant, and served throughout the war in 
the mjedical corps. He spent 14 months in France and at the time of his 
discharge had received the rank of major. 

Mr. Weeks is a Republican, a member of the Presbyterian church and 
belongs to the Masonic and Elks lodges. He is known for his integrity 
and his family is among the representative citizens of Erie County. 

Milton Spaulding is a progressive young business man of Erie County. 
He is the authorized Ford dealer of Corry. He was born at Keetsville, 
Pa., June 17, 1894, and is the son of Ira and Caroline (Campbell) Spauld- 
ing. 

Ira Spaulding, who now lives retired at Ashtabula, Ohio, is a native 
of Albion, Pa. He was employed by the Pennsylvania Railroad as a car- 
penter for many years. He is a Democrat, a member of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church and belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 
His wife died Aug. 1, 1921. Mr. and Mrs. Spaulding were the parents 
of the following children: Rex, died at the age of 11 years; Milton, the 
subject of this sketch; Cecil, lives at Hubbard, Ohio; and Sherman, at 
home. 

Milton Spaulding received his education in the public schools of Ashta- 
bula and began life as a railroader, being in the employ of the Bessemer 



History of Erie County 991 

Railroad for six years. Since August, 1920, lie has had the Ford agency 
at Corry. He has an attractive salesroom and one of the up to date gar- 
ages of the community. He handles accessories and does general repair 
work. There is also a gasoline and oil service station in connection with 
the business. 

On Nov. 11, 1918, Mr. Spaulding was married to Miss Mabel Forbes, 
a native of Albion, Pa., born May 8, 1899, and a daughter of C. R. and 
Olive (Randall) Forbes, residents of Albion, and the parents of the fol- 
lowing children: Jay, was killed in a railroad accident; Ray, mention of 
whom is made below; and Mrs. Spaulding. To Mr. and Mrs. Spaulding 
one child has been born, Lillian, born Aug. 1, 1920. 

Ray Forbes met a tragic death on Aug. 17, 1920, while driving a Ford- 
son tractor. At the time of his death he had the Ford agency at Corry, 
which is now operated by Mr. Spaulding. Mr. Forbes was a World War 
veteran, having served overseas as a first sergeant. 

Mr. Spaulding is a Republican, and a member of the Methodist Epis- 
copal church. 

Thomas Jensen, a substantial business man of Corry, is a native of 
Denmark, born Nov. 26, 1850, and the son of Jonas and Jane (Bestid) 
Jensen, natives of Denmark and both now deceased. There were two chil- 
dren in the Jensen family: Thomas, the subject of this sketch; and Jonas, 
deceased. 

Thomjas Jensen was reared and educated in his native land and in 1881 
came to America. He located at Corry, where he received employment 
in a tannery. Later he was a stone cutter and worked on the erection 
of the local Presbyterian church. Mr. Jensen has been engaged at his 
present work as building contractor since 1899. He has erected a number 
of residences in Corry and is well known throughout the county. 

On Nov. 6, 1874, Mr. Jensen was united in marriage with Miss Dorothy 
Worm, a native of Denmark, born March 4, 1854, and the daughter of 
Henry Worm, a pioneer settler of Corry, where he died in 1909. There 
were five children in the Worm family, as follows: John B., lives at 
Hamilton, Ohio; Mrs. Jensen; Hanna, died in 1922; Jacob, lives in Den- 
mark and is engaged in the creamery business; and Charlotte, married 
Jonas Jensen, deceased, and later married M. Robertson, lives at Warren, 
Pa. To Thomas and Dorothy (Worm) Jensen nine children have been 
born, as follows: Henry, born in Denmark, lives at Erie; Theodore, born 



992 History of Erie County 

in Denmark, has lived in Florida since 1915; John, born at Corry, civil 
engineer, lives at Bridgeport, Conn.; Joseph, lives at Jamestown, N. Y. ; 
Hanna, married Rev. W. Montgomery, lives in Syracuse, N. Y. ; Lena, 
married Marshall Merrick, lives at Erie; and the other three children are 
deceased. On Nov. 6, 1924, Mr. and Mrs. Jensen celebrated their golden 
wedding anniversary. They have 13 grandchildren and one great grand- 
child. The Jensen home is located at 322 East Street. 

Mr. Jensen is a Republican and a member of the Christian Alliance 
Church, of which he is a deacon, chairmjan of the board of trustees and 
treasurer. He is an energetic man who stands well in the esteem of his 
many friends and acquaintances. 

A. M. Thomas, who is successfully engaged in the milling business 
at Westminster, is a member of one of Erie County's oldest families. He 
was born in Mill Creek Township, Erie County, Nov. 7, 1858, and is the 
son of Christian and Nancy (Miller) Thomas. 

Christian Thomas was born in Lancaster County, Pa., in 1817, the 
the son of Christian Thomas, who brought his family to Mill Creek Town- 
ship in 1833. They settled on a farm of 200 acres, which was owned by 
the Thomas heirs until 1914, when they sold the place. Christian 
Thomas, father of the subject of this sketch, learned the wheel wright 
trade, making spinning wheels" for flax and wool and sold them to the 
early settlers. He later engaged in the inilling business and in his last 
active years was a miller. Mr. Thomas died in 1896 and his wife died in 
1886. She was also a native of Lancaster County, Pa., and settled in Erie 
County with her parents in 1827. To Mr. and Mrs. Thomas were born 
four children: Sarah Ann, deceased; Mary Jane, deceased; L. C, lives 
in Louisiana; and A. M., the subject of this sketch. 

A. M. Thomas was reared and educated in Mill Creek Township and 
began life as a farmer. In 1914 he purchased the mill from the Pure 
Food Canning Company, which he operated until 1920. He then was 
appointed manager of the Girard Canning Company of Girard, Pa., and 
two years later returned to his farm. In 1923 Mr. Thomas again pur- 
chased the mill from P. M. Nelson. He deals in flour, feed, coal and 
cement, and does a large volume of business throughout the county. 

On Jan. 1, 1880, Mr. Thomas was married to Miss Katie L. Schu- 
macker, Fairview, Pa., the daughter of John and Catherine (Gornfloe) 
Schumacker, both deceased. Mr, and Mrs. Thomas have a son. Burton 




A. M. THdilAt 



History of Erie County 993 

E., who is engaged in the milling business with his father. He was mar- 
ried to Miss Nettie Mae Bi-own, of Mill Creek Township, and they have 
three children, Ethel Mae, Jeanette, and Amos Richard. 

Mr. Thomas is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church of 
Asbury, Pa., and he has served as Sunday School superintendent for 16 
years. He is a progressive and enterprising citizen and the Thomas 
family are representative people of Erie County. 

Oliver Casler, retired, is a veteran of the Civil War and a highly es- 
teemed citizen of Erie County. He was born at Sherman, N. Y., July 10, 
1845, and is the son of Abraham and Maria (Clute) Casler. 

Abraham Casler was born in Montgomery County, N. Y., July 16, 1800, 
and in 1833 removed to Sherman, where he improved 125 acres of land 
and became a successful farmer and stockman. He died Feb. 21, 1852; 
his wife was born in 1804 and died Oct. 28, 1894. They were the parents 
of the following children : Ellen, married Robert Wallace, deceased ; Abra- 
ham, deceased; Matilda, married Henry Bowen, who was killed during 
the Civil War, and she is deceased; Robert, deceased; Peter, a Civil War 
veteran, now lives retired at Sherman, N. Y. ; John, a Civil War veteran, 
died in 1902, in Michigan; Jacob, a Civil War veteran, deceased; Oliver, 
the subject of this sketch; and Rachel, married Francis Ellis, both de- 
ceased. 

Oliver Casler received his education in a log school house at Waite's 
Corners, near Sherman, N. Y. At the age of 16 years he was employed 
as a farm hand and earned four dollars per month. When he was 18 years 
of age, Mr. Casler enlisted at Cleveland, Ohio, in the 124th Ohio Volunteer 
Infantry and 16 days after his enlistment took part in the battle of 
Chickamauga, in which he was wounded. He later took part in the battle 
of Missionary Ridge, and many other important battles and skirmishes 
of the war. He was discharged at Nashville, Tenn., in 1865. Mr. Casler 
then went to Warren County, Pa., where he operated a saw mill. He later 
engaged in farming and stock raising and became an extensive grain 
farmer. In 1918 he removed to Corry where he now resides. 

On June 10, 1866, Mr. Casler was united in marriage with Miss Emma 
Carrier, a native of Warren County, Pa., born April 18, 1848, and a daugh- 
ter of George and Julia (Carley) Carrier, who were the parents of the 
following children: Burton; Ella, the widow of George Morrison, lives at 
Waterf ord, Pa. ; Eva, deceased ; Byron, hves in Erie County ; and Mrs. 
(63) 



994 History of Erie County 

Casler. To Oliver and Emma (Carrier) Casler were born five children, 
as follows: George Abraham, died in infancy; William H., born Feb. 18, 

1869, a building contractor, lives in Corry; Rachael May, born Dec. 26, 

1870, married Charles De Jens, and she died in 1921 ; Mira, born May 24, 
1875, married Frank Swartz, lives in Warren County, Pa. ; and Leona, 
born March 1, 1883, married Jay Richerson, grocer, lives at Corry. Mr. 
Casler has seven grandchildren and four great grandchildren. 

In politics Mr. Casler is identified with the Republican party. He is 
a member of the Grand Army of the Republis. This post was organized 
July 1, 1867, and has never missed holding a regular meeting and the last 
meeting was the 3001st. 

Charles L. Mather, now living retired at Corry, is one of the oldest 
pioneer citizens of Erie County. He was born in Chatauqua County, N. Y., 
Sept. 2, 1831, and is the son of Francis W. and Mary (Tillottson) Mather. 

Francis W. Mather was a native of New London, Conn., and the son 
of Nathaniel Mather, who served throughout the Revolutionary War. At 
an early age Francis W. Mather removed to Chatauqua County, N. Y., 
where he engaged in general farming and stock raising. He was also a 
carpenter and built several saw mills in that county. He died Dec. 29, 
1870, and his wife, a native of Chenango County, N. Y., died Feb. 18, 1894. 
Mr. and Mrs. Mather had three children: Nathaniel Oliver, deceased; 
Charles L., the subject of this sketch ; and George A., lives retired on the 
old homestead in Chatauqua County. 

Charles L. Mather attended school in a log school house and when a 
boy learned the carpenter's trade with his father. He later became a 
railroad carpenter in the employ of the Pennsylvania Railroad and in 1848 
removed to Pennsylvania, locating at Crossingville, Crawford County. In 
1861 he removed to Corry and in 1876 to Oil City, Pa. However, in 1879 
he returned to Corry and has since resided at 332 West Washington 
Street. 

On March 29, 1857, Mr. Mather was united in marriage with Catherine 
Nash of Crossingville, Pa., born Sept. 3, 1835, and the daughter of Michael 
and Mary (Callahan) Nash, natives of Ireland and early settlers of Penn- 
sylvania. Mrs. Mather died Sept. 5, 1906, and is buried in St. Eliza- 
beth's cemetery, Corry. To Mr. and Mrs. Mather the following children 
were born : Margaret Maria, lives in Chicago, where she is assistant super- 
intendent of the Scanlon schools ; Eleanor, the widow of R. F. Livermore, 



History of Erie County 995 

lives in Corry; Una, married C. F. Cronin, lives in Chicago, and they have 
a son, C. F. Cronin, Jr. ; and M. Lena, a school teacher, resides in Corry 
with her father. 

Mr. Mather is a staunch Republican and has been a member of the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows since he was 21 years old. He is well 
known and highly respected throughout the community, where he has 
spent so many years. 

Jacob Franz, retired, has for many years been a prominent and suc- 
cessful business man of Corry. He was born in Germany, Oct. 16, 1840, 
and is the son of Casper and Barbara (Alberstadt) Franz. 

Casper Franz was born in Germany in 1811 and died in 1843. His 
wife was born in Germany, Sept. 7, 1813, and died in 1890. They were 
the parents of three children: Fred, lives in Erie; Jacob, the subject of 
this sketch; and Catherine, the widow of James Carney, lives in Erie. 

Jacob Franz came to America from his native land in 1852 and located 
in Erie, where he worked at his trade of cabinet maker. Nov. 12, 1862, 
he located at Corry where he engaged in the undertaking and -furniture 
business. He is one of Erie County's pioneer furniture dealers and was 
actively engaged in business until 1911. The Franz Furniture Company 
is now conducted by his sons. 

On Oct. 11, 1870, Mr. Franz was united in marriage with Miss Theresa 
Barron, a native of Erie County, born March 16, 1851, and the daughter 
of Valentine and Margaret (Hepburn) Barron, natives of Germany, who 
settled in Erie County in 1835. There were seven children in the Barron 
family as follows : Jane, married William Pepper, both deceased ; Anthony, 
deceased; Peter Jacob, lives retired at Fairview, Pa.; Thomas; Mrs. Franz; 
Margaret, the widow of Edward McLaughlin; and William, lives at Mc- 
Kane, Pa. To Jacob and Theresa (Barron) Franz were born four chil- 
dren, as follows: Jennie Margaret, born Oct. 24, 1871, married Joseph 
Speisman, lives at Corry; Casper Frederick, born Jan. 17, 1874, engaged 
in the furniture business at Corry; Leo T., born May 4, 1882, has been 
employed in the postofRce at Corry for 22 years; and Leonard H., born 
June 9, 1887, also engaged in the furniture business at Corry. Mr. and 
Mrs. Franz have nine grandchildren. 

Mr. Franz is a Democrat and served as a member of the council for 
nine years. He and his family hold membership in the Catholic church 
and are well and favorably known in Erie County. 



996 History of Erie County 

Guy S. Riley ranks among the enterprising and successful business 
men of Corry, where he is engaged in the electrical business. He was 
born at Springville, N. Y., in 1885, and is the son of William and Jennie 
(Sherman) Riley. 

William, Riley was a native of Pennsylvania and an early settler of 
Cleveland. Mr. and Mrs. Riley, deceased, were the parents of the fol- 
lowing children: Guy S., the subject of this sketch; Clinton and Lawrence, 
who were reared in a Cleveland orphanage and later adopted by families 
in that city. Mr. Riley has been searching for these brothers for a 
number of years, but thus far has been unable to locate them. A sister, 
Hazel, died in infancy. 

Guy S. Riley received his education in Buffalo, N. Y., and when a boy 
manifested great interest in electrical work. He followed this trade in 
Albany and Buffalo for several years and in May, 1924, located at Corry, 
where he and his wife conduct an up-to-date electrical store. They 
handle radios and supplies and Mr. Riley does general electrical work. 
The business is known as Riley & Riley and is located on Center Street. 

In 1918 Mr. Riley was married to Miss Gladys lona Mumford, a native 
of New York, born Dec. 6, 1901, and the daughter of Otto and Martha 
(Kepphardt) Mumford. Mr. Mumford lives in Buffalo. His wife died in 
1904. They were the parents of two children : Mrs. Riley ; and Norma who 
lives in Buffalo. To Mr. and Mrs. Riley have been born three children: 
Guy S., Jr., born May 9, 1919; Dorothy, born in 1921; and Clinton L., 
born in 1924. 

In politics Mr. Riley is identified with the Republican party. He and 
his wife stand high in the community and already have a wide circle of 
friends. 

Walter H. Merrick, who has the agency for the Studebaker Corpora- 
tion at Corry, is among Erie County's most substantial and enterprising 
citizens. He was born at Shamburg, Pa., April 23, 1877, and is the son of 
Austin W. and Mary (Haynes) Merrick. 

Austin W. Merrick, deceased, was a Civil War veteran, having served 
with the 111th Pennsylvania V. I., and was a prominent citizen of Corry, 
Pa. He was born in Pleasantville, Pa., and for a number of years was a 
well-known oil operator in that section. After removing to Shamburg, 
he served as postmaster for a number of years. He was a life-long Repub- 
lican and a member of the G. A. R. He died March 11, 1916. His wife 



History of Erie County 997 

died March 8, 1909. Mr. and Mrs. Merrick had five children; Grace, de- 
ceased; Walter H., the subject of this sketch; Nellie A., and Elizabeth, 
both at home ; and Marshall R., living at Erie. 

Walter H. Merrick attended the public schools of Corry and when a 
young man engaged in the milling business with his father, later pur- 
chasing the business. In 1912 he became the local distributor for the 
Studebaker line. He has an up-to-date salesroom and a modern, well 
equipped garage, in connection with carrying a complete line of automo- 
bile accessories, and renders exclusive service to Studebaker owners, far 
and near. 

August 24, 1911, Mr. Merrick was united in marriage with Miss Helen 
E. Spiesm;an, a native of Corry, born on Jan. 18, 1888, the daughter of 
Joseph and Catherine (Kneib) Spiesman; the former a native of Germany, 
and the latter of Erie. 

Mr. and Mrs. Merrick have three children; Helen Grace, born May 
20, 1913; John A., born May 3, 1916; and William R. Born June 3, 1919. 

Mr. Merrick is a Republican; a member of the Episcopal church, be- 
longs to the Masonic Lodge; the Chamber of Commerce; Kiwanis Club; 
and other local organizations. 

George NoUanger, who now lives retired at Corry, is among the inter- 
esting pioneers of Erie County. He was born in France, Sept. 29, 1829, 
and is the son of David and Mary (Higley) Nollanger. 

David Nollanger was a native of France and an early settler of New 
York. He removed to Corry at an early date, but later lived at Warren, 
Pa., where he died. There were three children in the Nollanger family: 
George, the subject of this sketch; Joseph and Anthony, both deceased. 

George Nollanger came to America on June 11, 1852, and ten years 
later came to Corry, where he established the first barber shop. His shop 
was located on the present site of the Citizens National Bank and was 
among the first business places of the town. Mr. Nollanger retired from 
business in 1899, and has since lived retired. Among his well known 
customers of the early days he remembers P. T. Barnum, the famous 
circus man. The first man that Mr. Nollanger shaved in Erie County was 
James Patterson, in a saloon. 

On Oct. 24, 1865, Mr. Nollanger was united in marriage with Miss 
Mary Burres, who was born in Switzerland, Feb. 18, 1841, and the daugh- 
ter of Ewing and Mary Burres, early settlers of Geneva, N. Y. There 



998 History of Erie County 

were three children in their family: Elizabeth, died in 1921; Mrs. Nol- 
langer; and Ida, deceased. To George and Mary (Burres) Nollanger eight 
children were born, as follows: Valentine, lives at Corry; Ida, married 
Charles Henryetta, lives at Meadville, Pa.; Joseph, Hves in Chicago; 
Elouise, lives at Westfield, Pa.; Anna, deceased; George, engaged in the 
wallpaper business at Erie; Leo, Hves at Franklin, Pa.; and Arthur, de- 
ceased. Mr. and Mrs. Nollanger have five grandchildren. 

Mr. Nollanger is a staunch Democrat and a member of St. Elizabeth's 
Catholic Church. He is a citizen who holds the high regard of the entire 
community. 

Emmett M. Putman is a well known and highly esteemed citizen of 
Erie County. He is engaged in the milling business at Corry. Mr. Put- 
m»^n was born in Warren, Pa., Sept. 17, 1850, and is a son of Valentine 
and Martha (Mackres) Putman. 

Valentine Putman was a native of Boston, Mass., and the son of Edson 
Putman, who was among the first settlers of Pennsylvania. Valentine 
Putman engaged in dairy farming during his life and moved to Corry at 
the time it was settled. His wife was a native of Vermont. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Putman the following children were born: Emmett M., the subject 
of this sketch ; Edson and Albert, both deceased ; Alice, married Charles 
Ripley, and they are both deceased; Winifred, the widow of Albert John- 
son, lives at Spring Creek, Pa. ; Grant, deceased ; and Willianx, lives at 
Jamestown, N. Y. 

Emmett M. Putman received his education in a log school house and 
began life as a teacher at Corry, after having attended Chamberlain In- 
stitute at Randolph, N. Y. After four years he became associated with 
a local milling concern, owned by Aaron W. Francis. In 1896 he pur- 
chased a half interest in the mill and ten years later became sole owner. 
Mr. Putman is one of the leading millers of this section and ships his 
products all over the country. He has been interested in this business 
for 53 years. 

On Feb. 17, 1874, Mr. Putman was united in marriage with Miss Lucina 
Pierce, a native of North East, Pa., born Aug. 13, 1847, and the daughter 
of Arnold Y. and Wealthy (Austin) Pierce, the former a native of Con- 
necticut and the latter of Canada. To Mr. and Mrs. Pierce the follow- 
ing children were born: Delphine, married John Higgins, deceased, and 
she resides at North East, Pa. ; Byron, a Civil War volunteer, who was 



History of Erie County 999 

killed dui'ing the battle of Fredericksburg; Sylvador, deceased, was a 
Civil War veteran; Mrs. Putman; and Ephriam, deceased. To Emmett 
M. and Lucina (Pierce) Putman one daughter was born, Cora, born Nov. 
30, 1878, was married on June 20, 1904, to William Parker, who is en- 
gaged in the milling business at Columbus, Pa. They have two children: 
Esther, born in 1909; and Emmett, born in 1913. 

Mr. Putman is a Republican, a member of the Methodist church and 
belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He has always been 
an energetic man who stands well in the esteem of his neighbors and fel- 
low citizens. 

Ellis E. Harvey, a well known business man of Corry and substantial 
citizen of Erie County, is a native of Pennsylvania. He was born in Wayne 
Township, Erie County, March 10, 1884, and is the son of Edward James 
and Emma (Fitch) Harvey. 

Edward James Harvey, a leading agriculturist of Wayne Township, is 
the son of James H. Harvey, who came to this country from England 
and settled here during the early days. Mr. Harvey owns and operates 
150 acres of land on the state road in Wayne Township, and is an ex- 
tensive grain farmer and stockman. He is a member of the Christian 
church and has served as Sunday School superintendent for a number of 
years. To Mr. and Mrs. Harvey were born eight children, as follows: 
Grace, married E. P. Waltz, lives in Wayne Township; Gertrude J., mar- 
ried Alton Crosscut, lives in Wheelock Township; Ellis E., the subject of 
this sketch; Frank, a teacher, lives in Wayne Township; Iva, married 
Merrill Waters, lives at Clymer, N. Y. ; Paul, lives at Wheelock, Pa. ; Flor- 
ence, married Hobart Herline; and Carlisle, a veteran of the World War, 
connected with the Metropolitan Life Insurance Company, at Toledo, Ohio. 

Ellis E. Harvey attended the schools of Wayne Township, and when a 
young man became associated with H. W. Parmalee, cement contractor, 
of Corry. In 1904 he purchased the business, which he has since con- 
ducted in a successful manner. 

On Dec. 25, 1905, Mr. Harvey was married to Miss Anna Spencer, 
a native of Crawford County, Pa., born Oct. 10, 1888, and the daughter 
of E. 0. and Electa (Miller) Spencer, residents of Wayne Township, and 
the parents of the following children: Alton C, lives in California; May, 
married Marshall Miller, lives at Spartansburg, Pa.; LaVerne, lives at 
Seattle, Wash. ; Lulu, at home ; Edith, married George Conright, lives at 



1000 History of Erie County 

Corry; Mrs. Harvey; Lillian, married Ray Holley, lives at Corry; and 
LeRoy, lives at Rochester, N. Y. To Mr. and Mrs. Harvey have been born 
two children: Edward, born May 7, 1907, and Max H., born April 20, 1912. 
Politically Mr. Harvey is a Republican. He is a member of the Chris- 
tian Missionary Alliance Church, of which he is trustee and treasurer. 

Morris Schaffner, of Schaffner Brothers Company, proprietors of the 
largest meat packing house in northwestern Pennsylvania, is among Erie's 
representative and successful business men. He was born at Hessen, Ger- 
many, Nov. 28, 1866, and is the son of Henry and Regina (Sedel) Schaff- 
ner. The father, who was a butcher died in the old country in 1893 at 
the age of 56 years, and in 1898 the mother came to Erie to reside, where 
she died in 1912. 

In 1881, as a boy of 14 years, Morris Schaifner came to this country 
alone, joined some friends in Cleveland, and two years later opened a small 
butcher shop. In 1884 his brother Jacob emigrated to the United States 
and the two became associated in Cleveland under the name of Schaffner 
Brothers. In January, 1887, they moved their business to Erie, opening 
a retail and wholesale store at 1327 Peach Street. In 1888 they com- 
menced to devote themselves exclusively to the wholesale trade, and in 
1906 they purchased an entire block on East 15th Street, breaking ground 
for the erection of the great plant which they now occupy. The most 
approved methods of artificial refrigeration are in use, the cellars and 
coolers giving ample assurance that all meat products will be handled 
with every safeguard as to cleanliness and general sanitary conditions. A 
large trade is also done in manufactured meat. In 1906 the business was 
incorporated and the present officers are as follows: Morris Schaffner, 
president; Jacob Schaffner, vice president; Milton Schaffner, treasurer; 
and Henry G. Schaffner, secretary. 

Mr. Schaffner is also extensively interested in farming and stock 
raising, the Schaffners being among the largest land owners in Erie 
County. "Conneaut Valley Farm," located in Conneaut Township, Erie 
County, has a national reputation, having produced some of the best 
Shorthorn cattle in America. Morris Schaffner is a member of the Ameri- 
can Shorthorn Breeders Association of Chicago, 111. He has made many 
exhibits of his cattle at fairs winning prizes wherever shown. 

On Nov. 28, 1886, Mr. Schaffner was married to Miss Carrie Schuster 
of Buffalo, and they have three children: Milton, treasurer of the com- 




MORRIS SCHAFPNER 



History of Erie County 1001 

pany; Alfred, also engaged in the business with his father; and Minnie 
married Martin D. Levi. 

Mr. Schaffner is a Democrat, a member of the West Eighth Street 
Temple, of which he served as president for 17 years, and he is identified 
with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the Erie Maennerchor, Erie 
Yacht Club and the Chamber of Commerce. He served as president of 
the B'nai B'rith and is a member of the Grange Lodge of Conneaut Town- 
ship. At one time Mr. Schaffner served as fire commissioner of Erie. 

E. A. Kelsey, who lives retired at Corry, is a prominent pioneer citi- 
zen of Erie County. He was born in Cattaraugus County, N. Y., Sept. 
26, 1838, the son of Erastus Darwin and Debra (Ackley) Kelsey. 

Erastus Darwin Kelsey was a native of Herkimer County, N. Y., as 
was also his wife. He was a successful farmer and also engaged in the 
lumber business. Mr. and Mrs. Kelsey, deceased, had six children : Maroa, 
died in 1916; Daphoramy, deceased; Saphronia, deceased; E. A., the sub- 
ject of this sketch; Orinda, first married Herman Dye, deceased, and later 
married William Wheat, and they live retired in Los Angeles, Cal. ; and 
Loverna, deceased. 

E. A. Kelsey was reared and educated in New York state and in May, 
1861 came to Corry where he entered the employ of the A. & G. W. Rail- 
road, now the Erie Railroad. He began as a telegraph lineman and re- 
mained in the service with this company for 38 years, 22 years of which 
he was in complete charge of the company's telegraph lines between Sala- 
manca and Dayton, Ohio. With Charles Sweetman he holds the distinc- 
tion of being the oldest employe of the company now living. Mr. Sweet- 
man was an engineer for 59 years, running between Titusville and Corry. 
Mr. Kelsey helped clear away the timber on the railroad right of way be- 
tween Corry and Union City. After retiring from railroad service, Mr. 
Kelsey was in the employ of the Bell Telephone Company for 17 years. 
He was located in Erie for a number of years as chief lineman and gen- 
eral inspector of the telephone company. Mr. Kelsey lives at 601 South 
Center Street. 

In 1862 Mr. Kelsey was married to Miss Rachael Hurst, who was born 
at Leavittsburg, Ohio, in 1838. To them was born a son, Charles Ells- 
worth Kelsey, born Jan. 8, 1863, died Aug. 18, 1922, leaving a widow, Stella 
Burr Kelsey, who lives in Kane, Pa. Mr. Kelsey's first wife died Jan. 
5, 1866. He was married Sept. 12, 1882, to Alice Beacon Anderson, a 



1002 History of Erie County 

native of Ripley, N. Y., born May 22, 1847. They have an adopted daugh- 
ter, Mabel Adele, who married Claud D. Messenger, and they live in Corry. 
Mr. Kelsey is a Republican and has held many township and county 
offices. He is a member of the Methodist church and is well and favorably 
known throughout Erie County. 

Jchn A. Farnham, retired, is a veteran of the Civil War and an honored 
pioneer citizen of Erie County. He was born in Wayne Township, Sept. 
22, 1841, and is the son of Walter and Rhoda (Turner) Farnham. 

Walter Farnham was born in Connecticut and came to Pennsylvania 
at the close of the War of 1812, in which he had served. He was a gradu- 
ate of Yale University, and taught school for a number of years, later 
engaging in farming. Mr. and Mrs. Farnham had 14 children, as follows: 
Olive, married Hugh Wilson, both deceased ; Cordelia, married Manning 
Fuller, both deceased ; Eliza, married Thomas Spinks, both deceased ; Chloe 
and Mary, deceased ; Rhoda, married Josiah Jackson, both deceased ; Sallie, 
the widow of Henderson Kelly, lives at Chandler's Valley, Pa.; George, 
died in infancy; John A., the subject of this sketch, Jane, married George 
Thompson, both deceased ; Cynthia, deceased ; Ellen, married William 
Loell, lives at Ripley, N. Y. ; Laura, the widow of David Ray, lives in 
Chautauqua County, N. Y. ; and Charles, deceased. 

John A. Farnham was reared and educated in Chautauqua County, N. 
Y., and at the outbreak of the Civil War enlisted in Company F, 154th 
New York Volunteer Infantry. He engaged in many important battles 
and skirmishes during the war and was wounded during the battle of Get- 
tysburg. Following the close of the war Mr. Farnham located at Corry, 
where he became a well known building contractor. 

On April 30, 1866, Mr. Farnham was married at Champaign, 111., to 
Miss Louise Hall, a native of Vermont, and to this union two children 
were born: Nellie, lives in Corry; and George, also a resident of Corry. 
Mrs. Farnham died March 17, 1886, and is buried in Pine Grove cemetery, 
Corry. On Aug. 14, 1889, Mr. Farnham was married to Mrs. Sarah (Par- 
ker) Dunham, a native of Erie County, born Dec. 12, 1842, and the daugh- 
ter of Dean and Mary (Shaddock) Parker, the former a native of Vermont 
and the latter of Pennsylvania. Mr. and Mrs. Parker were the parents 
of the following children : Henry, deceased ; Mrs. Farnham ; Jonas, lives 
retired in Erie County ; Frank, lives at Summit, Pa. ; Mary, deceased ; 
Major, lives retired at Summit, Pa. ; Eva, married Eugene Hill, lives at 



History of Erie County 1003 

Erie; and James, deceased. By her first marriage Mrs. Farnham had 
three children: Delia, born Jan. 17, 1874, married on Sept. 3, 1893 to 
Hanford Duke, lives at Corry; Jessie, born March 30, 1875, died Aug. 18, 
1913 ; and Grace, born Oct. 27, 1877, died in infancy. 

Mr. Farnham is a Republican and served as a member of the city 
council for several years. He is a member of the Baptist Church, and 
belongs to the Grand Army of the Republic and the Masonic lodge. He 
and his family are highly esteemed in the community. 

Henry F. King, who lives retired at Corry, was for many years a 
leading manufacturer of Erie County. He was born at Wattsburg, Pa., 
Dec. 25, 1837, and is the son of Hollis and Sally (Babcock) King. 

Hollis King was born near Quebec, Canada, in 1811, and at an early 
date removed to Pennsylvania where he engaged in the mercantile busi- 
ness at Columbus. He also owned 450 acres of land near Corry. He also 
owned a large portion of the land upon which the city of Corry is located. 
He was a Republican, a member of the Presbyterian Church and belonged 
to the Masonic lodge and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He 
served as justice of the peace at Corry in 1865, and also associate judge 
of Erie County for a number of years. He died Dec. 18, 1891. His wife 
died Dec. 25th of the same year. To Mr. and Mrs. King were born five 
children: Henry F., the subject of this sketch; Ezra L., a Civil War 
veteran, deceased; G. Oscar, also a Civil War veteran, now deceased; 
John J., was killed while in service during the Civil War in 1864; and 
Bertha, the widow of Gaylord Bly, lives at Ashville, N. Y. 

Henry F. King received his education in the district schools of Colum- 
bus, Warren County, Pa., where he spent his boyhood. He began life 
as a photographer at Columbus, Pa., and was later located at Union City, 
Wattsburg, and Pittsfield, Pa. He came to Corry in 1861 and established 
a machine shop. The business was known as King-Schafer & Company. 
Mr. King's father was associated in business with him for a number of 
years, until his death, and at that time Mr. King became sole owner of 
the business, which became known as the Corry Novelty Works. Mr. 
King retired from active business in 1916. He is the inventor of the King 
portable engine. As an honor from the state he was awarded a medal 
for his invention. 

In 1876 Mr. King was united in marriage with Mrs. Delilah (Robin- 
son) Reynolds, the widow of J. B. Reynolds. By her former marriage 



1004 History of Erie County 

she had two children, Guy Reynolds, who resides in California, and Min- 
nie, deceased. Mrs. King died in March, 1877, and on Feb. 18, 1883, Mr. 
King was married to Miss Frances Braman, a native of Chautauqua 
County, N. Y., born in 1846, and a daughter of Paul and Cynthia (Bent- 
ley) Braman, who were the parents of the following children: Rinaldo, 
deceased; Adley, married Daniel Parkhurst, both deceased; Martha, re- 
sides at Corry; Paul J., lives in Chautauqua County, N. Y. ; and Mrs. 
King. 

In politics Mr. King is identified with the Republican party. He is a 
substantial citizen, esteemed throughout his community for his upright- 
ness of character. 

Stephen J. Downs, the well known and eflScient postmaster of Union 
City, is a native of that place. He was born April 9, 1877, and is the son 
of Stephen and Anna (O'Callahan) DoWns. 

Stephen Downs came to this country from Ireland during the early days 
and located first in Iowa, but later removed to Pennsylvania. He was 
among the first settlers of Union City where he became a substantial 
citizen. He was a staunch Democrat and a member of the Catholic 
Church. Mr. Downs died in 1904 and his wife died July 10, 1919. They 
were the parents of the following children: Andrew, a cigar manufac- 
turer, lives in Wisconsin ; Julia, died at the age of 22 years ; Michael, lives 
at Union City; Mary P., married T. J. Watson, lives at Conneaut, Ohio; 
Elizabeth, the widow of M. J. Hanlon; Rev. John C, deceased; Stephen J., 
the subject of this sketch ; and Anna M., who died Feb. 27, 1925, and is 
buried at Union City, Pa. 

Stephen J. Downs was educated in the parochial schools of Union 
City and attended business college at Meadville, Pa. He began his busi- 
ness career as a woodworker here and later became cashier and account- 
ant for the Standard Chair Company of Union City, in which capacity he 
served for ten years. In 1916 Mr. Downs received his appointment as 
postmaster under President Wilson and was reappointed under President 
Harding's administration. 

On Nov. 18, 1922, Mr. Downs was united in marriage with Miss Mar- 
garet Maud Kennedy, a native of Cleveland, and a daughter of Patrick J. 
and Mary (Burke) Kennedy, natives of Ireland. Mr. Kennedy is de- 
ceased and his wife resides in Union City. They were the parents of 
the following children: Mary, married James Haney, lives at Montclair, 



History of Erie County 1005 

N. J. ; Mrs. Downs ; Grace, married George Schrecht, lives in Cleveland ; 
John, a student; and William, J. 

Mr. Downs is a Democrat, a member of the Catholic Church and 
belongs to the Knights of Columbus. He is a progressive citizen and 
well liked throughout his community. 

Miss Katherine M. Stone, of Corry, ranks among the representative 
and well known women of Erie County. She was born in this county and 
is the daughter of Jeremiah and Catherine Jane (Potter) Stone. 

Jeremiah Stone was a native of New York State as was also his wife. 
At an early date he removed to Pennsylvania and settled at Corry where 
he engaged in the grocery business with his brother, Nathaniel, later 
dealing in vehicles, farm implements, etc. Mr. Stone died June 13, 1914, 
and his wife died Feb. 8, 1908. They were the parents of four children, 
as follows: Milton D., deceased, was the husband of Minnie B. Elderkin, 
and they had one son, Robert Edward, who resides at Spokane, Wash. ; 
Watson, deceased, was the husband of Adelaide Williams, and they had 
one son, Paul Williams, who is engaged in the jewelry business in Corry; 
Herbert Potter, married Ethel L. Halliday, who passed away on March 
29, 1925, leaving three children, Katherine Halliday, Mary Lawrence and 
Herbert Potter, Jr., who resides in Warren, Pa., with their parents; and 
Katherine M., the subject of this sketch. 

Miss Katherine M. Stone was reared and educated in Corry, graduat- 
ing from the Corry High School and for a number of years served as 
Court Stenographer in Chautauqua County, N. Y., under Judges Fisher 
and Ottaway. During the World War she served as secretary of the 
local Red Cross. After serving as First Reader of the Christian Science 
Church for three years, she was appointed clerk of the church here, in 
which she is an active worker. Miss Stone is also interested in club work 
and has a wide circle of friends in the community. She resides at 
218 East Smith Street. 

David S. Rowe, retired, was for 52 years connected with the Erie Rail- 
road as ticket agent at Corry. He was born at Columbus, Warren County, 
Pa., March 29, 1843, the son of Henry and Helen (Smith) Rowe. 

Henry Rowe was born in Ulster County, N. Y., March 29, 1806, and 
his wife was born in Chenango County, N. Y., June 3, 1807. They were 
among the early settlers of Warren County where Mr. Rowe improved a 



1006 History of Erie County 

large tract of land and engaged in general farming. He died April 8, 
1872, and his wife died April 16, 1879. They were the parents of the 
following children: William, born July 19, 1830, died April 22, 1860; Fran- 
cis A., born April 29, 1833, a Civil War veteran, lives at Conneaut ; James, 
born in 1836, died at the age of three years; and David S., the subject 
of this sketch. 

D. S. Rowe was educated in a log school house in Warren County, and 
attende'd Edinboro Normal School, being one of the first students enrolled 
at that institution. In 1865 he entered the employ of the Erie Railroad 
as local ticket agent, which position he filled continuously until 1917. 

On Dec. 12, 1867, Mr. Rowe was married to Miss Emily R. Gilson, 
a native of Canada, N. Y., born Dec. If, 1840, and a daughter of Eben 
and Esther (Lytle) Gilson, natives of Chatauqua County, N. Y., and the 
parents of the following children : Mrs. Rowe ; Marion, Cassius, Rosamond, 
all deceased ; W. L., lives at Bradford, Pa. ; E. P., lives at Corry ; and Jack- 
son, deceased. 

To D. S. and Emily R. (Gilson) Rowe were born three children: Wil- 
liam D., born July 27, 1876, lives at Corry; Rodney H., born Dec. 11, 1881, 
lives at Corry; and H. Langdon, born Feb. 29, 1884, lives at Corry. Mr. 
and Mrs. Rowe have three grandchildren, Helen, David S., and Dorothy 
Rowe. 

In politics Mr. Rowe is identified with the Democratic party, and he is 
affiliated with the Masonic lodge. He is a public spirited citizen and holds 
the high regard of all who know him. 

Noah P. Kilburn, who lives retired at Corry, is a highly respected 
pioneer citizen of Erie County. He was born in St. Lawrence County, 
N. Y., Oct. 28, 1828, and is a son of John M. and Hannah (Cook) Kilburn, 
both natives of New York. 

There were ten children in the Kilburn family as follows: Mercy, 
deceased; N. P., the subject of this sketch; Rastus, a Civil War veteran, 
lives retired at Perrysburg, N. Y. ; Alvin, a Civil War veteran, lives re- 
tired at Salamanca, N. Y. ; Washington H., a Civil War veteran, deceased; 
Marvin, who died in 1921 ; Theva, Sarah, and Orilla, all deceased ; and one 
child died in infancy. 

When N. P. Kilburn was young his parents moved to Cattaraugus 
County, N. Y., where he received his early education. When quite young 
he became an apprentice to the jeweler's trade at Gowanda, N. Y., and 



History of Erie County 1007 

in the fall of 1856 engaged in business for himself at Forrestville, N. Y. 
Four years later he removed to Randolph and in August, 1862, came to 
Corry and engaged in business, being the first jeweler in the town. In 
1874 Mr. Kilburn sold his business and went on the road as a traveling 
salesman in the sewing machine, needle and oil line for six years, during 
which time he traveled in nearly every state in the union. He later re- 
turned to Corry where he again engaged in the jewelry business. 

