Skip to main content

Full text of "The history of the Presbytery of Steuben: including that of all the other Presbyteries to which the churches of Steuben and Allegany Counties have belonged, notices of ministers, elders, missionaries, sketches of the existing churches of Presbytery, and over one hundred illustrations"

See other formats


iteuben anb EUcGaniP. 



BX 8947 .N48 S7 1897 
Miller, James Alexander, 

The history of the 

PrAshvtp.rv of Stp.nhpn 

Rev. JAMES H. HOTCHKIN, Prattsburg. 
From a photograph owned by the Prattsburg Church. 

The History of the 
^SPrc^buicriJ of ^icuhen: 

Including that of all the other Presbyteries to which the churches 

of Steuben and Allegany Counties have belonged, notices 

of ministers, elders, and missionaries, sketches 

of the existing churches of Presbytery, and 

over one hundred illustrations. 

—By the— 
He"^. •Ta.mes A., HMiller, I»la.. I>., 

Stated Clerk of Steuben Presbytery. 


Published by Presbytery. 

'This shall be written for the generation to come'". — Ps. 102:18. 


Allegany County Republican Press. 

F. C. Oemsby. Syracuse, N. Y., Engraver. 


Ye hills of Allegany 

And valleys of Steuben, 
Full well you speak Jehovah's power 

From every peak and glen: 
Full well from woods and waters. 

And fields of verdure fair. 
His wisdom, goodness and His truth. 

You ceaselessly declare. 

By this, the willing captives 
Who love your rugged ways, 

You point to Him who ruleth all. 
To whom be all the praise. * * * 

And thus, O hills and valleys- 
Dispensers of God's love — 

We rise, by you His stepping-stones, 
Up to His Courts above. 

Then be it our endeavor. 

In thought and word and deed, 
To live. Thy children, as Thou wilt, 

And so Thy kingdom speed, 
Till the hills of Allegany 

And valleys of Steuben, 
With loving words of women thrill. 

And noble deeds of men. 

As thus, in loyal service, 

By help of grace divine, 
We do or suffer in Thy name, 

The glory shall be Thine: 
While holy jubilate 

Re-echoes back again. 
From Allegany's grand old hills, 

And the vales of dear Steuben! 

— P'roni Lines read at 
Presbyterial Y. P. S. C. E. Conference 
D»c.. 1S03. 


A few pages in the handwriting of Eev. William A. Niles, D. D., 
outlining the history of Bath and Steuben Presbyteries and of three 
or four churches, is the seed from which this compilation has grown. 
It is an attempt to bring together in permanent and accessible form 
the essential facts with regard to Presbyterianism in Steuben and 
Allegany counties — the field of Steuben Presbytery. It is based 
upon a careful study of all the records of the various presbyteries. 
The sketches of churches which appear in all cases have been re- 
vised by representatives of the churches. The illustrations have 
been added by permission of Presbytery, and without expense to it, 
with the desire of making the work the more interesting and val- 
uable. It is a matter of great regret that no portrait of Rev. David 
Higgins could be found. The ministers in every case, excepting the 
larger pictures, appear in the order in which they began work on 
this field, without regard to the text; the elders in the order in 
which they were ordained; and the churches in the order in which 
they were founded. It is much to be regretted that no space was 
available for personal sketches. 

It is not possible to name here the great number of friends of 
Presbytery who have assisted in some way — by gathering or verifying 
facts, by helping to secure engravings, and by paying for them. 
Especial acknowledgment is due to Rev. William Waith, Ph. D., 
Stated Clerk of Buffalo Presbytery, for twice loaning the records of 
Angelica and Genesee Valley Presbyteries; to Rev. Charles C. Garr, 
nearly fifty years Stated Clerk of Chemung Presbytery, for twice loan- 
ing the necessary records of Chemung Presbytery; and to Rev. J. Wil- 
ford Jacks, D. D., Stated Clerk of Geneva Presbytery, for the priv- 
ilege of examining the early records of Geneva Presbytery. An 
outline sketch found in a book of minutes of the first ten years of 
Genesee Valley Presbytery, by Rev. Isaac G. Ogden, then Stated 
Clerk, has helped. Many of the facts in the sketch of missionaries 
have been gleaned from the "Silver Jubilee" pamphlet of the 
Woman's Presbyterial Society. " The History of Rochester Pres- 
bytery", by Rev. Levi Parsons, D. D. ; the "Historical Sketch of 
Buffalo Presbytery", by Rev. Dr. William Waith; the brief "His- 
tory of the Presbytery of Niagara", published in 1887; the " His- 
tory of the Presbytery of Geneva (1805-1889)", by Rev. Dr. J. Jer- 
main Porter, and " The History of the Settlement of Steuben 
County", by Guy H. McMaster, have all been of assistance. But 
more valuable and serviceable than anything, for the early history, 
has been Rev. James H. Hotchkins' monumental "History of Wes- 
tern New York ". Special acknowledgment is due to Mr. Charles 
P. Arnold, of Angelica, for valuable help in many different ways. 

J. A. M. 

December 1, 1897. 


NOTE— Asterisks indicate illustrations, 

♦Addison Church 80, 20, 834 

*Ainsvvorth, Addison 72 

Almond Church V. 9,26. 62-4 

♦ .Amsden. Charles 64, 4o 

♦Andover Church... 80,7, 27, 70-1 

♦Angelica Church 76,4, 7, 27,48, 64-6 

Angelica Presbytery 13-18, 36 

Arkport Church 86-7 

♦Atlanta Church 84, 91 

♦Avoca Church 84, 92 

*Bacon, John S 22, 44 

♦Baker, Thaddeus J 68 

♦Bath Church 76, 4. 56-8 

Bath Presbytery 6-13. 36 

Belmont Church 27, 79-si 

♦Bisbee, Frank H — 32 

♦Blair, Tyrell 10 

♦Bosworth, Byron 1*^ 

♦Bradbury, Ziba N 44, 43, 67 

♦Cameron. Duncan 26 

♦Campbell Church 80. 74-';6 

Canaseraga Church 89-90 

♦Canisteo Church 84, 87_-9 

Centerville Church '1 

♦Chatfleld, Charles J 60 

Chemung Presbytery 19-24, 36 

Christian Endeavor 33 

♦Clark, Solomon CO, 45 

♦Clements, Robert '^0 

Cohocton Church 7, 59-60 

Communicants 53 

Confession of Faith 33 

Congregationalism 39-40 

♦Corning Church 76, 5, 7, 60-2 

♦Coryell, John 56 

♦Craig, James 72 

♦Cuba Church 80. 27, 71-73 

♦Day, S. Mills 10, 10 

♦Deems. Edward M 30 

Discipline 9. 1.5, 23, 27 

Dismissals 10, 14, 21, 28, 32 

Elders 28.44-0 

♦Evans, Evan R 26 

Extinct Churches 10-1 

♦Gardner, Corliss B 14 

Genesee Valley Presbytery 25-9,37 

Geneva Presbytery 3-5. 36 

♦Gillet, Joel D 56.45 

♦tlamilton, John D 72,31 

♦Hammondsport Church 80, 76-7 

♦Hartshorn, Charles 72 

♦Hartshorn Church, Hornellsville 84, 90 1 

♦Hatch, Hyatt C 72 

Higgins, David 4,39,42,58,60 

♦ Higgins, Martin 68 

♦Hill, M. L.P 18 

♦Hoag, Philip C - 68 

♦Hood, Uriah D 64,45 

♦Hopkins. Samuel M 4,61 

Hornbv Church 78 

♦Hornellsville 1st Church 80, 27, 81-a 

♦Hotchkin, James II., Frontispiece, 

4, 10, 39, 42, 44, 54. 55. 69 

♦Howard Church 76, 7, 66-8 

♦Hubbard, Chauncey P.. 68. 50 

♦Hubbard, Robert 40, 4, .39, 42, 47 

♦Hull, ErwiD C 26 

♦Hull, Leverett. 4,48 

Hunter, Moses 14, 43, 44, 63 

♦ Hurlbut, John 64. 45 

♦Button, Alfred J... 32 

Incorporation 31 

Installations 10,14,21,28,32 

♦Janes, George M 26 

Jasper Church 20, 73-4 

which may be found opposite the page first 

♦Jones, William E 14 

♦Karr, George 60 

♦Knox, (Charles A 64,46 

♦Laine, Lewis F 14, 43 

♦Lane, John W 10 

Littlejohn, Augustus 15 

♦I.ockhart, Moses 60 

*3Iap 1 

♦McLeod, David 22,28 

♦Mead, Henry A 60 

♦Miller, James A 30, .32 

♦Miller, L.Merrill 10 

Ministers. 5, 12-13, 18, 23-4, 29, 34-5, 41-4 

Missionaries ....2, 46-51 

Missions 31, 32, 39 

Moderators 23,36-8 

New School 2, 7, 15, 22,39 

♦Niles, Henry E 14 

Niles, John 41, 54 

♦Niles Mary W 52.50. 52 

♦Niles, William A 42, 32,43,44. 61 

♦Ogden, Isaac G 18, 28 

Old School 2, 7,22. 57 

♦Painted Post Church 84, 85-6 

♦Parker, Samuel 46, 47-8, 62 

♦Parker, Zenas L 60, 31,45 

♦Pattengill, Horatio 10, 10, 61 

♦Piatt. James M. 42, 32, 43 

♦Pratt, Samuel \V 18,44 

♦Prattsburg Church 76,9, 48, 51-6 

♦Prentiss, John A 64 

Prentiss, Narcissa 45, 47-9, 5.5, 65 

! ♦Preston. Marcus N 26. 32 

' ♦Pultenev Church 76,4, 7, 68-70 

♦Reid, Gilbert 22, 50 

; ♦Reid, John 18 

♦Reid. William A 32 

Re-union 27, 31 

Revivals. ...7, 61, 63, 66, 68, 71, 75, 

i 76.82,88,89.91,92 

; *Robertson, Daniel J ..22 

, ♦Robinson, James R 30 

*Rudd, George R 4, 10 

I ♦Salmon, Edgar P 30 

♦Sargent, Joshua. 56. 45 

Secret Societies 8, 9 

S la very 17, 22, 27 

♦Smith, Benjamin C 4, 9, 43 

[ ♦Smith, Chauncey B 56 

; ♦Smith. Edward H 72 

: ♦Smith, George R 26 

! ♦Spalding. Henry H 4, 9, 47-9,55 

i Stated Clerks 5. lo, 14, 20, 28. 32 

♦Steele. Dwight K 18,28 

Steuben Presbytery 30-5,37-8 

j ♦Stevens, Lawrence M 22 

! ♦.Stewart, George D 10 

I ♦Stoddard, Elijah W 14 

I ♦Taylor, Nathaniel C 64,45,46 

j Temperance 8, 16,27 

; ♦Thacher, T. Scott 68,31 

♦Thomas. Vial 56,44 

Trustees, Presbytery 31 

♦VanCampen, Moses .56, 4, 44 

♦Van VVie,|Alonzo 68, 31 

Visitation. Presby terial 28, 33 

♦Wakeman, Joel 44, 9, 14, 17,42, 44 

♦Waldo, Milton 14 

♦Walton, Fred E 32 

♦U'augh, John 22, 43, 59 

♦Webster, Hezekiah 32 

♦Willson, Robert E 4, 10, 43. 44, 61 

♦Whitman, Marcus 48, 50, 7, 9, 47-9 

Woman's Presbyterial Society 51-2 

WoodhuU Church 20, 78-9 

The History of Steuben Presbytery. 


REV. Richard DEJsrTO]S" and Rev. Francis Makemie are the two 
names most prominent in the early history of " The Presbyterian 
Church in the United States of America". Denton was settled over 
the Presbyterian congregation of Hempstead, L. I., in 1644, and 
Makemie began work at Reheboth, Md., in 1683. Seven ministers 
met in Philadelphia in 1705 and constituted the Presbytery of Phil- 
adelphia, with Rev. Francis Makemie Moderator. The first synod, 
the Synod of Philadelphia, was formed in 1717, by dividing the 
original presbytery into three presbyteries — Philadelphia, New 
Castle, and Long Island. In 1729 the Westminster Confession of 
Faith was adopted as the standard of doctrine. There were now on 
the roll 27 ministers. The first division came in 1741, growing out 
of the "Great Awakening" questions. In this revival movement 
Gilbert Tennent, Jonathan Edwards, and George Whitfield were 
leaders. Until 1758 there were two independent synods, New York 
and Philadelphia, at which time these two synods reunited under 
the name of the Synod of New York and Philadelphia. There were 
now enrolled 9 presbyteries, with 94 ministers and more than 100 

In 1788 the Confession of Faith, the Longer and Shorter Cate- 
chism, the Directory of Worship, and the Form of Government and 
Discipline were adopted, and the 16 presbyteries were distributed 
into four synods. The first General Assembly met in Philadelphia 
in 1789. The " Plan of Union", an agreement between the Pres- 
byterian and Congregational Churches to facilitate frontier work, 
especially in Western New York, was adopted in 1801. By the 
trials of McNemar and Campbell for heresy, in 1801 and 1805 re- 
spectively, the strongest impetus was given to the formation of the 
Christian Church; while in 1810 the withdrawal of ministers to form 
the Presbytery of Cumberland formed the nucleus of the Cumber- 
land Presbyterian Church. The last and greatest division came in 
1837, when General Assembly exscinded the Synods of Utica, Ge- 
neva, and Genesee, in Western New York, and Western Reserve in 
Ohio. The representatives of these synods held a Conference at 
Auburn in August 1837; and at Philadelphia the next spring their 
commissioners, being refused enrollment in the General Assembly, 


organized a second General Assembly. The latter branch became 
known as the " New School" and the former as the " Old School" 
Presbyterian Church. The Southern commissioners withdrew from 
the " Old School" General Assembly of 1861, and in 1862 completed 
the organization of the Southern Presbyterian Church. At Pitts- 
burg in 1869 Old and New School Churches agreed upon a basis of 
union, and at Philadelphia in 1870 the union was fully consum- 


The counties of Steuben and Allegany — the field of Steuben Pres- 
bytery — were settled by those who entered at what is now Corning, 
and followed the Canisteo and Cohocton rivers toward their source. 
The first inhabitant was William Harris, an Indian trader, who set- 
tled at Painted Post about 1787. In 1789 Solomon Bennett, John 
Davison, Uriah Stephens, Richard Crosby, and possibly EHsha 
Brown, visited and purchased lands now in Canisteo and Hornells- 
ville and at once began settlements. In that same year Frederick 
Calkins, Ephraim Patterson, and Ichabod Patterson made the first 
settlement in what is now Corning. In 1790 Col. Eleazar Lindsley, 
a member of the Morristown, N. J., Presbyterian Church, reached 
the Tioga valley. April 17, 1793, Capt. Williamson's party of 30, 
headed by Charles Cameron, landed from their flat-boat near the 
present site of the D. L. & W. R. R. station in Bath. In 1795, 
Allegany's pioneer, Nathaniel Dike, settled between Andover and 
Wellsville. The next year Rev. Andrew Gray, Moses VanCampen, 
Henry McHenry, and Joseph Rath bun settled in the present Al- 
mond. Steuben County was erected from Ontario by an Act passed 
Mar. 8, 1796, and was divided into six towns — Bath, Canisteo, 
Dansville, Frederickstown, Middletown, and Painted Post. Alle- 
gany County was formed from Genesee by an Act passed April 6, 
1806, and for two years Angelica was the only township. 

The first church organized in the field of Steuben Presbytery was 
a Dutch Reformed church at Almond, in 1796 or '97. The first 
Presbyterian ministers in Western New York of whom we have 
definite knowledge were missionaries in the employment of General 
Assembly. In 1793 Rev. Ira Condict organized a Congregational 
church at Palmyra, and the same year Rev. Benjamin Judd another 
at Oquago. The first Presbyterian churches in Western New York 
were organized in 1795 by Rev. Daniel Thacher, at Newtown (El- 
mira), Charlestown (Lima), and Geneseo (Lakeville). In 1799 
Rev. David Barclay and Rev. Robert Logan spent three months in 


Ontario and Steuben Counties. The first Presbyterian ministers to 
settle permanently in Western New York were Rev. Jedediah Chap- 
man at Geneva in 1800, and Rev. John Lindsley at Ovid, in the 
same year. 

In 1800 all New York State, except New York city and vicinity, 
belonged to Albany Presbytery. In 1802 all Central and Western 
New York were set off into Oneida Presbytery. In 1805 Oneida 
Presbytery was restricted to the west lines of Oneida and Chenango 
Counties, and all the State west of that line was assigned to the new 
Geneva Presbytery. In 1810 Geneva Presbytery was restricted to 
the tract west of Lake Cayuga — Onondaga and Chenango Presby- 
teries being erected east of that lake. In 1817 Western New York 
was distributed into four presbyteries — Geneva, Bath, Ontario, and 

Before 1820 all the presbyteries of Western New York belonged to 
Geneva Synod. In 1820 General Assembly constituted Niagara, 
Genesee, Rochester, and Ontario Presbyteries the Synod of Genesee, 
and in 1834 Angelica Presbytery was transferred from Geneva Synod 
to Genesee. Buffalo Presbytery when erected was assigned to Gene- 
see Synod. In 1871 the new Synod of Genesee, formed by the 
union of the New School Synod of Genesee and the Old School 
Synod of Buffalo, was permitted by General Assembly to change 
its name to the Synod of Western New York. In 1881 the six 
synods of New York State were consolidated into the Synod of 
New York. 

The existing churches of Steuben Presbytery have belonged at 
different periods to six presbyteries — Geneva, Bath, Angelica, Che- 
mung, Genesee Valley, and Steuben. It will be necessary to sketch 
each of these in order. 

Steuben Presbytery churches dating back of the formation of 
Bath Presbytery in 1817, excepting Cohocton, were enrolled in 
Geneva Presbytery. As constituted by General Assembly in 1805 it 
comprised four ministers and eight churches. The ministers were 
Jedediah Chapman, Geneva; John Lindsley, Ovid; Samuel Leacock, 
Gorham (Hopewell); and Jabez Chadwick, Milton (Genoa). The 
churches were Geneva, Gorham (Hopewell), Ovid (became Dutch 
Reformed in 1806), Seneca (now Ovid), Romulus, Ulysses, 1st (Tru- 
mansburg), Ulysses 2d (Ithaca), and Geneseo (Lakeville). The first 
meeting of presbytery was at Geneva Sept. 17, 1805. All the min- 
isters were present except Leacock, who is believed to have died 


about this time. Among the seven elders present was Jabish Ha- 
vens, afterwards an elder in the Pnlteney Church. Among the four 
corresponding members was the Rev. David Higgins, afterwards 
pastor of the Bath Church. Eev. David Higgins preached the ser- 
mon and Eev. Jedediah Chapman offered the constituting prayer. 
The bounds of Geneva Presbytery to 1810 included all New York 
State west of Oneida and Chenango Counties. During this period 
the following additional churches were enrolled: 1805 — Newtown 
and Chemung (Elmira — extinct in 1810); 1806 — Milton (Genoa) 
and Caledonia; 1807 — Onondaga (Syracuse); 1808 — Junius (Seneca 
Falls) and East Palmyra; 1810 — Hector and Onondaga Hollow. 

In October, 1810, the Synod of Albany restricted Geneva Presby- 
tery to that part of the State west of Cayuga Lake. The following 
churches still belonged to it: Geneva, Gorham (Hopewell), Romu- 
lus, Seneca (Ovid), Hector, Ulysses 1st (Trumansburg), Ulysses 2d 
(Ithaca), Junius (Seneca Falls), East Palmyra, Geneseo (Lakeville), 
and Caledonia. Before Bath Presbytery was formed the following 
additional churches had been enrolled: Sept. 18, 1811 — Bath, 
Lyons, and Benton; Aug. 19, 1812 — Angelica, Alfred (Almond), 
and Painted Post (Corning); 1813 — Sodus, Phelps, Livonia, 
Honeyoye, West Bloomfield, Orangeville (Attica), Warsaw, Pratts- 
BURG, and Huron (Port Bay); 1814 — Geneseo, Augusta (Rushville), 
Gurham, Penfield, Junius 2d, Pittsford, Elmira 1st, and Wayne; 
1815 — Naples, LeRoy, Parma (Ogden), and Galen (Clyde); 1816 — 
Gates 1st (Rochester 1st), Buffalo 1st, South Bristol, and Perry; 
1817 — Mt. Morris, Lewiston, Hamburg 1st, Pomfret (Fiedonia), 
and Palmyra. There was a time, therefore, when Bath, Angelica, 
Almond, Corning, and Prattsburg met in presbytery Elmira, Ge- 
neva, Rochester, and Buffalo. 

Rev. David Higgins was enrolled in Geneva Presbytery at its first 
meeting, but its division in 1810 took him into Auburn Presbytery. 
Installed pastor of the Bath Church at a special meeting July 11, 
1813, he again became a member of Geneva Presbytery. The first 
mention of Rev. James H. Hotchkin in Geneva Presbytery minutes 
is as a corresponding member at a meeting held in Milton (Genoa) 
in 1806. He was installed as a Congregational pastor at Prattsburg 
in 1809 and enrolled in Geneva Presbytery in 1813. Nov. 5, 1811 
there was a special meeting of Geneva Presbytery at Bath to con- 
sider certain difficulties arising in the change from a Congregatiotial 
to a Presbyterian church. Presbytery strongly recommended the 
church to become fully Presbytei'ian, and very soon elders were 
ordained. A special meeting was held at Angelica, Aug. 19, 1812. 
The Angelica and Almond churches were enrolled with Moses Van- 
Campen as elder, and Rev. Robert Hubbard ordained and installed 
over these two churches. .The Painted Post (Corning) Church was 
enrolled with James Fulton as elder, and arrangements made to 
install Rev. Clement Hickman pastor. There were present Revs. 
David Tuller, West Bloomfield; Olive Ayer, East Bloomfield; John 
Niles, Bath; William Clark, Seneca (Ovid); Charles Moshcr, Rom- 

Rev. GEORGE R. RUDD, Prattsburg. Rev. HENRY H. SPALDING. Prattsburg. 

Rev. LEVERETT HULL, Angelica. 

Rev. ROBERT E. WILLSON, Hammondsport. 

Rev. SAMUEL M. HOPKINS, D. D., Corning. Rg^ BENJAMIN C. SMITH, Prattsburg. 


ulus; Henry Axtell, Geneva; and James H. Hotchkin, Prattsburg; 
with elders, Henry A. Townsend, Bath; Moses VanCampen, An- 
gelica; and James Fulton, Painted Post (Corning). From Angelica 
the members of resbytery must have proceeded directly to Painted 
Post (Corning), for at a meeting there Aug. 25, 1812, Rev. Clement 
Hickman was installed pastor of that church, and the same minis- 
ters, excepting Rev. John Niles, were present. This pastoral rela- 
tionship was dissolved Sept. 10, 1816. In 1818 Rev. Silas Hubbard, 
afterwards a minister of the Andover Church, was installed pastor 
of the Warsaw and Orangeville (Attica) Churches. The only stated 
meeting of Geneva Presbytery held within the bounds of Steuben 
Presbytery was at Bath in 1814. The stated clerks of Geneva Pres- 
bytery for this period were, Rev. Jabez Chadwick, Milton (Genoa), 
1805-7; Rev. David Higgins, Aurelius, 1807-10; and Rev. Henry 
Axtell, Geneva, 1810-17. 


NOTE.— Capitals indicate ministers and churches within the territory of present Steuben 
Presbytery; p— pastor; ss— stated supply; s— transferred by synod; 1— by letter; d— death- 
o— ordination; sd — suspended and deposed ; r— restored. ' 





Jedediah Chapman, D. D. 
John Lindsley. 

Jabez Chadwick. 

Garrit Mandeville. 
David Higgins. 
Hezekiah N. Woodruff. 
Benjamin Bell 
Charles Mosher. 

Dirck C. Lansing. 
Oliver Ayer. 
Alexander Denoon. 
Howell R. Powell. 
Ezekiel J. Chapman. 
John Stuart. 

John Davenport. 
Joseph Merrill. 
Aaron C. Collins. 

William Clark. 

David Tuller. 
Reuben Parmelee. 
Henry Axtell. 
Hippocrates Rowe 
Silas Hubbard. 
Darius A. Griswold. 
Francis Pomeroy. 
Eleazar Fairbanks. 
Moses Young. 
Lyman Barrett. 
Shipley Wells. 
Ebenezer Lazell 
Andrew Rawson. 
Ebenezer Fitch, D. D. 
Comfort Williams. 
Hezekiah Woodruff. 
Miles P. Squier. 
Stephen Porter. 
Howell R. Powell 
Hugh Wallis. 

Geneva, p 

Ovid, p 

Geneseo (Lakeville). p 

Milton (Genoa), p 

Onondaga, p 

Ulysses 1st and 2d. p 

Aurelius. p 

East Palmyra, ss 
Romulus, p 
Phelps, p 
Onondaga, p 
East Bloomfleld. ss 
Caledonia, p 
Phelps, ss 
Lima, p 
Seneca Falls, p 
Lyons, ss 

Hopewell and Rushville. 

East Bloomfleld. ss 

Livonia, ss 

Ovid and Hector, p 

Huron, p 

BATH, p 

West Bloomfleld. ss 

Geneva, p 
East Palmyra, p 
Pi^INTED POST (Corning)p 
Warsaw, p 
East Bloomfleld. p 
BATH, p 
Lyons, p 

Romulus, p 
Naples, p 
Seneca Falls, ss 

South Bristol, ss 
West Bloomfleld. p 
Rochester 1st. p 
Elmira 1st. p 
Buffalo 1st. p 
Ovid and Hector, p 

Pembroke, ss 

s Sept. 17, 1805 

s Sept. 17, 1806 

s Sept. 17, 1805 

1 Sept. 17, 1805 

I Sept. 18, 1805 

I Sept. 18, 1806 
I July 2, 1807 

o Aug. 18, 1807 

Dec. 2, 1807 s 

1 June 29, 1808 1 
o Aug. 17, 1808 

d May 22, 1813 

8 Feb. 21, 1811 

s 1810 

s 1810 

s 1810 

s 1810 

1 Sept. 18. 1811 

Aug. 17, 1808 
Aug. 17. 1808 
Aug. 24 

Mar. 14, 1810 
June 26, 1810 
Apr. 16, 1811 

1 Apr. 17, 1811 

Sept. 17, 

July 7, 

July 7, 

July 8, 

July 8. 

Aug. 20, 

Aug. 25, 

Apr. 22, 

Apr. 22, 

Apr. 22, 

Apr. 22, 

Apr. 20, 

Sept. 22, 

Mar. 7, 

June 20, 

Aug. 9, 

Aug. 10, 

Oct. 10. 

Nov. 22, 

.Ian. 16, 

Feb. 16, 

May 3, 

Aug. 13, 

Feb. 12, 

Feb. 19, 





Feb. 22, 1815 
Feb. 21, 1817 
Sept 10, 1816 
Feb. 21, 1817 

Sept. 22. 1813 

s Feb. 21. 1817 

Sept. IS, 1812 
Feb. 21, 1817 
Feb. 21, 1817 

Feb. 81, 1817 
Feb. 21, 1817 
Feb. 21, 1817 
Feb. 21, 1817 
Feb. 21, 1817 
1 Aug. 10, 1815 
Feb. 21, 1817 

Feb. 21, 
Aug. 15, 
Feb. 21, 
Feb. 21, 
Feb. 21, 
Feb. 21, 
Feb. 21, 
Feb. 21, 


s Feb. 21, 1817 


BATH PRESBYTERY (1817-1862). 
** Bath" and " Steuben" are different names for the same pres- 
bytery. For convenience they will be treated as if separate bodies. 
The Presbytery of Bath was constituted at Geneva Feb. 21, 1817, 
by the Synod of Geneva setting off from Geneva Presbytery the 
churches and ministers within Steuben, Allegany, and Tioga (Pa.) 
counties, together with Rev. Ebenezer Lazel and Rev. Lyman Bar- 
rett, and the Naples Church. The first meeting was held at Pratts- 
burg Mar. 18, 1817, Rev. David Higgins preaching from Prov. 4:9, 
" She shall give to thine head an ornament of grace". There were 
present at that first meeting 6 ministers and 3 elders: Ministers — 
David Higgins, Bath. Ebenezer Lazel, Pulteney, James H. Hotch- 
kin, Prattsburg, Robert Hubbard, Angelica and Almond, Lyman 
Barrett, Naples, and Hezekiah Woodruff, Elmira; Elders— Ranvy 
A. Townsend, Bath, Jesse Waldo, Prattsburg, and Christopher 
Hurlbut, Alfred (Almond) and Angelica. Rev. Clement Hickman 
was absent and the churches not represented by elders were Elmira, 
Wayne, Naples, and Painted Post (Corning). 

The Narrative of the State of Religion presented to presbytery at 
Southport, Jan. 27, 1825, by Rev. David Higgins. reviews the situa- 

"The little church at South Dansville has become nearly ex- 
tinct. * * * Those at Olean and Ossian are feeble and have little 
more than a bare existence. At Black Creek the church has a little 
strength and gives encouragement. * * * The church at Angelica is 
favored with the prospect of some additions. * * * Howard, though 
small, yet firm. * * * Cohocton is weak and feeble but are exerting 
themselves in a commendable manner in the support of their minis- 
ter. * * * In Prattsburg the church appears to be waking from a 
long sleep. * * * Pulteney is in more harmony than usual. * * * 
Bath is in its usual state of slow progression and small increase. 
Wayne has been favored with a few instances of hopeful conversion. 
* * * In Reading (Starkey) a few members have been added. Cath- 
erine and Reading (Reading) though small and feeble observes stated 
meetings when they have no preaching. Mead's Creek is rising in 
numbers and exertion. Painted Post (Corning) has a small circle 
of sisters who keep up a prayer meeting, a society for the aid of 
missionary purposes, and a Sabbath School for children. Elmira 
shows some attention to serious subjects, counterbalanced by a great 
and general stupidity. Southport is not favored with any revival. 
In Naples we learn there is great religious excitement". 

Almond alone was not mentioned. The apportionment of $240 
for the American Home Missionary Society, Aug. 28, 1 828, gives an 
idea of the relative strength of the churches then in Presbytery: 
$35, Prattsburg; $25, Elmira; $20, Wayne; $16, Bath; $12, Star- 


key; $10, Almond, Angelica, Howard 1st, Naples, Painted Post 
(Corning), Pulteney, and Southport; $8, Cohocton, and Big Flats; 
$6, Black Creek, Mead's Creek, Ossian, and Wheeler; $5, Allen, 
Andover, Howard 2d, and Reading; $3, Olean; 0, Bennett's Creek, 
and South Dansville. 

The bounds of presbytery extending from Elmira to Olean, and 
horse-back being the best method of traveling, presbytery petitioned 
Geneva Synod to set off the Allegany County churches and minis- 
ters into a new presbytery to be called Angelica Presbytery. Synod 
at Syracuse, Oct. 7, 1828, granted the request. This action took 
out of Bath Presbytery 4 ministers and churches. 

From 18H0 to 1834 was a period of revivals and rapid expansion. 
During this period the following churches were enrolled: Barring- 
ton, Campbell, Hanimondsport, Hornby, Kennedyville (Kanona), 
Wells (Pa.), Horseheads, Plainville, Mansfield (Pa.), Addison, Cat- 
lin. Erwin, Painted Post 2d (Caton), Lawrenceville (Pa.), Havana, 
Woodliull, Troupsburg, and Hornellsville. The Bennett's Creek 
Church was divided into two churches — Greenwood with 17 mem- 
bers, and Jasper with 24 members. Presbytery meetings during 
this period were largely attended. At Painted Post, Jan. 28, 1834, 
there were present 13 ministers and 23 elders. At the next annual 
meeting, Bath, Aug. 26, 1834, 17 ministers and 23 elders were 
present — among the elders Marcus Whitman, M. D., from the 
Wheeler Church. At the meeting in Campbell, Jan. 27, 1835, 47 
were in attendance — 25 ministers and 22 elders. Upon petition of 
presbytery the Synod of Geneva, meeting at Penn Yan, Oct. 5, 
'1836, set off the churches and ministers south of the south line of 
the towns of Hornellsville, Howard, Bath, Tyrone, and Reading 
into a new presbytery called the Presbytery of Chemung. This 
action took out of Bath Presbytery 17 ministers and 20 churches. 
Included in this number were the churches of Campbell, Hornby, 
Jasper, Painted Post 1st (Corning), Addison, and Woodhull. 

A special meeting was held at Kennedyville (Kanona), July 25, 
1837, " for the purpose of deliberating and acting on a circular 
addressed to those who feel themselves aggrieved by some of the 
acts of the late General Assembly". The following resolutions were 
adopted by a yea and nay vote — Rev. Isaac W. Piatt, Bath, and 
^Ider Lewis Biles, Bath, dissenting: 

" Whereas, the General Assembly of the Presbyterian Church 
at their late meeting in Philadelphia did declare that the synods of 
Utica, Geneva, and Genesee were out of the constitutional connec- 
tion of the Presbyterian Church and did exclude the commissioners 
of the presbyteries belonging to these synods from any participation 
in the deliberations and decisions of that body; therefore, 


" Resolved, as the sense of this presbytery, that the aforesaid act 
of the General Assembly is at war with the principles of Presbyterian 
government, unconstitutional, and void, and ought not to be recog- 
nized by any judicatory or officer of the Presbyterian Church; * * * 

'* Resolved, that the General Assembly, in announcing as a special 
reason for their immediate action on this subject, the prevalence of 
gross disorders in the synods so exscinded, without specifying those 
disorders, or giving the synods any opportunity to answer the charges, 
has acted in a most precipitate and unconstitutional manner, con- 
trary to all the usages of the Presbyterian Church, and affording a 
just ground of complaint to all the churches, ministers, and presby- 
teries belonging to these synods; * * * 

" Resolved, that we approve of the propositions contained in a 
circular from Rev. James Richards, D. D., and others, for a con- 
vention of the representatives of the aggrieved presbyteries and 
others who can act with them in sentiment and feeling, to be held 
as Auburn, Aug. 17th next; * * * 

"Resolved, that Rev. James H. Hotchkin, Rev. B. Foster Pratt, 
and Elam Bridges, Prattsburg, and Daniel I. Benton, Pulteney, be 
the commissioners of this presbytery to the Convention". 

The ultimate result was that Bath Presbytery became a part of 
the New School Presbyterian Church. The only change within 
presbytery was that at once the Bath Church, with Revs. Isaac W. 
Piatt, and Daniel Washburn, and later the Cameron Church, with- 
drew to the Susquehanna (Old School) Presbytery. A New School 
church was at once organized in Bath which survived until reunion 
in 1870. 

In 1857 there were 15 ministers and 18 churches in Bath Presby- 
tery. The Jasper Church, upon its own petition to Synod, had 
been restored to Bath Presbytery in 1 847. After several unsuccessful 
attempts to enlarge its boundaries, the Synod of Geneva, at Elmira, 
Sept. 30, 1862, restored to Bath Presbytery all the South Steuben 
ministers and churches enrolled in Chemung Presbytery — at the 
same time changing the name to that of the Presbytery of Steuben. 
The last meeting under the name of Bath Presbytery was at Hor- 
nellsrille, June 17, 1863. There were present 7 ministers and 10 

Bath Presbytery acted fewer times and less radically on the tem- 
perance question than Angelica Presbytery. In 1852 the following 
action was recorded: 

"Resolved, as the sense of this presbytery, that a law similar in 
its general features to that recently enacted in the State of Maine, 
prohibiting the sale of all intoxicating drinks as a beverage, would 
be an immense blessing to the people of this State". 

Some action was taken against secret societies. Aug. 28, 1828, 
the Mead's Creek Church asked advice with regard to Free Masonry, 
and Presbytery answered in the following resolution: 


"Resolved, that this presbytery, in view of all the light that has 
been exhibited on the subject of speculative Free Masonry, cannot 
but view the institution as hostile to the interests of the Church of 
Christ, and that they consider it the duty of Christians entirely to 
abandon the institution". 

Kev. Loren W. Russ, pastor of the Bath 2d Church, was rebuked 
in 1847 for having joined the Odd B^ellows, and counseled to with- 
draw. In 1848 Angelica Presbytery requested Bath Presbytery to 
proceed against Russ for having advocated secret societies within 
the bounds of Angelica Presbytery — especially in Almond where 
the session of the Presbyterian Church had taken strong grounds 
against secret societies. Rev. Joel Wakeman, D. D., represented 
Angelica Presbytery. Before Bath Presbytery preferred formal 
charges, Russ withdrew into the Protestant Episcopal Church, 
and his name was removed from the roll. 

In the early years of presbytery especially much time was given 
to the consideration of discipline. Three members of Bath Presby- 
tery were deposed from the ministry. One of these. Rev. Charles 
Yale, after ten years persistent petitioning, was restored. July 15, 
1856, presbytery met at Prattsburg to consider charges impeaching 
the doctrinal soundness of Rev. Benjamin C. Smith, pastor of the 
Prattsburg Church, and stated clerk of presbytery. The accused 
minister asked permission to present his views to presbytery in a 
sermon. The permission was granted and he preached from Rom. 
6:11. Those for and against him were heard and presbytery coun- 
seled moderation. After all was over Smith declared that his ser- 
mon was really Chalmers' 32d Lecture on Romans. Several thought 
this to be contempt of presbytery and Jan. 13, 1857, a committee 
was appointed to confer with Smith. Feb. 11, 1857, the committee 
reported to presbytery that Smith had nothing to say. Before pres- 
bytery adjourned a spicy letter from Smith to presbytery was read 
which occupies 18 pages in presbytery's minutes. June 30, 1857, 
four charges were preferred against Smith — slander, misrepresenta- 
tion of presbytery's motives, deception in using Chalmer's Lecture 
as his own, and contumacy. Aug. 31, 1857, presbytery met for 
trial, but the case happily was settled — both presbytery and Smith 
confessing to needless mistrust and haste. 

The first church of the Oregon Territory was associated by its 
founders witli Bath Presbytery. During August, 1838, Rev. Henry 
H. Spalding and wife, with their little child, visited their nearest 
white neiglibors, Dr. and Mrs. Marcus Whitman, 110 miles away. 
During that visit, Aug. 18, 1838, the first Presbyterian church of 
Oregon Territory was organized with 6 members. The following 
minute was entered in the record book kept by Spalding: " H. II, 


Spalding was elected jDastor and Doct. Marcus Whitman (a ruling 
elder from the Presbyterian church in Wheeler, N. Y.) ruling 
elder. Resolved, That this church be governed on the Congrega- 
tional plan, but attached to the Bath Presbytery, N. Y., and adopt 
its form of confession and covenant as ours," No mention of this 
church has been found in the records of presbytery. Nor has it 
been discovered when, if at all, Spalding was dismissed from Batli 
Presbyterv. One further extract from the minutes of this church 
will be of interest: " Whole No. received since 1836 into First P. 
Ch., Oregon, 961. I am to-day, Nov. 26, '73, 70 years." Spald- 
ing died Aug. 3, 1874. 