In 1846 Mr. Kilburn was united in marriage with Miss Rebecca Nich- 
ols, a native of Cattaraugus County, N. Y. She died in 1862 leaving one 
child, Ellen, deceased. Mr. Kilburn was later married to Miss Susan 
Owens, of Corry. To them were born two children: George P., lives at 
Akron, Ohio; and Jennie, who married Frank McVaugh, lives at Oil City, 
Pa. Mrs. Kilburn died in August, 1905. 

Mr. Kilburn is a member of the Baptist Church and belongs to the 
Masonic lodge and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He is a Re- 
publican. 

Dr. Henry L. Stem, who has practiced his profession at Union City 
for the past 33 years, is among the capable physicians and surgeons of 
Erie County. He was born at Waterford, Pa., Oct. 5, 1869, and is the 
son of Lewis and Elizabeth (Rice) Stem. 

Lewis Stem was among the earliest settlers of Erie County, having come 
from his native home at Easton, Pa. He was a blacksmith by trade and 
in 1865 was proprietor of the Eagle Hotel at Waterford, "which he con- 
ducted for a number of years. He died in 1900 and is buried at Kent, 
Ohio. His wife died when Henry L., the subject of this sketch, was but 
a few days old. Another son, Andrew C, resides at Kent, Ohio. 

Dr. Henry L. Stem was reared by his grandparents, Mr. and Mrs. 
Henry Rice. He was graduated from Waterford Academy in 1888 and 
in the fall of 1889 began the study of medicine in the Homeopathic Medical 
College at Cleveland, Ohio. In the fall and winter of 1890-91 he attended 
the Hahnneman Medical College, Chicago, returning to the Cleveland Med- 
ical College in the fall of 1891. He was graduated from that institution 
with honor in the spring of 1892 and in April of that year located at Union 
City, where he has established an excellent practice. 

On Oct. 5, 1889, Dr. Stem was united in marriage with Miss Ada B. 
Cheney, a native of Jamestown, N. Y., and to this union two children were 
born: James C, who was graduated from Oberlin College in 1922, now 



1008 History of Erie County 

engaged in the insurance business at LeRoy, Ohio; and Elizabeth, born 
Dec. 23, 1905, a student at Ohio Wesleyan University. Mrs. Stem died 
May 9, 1916, and is buried in Evergreen cemetery. On Feb. 5, 1918, Dr. 
Stem was married to Miss Lana M. Wilson, a native of Union City, born 
April 6, 1880. 

Dr. Stem is a member of the Methodist-Episcopal Church, and is iden- 
tified with the Masonic lodge, the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and 
the Knights of Pythias. He is a Republican. 

Henry Althof , retired, has been prominently identified with the manu- 
facturing interests of Erie for many years. He was born at Ehringshau- 
sen, Prussia, Germany, Jan. 24, 1849, the son of Henry and Anna Margaret 
(Schmidt) Althof. 

Henry Althof, deceased, brought his family to this country many 
years ago and settled in Erie, where he engaged in the manufacture of 
iron fences, railings, stairs, gi'atings, and all kinds of iron work, the busi- 
ness being known as the Ornamental Iron Works. Mr. and Mrs. Althof 
had five children: August, Frederick W., Susan, and Ehzabeth, all de- 
ceased; and Henry, the subject of this sketch. 

Henry Althof was educated in the schools of Erie and after serving 
his apprenticeship as blacksmith and ornamental iron worker under his 
father, he was associated with him in his business until 1872, when a 
partnership was formed with J. Gorr and W. Baas, under the firm name of 
the Erie City Iron Fence & Wire Works. The business was located at 
1214 State Street and after the dissolution of the partnership in 1901, 
Mr. Althof conducted the business at 1318 Turnpike, with Mr. Baas. The 
latter retired in 1910, the business thereafter being conducted at 1821 
State Street until 1915, when Mr. Althof disposed of his business to his 
sons, who increased the business to such an extent that it was necessary 
to erect a new factory building at 121-23 East 23rd Street. It is known 
as the Henry Althof's Sons Company Wire Works. 

On May, 26, 1874, Mr. Althof was united in marriage at Erie with 
Miss Georgianna Nolte, a native of Hanover, Germany, and the daughter 
of Henry and Justina (Vollmer) Nolte, both deceased. Mr. and Mrs. 
Althof have four sons, Henry A., Edward W., Arthur L., and George T., 
proprietors of the business established by their father. Three daughters, 
Rose, Emma, and Emilie are deceased, and a son, Carl, died in infancy. 

Mr. Althof is a Republican, a member of St. John's Evangelical Luth- 
eran Church and his wife belongs to the Ladies of the Maccabees. Mr, 




HENRY ALTHOP 



History of Erie County 1009 

Althof is a substantial and well known citizen of Erie, and his family- 
stands high in the community. 

Henry August Althof, vice pi-esident of the Henry Althof's Sons 
Company, represents a family fittingly assigned a conspicuous place 
among the manufacturing agencies of .Erie. He was born in this city, 
Dec. 24, 1879, and is the son of Henry and Georgianna (Nolte) Althof, 
sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this history. There were eight 
children in the Althof family as follows: Rose Elizabeth, born March 1, 
1876; Emma Louise, born Feb. 21, 1878; Henry August, the subject of 
this sketch; Edward W., born Feb. 11, 1882; Emilie, born July 2, 1884; 
Arthur Louis, born June 30, 1886; George T., born March 22, 1889; and 
Carl, born July 8, 1891. 

Henry August Althof received his education in the public schools of 
Erie and began his business career as an errand boy for I. A. Forman & 
Brother. Since the time of his father's retirement in 1915, Mr. Althof 
has served as vice president of the business that was established by his 
father many years ago. 

On June 15, 1905, Mr. Althof was united in marriage with Miss Cath- 
erine Rose Knabel, a native of Erie, and a daughter of Anton and Caroline 
(Obble) Knabel, natives of Germany. Mr. Knabel died June 11, 1915, 
and his wife died Dec. 31, 1920. There are three children in the Althof 
family: Harold Henry, born Jan. 12, 1907; Catherine Marie, born April 
27, 1908; and Richard, born Nov. 18, 1914. 

Mr. Althof is identified with the Republican party and is a member 
of the Lutheran Church. He is an enterprising and successful business 
man and is widely known. 

Edward W. Althof, secretary and treasurer of the Henry Althof's 
Sons Company, is a well known business man of Erie. He was born in 
this city, Feb. 11, 1882, and is the son of Henry and Georgianna (Nolte) 
Althof, a complete sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this history. 

Edward W. Althof attended the public schools of Erie and was grad- 
uated from Central High School in 1913. In 1911 he entered the employ 
of the Pennsylvania Railroad Company as a messenger boy and remained 
in their service for 16 years, being assistant cashier at the time of his 
resignation. He was then employed by Jacob Haller, wholesale grocer, 
and served in the capacity of bookkeeper for one and one-half years. In 
1918 Mr. Althof purchased a fourth interest in the business established 
(64) 



1010 History of Erie County 

by his father and known as Henry Althof s Sons Company. Since its 
incorporation he has served as secretary and treasurer. 

Mr. Althof was married on Nov. 16, 1905, to Miss Emma C. Benze, 
a native of Erie and a daughter of Rev. Adolph L. and Elizabeth (Kiehl) 
Benze, natives of Germany. Reverend Benze died in 1890 and his wife 
died in 1911. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Althof have been born three sons : Edward W., Jr., 
a student at Muhlenberg College, Allentown, Pa. ; L. Frederick and Theo- 
dore H., both at home. 

Mr. Althof is a Republican and a member of St. John's Lutheran 
Church. He is a progressive business man and is well liked in Erie and 
the surrounding community. 

George T. Althoff, who ranks among the successful and leading 
manufacturers of Erie, was bom in this city, March 22, 1889, and is the 
son of Henry and Georgiana (Nolte) Althof. A complete biography of 
Henry Althof, pioneer manufacturer of Erie, appears elsewhere in this 
history. 

George T. Althof began life as an errand boy. He was educated in the 
public schools of Erie and since 1918 has owned an interest in the Henry 
Althof's Sons Company, which was established by his father many years 
ago. 

On June 24, 1914, Mr. Althof was united in marriage with Miss Net- 
tie C. Weber, a native of Erie and the daughter of Gustave A. and Rosina 
(Link) Weber, natives of West Prussia, Germany, and early settlers of 
Erie. Mr. Weber resides at 3019 Parade Street. His wife died Aug. 1, 
1891. To Mr. and Mrs. Althof a daughter has been born, Georgiana C, a 
student. 

Politically Mr. Althof is a Republican. He is a member of St. John's 
Evangelical Lutheran Church and is identified with the Keystone Lodge of 
the Masonic Order. He is well and favorably known in the community 
where he has spent his entire life. 

Dr. Ralph B. Holeman is a successful and well known dentist of Union 
City. He was born at Mill Village, in Erie County, Dec. 16, 1879, and 
is the son of Richard A. and Jennie (Skelton) Holeman. 

Richard A. Holeman was a native of Allegheny, Pa., and a son of 
Alexander Holeman, who served as a member of the Pennsylvania legis- 
lature. In 1874 Richard A. Holeman removed to Mill Village where he 



History of Erie County 1011 

engaged in the mercantile business for 40 years, being among the pioneer 
merchants of that section. He was a Republican and served as justice 
of the peace for 36 years. Mr. Holeman died Feb. 15, 1920, and is buried 
at Union City. His wife resides with her son here. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Holeman one child was born, Dr. Ralph B., the subject of this sketch. 
By a former marriage Mr. Holeman had another son, Lewis A., a civil 
engineer who resides in Baltimore. 

After attending the public and high schools of Mill Village, Dr. Hole- 
man was a student at Allegheny College for one year. He was graduated 
from the dental school of Western Reserve University in Cleveland in 
1904, and spent the next seven years practicing his profession at Mill 
Village. Since 1911 Dr. Holeman has been located in Union City where 
he has established an exceptionally fine practice. 

On June 29, 1904, Dr. Holentan was married to Miss Mabel B. Young, 
who was born at Union City, July 9, 1885, the daughter of John and 
Lulu E. (Green) Young, both deceased. There were eight children in the 
Young family, as follows: Alfred, lives in New York City; Arthur F., 
hardware merchant, lives at Union City; Bertha, married Harvey Brake- 
man, lives at Sandy Lake, Pa. ; Edward ; John, lives in California ; Mrs. 
Holeman; Rena, married Frank Turner, lives at Union City; and Fern, 
married Charles Metzger, lives at Union City. Mr. Young was a Civil 
War veteran. To Dr. and Mrs. Holeman have been born three children: 
Dorothy B., born Dec. 29, 1905, a graduate of Union City High School, 
and who will be graduated from Allegheny College in 1925; Mildred 
Jane, died in infancy; and Richard John, born Dec. 23, 1918. 

Dr. Holeman is a Republican, and a member of the Methodist Church. 
He is a public spirited and progressive citizen. 

Robert M. Buck, a well known citizen of Union City, was born at 
Watsontown, Northumberland County, Pa., Dec. 9, 1878, and is the son 
of Robert and Elizabeth (Stiler) Buck. 

Robert Buck was a native of Chester County, Pa., and an early settler 
of Watsontown. He was among the pioneer railroad men and was em- 
ployed by the Pennsylvania Railroad building a road between Williams- 
port and Harrisburg, Pa. He was a Republican, a member of the Pres- 
byterian Church and a 32nd degree Mason. He died Jan. 7, 1890, and 
his wife died May 7, 1913. Robert M., the subject of this sketch was 
their only child. By a former marriage Mr. Buck had three children: 
Emily, married Parson McKee, both deceased; Mary, the widow of Bert 



1012 History of Erie County 

Hogue, lives at Jersey Shore, Pa.; and Jennie, the widow of William R. 
Rossell, lives at Renovo, Pa. 

Robert M. Buck was reared and educated at Watsontown, Pa., and 
in 1898 entered the employ of the Pennsylvania Railroad as a telegraph 
operator. Several years later he was connected with the New York Cen- 
tral Railroad in the same capacity at Jersey Shore, Pa., but later re- 
turned to the Pennsylvania Railroad. He has been stationed in Union 
City since 1908. 

On Nov. 15, 1900, Mr. Buck was united in marriage with Miss Ros- 
anna Kamp, of Watsontown, Pa., and the daughter of John T. and Mary 
(Reynolds) Kamp, who were the parents of the following children: Kitty 
Ann, married William Wesley, lives at Tyrone, Pa.; Vern, married P. J. 
Michael, lives in Union City; Mrs. Buck; and George P., who is employed 
by the Pennsylvania Railroad. Mr. Kamp died Sept. 13, 1910, and his 
wife died March 31, 1923. Mr. and Mrs. Buck have no children. 

Mr. Buck is a Republican, a member of the Presbyterian Church, and 
belongs to the Masonic lodge and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 
He is an industrious and capable man and has the esteem of his fellow 
citizens throughout the community. 

John C. Maurer, who lives retired at Union City, is among the well 
known and honored pioneer citizens of Erie County. He was born at 
Rochester, N. Y., Dec. 27, 1834, and is the son of John and Sophia (Gross) 
Maurer. 

Early in 1834 John Maurer brought his family from Germany to the 
United States and settled at Rochester, N. Y. He was a cooper by trade 
and with his three brothers, Jacob, John and William, he engaged in the 
manufacture of barrels. He died in 18.57 and is buried in Mount Hope 
cemetery, Rochester. There were ten children in the Maurer family: 
Charles, deceased; John C, the subject of this sketch; Jacob; Sophia, 
married Gustave Kiser, both deceased; Kate, married Peter Richard, both 
deceased; Louise, the widow of Albert Bloom, lives at Rochester; Ellen, 
lives at Rochester; C. B.; and two died in infancy. 

After completing his schooling, John C. Maurer engaged in the manu- 
facturing business with his father and later entered the employ of the 
New York Central Railroad as a machinist, and was also a fireman on 
this road for several years, after which he engaged in the manufacture 
of barrels with his brother Charles in Akron, Ohio. In 1873 Mr. Maurer 



History of Erie County 1013 

removed to Erie County and settled in Union City where he was engaged 
in the same business. He is retired and lives at 50 West High Street. 

On June 24, 1860, Mr. Maurer was married to Miss Margaret Haas, 
a native of Bavaria, born in 1830. They had six children: Matilda, born 
March 28, 1861, married Albert Calfisch, lives at Union City; Louisa, 
deceased; Leta, deceased; Fred, died in 1923; John, deceased; and Mabel, 
the widow of Andrew McLeod, lives with her father, has one child, Alice, 
attending high school. There are seven grandchildren: Margaret, Ger- 
trude, Gladys, Mabel, Albert, John, and Alice. Mr. Maurer is a Repub- 
lican, a member of the Presbyterian Church, and belongs to the Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows. He is a man highly esteemed in his 
community. 

Ira B. Munsee, now living at Union City, is a Civil War veteran and a 
well known and highly esteemed pioneer citizen of Erie County. He was 
born in Amity Township, Jan. 9, 1848, and is a son of Harvey and Almeda 
(Drake) Munsee, the former a native of New York and the latter of 
Erie County. 

Harvey Munsee was the son of John Munsee, a native of Herkimer 
County, N. Y., who served in the War of 1812. The latter was a son of 
John Munsee who came to this country from France, and "was a member 
of Lafayette's forces. In 1845 the Munsee family migrated to Erie 
County and settled on a farm in Venango Township. Harvey Munsee 
was a prominent citizen of his time and died in 1898. His wife died in 
1904. They were the parents of the following children: John, who served 
throughout the Civil War with Company K, 83rd Pennsylvania Volunteer 
Infantry, and who now lives retired at Wattsburg, Pa. ; Louisa, born in 
1850, died in 1867; Ira B., the subject of this sketch; Eustacy, deceased, 
was the wife of George Dorman ; Jane, deceased, was the wife of William 
Fennell; Milton, deceased; Wilson and Grant, deceased; three children 
died in infancy; and Myrtle, married John Reynolds, lives in Crawford 
County, Pa. 

Ira B. Munsee received his education in a log school house in Amity 
Tov.r.sliip and began life as a farmer, working out for $5.00 per month. 
He became the owner of 50 acres of land which he improved with oxen 
teams and became one of the leading grain and dairy farmers of the 
county. At the outbreak of the Civil War Mr. Munsee enlisted in Com- 
pany F, 111th Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry and engaged in a number 



1014 History of Erie County 

of important battles. He was also with Sherman on his March to the 
Sea. During the Spanish-American War he volunteered for service but 
was not accepted. Mr. Munsee is identified with the Grand Army of the 
Republic, Post No. 235, Wattsburg, Pa. He has held all offices of this 
post and is now quartermaster. 

On Dec. 25, 1867, Mr. Munsee was united in marriage with Miss 
Amerett Fenno, a native of Erie County, born Oct. 11, 1848, and the 
daughter of Judson and Grace (Edwards) Fenno, the former a native of 
Vermont and the latter of Connecticut. There were eight children in 
the Fenno family, as follows: Edwin and Adeline, both deceased; Melvin, 
deceased, was a Civil War veteran; Byron, deceased; Mrs. Munsee; Es- 
telle, who teaches in the government schools at Washington, D. C. ; and 
Florence, married Henry Seymour, lives in Union Township, Erie County. 
Mrs. Munsee died March 26, 1925, and is buried in Evergreen cemetery 
at Union City, Pa. 

Mr. Munsee is a Republican and cast his first vote for Abraham Lin- 
coln. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church and belongs 
to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 

Frank H. Osborne, funeral director, of Union City, ranks among the 
substantial citizens of Erie County. He was born at Sharpsville, in Mer- 
cer County, Pa., Sept. 30, 1887, and is the son of Frank Forrest and Ada 
(Hazen) Osborne. 

Frank Forrest Osborne was an early settler of Mercer County and 
was a bookkeeper during his active career. He now lives retired at Mead- 
ville. He is a Republican, a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church 
and belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. His wife is 
deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. Osborne were born five children: Frank, 
deceased ; Gyla, married Charles W. Cushman, lives at Sharon, Pa. ; Edna, 
lives at Sharon, Pa.; Frank H., the subject of this sketch; and Ralph, 
who died at the age of 21 years. 

Frank H. Osborne received his education in the public and high schools 
of Saegerstown, Pa., and after his marriage engaged in the undertaking 
business with his father-in-law, F. M. Hunter, pioneer funeral director of 
Saegerstown. Mr. Hunter is one of the organizers of the Saegerstown 
National Bank and has always taken a prominent part in the business 
activities of that city. He is a 32nd degree Mason, a member of the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Knights of Pythias. Mr. and 



History of Erie County 1015 

Mrs. Hunter had three children: Mrs. Osborne; Iva, the widow of LeRoy 
Hickernell, hves at Saegerstown, Pa. ; and Gordon Emory, engaged in 
business with his father. 

In December, 1915, Mr. Osborne engaged in the undertaking business 
at Ridgeway, Pa., where he remained until April, 1919. He has since 
been located at Union City, where he has one of the most up-to-date 
funeral homes in the county. Mr. Osborne operates the only ambulance 
in the city, and also does a large volume of business in Erie. 

Mr. Osborne married Miss Ethel Hunter, a native of Saegerstown, 
Pa., born July 12, 1886, and the daughter of F. M. and Leta (Lord) 
Hunter. They have five children, as follows: Ralph; Florence; Dorothy; 
Richard; and Donald. 

Mr. Osborne and his family are members of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church and he belongs to the Masonic lodge, and the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows. 

Joseph L. Shreve, a well known retired farmer of Union City, is a 
Civil War veteran and a member of one of Erie County's pioneer families. 
He was born at Bloomfield, Crawford County, Pa., July 12, 1847, and is 
the son of Charles and Sarah (Winder) Shreve. 

Charles Shreve, who was born in Bloomfield Township, Crawford 
County, in 1804, was among the earliest settlers of Erie County. He 
was a large land owner and a prosperous farmer. He died in 1874 and 
his wife died in 1883. They were the parents of the following children: 
Seth, a Civil War veteran, deceased; Lyda, married Andrew Westfall, 
both deceased; Hannah, married Thomas Winder, both deceased; Char- 
lotte, married Porter Beacon, both deceased; James, deceased; Charles 
H., a retired farmer, lives in Union Township, Erie County; Levi, was 
killed while in service during the Civil War; J. L., the subject of this 
sketch; Amy, married George Webb, both deceased; and Emily, deceased. 

J. L. Shreve received his education in a log school house and was 
actively engaged in general farming and stock raising until 1923, when 
he removed to his present home in Union City. He served dui-ing the 
Civil War with Company C, 16th Pennsylvania Cavalry. 

On Dec. 25, 1869, Mr. Shreve was married first to Miss Mary A. Sabin, 
who was born in Bloomfield Township, Crawford County, Aug. 23, 1845, 
the daughter of Albert and Margaret (Shreve) Sabin, who were the par- 
ents of the following children: Clinton, died while in service during the 



1016 History of Erie County 

Civil War; Liscom, lives retired in Missouri; Mrs. Shreve; Virginia, died 
at the age of 18 years; Sarah, married Edward Oliver, both deceased; 
Rheumy and Richard, twins. The former is deceased, the latter lives in 
Indianapolis, Ind. Mrs. Shreve died in 1901, leaving the following chil- 
dren: Orrie A., a farmer, lives in Chautauqua County, N. Y. ; Lena, mar- 
ried Clark Mitchell, lives in Union City; Charles, a dairy farmer, lives 
in Union Township; May, married Will Peterson, a farmer, lives near 
East Springfield, Pa.; Minnie, married Fred Whittaker, lives in Union 
City; Jessie, married Eugene Prather, lives in Union City; and Rose, 
married Dr. Floyd Randall Russell, lives at Willoughby, Ohio. 

On Oct. 30, 1903, Mr. Shreve was married to Mrs. Sarah Jane Brum- 
agen, a native of Wattsburg, Pa., born Aug. 13, 1870. By her former 
marriage Mrs. Shreve has four children : Bertha, married Donald Kimmey, 
lives in Union City; Flora, married Carl Benson, lives in Union City; 
Mabel, married Herbert Pease, lives in Union City ; and Ralph, who lives 
in Union City. 

In politics Mr. Shreve is identified with the Republican party and 
cast his first vote for Abraham Lincoln. He is a member of the Grand 
Army of the Republic and a highly esteemed pioneer of his community. 

Arthur Perry Zuck is well and favorably known in Erie, where he 
is identified with C. W. Zuck & Sons, leading greenhouse owners of this 
section. He was born at West Mill Creek, now known as Westminster, 
Pa., May 7, 1889, and is the son of Clark W. and Ocene N. (McKee) Zuck. 
A complete sketch of the ancestry of the Zuck family appears elsewhere 
in this history of Erie County. 

After attending District School No. 5 for eight years, Arthur Perry 
Zuck was graduated from West Mill Creek High School in 1907. He 
immediately became interested in the business established by his father 
in 1880, which is known as C. W. Zuck & Sons. Mr. Zuck holds a fourth 
interest in this business. 

On April 2, 1913, Mr. Zuck was united in marriage with Miss Har- 
riet Catherine Van Buseck, a member of a well known pioneer family of 
this county. She is the daughter of Albert Augustus and Lucinda Adelia 
(Donor) Von Buseck. 

Albert A. Von Buseck was born in West Mill Creek, April 18, 1858, 
the son of Louis Von Buseck, one of a family of nine children who all 
settled in Erie County. Louis Von Buseck's father. Baron Charles Von 



History of Erie County 1017 

Buseck, brought his brother and him from Hesse-Darmstadt, Germany, 
in 1832. The old home of the family was a valley called Busecker Thol, 
near the city of Giessen in the Grand Duchy of Hessen, Germany. The 
first record of this family in Germany cites the family as coming into 
Germany as Swedish noblemen, who came with Gustavus Adolphus dur- 
ing the Thirty Year War. For particular services rendered .Germany 
at this time they were given the valley called Busecker Thol. They pos- 
sessed the ancient title of Frieherr (free war) which during the 17th 
century came to be changed to Baron. It is today merely a title of 
honor, but it implies considerable social status and privilege in Germany. 
When Baron Charles Von Buseck came to this country in 1832 he brought 
with him the copper plate which was a deed to the land that had been 
given them for particular services to their country. On this plate are the 
names of nine towns included in the valley. Two of these towns were 
named for the family, Grossen Buseck and Alten Buseck. This plate is 
now in possession of the Von Buseck family. Baron Charles Von Buseck 
and his sons, after arriving in this country and reaching Philadelphia were 
informed there of the good fishing and hunting at Erie, Pa., then known 
as Eaglesville. They walked to Erie and finally located on a 700-acre 
tract which is now known as Kearsage. After a time the Baron bought 
other farms, one being on the West Ridge, 55 acres, paying $13.00 per 
acre. Another farm on West Lake Road, 90 acres. Both of these farms 
have descendants living on them. Louis Von Buseck was married to Miss 
Caroline Stohlmann in September, 1840. She came from Bremen, Gei'- 
many, in 1834. Their son, Albert A., was married April 12, 1886, to Miss 
Lucinda A. Donor. He died April 2, 1921, and his widow resides near 
Erie on West Lake Road on land purchased from Fred Sopp. 

To Arthur Perry and Harriet Catherine (Von Buseck) Zuck a son 
has been born, Melvin Albert, born Aug. 20, 1921. He is named after a 
very dear friend of Mr. and Mrs. Zuck, Melvin E. Trotter, the prominent 
evangelist of Grand Rapids, Mich. 

Mr. Zuck is a Republican and holds membership in the Rotary Club 
of Erie, the Erie Motor Club and the Automobile Club of Southern Cali- 
fornia. Both he and his wife have been members of Asbury M. E. Church 
since childhood, and she has served as president of the Home Missionary 
Society for several years. He has served as steward for 14 years, as 
president of the Epworth League and Mrs. Zuck and he have taught a 
class of boys and girls for 15 years, and also have been active in County 



1018 History of Erie County 

Sunday School work. He served as County Secretai-y for three years and 
at present is chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Erie County Sab- 
bath School Association, which board has charge of Camp Caledon, a girl's 
camp on the lake at North Girard. Mrs. Zuck is also financial secretary 
of the Crittendon Home for Girls. She is a member of The Women's 
Club of Erie and is an active member of the Shakespeare Club of West 
Mill Creek. Mr. Zuck is a man of progressive ideas in his business and 
a citizen of whom the community is proud. 

Floyd J. Zuck, of C. W. Zuck & Sons, greenhouse owners, is an enter- 
prising and substantial business man of Erie. He was born at what is 
now Westminster, in Erie County, Jan. 4, 1882, and is the son of Clark 
W. and Ocene N. (McKee) Zuck. 

Clark W. Zuck is a native of Westminster, born Aug. 1, 1857, and 
the son of John Christian and Martha Zuck, natives of Millcreek Town- 
ship, born Aug. 26, 1832, and Aug. 8, 1833, respectively. They are both 
deceased and buried in the Erie Cemetery. Clark W. Zuck is the great- 
grandson of John Zuck, Sr., who moved to this country about the year 
1800 and settled on a farm west of Erie. Clark W. Zuck is actively en- 
gaged in business at Westminster, where he owns 30 acres of land, six of 
which are covered with glass. This business was established by him in 
1880 and has developed into one of the leading businesses of its kind 
in the state. His sons are now partners in the business. 

To Clark W. and Ocene N. (McKee) Zuck the following children were 
born: Bert Curry, born Jan. 28, 1885, died Feb. 7, 1923, was married to 
Elsie Nelson, of Westminster, and interested in business with his father 
until his death; Arthur Perry, born May 7, 1889, married April 2, 1913, 
Harriet Buseck, a member of the firm of C. W. Zuck & Sons; and Floyd 
J., the subject of this sketch. 

Floyd J. Zuck was educated in the public schools and in 1900 was 
graduated from Erie High School. He was then a student at Allegheny 
College for two years and attended the Pennsylvania State College for 
one year. In 1905 he entered business with his father, in which he is now 
successfully engaged. 

On Jan. 14, 1909, Mr. Zuck was united in marriage with Miss Orra 
Garlock of \Vestminster, born Sept. 17, 1871, and the daughter of Samuel 
A. and Elizabeth (Donor) Garlock. Mr. Garlock was born Aug. 28, 1848, 



History of Erie County 1019 

and now lives retired on West Lake Road. He was a farmer. His wife, 
who was born April 16, 1852, died Jan. 3, 1907. They had five children, 
as follows: Mrs. Zuck; James Edward, born March 4, 1872, married 
Georgia Hohenstein, of Sheridan, N. Y., and they reside on the West Lake 
Road, where he is a farmer; Gertrude Elizabeth, born Jan. 1, 1877, mar- 
ried Seth Gill, who died in October, 1915, and she lives at Westminster; 
Harriet L., born Nov. 13, 1885, lives on West Lake Road; and Florence C., 
born Nov. 3, 1889, married Dec. 21, 1910, to Harvey M. WilHs, greenhouse 
owner, lives at Westminster. 

Mr. and Mrs. Floyd J. Zuck have a son, Clark Floyd Zuck, born April 
28, 1918. 

Mr. Zuck and his family hold membership in the Asbury Methodist 
Church, of which he is treasurer, and he is a director of the West Mill- 
creek Township schools. 

The Zooks (Zuck) are of an old honored German family. Zug is the 
ancient name. An archaeological discovery made a number of years ago 
in Egypt has revealed some knowledge of a tribe that existed in a remote 
period known as "Zugites." The name Zug is ancient in Switzerland, 
where there is a canton, a river, a lake, and a town of that name. In 
1884 the town contained 3,000 inhabitants. On the 4th of March, 1435, 
in that part of the town of Zug nearest to the lake a frightful noise was 
heard succeeded by total disappearance of two streets with part of the 
town wall which sunk into the lake. In 1594 a similar calamity occurred 
and in 1795 a great part of the town was destroyed by fire. Zug is so 
ancient that its origin is past record. It is supposed to have been one of 
the towns destroyed by the Helvetian inhabitants mentioned in Caesar's 
Commentaries. 

The colonial archives of Pennsylvania give the names of ten Zugs 
who arrived in Philadelphia from 1727 to 1776, and the present family 
came from one of the ten. We do not know just which. 

Clark W. Zuck is one of the prominent and highly esteemed business 
men of Erie. He was born on the old homestead farm in Mill Creek 
Township, Aug. 1, 1857, the son of John C. and Martha (Fry) Zuck. 

John C. Zuck was born at West Mill Creek, Erie County, Aug. 26, 
1832, and his wife was born there Aug. 8, 1833. He passed his entire 
life in this section and was among the prominent agriculturists of his 



1020 History of Erie County 

time. Mr. and Mrs. Zuck, deceased, were the parents of four children: 
Wayne E., born Nov. 6, 1854; William, born Nov. 29, 1855, died in in- 
fancy; Clark W., the subject of this sketch; and Lester J., bora Sept. 
1, 1869. 

Clark W. Zuck was reared on his father's farm and attended the dis- 
trict schools. He remained with his parents and was associated in the 
work and management of the home farm until after his marriage, and 
in 1882 purchased 55 acres of land on Ridge Road, West Mill Creek. Since 
1880 he has been interested in the greenhouse business which is known 
as C. W. Zuck & Sons. His greenhouses, equipped throughout with the 
best of facilities, are among the largest and most modern in this section 
of the state. He has made a specialty of raising lettuce, cucumbers, and 
tomatoes. 

On Sept. 21, 1880, Mr. Zuck was united in marriage with Miss Nancy 
Ocene McKee, who was born in Mill Creek Township, Aug. 28, 1859, the 
daughter of John and Mary Ann (Pherrin) McKee. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Zuck three sons were born: Floyd J., born Jan. 4, 1882, of the firm of 
C. W. Zuck & Sons, and a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this his- 
tory; Bert Curry, born Jan. 28, 1885, deceased, married Elsie Nelson, and 
was engaged in business with his father until his death; and Arthur 
Perry, born May 7, 1889, married April 2, 1913, to Harriet Buseck, a 
sketch of whom also appears in this history. 

Mr. Zuck is a Republican, a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

Bert Curry Zuck, son of Clark W. and Nancy Ocene (McKee) Zuck, 
was born Jan. 28, 1885, and died Feb. 7, 1923. He grew to manhood in 
Erie County and at the time of his death was engaged in business with 
his father. 

He married Miss Elsie Nelson, a daughter of Peter and Louisa Nelson, 
both natives of Sweden. Mr. Nelson came to this country when he was 
a boy of 12. His wife was about 17 years of age when she came to this 
country. They live in Erie where Mr. Nelson is engaged in the automobile 
business. 

Mrs. Zuck is one of six children born to her parents, the others being 
as follows : Agnes, Roby S., Victor N., John A., and Leona. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Bert Curry Zuck were born two children: Mildred 
Louise, born Sept. 12, 1918, and Emily Ocene, born Feb. 22, 1920. 



History of Erie County 1021 

Warren Chaffee, now living retired at Union City, has had a success- 
ful career as farmer and stockman. He was born in Amity Township, 
Erie County, Nov. 8, 1843, and is the son of Ira and Hannah (Norton) 
Chaffee. 

Ira Chaffee was a native of Cayuga County, N. Y., and an early settler 
of Erie County, where he improved 100 acres of land in Amity Township. 
He died June 9, 1886, and his wife died in April, 1889. They were the 
parents of 12 children, as follows: Ezra, deceased; Susan, married M. S. 
Rouse, both deceased; Julia E., the widow of Wells Beacon, lives at Hatch 
Hollow, Pa. ; Nancy, deceased, was the wife of E. W. Hatch, who lives at 
Union City; Delia, married Martin C. Colburn, both deceased; Porter P., 
deceased; Louise, married Hiram Stewart, both deceased; Warren, the 
subject of this sketch; James B. and Horace H., both deceased; Marietta, 
married Willard Doolittle, both deceased; and Nora Lena, married Louis 
Crook, both deceased. 

Warren Chaffee attended the schools of Wattsburg, Pa., and in early 
life taught school in Erie County, receiving a salary of $18.00 per month. 
He later engaged in farming and worked out for two years at $25.00 
per month. At the outbreak of the Civil War Mr. Chaffee volunteered 
and served with Company L, 102nd Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry. 
For a number of years he owned a well improved farm in Erie County 
and was an extensive stockman and dairy farmer. 

On Jan. 1, 1886, Mr. Chaffee "was united in marriage with Miss Nellie 
C. Pond, a native of New York, born Feb. 9, 1842, and to this union were 
born four children, as follows: WilUs L., a public accountant, lives at 
Atlanta, Ga. ; Jessie May, a school teacher, before her marriage to W. B. 
Steadman, died March 23, 1924; Frank Warren, a merchant at Warren, 
Pa.; and Lulu B., a teacher before her marriage to H. L. Birchard, secre- 
tary of the Y. M. C. A. at East St. Louis, Mo., and who was killed by a 
train Aug. 30, 1924. His widow resides at East St. Louis. Mrs. Chaffee 
died July 9, 1916, and is buried in Evergreen cemetery. On July 30, 1917, 
Mr. Chaffee was married to Mrs. Serena (Pond) Young, the widow of 
James Young, of Erie, and the daughter of Seth and Electa (Falett) Pond, 
natives of New York, and both now deceased. There were six children in 
the Pond family, as follows: Julia, married John Crowell, both deceased; 
George, deceased; Nellie C, Mr. Chaffee's first wife; William, who died 
in prison while in service during the Civil War, as a member of Company 



1022 History of Erie County 

A, 145th Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry; Mrs. Chalfee; and Otis M., 
deceased. 

Mr. Chaflfee is a Republican and in 1887 served as a member of the 
legislature. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, belongs 
to the Grand Army of the Republic and the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows. He is widely known and is among the leading pioneer citizens 
of the county. 

Ernest F. Sell, photographer, is among the enterprising and successful 
business men of Union City. He is a native of West Virginia, born Feb. 
5, 1882, and the son of Simon and Laura (Rinehart) Sell. 

Simon Sell, deceased, was a veteran of the Civil War and a successful 
farmer during his life. He died in West Virginia, April 22, 1919, and his 
wife died Dec. 23, 1917. They were the parents of the following children: 
Lizzie B., married William Jennings, lives in West Virginia; Letha Ellen, 
deceased, was the wife of Francis Gibson ; Bertie, married Walter Swisher, 
lives in West Virginia; Arthur, lives in Maryland; Ernest F., the subject 
of this sketch ; and Maggie, married Lowell Brumhall, lives in West 
Virginia. 

Ernest F. Sell spent his boyhood in his native state and was educated 
in the public schools. When a young man he engaged in his present pro- 
fession at Thomas, W. Va., where he remained 12 years. In 1920 he came 
to Union City where he purchased the business of Mr. Warner. Mr. Sell 
has one of the finest studios in this section of the state and has a well es- 
tablished business. 

In politics Mr. Sell is identified with the Republican party. He is a 
member of the Methodist church and belongs to the Masonic lodge, the 
Knights of Pythias and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He is a 
dependable citizen and stands high in the community. 

Lewis Sweet is among the prominent young business men of Erie 
County, and is engaged in the insurance and bond business at Union City. 
He was born at Corry, Pa., Oct. 27, 1900, and is the son of George and 
Mary (Lewis) Sweet. 

George Sweet was born in Mill Creek, Erie County, May 29, 1872, the 
son of Addison G. and Nellie (Barclay) Sweet. Addison G. Sweet estab- 
lished the insurance business at Union City, known as A. G. Sweet & Son, 
in 1864, and was among the leading business men of this county during 



History of Erie County 1023 

his life. He died Feb. 9, 1922, and his wife, a native of New York, re- 
sides at Union City and is 77 years of age. They had two children: 
George, father of the subject of this sketch; and Lulu, married Alfred 
Rockwell, lives at Meadville, Pa. George Sweet engaged in the business 
established by his father until his death, June 20, 1920. His widow re- 
sides with her son, Lewis. 

Lewis Sweet received his education in the public and high schools of 
Union City and at Keski and at an early age engaged in the insurance and 
bond business with his grandfather and father. After the death of both 
he became sole owner of the business. 

On April 17, 1923, Mr. Sweet was united in marriage with Miss Mar- 
garet McCune, a native of Fayette City, Pa., and a daughter of W. A. and 
Lulu McCune. Mr. Cune resides at Meadville, Pa. His wife died Jan. 1, 
1921. They had two children: Mrs. Sweet; and W. A., a student. To 
Mr. and Mrs. Sweet, a daughter has been born, Mary Lou, born Sept. 10, 
1924. 

Mr. Sweet is a member of the Presbyterian Church and belongs to 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Knights of Pythias. He 
is a Republican, and one of the enterprising young business men of his 
community. 

Charles B. Goodwin, retired, is well and favorably known in Union 
City where he resides. He was born in Pittsfield Township, Warren Coun- 
ty, Pa., Oct. 12, 1846, and is the son of James and Elvira (Tanner) Good- 
win. 

James Goodwin was a native of Warren County and his wife was born 
in Chautauqua County, N. Y. He was a pioneer lumber man of Warren 
County and later in life engaged in general farming on 144 acres of land 
in Chautauqua County. He died Dec. 18, 1880, and his wife died March 
18, 1900. They had four sons: Hiram, deceased; Charles B., the subject 
of this sketch ; Hugh, deceased ; and Rodney, lives in Union City. 

Charles B. Goodwin went to school in a log school house in Pittsfield 
Township, Warren County, and began life in the lumber business with his 
father. After a number of years he removed to Chautauqua County, 
N. Y., where he spent several years on a fai-m, and later went to Bear 
Lake, Pa., where he engaged in the mercantile business until 1884. Mr. 
Goodwin then became associated with the Warren Chair Company as a 
traveling salesman and remained in their employ continuously until 1921, 



1024 History of Erie County 

when he retired. He owns a well improved farm in Union Township, as 
well as city property. 

In 1865 Mr. Goodwin was united in marriage with Miss Hannah E. 
Perigo, a native of Sussex County, N. J., born Oct. 21, 1849, and the daugh- 
ter of Samuel and Lucretia (Babcock) Perigo. They have three children: 
William, born in 1866, lives in Union City; Warren, born in 1875, lives in 
Erie ; and Dora, married Earl J. Howland, lives in Union City. They have 
six grandchildren: Charles, Carol, Cecil, and Genevieve Goodwin; and 
Dorothy and Donald Howland. They also have a great-grandchild, Wil- 
liam Goodwin. 

Politically Mr. Goodwin is a Republican. He is a member of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church, of which he has served as trustee for a num- 
ber of years, and he belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 

Frank A. Klein is among the progressive and enterprising business 
men of Erie, where he is proprietor of the Erie Gold & Silver Plating 
Company. He was born in this city, March 21, 1879, and is the son of 
John Joseph and Helen (Steimer) Klein. 