The following is a list of stated clerks: Rev. James H. Hotchkin, 
Prattsburg, 1817-30; Rev. George R. Rudd, Prattsburg, 1830-36; 
Rev. B. Foster Pratt, Prattsburg, 1836-43; Rev. Robert E. Wilison, 
Hammondsport, 1843-52; Rev. Benjamin C. Smith, Prattsburg, 
1852-56; Rev. S, Mills Day, Hammondsport, 1856-57; Rev. Ho- 
ratio Pattengill, D. D., Hornellsville, 1857; Rev. Edwin Benedict, 
Bath, 1857-58; and Rev. Stephen Vorhis, Hammondsport, 1858-62. 

The following ministers were installed and released at the places 
and dates given: Hezekiah Woodruff, Elmira, Feb. 16, 1816 (Ge- 
neva Presbytery) — Jan. 26, 1820; Joseph Crawford, Reading 
(Starkey) and Wayne, Feb. 14, 1821 — released at Reading Feb. 26, 
1823, and at Wayne Apr. 29, 1829; Charles Yale, Pulteney, 
Jan. 30, 1823— Aug. 31, 1825; Samuel White, Reading (Starkey), 
Sept. 28, 1825 — Feb. 17, 1831; Robert Hubbard, Angelica, 
Aug. 20, 1812 (Geneva Presbytery) — Oct. 4, 1826; Lyman Barrett, 
Naples, June 20, 1815 (Geneva Presbytery)— Oct. 4, 1826; Moses 
Hunter, Angelica, Nov. 14, 1827 — Aug. 27, 1833 (Angelica 
Presbytery); John C. Morgan, Naples, Aug. 27, 1829— Jan. 25, 
1831; James H. Hotchkin, Prattsburg, Aug. 16, 1809 (Ontario 
Association)— Jan. 27, 1830; George R. Rudd, Prattsburg, Mar. 
24, 1830— May 3, 1836; Eleazar Lathrop, Elmira, Oct. 19, 1830 — 
Aug. 31, 1831; David Higgins, Bath, July 1, 1813 (Geneva 
Presbytery)— June 21, 1831; Isaac W. Platt, Bath, Aug. 31, 

1831 1844 (Steuben [Old School] Presbytery); M. L. Parnsworth, 

Elmira, Feb. 1, 1832— Oct. 30, 1834; B. Foster Pratt, Southport, 
Feb. 2, 1832 — Apr. 15, 1834; Ethan Pratt, Horse Heads, Apr, 3, 

1833 Nov. 4, 1835; James H. Hotchkin, Wheeler, Sept. 17, 

1833— Feb. 17, 1835; John Frost, Elmira, Nov. 4, 1835— Feb, 5, 
1839 (Chemung Presbytery); David I. Perry, Big Flats, Feb. 2, 
l836_Sept. .18, 1838 (Chemung Presbytery); John Gray, Catlin, 
Sept. 14, 1836 — Feb. 5, 1839 (Chemung Presbytery); B.Foster 
Pratt, Prattsburg, Jan, 31, 1838— Aug. 31, 1841; Robert E. 
Willson, Hammondsport, Dec, 12, 1838 — Nov. 11, 1851; John 

Rev. L. MERRILL MILLER, D. D., Bath. r^^ HORATIO PATTENGILL. D. D , Hornellsville 

Rev. JOHN W. LANE, Centerville. 

Rev.TYRELL BLAIR. Angelica. 

Rev. GEORGE D. STEWART, D. D.. Bath. Rev. S. MILLS DAY. Hammondsport. 


W. HoPKixs, Hqenellsville, Nov. 13, 1839— Feb. 4, 1841 (died); 
Oris Fraser, Bath 2d, Jan. 27, 1841— May. 16, 1843; George T. 
Everest, Naples, Sept. 13, 1842— Aug. 26, 1846; Benjamin C. 
Smith, Prattsburg, Apr. 9, 1844 — June 29, 1859; Samuel 
White, Pulteney, Apr. 10, 1844 — Oct. 1, 1852; Loren W. Russ, 
Bath 2d, Nov. 11, 1845— May 16, 1848; George T. Everest, 
Jasper, Dec. 7, 1847 — June 28, 1853; George Hood, Bath 2d, 
Sept. 19, 1848 — June 26, 1850; Benjamin Russell, Tyrone, Jan. 
16, 1850^ — Aug. 23, 1854; HoRATio Pattengill, D. D., Hor- 
nellsville, Feb. 13, 1850 — Sept. 1, 1857; S. Mills Day, Ham- 
MONDSPORT, June 30, 1852 — Mar. 31, 1857; George Spalding, 
Canisteo, Feb. 7, 1854— June 19, 1860; Benjamin F. Millard, Na- 
ples, Feb. 21, 1854 — June 26, 1855; and David D. Gregory, 
Prattsburg, Oct. 26, 1859 — June 13, 1865 (Steuben Presbytery). 

The following churches belonged to Bath Presbytery for the 
years named: Prattsburg, 1817-62; Bath, 1817-37; Painted 
Post 1st (Corning), 1817-36; Almond, 1817-28; Angelica, 1817- 
28; Elmira, 1817-36; Pulteney, 1817-62; Reading (Starkey) 
1817-62; Wayne, 1817-62; Reading and Catherine (Reading), 
1819-46; Naples, 1817-62; Ossian, 1820-28; South Dansville, 
1820-60; Howard, 1820-62; Cohocton, 1821-62; Elmira 2d 
(Southport), 1822-36; Black Creek (Haight), 1822-28; Clean, 
1822-28; Mead's Creek, 1824-36; Wheeler, 1825-62; Dansville, 
1825-27; Howard 2d, 1826-40 (united with South Dansville); 
Bennett's Creek, 1826-30 (divided into Greenwood and Jasper); 
Allen, 1826-28; Big Flats, 1828-36; Greenwood, 1830-36; Jas- 
per. 1830-36, 1847-62; Painted Post 2d (Caton), 1830-36; Law- 
renceville, 1830-36; Havana, 1830-36; Barrington, 1830-42; Camp- 
bell, 1831-36; Hammondsport, 1832-62; Hornby, 1832-36; 
Kennedyville (Kanona), 1832-62; Woodhull, 1832-36; Wells, 
1832-36; Horse Heads, 1832-36: Plainville, 1832-36; Mansfield, 
1832-36; Addison, 1833-36; Troupsburg, 1833-36; Hornells- 
viLLE, 1834-62; Catllii, 1834-36; Erwin, 1834-36; Elkland, 1835- 
36; Tyrone, 1832-62; Bath 2d, 1838-62; Starkey 2d (Dundee), 
1836-62; Starkey 3d (Rock Stream), 1833-62; Cameron, 1843-51 
(became Old School); Wayland, 1852-58; Canisteo, 1853-62; 
and Eddytown, 1862. 

Bath Presbytery belonged to Geneva Synod. Associated with it 
in Geneva Synod were the presbyteries of Geneva, Cayuga, Onon- 
daga, Cortland, Chenango, Angelica (1828-34), Tioga, Delaware 
(1831-40), Ithaca, and Pennsylvania. Presbytery reported to Gen- 
eral Assembly 1,094 communicants in 1830, 853 in 1840, 1,526 in 
1850, and 1,305 in 1860. 




NOTE.— Capitals indicate the ministers and churches Icnown to have been within the 
territory of present Steuben Presbytery; s— transferred by synod; 1— by letter; o— ordina- 
tion: os— Old School; p— pastor; s s--stated supply; t— teacher; f m— foreign missionary; 
e— erased from roll; sd— suspended and deposed; r— restored; h r— honorably retired; 
d— death. Small capitals in the body of the work (beginning at page 10) indicate the 
same as capitals in this list of ministers. 



BATH. p 

s Mar. 18, 1817 

Big Flats ss 

1 Aug. 29, 1837 



s Mar. 18. 1817 

1 Feb. 24, 1830 



s Mar. 18, 1817 

1 Sept. 1, 1819 



s Mar. 18, 1817 

s Oct. 7, 1828 

Lyman Barrett. 

Naples, p 

s Mar. 18, 1817 

1 Aug. 28, 1838 

Hezekiah Woodruff 

Elmira. p 

s Mar. 18. 1817 

sd Feb. 28, 1822 


s Mar. 18, 1817 

d 1817 



o Feb. 14, 1821 

1 Jan. 28, 1835 

Henry Ford. 

Elmira. ss 

1 Jan .30, 1822 

1 Aug. 31. 18:j0 



Jan. 30. 1823 

sd Feb. 1, 1826 



I Aug. 3', 1824 

1 Aug. 31, 1830 



1 Nov. 16, 1824 



Reading, p 

I Sept. 27, 182.5 


s Sept. 30, 1862 

Ebenezer Lazel. 

1 Aug. 30, 1836 




1 Aug. 28, 1827 

s Oct. 5, 1836 



1 Sept. 19, 1827 

s Oct. 7, 1828 



1 Nov. 14. 1827 

s Oct. 7, 1828 



1 Nov. l.-), 1827 

s Oct. 7, 1828 

Eleazar Lathrop. 

Elmira. p 

1 Jan. 29, 1828 

d Feb. 18:J4 


o Feb. 24, 1828 

1 Feb. 24, 1828 

John C. Morgan. 

Naples, p 

Aug. 27, 1829 

1 Aug. 31, 1831 

Merit C. Harmon. 

Big Flats, ss 

1 Jan. 26, 1830 

1 Jan. 28, 1835 



1 Mar. 2.S. 1830 

1 May 3, 1836 

Linus W. Billington. 

Big Flats, ss 

o Feb. 24, 1830 

Starkey. ss 

1 Jan. 28, 1834 



1 June 21, 1831 

1 July 25, 1837 


BATH. p 

1 Aug. 31, 1831 

OS Jan. 30, 18.37 

Marshal L. Farnsworth. 

Elmira. p 

I Jan. 31, 18:32 

d 1838 


Southport. p 
Starkey. ss 

I Jan. 31, 1832 


1 Aug. 29, 1843 

Elijah D. vvells. 

1 Jan. 31, 1832 

1 Aug. 31, 1836 

Charles Goodrich. 

1 Feb. 1. 18.32 

s Oct. 5, 18,36 

Ethan Pratt. 

Horse Heads, p 

1 Aug. 28, 1832 

s Oct. 5, 1836 

Asa Donalson. 

1 Aug. 28, 1832 

s Oct. 0, 1836 

Daniel Washburn. 

Aug. 29, 18.32 

OS 1837 

James Rowlett. 

Tyrone, ss 

Aug. 29, 18.32 

1 Aug. 29, 1833 


I Aug. 27. 1833 




d 18.51 



o Sept 17, 1833 

s Oct. .5, 1836 



1 Jan. 28, 1834 

William Johnson. 

1 Jan. 28, 1834 

1 Jan. 28. 1835 



1 Jan. 28, 1834 

William M. Adams. 

1 Jan. 29, 1834 

s Oct. 5, 1836 

Edwin Bronson. 

1 Jan. 27, 1835 

1 Jan. 26, 183G 

Samuel Schaffer. 

I Jan. 27. 183.5 

1 Aug. 27, 1835 

John Gray. 

Catlin. p 

I Jan. 27, 18.3.5 

Southport. ss 

s Oct. 5, 1836 

John C. Morgan. 

1 Jan. 27. 1835 

Henry Boynton. 

1 Jan. 28, ia35 

1 Aug. 29, 1837 

David I. Perry. 

Big Flats, p 

1 Jan. 28, 1835 

s Oct. 5, 1836 

Egbert Roosa. 

1 Aug. 25, 1835 

s Oct. 5, 1836 



1 Aug. 27, 1835 

s Oct. 5, 1836 


Oregon, fm 

o Aug. 27, 1835 

John Frost. 

Elmira. p 

1 Nov. 3, 1835 

s Oct. 5, 1836 

Elijah Buck. 

1 Jan. 26, 1836 

s Oct. 5, 1836 

Charles Yale 

r Jan 27, 1836 

1 Jan. 30, 1838 

George E. Delevan. 

1 A\ig. 30, 1836 

1 Jan. SO, 1838 



1 Sept. 1, 1836 

1 Aug. 31, 1847 

George tSpalding. 

] Oct. 6, 1836 

1 Apr. 3, 18.38 



1 Oct. S, 1836 

1 Jan. 26, 1842 

James Rowlett. 

Tyrone, ss 

1 Jan. 30, 1838 

s Sept. 30. 1862 

Samuel Scott. 

1 Aug. 28, 18.38 

1 Feb. 1, 1843 



Dec. 12, 1838 

1 Nov. 11, 1861 

David I. Perry. 

1 Jan 29, 1839 

1 Aug. 31, 1841 


o Nov. 13. 1839 

d Feb. 9, 1841 


Naples, p 

Jan. 27, 1841 


1 June 29, 18.53 








BATH 2d. p 

o Jan. 27. 1841 

1 Aug. 26, 1846 



I Feb. 10, 1841 



1 Aug. 31, 1841 

d June 17, 1869 

Oren Johnson. 

1 Aug. 31, 1841 

1 Aug. 28, 1845 

Aaron Judson. 

1 Sept. 1, 1841 

1 Jan. 30, 1844 

A K. Barr. 

1 Jan. 25, 1842 

1 Aug. 30, 1843 

Isaac P. Striker. 

o Feb. 2, 1843 

1 Apr. 8, 1848 



1 Aug. 29, 1843 

sd Jan. IS, 1852 



1 Apr. 8, 1844 

1 June 29, 1859 

Benjamin Russell. 

Tyrone, p 

1 Jan. 28, 1845 

1 Jan. 25, 1847 



1 Aug. 26, 1845 

d 1862 


BATH 2d. p 

O Nov. 11, 1846 

e Aug. 29, 1848 

Foster Lilly. 

1 Aug. 85, 1846 

1 Feb. 4, 1851 



1 Oct. 4, 1847 


d Feb. 8, 1860 

Joseph Strough. 

1 Aug. 29, 1848 

d 1854 

Ethan Pratt. 

I Aug. 29, 1848 

1 June 25, 1850 


BATH 2d. p 

1 Sept. 19, 1848 

1 June 25, 1860 

Oris Eraser. 

1 Aug. 26, 1849 

1 Jan 15, 1862 

Benjamin Russell. 

1 Jan. 16, 1850 

1 Jan. 9, 18S5 



1 Feb. 13, 1850 

1 Jan. 14, 1862 


BATH 2d. ss 

1 June 28, 1852 

1 Oct. 29, 1858 



o June 30, 1852 

1 Mar. 13, 1867 

Benjamin T. Millard. 

Naples, p 

1 Jan. 11, 1853 

1 Jan. 18, 1868 

David F. Judson. 

o Jan. 12, 1C63 

s Sept. 30, 1862 



1 Aug. 24. 1853 

8 Sept. 30, 1862 



1 June 2«, 1855 

1 Jan. 10, 1860 

Mills B. Gelston. 

Naples, ss 

1 June 24, 1856 

s Sept. 30, 1862 

A. T. Wood. 

1 June 24, 1856 

1 Jime 23, 1858 



1 June 24, 1856 

1 Jan. 14, 1862 


South India, fm 

o Oct. 1, 1856 

8 Sept 30. 1862 



1 June 23, 1858 

s Sept. 30. 1862 



June 23, 1858 

1 June 23, 1858 

Jeremiah Woodruff. 

1 Feb. 1 , 1859 

1 Sept. 28, 1860 



1 Feb. 1, 1859 

s Sept. 30, 1862 

L. McGlashan. 

1 June 28, 1859 

1 June 19, 1860 

Henry G. Miles. 

1 June 28. 1859 

d 1860 



1 Oct. 26. 1859 

s Sept. 80, 1862 



1 Jan. 10, 1860 

1 Jan. 14, 1862 



1 June 18, 1861 

s Sept 30, 1862 



1 June 17. 1862 

s Sept. 30, 1862 


The Synod of Geneva at Syracuse Oct. 7, 1828, granted an over- 
ture from the Presbytery of Bath asking " that the Rev. Messrs. R. 
Hubbard, S. Hubbard, M. Hunter, and R. Hurd, and the churches 
of Ossian, Almond, Andover, Angelica, Allen, Black Creek, and 
Olean be constituted a presbytery to be called the Presbytery of 
Angelica; and that the other ministers and churches of the Pres- 
bytery of Bath be and remain the Presbytery of Bath; the dividing 
line between the counties of Steuben and Allegany to be the dividing 
line between the said presbyteries". The first meeting was held by 
direction of synod at Angelica Nov. 28, 1828, Rev. Moses Hunter, 
the moderator designated by synod, asking Rev. Robert Hubbard to 
preach the sermon. All the ministers were present — Moses Hunter, 
Angelica; Robert Hubbard, Almond; Silas Hubbard, Andover; and 
Reuben Hurd, Black Creek. The elders present were: Samuel 
Carr, Almond; Hiram Harman, Andover; Silas F. Littlejohn, 
Allen; John G. McKeen, Black Creek; and Vial Thomas, Angelica. 

The following churches were enrolled in Angelica Presbytery for 
the periods given: *Almond, Andover, Angelica, Ossian, and 

*bmall capitals indicate the ministers and churches known to have been within the limits 
of the present Steuben Presbytery. 


Olean, 1828-59; Allen, 1828-50; Black Creek, 1828-37; Port- 
age, 1829 — ; Portageville, 1829-43 (became Old School); Cuba, 
1829-59; Centerville, 1829-59; Pike, 1829-45; Belfast, 1830- 
56; Ellicottville, 1830-59; Franklinville, 1830-38 (set off to Buffalo 
Presbytery); Farmersville, 1830-44 (united with Franklinville); 
Great Valley (after 1834 called Burton), 1830-43 (united with Clean); 
Belmont (called also Philipsville, Philipsburg, and Amity) 1832- 
59; Haiqht (formed in 1828 by a division of the Black Creek 
Church), 1832-37; Nunda, 1832-44 (set off to Ontario Presbytery); 
Burns, 1833-59; Independence, 1833-59; Hume, 1834-59; 
Friendship, 1835-53; Grove, 1836-45; New Hudson (formed 
by the union of the Black Creek and Haight churches), 1837-55" 
(about); Rushford, 1838-55; Dansville 2d, 1840-55 (set off to 
Ontario Presbytery); Wellsville, 1841-56; Eagle, 1842-56; Can- 
eadea, 1846-54; Black Creek (Congregational), 1851-56; and 
Arkport, 1852-59. 

The stated clerks were as follows: Rev. Moses Hunter, Angelica, 
1828-39; Rev. Asa S. Allen, Cuba, 1839-46; Rev. Joel Wakeman, 
D. D., Almond, 1846-52; and Rev. Samuel A. Rawson, Burns, 
1852-56. From 1828 to 1834 Angelica Presbytery was a part of 
Geneva Synod. Associated with it in Geneva Synod were the pres- 
byteries of Geneva, organized in 1805, Cayuga 1810, Onondaga 
1810, Bath 1817, Cortland 1825, Chenango 1826, Tioga 1829, and 
Delaware 1831. General Assembly in 1834, upon its own request, 
and with the consent of Geneva Synod, annexed it to the Synod of 
Genesee. Associated with it in Genesee Synod were the presbyter- 
ies of Niagara, organized in 1817, Ontario 1817, Rochester 1819, 
Genesee 1819, and Buffalo 1823. 

In 1829 Angelica Presbytery reported to General Assembly 469 
communicants, in 1&40 1,500, and in 1850 1,700. The strength 
relatively of the churches Feb. 28, 1843, may be estimated from the 
apportionment of $45 as follows: $5, Dansville 2d, Nunda and 
Almond; $3, Friendship, Cuba, Hume, Burns, and Angelica; 12, 
Ossian, Eagle, Centerville, Rushford, and Portage; $1, New Hud- 
son; Andover, and Amity. 

The following ministers were installed and released at the places 
and dates named: Robert Hubbard, Almond, Aug. 20, 1812 
(Geneva Presbytery) — Feb. 25, 1829; Phineas Smith, Portage, 
Mar. 5, 1829— Feb. 23, 1830; Moses Hunter, Angelica, Nov. 
14, 1827 (Bath Presbytery)— Aug. 27, 1833; Moses Hunter, Al- 
mond, Sept. 18, 1833— Feb. 27, 1839; Asa Johnson, Nunda, Feb. 
25, 1834— Sept. 14, 1837; Leverett Hull, Angelica, Sept. 30, 
1835— Aug. 30, 1837; Ashbel Otis, Ossian, Sept. 13, 1837— Feb. 

Rev. HENRY E. NILES. D. D.. Angelica. 

Rev. WILLIAM E. JONES, D. D., Bath. 

Rev. ELIJAH W. STODDARD, D. D. , Angelica, 

Rev. MILTON WALDO, D. D,, Hornellsville. 

Rev. LEWIS F, LAINE, Canisteo, Rev.[CORLISS B. GARDNER, D. D., Cuba. 


27, 1839; Benjamin Russell, Burns, Sept. 14, 1834 — Aug. 28, 
1839; Wales Tileson, Nunda, Apr. 18, 1838— May 13, 1840; Lem- 
uel Leonard, Portageville, Nov. 1, 1839 ; Samuel Sessions, 

Allen, Feb. 26, 1840 — July 13, 1841; Charles Crocker, Friend- 
ship, Feb. 9, 1842— Oct. 11, 1847; D. N. Merritt, Dansville 2d, 
July 11, 1843— Apr. 30, 1844; W. F. Curry, Dansville 2d, June 
25, 1845 — May i, 1849; Joel Wakeman, D. D., Almond, Jan. 
14, 1846— Aug. 16, 1865 (Genesee Valley Presbytery); John Van- 
Antwerp, Hume, Sept. 9, 1847— Jan. 11, 1853; Charles L. Heq- 
uembourg, Dansville 2d, Jan. 9, 1850 — Jan. 12, 1853; Jefferson 
Wynkoop, Cuba, Jan. 29, 1850 — Jan. 12, 1853; Tyrell Blair, 
Angelica, June 25, 1851 — Apr. 12, 1855 (died); Samuel A. Eaw- 
SON, Burns, Dec. 10, 1851 — July 10, 1856; and Nathan Allen, 
Cuba, Jan. 14, 1854— July 19, 1859 (Genesee Valley Presbytery). 
Angelica Presbytery became unanimously " New School". In 
Angelica Aug. 9, 1837, presbytery adopted the following resolutions: 

" Whereas, it appears from the report of our commissioner to 
General Assembly, and from the minutes of that body, that we as 
well as other portions of the Church have been cut off from the 
communion of that body and our commissioner excluded, by a sim- 
ple vote, without trial or alleged crime; therefore, 

" Resolved — 1, We regard this act as unprecedented in ecclesiasti- 
cal history — altogether unconstitutional, and therefore null and void. 
* * * 3. We cannot in conscience feel the least straightened by this 
stretch of povver, but shall appoint our commissioners as usual, and 
if any arrogance shall exclude them, we shall direct them to retire 
and constitute the real General Assembly and proceed as if nothing 
had happened. * * * 4. That we appoint seven commissioners to 
the Convention appointed to meet at Auburn the 17th inst., to ex- 
press and maintain these views in that body". * * * 

The commissioners were Rev. Moses Hunter, Rev. Leverett Hull, 
Rev. Samuel W. May, Rev. Asa Johnson, R. Barnes, Thompson Bell, 
and J. G. Prentiss. 

The Book of Discipline must have been very familiar to ministers 
and elders. Many special meetings, and many hours at almost 
every meeting, were given to the consideration of charges, com- 
plaints, and appeals. Three members were deposed from the min- 
istry. The case of Augustus Littlejohn was under consideration 
constantly for ten years. Rev. William Waith, Ph. D., in his 
"Recollections of An Emigrant's Family", thus describes him: 
" He was a common laborer, but was endowed with a natural elo- 
quence which gave him the complete mastery over any group that 
he addressed. He would collect a gang of his fellow workmen and 
preach a funeral sermon over a dead horse, or dog, that would fill 
the eyes of his hearers with tears. This man professed conversion 


to Christianity, and began holding forth in school houses, or in 
churches to which pastors would admit him, and hearts were melted, 
and knees were bent in penitence, to such an extent that people 
thought this man ' the great power of God'. He offered himself as 
a candidate for the ministry; but the older heads of the presbytery, 
like Abiel Parmelee and Silas Hubbard, were unyielding in their 
opposition to his licensure. Littlejohn, however, went right on 
with his fervent appeals, and converts were multiplied within the 
parishes of the very pastors that opposed him. * * * The pressure 
upon the presbytery became so strong that any longer to refuse 
licensure appeared like fighting against God". In 1830 he was 
licensed. In 1833 a day was set for his ordination as an evangelist. 
When the day came there were charges against him of doctrinal 
unsoundness and imprudent conduct, and his ordination was post- 
poned. A month later Geneva Synod criticised the method of his 
licensure and directed presbytery to re-examine him. Instead of 
re-examining him for licensure presbytery ordained him. This 
action Genesee Synod censured. Difficulties arose later between 
Littlejohn and his wife, but presbytery exonerated him from blame 
and highly commended his work as an evangelist. In 1839 there were 
charges against his character. Presbytery appointed a committee 
to investigate, but in 1840, before that committee reported, made 
him moderator. About the same time presbytery refused a request 
of Ontario Presbytery to investigate charges against Littlejohn — 
not even recording the charges on the minutes. The Synod of 
Genesee censured presbytery very sharply for making him moderator 
while charges were pending against him, and for jiassing over the 
request of Ontario Presbytery. After a good many other actions, 
in 1841 he was cited to answer definite charges of grossly immoral 
conduct. There was an exhaustive trial at Almond in March, 1841. 
At last presbytery saw him as he was, and unanimously deposed 
him from the ministry and excommunicated him from the church. 

This presbytery seems to have gone about its work with a bhint 
directness which sometimes disregarded set presbyterial regulations. 
A good many exceptions are recorded by synod on the pages of pres- 
bytery's records. Some of these presbytery calmly disregarded — 
coming at last to feel that the Synod of Genesee was prejudiced 
against it. The last straw, however, was the refusal of Ontario 
Presbytery in 1847 to receive a minister regularly dismissed. 

None of the presbyteries with which our Steuben and Allegany 
churches have been connected has taken such radical action for 
moral reform. There are many resolutions upon temperance. The 
first, Sept. 2, 1830, required of new church members a "pledge of 


entire abstinence from ardent spirits". In 1835 presbytery advised 
elders nominated for an office requiring them to issue licenses to 
sell liquor to refuse such office. In 1839 vigorous efforts were rec- 
ommended toward influencing the Legislature to suppress entirely 
the liquor traffic. In 1841 presbytery resolved " that the granting 
of licenses to traffic in intoxicating liquors as a beverage is a gross 
violation of the great law of temperance and should be considered 
by our churches as a disciplinable offense". 

The interest of presbytery iu the abolition of slavery was constant- 
Many pages of resolutions were recorded from 1835 to 1852 — some 
of them very radical. It is enough perhaps to give the resolution 
presented by the Rev. Dr. Joel Wakeman, and adopted by presby- 
tery Jan. 10, 1849: 

" Whekeas, there are presbyteries and churches connected with 
General Assembly that refuse to discipline their members for the 
sin of slavery; and, 

" Whereas, by sending delegates there after the flood of light 
that has been thrown on this subject we must unavoidably counten- 
ance and fellowship this sin; therefore, 

" Hesolved, that if at the next meeting of that body they do not 
take some efficient action on that subject we shall feel ourselves 
bound to withhold all correspondence and fellowship from them in 
the future". 

From 1850 presbytery meetings became very small. Some of the 
Congregational ministers and churches withdrew. The last meet- 
ing, held at Scio June 10, 1850, was marked by unusual proceed- 
ings. There were six present: Rev. Nathaniel Hammond; Rev. 
Samuel A. Kawson, Burns; Rev. Joel Wakeman, D. D., Almond; 
Rev. Nathan Allen, Cuba; Kendal Wilder, Cuba; and Mansur 
Dyer, Andover. The presbytery voted letters of dismission to all 
the ministers. Genesee Synod ruled that insomuch as a presbytery 
is unable constitutionally to transact business when only two minis- 
terial members are present, the last two dismissed, Revs. Rawson 
and Allen, were still members of Angelica Presbytery. The efforts 
of synod to resuscitate presbytery were a failure, but technically the 
Presbytery of Angelica existed until the Presbytery of Genesee 
Valley was oi'ganized from the same territory in 1859. 




NOTE.-Capitals indicate tiie ministers and churches known to have been within the 
terrUory ofpresent Steuben Presbytery; s-transferred by synod- 1-by letter ; o-ordina- 
tioo; d-death; p-pastor; s s-stated supply; sd-suspended and deposed. 


Phinehas Smith. 
Abel Caldwell. 
John T. Baldwin. 
William P. Kendrick. 
Robert H. Conklin. 
Asa Johnson. 
Augustus Littlejohn. 
William Bridgman. 
John F. Bliss. 
Lemuel Hall. 




Portage, ss 
Frank linville. ss 

Nunda. p 


Ashbel Otis. 

Wales Tileson. 
Abiel Parmelee. 
Eli Hyde. 
Calvin Gray. 

Leonard Rogers. 
Abram C. Dubois. 
Lemuel Leonai-d. 
Robert H. Conklin. 
Edward Reynolds. 
D. N. Merritt. 
Henry Snyder. 
William Bridgman. 
H. B. Taylor. 
W. F. Curry. 

Nathaniel Hammond. 
Joshua Lane. 
John W. Lane. 
Chas. L. Hequembourg. 
Daniel Russell. 
Charles Kenmore. 
Wm. L. Andrews. 



[burns, p 

[Nunda. p 


HUME, ss 
Dansville 2d. p 

Dansville '2d. p 
HUME, p 
CUBA, ss 

Dansville 8d. 
CUBA, p 


CUBA, p 

Oct. T, 1828 

Oct. 7, 1828 

Oct. 7, 1828 

Oct. 7,1828 

Feb. 24, 1829 

Mar. 5, 1829 

May 19, 1830 

Aug. 31, 1830 

Aug. 30, 1881 

Aug. 27, 1833 

Aug. 27, 1833 

Feb. 25, 1834 

Feb. 25, 1834 

Apr. 16, 1834 

Sept. 29, 1835 

Feb. 24, 1836 

Aug. 30, 18.36 

Oct. 13, 1836 

Aug. 9, 1837 

Sept. 13, 1837 
Sept. 14, 1837 

Feb. 28, 1838 
Oct. 10, 1838 
Dec. 25, 1838 
Dec. 25, 1838 
Feb. 26, 1&J9 
Aug. 27, 1839 

Aug. 28, 1839 
Oct. 29, 1839 
Nov. 1, 1839 
July 14, 1840 
July 15, 1840 
Feb. 9, 1842 
Oct. 15, 1842 
Feb. 28, 1843 
Feb. 29, 1843 
July 10, 1843 
Apr. 30, 1844 
Aug. 2T, 1844 
June 24, 1845 
June 24, 1845 
Jan. 13, 1846 
Jan. 14, 1846 
July 14, 1846 
July 13, 1847 

Sept. 9, 1847 
Oct. 11, 1847 
Jan. 11. 184S 
Jan. 10. 1849 
June 26, 1849 
Jan. 8, 1850 
Jan. 29, 1850 
Sept. 25, 1860 
June 24, 1851 
June 24. 1851 
June 8, 1852 
June 21, 1853 
Jan. 14, 1854 
June 12, 1855 

Feb. 88. 1832 
Oct. 14, 1840 
Feb. 8T, 1839 

May S, 1837 
Feb 28, 1832 
Feb. 28, 1832 
Feb. 23, 1836 
Aug. 30, 1837 

Nov. 5, 183.^ 
Sept 14,1837 

May 18, 1841 
Aug. 28, 1838 
Aug. 30, 1836 
Aug. — . 1838 

July 14. 1840 

Aug -, 1846 
July 10, 1843 

July 10,1844 
July 15, 1842 
Jan. 12, 1843 
July 9, 1844 
Oct. 14, 1840 
Feb. 26, 1840 . 

July 9. 1844 
Jan. 27, 1841 

Oct. 9, 1844 
Jan. 11, 1843 

Oct. 9, 1844 

July 9, 1844 
Oct, 11, 1847 
Aug. 27, 1844 

Jan. 11, 1853 
Oct. 9, 1844 
Jan. 12, 1855 
Jan. 8, 1850 
Aug. 18, 1846 
Sept. 10, 18.iO 
Jan. 13, 1855 
July 10, 1866 
Jan. 10, 1849 

July 10, 1856 

June 13, 1864 

Jan. 8, 1850 

July 10, 1856 
June — , 1850 
Sept. 10, 18.^0 

July 19 «53 
June 13, 1854 

Jan. 10, 1854 

Jan. 10, 18.54 

Apr. 12, 1855 
June 13, 1854 

Aug. 14, 1866 
July 10, 1856 


Rev. ISAAC C. OGDEN. Almond. 

Rev. JOHN REID, Angelica. 

Rev. SAMUEL W. PRATT, Campbell. Rev. DWIGHT K. STEELE. Almond. 

Rev. M. L. P. HILL, D. D., Corning. Rev. BYRON B03W0RTH. Hammondsport. 



For 20 years the South Steuben churches of Steuben Presbytery 
belonged to Chemung Presbytery. This presbytery was set off from 
the Presbytery of Bath by the Synod of Geneva, at a meeting in 
Penn Yan Oct. 5, 1836, the following resolution being adopted: 

'^ Resolved, that all that part of the Presbytery of Bath which 
lies north of a line formed by the south line of Hornellsville, How- 
ard, Bath. Tyrone, and Reading, remain the Presbytery of Bath; 
and that all the remaining part of the presbytery be constituted a 
new presbytery, to be named the Presbytery of Chemung". 

The territory within Chemung Presbytery was that now within 
South Steuben, Schuyler, and Chemung counties in New York, 
and Tioga and Bradford counties in Pennsylvania. There were 
' 17 ministers and 20 churches at the beginning. The first meeting 
was at Big Flats Dec. 27, 1836. All the ministers were present 
except three. The following elders were enrolled: Nathan Rey- 
nolds, Big Flats; *George Teeple, Campbell; William Wells, 
Southport; Francis Northway, Hornby; Nehemiah Denton, 
Havana; John Sample, Painted Post (Corning); Hector Sayre, 
Horse Heads; Joel D. Gillet, Addison; Wm. Braisted, Wells; 
and Wm. Porter, Catlin. The first annual report gave the member- 
ship of Elmira as 256, Big Flats 75, Mead's Creek 68, Havana 48, 
Columbia 33, Wells 17, Erwin 28, Painted Post (Corning) 111, 
Campbell 47, Southport 129, Addison 20, and Elkland 77. 

The first change in the bounds of presbytery is explained by the 
following extract from the minutes of Geneva Synod, recorded at 
Ithaca Oct. 3, 1844: 

" A new presbytery [was] formed to consist of the following min- 
isters and churches, viz. : Henry Ford, Elijah D. Wells, Octavius 
Fitch, Samuel J. McCuUough, and Samuel Porter; and the churches 
of Wells, Wells and Columbia, Sullivan and Richmond, Covington, 
Wellsborough, Farmington, Elkland, Beecher's Island, and Law- 
renceville, and bounded as follows: north by the New York State 
line***to be known by the name of the Presbytery of Pennsylvania". 

This took out of Chemung Presbytery all of the Pennsylvania 
churches and ministers, with the exception of the church of Athens. 

The next change in the bounds of presbytery was that brought 
about by the action of the Synod of Geneva at Elmira Sept. 30, 1862, 
in the adoption of the recommendations " that all the churches in- 
cluded in the county of Steuben and now belonging to the Presby- 
tery of Chemung, be transferred to the Presbytery of Bath; and 
that the Presbytery of Bath hereafter be called the Presbytery of 
Steuben." This action took out of Chemung Presbytery the churches 
of Corning, Campbell, Hornby, Addison, Woodhull, Painted Post 
2d (Caton), and Painted Post (Village). 

'I'bmall capitals indicate the ministers and churches known to have been within the limits 
of the present Steuben Presbytery. 


During these 26 years of Chemung Presbytery the following 
churches were enrolled: 1. Those set off from Bath Presbytery: 
Big Flats, 1836-62; Campbell, 1836-62 (Steuben Presbytery); 
Southport, 1836-62; Hornby, 1836-62 (Steuben Presbytery); Ha- 
vana, 1836-62; Corning (Painted Post 1st), 1836-62 (Steuben 
Presbytery); Horse Heads, 1836-62; Addison, 1836-62 (Steuben 
Presbytery); Wells 2d, 1836-44 (Pennsylvania Presbytery); Catlin, 
1836-62; Mansfield, 1836-41; Lawrenceville, 1836-44 (Pennsylva- 
nia Presbytery); Jasper, 1836-47 (Bath Presbytery); Elmira 1st, 
1836-62; Greenwood, 1836-50 (extinct); Troupsburg, 1836-46 
(extinct); Painted Post 2d (Caton), 1836-62 (Steuben Presbytery); 
WooDHULL, 1836-62 (Steuben Presbytery); Erwin, 1836-43 (ex- 
tinct); and Elkland, 1836-44 (Pennsylvania Presbytery). 2. Those 
enrolled by organization, etc.: Millsport, 1837-62; Mead's Creek 
(Monterey), 1836-62; Wells and Columbia, 1837-44 (Pennsylvania 
Presbytery); Richmond, 1839-44; Chemung, 1840-54 (absorbed by 
Southport 2d); Athens, 1840-62; Cameron, 1841-3 (Batli Presby- 
tery); Painted Post (village), 1841-62 (Steuben Presbytery); 
Covington, 1842-4 (Pennsylvania Presbytery); Sullivan (set off 
from Richmond), 1842-4; AVellsborough, 1843-4 (Pennsylvania 
Presbytery); Richmond and Sullivan (reunited), 1844-4 (Pennsyl- 
vania Presbytery); Beocher's Island, 1844-4 (Pennsylvania Presby- 
tery); Farmington, 1844-4 (Pennsylvania Presbytery); Thurston, 
1845-50 (extinct); Painted Post 1st (organized from Corning), 
184(j_9 (reunited to Corning); Post Creek, 1846-51 (extinct); Wat- 
kins (Reading) (setoff from Bath Presbytery) 1849-62; Factoryville, 
1847- ; Jefferson, 1849- ; Waverly, 1853-62; Southport 2d, 
1854-9 (extinct); Pine Grove, 1858-62; Burdett, 1858-62; and 
Elmira 2d (organized from Elmira 1st), 1861-2. 

The comparative strength of some of these churches may be esti- 
mated from apportionments recorded in the minutes of presbytery. 
In 1839 the assessment of $84 for the commissioners' and the con- 
tingent fund was as follows: Elmira, 120; Southport, $5; Horse 
Heads, Havana, Big Flats, Painted Post 1st (Corning), Addison, 
Millsport, Lawrenceville, and Campbell, 14 each; Catlin, Elkland, 
Hornby, Jasper, and Mead's Creek, $3 each; Erwin, Woodhull, 
Columbia and Wells, and Painted Post 2d (Caton), |2 each; 
Mansfield, Greenwood, Wells, and Troupsburg, $1 each. 