At the age of 13 years John Joseph Klein came to this country from 
Germany with his parents and settled in Erie, where he worked at his 
trade as cigarmaker. Later he engaged in that business and operated a 
factory here for a number of years. He died in 1922 and his wife, also 
a native of Germany, died March 11, 1924. Mr. and Mrs. Klein had nine 
children. 

Frank A. Klein attended the public schools of Erie and when a young 
man engaged in the cigar manufacturing business with his brother Oscar. 
In 1918 he established his present business, which is located at 2351 
Poplar Street. 

On Aug. 31, 1894, Mr. Klein was married to Miss Frances Drexler, 
the daughter of Joseph and Anna (Brobest) Drexler, natives of Germany. 
Mr. Drexler was a farmer and died in 1907. His wife resides in Erie. 
To Mr. and Mrs. Klein were born eight children, as follows : Madeline A., 
a bookkeeper employed by the Erie Nut & Bolt Company ; Richard Joseph, 
associated in business with his father; Robert George, a student; Carl, 
deceased; Joseph; Charles; Mary; and Frank, Jr. 

Mr. Klein is a Democrat, a member of the Catholic church and a 
highly esteemed member of his community. He has been president of 
the Knights of St. George for 15 years, having built the building at 18th 
and Cherry in 1913. 




FRANK A, IvLEIN 



History of Erie County 1025 

S. V. Stewart, vice president and general manager of the Ajax Iron 
Works, is a prominent business man and highly esteemed citizen of Corry. 
He was born at Morrisville, N. Y., March 27, 1883, and is the son of James 
S. and Emmeline (Tucker) Stewai't. 

James S. Stewart was a native of Stewartstown, Canada. He was a 
graduate of Colgate University and became a leading attorney of Mor- 
risville, N. Y. He was a Republican and was prominent in politics. Mr. 
and Mrs. Stewart, deceased, were, the parents of five children: John A., 
who has been president of the New York State Republican League for a 
number of years, lives in New York city; James B., lives in New York 
city; Mary, married John H. Broad, lives at Morrisville N. Y. ; Elizabeth, 
lives at Morrisville, N. Y. ; and S. V., the subject of this sketch. 

S. V. Stewart was educated in the public and high schools of Morris- 
ville ; was graduated from Mercersburg Academy in 1903, and from Cor- 
nell University in 1907 as a mechanical engineer. He immediately came 
to Corry where he became connected with the Ajax Iron Works as an en- 
gineer. He is secretary and treasurer of the Standard Automotive Prod- 
ucts Company of Corry, and president of the Corry Hotel Company. 

In 1911 Mr. Stewart was married to Miss A. C. Corcoran, a native of 
Lowville, N. Y. 

In politics Mr. Stewart is identified with the Republican party. He is 
president of the Corry Country club and belongs to the Elks lodge and 
Kiwanis club. 

Dr. Andrew J. Sherwood, who has practiced his profession at Union 
City for the past 20 years, is among the capable physicians and surgeons 
of Erie County. He was born here, Feb. 20, 1878, and is the son of Dr. 
Alfred C. and Emma V. (Jackson) Sherwood. 

Dr. Alfred C. Sherwood, deceased, was recognized as one of the best 
surgeons in this section of the state. He was born in Erie County, the 
eldest son of F. W. M. and Evaline (Trow) Sherwood, the former a native 
of Erie County and the latter of Chautauqua County, N. Y. 

The Sherwood family settled in Erie County in 1814 and traces its 
origin to Thomas Sherwood, who was born in Sherwood Forest, near Not- 
tingham, England, in 1585, and who settled at Fairfield, Conn., in 1632. 

Dr. Alfred C. Sherwood received his early education in Erie County and 
attended Edinboro State Normal School. He read medicine with Dr. H. R. 
Terry, then located in Union City, for four years, after which he entered 
(65) 



1026 History of Erie County 

the University of Pennsylvania, Medical Department, from which he was 
graduated with honor March 13, 1873. He practiced his profession in 
Union City continuously for 38 years, and died there Sept. 25, 1911. On 
Jan. 20, 1876, he was united in marriage with Miss Emma V. Jackson, who 
still resides in Union City. They had seven children, as follows: Daisy 
M., married F. H. Roth, lives retired in Union City; Andrew J., the sub- 
ject of this sketch; Belle E., married Merle N. Smith, assistant general 
agent of the Carnegie Steel Company, lives in Pittsburgh; Rose, married 
Wayne Paullin, a merchant, Pittsburgh; Fredei'ick, died in infancy; Beat- 
rice, married Reese Carroll, electrical engineer, lives at Woodlawn, Pa. ; 
and Alton, died in infancy. 

Dr. Andrew J. Sherwood received his early schooling in the public 
schools of Union City and was graduated from Bucknell College. He was 
graduated from the Medical School of the University of Pennsylvania in 
1903, and after two years in hospital work, engaged in the practice of his 
profession at Union City. 

On July 15, 1907, Dr. Sherwood was married to Miss Emma V. Ander- 
son, of Rouseville, Pa., and the daughter of Isaac and Lena (Johnson) 
Anderson, natives of Sweden, and residents of Rouseville. They have 
three children: JuKa, married Charles Wynne, Hves at Portland, Ore.; 
Lillian, married William Dougherty, expert accountant with the Standard 
Oil Company, Oil City, Pa.; and Mrs. Sherwood. To Doctor and Mrs. 
Sherwood three children have been born: Alfred C, bom April 27, 1908, 
died Oct. 12, 1917 ; Richard Miller, bom Jan. 27, 1919 ; and John Norman, 
born May 20, 1923. 

Doctor Sherwood is a Republican, a member of the Presbyterian church 
and belongs to the Masonic lodge. He has a wide acquaintance in Erie 
County and is highly esteemed. 

Eugene D. Clough is an enterprising and progressive business man of 
Erie County, and is identified with the Standard Chair Company of Union 
City. He was born at Spartansburg, Erie County, Nov. 13, 1864, and is 
the son of Walter R. and Melissa H. (Smith) Clough. 

Walter R. Clough and his wife were natives of Chautauqua County, 
N. Y., born in 1826 and 1828 respectively. He was among the early set- 
tlers of Erie County and operated a farm near Spartansburg for many 
years. Later he engaged in fruit farming near Cleveland, Ohio. He 
served throughout the Civil War and died in February, 1906. His wife 



History of Erie County 1027 

died Feb. 5, 1918. They were the parents of seven children: Lee S., 
lives retired at Warren, Pa. ; Emma, married Edwin Bidwell, both de- 
ceased; Catherine, married Dr. C. G. Ashley, both deceased; George W., 
lives on the old homestead near Cleveland ; Alton J., lives near Cleveland ; 
Eugene D., the subject of this sketch; and C. L., who is also connected 
with the Standard Chair Company as treasurer and purchasing agent. 

Eugene D. Clough was reared and educated in Cleveland and in 1881 
removed to Union City where he completed his schooling. He became in- 
terested in the lumber business with his brother, Lee S., and in 1906 they 
organized the Standard Chair Company, which is among the leading in- 
dustries of Union City. 

On June 28, 1888, Mr. Clough was married to Miss Lena F. Watters, a 
native of Union Township, born in 1867, and a daughter of Alonzo and 
Jeanette (Fenno) Watters, deceased, and the parents of the following chil- 
dren : Leta, married Fred W. Burnham, lives in Erie ; Fred, lives in Colo- 
rado; E. R., lives in Union Township. Mr. Watters died Nov. 10, 1894, and 
his wife died in 1906. To Mr. and Mrs. Clough have been born four chil- 
dren: Carlton Eugene, born Nov. 4, 1889, bookkeeper of the Union Coal & 
Supply Company, Union City, married Prudence Fox; Laverne W., born 
March 13, 1892, with the Standard Chair Company, is a veteran of the 
World War, married Helen Alice Jones of Syracuse, N. Y., and they have 
a son, Emory Eugene, born June 22, 1923 ; Sarah Margaret, born in 1895, 
died in 1899 ; and Helen Jeanette, born in 1900, lives at home. 

J. B. V. Smiley is a representative and well known citizen of Union 
City, where he lives retired. He was born here Jan. 20, 1841, and is the 
son of Moses and Margaret (Marshall) Smiley. 

James Smiley, grandfather of J. B. V., was a soldier in the War of 
1812, serving under General Harrison. He came to Union City and op- 
erated the first grist mill in the town. Moses Smiley was born in Mead- 
ville, Pa., and followed farming for a number of years. He served as post 
master, justice of the peace, and school director. Mr. and Mrs. Smiley, 
deceased, were the parents of the following children : J. B. V., the subject 
of this sketch; Perry, a Civil War veteran, deceased; D. G., a merchant, 
Union City ; Addison, Emma, and Ida are deceased, and Lillian, the widow 
of J. W. Wescott, lives in Union City. 

J. B. V. Smiley was reared and educated in Union City, and attended 
Iron City College, Pittsburgh. He began his business career in the em- 



1028 History of Erie County 

ploy of Woods & Johnson, dry goods merchants of Union City. In 1869 
he engaged in the mercantile business with G. W. Johnson and D. G. 
Smiley, his brother. They did business under the firm name of Johnson 
& Smiley Brothers, for five years, when the firm was dissolved, and Smiley 
Brothers engaged in conducting a general store. Mr. Smiley has been 
retired since 1915. He has served as school director for 30 years, and is 
at present purchasing agent for the local school board. 

On Jan. 3, 1865, Mr. Smiley was married to Miss Addie Perry, a na- 
tive of Crawford County, Pa., born in 1838, and the daughter of John A. 
and Angeline Perry. She died in 1896, leaving three children: Eugene 
F., born in 1867, lives in Union City; William, born in 1870, lives in 
Union City; and Cora May, born in 1873, married D. A. Conway, and she 
lives with her parents. In 1897 Mr. Smiley was married to Miss Florence 
Sexton, a native of Ellicottville, N. Y., born in 1856. 

Mr. Smiley is a member of the Baptist church and has served as treas- 
urer, trustee, and Sunday School superintendent. He belongs to the 
Knights of Pythias. He and his family are favorably known in Erie 
County. 

Claude M. Northrop, of Union City, was born in Union Township, June 
17, 1878, and is a son of Frank and Anna (Lawrence) Northrop. 

Frank Northrop was a native of Union Township as was his wife. He 
spent his early life as head sawyer in a sawmill and later specialized in 
dairy farming. Mr. Northrop was a Republican and a member of the 
Presbyterian church. He died May 28, 1923, and his wife died Nov. 27, 
1922. They are buried in Evergreen Cemetery, Union City. Mr. and Mrs. 
Northrop had five children, as follows: Claude M., the subject of this 
sketch ; Marion, married Fred Luce, an engineer on the Erie Railroad, lives 
at Meadville, Pa. ; Helen, married Elmer Hunter, lives in Erie ; Waive, mar- 
ried Merle Akins, a farmer. Union Township ; and Merle, a farmer, lives on 
the home place in Union Township. 

Claude M. Northrop spent his boyhood on his father's farm and at- 
tended the district schools. He has been in the employ of the Union City 
Chair Company since 1894, and lives at 59 West High Street. 

On Nov. 27, 1898, Mr. Northrop was united in marriage with Miss 
Maud Carroll, a native of Bloomfield Township, Crawford County, Pa., 
born Nov. 27, 1878, and a daughter of George and Ellen (Foster) Carroll, 
natives of Pennsylvania. The father is deceased. There were eight chil- 



History of Erie County 1029 

dren in the Carroll family: Lynn, lives at Sheffield, Pa.; Mrs. Northrop; 
Harry, deceased; Grace, married Roy Weed, lives in Cleveland, Ohio; Eva, 
married William Hughy, lives at Sheffield, Pa. ; Charles lives in Erie ; Delia, 
married Dan McGibbon, lives at Elwood City, Pa.; and Raymond, lives in 
Erie. To Mr. and Mrs. Northrop two children were born, Donald and Dor- 
othy, twins, born Jan. 7, 1900. On Sept. 20, 1924, Dorothy Northrop was 
married to Kew Ritterbush, and they live in Cleveland. Donald Northrop 
is a state highway inspector and lives at home. 

Mr. Northrop is identified with the Republican party, is a member of 
the Methodist church, and belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fe:^ 
lows. He is held in high regard throughout the community, and is an ex- 
cellent citizen. 

Dr. Charles Payne, deceased, was recognized as one of the leading 
physicians and surgeons of Erie County. He was born in Canada, Dec. 10, 
1842, the son of Charles and Jane (Whitney) Payne. 

Charles Payne was a native of Sheffield, Eng., and a graduate of Ox- 
ford University, where he specialized in the study of pharmacy. At an 
early age he settled in Canada, where he spent the remainder of his life. 
His wife was bom at Dublin, Ireland. There were five children in the 
Payne family: Mary, Henry, Frances, Sarah, and Charles, all of whom 
are deceased. 

Dr. Charles Payne received his early education in Canada and studied 
medicine in England. After completing his education he came to the 
United States and served during the Civil War as a commissary clerk. He 
began the practice of his profession at Meadville, Pa., and was associated 
with Dr. Theodore Lashells, and later attended Western Reserve Uni- 
versity, Cleveland, from which he received his degree in 1869. He then 
established his practice at Riceville, Cravirford County, Pa., where he re- 
mained for 40 years, after which he located at Spartonsburg, Pa., for six 
years. In 1892-93 he took a post graduate course in operating surgery at 
the Poly-Clinic, New York city. Dr. Payne then took post graduate work 
at the Chicago Poly-Clinic in 1914-15. In June, 1915, he came to Union 
City, where he was successfully engaged in practice until his death, Oct. 
12, 1922. He is buried in Evergreen Cemetery, Union City. 

On July 10, 1877, Dr. Payne was united in marriage with Miss Vella 
N. Markham, of Panama, N. Y., bom Jan. 30, 1857, and the daughter of 
George and Charlotte (Cowles) Markham. Mr. Markham was a native 



1030 History of Erie County 

of Oneida County, N. Y., who in 1858 settled at Riceville, Pa., where he 
was successfully engaged in the mercantile business for 50 years. He died 
in 1906 and his wife died in 1910. They had two children: Dr. Frank L., 
a pioneer physician and surgeon of Crawford County, who died in 1911; 
and Mrs. Payne. Dr. and Mrs. Payne had no children. 

Doctor Payne was a Republican, a member of the Church of England, 
and belonged to the Masonic lodge and Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 
The self sacrifice and tireless devotion to his line of duty won for Doc- 
tor Payne the gratitude of the patients in his charge and he was at all 
times alert to their needs and watchful of their comfort and care. 

Mrs. Charles Payne resides at 6 South Street, Union City. 

Frank D. Burt is a highly esteemed citizen of Union City where he is 
connected with the Erie Railroad as station agent and manager of the 
Western Union Telegraph Company. He was bom at Cambridge Springs, 
Pa., June 26, 1851, and is the son of Zenas and Lucy (Thomas) Burt. 

Zenas Burt was born at Pittsfield, Mass., Dec. 4, 1806, and was a tan- 
ner by trade. He located at Cambridge, Pa., now Cambridge Springs, in 
1832, and built the first tannery in that place, which he conducted for 40 
years. He died March 28, 1897, and his wife, died April 13, 1885. They 
are buried at Cambridge Springs, Pa. To Mr. and Mrs. Burt the following 
children were born: Howard, deceased; George, died while in service 
during the Civil War, as a member of Company E, 83rd Regiment ; Samuel, 
died while studying for the ministry, at Hamilton, N. Y. ; Rev. Daniel, de- 
ceased, was a minister of the Baptist church for 50 years; John B., de- 
ceased, was also a Civil War veteran ; Mary, married Rev. J. H. Miller, a 
minister of the Baptist church for 56 years, both now deceased ; James 
P., deceased; Emily, married Frank Kidder, both deceased; and Frank 
D., the subject of this sketch. 

Frank D. Burt began life as a telegrapher and received his education 
as a night school student. He has been in the employ of the Erie railroad 
since 1866, and is the second oldest employe in the company's service on 
the first division. 

On Sept. 16, 1874, Mr. Burt was married to Miss Myrtilla Bishop, a na- 
tive of Erie County, born March 28, 1854, and died in June, 1919. She was 
the daughter of Levi and Electa (Griswold) Bishop, who were the parents 
of the following children: Mrs. Burt; Rose, the widow of WilHam Ham- 
mond, founder of the Hammond Iron Works, Warren, Pa. ; Anna, married 



History of Erie County 1031 

Horace Scruby, both deceased ; and Nellie, married Rev. A. B. Miller, lives 
at Jamestown, N. Y. To Mr. and Mrs. Burt four children were boni: 
Dr. Judson M., a physician, Caledonia, N. Y. ; Fred Bishop lives at James- 
town, N. Y. ; Lucy, married John Steves, Union City ; and Bertha, married 
Harrison Ingraham, Binghamton, N. Y. 

Mr. Burt is a Democrat, a member of the Baptist church and belongs 
to the Masonic lodge. 

Samuel Edward Kamerer is among the successful and well known busi- 
ness men of Erie County. He is the owner of the J. F. Kamerer Company, 
one of the most important of the industrial interests of Union City, which 
has gained a wide reputation as lumber and handle manufacturers. He 
was born in this city, Aug. 28, 1876, the son of Jacob Frederick and Mar- 
garet H. (Mclntyre) Kamerer. 

Jacob F. Kamerer, deceased, was a veteran of the Civil War. He was 
bom at Wurtenberg, Germany, April 4, 1839, the son of John and Dor- 
othy (Breakley) Kamerer. In 1847 the family came to the United States 
and choosing McKean Township, Erie County, as their place of settlement, 
they became useful and well known residents there. Jacob Kamerer fol- 
lowed agricultural pursuits until 1861, when he went to Canada. During 
the same year he volunteered for service in the Civil War and was a 
member of Company F, 169th Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry. After 
the close of the war he went to Oil Creek, Pa., as an oil speculator, and 
the following year to Fayette County, Pa., where he engaged in drilling 
oil wells. This proved an unsatisfactory venture and he returned north 
and located in Union City where in 1872 he began the manufacture of lum- 
ber, shingles, and broom handles. He died Jan. 8, 1901. He was a Demo- 
crat and served as mayor of Union City for two terms. He held member- 
ship in the Baptist Church and was identified with the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows and the Grand Army of the Republic. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Kamerer one son was born, Samuel Edward, the subject of this sketch, 
with whom the mother now makes her home. 

Samuel Edward Kamerer was educated in the schools of Union City 
and at an early age engaged in business with his father, in which he has 
since been interested. 

On Jan. 25, 1898, Mr. Kamerer was married to Miss Etta McLallen, of 
Washington Township, Erie County, and the daugher of H. M. and Eva 
(Hotchkiss) McLallen. Mr. McLallen died Aug. 7, 1909, and his wife died 



1032 History of Erie County 

Dec. 21, 1912. They had six children: Minnie, married H. W. Pollock, lives 
in California; Stella, married W. C. Johnson, lives in Washington Towfn- 
ship, Erie County; Mrs. Kamerer; Abbie, married Clyde M. Shreve, lives in 
Union Township, Erie County ; Anna, married E. 0. Racoup, lives at Cam- 
bridge Springs, Pa. ; and Ward, lives at North East, Pa. Mr. and Mrs. 
Kamerer have no children. 

Politically Mr. Kamerer is a Democrat. He is identified with the Ma- 
sonic lodge and the Odd Fellows. 

William R. Beckman is among the progressive and successful mer- 
chants of Erie, where he conducts a well established grocery business. He 
was born at 117 West 4th Street, Erie, Pa., Jan. 25, 1867, and is the son 
of Henry and Annie (Oaks) Beckman. 

In 1837 the Beckman family came to America from Hanover, Ger- 
many, and located in Erie. The present grocery firm of Henry Beckman 
& Son was established in 1860 at the foot of State Street and has de- 
veloped into the finest establishment of its kind in the city. Shortly 
after arriving in the city, Henry Beckman's father was drowned, and 
Henry was forced to make his way in the world at an early age. He 
entered the employ of Mr. Rindernecht, a pioneer grocer. Later he pur- 
chased an interest in the business and finally became sole owner. To 
Mr. and Mrs. Henry Beckman two sons were born: William R., the sub- 
ject of this sketch; and Samuel 0., who conducted the Erie Chemical 
Works for 30 years and now lives retired in Monrovia, Cal., and has two 
children: Ann Oakes, wife of J. N. Bugbee, and Olive G., wife of Albert 
P. Seymour. Both live in California. 

William R. Beckman grew up in Erie and received his education in 
the public schools. He has always been interested in the business estab- 
lished by his father and in 1919 purchased his brother's interest in it. 
Mr. Beckman carries a complete line of high-grade domestic and im- 
ported goods and has an extensive trade. His store is located at 506 
State Street. He also owns the old homestead where he was born, and 
a 55-acre vegetable farm in Erie County, produce from which is sold in 
his store. 

On Sept. 21, 1891, Mr. Beckman was united in marriage with Miss 
Sarah K. McKnight, a native of Erie, born April 8, 1867, and the daughter 
of John S. and Sarah (Cook) McKnight. John S. McKnight was born on 
a farm in Crawford County, Pa., April 29, 1830, and at the age of 21 




HENRY BECKMAN 



History of Erie County 1033 

years located in Erie. After coming to Erie he worked for the Erie & 
North East Raih'oad, now a part of the New York Central System, for 
11 years. He was an elder in the first United Presbyterian Church for 
33 years, and a charter member of the Y. M. C. A. He was one of the 
organizers of the Erie Cemetery Association. He became a well known 
grocer of this city and continued in that business until 1882, when he 
entered the insurance business. He died in 1920 and his wife is also 
deceased. Mr. and Mrs. McKnight had four children: Mrs. Alfred K. 
(McKnight) Riblet, died in 1891 ; Jessie, died in 1869 ; Mary E., a teacher 
in the Erie schools; and Mrs. William R. Beckman. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Beckman three children were born: Margaret Eleanor; Henrietta, a 
bookkeeper in the Erie Trust Company; and Irland, mention of whom is 
made below. 

Irland McKnight Beckman was born Sept. 28, 1897, in Erie, Pa., and 
received his preparatory education in the high school, Erie, Pa., and the 
Roxbury Tutoring School, New Haven, Conn. He was in the class of 
1919, Yale University for a year, and at Sheffield he took the mechanical 
engineering course. In 1918-19 he entered the United States Military 
Academy, West Point, N. Y., but later resigned. He then went to Cleve- 
land, Ohio, where he bought and sold war bonds for Otio & Company for 
15 months, when he resigned to finish his college education. He then 
entered the University of Pennsylvania and took a two years course in 
finance at the Whorton School, after which he made application for the 
position of state bank examiner and was appointed junior examiner for 
about three months and later senior examiner for one year. On Sept. 28, 
1924, he was appointed third deputy secretary in the banking department, 
and now has offices in the State Capitol at Harrisburg, Pa. 

The Beckman family is representative of the best citizenship of the 
community. 

Frank Lincoln Glenn, a citizen of Union County, highly esteemed for 
his integrity and industry, is a native of Erie County. He was born in 
Erie, Dec. 22, 1861, and is the son of Samuel and Eliza Jane (Graham) 
Glenn. 

Samuel Glenn was a native of Mercer County, Pa., born July 25, 1817. 
In 1840 he came to Erie where he worked at his trade of wood turner in 
the employ of Henry Shank. Later he engaged in farming on 49 acres of 
land in Summit Township, Ei-ie County, and in 1871 settled in Union City, 



1034 History of Erie County 

where he was employed by J. W. Hunter. He died June 22, 1900, and his 
wife, a native of Erie County, died April 13, 1881. To Mr. and Mrs. Glenn 
five children were bom: Perry G., deceased, served as probate judge for 
many years in Minnesota; Samuel Edward, died in 1880; Eliza J., lives 
in Union City; Frank Lincoln, the subject of this sketch; and Alexander 
C, died in 1896. 

Frank Lincoln Glenn was reared and educated in Union City and after 
completing his high school course was a teacher in Erie County for five 
years. He then went to Minnesota, where he was employed as a school 
teacher. However, in 1898 he returned to Erie and served in the employ 
of the local post office as a carrier for 12 years. He has since lived in 
Union City, and is the only hand wood turner in the city. He lives at 17 
Wattsburg Street. 

On March 18, 1891, Mr. Glenn was united in marriage with Miss Sarah 
E. Davis, who was born at Corry, Pa., March 18, 1867, and to them were 
born five children: Marian, born Feb. 2, 1892, died April 14, 1900; Ger- 
trude Edith, born March 10, 1894, married April 1, 1914, to LeRoy E. Hart, 
lives at North East, and they have a son, William Glenn Hart, born Dec. 
11, 1915 ; Lawrence Dayton, born Feb. 27, 1897, lives in Erie ; Robert M., 
born April 10, 1904 ; and Mildred E., born Nov. 4, 1906. 

Mr. Glenn is a Republican, a member of the Presbyterian church and 
belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He and his family are 
favorably known and dependable citizens of Erie County. 

Comer B. Main, prominent druggist of Union City, is among the pio- 
neer business men of Erie County. He was born at Jordan, Onondaga 
County, N. Y., May 1, 1856, and is the son of Perry and Anna (Shaw) 
Main. 

Perry J. Main, a native of Connecticut, but later of New York, 
came to Erie County in 1865 and settled at Union City, where he was em- 
ployed as a cooper. To Mr. and Mrs. Main were born five children : Almer- 
ian, deceased; Alduretta, married Rudolph Fuller, both deceased; Jerome 
B., deceased; Comer B., the subject of this sketch; and Henry H., lives 
in Lincoln, Neb. 

Comer B. Main was educated in the public schools of Union City and 
at an early age engaged in the drug business in the employ of various 
druggists of the city. He has been unusually successful in his work, in 
which he has engaged for over 50 years, and he is the oldest business man 



History of Erie County 1035 

on Main street. He has been in his present location since 1890, and is the 
owner of the building. 

On Nov. 16, 1880, Mr. Main was married to Miss Ada Sherwood, a na- 
tive of Union Township, Erie County, born July 1, 1861, and the daughter 
of Burman and Jane (Courtney) Sherwood, the former a native of New 
York and the latter of Erie County. Mr. Sherwood was born March 22, 
1810, and was six years old when his parents settled near Waterford. He 
became a prominent citizen of his time and served as road, commissioner 
and school director. He died Sept. 24, 1900, and his wife died Jan. 31, 
1896. They were the parents of 14 children, Mrs. Main being the young- 
est. She is a member of the Daughters of the American Revolution, the 
Twentieth Century Club, and an active member of the First Baptist 
church. Mr. and Mrs. Main have two adopted children: (1) Henry Ross 
Main, born Jan. 30, 1898, served throughout the World War with Com- 
pany A, 112th Infantry, was wounded and gassed while in service, mar- 
ried Dorothy Crippen, and they have two children: Yvonne C, born Dec. 
2, 1921; and Lura Lee, bom Jan. 2.5, 1923. (2) Lura Ross Main, born 
Feb. 13, 1899, married Albert L. Bloss, also a World War veteran. He is a 
prescription druggist for the Liggitt Drug Store, of Erie. 

Mr. Main and his family hold membership in the Baptist church. He 
is a Democrat. 

Harry A. Lane is among Union City's dependable citizens. He was 
born at Rochester, Ind., Aug. 18, 1881, and is the son of William A. and 
Emma E. (Clark) Lane. 

Both William A. Lane and his wife were natives of Indiana, where they 
spent their entire lives. He was a baker and for many years conducted a 
shop at Rochester, Ind. He died Feb. 3, 1917, and his wife died April 20, 
1899. They had four children: Harry A., the subject of this sketch; 
George W., in the government mail service at Chicago, 111. ; Zella, married 
Wesley Ward, lives in Union City ; and Roy, a World War veteran, lives at 
Rouseville, Pa. 

Harry A. Lane attended the public schools of Rochester and began 
his business career in Hammond, Ind. In 1905 he removed to Erie County 
and entered the employ of the Union City Chair Company, with whom 
he has since been identified. He is now a foreman. 

On Sept. 13, 1902, Mr. Lane was married to Miss Anna L. Bentley, of 
Union City, born March 5, 1882, and the daughter of Herbert and Sarah 



1036 History of Erie County 

(Barnett) Bentley, natives of Erie County. Mr. Bentley is deceased and 
his widow resides in Union City. They had five children: May, married 
Adolph Allen, lives in Montana ; Blanche, married A. E. Hatch, lives in 
Montana; Florence, married Charles Davidson, lives in Union City; Mrs. 
Lane; and Lou, married Del Casler, lives in Erie County. Mr. and Mrs. 
Lane have a son, Herbert, born Aug. 9, 1903. 

Mr. Lane is a Republican, a member of the Methodist church, and is 
Sunday School superintendent, and he is also affiliated with the Independ- 
ent Order of Odd Fellows. He and his family have a wide acquaintance 
in the community and are favorably known. 

Frederick K. Riedel is a veteran of the Woi-ld War and a highly 
esteemed citizen of Union City, where he is engaged in fish culture and is 
superintendent of the local hatchery. He is a native of Mount Pleasant 
Township, Wayne County, Pa., bom Feb. 24, 1887, and the son of Fred- 
erick and Henrietta Riedel. 

After completing his schoohng in the public schools he became inter- 
ested in his present work in Union City. He was inducted into service 
during the World War and sent to Camp Mead, Maryland, with the 54th 
Depot Brigade, attached to the 306th Field Artillery, 79th Division and 
later to the 77th Division. After 12 months overseas service, in which he 
was engaged in many important battles and drives, Mr. Riedel was dis- 
charged at Camp Dix, N. J., May 10, 1919. 

On April 20, 1922, Mr. Riedel was united in marriage with Miss Elsie 
Robinson, of Pennsylvania. 

Mr. Riedel is a member of the Presbyterian church and belongs to the 
Masonic lodge. He is a Republican and is well known in Erie County. 

Cornelius Martineau, retired, is a well known citizen of Union City and 
a veteran of the Civil War. He was bom in New York city, Sept. 18, 1845, 
the son of Cornelius and Elizabeth (Betts) Martineau. 

Cornelius and Elizabeth Martineau were natives of New York city 
where they spent their entire life. He died in 1867 and she died in 1871. 
They were the parents of 15 children, only two of whom are now living: 
Cornelius, the subject of this sketch; and Walter, a retired building con- 
tractor, lives in Staten Island, N. Y. 

Cornelius Martineau was reared and educated in New York and was 
a member of the city police force there for 28 years. In 1896 he removed 



History of Erie County 103/ 

to Erie County and spent the following two years on a farm in West 
Green Township. He then lived in Erie until March, 1909, and has since 
resided in Union City. 

At the outbreak of the Civil War, Mr. Martineau enlisted in Company 
A, 82nd New York Volunteer Infantry and was in active service for four 
and one-half years. 

In 1869 Mr. Martineau was married to Miss Sophia L. Young, born at 
Staten Island, N. Y., in 1845, and to them were born four children: Wil- 
liam, deceased; Clarence, retired police officer, lives in New York city; 
Louise, married Charles Wright, New York city; and Cornelia, deceased. 
After his wife's death, Mr. Martineau was married Jan. 3, 1894, to Miss 
Celia Bliley, who was bom at Hammett, Pa., Aug. 5, 1864, and the daugh- 
ter of Ferdinand and Gertrude (Yosten) Bliley. Mr. Bliley died in Septem- 
ber, 1886, and his wife died Aug. 28, 1877. 

Mr. Martineau is a Republican, a member of the Baptist church and be- 
longs to the Grand Army of the Republic. 

Leander A. Mason is an enterprising and progressive citizen of Union 
City, where he is engaged in the general merchandise business. He was 
born at PenfieM, N. Y., Oct. 26, 1855, and is the son of Asa G. and Eliza- 
beth (Dingman) Mason. 

Mr. and Mrs. Asa G. Mason, deceased, were the parents of the fol- 
lovdng children: William, deceased, was a Civil War veteran; George B. 
lives in Toledo, Ohio; Anna, married Joseph Doty, a Civil War veteran, 
both deceased; L. A., the subject of this sketch; and A. G., lives in Cleve- 
land. 

L. A. Mason began life as a newsboy in Cleveland, Ohio, and later 
lived in Detroit, Mich. He later lived on a farm at Bedford, Ohio, and 
was for 20 years associated with J. B. Lewis of Sandusky, N. Y. After 
various other business ventures Mr. Mason came to Union City in 1913 
and since 1923 has conducted his present place of business at 30 North 
Main Street. 

On June 27, 1914, Mr. Mason was united in marriage with Miss Ada 
Kamerer, of Union City, and the daughter of J. F. and Eliza (Johnson) 
Kamerer, natives of Germany and Pennsylvania, respectively. Mr. Kam- 
erer was a prominent citizen of Union City and died Jan. 8, 1900. His 
wife died in 1875. They had four children: Fred, lives in Tennessee; 
Mrs. Mason; Robert, deceased; and Edward S., a manufacturer of Union 



1038 HisTOKY OF Erie County 

City, a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this history. Mrs. Mason 
was first married to Grow Kellog, and they had one child, Neva K., who 
married Robert C. Smiley, and they have two children, Robert and Joyce. 
Mr. Mason had four children by a former wife : Minnie and Elizabeth, liv- 
ing at Seattle, Wash.; Charles L., died in infancy; and Cora is married and 
lives at Arcade, N. Y. The Smiley family lives in Cleveland. 

Mr. Mason is a Republican, a member of the Baptist church, and be- 
longs to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He is a man highly 
esteemed in Erie County. 

Arthur W. Barber is a successful business man and highly esteemed 
citizen of Union City. He was born on a farm in Wayne Township, Erie 
County, Nov. 24, 1873, and is the son of George W. and Martha E. (Hayes) 
Barber. 

George W. Barber was born in New Hampshire and his wife was a na- 
tive of Amity Township, Erie County. At the age of 10 years with his 
parents he settled in Erie County at Corry, where he remained for six 
years. He then engaged in farming in Amity Township and in 1902 went 
to Washington, where he operated a saw mill for a number of years. 
Later, he returned to Erie County and now lives retired' with his son, 
Arthur W., in Union City. His wife died Nov. 20, 1924. They were the 
parents of three children: Arthur W., the subject of this sketch; Oliver 
E., lives at Beaver, Pa. ; and Edith E., married Brenton Hatch, lives in 
Erie. 

Arthur W. Barber was educated in the schools of Wattsburg, Pa., and 
attended Clark's Commercial College, Erie. For 13 years he engaged in 
commercial photography and in 1900 became interested in the monument 
business at Wattsburg. In 1909 he located in Union City, where he has 
since conducted his business in a most successful manner. He has a 
well equipped factory and operates the finest monument works in this 
section of the state. 

On June 29, 1904, Mr. Barber was united in marriage with Miss Ger- 
trude Parker, born in Wayne Township, Erie County, Aug. 14, 1878, and 
the daughter of Cephas and Julia (Adams) Parker. Mr. Parker served 
throughout the Civil War and died Dec. 31, 1912. His widow lived at 
Wattsburg, Pa., until her death, Feb. 15, 1925. They were natives of 
Wayne Township, Erie County, and the parents of the following children : 
Harley, died in January, 1923; Carrie, deceased; Mrs. Barber; and Lizzie 



History of Erie County 1039 

married Joseph Hamilton, lives at Wattsburg, Pa. To Arthur W. and 
Gertrude (Parker) Barber have been born four children: Julia Elizabeth, 
born Dec. 4, 1905, was graduated from high school in 1925; Doris Marie, 
Born Oct. 18, 1909; Olive Irene, born April 20, 1912; and Melvin L., born 
Oct. 8, 1913. 

Politically, Mi". Barber is a Republican. He and his family attend the 
Methodist Episcopal church and have a wide acquaintance in the com- 
munity in which they live. 

James O'Rourke, deceased, was for many years a prominent and suc- 
cessful farmer of Union Township. He was born in Ireland, and was a 
son of John and Honorah (Haley) O'Rourke. 

The O'Rourke family came to this country from Ireland many years 
ago and located at Columbus, Ohio. After ten years residence there they 
removed to Erie County and settled on the present O'Rourke farm in 
Union Township. John O'Rourke died in 1883 and his wife died in 1877. 
They are buried in the Union City Catholic Cemetery. There were six 
children in the O'Rourke family. James, the subject of this sketch, Cath- 
erine, Michael, Thomas, Michael, and Mary, all of whom are deceased. 

James O'Rourke was 15 years of age when his parents came to 
America. He engaged in general farming and stock raising his entire life 
and met with success. He died May 29, 1897. His widow lives on the 
home place in Union Township, where she has spent 50 years. She now 
owns 84 acres of land. 

In 1875 Mr. O'Rourke was married to Miss Bridget Frawley, a native 
of Canada, and the daughter of Michael and Elizabeth (Burns) Frawley. 
Mr. Frawley settled in Canada after coming to this country and later lived 
in Kentucky. In 1867 he removed to Corry, Pa., where he was employed 
by the Pennsylvania Railroad. He died April 8, 1904, and his wife died 
Jan. 25, 1907. To Mr. and Mrs. O'Rourke 11 children were born, as fol- 
lows: Thomas, lives at home; John, lives in Erie; James, died in 1907; 
Hanorah, married Frank Hanlon, lives in Union City; Mary, died in 1917; 
Elizabeth, deceased, was the wife of Nicholas Costello; Francis, died in 
infancy ; Catherine, Agnes, and Rosella, all deceased ; and Joseph, mention 
of whom is made below. 

Joseph O'Rourke, who operates the home farm, is a veteran of the 
World War. He was inducted into service and served with Company E, 
18th Infantry. Mr. O'Rourke was seriously wounded during the Meuse- 



1040 History of Erie County 

Argonne offensive, Oct. 9, 1918, and spent three years in hospitals under- 
going operations and receiving treatments. 

James O'Rourke was a Democrat and a member of the Cathohc church. 
He was known in his community as an upright and reliable citizen. 

Dr. William G. Allen is widely and favorably known among the suc- 
cessful young physicians and surgeons of Erie. He was born at Mattock, 
Iowa, in April, 1888, and is the son of William and Jennie (Murdock) 
Allen. 

William Allen was born in Scotland and after coming to this coun- 
try located in Minnesota, where he engaged in farming. His wife, a 
native of Joliet, 111., died at the age of 33 years, leaving six children, as 
follows: Eleanor, lives in Minnesota; Dr. William G., the subject of this 
sketch; Alice, died when 19 years of age; Bertha and Belle, died in in- 
fancy; and Gilbert, resides in Erie. 

Dr. William G. Allen attended the public schools of Norcross, Minn., 
and in 1906 was graduated from high school. After attending Williston 
Seminary at Easthampton, Mass., he was graduated from the University 
of Pennsylvania in 1918, where he received his degree of Doctor of Medi- 
cine. His interne work was done at Hamot Hospital, Erie, Pa., after which 
he began his practice in Erie at 101 East 18th Street, where he has been 
very successful. Doctor Allen is a member of the staffs of Hamot Hospital 
and the Infant's Home. 

On Dec. 22, 1915, Doctor Allen was married to Miss Edna Brogan, a 
native of Philadelphia. 

Doctor Allen is identified with the American Medical Association, 
the Pennsylvania State Medical Association, and the Erie County Medical 
Society. He is a member of the Masonic and Elks lodges. 

Clifford F. Hober, superintendent of the Merrell Soule Company, is one 
of the well known and successful business men of Union City. He was 
born in Potter County, Pa., April 14, 1893, and is the son of Francis M. 
and Rosetta (Canfield) Hober. 

Francis M. Hober was a native of Steuben County, N. Y., and his 
wife was born in Pennsylvania. Many years ago he removed to Potter 
County, where he engaged in general farming. He died Jan. 21, 1914, and 
his wife died Jan. 22, 1907. Mr. and Mrs. Hober had five children: Eugene, 
deceased; Mabel, married B. C. Hendryx, lives at Akron, Ohio; Ruby, de- 




DR. WILLIAil G. AI.I.K.X 



History of Erie County 1041 

ceased, was the wife of C. A. Merritt; Clifford F., the subject of this 
sketch ; and one child died in infancy. 

Clifford F. Hober was educated in the public schools at Honeoye, Pa., 
and in June, 1914, entered the employ of the Merrell Soule Company, at 
Arcade, N. Y., transferred to Gainesville, N. Y., in 1920 as superintendent. 
On June 6, 1921, he was transferred to the local plant as superintendent, 
which is his present position. The local plant of the Merrell Soule Com- 
pany was built in 1913 and is one of the leading industries of Union City. 
Thirty men are employed and during the busy season 100,000 lbs. of milk 
are handled daily. The officers of the Merrell Soule Company. are: F. C. 
Soule, president, Syracuse, N. Y. ; I. S. Merrell, vice-president, Syracuse, 
N. Y. ; and A. C. Beardslee, general superintendent, Arcade, N. Y. Twelve 
plants are operated throughout the United States and six in Canada. Their 
products include : butter, cream, and powdered milk. 

On June 7, 1913, Mr. Hober was married to Miss Isabel LeBar, a native 
of Pennsylvania, born Dec. 14, 1898, and the daughter of W. S. and Alice 
(Whitney) LeBar, residents of Union City. To Mr. and Mrs. Hober have 
been born two children: Robert M., born June 10, 1920; and Ardrath M., 
born March 2, 1923. 

Mr. Hober holds membership in the Methodist Episcopal Church and 
belongs to the Masonic Lodge. He is a Republican. 

A. D. McEntarfer, an enterprising and successful business man of 
Union City, engaged in the contracting and transfer business, was born 
at Waterloo, Ind., Nov. 16, 1872, and is the son of A. L. and Julia (Daniels) 
McEntarfer. 

A. L. McEntarfer, deceased, was a native of Canton, Ohio. At an early 
age he removed to Waterloo, Ind., where he spent the remainder of his 
life. He died in July, 1905, and his wife died Oct. 28, 1917. They had 
three children: Lillian, married Frank Alexander, lives at Union City; 
A. D., the subject of this sketch; and Jessie, married Edward Musser, 
lives in Indiana. 

A. D. McEntarfer attended the schools of Waterloo and when a young 
man engaged in the contracting business there with his father. Feb. 10, 
1896, he came to Erie County and established himself in business at 
Union City, where he has since resided. 

Mr. McEntarfer was married to Miss Etta Crittenden, Union City, Pa., 
and the daughter of Cyrus and Susan (Aldrich) Crittenden, who were the 
(66) 



1042 History of Erie County 

parents of the following children : William R., lives at Wesley villa, N. Y. ; 
Henry M., lives at Union City; and Mrs. McEntai-fer. Mr. and Mrs. Mc- 
Entarfer have three children: Rev. Clifford A., born Nov. 9, 1897, a min- 
ister of the Methodist church, lives at North Muskegon, Mich., married 
Louise Plate, of Erie, and they have two children, Wesley and Joyce ; Izola 
R., born Dec. 18, 1899, married H. A. Davis, lives in Union City, and they 
have two children, Calvin C. and Elizabeth; and Owen C, born Aug. 21, 
1903, married Ida L. Sutter, lives in Union City. 

Mr. McEntarfer is a Republican, a member of the Methodist church 
and belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He is a substan- 
tial citizen of Erie County and is well known. 

Wesley Davison, deceased, was among the prominent pioneers of Erie 
County. He was born in Richmond Township, Crawford County, Pa., 
March 18, 1833, and died March 12, 1900. He was the son of William Gor- 
don and Jane Ann (Reed) Davison. 

The Davison family came to Pennsylvania from Massachusetts in 1833 
and established their home in Crawford County. There were nine chil- 
dren bom to Mr. and Mrs. William G. Davison: Wesley, Sillick, Elizabeth, 
Lewis, Esther, Priscilla, Orpha, Diana, all of whom are deceased; and 
William. 

Wesley Davison spent the early part of his life in Crawfoi'd County 
and in 1881 removed to Erie County. He engaged in general farming and 
stock raising during his life and was successful. He is buried in Ever- 
green cemetery, Union City. 

On March 13, 1856, Mr. Davison was married to Miss Cynthia Amelia 
Thompson, who was born at Union Mills, now Union City, April 4, 1838, 
the daughter of Samuel and Betsy (Ames) Thompson. Mi's. Davison died 
in March, 1925. 

The Thompson family is among the oldest and most prominent in 
Erie County, the progenitor having come here about 1800 to erect the first 
mill in what is now Union City. Samuel Thompson was born Jan. 23, 1803, 
the son of Job, who was the son of Abel, who served in the Revolution. 
On Oct. 26, 1823, Samuel Thompson was married, first, to Miss Betsy 
Ames, who was born Nov. 20, 1805, and died May 9, 1842. They had seven 
children: Sally, Lucinda, Samuel, Horace, Mrs. Davison, and two children 
who died in infancy. Mr. Thompson was married the second time Sept. 5, 
1845, to Miss Mary Palmer, a native of Wayne Township, Erie County, 



History of Erie County 1043 

and to them two children were bom : Betsy Isabell, and R. L., both de- 
ceased. Mr. Thompson died July 16, 1874, and is buried in Evergreen 
Cemetery, Union City. To Wesley and Cynthia Amelia (Thompson) Davi- 
son five sons and three daughters were born: A. H. Davison, of Des Moines, 
Iowa ; A. L. Davison, who died in Rapid City, S. Dak., in 1923 ; Mrs. Ada 
D. Roudebush, of Blooming Valley, Pa. ; C. E. Davison, of Howard, S. Dak. ; 
Mrs. Kate D. Peck, of St. Joseph, Mo. ; Mrs. Jennie D. King, of Union City, 
Pa. ; Rev. S. T. Davison, of Sheffield, Pa. ; and Charles W. Davison. 

Charles W. Davison was born March 11, 1880. When a young man he 
entered the employ of the Pennsylvania Railroad in its local office. In 1901 
he became associated with the A. L. Caflisch & Sons Lumber Company of 
Union City, and is now acting as secretary and treasurer of that Com- 
pany. He was married Dec. 30, 1903, to Miss Florence Bentley, of Union 
City. They have no children. 

B. L. Warren is a well known and substantial citizen of Union City, 
where he is connected with the Pennsylvania Public Corporation. He was 
born in Rockdale Township, Crawford County, Pa., May 22, 1871, and is 
the son of Lewis and Caroline (Johnson) Warren. 

Lewis Warren was a native of Crawford County, as was his wife. He 
was a prominent farmer of Richmond Township and died in June, 1917. 
He was a Democrat and a member of the Methodist Church. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Warren were born three children: B. L., the subject of this sketch; 
Lena, married George Smith, lives retired at Titusville, Pa.; and Kitty, 
married Chester Bresee, lives in Richmond Township. 

B. L. Warren was reared and educated in Crawford County and in 
early life was interested in the oil business and located at Oil City, Pa. 
In 1901 he came to Union City, where he conducted a transfer and coal 
business for several years. He then became connected with the local 
light plant, which was known as the Union City Electric Light Company. 
It was later purchased by the New York Interstate Electric Company, and 
since December, 1924, Mr. Warren has held his present position as over- 
seer of the local plant. 

On June 14, 1894, Mr. Warren was united in maiTiage with Miss Ida 
Sutton of Randolph Township, Crawford County, born Sept. 14, 1872, and 
the daughter of George and Sarah (Morehead) Sutton, natives of Penn- 
sylvania, and parents of the following children: Janet, died at the age of 
19 years; Joseph, died in infancy; Orlando, lives at Meadville, Pa.; Grant, 



1044 History of Erie County 

retired merchant, lives at Tiona, Pa. ; Emory, lives on the old homestead 
in Randolph Township ; Henry, oil operator, lives at Tiona, Pa. ; William, 
deceased; and Mrs. Warren. Mr. Sutton died in February, 1919, and his 
wife died in 1921. To B. L. and Ida (Sutton) Warren six children were 
born, as follows: Mattie, born Sept. 29, 1898, married Sept. 27, 1920, to 
Earl Shreve, of Union City, and she died July 23, 1921; Arlo B., born 
Jan. 26, 1900, mention of whom is made below ; Gladys, born Aug. 4, 1902 ; 
Marjorie, born May 12, 1905; lona, born Sept. 7, 1908; and one child died 
in infancy. 

Arlo B. Warren volunteered for service during the World War, enlist- 
ing from Corry in May, 1917. He was sent to Camp Hancock as a mem- 
ber of Company A, 112th Pennsylvania Infantry. While serving over- 
seas he was killed in action during the battle of the Argonne forest, Sept. 
29, 1918, while operating a machine gun. After the close of the war his 
body was returned to this country and is buried in Richmond Township, 
Crawford County. 

Mr. Warren is a Democrat and a member of the Methodist Church. 

Clark McAllister, a pioneer farmer and stockman of Erie County, now 
living retired at Union City, is a veteran of the Civil War. He was born 
in Greenfield Township, Erie County, Feb. 28, 1837, and is the son of 
David and Susanna (Nason) McAllister. 

David McAllister was a native of Massachusetts and his wife was born 
in Vermont. They were early settlers of Erie County and the parents of 
the following children : David a Civil War veteran, deceased ; Caroline, de- 
ceased ; Henry, a Civil War veteran, deceased ; Chauncey, deceased ; Free- 
man 0., a Civil War veteran, deceased ; Sarah, deceased ; Clark, the subject 
of this sketch; Orrin J., a Civil War veteran; and John, deceased. Mr. 
McAllister died in September, 1870, and his wife died in May, 1892. 

Clark McAllister was reared and educated in Union Township and in 
1855 went West, spending some time in Ohio and Minnesota. In 1859 he 
crossed the plains with an ox team, going from Washington to California 
and engaged in gold mining in Idaho. Later he returned to Amity Town- 
ship, Erie County, where he remained until the outbreak of the Civil War. 
He served with Company K, 83rd Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, and 
participated in the following battles: Wilderness, Spottsylvania, North 
Anne, South Anne, Cold Harbor, Petersburg, Welden R. R., Hatche's Run, 
Five Forks, and Appomattox. After the close of the war Mr. McAllister 



History of Erie County 1045 

returned to the farm, owned by his parents, which contained 131 acres of 
well improved land. Mr. McAllister specialized in dairying and stock rais- 
ing for many years and now lives retired. 

Mr. McAllister was married October 17, 1867, to Miss Araminta N. 
Ormsby, the daughter of Aaron and Emily (Hare) Ormsby, natives of 
Pennsylvania. Mr. and Mrs. McAllister had no children. 

Mr. McAllister is a Republican, and has held many township and 
county offices. He served as director of the Erie County House for ten 
years. He is affiliated with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and 
the Grand Army of the Republic and belongs to the Union City Grange. 
Mr. McAllister is one of the interesting pioneers of the county. 

Dr. E. E. Kendall, physician and surgeon, who has been successfully 
engaged in the practice of his profession at Waterford since 1888, is a na- 
tive of Erie County. He was born at Union City, Aug. 13, 1860, and is 
the son of Darwin R. and Alice (Smith) Kendall. 

Darwin R. Kendall spent his entire life in Erie County and died Feb. 
19, 1916. His wife died Sept. 18, 1915. He engaged in the building and 
contracting business at Waterford and was among the successful business 
men of his time. He was a Republican and a member of the Christian 
Church, of which he served as Sunday School superintendent. Mr. and 
Mrs. Kendall had four children: Ervin, lives at Littleton, Mass.; E. E., 
the subject of this sketch; Perry, a druggist, deceased; and George, a 
druggist, Clearfield County, Pa. 

Dr. E. E. Kendall entered Waterford Academy as a student in 1880 
and taught district schools during the winters of 1881-2-3, after which 
he entered the drug store of Clemens & Patten, where he clerked and 
studied medicine under Drs. Bowman and Clemens. He was graduated 
from Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia, April 5, 1887, and began the 
practice of Medicine in Warren County, Pa. In 1888 he located at Water- 
ford, where he has a very extensive and successful practice. He also 
owned and conducted a drug store in connection with his practice for 28 
years, but sold the store recently to F. H. Coon. 

On Apr. 21, 1887, Dr. Kendall was married to Miss Iva G. Miner, a na- 
tive of Fairview, Pa., born Nov. 6, 1863, and a daughter of Henry A. and 
Helen (Camp) Miner, natives of Massachusetts and Pennsylvania respec- 
tively. Mr. Miner was a Civil War veteran and died April 19, 1880, and his 
wife died Sept. 8, 1891. They had six children: Ortha, deceased; Rev. Sul- 



1046 History of Erie County 

livan, a retired minister of the Methodist-Episcopal Church; served as a 
missionary in China for 40 years and now lives at Houston, Texas ; Delia, 
deceased; Rev. Gilbert, a minister of the Methodist Episcopal Church, 
who died at the age of 27 years; Dr. Irvin C, a physician lives at Cleve- 
land, Ohio; and Mrs. Kendall. To Doctor and Mrs. Kendall were borr. 
four children: Dr. Raymond Kendall, mention of whom is made below; 
Ralph, born Aug. 31, 1890, died in infancy ; Leah, born Sept. 5, 1894, mar- 
ried Leslie Merrill, advertising manager at Kew Gardens, L. L, N. Y., and 
they have a son, Richard Kendall Merrill, born in 1921 ; and Bertha Jean, 
born Aug. 30, 1902, a graduate of Carnegie Institute of Technology and 
Margaret Morrison School, and she is supervisor of Domestic Science of 
the State Vocational schools of Conneautville, Pa. 

Dr. Raymond Kendall was born at Waterford, July 3, 1888, and was 
graduated from Bucknell College. He spent two years in the University of 
Pennsylvania Medical College and two years in Western Reserve Medical 
College, Cleveland, Ohio, where he received his degree in medicine. He is 
engaged in the practice of his profession in Cleveland, Ohio, having offices 
in the Osborn building. He specializes in diseases of the ear, nose and 
throat. He is also an instructor in Western Reserve University and assist- 
ant surgeon at Lakeside Hospital, Cleveland. During the World War 
Dr. Kendall was commissioned a captain in the medical corps, and spent 
two years in service, one of which was spent in France. 

Dr. E. E. Kendall is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church and 
belongs to the Masonic Lodge and the Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows. He is a Republican, and has a wide acquaintance in Erie County. 
He has served Waterford for 35 years as school director and is probably 
in point of service the oldest school director in Erie County. 

Anthony M. Holden, retired, is a well known and highly respected citizen 
of Union City and a veteran of the Civil War. He was born in Rockdale 
Township, Crawford County, Pa., July 14, 1844, the son of Stephen and 
Sarah (Boyd) Holden, natives of Pennsylvania. They were the parents 
of three children: Anthony M., Adelaide B., deceased, and Lydia Jane, 
the widow of Frank Bethune, lives in Erie. 

Anthony M. Holden was reared and educated in the public schools 
of his birthplace and when a young man was employed as a farm hand, 
receiving a salary of §17 per month. At the outbreak of the civil war 
he enlisted in Company B, 211th Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, under 



History of Erie County 1047 

Captain McLane. After the close of the war Mr. Holden returned to Craw- 
ford County and lived there until 1868, when he came to Erie County and 
settled at Union City. He owned and conducted a farm of 75 acres and 
specialized in dairy farming. 

On Jan. 1, 1869, Mr. Holden was united in marriage with Miss Esther 
Jarvis, of Crawford County, Pa., and the daughter of John and Martha 
(Kelley) Jarvis. Two children were born to this union: Bert A., lives in 
Union City; and Beryl L., married George Fullerton, lives in Erie. Mrs. 
Holden died Jan. 16, 1875. 

Mr. Holden is a stanch Republican, and cast his first vote for Lincoln 
in 1864. He met President Lincoln personally at the capitol in Washing- 
ton, and recalls the courteous manner and kindly nature of the great Civil 
War president. Mr. Holden is a member of the Presbyterian Church and 
belongs to the Grand Army of the Republic. He is a man who stands 
well in the esteem of his neighbors and fellow citizens. 

Frank F. Metzger, who is connected with the Shreve Chair Company 
of Union City, is among Erie County's substantial and entei-prising citi- 
zens. He was born in Union City, Aug. 3, 1884, and is the son of Daniel 
and Catherine Eva (Detz) Metzger. 

Daniel Metzger was born in Germany as was his wife. They were early 
settlers of Cleveland, Ohio, and later removed to Union City, where they 
lived during the remainder of their lives. There were six children in the 
Metzger family, all of whom are deceased except Frank F., the subject of 
this sketch, and a brother, Charles. Mr. Metzger died July 22, 1902, and 
his wife died April 4, 1910. They are buried in Evergreen Cemetery, 
Union City. 

Frank F. Metzger grew up in Union City and received his education in 
the public schools. His first business venture was in the employ of the 
Shreve Chair Company, with whom he has been identified for 18 years. 
He is stock clerk. 

On Aug. 26, 1919, Mr. Metzger was united in marriage with Miss Helen 
Louise Davis, a native of LeBoeuf Township, Erie County, born Sept. 7, 
1886, and the daughter of Edgar C. and Jennie L. (Bacon) Davis, natives 
of New York and Pennsylvania, respectively. When a young man Mr. 
Davis settled in LeBoeuf Township, where he engaged in farming. In 
1891 he removed to Union City, where he became superintendent of tlie 
Caflisch Planing Mills. His wife died May 5, 1922. They nad four chil- 



1048 History of Erie County 

dren: Mrs. Metzger; Charles Orville, deceased; Clara R., married L. J. 
Hodgins, professor of electrical engineering, College Park, Maryland; and 
Floyd Chester, deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. Metzger has been born a son, 
Floyd Edgar, born May 10, 1922. Before her marriage, Mrs. Metzger was 
a teacher in the Union City schools for 12 years. 

Politically, Mr. Metzger is a Republican. He holds membership in the 
Methodist Church and belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 
He has been a member of the Coleman Band continuously for 25 years. 
Both Mr. and Mrs. Metzger are highly esteemed members of their com- 
munity. 

LeRoy Search is well and favorably known in Erie County, where he 
is serving as county detective. He was born at Koonsville, Pa., Nov. 12, 
1890, the son of Thomas R. and Cordelia Helen (Koons) Search. 

Thomas R. Search was born in Luzerne County, Pa., in February, 
1862, and his wife was also a native of that county, born in 1860. He 
served as foreman for the West End Coal Company at Mocanaqua, Pa., 
for 15 years and in 1900 established the Search Milling Company. Mr. 
Search now lives retired at Shickshinny, Pa. His wife died Jan. 21, 1910, 
and is buried at Shickshinny, Pa. They had three sons : LeRoy, the sub- 
ject of this sketch ; Rush S., married Edith Felter of Wilkes Barre, Pa., 
and they live at Waverly, N. Y., where he is connected with the Lehigh 
Valley Railroad; and Harry K., married Stelle Sprague of Wilkes Barre, 
Pa., and they live at Wilkes Barre, Pa., where he is connected with the 
Luzerne County Gas & Electric Company. 

LeRoy Search was reared and educated in Luzerne County. He was 
a student in the public schools of Wilkes Barre, Mocanaqua, and in 1908 
was graduated from Shickshinny High School. When a boy he worked at 
various occupations, was employed by a doctor and later was chauffeur 
for Judge J. P. Woodward. In 1912 he entered the automobile business 
and was agent for the Packard and Chalmers automobiles at Willces 
Barre, Pa. In 1915 he became a member of the Pennsylvania State Con- 
stabulary and served with Troop D, located at Butler, Pa. After a year in 
the service he was appointed a corporal and eight months later was made 
sergeant. During the World War Mr. Search served as an investigator of 
crime and pro-German propaganda. In January, 1924, he received a four- 
year leave of absence without pay from the government and was ap- 
pointed county detective by M. Levant Davis for a period of four years. 




LE ROY SEARCH 



History of Erie County 1049 

He is thoroughly capable in his work and has already established a fine 
record.. 

On June 3, 1920, Mr. Search was married to Miss Inez McLean Kess- 
ler, of North East, Pa. 

In politics Mr. Search is identified with the Republican party. He 
and his wife are members of the Presbyterian church. 

Charles S. Shaw, justice of the peace, and well known business man of 
Waterford, is among the highly esteemed citizens of Erie County. He 
was born at Waterford, Nov. 3, 1877, and is the son of A. P. and Mary 
(Waggoner) Shaw. 

A. P. Shaw, deceased, was a native of Crawford County and an early 
settler of Waterford, where he engaged in the produce business for many 
years. He was the only Democrat who ever served as burgess of Water- 
ford and he also served as a member of the school board and council. He 
was identified with the Episcopal Church and belonged to the Masonic 
Lodge. Mr. Shaw died in 1916, and is buried in Waterford Cemetery. His 
widow resides at Waterford with her son, Charles S. A daughter, Hattie, 
lives in Erie. 

Charles S. Shaw was educated in the public schools, attended Grove 
City College and Kenyon College, Gambier, Ohio. He was employed as a 
bookkeeper for several years and in 1912 engaged in the insurance busi- 
ness at Waterford. Since 1914 he has been justice of the peace. 

In politics Mr. Shaw is identified with the Democratic party and he is 
a member of the Episcopal Church. He is a reliable man in his community 
and is favorably known. 

Rev. Mortimer S. Ashton, rector of Emmanuel Episcopal Church of 
Corry, is an influential and highly esteemed citizen of Erie County. He 
was bom at Haverstraw, N. Y., Oct. 30, 1882, and is the son of Rev. 
Amos T. and Amelia H. (Sill) Ashton. 

Rev. Amos T. Ashton, a native of Providence, R. I., received his edu- 
cation at Brown University and the Theological Seminary of New York, 
from which he received his degree in 1875. For 20 years he was rector 
of the Episcopal Church of Hyde Park, N. Y. He died Jan 10, 1911, and 
his wife died May 20, 1914. They are buried at Hyde Park, N. Y. To 
them the following children were born: Margaret A., lives with her broth- 
er; Lenora S., Hves in New York City; Mortimer S., the subject of this 



1050 History of Erie County 

sketch ; and Rev. Frederick T., rector of Christ Church, Greenville, Dela., 
married Elizabeth Van Winckle, and they have two children : Thomas and 
AmeHa. 

Reverend Mortimer S. Ashton received his early education in New 
York and was graduated from Trinity School there, St. Stephen's College, 
and from the Theological Seminary of New York in 1907. He was then 
appointed rector of Zion Church, Morris, New York, where he remained 
until Oct. 1, 1918, when he came to Corry to accept the rectorship of Em- 
manuel Episcopal Church. On July 20th, 1920, he was appointed chaplain 
of the 112th Inf. (P.N. G.). 

Reverend Ashton is identified with the Masonic Lodge. He is well 
known and has many friends throughout Erie County. 

Oliver M, Sloan, cashier of the National Bank of Girard, is a reliable 
and successful business man of Erie County. He was born at Emlenton, 
Venango County, Pa., March 20, 1864, and is the son of Harvey and Sarah 
(Cornelius) Sloan. 

Harvey Sloan was a native of Butler County, Pa., and an early settler 
of Venango County. He was a well known tailor of Emlenton, and died 
in 1886. His wife, a native of Union County, Pa., died in 1922. They were 
the parents of the following children: Elmer E., engaged in the insurance 
business at Emlenton; Oliver M., the subject of this sketch; Minnie, Lewis, 
and Edward, all deceased. 

Oliver M. Sloan was educated in the public schools of his birthplace 
and when a young man was employed as a drug clerk and later as a tele- 
graph operator for the Western Union Company. For one year he served 
as bookkeeper for the Emlenton Gas, Light & Fuel Company, 11 years as 
teller and assistant cashier of First National Bank of Emlenton, after 
which he was associated with the Pittsburgh Savings & Trust Company. 
He has been identified with the National Bank of Girard as cashier since 
its organization in 1904. 

On Oct. 23, 1895, Mr. Sloan was united in marriage with Miss Mattie 
E. Crawford, of Butler County, Pa., and the daughter of William C. and 
Lucinda (Gibson) Crawford, both deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Sloan have a 
daughter, Dorothy C, who is employed as a stenographer in the Highland 
National Bank, Pittsburgh. 

The National Bank of Girard was organized Aug. 22, 1904, with the 
following officers: H. G. Harvey, president; J. C. Murphy, first vice presi- 



History of Erie County 1051 

dent; and Oliver M. Sloan, cashier. The directors were: H. G. Harvey, 
J. C. Murphy, J. L. Rawson, John F. Knowles, S. G. Williams, C. Ziesen- 
heim, James R. Andrews, James N. Dunbar, and F. L. Andrews. The pres- 
ent officers are: W. F. Andrews, president; J. C. Murphy, vice president; 
and Oliver M. Sloan, cashier. The directors are: W. F. Andrews, J. C. 
Murphy, W. M. Culbertson, S. G. Wilhams, G. H. Rilling, Glen McClelland, 
and Oliver M. Sloan. The National Bank of Girard, which is among the 
dependable and leading banking institutions of the county, has increased 
its deposits from $2,000, at the time of its organization, in 1904, to 
$1,000,000, in 1925. A new and beautiful bank building is being erected at 
Main and Wall Streets. 

Mr. Sloan is a Republican, a member of the Presbyterian Church and 
belongs to the Masonic Lodge. 

Harry O. Woodard, manager of the Erie County Telephone Company 
at Waterford, is a member of a prominent pioneer family of Erie County. 
He was born at Waterford, Sept. 8, 1874, and is the son of Anson H. and 
Emma (Whitney) Woodard. 

Anson H. Woodard was a native of New York who settled at Waterford 
in 1858. He entered the employ of the Pennsylvania Railroad as tele- 
graph operator and station agent and during the Civil War had complete 
charge of the Western Union Telegraph system here. He was a Republi- 
can, a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church and served as school 
director. He died Aug. 2, 1900, and is buried in the Waterford cemetery. 
His wife, a native of Milford, N. H., lives with her son, Harry 0. There 
were three children in the Woodard family: Morse, deceased; Harry 0., 
the subject of this sketch ; and Ethel, married Joseph L. Frailey, the owner 
of 1500 acres of land in Kansas and Missouri, where he is extensively en- 
gaged in raising wheat. 

Harry 0. Woodard has always lived at Waterford. He was educated 
in Waterford Academy and when a young man learned the printer's trade, 
which he followed successfully for 12 years in the employ of the Water- 
ford Leader News. He has been local manager of the Erie County Tele- 
phone Company since 1904. 

Mr. Woodard is a Republican, a member of the Episcopal Church and, 
belongs to the Masonic Lodge and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 
He is an upright and industrious man and is held in high regard in his 
community. 



1052 History of Erie County 

Walter Hess, superintendent of schools at Waterford, is a veteran of 
the World War. He was born in Lancaster County, Pa., Oct. 16, 1895, and 
is the son of Jacob and Susan (Lawrence) Hess. 

Jacob Hess, a prosperous farmer, of Lancaster County, Pa., is a native 
of that county, as is his wife. They had two children: Walter, the sub- 
ject of this sketch; and Mabel, deceased. 

After completing his early education, Walter Hess attended Millers- 
ville State Normal School, and in June, 1923, was graduated from Pennsyl- 
vania State College, after which he came to Waterford as superintendent 
of schools. He was also connected with the schools of Bucks County, Pa. 

During the World War Mr. Hess was inducted into service and sent to 
Camp Meade, Md., as a member of Company F, 304th Engineers. He 
served overseas for more than a year and participated in many important 
battles of the war. He was discharged July 30, 1919. 

On June 12, 1923, Mr. Hess was married to Miss Mary Rice, a native 
of Adams County, Pa., and the daughter of Clayton Rice. There are five 
children in the Rice family: Luther, a farmer, Adams County; Alma, 
a teacher, at Saxtons River, Vt. ; George, deceased ; Mrs. Hess ; and Edwin, 
lives in Adams County. Before her marriage, Mrs. Hess was a teacher. 

Mr. Hess is a Republican, a member of the Presbyterian Church and 
belongs to the Masonic Lodge. He is held in high regard thi'oughout the 
community and is an excellent citizen. 

Dr. Vere K. Worster is among the prominent young physicians and sur- 
geons of Erie County, and is successfully engaged in the pi'actice of his 
profession at Waterford. He was born at Gardenville, N. Y., April 15, 
1895, and is the son of Frederick A. and Ella D. (Woodruff) Worster. 

Frederick A. Worster was born at Ripley, N. Y., and his wife is a na- 
tive of Pennsylvania. They settled at Edinboro, Pa., many years ago, 
where Mr. Worster engaged in fanning. He is a Republican, and a mem- 
ber of the Methodist Episcopal Church and belongs to the Masonic Lodge. 
Mr. and Mrs. Worster, who now live retired, have four children: Ethel, 
married Whittier Horn, lives at Stillwater, Pa. ; LeVieve, married Elton 
Cram, lives at Akron, Ohio; Vere K., the subject of this sketch; and 
Dorothy, a high school teacher. Union City. 

Dr. Vere K. Worster received his early education in the public schools 
and was graduated from Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia, in 1920. 
The following year he engaged in the practice of his profession at Water- 



History of Erie County 1053 

ford in the offices of Doctor Rowe Woodruff, who died Aug. 28, 1921. Doc- 
tor Worster succeeded to his entire practice. He also conducts a private 
hospital at Waterford, which is among the most modern and up to date 
institutions of its kind in this section. 

On July 28, 1921, Dr. Worster was united in marriage with Miss Wini- 
fred Cornell, a native of Corning, N. Y., and a daughter of George and Ella 
(Holly) Cornell, residents of Corning, and the parents of the following 
children: Ruth, married James Taggart, lives in Cleveland; Clyde, lives 
in Corning ; and Arthur, at home. Doctor and Mrs. Worster have a daugh- 
ter, Patricia, born April 24, 1924. 

Doctor Worster is a Republican, and belongs to the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows. He is a substantial citizen of his community and a prog- 
ressive man in his profession. 

William C. Kibler, who has served as assistant cashier of the R. S. 
Battles Bank of Girard for 54 years, ranks among the pioneer bankers 
and highly esteemed business men of Erie County. He was born at Girard, 
Feb. 15, 1854, and is the son of Frederick and Eva (Heckman) Kibler. 

Frederick Kibler came to this country from Germany during the early 
days and settled at Bucyrus, Ohio. Later he removed to Girard, where 
he became a successful merchant. To Mr. and Mrs. Kibler, now deceased, 
were born 10 children, as follows: Frederick S., a Civil War veteran, de- 
ceased; John B., a Civil War veteran, lives retired at Girard; Chris, a 
Civil War veteran, deceased ; Henry, was a soldier in the Civil War, and 
died at Paducah while in the service ; Jacob, who was engaged in business 
at Girard for many years, now deceased; Dr. Charles B., prominent phy- 
sician of Corry, Pa. ; Caroline Louise, the widow of Elsen Blakeslee, lives 
at Seattle, Wash. ; George W., engaged in the mercantile business at 
Girard; Wilham C, the subject of this sketch; and Frank, lives in Girard. 

William C. Kibler has spent his entire life in Girard and was educated 
in the public schools. He has been identified with the R. S. Battles Bank 
since 1871 in the capacity of assistant cashier. This institution was or- 
ganized in 1859 under the firm name of Battles & Webster and dissolved 
in 1876. It has since been known as the R. S. Battles Bank. Mr. Battles 
died in 1904. He organized the Citizens National Bank of Corry and was 
a leading business man of Erie County during his Hfe. The R. S. Battles 
Bank, which is the oldest and one of the most dependable banking institu- 
tions in the county, is privately owned. Mr. Kibler has various business 



1054 History of Erie County 

interests and is secretary and treasurer of the Erie City Manufacturing 
Company, president of the Erie Casket Company, and secretary of the 
Climax Manufacturing Company of Corry. 

Mr. Kibler was married first in 1882 to Miss Sophia Croft, a native 
of Girard, and to them three children were born : William F., who has been 
connected with the R. S. Battles Bank as a bookkeeper since 1900 ; Edward 
A., also a bookkeeper with this institution, is a World War veteran, having 
served in France with the 3rd Division; and Lloyd W., associated with 
the Erie Casket Company, is also a World War veteran. Several years 
after the death of his wife, Mr. Kibler was married to Miss Ellen A. Petti- 
bone, of Girai-d. To this union two sons were born. Charles P., was born 
1898. He died while in service during the World War, Nov. 1, 1918, and is 
buried at Girard; Richard G., born in January, 1906, and is attending 
college. 

Mr. Kibler is identified with the Republican party and is one of the 
oldest members of the Masonic Lodge at Girard. 

Dr. Fred C. Hart, a successful physician of Girard, was born at Brook- 
lyn, N. Y., Sept. 11, 1862, and is the son of Clinton and Olivia (Ailing) 
Hart. 

Clinton Hart was a native of Hartford, Conn., who at an early age set- 
tled in Brooklyn, N. Y. In 1866 he removed to Cleveland and from there 
to Ashtabula, Ohio. For a number of years he operated a dairy fann at 
Austinburg, Ohio, and owned 142 acres of well improved land. He died 
in 1911 and his wife died in 1916. Mr. Hart was a Republican and a mem- 
ber of the Congregational Church. There were three children in this 
family: Fred C, the subject of this sketch; Mary, lives at Austinburg, 
Ohio; and Louis, an attorney, lives in Chicago. 

Dr. Fred C. Hart was educated in the public schools and was graduated 
from Oberlin College. He received his degree as Doctor of Medicine at 
Western Reserve University, Cleveland, in 1892, and spent the following 
year in that city as house physician at Lakeside Hospital. He began the 
practice of his profession at Fairview, Pa., in 1893, where he remained for 
17 years. He has been located in Girard since 1910 and has a well estab- 
lished practice. 

On May 25, 1893, Dr. Hart was married to Miss Orpha E. Orcutt, a 
native of Austinburg, Ohio, born Aug. 25, 1865, and the daughter of Oran 
and Melana (Winchester) Orcutt, natives of Massachusetts. Mr. Orcutt 



History of Erie County 1055 

was born Aug. 7, 1819, and died Feb. 3, 1882. His wife was boni July 
19, 1824, and died in October, 1896. They had two children: Edith, the 
widow of Fred Miles, lives in Washington ; and Mrs. Hart. To Doctor and 
Mrs. Hart were born three children: Edith M., a graduate of Oberlin 
College, and a teacher before her marriage in May, 1924, to Dale Hatha- 
way, and they live at Chillicothe, Ohio; Fred C, Jr., a student at Grand 
River Institute; and Gilbert Ailing. 

Doctor Hart is identified with the Erie County Medical Society, the 
Pennsylvania State Medical Association and the American Medical Asso- 
ciation. He is a stanch Republican, a member of the Presbyterian Church 
and belongs to the Masonic Lodge and the Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows. Doctor Hart is a capable, energetic, and public spirited man, one 
whose life means much to his community. 

Oscar D. Willcox is among the well liked and successful business men of 
Girard. He was born at North East, Pa., Dec. 3, 1885, and is the son of 
Marcus A. and Melissa (Dawley) Willcox. 

The Willcox family came from Massachusetts to Erie County during 
the early days and settled at North East, where Marcus A. Willcox en- 
gaged successfully in the mercantile business. He died Oct. 5, 1909, and 
is buried at North East. His wife lives with her son in Girard. 

Oscar D. Willcox attended the public schools of Jamestown, N. Y., where 
his family lived for several years. He also attended Allegheny College and 
worked at his trade as a toolmaker. For six years he was a railway con- 
ductor on the Jamestown & Lake Erie Railroad, after which he was con- 
nected with the General Electric Company as a toolmaker. In 1918 Mr. 
Willcox came to Girard and established the Girai'd Steel Stamping Com- 
pany, which has developed into a leading industry of the city. He manu- 
factures steel stamps and has a well equipped factory. 

On Sept. 3, 1908, Mr. Willcox was united in marriage with Miss Ger- 
trude Malmm, a native of Sweden, born Dec. 11, 1887, and the daughter 
of John and Adeline (Peterson) Malmm. Mr. Malmm died Dec. 3, 1907, and 
his widow lives at Jamestown, N. Y. They had seven children: Mrs. Will- 
cox; Ruth, married Charles Firth, hves at Jamestown, N. Y. ; Henry; 
Albert, a World War veteran, lives at Jamestown, N. Y. ; Minnie, at home ; 
and three children died in infancy. Mr. and Mrs. Willcox have no children. 

Mr. Willcox is a Republican and has served as justice of the peace at 
Girard since November, 1922. He is a member of the Presbyterian church 
and is favorably known in the community in which he lives. 



1056 History of Erie County 

John A. Becker is a prominent citizen and successful business man 
of Erie. He was born at the same address where his business is now 
located, Oct. 19, 1871, and is the son of John and Pauline (Gerhleim) 
Becker. 

John Becker, deceased, was a native of Germany, born in 1835. At 
the age of 17 years he came to America with his parents and settled in 
Erie, where he became a tile and brick manufacturer. He established a 
shoe business in 1892, which is now owned by his son. Mr. Becker died 
in 1921 at the age of 86 years and is buried in Trinity Cemetery. He 
was a member of St. Michael's Catholic Church and a leading citizen of 
his time. His wife, also a native of Germany, came here with her parents 
when she was nine years of age. Her father, John G«rhleim, owned a 
large brick yard in Erie for many years. She died in 1901 at the age of 
66 years. To Mr. and Mrs. Becker four children were born, as follows: 
Elizabeth, a dressmaker, lives at 415 West 10th Street; John A., the 
subject of this sketch; Anna, married Peter Emling, lives at 415 West 
10th Street; and one child died in infancy. 

John A. Becker grew up in Erie and attended the public schools. 
When a young boy he engaged in the shoe business with his father, where 
he has since remained. Mr. Becker carries a high-grade line of shoes and 
has one of the finest shops in the city, located at 418 West 18th Street. 
The family residence is in the rear of the store. 

Mr. Becker was united in marriage with Miss Delia Ford, the daugh- 
ter of Jerry and Catherine (Lang) Ford, well known pioneers of Erie, 
and a compete sketch of whom appears under the name of Richard E. 
Ford elsewhere in this history. Mr. and Mrs. Becker have no children. 

In politics Mr. Becker is identified with the Republican party. He is 
a member of St. Michael's Catholic Church and belongs to the Elks and 
Moose lodges. Mr. and Mrs. Becker are highly esteemed citizens and 
have many friends throughout the county. 

Thomas J. Rick, justice of the peace, is a well known and highly es- 
teemed citizen of Girard. He was born in Fairview Tovraship, Erie Coun- 
ty, June 4, 1862, and is the son of Michael and Elizabeth (McLaughlin) 
Rick. 

Michael Rick, deceased, was a veteran of the Civil War. He was born 
in Germany, and in 1835 came to the United States with his parents and 
settled on a farm in Fairview Township, Erie County, where he remained 




JOHN A. BECKER 



History of Erie County 1057 

until 1905, at which time he retired. He died in 1918, and is buried at 
Girard. Mr. Rick was a Democrat and a member of the Catholic Church. 
His wife, a native of Erie County, died March 17, 1905. Mr. and Mrs. 
Rick had six children, as follows : Mary A., deceased, was a school teacher 
in Erie County for 22 years; John A., lives at Girard; Thomas J., the sub- 
ject of this sketch ; Charles E., lives in Kansas City, Mo. ; William G., 
lives at Girard ; and Jennie E., deceased. 

Thomas J. Rick attended the public schools of Erie County, Edinboro 
State Normal School, and Cumberland University in Tennessee, where he 
studied law. He began the practice of his profession in St. Louis, but 16 
years later removed to Girard, where he has since lived. He has served as 
justice of the peace for 14 years. 

In 1884 Mr. Rick was married to Miss Agnes Colt, a native of Clinton, 
Mo., born Oct. 11, 1862. She died Dec. 22, 1885, leaving a son, Michael, 
who is also deceased. 

Mr. Rick is a Democrat and a member of the Catholic Church. 

F. A. Lloyd, who is successfully engaged in the general insurance busi- 
ness in Girard, was born in Waterford, Erie County, May 21, 1856, and is 
the son of Watts B. and Sarah (Middleton) Lloyd. 

Watts B. Lloyd was born in Schoharie County, N. Y., April 8, 1807, and 
settled in Erie County in 1840. He was a general farmer and stockman 
and improved 170 acres of land in Waterford Township. He served as a 
minister of the Methodist Church during the early part of his life and was 
pastor of the Methodist Church at Girard for several years. Mr. Lloyd 
was a Democrat and held many township offices. He died October 4, 1874, 
and his wife, who was born in Erie County, July 26, 1808, died Sept. 12, 
1888. Mr. and Mrs. Lloyd were the parents of the following children: 
Wesley P., bom Feb. 22, 1833, was a Civil War veteran and is deceased ; 
Rev. Sylvester W., born Jan. 31, 1837, a minister of the Methodist Church, 
lives retired in California and is 88 years of age; Emily, boni June 26, 
1844, the widow of Patrick Hamilton, lives in California; Milton E., born 
May 13, 1839, lives at Rock Island, 111. ; Melvina, born Oct. 31, 1846, de- 
ceased; Mary Ann, deceased; John Clark, born March 5, 1851, deceased; 
and F. A., the subject of this sketch. 

F. A. Lloyd was reared on his father's farm and educated in the dis- 
trict schools. He began life as a painter and decorator and worked at this 
trade continuously for 37 years. In November, 1912, Mr. Lloyd was elect- 
(67) 



1058 History of Erie County 

ed justice of the peace at Girard and sei-ved efficiently in this office until 
1924. He is now notary public and also an insurance dealer. He served 
as township assessor for eight years and as assessor of the borough of 
Gii-ard for 20 consecutive years. 