The stated clerks of Chemung Presbytery have been: Rev. John 
Smith, Corning, 1836-40; Rev. Elijah D. AVells, Campbell, 1840-2; 
Rev. Philemon H. Fowler, D. D., Elmira, 1842-6; Rev. B. Foster 
Pratt, Painted Post, 1846-8; Rev. B. M. Goldsmith, Southport, 
1848-50; and Rev. Charles C. Carr, Horse Heads, from 1850 to the 
present time. 


None of the presbyteries to which the existing Steuben Presbytery 
churches have belonged has so high a record for installed pastors as 
Chemung Presbytery during this period. In 1840 presbytery re- 
corded strong resolutions on the subject, and sent a pastoral letter 
on the subject to every church and minister in presbytery. The 
following ministers were installed and released at the places and on 
the dates named: George Spalding, Southport, Jan. 11, 1837 — 
Oct. 5, 1842; OrenCatlin, Horse Heads, Feb. 7, 1838— Feb. 2, 1841; 
David I. Perry, Big Flats, Feb. 2, 1836 (Bath Presbytery)— Sept. 18, 
1838;" John Frost, Elmira, Nov. 4, 1835 (Bath Presbytery) — Feb. 
5, 1839; John Gray, Catlin, Sept. 14, 1836 (Bath Presbytery)— 
Feb. 5, 1839; Philemon H. Fowler, Elmira, Dec. 4, 1839— Dec. 16, 
1^50; Lewis Hamilton, Addison, July 2, 1840 — Mar. 16, 1842; 
Samuel M. Hopkins, Corning, Sept. 23, 1840 — Sept. 8, 1842; 
Curtis Thurston, Athens, Feb. 24, 1841— Feb. 2, 1848; Joseph 
Underwood, Millport, Mar. 3, 1841— Dec. 12, 1843; Samuel S. 
Howe, Painted Post, May 6, 1841— Dec. 20, 1842; Charles C. 
Carr, Horse Heads, June 30, 1841— Feb. 5, 1856; Henry Clark, 
Havana, Nov. 9, 1841 — Sept. 6, 1842; Morrison Huggins, Havana, 
June 13, 1843— June 25, 1856; B. Foster Pratt, Painted Post, 
Dec. 13, 1843— Feb. 7, 1849; Benj. M. Goldsmith, Southport and 
Chemung, Feb. 25, 1845 — Aug. 29, 1849 (Chemung), and Jan. 15, 
1850 (Southport); Lewis Hamilton, Campbell, Feb. 12, 1846 — 
Apr. 3, 1849; Joshua B. Graves, Corning, Feb. 12, 1846— Sept. 
7, 1847; F. W. Graves, Elmira, Congregational (not under care of 
presbytery), Feb, 19, 1846 ; Anson H. Parmelee, Addi- 
son, Oct. 21, 1846— Sept. 26, 1855; Horatio Pattengill, D. D., 
Painted Post 1st (Corning 2d), Dec. 1, 1846— Apr. 2, 1849; Syl- 
vester B. Shearer, Eeading (Watkins), Sept. 29, 1847— Sept. 26, 
1855; Asahel L. Brooks, Corning, July 2, 1849— Feb. 3, 1851; 
Isaac N. Hiird, Big Flats, Jan. 16, 1850— July 1, 1851; David 
Murdock, D. D., Elmira, Oct. 1, 1851— Dec. 1, 1860; Robert E. 
Willson, Corning, Feb. 18, 1852— Sept. 26, 1855; Darwin 
Chichester, Corning, July 15, 1856 — July 1, 1859; Charles C. 
Carr, Painted Post, Mar. 3, 1857 — Aug. 2, 1859; Benjamin 
Russell, Watkins, Mar. 12, 1857— June 30, 1858; Oliver Crane, 
. Waverly, July 15, 1857— Mar. 31, 1860; S. Mills Day, Harana, 
Oct. 15, 1857— July 1, 1861; N. E. Pierson, Horse Heads, Dec. 16, 
1857 — Jan. ^Z6, 1862; David F. Judson, Addison, June 15, 1859 
—Apr. 1, 1863; Charles C. Carr, Burdett, Sept. 29, 1859— Mar. 

16, 1863; F. S. Howe, Watkins, Feb. 9, 1860- ; David F. 

Johnson, Waverly, Aug. 15, 1860— Jan. 29, 1867; George C. Cur- 
tis, Elmira 1st, Apr. 17, 1861 ; Isaac Clark, Elmira 2d, 

Nov. 12, 1861 . 


The record of Chemung Presbytery on questions of public im- 
portance is an honorable one. In 1837 very strong action was re- 
corded on the importance of keeping the Sabbath. The following 
are two of the resolutions: 

" 1st. That we regard the running of stages, the opening and 
changing of the mail, and the giving out of letters and newspapers 
at the postoffice on the Sabbath, as an infraction of the Sabbatical 

"2d. That whenever persons run their boats, or in any other 
way do business upon the canal on the Sabbath; whenever they load 
arks or prepare rafts upon the Sabbath to float down our rivers; when 
they set out or continue on their journeys on the Sabbath, for the 
purpose of gain, or convenience, or that they may sooner enjoy the 
society of their friends; or whenever they invest their capital in any 
business that is carried on upon the Sabbath — in such and every 
such instance they disregard the authority of God, trample upon 
His laws, and profane the day of sacred rest." 

Between 1836 and 1854 there were recorded no less than 12 strong 
series of resolutions against " the sin of American slavery". 

Chemung does not seem to have sent delegates to the Auburn 
Conference of 1837, but that it stood with BaDh and Angelica Pres- 
byteries in condemnation of the exscinding acts of the General 
Assembly is evident by an extract from the minutes recorded at 
Corning Sept. 6, 1837: 

" Besolved, Ist. That, in the opinion of this presbytery, the Gen- 
eral Assembly, in declaring the above synods (Utica, Geneva, Gene- 
see, and Western Reserve) non-constitutional portions of the Pres- 
byterian Church, and excluding the commissioners of the presby- 
teries embraced in these bodies from their seats, transcended the 
powers delegated by the presbyteries, and therefore that such acts 
are null and void. * * * 4. That we highly approve the firmness 
and Christian spirit manifested by our commissioners, and their 
associates in the minority, in resisting these unconstitutional pro- 
ceedings, and entering tlieir formal protest against them. * * * 5. 
That we approve of the resolution of the late Convention at Auburn, 
recommending the churches to continue their present organization 
and to send up their delegates to the next General Assembly to take 
their seats as heretofore". * * * 

Only one minister. Rev. David Harrowar, and no church, with- 
drew into the Old School branch of the Presbyterian Church. 

By a vote of 11 to 6 presbytery in 1838 condemned as error the 
denial of " the native depravity of our race", the teaching that 
'' sin is necessary to a moral government", and the position that 
*'self love is the first affection of the soul" " in the beginning of 
obedience to God". At the same meeting the following doctrines 
were condemned as dangerous errors: " that the sin of Adam is 
imputed to his posterity by a literal transfer, so that Adam's sin 

Rev. JOHN WAUGH, Cohocton. ^^^^ DANIEL J. ROBERTSON, Canisteo. 

Rev. LAWRENCE M. STEVENS, Prattsburg. Rev. GILBERT REID, Angelica. 

Rev. DAVID McLEOD, Angelica. 

Rev. JOHN S. BACON, Corning. 


becomes personally our sin"; "that the atonement of Christ was 
made only for the elect"; '* that God does not sincerely invite all to 
partake of the benefits of the atonement'^; "that sinners have no 
ability of any kind to obey God"; "that God does not command 
them to repent"; and "that circumstances may justify the volun- 
tary doing of that which is in itself morally wrong". 

The following action was taken in 1841: "Resolved, That it be 
a standing rule hereafter in choosing a moderator, for the members 
to nominate, the persons nominated to vote by ballot and retire, and 
the election to be made by calling the roll". Chemung Presbytery 
met one morning at 5:30, The most important of the many judicial 
trials was that in 1843 concerning troubles in the Catlin Church. 
It extended over three weeks. There were charges against Rev. 
John Gray, against Rev. P. L. de St. Croix, Gray's successor in 
Catlin, against an elder, and against the Catlin session. Gray was 
suspended from the ministry; St. Croix was censured in open pres- 
bytery; the elder Avas suspended from his office and from church 
communion; and the session was exonerated. Gray was later re- 
stored. St. Croix some years later for another offense was suspended 
from the ministry but upon penitent confession was a little later 
restored. Two were deposed from the ministry. The number of 
communicants reported to General Assembly in 1840 was 760, in 
1850 1,407, and in 1860 1,879. 

Chemung Presbytery was a part of Geneva Synod. The presby- 
teries associated with Chemung in Geneva Synod were: Geneva, 
organized in 1805, Ca^^uga 1810, Onondaga 1810, Bath 18i7, Cort- 
land 1825, Chenango 1826, Tioga 1829, Delaware 1831 (in 1840 
transferred to Synod of Albany), Ithaca 1839, and Pennsylvania 1844. 


NOTE.— Capitals indicate the ministers and churches known to have been within the 
territory of present Steuben Presbytery; s— transferred by synod; 1 — by letter; o — ordina- 
tion: wc— without charge; s s— stated supply; p— pastor; os— Old School; d— death; sd — 
suspended and deposed. 




David Harrowar. 
Charles Goodrich. 
Asa Donalson. 
William M. Adams. 
John Frost. 
Georxe Spalding. 
Elijah Buck. 
John Gray. 

Ethan Pratt. 
David I. Perry. 

William P. Jackson. 

Havana wc 

Horse Heads, ss 
Elmira. p 
Southport. p 

(Catlin. p 
Mead's Creek, ss 
Moreland. wc 
Chemung, ss 
I Big Flats, p 
Seelye Creek, wc 
Millport, ss 

Oct. 5, 1886 OS 
Oct 5, 1836 1 
Oct. 5, 183611 

Oct. 5, 1836 
Oct. 5, 1836 
Oct. 6, 1836 
Oct. 5, 1836 
Oct. 5, 1836 
Oct. 5, 1836 

Oct. 5, 1836 
Oct. 5, 1836 
Oct. 6, 1836 
Oct. 5, 1836 

Dec. 2T, 1836 
Sept. 6, 1837 1 

Aug. 23, 1854 
Sept. 3, 1839 
Sept. 5, 1838 
Oct. 7, 1840 
Oct 6, 1842 
Sept. 3, 1839 
Sept. 6, 1837 

Feb. 3, 1841 
Aug. 16, 1848 
Sept. 18, 1838 

Sept. 1, 1840 
Feb. 4, 1840 








Oren Catlin. 
Octavius Fitch. 

P. L. deSt. Croix. 
Philemon H Fowler, D. D. 

.Toseph Underwood. 
Darius Williams. 
Francis L. Whiting. 
Curtiss Thurston. 
Charles C. Carr. 

Henry Clark. 
Julius Doane. 
Samuel J. McCullough. 

Morrison HuKtrins. 

Henry Ford, D. D. 

Samuel Porter. 

Ebenezer Everett. 

B. M. Goldsmith. 

F. W. Graves. 


D. A . Abbey. 


Sylvester B. Shearer. 

Sidney Mills. 

Nathaniel Elmer. 


Isaac N. Hurd 

William B. Stow. 

J. R. \OUNG. 

Peleg R. Kinney. 

George Hood. 

David Murdock, D. D. 

William Goodell. 


Robert McMath. 

William Clark. 


Francis Hendricks. 

George T. Everest. 

Fordyce Harrington 


Reuben H. Close. 

Harvey A. Sacket. 

Beniamin Russell. 


Charles Chapman. 

Henry Osborne 


Calvin McKinney. 

Henry Hick ok. 

Benjamin B. Riley. 

Alexander Murdock. 

S. Mills Day. 

Oliver Crane, D. D. 

Augustus W. Cowles, D. D. 


Nathaniel E. Pierson. 

Elijah B. Smith. 

Henry Rinker. 

F. S. Howe. 


David S. Johnson, D. D. 

George C. Curtis, D. D. 

Isaac Clark. 

Frederick Graves. 

Oris Eraser. 


Lawrenceville. wc 
Horse Heads, p 
Richmond, ss 
Covington, ss 
i Catlin. ss 
Elmira. p 
Millport, p 
Elkland. ss 
Big Flats, ss 
Alliens p 

Horse Heads, p 
Burdett. p 
Havana, p 
Covington, wc 
Lawrenceville. ss 
Havana, p 

Catlin. ss 

Southport and Chemung. 
Elmira (Cong), p 
CORNING 2d. p 
Mead's Creek, ss 
Reading, p 
Big Flats, ss 
Waverly. ss 
Big Flats, p 


.\ thens. ss 
Elmira. p 


Dryden. ss 


Watkins. p 


Havana, p 
W^averly. p 

Horse Heads, p 

Watkins. p 
Waverly. p 
Elmira 1st. p 
Elmira 2d. p 







Feb. 6. 18381 

Feb. 6, 18.?8 1 
Mar. 6, 18,39 

Sept. 3. 18-39 
Dec. 4. 1839 1 
July 2, 1840 

Sept. 2, 1840 I 
Sept. 22. 1840 
Sept. 23, 1840 

Feb. 3, 1841 d 
Feb. 24, 1841 !d 

May 6, 184111 
June 30, 1841 

Nov. 9, 1841 1 
Feb. 2, 184211 
Feb. 2, 1842!sd 

Sept 7, 1842 s 
Oct. 5, 1842 

Feb. 7. 1843 
June 1.3. 1843 
Dec. 12, 1843 

May 28, l844;s 
Sept. 4, 1844 
Oct. 15, 1844 
Feb. 2.'), 184.5 
Feb. 3, 1846 
Sept. 1, 1846 
Sept. 1, 1846 
Sept. 21, 1846 
Sept. 29. 1847 
Feb. 1, 1848 
Oct. 4, 1848 
July 2, 1849 
Jan. 16, 18.50 
Feb. 4, 1850 
Feb. 4, 1850 
June 24, 1850 
Aug. 29, 1850 
June 30, 1851 
Aug. 26, 1851 
Feb. 2. 1853 
Feb. 2, 18.52 
Jime 28. 18.52 i 
Feb. 8, 1S53 
June 28, 18.53 I 
Aug. 24, 1853 I 
Feb. 6, 1864ll 
Feb. 6, 18.5411 
Feb. 6, 18541 
Feb. 6, 1854 1 
Feb. 5, 1855 1 
June 26,1855 1 
June 24, 18.50! 
June 24, 18.56 1 1 
June 24, 185611 
Sept. 29, 18.56!l 
Sept. 30. 1856^1 
Feb. 24, 18.5711 
Feb. 25, 18.57 1 1 

Oct. 3, 1844 
Oct. 6, 1841 

Oct. 3, 1844 

Dec. 16, 18.50 

Aug. 28, 1849 
Sept. 1, 1846 

Oct. .5, 1842 
Oct. 15, 1863 
Sept. 22, 1872 
Sept. 15. 1845 

Sept. 6, 1842 

May 28, 1844 

Dec. 13. 1843 

Oct. 3, 1844 

Aug. 16, 1848 
Sept. 7, 1847 
June 25, 1860 

Sept. 28, 1865 
0.-t. 3, 1844 
Oct. 3, 1844 
Sept. 7, 1847 
Jan. 15, 1850 
Oct. 6, 1847 
Feb. 5, 18.^0 

I SepU 26, 1855 

Feb. 7, 1849 

June 30, 18.58 

Feb. .i, 1851 

May 11, 18.57 
June 30, 1857 
Sept 29, 1857 
Sept. 29, 1867 
Dec. 16, 1857 
Nov. 24, 18.58 
Jan. 2.5. 1869 
Sept. 28. 18.59 id 

Aug 14, 1860 
Aug. 15, 1860 
Apr. 17, 1861 
Nov. 12, 1861 
Jan. 29, 1862 
Feb. 12, 1862 
June 10, 1862 

Feb. 8. 1853 

June 29, 1852 

June 30. 1851 

June 26, 1 865 


Sept. 26, 1860 

Feb. 4. 1856 

Oct 15, 1857 

Sept. 26, 18.55 

Aug. 23. 1854 

Sept. 28, 1864 

Feb. 4, 1866 

Sept. 29. 1357 
Sept. 28, 18.58 
June 24, 1856 

July 15 
Sept. 28, 
June 30, 
Feb 24, 
Sept. 29, 
Oct. 15, 
June 14, 
Sept. 28, 


Jan. 28. 1863 
Sept. 30, 1883 

Jan. 28, 1863 

June 7. 1865 
Jan. 28. 1863 
Jan. 28, 1863 


Unable after two years' effort to revive the Angelica Presbytery, 
the Synod of Genesee at Mount Morris Sept. 28, 1858, recommend- 
ed the organization of the same territory into a new presbytery, 
together with a few ministers and (upon their consent) the Olean, 
Portville, Franklinville, and Ellicottville churches in Cattaraugus 
county. By direction of synod a meeting was held at Cuba on the 
second Tuesday of December, 1858, for the purpose of organizing, 
but the Cattaraugus county churches in question had not yet taken 
action. To give them time to decide, the meeting was adjourned 
to Olean Jan. 4, 1859, when all but Ellicottville consented to be- 
come part of a new presbytery. The following ministers and 
churches (by the elders named) were enrolled as members of the 
new presbytery: Ministers — Sylvester Cowles, D. D., and Isaac G. 
Ogden (from Buffalo Presbytery), Nathan Allen (from Angelica 
Presbytery), and John Niles Hubbard (from Ontario Presbytery); 
Churches — Olean (Jacob Coss), Portville (Henry Dusenbury), Alle- 
gany (G. VanCampen), Franklinville (Merlin Mead), *Angelica 
(A. B. Palmer), Cuba (H. A. Mead), Almond (xMoses Lockhart), 
and Burns. The first stated meeting was at Almond Feb. 15, 1859. 
The name chosen by ballot for the new presbytery was Genesee 
Valley. By the close of 1859 there belonged to it 9 ministers and 
10 churches. It comprised Allegany county, the eastern part of 
Cattaraugus county, and the church of Arkport in Steuben countv. 
Being a part of Genesee Synod, it was a New School presbytery. 
Before Reunion the following churches had been enrolled in addition 
to those named: Centerville, Andover, Belmont, Belfast, Hor- 
nellsville, Hume, and Rusliford. 

At Buffalo June 29, 1870, the presbytery was reconstituted by 
the Synod of Western New York (the successor of Genesee Synod) 
to comprise all the churches and ministers within Allegany and 
Cattaraugus counties. By this change Hornellsville and Arkport 
were transferred to Steuben Presbytery, and Ellicottville, Salaman- 
ca, and Connewango enrolled from Buffalo Presbytery. A little 
later the oil excitement arose and the newly organized Limestone, 
Bradford, Kendall Creek, and Duke Center churches were added. 
The three churches last named were in Pennsylvania, and were en- 
rolled as the result of presbytery's successful effort to have Bradford, 
Otto, and Eldred townships transferred from the Synod of Harris- 
burg to the Synod of Western New York. 

It was always a small presbytery. In the Narrative of 1882 pres- 

*Small capitals indicate ministers and churches known to have been within the territory 
of the present Steuben Presbytery. 


bytery confessed itself " the smallest presbytery in the [newly or- 
ganized] Synod of New York". There were rarely as many as 
eighteen at a meeting, and often not more than ten. But this very 
fact bound the ministers and churches together more closely. Yet 
the question of dissolution was often discussed. One proposition 
was for the Cattaraugus churches to unite with Buffalo Presbytery 
and the Allegany churches with Genesee. Another was for all to 
go into Buffalo Presbytery. Finally an overture of the presbytery 
asking dissolution on certain lines was granted by the Synod of New 
York at Elmira Oct. 21, 1886. The Allegany churches and minis- 
ters were transferred to Steuben Presbytery, and the Cattaraugus 
and McKean (Pa.) churches to Buffalo Presbytery. The Presbytery 
of Genesee Valley reported to General Assembly in I860 1,068 com- 
municants, 1,252 in 1870, and 1,326 in 1880. It belonged to the 
old Synod of Genesee from its organization to 1870; to the new 
Synod of Genesee, formed from the old Synod of Genesee (N. S.) 
and the Synod of Buffalo (0. S.), known after 1871 as the Synod 
of Western New York, from 1870 to 1881; and to the Synod of 
New York from 1881 to 1886. 

The following churches were enrolled for the periods named: 
Clean, Portville, Allegany, Franklinville, Cuba, Angelica, Cen- 
TERVILLE, and Almond, 1859-1886; Burns, 1859-1878 (disband- 
ed); Arkport, 1859-1870; Andover, 1860-1886; Belmont, 1861- 
1886; Belfast, 1862-1871 (disbanded); Hornellsville, 1864- 
1870; Hume, 1867-1873 (reorganized as Methodist); Rushford, 
1868-1886; Ellicottville, 1870-1886; Salamanca, 1870-1875 (be- 
came Congregational); Connewango, 1870-1875 (Buffalo Presby- 
tery); Limestone, 1879-1886; Bradford, 1879-1886; Kendall Creek, 
1879-1886; and Duke Center, 1881-1886. 

In 1867 there were 15 churches, only 5 of which, Portville, Glean, 
Angelica, Cuba, and Almond, had settled pastors. Seven of these 
churches reported $372 given for Foreign Missions; 9 reported $858 
for Home Missions; and 6 to all other objects 11150 (of which 
Angelica gave |580). Only 6 churches reported prayer meetings 
and only 2 a young people's meeting before the Sunday evening 
service. In all 133 were added to the membership. In 1859 the 
comparative strength may be estimated from the following appor- 
tionment of $62: Almond, $15; Angelica, Portville, and Clean, 
$10 each; Cuba, $8; Allegany, $3; Burns, Arkport, and Frank- 
linville, $2 each. At the close of the first decade. Almond reported 
three prayer meetings, 250 at morning and 90 at evening service, 
280 in the Sunday School, $164 for Home and Foreign Missions, 
and the pastor's salary doubled in two years. Hume had 19 mem- 


Rev. ERWIN C. HULL, Arkport. 

Rev. GEORGE R. SMITH, CampbelL Rev. DUNCAN CAMERON, Canisteo. 

Rev. EVAN R. EVANS, Ph. D., Canaseraga. Rev. GEORGE M. JANES, Andover. 


bers and 30 in the S. S. Andover reported 79 enrolled, 50 in S. S., 
and $3.52 for Home Missions. Belmont had 79 members, 60 in S. 
8., and 160 for Home Missions. Angelica reported an average of 
35 at weekly prayer meeting, 148 at morning and 113 at evening 
service, and 140 in the S. S., with 71 average attendance. Cuba 
had an average of 140 Sunday morning, 60 Sunday evening, 135 at 
S. S., 25 at the weekly prayer meeting, and reported $140 for Home 
and Foreign Missions. Hornellsville had 165 church members, 110 
out in the morning and 90 in the evening, 140 at S. S., and gave 
to Home Missions $190. 

In 1859 Genesee Valley condemned the American Tract Society 
for remaining neutral on the slavery issue. In 1864 it adopted 
among other resolutions on temperance the following: 

" We regard intemperance as one of the works of the flesh which 
can never be thoroughly overcome except by the great regenerative 
change which makes all things new; * * * and while encouraging 
all the temperance movements of the day * * * we yet believe the 
real triumph of temperance will be synchronous with the triumph 
of the Gospel". 

As early as 1864 it passed resolutions favoring the reunion of the 
Old and New School Churches. Oct. 9, 1869, General Assembly's 
overture proposing reunion was answered with a unanimous affirma- 
tive. It was constantly considering the Home and Foreign Mission 
work, and as only half of its churches were self-supporting the 
question of weak churches was always up for consideration. For a 
year or two at the beginning, a presbyterial missionary was em- 
ployed. In 1860 he received $500 salary. The American Home 
Missionary Society paid $200; the weak churches in which he la- 
bored, $150; Angelica, $45; Almond, $30; Portville, and Cuba, 
$25 each; Clean, $15; and Arkport and Centerville, $5 each. 
In 1867, after a year's consideration, presbytery recorded several 
pages of reasons why taking milk on the Sabbath to a cheese factory 
was in its opinion unnecessary labor. As early as 1873, the syste- 
matic weekly offering was urged upon the churches in a resolution 
beginning, " Whereas, the envelope system, by which its propor- 
tion of the salary is paid every week, seems to be the easiest and 
best method" — etc. There was a thriving Woman's Presbyterial 
Mission Society which in 1882 reported over $1,000 contributions. 
The Bradford Church was at that time conducting a mission among 
the Chinese of that city. The only serious case of discipline was 
that of Rev. William Ingleby, who, after an exhaustive trial at Cuba 
in 1885, was deposed from the ministry and excommunicated from 
the church. 

For several years after 1861 every minister came to stated meet- 


ings of presbytery prepared to give a sermon skeleton from, and an 
exegesis of, passages assigned to all at the previous meeting. In 
1866 and 1867 the elders had a successful "Elders' Meeting" in 
connection with presbytery meeting. For several years presbytery 
met on Friday and remained together over the Sabbath. In 1875, 
1876, and 1877 a presbyterial visitation was carried out — two minis- 
ters appointed by presbytery visiting each church at a time mutually 
convenient. In 1878 a ministerial association was formed to meet 
the day before presbytery meeting. 

The stated clerks of Genesee Valley Presbytery were: 1859, Rev. 
Nathan Allen, Cuba; 1859-70, Rev. Isaac G. Ogden, Portville, and 
later Almond; 1870-81, Rev. Joseph E. Tinker, Portville; 1881-2, 
Rev. John R. Findlay, Bradford; 1882-3, Rev. John C. Taylor, 
Cuba; 1883-4, Rev. Dwight K. Steele, Almond; 1884-5, Rev. 
French W. Fisher, Portville; 1885-6, Rev. David McLeod, Angelica. 

Presbytery installed and released the following pastors: Nathan 
Allen, Cuba, Jan. 14, 1854 (Angelica Presbytery)— July 19, 1859; 
Isaac G. Ogden, Portville, Nov. 3, 1859— Oct. 12, 1867; £. J. 
Stewart, Franklinville, Feb. 1, 1860— June 18, 1861; J. B. Beau- 
mont, Clean, June 5, 1862— Apr. 22, 1867; Elias L. Boing, 
Angelica, Oct. 12, 1864— Oct. 12, 1867; Corliss B. Gardner, 
D. D., Cuba, June 6, 1865— Dec. 15, 1874; Joel Wakeman, D. D., 
Almonl>, Jan. 14, 1846 (Angelica Presbytery)— Aug. 16, 1865; G. 
R. Alden, Almond, Nov. 14, 1866— June 3, 1867; John Reid, 
Angelica, June 30, 1868— Apr. 14, 1874; N. M. Clute, Oleati, 
Sept. 29, 1869— Oct. 28, 1874; Courtney Smith, Ellicottville, Dec. 
29, 1871— Feb. 22, 1884 (died); Dwight K. Steele, Almond, 
June 2, 1875 — Dec. 11, 1884; John C. Taylor, Cuba, June 6, 
1876— Jan. 4, 1883; J. VV. Simpson, Clean, Sept. 16, 1880— Dec. 
1, 1880 (Synod of Western New York); David Winters, Clean, Apr. 
25, 1882— Apr. 15, 1884; French W. Fisher, Portville, Sept. 27, 
1882— Oct. 6, 1885; Robert R. Watkins, Franklinville, Oct. 25, 

1882 ; Edward Bryan, Bradford, Nov. 15, 1882 ; David 

McLeod, Angelica, May 8, 1883— Dec. 8, 1889 (by Steuben Pres- 
bytery); Charles P. Luce, Ph. D., Cuba, June 19, 1883— Dec. 2, 
1889 (Steuben Presbytery); Allen G. Daniels, Ellicottville, Sept. 23, 
1884— Oct. 27, 1885; John Burroughs, D. D., Clean, Dec. 11, 1884 

; and Benjamin VanCleve, Andover, June 10, 1886 — 

Apr. 21, 1889 (Steuben Presbytery). 




NOTE. — Capitals indicate the ministers and churches known to have been within the 
field of the present Steuben Presbytery; s — transferred by synod; 1 — by letter; o — ordina- 
tion: p— pastor; pe— pastor elect; ss— stated supply; d — death; and sd— suspended and 


Sylvester Cowies, D. D. 

s Jan. 4, 185911 

Sept. 12, 1861 


Portville. p 

3 Jan. 4, 1859il 



Apr. 13, 1875 

.lohn Niles Hubbard. 

Dansville. Ossian, Burns, ss 

Jan. 4, 1859; 

June 18, 1861 


CUBA, p 

s Jan. 4, 1859, 

July 19, 18.59 



Feb. 15. 1869' 

Nov. 3, 1859 



1 Feb. Ih, 1859 

1 Aug. 16, 1865 

Samuel Porter. 

1 June 21, 1859 

1 Apr. 10, 1868 

J. W. LANE. 


1 June 22,1859; 

1 June 17. 1863 



o July 19, 1859 ii Apr. 9; 1866 

J. T. Baldwin. 

1 Feb. 1, 18601 

1 Sept. 12, 1866 

E. J. Stewart 

PVanklinville. p 

o Feb. 1, I860 

1 June 18, 1861 


CUBA, ss 

o July 24, 1860 

, Sept. 11, 1867 



1 Jan. 16. 1861 

Apr. 11, 1865 



1 June 18, 1861 

1 Sept. 14, 1864 

Nathaniel Hammond. 

1 June 18. 1861 d " 1864 

J. c;. Richardson. 

o Oct. 15, 1861 d 1865 



1 Jan. 21, 186a 

s June 29, 1870 

W. P. Teltsworth. 

Jan. 22, 1862 

1 Apr. 11, 1865 

J. B. Beaumont. 

Olean. |i 

o June .5,1862 1 Apr. 22,1867 

E. Hale. 

I Jan. 20, 186.3 1 Oct. 8, 1866 

David L Hunn. 

1 Jan. 21, 186.3 1 Oct. 10,1871 

I. N. Crittenden. 

1 Sept. 3, 1863 1 Apr. 9, 1866 



1 Oct. 13, 1863 

s 1870 



Aug. fl, 1864 

1 Apr. 9, 1869 



1 Oct. 11, 1864 

1 Apr. 8, 1870 


CUBA, p 

1 June 9, 1865 1 Dec- 15,1874 

J. W. LANE. 


1 Oct. 9, lS65|d 1883 



1 Sept. 12, 1866 


1 Apr. 9, 1872 



o Nov. 14, 1866 1 Apr. 9, 1869 

S. D. W. Westfall. 

1 Oct. 11, 1867 

1 Oct. 9, 1869 

Joseph E. Tinker. 

Franklinville. ss 

1 Oct. 11, 1867 

Portville. ss 

1 Apr. 10, 1882 



1 Apr. 10, 1868 

I Apr. 14, 1874 

N. M. Clute, 

Olean. p 

1 Sept. 15, 1869 

1 Oct. 28, 1874 



1 Sept. 15, 1S69 

1 Sept. 23, 1873 

Erastus W. Twitchell. 

Allegany, ss 

o Sept. 28, 1869 




1 Sept. 29, 1869 

s 1870 

Courtney Smith. 

Ellicottville. p 

s June 29, 1870 

d Feb. 22, U 84 

William P. Jackson 

s June 29, 1870 

1 June 6, 1876 

L. W Billington. 

Allegany, ss 

1 Oct. 10, 1871 

1 Apr. 10, 1877 

Nathaniel Elmer. 

1 Oct. 10, 18T1 

1 Oct. 3, 1876 



1 Oct. 10, 1871 

1 Oct, 6, 1874 

P. P. Ossunkerheim. 

1 Oct. 1, 1872 



1 Sept. 23, 1873 

1 Apr. 14, 1874 



Oct. 28, 1874 

1 Jan. 30, 1878 



1 Apr. 13, 1875 

1 Dec. 11, 1884 



1 Apr. 16, 1875 

1 Sept. 11, 1882 

Henrv M. Curtis. 

Olean. ss 

o Aug. 12, 1875 

1 Jan. 28,1880 


CUBA, p 

1 Oct. 5, 1875 

1 Sept. 10, 1883 

John L. Landis. 

Franklinville. ss 

1 Oct 5, 1875 

1 Apr. 12, 1876 

French W. Fisher. 

Franklinville. ss 

1 Oct. 3, 1876 

Portville. p 

1 Feb. 25, 1886 



1 Oct. 3, 1876 

1 Apr. 15, 1884 



1 Apr. 10, 1877 

1 Jan. 4, 1883 

Sanmel B Stevenson 

Allegany, ss 

1 Oct. 9, 1877 

1 Oct. 18, 1881 

Robert G. Williams. 

1 Oct. 9, 1877 

I 1878 



o Jan. 30, 1878 

Oct. 6, 1886 

C. W. Goss. 

Kendall, ss 

1 Oct. 1,1878 

1 Sept. 6, 1881 

John R. Findley. 

Bradford, ss 

1 July 14, 1879 

1 Apr. 15, 1884 

J. W. Simpson. 

Olean. p 

o July 14, 1879 

1 Apr. 10, 1882 

E. W.Fish. 

Franklinville. ss 

1 Apr. 12, 1881 

1 Apr. 9, 1883 

David Winters, D. D. 

Olean. p 

1 Apr. 10, 1882 

1 Apr. 15, 1884 



1 Apr. 11. 1882 

1 Apr. 15, 1884 

Edward Bryan. 

Bradford, p 

I Oct. 25, 1882 

s Oct 21, 1886 

Robert R. VVatkins. 

Franklinville. p 

1 Oct. 26, 1882 

s Oct. 21, 1886 



1 May 8, 1888 

s Oct. 21, 1886 



o June 19, 1883 

s Oct. 21, 1886 



1 Sept. 10. 1883 

sd Nov. 20, 1885 

James A. Greene. 

Allegany, ss 

1 Apr. 15, 1884 

1 Feb. 25, 1886 

Allen G. Daniels. 

i Ellicottville. p 

1 Sept. 23, 1884 

1 Oct. 27, 1885 

John Burroughs. D. D. 

lOlean. \> 

1 Dec. 11, 1884 

s Oct. 21, 1886 

Henry M. Higley. 

[Kendall, ss 

1 Dec. 11, 1884 

s Oct. 21, 1886 



June 10, 1886 

s Oct. 21, 1886 



The Synod of Geneva meeting at Elmira Sept. 30, 1863, created 
Steuben Presbytery by adding to Bath Presbytery the South Steu- 
ben churches enrolled in Chemung Presbytery, and changing its 
name from Bath to Steuben. Technically Steuben was not a new 
presbytery, but a new name for the presbytery organized at Pratts- 
burg in 1817. The first meeting of presbytery under its new name 
was at Howard Jan. 13, 1863. The following were present: Min- 
isters — David D. Gregory, Prattsburg; Suffrenos Ottman, Pulte- 
ney; Stephen Vorhis, Hammondsport; and Mills B. Gelston, Na- 
ples. Elders — Alexander Conner, Howard; Elias Wygant, Pratts- 
burg; J. A. Otis, Kanona; Pliny Cobb, Painted Post; George Tee- 
pie, Campbell; and N. C. Taylor, Canisteo. 

Steuben Presbytery began with 19 churches. Twelve of these 
were in Bath Presbytery when the name was changed to Steuben — 
Naples, Prattsburg, Cohocton, Wayne, Howard, Pulteney, Wheeler, 
Jasper, Hammondsport, Kanona, Hornellsville, and Canisteo. Sev- 
en of them were transferred from Chemung Presbytery — Corning, 
Campbell, Addison, Painted Post, Painted Post 3d (Caton), Horn- 
by, and Woodhull. In May, 1864, Hornellsville was set off by Gen- 
eral Assemby to Genesee Valley Presbytery. June 13, 1866, the 
Elk Creek Church was enrolled. After the reunion of the Old and 
New School branches of the Presbyterian church in 1870, presbytery 
was reconstituted by the Synod of Geneva, holding its first meeting 
by Synod's direction at Bath Sept. 13, 1870. The only change was 
the addition of 4 ministers and 3 churches — Bath from Genesee 
River (Old School) Presbytery, and Hornellsville and Arkport from 
Genesee Valley Presbytery. For 24 years Steuben Presbytery in- 
cluded the same terrritory as Steuben county, excepting the Naples 
Church to 1883, the Hornellsville Church from 1864 to 1870, and 
the Arkport Church before 1870. In 1886 by the action of the 
Synod of New York dissolving the Presbytery of Genesee Valley, 
the churches and ministers of Allegany county were added to Steu- 
ben Presbytery. This action transferred 3 ministers and the 
churches of Almond, Angelica, Andover, Centerville, Cuba, Bel- 
mont, and Rushford. As the Naples Church was transferred to 
Geneva Presbytery in 1883, since 1886 Steuben Presbytery has cov- 
ered exactly the counties of Steuben and Allegany. The Caton 
Church was declared extinct in 1867, the Wayne Church in 1871, 
the Kanona church in 1875, the Elk Creek Church in 1893, the 
Wheeler Church in 1894, and the Rushford Church in 1897. The 
Canaseraga Church was enrolled Apr. 16, 1873, the Hornellsville 
Hartshorn Church Feb. 17, 1891, the Atlanta Church July 23, 1894, 

Rev. EDWARD M. DEEMS, Ph. D., HornellsviUe. Rev. JAMES A. MILLER, Ph. D., Angelica. 

Rev. EDGAR P. SALMON, CampbelL 

Rev. JAMES R. ROBINSON. A. M., Painted Post. Rev. ROBERT CLEMENTS. Cuba. 


and the Avoca Church July 30, 1896. There are now in Steuben 
Presbytery 26 churches and 30 ministers. This presbytery reported 
to General Assembly in 1870 1,500 communicants, in 1880 2,239, 
in 1890 3,134, and in 1897 4,001. And contributions to missions 
have risen from $1,026 in 1870 to about $4,000. The presbytery 
belonged to Geneva Synod until m 1881 the six synods of the State 
were consolidated into the present Synod of New York. 

Steuben Presbytery labored earnestly for Reunion. Among reso- 
lutions recorded June 14, 1865, are these: 

''That we believe that Divine Providence is now calling us as 
churches to become one, as we are one nation. That we will recom- 
mend to our members, cleric and laic, to unite with either branch 
indiscriminately, as though we believed they were at heart one; and 
that we will endeavor to exchange pulpits with and extend christian 
courtesies to the other [Old] School; and pray for a reunion, and 
do all in our power to bring it to pass". 

Resolutions to the same effect were recorded Dec. 11, 1867. The 
presbytery Dec. 8, 1868, voted unanimously in the affirmative on 
an overture from General Assembly proposing a basis of union with 
the Old School General Assembly, and again on June 9, 1869. 