On Aug. 20, 1879, Mr. Lloyd was united in marriage with Miss Nellie 
A. Eaton, a native of Franklin Township, Erie County, born Sept. 30, 1856, 
and the daughter of Hiram and Mary Eaton. To Mr. and Mrs. Lloyd three 
children were bom: Clark A., born July 18, 1881, held a government po- 
sition at Yuma, Ariz., until his death, Feb. 15, 1924; Laura Pearl, born 
Oct. 18, 1884, married Charles C. Barron, an extensive farmer in Idaho; 
and Carl R., born Nov. 4, 1887, connected with the main office of the Car- 
negie Steel Company at Youngstown, Ohio, married Miss Hazel George, 
of North Girard, Pa., and they have two children, Betty Jane and Doro- 
thy. Mr. Lloyd is a World War veteran, having enlisted with the Marine 
Corps at San Francisco, Calif. He studied government wireless work and 
was sent to Honolulu and later to China, where he remained for two and 
one-half years. He re-enlisted and was sent to France with the Marines 
and later transferred to the 27th Division. Mr. Lloyd was seriously 
wounded and gassed while in action and discharged from service March 
15, 1919. 

Mr. Lloyd is a Republican, a member of the Methodist Church, and 
belongs to the Masonic lodge and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 

William M. Culbertson, a well known citizen of Girard, who is exten- 
sively interested in Erie County, is a member of the Culbertson family, 
which has been conspicuous in Erie County and Pennsylvania for three 
generations. He was born in Covington, Ky., Nov. 30, 1859, and is the 
son of Hon. William C. and Margaret (Alexander) Culbertson. 

Hon. William C. Culbertson, deceased, was one of the foremost citizens 
of Erie County during his life. He was born in Edinboro, Pa., Nov. 27, 
1825, the son of Andrew Columbus and Margaret Culbertson. In 1795 
William Culbertson, great grandfather of W. M., came to Erie County 
and purchased a large tract of land from the Holland Land Company, in 
the vicinity of the present site of Edinboro, part of which he afterwards 
disposed of to his brothers and others. Two years later he brought his 
family to their new home. Thus it will be seen that the Culbertson fam- 
ily were among the sturdy pioneers who took the initial steps in convert- 
ing the unbroken wilderness of Northwestern Pennsylvania into what is 



History of Erie County 1059 

now one of the most beautiful and productive sections of the country. 
Andrew Columbus Culbertson was born in VVilliamsport, Pa., June 29, 
1795, and was but two years old when brought to Erie County. His son, 
Wilham C, received his education in the public schools and remained 
with his father until 21 years of age, and then engaged in business for 
himself. He began lumbering on the Allegheny River in Jefferson County, 
Pa., and in Kentucky, his mill and sash, door and blind factory being 
located at Covington, Ky., where he resided and made his headquarters. 
In 1863 he removed to Girard, where he spent the remainder of his life. 
He died May 24, 1906. In 1866 Mr. Culbertson went to Michigan and 
began the purchase of large tracts of timber, which he continued until 
he had purchased over 62,000 acres in Michigan and Wisconsin. The 
Girard Lumber Company was organized in 1881, with headquarters at 
Menominee, Mich., and this business is still in operation. Mr. Culbert- 
son's interests were so extensive and distributed as to be almost impos- 
sible of description or estimation, yet in all these undertakings he was 
universally successful. Among the self made men of northwestern Penn- 
sylvania who had achieved success by their own individual efforts he 
stood high. In politics Mr. Culbertson was a stanch Republican and in 
1888 was elected to congress. Mr. Culbertson was maixied to Miss Mar- 
garet Alexander, a daughter of the late Dr. James A. Alexander of War- 
ren County, Pa. She died May 4, 1902. To Mr. and Mrs. Culbertson the 
following children were born: Cordelia A., died in 1922; Kate E., lives 
in Pasadena, Cal. ; James A., died in 1917; Belle, deceased, Feb. 15, 1913, 
was the wife of Frank May, who lives at Pasadena, Cal.; Margaret, who 
died in September, 1924; W. M., the subject of this sketch; Charles B., 
lives in Pasadena; and Archibald, who died June 17, 1883. 

W. M. Culbertson attended the public schools of Girard and Edinboro 
State Normal School. At an early age he engaged in the lumber busi- 
ness with his father at Covington, Ky., and later conducted a milling busi- 
ness at Girard, and for last 15 years he has been engaged extensively in 
the manufacture of cement at Baltimore. Mr. Culbertson is a director of 
the National Bank of Girard and is actively interested in many important 
business enterprises in Erie County. He owns a farm of 1,025 acres in 
Crawford and Erie Counties. 

In August, 1880, Mr. Culbertson was married to Miss Florence Nece, 
who was born in Girard, May 27, 1860, the daughter of Josiah and An- 
nabel (Kirkpatrick) Nece, who were the parents of the following chil- 



1060 History of Ekie County 

dren: Anna, deceased, was the wife of A. J. Thompson; Katherine, mar- 
ried C. R. Jones, lives retired at Girard; Mrs. Culbertson; Lillian, lives 
at Bancroft, Neb.; and Ella, deceased, was married to Charles Railsback, 
lived in Omaha, Neb. To Mr. and Mrs. W. M. Culbertson five children 
were born: Anabel, married William S. Taft, a well known educator of 
Harrisburg, Pa.; James, a contractor, lives at Girard, is a World War 
veteran; William C, an employe of the Erie Malleable Iron Works, lives 
in Erie, and is a veteran of the World War, having served as a captain; 
Florence, married H. C. Young, assistant to the vice president of the 
Bell Telephone Company, Philadelphia; and Margaret, who Hves at home. 
Mr. Culbertson is a Republican, a member of the Presbyterian church 
and a 32nd degree Mason. 

Frank Marshall Drew, retired, is among the excellent and highly es- 
teemed citizens of Erie County. He resides in Girard. Mr. Drew was 
born in New York City, June 30, 1852, and is the son of Frank N. and 
Louise (Magness) Drew. 

Frank N. Drew was prominent in the theatrical world for many years 
and was related to the well known Drew family, from which Ethel Barry- 
more is descended. He was born in Ireland in 1830, near Dublin, and after 
coming to America settled in Philadelphia and later in New York City, 
where he spent many years in theatrical work. He died in February, 1903, 
and is buried in the Girard Cemetery. His wife died in 1878. She was the 
daughter of Nathaniel Magness, who settled in Maryland in 1589. To Mr. 
and Mrs. Drew two children were born: Frank Marshall, the subject of 
this sketch ; and John, who is engaged in the real estate business in Seattle, 
Wash. 

Frank Marshall Drew received his education in the schools of New 
York and attended a military academy. He became interested in the 
theatrical profession at an early age and traveled with the Barnum Circus 
for nine years also. Mr. Drew has lived retired here since 1923. 

Mr. Drew was married first on Feb. 16, 1876, to Miss Kate Drury, who 
was born at Girard in 1854, and died in May, 1888. Three children were 
born to them: William N., born July 29, 1879, was a theatrical manager, 
died in 1911 ; George M., born Nov. 8, 1881, lives at Wheeling, W. Va. ; and 
Frank D., born July 5, 1885, who is associated with the William Fox Film 
Corporation, Detroit, Mich. Mr. Drew was married June 19, 1889, to 
Miss Blanche Cornelia Collard, a native of Brownstown, Mich., born Nov. 



History of Erie County 1061 

22, 1858, and the daughter of John Harmon and Martha Mary (Long) 
Collard, deceased. They were the parents of the following children: 
Alice W., married Chandler Wells, lives retired at Wyandotte, Mich.; 
Emma R., married George Vrooman, both deceased; George, deceased; 
Ada C, married Charles Worden, lives retired in Michigan; Mrs. Drew; 
Grace, the widow of Robert Campbell, lives in California; and Martha 
Jane, married Wilmer Evans, lives retired in Michigan. Mr. Collard died 
in 1875 and his wife died in 1865. To Frank Marshall and Blanche Cor- 
nelia (Collard) Drew were born three children: Emma B., born May 3, 
1896, married Amory Haskell, lives in Pittsburgh; Robert W., born Jan. 
3, 1899, lives at Toledo, Ohio, where he is connected with the William Fox 
Film Corporation. He is a World War veteran who during his service in 
the navy qualified as a sharpshooter and was stationed at Wissahicken 
Barracks, Cape May, N. J.; and Arthur C, an expert mechanician, bom 
Aug. 6, 1901, lives at home. 

Mr. Drew is a Republican, a member of the Presbyterian church, and 
belongs to the Masonic lodge, the Elks and the Eagles. Both he and his 
wife take an active interest in the affairs of their community and have a 
wide acquaintance in Erie County. 

Frederick X. Bowman is a prominent citizen and substantial business 
man of Girard, where he is connected with the West Ridge Transportation 
Company. He was born in Fairview Township, Erie County, Oct. 13, 1886, 
and is the son of Joseph and Hannah (Leube) Bowman. 

The Bowman family settled in McKean Township, Erie County, many 
years ago. Joseph Bowman was born here and has spent his entire life 
in this county and now lives retired at McKean. During his active busi- 
ness career he engaged in real estate. His wife died Nov. 12, 1911. Mr. 
and Mrs. Bowman had one son, F. X., the subject of this sketch. 

F. X. Bowman was educated in the public and high schools of North 
East and in 1905 entered the employ of the Erie Transit Company, with 
whom he remained for 13 years. For a number of years he was super- 
intendent of this business. In 1918 Mr. Bowman became connected with 
the Pennsylvania state highway department, and in 1923 he organized the 
West Ridge Transportation Company, which he manages. He owns real 
estate in the city of Erie and Girard. 

On April 28, 1915, Mr. Bowman was married to Miss Gladys Tan-, of 
Crawford County, Pa., and the daughter of John and Maude (O'Dell) Tarr, 



1062 History of Erie County 

residents of Crawford County. They have a son, John Joseph, born May 
23, 1924. 

Politically Mr. Bowman is a Republican, and he is identified with the 
Masonic Lodge. Both Mr. and Mrs. Bowman have a wide acquaintance in 
Erie County and are highly esteemed. 

Samuel G. Williams, the well known and capable postmaster of Girard, 
was born in Warren County, Pa., Feb. 5, 1861. 

Mr. Williams received his education in the public schools of his native 
county and at an early age engaged in the mercantile business there. A 
number of years ago he removed to Erie County and settled at Girard, 
where he continued as a merchant until 1918, when he retired from active 
business. He was appointed postmaster of Girard in April, 1923, during 
President Harding's administration. 

Samuel G. Williams was married to Miss Rosa Green, a native of For- 
est County, Pa., and the daughter of James and Mary (Brown) Green, 
natives of Pennsylvania, and both now deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. Wil- 
liams four children were born: James Lawrence, a jeweler, Girard; Ray- 
mond, lives in New Jersey; Rose, married Everett S. Waidle, lives in Cleve- 
land ; and Frances, lives at home, was a nurse during the World War and 
in service. 

In politics Mr. Williams is identified with the Republican party and he 
is a member of the Methodist Church. He is an industrious and capable 
man, and has the esteem of his fellow citizens throughout the county. He 
served as postmaster in Venango County, Pa., 14 years. 

Carl M. Drury, well known as the efficient assistant cashier of the 
National Bank of Girard, is a native of Erie County. He was born in 
Girard Township, July 13, 1883, and is the son of Elijah L. and Kittie A. 
(Wood) Drury. 

Elijah L. Drury, who lives retired at Girard, is a highly esteemed 
citizen of his community. He was born in this township and during his 
active career engaged in general farming. His wife is also a native of 
Erie County. Mr. Drury is a Republican and has held many township 
offices. He holds membership in the Universalist church. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Drury three children were bom. Carl M., the subject of this sketch; 
Mary A., a teacher, lives at home; and Helen, was graduated from the 
State Normal School in 1925. 



History of Erie County 1063 

After attending the public and high schools of Girard, Carl M. Drury 
entered Edinboro State Normal School, from which he was graduated in 
1902. He then taught school for one year, after which he became as- 
sociated with the Packard Automobile Company. The next year he cama 
to Girard as seci'etaiy to W. C. Culbertson. In 1904 Mr. Drury became 
connected with the National Bank of Girard as assistant cashier, in which 
capacity he has since served. He is also treasurer of the Girard Develop- 
ment Company. 

On June 26, 1907, Mr. Drury was married to Miss Grace L. McCluer, 
of Meadville, Pa., and the daughter of George E. and Anna B. (Scowden) 
McCluer, residents of Pittsburgh and the parents of two daughters: Mrs. 
Drury; and Kathryn, the widow of Stanley Coleman, lives in Pittsburgh. 
To Mr. and Mrs. Drury have been born two children: C. McCluer, born 
May 5, 1914; and Kathryn A., born Feb. 3, 1916. 

Mr. Drury is a stanch Republican and has served as president of the 
city council for a number of years and is treasurer of the Chamber of 
Commerce. He is affiliated with the Masonic lodge and has always taken 
an active interest in all community affairs. 

The National Bank of Gii-ard was organized Aug. 22, 1904, with the 
following officers : H. G. Harvey, president ; J. C. Murphy, first vice presi- 
dent ; Oliver M. Sloan, cashier ; and Carl M. Drury, assistant cashier. The 
directors were: H. G. Harvey, J. C. Murphy, J. L. Rawson, John F. 
Knowles, S. G. Williams, C. Ziesenheim, James R. Andrews, James N. 
Dunbar, and F. L. Andrews. The present officers are: W. F. Andrews, 
president; J. C. Mui-phy, vice president; Oliver M. Sloan, cashier; and 
Carl M. Drury, assistant cashier. 

Guenther G. Von der Groben, who now lives retired at Girard, was for 
many years connected with Central High School at Erie as professor of 
modern languages. He was born at Koenigsberg, East Prussia, Nov. 18, 
1854, the son of Gustave and Therese (Von Wegnern) Von der Groben. 

Gustave Von der Groben served in the German army for years as a 
major. He was born at Ludwigsdorf, Prussia, in 1800, and died in 1880. 
His wife died in 1860. There were two children: Guenther G., the sub- 
ject of this sketch; and Elimar, a major in the German army who died 
in 1900. 

Guenther G. Von der Groben received his education in the schools of 
his native land and in 1889 went to St. John, N. B., and later to Halifax, 



1064 History of Erie County 

N. S. In 1895 he came to this country and located in Erie where he was 
connected with Central High School as a professor of French and German 
until the time of his retirement in 1921. He has since lived retired in 
Girard. Mr. Von der Groben owns 250 acres of forest land near Kane, 
Pa., as well as city property in Girard, Wesleyville and Erie. 

On July 15, 1896, Mr. Von der Groben was united in marriage with 
Miss Margaret Caroline Oellers, a native of Mainz, Germany. Mrs. Von 
der Groben died Jan. 23, 1923, and is buried in the Girard Cemetery. To 
Mr. and Mrs. Von der Groben a son was born, Guenther Jr., born May 6, 
1897. He is connected with the Carnegie Steel Company at Youngstown, 
Ohio. He was married to Miss Anna May Henry, a native of Waterford, 
Pa., and they have a son, Donald Henry, born Jan. 1, 1925. 

Mr. Von der Groben is a Republican and a member of the Lutheran 
church. He is highly esteemed and widely known. 

Dr. Carl Blaine Lininger, who ranks among the capable physicians and 
surgeons of Erie, is a veteran of the World War. He was born at Beaver 
Center, Pa., Jan. 8, 1884, and is the son of Evi and Dora (Mowery) 
Lininger. 

Evi Lininger was born at Greenville, Pa., Dec. 11, 1853, and has fol- 
lowed general farming during his entire life. His wife is also a native of 
that place, born July 31, 1859. Mr. and Mrs. Lininger were the parents 
of five children, as follows: Bessie Maloney, lives at Hollywood, Cal.; 
Edna McGuire, lives in California; Dr. Carl Blaine, the subject of this 
sketch; Ward J., lives in Missouri; and Ethel Nichols, lives at Spring- 
boro, Pa. 

Dr. Carl Blaine Lininger attended the public and high schools of 
Beaver Center, Pa., and after his graduation in 1901 he entered Edinboro 
College, where he remained two years. He received his degree of Doctor 
of Medicine at the Cleveland Homeopathic College in 1911, and was 
located in the Rochester (N. Y.) Homeopathic Hospital the following 
year. In October, 1912, Doctor Lininger began the practice of his profes- 
sion in Erie, where he has since been located with the exception of the 
period of the World War. He was commissioned a first lieutenant in the 
medical corps and stationed at Fort Oglethorpe for six weeks, after which 
he was transferred to Camp Meade for one year. He went overseas with 
the Seventy-ninth Division and was in active service at the front until the 
close of the war, and later was with the Army of Occupation. Doctor 




"Z^^^m: ^^:^.<^^<Ly ^2^^^^,^^^:.^^ 



History of Erie County 1065 

Lininger was honorably discharged June 10, 1919, and returned to Erie, 
where he has an excellent practice. He is located at 517 East Avenue. 

On Oct. 28, 1914, Doctor Lininger was united in marriage with Miss 
Florence Fries, of Erie, and the daughter of Frank and Elizabeth (Luke) 
Fries. Mrs. Lininger was born Oct. 15, 1893, and died Dec. 15, 1918, 
leaving a daughter, Florence Lininger, who was born Dec. 8, 1918. 

Doctor Lininger is identified with the American Institute of Home- 
opathy and the Pennsylvania State Homeopathic Medical Society. He is 
a member of the University Club and belongs to the Knights of Pythias 
and Elks Lodge. He is one of Erie's representative citizens and is a 
progressive man in his profession. 

Clifton R. Kirkland is among the leading and dependable business men 
of Girard. He is a native of Girard Township, Erie County, born Nov. 
17, 1874, and the son of Carlton C. and Sophia (Graves) Kirkland. 

Carlton C. Kirkland and his wife were natives of Girard Township and 
spent their entire lives in this vicinity. He was an extensive grain farmer 
and owned 55 acres of well improved land. Mr. Kirkland served during 
the Civil War with Company H, 99th Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry. 
He died Dec. 24, 1909, and his wife died in 1913. They had four children: 
Nellie, married Frank Switzer, both deceased; Lou M., the widow of 
Myron Silverthorn, lives at Aiken, S. C. ; Clifton R., the subject of this 
sketch; and W. Reid, lives at Aiken, S. C. 

Clifton R. Kirkland was educated in the schools of Girard Township 
and when a young man engaged in the lumber business for six years. He 
was later connected with the Westinghouse Electric Company at Alle- 
gheny, Pa., and in 1907 removed to Girard where he established his pres- 
ent business. Mr. Kirkland handles a complete line of builders supplies, 
lumber, and coal, and has an extensive business throughout Erie County. 
J. D. Murphy of Erie is Mr. Kirkland's business partner. 

On April 14, 1897, Mr. Kirkland was united in marriage with Miss 
Mattie 0. Sawdey, a native of West Mill Creek, born Oct. 8, 1875, and the 
daughter of Garrison and Mary (Spicer) Sawdey, natives of Erie County 
and both now deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Kirkland have two children: Flor- 
ence S., a graduate nurse connected with Hamot Hospital, Erie ; and Carl- 
ton G., who was graduated from Girard High School in 1925. 

Mr. Kirkland is a member of the Presbyterian church and belongs to 
the Masonic lodge and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He is a 
Republican. 



1066 History of Erie County 

Christopher H. Rilling, who lives retired at Girard, is a prominent 
citizen of Erie County and for many years was identified with the agri- 
cultural interests of Pennsylvania. He was born in Mill Creek Township, 
Erie County, April 3, 1851, and is the son of Christopher and Elizabeth 
(Ackerman) Rilling. 

Both Christopher Rilling and his wife were natives of Germany. He 
was born Feb. 7, 1820. In 1834 when his son was 14 years of age, Stephen 
Rilling, grandfather of C. H., emigrated with his family to the United 
States, coming direct to Erie County and locating on a farm just south 
of Erie. Stephen Rilling was a millwright by trade and erected many of 
the old mills of Erie County. He died in 1866 and his wife died a number 
of years before him. Christopher Rilling became a leading citizen of 
Mill Creek Township and farmed 200 acres of land. He died July 11, 
1909, and his wife died July 18th of the same year. They were the 
parents of the following children: Elizabeth, deceased; Mary, deceased; 
C. H., the subject of this sketch; Susan, the widow of Fred Porsch, lives 
in Erie ; John S., a pi'ominent attorney of Erie ; Charles, engaged in the 
insurance business in Chicago ; William, deceased ; Frank, deceased ; Clara, 
married Percy Meyers, lives in Erie; Lillian, lives in Erie; Emil, lives 
in Erie; Alice, deceased; and Harriet, deceased. 

C. H. Rilling received his education in the schools of Mill Creek Town- 
ship, and remained on the home farm for six years, after which he pur- 
chased 112 acres of land in Girard Township. He became an extensive 
grain farmer and remained on the same place in Girard Township until 
1908, when he removed to his fine home in Girard, where he has since 
lived. 

On March 25, 1875, Mr. Rilling was united in marriage with Miss 
Cassie Wolf, of Mill Creek Township, born Sept. 19, 1852, and the daugh- 
ter of Elam and Leah (Heidler) Wolf. Mr. Wolf was born in Erie 
County, July 24, 1830, and died Feb. 24, 1868. His wife was born March 
23, 1834, and died Aug. 6, 1880. They were both natives of Erie County 
and the parents of the following children: Mrs. Rilling; Matilda, married 
George Wagner, both deceased; Jacob, a farmer, Fairview Township, 
Erie County; Ida, married Lee Milner, lives retired in Erie; Eva Anna, 
married George Stark, lives in Erie ; Etta, deceased ; Levi, lives on the old 
home place; Frank E., lives at Union City, Pa.; and Elmo, deceased. To 
Mr. and Mrs. Rilling five children wei'e born: Harriet Elizabeth, lives at 
home; Harvey, a farmer, lives on his father's farm; Irvin, at home; 



History of Erie County 1067 

Mae Esther, married Grover C. Beckman, lives in Erie ; and Gale Chester, 
lives at Elk Park, Pa. He served throughout the World War and spent 
more than a year at the front in France. 

Mr. Rilling has been a life long Democrat. He is a member of the 
Presbyterian church and has a wide acquaintance in Erie County. 

Harry Foye, secretary of the Lake Erie Foundry Company, is a promi- 
nent business man of Girard. He was born at Renovo, Pa., Oct. 30, 1874, 
and is the son of Charles and Zorah (Boyle) Foye. 

Charles Foye, deceased, was a veteran of the Civil War. He was a na- 
tive of Philadelphia and at an early date removed to Renovo, Clinton 
County, where he worked at his trade as a carpenter. Later he went to 
Nebraska where he engaged in general farming until his death in March, 
1922. He was buried at Girard and his wife resides in Cleveland with 
her daughter. Mr. Foye enlisted for service during the Civil War in 
Philadelphia and served with the 47th Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry. 
After his term of three years expired he reenlisted and served until the 
close of the war. Mr. Foye enlisted as a drummer boy but soon traded 
his drum for a musket. A piece of the regimental flag which was saved 
at the battle of Cedar Creek is now in his son's possession. Mr. Foye was 
a Republican, a member of the Presbyterian church and belonged to the 
Grand Army of the Republic. There were five children born to Mr. and 
Mrs. Foye as follows : Edward, a fruit farmer, lives at North East, Pa. ; 
George, lives in Erie;. Harry, the subject of this sketch; Mary, died in 
infancy; and Cora, married Allen Blee, who is connected with the Amer- 
ican Shipbuilding Company, Cleveland. 

Harry Foye spent his boyhood at Renovo and after completing his 
early education attended a business college in Erie. He came to Girard 
in 1900 and in 1904 became associated with the Lake Erie Foundry Com- 
pany as a shipping clerk. He has served as secretary since the reorganiza- 
tion of the company in 1920. 

The Lake Erie Foundry Company is among the leading industries of 
Girard. Its officers are: John A. Zurn, Erie, president; John Schneider, 
Erie, vice president; William C. Schaffer, Girard, treasurer and manager; 
Harry Foye, secretary; and William Kohler, Girard, superintendent. 

On Sept. 20, 1897, Mr. Foye was married to Miss Mary Vesber, a 
native of Erie, born Sept. 9, 1879, and the daughter of Charles and Fran- 
ces Vesber. Mr. Vesber is deceased and his widow resides in Erie. Mr. 



1068 History of Erie County 

and Mrs. Foye have two sons: Ralph, boni July 3, 1898, engaged in the 
automobile business at Toledo, Ohio, is a veteran of the World War; and 
Frank, born Jan. 11, 1909, a student. 

Mr. Foye is a Republican and has served as the secretary of the 
borough of Girard for 18 years. He is a member of the Chamber of 
Commerce and during the World War was identified with the local draft 
board. He is a highly respected citizen and the Foye family is repre- 
sentative of the best citizenship of Erie County. 

James M. Morrison, who lives retired at Girard, is among the promi- 
nent and highly esteemed citizens of Erie County. He was born in Wash- 
ington Township, Erie County, April 3, 1849, and is the son of Robert 
and Jane (Dodds) Morrison. 

Robert Morrison was born in Belfast, Ireland, and his wife was a native 
of Edinburgh, Scotland. He studied law and medicine in his native land 
and in 1835 came to this country and settled near Edinboro, Pa. Later, 
he became a land agent at Meadville, surveying and platting out large 
sections of land in that section. He died in 1850 and his wife died in 
1891. They were the parents of the following children: James, Mary, 
Ann, Margaret, Jane, John, all deceased; Walter, lives retired at Edin- 
boro, Pa.; and James M., the subject of this sketch. 

James M. Morrison was educated in the public schools of Edinboro 
and attended Edinboro State Normal School, from which he was gradu- 
ated in 1876. He began life working as a farm hand and received five 
dollars per month for his services. Later he engaged in teaching and 
for 42 years was a widely known educator of Pennsylvania. Mr. Morri- 
son was a member of the faculty of Edinboro State Normal School for 
17 years, was principal of the Girard schools for five years, and for six years 
served as superintendent of Erie County schools. Since his retirement, 
Mr. Morrison has made his home in Girard. 

On June 24, 1884, Mr. Morrison was married to Miss Ada Thomp- 
son, born at Girard, March 9, 1858, and the daughter of J. C. and Caro- 
line Thompson, natives of New Hampshire. Mr. Thompson died Jan. 5, 
1900, and his wife died in 1891. They had seven children: Mary, the 
widow of M. N. Cutter, lives at Girard ; Henry A., lives retired at Omaha, 
Neb. ; Ella, deceased ; A. J., lives at Bancroft, Neb. ; Mrs. Morrison ; and 
Chandler, deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. Morrison were born two sons: 
Guy C, bom in 1887, a manufacturer, lives at North Girard; and J. 



History of Erie County 1069 

Marcus, born in 1898, engaged in the insurance business. North Girard. 
There are two grandchildren: Esther Jean, born in 1918; and James 
Marcus, born in 1921. 

Mr. Morrison is identified with the Repubhcan party in poHtics, is a 
member of the Presbyterian church, and belongs to the Masonic lodge. 
He is a citizen of material worth to his community. 

Allen C. Van Camp, retired, is among the prominent pioneer citizens of 
Girard, where he has spent his entire life. He was born Jan. 16, 1852, 
and is the son of Mortimer and Harriet (Anderson) Van Camp. 

The Van Camp family settled in Erie County at an early date, having 
come here from New York. Mortimer Van Camp owned and operated a 
saw mill at Girard for a number of years and died in 1854. His wife died 
in 1869. Allen C, the subject of this sketch, was their only child. 

After completing his schooling in the district schools, Allen C. Van 
Camp learned the harness making trade. He conducted a shop in Girard 
for 36 years and was a reliable and successful business man. 

On June 11, 1880, Mr. Van Camp was married to Miss Stella Cooper, 
of Girard, Pa., born June 9, 1858, and the daughter of William J. and 
Mary A. (White) Cooper, natives of New York and both now deceased. 
Mr. Cooper served during the Civil War and was a member of the Grand 
Army of the Republic. He was a Democrat and a member of the Baptist 
church. He died in 1911 and his wife died Nov. 23, 1909. Mr. and Mrs. 
Van Camp had no children. 

Mr. Van Camp is a Republican and a member of the Methodist Epis- 
copal church. 

Eben J. Gunnison is a successful young business man of Erie County 
and is identified with Gunnison Bros. Inc., of Girard. He was born in 
Erie, Jan. 21, 1890, and is the son of Rolla and Anne (Sisson) Gunnison. 

The Gunnison family ranks among the prominent pioneer families of 
this section of Pennsylvania. Rolla Gunnison, a native of Erie, became 
interested in the tannery at Girard many years ago, which was owned 
by Judge U. P. Rossiter's father and later by George Plumber. He was 
successful in his business venture and became one of the prosperous busi- 
ness men of Girard. He died July 24, 1916, and is buried in the Erie 
Cemetery. His widow, a native of Erie County, resides at Girard. There 
were three sons born to Mr. and Mrs. Gunnison: Boyd, Eben J., and Gor- 



1070 History of Erie County 

don, all of whom are associated together in business at Girard. Gordon 
Gunnison is a veteran of the World War. He served as a member of the 
transport service and made many trips to France during the war period. 

Eben J. Gunnison was educated in the public schools of Erie and at- 
tended Pratt Institute, Brooklyn, N. Y. In 1910 he became associated 
in business with his father and since the latter's death the sons have been 
sole owners of the business, which is among the leading tanneries of 
Pennsylvania. 

On Oct. 10, 1914, Mr. Gunnison was united in marriage with Miss 
Julia VanDeusen, a native of New York, and a daughter of J. E. and Ella 
(Hooker) Van Deusen, residents of Gowanda, N. Y., and the parents of 
the following children: Harry and George, who hve in Buifalo, N. Y. ; 
Ward, lives in Los Angeles, Cal. ; Mrs. Gunnison; and Doris, who lives at 
home. To Mr. and Mrs. Gunnison have been bom two children: Doris 
Betsy, born Nov. 9, 1915; and Rolla Harry, born March 4, 1918. 

Mr. Gunnison is a Republican and has held several public oifices. He 
is a member of the Universalist church and belongs to the Masonic lodge. 
The Gunnison family stands high in the community and have many 
friends and acquaintances. 

James Lawrence Williams is a veteran of the World War and one of 
Girard's enterprising and successful business men. He was born at East 
Hickory, Pa., Aug. 4, 1884, and is the son of Samuel G. and Rose (Green) 
Williams. 

Samuel G. Williams, well known postmaster of Girard, was born in 
Warren County, Pa., Feb. 5, 1861, and is a son of Otis Williams. He was 
appointed postmaster at Girard in April, 1923. To Mr. and Mrs. Williams 
four children were born: James Lawrence, the subject of this sketch; 
Raymond, lives in New Jersey; Rose, married Everett S. Widlar, lives in 
Cleveland; and Frances, living at home, was a nurse during the World 
War. 

James Lawrence Williams attended the public schools of Girard. In 
April, 1924, he established his present jewelry business here, after be- 
ing in the employ of several business firms. 

In September, 1918, Mr. Williams became connected with the Y. M. 
C. A. and served throughout the World War in that branch of the service.. 
He was sent to Springfield, Mass., and later to New York City and Wash- 
ington, D. C. He served at Camp Humphries, Va., and Washington Bar- 



History of Erie County 1071 

racks, Washington, D. C. He was instructor of auto mechanics for two 
years with the Veterans' Bureau. He was connected with the Walter 
Reed Hospital. He was discharged Jan. 1, 1920. 

On Aug. 7, 1920, Mr. Williams was united in marriage with Miss 
Freida C. Eggers, who was born at Chippewa Falls, Pa., in 1894, and the 
daughter of Herman and Sophia (Schmidt) Eggei's, natives of Gennany 
and residents of Wisconsin. 

Mr. Williams is a Republican, a member of the Methodist Episcopal 
church, and belongs to the Masonic lodge and the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows. He has many friends and acquaintances in Erie County 
and is well liked. 

James Miller Smith, superintendent of the Northwestern Electric Ser- 
vice Company, is among the substantial and well known citizens of Girard. 
He was born here, Jan. 15, 1883, and is the son of Eugene and Caroline 
(Miller) Smith. 

Eugene Smith, deceased, settled in Erie Countj in 1840 and engaged 
in farming in Girard Township. Later, he was interested in the coal 
business in Girard. He was a Republican and a member of the Presby- 
terian church. He died in 1919. Mr. Smith was married first to Jessie 
Coughey, a native of Fairview Township, Erie County, who died in 1874. 
To them the following children were born: Margaret, the widow of C. 
B. WilHs, a farmer, and she lives in Girard; Mary, the widow of Thomas 
Morehead, lives in Cleveland; George C, lives in Girard; and Frank, de- 
ceased. Later, Mr. Smith was married to Miss Caroline Miller, and to 
them four children were born: Maude, lives in Girard; James Miller, the 
subject of this sketch; B. H., deceased; and Marie, married William 
Yeager, who is connected with the Dispatch Printing & Engraving Com- 
pany, Erie. 

James Miller Smith was reared and educated in Girard and after at- 
tending the schools here took a business course in the Erie Business Col- 
lege. He was employed by the Cleveland & Erie Railroad Company for 
sixteen years and since 1920 has been connected with the Northwestern 
Electric Service Company as local superintendent. 

On Sept. 3, 1908, Mr. Smith was married to Miss May Haddock, a 
native of Pittsburgh, born March 17, 1889, and a daughter of Theophilus 
and Alice (Greenhouse) Haddock, natives of England, and early settlers 
of Girard. Mr. Haddock died in 1910 and his widow resides in Cleveland. 



1072 History of Erie County 

They had five children.: Mrs. Smith ; Gertrude, married A. W. Miller, lives 
in Cleveland; Irene, married B. L. Peterson, lives in Cleveland; John, and 
Theophilus, both residents of Cleveland. Mr. and Mrs. Smith have a son, 
Robert, born Oct. 7, 1914. 

Mr. Smith is a Republican, a member of the Universalist church and 
belongs to the Masonic lodge. 

Henry M. Riblet, deceased, was a prominent and highly esteemed 
citizen of Erie. He was born in this city, at the corner of 11th and 
Holland streets, Nov. 6, 1845, and was the son of Jonathan and Sophia 
(Fluke) Riblet. He was the grandson of Michael and Elizabeth (Eber- 
sole) Riblet and John and Elizabeth (Fluke) Fluke. 

Henry M. Riblet was educated in the public schools of Erie and also 
Erie Academy, from which he was graduated in 1864. During the period 
from December, 1860, until the fall of 1864, he worked in the shop of his 
father, who was a cabinet-maker, until he had acquired a thorough under- 
standing of the cabinet-maker's trade, which it had been his good fortune 
to supplement with a reasonable knowledge of the cai-penter and builder's 
trade. On the 3rd day of October, 1864, when nearly 19 years of age, 
he entered the office of Gunnison & McCreary, attroneys of Erie, as a law 
student, pursuing his studies with them continuously except for a period 
of four months in the winter of 1866-7, when he taught the district school 
in the Love District of Millcreek Township, Erie County. He was ad- 
mitted to the bar of Erie County, Oct. 3, 1867, and immediately entered 
upon the practice of his profession, locating on the third floor of building 
No. 1523 Peach Street. Reasonable success attended his efforts as a 
practicing attorney and on Nov. 19th of that year, Mr. Riblet was united 
in marriage with Miss Pauline Hayes Carpenter, second daughter of James 
M. and Pauline Blue (Hayes) Carpenter, who perished off Manistee, Mich., 
in a storm on Lake Michigan on the morning of Nov. 4, 1869. The body of 
Captain Carpenter not being recovered, the mother was buried in the 
Painesville (Ohio) Cemetery, Nov. 17, 1869. On the 5th day of December 
following, Henry M. Riblet and his wife established a home on East 11th 
Street, Erie, where, on the 19th of October, 1861, their only child, a 
daughter, was born. Their home was continued at this place until March 
27, 1876, when they removed to a farm in West Millcreek, Millcreek Town- 
ship, Erie County, where they continued to reside together until the death 
of the wife on May 25, 1879. She was buried in the cemetery in the city 




HENTIY M. RIBLET 



History of Erie County 1073 

of Erie, May 27, 1879. Mr. Riblet continued to maintain his home on the 
farm, and on March 30, 1881, was married to Miss Gertrude Agnes, second 
daughter of Charles, Jr., and Mary (Daggett) Gaillard, mention to whom 
is made below. 

Charles Gaillard, Sr., came to Fairview, Erie County, from Lancaster 
County, Pa., in June 1830, and settled on a farm. About 1860 he removed 
to the town of Fairview and served as justice of the peace for many years. 
He had four sons: Charles, Jr., Jerome, John, and Theodore, and one 
daughter, Elizabeth. The only living male member of the Gaillard family 
in Erie County is John Gaillard, son of John Gaillard, of Fairview. Charles, 
Jr., was married to Mary Daggett, who was born Feb. 25, 1838. He died 
at Artesia, Cal., and she died in Erie. Gertrude Agnes (Gaillard) Riblet 
was born in Fairview Township, Erie County, Nov. 11, 1860. On June 14, 
1882, a son was born to Mr. and Mrs. Riblet, who was named Charles 
Gaillard Riblet. He died Nov. 9, 1883, and is buried in Erie Cemetery. 
On Dec. 1, 1883, Mr. Riblet and his family removed to Erie, occupying 
the premises at 144 East 8th Street, which continues up to the present 
time to be their home. Here, on May 6, 1884, was born to them a 
daughter, who received the name of Mary Gertrude Riblet, and who ex- 
pired on the 6th day of October, following. She is buried in Erie Ceme- 
tery. On Aug. 12, 1885, a son was born, Harry Gaillard Riblet, mention 
of whom is made below. On the 1st of June, 1870, Henry M. Riblet re- 
moved his office to 1519 Peach Street, where he remained until the 1st 
of April, 1872, when he removed to 1606 Peach Street. In this office he 
remained until the first day of October, 1878, when he removed to the 
corner of 13th and Peach streets, where he continued until March 30, 
1894. He then removed and for the last time, to the corner of 11th and 
Holland streets. He died March 6, 1921, and is buried in Erie Cemetery. 

Harry Gaillard Riblet was graduated from Allegheny College in 1910, 
where he studied civil engineering. He was married Oct. 1, 1912, to Miss 
Ida L. Baldwin, of Erie, and they have three children: Henry J., born 
July 21, 1913, a student at Gridley High School; Frances Gertrude, born 
April 24, 1915, a student at Jones School; and Helen B., born Oct. 17, 
1922. Mr. Riblet is a member of the Masonic Lodge and belongs to the 
University Club. 

Mrs. Henry M. Riblet is a member of the First Methodist Episcopal 
Church, and belongs to the Women's Club and the Y. W. C. A. She has 
always taken an active interest in church and club work and has an 
(68) 



1074 History of Erie County 

extensive acquaintance in the city of Erie, where she has spent so 
many years. 

The Riblet family, which is among the oldest in the county, settled 
here in 1802, when John Riblet came here from Maryland with his family 
of five children and his sister, Mary Zuck. In 1779 he had married Cath- 
erine Keiber and to them two sons were born, John, Jr., and Michael. 
Mr. Riblet settled and improved a tract of 200 acres in Harbor Creek 
Township, Erie County, and built one of the first sawmills in the county. 
He died in 1835 at the age of 80 years and is buried in Erie Cemetery. 

Glenn M. Goss, retired, ranks among the well known and substantial 
citizens of Girard. He was born on a farm in Franklin Township, Erie 
County, Jan. 8, 1870, and is the son of Charles and Ehza (Foltz) Goss. 

Cliarles Goss was a native of Springville, N. Y., who came to Erie 
County in 1868 and settled on a farm in Franklin Township. He be- 
came a prosperous farmer and stockman and owned a well improved farm, 
which is now owned by his son. Mr. Goss died June 5, 1919, and his wife 
died March 29, 1915. They had two children: (1) Nettie, who married 
E. M. Pratt, lives at Girard, and they have two children; Mabel Alice, 
who married George Kuebel, and they live in Erie ; and Marshall G. Pratt, 
who lives in Girard. (2) Glenn M., the subject of this sketch. 

Glenn M. Goss received his education in the public and high schools of 
Girard and attended Grove City Business College. He has always been 
interested in stock raising and specialized in the breeding of 0. I. C. 
Chester White hogs. Since retiring from his farming interests, Mr. Goss 
is extensively engaged in real estate. He still maintains his home on the 
farm where he has spent so many years. 

Politically, Mr. Goss is a Republican. He is a member of the Pres- 
byterian church and a highly esteemed member of his community. He 
is unmarried. 

William C. Schaffer, treasurer and manager of the Lake Erie Foundry 
Company, is an enterprising and successful man of Girard. He was born 
in Erie, July 30, 1870, and is the son of Ferdinand and Catherine (Shur- 
mer) Schaffer. 