The Reunion Memorial Fund of Steuben Presbytery amounted to 
$42,411 — all of which, excepting $386, was devoted to home pur- 
poses. The following are the churches which contributed to this 
fund, with the amounts, and the specific objects: Arkport, $456, 
manse and church erection; Bath, $3,630, manse, debt, and church 
erection; Cohocton, $1,600, new church; Corning, $15,100, church 
debt, and Elmira College; Hammondsport, $475, organ; Hornells- 
ville, $5,000, church repairs; Howard, $1,400, church repairs; 
Jasper, $3,500, new church; Painted Post, $6,250, new church; 
Pulteney, $3,000, church repairs; and Wheeler, $2,000, new church. 

The presbytery was incorporated Sept. 15, 1875, by the election 
of six trustees. The certificate of incorporation, signed by John E. 
Beecher, moderator, and James M. Piatt, stated clerk, was filed in 
the Steuben County Clerk's Office, Nov. 6, 1875. The following 
have served as trustees of presbytery: Guy H. McMaster, Bath, 
1875-88; Zenas L. Parker, Bath, 1875-92; Henry C. May, M. D., 
Corning, 1875-92; John N. Hungerford, Corning, 1875-82; T. 
Scott Tiiacher, Uornellsville, 1875-8; Alonzo VanWie, Howard, 
1875-8; Leander Sutherland, Campbell, 1878-81; John D. Hamil- 
ton, Campbell, 1878-90; George W. Nichols, Hammondsport, 1883- 
7; James S. Thorp, Hammondsport, 1884-8; D. W. Baldwin, 
Prattsburg, 1884-9; Warren S. Hodgman, Painted Post, 1889-91; 
♦Francis A. Williams, Corning, 1891-; Amasa B. White, 

♦Small capitals indicate the present trustees of presbytery. 


Campbell, 1891-; John P. Parkhurst, Bath, 189 1-; Chauncey 
G. Hubbard, M. D., Hornellsville, 1891-; and Clinton H. Miner, 
Cuba, 1896-. 

The stated clerks have been the following: Rev. Stephen Vovhis, 
Hammondsport, 1862-5; Rev. William A. Niles, D. D., Corning, 
1865-70; Rev. James M. Piatt, D. D., Bath, 1870-84; Rev. Wil- 
liam A. Niles, D. D., Hornellsville, 1884-9; Rev. Marcus N. Pres- 
ton, Bath, 1889-96; Rev. James A.Miller, Ph. D., Angelica, 1896-. 
All have been treasurers of presbytery as well. 

For purposes of comparison, some of the figures are given for 
1877, and again for 1897: Ministers, 13—30; churches, 20—26; 
added on examination, 133 — 255; added on certificate, 51 — 188; 
communicants, 2,006—4,001; Sabbath School membership, 2,577— 
4,316; Foreign Missions, $734—11,662; Home Missions, $518— 


The presbytery has installed and released the following ministers: 
David D. Gregory, Prattsburg, Oct. 26, 1859 (Bath Presbytery)— 
June 13, 1866; Joel Wakeman, D. D., Painted Post, Dec. 12, 1866— 
June 10, 1868; William A. Niles, D. D., Hornellsville, Sept. 11, 
1872— April 17, 1878; Ziba N. Bradbury, Howard, Oct. — , 1872— 
June 30, 1876; Charles B. Austin, Cohocton, Nov. 14, 1872— Feb. 
15, 1876; ZibaN. Bradbury, Pulteney, Sept. — , 1876— July 9, 1889; 
John Waugh, Cohocton, Nov. 7, 1878— Apr. 3, 1893; Daniel J. 
Robertson, Canisteo, Sept. 15, 1880— Oct. 22, 1884; Erwin C. Hull, 
Arkport, June 25, 1885— Apr. 21, 1897; Lester S. Boyce, Almond, 
Sept. 13, 1887 — May 19, 1889; Benjamin VanCleve, Audover, June 
10, 1886 (Genesee Valley Presbytery) —Apr. 21, 1889; Joseph G. 
Snyder, Belmont, Oct. 30, 1889— Nov. 7, 1892; David McLeod, 
Angelica, May 8, 1883 (Genesee Valley Presbytery) — Dec. 8, 1889; 

Edward M. Deems, Ph. D., Hornellsville 1st, May 9, 1890 ; 

Charles P. Luce, Ph. D., Cuba, July 12, 1883 (Genesee Valley 
Presbytery) — Dec. 2, 1889; George W. Warren, Prattsburg, Sept. 

10, 1890 ; Wm. G. White, Cuba, Oct. 7, 1890— Jan. 20, 

1894; James A. Miller, Ph. D., Angelica, July 8, 1891 ; 

Wm. C. Mathews, Pulteney, Nov. 17, 1891— May 29, 1894; Edgar 

P. Salmon, Campbell, Oct. 6, 1892 ; Robert Clements, Cuba, 

Apr. 18, 1894 ; Alfred J. Hutton, D. D., Corning, May 14, 

1895 ; Frank H. Bisbee, Almond, May 15, 1895 ; 

Thomas Kerr, Atlanta, June 6, 1895 ; Herbert W. Knox, 

Belmont, May 11, 1896 ; and Charles Noble Frost, Bath, 

June 4, 1896 . 

Rev. FRANK H. BISBEE, Almond. '^"^- ALFRED J. HUTTON, D. D., Corning. 


Rev. WILLIAM A. REID, Ph. D., Pulteney. Rev. FRED E. WALTON, Hornellsville 


In 1890 the presbytery, answering an overture of General Assem- 
bly, took the following position regarding the Confession of Faith: 

" We do desire certain changes which seem to us urgently needed 
and widely demanded, First, that the 3d chapter be so recast as to 
teach these things only, and these distinctly: the divine sovereignty 
in election, the equal love of God to all mankind, a salvation in 
Christ Jesus provided for and available for every sinner, and to be 
preached to every creature for immediate acceptance. Secondly, 
that the 10th chapter be so revised that no discrimination be made 
or implied concerning ' infants dying in infancy' (sec. 31); that sec. 
4 be so changed as to teach that God is no respecter of persons; but 
in every nation he that feareth Him, and worketh righteousness, is 
acceptable to Him; and not to teach the damnation of all heathen, 
nor deny that there may be heathen who are saved by Christ through 
the Spirit. Thirdly, that chapter 24, sec. 3, be so changed as to 
omit all reference to Catholics as ' idolaters'; and chapter 25, sec. 6, 
so changed as not to designate the Pope as ' Anti-Christ, man of sin, 
and son of perdition'. Furthermore, your committee recommends 
this presbytery to overture General Assembly to formulate a short 
and simple creed, couched, as far as may be, in Scripture language, 
and containing all the essential articles of the Westminster Confes- 
sion, which creed shall be submitted for approval and adoption as 
the common creed of the Presbyterian and Reformed churches of 
the world, if their cooperation in the forming of such a creed can be 

A marked movement of the last decade has been the development 
of distinctively religious work by the young people along the lines 
of Christian Endeavor. Existing societies of the young people were 
reorganized as Young People's Societies of Christian Endeavor and 
similar societies of Christian Endeavor have been organized in all 
the other churches. In a majority of the churches are Junior 
Christian Endeavor societies. Dec, 5, 1893, a very successful Pres- 
byterial Conference of the Young People's Societies of Christian 
Endeavor was held at Canisteo. In December, 1894, there was a 
presbyterial visitation of the societies of Christian Endeavor — meet- 
ings being held in all the churches of presbytery during one week, 
with two ministers from outside at each meeting. In December, 
1896, a similar visitation in the interest of missions was carried out 
under the auspices of the Christian Endeavor societies. 




NOTE.— Capitals indicate tiie present membei-s of Steuben Presbytery; s— transferred 
by synod; 1— by letter; o— ordination : ss-stated supply; p— pastor; hr— honorably re- 
tired- pe— pastor elect; wc— without charge; fm— foreign missionary; e— editor; d— death. 

Samuel White. 
James Rowlett. 
David F. Judsou. 
George Spalding. 
Mills B. Gelston. 
Charles T. White, D. D. 
Stephen Vorhis. 
Samuel A. Rawson. 
David D. Gregory. 
Sutfreuos Ottinan. 
Lewis F. Laine. 

Lafayette F. Dudley. 
Ziba N. Bradbury. 

William A Niles, D. D. 

Hiram E. Johnson. 
William A. Wolcott. 
Fordyce Harrington. 
Joel Wakeman. D. D. 
Albo L. Greene. 
Charles Milne. 
Ova H. Seymour. 
D. Henry Palmer, D. D. 
Wilhain J. Parrott. 
P. H. Burghardt. 
James H. Board. 

Alexander Gulick. 
Darwin Chichester. 
James M. Piatt, D. D. 
Albert W. Hubbard. 
James M. Harlowe. 
Milton Waldo, D. D. 
Charles Simpson. 
Samuel W. Pratt. 

J. Shepard Bingham. 
John C Morgan. 
Anson G. Chester, D. D. 
(Tharles B. Austin. 
John V. C Neliis, Ph. D. 
Theodore B. Williams. 
Theron L. Waldo. 

Elias Child. 
J. Hallock Browne. 
John E. Beecher. 
Alphonso R. Olney, D. D. 
M. L. P. Hill, D. D. 
George N . Todd. 
George Spalding. 
Clark B. Gillette. 
W. Henry Niles. 
Horatio Pattengill, D. D. 
Byron Bosworth. 
Frederick D. Seward. 
Ephraim W. Kellogg. 

William C. Austin. 


Daniel J. Robertson. 
Lawrence M. Stevens. 
Benjamin F. Millard. 
Alvin Cooper. 


s Sept. .30. 1862 



s Sept. 30, 1863 


Mar. 29, 1884 

Addison, ss 

s Sept. 30. 1S62 


Nov. 22. 1867 

s Sept. .30, 1862 

June 16, 1863 

Naples, ss 

s Sept. 30, 1862 


Sept. 13, 1876 

India, fm 

s Sept. .30, 1862 


Sept. 13, 1870 

Hammondsport. ss 

s Sept. 30, 1862 


June 18, 1866 

Jasper and Woodhull. ss. 

s Sept. oO, 1862 


June 11, 1877 

Prattsburg. p 

s Sept. 30, 1862 


Dec. 11, 1877 

Pultenej-. ss 

s Sept. 30, 1862 

Canisteo. ss 

s Sept. 30, 1862 

Canisteo. hr 


Dec. 9, 1891 

1 Jan. 1.3, 1863 


Sept. 13, 1870 

Howard, ss 

o Jan. 14, 1863 

Pulteney. ss 

Howard, p 

Pulteney. p 

Almond, ss 

Howard, ss 


Apr. 4, 1893 

Corning, ss 

1 June 16, 1863 


Hornellsviile. p 


Nov. 30, 1889 

Painted Post, ss 

1 June 16, 1863 

June 13, 1866 

Campbell, ss 

1 June 16, 1863 


Nov. 29, 1866 

Campbell, ss 

1 Sept. 28, 1864 


Oct. 18, 1883 

Painted Post, p 

1 Dec. 13, 1865 


Sept. 11, 1872 

Pulteney. ss 

o Dec. 13, 186.0 


Dec. 11, 1867 

Howard, ss 

1 June 11, 1867 


Jan. 8, 1869 

Hammondsport. ss 

1 Dec. 10. 1H67 


Dec. 14, 1S69 

Prattsburg. ss 

1 June 1(1, 1868 


Apr. 16, 1872 

Addison, ss 

1 Dec. 8, 186^ 


Oct. 19, 1870 

Painted Post pe 

1 Dec. 8, 1868 


Sept. lu, 1873 

Howard, ss 

1 .lunefi. 1869 

Canaseraga. ss 


Apr. 22, 1885 

Jasper and Woodhull. ss 

1 June i), 1869 


Sept. 9, 1873 

Hammondsport. ss 

1 Dec. 14, 1869 


Jan. 11, 1876 

Bath, ss 

s Sept, 13, 1870 


Apr. 14, 1884 

Woodhull. ss 

s Sept. 13, 1870 


Oct. 18, 18T1 


s Sept. 13, 1870 


Sept. 14, 1870 

Hornellsviile. ss 

s Sept. 13, 1870 


Sept. 11, 1872 

Addison, ss 

1 Apr. 18, 1871 


Apr. 1.5, 1873 

Prattsburg. ss 

1 Apr. 16, 1872 

Campbell, ss 


Aug. 27, 18S3 

1 Apr. 16, 1872 


Oct. 21, 1874 

1 Sept. 10. 1872 


Sept. 19, 1S76 

Corning, ss 

1 Sept. 11, 1872 


Sept. 13. 1876 

Cohocton. p 

o Nov. 14. 1872 


Feb. 15. 1876 

Addison, ss 

1 Apr. 1.5, 1873 


Apr. 21, 1875 

Campbell, ss 

o Apr.16, 18T3 


Apr. 18, 1876 

Pulteney. ss 

1 Sept 9, 1873 

Painted Post, ss 


Apr. 20, 1S81 

1 Sept. 8, 1874 


Apr. 17, 1895 

^Canisteo. ss 

1 Sept. 9, 1874 


Sept. 9, 1879 

1 Jasper and Woodhull. ss 

Apr. 21, 187511 

Sept. 11. 1877 

Addison, ss 

1 Sept. 14, 18751 1 

Sept. 14, 1881 

1 Corning, pe 

1 Feb. 15, 187611 

Sept 13, 1887 

Arkport. ss 

1 Apr. 18, 1876!d 

Apr. 1, 1887 

1 Apr. 18, 1876|d 

Nov. 28, 1886 

Campbell, ss 

1 June 20, 187611 

Sept. 11, 1877 

Sept. 13, 187611 

Sept. 13, 1876 

1 Oct. 25, 1876ld 

Jan. 28, 1891 

Hammondsport. ss 

1 Apr. 18, 1877|1 

Sept. 10, 1890 

Prattsburg. ss 

1 Sept. 11, 1877 1 

Apr. 28, 1879 

'Howard, ss 

1 Sept. 11,1877,1 

Apr. 20, 1881 

Jasper and Woodhull. ss 

o Sept. 12, 1877 

Jasper, wc 

Naples, ss 

o Oct. 26, 187711 

June 30, 1881 

Cohocton. p 

1 Oct. 2, 1878! 

Cohocton. hr 

.Jasper and Woodhull. ss 

1 Sept. fl, 1879 

Preston, la. hr 

Canisteo. p 

.Sept. 23, 1879:1 

Apr. 22, 1885 

Prattsburg. ss 

1 Oct. 29, 1879 1 

Apr. 18, 1888 

Campbell, hr 

1 Apr. 21, 1880 

Naples, ss 

1 Apr. 20, 1881 il 

Apr. 16, 1884 

Howard, ss 

1 Oct. 5, 188 


Sept, 15. 1885 







Frederick Campbell. 

Painted Post, ss 

o Feb. 26, 1882 

1 Apr. 16, 1884 

William H. Rice. 

Addison, ss 

1 Oct. 18, 1882 

1 Apr. 4, 1893 


Corning, ss 
Pulteney. wc 

1 Apr. 18, 1883 

Chas. M. Livingstone. 

Campbell, ss 

1 Sept. 11, 1883 

1 Sept. 15, 1885 

Minor Swick. 

Jasper and Woodhull. ss 

1 Apr. 16. 1884 

1 Apr. IT, 1889 


Arkport. p 

1 Apr. 22, 1885 

Marcus N. Preston . 

Bath, ss 

1 Apr. 22, 1885 

1 Apr. 22, 1890 

Alvin W. Cooper. 

Siam. fm 

o Sept. 15. 1885 

1 Sept. 15, 1885 

George R. Smith. 

Campbell, ss 

1 Apr. 19, 1886 

1 July 15, 1892 

Alanson Bixby. 

Hornby, ss 

1 Apr. 20, 1886 

1 Apr. 19, 1887 

l>avid McLeod. 

Angelica, p 

s Oct. 21, 1886 

1 Apr — , 1892 

Charles P. Luce, Ph. D. 

Cuba, p 

s Oct. 21,1886 

1 Dec. 2, 1889 

Benjamin VauCleve. 

Andover. p 

s Oct. 21, 1886 

1 Apr. 17, 1889 

William C. Brass 

Canaseraga. ss 

Apr. 19, 1887 

1 Sept. 12, 1888 

Henrv W. H. Watkins. 

Rushford. ss 

1 Sept. 13, 188T 

1 Mar. 22, 1889 

John M. Wolcott. 

Prattsburg. ss 

1 Sept. 13, 1887 

1 Apr. 16, 1890 

Lester S Boyce. 

Almond, p 

o Sept. 13, 1887 

1 Apr. 17, 1889 

Smith Ordway. 

o Apr. 18, 1888 

1 Apr. 18, 1888 

Augustus Cone. 

Rushford. ss 

1 Sept. 12, 1888 

1 Apr. 20, 1892 


Canisteo. ss 

1 Apr. 17, 1889 

Martin E. Grant. 

Hammondsport. ss 

1 Apr 17, 1889 

1 Sept. 10, 1889 


Canaseraga. ss 

I Sept. 10, 1889 


Andover. ss 

1 Sept. 10, 1889 

Daniel W. Marvin. 

Canaseraga. hr 

1 Sept. n, 1889 

d Aug. 31, 1895 

John S. Niles. 

o Sept. 11,1889 

1 Oct. 30, 1889 

George F. Wood. 

Hornby, ss 

o Sept. 11, 1889 

1 Sept. 10, 1890 

Joseph G. Snyder. 

Belmont, p 

o Oct. 30, 1889 

1 Apr. 3, 1893 

Edwin H. Burgess. 

Jasper and Woodhull. ss 

o Nov. 13, 1889 

1 Sept. 16, 1891 


Hornellsville 1st. p 

1 Apr. 16, 1890 

William Veenschoten. 

Hornellsville Hartshorn, ss 

1 Apr. 16, 1890 

1 Apr. 14. 1894 

Alfred T. Vail. 

Hammondsport. ss 

1 Apr. 16, 1890 

1 Apr. 16, 1895 

Augustus Frederick. 

Painted Post, ss 

1 Apr. 16, 1890 

1 Apr. 19,1892 


Prattsburg. p 

o Sept. 10, 1890 

William G. White. 

Cuba p 

o Oct. 7, 1890 

1 Jan. 20, 1894 


Addison, ss 

1 Apr 22, 1891 


Angelica, p 

July 8, 1891 

William C. Matthews. 

Pulteney. p 

1 Nov. 17, 1891 

1 Feb. 28, 1895 


Campbell, e 
Avoea. ss 

1 Apr. 19, 1892 

Daniel Redmond, Ph. D. 

New York, ss 

Apr. 20, 1892 

1 Apr. 20, 1892 

Charles W. Maccarthy. 

Jasper and Woodhull. ss 

1 Apr. 20, 1892 

1 Apr. 28, 1896 


Campbell, p 

1 Sept. 14, 1892 
1 Oct 6, 1892 

Joseph D. Hillman. 

Almond, ss 

1 Jan. 18, 1894 

James R. Robinson. 

Painted Post, ss 

1 Apr. 18, 1893 

1 Apr. 21, 1897 

D. Albert Blose. 

Belmont, ss 

1 Apr. 18, 1893 

1 Apr. 22. 1896 

George F. Danforth. 

Hornellsville Hartshorn, ss 

1 Sept. 13, 1893 

1 Sept. 19, 1894 

Jo.seph P. White. 

Howard, ss 

1 Apr. 18, 1894 

1 Sept. 19, 1894 


Cohocton. ss 

1 Apr. 18, 1894 

.lames S. Wilkes. 

Silver Lake, ss 

o Apr. 18, 1894 

1 Apr. 16, 1895 


Almond, p 

o Apr. 18, 1894 


Cuba, p 

o Apr. 18, 1894 


Hornby, ss 

1 Sept. 19, 1894 


Corning, p 

1 Apr. 16, 1895 


Howard ss 

1 Apr, 16, 1895 


Atlanta, p 

o June 6, 1895 


Hammondsport. ss 

1 Sept. 18, 1895 

Andrew McC. Brown. 

Hornellsville Hartshorn, ss 

1 Sept. 27, 1895 

1 Mar. 30, 1896 


Pulteney. ss 

1 Apr. 22,1896 


Bath, p 

! Apr. 22, 1896 


Jasper and Woodhull. ss 

1 Apr. 22, 1896 


Belmont, p 

o May 11, 1896 


Hornellsville Hartshorn, ss 

1 Sept. 16, 1896 


Painted Post, pe 

1 Apr. 21, 1897 


Arkport, ss 

o Apr. 21,1897 






1805 Geneva. 

1806 Geneseo. 

1806 Aurelius. 

1807 Geneva. 

1807 Milton. 

1808 Palmyra. 
1808 Aurelius. 

J. Chapman. 
D. Higgins. 
J. Chapman. 
D. Higgins. 
D. Higgins. 
J. Chapman. 

1809 E. Bloomfleld.H.N. Woodruff. 

1809 Onondaga. 

1810 Geneva. 

1810 Romulu.s. 

1811 Ovid. 

1811 Geneva. 

1812 Seneca Falls. 

1812 Gorham. 

1813 Honeyoye, 
1813 Phelps. 

D. Higgins. 
O. Ayer. 

C. Mosher. 
O. Ayer. 

J. Lindsley. 
J. Chapman. 
A. C. Collins. 

D. Tuller. 
W. Clark. 

1814 W. Bloomfleld.H. Axtell. 

1814 Bath. 

1815 Geneva. 

1815 Lyons. 

1816 Elmira. 

1816 Romulus. 

1817 Prattsburg. 

1817 Bath. 

1818 Wayne. 

J. H.Hotchkin 
D. Higgins. 
W. Clark. 
D. Higgins. 
J. Merrill. 
D. Higgins. 
D. Higgins. 

1818 Alfred(AlmndjE. Lazel. 

1819 Elmira. 

1819 Pulteney. 

1820 Naples. 

1820 Bath. 

1831 Prattsburg. 

1821 Elmira. 

1822 Painted Post. 

1822 Angelica. 

1823 Prattsburg. 

1823 Naples. 

1824 Bath. 

1 824 Wayne. 

1825 Cohocton. 

1826 Dansville. 

1826 Almond. 

1827 Elmira. 

1827 Prattsburg. 

1828 Big Flats. 

H. Woodruff. 
D. Higgins. 
R. Hubbard. 
D. Higgins 
U Barrett. 
D. Higgins. 
L. Barrett. 
D. Higgins. 
H. Ford. 
D. Higgins. 
R Hubbard. 
D. Higgins. 
H. Ford. 
B. Hotchkin. 
H. Ford. 
B. Hotchkin. 
D. Higgins. 
D. Higgins. 
M. Hunter. 


1828 Mead's Creek.D. Higgins. 

Black Creek. 

1829 Starkey. D. Higgins 

1829 Cohocton. D. Higgins. 

1830 Southport. D. Harrowar. Angelica. 

1830 Naples. D. Higgins. Franklinville 

1831 Havana. 1). Higgins. Centerville. 

1831 Bath. D Higgins. Angelica. 

1832 Elmira. D. Harrowar. Almond. 
mi2 Lawreneeville.D. Higgins. Portage. 
18.3;3 Horseheads. A. Donalson. Pike Hollow. 
ISSii Prattsburg. B. F. Pratt. Philipsburg 
1834 Painted Post. I. W. Piatt 

1834 Bath. 

1835 Campbell. 
1835 Big Flats. 
18.36 Elmira. 
18.36 Hornellsville. 

18.38 Pulteney 

1838 Bath. 

1839 Tyrone. 

1839 Dundee. 

1840 Howard. 
1840 Naples. 


D. Higgins. 

E. D. Wells. 

B. F. Pratt. 
J.H.Hotchkin. Friendship, 

C. Goodrich. Ossian. 
1837 Ham'ondsportJ. H.Hotchkin. Angelica. 
1837 Dundee. is. White. Franklinville, 

J.H.Hotchkin. Angelica. 
B. F. Pratt. Centerville. 
B. F. Pratt. Cuba. 
J.H Hotchkin. Phillipsville 
J. Rowlett. Allen. 
R. E. Willson. Nunda. 
1841 Ham'ondsport D. I. Perry. Almond. 

1841 Wayne. E. Everett, Angelica. 

1842 Prattsburg. B. F. Pratt. Rushford. 

1842 Bath. R. E. Willson Hume. 

1843 Rock Stream. J.H.Hotchkin. Nunda. 

1843 Pulteney. S. White. Dansville. 

1844 Ham'ondsportJ.H. Hotchkin. Cuba. 
1844 Hornellsville. R E. Willson. Caneadea. 

M. Hunter. 
R. Kurd. 
S. Hubbard. 
R. Hubbard. 
R. Hurd. 
A. Caldwell. 
R. Hubbard. 
J. Spicer. 
M. Hunter. 
M. Hunter. 
A. Caldwell. 
M. Hunter. 
A. Johnson. 
A. Caldwell. 
M. Hunter. 
M Hunter. 
. L. Hall. 
A. S. Allen. 
P. Smith. 
A. S. Allen. 
A. Parmelee. 
W. Tileson. 
A. Littlejohn. 
R. H.Conklin. 

A. S. Allen. 

B. Russell. 
R. H. Conklin. 
A. Parmelee. 
R. H. Conklin. 
A. S. Allen. 
H. Snyder. 


Big Flats. 
Painted Post. 
Mead's Creek. 
Big Flats. 
Painted Post. 

J Frost. 
J. Frost. 
J. Smith. 
D. I. Pefry. 

D. B. Butts. 
J. Gray. 

G. Spalding 
N. Pratt. 
O. Catlin. 
P. H. Fowler. 

E. D. Wells. 

F L. Whiting. 
C. C. Carr. 
S. S. Howe. 
C. Thurston. 
B. F. Pratt. 





Place. Moderator. 

Prattsburg. B. C. Smith. 

Eddytown. J. C. Morgan. 

Bath. R. E. Willson. 

Naples. J.H. Hotchkin, 

Prattsburg. S. White. 

Hornellsville. G. T. Everest. 
Ham'ondsportJ. Smith. 


Rock Stream. 











A. S. Allen. 
C Crocker. 
W. F.Curry. 
W. F. Curry. 
H. Eraser. 
H. Snyder. 
R. Twitchel. 

Painted Post. 
Big Flats 
Mead s Creek 

S. A. Rawson. Dix. 

H. Snyder. Horseheads. 

Hornellsville. G. Spalding. 
Jasper. G. Spalding. 

Ham'ondsportB. C. Smith. 

J.H. Hotchkin, 


B. C. Smith. Phillipsburg. N. Hammond.Southport 

L. Rose. " — _ - . . I' 

F, S. Gaylord. 
O. Eraser. 
B. Ru.ssell. 
H. Pattengill. 
B. C Smith. 

G. T. Everest. 
K. Benedict, 










S. M. Day. 
H. Pattengill. 
M. B. Gelston. 

E. Benedict. 

F. V. Warren. 
W. R. Downs. 

G. Spalding. 
M. \i. Gelston 
S. A. Rawson 





Black Creek. 










W. F. Curry. 
J. Wynkoop. 
J. Wynkoop. 
IX Russell 
T. Blair. 
J. Wynkoop. 





Mead's Creek 


C.L.Flemenb'gPainted Post 
J. Vanantwerp. Athens. 
J. Wakeman. Millport. 
N. Allen. Addison. 

N. Allen. Elmira. 

S. A. Rawson. Campbell. 
N. Hammond. Waverly. 
J. Wakeman. Big Flats, 



HaurondsportJ. Woodruff 
Naples. I >. D. Gregory 

Bath. G. Spalding 

Prattsburg. W. R. Downs. 
Ham'ondsportS. Ottman. 
Hornellsville. S. A. Rawson. 



J. Cowles. 
I. G. Ogden. 

M onterey. 





J. .X. Hubbard.southport. 
J. Wakeman. Havana 
i- ,?; ^^^Pr ^ Horseheads. 
E.\\ .Stoddard Painted Post. 
J. Wakeman. Elmira 
M. Waldo. Big Flats. 



E. Pratt. 

L. Hamilton. 
M. Huggins. 
. D. A. Abbey. 
H. Pattengill. 
A. H .Parmelee. 
J. Gray. 
P. H. Fowler. 

C. C. Carr 

A. L. Brooks. 
M. Huggins. 

B. F. Pratt. 
. G. Hood. 

D. Murdock. 
N. Elmer. 

S. B. Shearer. 
R. McMath. 
R. E. Willson. 

B. F. Pratt. 
R. H. Close. 

C. Thurston. 
J. Gray. 

F. Harrington. 
C. Chapman. 

C. C. Carr. 
O. Crane. 

D. Chichester. 
D. Murdock. 
A W. Cowles. 
F S. Howe. 
S. M. Day. 
W. A.Niles. 
C. C. Carr. 

G. C Curtis. 


1863 Howard. C Vorhis. Angelica. 

1863 Campbell. M. B. Gelston. Cuba. 
Ir<ti3 Portville. 

1864 Painted Post. H. E. Johnson. Andover. 
1864 Canisteo L. F. Laine. Angelica. 

1864 Corning. F. Harrington. 

1 865 Prattsburg. S. Vorhis. Almond. 

1865 Addison W. A Niles. Hornellsville. 

1866 Pulteney. D. F. Judson. Olean. 

1866 Painted Post. M. B. Gelston. Belmont. 

1867 Ham'ondsportF. Harrington.Wellsville, 

1867 Corning, 

1868 Canisteo. 

1868 Campbell. 

1869 Naples. 

1869 Painted Post. 

1870 Prattsburg. 

1870 Bath. 

1871 Hornellsville. 

1871 Pulteney. 

1872 Corning. 

1872 Canisteo. 

1873 Prattsburg. 

1873 Addison. 

1874 Campbell. 

1874 Howard. 

1875 Oohocton. 

O.H. Seymour.Franklinville. 

C. Milne. Andover. 

D. H. Palmer Arkport. 
P. H.Burgh'rdt Almond. 
W. J. Parrott. Rrushford. 
J. H. Board. Cuba. 

A. Gulick. Portville. 
D. Chichester. EUicottville. 
J. M. Piatt. Angelica. 

C. Simpson. Wellsville. 
M. B. Gelston. Olean. 

D. Chichester. FrankhnvUle. 
A. G. Chester. Almond. 

C. B. Austin. Cuba. 
T. B. Williams.Portville. 
S. W. Pratt. Andover. 

1875 Ham'ondsport J. E. Beecher. Rushford. 
18T6 Corning. T. L. Waldo. PVanklinville. 

1876 Naples. M. L. P. Hill. Allegany. 

1877 Bath. W. A. Niles. Belmont. 

1877 Jasper. G. Spalding. Angelica. 

1878 Cohocton. A. R. OIney. Cuba. 

1878 Pulteney. S. W. Pratt. EUicottville. 

1879 Campbell. J. M. Piatt. Almond. 

1879 Arkport. T. L. Waldo. Centerville. 

1880 Painted Post. Z.N.Bradbury Andover. 
1880 Canisteo. L. M. Stevens. Bradford. 

J. E. Baker. 
E. Hale. 

E. L. Boing. 
I. G. Ogden. 
C. B. Gardner. 
P. Camp. 

J S. Bingham. 
C. B. Gardner. 
J. E. Tinker. 
J. Reid. 
M. Waldo. 
C. B. Gardner. 
I. G. Ogden. 

B. Russell. 
N. M. Clute. 
.N . Elmer. 
O. Smith. 

C. B. Gardner. 
J. E. Tinker. 

C. Smith. 

D. K. Steele. 
H. M. Curtis. 
C. Smith. 

J. C. Taylor. 

F. W. Fisher. 
R R. Kendall. 
A. C. Titus. 

S. B.Stevens'n 
I). K. Steele. 
J. W. Simpson. 




Place. Moderator. 

Hornellsville S. W. Pratt. 
Naples. B. Bosworth. 

Ham'ondsportJ. Waugh. 
Prattsburg. A. Cooper. 



Place. Moderator. 

Allegany C. T. Goss 

Cuba. A. C. Titus. 

Portville E. VV. Fish. 

Ellicottville. J. C. Taylor. 

Addison. F. CHmpbell. Glean E. Bryan. 

Canaseraga. W. H. Rice. Almond. R. R. Watkins. 

Campbell. J. S. Baron. Belmont. D. McLeod, 

Howard. C.M.Livingst'nCuha. R. R. Watkins. 

Cohocton. L. M. Stevens.Franklinville. J. Burroughs. 

Corning. M. Swick. Rushford. J. Burroughs. 

Bath. E. C. Hull. Bradford C. P. Luce. 

Jasper. M. N. Preston. Angelica. C P. Luce, 

Hornellsvill». B. Bosworth. 
Almond. .1. Waugh. 

Cuba. ■ 







W. H. Rice. 
G. R. Smith. 
C. P. Luce. 
J. S. Bacon. 
G. M Janes. 
G. R. Smith. 
Z.N. Bradbury. 

Ham'ondsport E. C. Hull 








Ark port. 






W. G. White. 
E. R. Evans. 

D. Cameron. 
S. W. Pratt. 

J. R. Robinson. 

E. M. Deems. 
K. P. Salmon. 
J. A. Miller. 
D. Mackay. 

G W. Warren. 
J. S. Bacon 
R. Clements. 

ERRATUM. -A sub-heading 'BATH PRESBYTERY" should appear under the general 

heading "Stated Meetings of the Presbyteries" on page 36 following the year 1816. Begin- 
ning with 1817 in said column the places of meetings and moderators are those of BATH 



It must not be forgotten that some of our Steuben Presbytery 
churches, either at organization or some other time in their history, 
were Congregational churches, and that Presbyterian and Congre- 
gational churches were in close fellowship until about 1870. This 
was the result of the " Plan of Union" entered into in 1801 by the 
General Assembly for the Presbyterians, and the General Associa- 
tion of Connecticut for the Congregationalists. It was adopted 
" with a view to prevent alienation and promote union and harmony 
in those new settlements which are composed of inhabitants from 
these bodies". Under this "Accommodating Plan" it was in order 
for a Congregational church to be enrolled in a presbytery, to have 
an installed pastor who belonged to a presbytery, and to have its 
deacon accorded in that presbytery the rights of an elder. So, too, 
it was in order for a Presbyterian church to be enrolled in an asso- 
ciation, to have an installed pastor who belonged to an association, 
and to have its elder accorded in that association the rights of a 
deacon. Fellowship was promoted by the fact that both churches 
down to 1837 contributed to foreign missions through the American 
Board of Commissioners for Foreign Missions and to home missions 
through the American Home Missionary Society. This remained 
true of the Congregational and New School Presbyterian Churches 
down to 1870. And as the field of Steuben Presbytery was almost 
entirely New School the relation between the two Churches here 
was especially close. As far as this field is concerned the arrange- 
ment proved greatly to the advantage of the Presbyterian Church. 

Rev. John Niles, Rev. David Higgins, Rev. James H. Hotchkin, 
and Rev. Robert Hubbard, the pioneers of Presbyterianism in Steu- 
ben and Allegany counties, all began their ministry in the Congre- 
gational Church. Our oldest church, the Prattsburg Church, was 
organized by Congregationalists in 1804 as a Congregational church, 
enrolled in Geneva and Bath Presbyteries as a Congregational church, 
remained fully Congregational until 1839, and did not become fully 
Presbyterian until 1868. Our second oldest church, the Bath Cliurch, 
was organized in 1806 as a Congregational church, had its first pas- 
tor installed by the Ontario Association, entered Geneva Presbytery 
in 1811 as a Congregational church, but during 1812 by advice of 
presbytery became Presbyterian. Our third oldest church, the Co- 
hocton Church, was organized in 1809 as a Congregational church, 
was received into Bath Presbytery in 1820 on the " Accommodating 
Plan", and did not become Presbyterian until 18.50. The New 


School Bath Church became Congregational about 1863 and so re- 
mained until at the Reunion it reunited with the parent Presbyte- 
rian church. The Angelica Church was governed Congregationally 
from 1845 to 1851, and again from 1857 to 1859. The Wellsville 
Congregational Church was organized as a Presbyterian church in 
1841, changed to a Congregational church in 1856, and though not 
enrolled in a presbytery continued to accept Presbyterian ministers. 
The Andover Church was a Congregational church from the begin- 
ning in 1824 until 1886, and as such was enrolled in Bath, Angelica, 
and Genesee Valley Presbyteries. The Friendship Congregational 
Church was enrolled for many years in Angelica and Genesee Valley 
Presbyteries. The Cuba Church from 1835 to 1842 was governed 
Congregationally— a part of the time being a full Congregational 
church. The Belmont Church adopted Congregational government 
from 1854 to 1856, and from 1853 to 1867 the Rushford Church be- 
longed to an association. The Black Creek Congregational Church 
is the successor of several Presbyterian organizations. Not a few of 
our churches have received aid from the Congregational Board. 
Congregational ministers who supplied Presbyterian churches gene- 
rally attended presbytery meetings and as corresponding members 
shared in the deliberations. 

Many churches within the bounds of presbytery have been dissolv- 
ed. The Wayne Church, organized in 1809, and for years one of 
the strongest in Bath Presbytery, in 1832 receiving 100 members 
and reporting a membership of 200, gradually declined until in 1871 
it was declared extinct. The edifice was sold to the St. John Epis- 
copal Church. In 1831 a church was organized in Kennedy ville 
(Kanoua) of members living there and in Avoca which in 1834 had 
99 members. Here Bath Presbytery took the action which made it 
a New School presbytery. This church was dissolved in 1875. 
There was once a small church in the northern part of Cohocton 
which was organized about 1836 and in 1839 enrolled in Ontario 
Presbytery. The Wheeler Churcli, most noted of all our extinct 
churches though never exceeding a membership of 40, numbered 
among its members and elders Marcus Whitman, M. D., who though 
a home missionary saved the Oregon country to the United States, 
and General Otto F. Marshal, a distinguished citizen of Steuben 
County, whose refusal to be "disbanded" kept the church on the 
roll of Steuben Presbytery until 1894. A church was organized in 
Cameron about 1840. One of its most active members was Chaun- 
cey P. Hubbard, later an elder in the Woodhull Church. This 

Rev. ROBERT HUBBARD. Angelica and Almond. 

From a lead-pencil sketch— the only likeness existing— furnished 
by his son, Rev. John Niles Hubbard, Tracy. Cal. 


Cameron Church became Old School and finally extinct — the Bap- 
tists purchasing the building. From 1836 to 1867 there was a small 
church in Caton enrolled as Painted Post 2d; from 1834 to 1843 
another at Erwin Center, and from 1845 to 1850 another in Thurs- 
ton. Troupsburg had a small church from 1836 to 1846, and 
Greenwood from 1830 to about 1850. 

When in 1846 the Painted Post 1st Church chose the name of Cor- 
ning some of the members were dismissed to form a new church 
with the old name. In 1849 it reunited with the parent church. 
Elk Creek had a small church from 1866 until 1893. A church in 
Hume, organized about 1834, and in 1842 reporting 142 members, 
about 1873 was reorganized as a Methodist church. From 1836 
until about 1850 there was a church at Grrove Center, from 1833 
till about 1847 one in Independence, for a few years from 1851 a 
Congregational church in Alfred, and from 1846 to 1854 a Congre- 
gational church at Caneadea. There was a church in Burns first 
reported in 1837 which in 1843 had 120 members. This church 
was dissolved in 1873, the members uniting with the Arkport or 
Canaseraga Churches. From 1826 to about 1850 there was a church 
in Allen which had 100 members in 1836 and an installed pastor in 
1840. The Black Creek Church was organized in 1822. In 1828 
a division of this church resulted in the organization of the Haight 
Church which in 1834 reported 79 members. In 1837 the Black 
Creek and Haight Churches united under the name of the New 
Hudson Church and reported in 1840 90 members. Some mem- 
bers seceding from this New Hudson Church formed the only Old 
School church in Allegany County. Both these churches soon dis- 
appear from the records, the Black Creek Congregational Church 
organized in 1851 probably absorbing tiieir members. From 1830 
to about 1871 there was a church in Belfast. The Rushford Church, 
after living nearly 60 years, was declared extinct in 1897. It re- 
ported in 1846 a membership of 116. It is much to be regretted 
that the Presbyterian Church, though having a much larger mem- 
bership in Steuben and Allegany counties than ever before, has lost 
its hold on so many rural communities. 

There are a few ministers whose services entitle them to special 
mention. Though Rev. John Niles, the ''pathfinder" of our 
Church on this field, was only 35 years old when he died at Bath, 
and had served only six years in the ministry, five of the six oldest 
churches now in presbytery, organized by him, remain his monu- 
ment — Prattsburg (practically, though not nominally, organized by 


Mr. Niles), Bath, Corning, Almond, and Angelica. Of all who 
have ministered to our churches the three who deserve first and 
highest mention are "Fathers" Higgins, Hotchkin, and Hubbard. 
The three names stand together in the record of the first meeting 
of Hath Presbytery, and for 25 years they worked together organiz- 
ing and nurturing churches On horseback they penetrated to 
every part of Steuben and Allegany and into all the adjacent coun- 
ties. Rev. David Higgins was a descendant of John Rogers, editor 
of the " Matthew's Bible" and a Smithfield martyr. Graduating 
from Yale College in 1785, he was pastor of the Aurelius Congrega- 
tional Church — the parent of the First Presbyterian Church of 
Auburn — before coming to Bath in 1812. He was pastor of the 
Bath Church 19 years, moderator of presbytery 24 times, the con- 
vener of Geneva Synod, and influential throughout the churches of 
Western New York. Rev. James H. Hotchkin was a graduate of 
Williams College, and before coming in 1809 to Prattsburg was pastor 
of the West Bloomfield Congregational ('hurch. He was pastor of 
the Prattsburg Church 21 years, stated clerk of Bath Presbytery 14 
years, vice-president and acting moderator of the Auburn Confer- 
ence of 1837 which shaped the organization of the New School 
Presbyterian Church, and active in the establishment of Auburn 
Theological Seminary. The closing years of his life were spent in 
Prattsburg writing his valuable " History of Western New York". 
Rev. Robert Hubbard also was a graduate of Williams College. He 
was for many years pastor of the Angelica and Almond Churches, 
but his parish was the whole of Allegany and the west edge of 
Steuben. He was unwearied in church organization and famous 
for his unselfishness.* 

Rev. Joel Wakeman, D. D., shares with Rev. James H. Hotchkin 
in the distinction of the longest pastorate on the field of Steuben 
Presbytery — 21 years in the Almond Church. His service in all to 
the Almond Church covers 23 years — a longer time than any other 
minister within the territory of presbytery gave to one church. Dr. 

**• His headquarters were at Angelica from whence he traveled into all the settlements 
for ao miles around. * * * He used frequently to extend his visits from Almond to Hornells- 
\ ille and on to (Janisteo, i)reaching at (Janisteo in tlie evening. Starting on his return Mon- 
day he would call at nearly every house on his way home, when the family where he called 
would be gathered together and after a kind word to every one, read a portion of scripture, 
comment a little and pray with the family, leave a few tracts and agam wend his way on- 
ward, spending most of the week in getting home. Thus it will be seen that Mr. Hubbard 
sowed the good seed that .subsequently bore fruit in the churches of Angelica, Almond, Hor- 
iiellsville and Canisteo. * * * His unselfish benevolence hardlj' knew any bounds, always 
giving from his scanty store to any more needy than he thought himself. It is told of him 
that at one time, having been presented with a new garment, before getting home he found 
a destitute man to whom he gave the new garment. At another time a friend presented 
liim with a fine cow for his own use, and in driving her home he met a poor man who was 
exceedingly destitute. Mr. Hubbard told him the circumstances of the gift but remarked, 
' You are iin>re needy than I; take the cow and drive her home; 1 can do without her'. After 
much urging the man took the cow". — Mowry Thacher in •' Semi-Centennial Anniversary of 
the lloniellsvillf Presbyterian Clmrch". 

Rev. WILLIAM A. NILES, D. D., Corning and Hornellsville. 

Rev. JAMES M. PLATT, D. D., Bath. 


Wakeman ministered also to the Painted Post Church 3 years, and 
to the Campbell Church 4 years. Rev. William A. Niles, D. D. 
ministered to our churches continuously 30 years — 13 years at Corn- 
ing and 17 years at Hornellsville. He was stated clerk of Steuben 
Presbytery from 1865 to 1870 and again from 1884 to 1889. The first 
Sunday School Institute in the United States was held in his church. 
He was a leader in every good cause in presbytery not only but 
throughout Western New York. Another of the master builders in 
Steuben Presbytery was Rev. James M. Piatt, D. D. He was pastor 
of the Bath Church 15 years, and 14 years stated clerk of presbytery. 
He was one of the leaders of Geneva Synod. Twenty-five years be- 
fore Mr. Piatt began his ministry in the Bath Church, his father. 
Rev. Isaac W. Piatt, closed a pastorate of 13 years in the same 
church. Rev. Ziba N. Bradbury gave his ministerial life of 30 
years to the churches of Steuben Presbytery. He shares with Dr. 
Wakeman and Dr. Niles the distinction of having ministered 30 
years within the bounds of presbytery. He was ordained at Howard 
at the first meeting of presbytery under the name of Steuben, and 
died at Howard in 1893. He was for awhile minister of the 
Almond Church, at two diii'erent periods served the Pulteney 
Church, and at three different times labored in the Howard Church. 
Rev. Moses Hunter was a pastor on this field from 1827 to 1839. 
He was for 11 years stated clerk of Angelica Presbytery. For 10 
years he was pastor of the Almond Church when the parish included 
wliat is now Hornellsville, part of the time preaching in the morn- 
ing at Almond, in the afternoon at Hornellsville, and in the even- 
ing at Arkport. Rev. Robert E. Willson gave 17 years to our 
churclies — 14 years at Hammondsport and 3 at Corning. Rev. B. 
Foster Pratt also spent 17 years on this field. He was pastor of the 
Prattsburg Church from 1838 to 1841, of the Painted Post Church 
from 1843 to 1849, and supplied the Campbell Church from 1850 
to 1800. Rev. James H. Board, after 4 years with the Howard 
Church, organized the Canaseraga Church and was its pastor 12 
years. Rev. Benjamin C. Smith was pastor of the Prattsburg 
Church 15 years, and Rev. John Waugh of the Cohocton Church 
for the same length of time. Rev. Lewis F. Laine ministered to 
the Canisteo Church 13 years, giving the remaining 18 years of his life 
to Canisteo Academy. Rev. Byron Bosworth was minister of the 
Hammondsport Church 12 years, Rev. Marcus N. Preston of the 
Bath Church 12 years, and Rev. Erwin C. Hull of the Arkport 
Church 12 years. Those who have had a ministry of 10 years with 
one church have been Rev. Samuel White with the Pulteney Church, 
Kev. Milton Waldo, D. D., with the Hornellsville Church, Rev. 


Dwight K. Steele with the Almond Church, Rev. George N. Todd 
with the Arkport Church, and Rev. John S. Bacon with the Corn- 
ing Church. Rev. Samuel W. Pratt served the Prattsburg Church 
from 1872 to 1876, the Campbell Church from 1877 to 1883, and 
has rendered invaluable service in establishing the Atlanta and 
Avoca Churches. 

Those who have been selected from this field to attend General 
Assembly more than one time are the following: 5 times. Rev. Joel 
Wakeman, D. D.; 4 times, Rev. James H. Hotchkin, and Rev. 
William A, Xiles, D. D.; 3 times. Rev. Robert E. Willson, and 
Rev. Moses Hunter; and 2 times. Rev. David Higgins, Rev. Robert 
Hubbard, Rev. Samuel W. May, Rev. Asa S. Allen, Rev. B. Foster 
Pratt, Rev. Stephen Vorhis, Rev. Ziba N. Bradbury, Rev. Corliss 
B. Gardner, D. D., and Rev. Samuel W. Pratt. 

The list of men who have served the churches of Steuben and 
Allegany in the eldership is a long one, and a great proportion of 
the names are those of men prominent as well in the affairs of their 
respective communities. There are a few whose prominence or 
length of service entitle them to special notice. One of the most 
influential laymen of the day of beginnings was William Steele, al- 
ready an elder when in 1820 he moved from New Jersey to Painted 
Post. Through Mr. Steele's effort the Painted Post (Corning) 
Church was reestablished. For many years he was a worker in Bath 
and Chemung Presbyteries. No name is more prominent in the 
pioneer history of Allegany County than that of Major Moses Van- 
Campen — an Indian fighter and Revolutionary hero, whose publish- 
ed biography is of interest at times thrilling. It is not so well 
known, however, that he was the first member and elder of the 
Angelica Church and represented his church in Geneva and Angel- 
ica Presbyteries. Another Allegany pioneer and man of affairs 
was Vial Thomas. From 1828 to his death in 1885 at the age of 
101 he was an elder in the Angelica Church*. Robert Porter of 
Prattsburg who represented his church in presbytery and synod 
many times probably did more for the Prattsburg Church than any 
other excepting Captain Jared Pratt. He was a Yale graduate of 
1795, and from 1803 to 1806 principal of Hamilton Academy (after- 
ward Hamilton College). He was prominent in synod and in the 
affairs of Auburn Seminary as well as in his own church and pres- 
bytery. Henry H. Spalding was representing the Prattsburg 

*Ttie portrait of Deacon Thomas which api>eara in this worlc was talcen when he was 100 
years old. 

Rev. JOEL WAKEMAN, D. D.. Almond. Painted Post, and Campbell. 

Rev. ZIBA N. BRADBURY, Howard, Pulteney. and Almond. 


Church in presbytery when he was ordained to the ministry, and 
Dr. Marcus Whitman was an elder in the Wheeler Church when he 
started upon his Oregon mission. Judge Stephen Prentiss, the 
father of Narcissa Prentiss, was for many years influential in the 
Prattsburg Church, for 7 years after leaving Prattsburg an elder in 
the Angelica Church, and for a term of years after leaving Angelica 
an elder in the Cuba Church. 

Few names occur more frequently in the minutes of presbytery 
than that of Kendal Wilder, an elder in the Cuba Church. He 
represented his church in presbytery 26 times, the first time in 1829 
at the first stated meeting of Angelica Presbytery, and the last time 
in 186? at a meeting of Genesee Valley Presbytery. An elder in the 
Greenwood Church was Jacob Manning, ''one of only three men 
that offered prayer between Rexville and Canisteo on the Bennett's 
Creek road". It was said of him, ''he was the only righteous man 
in Greenwood and all that saved the valley from destruction". Rev. 
J. Merrill Manning, D. D., of the Boston Old South Church, was 
his son. A foundation stone of the Hammondsport Church was 
Lemuel D. Hastings, an elder for 56 years, and another in the same 
church was Solomon Clark, 52 years in the eldership. Mr. Hastings 
represented his church first in 1838 in Bath Presbytery and last in 
1882 in Steuben Presbytery. For 53 years Joshua Sargent was an 
elder in the Jasper Church, and Jonathan R. Prentice for 49 years 
in the same church. Rev. Asa S. Allen, for 9 years pastor of the 
Cuba Church, appeared first in presbytery as a deacon from the An- 
dover Church, and was ordained while serv^ing as an elder in the 
Angelica Church. The name of General Otto F. Marshal*, an elder 
in the Wheeler Church, is among the prominent names of Bath and 
Steuben Presbyteries, as it is among the distinguished citizens of his 
county. George Temple, an elder of the Campbell Church, has the 
distinction of attending presbytery more times than any other elder 
on this field — 45 times he represented one church. Few laymen 
have influenced church, presbytery, and synod more than elder Na- 
thaniel C. Taylor of Canisteo. For 10 years no other elder repre- 
sented the Canisteo Church in presbytery. 

For 61 years Joel D. Gillet has been an elder in the Addison 
Church — for 60 years acting as clerk of session. He has attended 
33 presbytery meetings — the first at the first stated meeting of Che- 
mung Presbytery in 1836, the last during 1893 in Steuben Presbytery. 
Uriah D. Hood, Corning, has been in the eldership 44 years; Charles 
Amsden, Cuba, the same length of time; and Prof . Zenas L. Park- 
er, Bath, 40 years. John Hurlbut, an elder in the Arkport Church. 

* Died Feb.. 18i»l. ase.l 99. 


has year by year for 40 years been elected superintendent of the 
Sunday School. The following elders have been chosen by presby- 
tery more than once as commissioners to General Assembly: Na- 
thaniel C. Taylor, Canisteo, James H. Hotchkin, Prattsburg, and 
Alfred Lockhart, Angelica, 4 times; Paul C. Howe, Prattsburg. 
Elias Hopkins, Bath, Samuel S. Haight, Bath and Angelica, Wil- 
liam Steele, Corning, and Lemuel D. Hastings, Hammondsport, 3 
times; and Robert Porter, Prattsburg, Elam Bridges, Prattsburg, 
Stephen Prentiss, Prattsburg and Angelica, Abram Waugh, (.ohoc- 
ton, Francis A. Williams, Corning, James Hurlbut, Almond, Rob- 
ert H. Coleman, Almond, Daniel S. Benton, Pulteney, and Charles 
A. Knox, Campbell, 2 times. 


The Presbyterian Church in Steuben and Allegany honors its 
sons and daughters who witness for Christ in " the regions beyond". 
The first to give himself to mission work was George Hornell, living 
in Hornellsville, the first member of the Almond Church. He was 
ordained by Bath Presbytery Feb. 24, 1828, and, after a year's suc- 
cessful work as a Sunday School missionary in Steuben County, 
accepted an appointment of the American Board as a missionary to 
the Indians, with his headquarters at Mackinaw, Mich. His health 
not proving equal he was obliged to return after two year's work. 
In the office of the "Steuben Farmer's Advocate" at Bath in 1831 
was an apprentice — Phinehas Hunt. The paper was conducted at 
that time by Smead & Son. The son's wife was an earnest Christ- 
ian, and under her influence the apprentice was converted, and 
offered himself as a printer to the American Board. He served the 
Board as a missionary printer 30 years in Madras, India, and was 
then sent to Pekin, China. Mrs. Smead became subsequently a 
member of the Hornellsville 1st Church. Rev. Charles T. White, 
D. D., who was for 12 years a missionary for the American Board 
in the Madura district of South India, was a son of Rev. Samuel 
White, a member of the Bath and Steuben Presbyteries from 1825 
to his death in 1864, and twice pastor of che Pulteney Church. Dr. 
White was ordained by Bath Presbytery at Howard Oct. 1, 1856. 
Hammondsport cherishes tenderly the memory of Rev. Frederick 
H. Brewster. A teacher there from 1846 to 1849, a member of the 
church and superintendent of the Sunday School, he consecrated 
himself to foreign mission work. Under appointment of the Amer- 
ican Board, he reached his field, Canton, China, Jan. 1st, 1852. 
Attacked by smallpox on the 26th, he died on the 29th — less than 
a month after his arrival. Yet his consecrated life was richly 

Names that become more widelv and lionorablv known everv vear 


Plate loaned by Rev. D- J. McMillan, D. D., Corresponding Secretary of the 
Presbyterian Home Mission Board, New York. 


are those of Sariiuel Parker, Marcus Wliitman. Narcissa Prentiss, 
and Henry H. Spalding. All these were identified with the work 
among the Oregon Indians — in the thirties and forties a foreign 
mission field of the Ainerican Board. Rev. Samuel Parker* was 
born in Ashfield, Mass., Apr. 23, 1779, and was identified with this 
field closely as a pioneer missionary of the Massachusetts Mission- 
ary Society. After graduating from Williams College in 1806 and 
before going to Andover Seminary, and again for a short time after 
leaving the Seminary, he visited some of the early settlements. He 
was several times in Hornellsvillef, Almond, Angelica, and 
Howard, between 1808 and 1811, holding the first preaching 
service in Howard in 1810. Very much later it was his mission- 
ary addresses in our churches that led to the Whitmans and 
Spaldings giving themselves to Oregon. When in 1833 a pas- 
tor in a Massachusetts town, he read the narrative, " Wise Men 
from the West", telling of four Flathead and other Indians 
from Oregon coming to St. Louis to inquire about the white man's 
God and Bible. The narrative had a profound etfect on Mr. Park- 
er. He wrote to the American Board April 10, 1833, offering to go 
to Oregon to establish a mission among the Indians. Not receiving 
a reply, he wrote again May l7th, and again June 18th. In July, 
having in the meantime removed from Middlefield, Mass. to Ithaca, 
N. Y., he received an indefinite reply. On the first Monday in 
January, 1834, he spoke in the session house of the Ithaca Presby- 
terian Church, boldly proposing that that church send him on the 
Oregon mission, and calling for volunteers to accompany him. The 
church agreed and three young men at once offered. At 5 o'clock 
in the morning of May 5, 1834, there was a solemn farewell prayer- 
meeting in the session-house or chapel of the church, when Rev. 
Samuel Parker, Mr. Samuel All is, a sadler, one of the three who 
had volunteered, and Mr. John Dunbar, a senior in Auburn Semi- 
nary, started on the trip to Oregon. Reaching St. Louis too late 
to join the annual caravan of the American Fur Company, it was 
decided that Messrs. Allis and Dunbar should labor among the 
Pawnee Indians, while Mr. Parker should return to spend the in- 
tervening year in missionary meetings and collecting money. It 
was while he was holding these missionary meetings that he induced 

*See article 'Rev. Samuel Parker, Missionary to Oregon", by Rev. H. W. Parker, D. D. 
in "The Church at Home and Abroad", March, 1895. 

tHe made his home in the old red house (Judge George Honiells]. lie preaclied in the 
dining i-oom with his audience seated in that room. Mrs. Moore, Judge HornelPs daughter 
says; " Father became much attached to him and when he was about to leave requested' 
him to send them a minister to abide with them, and it was through Mr. Parker's influence 
that Rev. Robert Hubbard came here to labor, and who proved to be such a blessing to all 
that region ol country". It is understood that Judge Hornell was hopefully converted in 
connection with the labors of Mr. Parker.— Rev. William A. Xiles, I). I)., in "Seini-i-'enten- 
nial Anniversary of the Hornellsville Ohuroli". 


Marcus Whitman and Narcissa Prentiss to unite with him in the 
Oregon mission. March 4, 1S35, Mr. Parker again left Ithaca and 
was joined at St. Louis by Dr. Whitman. They traveled westward 
with the fur-traders' caravan until they reached southwestern Wyo- 
ming and conferred with the Flathead and Nez Perce Indians who 
were waiting for the missionaries. It was decided that Mr. Parker 
should go on, while Dr. Wiiitman should return for more mission- 
aries, and come to Oregon in 1836. 

Marcus Whitman, M. D.,* was born in Kushville, N. Y., Sept. 4, 
1802. Looking to the ministry, he was persuaded by his brothers 
to become a physician. He graduated at the Fairfield (N. Y.) Med- 
ical Institute in 1824, and practiced four years in Canada. He then 
settled in Wheeler, N. Y., where he became an elder in the then 
existing Presbyterian Church. It was while practicing there that 
he met Mr. Parker and was persuaded to go to Oregon. « Miss Nar- 
cissa Prentiss, when induced by Mr. Parker to go to the western 
mission, was a member of the Angelica Church. She was a daughter 
of Judge Stephen Prentiss, and the family until a short time before 
this lived in Prattsburg and were members of the Prattsbnrg Church. 
Dr. Whitman and Miss Prentiss, both having promised to give 
themselves to the Oregon mission, introduced by Mr. Parker, gave 
themselves to one another, and after a Sabbath evening service early 
in 1836 in the Angelica Church were married by the pastor Rev. 
Leverett Hullf . Rev. Henry H. Spalding was born in Bath, N. Y., 
Nov. 26, 1803, and at 22 united with the Prattsburg Church, where 
in the Franklin Academy he was trained for college. He graduated 
from Western Reserve College in 1832, and very soon married Miss 
Eliza Hart];, also a student in the college, and a native of Holland 

•See article " Dr. Whitman, Missionary to Oregon", by Rev. H. W.Parker, D. D., in '"The 
Church at Home and Abroad", March, 1896. For a more detailed account see "The Story 
of Marcus Whitman", by Rev. J. G. CraiKhead, D. D., published by the Presbyterian Board. 

t After the wedding occurred an aflfectins scene which is thus described in the " Golden 
Rule", Jan. 12, 1893: Some fifty years ago there took place in a rural town in New York, a 
simple service that touched the hearts of all who witnessed it. It had reference to the de- 
parture of a missionary for Oregon. The missionary was a young lady, greatly beloved in 
the town of her residence. She was a member of the choir. A hymn, then familiar, was 
given out by the minister, beginning. " Yes, my native land. I love thee". As it was being 
sung many of the singers were deeply affected, and one by one ceased to sustain the simple 
melody The young missionary found herself at last singing quite alone — 
"Scenes of sacred peace and pleasure. 
Holy days and Sabbath bell. 
Richest, brightest, sweetest pleasure. 
Can I say a last farewell"? 
Years afterward this incident was diistinctly recalled when it was announced that this wo- 
man's influence as the wife of the pioneer missionary had much contributed in bringing to 
the United States a territory larger in extent than Great Britain and Ireland, and nearly 
four times as large as New England. This vast region Is now known as Oregon, Washing- 
ton, and Idaho. 

JFor incidents in the lives of Mrs. Whitman and Mrs. Spalding see article " Three Hero- 
ines of the Nez Perces Mission", by Rev. F. F. Ellinwood, D. P.. in the "Missionary Review," 
March, 1894. An error in this article is that of placing the Whitman-Prentiss marriage at 
P'enn Yan. The records of the Angelica Church show that ''Stephen Prentiss and Clarissa, 
his wife, Narcissa, Clarissa, Harriet R., and Edward W., their children", were received into 
the church Sept. 27, 18.35. They remained members as many entries show until May 9, 1842, 
when they were dismissed to the (Juba Church. The following is a record of a meeting Feb". 
18,1836: •' The church met agreeable to previous notice for the ordination of elders elect, 
when ihe following persons were set apart to this oflQce in due form and order, to-wit: Ste- 
phen Prentiss, Jacob Schoonover, and Charles Patrick. And session ordered a letter to our 
sister, Narcissa Prentiss, who is destined to the missions beyond the Rocky Mountains. Ad- 
journed. Closed with prayer. L. Hull, Moderator". This puts beyond possibility of doubt 
the fact that the Prentiss family at the time of the marriage lived in Angelica and that the 
wedding look place in Angelica. Mr. George H. Hull, of New York City, son of Rev. and 
Mrs. Leverett Hull, has discovered among his mother's papers letters from Mrs. Whitman 
written on the journey westward and after reaching the mission field. These letters are 
both interesting and important. 


There is no authentic likeness of Dr. Whitman in existence. This is the final result of an 

attempt to reproduce his appearance from the recollections and criticisms of many 

who knew him. The plate was loaned by Rev. D. J. McMillan, D. D., 

Corresponding Secretary of the Presbyterian Home 

Mission Board, New York. 


Patent, N. Y. Mr. Spalding* studied for the ministry at Lane 
Seminary under Dr. Lyman Beecherand Mrs. Spalding studied with 
him. Ordained by Bath Presbytery in 1835, Mr. and Mrs. Spalding 
were on the way to enter upon an appointment of the American 
Board as missionaries to the Osage Indians in Western New York 
when they were overtaken by Dr. Marcus Whitman. Dr. Whitman 
proposed that they should go with him to Oregon. Question and 
answer passed between the two conveyances in rapid succession until 
they reached Howard, N. Y., where in a private room in a tavern 
Mr. and Mrs Spalding yielded to Dr. Whitman's proposition. The 
Whitmans and Spaldings proceeded to their work together, Mrs. 
Whitman and Mrs. Spalding being the first white women to cross 
the Rockies. Dr. Whitman succeeded in taking a wagon over the 
mountains to Oregon. In 1842 there came to Dr. Whitman, busy- 
ing himself in his mission work among the Indians, news that the 
Oregon territory, then undefined country between the United States, 
the Pacific, and Great Britain, was about to be " traded off to Eng- 
land for a cod-fishery in Newfoundland". Oct. 3. 1842, in the face 
of a Rocky mountain winter, and at the risk of being dismissed by 
the American Board for his unauthorized deed, he started on horse- 
back for Washington to remonstrate with President Tyler and Sec- 
retary of State Daniel Webster. After terrible sufferings he reached 
St. Louis, and pressed on to Washington, reaching there March 3, 
1843. It is now clearly apparent that his representations at Wash- 
ington, and the large emigration to Oregon in 1843 of which he 
was the moving spiritf — 875 persons, 111 wagons, and about 3,000 
horses and cattle — saved the Oregon country to the United States. 
November 29, 1847, Dr. and Mrs. Whitman with thirteen others 
were brutally murdered by evil disposed Indians. The Spaldings 
living 110 miles away escaped but were obliged to give up their 
work. Later in life Mr. Spalding returned and before his death, 
Aug. 3, 1874, received into the church very nearly 1000 Indians. 

*See article "Rev. and Mrs. H. H. Spalding: Their Life and Work", by Rev. G. L. Deffen- 
baugh, in '"The Church at Home and Abroad", August, 1897. 

t " It was October, forty-two, 

When the clattering" hoof-beats died away 

On the Walla Walla, that fateful day. 

It was September, forty three — 

Little less than a year, you see — 

When the woman who waited, thought she heard 

The clatter of hoof-beats that she knew 

On the Walla Walla again. "'What word 

From Whitman?'' Whitman himself ! And see! 

What do her glad eyes look upon? 

The first of two hundred wagons roll 

Into the valley before her. He, 

Who, a year ago, had left her side. 

Had brought them over the Great Divide — 

Men, women, and children, a thousand souls— 

The .■Vrmy to occupy Oregon." 

— From ■•Whitniairs Ride." by Wioe Wellington Rolhns, 


Rev. Joseph L. Whiting, for the last 28 years a missionary of the 
Presbyterian Board at Pekin, China, went out from the Jasper 
Church. Rev. Albert W. Hubbard, since 1873 a missionary of the 
American Board at Sivas, Turkey, was born in Cameron. He is a 
sou of Chauncey P. Hubbard, once prominent in the Cameron 
Church, and later an elder in the WoodhuU Church, and a brother 
of Chauncey G. Hubbard, M. D., an elder in the Hornellsville 1st 
Church. For a time he supplied the Woodhull Church. Just be- 
fore sailing for Turkey Mr. Hubbard was married to Miss Emma 
Spencer, a daughter of Judge Spencer, of Corning. In 1876 Miss 
Olive Whiting went from the Jasper Church to Japan as a mission- 
ary of the Presbyterian Board. Four years later she was married to 
Rev. Charles Bishop of the Methodist Church. Miss Mary W. Niles, 
M. D., who grew up in the Corning and Hornellsville Churches 
where her father, Rev. William A. Niles, D. D., was pastor, has 
been since 1888, when she went to Canton, China, as a medical mis- 
sionary, the esteemed missionary of the Woman's Presbyterial Soci- 
etv. Her work is followed by the churches as that of no other mis- 
sionarv. Rev. Gilbert Reid, who has succeeded marvelously in in- 
teresting Li Hung Chang and many other high Chinese officials in 
iin " International Institute " for China to be situated at Pekin, 
and who has succeeded in winning for this work the services of Rev, 
William A. P. Martin, D. D., LL.D., for so many years President 
of the Imperial Tungwen College in Pekin, went out from the An- 
gelica Church. His father was pastor of the Angelica Church from 
1868 to 1874, and he himself ministered to this church the summer 
immediately preceding his departure for China. Mr. Reid wes ten 
years a missionary of the Presbyterian Board at Chinanfu, China, 
before entering upon his present mission to the higher classes. 

Two Presbyterian missionaries in Siam are claimed by the Howard 
Church — Rev. A. Willard Cooper, and his sister, Miss Larissa Coop- 
er. Their father was pastor of the Howard Church from 1881 to 
1885. Mr. Cooper was ordained by Steuben Presbytery at Corning 
Sept. 15, 1885. He reached Siam with his wife Jan. 15, 1886, but 
after sixteen months work Mrs. Cooper's health failed. For the 
sake of Mrs. Cooper they came to this country where Mrs. Cooper 
died in 1890. At his own request Mr. Cooper was returned by the 
Board as a missionary to Siam, his sister going with him as a com- 
panion. Very soon Miss Cooper became a teacher in the girl's 
school at Bangkok. Miss Jennie Ordway of Jasper was for a time a 
missionary of the Home Board at Salina, Utah, and later at Taos, 
New Mexico. A member of the Brazil Presbyterian mission is Rev. 
James B. Rodgers. He came to the Belmont Church as a graduate 

Statue on the front wall of the Witherspoon Building, Philadelphia. 


of Auburn Seminary in June, 1888, and after service as a pastor 
there until the fall of 1889, sailed for Brazil and is stationed at Ri- 
achwelo, 12 miles from Rio de Janeiro. Rev. Joseph P. White, who 
supplied the Howard Church during 1894, had been with his wife 
for two years in mission work among the miners of Juneau, Alaska, 
and Rev. Hezekiah Webster, the present pastor of the Howard 
Church, was from 1874 to 1877 a tutor in Robert College at Con- 
stantinople. Rev. Frank P. Oilman, a missionary of the Presbyte- 
rian Church at Hainan, China, supplied the Belmont Church during 
the seminary vacation of 1883. From 1885 to 1888 Rev. Duncan Cam- 
eron, pastor of the Canisteo Church from 1889 to 1897, was a Presby- 
terian missionary in Chili, South America. The wife of Rev. Court- 
ney H. Feun, since 1893 a missionary of the Presbyterian Church in 
Pekin, China, was Miss Alice May of Corning, and Mr. Fenn him- 
self is a grandson of Rev. Robert E. Willson, once pastor of the 
Hammondsport Church, and later, of the Corning Church. 


The Woman's Presbyterial Society was organized in Corning April 
18, 1876. The report of the first secretary, Mrs. James McBurney, 
reads thus : *• The meeting was called to order by Mrs. Dr. W. A. 
Niles, Hornellsville, and held in the parlors of the Presbyterian 
church. It was opened with a devotional service", A noticeable 
feature was the presence of the pastor's wife and the wives of three 
former pastors, Mrs. M. L. P. Hjll, Mrs. Wm. A. Niles, Mrs. Dar- 
win Chichester, and Mrs. F. W. Graves. The following officers were 
elected : President, Mrs. Wm. A. Niles, Hornellsville; Vice-Presi- 
dents, Mrs. F. W. Graves, Corning, Mrs. Fairchild, Hammonds- 
port, Mrs. Sturdevant, Prattsburg, and Mrs. N. K. Hyatt, Pulteney; 
Corresponding Secretary, Mrs. N. C. Taylor, Canisteo; Recording 
Secretary, Mrs, James McBurney, Corning; Treasurer, Miss Lillie 
Clark, Hammondsport; Auditor, Mrs. Judson, Prattsburg. 

Seventeen of the 21 churches in the presbytery organized societies 
auxiliary to the Presbyterial Society during the first two years of its 
existence. In the fall of 1876 a semi-annual meeting of the society 
was held in Hornellsville in connection with the meeting of synod. 
The following named returned missionaries were present: Mrs. Dr. 
H. S. West, Sivas, Turkey; Rev. George W. Coan, Persia; and Rev. 
Maxwell Phillips, Mexico City. At the semi-annual meeting in 
Pulteney, Sept. 10, 1878, Miss Kelsey, medical missionary to China, 
was adopted as the missionary of the society and so remained until 
her resignation in 1881, Since then Miss Mary W. Niles, M. D., 


of Canton, China, has been the beloved foreign representative of the 
society. The home work has been changed many times. The soci- 
ety has helped build school houses, pay teachers' salaries, send chil- 
dren to school— in fact, whatever was laid out for it to do. At pres- 
ent the society is interested in the work in Alaska, in the Ashville 
Farm School, and in the Haines Normal and Industrial Institute in 
Augusta, Ga. In 1895 the society published a Silver Jubilee me- 
morial of " Missionaries from the Presbytery of Steuben". 

The Presbyterial Society has been of great benefit to the workers 
in the local societies in bringing them together once a year— some- 
times semi-annually. The attendance at the annual meeting, has 
not depended on the presence of a foreign speaker. Nevertheless, 
it has been the privilege of those in attendance to see face to face 
some of the well-known workers in both the home and foreign fields. 
In addition to those already mentioned, the following have been 
present at society meetings: Mr. and Mrs. Tracy, Turkey; Mr. Mc- 
Kinnie; Mrs. W. H. Niles, Texas; Miss Loring, Syria; Mrs. D. E. 
Finks, now editor of the " Home Mission Monthly"; Miss Alice 
Barber, who told about '* Our Sort of Folks"; Miss Mary W. Niles, 
M. D., Canton, China, missionary of the society; Mrs. Condit, San 
Francisco; Miss Alice Robertson, Indian Territory ; Rev. Gilbert 
Reid, Pekin, China; Mrs. L. A. Davis, Kansas; Miss Fanny Perley, 
Allahabad, India; Miss Babbitt, Mynpurie, India; and Miss Mary 
L. Cort, Siam. 

The presidents of the society have been: Mrs. William A. Niles, 
Hornellsville, (three times chosen), Mrs. P. M. Olney, Addison, 
Mrs. M. G. Hill, Corning, Mrs. Samuel W. Pratt, Campbell, Mrs. 
James M. Piatt, Bath, Mrs. Joel D. Gillet, Addison, Mrs. Ziba N. 
Bradbury, Pulteney, Mrs. Nathaniel C. Taylor, Canisteo, Mrs. Ben- 
ton McConnell, Hornellsville, Mrs. Francis A. Williams, Corning, 
Mrs. James R. Robinson, Painted Post, and Mrs. Edgar P. Salmon, 

Meetino-s of the society have been held with the churches in Ad- 
dison, Almond, Bath, Campbell, Canisteo, Cohocton, Corning, Cu- 
ba, Hammondsport, Hornellsville, Painted Post, Prattsburg, and 
Pulteney. Campbell has entertained five meetings of the society. 

In the year 1878, at the meeting in Pultney, we find the amount 
of contributions reported to be 11,053. 18 as against $512.52 in 1876— 
the societies having doubled their offerings in two years. The ban- 
ner year for offerings was 1894, when in spite of financial depression 
the sum given was $2,000, The increase of gifts was in a measure 
due to individual offerings from consecrated workers in Addison and 
Hornellsville, and to extra gifts from the Mission Bands. 

Miss MARY W. NILES. M. D.. Canton, China. 

<X)MMl NiCAXTtJ. 53 


1820 1830 1840 1850 1860 1870 1880 1890 1897 

1. Prattsburg 234 378 355 340 289 245 153 182 

2. Bath 65 90 157 200 220 210 260 367 380 

3. Cohocton 21 50 27 37 52 22 51 50 62 

4. Almond 237 310 375 205 150 145 163 

5. Angelica 160 40 125 134 81 62 74 

6. Corning 34 ... . 85 204 267 277 357 365 

7. Howard 30 ... 91 80 100 72 80 97 

8. Pulteney 98 119 113 86 90 117 156 143 

9. Andover 22 32 45 76 71 91 129 

10. Centerville 72 80 50 24 23 12 ... . 

11. Cuba 161 185 111 164 173 187 210 

12. Jasper 24.... 62 87 78 122 95 99 

13. Campbell.. 48 55 41 93 110 125 137 

14. Hammondsport 70 140 125 105 100 189 197 

15. Hornby 26 40 27 24 30 16 

16. WoodhuU 22 32 40 20 30 

17. Belmont 79 64 53 70 

18. Hornellsville. 1st 94 97 190 293 350 475 

19. Addison 20 43 92 85 110 163 195 

20. Painted Post 53 87 94 93 92 137 

21. Arkport 47 37 50 74 108 

22. Canisteo 47 63 118 155 351 

2*7 Canaseraga 36 62 90 

24. Hornellsville Hartshorn 107 

25. Atlanta 79 

26. A V oca • 105 


Sketches of Existing Churches. 

The Prattsburg Church* was the first organized, and to 1870 the 
largest in membership, of the churches now in Steuben Presbytery. 
The pioneer of Prattsburg was Capt. Joel Pratt, a Congregational ist, 
and his nephew, Jared Pratt, was the first permanent settler. Those 
who came first were largely Congregationalists and every settler for 
some years was taxed for the churchf. Mr. John Niles came with 
his family in 1803. He had been principal of Clinton Academy — 
now Hamilton College — and was a Congregational licentiate. The 
Sabbath after his arrival he conducted at Jared Pratt's house the 
li^rst service held in the town. June 26, 1804, a Congregational 
church of 15 members was organized at the house of John Niles by 
Rev. Timothy Field of Canandaigua. Mr. Niles received ordination 
from the Ontario Association June 11, 180G. He gave one half of 
his time to Prattsburg and the other half to Bath until 1808J when 
he removed to Bath. Previous to Mar. 0, 1839, the government of 
this church was purely Congregational. From that date it was 
o-overned by a standing committee chosen by ballot in classes annu- 
ally, of which the pastor was chairman. Nov. 18, 1808. elders 
were elected and the church became fully Presbyterian. 

In 1840 the membership was 378. By 1876 there had been #- 
ceived into membership 1,367. This church gave about 11,400 for 
Auburn Theological Seminary at its founding in 1820. Rev. James 
H. Hotchkin and Judge Robert Porter were members of the original 
Board of Commissioners§. In this church were reared Henry H. 