Ferdinand Schaffer came to this country from Germany with his 
parents and settled at McKean, Pa. He engaged in general farming in 
Erie County until 1883, when he removed to Albion, Pa., and later to 



History of Erie County 1075 

Ohio. He died in Michigan. Mr. Schaffei- was a Republican and a mem- 
ber of the Lutheran church. There were three children in the Schaffer 
family: William C, the subject of this sketch; Emma, married William 
Hutner, lives in Erie; and Henry, a farmer, lives in Michigan. 

William C. Schaffer was reared and educated in Erie. He learned the 
moulder's trade, which he followed for several years and in 1902 with 
other business men of Girard, he organized the Lake Erie Foundry Com- 
pany, which ranks as one of the well established and substantial busi- 
ness enterprises of Erie County. The officers are: John A. Zurn, Erie, 
president; John Schneider, Erie, vice president; William C. Schaffer, treas- 
urer and manager ; Harry Foye, Girard, secretary ; and William Kohler, 
Girard, superintendent. 

On Dec. 26, 1898, Mr. Schaffer was united in marriage with Miss 
Carrie M. Fisher, of Sharpsville, Pa., born Oct. 5, 1872, and the daughter 
of Conrad and Electa (Hicock) Fisher, both deceased. Mr. Fisher served 
throughout the Civil War and was a member of the Grand Army of the 
Republic. Another daughter, Minnie, married George Straub, and they 
live in Baltimore, Md. To Mr. and Mrs. Schaffer two children were 
born: William, born Dec. 29, 1891, deceased; and Arda May, born Oct. 8, 
1905, lives at home. 

Mr. Schaffer is a Republican, a member of the Methodist church, and 
belongs to the Masonic lodge. He served as mayor of Girard for two 
terms and is a representative citizen of the community in which he lives. 

George J. Veith is an enterprising and progressive citizen of Girard, 
where he is engaged in threshing and also operates a saw mill. He is a 
native of this county, born July 20, 1870, and the son of Jacob and Mary 
(Voultz) Veith. 

Jacob Veith was born in McKean Township, Erie County, and was a 
millwright by trade. He died Aug. 27, 1897, and his wife, a native of 
Germany, died March 2, 1914. They had seven children: Frank, Henry, 
Edward, Emily, all deceased; Kate, deceased, was the wife of Henry 
Kuhl; George J., the subject of this sketch; and Leonard. 

George J. Veith grew up on a fann in Fairview Township and at- 
tended the district schools. He engaged in dairy farming for 10 years 
and has since operated a threshing machine, coming to Girard in 1906. 

Mr. Veith was married to Miss Ocea 0. McKee, a native of Mill Creek 
Township, born in January, 1872, and the daughter of John and Sarah C. 



1076 History of Erie County 

(Brown) McKee, natives of Erie County and the parents of the follow- 
ing children: Marilla B., married John F. Henry, lives in Erie; Mary E., 
married J. C. Katzman, associated with the West Ridge Transportation 
Company, Girard; John E., lives at North Girard; Samuel T., lives in 
Fostoria, Ohio; and Mrs. Veith. Mr. McKee served throughout the Civil 
War and died March 26, 1885. His wife died July 5, 1915. Mr. and Mrs. 
Veith have two children: George, born in August, 1897, engaged in busi- 
ness with his father, married Miss Josephine Clayton, of Cranesville, Pa. ; 
and Marie, born July 10, 1899, lives at home. 

Mr. Veith and his family hold membership in the Lutheran church. 
He is a Republican and has served as tax collector in Girard Township 
for three terms. 

Frank Semler, a substantial and well known citizen of Girard, was 
born in the present Semler home in Girard, Dec. 8, 1856, and is the son 
of Jacob and Nancy (Reynolds) Semler. 

Jacob Semler, deceased, was a veteran of the Civil War and a pioneer 
of Erie County. He was born in Germany and after coming to this coun- 
try worked at his trade as a shoemaker. He also owned a farm of 50 
acres in Springfield Township, Erie County, which he improved. Dur- 
ing the Civil War Mr. Semler served with Company A, 15th Regiment of 
Illinois Infantry. At the outbreak of the war he was living at Wood- 
stock, 111. He died Oct. 22, 1908, and his wife, a native of Girard, died 
many years previous. They had three children: Frank, the subject of 
this sketch; Albert, deceased; and Fred, lives in Omaha, Neb. 

Frank Semler attended the schools of Girard and when a young man 
was employed by an uncle at Cambridge, Pa., as a stationary engineer. 
He maintains his residence here but is employed at Gunnison Brothers 
as an engineer. 

On Nov. 3, 1892, Mr. Semler was married to Miss Carrie Strickland, 
a native of Springfield Township, Erie County, born Feb. 10, 1865, and 
the daughter of William and Mary Jane (Cross) Strickland, natives of 
New York and Pennsylvania, respectively. Mr. Strickland died March 
12, 1909, and his wife died March 10, 1868. They had three children: 
Alice, the widow of G. A. Fullerton, lives in Warren County, Pa.; Eva, 
the widow of W. B. Fleet, lives in Pennsylvania ; and Mrs. Semler. By 4 
second marriage Mr. Strickland had a son, Francis, who still operates the 
grist mill on the old homestead in Crawford County, Pa. To Frank and 



History of Erie County 1077 

Carrie (Strickland) Semler three daughters were born: Ruth, married 
Arthur Monroe, engaged in the automobile business at Girard; Mary J., 
lives at Greenville, Pa. ; and Esther, married Nicholas Julio, lives at Fair- 
view, Pa. By a former marriage Mrs. Semler had two children: Mabel, 
married George Snadeker, lives at Cranesville, Pa. ; and Grant Scott, lives 
in Buffalo, N. Y. 

Oliver Cross, great grandfather of Mrs. Semler, came to Erie County 
from Vermont at an early date and homesteaded 300 acres of land in 
Springfield Township. He married Miss Margaret Porter. Their son, 
Jason Cross, was a leading citizen of Erie County during his life and was 
a prosperous farmer. Mrs. Semler is a fourth cousin of Commodore 
Perry. 

Mr. Semler is a Republican and is affiliated with the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows. 

John D. Murray is a leading business man of Girard, where he has 
been identified with the Girard Wrench Manufacturing Company since 
1877. He was born at Mt. Vernon, Knox County, Ohio, Jan. 24, 1853, and 
is the son of Captain James M. and Mary (Colgan) Murray. 

Capt. James M. Murray, a native of Ireland, came to this country 
at an early date and for several years was connected with the Lake Shore 
Railroad as road master at Cleveland. He later removed to Jamestown, 
N. Y., and operated the first passenger boat on Lake Chautauqua, which 
was known as the "C. C. Dennis". He later owned the "Chautauqua". 
Captain Murray was a prominent citizen of Jamestown and held many 
public offices. He and his wife are deceased and buried there. They were 
the parents of six children, as follows: James, deceased; John D., the sub- 
ject of this sketch; Delia, married M. J. Pierce, lives retired at James- 
town, N. Y. ; A. W., lives retired at Jamestown, N. Y. ; Mary, lives at 
Jamestown, N. Y. ; and William, deceased. 

John D. Murray spent his boyhood at Jamestown, N. Y., and was edu- 
cated in the public schools. He learned the machinist's trade in the em- 
ploy of the H. G. Brooks Locomotive Works, Dunkirk, N. Y., and after 
three years came to Erie, where he was associated with the city for five 
years. Since coming to Girard in 1877 Mr. Murray has served as super- 
intendent of the Girard Wrench Manufacturing Company. 

On Dec. 1, 1876, Mr. Murray was united in marriage with Miss Mary 
Tate, who was born in Erie in 1859, the daughter of William and Mary 



1078 History of Erie County 

Tate, natives of Scotland, and both now deceased. Five children were 
born to them, as follows : Mabel, married H. A. McMurray, lives at Green- 
ville, Pa.; William J., employed by the Chandler Motor Company, Cleve- 
land; Mary, the widow of M. J. Crowe, lives with her father in Girard 
and has two children, Virginia, born in 1913, and Helen, born in 1915; 
James, lives in Erie ; and A. R., a World War veteran, lives in Erie. Mrs. 
Murray died Sept. 23, 1923, and is buried at Girard. 

Mr. Murray is a Democrat and a member of the Catholic church. He 
is a man of excellent character, industrious and competent.' 

George Hawkes, president of the First National Bank of North Girard, 
is a prominent citizen of Erie County. He was born at Northamp- 
tonshire, England, near Sulgrare Manor, the home of George Washing- 
ton's ancestors, Nov. 7,- 1862, and is the son of Frederick and Sarah 
(Ward) Hawkes. 

Frederick Hawkes was an extensive farmer and spent his entire life 
in England. He and his wife are now deceased. They were the parents 
of the following children: George, the subject of this sketch; Maurice, 
lives in England ; Elizabeth, the widow of John Clark, lives in Cleveland ; 
Frederick, lives in Dayton, Ohio; Sabrina, married Edwin Stokes, lives 
in England ; Kate, married James Underwood, lives at Rolla, Mo. ; John, 
lives in Dayton, Ohio; and Nellie, married William Parnell, lives in Eng- 
land. 

George Hawkes was reared and educated in England and came to 
the United States in 1890. He lived at Fort Madison, Iowa, for several 
years and for 30 years was identified with the American Fork and Hoe 
Company as a traveling representative. After his retirement he settled 
at North Girard, where he has served as justice of the peace, and presi- 
dent of the Chamber of Commerce. 

The First National Bank of North Girard was organized in February, 
1923, with the following officers: George Hawkes, president; W. J. Mc- 
Maniss, vice president; and Clarke Pain, cashier. The directors are: 
George Hawkes, W. J. McManiss, Glen Way, Carl Hannah, Frank Mc- 
Carty, David Garloch, and R. B. Miller. 

On July 24, 1890, Mr. Hawkes was married to Miss Annie Thackery, 
a native of Huntingdonshire, England, and a daughter of George and 
Susanna (Blench) Thackery, natives of England, and the parents of the 
following children: George, William, and John, all deceased; Susanna, the 



History of Erie County 1079 

widow of Frederick Laughton, lives in England; Philip, deceased; Mary, 
lives in England; Blench, deceased; Mrs. Hawkes; Joseph, and Elizabeth, 
both deceased. Mr. Thackery died Jan. 2, 1882, and his wife died Dec. 
30, 1873. Mr. and Mrs. Hawkes have no children. 

Mr. Hawkes is a Republican, a member of the Episcopal church and 
belongs to the Masonic lodge and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 
He is an influential citizen and stands high in his community. 

Frederick G. Mohring, one of Erie County's most successful fruit 
farmers, is a resident of North Girard. He was born in Erie County, 
June 7, 1876, and is the son of John F. and Katherine (Kauderer) Mohring. 

J. F. Mohring came to this country from Germany in 1873 and settled 
in Pennsylvania, where he engaged in general farming. He now lives re- 
tired in Girard Township. Mr. Mohring is a Republican, a member of 
the Lutheran Church. His wife is also a native of Germany. To Mr. 
and Mrs. Mohring four children were born, two of whom died in infancy. 
The remaining two are F. G., the subject of this sketch; and Charles N., 
a building contractor, lives in Cleveland. 

F. G. Mohring grew up on his father's farm and received his educa- 
tion in the district schools. He began farming on rented land but soon 
became the owner of his present well improved farm of 72 acres in Girard 
Township. A modern residence was built by Mr. Mohring in 1916, which 
is one of the finest homes in this section of the county. He specializes 
in grape culture and is widely known as a successful fruit farmer. 

On March 7, 1899, Mr. Mohring was married to Miss Katherine 
Struchen, a native of Springfield Township, Erie County, born March 21, 
1880, and the daughter of John and Elizabeth (Kramer) Struchen, na- 
tives of Switzerland and Germany, respectively. Mr. Struchen died Aug. 
1, 1891, and his wife died May 20, 1916. They had three children: Mrs. 
Mohring; John, a railroader, lives in Cleveland; and Oscar, a telegrapher, 
lives at Chenango, Pa. To Mr. and Mrs. Mohring two children were 
born: Helen Marie, born Aug. 25, 1900, was graduated from Edinboro 
State Normal School in 1921, now teaching in the public schools in Cleve- 
land, Ohio; and Clyde Frederick, born Sept. 1, 1902, engaged in farming 
with his father. 

Politically, Mr. Mohring is a Republican and he has been township 
assessor. He is a member of the Presbyterian church and is a reliable 
citizen of the community in which he lives. 



1080 History of Erie County 

Hermann Jerome Curtze, who has just celebrated his fiftieth year 
as an attorney in Erie, is known as "the grand old man of the Erie 
County bar." During those 50 years of law practice Attorney Curtze has 
served hundreds of clients, is still active in the profession and is almost 
a daily visitor at the courthouse, most of his work being before Judge 
Henry A. Clark in Orphan's Court. He was born in Erie, Nov. 30, 1847, 
the son of Frederick and Mary Ann (Beckmann) Curtze, the former a 
native of Corbach, Germany, and the latter of Annweiler, Germany. 

Frederick Curtze came to the United States in 1836 and located in 
Erie, May 2, 1840. The Beckmann family came from Germany and set- 
tled in Fairview Township, in 1837. Mr. Curtze was by trade a silver and 
goldsmith. Shortly after his arrival in Erie, he took up the vocation of 
teacher of the German language, and later and for many years, engaged 
in business as a manufacturer of and dealer in oil cloths. He was a 
justice of the peace for 20 years. He died April 14, 1891, and his wife 
died Oct. 25, 1864. 

Hei'mann Jerome Curtze was educated in the city schools and at 
Prof. Hermann Leo's Select School, Erie. He studied bookkeeping at 
Hick's Mercantile College, Buffalo, and returning to Erie was bookkeeper 
for the wholesale firm of Johnson & Brevillier for nearly three years. He 
then went to Europe and completed his education at the gymnasium of 
Corbach, the University of Heidelberg and at the University of Leipsic, 
taking the degree of Doctor of Laws at the former university. Returning 
after an absence of five years to Erie, he studied law under the preceptor- 
ship of Col. Benjamin Grant, was admitted to practice Jan. 4, 1875, was 
for a time in the oflSce of James C. and F. F. Marshall, and has ever since 
been engaged in the practice of his profession alone. 

Mr. Curtze was married June 4, 1878, to Heni'iette Goehling of Brook- 
lyn, N. Y., and a daughter of Rev. Charles and Babetta Goehling. Mr. 
and Mrs. Curtze have had no children but have reared and educated sev- 
eral and have also sent a number of boys through college. 

Mr. Curtze is greatly interested in art and has in his home a number 
of copies of well known oil paintings, among them being: "The Archi- 
tect," a Rembrandt, the original of which hangs in an art gallery at 
Cassel, Germany; a panel representing the progress made by the Univer- 
sity of Heidelberg on its 300th anniversary, by Professor Keller. The 
original is 30 ft. long, containing life-size figures and hangs in the Uni- 
versity of Heidelberg. Mr. Curtze's copy, made by Arthur W. Woelle, is 




HKRMANN J. CURTZE 



History of Erie County 1081 

3x7 feet; "The Penitent Magdalene," a Battoni; "Lavinia," by Titian, an 
Italian head, the original being made 500 years ago and now in the Berlin 
galleries; "The Wash by the Moor," by Kraus, painted by him for the 
Kaiser, and which hung in his private collection ; "An Inn Scene," made by 
Teniers in the 15th century; "With Grandmother," by Artz; "Ricks Mill 
Scene," by Ruisdael; "The Fisher Maid," by LeFevere; "The Good Shep- 
herd," and the "Madonna," by Murillo, the originals of which hang in the 
royal galleries at Vienna and Berlin. Mr. Curtze also has in his possession 
a number of fine marbles, among them being "Beatrice and Scienza," by 
an Italian artist, who has contributed many rare pieces to the Compo 
Santo at Genoa, Italy ; "Joan of Arc," imported from Venice ; and "Spring- 
time," by Romanelli, of Florence, Italy; "Morning and Night," by Thor- 
waldsen, and "Pauline Borges," by Canova. 

Mr. and Mrs. Curtze are members of St. Luke's Evangelical Lutheran 
Church and have always taken an active interest in all church affairs. 
Mr. Curtze has been treasurer of the Erie County law library for 35 
years and still holds that position. He is president of the Board of Man- 
agers of the Erie Cemetery. 

In January, 1925, in speaking of Mr. Curtze's 50 years of service as 
a member of the Erie County bar, Attorney John B. Brooks spoke as 
follows : "Hermann J. Curtze can well be styled 'the grand old man of the 
Erie County bar.' A quarter of a century ago when I first knew him 
he had been for many years one of the leaders of what was recognized 
to be one of the best bars in the state of Pennsylvania. He is still in 
active service, is still a leader, and stands very high in the estimation of 
this community, not only as a lawyer but as a citizen of the highest type. 
A typical lawyer of the old school, highly educated, cultured, studious, 
industrious, courteous, painstaking and honest, Mr. Curtze early attracted 
clients and for many years has had a large and lucrative practice; being 
recognized as an authority on conveyancing, preparation of wills, and all 
matters pertaining to the Oi-phan's Court and equity practice. By loyalty 
to his clients he has endeared himself to them and by serving them so 
well has been a factor for great good in this community. His manner 
of living is worthy of emulation by all of us, and I sincerely hope that 
for many years to come we will be able to greet Mr. Curtze at the court- 
house and at our gatherings, and be greeted by him in that courteous 
and affable manner for which he is noted." 

Judge Uriah P. Rossiter said of the veteran attorney: "No man at 



1082 History of Erie County 

this or any other bar ever stood higher for integrity, ability and courtesy. 
His exalted ideals of professional ethics, his devotion to his clients and 
his loyalty to the court have been an example for all of us to emulate. 

To Attorney Curtze the practice of law has always been a vehicle 
through which to establish the right, and no matter what his personal 
views as to the wisdom of the law may have been, he has tenaciously 
adhered to the doctrine that the inclinations of the individual are sub- 
ordinate thereto. I hope he continues in life, as he always will in memory, 
as an ideal example of what an attorney ought to be and a judge aspires to 
— a scholar, a lawyer and a genial kindly gentleman, upright, honest, fear- 
less and fair." 

George Whiteman, who ranks among the popular merchants of North 
Girard, was born there June 7, 1888, and is the son of Matthew and 
Frances Emma (Tobin) Whiteman. 

Matthew Whiteman came here from Germany many years ago and 
settled at North Girard, where he was employed by a local hoe and fork 
manufacturer for 40 years continuously. With his wife he lives retired. 
He is a Democrat and a member of the Catholic church. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Whiteman the following children were born: George, the subject of this 
sketch; Mary, married Frank Brobst, lives in Cleveland, and they have 
two children, Mark and Margaret, twins, born Nov. 1, 1921 ; Lawrence 
J., lives at North Girard; Walter W., lives in Erie; Hazel and James, 
both deceased. 

George Whiteman spent his boyhood in North Girard and attended 
the schools of Erie as well as those of his birthplace. He entered the 
employ of an uncle, J. P. Tobin, of Erie, with whom he remained several 
years. In 1910 Mr. Whiteman established his present business in North 
Girard and has an extensive trade. He sells candies, cigars, tobacco, and 
also has a news stand. 

On Sept. 12, 1922, Mr. Whiteman was united in marriage with Miss 
Margaret Arundel, of Erie, and the daughter of William and Grace 
(Dwyer) Arundel, the former a native of Ireland and the latter of Can- 
ada. Mr. and Mrs. Arundel had eight children, as follows: Mary, married 
Charles Emblow, lives in Erie; Kate, married William Fisher, lives in 
Cleveland ; John, lives in Erie ; Mrs. Whiteman ; Grace, married Henry 
Rochin, lives in Erie; Edward, a veteran of the World War, lives in Erie; 
Joseph, served throughout the World War, and after re-enlisting in the 



History of Erie County 1083 

service is now stationed in Ciiina ; and William, deceased. Mr. Arundel 
resides in Erie. His wife died Feb. 26, 1903. 

Mr. Whiteman is a Democrat, a member of the Catholic church and 
belongs to the Knights of Columbus. He has a wide acquaintance in 
Erie County and is a substantial citizen. 

Frank Hopkins, who ranks among the substantial business men of 
North Girard, was born in Girard Township, Erie County, May 4, 1853, 
and is the son of Francis and Lucy Ann (Robertson) Hopkins. 

Both Francis Hopkins and his wife were natives of New York. In 
1848 they settled in Erie County, where he was employed at his trade 
as a carpenter and millwright. To Mr. and Mrs. Hopkins, who -are now 
deceased, the following children were born: Alfred, William, Louise, 
Frank, the subject of this sketch ; and Leslie. All are deceased except 
Frank Hopkins. 

After completing his schooling in the public schools, Frank Hopkins 
entered the employ of the Lake Shore Railroad and later the Nickel Plate 
Railroad. He served as station agent for the latter company at Girard 
for several years and in 1903 engaged in the manufacturing business at 
North Girard. Mr. Hopkins manufactures the American Wall Clothes 
Dryer and has an up-to-date and well equipped factory. 

On June 16, 1875, Mr. Hopkins was united in marriage with Miss Ruby 
Taylor, a native of Girard Township, Erie County, born in 1856, and the 
daughter of E. T. and Eliza (Seeley) Taylor, early settlers of this county 
and both now deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Hopkins have no children. 

Mr. Hopkins is a Republican and has a wide acquaintance in the com- 
munity where he has spent his entire life. 

F. B. McCarty is a reliable and successful business man of North 
Girard, where he is identified with the general merchandise firm of Mc- 
Carty & Gibson. He was born at Crossingville, Crawford County, Pa., 
June 14, 1882, and is the son of Timothy and Margaret (Burns) McCarty. 

Timothy McCarty was a native of Erie County and among the early 
settlers of Crossingville, where he engaged in general farming. He died 
Aug. 18, 1894, and his wife died May 29, 1891. They were the parents of 
the following children: Mary, married Jacob Weithman, lives at North 
Girard; Rev. W. T., lives at Esopus, N. Y. ; F. B., the subject of this 
sketch ; and two children died in infancy. 



1084 History of Erie County 

F. B. McCarty received his education in the public schools of North 
Girard and began life railroading as a fireman for two years. In 1905 
he became interested in the general merchandise business at North Girard 
with L. E. Gibson and their business has developed into one of the thriv- 
ing institutions of this section of Erie County. Mr. McCarty is also a 
director of the National Bank of North Girard. 

Mr. McCarty was married first to Miss Nellie Hilliker, who was born 
at North Girard, June 1, 1884, and to them three children were born: 
Donna, William and Francis, all students. Mrs. McCarty died Oct. 18, 
1910, and is buried at Girard. On August 2, 1911, Mr. McCarty married 
Miss Amy Gibson, a native of Venango, Pa. They have three children: 
James, Catherine and John. 

Mr. McCarty is a Democrat, a member of the Catholic church, and 
belongs to the Knights of Columbus. He is a substantial citizen and favor- 
ably known in Erie County. 

Frank M. Ward, a prosperous farmer of Girard Township, is a mem- 
ber of an old, substantial family of Erie County. He was born in a log 
cabin in Girard Township, Nov. 26, 1855, and is the son of John P. and 
Eunice S. (Bennett) Ward. 

The Ward family has lived in Erie County since 1802. Patrick Ward 
came here from Ireland in that year and located on a farm of 400 acres. 
His son, John K., was the first male child born in this county and he was 
born on this farm in Girard Township. Patrick Ward lived to be 109 
years of age and when 103 years walked from his farm to Girard to cast 
his vote during the presidential election. Edward Ward, another son, 
was the father of John P., father of the subject of this sketch. 

John P. Ward served throughout the Civil War and died in 1900. He 
spent most of his life on the lakes and in later life was employed by the 
Pennsylvania Railroad. He was a Republican, a member of the Presby- 
terian church, and belonged to the Grand Army of the Republic. To Mr. 
and Mrs. John P. Ward the following children wei-e born: Adelbert, a 
Civil War veteran, lives retired at North Girard ; Edward W. died May 17, 
1925; Frank M., the subject of this sketch; Charles and Bennett, both 
deceased. 

Frank M. Ward received his education in the schools of Girard Town- 
ship and attended the North Kingsville, Ohio, High School. He began life 
as a farmer, but soon became interested in the manufacture of concrete 



History of Erie County 1085 

blocks, in which enterprise he engaged for 20 years. He has since lived 
on his farm and engaged successfully in truck gardening. 

Mr. Ward was married first to Miss Lucinda Hassley, on Sept. 22, 
1882. She was born in Erie County, Oct. 20, 1855. To them the follow- 
ing children were born: Clyde, died in infancy; Bennett C, deceased; and 
Ora, deceased. Mrs. Ward died April 3, 1900, and in October, 1906, Mr. 
Ward was married to Miss Delia Stelle, a native of Crawford County, Pa., 
born Jan. 5, 1860. She was educated in the public schools and the State 
Normal School at Edinboro, and is the daughter of A. F. and Garrie 
(Randolph) Stelle, who were the parents of the following children: Al- 
fred, deceased ; Eleanor, the widow of George Scrafford, lives in Denver, 
Colo. ; Adelaide, the widow of Martin L. Davis, lives at Conneautville, Pa. ; 
Mrs. Ward ; Charles, lives in Chicago ; Lucy, lives in Pennsylvania ; and 
Benjamin, deceased. Mr. Stelle died March 6, 1905, and his wife died 
Oct. 20, 1916. Mr. and Mrs. Ward have no children. 

Mr. Ward is a member of the Presbyterian church and belongs to the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He is held in high regard through- 
out the community and is an excellent citizen of Erie County. 

Francis L. Tyrrell, a well known citizen of North Girard, now living 
retired, was born in Hampshire County, Mass., Jan. 14, 1845, the son of 
Izra and Lucy (Lowden) Tyrrell. 

Izra Tyrrell spent his entire life at Plainfield, Mass., and was a pioneer 
manufacturer. To Mr. and Mrs. Tyrrell, deceased, the following children 
were born: Horace, Lowden, Lucy Jane, Augustus, Janice, F. L., the sub- 
ject of this sketch, and Susan. All are deceased except F. L. Tyrrell. 

F. L. Tyrrell was educated in the schools of Plainfield, Mass., and in 
1876 came to Erie County and settled at North Girard. He engaged in 
the grocery business and later the livery business. He then conducted 
a coal business here for 20 years and is now retired. 

In 1875 Mr. Tyrrell was united in marriage with Miss Christina Green, 
of Cattaraugus County, N. Y., born in 1856, and the daughter of Dr. 
John and Sallie (Niles) Green, natives of New Albion, Cattaraugus 
County, N. Y. Mrs. Tyrrell died in August, 1918, leaving a son, Clyde L., 
who is ticket agent for the New York Central Railroad at North Girard. 

Mr. Tyrrell is a Republican and a member of the Congregational 
church. He has an excellent standing in Erie County and is highly re- 
spected. 



1086 History of Erie County 

Lucius 0. Eldredge, a well known and highly respected citizen of North 
Springfield, now living retired, is a veteran of the Civil War. He was bom 
at Nashua, N. H., Oct. 30, 1837, and is the son of Michael Rudolph and 
Relief Lawrence (Hart) Eldredge. 

Michael R. Eldredge was a native of Nashua, N. H., and the son of 
Dr. Micah Eldredge, a prominent pioneer physician and surgeon of 
Nashua. His son, Michael, was a shoemaker by trade and died in 1840. 
His wife, a native of Vermont, died Oct. 1, 1905, and is buried at East 
Springfield, Pa. Two sons wel'e born to Mr. and Mrs. Eldredge: Lucius 
0., the subject of this sketch, and Michael Rudolph, deceased, was a Civil 
War veteran. 

Lucius 0. Eldredge received his education in a log school house at 
Salisbury, N. H., and in September, 1852, came west to Erie County and 
settled at East Springfield. He later lived at Girard, where he was em- 
ployed at his trade as harness maker by John T. Simmons. Mr. Eldredge 
has lived at North Springfield since 1888. He has served as postmaster 
of this village for 15 years, and as justice of the peace for ten years. 

On Aug. 8, 1862, Mr. Eldredge enlisted for service during the Civil 
War with Company D, 145th Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry and was 
in service until the close of the war. He was wounded at the battle of 
Gettysburg. 

Mr. Eldredge was married first on Feb. 1, 1860, to Miss Lucy M. 
Everett, a native of East Springfield, Pa., bom Sept. 1, 1834. She died 
March 17, 1870, leaving four sons: George Clifton, born Nov. 20, 1860, 
died at Pittsburgh, Feb. 13, 1904 ; Charles Gilman, born July 14, 1862, a 
marine engineer, lives in Florida; Herman Elliott, born July 7, 1866, 
editor with the Christian Publishing Company at Dayton, Ohio; and 
Frank Rudolph, born March 2, 1868, died Dec. 6, 1896. 

On Oct. 10, 1871, Mr. Eldredge was married to Miss Harriet Strick- 
land, a native of Cattaraugus County, N. Y., born May 31, 1843, the daugh- 
ter of William and Betsy (Wadsworth) Strickland, natives of England 
and New York, respectively. Mr. and Mrs. Strickland, who settled in 
Erie County in 1848, were the parents of the following children : William, 
deceased; Sarah, married Obediah Allen, both deceased; Mrs. Eldredge; 
John, died June 22, 1925, and is buried at East Springfield, Pa. ; and Cath- 
erine, deceased, was the wife of Andrew Walbridge. To Lucius 0. and 
Harriet (Strickland) Eldredge, five children were born, as follows: Reg- 
inald Morton, born Nov. 3, 1872, lives in Erie ; Gertrude Louise, born Oct. 



History of Erie County 1087 

22, 1877, married Homer Hazden, lives at Lakeview, N. Y. ; William Strick- 
land, boi-n Aug. 8, 1879, is connected with the Commonwealth Edison 
Company, Chicago; Thomas Webster, born March 1, 1882, was killed in 
a railroad accident Sept. 18, 1903; and Elsie May, born March 7, 1886, 
married Ellsworth B. Thayer, an engineer on the Nickel Plate Railroad, 
lives at Conneaut, Ohio. 

Mr. Eldredge is a Republican, a member of the Presbyterian Church, 
and belongs to the Grand Army of the Republic. He ranks as one of the 
dependable citizens of his community. 

John F. Miles represents one of the very earliest families of Erie 
County, and the name which he bears is indelibly traced on the history of 
its pages of this country from early colonial days to the present. William 
Miles, his grandfather, was both a farmer and surveyor, and it was as a 
member of a surveying party under David Watts that he first came to 
Erie County. In 1795 he brought his family here, the family making the 
trip on horseback. He and his brother-in-law were the first white settlers 
here. They located in what is now Concord Township and in 1800 moved 
to what is now Union City, where William Miles farmed and followed 
surveying, and also with pack horses brought in provisions from Pitts- 
burgh to the early settlers. In those early days he built mills to grind 
their corn, and on one occasion with two or three others he walked the 
entire distance to Pittsburgh to vote for one of the early governors. Both 
he and his wife are buried in the Girard Cemetery. 

James Miles, father of the subject of this sketch, was bom in North- 
umberland County, Pa., in 1792, and his wife, Eliza Dunham, was born 
in Crawford County, Pa. In 1828 he left his parents' home and located 
on a farm at the mouth of Elk Creek in Girard Township, and there he 
spent the remainder of his life as an agriculturist, his death occurring in 
March, 1868. His political affiliations were with the Whig party and he 
at one time served as one of the commissioners of Erie County. He was 
also associate judge of his county and held many of the township offices. 
To Mr. and Mrs. Miles the following children were born: Mary J., widow 
of William M. Bell, is deceased; Phineas Dunham, deceased; Julia Marie, 
married John H. Hall, both deceased ; James Miles, deceased ; William W., 
who was killed in the Civil War; Zeruah M., deceased; John F., the sub- 
ject of this sketch ; and Ehza R., married A. S. M. Morgan, both deceased. 

John F. Miles was bom in Girard Township, Jan. 30, 1842. He was ed- 



1088 History of Erie County 

ucated in the district schools and attended Girard Academy, which was 
opened in 1851, and Pennsylvania State College. He has always been ex- 
tensively engaged in general farming and stockraising and owns 800 acres 
of good farm land in Erie County, a mile of which land is located on the 
lake front. Mr. Miles is also interested in real estate. He lives at North 
Springfield. 

On Jan. 28, 1904, Mr. Miles was married to Miss Frances J. Holiday, 
who was born in the present Miles home at North Springfield. She is the 
daughter of Samuel and Elizabeth (Porter) Holiday, natives of Girard 
Township, and parents of the following children: Robert P., a Civil War 
veteran, deceased; Charles C, a Civil War veteran, deceased; WiUiam, 
died in infancy; Dr. Benjamin W., deceased; Susan M., the widow of A. J. 
Thomas, lives at North Springfield; Dr. W. W., deceased; Mrs. Miles; and 
Elizabeth, married William Lee Lord, both deceased. Samuel Holiday, 
who died Nov. 27, 1901, was a son of Samuel and Jeanette (Campbell) 
Holiday, who settled in Erie County in 1796. Mr. and Mrs. Miles have 
no children. 

Mr. Miles is a Republican and a member of the Episcopal Church. 

Alton A. Deming, deceased, was for many years a progressive busi- 
ness man of Erie, and the founder of the A. A. Deming Lumber Company, 
a leading lumber concern in this section of Pennsylvania. He was born 
at Spring Creek, Warren County, Pa., in 1862, and was the son of J. 0. 
and Mary (Johnson) Deming. 

J. 0. Deming and his wife were born, reared and married in Warren 
County, Pa., his birth having occurred in 1829, and she was born in 1844. 
He was a prosperous farmer of his time and a highly esteemed citizen. 
To Mr. and Mrs. Deming were born five children, namely : L. L. ; Alton 
A., the subject of this sketch; C. C; Clair; Mattie; and Addie D., who 
died in 1908, was the wife of John H. Donaldson, of Spring Creek, Pa. 

Alton A. Deming came to Erie immediately after his marriage in 
1889. He soon established a contracting and building business which he 
carried on successfully for 15 years. He then decided to engage in the 
retail lumber business and located his plant at the corner of Buflfalo Road 
and East Avenue. This business increased steadily until Mr. Deming 
found that a larger building and more yard space were necessary to handle 
the trade. Accordingly, in 1912, he erected a large two-story steel and 
concrete warehouse and mill-working plant with a floor space of thirty 




A A DEMING 




MRS A A DEMING 



History of Erie County 1089 

thousand square feet and with an unloading capacity of seven car loads of 
lumber at one time. This building has sufficient floor space to house 
nearly all of the rough and dressed lumber carried in stock and to take 
care of the mill work necessary for the trade. The entire plant is 
equipped with new electrical machinery. Traveling salesmen have stated 
that it is the largest and only storage warehouse of its kind in the retail 
lumber trade in the country. Mr. Deming's success was due to his strict 
personal attention to business and to his ability to secure good and able 
assistance. Mr. George W. Bauschard was for many years Mr. Deming's 
assistant and superintendent. After the death of Mr. Deming, which 
occurred June 11, 1920, Mrs. Deming, to whom was left the entire busi- 
ness, appointed Mr. Bauschard business manager of the firm. The busi- 
ness is now conducted under the name of A. A. Deming Lumber Company. 

On Aug. 5, 1889, Mr. Deming was married to Miss Flora L. Bogue, of 
Jamestown, N. Y., and the daughter of James H. and Polly (Phillips) 
Bogue, of Wattsburg, Pa., whose ancestors trace back to the early 
Colonial days. 

Ever since Mrs. A. A. Deming came to Erie she has been interested 
in social and philanthropic organizations and has been a prominent leader 
in church afl'airs. At one time she organized a Sunday School class of 
269 young men in Wayne Street M. E. Church. She taught these young- 
men for many years and always kept the membership of the class at ap- 
proximately this number. The class had an orchestra of 40 pieces and 
a chorus of 50 voices. 

For several years Mrs. Deming was president of the Ladies' Aid 
Society and, while holding this office, organized the Young Ladies' Aux- 
iliary, which has proved to be of great assistance to the church. It is 
now known as the MacDonald Ladies' Aid Society. Besides these activi- 
ties, Mrs. Deming served as organist of the church and for 25 years she 
was a member of and a soloist in the choir. She was also a member of 
the Epworth League and of the Home and Foreign Missionary Societies. 

Mrs. Deming is an active member of many organizations throughout 
the city and has held such offices as: Worthy Matron of Erie Chapter 
Order of the Eastern Star; Vice-President of the Needlework Guild; 
Member of the Board of Managers of the Old Ladies' Home, of the Home 
for the Friendless, and of the Associated Charities; and also a member 
of the Board of the Cribb's Memorial Home at Conneaut Lake. She 
served as President of the Board of Managers of the Young Women's 
(69) 



1090 History of Erie County 

Christian Association in 1923-24, and during that time assisted in insti- 
tuting the Southeast Center, Y. W. C. A., located at 961-963 Buffalo Road. 
She is in a large measure responsible for the success of this new enter- 
prise. She is a member of the Women's Club, the Erie County League of 
Women Voters, the Republican League of Women Voters, the Business 
and Professional Women's Club, the Altruistic Club, the Frances Willard 
W. C. T. U., the Art Club of Erie, the Daughters of American Colonists, 
and the Erie Chamber of Commerce. 

Besides giving financial support to many organizations in Erie, Mrs. 
Deming has donated generously to colleges and has helped many students 
to complete their college courses. She has recently donated funds for the 
establishment of two memorials, a church in India to be known as the 
James Hubbard Bogue Memorial Church, and a chapel at Lucknow Col- 
lege, to be known as the Bogue-Phillips Memorial. Both the paternal and 
maternal records of Mrs. Deming's family are given here. 

John Bogue, born in 1661 in Glasgow, Scotland, settled in East 
Haddam, Conn., in 1680, and there married Miss Rebecca Walkley. He 
served several terms in the Legislature. His son, James, married Sarah 
Hodge of East Haddam and their son, James, married Eunice Clark of 
Lyme, Conn. Both father and son of these two generations served in 
the Colonial Wars. The children of James and Eunice (Clark) Bogue 
were all born in East Haddam. They were (1) Louisa Ann, (2) Rebecca, 
(3) John, (4) James, (5) Elijah, and (6) Clark. Elijah married Ann 
Loveridge, daughter of Lewis Loveridge, who was the son of an English 
sea captain, born in Boston in 1711, and who later settled in Colchester, 
Conn. Elijah and Ann (Loveridge) Bogue moved to Wheatland, N. Y. 
Their children were: (1) James, married Harriet Stimpson, (2) Eunice, 

married Lathrop, (3) Ruth, (4) Jerius, (5) Elijah Loveridge, 

married Rhoda Ann Brown, (6) Calvin, married Waty Caroline Brown, 
daughter of William and Hannah (Briggs) Brown (and sister of Rhoda 
Ann Brown), (7) Ann, (8) Keziah, (9) Stewart Allen, married Patty 
Totten. 

The children of Calvin and Waty Caroline (Briggs) Brown: (1) 
James Hubbard, married Polly Phillips, daughter of Israel Wesley and 
Polly (Briggs) Phillips. (Polly Briggs was a sister of Hannah Briggs, 
who married William Brown.) James Hubbard married second Miss 
Jeanette Alice Briggs. (2) Francis Philander, married Jeanette Knowl- 
ton, lived in Irving, Kans. (3) Polly, married Moses Moody, residence, 



History of Erie County 1091 

Ottawa, Illinois. (4) George, killed in Civil War, buried at Alexandria, 
Va. ; (5) Caleb, married Sarah Ann McClenathan, residence, Lowville, Pa. 
(6) Naomi, married Timothy Sturdevant, residence, Lowville, Pa. ; (7) 
Mary Jane, married Isaac Phillips, son of Israel Wesley and Polly (Briggs) 
Phillips, residence, Wattsburg, Pa. (8) Ellen Lucretia, married Daniel 
Blakely, residence, Wattsburg, Pa. (9) Lavina, died aged 14 years. 

The children of James Hubbard and Polly (Phillips) Bogue: (1) 
Alvyette, married James Williams, residence, Kansas City; (2) Adelaide, 
married Milton H. Hickey, residence. Clarendon, Pa. ; (3) Lavina, married 
Elmer Carl, residence, Wisconsin; (4) Marion Isaac, married Florice John- 
son, residence, Dakota ; (5) Flora L., married Alton A. Deming, residence, 
Erie, Pa. ; (6) William Arthur, married Christine Jewett, residence. Red- 
ding, Calif.; (7) Martin Henry, married first Emmaline Orpha Parsons, 
second Mabel Esther Mong, residence, Erie, Pa.; (8) Hattie 0., married 
William W. Myers, residence, Mansfield, Mass. The children of James H. 
Bogue by second marriage to Miss Jeanette Alice Briggs: (1) Frederick 

Francis, married Clara , residence, Buena Vista, Pa. ; (2) Ethel 

May, married Frank Oswald, residence. Union City, Pa. 