* See "History of Western New York."" by Rev. James H. Hotchkiu, pp. 4(53-407; "Centeii- 
iiial Sernion'", by Rev. Samuel W.Pratt, published in " PrattsbuiK News-Extra", .July 6, 
1876; and " Histoi-y of Uie Settlement ot Steul)en ('ounly". by Uuy H. McMaster. pp. ISO- 
ISO ' 

t " Mr. Pratt had determined to form a church as well as a town. * * * With a view to tlie 
accomplishment of this object, he required every person to whom he sold land, to give a 
note t« the amount of *15 on each lou acres of land purchased by him. payable within a giv- 
eu time, with the legal interest annually, till paid to the trustees of the religious society 
which should be formed". -McMaster. 

t The following resolution brings to mind the fact that the fathers kept Saturday night: 
•'"Voted Oct. 11, ISOS. that the members of the church will not att«nd raisings or other simi- 
lar associations on Saturday in the afternoon". Deacon l.,oomis was diligent in prosecuting 
all who traveled on Sunday in the township. The outside world called the Prattsburg peo- 
ple "Blue Presbyterians"".— Rev. Samuel W Pratt. 

S As president of the Board of Commissioners, Mr. Hotchkin presided Oct 9,1821 when 
the first professors of the Seminarv were installed. 


Spalding, Dr. Marcus Whitman's associate, and Narcissa Prentiss 
who shortly after leaving Prattsburg became Mrs. Whitman. Be- 
sides a score of ministers' wives, the following have gone out from 
this church: Silas C. Brown, David Judson, Beriah B. Hotch- 
kin, John W. Hopkins, Edmund F. Waldo, Theron Loomis, 
Henry H. Spalding, William Beardslee, David Malin, D. D., Robert 
L. Porter. Charles W. Gurney, Edward Prentiss, Levi Waldo, Cyrus 
C. Rosenkrants, James M. McLean, Joel Wakeman, D. D., Silas F. 
Judson, George Soutiiworth, Piatt H, Skinner, Edwin S. Skinner, 
David F. Judson, J. Merrill Manning, D. D., John E. Benton. 
Norman Prentiss, James H. Phelps, Theron L. Waldo, and Theo- 
dore B. Williams*. 

In 1806 a building was raised which cost $220. In 1808 it was 
enlarged. In 1820 this building was sawn apart from the ridge of 
the roof, one-half moved 11 feet out, and the space built up anew. 
So it remained until the present edifice was built, which was dedicat- 
ed Feb. 13, 1828, and cost about $4,000t. In 1880 the interior was 
remodeled and the spire rebuilt, at a cost of $6,000, including fur- 
nishing. The manse was built in 1832-3 at an expense of $850. 

The following is a list of the ministers: John Niles. 1803-8; 
James H. Hotchkin, P., 1809-30:j;; George R. Judd, P., 1830-36; 
Samuel Griswold, 1836-7; B. Foster Pratt, P., 1838-41; Aaron 
Judson, 1841-3; Benjamin C. Smith, P., 1844-59; David D. Gre- 
gory, P., 1860-6; D. Henry Palmer, D. D., 1867-71; Samuel W. 
Pratt, 1872-6; Frederick D. Seward, 1877-9; Lawrence M. Stevens, 
1879-87; John M. Wolcott, 1887-90; and George W. Warren, P., 
1890 to the present time. 

The following have served as elders: Chaiies G. Higby, U. Tracy 
Carpenter, Luther Sturdevant, John D. Hotchkin, Paul C. Howe, 
Wm. S. Foster, Martin Miner, James H. Hotchkin, Ashman Daboll. 

* That sn many ministers and ministers' wives have gone out from Prattsburg- is explained 
l)y the fact that Franklin A'^ademy was there— from the first as now standing close by the 
ohurch. Its origin was almost wholly due to members of the Presbyterian cliurch. In 1832 
the question of an academy was agitated. In 1R23 the inhabitants of Prattsburg voluntarily 
taxed themselves $2,0flo for the erection of this academy, besides raising over $3,000 for a 
permanent fund. The Regents' charter of Franklin Academy bears the date Feb. 25 1824. 
In 1808 this institution became Franklin Academy and Union Free School. ' 

t There never was any stove in tlie old church. Mr. Hotchkin used often to preach with 
striped mittens on. The women used foot-stoves— the men endured it as best they could 
Members of the church carried on distilleries in those days but drunkenness was disciplined 
Ten gallons of whiskey were once given to Mr. Hotchkin at a donation.— Rev Samuel W 

t With the exception of a year or two he gave his life after 1809 to Steuben County. He was 
liorii Feb 23, 17H1. at Cornwall, Conn, and died ;it Prattsburg, Sept. 8, 1851. Rev. Beriah 
Hotchkin was his father. He graduated from Williams College in 1800. He may be said to 
have been the father of Bath Presbytery. His monumental work is his " History of West- 
ern New York "—invaluable for information concerning the beginnings of Presbyterianism 
and Congregationalism in Western New York, the organization of all the presbyteries and 
associations, and sketches of all Presbyterian churches organized before 1846. It was pub- 
lished in 18-18. For the resolution on death of Hotchkin, see minutes of Bath Presbytery 
• Jan. 3, 1852, -^ •' 


Stephen A. Jackson, Elias Wygant, Dvvight S. Cook*, John A. 
Parker, D. Webster Baldwin, Addison Aixswokth. Henry J. 
Pinneo, George W. Howe, Edward P. St. John, Sebastian ii. 
Lewis, and Henry G, Skinner. 

June 10, 180e>, the church was enrolled in Ontario Association. 
Sept. 21, 1813, it was received into Geneva Presbytery, in 1817 into 
Bath Presbytery, and since 1862 it has belonged to Steuben Presby- 
terv. The following stated presbytery meetings have been held 
here: Bath— 1817, 1821-3-7, 1833, 1842-5-7, 1850-2, and 1861. 
Steuben— ISdb, 1870-3, 1882, and 1890. Presbytery has selected 
from Prattsburg the following commissioners to General Assembly: 
Rev. James H. Hotchkin, Philadelphia, 1815-16, 1823, and 1826; 
Robert Porter, Philadelphia, 1816, and 1827; Stephen Prentiss, 
Philadelphia, 1819; Elam Bridges, Philadelphia, 1823, and 1831; 
Rev. George R. Rudd, Philadelphia, 1832; Jacob VanValkenburg, 
Philadelphia, 1833; Rev. B. Foster Pratt, Philadelphia, 1839; Rev. 

B. C. Smith, Detroit, 1850; James H. Hotchkin, Jr., Washington, 
1852, Pittsburg, 1860, Cincinnati, 1862, and Chicago, 1877; Rev. 
David D. Gregory, Cincinnati, 1862; L. Sturdevant, Brooklyn, 1865; 

C. C. Baldwin, St. Louis, 1866; Paul C. Howe, New York, and 
Pittsburg, 1869, and Buffalo, 1881; Rev. D. Henry Palmer, D. D., 
Chicago, 1871; U. T. Carpenter, Baltimore, 1873; Rev. Samuel W. 
Pratt, Cleveland, 1875; and Rev. Lawrence M. Stevens, Cincinnati, 

1885. Rev. James H. Hotchkin was stated clerk of Bath Presby- 
tery from 1817 to 1830, Rev. George R. Rudd from 1830 to 1836, 
Rev. B. Foster Pratt from 1836 to 1843, and Rev. Benjamin C. 
Smith from 1852 to 1856. The Y. P. S. C. E. was organized in 

1886, the first in Steuben Coimty, holding its first meeting Oct. 4, 

THE BATH CHURCH (1808-1897). 
On Jan. 6, 1806, in the school house on Pulteney Square, Mr. 
John Niles, the Prattsburg Congregational licentiate, organized 
"The Bathf Religious Society". Mr. Niles visited this society 
frequently, and on Jan. 3, 1808, completed the church organization^ 
by receiving 14 members, adopting the name "The Church of 
Christ in Bath, Presbyterian Congregation", choosing the Congre- 

* Small capitals indicate the present elders. This holds true in all the following sketches 
of individual churches. 

t Captain Williamson planned to make Bath the "Tyre of the West "—to divert traffic 
'rom the Mohawk and Hudson to the Cohocton, ('hemung and Susquehanna.— See McMaster, 
•"»History of the Settlement of Steuben County", page 71. 

t bee "Historical Sermon", (1893), by Rev. Marcus N. Preston, in "Bath's Centennial" ; "His- 
tory of Western New York", by Rev. James H. Hotchkin. pp. 477-481; and "History of 
Steuben County", by Guy H. McMaster. 

Elder MOSES VAN CAMPEN, Angelica. 

Elder VIAL THOMAS, Angelica. 

Elder JOSHUA SARGENT, Jasper. 

Elder JOHN CORYELL, Pulteney. 

Elder CHAUNCEY B. SMITH, Hornellsville. Elder JOEL D. GILLET, Addison. 


gational form of government, and electing Joseph Inslee and Sam- 
uel S. Haight deacons. The charter members were Joseph and 
Elizabeth Inslee, William and Elizabeth Aulls, James Turner, 
Eunice Johnson, Henry A. and Elizabeth Townsend, Howell and 
Eunice Bull, Robert Campbell, Mary Shether, and Samuel S. and 
Mary Haight. Rev. John Niles was installed pastor by a committee 
of the Ontario Association July ?, 1808. Sept. 18, 1811, the 
church was enrolled in Geneva Presbytery and shortly after by ad- 
vice of presbytery became fully Presbyterian by electing as elders 
William Aulls, Elias Hopkins, Samuel S. Haight, Henry A. Town- 
send, and Howell Bull. 

This is the only church now in presbytery which was "Old School". 
Aug. 28, 1837, probably due to the influence of Rev. Isaac W. 
Piatt, a majority of the congregation voted to withdraw from Bath 
Presbytery and to seek admission to Susquehanna Presbytery (0. S.). 
A little later, 19 members and two of the three elders, desiring to 
retain connection with the neighboring churches in Bath Presbytery, 
withdrew and organized the Presbyterian Church of Bath (Consti- 
tutional). An edifice was erected in 1841 on the site of the present 
Purdy Opera House. This remained an independent church until 
in 1870 it was reunited to the original church. From about 1862 
to 1870 it was a Congregational church. The following are the 
ministers who served it: William Strong, Oris Eraser, P., Hiram 
Gregg, Samuel Porter, Sabine McKinney, Loren W^. Russ, P., 
George Hood, P., Edwin Benedict, H. E. Johnson, C. H. DeLong, 
and William Dewey. The elders who served were John Emerson, 
Ira Gould, John Dudley, Moses F. Whittemore, Daniel Seaver, 
Joseph Breck, and John Rose. During its existence this second 
church received 211 members. 

The edifice used by the original church until 1874 was dedicated 
Mar. 2, 1825. In 1874 this was removed that the present stately 
church might be built. It was dedicated in 1877, having cost ex- 
clusive of the towers $50,000. In 1894 the towers were raised at a 
cost of about $12,000. During 1897 the auditorium and lecture 
room were extensively changed and beautified and a new organ pur- 
chased — all made possible by the generosity of the late John Daven- 
port, and of his brother Ira Davenport. The Y. P. S. C. E. was 
organized in 1886. Worthy of record is the success of the late 
Harry S. Hull, who gathered a class of young men into the Sunday 
School which averaged 100 in attendance each Sunday for 6 months. 

Bath Church has belonged to the following presbyteries: Geneva, 
1811-17; Bath, 1817-37; Susquehanna (0. S.), 1837-8; Caledonia 
(0. S.), 1838-42; Steuben (0. S.), 1842-53; Genesee River (0. S.), 


1853-70; and Steuben, 1870 to the present. Exclusive of Old School 
meetings, Bath has entertained stated meetings of presbyteries as fol- 
lows: Gefteva—18U; Bath— 19,11, 1820, 1824, 1831, 1834, 1838, 1842, 
1846, 1850, 1852, 1856, and 1861; Steuben— l^'tO, 1877, 1886, and 
1892. Exclusive of those chosen by Old School presbyteries, Bath 
has had commissioners to General Assembly as follows: Rev. John 
Niles, Philadelphia, 1812; Elias Hopkins, Philadelphia, 1812, 1816, 
and 1821; Samuel S. Haight, Philadelphia, 1812; Rer. David 
Higgins, 1820, and 1831; James G. Higgins, Philadelphia, 1832; 
Joseph Breck, Philadelphia, 1849; Rev. Edwin Benedict, New 
York, 1856; Rev. James M. Piatt, D. D., Baltimore, 1873; Edwin 
H. Hastings, Madison, 1880; Zenas L. Parker, Minneapolis, 1886; 
and Rev. Marcus N. Preston, Portland, 1892. Rev. Edwin Bene- 
dict was stated clerk of Bath Presbytery from 1857 to 1858; Rev. 
James M. Piatt, D. D., of Steuben Presbytery from 1870 to 1884; 
and Rev. Marcus N. Preston of Steuben Presbytery from 1889 to 


The following in the ministry have labored with this church: 
John Niles, P., 1808-12; David Higgins, P*., 1812-31; Isaac W. 
Piatt, P., 1831-44; L. Merrill Miller, D. D., 1844-51; George D. 
Stewart, D. D., 1851-9; William E. Jones, D. D., 1859-64; James 
M. Harlow, 1864-9; James M. Piatt, D. D., P., 1869-84; Marcus 
N. Preston, 1884-96; and Charles Noble Frost, P., 1896 to the 
present time. 

The list of elders is as follows: William Aulls, Elias Hopkins, 
Samuel S. Haight, Henry A. Townsend, Howell Bull, Finla Mc- 
Lure, Lyman Hopkins, Thomas Aulls, Phinehas Warren, Peter 
Halsey, James G. Higgins, John Emerson, Samuel Rice, Ira Gould, 
Louis Biles, John W. Fowler, Gustavus A. Rogers, David McMas- 
ter, Edward Crosby, Samuel Ensign, Zenas L. Parker, A. H. 
Otis, Edwin H. Hastings, Ambrose Kasson, M. D., Tenney K. 
Gage, Charles VanWie, John F. Parkhurst, B. F. Smith, Se- 
bastian G. Lewis, Eugene F. Parker, John H. Bowlbt, and 
Henry 0. Elkins. 

* "A short, rotund, sunshiny man".— Rev. S. M. Campbell, D. D., in "Sanctuary Memo- 
ries" Mr. Higgins was a charter trustee of Auburn Seminary. He removed to Norwalk, 
Ohio in 1835, and there died June 19, 1842, aged 81, in the 55th year of his ministry. For an 
appreciative sketch of Mr. Higgins, see Hotchkin's " History of Western New York", pp. 


Though* the " Bivens Corners" settlement began about 1795, 
not a sermon was preached within the limits of the present town 
until 1807. But one Congregationalist lived there and no Presby- 
terians. In 1807 Elijah Parker and Stephen Crawford, New Eng- 
land Congregationalists, came with their families, and at once 
started religious services in their houses. Rev. Abijah Warren was 
engaged in June, 1809, to supply them one-third of his time for a 
year, and on Oct. 8, 1809, a Congregational church was organized 
by him with nine members — Elijah and Mertable Parker, Stephen 
and Ruth Crawford, Obadiah and Sybel Woodward, John and Jeru- 
sha Slack, and Martha Fowler. There was no edifice for about 20 
years, services generally being held at the house of Horace Fowler. 
Jan. 30, 1821, the church was enrolled in Bath Presbytery, so re- 
maining until in 1862 it came into Steuben Presbytery. Elijah 
Parker was the first deacon. In 1829 Horace Fowler and Constant 
Cook were elected trustees and a church built which was dedicated 
Feb. 3, 1830. In 1825 there were 46 members, and about 100 in 
1830. To 1825 the supplies were Rev. A. C. Collins, ''Father" 
Daniel Nash, Rev. Enoch Whipple, Rev. Mr. Ransom, Rev. Wm. 
Stone, Rev. Noah Smith, Rev. Joseph Crawford, and Rev. Stalham 
Clary. From 1825 to 1830 the supplies were Revs. Linus W. Bil- 
lington, Jeremiah Pomeroy, James H. Hotchkin, and Sidney S. 

From 1832 to 1868 were discouraging years. In 1846 there were 
but 27 members. From 1835 to 1850 the records have been lost. 
From 1843 to 1847 Rev. Stalham Clary supplied. In 1850 the 
church became Presbyterian, in 1853 Congregational again, and on 
Oct. 21, 1854, finally Presbyterian. Rev. Joseph Strough preached 
from 1850 to his death in June, 1854; then Rev. A. T. Wood for 
about two years; then Rev. J. Wood worth for over two years. From 
March, 1861, to 1869 Rev. M. B. Gelston of Naples preached occa- 

The church was reorganized Aug. 6, 1869. The old edifice and 
a manse were sold and the proceeds devoted to a new church which 
was dedicated Nov. 14, 1872. At the same time Rev. Charles B. 
Austin was installed the first pastor, remaining until Feb. 27, 1876. 
Rev. John Waugh came July 15, 1878, was installed Nov. 7, 1878, 
and remained pastor until Apr. 3, 1893. He died in Cohocton Oct. 
20, 1897, aged 83. The 50th anniversary of his ordination was 
celebrated in Cohocton in July, 1890. In 1889-90 the church was 

* Most of the facts of this sketch were furnished by J. Leonard Waugh. 


repaired. The manse was built in 1879. In Oct., 1893, Rev. Frank 
S. Swan, M. D., the present pastor, began his work. In 1895, mainly 
by the effort of Edgar A. Higgins, a chapel was added to the church. 
The Y. P. S. C. E. was organized in 1887. 

Besides Elijah Parker, these have been deacons: Stephen Craw- 
ford, Horace Fowler, Allers Haight, Calvin Blood, and Alphonso 
Bacon. The following were ordained elders in the years named: 
1850, Dennis Conner, Abram Waugh, and A. A. Slack; 1855, Calvin 
Blood; 1856, C. V. K. Woodworth; 1859, Charles W. Bronson, and 
Melvin H. Davis; 1864, A. H. Bacon; 1869, Philip C. Hoag; 1881, 
Samuel F. Woodworth, and Thomas B. Fowler, M. D.; 1897, 
Clifford M. Crouch, and Samuel J. Depew. 

Cohocton has had stated meetings of Bath Presbytery in 1825, 
1829, 1851, 1856, and 1858, and of Steuben Presbytery in 1875, 
1878, 1885, and 1897. The following from Cohocton have been 
commissioners to General Assembly: Abram Waugh, Utica, 1851, 
and Chicago, 1858; Calvin Blood, New York, 1856; Philip C. Hoag, 
Cleveland, 1875; Rev. John Waugh, Saratoga, 1884; Samuel F. 
Woodworth, Cincinnati, 1885; and Thomas B. Fowler, M. D., Sar- 
atoga. 1890. 

THE CORNING CHURCH (1811-1897). 
This church* was known originally as the First Presbyterian 
Church of Painted Post. During 1810 the people of Painted Post 
township engaged Rev. Clement , Hickman to preach to them and 
July 1, IBll, a Presbyterian church was organized by Rev. John 
Niles of Bath. Aug. 19, 1812, it was enrolled in Geneva Presbytery 
and Aug. 25, 1812, Rev. Clement Hickman was ordained and in- 
stalled. The church included members in all parts of Painted 
Post township — now Hornby, Campbell, Erwin, Corning, Lindley, 
and Caton. Meetings were held in different places to accommodate 
a larger number. From 1816 to 1821 there was no minister and a 
part of the time no Sabbath service, but owing to the devotion of 
some women — among them Mrs. Bonham, Mrs. Ann McCall, and 
Mrs. John McBurney — the prayer meeting and Sabbath School were 
maintained. When William Steele came, already an elder, regular 
worship was established. While Rev^. Thomas Lounsbury ministered 
the field extended from Big Flats to Campbell and the labors of the 
Sabbath were divided between three or four settlements. In 1831-2 
during the ministry of Rev. David Higgins 60 were added to the 

* Many of the facts for this sketch were furnished by Rev. Alfred J. Hutton, D. D. See 
Hotchkin, "History of Western Mew York", pp. 451-4M. 

Elder SOLOMON CLARK, Hammondsport. 

Elder MOSES LOCKHART, Almond. 

Elder GEORGE KARR. Almond. 

Elder HENRY A. MEAD, Cuba. 

Elder CHARLES J. CHATFIELD, Painted Post. Elder ZENAS L. PARKER, Bath 


church. About this time the first edifice was built in what is now 
the 5th Ward at a cost of $3,000 and dedicated free from debt. 
Under the ministry of Re\. Samuel M. Hopkins, afterwards for 50 
years professor of Church History in Auburn Seminary, a new 
church was built on the south side of the river for $2,700 and dedi- 
cated clear of debt Apr. 28, 1842. Aug. 10, 1843, the name was 
changed to that of the First Presbyterian Church of Corning. 

Early in 1845 a second church was organized under the old name. 
Painted Post 1st, from 46 members who presented letters from the 
Corning Church. Rev. Horatio Pattengill, D. D., was the only 
pastor, and Apr. 2, 1849, it was reunited to the parent church. In 
1853, during the ministry of Rev. Robert E. Willson, Rev. Samuel 
D. Burchard, D. D., assisted in special meetings and 84 were added 
at one communion. During the ministry of Rev. William A. Niles, 
D. D., there were two revivals — one in 1864, and another in 1866 
when Rev. E. P. Hammond assisted and 80 were received into mem- 
bership. In 1867, during Dr. Niles' ministry, the present church 
edifice was erected at a cost of $50,000. During Rev, John S. Ba- 
con's ministry, the manse was built on the site of a former manse. 
It is valued at about $7,000. 

The following have gone out from this church to the ministry or 
mission field: Robert F. Sample, D. D., Phinehas Wolcott Calkins, 
Frederick Calkins, William Henry Niles, Miss Mary W, Niles, M. D., 
of China, Mrs. Emma Spencer Hubbard, of Turkey, Thomas H. 
Hedges, and Horace Pond. A Young People's Society organized 
in 1866 was reorganized Apr. 1, 1889, into the Y. P. S. C. E. The 
Woman's Missionary Society was organized in 1876, the Young 
Ladies' Missionary Society in 1879, and the Busy Bees in 1883. 

From 1812 to 1817 this church belonged to Geneva Presbytery, 
from 1817 to 1836 to Bath Presbytery, from 1836 to 1862 to Che- 
mung Presbytery, and since then it has been a part of Steuben Pres- 
bytery. Corning has had the following stated meetings of presby- 
teries: Bath — 1822, and 1834; Chemung — 1837, 1842, 1851, and 
1858; Steuben— \S<6'^, 1867, 1872, 1876, 1885, 1889, and 1895. The 
following commissioners to General Assembly have been selected 
from Corning: William Steele, Philadelphia, 1822, 1824, and 1829; 
John C. Hayt, Philadelphia, 1838; Rev. Robert E. Willson, St.' 
Louis, 1855; Rev. William A. Niles, D. D., St. Louis, 1866, and 
Philadelphia, 1870; William D. Terbell, M. D., Rochester, 1867; 
Francis A. Williams, Detroit, 1872, and Saratoga, 1883; Henry C. 
May, M. D., Brooklyn, 1876; Rev. M. L. P. Hill, D. D., Saratoga, 
1879; Rev. John S. Bacon, Saratoga, 1890; and Edward Clisdell, 
Portland, 1892. Rev. John Smith was stated clerk of Chemung 
Presbytery from 1836 to 1840, and Rev. William A. Niles, D. D., of 
Steuben Presbytery from 1865 to 1870. 


The following ministers have served this church: Clement Hick- 
man, 1810-16; Thomas Lonnsbury, 1821-3; Gilbert, 1822-5; 

Reuben Sanborn, 1826-7; David Harrowar, 1828-9; David Higgins, 
1831-2; John Barton, 1832-5; John Smith, 1836-8; F. W. Graves, 
1839; Samuel M. Hopkins, D. D., P., 1840-2; Joshua B. Graves, 
P., 1842-7; Job Pierson, D. D., 1847-9; Asahel L. Brooks, P., 
1849-51; Robert E. Willson, P., 1851-5; Darwin Chichester, P., 
1856-9; William A. Niles, D. D., P. E., 1859-72; Anson G. Ches- 
ter, D. D., 1872-5; M. L. Perine Hill, D. D., P. E., 1875-83; 
John S. Bacon, P. E., 1883-93; and Alfred J. Hutton, D. D., P., 
1 895 to the present. 

The records of the church from 1811 to 1834 have been lost, and 
in part from 1845 to 1847. The following is a list of the elders as 
complete as can be made: William Steele, John Sample, Henry 
H. Matthews, John C. Hayt, Phinehas Little, Dyer Ford, Eliphalet 
S. Rose, William S. Miller, Lemuel H. Robinson, Elijah Judd, 
Bradford A. Potter, Jared A. Redfield, Nathan Tidd, Charles E. 
Osborne, Alanson Edwards, William D. Terbell, Schuyler Johnson, 
Cornelius T. Putney, Levi W. Rowley, Richard C. West, Thomas 
Ambler, Uriah D. Hood, Gilbert E. Burton, Henry M. Hyde, 
Lewis Davenport, George Thompson, Zenas L. Parker, Charles 
VanAme, Henry C. May, Francis A. Williams, Justin M. Smith, 
John N. Hungerford, Edward Clisdell, W. S. Dickinson, James 
Henderson, Cyrus S. Hood, Charles E. Benedict, Frank 6. 
Osborne, Neville E. Waite, Reuben F. Rouse, William T. 
Smith, Harry C. Heermans, and Thomas H. Appleby. 

THE ALxVIOND CHURCH (1812-1897). 
In* 1796 or 1797 a Dutch Reformed Church was organized in 
Almond (.then Alfred) by Rev. Andrew Grayf — the first church or- 
ganization in Steuben or Allegany. About 1804 services were dis- 
continued. Within the limits of Hornellsville lived Judge George 
Hornell, in "the old red house". It was for his father that Hor- 
nellsville was named. In the red house in 1808 Rev. Samuel Parker, 
a voung missionary and later the founder of the Oregon Mission, 
held services. Mr. Hornell urged that a minister be sent to reside 
on the field and as a result of Mr. Parker's effort Rev. Robert Hub- 
bard, a Congregational licentiate, came in 1811 to Almond and An- 

* Kev. Frank U. Bisbe© fiirnished many facts for this sketch. 

+ " Judge Philip Church described him as a ' broad-shouldered man, of extraordinary 
muscular power,' and said ' I remember his getting so earnest on one occasion when preach- 
ing in Angelica, in enforcing religious precepts upon his back-woods congregation, that in 
his gestures he knocked to piecesour store desk that we gave him for a pulpit".- "Allegany 
County History". (1896). 


gelica. May 5, 1812, as a result of Mr. Hubbard's work. Rev. John 
Niles of Bath organized the Alfred (Almond) Presbyterian Church, 
the oldest church in Allegany County, The leading members were 
those who had belonged to the earlier Dutch Reformed Church. 21 
members were received — the name of George Hornell, a son of 
Judge Hornell, being the first recorded. The original field of the 
Almond Church included Arkport and Hornellsville. Henry Mc- 
Henry, Samuel Kerr, and Christopher Hurlbut were ordained elders 
on the day of organization. Angelica Church, organized next day, 
was grouped with Almond, and Rev. Robert Hubbard, on Aug. 20, 
1812, was ordained by Geneva Presbytery and installed pastor of 
both. Samuel Kerr was chosen deacon. The session apparently 
failed to keep any records until 1827. 

Almond has been favored with many revivals and the church for 
many years was the strongest in presbytery. In 1831 nearly 100 
were received; in 1834, about 30; in 1837, 48; in 1843, 27; in 1845, 
26; and in 1854 about 84. In 1860 there were 375 members. The 
first edifice, built in 1814 on the present manse lot, is now a part of 
S. S. Karr's barn. The present church was erected in 1835 for 
about $3,000, enlarged in 1851, and repaired and modernized in 
1873. In 1848 the ''Gospel lot" of 100 acres, presented by the 
Pulteney estate to the first religious organization in the township, 
was sold and the manse built. The estimated value of the church 
is $5,000 and of the manse $1,500. The Y. P. S. C. E. was organ- 
ized about 1889. 

The following have been ordained elders: In 1812, Henry Mc- 
Henry, Samuel Kerr, and Christopher Hurlbut; in 1832, James 
Hurlbut, Christopher Cary, and Rufus Whitney; in 1837, George 
Karr, Moses Lockhart, Philip McHenry, Philip Ferry, and A. L. 
Cady; in 1846, Wm. Hyde, and Robert H. Coleman; in 1849, E. 
W. Ewers; in 1868, John Hamlin; in 1873, Hiram Karr, Geobge 
Benjamin, and Newton S. Cabtee; and in 1887, Walter Kakr, 
and John B. Ferry. 

From 1812 to 1817 the church was enrolled in Geneva Presbytery; 
from 1817 to 1828 in Bath Presbytery; from 1828 to 1859 in Angel- 
ica Presbytery; from 1859 to 1886 in Genesee Valley Presbytery; 
and since 1886 in Steuben Presbytery. Rev. Moses Hunter* was 

•"Mr. H unter was regarded as somewhat eccentric. He bad an idea that the church was 
vastly too much conformed to the world, especially in dress, and gave a specimen of what 
men's dress ought to be. For winter he would have the cloth made of wool, equally mixed 
with natural black and white wool, well woven, but without any coloring or dressing, such 
as was called at that day sheep's grey. The coat was made straight up and down witii a 
narrow standing collar, and held (I think) around the body by a girdle" — Mowry Thacher, 
in " Semicentennial of Hornellsville Church". Mr. Hunter's appearance in General Assem- 
bly in this homespun dress made him somewhat a home missionary lion. Mr. Hunter later 
with a Rev. Dr. Nelson, founded the " Mission Institute," at Quincy, III. Mr. Hunter wJien 
in Almond received pupils into his home. Among these in 1836 was a boy of 12 who later 
became Rev, Samuel M. Campbell, D. D. See " Evangelist". .!»«• 1*. ^>*^- 


stated clerk of Angelica Presbytery from 1828 to 1839, and Rev. 
Joel Wakeraan, D. D., from 1846 to 1852; Rev. Isaac G. Ogden of 
Genesee Valley Presbytery from 1859 to 1870; and Rev. Dwight K. 
Steele from 1883 to 1884. Almond has had stated meetings of pres- 
byteries as follows: Bath — IS\8, and 1826; Angelica— \m2, 1841, 
1846, 1848, 1850, 1853, and 1856; Genesee Valley — 1859, 1865, 
1869, 1873, 1879, and 1883; and Steuben — 1887. The following 
have been chosen from Almond commissioners to General Assembly: 
Rev. Robert Hubbard, Philadelphia, 1819, and 1825; James Hurl- 
but, Philadelphia, 1834, and 1843; Rev. Moses Hunter, Philadel- 
phia, 1835; Rev. Joel Wakeman, D. D., Philadelphia, 1846, Detroit, 
1850, and New York, 1856; A. L. Cady, M. D., Philadelphia, 1846; 
Robert H. Coleman, Detroit, 1850, and Cincinnati, 1862; George 
Karr, Harrisburg, 1868; Rev. Isaac G. Ogden, Philadelphia, 1870; 
and Rev. Dwight K. Steele, Pittsbvarg, 1878. 

Those who have served in the ministry are the following: Robert 
Hubbard*, P., 1812-29; James Gaboon; Moses Hunter, P., 1833-9; 
Abiel Parmelee, 1839-44; Joel Wakeman, D. D., P., 1844-65; 
Gustavus R. Alden, P., 1866-7; Isaac G. Ogden, 1867-71; Joel 
Wakeman, D. 1)., 1872-4; Dwight K. Steele, P., 1875-85; D. Miz- 
ener, 1885-6; Lester S. Boyce, P., 1887-9; Ziba N. Bradbury, 
1889-91; J. D. Hillman, 1892-:3; and Frank H. Bisbee, P., 1894 
to the present time. 

THE AiNGELICA CHURCH (1812-1897). 
" On the 6th day of May ISPi a Church was formed At Angelica 
by Mr. Niles when the following persons became members, viz. : 
Moses VanCampen. James Renwick, David Chamberlain, Peggy Van- 
Campen, Prudence Johnson. Moses VanCampen was chosen and or- 
dained as ruling elder in the Church on the same day^\ Such is the 
first entrv in the minutes. " Mr. Niles^' was the Rev. John Niles of 
Bath " Moses VanCampen^'' the famous pioneer. Major VanCam- 
pen. The Almond Church had been organized by Mr. Niles the day 
before and the two were grouped together. On Aug. 20, 1812, the 
Presbvtery of Geneva oitlained and installed Rev. Robert Hubbardf , 
who came in 1811, pastor of both churches. From 1845 to 1849 
the Congregational form of government was used and for convenience 
again from 1857 to 1859. The church grew slowly until 1835 when 

*pje(3 at Canisteo May 24, 1*40, aged 57. For James H. Hotchkin's comments on Mr. 
Hubbard, see " History of Western New York", pp. 95-97. 

+"The installaiion services were held at Angelica, in the veranda of the house ot Evert Van 
VPickle Esq [now H. S. Hastings') the female part of the congregation being commoded 
with seats in the house, and most of the males in the open air in front of the house".— 
Hotehkin. " History of Western New York." p. 97. 

jm- ^^ 

Elder URIAH D. HOOD, Corning. 


Elder NATHANIEL C. TAYLOR, Canisteo. ^j^^^. jq^j^ HURLBUT, Arkport. 

Elder JOHN A, PRENTISS, Pulteney. Elder CHARLES A. KNOX, Campbell 


as a result of special services conducted by Rev. Samuel W. May, 
assisted by Eev. Leverett Hull, about 90 were added — 48 being re- 
ceived on March 6th, In 1840, 160 members were reported — the 
highest membership ever attained. 

The first edifice was erected in 1829-31 on the lot next west of 
the residence of Hon. Fred A. Eobbins. In this building early in 
1836 Miss Narcissa Prentiss, a member of the church, was married 
by Rev. Leverett Hull to Marcus Whitman, M. D. It was sold in 
1856 to the trustees of Angelica Academy and in 1868 burned. The 
present church was built in 1857 and remodeled for an organ in 
1866. The manse property was purchased in 1859. The Y. P. S. 
C. E. was organized May 29, 1890; and the Woman^s Missionary 
Hociety Dec. 17, 1895. Three at least have gone out from this 
church to be successful workers — Rev. Asa S. Allen, who came from 
the Andover Church, Mrs. Marcus Whitman, who came from the 
Prattsburg Church, and Rev. Gilbert Reid, A. M., of Pekin, China. 

The following have served in the eldership: Moses VanCampen, 
1812-31; Vial Thomas, 1828-85; Samuel S. Haight, 1828-33; Wil- 
liam Geiger, 1828-36; Asa S. Allen, 1833-7; Charles Patrick, 1836- 
43; Jacob Schoonover, 1836-41; Stephen Prentiss, 1836-42; Saxton 
Burr, 1852-79; Wm. B. Colson, 1852-60; H. S. Beals, 1859-75; 
A. B. Palmer, 1859-83; Alfred Lockhart, 1859-85; Wm. J. Niles, 

1859-69; David L. Hunn, 1865-70; James Benham, 1865 ; J. 

E. Kobinson, 1865 ; Charles P. Arnold, 1873-97; A. W. 

Chamberlain, 1873-3; C. C. Lovell, 1873-3; Spencer White, 
1886-97; and Frederick A. Robbins, 1886-89. 

IMie ciiurch was enrolled in Geneva Presbytery Aug. 19, 1812. It 
was transferred to Bath Presbytery in 1817, to Angelica Presbytery 
ill 1828, to Genesee Valley Presbytery in 1859, and to Steuben Pres- 
bytery in 1886. The following stated presbytery meetings have 
been held in Angelica: Bath — 1822; Angelica — 1828-9, 1830-1, 
1837-8, 1841, 1846, and 1854; Genesee Fa^%— 1859, 1863-4, 1871, 
1877, and 1886; and Steuben — 1896. Angelica has furnished the 
following commissioners to General Assembly: Rev. Robert Hub- 
bard, Philadelphia, 1819 and 1825; Rev. Moses Hunter, Philadel- 
phia, 1828-9 and 1832; Samuel S. Haight, Philadelphia, 1829 and 
1832; Rev. Samuel W. May, Philadelphia, 1834; Rev. Leverett 
Hull, Philadelphia, 1837; Stephen Prentiss, Philadelphia, 1837; 
Charles Patrick, Philadelphia, 1840; Rev. Tyrell Blair, Buffalo, 
1853; Rev. Henry E. Niles, D. D., Wilmington, 1859; Wm. J. 
Niles, Pittsburg, 1860; Rev. E. W\ Stoddard, D. D., Cincinnati, 
1862; A. B. Palmer, Philadelphia, 1863; Alfred Lockhart, St. 
Louis, 1866, Pittsburg, 1869, Detroit, 1872, and Cleveland, 1875; 


Charles P. Arnold, Springfield, 1882; and Rev. David McLeod, 
Minneapolis, 1886. Rev. Moses Hunter was stated clerk of Angelica 
Presbytery from 1828 to 1839, Rev. David McLeod of Genesee Val- 
ley Presbytery from 1885 to its dissolution, and Rev. James A. Mil- 
ler, Ph. i)., of Steuben Presbytery from 1896 to the present time. 

The following have served this church in the ministry: Robert 
Hubbard, P., 1812-26; Moses Hunter*, P., 1827-33; Samuel W. 
May, 1833-5; Leverett Hull, P., 1835-7; Abiel Parmelee, 1838; 0. 
W. Norton, 1839; Charles B. Smith, 1840; George M. Ooan, 1841-2; 
James Smith, 1842; Leverett Hull, 1843-4; Horace Fraser, 1845-8; 
Francis V. Warren, 1849; Samuel Center, 1850; Tyrell Blair, P., 
1850-5; Henry E. Niles, D. D., 1856-9; Elijah W. Stoddard, D. D.. 
1860-4; Elias L. Boing, P., 1864-7; John Reid, P., 1867-74; Eu- 
gene P. Cheeseman, 1874; Fred S. Hayden, 1874-7; Francis V. 
Warren, 1877; Robert R. Kendall, 1877-81; Gilbert Reid, 1882; 
David McLeod, P., 1883-9; and James A. Miller, Ph. D., P., 1890 
to the present time. 

THE HOWARD CHURCH (1815-1897). 

Howardf , originally a part of Canisteo, was settled about 1805, 
but in 1811 there were not more than a dozen houses in the town. 
The first religious service was conducted by Rev. Samuel Parker. 
The Presbyterian church was organized by Rev. Enoch Whipple, a 
missionary, and Rev. David Higgins, of Batli, July 5, 1815, at the 
school house of the " Pond settlement" (Smith's Pond), three miles 
northeast of the present village. Rev. David Higgins preached 
from Acts 2:47. Seven were received by letter — " Roswel Tichner 
and Jane his wife, Robert Smith and Sarah his wife, David Smith 
and Sarah his wife, and Catherine the wife of Henry Pawling". 
Lewis (Ludowicus) Winne was received on examination. At this 
meeting the Presbyterian form of government was adopted. After 
the first entry no further records are preserved for over six years. 

The first elders recorded were Elisha Wilber and Jacob Winne, 
chosen Feb. 12, 1822. These, with Israel Baldwin and Lewis Winne 
who had been chosen at a previous meeting, were ordained by Rev. 
David Higgins. Israel Baldwin was clerk of session from the first 
until 1860 when ill health compelled his resignation. For 20 years 
the congregation worshipped in the school house and dwelling houses 

* Another man of considerable mark, who occasionally stopped with us for a sermon, was 
Rev Moses Hunter. He would sometimes appoint preaching at sunrise, and what was more, 
the people would come. Then he would go on to Erwin Center and preach again, taking 
Painted Post by the way".— Rev. Samuel M. Campbell, D. D., in dedicatory sermon "Sanc- 
tuary Memories", at Campbell, in 1868. 

+ Most of the facts for this sketch were furnished by Rev. Hezekiah Webster. 


near " the Poud". In 1835-6 an edifice was built in the village. 
The congregation owned 7 acres of land adjacent to the house of 
worship. In 1868 the manse was moved to its present site and re- 
paired at a cost of $1,770. In 1871 the church was renovated and 
a basement finished under it all, at a cost of $4,400. The present 
value of the whole property is about $4,000. During August, 1897, 
the church was damaged $300 by lightning. 

The church was enrolled in Bath Presbytery Aug. 29, 1820, and 
in 1862 became a part of Steuben Presbytery. The following stated 
meetings of presbytery have been held in Howard: Bath — 1840, 
1848, and 1857; Steuben— ISm, 1874, 1884, and 1892. The fol- 
lowing commissioners to General Assembly have been selected from 
this church: Rev. Levi Rose, Philadelphia, 1849; Rev. William R. 
Downs, Chicago, 1858; Rev. Ziba N. Bradbury, St. Louis, 1874; 
Martin Higgins, Saratoga, 1884; and Alonzo VanWie, Detroit, 1891. 

There is a Woman's Missionary Society, and a Ladies' Aid Society. 
The Y. P. S. C. E., organized early in 1889, is a union society of 
the Presbyterian and Baptist Churches. Rev. A. Willard Cooper 
started for his mission field in Siam while his father was supplying 
this church, and Miss Larissa Cooper, his sister, also in Siam, was 
for a time a member of this church. In Howard village Dr. Marcus 
Whitman induced Rev. and Mrs. H. H. Spalding to exchange the 
Osage for the Oregon Mission. The following 21 men have been 
elders, ordained in the years given: 1822, Israel Baldwin, Ludowi- 
cus Winne, Elisha Wilber, and Jacob Winne; 1829, John Conner; 
1833, Henry VanHousen, and David Stevenson; 1847, Samuel Ri- 
der; 1852, Edwin Shaver, and Isaac Baldwin; 1857, James Hoag- 
land, and Alexander Conner; 1863, Andrew Sharp, and Abram 
H. Baldwin; 1869, Alonzo VanWie, and Martin Higgins; 1871, 
Henry J. VanWie, and William S. Goff; 1875, Francis Otis; 1893, 
Henry McAdam; and 1895, John W. Willis. In 1869 the rotary 
system of eldership was adopted. 

Rev. Ziba N. Bradbury is the only installed pastor the church has 
had. He was ordained in this church upon graduation from the 
seminary, labored here an aggregate of ten years in three distinct 
periods, and died while ministering here. Two ministers of this 
church lie in the Howard cemetery — Levi Rose, and Ziba N. Brad- 
bury. Among the supplies during the first ten years were Joseph 
Crawford, Stalham Clary, and James H. Hotchkin. From 1826 the 
list of ministers is as follows: Lyman Barrett, 1826 — April, 1834; 
Samuel T. Babbitt, April, 1834— April, 1835; David High, occa- 
sionally during 1835; John T. Baldwin, 1836—1837; William Good- 
ell^ 1839—1842; Gilbert North rup, 1842—1843; John G. L. Has- 


kins, 1843 — 1844; Levi Rose, 1845 — to his death June 4, 1852; 
Edwin Benedict, December, 1853—1854; William R. Downs, 1855 
—1858; Frederick Graves, 1859—1861; Ziba N. Bradbury, 1862— 
1866; Charles Milne, 1867—1868; James H. Board, 1868—1872; 
Ziba N". Bradbury, P., 1872—1876; Ephraim W. Kellogg, April, 
1877— March, 1880; Alvin Cooper, 1881—1885; W. H. Shelland 
(a Lutheran minister), 1887—1888; Nathan Bosworth, 1890—1891; 
Ziba N. Bradbury, 1891 — to his death April 4, 1893; Joseph P. 
White, September, 1893 — September, 1894; and Hezekiah Webster, 
April 1, 1895. to the present time. 


Rev. James H. Hotchkin* began preaching occasionally within 
Pulteney as early as 1809. Soon after Jabish Havens, an elder of 
the Ulysses Church, settled in Pulteney and instituted regular Sab- 
bath worship. July 29, 1815, Rev. James H. Hotchkin presided in 
a meeting held at the house of Augustus Tyler, when the Presbyte- 
rian Society was organized and John Williams, John Ellis, and 
Jabish Havens elected trustees. Mar. 19, 1817, Jabish Havens re- 
quested of the Bath Presbytery, holding its first meeting in Pratts- 
burg, assistance in organizing a church. Presbytery appointed Rev. 
Ebenezer Lazel and Rev. James H. Hotchkin a committee to visit 
Pulteney and assist in organizing if expedient. At Bath, Aug. 26,. 
1817, this committee reported to presbytery that a church of 12 
members had been organized in Pulteney June 2, 1817. 

Services at the first were held generally in the school houses. 
Durino- the ministry of Rev. Beriah Hotchkin three school houses 
were used — that at Stewart's Corners, that near Mr. Tyler's, and 
that near Mr. Champlin's. For one year Mr. Hotchkin supplied 
Pultenev in connection with Wheeler — removing then to Pulteney 
and giving his whole time. Rev. Ziba N. Bradbury ministered to 
this church over 18 years — 5 years at one time and 13 years at an- 
other. During 1831, under Rev. Samuel White's ministry, 57 mem- 
bers were received; in April, 1837, under Rev. B. B. Smith, 32 were 
received; in March, 1849, under the second ministry of Rev. Samuel 
White, 26 were enrolled; and 25, Apr. 10, 1870, under Hev. Z. N. 
Bradburv. The society received a gift of 100 acres from the Pul- 
teney estate. The first edifice was built during 1835 near the house 
of Mr. Nevyus. The location of the edifice was the occasion of a 
division of the church. About 20 members living at the south 
extremity of the town took letters of dismission and were organized 

* Many of the facts of this sketch were furnished by Rev. William A. Reid, Ph.D. 


Elder PHILIP C. HOAG, Cohocton. 

Elder MARTIN HIGGINS, Howard. 

Elder ALONZO VAN WIE, Howard. 

Elder THADDEUS J. BAKER, M. D., Andover. Elder T. SCOTT THACHER, Hornellsville. 


into a Congregational church in connection with the Genesee Con- 
sociation. This church survived about 15 years. Rev. Elijah Wool- 
age, Rev. Samuel Porter, and Rev. Samuel White being its minis- 
ters. The present edifice in Pulteney village was built in 1851. By 
the help of Rev. John S. Bacon, who lives in Pulteney, it was in 
1895 cleared of debt, and in this same year seat rents were abolished 
and the envelope system started. The society owns a manse. 

The Pulteney Church was enrolled in Bath Presbytery Aug. 26, 
1817, and in 1862 came into Steuben Presbytery. The following 
stated meetings of presbytery have been held in Pulteney: Bath — 
1819, 1838, 1843, 1855, and 1858; Steuhen—\%^^ , 1871, and 1878. 
Presbytery has chosen the following commissioners to General As- 
sembly from the Pulteney Church: Rev. Charles Yale, Philadel- 
phia, 1824; Daniel S. Benton, Pittsburg, 1835, and Philadelphia, 
1838; Rev. Theron L. Waldo, Brooklyn, 1876; and Rev. Ziba N. 
Bradbury, Omaha, 1887. 

The list of ministers is as follows: Ebenezer Lazel, 1817-20 
(about); Charles Yale, P., 1823-5; Beriah Hotchkin, Oct., 1824-7; 
Stalham Clary, May, 1828-30; Samuel White, April, 1831— Sept., 
1832; Asa Messer; Benjamin B. Smith, July, 1834 — June 1, 1837; 
Samuel T. Babbitt, July 2, 1837— Jan., 1840; James H. Hotchkinf, 
Jan. 2, 1841— April, 1843; Samuel White, P., May, 1843— October, 
1852; Francis V. Warren, April, 1853— October, 1859; Albo L. 
Green, Oct. I, 1865 — Jan., 1867; Ziba N. Bradbury, Jan. 1, 1867 — 
Sept. 29, 1872; Theron L. Waldo, July 1, 1873— May, 1876; Ziba 
N. Bradbury, P., July 1, 1876— July 1, 1889; C. C. Thorne, Nov. 

I, 1889— Nov. I, 1890; William C. Matthews, P., Sept. 1, 1891— 
June 3, 1894; and William A, Reid, Ph. D., Dec. 26, 1895 to the 
present time. 

In the following list of elders those who died in office are starred: 
Jacob Bachman, June 9, 1817 — Aug. 19, 1861*; Jabish Havens, 
June 9, 1817— Mar. 29, 1840*; John Prentiss, June 9, 1817— Nov., 
1840*; Joseph Hathaway, Nov. 1, 1817— June 1, 1827; Eli Picket, 

April 10, 1819 ; Benjamin Welles, April, 1829 — July 26, 

1885*; Joseph Vorheis, Oct. 23, 1831 ; John Coryell, Oct. 

23, 1831— Nov. 9, 1885*; Daniel S. Benton, Oct. 23, 1831— Feb. 

II, 1853*; Joseph St. John, Jan. 27, 1839— Sept. 30, 1852*; Josiah 
Dunlap, Jan. 27, 1839— May 22, 1858; John A. Prentiss, July 26, 
1863— May 8, 1878*; Beriah H. Hotchkin, July 26, 1863— June 1, 
1877*; Jacob Hess, July 26, 1863— Feb. 17, 1872*; Hiram D. To- 

t " The Rev. James H. Hotchkia, an admirable specimen of the clergy of the olden time. 
He stood erect, full six feet high and well proportioned, had a fine forehead, crowned with 
hair as white as snow: was educated, correct, dignified, genial, orthodox; and, when he fell 
a-preaching, or a-praying, kept straight on to the end of his subject, without the slightest 
regard to the whims of his congregation, or the tokens of passing time".— Rev. Dr. S. SL 
Campbell in " Sanctuary Memories". 


mer, June 23, 1867— May, 1892*; Wilson Nevyus, Feb. 8, 1874— 

; Jeremiah J. Hess, Feb. 8, 1874 ; Calvin McKinney, 

Sept. 4, 1892—1893; William Hess, Apr. 1, 1893 ; Amasa 

J. Nichols, Apr. 30, 1893 ; and Frank C. Pollat, Oct. 

13, 1894 . 

THE ANDOVER CHURCH (1824-1897). 
The* first religious serrice in Andover was held in the house of 
Nathaniel Dike, the first settler of Allegany County, by Rev. Silas 
Hubbard. Thaddeus, Alpheus, Seth, and Joseph Baker, who 
came about 1808, though not members, were attached to the Con- 
gregational Church. Joseph Woodruif who came soon after the 
Bakers, Mrs. Luther Strong who with her husband and family came 
about 1815, deacon and Mrs. Asa S. Allen and Amherst Kingsbury 
who came in 1823, were members of Congregational churches. 
• On July 14, 1824, a Congregational church was organized by Rev. 
Robert Hubbard, pastor of the Angelica and Almond churches, and 
the following persons received as members: Joseph Woodruff, Sam- 
uel Mallory, Amherst Kingsbury, Asa S. Allen, Lydia Allen, and 
Abigail Strong. Asa S. Allen was chosen deacon and clerk. The 
church became Presbyterian Nov. 3, 1876. The following have 
been ordained elders: Nov. 3, 1876, John Bowlsby, Thaddeus J. 
Baker, M. D., and Martin L. Comstock; Feb. 5, 1881, Oliver Rose- 
bush, and Geo. Oestrich; June 27, 1886, Thomas Comstock, and 
James E. Redmon; Jan. 30, 1887, Waldo W. Miller; Oct. 26, 1890, 
John Knox Miller, and William H. Phillips; 1897, George 
W. Probasco. 

The church was enrolled in Bath Presbytery from Jan. 30, 1827, 
to Oct. 7, 1828; in Angelica Presbytery from Oct. 7, 1828, to Sept. 
28, 1858; in Genesee Valley Presbytery from Sept. 28, 1858, to Oct. 
21, 1886; since then it has belonged to Steuben Presbytery. An- 
gelica Presbytery held stated meetings in Andover in 1848 and 1855: 
Genesee Valley in 1864, 1868, 1875, and 1880; and Steuben in 1888. 
The following commissioners to General Assembly have been chosen 
from Andover: Asa S. Allen, Philadelphia, 1833; Elijah Hunt, 
Troy, 1856; T. J. Baker, M. D., Chicago, 1877; Rev. Albert C. 
Titus, Saratoga, 1879; W. W. Miller, Omaha, 1887; and Rev. 
George M. Janes, Saratoga, 1896. 

The first church building, dedicated Dec. 11, 1840, was destroyed 
by fire in 1866. The present edifice was dedicated Jan. 23, 1868, 
and, after thorough repairing, rededicated in August, 1887. A 
manse owned several years in the early history was finally gold. 

* ReT. George M . JaneB contributed many facts to this sketch. 


The present manse was built in 1893. The Y. P. S. C. E. was or- 
ganized Jan, 20, 1890. There is a Woman's Missionary Society, a 
Ladies' Aid Society, and a Mission Band. Four at least from the 
congregation have entered the ministry — Daniel Russell, Asa S. 
Allen, Daniel Eedmond, Ph. D., and James A. Miller, Ph. D. The 
''Harvest Home", held annually in a grove, is an established insti- 
tution of this church. : .: 
The following ministers have served the church: Silas Hubbard,? 
1827-9; Jabez Spicer*, M. D., 1829-35; Asa S. Allen, 1838-9; 
Benjamin Eussell, 1840-2; Jacob Russel, 1843-4; James Conlej, 
1845-6; Samuel A. Rawson, 1851-3; James Conley, 1854-6; Foster 
Lilly, 1856; J. Blakeslop, 1856-7; Benjamin Eussell, 1858-9; Jo- 
seph R. Johnson, 1859-60; J. Wynkoop, 1860-3; Philander Camp, 
1863-8; Benjamin Russell, 1871-4; George B. Nutting, 1874; J. S. 
Bingham, 1874-6; Albert C. Titus, 1876-81; Jesse Lee, 1882-3? 
Benjamin Gr. VanCleve, P., 1886-9; and George M, Janes, 1889 to 
the present time. ^ 


Rev. Silas Hubbard organized this church with 14 members July 
25, 1824. In 1843 it had 109 communicants. There are now but 
a few members, and, excepting the summer of 1897, there have 
been no services for years. It was enrolled in Genesee Presbytery, 
in 1824, in Angelica Presbytery in 1829, in Genesee Valley Presby-, 
tery in 1859, and in Steuben Presbytery in 1886. Among its min- 
isters have been: Horatio Waldo, John T. Baldwin, Lemuel Hall, 
Phinehas Smith, Leonard Rogers, Samuel Sessions, Lyman B. Wal- 
do, John W. Lane, and Franklin S. Spencer. A house of worship, 
costing ^3,000, was erected during the ministry of Rev. John W. 

THE CUBA CHURCH (1824-1897). 
Thef first preaching in Cuba was about 1820 by Rev. Robert Hub- 
bard of Angelica. The Cuba Presbyterian Church was organized 
by Rev. Reuben Hurd, and Capt. James Davison, of the Haight 
Presbyterian Church, July 19, 1827. The ten who then united 
were Henry Stephens, William Hicks, Kendal Wilder, Gordon Ken- 
edy, Horatio Orton, Elinor Baird, Margaret Huntley, Lucy Hicks, 
Eunice Brownson, and Lucy Kenedy. Feb. 8, 1833, Kendal Wil- 

♦ "It is said that Rev. Jabez Spicer, who was also a physician, was the first to practice 
medicine here [Andover]. This is related of him. Receiving an urgent call to visit a patient 
just as he was beginning his usual Sunday sermon, he announced that the meeting would 
stand adjourned for two hours. ' straddled' his horse, went several miles, visited his pa- 
tient, returned, and resumed the services where they had been dropped''.— Centennial His- 
tory Allegany County 

t Rev. Robert Clements furnished most of the facts for this sketch. 


ner and Josiah Bond were chosen elders. In 1833 there was a revi- 
val which added 89 to the church, and in 1838 another which added 
about 50. Feb. 12, 1835, the church adopted the Congregational 
form of government. Aug. 26, 1835, 48 persons were dismissed to 
form the Friendship Congregational Church. Before this date the 
two were together — the services being held sometimes in Cuba and 
sometimes in Friendship. June 18, 1842, the church became fully 
Congregational, and Oct. 1, 1842, fully and finally Presbyterian. 

The first structure was completed and dedicated in 1838. In 1870 
this was removed that the present edifice, built during the pastorate 
of Rev. Corliss B. Gardner, D. D., might be erected. The corner 
stone was laid July 4, 1871, and it was dedicated June 13, 1872. It 
cost about $20,000. In 1892, by the will of Mrs. Mary Gurnee 
Lancaster, the church acquired her home for a manse, and about 
$1,500 have been expended since in repairs. 

The following is a list of the elders: Kendal Wilder, 1833-64; 
Josiah Bond, 1833; Eli R. Burr, 1834-42; Obadiah Rouse, 1834-5; 
Stephen Bartle, 1842-71; Joseph Bachus, 1842-3; Stephen Pren- 
tiss, 1842 ; Horatio Orton, 184.3-53; Martin Smith, 1845-8; 

Wolcott Hatch, 1845-62; Ammi Carrier, 1845-8; John Hurty, 

1845 ; Henry A. Mead, 1851-79; Charles Amsden, 1853-88; 

Charles P. Robinson, 1860-5; Amasa Fuller, 1871-96; Alvin B. 
Webster, 1871-97; Enos Keller, 1871-93; John C. Young, 1876- 
95; J. Monroe Barnes, 1879-91; Robert C. Mead, 1888-92; Wal- 
ter J. Amsden, 1891-7; Palmer P. Peckham, 1892-7; Charles 
fl. Fuller, 1892-7; Albert H. Bishop, 1893-7; and Clinton 
H. Miner, 1895-7. 

Rev. Reuben Hurd of Haight, and Rev. Moses Hunter of Angeli- 
ca, supplied occasionally for the first few years. The list of minis- 
ters is as follows: Samuel W. May (also supplied Angelica), 1833-5; 
William Bridgeman (half time at Friendship), 1835-6; Asa S. Allen,. 
1837-46; Nathan Leighton, 1846-9; Jefferson Wynkoop, P., 1849- 
52; Nathan Allen, P., 1853-9; William C. White, 1860-1; John 
E. Baker, 1863-5; Corliss B. Gardner, D. D., P., 1865-74; John 
C. Taylor, P., 1875-83; Charles P. Luce, Ph. D., P., 1883-9; Wil- 
liam G. White, P., 1890-4: and Robert Clements, P.. 1894 to th(* 
present time. 

This church was enrolled in Angelica Presbytery Feb. 24, 1829; 
Jan. 4, 1859, enrolled in the new Genesee Valley Presbytery; and 
Oct. 21, 1886, became a part of Steuben Presbytery. It has enter- 
tained the following stated presbytery meetings: Angelica — 1839,. 
1844, 1847, and 1854; Genesee Fo/Zey— 1863, 1870, 1874, 1878, 
1881, and 1884; Steuben— \^^%, and 1894. The following from 







Elder EDWARD H. SMITH, Painted Post. gj^g^ ADDISON AINSWORTH, Prattsburg. 

Elder JAMES CRAIG, Canaserag 

Elder HYATT C. HATCH, Atlanta. 

Mr. CHARLES HARTSHORN. Hornellsville. Mr. JOHN D. HAMILTON, Campbell. 


Cuba have represented presbytery as commissioners to General As- 
sembly: Rev. Asa S. Allen, Philadelphia, 1838, and 1840; Rev. 
Nathan Allen, and Stephen Bartle, St. Louis, 1855; Kendal Wil- 
der, Dayton, 1864; Henry A. Mead, Rochester, 1867; Rev. Corliss 
B. Gardner, D. D., New York, 1869, and St. Louii, 1874; Rev. 
John C. Taylor, Buffalo, 1881; and Rev. Charles P. Luce, Ph. D., 
New York, 1889. Rev. Asa S. Allen was stated clerk of Angelica 
Presbytery from 1839 to 1846, and Rev. John C. Taylor of Genesee 
Valley Presbytery from 1882 to 1883. 

July 18 and 19, 1897, this church celebrated its seventieth anni- 
versary with fitting services. 

THE JASPER CHURCH (1824-1897). 

Bennett's Creek* Presbyterian Church was enrolled in Bath Pres- 
bytery Aug. 29, 1826, Enoch Ordway of Jasper appearing as elder. 
To this church Jasper Presbyterians belonged. Aug. 27, 1829, 
Bath Presbytery granted a petition presented by Jasper residents of 
the Bennett's Creek Church asking to be organized as an independ- 
ent church. Oct. 29, 1829, the committee of presbytery — Rev. Da- 
vid Higgins, Bath, Rev. Lyman Barrett, Naples, and Israel Bald- 
win, Howard — met the petitioners in Jasper at the house of Henry 
Prentice and organized the Jasper Presbyterian Church by receiving 
24 members from the Bennett's Creek Church, and 4 from the Bath 
Church. Next day Joshua Sargent and Enoch Ordway were con- 
stituted elders. 

Services were held the first year in Henry Prentice's house; next 
year in the Wellis house on the Francis Woodward place; then sev- 
eral years in a log school house near the Hampshire Church. In 
1846 a church was built on the State road, occupied a few times be- 
fore completion, finished Nov. 24th, and burned Sabbath Nov. 25th, 
before service. A portion of the "glebe lot" of 100 acres, donated 
by the Pulteney estate to the first church organized in the township, 
was sold, and another edifice was erected near the Hampshire school 
house. This house was dedicated in December, 1849. Feb. 15, 
1872, the present building in Jasper village, built for $6,000, was 
dedicated and occupied. The church owns a manse with large lot 
and barn. 

From its organization to 1836 the Jasper Church belonged to Bath 
Presbytery. In 1836, with the other South Steuben churches, it 
was set off into the new Chemung Presbytery. Upon petition of 
the church, synod in October, 1847, restored it to Bath Presbytery — 

* Much essential to this sketch was srleaued from John L. Jenkins' printed sermon. 


the only one of the South Steuben churches. Since 1863 it has been 
enrolled in Steuben Presbytery. Jasper has had four stated meet- 
ings of presbytery: Bath — 1854, and 1859; Steuben — 1877, and 
1886. It has had one commissioner to General Assembly — Charles 
G. Hutchinson, Saratoga, 1894. Two have gone out to the foreign 
mission field — Rev. J. L. Whiting to China, and Olive Whiting to 
Japan. The Y. P. S. C. E. was organized May 24, 1896, and the 
Junior Society a few weeks before. The "Semi-Centennial" sermon 
preached in 1879 by Rev. John L. Jenkins was published. 

The following is a list of elders with their years of service: Joshua 
Sargent, 1829-82; Enoch Ordway, 1829-33; Jonathan B. Prentice, 
1831-80; David Woodward, 1833-52; Thomas Whiting, 1847-78; 
Wm. H. Prentice, 1847-78; Samuel Dennis, 1864-83; J. Sumner 
Sargent, 1870-97; Jonathan L. Ordway, 1870-97; Charles 
G. Hutchinson, 1883-97; Arthur S. Lamson, 1883-97; J. Burn- 
ham Sargent, 1889-97; Oscar J. Cole, 1889-97; and Oliver 
M. Whiting, 1889-97. 

For a good many years the Jasper minister has served also the 

Woodhull Church. The following is the list of ministers: 

Woolwich, 1830; Jeremiah L. Pomeroy, 1831-4; Noah Thomas, 
1834; Oren Johnson, 1835-6; Robert Hubbard, 1837-8; Noah 
Cressy*, 1839-41; Thomas W. Duncan, 1843-5; George T. Everest, 
P., 1846-51; George Spalding, 1852-3; Harvey Hyde, 1854-6; 
George VanDeurs, 1857-8; Samuel A. Rawson, 1858-67; Alexan- 
ander Gulick, 1868-72; John E. Beecher, 1873-6; Arthur N. Bru- 
en, 1876-9; John L. Jenkins, 1879-83; Minor Swick, 1884-9; Ed- 
win H. Burgess, 1889-91; Charles W. Maccarthy, 1891-5; and Al- 
bert R. Crawford, 1896 to the present time. 

Thef first attempt to organize a church in Campbell was not suc- 
cessful. From 1811 to 1814 there were a good many meetings of 
" The First Presbyterian Cohocton Congregation or Society". Rev. 
Clement Hickman, of Painted Post (Corning), was secured for one- 
fourth of his time at the rate of $500 per year. It was voted to 
build a church, but nothing came of it except that Mr. Hickman 
preached often. The Campbell Presbyterian Church was organized 

*His first sermon at Jasper was from full not^s. The people went home saying. " We can 
do our own reading'". It came to his ears, and the next Sunday he not only preached with- 
out notes, but gave out and repeated his hymns, and repeated a good long chapter from the 
Bible without opening a book. It is said he never after that opened a Bible or a hymn book 
in that pulpit — though not often conducting his service at Campbell in that way. — See Dr. 
S. M. Campbell's "Sanctuary Memories". 

+ Most of the facts essential to this sketch have been taken from Rev. Samuel W. Pratt's 
published "Semi- Centennial Sermon" of Feb. 20, 1881. 


Feb. 16, 1831, by a committee of Bath Presbytery — Rev. David 
Higgins, Bath, Rev. Merit C. Harmon, Big Flats, and Charles 
Fry, Big Flats. The meeting was held in the school house just 
below the Curtis bridge, where Rev. B. B. Smith was holding revival 
meetings. There were seven charter members, all received from 
the Painted Post (Corning) Church — Joseph and Abigail Stevens, 
Mrs. Rhoda Nute, Mrs. Hannah Campbell, Jared Stevens, Jonas 
Stevens, and Mrs. Eliza Stevens. For about 30 years, when not 
grouped with some other church, this church received aid from the 
A. H. M. Society, but since that time has given to Home Missions 
over $3,000. In 1831, 28 were added, 21 in 1840, 29 in 1860, 
18 in 1866, and 30 in 1879, the largest increase in its history being 
under the ministry of Rev. S. W. Pratt. The Y. P. S. C. E. was 
organized Jan. 6, 1889, out of a Young People's Society organized 
in 1877. 

The church was enrolled in Bath Presbytery June 21, 1831, set 
off into Chemung Presbytery in 1836, and into Steuben Presbytery 
in 1862. Campbell has entertained the following stated meetings 
of presbyteries: Bath — 1835; Chemung — 1840, 1845, and 1855; 
and Steiiben^lSm, 1868, 1874, 1879, 1884, and 1889. The follow- 
ing commissioners to General Assembly have been selected from 
Campbell: Rev. B. Booster Pratt, and Benjamin Stevens, Cleveland, 
1857; Charles A. Knox, Chicago, 1871, and Pittsburg, 1878; Rev. 
Samuel W. Pratt, Springfield, 1882; Amasa B. White, Philadelphia, 
1888; and Rev. Geo. R. Smith, Detroit, 1891. 

The first church, built on a part of what is now the cemetery, 
cost 1850. It was dedicated Nov. 5, 1833*. In 1860 it was remov- 
ed to the site of the present church and in 1867 sold to the Meth- 
odists who removed it. Feb. 4, 1868, the present edifice was dedi- 
cated. Rev. S. M. Campbell, D. D., a son of the church, preaching 
a sermon, " Sanctuary Memories", which was published. The 
manse was built on the church lot in 1868. It cost $1,800 and in 
1877 was enlarged. On Feb. 20, 1881, the 50th anniversary of the 
church was celebrated. This church owes much of its later pros- 
perity to John D. Hamilton, who superintended its Sunday School 
from 1864 until his death in 1891. 

The following have been the elders: Jared Stevens, 1831-9; Geo. 
Teeple, 1831-75; Aden J. Pratt, 1831-65; Benjamin Stevens, 1839- 

*"The bare floors scrubbed so white we almost feared to step on them; and the pews with- 
out cushions to be sure but each furnished with a good stout door, with a wooden button to 
fasten it. Around on the clean whitewashed walls hung a row of tin sconces to hold the 
candle of an evening and catch the drip; on each side the minister's place was a great wood 
stove with a roaring fire, the pipes passing over the beads of the people to keep their feet 
warm; and the pulpit, with its lofty flight of steps going up to it on either side, the big bar- 
rel front it bore, and above all the green baize Bible cushion on it, set around with bright 
brass nails"!— Rev. Samuel M. Campbell, D. D., in "Sanctuary Memories". 


79; Charles A. Knox, 1864-94; George Stevens, 1864-97; Amasa 
B. White, 1869-97; Halsey W. Clark, 1884-5; Thomas A. Saw- 
yer, 1887-97; and Josiah T. Burroughs, 1894-7. 

The following have ministered to this church: Benjamin B. 
Smith, 1831-2; Calvin Bushnell, 1833-4; Charles Goodrich (half 
time at Mead's Creek), 1835; James W. Hotchkin, 1836-8; John 
Gray* (Mead's Creek also), 1839-40; Noah Cressy (half time at 
Jasper), 1840-1; Elijah D. Wells, 1841-2; Lewis Hamilton, 
1842-3; Ebenezer Everett, 1844-5; Lewis Hamilton, P., 1845-9; 
William B. Stowe, 1849; John Sailor, 1850; B. Foster Pratt, 1850- 
60; E. M. Johnson (of Painted Post, preaching afternoons), 1860-1; 
Archibald Crawford (Auburn student), 1861; William A. Wolcott, 
1861-3; Octavius Fitch, 1863-4; A. S. Wood (Auburn student) 
1864; Fordyce Harrington, 1864-8; Joel Wakeman, D. D., 1868- 
72; Theodore B. Williams, 1872-5; Clark B. Gillette, 1875-6; 
Samuel W. Pratt, 1877-83; Charles M. Livingstone, 1883-5; George 
R. Smith, 1886-92; and Edgar P. Salmon, P., 1892 to the present 

Thef first settler of Urbana, William AuUs, who came to Pleasant 
Vallev in 1793, was a member of a Presbyterian church, and in 1808 
became a charter member of the Bath Presbyterian Church. The 
Sunday School of the Hammondsport Church was established in 
1826, and for some time before the society was organized regular 
prayer meetings were held. July 1, 1831, Rev. Isaac Flagler began 
his work; July 25, 1831, a religious society was organized in accord- 
ance with State laws; and Sept, 14, 1831 1, the society was constitu- 
ted a Presbyterian Church by a committee of Bath Presbytery — 
Rev, Isaac W, Piatt, Bath, Rev, Samuel White, Pulteney, Elam 
Bridges, Prattsburg, and Jacob Bachman, Pulteney, Eight mem- 
bers were received — all from other churches: Samuel A. Hastings, 
Lemuel D. Hastings, Lucinda Daniels, Eliza C. Flagler, Augustus 
Moody, Thomas Judd, Thomas White, and Stephen K, Tourtelot. 
The church has been favored with many revivals — one especially in 
the spring of 1884, when Rev, E, P. Hammond assisted, and 72 
were added in one day. 

poor 1 

ter. Pausing i , 

wake up Brother B?' ' — Dr. S. M. Campbell in "Sanctuary Memories" 

t For this sketch many facts hare been taken from Rev. Byron Bosworth's published 
•Serai-Centennial Sermon" of Sept. 10, 1^82. 
f'This period when so many of our churches were organized was one of wide-spread relig- 
ious interest. It was in the year 1831 that the most extraordinary displays of the power and 
grace of God, in reviving His work and converting souls in Western .Sew York, were exhib- 
ited". —Hotchkin, "Western New York", p. 140. 




xJlJj xJB! '>•'_ 
















While William Hastings, who built the first store in town, was on 
a business trip to New York, he heard at Geneva Charles G. Fin- 
ney and was converted. He built the first edifice at a cost of $800 
on land given by Judge Hammond, and in 1831 presented it to the 
congregation. A new edifice was dedicated in 1847. It cost about 
$4,000 and $5,000 have since been expended on it. The manse was 
purchased in 1849. The Y. P. S. C. E. was organized in 1887. 
Three have gone into the ministry — Frederick H. Brewster, a mis- 
sionary to China, Benjamin Russell, and C. W. AVinnie. 

The following have served as elders: Samuel A. Hastings, 1831-5; 
Nehemiah D. Stebbins, 1831-5; William Brewster, 1832-5; Lemuel 
D. Hastings, 1835-91; Elijah Judd, 1835-7; Solomon Clark, 1837. 

89; Augustus Moody, 1837-56; Matthias Clark, 1841 ; Aaron 

Rosenkrans, 1841-80; J. W. McLaury, 1865-9; Allen G. Dunning, 

1865-8; George W. Nichols, 1877-84; M. H. Dildine, 1877 ; 

James S. Thorp, 1877 ; Lafayette Moore, 1885-9; Levi N. 

Beebe, 1887-96; Lewis P. Wygant, 1879-90; John R. Brown, 1891-5; 

J. W. Brundage, 1892 ; E. M. Foster, 1892 ; H. R. Tal- 

MAGE, 1894 ; Gordon G. Hoyt, 1897 ; and L. H. Brown, 

1897 . 

The following is the list of ministers: Isaac Flagler, 1831-3; Wil- 
liam M. Adams, 1833-4; George E. Delevan, 1835-7; Robert E. 
Willson, P., 1838-52; S. Mills Day, P., 1852-7; Stephen Vorhis*, 
1857-65; Ova H. Seymour, 1865-9; Darwin Chichester, 1869-76; 
John Mitchell, 1876; C. Townsend, 1876; Byron Bosworth, 1876- 
88; Martin E. Grant, 1888-9; Alfred T. Vail, 1889-95; and Charles 
L. Luther, 1895 to the present time. 

The church was enrolled in Bath Presbytery Jan. 31, 1832, and 
in 1862 came into Steuben Presbytery. It has had the following 
stated meetings of presbyteries: i?a«A— 1837, 1841, 1844, 1848,1855, 
1860, and 1862; Steuben— 1867 , 1875, 1882, and 1891. Presbytery 
has chosen from this church these commissioners to General Assem- 
bly: Samuel A. Hastings, Philadelphia, 1834; Rev. George E. Del- 
evan, Philadelphia, 1837; L. D. Hastings, Philadelphia, 1840, and 
1854, and Syracuse, 1861; Rev. Robert E. Willson, Philadelphia, 
1843, and 1846; Rev. S. Mills Day, and Augustus Moody, St. Louis, 
1855; Rev. Stephen Vorhis, Wilmington, 1859, and Philadelphia, 
1863; Rev. Darwin Chichester, Detroit, 1872; Rev. Byron Bos- 
worth, Buffalo, 1881; Lewis P. W^ygant, Springfield, 1882; and 
Levi N. Beebe, Washington. 1893; Rev. Robert E. Willson was sta- 
ted clerk of Bath Presbytery, 1843-52; Rev. S. Mills Day, 1856-7; 
and Rev. Stephen Vorhis, 1858-62, and of Steuben Presbytery, 

+ "Four young men from this congregation lost their lives in the service of their country. 
William Vorhis, the pastor's oldest son, was the first to fall. Solomon Clark, son of Matthias 
Clark, George K. Benliam, and Daniel S. Layton were the others",— Rev. Byron Bosworth. 


THE HORNBY CHURCH (1831-1897). 

The Hornby Presbyterian Church, was organized with 30 mem- 
bers, Sept. 15, 1831, by a committee of Bath Presbytery consisting 
of Rev. Benjamin B. Smith, Rev. David Harrowar, and elders 
Gardner and Stevens. The organization was the result of a revival 
of religion in the town. Before this time a few individuals had 
been members of the Painted Post (Corning) Church. The first 
supply was Rev, Benjamin B; Smith. Other supplies have been— 
Rev. Daniel B. Butts, Rev. Alanson Bixby, Rev. George F. Wood, 
and Rev. Henry W. H. Watkins. In all 21 ministers have labored 
in this church. It has never had an installed pastor. 

Since organization this church has received 123 members. The 
edifice was erected between 1850 and 1854. A union Sunday School 
is held in the Presbyterian church and a union Christian Endeavoi- 
Society holds its meetings alternately in the Presbyterian and Bap- 
tist churches. In 1836 the church was transferred to Chemung 
Presbytery, and since 18G3 has belonged to Steuben Presbytery*. 


Thef present record book of the Woodhull Church dates from 
Apr. 20, 1874. On that day the records were burned in the burn- 
ing of Chas. A. Knox's mill — Mr. Knox being clerk of session. This 
loss makes complete lists of ministers and elders impossible. From 
1862 to 1874 all record is hopelessly lost. 

The Woodhull Church was organized Oct. 15, 1831, by Rev. 
Isaac Flagler, Hammondsport, representing the Bath Presbytery. 
Seven were received by letter and 10 upon examination. Of these 
17 Mrs. Mary W. Hubbard is still living at the age of 97. The 
church was organized in a school house which once stood a mile 
south of Hedgesville and there services were held several years. 
They were then removed to a school house in Hedgesville and held 
there until 1861 when the edifice was built. The society has an in- 
come of $100 a year from the sale of a manse previously owned. No 
manse is needed at present as the church is supplied by the minister 
resident in Jasper. The church was enrolled in Bath Presbytery 
Jan. 31, 1832, transferred to Chemung Presbytery in 1836, and 
became a part of Steuben Presbytery in 1862. 

The relationship between this church and the Methodist Episcopal 
Church of Hedgesville is unique. The land occupied by the edifice 
was given by George and Nathan Perry, Presbyterians, to both or- 

"♦Organized as a Congregational Church Nov. 30, 1897. 

tNearly everything essential in this sketch was furnished by Rev. Albert R. Crawford. 
What has been ascertained of the time before 1874 is due to the effort of Mr. Crawford and 
to the discovery by Chauncey G. Hubbard, M. D., of Hornellsville, of an old record book. 


gaiiizations. One-half the cost of the building was met by each 
church and ever since the church was erected each body has held 
an undivided one-half interest in the property. Each church 
has its own board of trustees, treasurer, clerk, and pastor. One 
Sabbath the church is Methodist, the next Presbyterian — each 
church met;ting one-half of the running expenses. One year the 
Sunday School is Methodist, the next Presbyterian. The prayer 
meeting and the Y. P. S. C. E. are union. During 36 years this 
plan has been carried out Avithout friction. This is the only church 
edifice in Hedgesville. Rev. Albert W. Hubbard, a missionary since 
1873 at Sivas, Turkey, is a son of Chauncey P. Hubbard, an elder 
of this church. Rev. Thomas J. Hedges, Henrietta, Texas, went 
out from the WoodhuU Church. 