James H. Bogue, son of Calvin and Waty Caroline (Brown) Bogue, 
was born in Garland, Pa., in 1832. In 1856 he married Polly Phillips, 
daughter of Israel and Polly (Briggs) Phillips, of Lowville, Pa. They 
lived near Lowville until the death of his wife in 1874. Mr. Bogue mar- 
ried second Miss Jeanette Alice Briggs, of Union City, Pa., and lived near 
Union City until his death in 1905. He was an energetic and progressive 
farmer and was a soldier in the Civil War. In politics he was a Republi- 
can. He was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church from early 
childhood, led an upright Christian life, and was always held in the high- 
est esteem by his neighbors and his friends. 

Martin H. Bogue, son of James H. and Polly (Phillips) Bogue, was 
born in Venango Township in 1872. He came to Erie when a young man 
and for many years he was a successful contractor and builder. Mr. Bogue 
has always been an enterprising business man, and during his residence 
in this city for 34 years has done much for the advancement of the city. 
In 1895 he married Miss Emma Parsons, daughter of Shem and Margaret 
(Clark) Parsons. Their children were: (1) Verna Marie, born in 1897, 
married Clifford WiUiam Ellis in 1917; (2) Gladys Margaret, born in 1899; 
(3) Marwyn Alton, born in 1908 ; (4) Zella, died in infancy. Mrs. Bogue 
died in 1912. On Jan. 14, 1915, Mr. Bogue married Miss Mabel Esther 



1092 History of Erie County 

Mong, daughter of George W. and Christine (Friebolen) Mong of Mas- 
sillon, Ohio. Their children were: (1) James Martin, born Feb. 5, 1916; 
(2) Christine Polly, born April 5, 1922. Mr. Bogue, with Mr. E. J. Ripley 
as partner, engaged in the gasoline and oil business in 1923. They erected 
two large and well-equipped stations and have now begun to erect stations 
in surrounding towns. 

Clifford W. Ellis, son of Albert and Susanne Elizabeth (Fenn) Ellis, 
was born in 1895. In 1917 he married Miss Marie Bogue, daughter of 
Martin H. and Emma (Parsons) Bogue. Mr. Elhs has always been a resi- 
dent of Erie. For several years he was connected with the Hammermill 
Paper Company. He is now associated with the A. A. Deming Lumber 
Company. Their children are: (1) Richard William, born Feb. 13, 1918; 

(2) Ruth Marie, born Nov. 20, 1919; (3) Marion Jean, born May 20, 1922, 
and (4) Roger Crosby, born Sept. 23, 1924. 

Nicholas Phillips, of Weymouth, Mass., died in 1672. His son, Rich- 
ard, had a son, John, who settled in Easton, Mass., and who was the first 
person of that town to receive a Captain's commission. He died in Easton 
in 1760. His son, Thomas, was born in Easton in 1712 and later moved to 
Ashfield, Mass., where he was prominent in town affairs. His son, Philip 
Phillips, was born in Ashfield in 1738. He was justice of the peace and a 
member of the Legislature. He was made Captain of a military company 
in Ashfield and had one platoon at the general muster which was made of 
his eleven sons. Israel Wesley Phillips, a grandson of Philip Phillips, mar- 
ried Polly Briggs in New York State and they moved to Lowville, Pa., in 
1840. He was a drummer in the War of 1812. Their children were : (1) 
Simeon, married Lavina Watson at Angelica, N. Y., residence, Coffeeville, 
Kan. ; (2) Ira, married Mary Pratt, of Angelica. He died in Sheffield, Pa. ; 

(3) Elizabeth, married Gilbert Bentley in Erie County, residence in Mich- 
igan; (4) Mary Ann, lived near Angelica; (5) Amanda, married Joseph 
Moore in Venango Township, lived in Dean Valley; (6) Polly, born 1837, 
married James H. Bogue, residence, Lowville, Pa. ; (7) Israel, married Julia 
Travis in Illinois ; (8) Isaac, born in 1842, married Mary Jane Bogue, 1865, 
residence, Wattsburg, Pa.; (9) Emory and Emily, born in 1843; Emory 
married Mary Jane Moore, lived at Coffeeville, Kan. 

Isaac Phillips, son of Israel Wesley and Polly (Briggs) Phillips, was 
born in Venango Township in 1842. In 1865 he married Mary Jane Bogue, 
daughter of Calvin and Waty Caroline Bogue. They settled near Watts- 
burg and vaised a family of four children. Mr. Phillips was a soldier in the 



History of Erie County 1093 

Civil War, was a successful farmer, was an influential citizen and is much 
respected in his community. Mr. and Mrs. Phillips retired from farm life 
several years ago and now reside in Wattsburg. They are in good health 
and recently celebrated their golden wedding anniversary. Their children 
are: (1) Mary Jane, married Richard Brozait, residence, Erie, Pa.; (2) 
George Ashley, married Lou Austin, residence, Wattsburg, Pa. ; (3) Fred 
Wesley, residence, Wattsburg, Pa.; and (4) Samuel H. 

Alexander Teudhope, who lives retired at East Springfield, is a prom- 
inent citizen of Erie County. He was born in Trumbull County, Ohio, in 
July, 1853, and is a son of Thomas and Mary (Hamilton) Teudhope. 

Thomas Teudhope was a native of Scotland, as was his wife. At the 
age of 21 years he came to this country and settled in Trumbull County, 
Ohio, later removing to Crawford County, Pa., in 1869. He was an ex- 
tensive land owner and specialized in dairy farming. Mr. Teudhope was 
a Republican and a member of the Presbyterian Church. He died March 
5, 1887, and his wife died May 14, 1898. They were the parents of the 
following children: John, who died in 1921; Kate, the widow of Robert 
Mitchell, lives at Conneautville, Pa.; Robert, lives retired at Sioux City, 
Iowa; Alexander, the subject of this sketch; Maggie, deceased, was the 
wife of Walker Thompson; Mary, the widow of Edward Hutchinson, lives 
in California ; Emma, the widow of C. M. Carnehan, lives in Los Angeles, 
Cal. ; and George, who resides on the old homestead in Crawford County. 

Alexander Teudhope attended the schools of Conneautville and spent 
his boyhood on his father's farm in Crawford County. At an early age 
he engaged in the milling business for several years. He has also been 
interested in general farming and stock raising and owns 120 acres of 
good farm land in Girard Township. 

On May 1, 1888, Mr. Teudhope was united in marriage with Miss Emma 
Guilliford, who was born in Girard Township, Aug. 24, 1855, the daugh- 
ter of David B. and Ann (Morton) Guilliford, natives of Erie County, 
and the parents of the following children: Samuel F., a Civil War vet- 
eran; James Byron, deceased; Eliza Ann, married Paul Richens, lives 
retired at Grand Rapids, Mich.; Effie, married M. Smith, both deceased; 
Margaret, married Isaac Bowman, both deceased; Mrs. Teudhope; John 
C, lives at Grand Rapids, Mich. ; and Rebecca Jane, died in infancy. Mr. 
Guilhford died May 14, 1887, and his wife died Jan. 16, 1901. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Teudhope were born three children : Charles, a veteran of the World 



1094 History of Erie County 

War, was born Jan. 12, 1889, lives at North Girard; Thomas, born Aug. 
31, 1890, lives on the old homestead in Girard Township ; and Lucy, born 
July 22, 1894, a nurse, married Dr. Herman Jacobs, lives at Athens, Ohio. 
There are six grandchildren: Ruth, June, Geraldine, Thomas, Jr., and 
Priscilla Teudhope, and David Jacobs. 

Mr. Teudhope has served as school director and councilman of East 
Springfield for a number of years. He is a Republican and ranks as one 
of the dependable citizens of his community. 

John C. Hughes, retired justice of the peace of East Springfield, is 
an honored pioneer citizen of Erie County. He was born in Crawford 
County, Pa., May 10, 1844, and is the son of LaMar and Mariah (Post) 
Hughes. 

LaMar Hughes came to Pennsylvania from New York at an early date 
and settled in Crawford County, where he became a prosperous farmer. 
He held several township offices and died June 25, 1888. His wife died 
in 1874. To Mr. and Mrs. Hughes the following children were born: 
Jane, married Gardiner Fish, both deceased; Rachael, married Hiram 
Shackley, both deceased ; Mary, married John Myler, both deceased ; Eliza- 
beth, married Joseph Beach, both deceased; and John C, the subject of 
this sketch. 

John C. Hughes grew up on his father's farm and attended the dis- 
trict schools. He learned the carpenter trade when a young man and 
later engaged in business at East Springfield, where he conducted an 
undertaking establishment for twenty-four years. Mr. Hughes has lived 
in Erie County since 1863, and for forty-two years served continuously 
as justice of the peace at East Springfield. He has lived retired since 
January, 1924. 

Mr. Hughes was united in marriage with Miss Mary E. Geer, who was 
born in Springfield Township, May 7, 1848, the daughter of Nelson and 
Eunice Geer, leading pioneer citizens of Erie County. Mr. Geer died 
March 11, 1863, and his wife died May 5, 1855. To John C. and Mary 
E. (Geer) Hughes were born three children: Roy L., lives in Ashtabula, 
Ohio, was married April 9, 1896, to Miss Mattie Seeley; May M., married 
Nov. 23, 1897, to Roy 0. Thompson, a farmer, East Springfield; and 
Fred J., married March 5, 1902, to Marie P. Chapman. 

Mr. Hughes was married the second time Sept. 6, 1921, to Emma 
Jenks Rutland, the widow of John B. Rutland. Mr. and Mrs. Rutland 



History of Erie County 1095 

had seven children, three boys and four girls : Jeff e, deceased ; Jennie, 
wife of Charles C. Blood ; Gaylor, a farmer ; Minnie D., deceased ; Gladys, 
wife of Albert Everett, Albion, Pa.; Beryl, wife of Ervin Mayer, Albion, 
Pa. ; Howell J., Cleveland, Ohio. John B. Rutland died Nov. 9, 1915. 

Politically, Mr. Hughes is a Republican. He holds membership in the 
Christian Church, and belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 

Charles M. Hutchinson, a representative citizen of Girard, is a mem- 
ber of a family that is prominently connected with the early history of 
Erie County. He was born in Girard on April 25, 1854. He is the son 
of Monroe and Mary (Stewart) Hutchinson and the grandson of Miron 
Hutchinson who came to Girard in 1817 and settled on a tract of land 
just west of Elk Creek and tlie present town. 

Miron Hutchinson was the son of David Hutchinson of Madison 
County, New York, a Revolutionary soldier. Miron Hutchinson married 
Nancy Wells, daughter of Thurston Wells, who was the first settler of 
what is now Girard. His lands comprised a large part of the present town. 
He was a postmaster before the town was called Girard. The postofRce 
was called Elk Creek postoffice and the village Wellsborough. He laid out 
and gave the public park in the center of the town of Girard. His resi- 
dence, a cobblestone one, the first of any consequence, was built just north 
of the park. 

Miron and Nancy Hutchinson had eight children. They were Cornelia, 
Dighton, Irene, Polly Melissa, Monroe, Elizabeth Ann, Lydia, and David. 
Polly Melissa and Elizabeth Ann married, in turn, David Olin, a merchant 
and prominent citizen of Girard. Lydia married John demons of Erie, 
and David, an attorney of Erie, married May Kaiser of Girard. 

Miron Hutchinson took an active part in the upbuilding of Girard and 
was one of its most public-spirited citizens. He held the oflSces of justice 
of the peace, postmaster, and associate judge of Erie County. He built 
the old Hutchinson home in Girard which was, after his death, occupied 
by his son Monroe and now by his grandson, Charles, the subject of this 
sketch. 

Monroe Hutchinson spent his life in general farming. He was a 
Democrat and served as postmaster for a number of years. Monroe and 
Mary Hutchinson had four children : Miron, who died in childhood ; Charles 
M., Lydia, the widow of Rollin C. Taggert, and Edgar C, of Girard. 
Charles M. Hutchinson was engaged in railroad construction work with 



1096 History of Erie County 

the Northern Pacific railroad in early life, but since 1907 has been con- 
nected with the Erie City Manufacturing Company of Erie, Pa. 

In 1895 Mr. Hutchinson was married to Marion, daughter of William 
H. and Clarissa (Hinds) Palmer, natives of Erie County. Charles and 
Marion Hutchinson have one child, a son, Palmer Hall Hutchinson, who 
was born in the old Hutchinson home in Girard on June 6, 1896. Palmer 
Hutchinson is a member of the editorial staff of the Detroit News and 
resides in Detroit, Mich. He served as ensign in the World War on the 
battleship Arkansas with the British grand fleet. 

Dr. Hagar MacLean Wishart, a leading physician of Erie County, who 
has been successfully engaged in the practice of her profession at North 
East for 16 years, is a native of Canada. She was born in Ontario, and is 
the daughter of Dr. MacGreggor and Mary (Person) Wishart. 

The Wishart family is among the prominent pioneer families of On- 
tario. Col. Wishart was a member of the Revolutionary army and was 
stationed at Quebec. He died there at the age of 33 years. His son. Dr. 
MacGreggor Wishart, became a leading surgeon of Ontario and is now de- 
ceased, as is also his wife. 

Dr. Hagar MacLean Wishart was reared and educated in Canada and 
in 1906 was graduated from the Women's Medical University. In 1909 
she came to North East and has built up a splendid practice throughout 
the community. Dr. Wishart is interested in several leading industries of 
North East, among them being the Blaine Mackay-Lee Company. She is 
a charter member of the North East Golf Club. 

Dr. Wishart is a member of the Erie County Medical Society, the 
Pennsylvania State Medical Association and the American Medical Asso- 
ciation. She is a Republican. 

Walter G. Elliott, a well known citizen of Erie County, engaged in the 
real estate and insurance business at West Springfield, is a native of 
Pennsylvania. He was born at Brownsville, Fayette County, Nov. 26, 
1884, and is the son of 0. P. and Dora (Graeser) Elliott. 

0. P. Elliott spent his entire life in Jefferson Township, Fayette 
County, Pa., and was a prosperous farmer. He owned 220 acres of land 
and specialized in the breeding of Jersey cattle. He died in 1905, and his 
wife died in 1925. They are buried at Brownsville, Pa. To Mf. and Mrs. 
Elliott were born four children: Walter G., the subject of this sketch; 



History of Erie County 1097 

A. H., lives at Manatee, Florida; E. B., lives at Manatee, Florida, and 
A. W., a World War veteran, lives at York, Pa. 

Walter G. Elliott was reared and educated at Brownsville and for a 
number of years was interested in general farming and stock raising. 
Since 1919 he has been associated in business with Mr. Walker at West 
Springfield, the firm being known as Walker & Elliott. Mr. Elliott is also 
half owner of the Walker Sand Company, and owns a farm of 220 acres 
in Fayette County. 

On June 27, 1912, Mr. Elliott was married to Miss Gertrude Forsythe, 
a native of Jefferson Township, Fayette County, and the daughter of Eli 
and Catherine (Woods) Forsythe, who were the parents of the following 
children: Frank, deceased; Olive J., lives at Washington, Pa.; Minnie, 
William E., John R., and Harry, all of whom live at Washington, Pa.; 
Blanche, deceased; and Mrs. Elliott. Mr. Forsythe was a Civil War vet- 
eran and died Feb. 15, 1890. His vdfe died July 18, 1887. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Elliott a son, Duane W., was born, Sept. 22, 1914. 

Mr. Elliott is a Republican, a member of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church and belongs to the Masonic Lodge. He is held in high regard 
throughout the community and is an excellent citizen. 

W. S. Turner, who lives retired at North Springfield, is well and favor- 
ably known in Erie County, where he has spent his entire life. He was 
born at West Springfield, June 16, 1849, and is the son of Alexander H. 
and Parner (Scott) Turner. 

Alexander H. Turner, a native of Newburgh, N. Y., came to Erie 
County with his parents when six years of age and settled at Girard. 
After his marriage he removed to West Springfield, where he followed 
his trade as blacksmith and machinist. To Mr. and Mrs. Turner the fol- 
lowing children were born: W. S., the subject of this sketch; Ellen, 
Isabel, Andrew, and Ralph, all deceased; Almeda, married William Skiv- 
ington, lives at North Girard; Estella, married Byron Stearns, lives at 
North Girard; Jay B., lives in Pittsburgh; and Laura, deceased. 

W. S. Turner received his education in the schools of West Springfield 
and in 1872 entered the employ of the New York Central Railroad, with 
whom he remained continuously until the time of his retirement, July 1, 
1920. He was foreman of construction. 

On July 13, 1871, Mr. Turner was united in marriage with Miss Eliza- 
beth Helen Welch, a native of Fairview Township, Erie County, born 



1098 History of Erie County 

March 17, 1850, and a daughter of Edwin and Catherine (Metzker) 
Welch, natives of New York. Mr. Welch was born April 22, 1814, and died 
Dec. 10, 1887. His wife was bom April 11, 1819, and died May 18, 1870. 
They were the parents of the following children: Anna Jane, died Nov. 
19, 1913, was the wife of John Failes; George, died May 9, 1918; John 
and Frank, deceased ; Alonzo, died in 1925 ; Mrs. Turner ; Laura, deceased, 
was the wife of Henry Hills; Edward, lives at North East, and Mary 
Elizabeth, deceased. Mr. Welch served throughout the Civil War, as did 
his three sons, George, John, and Frank. He was a Republican and a 
member of the Methodist Church. To Mr. and Mrs. Turner two children 
were born: Charles Webster and Laura Adella. 

Charles Webster Turner was born at North Springfield, Nov. 20, 1873, 
and was married June 29, 1898, to Miss Anna Kelly, of Erie. They have 
two children: Velma M., born Sept. 18, 1902, and Carl Winfield, born 
May 4, 1906. Mr. Turner resides in Erie and is connected with the New 
York Central Railroad. 

Laura Adella Turner was born at North Springfield, Aug. 27, 1877. 
She is connected with the schools of Elizabeth, N. J., and is head of one 
of the English departments. She was married Jan. 1, 1910, to Ernest 
Hamilton Hurd, a professor of modern languages. 

Mr. Turner is a Republican, a member of the Presbyterian church and 
belongs to the Masonic Lodge and Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 

Homer A. Mills is a substantial citizen of Erie County and a member 
of a well known pioneer family. He was born in Conneaut Township, 
Feb. 12, 1883, and is the son of George C. and Nettie M. (Fullerton) 
Mills. 

George C. Mills, deceased, was a veteran of the Civil War. He was 
born on a farm in Conneaut Township, Nov. 25, 1839, and is a son of 
Jesse and Harriet Mills, natives of Oneida County, N. Y., who came to 
Erie County about 1830 and settled in Conneaut Township. Mr. Mills 
enlisted Aug. 20, 1861, in Company H, 83rd Pennsylvania Volunteer In- 
fantry, the first regiment to leave Erie County. It was connected with 
the Third Brigade, 5th Corps, Army of the Potomac. He participated in 
the siege of Yorktown and the battles of Hanover Court House, Chicka- 
hominy, Gaines Mills, Malvern Hill, Fredericksburg, Rappahannock Sta- 
tion and Miner Run. He also took part in the battle of the Wilderness, 
Laurel Hill, and in the entire siege of Petersburg; and was at the front 



History of Erie County 1099 

and on duty for 37 months, with the exception of six weeks spent in the 
hospital. 

He was a life long Republican and occupied public offices of prom- 
inence in both town and county. He was elected and served six years as 
county commissioner. Mr. Mills died Jan. 4, 1902, and is buried at East 
Springfield. His wife, a native of Crawford County, Pa., resides with her 
son, Homer A., and is now 81 years of age. To Mr. and Mrs. Mills three 
children were born: Arthur D., a farmer, lives in Springfield Township; 
Nora, married 0. J. Cross, a merchant. East Springfield; and Homer A., 
the subject of this sketch. 

Homer A. Mills received his education in the public and high schools 
of East Springfield and in early life engaged in the hotel and livery busi- 
ness which was discontinued in 1917. Since 1909 he has conducted an 
undertaking establishment at East Springfield. 

Mr. Mills was married to Miss Laura Baldwin, a native of East Spring- 
field. They have a daughter, Irma, born Feb. 18, 1918. 

Mr. Mills has served as Overseer of the Poor since January, 1920. He 
is a Republican, a member of the Christian Church, a 32nd degree Mason 
and belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 

Calvin L. Johnson is a substantial and reliable citizen of West Spring- 
field, where he lives retired. He was born in this township, June 3, 1851, 
and is the son of Calvin and Mary (Thayer) Johnson. 

Calvin Johnson, deceased, was born in New York and at an early age 
came to Erie County and settled on a farm in Springfield Township. He 
was born Nov. 11, 1810, and died May 23, 1885. His wife was a native 
of Springfield Township, born Nov. 12, 1813, and she is also deceased. 
To Mr. and Mrs. Johnson three children were born: Henry, deceased; 
Malvira, married Ransom Hill, both deceased; and Calvin L., the subject 
of this sketch. 

Calvin L. Johnson has always lived in Springfield Township. After 
completing his schooling he farmed on the home place and later became 
the owner of a well improved farm of 100 acres. He now owns his resi- 
dence and 25 acres on Ridge Road. 

On March 4, 1873, Mr. Johnson was united in marriage with Miss 
Ellen Whiton, a native of Springfield Township, bom May 29, 1854, and 
the daughter of Edward and Theresa (Dewey) Whiton, both deceased. 
There were five children in the Whiton family : William, deceased ; Mrs. 



1100 History of Erie County 

Johnson, who died March 29, 1914; Marietta, married Joseph Johnson, 
lives retired at North Girard ; Charles, deceased ; and Bell, married Horace 
Thayer, lives in Springfield Township. 

Mr. and Mrs. Johnson reared an adopted daughter, Matie H. Gray, who 
is a native of Beaver Center, Pa. She was educated in the public schools 
of West Springfield and Conneaut High School and was appointed postmis- 
tress of West Springfield under President Taft's administration on Jan. 
6, 1912. She has since served in this capacity and is most efficient and 
capable. 

Mr. Johnson is a Republican, a member of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church, and belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He is 
favorably known in Erie County and has a wide acquaintance. 

U. Z. Woodruff, retired farmer of West Springfield, is a substantial 
citizen of Erie County. He was born in Ashtabula County, Dec. 6, 1850, 
and is the son of Edward and Martha (Worthing) Woodruff. 

Edward Woodruff was a native of Hartford, Conn., and his wife was 
born in New Hampshire. They were early settlers of Ashtabula County, 
where Mr. Woodruff improved a farm of 288 acres. He was a Republican, 
and served as justice of the peace for a number of years. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Woodruff, now deceased, the following children were born: Lucien, 
died in 1924; Esther, married Dr. B. Baker, both deceased; Frances, de- 
ceased, was the wife of Truman Alderman, who lives at Ashtabula, Ohio ; 
U. Z., the subject of this sketch ; V. B., and 0. W., who live at Rock Creek, 
Ohio; Rosamond, the widow of Warren Patch, lives in Morgan Township, 
Ashtabula County, Ohio; Florence S., the widow of Clarence Gordon, lives 
at Ashtabula; and Otis, deceased. 

U. Z. Woodruff received his education in the schools of Ashtabula Coun- 
ty and for a number of years was interested in farming in that section. 
He then conducted an agency for entertainment work. He later operated 
a farm. Mr. Woodruff now lives retired. Mr. and Mrs. Woodruff's home 
which is located on Ridge Road is known as "Grape Vine Inn", and is a 
popular tourist house. 

Mr. Woodruff was married first on Sept. 11, 1873, to Miss Florence 
Pond, a native of Windsor Township, Ashtabula County, Ohio, born in 
1850. She died June 10, 1919, and is buried at Oberlin, Ohio. To 
them four children were born: Clarence M., born Sept. 30, 1874, a gradu- 
ate of Oberlin College, and for a number of years president of the school 



History of Erie County 1101 

board of Akron, Ohio, was killed in an accident Jan. 25, 1922 ; Rev. L. D., 
mention of whom is made below; Arthur Byrne, born in 1881, served as a 
Y. M. C. A. secretary during the World War, is identified with the Harris 
Printing Company, Cleveland; and Mabel, born Dec. 30, 1893, a graduate 
of Oberlin College, and is now secretary to the superintendent of the City 
Hospital, Cleveland. 

Rev. L. D. Woodruff was born at Windsor, Ohio. He represented the 
Congregational Church and did missionary work in Bulgaria. During 
the World War he was sent to Paris to attend the arms conference as a 
representative of the Bulgarian government. He died at Sofie, capital of 
Bulgaria, June 14, 1922. 

On May 22, 1921, U. Z. W^oodruff was married to Hattie (Hubbard) 
Hites, a native of Crawford County, Pa., born April 21, 1860, and the 
daughter of John T. and Emiline (Cooper) Hubbard. Mr. Hubbard died 
September 5, 1896, and his wife died Sept. 21, 1910. They had five chil- 
dren: A. T., lives in Iowa; Mary, married T. B. West, both deceased; 
Carrie, deceased, was the wife of William Head; William H., deceased; 
and Mrs. Woodruff. By her first marriage to Ira Hites Mrs. Woodruff had 
two children: Lillian, born March 19, 1884, married A. J. Sherman, and 
she died April 23, 1911; and William H. Hites, born April 2, 1886, an en- 
gineer on the Nickel Plate Railroad, lives at Conneaut, Ohio. 

Mr. Woodruff is a Republican, a member of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church and belongs to the Knights of Pythias and Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows. He and his wife are highly respected citizens of Erie County. 

Dr. Charles E. McCune is a successful physician and surgeon of Erie 
County and is engaged in the practice of his profession at West Spring- 
field. He was born in Fayette County, Pa., Nov. 20, 1862, and is the son 
of Gilbert G. and Elizabeth (Leatherman) McCune. 

Gilbert G. McCune was born in Allegheny County, Pa., and his wife 
was a native of Westmoreland County, Pa. He spent a number of years 
in Virginia and later removed to Fayette County, Pa., where he was ex- 
tensively engaged in general farming and stock raising. He died in 1910 
and his wife died in 1890. To Mr. and Mrs. McCune the following chil- 
dren were born : Josephine, the widow of Alexander Fox, lives at Newell, 
Pa.; James G., lives at Homestead, Pa.; Abraham, died in 1874; Jennie, 
married James Hebrank, lives at Jeannette, Pa. ; Elizabeth, man-ied Rob- 
ert Donaldson, St. Paul, Minn.; Charles E., the subject of this sketch; 



1102 History of Erie County 

Dr. Fred K., a physician at Girard; and Dr. Guyer, a physician at Mc- 
Keesport, Pa. 

Dr. Charles E. McCune spent his boyhood on his father's farm and 
attended the public schools and Farmington College, Ohio. He studied 
medicine at the University of Pittsburgh, from which he received his de- 
gree in 1897. Doctor McCune then established his practice at Buena 
Vista, Pa., where he remained for 17 years. He was also surgeon for the 
Pittsburgh & Lake Erie Railroad for that period of time. After remov- 
ing to Erie County he was located at East Springfield for four years, after 
which he settled at West Springfield. 

On Nov. 21, 1900, Doctor McCune was united in marriage with Miss 
Clara M. Smith, a native of Wellington, Ohio, and the daughter of P. W. 
and Laura J. (Coles) Smith. Mr. Smith was born April 30, 1830, and died 
April 8, 1897. His wife was born in Connecticut, Jan. 29, 1830, and died 
May 31, 1910. They had two children: Arthur G., deceased; and Mrs. 
McCune. To Doctor and Mrs. McCune two children were born : Gilbert G., 
born at Buena Vista, Pa., now a student in Bucknell University, and 
Eunice, who died in September, 1924. She is buried at East Springfield. 

Doctor McCune is a Republican, a member of the Baptist Church and 
belongs to the Masonic Lodge. He is a capable, energetic and public 
spirited man and well hked in the community in which he lives. 

J. Arthur Johnson, principal of the schools of West Springfield, is 
among the leading and influential citizens of Erie County. He was born 
at Clarendon, Pa., Oct. 23, 1890, and is the son of Charles J. and Ida (Lar- 
son) Johnson. 

Charles J. Johnson was born in Sweden, as was his wife. They are 
early settlers of Warren County, Pa., and now reside in Warren. Mr. 
Johnson is one of the pioneer blacksmiths of that section and is well 
known. There are four children in the Johnson family: J. Arthur, the 
subject of this sketch ; Carl, high school principal at Warren, Pa., is a 
World War veteran ; Lawrence, at home ; and Esther, who will be gradu- 
ated from Edinboro State Normal School, in 1926. 

J. Arthur Johnson was graduated from Clarendon High School in 1908 
and from Edinboro State College in 1913. He was a teacher at Redondo 
Beach, Cal., for several years, after which he served as principal of the 
schools at Youngsville, Pa. During the World War he enlisted with the 
marines in January, 1918, and was stationed at Quantico, Va. He was 



History of Erie County 1103 

discharged March 22, 1919. Mr. Johnson then became an instructor at 
Edinboro State Normal School and after one year served as principal of 
Edinboro High School. Since September, 1919, he has been located at 
West Springfield. 

On July 2, 1918, Mr. Johnson was united in marriage with Miss Gladys 
Johnson, who was born in Warren County, Pa., Dec. 25, 1898, the daugh- 
ter of August and Hilda (Anderson) Johnson, natives of New York, and 
the parents of the following children: Mrs. Johnson; Rachael, married 
Fred Anderson, lives in Cleveland ; Evaline, married Walton Erickson, lives 
at Jamestown, N. Y. ; and Edward, a student. Mr. Johnson died in De- 
cember, 1913, and his widow resides at Jamestown, N. Y. Mr. and Mrs. 
Johnson have a son, John Arthur, born Sept. 17, 1923. Since her mar- 
riage Mrs. Johnson was also a teacher in the schools of West Springfield. 

Mr. Johnson holds membership in the Lutheran church and belongs 
to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He is a Republican. 

Stephen M. Edwards, who is engaged in fruit farming on Ridge Road, 
West Springfield, is a native of Erie County. He is the son of Reuben and 
Mary (Sweet) Edwards. 

Reverend Reuben Edwards was born in Portage County, Ohio, and 
many years ago removed to Warren County, Pa. He was a minister of 
the Methodist Church and died in 1851. His wife was later married to 
Rev. N. W. Jones, now deceased. She died Sept. 22, 1921, and is buried at 
Conneaut, Ohio. By her first marriage one child was born, S. M., the 
subject of this sketch. To her second marriage two children were born: 
H. C. Jones, lives in Buifalo, N. Y. ; and Annette, married C. N. Thomas, 
lives retired at West Springfield. 

S. M. Edwards began life as a railroader. He was educated in the 
public schools and later attended Edinboro State Normal School. He has 
since been interested in the raising of fruit and poultry and has a mod- 
ern farm of four acres on Ridge Road. 

In 1873 Mr. Edwards was united in marriage with Miss Cora Dean, a 
native of Ashtabula County, Ohio, born Dec. 5, 1851, and the daughter of 
Chauncey and Calista (Miles) Dean, natives of Ohio and both now de- 
ceased. They were the parents of four children : Hamilton, deceased ; Mrs. 
Edwards, who died June 28, 1911; Arthur H., lives at Conneaut, Ohio; and 
Minnie, married Sidney Hill, lives in Florida. To S. M. and Cora (Dean) 
Edwards were born four children : Flora, married Sherman Thayer, lives 



1104 History of Erie County 

in Springfield Township, Erie County; Mary, married Luke F. Thayer, 
lives in Erie ; Edna, married A. L. Mallory, lives at West Springfield ; and 
Margaret, married A. C. White, lives at Flint, Mich. 

Politically, Mr. Edwards is a Republican and he is identified with the 
Methodist Episcopal Church. He has always been an energetic man and 
stands well in the esteem of his neighbors and fellow citizens. 

G. B. Wingerter, who for many years has been prominently identified 
with the commercial interests of Erie, is a native of Erie County. He 
was born in Harbor Creek Township, June 25, 1862, and is the son of 
Peter and Margaret (Nepper) Wingerter. 

Peter Wingerter was born in Germany and came to America about 
1849 and located in Erie, where he followed his trade, contracting and 
building, until his death, June 7, 1875. His wife died May 4, 1864. They 
were the parents of six children: John, associated with the Conrath 
Construction Company of Erie; Philip, died in 1904; Mary, married John 
Staub, of Denver, Colo.; Adam W., lives retired in Erie; Peter, died in 
1921, and is buried at Syracuse, N. Y. ; and G. B., the subject of this sketch. 

G. B. Wingerter was educated in the public schools of Erie and early 
in life learned the cigar making trade with Manley & Company, with 
whom he worked about ten years. He then worked with E. A. Fette for 
four years, when they went to Colorado and manufactured cigars for 
several years. In 1883 he and his brother, Adam W., opened a factory in 
Central City, Colo., and two years later returned to Erie to establish the 
business of Wingerter Brothers. The firm is now known as Wingerter 
& Son. Mr. Wingerter is one of the largest jobbers of tobacco and cigars 
in this section of the state and operates a large cigar factory. About 
40 people are employed, besides several salesmen who travel throughout 
Pennsylvania, New York and Ohio. 

On Feb. 6, 1889, Mr. Wingerter was married to Miss Katherine 
Fisher, the daughter of John and Katherine (Diefenbach) Fisher, both 
deceased. They have a son, Emery, born March 26, 1890. 

Emery Wingerter was educated at Bellefonte Academy, and was 
graduated from Pennsylvania State College. He is president of the Jones 
Furniture Company of Erie. On Oct. 9, 1915, Mr. Wingerter was united 
in marriage with Miss Louise DeForrest Greenwalt, of New York City, 
who was graduated from Barnard College in 1911. They have three chil- 
dren, Emery, Jr., Roger, and Donald. Mr. Wingerter is a Republican, 




H. WINGERTER 



History of Erie County 1105 

a member of the Presbyterian Church, and belongs to the Rotary, Kahkwa, 
Erie Yacht, Elks, and the Chamber of Commerce. 

G. B. Wingerter is identified with the Democratic party in politics. 
He is a member of the Catholic church and belongs to the Kiwanis Club. 
He is a man of integrity and industry, and is one of the reliable and 
substantial men of his community. 

J. M. Griffey is an enterprising and successful young business man of 
West Springfield. He is a native of Conneaut Township, Erie County, 
born Dec. 22, 1897, and the son of Morton B. and Ida E. (Hewett) Griffey. 

Morton B. Griffey, deceased, was a prosperous farmer of Erie County. 
He was born in Conneaut Township and during his life engaged ex- 
tensively in farming and stock raising. He owned 147 acres of land. Mr. 
Griffey died in 1909 and his wife lives at West Springfield. They had 
eight children, as follows: Aggie, deceased; Carl, an engineer on the 
Nickel Plate Railroad, lives at Conneaut, Ohio; Neta, married Ray 
Laughey, lives at Girard; Mary, at home; Edgar, a farmer, lives in Al- 
berta, Canada, is a World War veteran; J. M., the subject of this sketch; 
Dorothy and Mildred, both at home. 

J. M. Griffey received his education in the schools of Conneaut Town- 
ship and spent his boyhood on the home farm. He spent several years 
farming, after which he engaged in the hardware business at Conneaut, 
Ohio. On March 7, 1921, he engaged in the general merchandise business 
at West Springfield, and three years later took in Mr. Merritt as a partner. 
They carry a fine grade of merchandise and have a well established trade. 

Mr. Griffey is identified with the Republican party in politics and be- 
longs to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 

Christian A. Fisher, superintendent and manager of the American 
Monument Company, East Springfield, is among the successful business 
men of Erie County. He was born at Fulton, Mo., Oct. 22, 1860, and is 
the son of J. C. and Elizabeth Fisher. 

J. C. Fisher was a native of Germany. At an early age he came 
to this country and settled in St. Louis, later removing to Fulton, Mo. 
He conducted the first monument business at that place, and was also an 
architect and contractor. He was a Republican and a member of the 
Presbyterian Church. To Mr. and Mrs. Fisher, deceased, the following 
children were born: William, Charles, and John, all deceased; Samuel, 
(70) 



1106 History of Erie County 

lives at Fulton, Mo.; Lulu, married Charles Wasson, lives at Decatur, 
111.; Robert, lives retired in Colorado; Benjamin, lives in St. Louis; and 
C. A., the subject of this sketch. 

C. A. Fisher was reared and educated at Fulton, Mo., and at an early 
age engaged in business w^ith his father. He remained there until 1889, 
at which time he came to Erie County and engaged in the monument busi- 
ness at East Springfield. Mr. Fisher conducted this business successfully 
until 1920, when it was sold to the American Monument Company. He 
has, however, remained as superintendent and manager. 

In 1882 Mr. Fisher was married to Miss Emma Craigheid, a native of 
Callaway County, Mo. She died the same year and is buried at Fulton, 
Mo. Mr. Fisher was later married to Miss Olive B. Creacy, a native of 
Callaway County, Mo., and they have four children: Carl, a veteran of the 
World War, lives at Erie; Ora, married Emery Winters, lives in Erie; 
Ernest, a veteran of the World War, lives at Conneaut; and Gladys, a 
student. 

Mr. Fisher has been a life long Democrat. He is a member of the Pres- 
byterian Church and belongs to the Modei-n Woodmen of America. 

James 0. Smith, who lives retired in Springfield Township, is a mem- 
ber of one of Erie County's oldest and most honored pioneer families. He 
was born on this farm July 22, 1847, and is the son of Charles F. and 
Emily (Leach) Smith. 

Oliver Smith, grandfather of the subject of this sketch, was one of 
the first settlers of Springfield Township, having come here from New 
York in November, 1800. His son, Charles F., improved 170 acres of land 
in this township and became one of the most prosperous fruit farmers and 
stockmen in the county. He died Feb. 26, 1886, and his wife, who was the 
daughter of James Leach, died Sept. 14, 1888. To Mr. and Mrs. Smit>i 
the following children were born: Betsy, married William Brockway, 
both deceased; Amos, served as county surveyor, of Cass County, Mich., 
for 30 years, and is now deceased ; Sarah, married John B. Mcintosh, both 
deceased ; Charles F., died in 1923 ; Oris, deceased ; Emily, deceased ; Helen, 
married H. B. Lines, both deceased; Addie, married T. B. Rundell, both 
deceased; James 0., the subject of this sketch; Lathrop and Laura, both 
deceased. 

James 0. Smith has always lived on the same farm in Springfield 
Township, which is known as the C. F. Smith homestead. Many years 



• History of Erie County 1107 

ago he purchased his brothers' and sisters' interests and is the owner of 
115 acres. He is an extensive fruit farmer and handles 3,000 bushels of 
apples each year. The farm contains 1,000 peach trees. Mr. Smith has 
specialized for many years in the breeding of Durham cattle. 

On April 21, 1873, Mr. Smith was united in marriage with Miss Sarah 
Pettis, a native of Platea, Erie County, born Feb. 26, 1847, and the daugh- 
ter of John and Pauline (Drury) Pettis, early settlers of this county. Mr. 
and Mrs. Pettis, deceased, had five children: Abbie, Emma, and Arthur, 
all deceased; Mrs. Smith; and Mark, who lives in Michigan. Mr. and 
Mrs. Smith, who have celebrated their 52nd wedding anniversary, are the 
the parents of four children: Grace, married William Hayman, who died 
Feb. 16, 1922, and she resides in Florida; Dorothy, married Dr. W. H. 
West, lives at Harrisburg, Pa. ; Dallas A., lives at North Girard ; and 
Frank, at home. 

Mr. Smith is a Republican, a member of the Universalist church and 
belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. Both he and his wife 
are highly esteemed residents of the community. 

Andrew M. Walbridge, a prominent farmer of Erie County, who lives 
on Ridge Road, Springfield Township, was born on the farm where he now 
resides, March 29, 1848, and is the son of John S. and Jane C. (Mallory) 
Walbridge. 

John S. Walbridge was a native of Sharon, Vt., and his wife was born 
at Argyle, N. Y. He came to Erie County in 1829 and settled on a farm 
in Springfield Township, where he died May 3, 1859. His wife died in 
1871. She was a daughter of Major Mallory, who served in the War of 
1812. He came from New England, prior to the War of 1812, and set- 
tled in the very heart of the wilderness, in the western part of Erie 
County. John S. Walbridge was a son of John Walbridge. John S. and 
Jane (Mallory) Walbridge were the parents of the following children: 
Emma, married Jacob Moore, both deceased; Charles P., a Civil War vet- 
eran, deceased; Florence, married John Moore, both deceased; Andrew 
M., the subject of this sketch; Ida M., the widow of Charles Church, lives 
at East Springfield; Eliza, married Delos Morgan, both deceased; and 
Frank Delos, lives retired in Erie, was an engineer on the Erie Railroad 
for nearly 40 years. 