The following are known to have officiated as elders, with dates 
when ascertained: Allen Sheldon, and Franklin B. Hubbard, or- 
dained Oct. 15, 1831; William Lockwood, ordained Nov. 18, 1832; 
Jeifrey Smith, appears on records Jan. 5, 1838, resigned Feb. 5, 
1859; Thomas Hedges, elected June 20, 1846; Nelson Perry, elected 
Feb. 5, 1859; Stephen Gloyd, ordained May 29, 1859; Chauncey 
P. Hubbard, elected during 1865, and Charles A. Knox, appear in 
the records Apr. 20, 1874; Samuel H. Ferris, ordained Aug. 23, 
1878; John H. Teeter, ordained Aug. 31, 1879; H. S. Teeter, ap- 
pears in records during 1883. Josiah W. Owens, ordained May 
31, 1885; Nathan R. Perry, ordained Sept. 5, 1886; and Frank- 
lin H. Little, ordained June 18, 1893. 

Tlie following is the list of ministers so far as can be ascertained: 
Jeremiah L. Pomeroy, 1831-3; Oren Johnson, 1833-6; Noah Cres- 

sy, 1839-41; Benjamin Welles; George T. Everest, 1857-8; 

Miles; Samuel A. Rawson, 1859-67; Alexander Gulick; James W. 
Boals, a licentiate; D. S. Morse; Baldwin; Albert W. Hub- 
bard, 1872-3; John E. Beecher, 1873-6; Arthur N. Bruen, 1876-9; 
John L. Jenkins, 1879-83; Minor Swick, 1884-9; Edwin H. Bur- 
gess, 1889-91; Charles W. Maccarthy, 1892-5; and Albert R. Craw- 
ford, Mar. 1, 1896, to the present time. The Woodbull Church 
has never had an installed pastor. 

THE BELMONT CHURCH (1832-1897). 

The* first Presbyterian Church of Amity was organized Jan. 30, 

1832, by Rev. Moses Hunter, of Angelica, with Ellis May, Lucius 

C. May, Harvey May, John S. Norton, Jeriah Whitcomb, Aaron 

May, William Whitcomb, and John May, with 8 others, as charter 

*Rev. Herbert W. Knox furnished factg essential to this sketch. 


members. It was enrolled in Angelica Presbytery at a meeting in 
Almond Feb. 38, 1832, Ellis May appearing as elder. The village 
within the town of Amity now called Belmont earlier bore the name 
of Philipsville, or Philipsburg, so that the church is described in 
the records under the four names — Amity, Philipsville, Philipsburg, 
and Belmont. The first trustees were John S. Norton, Samuel 
VanCampen, and Ellis May. For 9 years services were held in the 
school house which stood on the site of the present surrogate's office. 
Aug. 20, 1841, for $100, Ellis May conveyed to Jeriah Whitcomb, 
James Spaulding, and John M. May, as trustees of "The First 
Presbyterian Congregation in Amity", ground upon which a church 
already was built. This edifice, dedicated June 24, 1841, altered, 
improved, and added to, still stands. From Sept. 30, 1854, to 
August, 1866, the church was Congregational in government. Du- 
ring 1891 Mrs. Julia Langdon Barber gave to the congregation a 

It is not possible to gire a complete list of ministers, or dates in 
all instances for those whose names are known. The first min- 
ister was Rev. Jabez Spicer, M. D., who preached on alternate 
Sundays for a little more than a year, beginning in September, 1832. 
Dr. Spicer lived in Andover and preached there the other Sunday. 
From 1833 to 1835 Rev. Samuel W. May preached for this church, 
living in Belmont and supplying also Angelica, and Cuba. Between 
1835 and 1854 at least five ministers supplied — Rev. 0. S. Powell, 
Rev. Benjamin Russell, who was the minister when the church 
was built. Rev. Edward Reynolds, Rev. Nathaniel Hammond, who 
was the minister in 1848, and Rev. G. L. Hall. During 1860-1 
Rev. Allen Traver was the minister. Rev. J. S. Bingham was the 
minister from 1866 to 1871. In December, 1870, Rev. Nathaniel 
Elmer took charge, and Rev. Joel S. Kelsey ministered from June 
1, 1876, to Feb. 2, 1882. During the summer of 1883 Rev. Frank 
P. Oilman, now a Presbyterian missionary in Hainan, China, sup- 
plied. There were no services from then until 1888, when through 
the efforts of Rev. W. B. Lucas, D. D., synodical superintendent, 
the church was opened again with Rev. James B. Rodgers as minis- 
ter. Mr. Rodgers after a year went as a Presbyterian missionary to 
Brazil, where he still labors. Rev. Joseph G. Snyder was installed 
pastor Oct. 30, 1889, and released Nov. 7, 1892. From 1892 until 
1896 Rev. D. Albert Blose was the stated supply. Rev. Herbert W. 
Knox, the present pastor, was ordained and installed May 11, 1896. 

In the following incomplete list of elders the year of ordination is 
given where known: Ellis May, 1832 : John S. Norton, 1832; T. F. 
May; J. Whitcomb; F. Norton; J. S. Mandeville; Charles Davis; 






John B. Norton, 1866: W. Hatch, 1866; Henry Sortore, 1866; 
Miles E. Davis, 1866; George W. Green, 1866; Joseph Jadwin, 
1879; George Sortore, 1879; Robert O'Brien, 1889; William B. 
Kurtz, 1889; William J. Hardy, M. D., 1891; Charles H. 
Norton, 1893; and Charles E. Clark, 1897. 

From 1833 to 1859 Belmont Church belonged to Angelica Presby- 
tery: in 1861 it was enrolled in Genesee Valley Presbytery, and in 
1886 came into Steuben Presbytery. The following stated meetings 
of presbytery have been held with this church: Angelica— 1833, 
1839, 1849, and 1852; Genesee Valley— 18^2, 1866, 1877, and 
1884; and Steuben— IS'dl . The following commissioners to Gene- 
ral Assembly have been chosen from the Belmont Church: Rev. 
Samuel W. May, Philadelphia, 1834; Lucius C. May, Buffalo, 1853; 
Miles E. Davis, Pittsburg, 1878; and Rev. Joel S. Kelsey, Spring- 
field, 1883. 


Hornellsville at first was within the Almond parish and as such 
under the pastoral care of Rev. Robert Hubbard who lived at An- 
gelica from 1813 to 1836 and was pastor of the Almond and An- 
gelica churches. Rev. George Hornell established a Sunday School 
in 1830 which was short lived. From 1833 to 1839 there was a 
Sunday School during the summer months. In 1839 Chauncey B. 
Smith became superintendent and as a union school it lasted sum- 
mer and winter until the organization of the Presbyterian church. 
Mr. Smith then became superintendent of the Presbyterian Sunday 
School and so remained until 1841. 

In June, 1833, Rev. Moses Ordway came to Hornellsville and on 
July 1st began to hold daily religious services in Ira Davenport's 
barn. Rev. Robert Hubbard assisted part of the week. At a meet- 
ing held on T'uesday, July 10, 1833, the First Presbyterian Church 
of Hornellsville was organized by Rev. Moses Ordway, and Rev. 
Moses Hunter of Angelica who was present. Twelve were received 
by letter and 16 upon confession of faith. 

The following are the ministers who have served here: Moses 
Ordway, July 10, 1833, to Sept. 1, 1833; George P. King, Sept., 
1833, to Sept., 1833; Moses Hunter (pastor at Almond), Mar., 1834, 
to 1835; vacant. Mar., 1835, to Oct., 1837; Benjamin Russell, Oct., 
1837, to Oct., 1838 (Burns every other Sunday); Samuel W. May, 
awhile in 1839; John W. Hopkins, P., 1839, to his death Feb. 4, 

83 SKEtOilEI^ OF'^lHJil^TiNG* CHtrRCHES, 

1841; Charles B. Smith*, Mar., 1841, to Mar., 1842; Elias S. Peck, 
Mar., 1843, to Mar., 1843; Thomas M. Hodgman, Apr., 1843, to 
Apr., 1845 (Burns half time); Foster Lilly, Oct., 1845, to 1848; 
vacant one year; Horatio Pattengill, D. D., P., June 10, 1849, to 
Sept. 1, 1857; F. W. Graves, Sept., 1857, to Sept., 1858; Ira O. 
DeLong, Mar., 1859, to Oct., 1860; Milton Waldo, D. D., P., Feb., 
1861, to Oct., 1871; William A. Niles, D. D., P., April, 1872, to 
Apr. 17, 1889; Edward M. Deems, Ph. D., P., May 9, 1890, to the 
present time. Until Dr. Waldo's days, it was the aim to pay $600 
salary, and part of this generally came from the American Home 
Missionary Society. Before Dr. Waldo's ministry closed, the salary 
was $1000, and in 1872 Dr. Niles was given $2300. In 1879, during 
a period of financial depression, the salary was reduced by mutual 
consent to $2,000 and the manse. 

The first church edifice, a part of the present building, was 
erected in 1834 at a cost of about $3,000f . The ground was pre- 
sented by Dugald Cameron. The dedicatory sermon was by Kev. 
Isaac W. Piatt, of Bath. This building was enlarged in 1862, again 
in 1871, and still again in 1875. The lecture room was enlarged in 
1877 to provide a church parlor and a study for the pastor. During 
Dr. Pattengill's ministry a house and lot were purchased for a manse. 
In 1862 this property was sold and the proceeds devoted to church 
improvement. In 1873 the present manse property was purchased 
for $5,750. The organ was purchased in 1871. 

At the semi-centennial anniversary July 10, 1882, Dr. A'iles re- 
ported that 859 had been received into membership. There were 
large accessions in 1839, 1866, 1870, 1874, 1877, 1884, 1886, and 
1893. Evangelists who have held special meetings are Rev. E, P. 
Hammond, Rev. H. H. Wells, D. D., Rev. A. P. Graves, D. D., 
and Rev. L. \V. Munhall, D. D. May 6, 1877, 68 were received, 

**• He was somewhat ecceutrie, as will be seen in the following incident which occurreU 
during his stay here, lie was preaching one Sabbatli in tlie wniter, and the stoves were 
located on either side of the pulpit. Elder (J. B. Smith officiated as sexton and had the 
stoves in charge, and was endeavoring to make those in the back part of the house as com- 
fortable as possible, and to that end kept frequently replenishing the stove.s. It soon be- 
came rather warm for the preacher, and he said, ' Brother Smith, 1 wish you would let the 
Are go down in the stoves; it is very warm here'. Elder Smith waited for awhile and then 
again replenished the stoves, and was again admonished from tlie pulpit that it was already 
much too warm. Tlie sexton now waited until he was sure those seated in the back part of 
the house were suffering, when he ventured to supply a little more fuel. Our minister sud- 
denly stopped in the midst of an earnest discourse, and assuming the attitude of prayer 
said, ' O i^ord, I believe the devil has got into Bro Smith; he keeps filiiiig the stove with 
wood wlien it is so hot I can hardly stand it'. I do not recollect that he added Amen, but 
(Jhauucey did not add any more fuel during that service". — Mo wry Thacher in " Semi-Cen- 
tennial Anniversary of the Hornellsville Church". 

f When this church was erected it was the custom at • raisings' to furnish whiskey for 
the refreshment of the company. It had been determined that no whiskey should be pro- 
vided at the raising of this chun-h building. The liquor interest was aroused and declared 
that there would be no help sutHcient to raise the building if whiskey was not provided, but 
on the day appointed the temperance people rallied and the building was raised, to the 
.great annoyance of the enemies of temperance" — Kev. William A. Niles, D. D. " The audi- 
ence room and gallery were lighted by tallow candles, these were put in small tin candle- 
. sticks upon an iron rod some two feet higher than the pews" — Mowry Thacher. 


and Mar. 1, 1874, 42. Daring 1893, 90 were received and the 
average annual accession is now over 40. Tiie membership is the 
largest in Steuben Presbytery. 

The church was enrolled in Bath Presbytery Aug. 26, 1834. It 
became a part of Steuben Presbytery in 1862. In May, 1864, it 
was transferred by General Assembly to Genesee Valley Presbytery. 
By the Act of Re-union it became in 1870 again a part of Steuben 

The elders have been as follows, with the date of their installa- 
tion: Ezekiel S. Drew, Ohauncey B. Smith, and Mowry Thacher, 
Jan. 1833; Elisha Wilber, July 5, 1834; Prentice Field, Mar. 22, 
1844; John J. Sharp, Sept. 2, 1849; John Burden, Sept. 2, 1854; 
Ebenezer Van Tuyl, Nathan Piatt, and Nelson C. Lockwood, Sept., 
1865; T. Scott Thacher, Apr. 16, 1876; Chauncet G. Hubbard, 
M. D., Mar. 24, 1889; George W. Seymour, Mar. 24, 1889; 
Charles H. Norton, Aug. 31, 1893; Frank M. Tracy, Sep. 6. 
1896; Alexander Davidson, and George H. Miller, Jan. 14, 
1894; Charles R. Carson, Sep. 6, 1896; and Fred G. Chapman, 
Apr. 6, 1897. The following stated presbytery meetings have been 
held in Hornellsville: Bath, 1836, 1844, 1847, 1854, 1859, and 1862; 
Genesee Valley, 1865; Steuben, 1871, 1881, 1887, and 1893. Rev. 
Horatio Pattengill, D. D., was stated clerk of Bath Presbytery in 
1857, and Rev. Wm. A. Niles, D. D., of Steuben Presbytery, from 
1884 to 1889. Hornellsville has had the following commissioners to 
General Assembly: Rev. Horatio Pattengill, D. D., Philadelphia* 
1854; Rev. Milton Waldo, D. D., Dayton, 1864; Mowry Thacher, 
New York, 1869; Rev. William A. Niles, D. D., Pittsburg, 1878, 
and Philadelphia, 1888; Chauncey G. Hubbard, M. D., New York, 
1889; and Rev. Edward M. Deems, Ph. D., Winona Assembly, 1897. 

THE ADDISON CHURCH (1832-1897). - 
This church* was organized in September, 1832, by a committee 
of Bath Presbytery — Rev. Elijah D. Wells, Rev. Asa Donalson, 
and Johnson Butts. It was enrolled in Bath Presbytery Jan. 30, 
1833, transferred to Chemung Presbytery in 1836, and to Steuben 
Presbytery in 1862. There were eight charter members. The 
church was without preaching till the autumn of 1835, when Rev. 
D. B. Butts, of Erwin Center, held services fortnightly in the school 
house on Goodhue street. He came to Addison to reside in 1836. 
About 700 members have been added to this church in all. The 

*Most of the informatioD essential to this sketch was farhished by RevI tianiel Mackay. 


winters of 1866, 1876, and 1889, and the autumn of 1895 were 
times of large ingathering. At least two members of this church 
have entered the ministry— George A. Woodhull and George Wells. 
The first church home — the first house of worship in Addison — 
was built on a plot of ground donated by Mi-. AV. Smith, now the 
corner of Church and Maple Streets. It cost about |l,''i50. In 1851 
this house was enlarged and reseated and in 1872 and a chapel built 
and joined to it. This building was burned in 1881. The present 
edifice, costing about $12,000, was dedicated in 1882 free of debt. 
The building committee was Charles W. Gillet, James Baldwin, A- 
G. Crane, and George W. Farnham. In 1862 the first manse was 
built on Maple Street. In 1894 this was removed that the present 
handsome manse on the same site might be built. Including the 
lot this cost about $4,000. At the organization the congregation 
could pay but $400, and for many years not over $600, toward the 
pastor's salary. This was supplemented by $100 from the Home 
Mission Fund. The salary is now $1,100 and the manse. Joel D. 
Gillet has given to the church an endowment of $5,000, the interest 
of which is to be divided between the session, trustees, and the Y. 
M. C. A. for religious work. The Sunday School was organized in 
1836. and the Y. P. S. C E. in 1889. 

The following ministers have served the church: Daniel B. Butts, 
1835-9; Lewis Hamilton, P., 1840-2; Darius Williams, 1843-5; A. 
H. Parmelee, P., 1846-55; William Kidder, 1855-6; David F. Jud- 
son, P., 1857-63; S. S. Sturgess, 1864-5; David F. Judson, 1866-7; 
William J. Parrott, 1867-70; Charles Simpson, 1870-2; John V. C. 
Nellis, Ph. D., 1873-4; Alphonzo K. OIney, D. D., 1875-81; Wil- 
liam H. Rice, 1882-90; and Daniel Mackay, 1891 to the present 

The life system of eldership is used — though for a few years the 
rotarv system was followed. The following were ordained elders in 
the years named: 1832, Porter Pheli^s, and Elihu Whittenhall; 
1836, Joel D. Gillet, J. P. Shumway, and C, Cowley; 1840, 
William Tarbell, and William McDowell; 1845, B Blakeslee; 1857, 
E. Van Tuyl and Seth Mullen; 1866, J. I. Clark; 1872, David B. 
WiNTON and Martin Wilber; 1882, George W. Farmham; 1885, 
Eben S. Chatfield; 1887, Lee R. Webb; 1895, Jonathan D. 
Price, and Charles E. Noble. Joel D. Gillet was clerk of ses- 
sion from 1836 to 1896, when he retired and D. B. Winton suc- 

Commissioners to General Assembly have been chosen from Ad- 
dison as follows: Porter Phelps, Pittsburg, 1835; Rev. D. B. 
Butts, Philadelphia, 1839; Rev. A. H. Parmelee, Washington, 1852; 
Joel D. Gillet, Washington, 1852; Rev. David F. Judson, Roches- 
ter, 1867; Rev. A. R. Olney, D. D., Chicago, 1877; and William 
H.'rIcc, Minneapolis, 1886. It has had the following stated pres- 
bytery meetings: Chemung— 1838, 1844, 1850, 1854, and 1859; 
Steuben -18Q5, 1873, 1883, 'l889, and 1893. 

'''^... . 







Four* Presbyterian churches in Steuben county have borne the 
name of Painted Post. The present Corning Church was originally 
the Painted Post First Churcli. When the name of that church was 
changed to Corning a second church within the present Corning 
was enrolled for a few years as the Painted Post First Church. A 
churcli within the present Caton was called the Painted Post Second 
Church. The present church was enrolled as the Painted Post Vil- 
lage Church. When this church was organized there was another 
Presbyterian church in the town of Erwin — in the south part — the 
Erwin Church. The society was legally constituted and an edifice 
built before the church was organized. At a meeting held in the 
school house June 2o, 1839, "The First Presbyterian Society in the 
Village of Painted Post in the town of Erwin" was formed and the 
following trustees elected: Holly Seely, Wm. J. Gilbert, Lewis B. 
Warner, John Kennard, Willis J. Savory, Arnold D. Patterson, and 
Levi B. Warner. A church costing $2,000 was erected during 1839, 
on a lot given by Gen. F. E, Erwin. Its bell was the first between 
Bath and Elmira. 

During 1839-41 Rev. John Smith supplied. At a meeting held 
in the church Mar. 16, 1841, the Painted Post Church was organ- 
ized. Rev. Philemon H. Fowler, D. D., of Elmira, preached from 
Zech. 4:6, and moderated the meeting. Rev. Lewis Hamilton, of 
Addison, offered prayer, and Samuel S. Howe, soon to be ordained 
pastor, acted as clerk. Seventeen persons were received by letter — 
11 from the Painted Post 1st (Corning) Church. Two of the num- 
ber were already elders — Henry H. Mathews, and Holly ^eely. 
During 1881-2 the present edifice was built on a lot given by Mrs. 
Eliza E. Townsend, and in 1890 a znanse costing $2,500 was erected 
for the society on the church lot by Miss Fannie S. Jerome, a sister 
of Mrs. Edward E. Townsend. The value of the property in all is 
about $9,000. The Y. P. S. C. E. was organized in July, 1886. 
There is a Ways and Means Society, a Ladies' Missionary Society, 
and a Young Ladies' Missionary Society. Rev. George D. Miller, 
pastor of the Warsaw Presbyterian Church, went out from this 

The following is a list of the ministers: Samuel S. Howe, P., 
May 6, 1841-Dec. 20, 1842; B. Foster Pratt, P., Mar, 3, 1843-June 
30, 1849; J. R. Young, Oct. 1, 1849-Dec. 2{i, 1851; Milton But- 
tolph, Apr. 30, 1852-Mar, 31, 1854; Richard G. Keyes, Sept. 30, 
1854-June 1, 1856; Charles C. Carr, P., Nov. 5, 1856-July 30, 

♦The essential particulars of this sketch were furnished by Rev. Benjamin B. Knapp. 


1859; Hiram E. Johnson. Aug., 1859-Mar. 4, 1864; P.J. Buch- 
anon, July 1, 1864-July 1, 1865; Joel Wakeman, D. D., P., Sept. 
1, 1865-8; P. H. Burghardt, December, 1868-73; G. E. H. Shum- 
way, September 6, 1873-clied during the year; A. W. Cowles, D. D., 
July 31, 1874-5; Anson G. Chester, D. D., August, 1875-6; 
Theron L. Waldo, June, 1876-June, 1880; Frederick Campbell, 
1881-3; supplied by session, 1884-9; Augustus Frederick, Novem- 
ber, 1889-Jan. 2, 1892; James R. Eobinson, Oct. 9, 1892-Oct., 
1896; and Benjamin B. Knapp, P. E., Jan. 17, 1897, to the pres- 
ent time. 

The following have been installed elders: May 9, 1841, Henry 
H. Mathews and Sylvester Smith; November 17, 1842, Holly Seely; 
Jan. 4, 1846, Harvey D. Bancroft; June 22, 1851, Pliny Cobb, and 
Charles J. Chatfield; July 1, 1853, Sidney S. Cook; July 13, 1855, 
Edward E. Townsend, and Benjamin Farewell; July 1, 1859, Wil- 
liam Pierce; July 5, 1861, Calvin Blood; July 1, 1864, Clark Bas- 
sett, and Francis E. Young; July 6, 1868, Uri Scofield; July 6, 
1870, William T. Crouch; July 13, 1871, Bradford Peck; July 5, 
1879, Edward H. Smith; May 18, 1886, Warren S. Hodgman 
and George S. Bassett; Apr. 24, 1894, Alvin Z. Pierce, George 
W. HoAK, and Richard W. McCray; and Apr. 28, 1897, Jeffrey 

The church was enrolled in Chemung Presbytery April 20, 1841, 
at a meeting held in Elmira. In 1862 it came into Steuben Presby- 
tery. The following stated meetings of presbytery have been held 
with this church: Cheinung — 1846, 1853, and 1861; Steuben — 
1864, 1866, 1869, and 1880. The following commissioners to Gen- 
eral Assembly have been chosen from this church: Rev. Charles C. 
Carr, and Pliny Cobb, Cleveland, 1857; Charles J. Chatfield, Day- 
ton, 1864; Benjamin Farewell, Harrisburg, 1868; Rev. Joel Wake- 
man, D. D., New York, and Pittsburg, 1869; Warren S. Hodg- 
man, Pittsburg, 1895. 

THE ARKPORT CHURCH (1852-1897). 
The* proximity of the then existing Burns Church, of the Almond 
Church, and of the Hornellsville First Church, delayed for years the 
organization of a church at Arkport. A Sunday School was organ- 
ized in Judge Hurlbut's saw mill, just west of the present parson- 
age, by Miss Abigail Hurlbut, in June, 1798, which was maintained 
every summer from May to October until the church was organ- 
ized and all the time since. Rev. Moses Hunter, of Almond, 
preached in the evening from 1834 to 1835. The edifice came be- 

*Many facts of this sketch were furnished by John Hurlbut. 


fore the formal organization. It was dedicated Dec. 16, 1851, hav- 
ing cost about 11,500, but burned Dec. 23, 1851, without insurance. 
Rev. Benjamin Welles came in this month. Before the holidays 
were over a contract had been let for a new building to cost $1,650. 
While this edifice was in the carpenter's hands, on Mar. 13, 1853, 
the church was organized by Rev. Benjamin Welles, and Rev. Joel 
Wakeman, D. D., of Almond. Of the 30 members enrolled, 15 
were named Hurlbut, and 6 Gary. 

Tlie following have served this church in the ministry: Benja- 
min Welles, Dec. 7, 1851-Aug. 7, 1853; Giles B. Cleveland, Oct. 
16, 1853-Sept. 9, 1855; Erwin W. Allen, Sept. 23, 1855-Apr. 17, 
1859; John E. Baker, P., July 19, 1859-Jan. 4, 1863; Wm. P. Teits- 
worth, May 24, 1863-Apr. 24, 1864; Samuel D. W. Westfall, Nov. 
5, 1865-Jan. 5, 1868; Willis C. Gaylord, Apr. 9, 1871-Dec. 31, 
1871; George N. Todd, Nov. 15, 1874-Mar. 30, 1884; Erwin C. 
Hull, P., June 30, 1885-Apr. 21, 1897; and Jay Forbes Robinson, 
July 1, 1897, to the present time. 

The following have been ordained elders: Mar. 13, 1852, James 
Hurlbut and Johnson Gary; June 17, 1854, John J. Sharp; July 
4, 1858, John Hurlbut; Jan 28, 1866, Henry B. Loveland; Dec. 
1, 1872, Jarvis P. Case; June 3, 1882, Myron Hurlbut, and Jo- 
seph C. Gray; and May 28, 1890, Norman 0. Wheeler. 

The church was enrolled in Angelica Presbytery, June 8, 1852. 
Feb. 16, 1859, it was enrolled in Genesee Valley Presbytery, and in 
1870 transferred to Steuben Presbytery. Angelica Presbytery held 
a stated meeting in Arkport in 1853, Genesee Valley in 1868, and 
Steuben in 1879 and 1895. Rev. Erwin G. Hull was commissioner 
to General Assembly at Washington in 1893, and John Hurlbut to 
that of 1896 at Saratoga. 

The present edifice, dedicated July 15, 1852, is valued at about 
$2,000. A manse was built in 1887 costing with the lot $2,200. 
John Hurlbut was elected Sunday School superintendent Jan. 1, 
1858, and has been re-elected every year since. The Y. P. S. C. E. 
was organized Sept. 12, 1886, and the Junior Society Oct. 29, 1893. 
The Woman's Missionary Society and the Ladies' Aid Society were 
organized in 1852. 278 have been received into church member- 

The* Presbyterian was the first church organized in Canisteo, and 
it was established only after the community had been settled over 

*The facts essential to this sketch were contributed by Rev. Duncan Cameron, and Orton 
. O. Laine. 


60 years. In July, 1849, Rev. Horatio Pattengill, D. D., Hor- 
uellsville, began preaching occasionally, and regular services were 
instituted in 1851. The society was organized Mar. 20, 1852, and 
the church Mar. 20, 1853, with the following members: Stephen 
R. Sturdevant, Harriet R. Sturdevant, Sarah Waters, Joseph Asli- 
ley, Sr., Henry Acker, Peter Myers, Sarah Ann Taylor, and Judith 
Thomson. The following constituted the first board of trustees: 
Thomas J. Magee, William H. Mead, Peter Myers, William B. 
Jones, B. C. Richey, and Nathaniel C. Taylor. The first session 
consisted of Joseph Ashley, Sr., Stephen P. Sturdevant, and Peter 

The ministers have been the following: George Spaulding, P., 
Apr. 15, 1853-June 19, 1860; Lewis F. Lame, Oct. 15, 1860-Oct. 
15, 1873; J. Hallock Brown, Feb. 1, 1874-Dee. 20, 1878; Daniel J. 
Robertson, Mar. 31, 1879-Oct. 19, 1884; Ross C. Houghton, D. D., 
and other supplies, 1884-7; and Duncan Cameron, Nov. 1, 1887- 
Nov. 1, 1897. 

The first church edifice was dedicated Feb. 15, 1853, at a cost of 
$1,500 exclusive of the ground. It was enlarged in 1877 at a cost 
including the pipe organ of $4,500. It was again enlarged in 1889 
at a cost of 11,000. The manse was erected in 1854 costing 11,000, 
enlarged in 1888 at a cost of $800, and in 1892 at a cost of $600. 
The present value of the church property is $10,000. 

During the history of the church the following have served ag 
elders: Joseph Ashley, Sr., Stephen P. Sturdevant, Peter Myers, 
Eli R. Wright, Nathaniel C. Taylor, Peter Masten, Leyeritt Grang- 
er, Levi Totten, James Easton, Alonzo Davison, Loren D. B. Rid- 
dell, Martin Lee Taylor, John E. McCaig, Charles H. Edson, Wil- 
liam T. Bailey, Frank R. Waldo, Orton 0. Laine, Frank H. 
Robinson, Daniel M. Estee, George C. Totten, Horace S. 
Beebe, George Walker, Henry S. Taylor, Mortimore Alli- 
son, Jr., and Benjamin S. Stephens. 

The Y. P. S. C. E. was organized in December, 1892. The 
church has in addition Junior Endeavor, Ladies' Aid Society, 
Ladies' Missionary Society, Sunday School with a large Home De- 
partment, Men's Meetings, Senior and Junior divisions, and two 
out preaching stations. Rev. G. W. Easton grew up in this con- 
gregation. Revivals visited the church in 1865, 1871, 1877, 1891, 
1894, and 1896. A history of the Canisteo Church would be very 
incomplete without special mention being made of Nathaniel C. 
Taylor — untiring in his devotion to the local church and to the de- 

The Canisteo Church was enrolled in Bath Presbytery June 29, 


1853, and in 1862 became a part of Steuben Presbytery. The fol- 
lowing stated meetings of presbytery have been held with this church: 
Bath— 1857; Steube?i— 1864:, 1868, 1872, 1880, and 1890. Presby- 
tery has chosen the following commissioners to General Assembly 
from this church: Eev. George Spaulding, Cleveland, 1857; 
Nathaniel C. Taylor, Cleveland, 1857, Wilmington, 1859, Philadel- 
phia, 1863, and 1870; Rev. Lewis F. Laine, Brooklyn, 1865; Eev. 
Daniel J. Eobertson, Saratoga, 1883; and Rev. Duncan Cameron, 
Saratoga, 1894. 

The growth of the church is evident from the following statistics, 
taking the figures of every fifth year: 


1855 21 $ 40 $ 

1S61 40 27 

1865 60 83 850 

18^0 6.3 68 650 

1875 85 6!) 1200 

IhSl 125 248 llsoo 

I'-S:; 120 .. 178 1.300 

18SJ1 160 625 2323 

1896 343 882 '. 2,043 


The* Canaseraga Presbyterian Church was organized by Rev. 
James H. Board, Oct. 26, 1872, and was enrolled in Steuben Pres- 
bytery Apr. 16, 1873. Mr. Board gave half of his time to the Os- 
sian Church, six miles away in Rochester Presbytery. The charter 
members M'ere from the Burns Presbyterian Church, which by their 
withdrawal became extinct. These were Augustus and Harriet 
Comstock, Zenas and Comfort Bailey, Milo E. and Jennette Carter, 
Mrs. Martha Barnum, Mrs. Mercy N. Barnum, Mrs. Sarah Carter, 
Mrs. Sarah Webb, Mi-s. Carrie Payne, Sarah Gorham, and H. E. 
Peabody. Early in 1893 a revival brought in many and the mem- 
bership is now 100. 

From June, 1872, to the fall of 1874 the services were held in the 
Baptist Church. From that time to the completion of the present 
edifice the congregation worshipped in a hall fitted up by them in 
the second story of a store owned by John C. Boyd. The present 
church, completed in 1876, was dedicated Jan. 18, 1877, — Rev. W. 
A. Niles, D. D., of Hornellsville, preaching in the morning and 
Rev. James M. Piatt, D. D., of Bath, in the evening. It cost 
about $2,000. Early in 1889 the manse was built, costing about 
$1,000. The Y. P. S. C. E. was organized Nov. 13, 1892. This 
church has sent into the ministry Rev. Ernest L. Tiffany, M. D., 
and Fred A. Crandall is now preparing. The elders have been 

*A11 the facts of this sketch were furnished by Rev. Evan R. Evans, Ph. D. 


Zenas Bailey, Henry Dore, James Craig, and Willis H. Barnum. 

The following have ministered to the church: Kev. James H. 
Board, June, 1872-Oct. 5, 1884; Rev. Daniel W. Marvin, 5 Sabbaths; 
Mr. W. I. Sweet, an Auburn student, the summer of 1885; Rev. 
William C. Brass, May 2, 1886-Oct. 28, 1888 (at Ossian also); and 
Rev, Evan R. Evans, Ph. D.,the present minister, who took charge 
Nov. 25, 1888. This church entertained presbytery in 1883 and 
1894. Rev. Evan R. Evans, Ph. D., represented presbytery at General 
Assembly in Pittsburg in 1895. 

The Burns Presbyterian Church was organized June 22, 1833. 
Rev. Robert Hubbard preached the first sermon July 19, 1833. Rev. 
Benjamin Russell was the first pastor, receiving $175 a year, and a 
similar amount from the Hornellsvillo First Church, where he 
labored every second Sunday. There was a similar arrangement 
with Rev. Thomas M. Hodgman, Burns paying $200 towards his 
salary. The following is the list of ministers: Benjamin Russell, 
J. G. Haskins, Thomas M. Hodgman, Royal Twichel, H. E. Wood- 
cock, Samuel A. Rawson (served 8 years), John E. Baker, and W. 
(J. Gaylord. 


Owing* to a canvass made in what is now the first ward by Misses 
Ella Gray and Susie Piatt, and later by Mrs. Charles Hartshorn, a 
Sunday School was organized in a private house on Arkport street 
by Russell M. Tuttle, and B. Rockwell, of the Y. M. C. A., on the 
first Sunday in June, 1879. Of this school T. J. 0. Thacher was 
superintendent for 17 years continuously. Charles Hartshorn, 
whose name the church very appropriately bears, erected a chapel 
for the use of this school on the corner of Steuben street and Mad- 
ison avenue, the corner stone being laid Oct. 3, 1882, and the ed- 
ifice dedicated to Sunday School work Nov. 11, 1883. 

After the death of Mr. Hartshorn the chapel was deeded to the 
trustees by Mrs. Hartshorn, and Feb. 17, 1891, the Home Mission 
committee of presbytery organized a church of 36 members. Rev. 
William Veenschoten, who had been preaching here about a year, 
continued to minister until Dec. 1, 1892. He was succeeded by 
Rev. George F. Danforth who remained until September, 1894. 
Rev. Andrew McC. Brown supplied from April until December, 
1895. In May, 1896, Rev. Fred E. Walton was called as pastor and 
began his work. The elders ordained at organization were Henry 
Dore, James B. Finch, and Cornelius Conderman. Those or- 

*The facts of this sketch were furnished by Rev. Fred E. Walton. 


dained since have been Walter Kreidler, Loren C. Willet, 
Thomas Nephew, and Charles S. Bowman. 

During the past fourteen months 65 hav^e united with this church 
— 47 of whom have been upon examination. Nearly 200 are en- 
rolled in the Sunday School. In the church are two ladies' socie- 
ties, two Endeavor societies, and a very successful club of young 
men — the ''Thecimeum". 

THE ATLANTA CHURCH (1894-1897). 

Those* of the 500 residents of Atlanta who attended church being 
obliged to go to the neighboring village, the need of a church was 
long apparent. There were only five Presbyterians in the commun- 
ity — Mrs. F. L. D. Wetmore, Mrs. Elizabeth Pierce, Mrs. Edith A. 
Hatch, Mrs. Sarah Conderman, and Mrs. Judith A. Clayson. El- 
der W. P. Wise well, of the Naples Church, was consulted, and 
Mrs. Hatch and Mrs. Wetmore as a committee made a canvass of the 
community for a Presbyterian church. Rev. H. P. McAdam, D. D., 
of Rochester, was invited to come and preached first Apr. 8, 1894, to 
an audience of 130. Apr. 22, 1894, the Sunday School was organ- 
ized with Hyatt C. Hatch, superintendent. May 17, 1894, the first 
prayer meeting was held, with Mrs. Edith A. Hatch, leader. July 
22, 1894, Rev. George W. Warren, representing presbytery, with 
Rev. H. P. McAdam, D. D., and elders W. P. Wisewell and Charles 
Hamlin, of Naples, organized the church with 24 members — 14 
uniting by letter and 10 upon confession. Hyatt C. Hatch, J. J. 
Crouch, and W. L. Carter were chosen and ordained elders. The 
Ladies' Aid Society was organized Aug. 15, 1894. 

Rev. Dr. McAdam remained until Oct. 1st, when Rev. Samuel W. 
Pratt succeeded him, Oct. 14, 1897, the Y. P. S. C. E. was organ- 
ized. Dec. 2, 1894, the society was incorporated with Harrison 
Briglin, H. W. Hatch, W. E. Waite, E. H. Wetmore, and E. W. Lent 
as trustees. A revival starting in the Week of Prayer, under Rev. 
S. W. Pratt's ministry, brought 37 into membership. Mar. 7, 1895, 
Mr. Thomas Kerr was called to the pastorate. Accepting, he be- 
gan work at once, being ordained and installed June 6, 1895, Rev. 
Dr. W. A. Niles preaching the sermon. 

George S. Fowler and W. E. Otto were ordained elders Aug. 4, 
1895. Sept. 19, 1895, the corner stone of a church edifice was laid 
which was dedicated Mar. 19, 1896, costing furnished about $8,000. 
The Woman's Missionary Society was organized Dec. 10, 1895. The 
present elders are H. C. Hatch, Geo. S. Fowleu, and W. E. Otto. 

♦Facts furnished by Rev. Thomas Kerr. 


THE AVOCA CHURCH (1896-1897). 

On July 30, 1896, at a special meetingf of presbytery, 67 persons 
presented letters from the Evangelical Lutheran Church of Avoca 
and were organized as the Avoca Presbyterian Church. The reas- 
ons for the step were the distance from another Evangelical Luth- 
eran Church and the Presbyterian training and sympathies of many 
in the congregation. Samuel J. Beals, J. H. Wagner, 
Charles Allen, T. F. Dunham, and Edwin Shaver, were or- 
dained elders. An order of the Court transferred the old building 
to the new organization. The membership is now 116, 24 having 
been received Mar. 7, 1897. The Sunday School has an average 
attendance of over 100. The Y. P. S. C. E. has 43 members — the 
Juniors 41. This church is under the pastoral care of Rev. Sam.uel 
W. Pratt, who was chieflly instrumental in the organization. 

The society was incorporated Aug. 15, 1896. The trustees are J. 
A. Zielley, J. H. Waters, C. H. Wagner, Fred L. Peck, J. H. 
Wagner, and J. H. Beals. A new edifice costing $3,000 was ded- 
icated free of debt Aug. 25, 1897. The old edifice, changed and 
renovated, forms the lecture room and parlor. 

P'-i'iceton Theological Seminary Librari 

1 1012 01217 0686