Andrew M. Walbridge was educated in the district schools of Spring- 
field Township and has spent his entire life on this farm. He owns 180 



1108 History of Erie County • 

acres of well improved land and is an extensive shipper of potatoes and 
apples. For over 40 years he has been known as an extensive dairy farmer 
and has specialized in the breeding of Holstein cattle. 

In 1872 Mr. Walbridge was united in marriage with Miss Kittie 0. 
Strickland, a native of Carlisle, N. Y., born in 1849, and the daughter of 
William and Hattie Strickland. Mr. Strickland was a native of England 
and among the early settlers of Erie County, having removed here in 
1852. He settled at East Springfield, where he built and operated the first 
mills in this vicinity. To Mr. and Mrs. Strickland the folloiwing children 
were born : William, John, and Sarah, all deceased ; Hattie, married L. 0. 
Eldridge, and is deceased; Mrs. Walbridge, who died in 1922; Myra, mar- 
ried Daniel Fails, both deceased ; and Jeanette, married John Franks, both 
deceased. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Walbridge six children were born: John, a farmer, 
lives in Springfield Township; Ralph, a farmer, lives in Springfield Town- 
ship; Carl, lives in Erie; Jennie B., married Carl Morrell, lives at East 
Springfield; Frances, married Ray Whitney, lives at West Springfield; 
and Lee, who died Oct. 24, 1924. 

Mr. Walbridge was one of the founders of the Springfield Telephone 
Company. He is a Democrat, and a member of the Presbyterian Church. 
He has an extensive acquaintance in the community and is favorably 
known. 

Howard G. Eisaman is among the enterprising young farmers of West 
Springfield. He was born at Pittsburgh, Feb. 19, 1891, and is the son of 
George and Isabelle (Glover) Eisaman. 

George Eisaman was born in Westmoreland County, Pa., and has al- 
ways been a farmer. In 1904 he removed to Erie County and settled on 
his present farm in Springfield Township. His wife, a native of Pitts- 
burgh, died in 1916 and is buried at East Springfield. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Eisaman were born five children: Howard G., the subject of this sketch; 
Mabel lives in Coos County, Ore. ; Chester, lives in Ontario, Can. ; Isabel, 
lives in Cleveland; and Homer, lives in Pittsburgh. 

Howard G. Eisaman was educated in the public schools of Pittsburgh 
and West Springfield. He has devoted practically his entire time to 
farming and is also interested in the bee industry. 

In 1913 Mr. Eisaman was married to Miss Mildred Bonnell, who was 
born in Conneaut, Ohio, in 1891, the daughter of Orson A. and Mildred 



History of Erie County 1109 

(Hunt) Bonnell. natives of Ohio and Pennsylvania respectively. Mr. 
Bonnell is engaged in the real estate business in Conneaut. His wife 
died in 1913. To Mr. and Mrs. Eisaman have been born two children: 
June Elizabeth, born in October, 1917; and Howard K., born in July, 1921. 
Mr. Eisaman is a Republican, a member of the Christian Church and 
belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Grange. He and 
his wife are well known in the community in which they live. 

Frederick W. Blair, a member of the Pennsylvania State legislature, is 
a leading and influential citizen of Erie County. He was born in Girard 
Township, Dec. 21, 1869, and is the son of Samuel and Harriet (Wells) 
Blair. 

Samuel Blair, who died Dec. 18, 1913, was a native of Girard Town- 
ship, and the son of James and Mary (Wallace) Blair. He was born May 
6, 1821. His father came to Erie County in 1803 and acquired a piece 
of land located about three miles south of Girard, which was heavily cov- 
ered with timber. He cleared the land and placed it under cultivation, 
and spent the remainder of his life in the log house which he erected 
thereon. He died in 1855 and his wife in 1873. Samuel Blair was in- 
terested in agricultural pursuits his entire life and owned a well improved 
farm of 120 acres in Fairview Township, Erie County. He was married 
June 22, 1865, to Miss Harriet Wells, a native of Guernsey County, Ohio, 
born June 13, 1843, and the daughter of Samuel H. and Hannah (Culbert- 
son) Wells. They had three children: Frederick W., the subject of this 
sketch ; Mary Ellen, lives in Girard with her mother ; and Dr. James Dana, 
a graduate of the Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia, and a promin- 
ent and successful physician of Franklin, Pa. 

Frederick W. Blair was educated in the schools of Erie, attended Erie 
Academy, and Grove City Business College. He was extensively inter- 
ested in farming and stock raising until 1919, when he retired. He was 
elected a member of the Pennsylvania State legislature in 1920 and is now 
serving his third term. 

On Jan. 13, 1898, Mr. Blair was married to Miss Helen Sayre, who was 
born in the present Blair home on Ridge Road, Girard Township, April 
24, 1878. She is the daughter of Daniel and Caroline (Sweeney) Sayre. 
Mr. Sayre died Jan. 11, 1904, and his wife died Oct. 10, 1916. Mrs. Blair 
was their only child. To Mr. and Mrs. Blair were born eight children, as 
follows: Elizabeth, born Jan. 1, 1900, a graduate nurse, married Arthur 



1110 History of Erie County 

Coughlin, lives at Conneaut, Ohio; James, born June 30, 1901, is a mem- 
ber of the Pennsylvania State Highway Patrol; Caroline, born April 7, 
1903, was graduated from Girard High School and Edinboro State Normal 
School, now engaged in the insurance business, lives at home; Frederick, 
born April 15, 1906 ; Marion, born Nov. 30, 1908 ; Marjorie, bom Jan. 28, 
1911; Ruth, born Jan. 26, 1916; and Hugh, born Oct. 7, 1918. 

Mr. Blair is a Republican, a member of the Presbyterian Church and 
is a 32nd degree Mason. He is a charter member of the Girard Lodge 
F. and A. M. and belongs to the Erie Consistory. He and his family are 
widely known in Erie County. 

The Sacred Heart Mission House at Girard is an institution for the 
training of young men for the Heathen Missions. It is the second school 
of its kind erected by the missionary society of the Divine Word. The 
school was opened in August, 1912, when the first fathers and brothers of 
the community came to Girard. They commenced their work in the old 
Culbertson manse on East Ridge Road. There they operated their little 
Mission House with great zeal and much patience. Patience was particu- 
larly demanded. The Mission House continued in its first narrow quar- 
ters for four trying years. Then there was an end and the decision to 
build was definitely reached. The students were transferred to the So- 
ciety's older Mission House at Techny, 111. It required almost a year to 
prepare the plans for the present new building. In August, 1917, building 
operations began and in 1918 the building was completed. 

In June, 1924, a building campaign for the construction of a new home 
was launched at the first commencement held at the school. Four boys 
were graduated. At a banquet which followed the Very Right Rev. John 
Mark Gannon, bishop of the Erie diocese of the Catholic church, sub- 
scribed §5,000 toward the building fund. Construction was begun in 1925, 
when the order of the fathers of the Divine Word, founders of the mission 
school, celebrated the fiftieth anniversary of their foundation and the 25th 
anniversary of their establishment in the United States. 

Following graduation from the mission the boys are sent to the no- 
vitiate at Lake Beulah, Wis., and after finishing the novitiate they go to 
Techny, 111., for philosophy and theology. On the completion of these 
studies they are ordained into the priesthood and sent on the mission. The 
young men who attach themselves to the order give up everything, leave 
their loved ones and go to distant lands to convert the heathen. 



History of Erie County 1111 

Charles Teras, who successfully conducts a poultry farm in Springfield 
Township, was born in Finland, Oct. 29, 1881, and is the son of Herman 
and Mary (Wick) Stahlberg. 

Both Herman Stahlberg and his wife were born in Finland. He died 
Dec. 8, 1924. There were ten children born to Mr. and Mrs. Stahlberg, 
two of whom came to the United States: Charles, the subject of this 
sketch ; and Aarne, a farmer, lives near Detroit, Mich. 

Charles Teras came to this country in 1903 and settled at Worcester, 
Mass., where he was employed as a mechanical draftsman for three years. 
He was then located at Schenectady, N. Y., in the employ of the General 
Electric Company in the same capacity. Before coming to Erie County 
Mr. Teras spent 8 years in Pittsburgh and in March, 1922, purchased his 
present farm of 60 acres in Springfield Township from Miles Hall. He has 
made extensive improvements on the place and devotes his entire time to 
the raising of high grade poultry. Mr. Teras has several thousand chick- 
ens and ships poultry to all sections, of the county. 

On Oct. 24, 1911, Mr. Teras was married to Miss Aino. Wirtanen, who 
was born in Finland in 1889 and died Feb. 29, 1919. A daughter, Irma, 
was born in Pittsburgh, April 18, 1913. 

Mr. Teras is one of the substantial and dependable citizens of Spring- 
field Township. 

John Toivonen, owner of the Hillside Poultry Farm, in Springfield 
Township, is one of Erie County's most prominent and successful poultry 
men. He was born in Finland, Oct. 29, 1874, and is the son of Andrew 
and Wilba Toivonen, both deceased. There were three children in the 
Toivonen family ; Anna and Mary, who live in Finland ; and John, the sub- 
ject of this sketch. The father died in 1921 and the mother died in 
1874. 

John Toivonen spent his boyhood in Finland and after coming to this 
country in 1901 worked at his trade as a tailor in New York city, Indian- 
apolis and Pittsburgh. On April 1, 1915, he removed to Erie County and 
purchased the farm of John Hughes in Springfield Township, where he has 
since resided. Mr. Toivonen specializes in the raising of White Leghorn 
chickens and is an extensive shipper. His incubators have a capacity of 
3,000. He has won many ribbons at various poultry shows and recently 
was awarded first place in the pullet class, in which there were forty en- 
tries from Erie County, as well as entries from every county in Pennsyl- 



1112 History of Erie County 

vania. A recent poultry report states: "In the older hen class a flock of 
195 white leghorns owned by John Toivonen of Springfield Township, pro- 
duced an average of 191.5 eggs to lead the hen flocks in the State of 
Pennsylvania." 

On March 17, 1909, Mr. Toivonen was married to Miss Hilma Wirtanen, 
a native of Finland, born June 21, 1879, and the daughter of Wihardt and 
Amelia (Peterson) Wirtanen, deceased. They were the parents of the fol- 
lowing children : Mrs. Toivonen ; Anna, married John NoKari, lives in Erie ; 
Theodore, lives in Springfield Township; Inez, married Charles Teras, a 
sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this history; and Emma, married 
Hugo Forsgeren, lives in Detroit, Mich. Mr. Wirtanen died Feb. 10, 1898, 
and his wife died May 8, 1892. Mr. and Mrs. Toivonen have no children. 

Mr. and Mrs. Toivonen are well known in their community and have 
many friends and acquaintances. 

Benjamin E. Briggs, consulting engineer, is a prominent citizen of 
Erie. He was born at Sullivan, Ind., July 26, 1860, and is the son of 
Murray and Margaret Briggs. 

Benjamin Briggs, grandfather of the subject of this sketch, estab- 
lished one of the oldest newspapers in this section of the country, which 
was published at Newark, Ohio, in 1820. It is still a leading newspaper 
of that city. His son, Murray Briggs, began the publication of a news- 
paper at Sullivan, Ind., in 1853. To Mr. and Mrs. Briggs, both of whom 
are now deceased, the following children were born: James, a graduate 
of Purdue University, an engineer with the Pennsylvania Public Service 
Company; Murray, an attorney, at Charleston, W. Va. ; Benjamin E., the 
subject of this sketch ; Martha Evans Martin, an author, of New York 
City, who wrote "Our Friendly Stars" and "The Ways of Our Planets"; 
Elizabeth J. Evans, New York City ; and Margaret Ellen Thurman, deceased. 

Benjamin E. Briggs received his education in the schools of Indiana, 
and after completing his course in engineering, he made a survey of the 
Wabash River bottom lands in Sullivan County, Ind., in 1883, his survey 
reclaiming much land that had hitherto been wasteland. He came to 
Erie in 1890 and during the years 1892 and 1893 was connected with the 
engineering department of the Pennsylvania Railroad. Before coming 
here he was connected with the Coronado Beach Company at San Diego, 
Cal., going there from Indiana, where he had served as county surveyor of 
Sullivan County. He had also served as surveyor for the Indiana & Illinois 




BEiVJAMIX E. BRIGGS 



History of Erie County 1113 

Southern Railroad. On Nov. 1, 1893, Mr. Briggs was appointed assistant 
city engineer of Erie and three years later was promoted to city engineer, 
at a time when Erie had a population of 40,000. He served in this capacity 
until 1916 and he is credited with many improvements made during that 
time. The Buffalo Road viaduct was among his achievements. 

On Sept. 19, 1882, Mr. Briggs was united in marriage with Miss 
Cora Saxton, the daughter of William Henry and Ollie (Miner) Saxton, 
early settlers of Geneva, Ohio. Mrs. Briggs had one sister. Miss Grace 
Saxton, who was with the Herald Publishing Company. She died in 
1915. To Mr. and Mrs. Briggs a daughter was born, Margaret, born 
Oct. 11, 1885, married Oliver D. Horton, who is connected with the engi- 
neering department of the Erie City Iron Works. They have four chil- 
dren: Martha, born July 10, 1917; Pricilla, born Aug. 18, 1919; Richard, 
born Jan. 7, 1921 ; and Oliver, born Dec. 31, 1924. 

Since 1916 Mr. Briggs has engaged in private work and has offices at 
207 Marine Bank Building. He is a member of the American Society of 
Municipal Improvements, a national organization of city engineers, of 
which he served as president in 1912. He is also identified with the Amer- 
ican Society of Civil Engineers and the Engineering Society of North- 
western Pennsylvania, which was founded by Mr. Briggs in 1898. He 
served as its first president for two years. Mr. Briggs is a capable man 
in his profession and a representative citizen of Erie. 

Hon. Emory A. Walling. After two decades of service as President 
Judge of the Sixth Judicial District of Pennsylvania, Justice Walling came 
to his present place upon the bench of the Supreme Court of Pennsyl- 
vania, a jurist of long experience and proved ability. He was born in 
Greenfield Township, Erie County, June 11, 1854, and is the son of Thomas 
and Laura (Elliott) Walling. 

Thomas Walling was born at Wallingford, Conn., and his wife was a 
native of Chautauqua County, N. Y. He was a farmer and at an early 
age removed from Connecticut to New York State, thence to Ohio, and 
later to Pennsylvania. While living in Ohio he served as justice of the 
peace. He died Feb. 25, 1863, and his wife died Feb. 9, 1895. They are 
buried in the Grahamville cemetery. North East Township, Erie County. 
Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Walhng had five children: Lucinda, deceased, was 
the wife of Joseph C. Harity; Thomas A. lives at North East, Pa.; Roby 
J., deceased, was the wife of George S. Wilkinson; Asenath E., married 



1114 History of Erie County 

Thomas 0. Wilkinson, lives at Finley Lake, N. Y. ; and Emory A., the 
subject of this sketch. 

Emory A. Walling's educational training was obtained in the public 
schools, State Normal School, Edinboro and Lake Shore Seminary, North 
East. In 1878 he successfully took the bar examination and began pro- 
fessional work in Erie County, Pa., there gaining a degree of legal prom- 
inence and public favor that resulted in his election as district attorney of 
that county. He filled this position from 1881 until 1884 and in the latter 
year was elected to represent his district in the Pennsylvania State Senate, 
there serving a four year term, and at its close returning to private prac- 
tice. From 1897 to 1916 he was President Judge of the Sixth Judicial 
District of Pennsylvania; on Jan. 3, 1916, he became a judge of the Su- 
preme Court of Pennsylvania. In 1920 Justice Walling received the degree 
of L.L.D., from Allegheny College. 

On April 21, 1880, Judge Walling was united in marriage with Miss 
Grace E. Marshall, a native of North East Township, Erie County, and a 
daughter of Robert W. and Laura C. (Edgerton) Marshall, the former a 
native of Pennsylvania and the latter of New York State. Mr. Marshall 
died in 1899 and his wife died in 1921. To Justice and Mrs. Walling were 
born five children : William B., an attorney, Erie ; Ralph G., retired naval 
officer, St. Petersburg, Fla. ; Laura C, married Harry L. Sawdey, 710 
Cherry Street, Erie; Marion E., married W. L. Crawford, upper State 
Street, Erie; and Marietta M., married Lewis S. Mosher, 1023 West 8th 
Street, Erie. 

Justice Walling is a Republican in politics and his religious faith is 
that of a Methodist. He belongs to the Masonic fraternity, the Independ- 
ent Order of Odd Fellows, the Knights of Pythias, Grange, and the Elks. 
He is identified with the State and American Bar Associations, the Kahk- 
wa. Shrine and University clubs of Erie; and the Art and Manufacturers 
clubs of Philadelphia. His home is 552 West Eighth Street, Erie, Pa. 

F. J. Waldinger, assistant treasurer and director of the S. M. Flick- 
inger Company of Buffalo, Rochester and Jamestown, is a prominent busi- 
ness man of Erie and one of the city's successful merchants. He was 
born in Summit Township, Erie County, April 20, 1885, and is the son 
of Ferdinand and Sybilla (Wolf) Waldinger. 

Ferdinand Waldinger, deceased, was born in Rheinbaiern, Germany, 
Nov. 20, 1841, and was the son of Joseph and Margaretha (Ziehl) Wald- 



History of Erie County 1115 

inger. He came to America in 1866 and settled in Erie County. He be- 
came the owner of a well improved farm of 112 acres in Summit Town- 
ship, where he spent the remainder of his life. To Mr. and Mrs. Waldinger 
11 children were born. 

F. J. Waldinger spent his boyhood on his father's farm in Summit 
Township and was educated in the public and parochial schools of Mill 
Creek Township. At the age of 15 years he became a grocery clerk and 
four years later engaged in business for himself in Erie at the corner of 
23rd and Sassafras Streets. From 1905 until 1923 Mr. Waldinger re- 
mained in that location and during the last five years of that time was a 
wholesale grocer. In 1922 he began the erection of his present place of 
business at 2001-09 Wallace Street, and on June 1, 1924, he became a 
member of the firm of S. M. Flickinger Company, wholesale grocers. This 
company operates 44 stores in Erie and throughout the county, 31 of them 
being located in the city of Erie. 

On June 15, 1909, Mr. Waldinger was married to Miss Mary Franz, of 
Erie, and the daughter of Joseph Franz, a resident of this city. They have 
two children : Helen, a high school student ; and Paul. 

Mr. Waldinger is identified with the Republican party in politics, is a 
member of the Catholic Church, and belongs to the Knights of Columbus, 
and the Elks, Eagles and Moose lodges. He is a man esteemed in his com- 
munity for his integrity, and spirit of co-operation in all civic affairs. 

Otto Herbst, one of the leading attorneys of Erie County, who is suc- 
cessfully engaged in the practice of his profession in Erie, is a native of 
this city. He was born March 10, 1887, and is the son of Edward and 
Emma L. (Neuberger) Herbst. 

Edward Herbst, a native of Baden, Germany, came to America, in 1881, 
and settled in Erie, where he has since resided. His wife was boi-n here 
in 1855, her parents having come here from Germany in the early 50's. 
Mr. and Mrs. Herbst have one son. Otto, the subject of this sketch. 

Otto Herbst attended the public schools of Erie and after completing 
his high school course in 1905, he took a business course and was em- 
ployed in local business offices for four years. He then entered the De- 
troit College of Law, from which he was graduated with the degree of 
L.L.B., June 20, 1912. The following day he was admitted to the bar of 
Michigan. He served as mayor's clerk in Erie under Mayor William J. 
Stern from 1913 to 1915 and was then appointed judge's secretary, serving 



1116 History of Erie County 

under Judges Rossiter, Walling, and the late Judge Whittlesey. After 
practicing law for one year Mr. Herbst was appointed assistant district 
attorney in 1920, in which capacity he served until January, 1924. He has 
since engaged in private practice with offices at 701 State Street. 

On Jan. 27, 1914, Mr. Herbst was united in marriage with Miss Marie 
L. Reader, of Erie, and they have two children: Otto Jr., born Oct. 13, 
1915 ; and William Edward, born Feb. 7, 1922. 

Mr. Herbst is a member of Perry Lodge F. & A. M., No. 392, and is a 
member of Veiled Prophets of the Enchanted Realm and the Grotto. He 
is a member of Erie Lodge No. 67, B. P. 0. Elks, of which he is the present 
Exalted Ruler. He belongs to the Lions Club, Erie Lodge No. 66, L. 0. 0. 
Moose, and the Glenwood Golf Association. He has always been a Re- 
publican and is a member of the Lutheran Church. 

Ferdinand M. Plate, the capable recorder of deeds of Erie County, has 
spent practically his entire life in this county and is recognized as one of 
the substantial and progressive citizens of the community. He was born 
in New London, Conn., Jan. 16, 1874, a son of August F. and Catherine 
(Sobetz) Plate, both natives of New York City. The father was engaged 
in the manufacture of cigars for a number of years at Corry, Pa., and dur- 
ing the course of his career took an active part in politics, holding various 
minor offices. He was killed by an automobile, July 27, 1923. His wife 
died Sept. 20, 1903, and they are buried at Corry, Pa. 

Ferdinand M. Plate was one of the following children born to his par- 
ents; Mrs. Charles E. Perkins, Franklin Street, Corry, Pa.; Mrs. August 
Ausnehmer, Park Street, Corry, Pa. ; Mrs. William C. Ford, lives near Erie, 
Pa. ; and Mrs. Josie Mourton, Park Street, Corry, Pa. 

Mr. Plate was reared in CoiTy, and received his education in the public 
schools of that city. He began life as a newsboy and later clerked in a 
store, served as messenger boy, telegraph operator, and agent for the 
Union News Company. He was proprietor of a news, cigar and confection- 
ery store in Corry from 1894 to 1901. He then purchased the business of 
the Erie News Company at Erie, Pa., from George H. Forrester. He de- 
veloped this business into one of the largest independent wholesale news- 
paper and magazine agencies in the United States. He also conducted a 
parcel, baggage and mercantile delivery business in Erie at the same time. , 
In 1917 he sold his news and delivery business to Charles E. Huey and 
Frank E. Moorhead, of Indiana, Pa. He then engaged in the real estate 



History of Erie County 1117 

business in Erie until the fall of 1923, when he was elected recorder of 
deeds of Erie County for a four year term, and is now serving in that ca- 
pacity. 

During the Mill Creek flood, of 1915, Mr. Plate suffered severe loss. 
Water nearly reached the second floor of his home, which was located at 
117 East 10th Street, and all his household furniture was completely ruined 
and the house was washed from its foundation. The stock and equip- 
ment of his Erie News Company and the parcel, baggage and mercantile 
delivery at 118 East Tenth Street was also destroyed, and his stables and 
garages were nearly all swept away in the flood. 

On Oct. 1, 1896, Mr. Plate was married to Miss Odessie L. Hunter. 
She was born at Mill Village, Erie County, and is the daughter of James 
R. and Permelia (Abbott) Hunter, natives of Pennsylvania. Her mother 
died Sept. 30, 1893, aged 48, and the father, who is now past 90 years, 
resides with Mr. and Mrs. Plate. To Mr. and Mrs. Plate have been born 
the following children : Louise Plate McEntarf er, the wife of a Methodist 
minister. North Muskegon, Mich. ; and Howard Neville Plate, a student in 
East High School, Erie. 

Mr. Plate is a Republican and he and his wife are members of the 
First Methodist Church of Erie. He is affiliated with the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, Knights of Pythias, Independent Order of Foresters, 
Royal Arcanum, and the Union Club. He has a wide acquaintance and is 
one of the conscientious and popular public officials of Erie County. 

Reuben Vance Canon is an enterprising and successful business man of 
Erie, where is identified with the Erie Taxicab Company as secretary. He 
was born at Sandy Lake, Mercer County, Pa., Aug. 18, 1868, and is the 
son of Thomas and Elizabeth (Powell) Canon. Mr. Canon was a well 
known farmer of Mercer County, Pa., and is now deceased. 

After attending the public schools of New Lebanon, Pa., R. V. Canon 
attended McElwain Institute, Duff Business College, Pittsburgh, and Edin- 
boro State Normal School. He taught school for three years and served 
as principal of the Garland Schools, Warren County, Pa. From 1893 until 
1900 Mr. Canon was connected with the Pittsburgh Post and the following 
five years served as paymaster for the River Coal Company at Pittsburgh. 
From 1905 until 1912 he was manager of the Eclipse Laundry Company of 
Pittsburgh, a concern which employed 250 people. He has since been in- 
terested in the Taxicab business in Erie, which was estabhshed in 1912. 



1118 History of Erie County 

The Erie Taxicab Company owns and operates 20 yellow cabs, and is the 
largest and most reliable concern of its kind in the city. 

On March 18, 1893, Mr. Canon was married to Miss Emma Carson, who 
died at Sandy Lake, Pa., July 12, 1917. He was married on April 13, 1921, 
to Miss Jennie Allison, of Hadley, Pa., and a daughter of John and Mary 
Allison. She died in 1923 and is buried at Hadley, Pa. Mr. Canon was 
again married June 10, 1925, to Alice Dearment of Newcastle, Pa. 

Mr. Canon is a Republican and a member of the Methodist Church. He 
is one of the substantial citizens of Erie and is well known. 

Philip H. Morgan, local manager of the Merrell-Soule Company, whole- 
sale and retail dairy products, was born at Freedom, N. Y., Oct. 12, 1887, 
and is the son of William P. and Elinor (Higgins) Morgan. 

After attending the public and high schools of Freedom, N. Y., Philip 
H. Morgan attended Bryant-Stratton Business College at Buffalo, after 
which he entered the employ of an Arcade (N. Y.) bank. The following 
year he engaged in the insurance business there and in 1916 was employed 
by the Arcade branch of the Merrell-Soule Company. In 1924 Mr. Mor- 
gan was transferred to Erie, where he represents this company. 

On July 12, 1911, Mr. Morgan was married to Miss Ruth Williams of 
Freedom, N. Y., and they have three children: Warner, born March 11, 
1913; Eleanor, born Feb. 8, 1916; and Elliott, born April 4, 1918. 

Mr. Morgan is a Republican and belongs to the Masonic Lodge. He is 
a capable man and already has a large circle of friends in Erie. 

Ruby Fern Austin is well known in Erie County as the capable post- 
master of Edinboro. She is a native of that place and the daughter of 
C. D. and Carrie (McGahen) Anderson. 

Ruby Fern Anderson was educated in the public and high schools of 
Edinboro and was graduated from the Edinboro State Normal School in 
1907. She engaged in teaching in the district schools of Erie County for 
six years and then spent five years in the training school of Edinboro State 
Normal, which is now known as the critic school. 

On June 9, 1917, Miss Anderson was married to James Montgomery 
Austin, the son of James F. and Nellie Austin, residents of Erie. He was 
reared and educated in Erie and at the time of the outbreak of the World 
War was engaged in the printing business in Erie with his father. He en- 
listed in May, 1917, with Company G, Pennsylvania National Guards, and 



History of Erie County 1119 

was sent to Camp Hancock, where his outfit became part of the 28th 
Division. Mr. Austin was among the first to arrive in France and was 
killed in service Aug. 9, 1918, during the battle of Chateau Thierry. 

On Nov. 17, 1921, Mrs. Austin was appointed postmaster of Edin- 
boro, and she is assisted by her brother, Russell Anderson. 

Russell Anderson received his education in the schools of Edinboro and 
in 1917 was graduated from Edinboro State Normal School. He was a 
teacher at Cranesville, Pa., until he became identified with the local post 
office, in 1921. He was married to Miss Verna Arnold, of Kane, Pa. 

Mrs. Austin is a Republican, a member of the Presbyterian Church and 
belongs to the Eastern Star and White Shrine. She has a wide acquaint- 
ance throughout the community and is well liked. 

Dr. Walter F, Wade is a successful and well known young dentist of 
Edinboro. He was born here April 11, 1898, and is the son of Frank and 
Effie (Taylor) Wade. 

Frank Wade was a native of Edinboro where he spent his entire life. 
He is now deceased and his widow resides in the family home here. Mr. 
and Mrs. Wade had two children : Eleanor F., married H. W. Devine, lives 
at Edinboro; and Walter F., the subject of this sketch. 

After completing his early education in the public and high schools 
of Edinboro, Dr. Walter F. Wade was graduated from Edinboro State 
Normal School in 1918. He then entered the University of Pittsburgh 
from which he received his degree as Doctor of Dentistry in 1923. He 
immediately established his practice in Edinboro. 

On Oct. 20, 1923, Dr. Wade was married to Miss Ruth Gale, of Pitts- 
burgh, a daughter of Charles and Anna Gale, residents of that city. 

Dr. Wade is a Republican and a member of the Presbyterian Church. 
He is an enterprising young man whose success in life in already assured. 

U. A. Gamble, secretary and general manager of the Union Storage 
Company, is among the successful young business men of Erie. He was 
born at Martinsville, 111., April 25, 1891, and is the son of Harry K. and 
Grace Gamble. Mr. Gamble is engaged in the insurance business in Indi- 
anapolis, Ind. 

U. A. Gamble was educated in the public schools and in 1913 was grad- 
uated from Wabash College. He then entered the employ of the Indian- 
apolis Gas Company, and two years later became connected with the Max- 



1120 History of Erie County 

well Motor Car Company of Detroit, Mich. From 1917 until 1919 he was 
associated with the Nordyke & Marmon Company of Indianapolis, after 
which he became connected with the Ninth Street Terminal Warehouse 
Company of Cleveland. Upon the organization of the Union Storage Com- 
pany of Erie in 1923, Mr. Gamble was elected secretary and general su- 
perintendent. 

The Union Storage Company is among the finest and most modern 
warehouses of its kind in the state and is capitalized at $700,000. The 
officers are: G. W. Olmstead, Ludlow, Pa., president; C. Harrison Lund, at- 
torney, vice president; H. M. Chapman, vice president; W. S. Calderwood, 
treasurer; and U. A. Gamble, secretary and general manager. 

On May 1, 1911, Mr. Gamble was married to Miss Ruthven Syler, of 
Indianapolis, and they have a daughter, Jane, born June 1, 1915. 

Mr. Gamble is a Republican, a member of the Masonic Lodge, and be- 
longs to the University Club and Phi Delta Theta fraternity. 

James Baldwin, retired, has for many years been a well known busi- 
ness man and leading citizen of Erie. He was born in Amity Township, 
Erie County, Aug. 17, 1848, and is the son of Washington and Luzetta 
M. (Brooks) Baldwin. 

Washington Baldwin settled in Erie County in 1810, having come 
here from Washington County, N. Y. His wife was also a native of the 
same place. Mr. Baldwin was a stone mason by trade, but later engaged 
in general farming on 220 acres of land, which he improved in Amity 
Township. He was the first road commissioner of that township and 
died in 1891. Luzetta M. Brooks Baldwin was the first school teacher 
who taught school in Amity Township. This was in the Baldwin flats 
school district. To Mr. and Mrs. Baldwin, who were married in 1833, the 
following children were born : Mary R., born in 1834, died in 1836 ; Mary 
S., born in 1837, died in 1881; Frances Louise, born in 1839, died in 1845; 
Josephine Shepardson, born in 1841, lives at Fort Dodge, Iowa; Phoebe 
Jane, born in 1843, died in 1844; A. F., born in 1845, died in 1914; James, 
the subject of this sketch; Ida Eliza, born in 1851, died in 1853; William 
P., born in 1853 ; and Anson B., born in 1854, died in 1858. 

James Baldwin was reared and educated in Amity Township and 
attended Waterford Academy. He later taught at the academy and then 
purchased a farm in Venango Township, Erie County, in 1874. Five years 
later Mr. Baldwin sold this farm and removed to Amity Township, where 




JAMES BALDWIN 



History of Erie County 1121 

he remained until 1905. In 1904 he sold the old homestead of 220 acres 
and about that time began his building operations in Erie, which made 
him wealthy. He commenced building operations in Erie though at iirst 
on a smaller scale, mostly with lumber furnished from timber taken from 
the farm on Baldwin Flats in 1890, 15 years before leaving the farm. 
Mr. Baldwin with his sons have erected over 2,000 residences in this city 
and many business blocks and stores. He is widely known throughout 
this section of the state as a dependable business man. Although living 
practically retired, Mr. Baldwin still deals in mortgages and owns many 
of the largest apartment houses in the city, which he manages. His son, 
G. Daniel Baldwin, is now a leading real estate operator of the city, and 
is also a builder of homes. 

On Aug. 17, 1873, Mi'. Baldwin was married to Miss Frances Titus, 
a native of Venango Township, Erie County, and the daughter of Daniel 
W. and Maria (Langdon) Titus, both deceased. To them the following 
children were born: Lottie, born in 1874, died in 1891; G. Daniel, born 
in 1876, mention of whom is made above; Don C, born in 1878, died in 
infancy ; Mary Eliza, born in 1880 ; William Isaac, born in 1882 ; and Ida 
L., born in 1886. 

Mr. Baldwin has written two books, his first one, "Visiting Abroad," 
a four month's trip across the sea, was written and published in 1912, and 
"Genealogy and Reminiscences of the Baldwin Family" was completed in 
1916. He is a Republican and a member of the First Methodist Episcopal 
Church. He is a highly esteemed citizen of Erie and representative of the 
successful type of business man of the community. 

Dr. L. E. Seavy, Doctor of Chiropractic, is a native of Pennsylvania, 
and a substantial citizen of Erie. He was born at Mosiertown, Pa., Oct. 
14, 1892, and is a son of T. G. and Edith (Kleckner) Seavy. 

T. G. Seavy lives at Clarendon, Pa., and for a number of years has 
been actively engaged in business in the oil fields of Pennsylvania. His 
wife is a native of Meadville, Pa. To Mr. and Mrs. Seavy five children 
were born, as follows: George E., lives at Warren, Pa.; N. E., assistant 
superintendent of the Galena Signal Oil Company, Houston, Tex.; M. J., 
vice president and general manager of the Palo Company, New York City ; 
L. E., the subject of this sketch ; and Edna Reed, lives in Philadelphia. 

L. E. Seavy attended the public schools of Warren, Pa., and after his 
graduation from high school in 1912 he became interested in the oil busi- 
(71) 



1122 History of Erie County 

ness. In 1920 he entered the Eastern Chiropractic College, Newark, N. J., 
from which he was graduated in 1923. He then established his practice 
at Clarendon, Pa., but later took post graduate work at Columbia Uni- 
versity. Since Nov. 1, 1924, Doctor Seavy has been located in Erie, where 
he is associated in practice with his uncle, Dr. Morris M. Green. The lat- 
ter is well known in this city, having practiced his profession here for a 
number of years. 

In October, 1924, Doctor Seavy was married to Miss Bernice Reyn- 
olds, of Warren, Pa. 

Dr. Seavy is a member of the Presbyterian Church and belongs to the 
Masonic Lodge. His office is at 612 Parade Street. 

Earl P. Campbell, cashier of the First National Bank of Edinboro, is a 
veteran of the World War and one of Erie County's enterprising and suc- 
cessful business man. He was born at Edinboro, Oct. 24, 1889, and is the 
son of W. S. and Sarah A. (Pulling) Campbell. 

W. S. Campbell is a native of Pennsylvania, as is his wife. They re- 
side in Edinboro and are the parents of the following children: Pearl E., 
S. J., George M., Lynn F., and E. P., the subject of this sketch. 

E. P. Campbell was educated in the public and high schools of Edin- 
boro and after completing a course at Edinboro State Normal School, he 
became connected with the First National Bank in 1913. He has ad- 
vanced steadily from his position as bookkeeper to that of cashier of the 
bank, and is recognized as being most capable and efficient in his work. 

During the World War Mr. Campbell served in the army and was 
stationed at Fort Thomas, Kentucky, where he did special work in the 
quartermaster's department. 

Mr. Campbell was married Dec. 2, 1922, to Miss Mae Padden, a native 
of Erie and the daughter of Charles and Bertha Padden. 

Mr. Campbell is identified with the Masonic Lodge. 

The First National Bank of Edinboro was organized in 1904. It was 
previously known as the Peoples Bank. The officers of the bank are: 
G. W. Minium, president; C. K. Henry, vice president; E. P. Campbell, 
cashier; and Asa I. Skelton, assistant cashier. The First National Bank 
of Edinboro, which has a capital of S25,000 and a surplus of $25,000, is 
among the dependable and thriving banking institutions in this section of 
the county and has enjoyed a rapid growth. The directors are: H. A. 
Ghering, T. H. Crandall, T. R. Ehtridge, G. W. Minium, C. K. Henry, E. P. 
Campbell, V. L. Crandall, D. R. Harter, and Henry Fuller. 



History of Erie County 1123 

Eugene Dunn, well known business man of Erie, is a native of that 
place, and a member of one of the county's oldest and most prominent pio- 
neer families. He was born in Summit Township, Feb. 10, 1857, and is the 
son of Oscar F. and Matilda R. (Ewing) Dunn. 

The Dunn family settled in Erie County in 1790, having come here 
from Ireland. William Dunn, grandfather of the subject of this sketch, 
was the first white child born in the county. He served in the War of 1812 
and was the son of Oliver Dunn. Oscar F. Dunn was born in Summit 
Township, in 1824, and was a prominent farmer of this section for a num- 
ber of years. He held many township offices and was active in the welfare 
of his community. He died in 1894 and his wife died when Eugene, the 
subject of this sketch, was but six weeks old. There were three children 
in the Dunn family: one child died in infancy; Etta J., died at the age of 60 
years; and Eugene, the subject of this sketch. 

Eugene Dunn grew up on his father's farm and attended the district 
schools. At an early age he engaged in general farming with his father 
and later became interested in the oil business. He has also engaged in 
the dairy and restaurant business in Erie, and now conducts a grocery 
business at 2826 Plum Street. He also deals in ice cream, confectionery, 
cigars and tobacco. 

On Dec. 23, 1887, Mr. Dunn was united in marriage with Miss Alice 
Tate, of Summit Township, and the daughter of Ezeriah and Mary (Ag- 
new) Tate, both deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. Dunn the following children 
were born: Oscar, died in infancy; Ruby, married Earl Seifford, and she 
is deceased ; Edith Dunn, lives in Erie, and has one child, Marian Edith ; 
and Ruth Cooper, lives in Erie and has one child, William Eugene. 

P6litically, Mr. Dunn is a Republican. He belongs to the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, the Eagles Lodge and the Loyal Order of Moose. 
Mr. Dunn has always been an energetic and industrious man and a highly 
esteemed citizen. 

Fred S. Skelton, a leading business man of Edinboro, who is success- 
fully engaged in the grocery business, was born in Venango Township, 
Crawford County, Pa., Feb. 21, 1867, and is the son of Isaac W. and Jane 
(Harned) Skelton, natives of Pennsylvania. 

Fred S. Skelton attended the district schools of Venango Township 
and in 1885 attended the Edinboro State Normal School. He taught 
school for several terms in Crawford County and later followed the car- 
penter trade. In 1913 Mr. Skelton removed to Edinboro, where he became 



1124 History of Erie County 

identified with the Keystone Flour Mills until 1923. He has since been in- 
terested in the grocery business and as a merchant has met with success 
The business is known as Fred S. Skelton & Son. 

Mr. Skelton was married first on Dec. 30, 1878, to Miss Hattie Baker, 
of Edinboro, who died in 1912. To them were born seven children, as fol- 
lows : Rose, Sadie, Florence, Edna, Asa, mention of whom is made below, 
Ruby, and Floyd, mention of whom is also made below. Mr. Skelton was 
later married, Feb. 19, 1920, to Mrs. Flora Lick, a native of this place. 

Politically, Mr. Skelton is identified with the Republican party, and he 
is afiiliated with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the Moose Lodge 
and the Grange. 

Floyd Skelton was born in Venango Township, Crawford County, Pa., 
Dec. 9, 1900. He attended the public and high schools of Edinboro and 
was graduated from the latter in 1919 and from Edinboro State Normal 
School in 1921. Mr. Skelton always took an active part in college ath- 
letics and for the past several years has coached the basketball teams of 
Edinboro High School. He is associated in business with his father and is 
a popular young business man. He lives at home. 

Asa Skelton is a World War veteran. He was born Nov. 2, 1894, and 
was educated in the public schools. In 1913 he became connected with the 
First National Bank of Edinboro as bookkeeper and is now serving as 
assistant cashier. He was married June 11, 1921, to Miss Eleanor K. 
Mauser, a native of New Hampshire. They have a son, Robert Seldon 
Skelton. Mr. Skelton enlisted for service during the World War, Feb. 11, 
1918. and was sent to Camp Lee, Virginia. He